About Red Fish Grill

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

good for groups (226)
fit for foodies (173)
hot spot (122)
See All
special occasion (103)
vibrant bar scene (95)
great for lunch (79)
neighborhood gem (68)
kid-friendly (59)
late-night find (34)
notable wine list (27)
romantic (26)
great for brunch (21)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pan roasted redfish & grilled grouper we ...

Dined 4 days ago

Pan roasted redfish & grilled grouper were excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was amazing. Service and atmos ...

Dined 4 days ago

The meal was amazing. Service and atmosphere were super. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was everything we expect ...

Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was everything we expected. All facets, service, ambiance, decor, efficiency and good quality were outstanding. The bbq oysters were fabulous, as were the entrees we ordered. But watch out for the double chocolate bread pudding...it's unbelievable! A great experience!

food2
ambience3
service3

Food was mediocre and the cook added too ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was mediocre and the cook added too much of truffle oil. The result was terrible. Service was good. Very, very noisy though

food4
ambience4
service4

The place is very cute. Service and foo ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The place is very cute. Service and food was great.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Ike best waiter in NOLA! Right on with r ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Ike best waiter in NOLA! Right on with recommendations. Very good meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem tucked away on Bourbon St

Dined on May 18, 2016

Loved the Red Fish Grill in 2005 and was so excited to see they were still up and running. The 2nd visit was better than the 1st. I will always ensure a stop in when in town from California. The food is spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food! Do not go wo a reservation.

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent food! Crab cakes, jambalaya, oysters, catfish, hush puppies, shrimp & grits, key lime pie and chocolate bread pudding! Do not go wo a reservation. Even with a reservation, there is a long wait. The hostesses are very dry, no smiles or apologies there! The servers are very accommodating and work hard to keep things moving!! The bar is packed as well, lots of people waiting on a table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We were disappointed with both the food ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We were disappointed with both the food & service. Signature dish was poorly seasoned & lacked flavor. Grits were best part. Pecan pie was also bland. Servers were inattentive - long periods without checking back. Noise level was painful.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were first time visitors to Red fish Grill. Totally enjoyed everything about our experience. The service was very good and everything was very fresh. We really enjoyed the soup, cauliflower and crawfish, was supprisingly good. Overall a great experience. Will go bac again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed the Red Fish Grill very much. Fo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyed the Red Fish Grill very much. Food and service we very good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

This wasn't a bad spot necessarily, but ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This wasn't a bad spot necessarily, but it's definitely a tourist trap. The food and service were good, but it felt very cheap and the menu prices did not reflect that. There are plenty of other better seafood joints for a good NOLA experience.

food5
ambience2
service4
value3

A very good fish restaurant with traditi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

A very good fish restaurant with traditional dishes. Professional service, nice cakes, good wine. It is big and very loud, this is the only drawback.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Red Fish Grill was good and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food at Red Fish Grill was good and the service was great. Our waitress was friendly and gave us good recommendations. The dessert (banana foster cake) was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

service was slow. atmosphere was good fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

service was slow. atmosphere was good food was great

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great beers on Tap!! Lauganitas on tap w ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great beers on Tap!! Lauganitas on tap was crisp and delightful!! Stuffed mushrooms and raw oysters were excellent. Grest service overall. I will make this place a regular.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The red fish dish is the best dish I've ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The red fish dish is the best dish I've ever had. Great drinks too. Ceviche appetizer was just OK.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is always great, cooked perfect ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food is always great, cooked perfectly. If you haven't had the bread pudding dessert, please make sure you get it. But order it with your meal, per the restaurant's request. Noise level is a bit high but not much different from any other restaurant in this part of the French Quarter. Not a huge menu, but I've never had anything here I didn't like.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Lively

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great vibe. Good for families and groups. Mixed set of dishes. Superb scallops, average crab sakes. Wait staff a bit abrupt. Not a listener. 5 stars for the bread and butter pudding. Should be a share dish.

Tags: brunch, child friendly, group bookings, lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE, LoVE LOVE it

Dined on May 13, 2016

every time (this is our fourth visit) we eat at the Redfish grill the first and last night, it just isn't NOLA without the Redfish Grill for us!!!! can't wait to come back again!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The food was mediocre at best. The serv ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was mediocre at best. The service was good. The fish was way over sauced, potatoes were served in one big lump. The Asparagus was fresh and good as was the greens. It was not a good value for the price. Would never return.

food5
ambience5
service5

My husband got the red fish, one day bla ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband got the red fish, one day blackened and the other with lemon butter, both amazing. I got the crab cakes both time and would get them every time! The chocolate bread pudding is sinful!! And our server John T was just the perfect addition to a great meal!

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was attentive and we had a g ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service was attentive and we had a great table. My request to have my Mum's birthday acknowledged didn't even require a reminder. The food (scallops, blackened red drum and the signature red fish) arrived perfect with little need to wait. Dessert (the chocolate bread pudding and the white chocolate cheesecake) were unnecessary but wonderfully decedent.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was great, but I felt like th ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was great, but I felt like this was a touristy spot. With all the great places in New Orleans, this was just ok because of the ambiance. Food was great.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New orleans must eat

Dined on May 12, 2016

Barbecued oysters to die for. Fish cooked to perfection. Ike is a fantastic waiter. Great meal

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a good experience

Dined on May 11, 2016

The waitress jasmine made the night worth while very intelligent well spoken young lady, the hostess however wasn't so great so the second impression was a little off which damaged the first (meaning the feel of the place/scenery) the food wasn't to my liking but was presented well and appeared well done!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Red Fish May 10

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food is exceptional, but dining area is noisier than other similarly priced restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food Good, Service Great

Dined on May 11, 2016

Dewan was one of the best waiters I ever had in a restaurant. Food very good, desert sensational.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Wood grilled red fish was flaky and flav ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Wood grilled red fish was flaky and flavorful

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Overated Red Lobster

Dined on May 10, 2016

The tiny seafood main portions are overcooked, the vegetables are so over cooked they are not identifyable. They wash their oysters! That's just criminal. There is no reason to visit this restaurant other than to have one of the house special Bloody Mary's. Seriously! The waiter was just loud and obnoxious. No one was hard of hearing at our table.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Everything but the waiter

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was excellent, the atmosphere was fun but our waiter was terrible. I would still recommend as the manager and rest of the staff were great.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

The scallops and the pompano were great. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The scallops and the pompano were great. Our server was very professional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service as we celebra ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful food and service as we celebrated Mother's Day.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Grilled-not fried! Amazing and unique flavor-not your average fare. Chocolate bread pudding- do yourself and order it before ordering dinner-you won't be sorry!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

bbq shrimp and grits were excellent. Won ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

bbq shrimp and grits were excellent. Wonderful family friendly atmosphere and great service.

food2
ambience2
service5

Hostesses nice, waiter (Timothy) very en ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Hostesses nice, waiter (Timothy) very engaging upbeat and helpful with menu. Food: grouper was AWFUL all I could taste was the grill. Very dry and the vegetables...... Couldn't tell what they were and non tasteful. I gave it to my husband and he gave me his risotto jambalaya which was excellent. I listed that it was our 2nd wedding anniversary in my reservation and not one person acknowledged!!!! How tacky and disappointing. I booked this place based of "great for anniversary " never going back

food4
ambience3
service5

Great gumbo. Place is loud and tables ar ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great gumbo. Place is loud and tables are tight

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Signature Dish on Point!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I recently dined at Red Fish while in New Orleans for Mother's Day weekend. I was very pleased with my order, the signature red fish with lump crab meat, but my mom and sister were both a bit disappointed in their meals and the overall ambiance of the restaurant. After reading so many great reviews we were quite suprised by the loud interior of the restaurant. We also had made reservations and still ended up having to wait about 30 minutes for a table, I can only imagine what it might have been like if we hadn't made them! We did have a tremendous server however and he made it a very enjoyable dinner for us. The white chocolate cream cheese cake was also to die for. All in all I was actually a fan, and really enjoyed my gluten free meal, but my dining companions were less than impressed.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Best fish I have had in a long time! The Red Fish Special was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and waiter

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was great but our waiter Timothy was excellent and very entertaining.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.