About Red Fish Grill

9610 Old Cutler Road
Miami, FL 33156
View Larger Map

Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Please visit our website for further details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Old Cutler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 668-8788

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.net/

Catering:
Please contact Chris Klaic for all off-site catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There are 300 parking spaces available to customers.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Cortes

Private Party Facilities:
Red Fish Grill has private dining available for your next business meeting or family function.

Private Party Contact:
Brittani Thoma: 3056688788x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fennel Seared Yellow Tail
Key Lime Pie
Salmon Ceviche
Curried Banana Soup
Steak
Conch Fritters
Tuna Cevice
Seafood Risotto
Cardamom, cumin and almond crusted Mahi Mahi
Jerk Spiced Mahi Mahi
crabcake
Fried Calamari
Caribbean Mahi Mahi
Chilean Sea Bass

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Miami / Southeast Florida
Outdoor Dining
Miami / Southeast Florida
Romantic
Miami / Southeast Florida
6 More
Scenic View
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Ambiance
Miami - Dade County
Outdoor Dining
Miami - Dade County
Romantic
Miami - Dade County
Scenic View
Miami - Dade County
Special Occasion
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

romantic (102)
great for outdoor dining (97)
scenic view (96)
See All
special occasion (88)
fit for foodies (36)
neighborhood gem (35)
good for groups (25)
notable wine list (11)
late-night find (11)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Caribbean music and the ocean/ lagoo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 2 days ago

The Caribbean music and the ocean/ lagoon seeing made the evening seem as though we were on vacation when we were really just 45-50 minutes from our home in the suburbs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This is a restaurant that flourished on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is a restaurant that flourished on the Marketing. The restaurant didn't try much for the decor since it is right on the beach. We sat outside and got attacked by a swarm of flies as soon as the food came out. The food was uninteresting and unappetizing. The ceviche was good. The waitstaff was very friendly and welcoming but they knew that this was overrated. It is way out the way in Coral Gables as well. I would not recommend anyone coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The crab cakes were great! The shrimp sc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The crab cakes were great! The shrimp scampi was good. The service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Service was excellent. Our server was we ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was excellent. Our server was well versed in all the items on the menu. He treated us as if we were the only ones in the restaurant. He was very attentive and paid attention to every detail. Good was excellent as well. We had yummy appetizers, entrees and dessert. There were no leftovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place with really good food and ser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice place with really good food and service. Outside seating was very romantic but the chairs need to be more comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful scenery outside with a view of ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Beautiful scenery outside with a view of Miami across the water. Service was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a special and different place fo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is a special and different place for outdoor dining.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good, but the food was o ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The service was good, but the food was only fair. Menu is boring with no imagination and actual presentation was amateurish. I hadn't been here in a few years and had hoped it had gotten better. It has not improved.

It is disappointing because the location is perfect for a seafood restaurant. I probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

You never go wrong when you choose this ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

You never go wrong when you choose this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a lovely place. Super romantic and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Just a lovely place. Super romantic and the food is good. I had the Caribbean bouillabaisse and nearly licked the bowl. She had the hangar steak and loved it. The staff was awesome and stopped by and chatted with us in a nice way that never intruded on our special meal. I don't want to tell people about this place but want to undo any bad reviews. Keep this place just between us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great nice location. Good menu. Great am ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great nice location. Good menu. Great ambiance. Eat inside when dining during sunset, because the no-see-uhm flies will get to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Red Fish Grill several t ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We have been to Red Fish Grill several times. The food is amazing. You can't go wrong with any of the fish dishes. The fried calamari, crab cakes and ceviche are very good. They have a very good wine selection.

Ask for Aaron to be your server!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service,a beautiful view and a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service,a beautiful view and a wonderful meal. An all around great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No bar. . . no cocktails. Dessert menu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

No bar. . . no cocktails.

Dessert menu, scant, with only 3 choices

Views, quite breath taking, with expansive views of the ocean and beach

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great scenery but my Mahi was fishy and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great scenery but my Mahi was fishy and dry and my husbands chicken extremely salty.

We were so disappointed since the ambience is wonderful.

I am recommending it solely on the view and setting and possibly trying other dishes.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

A new menu and chef will be recommended, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A new menu and chef will be recommended, incredible place but very poor restaurant setup, menu, wine list and service

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The food and service was awesome! We cel ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food and service was awesome! We celebrated our 10 year wedding Anniversary there and they made us feel special. Also, our waiter Ian, was the best! Thank you so much!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best Restaurant in Miami BY ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is the best Restaurant in Miami BY FAR.

FOOD is GREEAAAT

SERVICE IS SUPER NICE

its not my first time here but it was the best.

they improve on all fronts. I have never giving a 5 all across to any restaurant before.

Try the sea bass ,the Carpaccio the oil and bread, all are to die for.

Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very impressed with the staff's ho ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I was very impressed with the staff's hospitality and service. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to a friend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I had dinner with our two da ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife and I had dinner with our two daughters(5 and 6). We were celebrating their birthdays together there. I must say that the food was amazing. Super fresh and super delicious. We both had the mouth watering red snapper entree with the yuca chips and fried calamari to start. The kids devoured the appetizer and ate most of their grilled burger. They even sang happy birthday to our little ones. Very special place and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Glad we tried it

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Everything we ordered was simply delicious. Snapper, tuna (that person said best tuna dish he's ever eaten!), steak, and shrimp scampi were all well balanced in seasonings and properly cooked.

Wish I could afford to go on a regular basis. Not too expensive, and still a good value relative to other quality restaurants, but not cheap.

View was great, service was very attentive.

Just note that gps may not take you directly there and the entrance is hard to see at night. Go to the marina entrance and drive to the end.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best shrimp scampi ever!!! Great service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Best shrimp scampi ever!!! Great service thanks to Ariel and the view is priceless!! Great to see this restaurant still going strong after all these years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alfresco dining gem

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

It was a delightful location for alfresco dining . The food was most satisfying & the staff were very attentive .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect for engagement celebration

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I was looking for a romantic spot to my engagement. I chose the best spot. Fantastic service and great food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect location

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This is the perfect place for a romantic evening. A fantastic location that is matched by great food and amazing service. A little out of the way but it's completely worth it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent meal. better to go in the even ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

excellent meal. better to go in the evening when the beach closes. its less noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fish was really fresh, overall good was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fish was really fresh, overall good was good ambiance was amazing very nice place for a fancy date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

GREAT Seafood and location!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Ate outside, it was wonderful - had the best bigeye Tuna in my life.....and service was impeccable...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice dinner. All the entr ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a very nice dinner. All the entrees were cooked to perfection. Our server was attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful setting...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Lovely restaurant. Good fresh imaginative food.service was great. A few bugs at sundown but if you want to dine then you can sit indoors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Upon first driving through the neighborh ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Upon first driving through the neighborhood to get to the restaurant, one is transported to old Florida, surrounded by beautiful homes and Banyan trees. One might think they are lost, driving forever endlessly, or one might find it to be an adventure- as my date and I did.

Once you make it to the parking lot you see the city skyline and you know it's going to be a beautiful place. The inside and outside dining views do not disappoint. Neither does the service, the food, the low key music, and ambiance. All around, it was an absolutely wonderful experience and I will recommend Red Fish to all my friends. I will be back as often as possible!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The outdoor space is beautiful and the food was good. We ordered the sea bass which was very nice as well as the bouillabaisse. However, the snapper was simple and not too appealing and the pasta with shrimp was creamy and heavy. There is room for improvement music-wise, as it was kind of dull. ..

Overall, the setting offsets the negatives.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing, took me and my boyfriend to tha ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing, took me and my boyfriend to that whimsical place I wanted us to be!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

It's was so nice , I went for my birthda ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

It's was so nice , I went for my birthday. The waitress was just the best , she suggest a great bottle of wine ! I had the snapper , it was good great seasoning ! My family had the salmon and fell in love with it . The Angus steak was a bit dry and not very tasty but it could be because we requested it well done for the kids . Also the calamari was so good we got a second one 😄

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Venue. Prolific service. Oustandin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great Venue. Prolific service. Oustanding food. Best Sea Bass in town. Perfect location. Add the walk on the beach and you have the perfect spot.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for Mother's Day

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great place with incredible views. Food was very good, everyone enjoyed their entrees and the appetizers were excellent. Good wine selection and reasonably priced. We were seated promptly and were served quickly. Not our first time, won't be our last.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Boulabaise was out of this world. Mahi m ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Boulabaise was out of this world. Mahi mahi was done to perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Attitude of staff wa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was very good. Attitude of staff was not as good. Hostess (as happened first time we came) was rather cold and unpleasant- general demeanor of staff seems arrogant. Beautiful location but could be much more welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food does not match the view

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

First time at Red Fish Grill and it a very pleasant evening, perfect to dine outside on the patio. The view across the lagoon to the ocean/bay was nice with a gentle breeze and low humidity.

But alas we were at a restaurant and this is a food review not a B-novel and the food was not good. There was no taste, no 'hmmm' moment and no style. Started with two salads: Arugula & Beets and Spring Mesclun Salad. Both were basically heaps of greens with, respectively, no beets, no gruyere, no bacon and little vinaigrette and the same with the Mesclun - just greens.

For entrees had the Pan Fried Snapper and the Cumin-Crusted Bigeye Tuna - both arrived cold and were disappointing. Again how there be no taste to these dishes and the snapper was over-cooked.

Didn't stick around for dessert. Wine list is limited but at least the Duval-Leroy Brut champagne was good but hint to staff - it should be served COLD - not the fish, the champagne.

Add in the party next to us that include a bunch of kids playing tag amongst the tables and bushes which their parents were ignoring and for the money you're going to spend best to try someplace else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Beautiful

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The night we ate at Red Fish was beautiful. Great outdoor setting. The food and service were very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.