About Red Ginger of Traverse City

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Restaurant Photos

Thai Curry - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Hot Stone Grilled Wagyu Beef - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Kung Pau Shrimp - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Kung Pao - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Calamari - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Rainbow Sushi Roll - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Firecracker "Hand Roll" - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Sake Flight - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Spicey Surf And Turf, Salmon Roll Special, Spicey Salmon - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Tenderloin Ishiyaki - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
#49- Shrimp And Crab Udon - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Chocolate Imperial - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Dragon Wings - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Salmon With Aromatic Sticky Rice And Garlic Spinach - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI
Sushi - Red Ginger of Traverse City, Traverse City, MI

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
11 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Traverse City ›

Fit for Foodies (59)
Special Occasion (58)
Hot Spot (50)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Modern Decor (39)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Romantic (33)
Fun (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Authentic (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Healthy (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
People Watching (12)
Spicy (12)
Casual (10)
Waterfront (10)
Tapas (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Scenic View (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and great food! Our se ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and great food! Our servers worked as a team and just made the whole experience awesome. Fantastic menu and specials!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They are certainly running a WELL-OILED ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 4 days ago

They are certainly running a WELL-OILED MACHINE! Our meal was fabulous!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service with Dan. Food is alwa ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service with Dan. Food is always superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like bringing guest to Red Ginger. Din ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 6 days ago

I like bringing guest to Red Ginger. Dinner was delicious however, there are limited entrees for vegetarians and vegans. They offer tofu but I was surprised to learn that the Thai Curry Is not vegetarian because it contains fish sauce. I really appreciated that the server mentioned this to us since is was not included in the description. The Lotus flower cocktail is wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten here once before and wante ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have eaten here once before and wanted to take our out of town guests to a "nice place". We were absolutely delighted with our choice! Our guests are sushi lovers and we all shared several rolls as an appetizer . . . our guests pronounced them EXCELLENT! All entrees were great and the service was perfect. It was a great evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at Red Gin ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Red Ginger. We had great food and service, we decided to go off of the regular menu rather than do the sushi. The tuna was melt in your mouth and my husband's dish was equally amazing.

It is overall very pricy, even compared to other Traverse City restaurants, so it is not a place for casual dining. I do recommend it, just bring a bag of money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There are a lot of great restaurants in ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 26, 2016

There are a lot of great restaurants in Traverse City, but this has to be one of the best. Fantastic food everytime and a great selection of beer and wine. If you like Asian, fusion, sushi etc...put it at the top of the list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never have had a disappointing meal here ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Never have had a disappointing meal here. Food is fresh, staff are knowledgeable, atmosphere is top notch. We never come to Traverse city without visiting Red Ginger.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food, good service. Noisey, bu ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very good food, good service. Noisey, but that's seems to be common with popular restaurants. Tables very close together. Curry confit duck top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Amazing as always. We've never been disa ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing as always. We've never been disappointed. It's our favorite restaurant in Traverse City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we travel from Windsor and alwats have d ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 19, 2016

we travel from Windsor and alwats have dinner at the Red ginger. they never disapoint! It's a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed. One of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We have never been disappointed. One of my favorite Martini's and the best Sushi in TC. I'll be back soon!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, my wife enjoyed the Thai ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food, my wife enjoyed the Thai salad very much "best salad ever" and the sea bass, the Thai curry with tofu was also excellent. Very vibrant, fresh flavors. Exciting place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Spicy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved this place. It was our first we ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We loved this place. It was our first wedding anniversary and we were so happy that we choose this place to celebrate. The staff was attentive and professional, we felt special and cared for. The food was outstanding, pleasing even my sushi-snob wife. The wasabi tuna roll was simply amazing. The sashimi was delicately sliced and the fish was really fresh. And this was the first place we found in Michigan that serve Caipirinhas (best drink ever), which was just the cherry on top.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were in Traverse City a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I were in Traverse City and had Red Ginger recommended to us. We were so glad we went! Food was great!!!!! It is not a quiet place - not ideal for intimate conversation but other than that well worth it for the food.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had all small plates and sushi which ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had all small plates and sushi which were all great. I love to dine this way and Red Ginger has some great choices. We sat in the back overlooking the canal and it was very nice and a little quieter than the main dining room which I appreciated since we were with another couple and we didn't want to have to talk so loud to hear the conversation. Overall, the restaurant was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Great service. Nice martini l ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food. Great service. Nice martini list. Very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic staff, very attentive and want ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Fantastic staff, very attentive and wanting to do anything for you. Food was delicious. Ambience was great. Seated out on the smaller room looking out on the river, very pretty. We had trouble with noise level, mostly from one 4-person party directly behind us celebrating a birthday, but unfortunately talking loud enough to have everyone in restaurant hear their conversation. After they left, even though there were plenty of folks left eating, it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice venue, limited menu. If you don't ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Nice venue, limited menu. If you don't like raw fish, spicy food or beef, don't waste your time or money dining here. Main server was inattentive and not helpful on picking items thst would be good choices for us.

Kung pao was prepared with uninteresting ingredients- spicy but not flavorable. Chicken wings were ovetcooked and hard as wood. No vegstable choices. Sushi was ok. Pit stickers bland. They offer sauces to cover up unimaginative choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Food was delicious and service great! T ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was delicious and service great! The noise level was a little high but manageable.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceeds our expectations every time make ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Exceeds our expectations every time makes for a great evening enjoying our favorite small dishes, entrees and drinks. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food at Red Ginger was awesome, as u ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food at Red Ginger was awesome, as usual. I have to say, I had an unsettling surprise when I was called a few hours before our reservation with a confirmation. I had thought our reservation was for 5:30, but it was actually for 5:15. The caller said that if we wished to dine at 5:30, "that would be fine, but you would have one hour and forty five minutes to eat instead of 2 hours". I was shocked! I had recently read another reviewers comment that they were asked to leave because someone was waiting for their table. We have been dining at Red Ginger since they opened, and have never heard of this!! I said "are you kidding that you would kick us out after 2 hours"? They said, well they wouldn't kick us out, but a "4 top" is given 2 hours to eat, then their table is booked for another party, and they would be "waiting" for the table.

I love this restaurant, but this has given me a bad feeling. Let's face it, it is an expensive place to dine. The bill for my son and I, pre tip was $105. My friend and her son had a pre tip bill of $65. ( and they are 18 and did not have alcohol). I don't like to be handled like cattle when I dine at an upscale restaurant. I'm feeling conflicted right now....,😒

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing. Love the rotating special entre ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Amazing. Love the rotating special entrees the Wagyu steak. A must have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience at Red Ginger. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always a great experience at Red Ginger. The food is great, the team service is second to none. I have been eating at Red Ginger for years and each time is better than the last one.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing experience! Chef Dan has ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 27, 2016

What an amazing experience! Chef Dan has an incredible team in the kitchen. Loved the Tuna, Sushi is to die for! And a excellent drink selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent staff. Great food and ambianc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent staff. Great food and ambiance. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good times. HS seniors loved it. Dan's ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Good times. HS seniors loved it. Dan's roll was excellent, as were the wontons. Tuna chirashi excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service as always. Had a signed ca ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great service as always. Had a signed card on our table for our wedding anniversary which was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places to eat , when ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 19, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat , when we have come with friends treated very kind but both times we have brought our child we have been treated unwanted. Very rude. Probably won't return because of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful evening. We will be back for s ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Wonderful evening. We will be back for sure. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a delightful experience! I look f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always a delightful experience! I look forward to begin my weekend in Traverse City at Red Ginger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best seared tuna tacos I have ever h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The best seared tuna tacos I have ever had. One of the best dishes my boyfriend and I have ever put in our mouths. It is a little pricy for small portions but it's delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service! We were glad we ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food and service! We were glad we made reservations since the wait was two hours.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time we've dined here. First tim ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Second time we've dined here. First time was outstanding. Not so much this time. Dragon roll was a little fishy tasting. Chicken "wing" appetizer was unusual but would definitely order again. The hit of the meal. Also had chicken &shrimp green curry. Very good. We ordered white wine by the glass and we tried to order another glass but we're told they had run out. When we got our bill the server had charged us for the wine we didn't get but it was quickly corrected. Wait staff is very accommodating. Place is a little pricey but we would return. Strongly recommend a reservation since the restaurant is very popular.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food! Wonderful experience. Wi ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent food! Wonderful experience. Will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inventive Asian-influenced food. Some d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Inventive Asian-influenced food. Some dishes (ahi tacos with wonton "shells") were more successful than others (overly sweet sauce on calamari). Helpful waitstaff. Very popular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our only negative is that we live four h ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Our only negative is that we live four hours away otherwise we'd eat there at least once a week

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Ginger is absolutely my favorite res ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Red Ginger is absolutely my favorite restaurant! It's amazing! From the moment your greeted at the front door all the way through the dining experience you feel like a VIP guest. The food is amazing and the staff is the BEST! It is a must in TC!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come to traverse occasionally and can ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We come to traverse occasionally and can never try anything new because it HAS to be Red Ginger! Great sushi! Great curry!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just OK. 5 potstickers, 1 was burned. Or ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Just OK. 5 potstickers, 1 was burned. Ordered spicy tuna roll, so spicy I could barely eat it. Good service, but food was just ordinary. Wouldn't go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.