About Red Fish Grill

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Double Chocolate Bread Pudding - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Oysters - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Oysters on the Half Shell - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
App Platter - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Charred Redfish With Crab - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Chocolate Bread Pudding - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Pale Ale - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Beef Skewers - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Blackened Redfish - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Blackened Mahi Mahi With Citrus Glaze And Shrimp - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Dozen Raw Oysters - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Lemon Drop Cosmo - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Barbeque Oysters With Home Made Bleu Cheese - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Satsuma Mimosa - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Lamb And White Bean Soup - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
1/2 Grande Isle Salad - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Bananas Foster Ice Cream Sandwich - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Hickory Smoked Redfish - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Alligator And Seafood Gumbo - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Abita Amber - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Abita Andygator - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Beautiful Bounty Of Below Bivalve Booya - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp Po-Boy Plate - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Half Dozen Cold Fresh Salty Bivalves - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
$10 Dressed Oyster Challenge - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Oyster Half Po-Boy - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Mississippi Catfish & Crawfish - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Bar Selections - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
RFG Salad - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Oyster Po Boy - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Breaux Bridge Crawfish Stuffed Deviled Eggs - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
House Salad - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Shrimp and Grits - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Dan Aykroyd Lemonade - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Maccallen 12 Year - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
fresh bread - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Colorful Menu - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Sparkling Water - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Hickory Grilled Redfish - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
crabcake - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Catfish Poboy - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Pimm's Frozen Cocktail - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Lemon Sorbet - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Blackened Shrimp Po Boy - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Shrimp And Cheese Grits - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Alligator Sausage And Seafood Gumbo - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Barbeque Shrimp And Garlic Cheese Grits - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Thanksgiving Buffet-Turkey, Cajun Turkey, Prime Rib, Dressing And More!!! - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Shrimp - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Hickory Grilled Red Fish - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Caesar Salad - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Pumpkin Pie, Ginger Snap Cookie - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Crystal Calamari - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Finca el Origen malbec - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Shrimp & Blackened Avocado Po-Boy - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Beef Tenderloin Wrapped Yellow Fin Tuna - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Gator Sausage And Seafood Gumbo - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Fried BBQ Oyster Po Boy - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Red Fish - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Bbq Blue Crab Claws - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Sweet Potato And Warm Bourbon Pecan Pie - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Cocktails!!!!!! - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Crispy Fried Oysters & Boudin Tamales - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Root Beer Float - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Barbeque Blue Crab  - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Blackened Louisiana Drum Fish - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Chicken Dijon - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
buffet - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp Po Boy - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA
Chocolate Creme Brulee with S'mores Topping - Red Fish Grill, New Orleans, LA

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (73)
Good for a Date (63)
Creative Cuisine (62)
See All
Special Occasion (59)
Local Ingredients (56)
Fun (51)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for Groups (46)
Authentic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Bar Seating (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Business Meals (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Comfort Food (28)
People Watching (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Historic (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Family Style (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Romantic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great Beer (13)
Spicy (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Live Sports (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a very disappointing experience ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a very disappointing experience. I suggested dining here to several of my business associates. How embarrassing. The service was inattentive and the orders inaccurate. The food was uninspired and overlooked. The ambiance is uninspired. You can do much better on Bourbon Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Southern cuisine !

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Southern cuisine !

Tags: Spicy, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It is a great place to go with a group! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

It is a great place to go with a group! It is comfortable and has great seating capacity! They have the best Bloody Marys too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent, knowledgeable and attentive s ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, knowledgeable and attentive service. The food was excellent. While our appetizers, entrees, and desserts all came out quickly, we did not feel rushed. We will definitely come again the next time we are in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food need some lower priced entree ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food need some lower priced entrees for those on a budget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Friendly staff. Food was great.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly staff. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place and great food.

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our food and our server Nate! Key ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved our food and our server Nate! Key lime pie was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server was excellent but the wait on ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

The server was excellent but the wait on food to come out was almost an hour. Drinks took 20 min or so. We have been to Red Fish several times and not had this problem, we hope it is a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Food was very good, as expected. However ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was very good, as expected. However, server became overwhelmed by very large table she was given. That slowed things down for us drastically.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Halloween expo!!

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Halloween expo!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Wood Oven, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal we had during our ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

This was the best meal we had during our four days in New Orleans

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, friendly atmosphere, very ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great service, friendly atmosphere, very good local themed menu.

Good food and fun time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ike is the greatest server on earth....a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Ike is the greatest server on earth....and the whole staff starting with Adam at the door are all extraordinarily professional. Not to take anything away from the decor or relaxed vibe of the room but the quality of food equals the fanciest decorated restaurants in the city. Top notch across the board.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was listening to Tom Fitzmorris' radio s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Was listening to Tom Fitzmorris' radio show and a caller was commenting on his meal at the RFG. The BBQ oysters sounded amazing and they were. Live in NO but had never been before because I do not like that first block 😬 of Bourbon St.

Went early. No problems.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The aligator sausage and seafood gumbo w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The aligator sausage and seafood gumbo was amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had late lunch before the Sugar Bowl...G ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had late lunch before the Sugar Bowl...Great seafood poboys,,,great oysters on half shell......double chocolate bread pudding is to die for....love the atmosphere and the service....

best spicy bloody mary .....will always return when in NOLA

WAR EAGLE!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fun place with delicious food without th ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Fun place with delicious food without the white table cloth feel. Service was awesome, and made our experience fun for our family. We LOVED Ike!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience and tasty food. We ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent experience and tasty food. Went back twice, back to back days, for dinner and lunch respectively and enjoyed it both times.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was amazing!!

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and atmosphere! Our server ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Amazing food and atmosphere! Our server was attentive, but it was a busy night so he seemed rushed. You MUST try the bread pudding. Literally the best dessert I've ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It was a NYE visit and my wife's dinner ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was a NYE visit and my wife's dinner had a poor taste to it. They credited back the cost of her mail and dessert. We would still recommend them.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I went to Red Fish for a la ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A friend and I went to Red Fish for a late dinner on New Years Eve. The dinner was fantastic, the service was timely and friendly. I would definitely recommend you go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Ike was very attentive and fr ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our waiter Ike was very attentive and friendly! And we enjoyed the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricey but great food. Can't go wrong wi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Pricey but great food. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've ate there maybe five times now. I'v ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've ate there maybe five times now. I've always been pleased

With the food and service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice food, great deco. I would like to g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice food, great deco. I would like to go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bread pudding was amazing. Totally r ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The bread pudding was amazing. Totally recommend ordering it at the beginning of the meal. The best I ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Busy time on NYE, but service was spot o ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Busy time on NYE, but service was spot on and food was wonderful.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very great French Quarter Restaurant! We ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very great French Quarter Restaurant! We go every trip here. Delicious BBQ oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was very convenient to our hotel an ...

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was very convenient to our hotel and the menu was good. My fish was dry but had a good taste and flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food! Ate here twice for dinner du ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food! Ate here twice for dinner during our four day stay. Both times the food was outstanding and both waiters were very friendly and knowledgeable of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The filet was probably the best I ever h ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The filet was probably the best I ever had. Definitely recommend it! !

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We always dine at Redfish when in New Or ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always dine at Redfish when in New Orleans. The Chocolate Bread Pudding is so delicious!

The Buffalo BBq Oysters are our favorite!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow and the Redfish came ou ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was slow and the Redfish came out overlooked and dry. Extremely disappointed- this is normally much better and I hope that this is not the new norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Up scale feeling but causal dining . Foo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Up scale feeling but causal dining .

Food was good service was great .

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed our lunch at Redfish Grill. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch at Redfish Grill. The little crab claws in gravy were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Early setting for dinner that night was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Early setting for dinner that night was occupied by OU Football Team in New Orleans for Sugar Bowl. Great meal, a little slow on getting us started with our drinks but was fine afterwards. Manager came by to check on us which was nice. Our fish dinners were great, the flash fried oysters excellent as well. Will definitely return again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Bar service was excellent.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Bar service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Very, very disappointed. Food was medi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very, very disappointed. Food was mediocre and service slow. Ordered "best oyster po boy" and the only flavor was hot sauce. Shrimp po boy was dry and large veins in shrimp clearly visible through breading.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.