About Red Eye Brewing Company

612 Washington St
Wausau, WI 54403
View Larger Map

At Red Eye we pride ourselves with providing our community with the freshest beer and food available. We strive to operate responsibly, and source natural and locally, when possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Sixth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 843-7334

Website:
http://redeyebrewing.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Bychinski

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Red Eye Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great Beer (18)
See All
Casual (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Modern Decor (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Wood Oven (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Healthy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Organic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Vegan (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Live Sports (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were in town for a ski trip. It was t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We were in town for a ski trip. It was the number one rated restaurant on Trip Advisor so we decided to give it a try. Great wait staff with a variety of delicious food! Would definitely go back again if we were in the area. Best to call ahead for a reservation.

Tags: Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and great atmosphere! Men ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service and great atmosphere! Menu is not the "norm" which is very refreshing! Love it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Eye is one of my favorite places to ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Red Eye is one of my favorite places to eat and drink beer. It's a bit on the noisy side, so not good for taking my elderly father with his hearing aids, but otherwise, the atmosphere is fun, the beer is great, and the food is terrific. Don't pass up the Truffle Tots. They make a great appetizer!

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool environment and a great local busin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Cool environment and a great local business. Food is unique for the area-which is needed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time we were here. Both times we ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Second time we were here. Both times were outstanding standing. Great food and beverages. I believe I could always find something on this menu.

No issues with the service or food. It appears they run a tight ship. We sat right by the kitchen and the "kitchen boss" was on top of everything. We are a CSA member of Red Door and also buy from Stoney Acres. It is great to see a farm to table place.

I don't usually give 5 stars but this place is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The beer is delicious! The food also del ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The beer is delicious! The food also delicious! A little loud, but that's understandable. We were a group of 8 and were taken care of quickly and our waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Red eye is my favorite restaurant in the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Red eye is my favorite restaurant in the Wausau area and I go there as often as I can. It is our "go to " place for when we had out of town guests. Our meal was fabulous as always. I specially love the special features that they had. The mahi-mahi was flavorful moist and delicious! The fromaggio pizza was outstanding as well. I love the thrust crust!!! Red eye has delicious food and excellent service. My only complaint is that I wish it was easier to get a reservation. One has to plan quite a ways in advance if they want to go on Friday or Saturday night.

Tags: Wood Oven, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal & experience, as always. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful meal & experience, as always. This is our go to spot!

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had made a reservation via Open Table ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had made a reservation via Open Table for lunch, requesting a window seating. We were placed near the center of the room, adjoining the kitchen area. It was fun watching all the cooking and preparation activities. We even offered help add wood to the pizza oven when needed, but they said they were good to go.... The waitress was very friendly and attentive. My guests were very happy with their lunch choices. The chicken on my salad was a testament that the fire was indeed hot enough.... enough said. Desert was very good, so much in-fact that we all accepted the complimentary insulin shots.... Red Eye is a great place for a business lunch or social fun get together. Just don't let them hockey puck your chicken....

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to Red Eye. It is a great ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We love coming to Red Eye. It is a great date night as well as a great place to take friends. Our only complaint is the noise level. We understand that guests can't be controlled, but the music playing can and we would love it if the volume was reduced. My husband only hears from one ear and he had a very difficult time participating in the dinner conversation with his boss and his boss' wife due to sound.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We consistently have an excellent experi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We consistently have an excellent experience at Red Eye. The food is always beyond delicious, the service is great, and the beers are good too :-)

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Red Eye Grill is our go-to place in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The Red Eye Grill is our go-to place in Wausau, WI. It has a vibrant, fun atmosphere, fantastic brews (brewed in house for the most part), and consistently delicious food. Service is always friendly and on-task. The only drawback is the noise level, which makes conversation difficult, especially for those with hearing issues. But we keep coming because our experience overall is so delightful. Recommend it as a place to go before a show at the Grand Theater, which is nearby.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Stars all around. One of our favori ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Five Stars all around. One of our favorite places to go. Always bring visitors here. The lamb and mussels were crazy good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very solid restaurant with good service, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very solid restaurant with good service, great craft beers and a great changing chef's menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Red Eye and this meal was no exc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We love Red Eye and this meal was no exception. Red Eye has excellent food and service. The menu choices are varied and incredibly flavorful. As a vegetarian, they have lots of choices. A rare find in this area - locally sourced ingredients!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for a birthday lunch which ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We went here for a birthday lunch which meant that my favorite dessert, Nutella calzone, was free! The four of us had two wraps, a salad, and a gluten free pizza. All of the food was delicious. We were especially impressed by the gluten free pizza crust. It was tasty and crispy. I also enjoy their homemade lemonade. Just the right amount of sweet and tart. We will be returning for more meals in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal at Red Eye! I love t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Another great meal at Red Eye! I love the BLAT, red eye special salad with chicken, the burgers are amazing and the pizza is a staple. Don't forget the calzone for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My soup, though delicious, was served lu ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My soup, though delicious, was served lukewarm. A lamb burger was dry but great concept. But this is still a happening place to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

RedEye is the perfect place to unwind af ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

RedEye is the perfect place to unwind after a day a work or relax on the weekend! They have a fabulous beer and food menu and everything is made local and with area vendors. You will NOT be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was great and we had a blast! Very ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Staff was great and we had a blast! Very fun and exciting atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dinner and beer quality was excellen ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The dinner and beer quality was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Eye is clearly our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Red Eye is clearly our favorite restaurant in the area!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in a restaurant Mecca so I don't ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We live in a restaurant Mecca so I don't expect too much when we travel but Red Eye met my city standards. Everything was very good, service was great. We added another person to our table in the middle of the meal and the server didn't turn a hair, just brought another menu, and added the additional person. If we lived closer, we would eat there often, an outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had family visiting from the Twin Citi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I had family visiting from the Twin Cities and Red Eye was my first choice to show them what Wausau has to offer! The food is always amazing and so is the service!

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Friendly knowledgeable staff. Great foo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Friendly knowledgeable staff. Great food and beer. Prices are reasonable for the quality of the food.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We liked being able to eat outside on su ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We liked being able to eat outside on such a beautiful night. Great food and craft beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to RedEye many times and it ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I have been to RedEye many times and it just keeps getting better. I am never disappointed. I do recommend reservations via Open Table when it is lunch time because it is also often crowded.

I love the local sourced food and the originality of the menu. I never go home disappointed.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Wausau for the Art weekend an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were in Wausau for the Art weekend and was told to make a reservation at this restaurant for dinner as it is always busy. We were early and sat at the bar and struck a conversation with a regular customer. I asked what he generally liked to eat he said the wood fired pizzas are very good but his favorites are generally the hamburgers.

We found the normal entrees which were in the $20-28 range a bit pricey especially for the chicken dish but the burgers and pizzas were nicely priced.

While not normally our dinner choices, we both chose hamburgers which wereboth outstanding. One was Wisconsin style with plenty of cheese and I chose more of a California style with grilled peppers and even a ham slice. I am getting hungry just writing about it!

Most of their own brews are priced at the bargain price of $4.50 and the bartendress let us sample before selection. Our regular customer guide recommended Burger Mondays with a beer and burger for $10. If we are ever in Wausau on a Monday, we will be at Red Eye. The only thing that gives me misgivings is the name. Ignore the name and have a great meal, with great service at a great price.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food and service, as always! Enj ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Superb food and service, as always! Enjoyable night out....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sever was great even at 8 month preggers ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Sever was great even at 8 month preggers. Beer selection was fantastic. good, big beers. Barley wine could use some more aging, was a little 'hot'. Brisket was great, salad had a great dressing that cut the smoke of the brisket.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first trip to Red-Eye and it ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was my first trip to Red-Eye and it won't be my last. First, I recommend making a reservation(I did). People had to wait for over an hour for a table because it can get busy. The service was friendly and pretty quick. We had had drinks and an appetizer (we had the amazing truffle tots that are supposed to be a side), then dined on the flatiron steak and meatballs. My husband and I shared as we like to try as much as we can on a menu. Both were fantastic, the steak was tender and juicy and the meatball and polenta had just the right spiciness. We loved the woodfired calzone for dessert, it is definitely family size so please share with a friend or three. Come hungry and enjoy some of the fantastic beers or specialty drinks, take your time and enjoy your meal and have a dessert too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 11th Annual Sister's weekend started ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our 11th Annual Sister's weekend started off with a meal at Red Eye, Friday evening. My sister's and I enjoyed the food and environment. Our server was very helpful in making recommendations, for food and adult beverages. We liked that your food is locally grown as much as possible

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RedEye is always our "go to"! Everyone i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 17, 2016

RedEye is always our "go to"! Everyone is super friendly, the food is always fresh & delicious & the drink menu is always fun!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being from a smaller town it seems our l ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Being from a smaller town it seems our local places have all the same types of food. It is a nice change to be able go out and enjoy something different.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The personal pizza was absolutely wonder ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The personal pizza was absolutely wonderful. I crafted my own. I had fresh squeezed lemonade for a change and it was very refreshing. My husband had one of the hamburgers on the menu and was very pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable, relaxing evening out. Except ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Enjoyable, relaxing evening out. Exceptional staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very comfortable, relaxed, nice pleasant ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very comfortable, relaxed, nice pleasant evening. Excellent beer selection of course.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great pizza, enjoyed the beer I had help ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great pizza, enjoyed the beer I had help choosing. Does get rather loud when there are a lot of diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always an enjoyable dining experience. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always an enjoyable dining experience. Courteous, polite service and exceptional food and drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.