Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Red Eye Brewing Company

At Red Eye we pride ourselves with providing our community with the freshest beer and food available. We strive to operate responsibly, and source natural and locally, when possible.

612 Washington St
Wausau, WI 54403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Sixth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 843-7334

Website:
http://redeyebrewing.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Bychinski

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Red Eye Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Great Beer (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Healthy (11)
Authentic (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Organic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Romantic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Our meal was great, but I wish they hadn't been out of a couple things we had asked for. But the food we could order is as great!

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Fun atmosphere. Organic food using local products. Microbrewery on site. A bit noisy but still able to communicate at the table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always great for any occasion! I love the food, the beer, and the service. It is a little on the louder side, but fun atmosphere!

Tags: Organic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Flat iron steak was not what I expected at all! Steak should taste like steak! Not ten different flavors!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Waiter forgot a drink order, no biggie, the place rocks and the food is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great dinning experience as always. Great food. Great service. Choices are excellent. So happy to have this 'go-to' restaurant in our area. I can bring anyone anytime and have a wonderful experience. Especially love the summer months and sitting on the patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great experience. Very noisy. Tables are too close. Wait staff is great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

An excellent meal complimented with some very good beers. We have a nice time and really enjoyed the evening

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Whenever I plan to be in Wausau I really look forward to a great dinner with friends at the Red Eye ! Really good food and a fun place to be !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 7, 2017

It's nice that they take reservations. It has become so noisy that they need to consider some reduction. The additional parking is good. The potatoes were basically tater tots. The Cuban was pretty ordinary for the price. Their fish specials are usually good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

First timer so didn't get to experience everything, but zero complaints, great meal, great service TY!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Last minute decision to eat dinner with friends. Addition of online reservation system is a real plus. No wait upon arrival with a very pleasant outdoor patio table. Food, as always, is excellent with unique options for all. Always a most pleasant experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

More wine options might be improvement
Meiomi Pinot instead of current

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

It is very noisy but we all seem to go there anyhow! That is why I would not recommend it for business - if the business is a meeting. But if it is just to have a relaxing or fun lunch or supper with business colleagues, go for it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Spur of the moment we went to Red Eye and never fails to please us! Great food and drinks! Would highly recommend! Casual setting with local flair! Enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Organic, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Red Eye never disappoints. Food is fantastic and the gluten free menu is very plentiful. I have never had a bad experience here and I have been here quite often. I highly recommend.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food ,waitress, and setting were great! They helped us to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 19, 2017

As always, we had great food and service at Red Eye

Tags: Business Meals, Organic, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fantastic as always! Accommodating & delicious!! Never had a bad experience!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fresh and engaged staff who really like their job and know the menu- observant and exhibit good timing! Food is high quality and well prepped-served tastefully in rather large portions...smile!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was an outstanding experience. We had heard about it and finally had a chance to be in Wausau. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I brought my date and her children for a wonderful evening all expectations were meet. Reserved a table it was ready when we got there terrific food definitely will go back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Organic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Always a good dining experience. Had the vegetable reuben - delicious! Attentive wait staff, good beer, interesting menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Red Eye is one of our go-to restaurants that never disappoints. The fresh fish specials are amazing, the pizza is fabulous and the beer keeps us coming back.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food is as good as any 5 star restaurant in a major city but at a much better price and better ambiance. Drink and dessert selections are excellent. Favorite restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The Red Eye is always a great choice - never had a bad meal here. Just the long wait to pay the bill is undesirable.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Red Eye is always awesome. Great selection of their own brews and a few guest taps. Some of the best pizza ever. Rotating chef's menu is always interesting.

A must-stop any time we get close to Wausau.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The best food in Wausau! Our favorite place to take out-of-town friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A very enjoyable place. Nice vibe, good food excellent beer

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Everything went pretty well. Food was great as always. Power went out briefly and disrupted their computer system but the staff seemed to recoup well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Always love red eye- last nights service was fast for food, slow to get drinks

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We choose our route to northern Wisconsin specifically so we can hit Red Eye Brewing for dinner.

The beer choices - in house and guest taps - are worth the stop on their own.

The seasonally changing hummus plates are great to share.

The pizza offerings are awesome - their crust is definitely one of my favorites. The standard pizza offferings are anything but standard - great flavors.

On our most recent stop, they were having Morrel Madness - I had an out of this world Morrel pizza with a truffle oil cream sauce, a light meat (prosciutto?) and sliced apples. I thought the apples would be a strange addition, but the balance was outstanding. Truly one of the best pizzas I've had. It wasn't cheap, but it was definitely worth it.

The only downside is that they are not open on Sundays, or we'd probably stop on our way back south too!

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Too much background noise to make experience memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Best burgers in town. Juiciest ever and the buns are fabulous. Besides great beer, the old fashioneds are darn good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Patio is awesome, pizza is always amazing! Great beer, good service, and food is always good! Love going whenever in Wausau for kayaking events.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The staff is friendly and efficient. The food is delicious with lots of different seasonal options and holiday specials. There is a good selection of vegetarian and vegan options. The outdoor dining is lovely, indoors can get a wee bit noisy. My friends enjoy the beer selections!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Wonderful evening. Great service and food

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was Cinco de Mayo, and the place was packed. Service left a little to be desired as I had to ask another server to please find ours to bring us our bill. Overall, nice place to eat but make sure you make a reservation!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Fantastic food and great service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.