About Red Fish - Hilton Head

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: (843) 686-3388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Creative Cuisine (30)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Romantic (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Local Ingredients (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Business Meals (8)
Private Room (8)
Cozy (8)
Casual (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fireplace (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2095 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is always good and love the wine choices. One of our favorite places to eat when we visit Hilton Head. Our waitress Nicole was amazing. The oyster appetizer was wonderful and my husband raved about the scallops with lobster Mac and cheese. We both enjoyed the carrot cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

We enjoyed dinner at the Red Fish last Friday. I have not been there in years but the place seemed the same to me. The food is excellent but the dining room is louder than normal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent evening, when you visit Hilton Head, Red Fish is a must go dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The shrimp and grits are outstanding. This is one of our go to restraunts when in Hilton Head Islands.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The early bird specials are a really good meal at a very reasonable price. Our dinners at regular dinner hours as well as lunches have always been delightful. The staff is always pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

we have been to Red Fish many time for lunch and dinner and have never been disapointed

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great steak and seafood restaurant. Enjoyed the early bird options too

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place to eat. Food and service are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very good meal. Service was great. Looking forward to going again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had lunch with two friends--attractive decor, good food, and great service.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Red Fish on Wednesdays when John Brackett's group performs. Such a talented group of musicians who play a variety of jazz-type music. We try to go every time we're in town. The food is always good and there is an extensive wine list and shop.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Steak was perfect. The Chilean sea bass was a large portion but thick and as a result was a little dry on the out side. Crete brûlée was awesome. Great wine list and if you don't see what you like... great wine store right there! Service was great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first visit during regular hours. We had been there several times for their early bird specials. It was very expensive for the amount of food that was received.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We selected Red Fish from Open Table's information and dined on Valentine's Day when a reservation is necessary. There is no scenic view here. RF is easy to locate and has plenty of parking. RF has more than one dining room with varying ambiance and outdoor dining with gas heaters on the front deck. One dining room has a grand piano and it was a shame that no one was playing. Our dining room was rather sterile. The tables are covered with paper over cloth. A special Valentine's Day menu was available. We enjoyed the southwestern chopped salad (spicy and excellent) and wine by the glass. Many of the menu items had a southwestern flavor. My spouse had the filet (he was seafood saturated) and I had fish (but don't remember which one). Both entrees with accompanying sides were very good. We enjoyed a chocolate Valentines dessert. Service was excellent and our server most pleasant and happy. I didn't see a wine list other than by the glass. Wine was stored in bins in the dining rooms. Based on other HHI dining experiences RF offers a good value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nothing blew me away but everything was very good, which is in line with their prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Red Fish always has great food. The early dinning is the best value on the island.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat in Hilton Head. Great service, great food!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first visit to Redfish. It was delicious! We will definitely return😊

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Red Fish never fails to meet our expectations!

We went for the early dining, but would go anytime.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere. Fresh food presented artistically.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Consistently great food and service. We have been coming here for years

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have never been disappointed with Red Fish. The menu and wine selections are fantastic and the food and service always superb. Stephanie was a wonderful wait person! Very professional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was good and so was the service. Will come back again!

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was Restaurant Week in HH. Three courses were included for a set fee. The food was outstanding. It was attractively presented. The 4 of us had 3 different entrees and felt all were great. Service was the issue. We sat at the table for 2.4 hours total. Between each course there was at least 35 min. I realize this is a wine bar so maybe they just wanted to give us time to purchase bottles of wine. Once they realized we were only purchasing a couple of glasses of wine, I would have expected the service to speed up. My friend had a cola and was never offered a refill..water glasses being refilled was slow. Marissa was our waitres. She was very personable but mainly absent. There are numerous wonderful restaurants in HH with good service. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were at Red Fish for Restaurant Week. I chose it because they had a larger special menu for this week. There were 4 of us. Three ordered the chef's special which was blackened swordfish. When theirs arrived, it was not at all blackened and the portion was tiny. We sent the fish back and it tasted much better once grilled and seasoned more. I had the skirt steak which was, I must say, delicious.

Three chocolate mousse desserts were ordered and it was plated beautifully, but not the light mousse you usually expect. Seemed like it sat in the refrigerator for several hours before being served. I had the key lime pie which was delicious.

When the bill arrived two of our guests were overcharged by $3 per cocktail because the waitress did not put the order into the computer correctly.

While my meal was very good, the other three were very disappointed in their experience there. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went during restaurant week so they had a prix fix menu available as well as regular menu.

Excellent choices either way. Not large portions but adequate and very rich and flavorful. Would definitely go again and recommend for a nice dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a favorite with us. This visit was during restaurant week, so it was a great value and the menu and food did not disappoint. Service is always excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Delicious meal and great service. The restaurant is very comfortable. They have left enough open space between tables which allows you to have your own conversation. Our server, Nicole was both helpful and charming. The food excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We live on the island, and we will not go back again. The meal and service were fine, but the Redfish really screws its patrons with beverages. Cocktails are meager and absurdly priced. It is gouging, and there are many more places to dine on Hilton Head that are not out to get the guest at the bar. The manager adjusted our bill, but this struck me so badly, that I found the dinning experience there to be a total bust.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Red Fish was a great find! I had Classic Scallops. They were fresh, a good size, and perfectly prepared. My "date" and soulmate had Crab Cakes with a unique cucumber mint slaw that was amazing. Both of us had very good wine. He a Riesling...l, a Pinot Gris. Dessert...a blueberry tart well worth every sinful calorie. I have an unusual food allergy and was especially impressed with the care both my server and the chef took to keep me safe. Thank you Red Fish... well worth the dollars spent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It's been a few years since dining at Red Fish so decided to check it out during restaurant week. Was not disappointed! Hot bread was served with a delicious green dipping sauce. Salad was yummy. Blackened mahi mahi was perfect. Attentive staff. Perfect meal!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 26, 2017

65th bday! Yahoo! Kelly great-Nicole right there w her!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Vegan, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Once again the food at Red Fish was fantastic . Overall we enjoyed our evening.Our only complaint is that the serving personnel was poor and abrupt lacking service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Amazing restaurant, wines, food. Thank you for 2 wonderful dinner experiences.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Everything was great in our dining experience at Red fish will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

One of my top three favorites in a Hilton Head. Been going there since it opened years ago. Used to take our kids when they were little, now we take our grandkids!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

They are always accommodating with changes in preparation or what is is on the plate. Naked Sea Bass over Spinach with Mashed Potato is my favorite. Great Fried Oysters for appetizers. Highly recommended

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Can be Very noisy in the bar seating area. Extensive wine menu. Retail wine store in dining area next to bar. Knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great staff, lovely people! Always enjoy dining here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week. The shrimp spring roll appetizer were underwhelming. Not bad, just not interesting. The blackened Mahi was surprisingly chewy. Definitely would not recommend. The saving grace of the meal was the pecan pie for dessert. That I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and service! We both had fish dishes and they were prepared perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Try the fried oyster appetizer-large juicy lightly breaded oysters on a bed of coleslaw and pico de gallo with just the right amount of avocado crema- yummy and a large enough portion to share!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Ate lunch here while in Hilton Head and decided to return for dinner. Wine store on premises with good selection. $10.00 corkage fee.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was very tasty and the service ( Miranda was our waitress ) was also very good. We ate off of the " Pre Fix " 3 course menu and the selections were very diverse and pretty darn yummy. Will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very impressed with the restaurant week menu.

Portions and quality were perfect!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We have been intending to try this restaurant and finally had the opportunity and were met with three different menus to select from. They do offer an extensive early dining menu which includes a glass of their house wine along with their normal menu. They were also offering the restaurant week three course menu for $29 as well. My husband had a mushroom goat cheese appetizer and were told by our waitress Kelsey the chef actually goes out and hunts the mushrooms! We will definitely dine here again as the food as top notch as well as the service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food and service was outstanding. When we are on the island this will be our new favorite place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

On our list of most try restaurants

Not disappointed

Very comfortable seating in the bar area

Quiet Wednesday evening

Service good

Great apps and opened up restaurant week early so enjoyed a three course meal at value $$

Mahi and Sea Bass both excellent

But, Pecan pie a la mode was to die for😊👏🏻

Will be back

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had excellent service and very good tasting menu value and choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Red Fish never disappoints! The food and service are always spot on and the wine list is ... well, it's just wonderful. The twixt dessert is a favorite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.