About Red Fish Grill

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Double Chocolate Bread Pudding
BBQ Oysters
App Platter
Barbeque Oysters With Home Made Bleu Cheese
Chocolate Bread Pudding
Oysters on the Half Shell
Pale Ale
Beef Skewers
Charred Redfish With Crab
Dozen Raw Oysters
Blackened Redfish
Blackened Mahi Mahi With Citrus Glaze And Shrimp
Lemon Drop Cosmo
Satsuma Mimosa
Alligator And Seafood Gumbo
Lamb And White Bean Soup
1/2 Grande Isle Salad
Pimm's Frozen Cocktail
BBQ oyster poboy
Cocktails!!!!!!
Bananas Foster Ice Cream Sandwich
Hickory Smoked Redfish
Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo
Abita Amber
Abita Andygator
Beautiful Bounty Of Below Bivalve Booya
Shrimp Po-Boy Plate
Half Dozen Cold Fresh Salty Bivalves
BBQ Oyster Half Po-Boy
$10 Dressed Oyster Challenge
Mississippi Catfish & Crawfish
Bar Selections
BBQ Oyster Po Boy
RFG Salad
Breaux Bridge Crawfish Stuffed Deviled Eggs
House Salad
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
fresh bread
Maccallen 12 Year
Dan Aykroyd Lemonade
Colorful Menu
Sparkling Water
Hickory Grilled Redfish
crabcake
Catfish Poboy
Lemon Sorbet
Blackened Shrimp Po Boy
BBQ Shrimp And Cheese Grits
Alligator Sausage And Seafood Gumbo
Barbeque Shrimp And Garlic Cheese Grits
Thanksgiving Buffet-Turkey, Cajun Turkey, Prime Rib, Dressing And More!!!
BBQ Shrimp
Hickory Grilled Red Fish
Caesar Salad
Pumpkin Pie, Ginger Snap Cookie
Crystal Calamari
Finca el Origen malbec
Grilled Shrimp & Blackened Avocado Po-Boy
Gator Sausage And Seafood Gumbo
Beef Tenderloin Wrapped Yellow Fin Tuna
Fried BBQ Oyster Po Boy
Grilled Red Fish
Bbq Blue Crab Claws
Sweet Potato And Warm Bourbon Pecan Pie
Crispy Fried Oysters & Boudin Tamales
Root Beer Float
Blackened Louisiana Drum Fish
Barbeque Blue Crab
Chicken Dijon
buffet
Shrimp Po Boy
Chocolate Creme Brulee with S'mores Topping
Famous Roast Beef And Provolone
Grilled Shrimp & Avocado Po'boy
Classic Crayfish Boil
Grand Island Salad
Picayune Punch
Crawfish Boudin
Creole Marinated Gulf Shrimp
Redfish Sampler
Blackened Red Fish Over Spinach With Lump Crab
Pan Seared Red Snapper
Pecan Pie
Community Coffee Creme Brulee
Crabcakes
Rfg House Salad
Corn and Crab Bisque
Grilled Red Fish Special
Red Fish Grill Sampler:Bbq Oysters, Boiled Shrimp,Calamari
Bananas Foster
Alligator Seafood Gumbo
Bbq Shrimp Po'boy
Blackened Catfish

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

good for groups (206)
fit for foodies (179)
hot spot (115)
See All
special occasion (106)
vibrant bar scene (85)
great for lunch (71)
neighborhood gem (69)
kid-friendly (59)
notable wine list (32)
late-night find (25)
romantic (25)
great for brunch (23)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Husband and I recently went while visiti ...

Dined 4 days ago

Husband and I recently went while visiting Nola and liked it a lot! Food was good and service was great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was great, food was a little on ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service was great, food was a little on the salty side, but overall, a good dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

The food is always great. We eat there e ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food is always great. We eat there every time we are in New Orleans. However our waiter was not as attentive as most usually are. They use to have two people that waited on you. So when they are busy that all is taken care of. Don't get me wrong, we will continue to go to Red Fish, we just didn't have the service they normally have.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome meal, awesome waitress and great ...

Dined 6 days ago

Awesome meal, awesome waitress and great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Red snapper was amazing! would order it ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Red snapper was amazing! would order it again next time I'm in New Orleans!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal. Tim provided excell ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a great meal. Tim provided excellent service and the food was perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best fish I have ever eaten. The cho ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The best fish I have ever eaten. The chocolate bread pudding is unbelievable

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, part of the Brennan's group o ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food, part of the Brennan's group of restaurants. Service was excellent. Seated earlier than reservation, no problems.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Most amazing meal. It was loud and busy ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Most amazing meal. It was loud and busy but the service and food was great, Kevin was our waiter and he gave us some great recommendations. We had a sampler to start with shrimp hush puppies, marinaded shrimp, and the best part of the meal were the crab claws that came in the most delicious lemon white wine sauce. Honestly the best thing we ate on our trip to NOLA. Definitely try the gumbo it was delicious as well as the redfish. This is a must go!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

i was entertaining friends from Californ ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

i was entertaining friends from California and wanted a fun - grill type of cuisine in New Orleans. this was perfect. The reservation was at 8:30 and the full party was on time, however, they did not seat us until 9:20! we had teens with us.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Our meal was delicious , but our server ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our meal was delicious , but our server did not serve us bread or the Chiefs treat of the day. We will go back and hope that we get a better server.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

The restaurant is fairly large and a lit ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The restaurant is fairly large and a little noisy but we were seated in a small room off to the side. The redfish etoffete was excellent and I loved the chocolate bread pudding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at Red Fish Grill a number ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I have eaten at Red Fish Grill a number of times and the food, service and atmosphere is top notch. My favorite is the BBQ Oysters. Fantastic!! I would strongly recommend to anyone in the New Orleans area to eat at this restaurant....

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. We have come to RFG multiple times and have found RFG to be extremely consistent - always have an excellent experience.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it - great feel, food was awesome ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Loved it - great feel, food was awesome & help very quick

food5
ambience5
service5

Fun, lively restaurant with great food a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Fun, lively restaurant with great food and service. The jambalaya risotto was the best meal I had in the Quarter. Our group of 6 all enjoyed their meals--the red fish and the bbq oysters were outstanding. As all say, don't miss the chocolate bread pudding--nothing like it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great surprise on Bourbon Street! The f ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great surprise on Bourbon Street! The food was superb and the service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent along with the se ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was excellent along with the service! Would definitely recommend!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great good, servic Too quick, we enjoyed ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great good, servic Too quick, we enjoyed it. Was very crowdy. Sometimes hard to talk

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Ike was a delight!! He made o ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Our waiter Ike was a delight!! He made our dining a treat. The double chocolate bread pudding was awesome!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can never go wrong selecting the red ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

You can never go wrong selecting the reddish grill. Great atmosphere, great location, and most importantly, great good.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3

Good for groups, families. Very touristy ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Good for groups, families. Very touristy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service!!! Can't wait t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing food and service!!! Can't wait to return for my wife's birthday in September. We will try to make it to Red Fish Grill on all future trips to New Orleans.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

BBQ oysters were great.

Dined on June 7, 2016

BBQ oysters were great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

French Quarter gem

Dined on June 6, 2016

Four friends from Maryland and Virginia met in New Orleans and had our first dinner at Red Fish Grill. While the restaurant was a little noisy, we loved everything we got to eat, mostly fish dinners, and were pleased with the attentive service. I would definitely recommend Red Fish Grill to anyone traveling to New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and right on Bourbon St.

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food and location. The staff was friendly and efficient. There are many local dishes on the menu, and the red fish was super.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in New Orleans for two nights an ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We were in New Orleans for two nights and wanted to make sure we sampled a good local fish restaurant. There's so many restaurants in New Orleans so it's good to use Tripadvisor as a guide. We booked through OpenTable which takes the hassle out of it all - certainly beats trudging the streets looking for somewhere. It was extremely busy and our table wasn't quite ready so we went for a drink in the bar & they gave us a buzzer to let us know when the table was ready. Our waitress was lovely - very attentive and friendly (sorry, can't remember her name). We chose fish fillets on the grill and it was very good. The atmosphere was relaxed and casual and despiet the business, we did not feel rushed. A very enjoyable meal!

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Food and Service

Dined on June 4, 2016

The entrees (redfish with crabmeat and crab cakes), raw oysters, and desserts were excellent, as was the service. The drinks were good, except that the old fashioned seemed to be missing the necessary bitters.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service

Dined on June 4, 2016

We seem to make it here every time that we go to New Orleans. It is more of a casual atmosphere that several "well known" restaurants in town. The food has always been good. But the key is the double chocolate bread pudding, now with some vanilla ice cream on it. The highlight of any trip to New Orleans!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

We had never tried oysters before and ba ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had never tried oysters before and basically my wife was unwilling. Our outstanding waiter convinced us to try the fried oysters. Well, both of us now are complete converts. Excellent service! The fish was amazing, but because of the wood grill my wife said it was a bit drier than she's used to. Overall a wonderful dining experience and we will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected Pleasure

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

It's easy to become jaded after sampling New Orleans restaurants - so many extraordinary choices. Red Fish proved an unexpected find, with many menu options, excellent preparation and friendly service on a crowded Friday night. The fresh fish alternatives - mix match sauces/preparations were great and the Chef's combinations were flavorful and a good portion size. All in all, the best restaurant during our visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Fish was wonderful and the service w ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Red Fish was wonderful and the service was fantastic. Out server Hannibal was on the spot with recommendations and quick service. The food was excellent and they even brought us a dessert for my birthday! No skimping here!

food5
ambience4
service5

Very fresh seafood, excellently prepared ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Very fresh seafood, excellently prepared. Knowledgeable and helpful staff that helped us navigate menu choices in accordance with our dietary needs (gluten, lactose, etc.). Energetic New Orleans vibe. Definitely a place you should not miss.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return To Red Fish

Dined on June 2, 2016

Red Fish Grill is on our list of "must" restaurants every time we vacation in N'Awlins, this trip no exception, but if anything, it was even better than we remember. I love the signature red fish and lump crab entree, wife satisfies her jones for grits. Soup was oyster artichoke, good good. The chocolate bread pudding was the best dessert we had this trip. Outstanding service from Garrett. We'll keep coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Orleans food

Dined on May 31, 2016

We came to New Orleans for vacation and wanted to try different restaurants for dinner. My husband wasn't too keen on seafood, but I definitely wanted to try it. I had the redfish with crabmeat on top - it was delicious and I would really recommend it. My husband had the fried chicken and loved it. Restaurant was in great location and we would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food for a casual dining experience

Dined on May 30, 2016

The service was very good and the food was delicious. The whole experience was pleasant and comfortable. For our first time in New Orleans, this dinner experience has been one of the highlights of our trip.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Red Fish

Dined on May 30, 2016

Very NOISY! Amber our server was great. We got separate checks and everything came out on time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant & bar

Dined on May 30, 2016

Full bar while you wait for your table. 2 screens on either side of the bar to see when your number is called to be seated. Fresh hot bread served with butter. Good food. Did not partake of the dessert that if ordered needs to be pre ordered in order to be ready.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, fun environment!

Dined on May 30, 2016

Great food, fun environment!

food4
ambience3
service3

Wife and I had dinner there. The gumbo w ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Wife and I had dinner there. The gumbo was very rich and very very tasty. The jambalaya was also very good. I had the specialty redfish with crab meat. Very well prepared. But not tasty.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.