Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Red Fish Grill

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Celebrate Easter with our annual buffet featuring: crawfish & corn chowder, peel & eat shrimp, hickory grilled redfish, Steen's syrup glazed ham, prime rib, crawfish étouffée, crispy catfish, kids buffet & so much more!
10:30am-3pm
Adults $59, age 12 and under $19 , age 6 and under FREE!

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (78)
Good for a Date (60)
Creative Cuisine (56)
See All
Special Occasion (50)
Fun (47)
Good for Groups (46)
Local Ingredients (45)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Authentic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Great for Lunch (31)
People Watching (29)
Comfort Food (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Business Meals (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Romantic (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Family Style (13)
Historic (11)
Cozy (11)
Great Beer (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Spicy (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Healthy (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Open Kitchen (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
3346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Very weird reservation system. Waited 45 min after our reservation time on a Sunday night. Take a number and watch a board for your number to come up. Very 1970's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. Very busy place. Had an 8:15 reservation but were still put on a list and given a piece of paper with a number on it. We were then told to watch for our number to appear on the small digital screen next to the bar. Very poor system. Got seated about 1/2 hour later. Food fantastic. Service prompt but waiter had crummy attitude.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

If I could give more than 5 stars I would!!!! Fantastic experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant uses a team of service persons, none of whom seemed to know what the other has ordered or not. Three different people stopped by the table to inquire if one of the others has taken our order or "did we tell ____ that". I asked the person who delivered the dinner for a second glass of wine and he said he would advise the server. The wine appeared after I was nearly finished with dinner. No one inquired, I was just unhappy. No one delivered the bill and finally the manager or assistant manger did and it was he who processed the bill. Perhaps my experience was one off, but it wasn't great. Food was OK, but the experience was sour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

I had a wonderful time. Food was great

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to meet and greet!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the meal. They have a good selection of fish for the price. One of the very few restaurants I will eat at on Bourbon Street.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was outstanding. I especially appreciated the waiter's suggestion of the Worcestershire Rosemary sauce for my grilled Redfish--it was perfect. The restaurant is crowded and noisy, but service was very good. We were disappointed that they were out of the bananas foster cake, but had a white chocolate moose cheesecake instead that was tasty. We skipped the chocolate bread pudding this time, but know for previous visits that it's excellent. Even the decaf coffee was surprisingly good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is excellent, as was the service. Our server was prompt and congenial.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was DELICIOUS!! It was very noisy and open spaced but decor was full of fun and creativity.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 5 days ago

This was an excellent choice. I wanted something with NOLA flair, but did not want heavy fried food or another bean. We had the Strawberry salad - it was excellent. We also shared the Black Drum with goat cheese. It was flavorful, yet light. The server was amazing and fun. I will return the next time I am in NOLA.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was just OK. Fish dishes did not compare with some of the other named restaurants in the Quarter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Once we were sat we immediately placed a drink order, it took a good 10 minutes if not more to receive those. I placed an order for dinner salad and was told the kitchen had lost the ticket, it ended up taking about 15 minutes for just a salad. The entrees came out very quick the bbq chicken was good. Last time I ate here was about 5 years ago. Would I be in a hurry to go back no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Definitely worth a visit - very lively, good local food and friendly service.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The place is packed which was consistent with expectations based on the reviews. Service was attentive enough for a good experience (slightly slow, but not troubling) the house specialty entree red fish covered in crawfish was done well but somewhat forgettable. Dessert was outstanding including the bananas foster ice cream. A booth for a part of six was a little tight. Recommend requesting a table

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

BBQ oysters. ...you have to try tgem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Our server was great, very helpful, engaging and cordial. The only issue from our lone visit was that it took longer than we expected to receive our entrees.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food and service was good. The restaurant was extremely loud, but that seems to be a New Orleans thing. One thing we didn't like was that we had reservations, but were still put in a queue with a number and had to wait 15 minutes for a table.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The bar area was chaotic due to some oyster bar test they are doing. It jammed up the walkway to the bathrooms and made it very difficult for the servers to adequately cover drink orders

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Red fish was extremely accommodating to us allowing 5 separate checks. They have amazing food, such as their caviar dip and grilled redfish. Our server was impeccable.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Everything was really good but one person's steak was undercooked. They brought back and cooked to temperature. No complaints. Good service just wish location wasn't on smelly Bourbon Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Wonderful crispy catfish and deviled eggs!
Eric was excellent server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 20, 2017

This restaurant is a must while visiting Bourbon Street in New Orleans. The BBQ Oysters are so good that we had to go back again prior tot leaving on the plane. Excellent food and service. We will be back anytime that we visit NOLA again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Cool place but food was nothing special. There are so many other wonderful restaurants in NOLA, take a pass on this one.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food and service! The fire grilled fish was spectacular and the chocolate bread pudding was absolutely fantastic. Waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The ambiance is like a large cafeteria with a lot of noise. That being said our wait for a table of 6 was 15 minutes late of our reservation. We waited at the bar where lotto like numbers appeared on 2 screens that you stared at till your number shows up. The restaurant served good drinks and the fish and appetizers were great. Nice dessert was shared by all. I highly recommend it if you can get past the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went to the redfish grill to get dinner before seeing a show at the Saenger. The show was at 8, our reservation was at 6:15. We went there specifically for their signature dessert which my wife loves. As everyone around us starting getting our food we realized the waitress either forgot to put our order in, or they messed something up in the back. Long story short, we didn't get our appetizer until after 7 and we didn't have time to get the dessert. On top of that, my wife's shrimp and grits were so salty they were inedible.

So in short, we paid almost $100 for a mediocre meal and didn't get what we truly came for. I expect better from a Brennan's Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Nate. our server was the best !!!
Food was presented beautifully and excellent. Love Redfish !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Red Fish Grill is one of the Brennan Group restaurants. I had no idea until a friend gave us a Brennan gift certificate. Reservations are highly recommended because it gets very busy!
The restaurant has three rooms; one large dining area which is very festive looking, a large bar in a separate room, and a smaller room which would be good for private parties. The drinks and the food were delicious. I specially liked the friend green tomatoes with crawfish appetizer, as well as the Black Drum entree.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always enjoy coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a 6 pm reservation and it was a great time to get there our waiter was great and helped us to place order. We had BBQ oysters and alligator boudin balls for appetizers they were fabulous!!!
We had the Fly Fish for dinner and I can say never had a better meal.
Thank you Red Fish

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had lunch at Redfish Grill yesterday.
The service was great! Our waiter Ike was friendly, efficient and made great recommendations. The blackened redfish melt was really different and delicious.
The French bread was pressed panini style and was super crunchy! The accompanying redfish bisque was out of this world yummy!
Good shrimp po boy made better with Ike's suggestion of remolade sauce. Nice selection of wines by the glass added to this super lunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The overall quality of the food is good but in no way it is worst the price.
Like 18$ for a bowl of Gumbo ? Seriously ? There is basicaly nothing expensive in this meal + the portion is actually quite poor. I think it is the most expensive gumbo (by almost a factor 2) of the town and not in the top 5 most tastefull gumbo i tasted.
In the end,I would say that if you are rich and don't care about money it is an acceptable place.

PS : my friends took grilles fish and it seemed pretty good, but portions were ridiculously small for a 27.5$ meal (add the tip and taxes and you have a 5 course meal in a good french restaurent).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The Blacked Red Fish was superb. We gave it our highest rating of all our dining experiences in NOLA. Great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

loved the menu. delicious items to choose from. Seafood entries were all tasty. manager came around to talk to all diners.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was excellent and we always love the chocolate bread pudding which is our all time favorite dessert 👍👍

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food was very good. It was busy but the food came out quick. Husband ordered oysters and the owner came to apologize that the oyster line was running very behind. We told them not to worry about it because we were almost done eating. Disappointed with that but the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food was fantastic. Our server, Anthony, was incredible. 2 members of our party ordered Dirty martinis with blue cheese stuffed olives. They did not have stuffed olives so our server took it upon himself to stuff some olives. The BBQ oysters are one of my top 5 favorite foods in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.