Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Red Fish - Hilton Head

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: (843) 686-3388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (104)
Good for a Date (61)
Creative Cuisine (53)
See All
Special Occasion (53)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Romantic (36)
Casual (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Authentic (23)
Business Meals (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Healthy (16)
Fun (16)
Cozy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Modern Decor (10)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Live Music (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fireplace (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (1)
 (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good but our waitress was not. She was slow and pushy when she did show up. We ordered salads and never got them. To her credit she did give us free dessert. I just felt like we were not welcome by her.

The manager checked in and was very nice.

I expect basic competence at a higher end restaurant like this by wait staff. We aren't real demanding just don't forget to be a little patient and get the order right.

I would try it again. Maybe she just had an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is excellent. Classic scallops are fantastic. Very family friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Always our favorite place on the island. Excellent seafood and local fare. A unique and relaxing ambiance. And even when an unusual situation arose with the bill this week, the management and ownership went above and beyond to keep us as delighted customers. We look forward to another visit before vacation week comes to a close, and for many years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Pecan crusted snapper was delish and so was poke tuna.
Great wine selection

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

This place was mediocre at best. They have a great deal where you can purchase wine in the front of the shop and pay a corkage fee to drink it during dinner. This makes it very affordable if you are wanting to get a bottle of wine with dinner. However, my entire party would agree that there was noting special at all about the food. You could find better seafood at a reduced price.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was definitely off. Brought bottle of wine- we served ourselves. Forgot to bring bread, wine glass was dirty. Brought food and had a little spill- plate broke on table- slow to respond, we had to tell them what to do. Need to hire folks that know how to work in service industry. Been a few years since we had been here and it was pretty disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress was extremely competent and friendly. The food was prepared perfectly! $16.95 for wine, salad, and entre-----very good deal!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The service was slow. The wrong food was brought out for one member of our party and by the time that was corrected everyone's food was cold. One meal was completely over cooked and the fish was dried out. Not worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

There is a variety on the menu, but neither the service or the food wowed us and for the price, both should have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Red Fish never disappoints. We travel to Hilton Head every year, and usually have a meal here. Food is delicious and very well presented. Salmon was delicious. Our waitress was perfect giving us excellent attention but never hovering. Wine list is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Good restaurant. Grouper was perfectly cooked and the appetizers were perfect. Good experience over all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food was excellent. We really enjoyed sea bass and salmon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food but felt over priced due to loudness of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This restaurant had a very good menu. The ambience was excellent. We had a friend's birthday , and it was perfect for that occasion. Good service and extensive wine list. Will recommend to friends ,and will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Red Fish never disappoints. From the friendly and attentive wait staff to the meal preparation and presentation, consistently an excellent meal. Highly recommend as one of Hilton Heads best dining environments and experiences.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service was good, but no one followed our instructions. I asked my steak be cooked to 135, it came out raw. My wives dinner came out alone, while she was eating her salad. The place was half full and extremely loud. With so many better places to eat, this one is going down hill.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

food was extremely overpriced and the taste was not at all worth the money, $89 for two people and a very below average meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Every year we visit Hilton Head and go to some of our favorites. We loved the food at Red fish, the Chilean Sea Bass is outstanding, and the shrimp and grits. The Beet salad was wonderful.

The only issue we have is the noise level, on a Friday night it can get so bad that you can't here the person across from you at the table even in the quiet room if there is a large party there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great food, specials and atmosphere. It was relaxing, there was no rush even though the place was plenty busy, the service was wonderful. Excellent wine list and recommendations. This was our second visit, and it did not disappoint. We've been to several great restaurants on the island now, and this one is at the top. A nice get-away for my wife and I on a night out. Highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Must go for the "early dining" menu between 5-5:45pm, definitely a great deal. Pretty big portions, comes with drink as well as soup or salad with entree. Food was delicious, service was outstanding & server was very knowledgeable and made great recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This restaurant has been on our list for years as we heard good things about it - finally made it there. Food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Simply put, it was a great meal (dinner) with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food was great. Service was slow and sporadic.
Swordfish was good and the salads were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The Chilean Sea bass was excellent! The house favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Hilton Head. Try the classic scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Tabitha is a terrific server. Food is always outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very good food, however felt very rushed, brought our entree before we were finished with our salads, and started to take the salads away before we stopped them and said we wail finish them

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

As locals, this is favorite Saturday lunch spot on Hilton Head. The fried oyster appetizer is the perfect portion size to share. My husband has dubbed theirs the best burger on the island! The corkage fee is reasonable-be sure to try something new from the well-stocked wine shoppe-they have a nice selection of half bottles. Our server, Casey, was very attentive getting the wine properly chilled, but not intrusive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Horrible experience order wrong and horrible service. Had to ask numerous times for refills. 26 wedding anniversary and was a really bad experience don't waste your money go to Marleys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Dinner was very good. Only negative was I had an spinach salad with added chicken for $25 way to pricey.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Fantastic food and service! We dined on the patio and had a great experience. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The seafood and presentation was terrific. Flounder and sea bass were moist and very fresh. Stephanie was a wonderful server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Second time here. Good food. Fast service. Excellent wine selection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We found Red Fish last year while in HH. Went back this year and found everything to be outstanding. We will return again!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

A regular stop on our annual visit to Hilton Head. Food and service are always good. Outdoor seating is nice except in really hot weather. Quite noisy at times if you are a couple seated near a large group, but on occasion we are part of a large group, so no real complaint.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This was our first time at Red Fish (it was recommended by friends) and we loved it! Some of the best cuisine we have ever had - even the chef came out after we told the server how great the specials were. Will eat there again the next time we are at Hilton Head!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Had the Chilean Sea Bass. This is normally a moist fish with a buttery texture. Fish was dry and bland. When I inquired about the spice level of th sauce on the fish, our waiter had no idea what the sauce was like, yet he mentioned that he "recommended the Sea Bass". My wife's salad was lacking flavor. Would not recommend this restaurant, especially given Red Fish's price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Dined at Red Fish while on vacation. A friend who has visited Hilton Head regularly recommended it. We were not disappointed. My husband said the shrimp and grits were the best he has had. My scallops were amazing. The friend teen tomato appetizer was delicious. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Remains one of our favorite restaurants on Hilton Head. Especially for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I had a Great experience at Red Fish Restaurant. I went there with my family and we really liked the food, wine selection, and service. The Restaurant is very friendly and elegant. It is a first class, five star Restaurant.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.