About Red Ginger of Traverse City

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Restaurant Photos

Thai Curry
Hot Stone Grilled Wagyu Beef
Kung Pau Shrimp
Kung Pao
Calamari
Rainbow Sushi Roll
Firecracker "Hand Roll"
Sake Flight
Spicey Surf And Turf, Salmon Roll Special, Spicey Salmon
Tenderloin Ishiyaki
#49- Shrimp And Crab Udon
Chocolate Imperial
Dragon Wings
Salmon With Aromatic Sticky Rice And Garlic Spinach
Sushi

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
13 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Fit for Foodies
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Traverse City ›

Fit for Foodies (112)
Special Occasion (107)
Hot Spot (83)
See All
Romantic (60)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Vibrant Bar Scene (49)
Good for Groups (43)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Scenic View (17)
Fun (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (11)
Spicy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Healthy (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Casual (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Waterfront (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Red Ginger has become our Friday night d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Red Ginger has become our Friday night dinner place to go. We enjoy the Fresh seafood and are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Seabass fantastic!!! Waiter was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome Seabass fantastic!!! Waiter was awesome food was so delious love the place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful evening for my wife an ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined 6 days ago

Another wonderful evening for my wife and I. One of our "go to" restaurants in Traverse City. Love the 2 person team approach to waiting on tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing! But the service was fa ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing! But the service was far beyond 5 stars!!! Loved our Red Ginger experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The sushi was awesome as was the curry. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The sushi was awesome as was the curry. My daughter-in-law from Colombia loved the Chinese Ribs. Great service and wonderful food. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Spicy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our table was in between two other table ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

our table was in between two other tables that were inches apart. Our tables conversation had to over power our neighbors conversation just to hear each other. Seating was terrible but the rest of the experience was A+

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great food, great time, great value. Our ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food, great time, great value.

Our go-to place when friends are in town.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Healthy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in our h ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in our home town. We always go here for sushi, and it is great. Having said that, all our sushi was wonderful on this night, except for 1 roll. I can't remember the name off hand, but it was one of the special features on the weekly

feature menu. (The great wine clouds my mind!). On top of the roll was I believe maybe crab. Oh my gosh it was dry! The taste and texture led to an inedible and tough roll. Very disappointing, especially with the substantial prices at this restaurant. A one service as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, People Watching, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Red Ginger is a constant for my husband ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Red Ginger is a constant for my husband and I. We plan many date nights there and are never disappointed. I can not wait to go again. The dragon wings are to die for!!!

Tags: Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only disappointment was we followed ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The only disappointment was we followed the dress code but found some in sweatpants/shirts and looked as though they had rolled out of bed. Dress code should be enforced if you post one online and at the door. Food and service was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The sushi was the best I have ever had! ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The sushi was the best I have ever had! Great drinks for Happy Hour - especially the Red Dragon, DELICIOUS! Great service, great food, great drinks = A+!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had sushi roll and tai curry. It was exc ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had sushi roll and tai curry. It was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

When we visit Traverse City we always ma ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

When we visit Traverse City we always make Red Ginger one of our meal stops. It is excellent in every way from service, attention to detail and of course an incredible diner. We combined Sushi with salads and a dinner entre with each one trying to upstage the previous course. Definitely make it a dinner stop if in the area. Probably smart to make a reservation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So many incredible dishes can't wait to ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

So many incredible dishes can't wait to come back and try different options.‼️‼️‼️‼️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is limited but good. I booked ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The menu is limited but good. I booked it for sushi for my partner. We were celebrating birthdays. The wine is slightly expensive for the pour. It isn't my favorite place but a good compromise of two people with different foodie passions. I have been here several times - I am a local. My curry was excellent but my dessert did taste "out of a box". I had the flourless chocolate cake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We always enjoy our meals at Red Ginger. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We always enjoy our meals at Red Ginger. The staff is attentive, and professional. The food is excellent and well-plated.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in the Trave ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the Traverse City area, everything there is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Spicy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Vegan, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always incredible cocktails, food, and s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always incredible cocktails, food, and service. One of my favorite restaurants anywhere! This was the first time I stepped away from my usual Thai Curry, and ordered a special Kung Pao Halibut. Flavor, spice level, crunch on the battered fish and vegetables made for a really tasty dinner!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Spicy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They care about their customers and do a ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

They care about their customers and do a great job to please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Impeccable service, great food and atmos ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Impeccable service, great food and atmosphere. You can count on it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red ginger went out of their way to make ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Red ginger went out of their way to make our anniversary dinner a very special one. Would definitely recommend to friends and can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING. If anyway possible, PLEASE open ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

AMAZING. If anyway possible, PLEASE open another franchise in the Grand Rapids area, it would do amazing there!!! Red ginger will forever be my favorite restaurant. Sushi is to die for ❤️

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the tables facing the road. It ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We sat at the tables facing the road. It was great people watching and excellent food. Jeremy, the bar tender was excellent. He was very charming and offered great drunk suggestions. We'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting menu, great food and service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Interesting menu, great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Red Ginger. They were very accommo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love Red Ginger. They were very accommodating to my gluten and lactose allergy, they even have separate gluten free and vegan menus. They are a must visit when you are in Traverse City.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fine. Some items were good even ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was fine. Some items were good even. But I felt like the price could not be justified for the quality. Way overpriced for size and quality of food. Service was excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Kinda over priced for what it was. I don ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Kinda over priced for what it was. I don't think we'd dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Delicious and creative food, as well as ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Delicious and creative food, as well as amazing, attentive service everytime I dine at Red Ginger.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sushi was not impressive. Lacked flavor ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Sushi was not impressive. Lacked flavor and the rice dominated each specialty roll. However, the grilled halibut and sweet corn risotto was superb. Wish I didn't bother with the sushi and tried another appetizer instead. Perhaps next time!

Worth trying for sure, just lay off the mild/bland sushi and try any other dishes and you should be good!

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here while in town for a weekend ge ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Came here while in town for a weekend getaway. Every night we walked by Red Ginger - it appeared to be busy and rustling, so we booked a reservation which can easily be done by selecting a time online. The food was delicious, the table setting was very nice, and there are plenty of cocktails, beers, and wines. This is more of an upscale asian/sushi joint, but well worth the money. We were very pleased with our meal and left stuffed! :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food!! The prices are a bit hi ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food!! The prices are a bit high, but the food is delicious! The service is great and you do not have to wait long for them to come back if you need anything. If you are on a budget though, Panda North is a good second choice in the food area.

But if you can, come to Red Ginger!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My partner and I were celebrating a new ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My partner and I were celebrating a new job offer and absolutely love sushi, so we ventured out to try Red Ginger. I'd heard great things and was under strict orders to try the Dragon Wings, which turned out to be simply delicious (the next couple of days we were both fantasizing about them!). Overall, a delicious and lovely experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. The servers were atte ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was great. The servers were attentive and the general manager made us feel right at home. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great time! Food is fabulous! S ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a great time! Food is fabulous! Service is superb! Never disappoints !

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great welcome. Can't wai ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great service, great welcome. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible. We have eaten ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was terrible. We have eaten at Red Ginger many times and never experienced anything like this. When you are paying over $130 for dinner you would think that you would have to walk to the bar to ask for water, and then walk to the hostess station to ask for your bill after being there for almost 2 hours.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent meal! The staff on the evening ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent meal! The staff on the evening we visited was polite, happy and very professional. This restaurant tops our list so far as we just moved into the area! We are looking forward to frequenting it regularly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Red ginger sangria was fabulous.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Red ginger sangria was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant has amazing customer ser ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This restaurant has amazing customer service from the time you walk through the door until seated. Then we had an amazing server who's name tag said Jimmy, but not his name. He made sure we were comfortable and happy with every aspect of our experience. The manager even came over. Amazing is the only way to describe my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy the food at Red Ginger. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We always enjoy the food at Red Ginger. It never disappoints. We had to change our reservation last minute and they were very accommodating. We come to Michigan from Texas once a year and Red Ginger is always on our list of restaurants we must visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.