About Red Fish - Hilton Head

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: (843) 686-3388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Casual (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (6)
Fun (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Music (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I chose Redfish based on Open Table reviews and were disappointed. My mahi mahi was very dry--I didn't eat more than a bite of it. My husband liked his scallops but thought the meal was very overpriced for the value provided. It's a large dark space w/o any real ambiance and our server was not particularly welcoming. We had a much better experience with both meals and service elsewhere in Hilton Head.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

The swordfish special was delicious and paired with a cherry mixture. Fish was moist and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was fabulous! The waitress was pretty busy with tables that seemed to be scattered and it left her a little unable to serve us as I would have normally expected at a restaurant of this caliber. With that being said, she was very knowledgeable about the menu & super friendly. Our overall experience was very good and I would go back again when I'm in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The wine list is very good - which isn't surprising, given it's a wine bar. The food was very good as well, and our server was helpful and nice. No complaints here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Delicious, fresh, local faire-- you can't miss this wonderful treasure. The shrimp and grits are the best around and the Key Lime Pie was as good as it gets outside of Key West.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Reccomended by a friend. What a pleasant surprise! We have been coming to HHI for many years but somehow never found Redfish before. We certainly will add it to the list of favorite island places. Wonderful food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Red Fish has maintained its excellence over the years. We enjoyed another terrific meal with great service. Always one of my top spots to eat!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Had the Greek burger and it was delicious. The goulash was amazing as well. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

It was for my Dad's birthday

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent place to eat - returning this evening for dinner

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

In addition to a great menu that all enjoyed they had a great vegan lunch option. Delicious!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. We decided to sit outside and we did receive great service. The fish and scallops were excellent as was the wine list.
We would definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Visit the Red Fish every year when we visit Hilton Head... While the food and service were good this year we thought that the price was excessive for the quality of our meals. We left feeling less satisfied than in previous years. Sorry, we have always looked forward to returning to the Red Fish but this year, not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Have been here twice before and we were very pleased with the service and the food. Each time we requested seating in the wine section which is very cozy. Interesting to note that you are surrounded by a magnificent selection of fine wines and reasonably priced bottles as well; and you can buy them and take them home if you like. Always best here to listen carefully to the specials. I had a great wedge salad and my sister-in-law had the special Mahi Mahi dish. Great key lime pie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Outstanding. Best dining experience on HHI!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food. The EarlyBird is great value. Very nice decor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Have been to Redfish many times and will continue to go back.
We are always guaranteed a great meal and my husband loves that you can
go and pick your own wine from their selection. A nice touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was delicious. The quiche was thick and cheesy, and too big to finish. Our waitress was attentive, friendly, and allowed us to linger. Definitely would go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We enjoyed our seafood and vegetable tart! Large portion, black bean soup excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised that they had live music. It was wonderful and our meal was delicious-haddock and scallops. Service was great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Fried oyster appetizer was great as was the lobster roll. The service was excellent (attentive, helpful, and pleasant) and the atmosphere was very nice. They have an extensive wine collection.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Wonderful experience! Red Fish Classic Scallops was AMAZING!!! Highly recommended!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food is always good and love the wine choices. One of our favorite places to eat when we visit Hilton Head. Our waitress Nicole was amazing. The oyster appetizer was wonderful and my husband raved about the scallops with lobster Mac and cheese. We both enjoyed the carrot cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at the Red Fish last Friday. I have not been there in years but the place seemed the same to me. The food is excellent but the dining room is louder than normal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent evening, when you visit Hilton Head, Red Fish is a must go dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The shrimp and grits are outstanding. This is one of our go to restraunts when in Hilton Head Islands.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The early bird specials are a really good meal at a very reasonable price. Our dinners at regular dinner hours as well as lunches have always been delightful. The staff is always pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

we have been to Red Fish many time for lunch and dinner and have never been disapointed

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great steak and seafood restaurant. Enjoyed the early bird options too

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place to eat. Food and service are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very good meal. Service was great. Looking forward to going again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had lunch with two friends--attractive decor, good food, and great service.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Red Fish on Wednesdays when John Brackett's group performs. Such a talented group of musicians who play a variety of jazz-type music. We try to go every time we're in town. The food is always good and there is an extensive wine list and shop.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Steak was perfect. The Chilean sea bass was a large portion but thick and as a result was a little dry on the out side. Crete brûlée was awesome. Great wine list and if you don't see what you like... great wine store right there! Service was great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first visit during regular hours. We had been there several times for their early bird specials. It was very expensive for the amount of food that was received.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We selected Red Fish from Open Table's information and dined on Valentine's Day when a reservation is necessary. There is no scenic view here. RF is easy to locate and has plenty of parking. RF has more than one dining room with varying ambiance and outdoor dining with gas heaters on the front deck. One dining room has a grand piano and it was a shame that no one was playing. Our dining room was rather sterile. The tables are covered with paper over cloth. A special Valentine's Day menu was available. We enjoyed the southwestern chopped salad (spicy and excellent) and wine by the glass. Many of the menu items had a southwestern flavor. My spouse had the filet (he was seafood saturated) and I had fish (but don't remember which one). Both entrees with accompanying sides were very good. We enjoyed a chocolate Valentines dessert. Service was excellent and our server most pleasant and happy. I didn't see a wine list other than by the glass. Wine was stored in bins in the dining rooms. Based on other HHI dining experiences RF offers a good value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nothing blew me away but everything was very good, which is in line with their prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Red Fish always has great food. The early dinning is the best value on the island.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat in Hilton Head. Great service, great food!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first visit to Redfish. It was delicious! We will definitely return😊

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.