Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Red Ginger of Traverse City

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (61)
Special Occasion (61)
Creative Cuisine (60)
See All
Fit for Foodies (57)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Hot Spot (47)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Worth the Drive (34)
Romantic (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Fun (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Bar Seating (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Authentic (16)
Business Meals (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Happy Hour (14)
People Watching (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Spicy (11)
Tapas (11)
Scenic View (11)
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Waterfront (10)
Cozy (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vegan (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (5)
Organic (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious and fresh sushi! Love the Forbidden Rice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The noise level was so high you could not hear your table members speak . Very high level and made the evening less enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Ernest, the manager does a great job. His staff is friendly act as if they enjoy their job.
My friend and I stopped in to change the time of our reservation. He was very accommodating and later welcomed us by name when we dined.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I cannot portray my desire for everyone to go to Red Ginger enough! My wife and I went here for our one year wedding anniversary and it was just perfect. From the hospitality, to the food, to the layout of the restaurant it was simply great! The food is delicious but what really did it for my wife and I was the extra mile service we received. The waiter we had, Randy, as well as the assistant servers for our drinks was amazing. We truly felt pampered. Due to it having a large selection of sushi/seafood the prices are higher but honestly not that high. For what we received in the form of service I was happy to pay extra for my wife and I to feel spoiled. The drinks we delicious and again the service was great. I would recommend this to anyone for just a casual dining out experience, a special celebration or for a family get together. All will be well taken care of!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Red ginger is one of our favorite restaurants 😝

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was good, I would say overpriced. Chef Dan's sushi sounds much better in the description, we found it pretty bland. Presentation was not great. Mojito was good and strong. A server for the table behind me repeatedly bumped into my chair, without any acknowledgement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Red Ginger is known for fantastic food and wonderful service . Out of all the wonderful places to eat in Trevor city I think Red Ginger stands above them all because of their excellent customer service and the knowledge of their service team.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Healthy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Red Ginger was a perfect spot for a birthday dinner for my best friend! Our waiter Mitch was fantastic and we even made friends with the table next to ours. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I'm always amazed at the combinations they come up with that are so incredibly delicious. On this occasion both my wife and I had halibut; her's was Kung Pao and mine grilled. We're still debating whose was better. The staff is always very helpful, pleasant and efficient.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food is excellence The ambiance not so much Can get a little noisy and hard to have a conversation

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of the best restaurants that the wife and I have ever visited. Pam was fantastic at the front of the house and Wil was exceptional delivering service for our dinner date. take the time to enjoy what Red Ginger has to offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of our go to places in Traverse City. Choose the patio for a quieter experience, but the food and service are always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food is so good. Looks like a small amount of food but is more than enough -- flavors are clean and flavorful - great Asian Fusion - Our waiter WILL was fantastic, clearly explaining the food selections. Tuna taco appretizer was very good, RIBS are always wonderful & Plentiful. The Kung Po is a traditional take with Chicken & Shrimp. The Ahi Tuna was prepared rare and was very good with the Avocado, slaw and Rice tower.
The drinks are wonderful -- Sangria & Caipriahna were fantastic, and Pinot Noir by the glass with dinner was dry but fruity
The deserts were very good - Caramel Corn Ice Cream & manage Ice cream were great finish for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Red Ginger never fails. We experienced great service and delectable food. The halibut specials were great. Good wine selections and great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was great as it usually is but they were understaffed in the service definitely suffered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent seafood pad Thai and sushi. Red Ginger always has unique and tasty food. Their mango sorbet is to die for.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Finally made a reservation so that I could go to this restaurant that I had heard so much about. Boy was I ever disappointed! First of all the layout is a bit of a mess, there are these high diner like tables in the middle and the whole place is incredibly noisy. We sat in the somewhat quieter back room. We started with the sweet and sour calamari, which was ok but totally oversauced this was followed by a $26 entree of Thai curry chicken and shrimp. The shrimp were very fresh but the overly artificial yellow curry sauce was totally one note and there was way too much of it. Supposedly there were Japanese eggplant in the fish but I couldn't taste or find any.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always a pleasure to be met with the friendly staff. The food has always exceeded expectations. Everyone feels special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We had a fantastic time. Ben is an amazing server. Very funny. The food was delicious!! Kung Pao, the halibut special and the tofu tacos all wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always great service, great food, and amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our waiter Ben was outstanding. The service at Red Ginger is always exceptional. A person definitely has to have a taste for fusion and sushi but, if so, will find the cuisine outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

One of many great meals with family visiting from Wisconsin who love to come to Red Ginger. Only wish they were open for lunch like they were a few years ago. Always good to be there for Happy Hour when Matt is the bartender.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Girls reunion trip was made special with this absolutely delicious menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I only have one issue and that is what I paid for and what I received. It was the Halibut special, was very good but it was very little. I also have never paid 7.50 for an Oberon draft. Everything else including wait staff was great Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Incredible service. Made our anniversary extra special. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food was wonderful, service was great and they serve a good drink.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Bar area is horribly loud. Dining room only slightly loud. Very friendly server and good food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Best place in town. Not stuffy like Trattoria and a fun, sexy environment. They made our anniversary very special, waiter Mitch was great. Only compliant was my martini was Luke warm. Food was incredible. Just incredible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I appreciated being sat in the back for intimacy and conversation. We accidentally set our menu on fire and the manager came and took our candle away from us. The waiter brought it back when we asked for it.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Ate at a low table in the bar section for the 1st time. Worked out well. Did notice a little less attentiveness and it was a little slower overall vs the restaurant proper. The food was superb.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We normally get Sushi, which has always been excellent. Currently they have Special treats on Wild Halibut and Salmon, in season and fresh. Each of those dishes as prepared are nearly $40. We decided on the Salmon but then it was severely overcooked, we opted for the medium at the recommended temp. We turned it back, they made another plate for us, that too was a bit over medium, but still excellent. The manager came over, without any request from us, she opted for something on the house, we decided on a desert that was also excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We had a fabulous meal once again. Our server Ben, was great. Made recommendations and was very attentive. We make reservations whenever in Traverse City.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food and service was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Rainbow Roll, Featured Roll, Halibut Saviche, lemongrass Martini, Bellaire Brown on Tap. Awesome.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food. Pricey, probably demand driven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and the sushi is some of the best you will fine anywhere. If I had one ding it would be the portion size of the fish served with an entree. Make sure to fill up on appetizers and beverages because the $45-50 chicken nugget sized fish portions served with your entree will surely disappoint you and will not satisfy your appetite.

All in all it's a great spot.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

After reading reviews on Red Ginger, I knew I needed to try it. It exceeded my expectations! We ordered a lot of food and it was all amazing. I will mention a few standout dishes. Forbidden Rice was ridiculously good. The sea bass, although the most expensive dish on the menu, was superb. The fish was fresh and cooked to perfection. It paired well with the vegetable, sauce and Jasmine rice. I would definitely recommend it if you want a beautiful piece of fish. The others in my group shared a bunch of sushi rolls including the Wasabi Tuna Roll, Chef Dan's Signature Roll, Dynamite Roll and Tunagi Roll. They enjoyed all of the rolls but mentioned that the Wasabi Tuna Roll was hands down their favorite. The service was great and the atmosphere was energetic. I highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be back the next time I am in Traverse City.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We have always loved Red Ginger. You could tell when they opened it was going to be a great spot. We have our favorite foods we always order, but occasionally we will try something new!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

nice place and good service but a bit over priced for the quality or food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.