About Red Fish Grill

9610 Old Cutler Road
Miami, FL 33156
View Larger Map

Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Please visit our website for further details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Old Cutler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 668-8788

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.net/

Catering:
Please contact Chris Klaic for all off-site catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There are 300 parking spaces available to customers.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Cortes

Private Party Facilities:
Red Fish Grill has private dining available for your next business meeting or family function.

Private Party Contact:
Brittani Thoma: 3056688788x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Fennel Seared Yellow Tail
Salmon Ceviche
Key Lime Pie
Curried Banana Soup
Conch Fritters
Steak
Cardamom, cumin and almond crusted Mahi Mahi
Seafood Risotto
Tuna Cevice
Jerk Spiced Mahi Mahi
crabcake
Fried Calamari
Caribbean Mahi Mahi
Chilean Sea Bass

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Miami / Southeast Florida
Romantic
Miami / Southeast Florida
Scenic View
Miami / Southeast Florida
4 More
Outdoor Dining
Miami - Dade County
Romantic
Miami - Dade County
Scenic View
Miami - Dade County
Special Occasion
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

Romantic (82)
Scenic View (78)
Great for Outdoor Dining (73)
See All
Special Occasion (67)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (17)
Late-night Find (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1512 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My first visit to this legendary Dade Co ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

My first visit to this legendary Dade County spot. Matheson Hammock is awesome all on its own. The restaurant has outstanding local seafood (tuna tartare; crab and corn chowder; fresh red snapper); a quiet atmosphere (we sat indoors); and friendly, knowledgeable, unintrusive staff. Every bit as romantic as promised. I would go back in a second.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Historic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Back again for a special birthday dinner ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Back again for a special birthday dinner. Miami Spice selection provided a great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Red Fish Gril ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful meal at Red Fish Grill. The outside terrace is a wonderful place to dine. Despite being August in Miami, the breeze was wonderful. Inside seemed a bit loud when we passed it. Service was very attentive. We started with the crab cakes which were excellent. Big lump crabmeat and a hard crust. Really well done. Mussels were ok. The broth needed seasoning. Grilled red snapper was excellent. Key lime pie was tart and had a great crust.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed a beautiful sunset Miami Spice d ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed a beautiful sunset Miami Spice dinner! The snapper and grouper fish were excellent along with the white wine recommended by our friendly waiter who gave us outstanding service. Loved sitting outside to enjoy the relaxing view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not many options for substitutes.our ser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Not many options for substitutes.our server ariel was fantastic. But too many mosquitoes and not enough done to keep them away.spent the whole dinner scratching away

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Enjoyable early dinner. Forgetful server ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyable early dinner. Forgetful server. Overall pleasant experience but they missed out on excellence especially when not so busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Went there for a birthday,

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went there for a birthday,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view of the Matheson lagoon. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Beautiful view of the Matheson lagoon. Sit outside if weather permits. Many lovely memories-I grew up swimming there as a child. Love this restaurant. Grouper was delicious and key lime pie with a graham cracker nut crust is devine!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was great the table I reserved o ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

service was great the table I reserved outside was ready in no time. My server was great very knowledgeable about food and wine list. the ambiance was great and the appetizers, food and wine were delicious I would definitely tell friends and family about the great experience.

Thank you red fish grill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grouper was nicely sautéed, moist, and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Grouper was nicely sautéed, moist, and an ample serving. Several used the Miami Spice menu and found it very satisfactory. would recommend and return

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was the first time my date and I we ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

this was the first time my date and I went to the Red Fish Grill. We were so impressed not only because it is indeed a beautiful hidden gem, but it was romantic, and the food was outstanding. Everything was just right, and we will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last night was our first time at this be ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Last night was our first time at this beautiful restaurant and I totally recommended ( let me mention iam very picky ) this restaurant is a true 5 ***** Magnificent food & Exceptional service and great view .

Richard (waiter ) made our experience even better with hs positive energy and excellent service .. Ask for him if you want to have a nice time ... Thank you Richard :)

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations for 4 with Open tab ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We made reservations for 4 with Open table and were seated upon arrival. The Miami Spice menu had great choices do we really enjoyed our dishes. The corn chowder with crab and the calamari were both excellent. All 4 of us chose the Parmesan encrusted black grouper which was cooked to perfection and was excellent. We tried the key lime pie and the coconut flan and these were really good as well. The key lime pie crust was unique with Graham cracker, roasted almonds and cinnamon which made the key lime pie a favorite. Our server Jason did an outstanding job and everyone throughly enjoyed their meal at the Redfish Grill.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. We loved the service a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great experience. We loved the service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was lacking and food was not gre ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was lacking and food was not great. We were sat outside during a thunderstorm without being asked our preference. When we requested to sit inside, we were told by the manager that we had to wait 45 minutes although we had reservations and there were alternate tables available. At that point, we were already there so we thought to be a good sport. However, the rain hitting the canvas roof was so loud we had to yell in order to hear each other. Also, it was extremely hot inside the canvas enclosure as the sides were closed due to the rain. Basically, we had an overpriced dinner inside a loud, hot, humid plastic box. There are no fans on the outside area and the manager would not allow the door to be kept open to allow A/C from the inside into the hot, humid plastic box. That was nice of her. Unfortunately for us, the food was nothing to write home about either. Overall, it was an unpleasant experience and we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Excellent food and great ambiance... Ver ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and great ambiance... Very romantic! Great date night.😊

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view and great food. Waiter was ve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great view and great food. Waiter was very good. Super chill and it easy easy to reserve via Opentable.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a date, romantic and good am ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Perfect for a date, romantic and good ambiance. food is great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovely setting offering fish and seafood ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

lovely setting offering fish and seafood (along with a beef, pork and chicken choice).

very attentive service received from Eduardo and his colleagues.

the food was very nicely prepared and tasted delicious.

the dessert choices were limited (3) and disappointing. but the food was great!

get there before the sun sets to enjoy the beautiful setting and go from day to night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice food, ambience and service. Would g ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Nice food, ambience and service. Would go back again in the future. Off the beaten path but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I notice that tge menu has not changed m ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I notice that tge menu has not changed much. The ambiance was very nice (we sat outside) except for the flies. Don't know why they don't have fans to circulate air and keep tge flies at bay.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The Caribbean music and the ocean/ lagoo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Caribbean music and the ocean/ lagoon seeing made the evening seem as though we were on vacation when we were really just 45-50 minutes from our home in the suburbs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This is a restaurant that flourished on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This is a restaurant that flourished on the Marketing. The restaurant didn't try much for the decor since it is right on the beach. We sat outside and got attacked by a swarm of flies as soon as the food came out. The food was uninteresting and unappetizing. The ceviche was good. The waitstaff was very friendly and welcoming but they knew that this was overrated. It is way out the way in Coral Gables as well. I would not recommend anyone coming here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The crab cakes were great! The shrimp sc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The crab cakes were great! The shrimp scampi was good. The service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Top quality service with a conciencious ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Top quality service with a conciencious mind in price love everything about this restaurant view perfect for spectacular photos.. Food is great and deserts much better.. Totally recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Our server was we ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was excellent. Our server was well versed in all the items on the menu. He treated us as if we were the only ones in the restaurant. He was very attentive and paid attention to every detail. Good was excellent as well. We had yummy appetizers, entrees and dessert. There were no leftovers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place with really good food and ser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Nice place with really good food and service. Outside seating was very romantic but the chairs need to be more comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful scenery outside with a view of ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Beautiful scenery outside with a view of Miami across the water. Service was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a special and different place fo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is a special and different place for outdoor dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good, but the food was o ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The service was good, but the food was only fair. Menu is boring with no imagination and actual presentation was amateurish. I hadn't been here in a few years and had hoped it had gotten better. It has not improved.

It is disappointing because the location is perfect for a seafood restaurant. I probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

You never go wrong when you choose this ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

You never go wrong when you choose this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a lovely place. Super romantic and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Just a lovely place. Super romantic and the food is good. I had the Caribbean bouillabaisse and nearly licked the bowl. She had the hangar steak and loved it. The staff was awesome and stopped by and chatted with us in a nice way that never intruded on our special meal. I don't want to tell people about this place but want to undo any bad reviews. Keep this place just between us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great nice location. Good menu. Great am ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great nice location. Good menu. Great ambiance. Eat inside when dining during sunset, because the no-see-uhm flies will get to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Red Fish Grill several t ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We have been to Red Fish Grill several times. The food is amazing. You can't go wrong with any of the fish dishes. The fried calamari, crab cakes and ceviche are very good. They have a very good wine selection.

Ask for Aaron to be your server!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service,a beautiful view and a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service,a beautiful view and a wonderful meal. An all around great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No bar. . . no cocktails. Dessert menu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

No bar. . . no cocktails.

Dessert menu, scant, with only 3 choices

Views, quite breath taking, with expansive views of the ocean and beach

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great scenery but my Mahi was fishy and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great scenery but my Mahi was fishy and dry and my husbands chicken extremely salty.

We were so disappointed since the ambience is wonderful.

I am recommending it solely on the view and setting and possibly trying other dishes.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

A new menu and chef will be recommended, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A new menu and chef will be recommended, incredible place but very poor restaurant setup, menu, wine list and service

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The food and service was awesome! We cel ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food and service was awesome! We celebrated our 10 year wedding Anniversary there and they made us feel special. Also, our waiter Ian, was the best! Thank you so much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best Restaurant in Miami BY ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is the best Restaurant in Miami BY FAR.

FOOD is GREEAAAT

SERVICE IS SUPER NICE

its not my first time here but it was the best.

they improve on all fronts. I have never giving a 5 all across to any restaurant before.

Try the sea bass ,the Carpaccio the oil and bread, all are to die for.

Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.