About Red Ginger of Traverse City

Red Ginger is more than just a place to eat. It is an elevated entertainment experience! There is energy in Red Ginger’s dining room unlike any other location in Northern Michigan. The lively design and metropolitan atmosphere will transport you. Our exceptionally talented and welcoming staff will remind you that you are as close to home as you will ever be.

237 East Front St
Traverse City, MI 49684
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday through Saturday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in our lounge, Sushi bar and main bar.
Dinner: Monday through Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturdays from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 944-1733

Website:
http://www.eatatginger.com/

Catering:
For more information on making your next special occasion a Red Ginger affair, please contact our Private Events coordinator Amber Caldwell at (231) 883-7337 or email amber@eatatginger.com.

Executive Chef:
Dan Marsh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us extend our party-planning expertise to make your event one that people will remember forever. We offer customized packages built around your individual taste and personal touches. Our goal is to relieve you of the many details that go along with hosting a successful party so that you can enjoy the experience as much as each of your guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Red Ginger of Traverse City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (40)
Creative Cuisine (36)
See All
Hot Spot (33)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (26)
Fun (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Authentic (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Cozy (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Healthy (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Scenic View (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Waterfront (10)
Casual (10)
Spicy (9)
Private Room (8)
People Watching (7)
Tapas (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 2 days ago

One of our favorite places to visit while in TC. The food and staff are always amazing. Can't wait until our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been all over the world from USA to Guatemala to China and Europe.

Red Ginger is right at the top of my favorite restaurants in the whole world.

I/We drive 1 1/4 hours every time to go there.

I cannot recommend it enough for beauty, taste, creativity and outstanding-ness

of food and atmosphere not to mention service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Scenic View, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I could eat Red Ginger every night! Food is always so fresh with amazing flavors! Always great service and great cocktails to top it off .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Healthy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We received a $100 gift card for Christmas, our bill came to $125, with no drinks or desserts. Nice atmosphere and food was good, above average prices, dinner salad $10-$12 extra. Sushi looked very good but neither of us eat it. There is supposed to be a dress code, but we saw several men in faded jeans and one even had a hooded shirt on. 😕

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and wonderful experience, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We absolutely love the sushi. It is our favorite in Traverse City!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I wish that they would offer more local craft beers. After all this is Traverse City, Gd Traverse Cnty. There's a ton of local breweries and they only offer a few.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful staff, amazing food, great ambiance. Well worth the drive and the money.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food in a currently fashionable atmosphere. Service was excellent. The food and drinks were fairly priced. If you want a break on the price; then, arrive early for happy hour.

This was our first dinner at Red Ginger, and we have already raved about it to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic service, great atmosphere, really great food and well priced. We have came here multiple times and never had a bad experience. They go over and beyond what expectations are for customer service. Dan has been a great server multiple times and this last time Mitch was our server and was very professional. Highly recommended this place to friends. Thanks again

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We received a gift card to Red Ginger and this was our first time visiting the restaurant. We have never been to a sushi restaurant and our server, Mitch?, was extremely patient with us novices. We definitely enjoyed everything about our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Spicy, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing as always! My husband and I always choose Red Ginger as our go to restaurant for a special night out and it is a great experience every time. Wonderful service, great drinks, and fantastic food!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, but what keeps us going back is the Wait staff. RG hires very friendly, professional, competent wait staff. They make the dining experience an event. It can get noisy so you do need to be selective with where u sit if you want to be able to have a intimate conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As always, loved our experience! Ernest is an excellent manager and should be given credit for running such a smooth operation...

My friends were from out of town and were very impressed and felt special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Private Room, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our family's favorite in TC. Spot on every time. Ernest, Randy and Nicole thanks for making a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I really love red Ginger. Good service and he food is fantastic. 2 at my table had sushi and it was quick fresh and delicious. Our servers were very attentive, but we were seated in a long row of tables I(that were very close together) along the side. We will return soon.

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Wonderful evening. Table ready, serve good, food allergies noted. Portions are generous, easy to share.

Tags: Organic, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Authentic, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Took my girlfriend for her birthday. Amazing meal, great service, personalized birthday card was a nice touch. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food and the service was amazing. I can't wait to come back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very pleased with everything at Red Ginger. Went for an engagement dinner and was welcomed with a private table and a card signed by the staff.

The food was wonderful, one of the best steaks I've ever had and my fiancé loved the sushi. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The value paid for what we received was excellent. I will definitely be recommending them to everyone looking for a great dinner at a great location.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Red Ginger is one of the top restaurants in Traverse City. The sushi is excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here this weekend. Absolutely fantastic, everything we had was delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We live in Chicago and Red Ginger remains one of our favorite restaurants in TCMI - delicious!

Rick & Thonie Borowiak

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent for special occasions. Great food, service, ambiance. Best sushi in TC.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 7, 2017

You'd be foolish not to try this place. Best restaurant in Northern Michigan

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always fantastic! One of my all time favorite restaurants in TC!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Tapas, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Red Ginger can be a little loud but overall, it's a great place to go for special occasions. The various small plates and entrees are all creative and all delicious. The service is great and for the birthday people who were there, dessert was a gift.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Didn't get the best table even though we made a reservation, it wasn't very busy either. But love this place. Always great service and great food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Been here many times and NEVER have a bad meal. Our favorite place to eat.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wonderful place in Traverse City. Always delighted with our experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was awesome and yummy as usual! We always enjoy dining with you! Keep up the great work!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went to celebrate my wife's birthday. Been to Re Ginger a few times and the sushi is always great. Staff is friendly and the atmosphere is fun. Can be casual or extravagant. Just depends on your mood.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic food in an upscale vibrant setting. Service was excellent! Red Ginger Mgr. Ernest (?) was gracious and on top of everything for the diner's experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was excellent, as always. Our server Randy did a very nice job. The wine list has great variety.

Tags: Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Amazing as always! The food and service never disappoint. Whenever a friend comes in from out of town or even a friend here, and they have never been, Red Ginger is my #1 recommendation as the food is phenomenal, and the staff are great! I'm already looking forward to the next time i go to enjoy their food. My favorite thus far, is the firecracker handroll, cut like a sushi roll. It is sooooooooo good!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Red Ginger always meets or surpasses expectations. The service is polished, the food is excellent and of high quality. The drinks are wonderful. Out-of-town guests love it and so do we.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always love Red Ginger. I have never been disappointed with the service or quality of food. My last trip however, I was a little disappointed as it was extremely loud in there. They sat the two of us at a very small table in the back by a group of about 12 people. It made it really hard to talk to my date, we basically had to yell to converse. Other than that, food is great. I will continue to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful service, stellar food, and an overall memorable experience! The staff were very welcoming, and made my fiance's birthday a special occasion. Thank you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food. Great environment. Sushi is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Calamari is the best I have ever had! Every time I'm in traverse city my wife and I eat at Red Ginger!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Donut ball dessert was not flavorful. Caramel sauce very good however. Not recommended.

Overall meal was enjoyed by all.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

As always, Red Ginger was perfection. Delicious cocktails and sushi for our date night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent service and great food! Our servers worked as a team and just made the whole experience awesome. Fantastic menu and specials!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 2, 2016

They are certainly running a WELL-OILED MACHINE! Our meal was fabulous!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent service with Dan. Food is always superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I like bringing guest to Red Ginger. Dinner was delicious however, there are limited entrees for vegetarians and vegans. They offer tofu but I was surprised to learn that the Thai Curry Is not vegetarian because it contains fish sauce. I really appreciated that the server mentioned this to us since is was not included in the description. The Lotus flower cocktail is wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have eaten here once before and wanted to take our out of town guests to a "nice place". We were absolutely delighted with our choice! Our guests are sushi lovers and we all shared several rolls as an appetizer . . . our guests pronounced them EXCELLENT! All entrees were great and the service was perfect. It was a great evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Red Ginger. We had great food and service, we decided to go off of the regular menu rather than do the sushi. The tuna was melt in your mouth and my husband's dish was equally amazing.

It is overall very pricy, even compared to other Traverse City restaurants, so it is not a place for casual dining. I do recommend it, just bring a bag of money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 26, 2016

There are a lot of great restaurants in Traverse City, but this has to be one of the best. Fantastic food everytime and a great selection of beer and wine. If you like Asian, fusion, sushi etc...put it at the top of the list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Never have had a disappointing meal here. Food is fresh, staff are knowledgeable, atmosphere is top notch. We never come to Traverse city without visiting Red Ginger.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.