Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Red Ginger of Traverse City

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (53)
Special Occasion (49)
Fit for Foodies (47)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Hot Spot (34)
Fun (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Healthy (25)
Romantic (25)
Bar Seating (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Waterfront (15)
Authentic (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
People Watching (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Tapas (12)
Spicy (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Scenic View (10)
Casual (10)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great Beer (4)
Vegan (4)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

First night on a first trip to Traverse City - AWESOME dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food but service was lacking. While our waitress was good, we were a couple (with reservations) seated right between two families with loud children. There were plenty of open tables farther away that would have been more romantic. As far as the food, that's what will keep me coming back. The blood orange martini is also fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome! Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding! We went to celebrate our anniversary and were made to feel like royalty. The manager, Ernest, made sure we had a memorable evening - the service was impeccable and we imagine this day in day out, not only because we were celebrating a special occasion. We've traveled and dined around the world and the service at Red Ginger ranks right up there! Something magical happened to this restaurant when Ernest came on board. Other restaurants should take notice and servers should consider him a role model.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I have been vacationing in Traverse City for many years now and we always go to Red Ginger at least once when we're there. This particular visit we were pleased that they seated us in their "quiet room" at the back of the building rather than the main dining room which is very noisy. The food is always just delicious! The crab rangoons are amazing, as well as their pot stickers. I had seafood Pad Thai and it was so good. My husband had a scrumptious lobster roll. We had a nice view out to the river and bay from our seats.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It's a fine dining quality experience and we would absolutely return. One point, because I hope management reads these: when I was called to confirm our attendance the employee reminded me that the dress was "business casual". No problem, our typical.
We we arrived, it was clear almost no one else got the memo...shorts, t-shirts and various "kicking it at the lake" attire. Did it demean my experience? Of course not. But it did irk me that management made attire a bullet point when it clearly wasn't....stop with the pretentious dress code when it's clear you don't enforce or require it. It's a resort town...make money not style issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Second visit in two weeks Our good luck we had the same table - same great service once again from Dan ! These people care about what they are doing and it shows !!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Waterfront, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Service was fantastic, drinks were delicious, and food was amazing (especially the crab Rangoon!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We celebrated our grandson's excellent academic year at Red Ginger. The Shaking Beef, Filet and Halibut Special were delicious meals. We often celebrate special occasions here. Food and service always great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wonderful place to eat in Traverse City. The food is creatice and delicious. We started with an appetizer on special, and then had a tuna dish. Both were terrific. Randy, our waiter, and provided excellent service. The only negative is it's a bit noisy. I also wish they were open for lunch like they used to be. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our second time there and even BETTER than the first! Big fans of Chef Dan's Signature roll. Tried many small plates, all good to great. Black and White dessert a fine finish! When you're in TC, put Red Ginger at the top of your list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Exceptional night with co-workers and a client celebrating new business. I appreciated the call from the restaurant the day of my reservation to confirm my table and ask if there was a special celebration or if anyone had food allergies. My waiter knew in advance of my food allergy and was able to make menu recommendations to me.

We all enjoyed our food and stayed several hours enjoying the environment. Don't miss this fun Traverse City restaurant!

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We loved everything about our dinner at Red Ginger. The food was incredible! They agreed to changing the special by substituting the halibut for sea bass. Absolutely delicious! The service was great as was the atmosphere. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Ginger hits on all cylinders. The two halibut dishes we had were outstanding. Drinks were creative. Excellent presentation. What sets Ginger apart is how everyone works together to create a positive experience. So, not everything goes thru the server. Instead everyone works to make your dinner great. Ours was a special occasion. As a reflection of the team focus, everyone on the staff signed a card.

Have eaten here numerous times and have never been disappointed.

Do be aware: no shorts, flip flops, crummy clothes in the restaurant, altho they are fine in the bar. Also be aware that it can get kind of loud.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The good: Our favorite item was the naan and hummus, and I enjoyed my local wine. The staff was friendly and wished us happy anniversary many times. We loved the complimentary dessert.
The not-so-good: The tables where we sat were too close together, too small, and cluttered with too many things; all of which meant candles interfering with eating, the waitstaff apologizing for the limited space, and our "small plates" overlapping our dinner plates.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We always make a stop or two at Red Ginger. The food and service are excellent. Randy has been our waiter a couple times and is top notch ! Friendly and great at what he does, all service is excellent along with the food and drinks, a little pricey but worth it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Get the Dragon Wings! They are so good that you will need two orders.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Dined here many times in the past but this time things were definitely not up to there usual standard. The restaurant called to ask if we were celebrating a special occasion, I phoned back and provided info on the occasion, they said they made note of it and would do something special for our dinner guests, but nothing was offered or mentioned during the dinner. Why ask if you are not going to do something to make the visit special? Also, we often order the RG special sushi trio and it's been great in the past but this this time the tuna rolls tasted like pure salt! Very disappointing .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Have been to many of the better restaurants in Traverse City on vacations and this my new favorite! Go early (5:30) if you can for a quieter meal. It will be packed by 7pm. We can vouch for the drinks, pot stickers, seared tuna and the pad Thai. Delicious!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food! Try the calamari and lobster roll. Not a kid place though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very good meal in a great spot. Food was outstanding. Service was too.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Red Ginger definitely lives up to the hype. Great food, great service and great atmosphere!! Best place in TC for a incredible dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food at best was Meh. I definitely had better. Nothing special. We love to cook and try new recipes and this dining experience added nothin to our culinary repertoire. The one thing my husband took away was that the scallop that was atop of his entree was cooked well. My food was just that... food nothing special . We visited Amical and had a completely different pleasant cullinary experience. Don't get me wrong I know these were two different food cuisines; however, it was the lack of newness or "wow" factor. It was a definite miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had a lovely anniversary dinner. Your extra touches were great. We loved the card. We were surprised by our favorite dessert too! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great place - we come here often for special occasions or just to go to the best.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great Food. I will Highly recommend it to anyone that is expecting good food with a reasonable price for dinner in Traverse City.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The bar area is lively and fun - the dining area more subdued. The service from the moment we stepped thru the door was 110% + top notch. The space is really nice - the food outstanding - selections great - a real value !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This was the second time we visited Red Ginger. Even better than the first time! Food was incredible, waiter was excellent (thank you Mitch) and had just a wonderful time.
Can't wait to return.
The business casual dress code really really makes a difference as well. Thank you for having a dress code!

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great food, great service. Wanted to try everything on the menu. We will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server was great and very knowledgeable, helped us pair wine with dinner. Food was amazing, chef Dan's sushi rolls were phenomenal! Tenderloin cooked to perfection. All around great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great atmosphere, food was delicious and awesome variety of drinks. I was on a date and I had a fabulous time. That wasn't my first time but still being impressed each visit. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food and service were outstanding. We had the ahi tacos and asparagus tempura which were both fresh and delicious. The sea bass was exceptional and expertly cooked. The diced cucumber pickle was delicious. I was impressed with the attention to detail. Thank you for a fine meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Love the food, and will return often. The noice level is difficult to converse with friends. Perhaps there are area in the restaurant that noice level is lower. Great food outweighs the noice. We will continue to go there.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food was terrific--and I got the feeling I could have chosen virtually anything on the list with the same result. One concern: the server's attempts to get us to order more than we wanted were a little too frequent and obvious. But he knew the menu and made a good recommendation on the wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The entire experience was great! From The ambiance, the custom cocktails, the amazing sushi and personable waitstaff, all top-notch! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Casual, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. The staff was very thoughtful as we were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and they gave us a special card and dessert to help celebrate. Too bad we live so far away, but will visit again if we are in the area!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I made this reservation and asked for a window table not realizing that there really is no front window table. They gave us what I would judge to be perhaps the best table in the place, a corner 4 top in the atrium with a view of the canal and a distant view of the lake. While I was away from the table my husband apparently talked to the manager and complimented most things except for the spring rolls. He was expecting egg rolls and I guess commented that they seemed frozen Costco like and fried. Without any further comment he simply removed them from our bill. I explained after to my husband that they were spring rolls and not egg rolls and were exactly what I expected. It was very kind of him to remove them from our bill but we did consume them and this was really an error in my husband's thinking. Everything else was good and a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Incredible sushi, great and helpful staff. They go out of their way to make your dining experience exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We have eaten here a number of times and it is consistently OUTSTANDING!! Great service and a wonderful menu. It is my favorite place to dine in Traverse City.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and service. Waiter Josh was terrific. Avoid table 205

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.