Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Red Ginger of Traverse City

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (45)
Creative Cuisine (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Hot Spot (35)
Romantic (31)
Fun (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Open Kitchen (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (19)
Business Meals (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Healthy (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Cozy (16)
Scenic View (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Spicy (10)
People Watching (10)
Tapas (9)
Waterfront (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Private Room (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vegan (4)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1017 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food with plenty of options on the menu, great drink menu, wonderful service, and overall awesome place for a fun and delicious meal!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Received a call to verify our booking and to check to see if we were celebrating a special event or had special dietary needs. We were seated right away and at one of the best booths. Service was a tag team of two servers, both very good. We did not try the sushi, which looked wonderful as it went by to other tables. We had edamame as an appetizer and it was steamed and salted perfectly. We ordered a Vietnamese caramelized shrimp dish and the sea bass with rice and cucumbers. Both dishes were satisfactory but not great. The Shrimp dish had a soy caramel sauce that was overpowering and overly applied in a copious amount that drowned the shrimp. The sea bass was well prepared and the cucumbers were a nice touch, but overall just ok. We found the service very nice, the m'aitre de checked on us three times.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic sushi. Our favorite place for special occasions and we have never been disappointed. The service is attentive, the sushi is fresh, creative and delicious. We are happy to see that the beer menu is improving, as well!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The second time we visited the Red Ginger over the past year. Once again delicious food and the waiter was very friendly and helpful. Make sure to make reservations a week in advance if you plan on dining there on a Friday or Saturday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great. The back dining area was wonderful to enjoy the river and bay views. Our waiter was punctual and friendly. I wish I lived closer!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love Red Ginger! The food is fabulous and consistently top notch.
The servers are always very attentive and professional. I would say it's
our favorite resturant in T.C.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent food, drink, and service as always. Enjoyed the birthday card and cake too.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was delicious! Everything was fantastic. Chef Dans sushi roll was amazing

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My wife and i recently had dinner at Red Ginger of Traverse City during TC's Food Week for her birthday.
The food was excellent. The portions were better than expected. And the service was excellent.
The only thing I didn't care for was the close proximity of the seating arrangement. There was very little room between tables. Other than that it was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went there for my wife's birthday. As always, food and service was top notch!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Restaurant week was great good food great price my wife and I had 2 great meals with great service my drink was never empty!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Brought friends from out of town and they were delighted. Loved the sushi, entrée and dessert. Put it on the list of must go back next time in town. It was excellent as always.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food during restaurant week was unimaginative and lacked luster. The service was fantastic, as usual.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Restaurant Week. $30/3 plates. Three of us all enjoyed everything. Our servers Randy & Teri were outstanding and not hanging over us. Food was great.
Wish the restaurant would carry more local beers and cider to honor the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Was not impressed with the quality for the price. I've had better!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Fantastic food, service and ambience. Inventive, fresh cuisine served by educated servers with much attention to detail at all levels. Always a great experience!

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Always delicious consistent food with an upscale vibe!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The wait staff were very polite and on the ball.. We sat in the back next to the window which was very nice.
The food was delicious. The only little issue we had was that it was a little chilly. Although there was a furnace just above us, it only came on once while we were there.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We always have a great time at Red Ginger. Our first pick for restaurant week. Great food, great service and great atmosphere. Thank you for a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Delectable, delicious and exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service was great! Food little slow getting to us. Boy our chicken entrees were over cooked. This resulted in the food being chewy,and dry.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The atmosphere is warm, the staff are well trained, and the food is terrific. Red Ginger can be quite crowded in the busier tourist months, so a reservation can be a good idea. My most recent visit was during Restaurant Week. The special menu for the week had a variety of options available, and it was fun deciding exactly what should be ordered.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service was great. Lovely interior. Very clean. Was disappointed in the entrée and thought dessert portion was really small. Went during Restaurant week so I just won't order those next time. Not enough to keep me from coming back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of the best places in TC. Always come here when I am in town!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Fun, Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great setting and delicious food. The Beef Ishiyaki absolutely melts in your mouth. For the most part I thought it was a good value, and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 21, 2017

One of our favorite places to visit while in TC. The food and staff are always amazing. Can't wait until our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I have been all over the world from USA to Guatemala to China and Europe.

Red Ginger is right at the top of my favorite restaurants in the whole world.

I/We drive 1 1/4 hours every time to go there.

I cannot recommend it enough for beauty, taste, creativity and outstanding-ness
of food and atmosphere not to mention service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Scenic View, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I could eat Red Ginger every night! Food is always so fresh with amazing flavors! Always great service and great cocktails to top it off .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Healthy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We received a $100 gift card for Christmas, our bill came to $125, with no drinks or desserts. Nice atmosphere and food was good, above average prices, dinner salad $10-$12 extra. Sushi looked very good but neither of us eat it. There is supposed to be a dress code, but we saw several men in faded jeans and one even had a hooded shirt on. 😕

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and wonderful experience, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We absolutely love the sushi. It is our favorite in Traverse City!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I wish that they would offer more local craft beers. After all this is Traverse City, Gd Traverse Cnty. There's a ton of local breweries and they only offer a few.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful staff, amazing food, great ambiance. Well worth the drive and the money.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food in a currently fashionable atmosphere. Service was excellent. The food and drinks were fairly priced. If you want a break on the price; then, arrive early for happy hour.
This was our first dinner at Red Ginger, and we have already raved about it to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic service, great atmosphere, really great food and well priced. We have came here multiple times and never had a bad experience. They go over and beyond what expectations are for customer service. Dan has been a great server multiple times and this last time Mitch was our server and was very professional. Highly recommended this place to friends. Thanks again

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We received a gift card to Red Ginger and this was our first time visiting the restaurant. We have never been to a sushi restaurant and our server, Mitch?, was extremely patient with us novices. We definitely enjoyed everything about our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Spicy, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing as always! My husband and I always choose Red Ginger as our go to restaurant for a special night out and it is a great experience every time. Wonderful service, great drinks, and fantastic food!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, but what keeps us going back is the Wait staff. RG hires very friendly, professional, competent wait staff. They make the dining experience an event. It can get noisy so you do need to be selective with where u sit if you want to be able to have a intimate conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As always, loved our experience! Ernest is an excellent manager and should be given credit for running such a smooth operation...

My friends were from out of town and were very impressed and felt special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Private Room, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our family's favorite in TC. Spot on every time. Ernest, Randy and Nicole thanks for making a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.