Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Red Eye Brewing Company

At Red Eye we pride ourselves with providing our community with the freshest beer and food available. We strive to operate responsibly, and source natural and locally, when possible.

612 Washington St
Wausau, WI 54403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Sixth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 843-7334

Website:
http://redeyebrewing.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Bychinski

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Red Eye Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (29)
Casual (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Fun (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Wood Oven (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Organic (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Healthy (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Business Meals (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Great. As always. No "brunch," per se, but a great place for a small group having an early lunch on a lazy weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This place was so delicious with such amazing service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The menu is very creative. I love the different menu options that you have. Although it is a tad pricy for what you get. I had the shrimp tacos and while they were tasty it was only the 3 taco's - no sides with it and they had 3 shrimp each with an avocado sauce, cheese and pico de gio. They could have had some napa cabbage or lettuce on them as well. They were $14!!! Also the service was a little slow! We were on a business lunch and we were there for at least 1.5 hours.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent food! Excellent service! Excellent atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Elaine was our server, and she was wonderful. Super knowledgeable about the menu and very kind. I am never disappointed with the food. My drinks were made to perfection. This is the best place in Wausau for a creative, delicious dinner out

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food. Would eat here often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Wausau, hands down. Creative food, good beer, and top notch wood fired pizza. Only improvement would be nice wine selections.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My son and I just visited on 3/27. We both had wood fired pizzas that were delicious! I had a beer flight that prompted me to leave with a howler of Blossom and one of Scarlet 7. Great beer! Lastly, the service was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable of the menu and beer and guided our choices very thoughtfully. If I return to Wausau I will not hesitate to return to Red Eye!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Friendly staff and food was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent meal as always! My husband had a burger and I had their monthly pizza special where half of the price of my pizza goes to a local charity that they rotate monthly. March is the Woman's Community. Red Eye excels in their commitment to using locally grown products and giving back to the community. Always our first choice for dining out in Wausau!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent Food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always impressed with food quality and speed of service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Delicious! Always a friendly environment with great food.

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent gluten free options, great service. Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a reservation, but arrived a little early. They sat us right away anyway, which we appreciated. Food was awesome. Our waitress was equally as awesome. Would highly recommend you check this place out!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always great food!! Glad they take reservations and use Open Table.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Organic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Red Eye never lets me down when I want a good salad or pizza. Reservations are great for busy times, too!

Tags: Healthy, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time to Red Eye and overall was very happy with the restaurant. Food, beer, service were all very good. Would highly recommend to others looking for a good casual destination.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food and service as always, love the gluten free options!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food once again. No issues with anything.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Organic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had an absolutely fantastic meal and looking forward to returning!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had a great time. Friendly staff. Enjoyed beer tasting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was really fresh and delicious, loved the variety of the menu. Great service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's day. Overall not a pleasant experience I would expect for the large premium they charge for the mediocre food. There are other restaurants in the area that charge similar prices that have much better food, ambiance, and service. Bottom line, this restaurant is nice but not at all worth the money.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I reserved a table ahead of time, and we got seated right away. I also called in the order to have it ready by noon, the time of arrival...the food was also ready, but we were on our lunch hour and it took a while for the waitress to return with the check, which made us late in getting back to work. All in all the food was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was delicious as usual. I have never been disappointed with anything. I do wish that they would indicate which items on the menu are spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is the second time we've dined at Red Eye while attending a conference 2 hrs. from home. We wouldn't even consider going anywhere else as it is only once a year and we look forward to returning. G

Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Spicy, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love this place! We booked a relaxing bachelorette weekend in Wausau, WI. in part so we could have dinner at Red Eye Brewing Co. Everyone tried something different and we all loved our food! The food is fresh and flavorful and they seem to do everything well. Our server was fantastic and very attentive to our group. She did a great job! The beer and signature cocktails were delicious as well. Everyone left raving about their food and experience at Red Eye. I only wish we had one in Madison. This place is popular (for good reason) so do the considerate thing and make a reservation if you can.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent experience as always, great gluten free options, awesome beverages, wonderful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went here for a date night while visiting Wausau. The ambience was cool and the beers were great. Unfortunately, the food left much to be desired. The burger we ordered was undercooked and the pizza had too much cheese for my liking. The cheese pretty much drowned out a lot of the other flavors. Don't think I'll be visiting again, unless it's just for a drink and conversation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We are regulars at Red Eye, the restaurant is comfortable and energetic....a great place to be. The food is truly the best there is in Wausau, the menu is great and changes seasonally and the specials are amazing. Cost wise the menu offers something for everyone. I also appreciate that as a non beer drinker there are always a variety of specials and variety for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Wausau. Great wood-fired pizzas and solid beer selection; most of the beers are brewed in house (and are almost all terrific). In addition, a very tasty and interesting farm-to-table menu that constantly evolves (along with more standard fare, burgers, pastas, and sometimes BBQ). Always a fun and festive atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Organic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Everything was great except they have no blinds or window shades. We were seated by the window and lunch time and literally could not look at the menu or each other because it was so bright.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food as usual was outstanding. The menu is creative and contains a good variety, with local ingredients offered. Great value for the food quality. Staff is always friendly, and the atmosphere is fun.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Casual, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Lovely experience in sum: food was authentic and delicious; waitress was superb

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Although in my reservation I mentioned it was my birthday, they did not say or do anything special.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Best Mac and Cheese anywhere!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Red Eye is just so consistently awesome! We enjoy everything we try on their menu. Their chef's menu of specials is so unique and always delicious! We would recommend Red Eye to everyone!!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were in town for a ski trip. It was the number one rated restaurant on Trip Advisor so we decided to give it a try. Great wait staff with a variety of delicious food! Would definitely go back again if we were in the area. Best to call ahead for a reservation.

Tags: Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service and great atmosphere! Menu is not the "norm" which is very refreshing! Love it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.