About Red Ginger of Traverse City

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Hot Stone Grilled Wagyu Beef - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Kung Pau Shrimp - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Kung Pao - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Calamari - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Rainbow Sushi Roll - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Firecracker "Hand Roll" - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Sake Flight - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Spicey Surf And Turf, Salmon Roll Special, Spicey Salmon - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Tenderloin Ishiyaki - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Thai Curry - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
#49- Shrimp And Crab Udon - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Chocolate Imperial - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Dragon Wings - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Salmon With Aromatic Sticky Rice And Garlic Spinach - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Sushi - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (41)
Hot Spot (39)
See All
Creative Cuisine (38)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Fun (31)
Modern Decor (28)
Romantic (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Authentic (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Healthy (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Business Meals (12)
Scenic View (10)
People Watching (10)
Tapas (9)
Cozy (9)
Casual (9)
Waterfront (8)
Spicy (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
974 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took my girlfriend for her birthday. Ama ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Took my girlfriend for her birthday. Amazing meal, great service, personalized birthday card was a nice touch. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service was amazing. I ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and the service was amazing. I can't wait to come back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with everything at Red Ging ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very pleased with everything at Red Ginger. Went for an engagement dinner and was welcomed with a private table and a card signed by the staff.

The food was wonderful, one of the best steaks I've ever had and my fiancé loved the sushi. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The value paid for what we received was excellent. I will definitely be recommending them to everyone looking for a great dinner at a great location.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Ginger is one of the top restaurants ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Red Ginger is one of the top restaurants in Traverse City. The sushi is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had dinner here this weeke ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here this weekend. Absolutely fantastic, everything we had was delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in Chicago and Red Ginger remain ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We live in Chicago and Red Ginger remains one of our favorite restaurants in TCMI - delicious!

Rick & Thonie Borowiak

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent for special occasions. Great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent for special occasions. Great food, service, ambiance. Best sushi in TC.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You'd be foolish not to try this place. ...

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 7, 2017

You'd be foolish not to try this place. Best restaurant in Northern Michigan

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic! One of my all time fav ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always fantastic! One of my all time favorite restaurants in TC!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Tapas, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Red Ginger can be a little loud but over ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Red Ginger can be a little loud but overall, it's a great place to go for special occasions. The various small plates and entrees are all creative and all delicious. The service is great and for the birthday people who were there, dessert was a gift.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here many times and NEVER have a ba ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Been here many times and NEVER have a bad meal. Our favorite place to eat.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't get the best table even though we ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Didn't get the best table even though we made a reservation, it wasn't very busy either. But love this place. Always great service and great food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place in Traverse City. Alway ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wonderful place in Traverse City. Always delighted with our experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was awesome and yummy as usual! We al ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was awesome and yummy as usual! We always enjoy dining with you! Keep up the great work!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to celebrate my wife's birthday. Be ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went to celebrate my wife's birthday. Been to Re Ginger a few times and the sushi is always great. Staff is friendly and the atmosphere is fun. Can be casual or extravagant. Just depends on your mood.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food in an upscale vibrant set ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic food in an upscale vibrant setting. Service was excellent! Red Ginger Mgr. Ernest (?) was gracious and on top of everything for the diner's experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, as always. Our ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was excellent, as always. Our server Randy did a very nice job. The wine list has great variety.

Tags: Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing as always! The food and service ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Amazing as always! The food and service never disappoint. Whenever a friend comes in from out of town or even a friend here, and they have never been, Red Ginger is my #1 recommendation as the food is phenomenal, and the staff are great! I'm already looking forward to the next time i go to enjoy their food. My favorite thus far, is the firecracker handroll, cut like a sushi roll. It is sooooooooo good!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Ginger always meets or surpasses exp ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Red Ginger always meets or surpasses expectations. The service is polished, the food is excellent and of high quality. The drinks are wonderful. Out-of-town guests love it and so do we.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Red Ginger. I have never bee ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always love Red Ginger. I have never been disappointed with the service or quality of food. My last trip however, I was a little disappointed as it was extremely loud in there. They sat the two of us at a very small table in the back by a group of about 12 people. It made it really hard to talk to my date, we basically had to yell to converse. Other than that, food is great. I will continue to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful service, stellar food, and an ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful service, stellar food, and an overall memorable experience! The staff were very welcoming, and made my fiance's birthday a special occasion. Thank you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great environment. Sushi is ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food. Great environment. Sushi is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Calamari is the best I have ever had! E ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Calamari is the best I have ever had! Every time I'm in traverse city my wife and I eat at Red Ginger!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Donut ball dessert was not flavorful. C ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Donut ball dessert was not flavorful. Caramel sauce very good however. Not recommended.

Overall meal was enjoyed by all.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Red Ginger was perfection. De ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

As always, Red Ginger was perfection. Delicious cocktails and sushi for our date night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food! Our se ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent service and great food! Our servers worked as a team and just made the whole experience awesome. Fantastic menu and specials!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They are certainly running a WELL-OILED ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 2, 2016

They are certainly running a WELL-OILED MACHINE! Our meal was fabulous!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service with Dan. Food is alwa ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent service with Dan. Food is always superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like bringing guest to Red Ginger. Din ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I like bringing guest to Red Ginger. Dinner was delicious however, there are limited entrees for vegetarians and vegans. They offer tofu but I was surprised to learn that the Thai Curry Is not vegetarian because it contains fish sauce. I really appreciated that the server mentioned this to us since is was not included in the description. The Lotus flower cocktail is wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten here once before and wante ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have eaten here once before and wanted to take our out of town guests to a "nice place". We were absolutely delighted with our choice! Our guests are sushi lovers and we all shared several rolls as an appetizer . . . our guests pronounced them EXCELLENT! All entrees were great and the service was perfect. It was a great evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at Red Gin ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Red Ginger. We had great food and service, we decided to go off of the regular menu rather than do the sushi. The tuna was melt in your mouth and my husband's dish was equally amazing.

It is overall very pricy, even compared to other Traverse City restaurants, so it is not a place for casual dining. I do recommend it, just bring a bag of money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There are a lot of great restaurants in ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 26, 2016

There are a lot of great restaurants in Traverse City, but this has to be one of the best. Fantastic food everytime and a great selection of beer and wine. If you like Asian, fusion, sushi etc...put it at the top of the list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never have had a disappointing meal here ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Never have had a disappointing meal here. Food is fresh, staff are knowledgeable, atmosphere is top notch. We never come to Traverse city without visiting Red Ginger.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food, good service. Noisey, bu ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very good food, good service. Noisey, but that's seems to be common with popular restaurants. Tables very close together. Curry confit duck top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Amazing as always. We've never been disa ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing as always. We've never been disappointed. It's our favorite restaurant in Traverse City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we travel from Windsor and alwats have d ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 19, 2016

we travel from Windsor and alwats have dinner at the Red ginger. they never disapoint! It's a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed. One of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We have never been disappointed. One of my favorite Martini's and the best Sushi in TC. I'll be back soon!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, my wife enjoyed the Thai ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food, my wife enjoyed the Thai salad very much "best salad ever" and the sea bass, the Thai curry with tofu was also excellent. Very vibrant, fresh flavors. Exciting place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Spicy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved this place. It was our first we ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We loved this place. It was our first wedding anniversary and we were so happy that we choose this place to celebrate. The staff was attentive and professional, we felt special and cared for. The food was outstanding, pleasing even my sushi-snob wife. The wasabi tuna roll was simply amazing. The sashimi was delicately sliced and the fish was really fresh. And this was the first place we found in Michigan that serve Caipirinhas (best drink ever), which was just the cherry on top.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were in Traverse City a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I were in Traverse City and had Red Ginger recommended to us. We were so glad we went! Food was great!!!!! It is not a quiet place - not ideal for intimate conversation but other than that well worth it for the food.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.