Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Red Fish Grill

Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!

115 Bourbon St
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Iberville Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 598-1200

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.com/

Catering:
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.

Public Transit:
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Austin Kirzner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (107)
Good for a Date (78)
Creative Cuisine (75)
See All
Local Ingredients (75)
Special Occasion (69)
Authentic (65)
Good for Groups (62)
Fun (61)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Hot Spot (45)
Business Meals (45)
Good for Birthdays (43)
People Watching (42)
Comfort Food (40)
Bar Seating (38)
Great for Lunch (34)
Modern Decor (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Kid-friendly (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Historic (20)
Family Style (20)
Romantic (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Spicy (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Healthy (14)
Great Beer (13)
Quick Bite (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Seasonal (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (3)
Live Sports (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Sort By:
S
3531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined a day ago

Good food, good service, what else could you want.

Understand that they are busy so yes service may seem slow but its really not get over yourself relax and enjoy the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Very pleasant experience , friendly staff, good food , reasonably price

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The daily special was very fresh and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Buffalo Oysters never disappoint. Fish plates were fresh and awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Red Fish Grill, as is typical of Brennan's restaurants, is highly reliable and very good. My only complaint is that the service at lunch recently was so over-solicitous that it disrupted our conversation. The server checked in with us about our satisfaction twice and the manager came to the table to assure us of the restaurant's desire to please. Enough, already! If we have a problem, we'll let you know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food choices with attentive staff in a lovely ambience. Though slightly expensive well worth the money.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Jambalaya Rissotto was to die for! The double chocolate bread pudding was a great way to end the meal! Fantastic food!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was great. Our server Caleb was also great. However on the night of our visit we were enjoying a very nice dinner when a party of 20 people came in for a birthday party. They were supposed to be a party of 14. They totally disrupted our dinner by moving tables and chairs around us. The party was disruptive and rude. Totally ruined our nice dinner. They not only disrupted our dinner but the other couple sitting next to us. This was a total downer for us. This was our first visit to Red Fish Grill. We would go back the next time we are in New Orleans. The establishment can't control what patrons are going to do.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The fish was great, but the vegetables were way underdone. This seems to be a common complaint.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Oysters were gritty. Waiters collided at my head and nearly buttered me. 3 people apologized, offered me a drink or dessert by I wanted neither. My meal should have been comped. Not the level of customer service I would recommend or return for.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was good we didn't like the corner seating in the back of the restaurant. Waited long enough to take our food order that we forgot that we hadn't ordered drinks. They got use all straightened out eventually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was close and convenient for a quick dinner. It did not live up to its reputation. After 10 days in NOLA it was one of my least favorite meals. The red fish was passable, not overly flavorful and more attendant veggies than fish. A dish of shrimp and grits was bland. The steak was nothing soecial. Service was good. It is a crowded and loud restaurant, not conducive to an intimate dinner.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Barbeque oysters and fried green tomatoes with crawfish were absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great local food and beer !! Captures the spirit of N'Orleans....schucking oysters live and in front of you

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was great! Noise level was a little loud, but ambiance made up for it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was good, the ambiance was a bit too noisy for me but may be ok with others, value was ?, but what ruined the evening was the waiter snarling at me (after a $20 tip)-- "hand over the pen bud!!" after I had mistakenly stuck his pen in my shirt pocket after signing the bill. I will never set foot in the place again--and will advise my friends to avoid the place for somewhere that provides value and service commensurate with the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 17, 2017

So glad to have found this restaurant! Everything was amazing from our drinks (they even had yuengling!) our appetizer to our meal. Service was very attentive even though it was totally packed. Such a fun atmosphere. The food had so much flavor I can't even describe! A little more pricy than we were expecting but so worth it in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Celebrated my Husband's 80th birthday here and we both loved it! Everything was fantastic, from the service to the food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The meal was great, service was great, location is good. Highly recommend the double chocolate bread pudding

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My husband and I were pleased with everything from our drinks we ordered to a wonderful salad and red fish soup. I had the signature dish and it was amazing. We were there on Mother's Day close to 9. It was very busy so the noise level was higher and our waiter was running around and rushed. Other than that, 2 thumbs up!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We come back every time we are in New Orleans. Our waiter Kevin was very helpful with suggestions with our guest that had not been there before this evening. It would have been more enjoyable for us, however the party sitting behind us was very loud. I would recommend not sitting in a booth for this reason!!!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place for lunch or dinner. Wonderful seafood along with a variety of other options. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were there to celebrate Mothers Day and a college graduation - found the restaurant on Open Table. Didn't know it was a buffet-style but That just made the experience even more sweet .

All of the food was outstanding, from the creole and Cajun to the prime rib. Everything was well prepared, flavorful and quite authentic. This is an excellent restaurant for a large party or celebration. Right in the heart of the French Quarter, you experience New Orleans at the Red Fish Grill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Booked a table because our visit to New Orleans was on Mother's Day, which we knew meant crowds. Unfortunately, Open Table and the restaurant did not tell us that there was a Mother's Day "special" buffet @ $60/person and $20/child--no order-from-menu options available. Even though the buffet was well staffed and moderately varied, we are not big eaters, and I dislike buffets. We did sample dishes we may not have ordered, but overall, not a good value or a great experience for us. Sadly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our waiter, Frank was top notch. The Maitre d had great attention to detail in the dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We thought the food, drinks, and service were all great. However as a table of two in a packed room full of Bachelor & Bachelorette party groups it got a bit crazy. If you are with a big group and want to have good food/drinks in a loud fun and casual atmosphere this place is perfect. Quiet dinner for two.. not so much.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We made a reservation for our wedding anniversary. Got seated right on time. Very good food and the waiter was very attentive. The place was a bit noisy and crowded. But overall it was a nice dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and service! Red Fish has a very fun, casual feel and is crowded, but there is a nice energy there. The food was phenomenal, especially loved the alligator boudin appetizer and house special of redfish topped with crawfish. Also really enjoyed the grilled speckled trout with veggies, no guilt! And since we ate so healthily, we indulged in the special chocolate bread pudding which was topped with the most delicious chocolates. Unbelievable! Not too much, delicious. The service was impeccable. Would recommend and will definitely go again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our waiter Jason, was extremely rude and condescending to my family and I. I would not recommend the Redfish Grill to others, due to the lack of respect I experienced from their staff. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. The barbeque oysters are the BEST ever!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our server Jeremy was outstanding, the seafood was fresh and delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent food, great service....Ike was an incredible energetic waiter!! A vibrant high energy restaurant on Bourbon Street, delicious food and great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Loved it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 10, 2017

2 members in our party got sick from food it was shrimp and grits and redfish special. Very loud couldn't hear each other

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great at accommading. Love the BBque oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Food was great ,except the Oysters were weak and looked liked they were shucked the day
before and put in the refrigerator. I looked at the bar and those Oysters looked great. I should have had you re-do them. Overall the group enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.