Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 149 times today

Red Fish Grill

4.5
4405 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Groups
Fishing for New Orleans' deFINitive seafood dining? Fish no further than Ralph Brennan's Red Fish Grill, a triumph of cuisine, style and design. Casual New Orleans seafood dominates a menu peppered with Big Easy favorites like Hickory Grilled Redfish, BBQ Oysters, Alligator Sausage & Seafood Gumbo, Double Chocolate Bread Pudding, and a wide variety of Gulf fish available every night.



Festive, hip decor offering an oasis from the bawdy bright lights of Bourbon Street, features hand-painted tables, a sea colored etched floor, colossal oyster mirrors, metal-sculpted palms, Louisiana bayou photography, and a sea of metal fish in neon swimming overhead.



Professional yet friendly service spiced with New Orleans joie de vie ensures easy comfort and sets a tone for the ultimate laissez les bon temps rouler!
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner Daily: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Oyster Bar: (Monday - Thursday, Sunday) 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dinner & Oyster Bar (Friday & Saturday) 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 598-1200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Austin Kirzner
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For over thirty years, Ralph Brennan and his dedicated Ralph Brennan Restaurant Group team have catered the meals and events that celebrate the moments of your life.

Providing full-service custom catering for events large and small, we tailor our services to enhance your palate, theme and budget. Our passion for quality ingredients, innovative cuisine and exceptional service sets us apart and ensures your event shines. We are dedicated to servicing a seamless, professional and above all memorable experience.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Iberville Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Canal and St. Charles streetcars one block from the restaurant.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located at the “gateway” to the French Quarter, Red Fish Grill features three private dining areas perfect for private lunch, dinners, meetings, and receptions. Red Fish Grill can accommodate 250 people for full service dining and 500 people for cocktail receptions.

View Private Dining Details
What 4405 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 8 hours ago

Everything was GREAT! May have been the best Grouper we've ever eaten.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 8 hours ago

Extremely noisy and too expensive for the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined a day ago

Shrimp and grits were so delicious!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined a day ago

First time in NOLA and the food here was amazing! The oysters, gumbo, grits and bread pudding....omg heaven!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined a day ago

My wife and I had dinner. It was her first time in New Orleans, so she wanted to try a Cajun Staple. We got alligator boudin balls and jambalaya, both of which were fantastic. The only thing we didn’t like was the heavy handed vodka drink, she got prior to our appetizer, but that’s New Orleans... I got the signature Red Fish dish, which was grilled to perfection, and came with crawfish tails and a lemon butter sauce that was to die for. All in all a great first meal for our New Orleans trip!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Terrific quality and service. Always fresh and creative dishes. Best consistent service around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The signature redfish was superb. Crabcakes delicious. Desserts to die for!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointed with the food. Was using a gift certificate while in NOLA so we had to use it. Food was lukewarm at best.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Had a great dinner. Food was the highlight. The redfish special was top notch! Super flavor. I had the famous chocolate bread pudding. I ordered it without ice cream, but it came with it heaped on top. I think it was supposed to hide the fact that the top of the bread pudding was hard as a rock. Under that top layer, flavor was good. Just over cooked. Overall, a good place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The food was really good. The BBQ oysters are a must. Save room for the Double Chocolate Bread Pudding!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

James was our waiter & we could not have asked for better service. He was pleasant,knowledgeable and very helpful.
I had the grouper & my husband had the redfish. Both were delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and the waiter was GREAT!! This dessert was one of the best sk far!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious. We went twice in 2 days 😄 The shrimp was very tasty as was the grouper. Good service. Fun atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Family Vacation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The waiter was so friendly and gave lots of suggestions. The food was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Good food. Excellent bread pudding. It’s expensive but consistent. I have been many times.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

BBQ oysters and the chocolate bread pudding were AMAZING!! My husband had the red fish with the leamon butter sauce and he said it was very flavorful and he also loved the bread pudding just as much as I did!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great food and cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Celebrating our son’s graduation from Tulane’s graduate school. Have been many times and it’s always excellent! This time we were seated in a small back dining room off the bar near the restrooms...didn’t care for that area as it felt like you were separated from all the ambiance that makes Redfish Grill extra special. Everything else was really good though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We ate here two nights in a row due to local flooding after a big storm. Both nights the food was excellent and the service was great. Even though we were seated next to a large group, the noise did not prevent us from having a ‘normal’ conversation. The gumbo and jumbo crab cake were so good we ordered it both nights.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

My wife and I both had grouper which is a wonderful fish. She had hers with lemon butter sauce and vegetables. Both were excellent. I had the chef special which was a pecan crusted grouper with a sauce with tasso in it. The pecan crust was too well done and it overpowered the fish. My wife and I share our food and we both agreed hers was great and mine was not. The place is somewhat loud. Our server was new but she did a great job and what she did not know she went and asked for the right answer. I would go back but order differently.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Food and service are always very good here, but this last time it seems like they were in a rush to get us in and out. We ordered wine when we got there and our wine came over after our food came out, which it seems like he walked in the kitchen and came back with our food. No time to enjoy our wine and enjoy the restaurant. But I still love the place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Love Red Fish Grill. When I visit NOLA, this is one of my favorite go to restaurants. I recommmend Red Fish Grill to my friends. Michael K made my birthday dinner extra special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Very cozy front window table facing out onto Bourbon Street. Great food/wine...nice spot for a date.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Great place love the oyster shrimp starter

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We made the rezo online and walked right in for dinner. My wife and i both agreed it was easily one of the best meals we've ever had - she had the snapper and I had the jambalaya. Excellent! Our server, Chris, was very friendlyand helpful. We can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Red Fish is one of our favorites in New Orleans!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Delicious Cajun good with a twist. Excellent!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The grilled grouper was beyond charred--it was in fact burnt!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

delicious food and great atmosphere! Sunday was so great I went again before leaving the crescent city!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Our service was outstanding and our waiter went above and beyond to ensure we would want to come back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I hadn't been to Red Fish grill in ages but I won't wait so long before I return. When we went for the Mother's Day brunch we were pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent! Our team of waiters never let our glasses get past half-empty and answered all of our questions and requests with a smile. The food was well seasoned and the buffet had a wide variety that suited everyone's tastes. It was an extremely pleasant experience that we will repeat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great Food & Service located right on Bourbon St! I had the grilled Red Fish House special, the fish was perfectly prepared! My wife had the Shrimp & Grits and loved it. The chocolate bread pudding is a must for dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our family met in New Orleans for the weekend and they treated us well including the two toddlers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I have experienced this restaurant on more than one occasion. Several business dinners and when in NOLA my husband and I would always included Red Fish Grill in our date nite festivities. Great food, affordable prices, a will continue to be a must anytime we are there.....

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was so so for New Orleans. We had a nice table by the window so people watching was fun. The alcohol was a bit pricy here shooting our bill up. The $ should probably be a $$. Server was decent, friendly and helpful but could've cleared completed plates more quickly. The floor manager passed us a few times but didn't address low water glasses or dirty plated. Perhaps it was not their best night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great experience!!!!
Fantastic service and food was suburb!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great food. Great experience all around.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
111

Tweets by Red Fish Grill