About Red Ginger of Traverse City

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 11:00AM - 2:00PM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Traverse City ›

fit for foodies (81)
special occasion (74)
hot spot (71)
See All
romantic (52)
vibrant bar scene (38)
neighborhood gem (38)
good for groups (23)
notable wine list (23)
scenic view (22)
late-night find (17)
great for lunch (9)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Ginger is always spot on.... From th ...

Dined 2 days ago

Red Ginger is always spot on.... From the moment you walk in, and greeted with a smile it only gets better from there.... Dan was our server tonight and he was exceptional... attentive but not intrusive and always around when we had a question or needed something! Thanks Dan for making our dinner memorable!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit since the fire ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit since the fire and remodel and were impressed with results. Feels cozier and quieter. The wait staff are friendly, sharp and knowledgeable. They were always anticipating our needs so there was a smooth and stress-free flow to our meal. Food was outstanding. My wife's Tai curry was out of this world while my Kung Pao halibut was quite good but too sweet by half for my taste. My salad would have been a highlight of any meal. We'll be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service and Food was very good as was th ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Service and Food was very good as was the wine. I do not like the set up for dining; high & low booths and tables.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have YET to have a poor experience her ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have YET to have a poor experience here. The food was amazing from our spring roll appitizer to our black and white dessert. My tenderloin was so tender I was able to cut it with my fork! The ONLY thing I wish was better was if they had more non-seafood dishes on their menu. I don't typically like fish/seafood, but after seeing dishes my husband has ordered and other customers, I am actually willing to give it a try... It is on the pricier side, but for a special occasion, it is worth every penny!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mouth waters thinking about the cuisine.

Dined on May 14, 2016

The ambiance adds to this unique, hip restaurant. The wait staff seem to love working here which ads to the pleasure of dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the halibut, again, always a pleas ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Loved the halibut, again, always a pleasure to visit.

food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the food and drinks. Very nic ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We enjoyed the food and drinks. Very nice selections and chef goes out of his way to make any dish as you wish. I had the INDIAN Currie and had it spiced up. It was wonderful. Great wine selection too!

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The Vietnamese beef was overcooked, dry, ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The Vietnamese beef was overcooked, dry, and burnt. The noodles were also undercooked.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

My husband and I were taking a mini-vacation to celebrate my birthday. We dined at Red Ginger for the first time and were very impressed with the food, service, table settings, and ambiance. We were seated in a rather secluded area which was perfect for us. The sushi is outstanding and the wait staff were very helpful as we pondered our choices. We also enjoyed an appetizer of ceviche which was excellent. The chocolate dessert sampler was beautiful and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A downtown gem

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is fresh and local and was deliciously prepared. Wait staff friendly and attentive. Would definately recommend to anyone visiting Traverse City!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yearly

Dined on April 30, 2016

We travel 5 hours every year and eat there every night we are in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was awesome as usual, and the s ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was awesome as usual, and the service was great. Red Ginger is one of my favorite places to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our servers were great! Friendly and attentive, and the food and cocktails were delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am new to traverse city and heard good ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

I am new to traverse city and heard good things about red ginger, and avid sushi lover am i, for i couldnt wait to eat there. The service was above avrage for we didnt have to hunt the server down. I would highly recommend this place that has great style and taste, foor the food was delicous, fresh. I cant wait to come back to red ginger. Thankyou.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

A little disappointed

Dined on April 23, 2016

I have never been somewhere so professional and nice and enjoyable, yet I left with a sadness. The food was great, the atmosphere was lovely, and the server was nice. What confused me is why there were two servers. My husband and I have both served and understand how demanding it can be, but it did not seem necessary. We left a 25% tip yet the server acted annoyed...very disappointing.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

Experience was mindblowing. Their hospitality is off the carts and ambience is equally good. Food is innovative, exiciting, and delicious; a combination hard to find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent cant wait to go back.

Dined on April 22, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful time at this restaurant, we both love Sushi, and this place has great Sushi. We were celebrating our 6 year anniversary they had a card on the table with that the staff sign, that was a nice touch and they had cake and ice cream at the end. When ever we go to Travers city will go to the Red Ginger. Thank you.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Red Ginger needs to renew itself.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Having eaten at RG for years, I hate to say the management needs to fine tune service and the gustatory experience. Firstly, we felt rushed: dishes were bussed before the table was fully finished; the courses came without an appropriate interlude; and serving sizes didn't exhibit the finesse one expects for the prices and reputation. Attribute it to mid-life. They can recreate themselves or coast on their laurels. The desert was comped, but hope for better next time.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Nice place for a get together

Dined on April 17, 2016

The restaurant was clean, the food was good, not great, and the service was top notch. Sushi was prepared sufficiently but didn't knock our socks off.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of Traverse City's top 5 Restaurants

Dined on April 17, 2016

My girlfriend and I dine at Red Ginger several times each year. The service is top notch and if you like Asian food and sushi it is the best in town. The Tai Curry is our favorite meal in Traverse City! I HIGHLY recommend calling ahead to reserve a table as they are ALWAYS packed. The atmosphere is great (dim lighting, upscale table settings, etc) but it can be a little loud at times during peak dining hours. Overall it is definitely one of the top 5 Restaurants in Traverse City.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We live in Traverse City and make it to ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

We live in Traverse City and make it to this local gem about six times a years. As always, on this latest visit, the food was extraordinary (halibut special for all three of us), the service top of the line (my wife and I travel extensively for work and Red Ginger's service is up there with DC's and Chicago's best.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The special of Kung Pao Halibut was outs ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The special of Kung Pao Halibut was outstanding!

food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Great food and service but way too loud.

Dined on April 9, 2016

This place was recommended as a venue for a "romantic occasion". In our case it was our wedding anniversary. Although the food and service were very good, we could not have a conversation. The tables are on top of each other and the volume of ambient noise was totally overwhelming. This would be a great place for an after-work gathering, but not for an intimate, romantic evening with your special somebody.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Went to Red Ginger as a special occasion date night and was not disappointed! very friendly staff and the food was delicious! Great sushi. Chef Dan's Signature Roll was absolutely fantastic. The meal was a bit pricey, but deservingly so!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty

Dined on March 25, 2016

Upscale Chinese and sushi but forget dinner if you don't have a reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Dinner

Dined on March 23, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was just as good. We had two small plates to start. The calamari was excellent and the potstickers were really great. We also had two sushi rolls. Dan's signature sushi roll was the best sushi I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent presentation and nice size portions. Everything was great especially the chocolate dessert sampler.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five years in wait....

Dined on March 18, 2016

We first visited Red Ginger 5 years ago the first time we went to Traverse City, well fell in love with the city and Red Ginger! Since then we haven't been able to separate the two so when the opportunity arose for us to revisit Traverse City I booked our reservation at Red Ginger immediately! Impeccable service, tasteful decor, scrumptious super fresh sushi presented beautifully and the price? Very reasonable!! Thank you for a wonderful dinner out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Seafood Restaurant in MI

Dined on March 12, 2016

Once again, we enjoyed a delicious meal. The sushi and sashimi were as good as anything you can find in SF or NYC. The Chilean sea bass was extraordinary. Inventive cocktails and a great wine list. And the service (Mitch) was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were amazing, it wa ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

The service and food were amazing, it was our second time here and we can't wait to go back again and try something new!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal at Red Ginger

Dined on March 10, 2016

We come here a few times a year, whenever we are in Traverse City. The rolls are wonderful, some day I may try something else. The four of us were all happy with our food, which included the roll special - ginger tuna -, Vietnamese shaking beef and a noodle dish. The service has always been good, no complaints! It was very busy and somewhat noisy, but we could still have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4

We visited red ginger with another coupl ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

We visited red ginger with another couple and we had a great time. The staff was great and the food was amazing. We where in a booth by the kitchen so it was very noisy but we also got to watch the cooks which is very fun for a foodie like me. We had a sushi roll as an appetizer and my wife who does not like sushi loved it. I have gotten a lot of enthusiastic recommendations and after our meal I think I have drank the kool-aid.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Red Ginger Exquisite

Dined on March 5, 2016

Here to celebrate a family birthday. The food was excellent as was the service. Presentations were creative and pleasing. Had beautiful craft cocktails made of Pink Grapefruit and ginger. They were very good. A nice touch was the complimentary ice-cream and chocolate desert for our birthday celebrant. All around a wonderful for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is just great every time we c ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Everything is just great every time we come here from service to food to the wine selection. A great place to dine!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic!

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a fabulous date night here for restaurant week. The Sangria and Lemongrass Martini were worth the splurge. We highly recommend the vegetarian and spicy tuna sushi rolls. Any meal is amazing here. The Carmel rice pudding was unique and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Completely impressed!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Red Ginger exceeded my expectations on every level. It is well worth every penny spent. I couldn't find a single thing to really complain about. My husband and I will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Thank you Red Ginger for an amazing restaurant week experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Ginger is one of my favorite places ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Red Ginger is one of my favorite places in TC. This experience was special since it was the first time sitting in the restaurant table section. We normally sit at the sushi bar for dinner. It was equally as nice. As always the welcome from Mr. Driver, the manager, our hosts who took our coats, and Josh who offered great suggestions to us supports an encore from us!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must go when in Traverse City!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Finally visited Red Ginger after many vacations to TC. We went during TC restaurant week so the menu was Prix Fixe however there were many choices. Everything was absolutely delicious, including the drinks. We're sorry we waited so long to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good job by all......................... ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

good job by all...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.