About Red Ginger of Traverse City

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Restaurant Photos

Thai Curry
Hot Stone Grilled Wagyu Beef
Kung Pau Shrimp
Kung Pao
Calamari
Rainbow Sushi Roll
Firecracker "Hand Roll"
Sake Flight
Spicey Surf And Turf, Salmon Roll Special, Spicey Salmon
Tenderloin Ishiyaki
#49- Shrimp And Crab Udon
Chocolate Imperial
Dragon Wings
Salmon With Aromatic Sticky Rice And Garlic Spinach
Sushi

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
11 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Traverse City ›

Fit for Foodies (106)
Special Occasion (96)
Hot Spot (79)
See All
Romantic (57)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Good for Groups (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Notable Wine List (38)
Scenic View (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sushi was not impressive. Lacked flavor ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Sushi was not impressive. Lacked flavor and the rice dominated each specialty roll. However, the grilled halibut and sweet corn risotto was superb. Wish I didn't bother with the sushi and tried another appetizer instead. Perhaps next time!

Worth trying for sure, just lay off the mild/bland sushi and try any other dishes and you should be good!

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here while in town for a weekend ge ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Came here while in town for a weekend getaway. Every night we walked by Red Ginger - it appeared to be busy and rustling, so we booked a reservation which can easily be done by selecting a time online. The food was delicious, the table setting was very nice, and there are plenty of cocktails, beers, and wines. This is more of an upscale asian/sushi joint, but well worth the money. We were very pleased with our meal and left stuffed! :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner and I were celebrating a new ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My partner and I were celebrating a new job offer and absolutely love sushi, so we ventured out to try Red Ginger. I'd heard great things and was under strict orders to try the Dragon Wings, which turned out to be simply delicious (the next couple of days we were both fantasizing about them!). Overall, a delicious and lovely experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. The servers were atte ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was great. The servers were attentive and the general manager made us feel right at home. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great time! Food is fabulous! S ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a great time! Food is fabulous! Service is superb! Never disappoints !

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great welcome. Can't wai ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great service, great welcome. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible. We have eaten ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was terrible. We have eaten at Red Ginger many times and never experienced anything like this. When you are paying over $130 for dinner you would think that you would have to walk to the bar to ask for water, and then walk to the hostess station to ask for your bill after being there for almost 2 hours.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent meal! The staff on the evening ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent meal! The staff on the evening we visited was polite, happy and very professional. This restaurant tops our list so far as we just moved into the area! We are looking forward to frequenting it regularly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Red ginger sangria was fabulous.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Red ginger sangria was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant has amazing customer ser ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This restaurant has amazing customer service from the time you walk through the door until seated. Then we had an amazing server who's name tag said Jimmy, but not his name. He made sure we were comfortable and happy with every aspect of our experience. The manager even came over. Amazing is the only way to describe my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Kind servers, good sushi, loved it and i ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Kind servers, good sushi, loved it and i will go again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food and service. Make a reserva ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awesome food and service. Make a reservation. It is packed in the summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit to Red Ginger. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was our second visit to Red Ginger. The first time we were there everything was perfect, the service was great as was the food. This time things were not nearly as good. We were a party of 4 and one of our dinners came out 15 minutes later than the other 3. The server came over and said they took one of our dinners to another table and graciously took it off our bill.

Two of us had the special which was the Haddock with Risotto. The Haddock was dry and over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Really enjoyed our dinner. Good was exc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner. Good was excellent. Service was fabulous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Called because my boyfriends plane was l ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Called because my boyfriends plane was late to land and they very nicely said they would hold it for us. His plane ended up getting in an hour late. We went not thinking our table would still be open but they held it for us!! It was my 20th birthday and a card was on the table for me. The best dining experience I've ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience! We celebra ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary there and it could not have been nicer. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of many visits to Red Ginger. Always ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

One of many visits to Red Ginger. Always a good experience. Will be nice when the outside deck reopens. Wish they were open for lunch as they were a few years ago.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are from Ohio and were on our way to ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We are from Ohio and were on our way to the U.P. Via Traverse City. We knew we were going to want a late supper and didn't know where to eat. After consulting Trip Advisor we decided on Red Ginger. I love the easy way to reserve a table, the follow up text and phone call to remind us as well as this (follow up) the food was spectacular (the tuna (I think, it was late 😊) were amazing! We had just s bunch of appetizers but nothing to drink, so can't comment on that. The air conditioning was out and it was packed. The poor wait staff had to be dying but they never let on. I liked it so much I would go 2 hours out of my way again to eat there. It is a must try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I always wanted to try it when we were T ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I always wanted to try it when we were TC. It was fantastic. The food was freshly prepared. The Calamari was fabulous, and pot stickers were nicely pan fried and the sauces were good too. Our sushi was outstanding and very gourmet. All around great place. Make a reservation, the wait is long even on a weeknight. I made a reservation and our table was waiting for us. There was a party of 4 standing outside waiting when we got there and were still there when we finished dinner. Plan ahead if you want to dine here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was wonderful! Typhoon sake is o ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service was wonderful! Typhoon sake is over the moon and just $5. And the only one they serve warm. Loved the pot stickers, lobster roll and tiger rolls. Dynamite roll - not so much. Not as much flavor as the name would suggest. We are going back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always. Fresh seafood and sus ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Amazing as always. Fresh seafood and sushi. Best cuisine in all of Michigan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my wife's birthday. Greeted ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday. Greeted with a Happy Birthday to her and card! Impeccable service and food!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Been to plenty of upscale vacation spot ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Been to plenty of upscale vacation spot resturants and Red Ginger is a must visit in Traverse city! Great sushi, small plates and drink list. Really enjoyed this spot and would come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful food and service right in down ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful food and service right in downtown Traverse City!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best Asian fusion restaurant in Michigan ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Best Asian fusion restaurant in Michigan, and one of the best restaurants overall in the state. The quality and unique tastes of the food, diversity of menu selections, and service are all splendid.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I always love eating at this restaurant. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I always love eating at this restaurant. The calamari is a favorite. I do wish they would bring the Udon back to the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and terrific service. So ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent food and terrific service. So many menu items to choose from.

Went last Saturday and again this Saturday. It was THAT wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have a cottage in Traverse City and ev ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I have a cottage in Traverse City and every time I have guests I make sure we go to Red Ginger. In my opinion the only go to restaurant in T.C. Food is fabulous and more importantly the service is impeccable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Travel to TC from down state usually get ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Travel to TC from down state usually get the sea bass which is phenomenal. Got there too late, they were out, got the ahi tuna still a great choice. Love this place.. the calamari is also a favorite. Wish Red Ginger would open one up in Royal Oak or Birmingham or anywhere down state.. <3

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant. The food, no ma ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We love this restaurant. The food, no matter what we order, is always excellent. Service is prompt and friendly. Our favorite restaurant in the Traverse City area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I am originally from Traverse City, but ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I am originally from Traverse City, but currently live in Chicago. I have no trouble paying top dollar for great food and great service. Red Ginger has the great service, and the good flavors, but is not a good value! The ahi tacos were fantastic, the calamari tasted too much like tabasco, and the Pad Thai was short on anything except noodles! For the money, there are better options in TC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Ordered the lemongrass martini which was ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Ordered the lemongrass martini which was fabulous - a combination of sweet and tart, but you might need to add a touch more simple syrup to reach that perfect combination. We both had the shaking beef and it was ok but we are used to a more robust and unique flavor when we order it in a Vietnamese restaurant in South Florida.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is always good. Service is always ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food is always good. Service is always excellent. Just an all round good local dinner spot in small town America!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This restaurant is always great. The foo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This restaurant is always great. The food is fresh and tasty. They of course have great sushi , but also have amazing Halibut and tenderloin. The bar is always hopping and can make for fun people watching. This is a must go to when in the Traverse Area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and atmosphere were great. Service ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food and atmosphere were great. Service was poor. We waited quite a while to order. They brought us 2 warm towels to clean our hands...there were 3 of us. And the used towels stayed on the table throughout the entire dinner. I also asked for another glass of wine, which was never brought.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Red Ginger is our favorite place and alw ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Red Ginger is our favorite place and always make a point to get there when we are in the TC area. Bartenders are great, food is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always outstanding as is the ser ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food is always outstanding as is the service. A dining destination in Traverse City

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great!!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we asked for restaurant recommendat ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

When we asked for restaurant recommendations for our first visit to Traverse City, one local to Traverse City, friends kept raving about Red Ginger. It was a unanimous favorite, a "must." And we were delighted with everything. We had a lovely table near a window with a pretty bay view. This was during Cherry Festival, and the restaurant seemed like an oasis away from the craziness outside. All service was exceptional, the perfect balance of attentiveness, friendliness, unintrusiveness. As for the food, it was amazing. One of us had the sushi roll combo, and the other had duck curry. We split the grilled lamb chops as a starter, panna cotta for dessert. Every single bite was delectable, unusual, flavorful. Even the drinks were special--a generous Manhattan on the rocks (I might have had two!) and an icy cold draft beer. Bravo to everyone at Red Ginger! We will continue the chain of rave recommendations, and we hope to be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fabulous! Randy was great.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was fabulous! Randy was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.