Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Red Fish - Hilton Head

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: (843) 686-3388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (55)
Good for a Date (46)
Creative Cuisine (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Romantic (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Great for Lunch (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Casual (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Authentic (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Healthy (11)
Business Meals (11)
Fun (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Private Room (10)
Cozy (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fireplace (5)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Live Music (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
 (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
2167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 17 hours ago

My husband and I took a little overnight getaway in Hilton Head. We wanted to go somewhere that was a local favorite. We had the best meal, the best service and we will definitely come back. What an awesome restaurant!! They also have a phenomenal wine collection that you can purchase from to take home or have with your dinner, if you want to drink something off the menu. Just an amazing extra touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 18 hours ago

Enjoyable food but the staff seemed stretched and it very much showed in the overall service level provided. Excellent wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 19 hours ago

My wife and had been to their restaurant in New Orleans and decided to try this one. Kelly our server was excellent, my wife had the salmon and raved about it. The scallops were equally as good. I'd strongly recommend the fried green tomato caprese salad; we'll go back again for that. Good wine list, but they cellar a lot of wine for retail they will sell you and open for dinner. We had a very delightful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent quality and value for early-bird dinners

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Love this restaurant , it was very noisy this time, great food, great service, has gotten more expensive. I would go again and recommend it, too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very expensive for mediocre meal. Very loud. Could not talk to people across the table. Spent a week in Hilton Head and this was the only bad meal we had. And it was the most expensive. We have eaten at other Red Fish locations and had excellent meals. Very disappointed. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was wonderful. Wine list was extensive. But the noise level was unbearable. We asked to change tables and it was better, but still not good. I suggest going early or late to avoid noisy times.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed a second dinner at Red Fish in a week. The Shrimp and Grits was perfect in every way, the service was excellent and we even got to see a few players from the RBC Heritage tournament enjoying their meals, which was an additional treat. The vibe was more in line with what we traditionally experience and better than it had been earlier in the week (although the food was still spot on then). We left very satisfied and knowing we will return when we are back in the Fall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Good food but incredibly slow service ... appetizers came out within minutes, then over 45 minutes til entrees were served. Waiter was incredibly apologetic, but manager seemed largely indifferent. Next time I'll try somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very good meals. I had the salmon and another person had the Chilean sea bass. Both were excellent. It's a little noisy but it was a busy evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Red Fish never lets me down. The food is excellent and the service is spot on with hovering over you. I would highly recommend making reservations as this is a very popular restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

WE VISIT HILTON HEAD FOR A MONTH EVERY YEAR AND RED FISH IS ONE OF OUR FAVORITES. WE USUALLY GO 3 TO 4 TIMES DURING OUR VISIT. CAN'T GO WRONG WITH RED FISH.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent choices of wines. Several different types of fish were ordered and each of them came out very good. Seasoning does not get in the way of the flavor of the fish. Side dishes fit the main course well. Stands out among the surrounding restaurants. If you want to quieter come early. It gets busy and has a good energy near the bar at 8 o'clock

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The waitress, Stephanie, was less than good. She seemed irritated by us. Food was fine. But the experience was sub-par based on her interaction with us.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The shrimp spring rolls were ok. The shrimp and grits were outstanding, my wife had the scallops with lobster Mac and cheese, the scallops were very good but the Mac and cheese had no lobster taste and in fact tasted like it came from a box.
Even if the food was much better it would have been spoiled by the noise level. Three tables behind us and a large group in the same room made it impossible to even hear each other. I had a headache from the noise before the entrees were served.
Needless to say we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Red Fish is a perennial favorite. Enjoyed the vegetable strudel and a lovely fresh salad. Can recommend the shrimp and grits from past experience as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Just was ok. My fish was dry and service while friendly was somewhat lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful wines, sea bass and desserts. This is an excellent choice for a delicious meal in Hilton Head and very nice outdoor seating area. Service was also top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good fish options with plenty of different preparations. Visited twice in same week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Retail wine store on the premises, purchase your wine at retail and pay a corkage fee. Fish was very good for the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great wine choices by the glass! We had grilled fish and salads for lunch and they were excellent. Service was friendly. Nice setting - comfortable, casual, but extremely nice. We will definitely return!

Tags: , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We really liked Redfish which is focused on fish oriented menu. The service was great along with the ambiance. The best part was picking out your own bottle of wine if you wanted from their "wine store". Only a $10 corkage fee to bring it to your table and reasonable prices. I would have liked a few more entrees not fish but what i had was spectacular. Wahoo seasoned well. Their mac n cheese with scallop dish was to die for . Fun environment and lively. Reservations advised.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Unfortunately, we were seated in an area with a large group and couldn't carry on a conversation. Ruined a nice eveing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was great and so was the service. The reason we would not go back is the noise level was deafening. It spoiled the evening as it was impossible to talk. There were two other rooms that were much quieter. We made the reservation several weeks in advance, too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was really just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Delighted to find this restaurant. Great gluten free menu choices, and knowledgeable wait staff.
Meal was delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Outstanding as always, food, ambiance, service and live music!!!!! Amazing specials
And freshest fish!!!! Great steaks and other choices too!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Red Fish has become a favorite for my wife and me. We live on the island, and like trying out new places. On the nights we are not wanting to risk being disappointed by a new place, we go to Red Fish. We always know the food is going to be great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, great food, great service, very nice atmosphere. Excellent wine list

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great food, but nearby tables really loud. Conversation a little difficult. Always try to get to Red Fish when on the island. Usually a nice, genteel crowd. This time two adjacent tables had diners who seemed to want everyone to hear their "amusing anecdotes". We had opportunity for a quiet after dinner drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Seafood is always very good. It is our "go to" place to bring visitors who want good seafood.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was our sixth or seventh time dining at Red Fish. It was a Sunday night and the place was not very busy in early April. Since the restaurant has expanded space it has lost ambience in our opinion. Always loved the food during other visits but this time was just okay, not remarkable. The bar that has been set up is a weak afterthought and not appealing at all. The restaurant ownership needs to get back to what made it a definite stop for diners. I said that I would recommend it to others but that is based upon all of the prior positive experiences. If basing off the most recent visit alone I would answer differently.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was of good quality, presented in an appealing array and service was very good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Service was good. Wasn't super impressed with food. Wasn't terrible but nothing to go crazy about

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Good sea bass!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Our go to restaurant. The black bean soup is great. Salmon one of our favorites. The early dining menu is very nice, soup or salad, a smaller portion for dinner and a glass of wine. Staff great!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Enjoyed our meal. Nice wine list. Service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Pleased that my meal was prepared to accommodate my dietary allergies..delicious. Waitress was personable and attentive.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Very nice restaurant. A good place for almost any occasion. Food was good but not spectacular.....perhaps it was thus based on what I ordered. Would recommend to friends.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.