About Red Ginger of Traverse City

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Restaurant Photos

Thai Curry
Hot Stone Grilled Wagyu Beef
Kung Pau Shrimp
Kung Pao
Calamari
Rainbow Sushi Roll
Firecracker "Hand Roll"
Sake Flight
Spicey Surf And Turf, Salmon Roll Special, Spicey Salmon
Tenderloin Ishiyaki
#49- Shrimp And Crab Udon
Dragon Wings
Salmon With Aromatic Sticky Rice And Garlic Spinach
Chocolate Imperial
Sushi

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Traverse City ›

fit for foodies (87)
special occasion (75)
hot spot (65)
See All
romantic (48)
neighborhood gem (41)
vibrant bar scene (35)
good for groups (33)
notable wine list (29)
scenic view (22)
great for lunch (13)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible and the service ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was incredible and the service was amazing. They run a very tight ship and are on top of everything! It was a perfect evening!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food and service. kind of loud. ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

great food and service. kind of loud. can't wait to eat here again

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a wonderful restaurant which is ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

This is a wonderful restaurant which is consistent. I only wish they were open for lunch as they were in the past. The bar is great. Matt, one of the bartenders, is a true master. Would highly recommend Red Ginger!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the small plates, we split a few o ...

Dined 4 days ago

Loved the small plates, we split a few of them and everything was amazing. The waitress was cheerful, polite and formal. The staff was well organized and you could see there was good communication between them, what a great team.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great food and service! It's our ...

Dined 6 days ago

Always great food and service! It's our first choice for special occasions and sometimes just because we are craving sushi and a grapefruit pom martini.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's simpy the best, most special restau ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

It's simpy the best, most special restaurant in Traverse City! We have never been there that we haven't been thrilled at the whole experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Traverse City. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Traverse City. The food is great and even more importantly, the service is impeccable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always, Red Ginger never di ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic as always, Red Ginger never disappoints! Loved the pot stickers, Chef Dan's sushi combination, and the chicken lettuce wraps. Wonderful way to celebrate Father's Day!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined at Red Ginger after reading others ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Dined at Red Ginger after reading others' reviews. It lived up to its reputation. Friendly, knowledgeable, helpful but not obtrusive wait staff; great, fresh well -presented food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Red Ginger and have dinner there ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We love Red Ginger and have dinner there every time we make a trip to Traverse City.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The halibut with hoisin sauce was one of ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The halibut with hoisin sauce was one of the best meals I have ever had. We have eaten at Red Ginger multiple times and will continue to go back. We started with a sushi appetizer that was also incredible. They do Asian fusion with an innovative flare. On the service side, we had two servers assigned to our table, and in addition we were extremely impressed to see the manager keeping everything running smoothly. He was also filling water glasses, retrieving empty plates, and taking checks to the register. The Red Ginger staff really worked as a team to provide a fantastic dining experience. Perfect food; perfect dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always! Had the halibut and ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Fabulous as always! Had the halibut and Vietnamese shaking beef as main courses, pot stickers and stilton salad as appetizers. Great wine list too! Red Ginger is always a must when we come up north every summer!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Traverse City. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Traverse City. Always busy and lively, the food and service are terrific. The Asian ribs, served as an appetizer, are compelling -- tender, sweet, spicy, lovely. The sushi is excellent, the wine list is ample, and the service is outstanding. I'm a big fan.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It's one of my all time favorite restaur ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It's one of my all time favorite restaurants. I have been there several times over the years and the food is consistently excellent as well as the service. I love calamari and they have the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Red Ginger is always fabulous and is a f ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Red Ginger is always fabulous and is a favorite spot to bring guests or for a date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, as always.

Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife and I live in Grand Rapids, MI, but every time we go to Traverse City, we try to visit Red Ginger. This is arguably the best restaurant in TC. Reservations are a must-ours were for 9:15 pm and, even that late, the place was packed. The food is outstanding and we especially enjoy the appetizers-great sushi, among other delicious choices. Service is very good, there are lots of great beers on tap, and the atmosphere is festive. The only negative is that it is rather pricey-the two of us spent over $100 and we only had 2 beers each. Still, a great place for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food! Awesome service! Awesome a ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Awesome food! Awesome service! Awesome atmosphere!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A family favorite! We always try to go t ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

A family favorite! We always try to go to Red Ginger when we have friends of family visiting Traverse City.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We had sushi which was great and we try ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

We had sushi which was great and we try different rolls every time we come. Dan' signature roll is one of our favorites and we're never been disappointed! Others in our group had Kung Pao with shrimp which is to die for!

food5
ambience5
service5

Truly one of the better dining experienc ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Truly one of the better dining experiences I've had. The service was phenomenal and the food exceeded expectations.

food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful meal & evening! My husband & I ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful meal & evening! My husband & I shared 4 small plates, and then skipped to dessert and everything was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in town!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Red Ginger offers the best sushi in town. The fine dining is always worth it. My boyfriend and I also vote them best salad ever. Try the Blue Cheese salad!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Best sushi I've ever had! Can't wait to ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Best sushi I've ever had! Can't wait to go back!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place!

Dined on June 3, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and were very impressed with the note they wrote us for our anniversary and also the free anniversary dessert. It's a great place for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants! A favorite!

Dined on June 2, 2016

Red Ginger is one of the best restaurants I've been to. The staff members are all wonderful! The greeters and friendly and helpful, the bartender is personable, knowledgable and talented, the manager is easy to talk to and frequently walks around to tables in the dining area, the waiters are prompt, kind and go out of their way to give you what you want, and the chefs are all superb! Wonderful sushi chefs as well!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious sushi in northern Michigan

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

It's difficult to find good sushi in Michigan so I was very pleased with Red Ginger because everything tasted very fresh. The menu had a great selection of rolls and the sashimi was fantastic. The drink list was also good. The edamame may have been some of the best edamame I've ever had and it was a very nice size portion for what I'd normally expect. Overall a solid choice for a weekend date night in Traverse City!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Evening!

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We were vacationing in Traverse City and had a wonderful dining experience at Red Ginger. The service was fabulous. The bottle of wine was exceptionally priced and delicious and the ambience was great. We enjoyed the small plates better than the sushi. We would definitely go back to try more of the menu selections. There are a number of different options to select from on the menu. Well worth a visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite in downtown Traverse City.

Dined on May 27, 2016

This is a consistently excellent restaurant; blood orange martini is great; wine selection ample and many local wines; sushi is wonderful, all of the dishes are excellent. A bit noisy with close quarters and always full. Make a reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Ginger is always spot on.... From th ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Red Ginger is always spot on.... From the moment you walk in, and greeted with a smile it only gets better from there.... Dan was our server tonight and he was exceptional... attentive but not intrusive and always around when we had a question or needed something! Thanks Dan for making our dinner memorable!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit since the fire ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This was our first visit since the fire and remodel and were impressed with results. Feels cozier and quieter. The wait staff are friendly, sharp and knowledgeable. They were always anticipating our needs so there was a smooth and stress-free flow to our meal. Food was outstanding. My wife's Tai curry was out of this world while my Kung Pao halibut was quite good but too sweet by half for my taste. My salad would have been a highlight of any meal. We'll be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service and Food was very good as was th ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Service and Food was very good as was the wine. I do not like the set up for dining; high & low booths and tables.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have YET to have a poor experience her ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have YET to have a poor experience here. The food was amazing from our spring roll appitizer to our black and white dessert. My tenderloin was so tender I was able to cut it with my fork! The ONLY thing I wish was better was if they had more non-seafood dishes on their menu. I don't typically like fish/seafood, but after seeing dishes my husband has ordered and other customers, I am actually willing to give it a try... It is on the pricier side, but for a special occasion, it is worth every penny!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mouth waters thinking about the cuisine.

Dined on May 14, 2016

The ambiance adds to this unique, hip restaurant. The wait staff seem to love working here which ads to the pleasure of dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the halibut, again, always a pleas ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Loved the halibut, again, always a pleasure to visit.

food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the food and drinks. Very nic ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We enjoyed the food and drinks. Very nice selections and chef goes out of his way to make any dish as you wish. I had the INDIAN Currie and had it spiced up. It was wonderful. Great wine selection too!

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The Vietnamese beef was overcooked, dry, ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The Vietnamese beef was overcooked, dry, and burnt. The noodles were also undercooked.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

My husband and I were taking a mini-vacation to celebrate my birthday. We dined at Red Ginger for the first time and were very impressed with the food, service, table settings, and ambiance. We were seated in a rather secluded area which was perfect for us. The sushi is outstanding and the wait staff were very helpful as we pondered our choices. We also enjoyed an appetizer of ceviche which was excellent. The chocolate dessert sampler was beautiful and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A downtown gem

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is fresh and local and was deliciously prepared. Wait staff friendly and attentive. Would definately recommend to anyone visiting Traverse City!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yearly

Dined on April 30, 2016

We travel 5 hours every year and eat there every night we are in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was awesome as usual, and the s ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was awesome as usual, and the service was great. Red Ginger is one of my favorite places to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.