Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Red Eye Brewing Company

At Red Eye we pride ourselves with providing our community with the freshest beer and food available. We strive to operate responsibly, and source natural and locally, when possible.

612 Washington St
Wausau, WI 54403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Sixth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 843-7334

Website:
http://redeyebrewing.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Bychinski

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Red Eye Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great Beer (17)
See All
Casual (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Fun (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Organic (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Healthy (8)
Authentic (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Food is as good as any 5 star restaurant in a major city but at a much better price and better ambiance. Drink and dessert selections are excellent. Favorite restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The Red Eye is always a great choice - never had a bad meal here. Just the long wait to pay the bill is undesirable.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Red Eye is always awesome. Great selection of their own brews and a few guest taps. Some of the best pizza ever. Rotating chef's menu is always interesting.

A must-stop any time we get close to Wausau.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The best food in Wausau! Our favorite place to take out-of-town friends!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

A very enjoyable place. Nice vibe, good food excellent beer

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Everything went pretty well. Food was great as always. Power went out briefly and disrupted their computer system but the staff seemed to recoup well.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Always love red eye- last nights service was fast for food, slow to get drinks

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We choose our route to northern Wisconsin specifically so we can hit Red Eye Brewing for dinner.

The beer choices - in house and guest taps - are worth the stop on their own.

The seasonally changing hummus plates are great to share.

The pizza offerings are awesome - their crust is definitely one of my favorites. The standard pizza offferings are anything but standard - great flavors.

On our most recent stop, they were having Morrel Madness - I had an out of this world Morrel pizza with a truffle oil cream sauce, a light meat (prosciutto?) and sliced apples. I thought the apples would be a strange addition, but the balance was outstanding. Truly one of the best pizzas I've had. It wasn't cheap, but it was definitely worth it.

The only downside is that they are not open on Sundays, or we'd probably stop on our way back south too!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Too much background noise to make experience memorable

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The staff is friendly and efficient. The food is delicious with lots of different seasonal options and holiday specials. There is a good selection of vegetarian and vegan options. The outdoor dining is lovely, indoors can get a wee bit noisy. My friends enjoy the beer selections!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Wonderful evening. Great service and food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was Cinco de Mayo, and the place was packed. Service left a little to be desired as I had to ask another server to please find ours to bring us our bill. Overall, nice place to eat but make sure you make a reservation!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Fantastic food and great service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful ambience, great food, fantastic beer, and super service! The RedEye is THE place to go in Wausau, in Central Wisconsin.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 4, 2017

As always Red Eye delivers. Food, beverage and service using Open Table. Was a perfect night out for dinner!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great restaurant with so many great local foods options!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great. As always. No "brunch," per se, but a great place for a small group having an early lunch on a lazy weekend.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This place was so delicious with such amazing service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The menu is very creative. I love the different menu options that you have. Although it is a tad pricy for what you get. I had the shrimp tacos and while they were tasty it was only the 3 taco's - no sides with it and they had 3 shrimp each with an avocado sauce, cheese and pico de gio. They could have had some napa cabbage or lettuce on them as well. They were $14!!! Also the service was a little slow! We were on a business lunch and we were there for at least 1.5 hours.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent food! Excellent service! Excellent atmosphere!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Elaine was our server, and she was wonderful. Super knowledgeable about the menu and very kind. I am never disappointed with the food. My drinks were made to perfection. This is the best place in Wausau for a creative, delicious dinner out

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food. Would eat here often.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Wausau, hands down. Creative food, good beer, and top notch wood fired pizza. Only improvement would be nice wine selections.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My son and I just visited on 3/27. We both had wood fired pizzas that were delicious! I had a beer flight that prompted me to leave with a howler of Blossom and one of Scarlet 7. Great beer! Lastly, the service was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable of the menu and beer and guided our choices very thoughtfully. If I return to Wausau I will not hesitate to return to Red Eye!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Friendly staff and food was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent meal as always! My husband had a burger and I had their monthly pizza special where half of the price of my pizza goes to a local charity that they rotate monthly. March is the Woman's Community. Red Eye excels in their commitment to using locally grown products and giving back to the community. Always our first choice for dining out in Wausau!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent Food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always impressed with food quality and speed of service

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Delicious! Always a friendly environment with great food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent gluten free options, great service. Always a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a reservation, but arrived a little early. They sat us right away anyway, which we appreciated. Food was awesome. Our waitress was equally as awesome. Would highly recommend you check this place out!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always great food!! Glad they take reservations and use Open Table.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Organic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Red Eye never lets me down when I want a good salad or pizza. Reservations are great for busy times, too!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time to Red Eye and overall was very happy with the restaurant. Food, beer, service were all very good. Would highly recommend to others looking for a good casual destination.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food and service as always, love the gluten free options!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food once again. No issues with anything.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Organic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had an absolutely fantastic meal and looking forward to returning!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had a great time. Friendly staff. Enjoyed beer tasting.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was really fresh and delicious, loved the variety of the menu. Great service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's day. Overall not a pleasant experience I would expect for the large premium they charge for the mediocre food. There are other restaurants in the area that charge similar prices that have much better food, ambiance, and service. Bottom line, this restaurant is nice but not at all worth the money.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.