About Red Fish - Hilton Head

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: 8436863388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Restaurant Photos

Sweet Water Ipa
Calamari
Chocolate Martini
Seared Sea Scallops
Shrimp Spring Rolls
Tuna Tartare
fried oysters
Latin Ribs
Vegetable Pastry
Asian Tuna Tartar
Shrimp Tempura
Southwest Wedge Salad
Chocolate "Twix" Bar
Seared Jumbo Scallops
Grilled Sea Bass
Lobster Grilled Cheese
Kobe Burger With Foie Gras
Crab Cakes

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
South Carolina
Seafood
Hilton Head
Most Booked
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Notable Wine List (105)
Fit for Foodies (90)
Special Occasion (89)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Romantic (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (54)
Good for Groups (50)
Great for Lunch (28)
Kid-friendly (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Scenic View (2)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1861 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service :)

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined a day ago

Great food and service :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe the best Sea Bass I've ever had an ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Maybe the best Sea Bass I've ever had and the smoked bacon grits were perfect with the bass. The home made cocoanut cream pie was a perfect way to end an amazing meal. Betsy was an excellent waitress as well. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite island dinner spot. Recommend ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Favorite island dinner spot. Recommend to all HHI visitors.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorites on the Island. The ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorites on the Island. The food at RedFish is always GREAT - perfect for foodies. Their wine list excedes any other place in the LowCountry. We had a wonderful dinner and the waitstaff was excellent -- always attentive but NEVER intrusive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because this was a special occasion for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Because this was a special occasion for me and my husband, I had requested a nice quiet area. They had a table for us in the bar area, but I decided that I'd rather be seated in the main dining room...BIG MISTAKE! It was so noisy that, even with my husband sitting corner to me, it was difficult to talk. When we were leaving after dinner, as we walked past the hostess stand, I told her that I was sorry I hadn't taken the table they had reserved for us but that we'd be back in October and would request that area for seating!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Excellent food choice with nice presenta ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food choice with nice presentation along with good quality. Nice bar area with great abiance throughout.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too loud-- nice server but he has way to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Too loud-- nice server but he has way too many tables. Very gritty scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Not as good as I remembered it food wise ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Not as good as I remembered it food wise but our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

What a great dining experience! We were ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

What a great dining experience! We were celebrating with a group of friends and asked for as much privacy as possible. We were given a wonderful table that was perfect for our needs. Our server was attentive and efficient, and the food was excellent! Our whole dining experience could not have been more perfect! Thank you!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and quaint atmosphere. The food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Cozy and quaint atmosphere. The food was delicious. A More upscale restaurant for HH area and a pleasant surprise. Real cooking, fresh ingredients and truly delicious food. A must visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Have been going to Redfish every time we ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Have been going to Redfish every time we're in Hilton Head, have eaten there about 9 times.

Service is always excellent, food is always great, good variety of seafood.

Good wine list.

Ambiance is quiet and comfortable.

Expensive but worth it!!

***** Five Star restaurant, consistently high quality experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the food! Surprisingly awesome.

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Loved the food! Surprisingly awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was ok.. Nothing to write home abou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was ok.. Nothing to write home about. I had the sea bass with udon noodles which were too salty for my taste. My husband had grouper special which was covered in tomato sauce... It is a shame to cover a nice piece of fish in tomato sauce. I definitely expected more given the reviews .Service was very good ,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

As always Red Fish lived up to expectati ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

As always Red Fish lived up to expectations; great service and great food. Everyone enjoyed their meal and the total dining experience

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sat in the wine section, quite and cozy ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Sat in the wine section, quite and cozy. Had the salmon appetizer, just enough to satisfy, then had the local scallops dish. Scallops were slightly over cooked, making them dry but the sauce helped the situation. My companion had a salad to start and the special fish of the day.

Had an excellent bottle of red wine - Cakebread, Merlot. No coffee but had the Blueberry tart for desert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Reservations wer ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and service. Reservations were easy and efficient when we got there

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The ambiance was great. The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The ambiance was great. The service was wonderful from the first step inside. Our food was fresh and tasty. I tried something differs from my norm and it was a home run. If you are on Hilton head this is a must visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ask for Laci...she was great. Shrimp an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ask for Laci...she was great. Shrimp and grits were great as was the key lime pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice dinner during our vacation. This wa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Nice dinner during our vacation. This was our second visit, we ate here on our last trip to Hilton Head. We always order fish or shellfish and it is always done very well. This visit we had the specials, halibut and grouper. Both were cooked well, and the sides were plentiful and tasty. Wine list is extensive and they also have a wine store in house, so you can pick what you like. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food & service! Great meal! Wo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food & service! Great meal! Would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a resort town with over 300 restauran ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

In a resort town with over 300 restaurants, it is hard to be special. Red Fish has accomplished it. Great Food, great Service and wonderful ambiance. The appetizer menu is fun and the nightly specials are not to miss.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and early bird dining menu wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and early bird dining menu was nice with good valud

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good was excellent as was the wine. Fab ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good was excellent as was the wine. Fabulous fresh seafood.

Service was very slow to start & with a kind of off timing - wait staff very pleasant just need a little training

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food! Appetizers & entrees were ve ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food! Appetizers & entrees were very good! Great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This place is a true gem. Great service ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This place is a true gem. Great service, wine selection is fantastic and the food was incredible. I will recommend it to everyone I know going to the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've dined at Red Fish every year while ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We've dined at Red Fish every year while vacationing in HHI. Truly, every year! We couldn't wait to come back... Unfortunately, it was SO disappointing!!! We had a 7:30 reservation for four and were finished by 8:15. The waiter rushed us through dinner - and the restaurant was empty when we left. It was like the staff had somewhere to be! The food was horrible. I didn't finish my mahi mahi - so dry it made me choke. The lobster mac was cold. My son ordered sweet potato fries and they came when we were almost finished. My husband had a burger (after requesting the one he has had for years that they took off the menu and the answer was "no") that made him sick. We had to run home and hit the bathroom (gross- I know!) Anyway, it just wasn't good. This place has been so consistently good over the years, and in my opinion, has passed its prime. I wouldn't recommend one of my favorite places on the island any longer. Kinda bummed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

It was a very festive atmosphere, a lot ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was a very festive atmosphere, a lot of people enjoying a good night out. The selection was very good and we all enjoyed our meals. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our family ordered a variety of fish ent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our family ordered a variety of fish entrees - mahi mahi, sea bass, grouper, and swordfish - all were equally amazing. The chefs truly know how to create incredibly delectable combinations. The key lime pie and creme broulee were phenomenal. Although the restaurant has added sound panels the noise level makes it difficult to carry on a conversation at your table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was great! Always go with th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Everything was great! Always go with the special ...it never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu is not great. Ordered the specials. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Menu is not great. Ordered the specials. Food came overdone. It was sitting under the lamps for too long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was awful. Shrimp and grits had ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was awful. Shrimp and grits had no taste. The presentation of food unappetizing. Seated less that s foot from the music. Ate in the dark. Service was rushed. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I never been to a place where the hostes ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I never been to a place where the hostess, waitress and even patrons were stoic. It was a chilly climate. The waitress did the bare minimum. Barely there. She did not offer to replenish our bread. We were planning to have a romantic evening, which we made as a request. We were sat in a corner of the room right beside a large party table. We actually will plan not to go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

While arriving only minutes before the l ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

While arriving only minutes before the lunch kitchen closed we were served kindly, quickly, and professionally. Their food is very good and all four of us were pleased with our selection.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal started off ok with an ok appit ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The meal started off ok with an ok appitizer that was the crab dip. We have had better but also had worse. Then the main dinner came. It was above average and we'll worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Excellent meal and very attentive servic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent meal and very attentive service

Well priced wine list and good cocktails as well

We Would return !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was good for a beach town restaurant. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was good for a beach town restaurant. The Mahi Mahi was seasoned very well. The fried chicken was tasty. We have just had that meal for less money. Overall we had a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

This is one of our favorite places...we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is one of our favorite places...we come here every time we're visiting Hilton head... it never disappoints...the food and the drinks are always excellent as well as the service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room is beautiful - very nice ambian ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The room is beautiful - very nice ambiance . Was surprised to see the amount of young children the night we dined there. There was a table next to us with about 10 kids, while the parents were seated at the next table. Just surprised. Didn't help noise level and we found it hard to carry on a conversation. Ordered the spinach salad with warm bacon dressing very lightly dressed and, maybe because of the noise level, it was served heavily dressed. Ordered the tuna poke, which wasn't what I imagined but was tasty. Husband had the crab cakes and soup special which he liked a lot. Friends ordered the Mahi special which she enjoyed. We ordered 2 desserts- carrot cake, delicious and Key Lime pie- also delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

4 of us visited Redfish for the first ti ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

4 of us visited Redfish for the first time and we had a great dining experience. I had the Chilean Sea Bass which was fantastic! We'll be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for delicious fresh seafood. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place for delicious fresh seafood. Very accommodating to special dietary needs.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.