Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Red Ginger of Traverse City

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Creative Cuisine (40)
Hot Spot (35)
Fun (33)
Romantic (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Authentic (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Business Meals (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Healthy (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (14)
Casual (14)
Scenic View (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Waterfront (11)
People Watching (11)
Tapas (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Spicy (7)
Private Room (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Organic (4)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner at Red Ginger for our 46th Anniversary. The service was excellent and dinner amazing . We have eaten here on a number of occasions. They never disappoint. Thank you Chef outstanding

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Organic, Tapas, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always a great quality meal. Fresh ingredients, unique flavors, amazing service

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic as always. Great food. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was pretty loud in there when we first arrived due to the happy hour crowd, but it quieted down after a while. The service was awesome as always and the food was delicious as well. The food and drinks aren't cheap though (especially compared to the portion size), so we usually limit our visits to special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Red Ginger offers the most consistently high quality food and service in town.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is our go to place for great sushi and fresh fish. The food is always good the waitstaff is friendly and attentive. Must make a reservation in season week in advance to get a good time /

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We don't live close to Traverse City so we don't get to Red Ginger as often as we would like because the food is very good and the service is usually excellent. On this visit, however, our waiter seemed to disappear after our entre was served. My husband got one cup of coffee; no one asked him if he wanted a refill which he did. Support staff tried to fill in but we were disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Looking so forward to a nice night out, made reservations and manager called to confirm and asked a couple questions. One question was does anyone in your party have a food allergy? I said yes one person does to fish, but not shellfish. He took note of this. My friend ordered and the waitress brought out the wrong sushi roll which clearly had fish on it, luckily we caught it. Only 2 people at our table ate together, the rest came out at separate times. Also, complained because the table next to us had a friend standing and talking with his butt in our face, asked the waitress to please say something to him and she would not! After about 15 minutes of this we asked her again and she said she would get her manager, we took care of the situation ourselves! Very disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Once again Red Ginger does an outstanding job on all levels! Great service and exceptional food. Red Ginger always delivers consist quality. It's the best!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My wife and I used open table for a reservation, which I'd recommend as Red Ginger is a thriving sushi bar with Asian fusion main courses. The service was extremely excellent and the chef's attention to detail was exquisite! The nigiri is very authentic and the fish melts in your mouth like traditional Tokyo style sushi. The main entrees were prepared and proportioned to perfection. The tag team waiters were not overbearing, but were personable and happy to answer questions and make recommendations for anything you might not be certain about. We loved it so much, we went back the following day for happy hour at 3!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Only problem we couldn't make a 5:30 P.M. reservation on-line even though there were many tables available at that time (made it for 5:15 where there were also many vacant tables). Tuesday - 4/4

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Delicious food with plenty of options on the menu, great drink menu, wonderful service, and overall awesome place for a fun and delicious meal!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Received a call to verify our booking and to check to see if we were celebrating a special event or had special dietary needs. We were seated right away and at one of the best booths. Service was a tag team of two servers, both very good. We did not try the sushi, which looked wonderful as it went by to other tables. We had edamame as an appetizer and it was steamed and salted perfectly. We ordered a Vietnamese caramelized shrimp dish and the sea bass with rice and cucumbers. Both dishes were satisfactory but not great. The Shrimp dish had a soy caramel sauce that was overpowering and overly applied in a copious amount that drowned the shrimp. The sea bass was well prepared and the cucumbers were a nice touch, but overall just ok. We found the service very nice, the m'aitre de checked on us three times.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fantastic sushi. Our favorite place for special occasions and we have never been disappointed. The service is attentive, the sushi is fresh, creative and delicious. We are happy to see that the beer menu is improving, as well!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The second time we visited the Red Ginger over the past year. Once again delicious food and the waiter was very friendly and helpful. Make sure to make reservations a week in advance if you plan on dining there on a Friday or Saturday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great. The back dining area was wonderful to enjoy the river and bay views. Our waiter was punctual and friendly. I wish I lived closer!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love Red Ginger! The food is fabulous and consistently top notch.
The servers are always very attentive and professional. I would say it's
our favorite resturant in T.C.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent food, drink, and service as always. Enjoyed the birthday card and cake too.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was delicious! Everything was fantastic. Chef Dans sushi roll was amazing

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My wife and i recently had dinner at Red Ginger of Traverse City during TC's Food Week for her birthday.
The food was excellent. The portions were better than expected. And the service was excellent.
The only thing I didn't care for was the close proximity of the seating arrangement. There was very little room between tables. Other than that it was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went there for my wife's birthday. As always, food and service was top notch!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Restaurant week was great good food great price my wife and I had 2 great meals with great service my drink was never empty!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Brought friends from out of town and they were delighted. Loved the sushi, entrée and dessert. Put it on the list of must go back next time in town. It was excellent as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food during restaurant week was unimaginative and lacked luster. The service was fantastic, as usual.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Restaurant Week. $30/3 plates. Three of us all enjoyed everything. Our servers Randy & Teri were outstanding and not hanging over us. Food was great.
Wish the restaurant would carry more local beers and cider to honor the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Was not impressed with the quality for the price. I've had better!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Fantastic food, service and ambience. Inventive, fresh cuisine served by educated servers with much attention to detail at all levels. Always a great experience!

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Always delicious consistent food with an upscale vibe!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The wait staff were very polite and on the ball.. We sat in the back next to the window which was very nice.
The food was delicious. The only little issue we had was that it was a little chilly. Although there was a furnace just above us, it only came on once while we were there.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We always have a great time at Red Ginger. Our first pick for restaurant week. Great food, great service and great atmosphere. Thank you for a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Delectable, delicious and exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service was great! Food little slow getting to us. Boy our chicken entrees were over cooked. This resulted in the food being chewy,and dry.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The atmosphere is warm, the staff are well trained, and the food is terrific. Red Ginger can be quite crowded in the busier tourist months, so a reservation can be a good idea. My most recent visit was during Restaurant Week. The special menu for the week had a variety of options available, and it was fun deciding exactly what should be ordered.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service was great. Lovely interior. Very clean. Was disappointed in the entrée and thought dessert portion was really small. Went during Restaurant week so I just won't order those next time. Not enough to keep me from coming back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of the best places in TC. Always come here when I am in town!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Fun, Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great setting and delicious food. The Beef Ishiyaki absolutely melts in your mouth. For the most part I thought it was a good value, and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 21, 2017

One of our favorite places to visit while in TC. The food and staff are always amazing. Can't wait until our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I have been all over the world from USA to Guatemala to China and Europe.

Red Ginger is right at the top of my favorite restaurants in the whole world.

I/We drive 1 1/4 hours every time to go there.

I cannot recommend it enough for beauty, taste, creativity and outstanding-ness
of food and atmosphere not to mention service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Scenic View, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I could eat Red Ginger every night! Food is always so fresh with amazing flavors! Always great service and great cocktails to top it off .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Healthy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.