About Red Fish Grill

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Red Fish Grill
Double Chocolate Bread Pudding
BBQ Oysters
App Platter
Oysters on the Half Shell
Chocolate Bread Pudding
Charred Redfish With Crab
Pale Ale
Beef Skewers
Barbeque Oysters With Home Made Bleu Cheese
Blackened Redfish
Blackened Mahi Mahi With Citrus Glaze And Shrimp
Dozen Raw Oysters
Lemon Drop Cosmo
Satsuma Mimosa
Lamb And White Bean Soup
1/2 Grande Isle Salad
Pimm's Frozen Cocktail
Alligator And Seafood Gumbo
BBQ oyster poboy
Cocktails!!!!!!
Bananas Foster Ice Cream Sandwich
Hickory Smoked Redfish
Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo
Abita Amber
Abita Andygator
Beautiful Bounty Of Below Bivalve Booya
Shrimp Po-Boy Plate
Half Dozen Cold Fresh Salty Bivalves
$10 Dressed Oyster Challenge
BBQ Oyster Half Po-Boy
Mississippi Catfish & Crawfish
Bar Selections
RFG Salad
BBQ Oyster Po Boy
Breaux Bridge Crawfish Stuffed Deviled Eggs
House Salad
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Dan Aykroyd Lemonade
Maccallen 12 Year
fresh bread
Colorful Menu
Sparkling Water
Hickory Grilled Redfish
crabcake
Catfish Poboy
Lemon Sorbet
Blackened Shrimp Po Boy
BBQ Shrimp And Cheese Grits
Alligator Sausage And Seafood Gumbo
Barbeque Shrimp And Garlic Cheese Grits
Thanksgiving Buffet-Turkey, Cajun Turkey, Prime Rib, Dressing And More!!!
BBQ Shrimp
Hickory Grilled Red Fish
Caesar Salad
Pumpkin Pie, Ginger Snap Cookie
Crystal Calamari
Finca el Origen malbec
Grilled Shrimp & Blackened Avocado Po-Boy
Beef Tenderloin Wrapped Yellow Fin Tuna
Gator Sausage And Seafood Gumbo
Fried BBQ Oyster Po Boy
Grilled Red Fish
Bbq Blue Crab Claws
Sweet Potato And Warm Bourbon Pecan Pie
Crispy Fried Oysters & Boudin Tamales
Root Beer Float
Barbeque Blue Crab
Blackened Louisiana Drum Fish
Chicken Dijon
buffet
Shrimp Po Boy
Chocolate Creme Brulee with S'mores Topping
Grilled Shrimp & Avocado Po'boy
Famous Roast Beef And Provolone
Classic Crayfish Boil
Grand Island Salad
Picayune Punch
Creole Marinated Gulf Shrimp
Crawfish Boudin
Redfish Sampler
Blackened Red Fish Over Spinach With Lump Crab
Pan Seared Red Snapper
Pecan Pie
Community Coffee Creme Brulee
Rfg House Salad
Crabcakes
Corn and Crab Bisque
Red Fish Grill Sampler:Bbq Oysters, Boiled Shrimp,Calamari
Grilled Red Fish Special
Bananas Foster
Alligator Seafood Gumbo
Bbq Shrimp Po'boy
Blackened Catfish

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Seafood
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Good for Groups (122)
Fit for Foodies (103)
Special Occasion (90)
See All
Hot Spot (63)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Kid-friendly (44)
Great for Lunch (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Notable Wine List (23)
Romantic (22)
Great for Brunch (17)
Casual (17)
Authentic (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
People Watching (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Spicy (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Business Meals (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Scenic View (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great recommendations by the waiter deli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great recommendations by the waiter delicious deserts!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had dinner before night at the Saenger T ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had dinner before night at the Saenger Theatre. Red Fish was a great location in quiet atmosphere. Excellent service, waitress was very helpful with my wife's gluten free needs. Wide selection of excellent food.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was visiting in NOLA and saw the menu po ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Was visiting in NOLA and saw the menu posted outside the restaurant. There were many choices for someone who doesn't eat meat. The oysters with blue cheese were to die for. My fish was perfect, and though the bread pudding was tempting, we were full from a delicious meal. My only complaint was the noise level but that is to be expected on Bourbon Street.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went to Red Fish for a business dinner w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went to Red Fish for a business dinner with four customers and had an awesome meal with awesome appetizers. The staff put up with our horrible jokes and had almost as much fun as we did.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Organic, Spicy, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Found the restaurant on Yelp, which got ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Found the restaurant on Yelp, which got very good reviews. The selections were plentiful and the food was very well prepared. Loved the fish selection and wine list. Our waiter was very good and provided some guidance on popular nightlife locations.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Spicy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were seated in a room w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My husband and I were seated in a room with two large parties and a couple of other small tables. I wouldn't classify Red Fish as a quiet, romantic spot; but the service and food were excellent! My husband had their signature red snapper with crab and I had the grouper with lemon butter sauce. Both were delicious... beautifully prepared, seasoned, and presented! And, the fresh vegetables were a tasty accompaniment. We finished our meal by splitting the rich and delicious chocolate bread pudding. What a treat! It was our last night in New Orleans and Red Fish gave us a wonderful send-off!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was great

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The fish was excellent! We had a wonder ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The fish was excellent! We had a wonderful time at this restaurant!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was great as usual, tried the ne ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service was great as usual, tried the new double cut pork chop, it was very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our favorite Restaurant in New Orleans! ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our favorite Restaurant in New Orleans! Casual atmosphere, great service, and great good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food from appetizer to dessert ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Delicious food from appetizer to dessert. I especially liked the bbq oysters - surprisingly good with an unexpected combination of flavors. The next time I'm in New Orleans I will definitely done there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good restaurant, loved the decor, p ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very good restaurant, loved the decor, prompt service, and fresh seafood was out of this world!! Also splurged on chocolate bread pudding for dessert, was terrific!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter Hannibal was exceptional thro ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The waiter Hannibal was exceptional throughout our entire dining experience. The Buffalo oyster were delicious as well as the sea scallop my gf got and the filet mignon I had. Save room for dessert because the bread pudding was out of this world good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great, everyone was real ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The service was great, everyone was really friendly and helpful. The food was good; from appetizers to desert, everything tasted great. My only issue was our entrees weren't as hot as they should have been. They weren't cold, just warm like they had been sitting a little long before being served. Besides that, everything was great. Definitely try the Bananas Foster if you're in the mood for desert. Would eat here again!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have had much better food in NO

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I have had much better food in NO

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Went after the Raider Game at the Dome, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went after the Raider Game at the Dome, had a great dinner celebrating with friends, the BBQ Oysters were awesome!

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a good restaurant with lots of loca ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It's a good restaurant with lots of local flavor. The service is outstanding, especially our server, Julio. It is very loud and extremely busy. The food was good, but not exceptional in my opinion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The shrimp and grits was outstanding. Gr ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The shrimp and grits was outstanding. Great portion size and very nice shrimp in it. The okra is a great addition to the dish. When you get the dish, immediately bury the prosciutto cracklin' in the grits to soften it up. I washed it down with an Abita Big Easy IPA. Or two. Great combo on my taste buds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place, great service- food was a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing place, great service- food was awesome- we cant wait to go back

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal and service were outstanding! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The meal and service were outstanding! Grilled Redfish with Creole Mustard sauce, marinated crab claws...Incredible!!! Thomas was a great waiter, knowledgable, ready but not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was just too spicy, and level of sp ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was just too spicy, and level of spice was not clear on menu. The Snapper Curry should have said SUPER hot and the fried oyster appetizer same -

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Four of us dined at Red Fish on a Sunday ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Four of us dined at Red Fish on a Sunday night and from the start the service was terrible. It took 20 minutes for the waiter to show up and after bringing our drinks he disappeared for an eternity. We asked a few questions about the menu and as some of the party was still deciding, he said he would get us some bread. Once again, gone, gone, gone. Finally he took our order and then brought one appetizer while the rest of us sat waiting for ours to arrive. Next we waited and waited and waited for the entrees. When the food finally arrived it was actually pretty good, but by then we were so frustrated with the experience it was hard to enjoy our meals. Go to Emeril's instead. Impeccable service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We LOVE to eat at Red Fish Grill when we ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We LOVE to eat at Red Fish Grill when we visit New Orleans! The restaurant itself is great. The food is delicious, and the staff is very friendly. The location of the restaurant is in the heart of the French Quarter, and that is awesome! The shrimp and grits are a MUST!

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Fun, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Red Fish Grill was our choice for ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Red Fish Grill was our choice for our last dinner in New Orleans. I wasn't sure what to expect with it being located on Bourbon Street, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is at the quieter end of Bourbon Street, but if you sit at a table by the window, still allows for great people watching. The food and service was terrific! I had shrimp and grits, which was very tasty and satisfying. My dinner partner had filet mignon, which he said was the best he ever had. If I ever make it back to New Orleans, this will be a definite place to revisit.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait for our food was a little long ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The wait for our food was a little long but the food didn't disappoint. Spice level was just right and the portions were good. It is on the more pricey end but that's what you're going to find on Bourbon. Great dinner choice though!

Tags: Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

First time to Red Fish Grill. My husband ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

First time to Red Fish Grill. My husband had the Red Fish which was fantastic! I had the grouper also good. The restaurant was busy and fairly loud but our waiter was great and very tenitive to our needs. Overall it was the best seafood we have ever had. Will come back when we visit NOLA again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Loved Red Fish Grill, the food was outst ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Loved Red Fish Grill, the food was outstanding especially the catfish beignets! Great service and ambience - would highly recommend to others and go again. Wonderful choice of seafood on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our trip to Red Fish Grill (2 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We enjoyed our trip to Red Fish Grill (2nd time there). We went for my wife's birthday. Her meal, the namesake grilled Redfish was fantastic.

I got wood-grilled swordfish, which was excellent, but pretty small for the price.

Dessert was the double chocolate bread pudding...again, not cheap, but very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and service were excellent

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food and service were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife had the salad with blueberries and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Wife had the salad with blueberries and said it was the best she ever ate. I had the grouper and it was fantastic, wife had drum and it was good. We split the keylime pie for dessert, and although it was impressive looking, it was a little light on the key lime flavor. But we still finished it all. ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Creole Jambalaya Risotto was awesome ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The Creole Jambalaya Risotto was awesome and I would highly recommend this dish. It includes gulf shrimp, andouille sausage, grilled chicken, "holy trinity," and roasted tomatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our family of five was visiting New Orle ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our family of five was visiting New Orleans for a long weekend and had a wonderful dinner at Red Fish. The ambience was fun, the food was delicious and the waitstaff was friendly and helpful. We recommend it highly!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant! Superb service and ex ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great restaurant! Superb service and excellent food.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, not really anything s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was good, not really anything sensational, but it was too loud because of how busy they were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

First time, had reservation and was seat ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

First time, had reservation and was seated quickly. We where seated next to window facing street, which keep the kids amazed see the Police on Horses and people gathering around them. They had a kid menu for kids that wasn't seen on web site when we view restaurants in the area of our hotel. They brought theirs meals out with our appetizers which was great. Elmo our waiter, check on us couple of times to make sure if we needed anything. Even had a visit from the manager as well. The gumbo was spicy and full of flavor. The red fish with crab meat was wonderful. I should had order that myself, but I had the steak and it was good. Nothing special. For dessert we had the bread pudding that was recommended by Elmo and it too was great. The atmosphere/deco was colorful from art sculptures from the ceiling and on walls. restrooms where very clean and had Pictures of local fisherman catches to view on the walls. Would eat again in our future visits to the big easy.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Located on a very busy portion of Bourb ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Located on a very busy portion of Bourbon Street but not crowded on Friday night. The food far exceeded our expectations. Wood grilled red fish and BBQ crab claws were excellent. Service was adequate to above average. We will definitely go back on our next trip to NO.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was one of many stops during a 5 da ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was one of many stops during a 5 day visit to New Orleans. I booked this place because it was available on OpenTable and had good reviews. I was not disappointed. Our server, Elmo, was great - all of his recommendations panned out.

I highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our eclectic family group loved Red Fish ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our eclectic family group loved Red Fish, amazing seafood, New Orleans classics like BBQ oysters (and raw), great prices and fun wait staff. We will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I k is that this is a tourist place but ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I k is that this is a tourist place but I went b/c a tourist wanted to go. Really disappointing considering it is a Brennan's product. Gumbo bland and Luke warm, fish was OK but potatoes undercooked and greens were cold!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The signature redfish dish was so fresh ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The signature redfish dish was so fresh and flavorful. Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.