Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Red Fish Grill

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (64)
Casual (59)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Local Ingredients (52)
Authentic (45)
Good for Groups (45)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Fun (40)
Business Meals (34)
Comfort Food (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Bar Seating (22)
Romantic (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
People Watching (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Spicy (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a party of 8 for my fiance 50th birthday. We got sat ontime even though the place was packed. Our server was a pro and was very attentive to our needs. The food was top-notch! Lotsa seafood selections to choose from. I had the gumbo and jambalaya and both we amazing! I would definitely eat there again!

Tags: Spicy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Another Brennan's ....but this one is not worth the money. It's not outrageously expensive, but better seafood in the Quarter for the same price or just a bit more. Our food was lukewarm and one person's was basically room temperature. The waiter was indifferent when we mentioned it. And the place is WAY too noisy for any sort of a conversation so ...be forewarned and set your bar of expectations on LOW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a group of four. The review that we read showed you to be ranked number nine. We disagree. We thought you should be number one. Everything we ordered was excellent and the service was above satisfactory with a full house. The next night we ate a restaurant that was supposed to be good and found it to be horrible. Every fish dish was covered in its own sauce that turned the dish into a nothing. We think you are the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great food with good ambiance and great service! Thanks Anthony got the great recommendations, attention to details, service and laughs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Medicore gumbo, waited 30 minutes for other appetizer which was oysters on half shell (how long cannot take to shuck an oyster ??), overall disappointing enough left after appetizers to find somewhere else .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great good, excellent service. Table wasn't ready so we ended up eating at the bar,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Delicious food but I skipped over a few dishes because there was no mild version.
The gumbo with alligator was perfect. All the other items were nearly perfect. A good experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This place is in a easy location at the edge of the Quarter. I don't go here for "creative", but rather predictable quality. It has seldom let me down for a great meal at a reasonable price.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Had Frank server over 18 years he said. He did a great job! He was training Marie and she will do well. Yummy food!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always amazing food. Going at a very busy time definitely affects service level but still great.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful place to wind up our trip to NOLA. Busy place and we were a little rushed at the end of the meal but otherwise great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Really fun place, great menu with fresh options. And the service was the best we had anywhere in New Orleans!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This is a great place to find Louisiana and Cajun dishes very well done. Their Jambalaya is among the best we've had. From the BBQ oysters to the special salad and Bloody Mary to the entrees, it was a great meal. Service was attentive but not cloying. And the location is convenient to the Quarter and downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We always enjoy dining at Red Fish when visiting New Orleans. The BBQ oysters are the BEST!!!!
The ambience is a lot fun too.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I am from the New Orleans area and have heard wonderful things about this restaurant but I was not impressed with the food. The service was great and it was a fun, cool atmosphere but the food was not up to par with what I would have expected from a restaurant in the Brennan family.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our service was fantastic and the food was amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great dining experience while visiting New Orleans. Brad took very good care of us!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Been here several times. Food is always the strong point as is the service. This was the first time we did not get the signature dish. My wife ordered the shrimp and grits, the popcorn was a different addition but the grits were fantastic. I ordered the catfish and shrimp etouffe, very good! The only knock I have is not on the restaurant but the construction. Bourbon street is under construction and it was noisy, but this noise is a necessary and temporary minor inconvenience.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food is always great here! The redfish with crab meat is delicious. Try the chocolate bread pudding. You won't be sorry.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

BBQ crab claws are to die for. This could be a meal by it self. They are my new fav, do yourself a favor skip the BBQ oysters and go for the claws. I had a Blackened drum, it was good but the redfish is my favorite. We had the Bread pudding for dessert. Very rich, more like a chocolate lava cake. It will not disappoint. Good as always!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

I've always had great meals at the Redfish Grill, which is why it is one of my favorite restaurants in New Orleans!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Loved every bite! Wonderful seafood.very fresh and great flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Staff was very good. We had a 17 month old wit us and they handled him beautifully

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Delicious food served well. The attention and efficiency of our wait-Team were very impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was highly recommended with excellent reviews and it lived up to its reputation!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I had been to the Red Fish Grill previously for dinner and absolutely loved it. This time, four of us went to lunch. My daughter and I split a half dozen of the house specialty, BBQ Oysters. They were absolutely incredible. Both of us wished we had ordered a dozen instead. She and I both had the Red Fish Melt sandwich, which was very tasty. My business partner had the oyster Po-Boy and his wife had the Wagyu hamburger. Everyone at our table enjoyed our lunch sandwiches. Our waitress was outstanding and extremely professional. I would highly recommend The Red Fish Grille for either lunch or dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food was delicous the service was good. However when you make a reservation it would have been nice to be sat in a timely matter not 30 minutes later.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The service was above average. The waiter seemed out-of-synch. He took the drink order but the drinks were slow coming. He brought a warm loaf of bread in a bag. The bread was not so good. I think it spent to much time in the microwave, very tough and chewy. I ordered the Catfish with shrimp and special sauce. The catfish was battered and fried and very tasty. The shrimp sauce was disappointing as there was only one shrimp.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Jason was awesome!! Very attentive, made great suggestions and pleasant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Solid experience - little touristy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food was awesome our waiter kept us entertained his birthday was in September same as my husband. Loved the chocolate bread pudding, and crab cake! Will be back !

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We had the signature grilled red fish and shrimp & grits and the double chocolate bread pudding. Everything tasted great and just the right portion sizes for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We went for our anniversary. The food and service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I had looked forward to returning to the Red Fish Grill since my last visit to New Orleans. I was greatly disappointed by my visit on September 2nd. The food quality at the restaurant had diminished considerably. The soup (with alligator) was tasteless, except for the spicy heat from what I imagine was supposed to pass as the "Cajun" character of the dish. I ordered the shrimp and grits knowing the menu mentioned that it included pork infused popcorn. When I ordered, it never registered to me that it would actually be popcorn, derived from corn. I thought it was an imaginative description of pork added to the dish, something akin to "cracklins." That was my mistake. I could not fathom that anyone would add popcorn to shrimp and grits and after eating it, I can say it was an extraordinarily bad ingredient addition to the dish. Making it worse, the popcorn was cold and I detected no evidence of the popcorn being "pork infused." I had the pecan pie for dessert in the hope it would salvage a disappointing meal. It was passable, at best. The soup appetizer and shrimp and grits were a great disappointment. My server informed me that the chef was attending the LSU game that night; perhaps that contributed to the diminished quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Always great, never disappoints. Remodel is also very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Second time there and it was absolutely as good as the first time. Would still recommend the Creole Jumbalaya Risotto. And for desert the chocolate bread pudding. Wow!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The Food was outstandingly delicious only topped by the excellent service ! Hard to find these days. Dessert was to die for! Outstanding .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 28, 2017

What a disappointment. For a city with such good restaurants this restaurant doesn't make the cut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Celebrating with daughter and future son in law with awesome drinks and dinner. Bbq oysters are a must have. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. A must have dinner every time we are in the Big Easy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Every time we visit NOLA our first dinner is at Redfish, our favorite restaurant. Great food and friendly service with a fun ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.