About Red Fish Grill

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Double Chocolate Bread Pudding
BBQ Oysters
App Platter
Barbeque Oysters With Home Made Bleu Cheese
Chocolate Bread Pudding
Oysters on the Half Shell
Pale Ale
Beef Skewers
Charred Redfish With Crab
Dozen Raw Oysters
Blackened Redfish
Blackened Mahi Mahi With Citrus Glaze And Shrimp
Lemon Drop Cosmo
Satsuma Mimosa
Lamb And White Bean Soup
1/2 Grande Isle Salad
Alligator And Seafood Gumbo
Pimm's Frozen Cocktail
BBQ oyster poboy
Cocktails!!!!!!
Bananas Foster Ice Cream Sandwich
Hickory Smoked Redfish
Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo
Abita Amber
Abita Andygator
Beautiful Bounty Of Below Bivalve Booya
Shrimp Po-Boy Plate
Half Dozen Cold Fresh Salty Bivalves
BBQ Oyster Half Po-Boy
$10 Dressed Oyster Challenge
Mississippi Catfish & Crawfish
Bar Selections
BBQ Oyster Po Boy
RFG Salad
Breaux Bridge Crawfish Stuffed Deviled Eggs
House Salad
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
fresh bread
Maccallen 12 Year
Dan Aykroyd Lemonade
Colorful Menu
Sparkling Water
Hickory Grilled Redfish
crabcake
Catfish Poboy
Lemon Sorbet
Blackened Shrimp Po Boy
BBQ Shrimp And Cheese Grits
Alligator Sausage And Seafood Gumbo
Barbeque Shrimp And Garlic Cheese Grits
Thanksgiving Buffet-Turkey, Cajun Turkey, Prime Rib, Dressing And More!!!
BBQ Shrimp
Hickory Grilled Red Fish
Caesar Salad
Pumpkin Pie, Ginger Snap Cookie
Crystal Calamari
Finca el Origen malbec
Grilled Shrimp & Blackened Avocado Po-Boy
Gator Sausage And Seafood Gumbo
Beef Tenderloin Wrapped Yellow Fin Tuna
Fried BBQ Oyster Po Boy
Grilled Red Fish
Bbq Blue Crab Claws
Sweet Potato And Warm Bourbon Pecan Pie
Crispy Fried Oysters & Boudin Tamales
Root Beer Float
Blackened Louisiana Drum Fish
Barbeque Blue Crab
Chicken Dijon
buffet
Shrimp Po Boy
Chocolate Creme Brulee with S'mores Topping
Famous Roast Beef And Provolone
Grilled Shrimp & Avocado Po'boy
Classic Crayfish Boil
Grand Island Salad
Picayune Punch
Crawfish Boudin
Creole Marinated Gulf Shrimp
Redfish Sampler
Blackened Red Fish Over Spinach With Lump Crab
Pan Seared Red Snapper
Pecan Pie
Community Coffee Creme Brulee
Crabcakes
Rfg House Salad
Corn and Crab Bisque
Grilled Red Fish Special
Red Fish Grill Sampler:Bbq Oysters, Boiled Shrimp,Calamari
Bananas Foster
Alligator Seafood Gumbo
Bbq Shrimp Po'boy
Blackened Catfish

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

good for groups (195)
fit for foodies (170)
special occasion (116)
See All
hot spot (101)
vibrant bar scene (75)
neighborhood gem (68)
great for lunch (63)
kid-friendly (46)
notable wine list (36)
romantic (26)
great for brunch (26)
late-night find (20)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2739 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good hot spot right off Bourbon street. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good hot spot right off Bourbon street. BBQ oysters were amazing. My fish was a little overcooked but had great flavor. Service was impecable!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to stop for a nice meal whil ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to stop for a nice meal while visiting New Orleans. Service was very good as was the food. Highly recommend it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very poor service. Food was only just ok ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very poor service. Food was only just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

The best filet mignon I've had in a very ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The best filet mignon I've had in a very long time. In fact, all 4 of us were raving about our meals! The desserts were good, the drinks were good, the service was very good. We'd definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food & atmosphere! Will definitel ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food & atmosphere! Will definitely eat here again when in New Orleans!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was one of the best meals I have ev ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

this was one of the best meals I have ever had. Redfish definitely lived up to best Seafood Restaurant in New Orleans!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely LOVED Red Fish Grille - My ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We absolutely LOVED Red Fish Grille - My wife and I had Wonderful meals cooked perfectly - We began with an order of Alligator Boudin Balls, a New Orleans favorite then each of us had Scallops and their Speciality Red Fish ending the meal with Delicious Pecan pie - Our Server, Andrew was Excellent and Professional in his response to our needs. He also educated us about New Orleans history, helped us with our Wine choice and treated us as royalty at our visit. Note: we reserved our table at 5 pm which met our request of having a window, romantic corner seat adding to our dining experience - MUCH APPRECIATED all of the staff at this establishment! Definitely would dine there again and recommend Red Fish Grille to our friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was recommended to try this restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I was recommended to try this restaurant by my hotel concierge while in New Orleans and my experience was terrible. The server had no idea what the specials were, we were delivered dirty (muddy) raw oysters that left dirt in our mouths, and my meal was completely wrong and when I sent it back I was informed that they had actually ran out of what I had ordered.

The price was also way more than the value of food and service that we received. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Popped in for a quick lunch. The bbq oy ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Popped in for a quick lunch. The bbq oyster po boy was amazing and filling, the potato salad that came with it was ok but not really needed.

Service good and a nice spot towards the end of Bourbon St.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Been to Red FiFish many times. Recommend ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Been to Red FiFish many times. Recommend highly. When in New Orleans its a nust. Barbecued Oysters excellent. Wood grilled Red fish superb. Dark and white chocolate bread pudding outstanding not overly sweet.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding! A wide variety of New Orlea ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding! A wide variety of New Orleans seafood. Excellent food, service and value.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We totally enjoyed our dinner. We tried ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We totally enjoyed our dinner. We tried a little of it all from the seafood sampler appetizer to the Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and we liked it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This was our second time at Red Fish and ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our second time at Red Fish and it was excellent as before. It was a very special getaway weekend for my wife and I and we're very glad we chose Red Fish again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband is a severe Celiac and we ate ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband is a severe Celiac and we ate 3 times with no reaction. That NEVER happens. Really great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great seafood, friendly atmosphere. We a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great seafood, friendly atmosphere. We always eat there when we are in New Orleans. The staff is fantastic at making all ages feel right at home. The decor is beautiful and put's you in a great mood for a perfect meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by Charles and his team was exce ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Service by Charles and his team was excellent. Food was bland and mediocre. Too noisy to enjoy conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

The food was great and the service was e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was great and the service was excellent. Our waiter was Ike. He made the dining experience delightful. We go ever Redfish Grill every time we are in New Orleans. I recommend it to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed their specialty Redfis ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We really enjoyed their specialty Redfish dinner. We shared it and each had a salad. It was well presented and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Attentive waiter - Tallison. The redfis ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Attentive waiter - Tallison. The redfish with covey rise farm vegetables was delicious. Fish portion could have been larger. The wood grilled redfish & lump crabmeat was also a hit. The BBQ oysters were also good even for those not fond of fried oysters. An incredible ending to the meal was the double chocolate bread pudding which tasted more like a soufflé.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Peach Blueberry salad was fantastic, fol ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Peach Blueberry salad was fantastic, followed by mouthwatering shrimp and grits. Great service, too. Not the place for a quiet meal, but go for the great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Danielle was a great waitress!!! Great f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Danielle was a great waitress!!! Great food too!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was outstanding! Fun at ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and service was outstanding! Fun atmosphere! We came from Seattle area to New Orleans and used opentable to reserve a table prior to walking to the restaurant from the hotel. Worked great!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bread Pudding was excellent. Prices are ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Bread Pudding was excellent. Prices are steep for the quality of food. 85 dollars for a meal for two people. Skimpy portions that looked like they were out of the freezer bag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The restaurant was clean and quaint. My ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The restaurant was clean and quaint. My husband enjoyed his dinner of fish, but I personally did not like the grilled shrimp...I think it was the spices used. The waiter was very good (even though a tad too talkative concerning the menu).

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was expensive and not flavorful. Wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was expensive and not flavorful. Waiter described "ceviche" like it was a deconstructed shrimp/crab boil. It was not. Soupy mess. The waiter could have cared less.

It was a huge disappointment.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

With so many choices for great food in N ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

With so many choices for great food in New Orleans we could not have been happier that we chose Red Fish Grill. The service (Ronnie) was efficient and professional. The food was outstanding. We started with the Beer Battered Catfish Beignets and they were tender and flakey with a delicious drizzle of sauces. Our adult beverages were great and were not overpriced. For our entrees we selected the Jumbo Lump Crab Cake and the Wood Fire Grilled Red Snapper. Both were phenomenal in flavor and texture. We selected side dishes (ala carte) of sautéed spinach (so tasty) and creole potato salad (the best potato salad I have ever eaten). We completed our fabulous meal with the Double Chocolate Bread Pudding which was delicious but difficult to eat as it was stuck to the sides of the baking dish (a little overcooked) and there was no way to grab the dish and scoop with your spoon without loading your fingers with sticky sauce. Overall, the dining experience was exceptional and Red Fish Grill is HIGHLY recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, impeccable service and wonde ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food, impeccable service and wonderful location!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat by a large table. They were loud, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We sat by a large table. They were loud, and our waiter was too busy with them. My granddaughter did not get her ice cream. Food was very good, and restaurant was nice. We just had bad luck table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food, wine and waiter were outstandi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food, wine and waiter were outstanding!! We had very fresh fish seasons perfectly. The wine selection was good. I was very nervous because the decor seemed very kitschy . However my worries subsided with the waiters vocabulary about wine and the appetizers . By the time dinner came we were happy and so was my 3 year old!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The bread pudding was the best!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The bread pudding was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was my second time dining at Red Fi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was my second time dining at Red Fish Grill, I was there about 3 years ago. My friend and I were in town for the Essence Festival this weekend and decided to go back, the food is awesome and so is the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Be careful with your credit card. Our se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Be careful with your credit card. Our server charged us $200 over the cost of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great place to a quick meal on Bourbon S ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great place to a quick meal on Bourbon Street. Service outstanding. Food very good. Every trip to NOLA requires lunch at Red Fish Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, a really nice experience. We h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Overall, a really nice experience. We had the Jalapeno Shrimp Hushpuppies as an appetizer. They were okay...but not great. All our entree selections were really good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I make it a point to dine here every tim ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I make it a point to dine here every time I am in New Orleans and it never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Husband and I recently went while visiti ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Husband and I recently went while visiting Nola and liked it a lot! Food was good and service was great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best cast iron fried scallops I've ever ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Best cast iron fried scallops I've ever had! Awesome service! Awesome restaurant! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great, food was a little on ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was great, food was a little on the salty side, but overall, a good dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is always great. We eat there e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is always great. We eat there every time we are in New Orleans. However our waiter was not as attentive as most usually are. They use to have two people that waited on you. So when they are busy that all is taken care of. Don't get me wrong, we will continue to go to Red Fish, we just didn't have the service they normally have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Awesome meal, awesome waitress and great ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Awesome meal, awesome waitress and great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.