About Red Fish - Hilton Head

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: 8436863388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Restaurant Photos

Sweet Water Ipa
Calamari
Chocolate Martini
Seared Sea Scallops
Shrimp Spring Rolls
Tuna Tartare
fried oysters
Latin Ribs
Vegetable Pastry
Asian Tuna Tartar
Shrimp Tempura
Southwest Wedge Salad
Chocolate "Twix" Bar
Seared Jumbo Scallops
Grilled Sea Bass
Lobster Grilled Cheese
Kobe Burger With Foie Gras
Crab Cakes

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
Hilton Head
Seafood
Hilton Head
1 More
Most Booked
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Notable Wine List (86)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Special Occasion (72)
See All
Romantic (49)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for a Date (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Scenic View (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Music (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1901 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Romantic! Need I saw more...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 2 days ago

Romantic! Need I saw more...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was good, service was slow

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, service was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I have dined at this popular island rest ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have dined at this popular island restaurant many times. I was more impressed on this occasion than in the past. I had a very nice sea bass entree that was very well prepared, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We ordered 2 entrees and 2 appetizers... ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We ordered 2 entrees and 2 appetizers...all excellent and memorable for taste and preparation. Also great wine selection at a great price for a restaurant. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come to HHI every fall. This is our 5 ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We come to HHI every fall. This is our 5th year and have gone to Redfish every year. This year we were not disappointed. Next year we will look forward to returning. All the meals were delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Service. Wait staff ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent Food and Service. Wait staff was attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely dinner, great service, extensive ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lovely dinner, great service, extensive wine list. Will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for the early bird menu and we w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We came for the early bird menu and we were pleased with the selection on the menu. I had the coconut shrimp which was delicious. I like that you offered an early bird special, since my husband I like to eat around 5. We will definitely come again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food very good but waitress disappeared ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food very good but waitress disappeared for long periods - was crowded - was ok since we didn't want to be rushed with dinner

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We always have lunch at Red Fish when we ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We always have lunch at Red Fish when we are in HH. This was the only disappointment. The chicken on my sandwich was bone dry and barely chewable. We were not charged for it. Plan to come back next time and make a better and make a different order.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and friendliness. Wo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food, service and friendliness. Would definitely eat there again on my next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was spectacular. I had the red ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was spectacular. I had the red fish classic scallops with liners mac n cheese and my wife had a tile fish special that was seasoned to perfection. Our props to the chef for two amazing dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even though I utilize early-bird dining ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Even though I utilize early-bird dining a lot, I expect the service and quality to be the same. My entrée was served before I was half-way through my salad and no one asked how I wanted my salmon cooked, so it was more rare than I care for it. They tout their 1,000-bottle wine collection, but pour Almaden as their house wine. When I roll my whole experience together, I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

On vacation from UK and delighted to hav ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

On vacation from UK and delighted to have found this gem for our first meal out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went there for our anniver ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My wife and I went there for our anniversary dinner and had one of the finest dining experiences ever. The Chilean Sea Bass was simply outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved sitting outside. The patio is v ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We loved sitting outside. The patio is very nice. The food Ns service was great! It's the best early bird on the island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for us at Red Fish, totally i ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

First time for us at Red Fish, totally impressed, we will be returning next time on the island.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Red Fish as ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was our first visit to Red Fish as we were vacationing from New York. As we arrived it looked more like a wine store than a restaurant. The wine prices were very fair, similar to the prices we were familiar with. We were thrilled to find out we could buy a bottle right off the shelf and enjoy it for only a $10 corkage fee. The food was fresh, nicely presented. There is something on the menu for everyone. Service was very attentive. We plan to return on our next trip to Hilton Head.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This review is based on our two most rec ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This review is based on our two most recent dining experiences in Red Fish Hilton Head and they have been very similar. Very good service, nice restaurant and lower than average quality of food. We will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved this place so much! Scallops were ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Loved this place so much! Scallops were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Slow service, we were ignored for 10 min ...

vip
 (Bath)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Slow service, we were ignored for 10 minutes, not even water until we asked. Had the evening special of Barrel Fish. It was dry and difficult to eat. Also had the lobster and shrimp burger, which was very salty. Both of us felt really unwell overnight. Very expensive for what we had. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Always eat at Red Fish when we are visit ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Always eat at Red Fish when we are visiting Hilton Head. Great food and service, and if you go early, early bird dining menu is a great value.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Red Fish is one of our favorite restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Red Fish is one of our favorite restaurants on Hilton Head. We've gone there countless times over the last decade and it's never disappointing. The cheese platter is always wonderful-great choices of cheese, flatbread, fruit and nuts. The shrimp rolls are amazing. The entree specials are always what I order because they are always exceptional. It's a must to try the lobster mac n' cheese! Really, one can't go wrong with anything. Dessert is phenomenal; Twix pie is always a favorite, along with the creme brûlée. Anything chocolate, of course, is delicious. Red Fish will continue to be a favorite restaurant; we always look forward to eating there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun atmosphere. Great decor. Yummy wines ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fun atmosphere. Great decor. Yummy wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The ambience of the restaurant was lovel ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The ambience of the restaurant was lovely. Shrimp spring rolls and edamame hummus were enjoyable. I was disappointed, greatly, in the southern fried chicken. It was fatty and without a crispy crust. Somewhat awkward to try and eat, as well. My date had the trigger fish, which was described as a firm fish, and firm it was. Too firm to really have much flavor or taste, and it was bathed in lemon to try and have flavor.

The macademia cheesecake saved the meal at the end. The server was extremely nice and pleasant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Have been here before and admittedly we ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have been here before and admittedly we were luke warm on the restaurant. This time was different! We were seated at the front of the restaurant in the Wine Room. Wow! What an extreme departure from the large dining areas at the back which are more oriented toward families with children. If coming as a couple, suggest you ask for the front area as well. The food and drink was delicious. Strongly recommend this as one of your choices while in Hilton Head. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Salmon and pork chop fantas ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food. Salmon and pork chop fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Went there for dinner at their early spe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went there for dinner at their early specials . It was a great value, food and service was outstanding . Would definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't realize that this was live mus ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We didn't realize that this was live music night and they were going to sit us in the main dining room where we wouldn't have been able to hear the music. They worked with us to try and find a table, but since people weren't leaving they let us have a larger table that wasn't booked which allowed all 4 of us to face the group.

Food was very good as usual with scallops being an excellent choice. I had the tuna which was perfectly rare as I like it. Service was efficient with the wine and water glasses filled when needed. The music was a nice addition and we stayed to hear more of it after we had finished eating.

If you are not familiar with Redfish, they have a retail wine store in the restaurant and you can pick your own wine and enjoy it for a $10 corkage fee.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good. I have been to Red Fish each year ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Good. I have been to Red Fish each year for many years and it had always been good. It was good but the sauce or gravy on my tilapia was a little thick.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Fish was over priced with just ok fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Red Fish was over priced with just ok food. The wine list was extensive, but the food was just ok. Service was not over attentive. I was very disappointed and would not recommend

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

My wife and I celebrated our wedding ann ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary and had a very enjoyable dinner. My wife had scallops that were done perfectly. I had sea bass that was also prepared nicely. The special salad was excellent. Our server, Betsy, was helpful and prompt. We had a very pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a very good dinner here. Both of ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a very good dinner here. Both of our fishes were perfectly cooked (salmon and I think Halibut) but rather salty. Sauces were light & delicious. I started with Fried Green Tomato Caprese that was good but w-a-y too big for one. Husband had Caesar salad that was more ranch dressing-like to me. Good but not Caesar. Martini was excellent. They had an extensive wine selection including a store, and hubby enjoyed his glass of Red but I don't recall the name. We would definitely go back because the dinner was generally great, just the few not-quite's I noted here. I consider it casual but not a sport's bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice venue. Excellent food. Great s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very nice venue. Excellent food. Great service. Wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halibut was terrific. The server, Lacey, ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Halibut was terrific. The server, Lacey, was spot on. Delightful and unobtrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food great place. We had the group ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food great place. We had the grouper and the salmon. Both were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to this restaurant based on a re ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went to this restaurant based on a reccomendation from someone who had previously been to Red Fish. The food was really great! Our server, Kelsie, was wonderful. She was professional and personable. The interior of the restaurant looked good for ambiance, but we chose to sit on the patio. It was a nice patio for dining, although our table was in between 2 fans that were noisy. But the other tables most likely would be fine.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was pretty empty but our ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The restaurant was pretty empty but our server was very slow and disappeared several times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great food and service :)

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food and service :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over-rated. Some dishes were way too sal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Over-rated. Some dishes were way too salty. Others were just way too bland. An unfortunate choice for date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.