About Red Fish Grill

9610 Old Cutler Road
Miami, FL 33156
View Larger Map

Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Please visit our website for further details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Old Cutler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 668-8788

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.net/

Catering:
Please contact Chris Klaic for all off-site catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There are 300 parking spaces available to customers.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Cortes

Private Party Facilities:
Red Fish Grill has private dining available for your next business meeting or family function.

Private Party Contact:
Brittani Thoma: 3056688788x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fennel Seared Yellow Tail  - Red Fish Grill
Salmon Ceviche - Red Fish Grill
Key Lime Pie - Red Fish Grill
Curried Banana Soup - Red Fish Grill
Conch Fritters - Red Fish Grill
Steak - Red Fish Grill
Cardamom, cumin and almond crusted Mahi Mahi - Red Fish Grill
Seafood Risotto - Red Fish Grill
Tuna Cevice - Red Fish Grill
Jerk Spiced Mahi Mahi - Red Fish Grill
crabcake - Red Fish Grill
Fried Calamari - Red Fish Grill
Caribbean Mahi Mahi - Red Fish Grill
Chilean Sea Bass - Red Fish Grill

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Miami / Southeast Florida
Outdoor Dining
Miami - Dade County
Romantic
Miami - Dade County
1 More
Scenic View
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

Romantic (69)
Scenic View (68)
Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
See All
Special Occasion (56)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Waterfront (20)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Casual (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was not impressed. Staff was fighting to ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined 5 days ago

Was not impressed. Staff was fighting to see who would close and everyone could hear them making it awkward for guest thinking they had to rush so as to not be an inconvenience for the staff.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Excellent place for dinner. Romantic pla ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent place for dinner.

Romantic place and beautiful view.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening enjoyed eating outdoor ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent evening enjoyed eating outdoors and at the end when it began to rain we were quickly moved inside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The indoor spac ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was excellent. The indoor space is narrow and lined in coral rock so there is a party of 12 across from you with several people that don't use their indoor voice, normal conversion is a challenge. I would recommend that if you see large party inside you choose to eat outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

This was my first visit to Red Fish Gril ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was my first visit to Red Fish Grill. I had an amazing dinner and the service was impeccable.

I would highly recommend Red Fish Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great and fresh food, excellent wine sel ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great and fresh food, excellent wine selection list and an affordable price at Coral Gable area... that is AWESOME!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

That was my first time a Red Fish Grill ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

That was my first time a Red Fish Grill and was a very nice one. The plase is awesome for a date or business dinner, the view is fantastic, the food was delicious and the service very professional and knowledgeable. I definitely will recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go here quite often and consistently gre ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Go here quite often and consistently great. Excellent service and great fish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed, soup was lukewarm, the sna ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Disappointed, soup was lukewarm, the snapper and the grouper from a Miami Spice menu completely tasteless. The ceviche was good and so was the key lime pie. A bit loud, we sat inside near the bar/kitchen pass through window, lots of foot traffic for the patrons inside and outside. Dinner was rushed, as if food was pre-cooked and just microwaved warm. Not going back

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

I'm sad to say that but the ceviche was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I'm sad to say that but the ceviche was the worst one in our life, the calamari was no crispy, the marinara sauce like regular ketchup and the grouper was watery. The service was great and the place spectacular.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I always enjoy the Red Fish. The food is ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I always enjoy the Red Fish. The food is usually very good and healthy. This time it was off a little. But, that's unusual. The Ambiance is always excellent. Only criticism, no bar. And seem to close earlier than most places in Miami. Especially for a Friday night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing!!! The food is delicious. The at ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing!!! The food is delicious. The attention is marvelous, it's a great time!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fun, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good menu local fish cooked to perfectio ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Good menu local fish cooked to perfection. Remember it is so fla a little warm outside but we enjoyed the view very much and again the meal was cooked to perfection Hope it becomes one of your favorite places 😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Although it is not around the corner...u ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Although it is not around the corner...unless you live in Old Cutler, the view of the bay is gorgeous and worth the drive. The food was delicious and proportioned. Service was excellent and selection of wine list was decent. Would definitely return to the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When arrived ask about my reservation an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

When arrived ask about my reservation and did not was ready also requested sitting out side and letting me know that to sit outside need to be requested at the time when did my reservation. Inside was very loud. Not romantic at all 😧

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Beautiful place, charming and unique in ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Beautiful place, charming and unique in the heart of Old cuttler with a delicious food, perfect desert and great service....

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Aerial, was lovely. I menti ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our server, Aerial, was lovely. I mentioned that we enjoy LeCrema red wine, and she knew exactly what to recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good as always, but service was not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food good as always, but service was not up to par. Every restaurant has its off moments. We happened to be there at one of those. I have been and will continue to be a loyal customer though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great food and ambiance, with a quaint o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and ambiance, with a quaint outdoor seating area. Our server "Richard" provided outstanding service, which made our dining experience extremely enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose the "Miami Spice" menu and got ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We chose the "Miami Spice" menu and got to taste several different dishes, all of which were excellent. The ceviche had a sweet touch, which sets it apart from the usual citrus focus. I had a dish the chef was trying out -- parmesan-crusted black grouper -- and it was excellent. They had a kid's menus but my son had half-order of mussels and really liked them. The server was friendly and knowledgeable. The setting is hard to beat in the middle of Matheson Hammock Park.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great view, great staff neve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great food, great view, great staff never disappointed when we go there

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our diner, very nice personne ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We enjoyed our diner, very nice personnel and perfect ambiance.

We are ailine crew and hope to come back some time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Typically this restaurant has amazing fo ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Typically this restaurant has amazing food on their regular menu. However, the Miami Spice menu compared to their regular menu was not very good. We understood that the quality would not be the same, but still we expected it to be decent which is not alot to ask. My wife and I ordered the Grouper and the Porkchop dish and unfortunately both of the plates were not very and the meats were over cooked beyond well done. Additionally, the desserts were also small and they did not taste the same as the last time we visited this venue. Final thought is, I would go there any other day and recommend ordering from the regular menu, but I do not recommend dinning there for Miami Spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food and service. Our waiter, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. Our waiter, Ian, was outstanding.

I highly recommend The Red Fish Grill to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Fish Grill never disappoints. The sc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Red Fish Grill never disappoints. The scenery is amazing, the service is outstanding and the food is delicious. Great for dinner with friend or a romantic date night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to this legendary Dade Co ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My first visit to this legendary Dade County spot. Matheson Hammock is awesome all on its own. The restaurant has outstanding local seafood (tuna tartare; crab and corn chowder; fresh red snapper); a quiet atmosphere (we sat indoors); and friendly, knowledgeable, unintrusive staff. Every bit as romantic as promised. I would go back in a second.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Historic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Back again for a special birthday dinner ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Back again for a special birthday dinner. Miami Spice selection provided a great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Red Fish Gril ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Red Fish Grill. The outside terrace is a wonderful place to dine. Despite being August in Miami, the breeze was wonderful. Inside seemed a bit loud when we passed it. Service was very attentive. We started with the crab cakes which were excellent. Big lump crabmeat and a hard crust. Really well done. Mussels were ok. The broth needed seasoning. Grilled red snapper was excellent. Key lime pie was tart and had a great crust.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed a beautiful sunset Miami Spice d ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Enjoyed a beautiful sunset Miami Spice dinner! The snapper and grouper fish were excellent along with the white wine recommended by our friendly waiter who gave us outstanding service. Loved sitting outside to enjoy the relaxing view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not many options for substitutes.our ser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Not many options for substitutes.our server ariel was fantastic. But too many mosquitoes and not enough done to keep them away.spent the whole dinner scratching away

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Enjoyable early dinner. Forgetful server ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyable early dinner. Forgetful server. Overall pleasant experience but they missed out on excellence especially when not so busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Went there for a birthday,

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went there for a birthday,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view of the Matheson lagoon. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Beautiful view of the Matheson lagoon. Sit outside if weather permits. Many lovely memories-I grew up swimming there as a child. Love this restaurant. Grouper was delicious and key lime pie with a graham cracker nut crust is devine!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was great the table I reserved o ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

service was great the table I reserved outside was ready in no time. My server was great very knowledgeable about food and wine list. the ambiance was great and the appetizers, food and wine were delicious I would definitely tell friends and family about the great experience.

Thank you red fish grill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grouper was nicely sautéed, moist, and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Grouper was nicely sautéed, moist, and an ample serving. Several used the Miami Spice menu and found it very satisfactory. would recommend and return

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was the first time my date and I we ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

this was the first time my date and I went to the Red Fish Grill. We were so impressed not only because it is indeed a beautiful hidden gem, but it was romantic, and the food was outstanding. Everything was just right, and we will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last night was our first time at this be ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Last night was our first time at this beautiful restaurant and I totally recommended ( let me mention iam very picky ) this restaurant is a true 5 ***** Magnificent food & Exceptional service and great view .

Richard (waiter ) made our experience even better with hs positive energy and excellent service .. Ask for him if you want to have a nice time ... Thank you Richard :)

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations for 4 with Open tab ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We made reservations for 4 with Open table and were seated upon arrival. The Miami Spice menu had great choices do we really enjoyed our dishes. The corn chowder with crab and the calamari were both excellent. All 4 of us chose the Parmesan encrusted black grouper which was cooked to perfection and was excellent. We tried the key lime pie and the coconut flan and these were really good as well. The key lime pie crust was unique with Graham cracker, roasted almonds and cinnamon which made the key lime pie a favorite. Our server Jason did an outstanding job and everyone throughly enjoyed their meal at the Redfish Grill.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. We loved the service a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great experience. We loved the service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was lacking and food was not gre ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was lacking and food was not great. We were sat outside during a thunderstorm without being asked our preference. When we requested to sit inside, we were told by the manager that we had to wait 45 minutes although we had reservations and there were alternate tables available. At that point, we were already there so we thought to be a good sport. However, the rain hitting the canvas roof was so loud we had to yell in order to hear each other. Also, it was extremely hot inside the canvas enclosure as the sides were closed due to the rain. Basically, we had an overpriced dinner inside a loud, hot, humid plastic box. There are no fans on the outside area and the manager would not allow the door to be kept open to allow A/C from the inside into the hot, humid plastic box. That was nice of her. Unfortunately for us, the food was nothing to write home about either. Overall, it was an unpleasant experience and we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.