About Red Eye Brewing Company

612 Washington St
Wausau, WI 54403
View Larger Map

At Red Eye we pride ourselves with providing our community with the freshest beer and food available. We strive to operate responsibly, and source natural and locally, when possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Sixth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 843-7334

Website:
http://redeyebrewing.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Bychinski

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Red Eye Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (27)
Casual (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
See All
Fun (22)
Modern Decor (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Wood Oven (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Healthy (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Organic (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

First time to Red Eye and overall was very happy with the restaurant. Food, beer, service were all very good. Would highly recommend to others looking for a good casual destination.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service as always, love the gluten free options!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food once again. No issues with anything.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Organic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great time. Friendly staff. Enjoyed beer tasting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was really fresh and delicious, loved the variety of the menu. Great service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's day. Overall not a pleasant experience I would expect for the large premium they charge for the mediocre food. There are other restaurants in the area that charge similar prices that have much better food, ambiance, and service. Bottom line, this restaurant is nice but not at all worth the money.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I reserved a table ahead of time, and we got seated right away. I also called in the order to have it ready by noon, the time of arrival...the food was also ready, but we were on our lunch hour and it took a while for the waitress to return with the check, which made us late in getting back to work. All in all the food was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was delicious as usual. I have never been disappointed with anything. I do wish that they would indicate which items on the menu are spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is the second time we've dined at Red Eye while attending a conference 2 hrs. from home. We wouldn't even consider going anywhere else as it is only once a year and we look forward to returning. G

Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Spicy, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love this place! We booked a relaxing bachelorette weekend in Wausau, WI. in part so we could have dinner at Red Eye Brewing Co. Everyone tried something different and we all loved our food! The food is fresh and flavorful and they seem to do everything well. Our server was fantastic and very attentive to our group. She did a great job! The beer and signature cocktails were delicious as well. Everyone left raving about their food and experience at Red Eye. I only wish we had one in Madison. This place is popular (for good reason) so do the considerate thing and make a reservation if you can.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent experience as always, great gluten free options, awesome beverages, wonderful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went here for a date night while visiting Wausau. The ambience was cool and the beers were great. Unfortunately, the food left much to be desired. The burger we ordered was undercooked and the pizza had too much cheese for my liking. The cheese pretty much drowned out a lot of the other flavors. Don't think I'll be visiting again, unless it's just for a drink and conversation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We are regulars at Red Eye, the restaurant is comfortable and energetic....a great place to be. The food is truly the best there is in Wausau, the menu is great and changes seasonally and the specials are amazing. Cost wise the menu offers something for everyone. I also appreciate that as a non beer drinker there are always a variety of specials and variety for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Wausau. Great wood-fired pizzas and solid beer selection; most of the beers are brewed in house (and are almost all terrific). In addition, a very tasty and interesting farm-to-table menu that constantly evolves (along with more standard fare, burgers, pastas, and sometimes BBQ). Always a fun and festive atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Organic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Everything was great except they have no blinds or window shades. We were seated by the window and lunch time and literally could not look at the menu or each other because it was so bright.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food as usual was outstanding. The menu is creative and contains a good variety, with local ingredients offered. Great value for the food quality. Staff is always friendly, and the atmosphere is fun.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Casual, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Lovely experience in sum: food was authentic and delicious; waitress was superb

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Although in my reservation I mentioned it was my birthday, they did not say or do anything special.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Best Mac and Cheese anywhere!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Red Eye is just so consistently awesome! We enjoy everything we try on their menu. Their chef's menu of specials is so unique and always delicious! We would recommend Red Eye to everyone!!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were in town for a ski trip. It was the number one rated restaurant on Trip Advisor so we decided to give it a try. Great wait staff with a variety of delicious food! Would definitely go back again if we were in the area. Best to call ahead for a reservation.

Tags: Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service and great atmosphere! Menu is not the "norm" which is very refreshing! Love it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent experience, gluten free dining was easy and safe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Red Eye is one of my favorite places to eat and drink beer. It's a bit on the noisy side, so not good for taking my elderly father with his hearing aids, but otherwise, the atmosphere is fun, the beer is great, and the food is terrific. Don't pass up the Truffle Tots. They make a great appetizer!

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Cool environment and a great local business. Food is unique for the area-which is needed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a fun and yummy place to come to, the service is always awesome and the atmosphere is always friendly

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Healthy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Second time we were here. Both times were outstanding standing. Great food and beverages. I believe I could always find something on this menu.

No issues with the service or food. It appears they run a tight ship. We sat right by the kitchen and the "kitchen boss" was on top of everything. We are a CSA member of Red Door and also buy from Stoney Acres. It is great to see a farm to table place.

I don't usually give 5 stars but this place is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The beer is delicious! The food also delicious! A little loud, but that's understandable. We were a group of 8 and were taken care of quickly and our waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent experience, gluten free dining was easy and safe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Red eye is my favorite restaurant in the Wausau area and I go there as often as I can. It is our "go to " place for when we had out of town guests. Our meal was fabulous as always. I specially love the special features that they had. The mahi-mahi was flavorful moist and delicious! The fromaggio pizza was outstanding as well. I love the thrust crust!!! Red eye has delicious food and excellent service. My only complaint is that I wish it was easier to get a reservation. One has to plan quite a ways in advance if they want to go on Friday or Saturday night.

Tags: Wood Oven, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful meal & experience, as always. This is our go to spot!

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I had made a reservation via Open Table for lunch, requesting a window seating. We were placed near the center of the room, adjoining the kitchen area. It was fun watching all the cooking and preparation activities. We even offered help add wood to the pizza oven when needed, but they said they were good to go.... The waitress was very friendly and attentive. My guests were very happy with their lunch choices. The chicken on my salad was a testament that the fire was indeed hot enough.... enough said. Desert was very good, so much in-fact that we all accepted the complimentary insulin shots.... Red Eye is a great place for a business lunch or social fun get together. Just don't let them hockey puck your chicken....

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We love coming to Red Eye. It is a great date night as well as a great place to take friends. Our only complaint is the noise level. We understand that guests can't be controlled, but the music playing can and we would love it if the volume was reduced. My husband only hears from one ear and he had a very difficult time participating in the dinner conversation with his boss and his boss' wife due to sound.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We consistently have an excellent experience at Red Eye. The food is always beyond delicious, the service is great, and the beers are good too :-)

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The Red Eye Grill is our go-to place in Wausau, WI. It has a vibrant, fun atmosphere, fantastic brews (brewed in house for the most part), and consistently delicious food. Service is always friendly and on-task. The only drawback is the noise level, which makes conversation difficult, especially for those with hearing issues. But we keep coming because our experience overall is so delightful. Recommend it as a place to go before a show at the Grand Theater, which is nearby.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Five Stars all around. One of our favorite places to go. Always bring visitors here. The lamb and mussels were crazy good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very solid restaurant with good service, great craft beers and a great changing chef's menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We love Red Eye and this meal was no exception. Red Eye has excellent food and service. The menu choices are varied and incredibly flavorful. As a vegetarian, they have lots of choices. A rare find in this area - locally sourced ingredients!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We went here for a birthday lunch which meant that my favorite dessert, Nutella calzone, was free! The four of us had two wraps, a salad, and a gluten free pizza. All of the food was delicious. We were especially impressed by the gluten free pizza crust. It was tasty and crispy. I also enjoy their homemade lemonade. Just the right amount of sweet and tart. We will be returning for more meals in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Another great meal at Red Eye! I love the BLAT, red eye special salad with chicken, the burgers are amazing and the pizza is a staple. Don't forget the calzone for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My soup, though delicious, was served lukewarm. A lamb burger was dry but great concept. But this is still a happening place to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

RedEye is the perfect place to unwind after a day a work or relax on the weekend! They have a fabulous beer and food menu and everything is made local and with area vendors. You will NOT be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Staff was great and we had a blast! Very fun and exciting atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The dinner and beer quality was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Red Eye is clearly our favorite restaurant in the area!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We live in a restaurant Mecca so I don't expect too much when we travel but Red Eye met my city standards. Everything was very good, service was great. We added another person to our table in the middle of the meal and the server didn't turn a hair, just brought another menu, and added the additional person. If we lived closer, we would eat there often, an outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I had family visiting from the Twin Cities and Red Eye was my first choice to show them what Wausau has to offer! The food is always amazing and so is the service!

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Friendly knowledgeable staff. Great food and beer. Prices are reasonable for the quality of the food.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We liked being able to eat outside on such a beautiful night. Great food and craft beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I have been to RedEye many times and it just keeps getting better. I am never disappointed. I do recommend reservations via Open Table when it is lunch time because it is also often crowded.

I love the local sourced food and the originality of the menu. I never go home disappointed.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.