About Red Fish Grill

9610 Old Cutler Road
Miami, FL 33156
View Larger Map

Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Please visit our website for further details.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Old Cutler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 668-8788

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.net/

Catering:
Please contact Chris Klaic for all off-site catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There are 300 parking spaces available to customers.

Executive Chef:
Terrance Daniel

Private Party Facilities:
Red Fish Grill has private dining available for your next business meeting or family function.

Private Party Contact:
Brittani Thoma: (305) 668-8788

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (61)
Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
Romantic (50)
See All
Scenic View (45)
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Special Occasion (33)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Historic (19)
Cozy (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Authentic (12)
Casual (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Healthy (10)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Very nice ambiance with a marvellous view and good service. We enjoyed our time there in good company, delicious food and tasteful wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife went here for a date night. First let me start off by saying we had a wonderful time and the serving staff was as good as you can expect. The view was amazing.

Now for the bad. The apps were great and the desert was as well but while my wife's main dish was great mine was borderline inedible. I ordered the port chop. It is served with a corn pudding and Kale with Bacon. The kale was fine but the chop was very over cooked. I asked for medium but it was at least well done and chewy and fairly dry. But the real deal breaker for me was the corn pudding. It seems that the whole corn was uncooked dry corn. It was crunchy not firm. When I asked about it the server spoke to the chief and said it should be a little al Dente. This wasn't al Dente but hard and crunchy. In addition the flavor wasn't great either. Very bland.

Over we had a wonderful time and I didn't let a single missed entree ruin our evening. I don't know what happened but everything else was lovely. I would give them another chance I think

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Sad but true , had to wait even with a reservation. Nice server very sweet , for got our wine but treated us to desert & didn't charge us for cold chicken that my niece ordered

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Great dining experience. The sea bass and bouillabaisse were exceptional. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner was amazing and our server was very informative and had great customer service skills. Name - Melissa. But overall it was a great dining expirience and my wife loved it. It was a anniversary dinner and hit a home run with it. Thanks!

Raul Gonzalez. 7869725323

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food. Outstanding Chilean sea bass and salmon. Very impressed with the view and atmosphere. Would highly recommend and would love to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Checking it out as our wedding venue

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Delectable fare, beguiling atmosphere, attentive service, all at a reasonable price. What is there not to love!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Very special place, as romantic as it can gets and with good food. ;)

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Great ambiance and excellent food. The restaurant is a castle and it's on-the-job water with a view of the Miami skyline in the near distance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived 10 minutes before our reservation and we were promptly seated. For appetizers we had the ceviche and soup of the day. For the entrees we had the Cumin-Crusted Bigeye Tuna and the Chilean Sea Bass. The entire experience was outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Meal was good, not spectacular as we had hoped. During our week in Miami, we had reservations at 4 restaurants, 3 for dinner, 1 for brunch... This one ended up last on our list of favorites

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent!! Great service. Great food. Beautiful location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I proposed to my now wife here on Valentine's Day in 2010. We've been coming back here to celebrate the date since. The atmosphere is great especially the outdoor seating. The ambiance is cozy and set up for quiet conversation. Beautiful view over the beach area out to the bay.

The food has always been very good with a nice selection of wines. The service is also very good but if the place gets crowded can slow down a bit. Every server we've had has been attentive and quickly got us anything we asked for. Make sure you make reservations.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This time I was very disappointed, my food was great but my moms and my dads food was average at best. Overdone salmon, and tasteless kinoa and a Linguini with shrimp that i could make 10 times better at home! The waiter left us waiting so long after picking up the plates we asked for the check and just left without desert and we were celebrating a BIRTHDAY! The waiter was plessant but we had to ask for everything... napkins, bread, grated cheese. For a restaurant of your price range Everything should be on point.

Tags: Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, great view, great service! Overall, great place!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Red Fish Grill is one of my favorite local restaurants. We had our wedding there in September 2016 and our guests loved the view and delicious dinner. We had dinner there this past Sunday and the view was spectacular. We had the snapper and the Chilean sea bass and the home made key lime pie for dessert. I highly recommend Red Fish Grill for a romantic dinner or for dazzling your out of town guests.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Beautiful views, delicious food ,wonderful service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had booked this restaurant since my wife has been wanting to eat here for sometime. The place is very nice in a secluded beach. From the onset, we arrived about 20 minutes earlier but I figured we can wait by the bar which is something customary I do. To my surprised was informed that the restaurant had no bar which is very odd for a pricey restaurant. They made us sit down in classroom like chairs against the wall and the scene looked like I was waiting for a dr's appointment - No ambiance at all. I had asked for a special seating area and they put us under a canopy tent overlooking a row of dead trees. The water was out there "somewhere" but had no lighting so I might as well been indoors. Now the food. There was a special spinach/crab soup which was Ok, underseasoned. We split an arugula/ beet salad which again was underseasoned. I had asked the waiter for more olive oil and salt which never arrived. The star of the night was the 2 fish we ordered. They definitely know how to cook fish. After dinner, I was in the mood for an after dinner drink but "oh yeah", no bar so we left to the Gables for a night cap. With a bottle of wine and tip, I spent $190 for an average overall experience. Not a place I will be going anytime soon. Ambiance was so/so, no bar is a travesty (dont get that one at all) and the overall food aside from fish was just ok.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had an amazing time RFG, the staff was great. The hostess sat us down as soon as we arrived for our reservation and the waitress came to our table promptly. My wife had the magi which she love I had the hanger stake cooked to perfection at least for my taste. The waitress suggestion of the wine was amazing it went great with our meal. I will definitely be returning to RFG.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place and super romantic. I went on a windy cold day and they gladly sat us inside instead. The view of the moon reflecting on the ocean is breathtaking. No TVs and the relaxing music is not loud so it's great for actually spending time and talking with your partner. Food portions seem small if you're used to massive amounts but surprisingly we both fell satisfied after dinner. No need for a fast-food run afterwards. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very disappointed. We had our daughter wedding there. The wedding was perfect. Took out of town guest there on Friday night for dinner and it was not so good. Something is missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Old Florida still exists in a restaurant constructed from coral stone back in the day in Matheson State Park on Old Cutler Road in Coral Gables. This is a fine dining establishment with prices much less than in downtown Miami, and only 8 miles south. There is a wide open patio with palm trees wrapped in lights - very romantic - separated from a lovely lagoon and sandy beach by only a low hedge. The service was precise, very professional. We started with warm pureed carrot soup which was buttery and luscious. My crab cakes were full of crab meat and my business friend enjoyed her mahi mahi. Altogether a very successful evening, ending with an exquisite creamy flan.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good setting but service downgrades other qyalities for the price they charge.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The view was spectacular, it's just too bad the food is unimaginative and not well executed. The cerviche had not been poached long enough in citrus so it was chewy. My mahi was delicious but the side of mashed sweet potatoes was unappetizing due to an overload of sweetness and nutmeg. Overall the food was average and really should be better considering the view and prices

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It's worth it to eat early to sit outside & catch sunset! Our waiter Eduardo was friendly & excellent service. We had variety of seafood ceviche, pan fried snapper, seafood bouillabaisse all prepared by chef perfectly with interesting sides. Key lime pie was one of best we have had in a while ...don't forget to stroll around beach lagoon & enjoy stars, breezes, & Miami lights in distance-very romantic but good place to take friends & family too❣

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

A pleasant surprise to find such a extraordinary dining experience so close to home. The outdoor setting was most enjoyable and we all enjoyed our appetizers and main entree choices. Will definetly dine there again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They made us wait a very long time and we were there 16 minutes before our reservation time of 8:30pm. Other than that everything was good. Our server, Ariel, was very good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Waited for our table for 20 minutes even though we had a reservation. The hostess was extremely rude, told us that they were full, whatever that means, and that everyone else waiting had a reservation as well. When the manager got involved in the situation was resolved.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love this place; unfortunately, management does nothing to call the attention of guests who let their children run around the restaurant as if in a park, yelling and throwing themselves at each other and nearly knock trays from servers hands. This was our experience even after mentioning to hostess twice. Other diners also complained but it wasn't until almost an hour passed that someone went over to offer the children "ice cream" to settle them. This was very inconsiderate to those of us enjoying a romantic or a nice meal with friends. Management needs to address these problems immediately instead of tiptoeing around them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

From the concierge to waiter to the food my experience was absolutely wonderful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

great place with excellent service the tuna is out of this world

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Just a great spot, excellent service and the food consistently good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 18, 2017

A beautiful, peaceful location to enjoy excellent food and attentive service.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 18, 2017

So I don't know how people can't give this place a five stars. When I enjoyed everything. I mean everything from the amazing customer service from Rebecca. I mean outstanding service. Very, very attentive. The appetizers, entrees, and the deserts. I mean I am

One to complain and I was satisfied with every thing. Our new go to place. Oh and the water guy he was attentive never did he let the water go less than half. I enjoyed spending our 10th year wedding anniversary at this place.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food here is always outstanding. As is the service. And you can't beat the view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very romantic location with great waterfront views. Great quality food with large menu selection. Wine selection is limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great location and delicious food. Shrimp scampi is still my favorite! Nice to see this restaurant popular again after all these years. Only problem is you can't show up without a reservation on the weekend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Server was fantastic! Food was not that great. The sea bass was so -so and so was the pan seared snapper. I've got say the crab cake was excellent. I think a little effort would go along way for garnish on the plate as well. Plating was boring and so was the flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Everything was great.

The only thing that was difficult was getting there. It's so hidden that that it confused the gps.

I would. Go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Beautiful place. Romantic, charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great experience and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One of the most romantic places to have a sunset dinner in Miami. Took my wife for her birthday which is New Year's Day and she absolutely loved it. We have known about this place like forever - but finally got to experience it. Fabulous food. Excellent service and the surrounding Park and Bay views are breathtaking. Excellent first date or special occasion spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food and service; overall overpriced but location is beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Being new to Miami, we were looking for a new New Years Eve tradition! We found it at Red Fish Grill!!! Perfect dinner, wine and ambience!!!! Then, the crowning jewel was watching at least 6 fireworks displays over Key Biscayne, in celebration of midnight. What a wonderful way to start our New Year in a new place!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We've been to Red Fish grill before for anniversaries but this last time was for a Christmas dinner with out of town friends and the experience could not have been better. The seafood is fresh and the presentation is exceptional. Our reservations were for 5:00 to enjoy the beautiful sunset and the view on a Chamber of Commerce winter day in Miami. Perfect weather and excellent service. Among the dishes we and our guests had were the Chilean Sea Bass which was just outstanding and the Cumin crusted big-eye tuna. Others had the pan fried snapper. Many of us enjoyed the ceviche of the day, tuna tartar, and the crab cakes to start and the wine selection was ample and served at the perfect temperature. We look forward to returning soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food and ambiance were really good but the bottle of wine we had gave my husband and I a headache for two days and we were continuously interrupted by our waitress who came by our table a few too many times.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Muy buena locación

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.