Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Red Eye Brewing Company

At Red Eye we pride ourselves with providing our community with the freshest beer and food available. We strive to operate responsibly, and source natural and locally, when possible.

612 Washington St
Wausau, WI 54403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Sixth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 843-7334

Website:
http://redeyebrewing.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Bychinski

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Red Eye Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (20)
Casual (19)
Great Beer (18)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fun (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Healthy (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (6)
Organic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Live Sports (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 5, 2017

We had attempted to eat at this place a couple of times but the wait time was too long and now we know why. Booked our reservations ahead this time and chose a Monday night, but it was still a full house! Had fantastic service, wonderful food and awesome atmosphere! You won't be sorry if you pick this restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Organic, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quick Bite, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2017

My wife and I usually split a burger with one of the many other great entrees, like the special mussels. Have the side salad which is fresh and dressed so well that you will not miss French fries and hope that other restaurants would offer such a healthy burger-accompaniment. Service is great and knowegable. You will find a good beer for your meal. They are all worth a try. Can get crowded so make a reservation. However, it is worth the wait too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2017

I come to town for work several times a year and ALWAYS go here at least once. You can always count on good food at reasonable prices with something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Even though our order was messed up, the server made it up to us. She was great, just wish I remembered her name - I do know there was a tattoo of Wisconsin on her arm. Nice gal that made us forget about the mixup and made us want to return without a second thought.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Good service Friendly waiters. Pizza was great. Beverage was refilled when needed.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

The food was outstanding! Creative pairings that delight the palate. Reasonably priced. Server was polite. The room was a little chilly for a November night. Dessert was scrumptious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2017

I was so impressed with our server's and the kitchen's attention to gluten! I really appreciate it.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 16, 2017

Wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

Really liked this place!! Great food with healthy living options.

Good service and decent prices! Will definitely be back when in Wausau again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Vegan, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Organic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Fun place. Food and wait staff were excellent. Big city feel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Food, beer selection, and service are great. Can be a challenge for conversation secondary to noise level, but overall definite recommendation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Great vibe but service not up to par and food was okay...nothing great. Our dinners came out at different times-we sensed some disorganization.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Quality has gone down over the past few months - the cheese pizza was lackluster (my husband's ordered it many times before) and I can't trust the Cobb salad to be as great as it used to be. They might be losing quality to quantity.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2017

We love the solar powered aspect of this Brewpub. The food was largely local and delicious. Amanda, our server was so delightful, helpful, bubbly and made the experience so much fun. Of course we took home a growler and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Authentic, Happy Hour, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Second visit here and once again everything was fantastic. We plan on stopping in every time we visit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Always an excellent experience with great food and beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our meal was great, but I wish they hadn't been out of a couple things we had asked for. But the food we could order is as great!

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Fun atmosphere. Organic food using local products. Microbrewery on site. A bit noisy but still able to communicate at the table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always great for any occasion! I love the food, the beer, and the service. It is a little on the louder side, but fun atmosphere!

Tags: Organic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Flat iron steak was not what I expected at all! Steak should taste like steak! Not ten different flavors!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Waiter forgot a drink order, no biggie, the place rocks and the food is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great dinning experience as always. Great food. Great service. Choices are excellent. So happy to have this 'go-to' restaurant in our area. I can bring anyone anytime and have a wonderful experience. Especially love the summer months and sitting on the patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great experience. Very noisy. Tables are too close. Wait staff is great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

An excellent meal complimented with some very good beers. We have a nice time and really enjoyed the evening

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Whenever I plan to be in Wausau I really look forward to a great dinner with friends at the Red Eye ! Really good food and a fun place to be !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 7, 2017

It's nice that they take reservations. It has become so noisy that they need to consider some reduction. The additional parking is good. The potatoes were basically tater tots. The Cuban was pretty ordinary for the price. Their fish specials are usually good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

First timer so didn't get to experience everything, but zero complaints, great meal, great service TY!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Last minute decision to eat dinner with friends. Addition of online reservation system is a real plus. No wait upon arrival with a very pleasant outdoor patio table. Food, as always, is excellent with unique options for all. Always a most pleasant experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

More wine options might be improvement
Meiomi Pinot instead of current

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

It is very noisy but we all seem to go there anyhow! That is why I would not recommend it for business - if the business is a meeting. But if it is just to have a relaxing or fun lunch or supper with business colleagues, go for it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Spur of the moment we went to Red Eye and never fails to please us! Great food and drinks! Would highly recommend! Casual setting with local flair! Enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Organic, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Red Eye never disappoints. Food is fantastic and the gluten free menu is very plentiful. I have never had a bad experience here and I have been here quite often. I highly recommend.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food ,waitress, and setting were great! They helped us to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 19, 2017

As always, we had great food and service at Red Eye

Tags: Business Meals, Organic, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fantastic as always! Accommodating & delicious!! Never had a bad experience!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fresh and engaged staff who really like their job and know the menu- observant and exhibit good timing! Food is high quality and well prepped-served tastefully in rather large portions...smile!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was an outstanding experience. We had heard about it and finally had a chance to be in Wausau. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I brought my date and her children for a wonderful evening all expectations were meet. Reserved a table it was ready when we got there terrific food definitely will go back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Organic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Always a good dining experience. Had the vegetable reuben - delicious! Attentive wait staff, good beer, interesting menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.