Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Red Fish Grill

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (86)
Local Ingredients (77)
Good for a Date (77)
See All
Special Occasion (67)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Authentic (65)
Good for Groups (60)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Fun (52)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Business Meals (48)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Hot Spot (39)
Comfort Food (37)
Bar Seating (34)
People Watching (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Romantic (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Happy Hour (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Spicy (16)
Historic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Family Style (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great Beer (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Quick Bite (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3638 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great casual dining restaurant. Will go again. Food was good. BBQ were wonderful.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful experience. Wood grilled redfish is a must. Great location. Great staff. Great food. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Very busy restaurant, I recommend making a reservation. Waitress was overwhelmed with a large table with serperate tickets but she never showed it. She knew there was only 1 person making drinks so she was smart enough to pre order drinks so we never ran out. Very pleased with our dinner and our first night in town.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were excellent. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great service Decee was a great server. Red fish was excellent and great tasting. Will visit again when in New Orleans. 5 star

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I was not satisfied with our meals the batter separated from the fish. The food was overpriced, our server disappeared for long periods of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner. My husband had Cobia which he said was very good. I had grilled shrimp which were a bit over cooked but good. The double chocolate bread pudding with ice cream was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was delicious. I loved the oysters and the catfish etouffee!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The wait for walk ins was an hour but we were seated right away with our Open Table reservation. The meal was fantastic, and my only regret is that I didn't have room to try the bread pudding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Ask for CJ to be your waiter and you'll be in great hands! Friendly and knowledgeable about the restaurant and the city! Best server we had in NOLA! The food was great!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I celebrated a special occasion and two complimentarily glasses of champagne were sent to our table. We arrived during lunch so we had a limited menu. I tried the shrimp and grits for the first time. This dish was amazing with great flavor. My wife had the fish taco's that were bland in taste, but the corn that accompanied this dish was delicious . We also tried the alligator boudin balls with a mango chutney and the crab claws bites. Both dishes were great ! Our server was nice and service was good. I would love to return and try their dinner menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had such a great time at the Red Fish Grill. It was definitely a fun place to dine in New Orleans! Our waiter, Ike, was amazing! The hurricanes and dinner were terrific. Thank you for making our evening out such an enjoyable experience!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was excellent !! Frank is an excellent waiter !! I have ZERO complaints !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The redfish was the best fish I ever ate. I would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food. portion was slightly small on the shrimp but good size on the chef special of cobia and shrimp. Double bread pudding was a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The whole fried red snapper was excellent complimented by the rice seasoned with the New Orleans trio (bell pepper, onions and celery.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Staff was amazing and the atmosphere is great. The food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent dining and service the food was magnificent I would definitely recommend going and seeing for yourself how great this restaurant is. 👍🏿👍🏿

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cornwall)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food great service. Casual dress code. Not cheap but you get great food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful evening with friends; delicious food and great conversation! Service was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great place to eat right on Bourbon Street. The build your on fish entre was great. Raw oysters were outstanding. Our server did a great job. We will go back next time we are in New Orleans.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The fresh catch special was amazing. Delicious fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The oysters were not what was expected. They were fried with maybe some bbq'ing but not grilled on the half shell as was assumed. The catfish was decent but have had better. Gumbo was the way to go with a bowl as an entree. Wood fired fish was also good. Service staff was the highlight but the food was lacking especially in NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food took 45 minutes for a salad and grouper. Salad was so bad. It was still a bushel And barely anytime toppings. Poor caring of staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent food, impeccable service and awesome environment! Always enjoy eating whenever we visit New Orleans.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was our first trip to New Orleans, and Red Fish Grill was one of the restaurants we tried. The food was amazing. My wife is gluten free, and they had great choices for her. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. We would definitely go back if given the opportunity.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were a little leery with the restaurant being on Bourbon Street; yet after being disappointed at Armand's, we thought, let's try something new. It was wonderful! Great atmosphere, great service and delicious food and craft cocktails. Even blueberry lemon parfait for dessert was wonderful . The staff could not have been more accommodating.

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our meals were excellent! My daughter and I enjoyed our meals. Our server was attentive and helpful. We already recommended Red Fish Grill to our friends.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We tried Red Fish Grill based on previous recommendations. We were encouraged to make reservations ahead of time. Upon arrival, we were immediately seated and greeted with waters and ready to take our drink orders. Try the moscal mule and Bloody Mary. We ordered starters of Bodine balls and BBQ crab claws. Our Vegan had the watermelon salad. Two banquettes in paper were also delivered along with whipped butter. Our party ordered the grouper and crab cakr entrees/ incredible! The crab has a light haystack topping of crunch that balances with the creamy goodness of lump crab - Yum! Finished off with raspberry and blood orange sorbets

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Best seafood I've ever experienced. I've experienced a lot. Waiter was amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was great. My grandson ordered 2 different fish to be told you were out but he settled on the speckled trout. It was great. My other grandson has aspergers and is a picky eater. Only eats chicken tenders. The waiter heard this and told jack he'd get that for him. It was great. He loved it and I appreciate the accommodation. We will all be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Checked Redfish Grill out while in town for the Essence Festival. A couple of the appetizers were good but we were disappointed in our entrees. I ordered the redfish signature dish. While it was somewhat flavorable it was served to me lukewarm. My husband didn't like his risotto dish at all and sent it back.. He then ordered the crab cake and it was hot atleast and tasty. Our overall experience was just ok but I definitely wouldn't return. There are too many other good restaurants in New Orleans to settle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful sauces and fantastic grilled fish. The chocolate bread pudding is a must. Save room for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Excellent boudin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Awesome service, food, seated near time of reservation. Don't be deterred by construction on Bourbon St. Was not an issue in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We had a great experience for our anniversary. Our waiter really made it a special time. The food was very good too!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great food and service but the French Quarter has become a miserable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Best food we had in New Orleans (and we visited several more expensive restaurants in the city during our trip. Was my favorite food when we visited years ago and it loved up to my memories again. Service was wonderful. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Mix up in the kitchen so the entrees took too long to be served. Not the waiter's fault - just a lot of big groups. But it meant that the food was a bit cold by the time it got to us. Lots of apologizing but nothing was taken off the check to accommodate. A missed opportunity.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Experience was okay. Not a wow experience, but good for casual dining. Food was also good but again not a wow type of food. Service was also okay but not a five star restaurant type of service. Overall experience was good at a moderate price. No complaints but not a high end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.