Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Red Eye Brewing Company

At Red Eye we pride ourselves with providing our community with the freshest beer and food available. We strive to operate responsibly, and source natural and locally, when possible.

612 Washington St
Wausau, WI 54403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Sixth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 843-7334

Website:
http://redeyebrewing.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Bychinski

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Red Eye Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Great Beer (18)
See All
Local Ingredients (18)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Organic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Healthy (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Cozy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Last minute decision to eat dinner with friends. Addition of online reservation system is a real plus. No wait upon arrival with a very pleasant outdoor patio table. Food, as always, is excellent with unique options for all. Always a most pleasant experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

More wine options might be improvement
Meiomi Pinot instead of current

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

It is very noisy but we all seem to go there anyhow! That is why I would not recommend it for business - if the business is a meeting. But if it is just to have a relaxing or fun lunch or supper with business colleagues, go for it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Spur of the moment we went to Red Eye and never fails to please us! Great food and drinks! Would highly recommend! Casual setting with local flair! Enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Organic, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Red Eye never disappoints. Food is fantastic and the gluten free menu is very plentiful. I have never had a bad experience here and I have been here quite often. I highly recommend.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food ,waitress, and setting were great! They helped us to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 19, 2017

As always, we had great food and service at Red Eye

Tags: Business Meals, Organic, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fantastic as always! Accommodating & delicious!! Never had a bad experience!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fresh and engaged staff who really like their job and know the menu- observant and exhibit good timing! Food is high quality and well prepped-served tastefully in rather large portions...smile!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Organic, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was an outstanding experience. We had heard about it and finally had a chance to be in Wausau. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I brought my date and her children for a wonderful evening all expectations were meet. Reserved a table it was ready when we got there terrific food definitely will go back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Organic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Always a good dining experience. Had the vegetable reuben - delicious! Attentive wait staff, good beer, interesting menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Red Eye is one of our go-to restaurants that never disappoints. The fresh fish specials are amazing, the pizza is fabulous and the beer keeps us coming back.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food is as good as any 5 star restaurant in a major city but at a much better price and better ambiance. Drink and dessert selections are excellent. Favorite restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The Red Eye is always a great choice - never had a bad meal here. Just the long wait to pay the bill is undesirable.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Red Eye is always awesome. Great selection of their own brews and a few guest taps. Some of the best pizza ever. Rotating chef's menu is always interesting.

A must-stop any time we get close to Wausau.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The best food in Wausau! Our favorite place to take out-of-town friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A very enjoyable place. Nice vibe, good food excellent beer

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Everything went pretty well. Food was great as always. Power went out briefly and disrupted their computer system but the staff seemed to recoup well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Always love red eye- last nights service was fast for food, slow to get drinks

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We choose our route to northern Wisconsin specifically so we can hit Red Eye Brewing for dinner.

The beer choices - in house and guest taps - are worth the stop on their own.

The seasonally changing hummus plates are great to share.

The pizza offerings are awesome - their crust is definitely one of my favorites. The standard pizza offferings are anything but standard - great flavors.

On our most recent stop, they were having Morrel Madness - I had an out of this world Morrel pizza with a truffle oil cream sauce, a light meat (prosciutto?) and sliced apples. I thought the apples would be a strange addition, but the balance was outstanding. Truly one of the best pizzas I've had. It wasn't cheap, but it was definitely worth it.

The only downside is that they are not open on Sundays, or we'd probably stop on our way back south too!

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Too much background noise to make experience memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Best burgers in town. Juiciest ever and the buns are fabulous. Besides great beer, the old fashioneds are darn good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Patio is awesome, pizza is always amazing! Great beer, good service, and food is always good! Love going whenever in Wausau for kayaking events.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The staff is friendly and efficient. The food is delicious with lots of different seasonal options and holiday specials. There is a good selection of vegetarian and vegan options. The outdoor dining is lovely, indoors can get a wee bit noisy. My friends enjoy the beer selections!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Wonderful evening. Great service and food

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was Cinco de Mayo, and the place was packed. Service left a little to be desired as I had to ask another server to please find ours to bring us our bill. Overall, nice place to eat but make sure you make a reservation!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Fantastic food and great service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful ambience, great food, fantastic beer, and super service! The RedEye is THE place to go in Wausau, in Central Wisconsin.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 4, 2017

As always Red Eye delivers. Food, beverage and service using Open Table. Was a perfect night out for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great restaurant with so many great local foods options!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great. As always. No "brunch," per se, but a great place for a small group having an early lunch on a lazy weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This place was so delicious with such amazing service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The menu is very creative. I love the different menu options that you have. Although it is a tad pricy for what you get. I had the shrimp tacos and while they were tasty it was only the 3 taco's - no sides with it and they had 3 shrimp each with an avocado sauce, cheese and pico de gio. They could have had some napa cabbage or lettuce on them as well. They were $14!!! Also the service was a little slow! We were on a business lunch and we were there for at least 1.5 hours.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent food! Excellent service! Excellent atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Elaine was our server, and she was wonderful. Super knowledgeable about the menu and very kind. I am never disappointed with the food. My drinks were made to perfection. This is the best place in Wausau for a creative, delicious dinner out

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food. Would eat here often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Wausau, hands down. Creative food, good beer, and top notch wood fired pizza. Only improvement would be nice wine selections.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My son and I just visited on 3/27. We both had wood fired pizzas that were delicious! I had a beer flight that prompted me to leave with a howler of Blossom and one of Scarlet 7. Great beer! Lastly, the service was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable of the menu and beer and guided our choices very thoughtfully. If I return to Wausau I will not hesitate to return to Red Eye!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Friendly staff and food was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.