About Red Fish Grill

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (67)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Local Ingredients (51)
Fun (50)
Special Occasion (49)
Good for Groups (47)
Authentic (45)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Great for Lunch (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Comfort Food (27)
Business Meals (26)
People Watching (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Family Style (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Historic (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Romantic (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Great Beer (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Spicy (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Cozy (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Live Sports (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Muy buen ambiente. Comida gourmet bien presentada. Los precios no son economicos

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Portion was the right size and was delicious. I think our server Ike really made the nite! My mom and the kids loved him. Was witty, funny and very attentive. Hope the management there takes care of the hard working staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Every time I visit NOLA this has to be one of my stops. In addition to having great Redfish and other wonderful choices, the bread pudding is outstanding. Even if you don't like bread pudding you have to try this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food and fun atmosphere. Right on Bourbon St so not quiet and romantic but active and fun. I had the Redfish and Prawn special, my wife had Redfish with a different sauce and they both were amazing. We ordered the chocolate bread pudding in advance so it would be ready and it was delicious and decadent.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual, Quick Bite, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Out waitress, Dece, was awesome!! She made great recommendations that were right on point. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful as always. Their signature BBQ oysters are to die for!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great dinner at Red Fish Grill. Our server Dece suggested we start with the BBQ oysters - and I was so glad she did! They were fabulous! I would call it more of a Buffalo sauce than BBQ. It was spicy, but not too bad. I had the Creole Jambalaya Risotto - it was really good, great flavor, but spicy. For dessert, I suggest the Double Chocolate Bread Pudding - OH BOY!!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The grilled redfish and crawfish tails were great. The bread pudding was the best we have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I come here with my family about once a year on vacation, we enjoy the fresh food they have to offer, everything is delicious!! One of my sons and I especially enjoy the BBQ oysters, they are most excellent!!

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great bat. Great service. Great patrons. Great New Orleans cuisine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Seated is within 15 minutes of our reservation time

Our service was amazing

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I especially enjoyed my waitress Amanda, she was fantastic. The food was very good. I would definitely refer all of my friends and co-workers

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Red Fish grill was lively and a fun atmosphere. We had a 6:00pm reservation and still had to wait 20 to 30 minutes. Unfortunately our server forgot about us didn't bring us our appetizer (Buffalo oysters) until after our dinner arrived. Our dinner arrived it was lukewarm at best (shrimp risotto, blackened fish with sweet potato purée. Our drink was good it was called the perfect storm.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good fresh seafood. Service was good. Gumbo is delish. Overall a great place for a good dinner. We would go back when we are in town next time.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everyone was so nice. Our waiter was outstanding!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very enjoyable experience dining with relatives who were visiting NO for the first

time. Jack, the waiter, was very courteous and professional in doing his job.

Menu provided a variety choices that my relatives wanted in experiencing

NO. Outstanding gumbo! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Modern Decor, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food. Room was kind of noisy. Ambiance nothing special. Kind of a cafe look with upscale pricing. I'd do it again for food but don't go here if you're looking for Mr Bs or commanders palace level of Ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We got the platter and substituted oysters instead of alligator bites..everything was superb!! The sauce over the crab claws was sooo delicious. I wanted to stick my face in that bowl. Will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food wasn't that special. My Gf could not eat her fish bc it was over cooked.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always our go to when were in NO, lots to choose from and always great!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food, poor timing, delightful waiter. It's not an intimate place. It's a big, fast-moving eatery. We had the red fish special and the entree was lovely. The pecan pie was grand too.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Lee the server was wonderful!! Great personality! My black drum was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Stopped by for their oyster happy hour. Can't beat the price: 50 cents each! Had 3 dozen and 8 drinks for the 4 of us. It came out to $52.

The staff both at the hostess stand and raw bar were attentive and friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Nothing to write home about. Ordered the Grand Isle salad and they were skimpy with the crab and shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The BBQ Crab claws were amazing! The sauce!! Omg!

Ike our server was a delight! Fun server and very knowledgeable about every dish! We also had the Louisiana Court Boullion which was a tomato base with oysters, fish and shrimp served with jalapeño corn bread! Delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My food was delivered cold The service was very slow. They did go back and heat up my entree or I believe they gave me a brand new one but it still was lukewarm side.I service was extremely slowI

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I come to NOLA 7-8 times a year for work and this was my first time eating at this restaurant. I must say it was great. IKE made the dining experience so much better. I have never felt more at home, more cared for, and entertained during any dining experience. I will definitely become a regular. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Went to the Red Fish Grill for dinner, based on a client's recommendation. The menu is quite diverse, and they will prepare meals off of the menu. The accommodated my wife's special requests, and the food was very good. The place fills up fast, and can get quite noisy, but then we were sitting between two large tables of business diners. Overall, I highly recommend this place, and I will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Food was average at best.... overpriced ....good location on bourbon

Would definitely recommend many other places before redfish

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Very good food and service. Heart of French Quarter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The noise level was loud due to it being Super Ball Sunday and the bar was close to our table. The food was wonderful and our waitress was great, kept coming by and filling glasses and topping off coffee. We would recommend this restaurant and have already told some friends at the conference about it. Two thumbs up.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The double chocolate bread pudding is the best dessert ever. Entre's were also very good. I had the redfish and my wife had the red beans and rice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, service, atmosphere. One of our favorite places to go when we're in New Orleans!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

RFG is always a good choice for the local seafood lover. restaurant is busy and a bit noisy but getting a reservation is a better chance than many of the smaller restaurants in the area. Live oyster bar is a great addition if that's what you fancy. One downside is the lack of validated parking

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food. Great service. The fried oysters with blue cheese are TO DIE FOR. Excellent fresh oysters. The ambiance leaves a bit to be desired but when they food is this good, who cares? We will definitely be repeat diners!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Its definitely a place to visit while in the French Quarter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were in NOLA for a wedding and it was our first night there and we were hungry. We have been to NOLA several times and always try new places. Heard and read good things, was able to make a reservation which was great. We went down from the hotel a little early and we were seated right away. This was a plus. We were waited on right away, but the waiter basically told us he really didn't know the details of the specials, but did suggest some menu items. Food was OVER fancy and kinda pricey. Waiter not attentive, no drink refills, and took a while to get the check. I honestly wouldn't go back. App was delicious, very tiny crab legs with gravy. Bread was hard. Grits were very soupy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very good dinner experience! The redfish topped with crab meat was delicious! As for the chocolate bread pudding....YUMMY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a group of 6 including a wheelchair. Seating was quick and service great. Food good as expected from a Brennan family restaurant. French bread -- meh...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I went alone and got a couple of appetizers and asked the server if the dessert was too sweet. She said it's really good and she gave it to me on the house. I'd say everything I ordered were very delicious: alligator boudin balls, fried oysters and the double chocolate bread pudding! The service was awesome and my server made sure I was enjoying my food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was delicious!!! Bread plates and butter dishes were really dirty. Service was slow. Even with reservations we waited an additional 40 mins. Waiter was not friendly at all. Menu is heavily seafood/fish without a lot of non seafood choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We stayed in New Orleans for a week and this was the best meal we had while we where here. It was fantastic all around.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

we had a 8:00 pm reservation that they confirmed at 7:45 am PST that morning. We confirmed it. We flew across country from Seattle to New Orleans and travel weary. we arrived 15 minutes before our reservation time 8:00 pm, and yet we were not seated until 8:45 pm. When asked for an explanation, were met with a attitude by the hostess. If we had not been tired and hungry we would have gone elsewhere. I ask why bother to make a reservation a week in advance then confirm it to wait for an hour?

The food was very good and the wait staff was quite nice. A bit over priced but that's to be expected in the French Quarter of New Orleans.

If you want noise and don't mind waiting in the bar for an hour I say go. Otherwise go somewhere that reservations mean something!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food and service! We all had the Lobster special and it was outstanding.

We were very impressed with the server and the entire staff!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Hands down the best oysters I've ever tasted. The BBQ oysters were out of this world! Name throughs you off, but their definition on BBQ was really fried oysters tossed with buffalo sauce and topped with blue cheese crumbles! I died and went to oyster heaven! Yes, they were phenomenal! Outstanding food & service. I changed the reservation time about 3 times and they were super accommodating, as we went for lunch and the restaurant wasn't as busy as it would be later during the day. The manager/owner came to our table about 3 times to make sure food was to our liking and she was super nice. Wait Staff, Frank, was incredibly friendly and his recommendations were on point! Best Mint Julep in all New Orleans French Quarter area. Definitely you MUST eat here for an ultimate gastronomical experience. Thank you RED FISH GRILL for an amazing lunch experience & for the complimentary dessert.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome BBQ oysters with blue cheese crumbles and chives. Enjoyed them with great Pinot noir. Yummy. Service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Grade A dining experience starting with greeting from Brittany the hostess. Our server, Jasmine was outstanding. She was knowledgeable on all of the dishes because her recommendations were spotted on. My dining companion and I had shared the BBQ oysters, seafood gumbo with alligator sausage, crab cakes, and grilled drum. The food was amazing. The crab was nothing but fresh crab meat delicious and the drum was grilled to perfection. The Rosemary Worshishire sauce complimented the drum. If possible i would give Redfish Grill ten stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great menu options and really good food. We wanted to go to Bourbon Street but for our first time we didn't want to go too far into the French Quarter. This location was perfect and, for what first appeared to be somewhat of a "formula" restaurant, we liked it a lot. The service was outstanding as well. I would certainly go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.