About Red Ginger of Traverse City

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Restaurant Photos

Thai Curry
Hot Stone Grilled Wagyu Beef
Kung Pau Shrimp
Kung Pao
Calamari
Rainbow Sushi Roll
Firecracker "Hand Roll"
Sake Flight
Spicey Surf And Turf, Salmon Roll Special, Spicey Salmon
Tenderloin Ishiyaki
#49- Shrimp And Crab Udon
Dragon Wings
Salmon With Aromatic Sticky Rice And Garlic Spinach
Chocolate Imperial
Sushi

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
3 More
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Traverse City ›

fit for foodies (103)
special occasion (96)
hot spot (80)
See All
romantic (57)
neighborhood gem (46)
good for groups (44)
vibrant bar scene (40)
notable wine list (36)
scenic view (25)
great for lunch (18)
late-night find (18)
great for outdoor dining (10)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and terrific service. So ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and terrific service. So many menu items to choose from.

Went last Saturday and again this Saturday. It was THAT wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have a cottage in Traverse City and ev ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have a cottage in Traverse City and every time I have guests I make sure we go to Red Ginger. In my opinion the only go to restaurant in T.C. Food is fabulous and more importantly the service is impeccable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. The food, no ma ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love this restaurant. The food, no matter what we order, is always excellent. Service is prompt and friendly. Our favorite restaurant in the Traverse City area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I am originally from Traverse City, but ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I am originally from Traverse City, but currently live in Chicago. I have no trouble paying top dollar for great food and great service. Red Ginger has the great service, and the good flavors, but is not a good value! The ahi tacos were fantastic, the calamari tasted too much like tabasco, and the Pad Thai was short on anything except noodles! For the money, there are better options in TC.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Ordered the lemongrass martini which was ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Ordered the lemongrass martini which was fabulous - a combination of sweet and tart, but you might need to add a touch more simple syrup to reach that perfect combination. We both had the shaking beef and it was ok but we are used to a more robust and unique flavor when we order it in a Vietnamese restaurant in South Florida.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is always good. Service is always ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food is always good. Service is always excellent. Just an all round good local dinner spot in small town America!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This restaurant is always great. The foo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This restaurant is always great. The food is fresh and tasty. They of course have great sushi , but also have amazing Halibut and tenderloin. The bar is always hopping and can make for fun people watching. This is a must go to when in the Traverse Area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and atmosphere were great. Service ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food and atmosphere were great. Service was poor. We waited quite a while to order. They brought us 2 warm towels to clean our hands...there were 3 of us. And the used towels stayed on the table throughout the entire dinner. I also asked for another glass of wine, which was never brought.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Red Ginger is our favorite place and alw ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Red Ginger is our favorite place and always make a point to get there when we are in the TC area. Bartenders are great, food is amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always outstanding as is the ser ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food is always outstanding as is the service. A dining destination in Traverse City

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great!!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we asked for restaurant recommendat ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

When we asked for restaurant recommendations for our first visit to Traverse City, one local to Traverse City, friends kept raving about Red Ginger. It was a unanimous favorite, a "must." And we were delighted with everything. We had a lovely table near a window with a pretty bay view. This was during Cherry Festival, and the restaurant seemed like an oasis away from the craziness outside. All service was exceptional, the perfect balance of attentiveness, friendliness, unintrusiveness. As for the food, it was amazing. One of us had the sushi roll combo, and the other had duck curry. We split the grilled lamb chops as a starter, panna cotta for dessert. Every single bite was delectable, unusual, flavorful. Even the drinks were special--a generous Manhattan on the rocks (I might have had two!) and an icy cold draft beer. Bravo to everyone at Red Ginger! We will continue the chain of rave recommendations, and we hope to be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fabulous! Randy was great.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was fabulous! Randy was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Ginger is my go-to birthday spot! I ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Red Ginger is my go-to birthday spot! I go every single year. The service is outstanding! 2 waiters per table makes every guest feel like they are the top priority. Upon arrival there is always a birthday card waiting at the reserved table that is signed by all of the staff that are working that day, the manager comes over, shakes my hand and tell me happy birthday and the wait staff greets with a cheery "happy birthday!". The atmosphere is just outstanding and I can't wait to go back next year! Oh! And the food is out of this world! Vietnamese Shaking Beef is always (and I mean always) perfect. Great variety of sushi rolls for all kinds of eaters (picky right up to adventurous!) I would give Red Ginger 100 stars out of 10.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequent Red Ginger each visit to Tra ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We frequent Red Ginger each visit to Traverse City. This place is one of the better restaurants serving great food and usually a great dining experience. No fault of Red Ginger, but on this last visit we were seated at a table next to a foul mouthed person. Needless to say, it really was not our favorite Red Ginger experience.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was spectacular: we had a co ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was spectacular: we had a constant stream of serving personnel and managerial staff checking on our table. Ernest was also wonderful in sorting out and accommodating a special request of mine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous ceviche, with fresh fush and av ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fabulous ceviche, with fresh fush and avidcado! The sushi rolls were both flavorful and delicous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We first went to Red Ginger for my wife' ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We first went to Red Ginger for my wife's birthday last year, and chose to return to celebrate that event this year. Excellent, inventive food and cocktails. Attentive service. Attention to detail. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the place Service was excellent an ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Loved the place Service was excellent and attentive. They really went out of their way to make a perfect meal. And the food... My gosh! Just a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Requested a table in the main dining roo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Requested a table in the main dining room by the window, which we got. No waiting for our table. Wait staff was very knowledgeable and also prompt. Food for all four of us was outstanding, both appetizers and entrees. We especially enjoyed the Chinese style ribs appetizers and both the seafood pad Thai and Vietnamese shaking beef entrees. Not inexpensive, but probably Traverse City's best restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I chose the Red Ginger based on a friend ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I chose the Red Ginger based on a friend's recommendation. The service was outstanding. The food was beyond amazing. Everything was perfectly prepared, very flavorful and fresh. Our server perfectly timed the small plates we ordered to share, making the whole dining experience relaxed. I also highly recommend their new martini, the Pink Ginger. Fresh and perfect for summer. The Red Ginger will be my go-to restaurant when I'm in Traverse City.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire staff does an excellent job. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The entire staff does an excellent job. They ensure a top notch dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small, but GREAT! First time here, but ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Small, but GREAT! First time here, but not last. Went small plates route, but great flavor in Chef Dan's signature sushi, potstickers, beef on hot stone, Thai spring rolls and chicken lettuce wraps. Plus, got comp dessert for wedding anniversary! Bravo Red Ginger!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was incredible and the service ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was incredible and the service was amazing. They run a very tight ship and are on top of everything! It was a perfect evening!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and service. kind of loud. ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

great food and service. kind of loud. can't wait to eat here again

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a wonderful restaurant which is ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant which is consistent. I only wish they were open for lunch as they were in the past. The bar is great. Matt, one of the bartenders, is a true master.

Would highly recommend Red Ginger!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the small plates, we split a few o ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Loved the small plates, we split a few of them and everything was amazing. The waitress was cheerful, polite and formal. The staff was well organized and you could see there was good communication between them, what a great team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great food and service! It's our ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Always great food and service! It's our first choice for special occasions and sometimes just because we are craving sushi and a grapefruit pom martini.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's simpy the best, most special restau ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It's simpy the best, most special restaurant in Traverse City! We have never been there that we haven't been thrilled at the whole experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Traverse City. ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Traverse City. The food is great and even more importantly, the service is impeccable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always, Red Ginger never di ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic as always, Red Ginger never disappoints! Loved the pot stickers, Chef Dan's sushi combination, and the chicken lettuce wraps. Wonderful way to celebrate Father's Day!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined at Red Ginger after reading others ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Dined at Red Ginger after reading others' reviews. It lived up to its reputation. Friendly, knowledgeable, helpful but not obtrusive wait staff; great, fresh well -presented food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Red Ginger and have dinner there ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We love Red Ginger and have dinner there every time we make a trip to Traverse City.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The halibut with hoisin sauce was one of ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The halibut with hoisin sauce was one of the best meals I have ever had. We have eaten at Red Ginger multiple times and will continue to go back. We started with a sushi appetizer that was also incredible. They do Asian fusion with an innovative flare. On the service side, we had two servers assigned to our table, and in addition we were extremely impressed to see the manager keeping everything running smoothly. He was also filling water glasses, retrieving empty plates, and taking checks to the register. The Red Ginger staff really worked as a team to provide a fantastic dining experience. Perfect food; perfect dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always! Had the halibut and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Fabulous as always! Had the halibut and Vietnamese shaking beef as main courses, pot stickers and stilton salad as appetizers. Great wine list too! Red Ginger is always a must when we come up north every summer!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Traverse City. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Traverse City. Always busy and lively, the food and service are terrific. The Asian ribs, served as an appetizer, are compelling -- tender, sweet, spicy, lovely. The sushi is excellent, the wine list is ample, and the service is outstanding. I'm a big fan.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's one of my all time favorite restaur ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It's one of my all time favorite restaurants. I have been there several times over the years and the food is consistently excellent as well as the service. I love calamari and they have the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Red Ginger is always fabulous and is a f ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Red Ginger is always fabulous and is a favorite spot to bring guests or for a date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, as always.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife and I live in Grand Rapids, MI, but every time we go to Traverse City, we try to visit Red Ginger. This is arguably the best restaurant in TC. Reservations are a must-ours were for 9:15 pm and, even that late, the place was packed. The food is outstanding and we especially enjoy the appetizers-great sushi, among other delicious choices. Service is very good, there are lots of great beers on tap, and the atmosphere is festive. The only negative is that it is rather pricey-the two of us spent over $100 and we only had 2 beers each. Still, a great place for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food! Awesome service! Awesome a ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Awesome food! Awesome service! Awesome atmosphere!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.