Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Red Ginger of Traverse City

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (47)
Creative Cuisine (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Hot Spot (33)
Fun (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Romantic (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Healthy (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Waterfront (17)
Authentic (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Cozy (14)
Casual (13)
Scenic View (12)
Business Meals (12)
Spicy (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Tapas (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1044 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing dinner, would highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Probably our favorite spot in Traverse City. The menu is varied and there is something for everyone. Great bar and nice wine list. Only wish they would open again for lunch.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Food was wonderful! Server Dan excellent and very helpful with questions.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This place was a recommendation from a friend and totally worth our time during our visit to Traverse City. Food and atmosphere was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always great food and great service, we love going to Red Ginger. It is our favorite restaurant in Traverse City. We love the lobster tempura sushi and the calamari. The wine selection is awesome and the dinner menu has many options. We usually split a Stilton blue cheese salad and the Chinese ribs. You are sure to be pleased and want to come back again.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Private Room, Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was outstanding. We ate sushi. The rolls were creative and tasty. I recommend the Tako roll. The octopus was super tender! The servers and host were very attentive and friendly as well. You can tell a lot of thought goes into the food and service! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Hasve dinner every time we are in town, Great Drinks, Great food, Outstanding wait staff. This is our #1 go to dinning place every time we are in town, and after a great day in the wine country.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Red Ginger remains one of our favorites restaurants in Traverse City. The food and service is always great!

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

it's our family's favorite restaurant hands-down. I smile when I think of my next visit ; Sea Bass and now the Vietnamese Cormel Prawns! We truly enjoy the hospitality of Earnest and his team for the warmth and attentive service making our evening great.

AOS

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We vote Red Ginger the best dumplings, great sauce with them. Superb Beef Ishiyaki--try it with the dumpling sauce! Dirty rice is a great complement to the beef. Sushi rolls are terrific. If you tell them it is your birthday, you get a delicious chocolate dessert with a candle --and a friendly card from the staff.
In summer it is very busy and can be very noisy. New outdoor space may help.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very expensive for the food and portion size. The food was good but not for the cost.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food, always fresh and well prepared. The service is impeccable. Always a pleasure to eat here.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always great! Wonderful food, excellent ambiance, professional.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 23, 2017

we came for our anniversary...food was superior as was the service. everyone on staff was just top notch quality and friendly. loved the food and it was thoughtful to receive a card and dessert for our anniversary. will come back next time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We always go to Red Ginger when we're in Traverse City. It's always amazing food, service and overall a great experience - every time!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner at Red Ginger for our 46th Anniversary. The service was excellent and dinner amazing . We have eaten here on a number of occasions. They never disappoint. Thank you Chef outstanding

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Organic, Tapas, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always a great quality meal. Fresh ingredients, unique flavors, amazing service

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic as always. Great food. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was pretty loud in there when we first arrived due to the happy hour crowd, but it quieted down after a while. The service was awesome as always and the food was delicious as well. The food and drinks aren't cheap though (especially compared to the portion size), so we usually limit our visits to special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Red Ginger offers the most consistently high quality food and service in town.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is our go to place for great sushi and fresh fish. The food is always good the waitstaff is friendly and attentive. Must make a reservation in season week in advance to get a good time /

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We don't live close to Traverse City so we don't get to Red Ginger as often as we would like because the food is very good and the service is usually excellent. On this visit, however, our waiter seemed to disappear after our entre was served. My husband got one cup of coffee; no one asked him if he wanted a refill which he did. Support staff tried to fill in but we were disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Looking so forward to a nice night out, made reservations and manager called to confirm and asked a couple questions. One question was does anyone in your party have a food allergy? I said yes one person does to fish, but not shellfish. He took note of this. My friend ordered and the waitress brought out the wrong sushi roll which clearly had fish on it, luckily we caught it. Only 2 people at our table ate together, the rest came out at separate times. Also, complained because the table next to us had a friend standing and talking with his butt in our face, asked the waitress to please say something to him and she would not! After about 15 minutes of this we asked her again and she said she would get her manager, we took care of the situation ourselves! Very disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Once again Red Ginger does an outstanding job on all levels! Great service and exceptional food. Red Ginger always delivers consist quality. It's the best!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My wife and I used open table for a reservation, which I'd recommend as Red Ginger is a thriving sushi bar with Asian fusion main courses. The service was extremely excellent and the chef's attention to detail was exquisite! The nigiri is very authentic and the fish melts in your mouth like traditional Tokyo style sushi. The main entrees were prepared and proportioned to perfection. The tag team waiters were not overbearing, but were personable and happy to answer questions and make recommendations for anything you might not be certain about. We loved it so much, we went back the following day for happy hour at 3!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Only problem we couldn't make a 5:30 P.M. reservation on-line even though there were many tables available at that time (made it for 5:15 where there were also many vacant tables). Tuesday - 4/4

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Delicious food with plenty of options on the menu, great drink menu, wonderful service, and overall awesome place for a fun and delicious meal!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Received a call to verify our booking and to check to see if we were celebrating a special event or had special dietary needs. We were seated right away and at one of the best booths. Service was a tag team of two servers, both very good. We did not try the sushi, which looked wonderful as it went by to other tables. We had edamame as an appetizer and it was steamed and salted perfectly. We ordered a Vietnamese caramelized shrimp dish and the sea bass with rice and cucumbers. Both dishes were satisfactory but not great. The Shrimp dish had a soy caramel sauce that was overpowering and overly applied in a copious amount that drowned the shrimp. The sea bass was well prepared and the cucumbers were a nice touch, but overall just ok. We found the service very nice, the m'aitre de checked on us three times.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Fantastic sushi. Our favorite place for special occasions and we have never been disappointed. The service is attentive, the sushi is fresh, creative and delicious. We are happy to see that the beer menu is improving, as well!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The second time we visited the Red Ginger over the past year. Once again delicious food and the waiter was very friendly and helpful. Make sure to make reservations a week in advance if you plan on dining there on a Friday or Saturday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great. The back dining area was wonderful to enjoy the river and bay views. Our waiter was punctual and friendly. I wish I lived closer!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love Red Ginger! The food is fabulous and consistently top notch.
The servers are always very attentive and professional. I would say it's
our favorite resturant in T.C.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent food, drink, and service as always. Enjoyed the birthday card and cake too.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was delicious! Everything was fantastic. Chef Dans sushi roll was amazing

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My wife and i recently had dinner at Red Ginger of Traverse City during TC's Food Week for her birthday.
The food was excellent. The portions were better than expected. And the service was excellent.
The only thing I didn't care for was the close proximity of the seating arrangement. There was very little room between tables. Other than that it was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went there for my wife's birthday. As always, food and service was top notch!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Restaurant week was great good food great price my wife and I had 2 great meals with great service my drink was never empty!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Brought friends from out of town and they were delighted. Loved the sushi, entrée and dessert. Put it on the list of must go back next time in town. It was excellent as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food during restaurant week was unimaginative and lacked luster. The service was fantastic, as usual.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.