Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 43 times today

Red Fish - Hilton Head

4.5
2577 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Caribbean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 686-3388
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sean Walsh
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Betsy Trish: (843) 686-3388
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Palmetto Bay
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2577 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We were celebrating my birthday, and, although I don't normally make special requests, I asked for a secluded table, so my husband and our friends could easily chat and not be disturbed or distracted by a lot going on around us.
I was amazed at how seriously they took my request. We had the perfect table.
Our server, Guy, was fantastic. I would ask for him if you should go there for dinner. As for our food, it was delicious, prepared perfectly and was served at the correct temperature. I would recommend Red Fish to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Red Fish is one of our favorite restaurants. It's lunch and dinner offerings are excellent. The service is topnotch, and the ambiance is a more European experience. I highly recommend the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our first time there. We will be back as everything was great

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

We like to go on Wednesday evenings so we can hear the John Brackett group play, so we sit in the bar area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Never fails to exceed our expectation. Excellent as always. The seafood roll is amazing

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Not a good experience on a Sunday evening, and restaurant was not busy. Came because of other good reviews, quite disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Consistently one of the best restaurants on the south end!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Overall food was good....two of our fish entrees were over cooked, very dry.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Bread served seem to be reheated; the fish I had was overcooked, and it's replacement was undercooked at one end and overcooked at the other. The server try to alleviate the situation, but the manager simply said we'll take care of it. Taking care of it was not charging for the desserts.
This was not an enjoyable experience and we will not be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great value especially early bird dining. Mother’s Day brunch was excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Although my meal was delicious, my husband was not satisfied at all. He ordered prime rib, which came too tough to cut. When it was replaced with another cut, it was somewhat better although still hard to cut and also much rarer than he had ordered. He called it "the worst meal he had ever had" and has no desire to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We have been there twice lately. We had fish dishes every time and each one was great.
The best part is the wine selection and price. They have an unbelievable wine selection and you can pick your bottle at retail price and bring it to your table. They charge a $10 corkage fee. If you like great wine at a reasonable price this alone makes this restaurant a must.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

My husband’s Caesar salad eas made with iceberg lettuce - all white and no green!

The watress was not very accommodating and even a bit snippy!

In previous years Ted Fish was a favorite of ours....not this time!

We noticed the Earlybird no longer included dessert...,,

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

we go to Hilto Head for a month 2 or 3 times a year and we always have dinner 2 or 3 time while we are there. The food taste great and the sive of the meals are all you want. Plus the carrot care is the beat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

As always, the food was incredible. Dining al fresco made for a beautiful night with Jasmine blossoms, candle light, and a fire in the fireplace.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Food and service was very good. If I have one complaint I would say the specials were overpriced as was the wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great service, good food, lovely ambiance.
Our server remembered that I had marked “one guest is celiac” on my Open Table reservation and brought their gluten free menu out without being asked. Impressed.

Latin ribs were tender and flavourful.
Crab cakes were sooooo full of crab meat and NOT filler.
Steakhouse burgers were cooked to request and were flavourful.
Sides of broccolini and maple bacon grits very good as well.

Lovely dinner out with parents on the patio.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Where you sit makes a big difference in the atmosphere at Red Fish. The patio or inside by the bar are my favorite choices. The rest of the space is large and without much atmosphere. But where ever you sit, the food is fabulous and the service is friendly and professional. They really do know how to prepare fish. Both the Scottish Salmon and the Mahi were perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Always look forward to the lobster shrimp burger, lobster macaroni and carrot cake. Consistently excellent. Have referred others with positive results.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The food was amazing! The fish was freshest I have had in long while. Scallops were perfect and the special chicken Argentinian style was a big hit! I can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Great find!! Wonderful meal and excellent service from Tony our server!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Red Fish is one of our go to restaurants when we are at HHI. We usually go on a Wednesday evening when they have entertainment in the bar area. The food is great, the service is very attentive, and the place is very lively.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Fantastic wine list and amazing lobster/crab burger. It's always a favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our meal was perfection and our server was very informative about ingredients, preparations, wine and more. She was a true delight! Cheese plate and fried oysters were hearty beginnings so we split the salad of the day without concern by any staff. Sea bass was an excellent dish with the right balance of flavors & textures. Steak was done as requested and sides were very complimentary. A spot we will definitely return to in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Halibut was fabulous!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Excellent meal! Farm fresh! Halibut special was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

This was our second time dining at Red Fish, the first tine was several years ago when we were visiting the area. We recalled how much we enjoyed the food and thought we'd try them again. We were not disappointed. My husband ordered the shrimp and grits and I had the barramundi. Both were really nicely prepared. I loved my dish so much I wouldn't hesitate to order it again when we return. It was extremely fresh and flavorful. The portions are hearty so I ended up taking half my dinner home with me. Definitely a place to try

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Very good, somewhat of an Asian fusion cuisine.. excellent fish preparations, nice presentation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Excellent food, service and champagne.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

The food was really good , but the attention given our table for two was terrible, slow service on everything, had to ask for everything from water refills all the way up to desert, server never returned to order, when I asked a passing server, he took our order, deserts came quickly, which where very good. After that our first server quickly brought our check, then at the table made sure our two cups of coffee where added while at table with second guy who helped get deserts.
Took our money and bolted back to the server stand. All this I am add was on a night with the establishment less the half full.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Fantastic gluten free offerings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Halibut special was terrific. However, This side dish with corn and asparagus and shiitake mushrooms was also very good. However, needed more shiitake mushrooms for the price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Our party of four ordered the Barramundi, Scallops and Latin Ribs. All were perfectly prepared and delicious. Do wish the menu (or server) had made clear it was a full rack of ribs as it was much more than I could eat in two meals, much less one. But to enjoy that citrusy guava orange barbecue sauce was worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

In town for the weekend and wanted some upscale dinner with a great wine selection and found that at Red Fish. Would come again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Amazing wine list. Very nice atmosphere, loved the decor. Truly excellent staff. We enjoyed our visit. You won't be disappointed with the quality of the food-it was perfectly prepared and delicious. Look elsewhere if you're looking for crazy innovation on your plate, but come here if you want yummy seafood plates in a restaurant that knows what they're doing from top to bottom. Seems like they've been around for a while and there's a very good reason for that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

One of our favorite restaurants in Hilton Head, food and service are always outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We were thrilled with the Red Fish in Hilton Head. I had the Halibut special, my daughter had the Salmon and my wife enjoyed the sweet potatoe fries and an arugugla caprese salad. The fish dishes were exceptional. Tasty, fresh and flakey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Our second visit to Red Fish - even better than the first. Reliably good food in a pleasant atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Food was average, even signature dishes. Tables are too small for four people. Great wine selection. Great service even though server was also handling very large parties

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
65