About Red Fish - Hilton Head

8 Archer Rd.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks with an upbeat Caribbean/Asian flair. A recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, Red Fish offers over 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose in our retail shop to enjoy with your meal (with a small corkage fee) or to take home.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Caribbean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm
Early dining menu: Nightly 5:00pm - 5:45pm

Cross Street:
Palmetto Bay

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 686-3388

Website:
http://www.redfishofhiltonhead.com/

Executive Chef:
Sean Walsh

Private Party Facilities:
We can cater to any size party, on or off-site. We offer a private room for hire as well as special menus according to your preference.

Private Party Contact:
Betsy Trish: 8436863388

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Fish has wine tastings from the fall through the spring. Joining our wine club is free and an excellent way to stay abreast of what's going on around Red Fish wine-wise. Email redfishgenmgr@aol.com to join!

Restaurant Photos

Sweet Water Ipa - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Calamari - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Chocolate Martini - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Seared Sea Scallops - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Shrimp Spring Rolls - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Tuna Tartare - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
fried oysters - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Latin Ribs - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Vegetable Pastry - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Asian Tuna Tartar - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Shrimp Tempura - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Southwest Wedge Salad - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Chocolate "Twix" Bar - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Seared Jumbo Scallops - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Grilled Sea Bass - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Lobster Grilled Cheese - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Kobe Burger With Foie Gras - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Crab Cakes - Red Fish - Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC

Red Fish - Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Seafood
South Carolina
Seafood
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Notable Wine List (39)
Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Romantic (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Live Music (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fireplace (3)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1933 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. Nice variety ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. Nice variety on the menu and some creative daily specials

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What an amazing place to dine!!! We enj ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

What an amazing place to dine!!! We enjoyed our Thanksgiving feast here and were thrilled with the delicious food, amazing service, and just everything that goes into a perfect meal. We will definitely visit Red Fish again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places - great food ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

One of our favorite places - great food & service - superb!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family of 4 had Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family of 4 had Thanksgiving dinner here-our first visit. We were greeted warmly, immediately taken to our table, and given a clear description of how to handle latge variety of wine choices and the menu. They were very helpful and patient as we made our selections. The entire staff provided excellent, friendly and professional service!!! The preset menu choices were perfect for us which is one of the big reasons for choosing along wuth others reviews. Delicious appetizers, 1st course and desserts! Just a few downsides: price, the size of side portions, and the turkey was dry. Will certainly go back !

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice menu. Lots of imagination. When ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Nice menu. Lots of imagination. When the combo began playing in the adjacent room - they were loud. We think that music during dinner should be "background".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I were visiting Hilton Head ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My wife and I were visiting Hilton Head for our 51st wedding anniversary and Red Fish was recommended by a friend and resident of the island. We went twice; first night was our actual anniversary and it was quite special, in large part because of our waitress who had a very nice manner. Restaurant was closed off a bit, because it was a quiet night and it was intimate. The second night we went live music was scheduled for later in the evening and the restaurant expanded significantly to accept the anticipated patrons. Food was excellent, and seemed slightly better the first night, but that could have been the ambiance although it was clear a different person had prepared the entrees because we both had the same food both nights; it was that good. There is an early dining menu which served filling portions for much less. Very large wine selection. Highly recommend it and I wish I could recall our waitress' name.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stephanie was an excellent and knowledge ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Stephanie was an excellent and knowledgeable server!! Quiet table selected which added to our enjoyment!!! We return to Ted Fish each year on our visit to Hilton Head!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Samantha was the best.

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent. Samantha was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent as always...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was great as was every dish o ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our server was great as was every dish of our food. I had the Shrimp and Grits which was to die for. The Calamari app was killer as well and plenty enough to share.

Repeat customer and we' ll

Be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service from Jonathan, great food, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service from Jonathan, great food, perfect place for an anniversary celebration! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about this place. Serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved everything about this place. Service was friendly, efficient, and waitress was helpful in helping us decide on menu choices. Meals were delicious, especially the scallops with Mac and cheese (sounds odd but tastes great).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had wonderful food, a lovely server a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had wonderful food, a lovely server and yummy desserts! My 15 year old grandson says Red Fish is his favorite Hilton Head restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine. Sea Bass was the be ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and wine. Sea Bass was the best I ever had.

A little loud though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was outstanding I had flounder spe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was outstanding

I had flounder special and my husband had sea bass

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always look forward to having dinner at ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Always look forward to having dinner at this restuarant when in Hilton Head.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants on the i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants on the island especially on Wednesday night with the live jazz. Sit in the wine bar where the service is superior. You can make a mail just on their appetizers they are so good. They must go to restaurant when visiting the island. Carl schleicher

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to come here for the early di ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We decided to come here for the early dinner menu and we weren't disappointed. If you don't mind eating early (no later then 5:45pm), this is very good value. Our server was very attentive and our meal - shrimp and grits and salmon was really delicious. We'll definitely do this again on our next visit to HH.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was really good. Great experience. ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Food was really good. Great experience. Would visit again next trip.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a guaranteed stop for every trip ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on October 24, 2016

This is a guaranteed stop for every trip to Hilton Head. Extensive wine options help to start the evening off well. The early bird offerings are creative and a great evening. Unique shrimp and grits creations are sure to please.

Ask about any special wine tasting events on the calendar when you are there.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great server. Very knowledgable about th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great server. Very knowledgable about the wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding shrimp and grits as well as ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Outstanding shrimp and grits as well as fried oyster appetizer. As always the scallops were perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another wonderful experience at Red Fish ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Another wonderful experience at Red Fish celebrating a birthday. Loved the Fried Green Tomato Caprese Salad. The signature Sea Bass entree remains one of our favorite dishes anywhere!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Red Fish is always a must visit when we ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Red Fish is always a must visit when we are in Hilton Head Island. The people are friendly, knowledgeable, helpful & efficient. We request the Wine Room. Food never disappoints in quality, quantity or creativity! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Lobster Mac & cheese. Fish dishes ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Best Lobster Mac & cheese. Fish dishes always prepared well. Something for every one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here for my husband an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 3, 2016

First time dining here for my husband and me. We ordered the spring roll appetizer. Very hot and crisp with a little spicy kick to it. Very good. For the entree we both had the Cajun Mahi-mahi. Fresh and well prepared. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have tried the seafood special the last ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Have tried the seafood special the last 3 trips. Love how creative they are. Mine was blackened flounder with bacon cheddar grits and smoked tomato sauce. Other was grilled grouper Brussels sprouts and garlic mashed potatoes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We vacation 2 X year in Hilton Head (Spr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We vacation 2 X year in Hilton Head (Spring and Fall) and Redfish is the 1st place and last place we go on our visits. The food is terrific and service is always great. We've never been disappointed and strongly recommend Red Fish.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was delicious. We wanted out ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our dinner was delicious.

We wanted outside seating we were not expecting the terrace to be adjacent to the parking lot

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We always come to Red Fish when we visit ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We always come to Red Fish when we visit Hilton Head. The food and the service are always excellent. On this visit, I had the mango bar-b-q ribs with sweet potato fries! The portion was huge so I enjoyed them for lunch the next day. They have quite the wine selection. I believe they still have an early bird menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic! Need I saw more...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Romantic! Need I saw more...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was good, service was slow

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was good, service was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I have dined at this popular island rest ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I have dined at this popular island restaurant many times. I was more impressed on this occasion than in the past. I had a very nice sea bass entree that was very well prepared, and the service was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A popular local higher end Southern food ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 23, 2016

A popular local higher end Southern food experience. Always seem to have great fresh offerings in addition to the printed menu. The fresh fish has been perfect the 4 times we have been. Great wine selection and the usual cocktails available. Dining on the porch can be ideal some times of the year - and the table by the fireplace is a prime favorite. The service is efficient and very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We ordered 2 entrees and 2 appetizers... ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We ordered 2 entrees and 2 appetizers...all excellent and memorable for taste and preparation. Also great wine selection at a great price for a restaurant. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come to HHI every fall. This is our 5 ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We come to HHI every fall. This is our 5th year and have gone to Redfish every year. This year we were not disappointed. Next year we will look forward to returning. All the meals were delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Service. Wait staff ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent Food and Service. Wait staff was attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely dinner, great service, extensive ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lovely dinner, great service, extensive wine list. Will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for the early bird menu and we w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We came for the early bird menu and we were pleased with the selection on the menu. I had the coconut shrimp which was delicious. I like that you offered an early bird special, since my husband I like to eat around 5. We will definitely come again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.