Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Red Fish - Hilton Head

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: (843) 686-3388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (72)
Good for a Date (52)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Casual (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Business Meals (21)
Cozy (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Authentic (16)
Great for Lunch (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Fun (10)
Live Music (9)
Seasonal (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vegan (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Service was great, food was delicious. The family enjoyed it, but I believe it's a better date night location

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 6, 2017

10/10! Amazing! Romantic ambiance, fabulous service (shout out to Whitney our server) & great food! We ate the blue crab dip, calamari & the special fried green tomatoes they offered that night (so tasty & balanced) followed by the special grouper & the scallops entree. The Pinot Noir we ordered was great & the wait staff was so attentive - great evening all-around! So happy we dined with them! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Simply superb food!!
My husband is a vegetarian and swears the vegetable strudel was the best meal he has ever had!
Suggest better signage from the road.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent in every way. Food was very tasty, the wait staff was helpful, attentive but didn't over interact so we could enjoy our time at the table. Kind enough to send us home with a birthday dessert, since we were too full from dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent service....Great Manhattan...Fiecracker Calamari was a wonderful treat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was ok but not worth the high price tag. Should be listed as a higher price point on Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food great service and a lovely atmosphere, one of the best places on the entire island.

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

One of our best lunches in memory. Creative and wonderfully tasty, lots of options. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to us by a server in an excellent restaurant in Savannah. Frankly, we were very disappointed. The food was alright, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

My favorite restaurant both on the island and in Bluffton.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Will go back very good service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 28, 2017

My date and I had a wonderful evening dining here last night. Kelsey was an amazing server and the food was phenomenal. We had such a pleasant and enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Red Fish is always on our annual summer trip to HHI list. Always an excellent dinner. They have a really good kids menu (more than the usual...our daughter had a fantastic sirloin for something like fifteen bucks). We did not take advantage of the early bird this year, but that is another great value. The "regular" dinner costs what you'd expect, but is always very good. No doubt we'll be back at Red Fish next summer as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Would love to go again and try more items from their menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Sea Bass, as always, was delicious and LOVE the wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

One of favorite restaurants on Hilton Head, we make sure to visit every trip. Food is excellent, huge wine selection, friendly attentive staff, definitely worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food quality has gone downhill! Ahi tuna poke is seared, not raw. Even manager didn't know that it's served raw like sushi. Horrible taste. Lobster mac & cheese is way too creamy & missing lobster. Used to be one of our favorites on HHI. No more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Looked for Hilton Head restaurant with vegan choices as well as great fish. Red Fish fit the bill-especially with early bird special! Friends had attractive and tasty vegetable plate while I had grilled salmon. Lovely dining room, good service with friendly, competent wait staff.

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food Was fair-certainly didn't meet the pricey standards. Waitress didn't check back for additional drinks and we were left sitting for a long time when finished. Poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Love how creative and delicious the meals are prepared. Very unique menu. Love eating there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Red Fish never disappoints! Excellent food, service and wine list. We always get the black bean soup, and the specials are usually great. The main dining room can get loud so we prefer the wine shop/bar area. We bought a bottle of wine there and paid a $10 cork fee, saved a lot. This is our favorite restaurant on the island!!

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 18, 2017

It certainly was not up to the reviews I read , not the worst meal I have ever had but not anywhere near what I expected from reading the reviews . . It was a too warm in the restaurant to really enjoy the meal , the meal was just OK . We also heard a few of the tables around us also had some issues with heat , service and meal quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Disappointing . Expensive sea bass was chewy and sliced thinly Into two pieces before being cooked and was very dry. Gelatinous "soba" noodles underneath were actually sticky, overcooked rice noodles stir fried with what tasted like bottled stir fry sauce. Overpriced. I won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We brought friends from out of town who had never been and the experience was wonderful for all of us! We were able to engage in wonderful conversation while receiving excellent service--Michael was an exceptional server!!! We all enjoyed our meals and we lingered on after dessert and wound up being the last diners in the establishment while the restaurant was closing. We never felt rushed and appreciated the staff never making us feel like we had overstayed our welcome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Server was great. Had the signature scallops, special grouper and cheese plate. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food was prepared ok but nothing really exemplary. Menu was limited. For a place named Red fish I expected more seafood choices.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Somewhat disappointed in the food given the high prices, although service and atmosphere were excellent. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food, good service, pleasing atmosphere, this will be a regular stop for us when we visit Hilton Head

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

It was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversay. The service was extraordinary along with superb cuisine. I will definitely come back for another occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Came back after many years visiting HHI and were not disappointed. Excellent menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Outstanding dining. Great for family gathering. Always consistent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Value was not there - sea bass which came highly recommended - was fair - I had the roasted vegetables in phylo dough - it wasn't good at all. Shrimp egg rolls - were ok nothing I would order again. Service was terrible - our water glasses were never refilled - or I wasn't ask if I wanted a refill on my wine glass. Would not recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Early dining is a great value with wine and bread included, and a number of good options for soup/salad and main course. We enjoyed a table by the window with quick attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had an enjoyable time. Could use some additional parking

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Oh my -the atmosphere - servers and dinner was stupendous. I can't say enough about Betsy our server. she was so friendly and knew the menu so well. Any question we had she was able to answer. I had the mushroom bisque and Tom the wedge salad. Very good both were. Entree was Sea scallops for me and Sea bass prepared naked for Tom. Would definitely recommend We will be back

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wonderful locally caught seafood elegantly prepared. Excellent service. Good wine list and access to a wine shop to pick your own ($10 corkage is a bargain - go with that option). Great for a date to get away from the kids for a bit. Best high end seafood on Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Wonderful experience! Our waitress Kelsey was so attentive and helpful! We were worried at first about bringing our 2.5 year old to such a nice restaurant but they were more than accommodating to her (and all the other children there). It was clean and the food was fresh and delicious! We will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Red Fish as good as always. It is our foto place when we are HH. What a great wine selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything our table had was fine, but nothing was impressive. We were really hoping for a "Wow" meal our last night of vacation, but were disappointed. It's a good solid restaurant, there wasn't anything to complain about other than the service was a little lacking. There just wasn't a dish on our table of six that anyone would want to have again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.