About Red Fish Grill

Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Please visit our website for further details.

9610 Old Cutler Road
Miami, FL 33156
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Old Cutler

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 668-8788

Website:
http://www.redfishgrill.net/

Catering:
Please contact Chris Klaic for all off-site catering inquiries.

Parking Details:
There are 300 parking spaces available to customers.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Cortes

Private Party Facilities:
Red Fish Grill has private dining available for your next business meeting or family function.

Private Party Contact:
Brittani Thoma: (305) 668-8788

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Fennel Seared Yellow Tail  - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Salmon Ceviche - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Key Lime Pie - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Curried Banana Soup - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Conch Fritters - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Steak - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Cardamom, cumin and almond crusted Mahi Mahi - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Seafood Risotto - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Tuna Cevice - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Jerk Spiced Mahi Mahi - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
crabcake - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Fried Calamari - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Caribbean Mahi Mahi - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL
Chilean Sea Bass - Red Fish Grill, Miami, FL

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us and spend Valentines Day at one of OpenTables most romantic restaurants!
Red Fish Grill will be open from 6:00 pm to 10:30 pm.
We will be featuring a pre fixed menu for $95.00 per person (not including tax and service charge)

Red Fish Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Scenic View (37)
Romantic (36)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Historic (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Authentic (10)
Casual (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great location and delicious food. Shri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Great location and delicious food. Shrimp scampi is still my favorite! Nice to see this restaurant popular again after all these years. Only problem is you can't show up without a reservation on the weekend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was fantastic! Food was not that ...

vip
·Dined 5 days ago

Server was fantastic! Food was not that great. The sea bass was so -so and so was the pan seared snapper. I've got say the crab cake was excellent. I think a little effort would go along way for garnish on the plate as well. Plating was boring and so was the flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything was great. The only thing tha ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Everything was great.

The only thing that was difficult was getting there. It's so hidden that that it confused the gps.

I would. Go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place. Romantic, charming.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Beautiful place. Romantic, charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience and great service.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great experience and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the most romantic places to have ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One of the most romantic places to have a sunset dinner in Miami. Took my wife for her birthday which is New Year's Day and she absolutely loved it. We have known about this place like forever - but finally got to experience it. Fabulous food. Excellent service and the surrounding Park and Bay views are breathtaking. Excellent first date or special occasion spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Good food and service; overall overprice ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food and service; overall overpriced but location is beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Being new to Miami, we were looking for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Being new to Miami, we were looking for a new New Years Eve tradition! We found it at Red Fish Grill!!! Perfect dinner, wine and ambience!!!! Then, the crowning jewel was watching at least 6 fireworks displays over Key Biscayne, in celebration of midnight. What a wonderful way to start our New Year in a new place!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to Red Fish grill before for ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We've been to Red Fish grill before for anniversaries but this last time was for a Christmas dinner with out of town friends and the experience could not have been better. The seafood is fresh and the presentation is exceptional. Our reservations were for 5:00 to enjoy the beautiful sunset and the view on a Chamber of Commerce winter day in Miami. Perfect weather and excellent service. Among the dishes we and our guests had were the Chilean Sea Bass which was just outstanding and the Cumin crusted big-eye tuna. Others had the pan fried snapper. Many of us enjoyed the ceviche of the day, tuna tartar, and the crab cakes to start and the wine selection was ample and served at the perfect temperature. We look forward to returning soon!!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambiance were really good b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food and ambiance were really good but the bottle of wine we had gave my husband and I a headache for two days and we were continuously interrupted by our waitress who came by our table a few too many times.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Over priced

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Muy buena locación

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Muy buena locación

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambiance. Sit outdoo ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Sit outdoors!! Great for a special evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit. We requested ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was our first visit. We requested to sit outside to view the water. We were unable to see the water because it was very dark. But, overall the experience was very nice

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food, service, ambiance are all great! ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Food, service, ambiance are all great! The mahi-mahi and snapper are top notch. The staff is friendly and courteous. And the outside seating on a December night is just gorgeous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Red Fish Restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We have been to the Red Fish Restaurant before and we have always enjoyed the food. This time we were disappointed: we ordered the salmon with orzo; the orzo was completely tasteless and the salmon besides having no flavor was undercooked to my taste. The appetizer (crab cakes) were all right but pricey. Even the bread was not as good as in previous visits. The only thing I enjoyed was the house white wine, a delicious ristling. We were planning to return on February for a birthday celebration but changed our minds. We'll definitely have to find another place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

The place is and the View 👌🏻, it's exa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The place is and the View 👌🏻, it's exactly what u need if you're looking for a great quiet date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This restaurant offers inside and outsid ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This restaurant offers inside and outside dining, we were lucky enough to get a reservation outside, and with the weather we had that day, it worked out really nice; service was excellent, very friendly and they knew what to offer you; the outside area could use a little more light though, it was kind of dark, and could not appreciate the "colors" of your meal, but overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Aaron was a fantastic server; very atten ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Aaron was a fantastic server; very attentive, professional, and knowledgeable .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great neighborhood place - good food, ni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great neighborhood place - good food, nice atmosphere, casual.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, , Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very nice and Romantic place to be. Awes ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very nice and Romantic place to be. Awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Good place, very simple menu. The main a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good place, very simple menu. The main attraction is the location and the view, definitely one of the best in the city.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I loved the ambiance, the service and th ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I loved the ambiance, the service and the food was excellent, strongly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the beauty of the location a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went for the beauty of the location and were happily surprised by the excellence of the food. Everything was delicious and well

Prepared. Service was also very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We chose The Red Fish Grill to celebrate ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We chose The Red Fish Grill to celebrate our son's wedding anniversary. Since we had enjoyed both the ambiance and food there previously, we were excited to show the locale off to our son and his wife. Sadly, our night did not go so well. Our waitress dumped a full glass of red wine on our guests of honor at the very outset of our visit. Although everyone was apologetic, and the manager offered to reimburse dry cleaning costs, we were quite surprised to not have an offer to comp something to make up for the mishap - perhaps, at least, the replacement glass of wine. To add to this sense of disinterest on the part of the facility, they did not acknowledge the special event in any way even though it was part of our reservation. In fact, when they brought a desert for the guests of honor, complete with a candle, the charge was included on our tab.

The food was very good to excellent as usual for this venue. The calamari appetizer was exceptional, even if on the small side. My shrimp scampi was good - not great. The shrimp was perfectly cooked but seemed to lack any flavoring at all. The other fish dishes were very good.

Needless to say, we will have second thoughts about returning to celebrate a special occasion at the Red Fish Grill.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Lovely location with a great wine select ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Lovely location with a great wine selection. We sampled four separate entrees without finding anything of interest. Would recommend drinks only to experience the beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

I had been to Red Fish before about 15 y ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I had been to Red Fish before about 15 years ago. The food was excellent back then. The service was slow (from the time I arrived with my reservations that had been confirmed by them at 12 pm that afternoon) all the way through dinner. My fish was cold when it arrived. I went to see the restaurant again since I am getting married again and I thought the venue would be nice - it is, but not the service or food so I think I'll pass. Hope they get it right soon as the view is beautiful.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The wonderful tables by the bay are wond ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The wonderful tables by the bay are wonderful. The food is all okay, not gourmet, but nicely prepared. If there is a problem, you are attended to immediately and with courtesy. That is a plus. We would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I went for my husband's birthday.  Food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I went for my husband's birthday. Food ok, portions small and very pricey

and not even a recognition of his bday. Not even a teeny bday complimentary dessert?? Guess I paid for the ambience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great place for a special occasion. Didn ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great place for a special occasion. Didn't have all choices in red wine available. Entrees were very good but overall a bit pricey.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful waterfront restaurant. Very r ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful waterfront restaurant. Very romantic and the food and service were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent ambient and excellent food. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Magnificent ambient and excellent food. The staff is very professional and the level and selection of the music is pretty nice.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is one of the best places to go eat in M ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Is one of the best places to go eat in Miami, quiet, far from any crowd.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic, excellent service!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very romantic, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great place very romantic, excellent foo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 12, 2016

great place very romantic, excellent food and excellent service

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined outside here on a Friday night wit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Dined outside here on a Friday night with relatives who were in town. The food was very good and enjoyed by all, although overall not quite worth the menu prices. For $45 the Chilean Sea Bass should have been exceptional, and it was good but not 5 star restaurant good. It seems like you're paying for the ambience - even though it's dark before dinner in the winter, the patio is absolutely beautiful with lights strung around the palm trees and soft music. We loved the atmosphere. The service was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

This is the most beautiful restaurant in ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This is the most beautiful restaurant in Miami at this time of the year.

The food is good, good service but the views are the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I had been dying to come here and it liv ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I had been dying to come here and it lived up to all the hype. Beautiful place to celebrate our anniversary

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice dinner at this remote ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at this remote little gem inside Matheson hammocks park. The waitress was excellent, very attentive and friendly. The ambiance is elegant, cozy, yet casual. The food was very good, we had the sea bass, grilled chicken, steak, and shrimp scampi. After dinner, we walked to the outside facing the bay and it's a beautiful view. They have outdoor seating as well. Two negatives: dark roads on the way to the restaurant and wine/beer only. Otherwise, I recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.