About Red Fish Grill

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Double Chocolate Bread Pudding
BBQ Oysters
App Platter
Oysters on the Half Shell
Chocolate Bread Pudding
Barbeque Oysters With Home Made Bleu Cheese
Pale Ale
Beef Skewers
Charred Redfish With Crab
Blackened Redfish
Blackened Mahi Mahi With Citrus Glaze And Shrimp
Dozen Raw Oysters
Lemon Drop Cosmo
Satsuma Mimosa
Lamb And White Bean Soup
1/2 Grande Isle Salad
Pimm's Frozen Cocktail
Alligator And Seafood Gumbo
BBQ oyster poboy
Cocktails!!!!!!
Bananas Foster Ice Cream Sandwich
Hickory Smoked Redfish
Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo
Abita Amber
Abita Andygator
Beautiful Bounty Of Below Bivalve Booya
Shrimp Po-Boy Plate
Half Dozen Cold Fresh Salty Bivalves
$10 Dressed Oyster Challenge
BBQ Oyster Half Po-Boy
Mississippi Catfish & Crawfish
Bar Selections
RFG Salad
BBQ Oyster Po Boy
Breaux Bridge Crawfish Stuffed Deviled Eggs
House Salad
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Dan Aykroyd Lemonade
Maccallen 12 Year
fresh bread
Colorful Menu
Sparkling Water
Hickory Grilled Redfish
crabcake
Catfish Poboy
Lemon Sorbet
Blackened Shrimp Po Boy
BBQ Shrimp And Cheese Grits
Alligator Sausage And Seafood Gumbo
Barbeque Shrimp And Garlic Cheese Grits
Thanksgiving Buffet-Turkey, Cajun Turkey, Prime Rib, Dressing And More!!!
BBQ Shrimp
Hickory Grilled Red Fish
Caesar Salad
Pumpkin Pie, Ginger Snap Cookie
Crystal Calamari
Finca el Origen malbec
Grilled Shrimp & Blackened Avocado Po-Boy
Beef Tenderloin Wrapped Yellow Fin Tuna
Gator Sausage And Seafood Gumbo
Fried BBQ Oyster Po Boy
Grilled Red Fish
Bbq Blue Crab Claws
Sweet Potato And Warm Bourbon Pecan Pie
Crispy Fried Oysters & Boudin Tamales
Root Beer Float
Barbeque Blue Crab
Blackened Louisiana Drum Fish
Chicken Dijon
buffet
Shrimp Po Boy
Chocolate Creme Brulee with S'mores Topping
Grilled Shrimp & Avocado Po'boy
Famous Roast Beef And Provolone
Classic Crayfish Boil
Grand Island Salad
Picayune Punch
Creole Marinated Gulf Shrimp
Crawfish Boudin
Redfish Sampler
Blackened Red Fish Over Spinach With Lump Crab
Pan Seared Red Snapper
Pecan Pie
Community Coffee Creme Brulee
Rfg House Salad
Crabcakes
Corn and Crab Bisque
Red Fish Grill Sampler:Bbq Oysters, Boiled Shrimp,Calamari
Grilled Red Fish Special
Bananas Foster
Alligator Seafood Gumbo
Bbq Shrimp Po'boy
Blackened Catfish

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Good for Groups (163)
Fit for Foodies (139)
Special Occasion (110)
See All
Hot Spot (81)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Vibrant Bar Scene (58)
Great for Lunch (56)
Kid-friendly (54)
Notable Wine List (28)
Romantic (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Late-night Find (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I k is that this is a tourist place but ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

I k is that this is a tourist place but I went b/c a tourist wanted to go. Really disappointing considering it is a Brennan's product. Gumbo bland and Luke warm, fish was OK but potatoes undercooked and greens were cold!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The signature redfish dish was so fresh ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The signature redfish dish was so fresh and flavorful. Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was very good food and excellent serv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was very good food and excellent service. Frank was our server and was fabulous!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for lunch. BBQ Oyster PoBoy was fa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Went for lunch. BBQ Oyster PoBoy was fantastic and at a good price so I definitely recommend that.

Really nice venue for lunch. Not very crowded or noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Ike our waiter was fantastic!! We though ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ike our waiter was fantastic!! We thought the food was overpriced, but delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best meal I've had in a while! The red ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best meal I've had in a while! The red fish was absolutely wonderful and the chocolate bread pudding was heavenly!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was outstanding. Our wai ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our experience was outstanding. Our waitress was just the best. She was cordial, thoughtful and very helpful. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good food and very nice staff.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was good food and very nice staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A little overcrowded and loud for me, bu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A little overcrowded and loud for me, but the service and food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Tasty BBQ fried oysters appetizer, super ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Tasty BBQ fried oysters appetizer, superb fried okra, and a delicious double chocolate bread pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food, service and staff were outstanding ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food, service and staff were outstanding! Thank you Nate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

MIKE OUR WAITER WAS OUTSTANDING. SERVICE ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

MIKE OUR WAITER WAS OUTSTANDING. SERVICE WAS ABOVE GOOD, FOOD WAS GOOD . ALL AROUND WE WOULD DO AGAIN AND AGAIN.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were super excited to try Red Fish Gr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were super excited to try Red Fish Grill. The atmosphere and layout was lovey and seemed very upmarket. We were overall quite impressed however we probably didn't pick wisely from the menu. The softshell crab entrée was impressive but in the end was fairly tasteless and oily. My husband enjoyed his fish entrée and we shared a sampler appetizer, which was nice. Particularly the alligator balls and crab claws. The kids meals were very plain and our kids would have preferred the standard chicken tenders etc, rather than the grilled cheese (which was nothing special) or the shrimp pasta which was also very bland.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was great as always. Our server how ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was great as always. Our server however wasn't the best. He wasn't very knowledgeable of items on the menu. Forgot to bring bread. And never offered to refill or drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

This was our favorite restaurant in New ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our favorite restaurant in New Orleans. I had the special which was grilled fish with crab meat and it was delicious! My husband had the jambalaya risotto and it was also very good. The service was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu. I would highly recommend a reservation. We made a reservation at 7:00 for a 7:30 dinner. We waited about 5-10 minutes after arriving at 7:20 before being seated. I heard people at the front who were just walking in that we're told the wait was an hour and a half. Overall, a great seafood restaurant on Bourbon Street!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was pretty good, but the servic ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was pretty good, but the service was not so good, and after talking with some locals it seems like our experience is the norm. At this price point I expect the servers to pay a little more attention. With all the other options available, I would skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Food was fantastic but so overwhelming n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was fantastic but so overwhelming noisy. Impossible to communicate with my dinner date. Chocolate bread pudding was insanely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fantastic food, excellent service, in a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fantastic food, excellent service, in a comfortable environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the fish was fresh, the cooking wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

While the fish was fresh, the cooking was heavy handed particularly with butter. It took away from the freshness of seafood dinner that I was expecting. Decent portions, good service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great service! Server was very knowledg ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great service! Server was very knowledgable on gluten free options to accommodate a food allergy. Would go back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was very good but certainly not exc ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was very good but certainly not exceptional. Wait staff was excellent. Quite pricey. Atmosphere typical New Orleans French Quarter and very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Great service and good food at a reasona ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great service and good food at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I am from out of town and they changed t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I am from out of town and they changed their menu. Some of my favorites were not there. Also, took 40 minutes to get our meal which we had to eat very quickly to get to the Guns N Roses concert. Service was just way too slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food with great service. Enjoyed it ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food with great service. Enjoyed it immensely...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was great. I am also gluten free and they are very knowledgable and have plenty of options. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time dining there. Had NO idea th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

First time dining there. Had NO idea the place was SO LOUD! Celebrated birthdays for 3 family members including 87 year old mother. COULD NOT HOLD A CONVERSATION! Everyone in the restaurant at every table was SCREAMING to be heard above the others talking around them. My mother just sat there in silence because she could not hear our conversations with all the noise. Never eaten in any restaurant that was sooooo loud. Nearly impossible to hear our waitress and had to yell out our order! Lots of kids running around! We had reservations yet had to wait 20 minutes for our table! When we arrived and heard how loud it was, we asked for a table in one of the smaller side rooms and explained that we had an elderly person in our group. Was told this was not possible, we'd have to wait over 2 hours for that area. I can certainly understand why the long wait for the smaller room, who wants to sit in the main cavernous dining area and have to yell to hold a conversation with your guests? I've been to mardi gras parades that were less noisy! Also, we had a party of 6 adults including 3 large men yet we were crammed into a booth and pretty much told take it or leave it by the two hostesses and some man who was very terse in his demeanor. The food was ok, sort of hit or miss depending on what was odered. I've been to the other Ralph Brennan restaurants in N.O. and will not be going back to this one. Would only recommend to people who are looking for a kid family restaurant with ok food and don't mind extremely loud places!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

great food very load I would go back fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

great food very load

I would go back food was great next time I would know what to expect.

I would also dress down..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Lost our order, when we finally got our ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lost our order, when we finally got our food it was mediocre in taste, service was horrible, over charged pricing for what you get! Will never return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Dinner at Red Fish was an "experience" n ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dinner at Red Fish was an "experience" not a "meal"! Our waiter, Ike, was so energetic and treated us like royalty. Every meal was amazing (especially the BBQ fried oysters!)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere on Bourbon Street! Grea ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great atmosphere on Bourbon Street! Great menu and helpful staff. Food and experience were very pleasant. Would definitely go back or recommend to other travelers!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Honestly, the best grilled redfish I've ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Honestly, the best grilled redfish I've had in a long time!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is fantastic, my favorite is t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is fantastic, my favorite is the BBQ oysters and the crab claw appetizer. The staff is always helpful, knowledgeable and personable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The redfish meal was wonderful. Great se ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The redfish meal was wonderful. Great service. My wife's cocktails were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service. We arrive ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious food, great service. We arrived with a group of 8 people and had an absolute great time. Lyn was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service! An upbeat ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and great service! An upbeat environment that is a great place to either celebrate a special occasion or go to for dinner with family and friends. We had red fish all the way around the table and not one bit was left over. If you can get a table by the window, the views of Bourbon Street also provide some nice entertainment!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were very good. Chairs ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food and service were very good. Chairs are extremely uncomfortable lessening the dining experience. Also. It's too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

Our server, Ike, was so enthusiastic tha ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our server, Ike, was so enthusiastic that we couldn't help but get excited about our meal. The fish was perfectly prepared (albeit cooked with the lateral line...). Red Fish Grill has a very upbeat and energetic atmosphere - so if you're looking for something quiet and romantic, this isn't the place for you. My husband and I are quiet people and were at first cringing, but our server was just amazing and made the evening a fun pleasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our dinner was delicious! What a great p ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our dinner was delicious! What a great place to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary! Our waiter was very attentive.

Upon finding out it was our special day, they gave us the dessert free! It just happened to be there signature bread pudding! Wow! We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good hot spot right off Bourbon street. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Good hot spot right off Bourbon street. BBQ oysters were amazing. My fish was a little overcooked but had great flavor. Service was impecable!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to stop for a nice meal whil ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great place to stop for a nice meal while visiting New Orleans. Service was very good as was the food. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.