About Red Fish Grill

9610 Old Cutler Road
Miami, FL 33156
View Larger Map

Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Please visit our website for further details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Old Cutler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 668-8788

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.net/

Catering:
Please contact Chris Klaic for all off-site catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There are 300 parking spaces available to customers.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Cortes

Private Party Facilities:
Red Fish Grill has private dining available for your next business meeting or family function.

Private Party Contact:
Brittani Thoma: 3056688788x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fennel Seared Yellow Tail  - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Salmon Ceviche - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Key Lime Pie - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Curried Banana Soup - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Conch Fritters - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Steak - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Cardamom, cumin and almond crusted Mahi Mahi - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Seafood Risotto - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Tuna Cevice - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Jerk Spiced Mahi Mahi - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
crabcake - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Fried Calamari - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Caribbean Mahi Mahi - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Chilean Sea Bass - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Miami / Southeast Florida
Scenic View
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

Scenic View (54)
Waterfront (50)
Great for Outdoor Dining (49)
See All
Romantic (47)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for a Date (35)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Cozy (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Historic (11)
Authentic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Casual (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1583 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great neighborhood place - good food, ni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great neighborhood place - good food, nice atmosphere, casual.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very nice and Romantic place to be. Awes ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice and Romantic place to be. Awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Good place, very simple menu. The main a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Good place, very simple menu. The main attraction is the location and the view, definitely one of the best in the city.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I loved the ambiance, the service and th ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I loved the ambiance, the service and the food was excellent, strongly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the beauty of the location a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went for the beauty of the location and were happily surprised by the excellence of the food. Everything was delicious and well

Prepared. Service was also very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We chose The Red Fish Grill to celebrate ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We chose The Red Fish Grill to celebrate our son's wedding anniversary. Since we had enjoyed both the ambiance and food there previously, we were excited to show the locale off to our son and his wife. Sadly, our night did not go so well. Our waitress dumped a full glass of red wine on our guests of honor at the very outset of our visit. Although everyone was apologetic, and the manager offered to reimburse dry cleaning costs, we were quite surprised to not have an offer to comp something to make up for the mishap - perhaps, at least, the replacement glass of wine. To add to this sense of disinterest on the part of the facility, they did not acknowledge the special event in any way even though it was part of our reservation. In fact, when they brought a desert for the guests of honor, complete with a candle, the charge was included on our tab.

The food was very good to excellent as usual for this venue. The calamari appetizer was exceptional, even if on the small side. My shrimp scampi was good - not great. The shrimp was perfectly cooked but seemed to lack any flavoring at all. The other fish dishes were very good.

Needless to say, we will have second thoughts about returning to celebrate a special occasion at the Red Fish Grill.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Lovely location with a great wine select ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Lovely location with a great wine selection. We sampled four separate entrees without finding anything of interest. Would recommend drinks only to experience the beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

I had been to Red Fish before about 15 y ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I had been to Red Fish before about 15 years ago. The food was excellent back then. The service was slow (from the time I arrived with my reservations that had been confirmed by them at 12 pm that afternoon) all the way through dinner. My fish was cold when it arrived. I went to see the restaurant again since I am getting married again and I thought the venue would be nice - it is, but not the service or food so I think I'll pass. Hope they get it right soon as the view is beautiful.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The wonderful tables by the bay are wond ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The wonderful tables by the bay are wonderful. The food is all okay, not gourmet, but nicely prepared. If there is a problem, you are attended to immediately and with courtesy. That is a plus. We would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I went for my husband's birthday.  Food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I went for my husband's birthday. Food ok, portions small and very pricey

and not even a recognition of his bday. Not even a teeny bday complimentary dessert?? Guess I paid for the ambience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great place for a special occasion. Didn ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place for a special occasion. Didn't have all choices in red wine available. Entrees were very good but overall a bit pricey.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful waterfront restaurant. Very r ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful waterfront restaurant. Very romantic and the food and service was perfect.

Tags: Seasonal, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent ambient and excellent food. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Magnificent ambient and excellent food. The staff is very professional and the level and selection of the music is pretty nice.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is one of the best places to go eat in M ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Is one of the best places to go eat in Miami, quiet, far from any crowd.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic, excellent service!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very romantic, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great place very romantic, excellent foo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

great place very romantic, excellent food and excellent service

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined outside here on a Friday night wit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Dined outside here on a Friday night with relatives who were in town. The food was very good and enjoyed by all, although overall not quite worth the menu prices. For $45 the Chilean Sea Bass should have been exceptional, and it was good but not 5 star restaurant good. It seems like you're paying for the ambience - even though it's dark before dinner in the winter, the patio is absolutely beautiful with lights strung around the palm trees and soft music. We loved the atmosphere. The service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

This is the most beautiful restaurant in ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This is the most beautiful restaurant in Miami at this time of the year.

The food is good, good service but the views are the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a very nice dinner at this remote ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at this remote little gem inside Matheson hammocks park. The waitress was excellent, very attentive and friendly. The ambiance is elegant, cozy, yet casual. The food was very good, we had the sea bass, grilled chicken, steak, and shrimp scampi. After dinner, we walked to the outside facing the bay and it's a beautiful view. They have outdoor seating as well. Two negatives: dark roads on the way to the restaurant and wine/beer only. Otherwise, I recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The scenic view is very nice. The servic ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The scenic view is very nice. The service was excellent. The food was very good. The restaurant is not noisy and you can actually hear your tablemates.

Tags: Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice and secluded. Quiet, with grea ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very nice and secluded. Quiet, with great food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been a favorite spot for me and the miss ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Been a favorite spot for me and the misses for a good while now. Have celebrated all of our wedding anniversaries here. Great views, great service and most important great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Unfortunately we got caught in traffic a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Unfortunately we got caught in traffic and were too late for the sunset, but they were considerate enough to rearrange our reservations for us. We sat outside and were cared for well. We were disappointed that they took Lobster Mac and Cheese off the menu. Their's was the absolute best! THe meals were wonderful. The service was good an the ambiance was terrific.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday anniversary, it was a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was my birthday anniversary, it was a great experience, great dinner night, really good food, an excellent service, the waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Seasonal, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our son & girlfriend were visiting us fr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our son & girlfriend were visiting us from PA. My husband & I thought, what better place with perfect ambiance than Red Fish... so glad we chose you! Thank you, especially to our server, Erika!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice ambiance and food, service was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very nice ambiance and food, service was OK but could be a bit more friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Haven't been in a long time but the weat ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Haven't been in a long time but the weather was perfect to sit outside. The food was really great but a little pricey. Waiter was very nice and not overbearing but attentive.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the place, great for almost everyth ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love the place, great for almost everything, felt rushed perhaps because it was Saturday. But, will keep going

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The view and ambiance were amazing. Howe ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The view and ambiance were amazing. However, the malanga fries in my opinion were WAY TOO salty. I'm usually a person that adds salt to food but they were way over seasoned atleast this time around. My shrimp linguine was pretty good, nothing to write home about. but what trumps it all is that our server was very nice with outstanding customer service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This restaurant is one of the best I've ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This restaurant is one of the best I've ever been to - the food is amazing and the ambiance beautiful- our service was exceptional- so many choices in the Miami area - this is a place we go to again and again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Fish's view did not disappoint. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Red Fish's view did not disappoint. The venue-gorgeous. The service was fine, light breeze, soft lighting outside. Only drawback is that we went during a king tide-high tide. The parking lot was quite flooded when we arrived and more so when we finished dining. I would recommend that they inform diners beforehand where best to park (highest ground possible), then have a shuttle to take them to their cars (an employee could do that-it wasn't that busy on a Thursday night) so they avoid wading through foot deep water. They kindly offered plastic trash bags to save my husbands shoes, but the bags ripped as he had quite a trek. Otherwise-excellent food-definitely I would go again and would recommend it.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing seafood that is extremely fresh, ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Amazing seafood that is extremely fresh, local and super tasty. We had a wonderful romantic dinner for our anniversary with a great server who was so attentive and kind.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eduardo was a wonderful server. The foo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Eduardo was a wonderful server. The food was amazing as usual. My mother was visiting from Maryland and gave the Maryland Crab Soup her stamp of approval.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Fish Grill is a great place to go in ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Red Fish Grill is a great place to go in Miami for alfresco dining. It's location at Matheson Hammock is historic and peaceful. The food is delicious and the service is attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fourth visit. The first thr ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was our fourth visit. The first three times were very good, but this time it was bad from the start. We ordered a calimari to start, but we were told they were sold out even though the restarurant had only been open for an hour. I found that odd so I asked the manager who was a little more forthcoming about what happened (delivery issues). The bread they brought out was cold and hard. For our main course, we had to send one plate back, because it was just too raw to eat (requested well done from the start), and the other plate was just bland and tasteless. I ate it, but I really didn't like it. How can you make a tasteless shrimp scampi?! No salt, no seasoning on it at all, and I very rarely need to add salt to my food to begin with. The server was just okay. Not very attentive, not helpful at all. Just a mediocre dinner overall this time. We'll be taking a break for a while, if we go back....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

First time at this restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 9, 2016

First time at this restaurant. The food and service were fantastic. My wife had the Tuna and I had the Pork Chop. Both plates were tasteful and well balanced. The location could not get any better with the ocean and downtown Miami as a backdrop. I would recommend this place for any type of occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the place we take everyone who c ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is the place we take everyone who comes to visit. The food is fabulous, the service impeccable and the views unmatchable in Miami. Situated in a state park on the bay, it is lively and yet intimate at the same time. The seafood is fresh and they have plenty of options for those who don't eat seafood too. I always try the specials but my husband loves their shrimp scampi.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food and the service but un ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We loved the food and the service but unfortunately we got a table outside and it was way too humid and there were no fans anywhere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing decor, great food. Definitely ro ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Amazing decor, great food. Definitely romantic , outside seating is beautiful

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything is delicious! Service also ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Everything is delicious! Service also out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.