About Red Fish - Hilton Head

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: (843) 686-3388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Sweet Water Ipa - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Chocolate Martini - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Seared Sea Scallops - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Shrimp Spring Rolls - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Tuna Tartare - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
fried oysters - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Latin Ribs - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Vegetable Pastry - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Calamari - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Asian Tuna Tartar - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Shrimp Tempura - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Southwest Wedge Salad - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Chocolate "Twix" Bar - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Seared Jumbo Scallops - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Grilled Sea Bass - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Lobster Grilled Cheese - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Kobe Burger With Foie Gras - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Crab Cakes - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (30)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Romantic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (6)
Casual (6)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Live Music (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2050 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very tasty and the service ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was very tasty and the service ( Miranda was our waitress ) was also very good. We ate off of the " Pre Fix " 3 course menu and the selections were very diverse and pretty darn yummy. Will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been intending to try this resta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We have been intending to try this restaurant and finally had the opportunity and were met with three different menus to select from. They do offer an extensive early dining menu which includes a glass of their house wine along with their normal menu. They were also offering the restaurant week three course menu for $29 as well. My husband had a mushroom goat cheese appetizer and were told by our waitress Kelsey the chef actually goes out and hunts the mushrooms! We will definitely dine here again as the food as top notch as well as the service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was outstanding. When w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food and service was outstanding. When we are on the island this will be our new favorite place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On our list of most try restaurants Not ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

On our list of most try restaurants

Not disappointed

Very comfortable seating in the bar area

Quiet Wednesday evening

Service good

Great apps and opened up restaurant week early so enjoyed a three course meal at value $$

Mahi and Sea Bass both excellent

But, Pecan pie a la mode was to die for😊👏🏻

Will be back

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had excellent service and very good t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had excellent service and very good tasting menu value and choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, , Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Fish never disappoints! The food and ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Red Fish never disappoints! The food and service are always spot on and the wine list is ... well, it's just wonderful. The twixt dessert is a favorite!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Let me start with the service. It would ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Let me start with the service. It would have been a 10 star had the chef decided to come to the table after I requested it. The meal was the best I have ever had out, and I had a $50 bill in my hand for him, but he informed the server that he was "too busy."

Now to the meal and beyond. We started with a bottle of the Franciscan Cabernet Sauvignon, which was impeccable. For the appetizer, we chose the Savannah Oysters. They were perfectly baked,with the oysters still moist, with the cheese melted uniformly, yet not charred.

We followed with their wedge salad, which was again perfectly prepared. The roasted tomatoes were full flavored, roasted, not burned, and the lettuce was crisp, the blue cheese dressing handmade.

My wife had the pan seared scallops and they were tender, tasty and succulent, served over lobster Mac and cheese that was cheesy and expertly blended with the lobster. It was serve over a bed of spicy asparagus that left a pleasant, mild tingle on your tongue.

I had the surf and turf, consisting of a short rib that would melt in your mouth, tender enough to not need a fork. The lobster was expertly prepared, not brick hard as often experienced, but juicy, hot through and through and served with a garlic lemon butter that was perfectly executed, not too lemony.

Our server as a 10, as was the bus staff, all attentive, helpful and pleasant.

Without a doubt, this was the best meal I have had out in many years. I cook and when we do go out, we expect nothing but the best in food and service and are frequently disappointed.

Red Fish left us with but one disappointment - that I was not personally able to thank the chef for the hand crafted meal of perfection. This was the second time in the last decade I have asked to speak to the chef, and that says it all.

Visited January 2017

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated New Year's Eve - as usual, wo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Celebrated New Year's Eve - as usual, wonderful food and service - highly recommended!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Fish is an excellent choice for lunc ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Red Fish is an excellent choice for lunch or dinner while you're in HHI. The staff is great, friendly and receptive. Appetizers are creative and tasty. Love the shrimp egg rolls. Food is always consistent and tasty. Great wine list, from cheap to expensive with many bottles. We dined the "early dinner" special with gave us some great food options along with a glass a wine. You can tell a lot about this place by the many repeat customers in the dining room.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cool place with great food. I really enj ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Cool place with great food. I really enjoyed my burger - wife had shrimp and grits that she loved. Daughter enjoyed buttered noodles. The desserts were really really good. Lots of seating - LOTS of wine if you like wine - and quick service. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Red Fish is always a favorite, especiall ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Red Fish is always a favorite, especially on Wednesday evenings when John Brackett and his amazing group plays.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was terrible. Good meal, too ba ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was terrible. Good meal, too bad ruined by non existent service. Never had water filled or spent dishes cleared when done. Travel to the island often won't be going back or recommending to clients. Management needs to step up staffing level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Had a great Christmas Eve meal. Nice ra ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had a great Christmas Eve meal. Nice range of choices on menu; food was consistently excellent from bread through salad and entree to dessert. Several items got the reaction: "Best I've ever had". And service was excellent as well throughout the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual Redfish was outstanding in ever ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As usual Redfish was outstanding in every way. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the specials are always different and fresh. Since they have a retail wine shop, you can pick a bottle that may not be on the wine list, have it with dinner, and then bring the remainder home. So lots of

choices!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Wed night with live music

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great Wed night with live music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful service and friendly atmospher ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Wonderful service and friendly atmosphere. Very accommodating. Nice wine list and selection within the store.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Wahoo and Chilean Sea Bass were outs ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The Wahoo and Chilean Sea Bass were outstanding. We always eat here when we're in Hilton Head.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed celebr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our 48th wedding anniversary at Red Fish. The service, food and staff were excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I both had one of the best m ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My wife and I both had one of the best meals we have ever eaten. Great food and service. Don't miss this...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous, as always! Both of the scallo ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fabulous, as always! Both of the scallop entrees and the crab cake entree were delicious. Portions were very generous and large enough to share. Lobster mac and cheese to-die-for! Caesar and spinach salads were also delicious and large enough to be an entire meal in themselves. Service friendly and attentive but not overbearing. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times. We were seated in the room on the left as you enter. It was a bit drafty (unseasonably cold outside). Our waiter was harried and only brought bread after we asked for it and when we were finished with our entree. While the food was very good, the service was lacking on this visit (early Dec.).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Never have been disappointed in Red Fish ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Never have been disappointed in Red Fish. Have eaten lunch several times, but tonight we went for the Early Bird special between 5-5:45. A drink is included and we got a glass of very good house wine. You can get soup or salad and an entree for $16.95. The black bean soup was delicious and was a generous bowl not a cup. The grilled salmon was cooked to perfection with great veggies and garlic mashed potatoes. They also served wonderful warm sourdough bread. Our server was excellent! Look forward to coming back when in HH for a week in early January.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered fried chicken. Came dry. Sent ba ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Ordered fried chicken. Came dry. Sent back. Husband ordered strip steak $39.00. It was just OK. Not really pleased. They tried to correct, then charged us for food I did not really want. They finally corrected this. Had been highly recommended, not pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Our server -- don't recall her name -- w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our server -- don't recall her name -- was excellent. The entrees were supurb. We enjoyed our meal!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Nice variety ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent food and service. Nice variety on the menu and some creative daily specials

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What an amazing place to dine!!! We enj ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

What an amazing place to dine!!! We enjoyed our Thanksgiving feast here and were thrilled with the delicious food, amazing service, and just everything that goes into a perfect meal. We will definitely visit Red Fish again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places - great food ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

One of our favorite places - great food & service - superb!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family of 4 had Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family of 4 had Thanksgiving dinner here-our first visit. We were greeted warmly, immediately taken to our table, and given a clear description of how to handle latge variety of wine choices and the menu. They were very helpful and patient as we made our selections. The entire staff provided excellent, friendly and professional service!!! The preset menu choices were perfect for us which is one of the big reasons for choosing along wuth others reviews. Delicious appetizers, 1st course and desserts! Just a few downsides: price, the size of side portions, and the turkey was dry. Will certainly go back !

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice menu. Lots of imagination. When ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Nice menu. Lots of imagination. When the combo began playing in the adjacent room - they were loud. We think that music during dinner should be "background".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I were visiting Hilton Head ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My wife and I were visiting Hilton Head for our 51st wedding anniversary and Red Fish was recommended by a friend and resident of the island. We went twice; first night was our actual anniversary and it was quite special, in large part because of our waitress who had a very nice manner. Restaurant was closed off a bit, because it was a quiet night and it was intimate. The second night we went live music was scheduled for later in the evening and the restaurant expanded significantly to accept the anticipated patrons. Food was excellent, and seemed slightly better the first night, but that could have been the ambiance although it was clear a different person had prepared the entrees because we both had the same food both nights; it was that good. There is an early dining menu which served filling portions for much less. Very large wine selection. Highly recommend it and I wish I could recall our waitress' name.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stephanie was an excellent and knowledge ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Stephanie was an excellent and knowledgeable server!! Quiet table selected which added to our enjoyment!!! We return to Ted Fish each year on our visit to Hilton Head!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Samantha was the best.

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent. Samantha was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good choice for a night out.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always a good choice for a night out.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent as always...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent as always...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was great as was every dish o ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our server was great as was every dish of our food. I had the Shrimp and Grits which was to die for. The Calamari app was killer as well and plenty enough to share.

Repeat customer and we' ll

Be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service from Jonathan, great food, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service from Jonathan, great food, perfect place for an anniversary celebration! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about this place. Serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved everything about this place. Service was friendly, efficient, and waitress was helpful in helping us decide on menu choices. Meals were delicious, especially the scallops with Mac and cheese (sounds odd but tastes great).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had wonderful food, a lovely server a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had wonderful food, a lovely server and yummy desserts! My 15 year old grandson says Red Fish is his favorite Hilton Head restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding I had flounder spe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was outstanding

I had flounder special and my husband had sea bass

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.