Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Red Fish - Hilton Head

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: (843) 686-3388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (75)
Good for a Date (48)
Fit for Foodies (44)
See All
Special Occasion (43)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Romantic (29)
Casual (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Authentic (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Business Meals (12)
Healthy (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Private Room (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Fireplace (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was ok, and the salad was fair. My wife ordered the scallops with lobster mac, and I ordered the grouper special. The lobster mac was ordinary at best, the scallops tasted very good. However, the first plate of grouper that they sit down was inedible. I sent it back and after another 15 minutes they brought a replacement that was marginal. Altogether dinner and drinks was $110 before the tip, nothing was offered to compensate for the bad fish, and the delay in the replacement dinner and the food was marginal. Compared to others dinners before and after this was the worst!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great early bird deal. Food very good. Numerous choices including a glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Redfish had excellent food and service
This is our favorite restaurant in Hilton Head

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time trying Red Fish and we really enjoyed it. The fried calamari appetizer was delicious and spicy as billed. The two fish entrees were fresh and perfectly cooked. Definitely recommend the sea bass. The kids had pasta which was just ok and the sliders. I wish they had a salmon selection on the kids menu. Overall it was a very good dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The dining area is nicely arranged, with most tables surrounded by a nice selection of wine bottles held on shelves. The tables are well spaced out. The food is quite good and nicely prepared and presented. Prices are about right given the attractive setting and good, attentive service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and great service. The early bird is a excellent value. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We went for the early eating special and we were glad we did because the food was just OK and the service was poor so we were glad we didn't pay full price. I would not recommend this restaurant as there are many other better choices on Hilton Head Island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Superb! Try any special they offer. There is a reason they call it "Special". Fine Napa Valley dining goes to the beach! We come back here every visit to HHI--our home away from home.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Unfortunately the menu was limited in what we thought would be a variety of selections of local seafood . Menu based on the name did not meet our expectations. This does not mean it is a bad place to go to. We wanted a more varied style of dishes with more to it.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service initially was very nice but the restaurant got very busy and it was less attentive but still acceptable. The food was wonderful in presentation, quality and taste. It was a great experience. Our wedding anniversary is Thursday, May 18, and we'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Don't know if this happened or not, but we asked for an outside table and there were 4 open, but we were told they were reserved. When we left two we're still open. Food was great, but late. Others got dinners who ordered and arrived after us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great dining experience and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day. Inside dining. Too cold to enjoy. Tables were sparse and the room we were in was nearly empty. Good professional server. Food outstanding especially the fried oysters which were light and fluffy in a very delicate sauce. Outside people seemed much more relaxed. If you go here choose to eat outside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome experience. The staff was very attentive and the food was delicious! Recommend the spring rolls, salmon dinner and the Thai shrimp dish. All was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day brunch was very good. Great food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A wonderful evening with creative, well presented food. Seafood was absolutely fresh. Good choice of fresh catch and menu standards. The wine selection was beyond excellent. You actually walk through a wine store where you can select the wine you want for your dinner from over 1,000 bottles. Friendly staff. Attentive general manager. Casual sophistication

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It's always excellent here. Great wine list. The caprese salad with fried green tomatoes is outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Red Fish was great!! The service was awesome, friendly, and knowledgeable of the menu. I will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed our choices front the early-bird menu. Plus the included house merlot selection was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We will definitely return here. Great wine selection at reasonable prices, excellent food and service!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Waitress was not good . We looked at the parking lot and the shrimp and lobster sandwich was tasteless and dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent as always. Service was great. Enjoyed dinner with out of town friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

It was very nice. The food was excellent especially the scallops with lobster mac and cheese.
The waitress came to us and said the check was picked up by someone at the bar who had just come into some money and told her to pick a table. She picked us so I gave her a 50% cash tip. Been paying it forward since.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating, Authentic, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food, presentation and service. In all the years I have been coming here, it is always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Eaten here several times but this time my food was cold

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Whenever we are in Hilton Head we lunch at Red Fish and are never disappointed. Looking forward to coming again and again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We enjoy the seafood here and like to sit in the wine room. Servers are friendly and knowledgeable. Quiet atmosphere. The fish dishes are always great. The fried oyster appetizer is one of the best on HHI. Lobster mac and cheese is the best we have ever had. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

From NJ. Always go there on vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food, service and wine options and you can bring your own for a corkage fee.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was not good. Food was tasty though

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always our choice for Saturday lunch-the salads and burgers are prepared to specification perfectly. The patio was under repair preventing outdoor dining today. Tom took good care of us -interested without being obtrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hertfordshire)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Had a great meal, but expected more fish options on the menu, as last time we visited

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent food, service,& menu variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My wife and I went for the early-bird dining menu. We were seated promptly and the wait staff were very attengive. Hot bread was served and we had a choice of the house red/white wine which was included as part of the promotion. This was followed by the soup or salad and an entree- all of which were very good.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was very nice

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was very good. Crispy, tender fried calamari. I'm not a Mac & Cheese fan, but my two dinner guests loved the lobster Mac which is, apparently, a restaurant signature dish. One of my guests had a fried softshell crab, and both I and another guest ate scallops; one was a menu item, the other was special. Both came with a generous portion of well-seared scallops. The service was great. Nice selection of wines by the glass. My only complaint is that it was a very nice night, but the blinds were closed so the interior dining room was very dark. I would return to the restaurant again! If it's a nice evening, ask to sit outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Of our 3 nights of dining, Redfish was the best. Excellent Sea Bass!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The salads, breads and entrees were delicious. Best food on the island. The three of us had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delicious as always - wide variety and specials give a great balance. Servers know their food and wine!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.