About Red Fish Grill

9610 Old Cutler Road
Miami, FL 33156
View Larger Map

Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Please visit our website for further details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Old Cutler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 668-8788

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.net/

Catering:
Please contact Chris Klaic for all off-site catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There are 300 parking spaces available to customers.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Cortes

Private Party Facilities:
Red Fish Grill has private dining available for your next business meeting or family function.

Private Party Contact:
Brittani Thoma: 3056688788x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Miami / Southeast Florida
Outdoor Dining
Miami / Southeast Florida
Romantic
Miami / Southeast Florida
8 More
Scenic View
Miami / Southeast Florida
Special Occasion
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Ambiance
Miami - Dade County
Outdoor Dining
Miami - Dade County
Romantic
Miami - Dade County
Scenic View
Miami - Dade County
Special Occasion
Miami - Dade County
Seafood
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

romantic (141)
great for outdoor dining (134)
scenic view (127)
See All
special occasion (118)
neighborhood gem (45)
fit for foodies (41)
good for groups (25)
notable wine list (20)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (10)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (4)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4

Fish was really fresh, overall good was ...

Dined 3 days ago

Fish was really fresh, overall good was good ambiance was amazing very nice place for a fancy date

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT Seafood and location!!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Ate outside, it was wonderful - had the best bigeye Tuna in my life.....and service was impeccable...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a very nice dinner. All the entr ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a very nice dinner. All the entrees were cooked to perfection. Our server was attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Lovely restaurant. Good fresh imaginative food.service was great. A few bugs at sundown but if you want to dine then you can sit indoors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon first driving through the neighborh ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Upon first driving through the neighborhood to get to the restaurant, one is transported to old Florida, surrounded by beautiful homes and Banyan trees. One might think they are lost, driving forever endlessly, or one might find it to be an adventure- as my date and I did. Once you make it to the parking lot you see the city skyline and you know it's going to be a beautiful place. The inside and outside dining views do not disappoint. Neither does the service, the food, the low key music, and ambiance. All around, it was an absolutely wonderful experience and I will recommend Red Fish to all my friends. I will be back as often as possible!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great setting!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The outdoor space is beautiful and the food was good. We ordered the sea bass which was very nice as well as the bouillabaisse. However, the snapper was simple and not too appealing and the pasta with shrimp was creamy and heavy. There is room for improvement music-wise, as it was kind of dull. .. Overall, the setting offsets the negatives.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Amazing, took me and my boyfriend to tha ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing, took me and my boyfriend to that whimsical place I wanted us to be!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

It's was so nice , I went for my birthda ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

It's was so nice , I went for my birthday. The waitress was just the best , she suggest a great bottle of wine ! I had the snapper , it was good great seasoning ! My family had the salmon and fell in love with it . The Angus steak was a bit dry and not very tasty but it could be because we requested it well done for the kids . Also the calamari was so good we got a second one 😄

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Venue. Prolific service. Oustandin ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great Venue. Prolific service. Oustanding food. Best Sea Bass in town. Perfect location. Add the walk on the beach and you have the perfect spot.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great place for Mother's Day

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great place with incredible views. Food was very good, everyone enjoyed their entrees and the appetizers were excellent. Good wine selection and reasonably priced. We were seated promptly and were served quickly. Not our first time, won't be our last.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Boulabaise was out of this world. Mahi m ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Boulabaise was out of this world. Mahi mahi was done to perfection

food4
ambience4
service3

Food was very good. Attitude of staff wa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was very good. Attitude of staff was not as good. Hostess (as happened first time we came) was rather cold and unpleasant- general demeanor of staff seems arrogant. Beautiful location but could be much more welcoming.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food does not match the view

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

First time at Red Fish Grill and it a very pleasant evening, perfect to dine outside on the patio. The view across the lagoon to the ocean/bay was nice with a gentle breeze and low humidity. But alas we were at a restaurant and this is a food review not a B-novel and the food was not good. There was no taste, no 'hmmm' moment and no style. Started with two salads: Arugula & Beets and Spring Mesclun Salad. Both were basically heaps of greens with, respectively, no beets, no gruyere, no bacon and little vinaigrette and the same with the Mesclun - just greens. For entrees had the Pan Fried Snapper and the Cumin-Crusted Bigeye Tuna - both arrived cold and were disappointing. Again how there be no taste to these dishes and the snapper was over-cooked. Didn't stick around for dessert. Wine list is limited but at least the Duval-Leroy Brut champagne was good but hint to staff - it should be served COLD - not the fish, the champagne. Add in the party next to us that include a bunch of kids playing tag amongst the tables and bushes which their parents were ignoring and for the money you're going to spend best to try someplace else.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful

Dined on May 7, 2016

The night we ate at Red Fish was beautiful. Great outdoor setting. The food and service were very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Great Place, but...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Apparently there is a special way to reserve for outdoor dining. The people there provide real good service, although the guys at the front door (specially manager) not very friendly. This is a busy place and they make you fortunate to be

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

We went to the Red Fish Grill for a celebration dinner for my son's graduation. We had to come in from out of town and I used Open Table to find it. The reviews were correct, the food was awesome. We were still talking about it today at lunch, three days later. We sat outside, the view was amazing. We will definitely go back next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night out

Dined on May 6, 2016

The weather was perfect for dining outdoors. The food was excellent and service great as well. The menu doesn't overwhelm you with choices, but everything my party of four had was delicious. The pork chop and key lime pie were especially stand outs.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Spectacular Location, Very Good Food

Dined on May 5, 2016

Weather permitting, this is a spectacular spot for outdoor dining. Set in Matheson Hammock Park next to the lagoon and ocean, the ambience is tough to beat. The food is very good, pricey, with some dishes overpriced, but you are also paying for the location.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Pretentious, overrated and soulless

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our experience dining at Red Fish Grill was not unlike other reviews, which regrettably we found out when it was too late. Food was bland and soulless, uninspired and faulty with underwhelming presentation and no layers of taste at all. Fish came out tender but tasteless, without background from the waitstaff and at supermarket quality both in sourcing and preparation. Meals were plain and under portioned, borderline cold, with confusing garnishing that was clearly prepared in large batches, plated from the fridge, and killed by unmatched marinade, and the frying technique on several plates left us wondering if the kitchen had even heard of how to preserve fish during prep. Colors were lacking throughout the plates, leaving us wondering if the dishes were bleached. Wait staff gave a rude, rushed impression, walking away in the middle of attempted conversation, and left us thinking the interest was just not there. Front desk staff sighed when our party needed some time to decide on seating and in a time span of two minutes went from OK to visibly inpatient in front of other guests. If Red Fish Grill can bring the kitchen up to par, produce honest food and give guests the idea that they are truly welcome then it has significant and broad potential. Love, focus and friendliness. Taste your food. Stop the marble swirl on the brownies. Get the bitterness and licorice out of the espresso. The bread was good. We may be back, but not until we are sure that Red Fish Grill has come out of hiding behind pretense.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

dinner for 2

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was ok, not great, but ok. Inside was a bit loud.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for special occasions.

Dined on April 25, 2016

I felt the food portions were a little on the small side, but the flavors were good. The service was very good and a manager followed up on our experience prior to us leaving. That made me feel like a valued customer.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Pan seared snapper failed

Dined on April 24, 2016

For $35, I got a filet of lightly breaded snapper. That's it. No side dish- nothing. The fish itself was no big deal. For $35, I certainly expected much much more. Better quality & at least a side. Crab cakes were good. My choice of white wine (by the glass) they were out of.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Ambience!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great service and food. Four at my table had the steak - I had the red snapper. The fresh snapper caught in Fla Keys was delicious! Large portion with delicious toppings and sauce. The only suggestion would be to consider going back to more traditional Sides. Years ago - Mashed potatoes was a side option. And more substantial veggie portions. Loved the breads and the drinks. And the beautiful night time setting with the Bay and the palm trees and tiny lights - the best place in Miami for natural relaxed elegant dining. Will always be back for special occasions.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

Such a romantic setting, perfect weddin ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Such a romantic setting, perfect wedding anniversary and food and serv fantastic

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We have loved Redfish Grill for years.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Redfish is especially stunning for out of town guests or when you just want to get away from the Miami madness. Secluded and usually very nicely prepared food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was amazing. Ariel was an am ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

The dinner was amazing. Ariel was an amazing server she was attentive, she made sure everything was done right. Ariel was very knowledgeable about the menu and all the dishes. She was an amazing person and made our experience wonderful. Thank you very much. Please send her our thanks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A waterfront treat

Dined on April 17, 2016

There are few places where you can enjoy a meal of this quality with an outside waterfront view. While not inexpensive, the Red Fish Grille serves interesting and well-prepared meals. It is definitely a cut or two above sports bar type places like Shuckers, which, though good for what they are...are not special restaurants for special occasions. You pay for that, but you get value in return. We had roasted Mahi Mahi and Salmon. Both were well-prepared and quite tasty. I really liked the spicy papaya salad that garnished the Mahi Mahi. This was a good complement to the coco vino and Black rice that was also served with the meal. My only carp would be over the service. We had an awkward wait after being seated before anyone brought even water or asked if we wanted drinks. Perhaps it was because we came at opening time and the shift was not fully organized yet. Once he got started, however, our waiter was fine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Gorgeous atmosphere on a gorgeous evenin ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Gorgeous atmosphere on a gorgeous evening. Food was very good, especially the calamari.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Food!

Dined on April 14, 2016

We had the tuna tartar which was absolutely delicious! It came with thin long strips of fried plantains which were lighly salted. We used these to scoop up and eat the pieces of tuna. Ahhh! Also had the Mahi Mahi which was cooked to perfection! We had a wonderful ocean view. An overall awesome meal!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Romantic with breathtaking views. We tru ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Romantic with breathtaking views. We truly enjoyed out time. Our server was excellent and the food was amazing.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not bad overall

Dined on April 9, 2016

I like to try every restaurant I can around the S Florida area. While some like clubs, bars, lounges, I prefer a nice restaurant any day of the week. With that being said, Red Fish Grill wasn't the best I have had, but it was definitely very nice and I would return for a second time. The food (which is most important to me) tasted great. From the calamari appetizer, the fish soup, or one of the two fish dishes my date and I tried. Everything tasted how I expected and I was very pleased. No take home box necessary as I cleaned all the plates. The only negative critisms I can even think of would be the restaurant was a little hard to find (no big deal) and they didn't serve cocktails...only beer and wine (still not THAT big of a deal to me). Sorry I couldn't think of more, but overall I felt this was a solid place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful outdoor dining location

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

What a great way to end the work week. The view and relaxed atmosphere are wonderful. The food was good -- we had the tuna. We've heard the snapper dish is the best. Our son was able to get a hamburger (thanks goodness). It was a lovely evening and a wonderful place to enjoy a nice meal and drink with friends and family. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Good food . Amazing place !

Dined on April 5, 2016

Good food . Amazing place !

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for my wife's birthday an had a exc ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday an had a excellent time food was great service good but have to say when I Called to confirm time I request a candle for the dessert was promised that and didn't get it, was a little let down but over all highly recommended

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not been to the restaurant for ye ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had not been to the restaurant for years we were pleasantly surprised by the food and service

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it - we'll be back!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Start with a beautiful setting in a park overlooking the ocean, and add fabulous food and service. We enjoyed the calamari, crabcakes, and tuna tartare, and seabass and snapper entrees - all great! We were surprised that they do not carry any kind of frozen ice cream to accompany the chocolate brownie - an easy suggestion to add to their menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chilean Sea Bass is amazing. Great atmos ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Chilean Sea Bass is amazing. Great atmosphere and excellent staff.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing Location

Dined on March 27, 2016

This is an amazing hidden gem. We got married here and celebrated out anniversary here too. The food is consistently good and the staff is amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to take out of town guestsan ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great place to take out of town guestsand the Ambience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!!! Great place to celebrate our ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Amazing!!!! Great place to celebrate our anniversary

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.