Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Red Fish - Hilton Head

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: (843) 686-3388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (50)
Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Cozy (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (17)
Casual (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Lunch (12)
Healthy (11)
Fun (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Live Music (8)
Seasonal (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Vegan (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort by
S
2415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food, server and atmosphere. Will definitely be back on return visits to Hilton Head.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Predictably outstanding! Ambience, service and food always superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food. Great atmosphere & fabulous service

Tags: Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We are visiting Hilton Head Island and were looking for a nice seafood restaurant for a birthday dinner. We were not disappointed. Excellent wine list, but one thing that was disappointing to this non wine-drinker was lack of a cocktail list. The waitress replied they have a fully stocked bar, but when asked if they had coconut rum, she hesitated and wasn't sure. This diner prefers a craft cocktail list to stir the imagination a bit, rather than come up with something ordinary on my own.
Two of us had salads, which were large in portion. I had the goat cheese salad, which came with roasted beets, candied pecans and a citrus vinaigrette. Excellent. My husband had the wedge. For entree's both my husband and I had the chilean sea bass, with a soy glaze and wasabi cream sauce on top. Excellent fish. however, the udon noodles which the fish sat on top of, were not hot enough and cooled rapidly from the first bite for both of us, even though we were warned that the plates were hot. One of our companions had the shrimp and grits, while the other had the special- a wreck fish. All were pleased with our choices. We visited the Red Fish on Hilton Head, but there is a second location near Bluffton.
Would highly recommend this spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

We love coming to Red Fish for the early bird seating - food is great, staff is pleasant, and every one makes you feel welcomed. Look forward to a return visit next time we are in Hilton Head. Plus we would highly recommend you to any one we know who might be coming for a stay in Hilton Head

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Red Fish is a great spot on Hilton Head. Great food, great service, interesting menu, indoor and outdoor dining. I love it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Despite the restaurant being almost totally empty, we were seated all next to each other. No privacy. Food was very good but portions were small for the price charged. 4 scallops w/ lobster Mac & cheese was $39.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We planned on eating here on the first night of our vacation to celebrate our recent wedding. They have an outstanding wine selection and allow you to buy a bottle in the retail area and then drink it at dinner with an up charge. There were great options for both of us- carnivore and vegetarian. Service was great and our server very knowledgeable. We plan on making this an annual tradition.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

We were a party of 8 for the early evening menu on a Saturday. The staff was most accommodating and pleasant. Service was prompt and correct in my judgement. This was only my second visit to Red Fish, but each visit satisfied my expectations and I would certainly recommend Red Fish Hilton Head to my friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great place; good food ; excellent service: good atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

My husband & I enjoy Red Gish Grille when we come to Hilton Head. This time the steak my husband ordered was not up to par. It came in two pieces and was just not the same as on previous visits.
We mentioned it to our server and she called the manager over. He was apologetic And insisted on removing it from our bill.
The service and ambiance are always wonderful and we will come back hoping this was a one time problem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Red Fish has been consistently good for us for many years. Nice to know it is surviving and thriving...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on October 22, 2017

An annual event. It is the first dining stop on my stay at Hilton Head.
They have a great early bird special, including wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Always enjoy going to Red Fish. Have never been disappointed in the food, drink, service, and of course the wine selection. A terrific place to wine and dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Our “go to” place when we are in town! We love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Had their signature dish, Chilean sea bass w wasabi sauce and udon noodles. Noodles were over cooked and sauce was too heavy and smothered the seabass

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Another trip to Hilton Head another great dinner at Red Fish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

We are from Switzerland vacationing in Hilton Head. Last time we had dinner in this restaurant was over 5 years ago. Then the food was very good, now we were very disappointed. We just had one salad and one grouper which was recommended by the restaurant. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

We both had the red snapper which was excellent. The ambiance was also great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food was prepared well and great tasting. Our server, Nicole did a great job of pacing and we never felt rushed. She knew the menu and was attentive without being pushy.

We love this island gem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Food is fantastic. Fried oysters are the best. Love the fresh seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Daily special are fantastic. On Wednesdays there is a wood grill which adds to the wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Fantastic evening. Food was great and Kelley, our server, was fantastic!!! Will go back again without question!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

A very pleasant dinner. Great service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Outstanding meal and our server, Hannah, was delightful. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Such great service but food was sadly disappointing. Menu looked very promising but flavors just weren't there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We dined here on Weds. eve in the bar area, which we requested so that we could be near the trio. Such a fun night! Can't beat the combination of great music, great wine, and really good food. I had a trout special which was not my favorite of their entrees (try the scallops with the lobster mac and cheese!), but here you really feel you are having a night "out". We come to the island many times a year (own 2 villas) and always go to Redfish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Really great meal and we all enjoyed the daily specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Previously, Red Fish was much better but at our two most recent visits, the food and quality of service have changed to be less than expected. Service was fine initially and through our order being taken both times, food was brought by someone else and never saw the server again until we hailed her down to ask for our check after an hour and 30 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Once again, we experienced the perfect evening at Red Fish. We dined with a group of 6 friends who had not seen each other for some time, and we wanted a private dining experience where we could talk and catch up. We were given a very private table and our food and service was superb. Our visiting group of friends were extremely impressed with our choice of restaurant and the lovely evening. Thanks, Red Fish!!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food was great with outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very nice people, good food and wine. Really enjoyed eating in the patio.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our favorite restaurant on Hilton Head. We are wine drinkers and while the restaurant wine list is pretty basic but there are hundreds of bottles available in the bar area which is basically a wine shop. Check it out, choose a bottle and bring it to the table. Only down side is the corkage fee.

Enough of wine talk however, their food is terrific. While there is an emphasis on seafood there are plenty of other choices. Not cheap but the food is worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Absolutely terrific. The quiche is the best and the seafood roll is without equal. We always plan a meal at Refish. Can't wait til we are back on the island to go back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2017

When on vacation on Hilton Head Island, we try to make this a regular stop. It's always great!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 27, 2017

THE SERVICE WAS SLOW BUT THE MAIN COURSE WAS GOOD. THE DESSERT WAS TERRIBLE. THE COFFEE TASTED LIKE INSTANT COFFEE AND THE CHEF'S SPECIAL FOR DESSERT WAS RUBBERY AND TASTELESS. WE SENT BACK BOTH THE COFFEE AND THE DESSERT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Red Fish has always had excellent food and service. We ate their twice dining our stay on HH this week. I've never had disappointing food or service at Red Fish.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Always great! Love the food and the service. Their early bird is a great deal with a free glass of wine.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Eaten here maybe 10 times. Excellent every time. Can't seem to get away from the sea bass. Wish I lived closer. Great service, big wine list. I will be back every time I am in Hilton Head. Guaranteed!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Hilton Head when we visit here. Always fresh, always delicious, always interesting menu. Also can't beat the their early bird dinner which includes choice of soup or salad a variety of entrees as well as a glass of wine. I had the shrimp and grits, my husband had the steak And we were both happy with our meals. Their desserts are also good I especially like their carrot cake.
Noted for their wines too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.