About Red Eye Brewing Company

612 Washington St
Wausau, WI 54403
View Larger Map

At Red Eye we pride ourselves with providing our community with the freshest beer and food available. We strive to operate responsibly, and source natural and locally, when possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Sixth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 843-7334

Website:
http://redeyebrewing.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Bychinski

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Red Eye Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Wisconsin
Best Value
Wisconsin
Neighborhood Gem
Wisconsin
2 More
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wausau
Best Restaurants in Wausau ›

Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Romantic (2)
Sort By:
Newest
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sever was great even at 8 month preggers ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Sever was great even at 8 month preggers. Beer selection was fantastic. good, big beers. Barley wine could use some more aging, was a little 'hot'. Brisket was great, salad had a great dressing that cut the smoke of the brisket.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first trip to Red-Eye and it ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first trip to Red-Eye and it won't be my last. First, I recommend making a reservation(I did). People had to wait for over an hour for a table because it can get busy. The service was friendly and pretty quick. We had had drinks and an appetizer (we had the amazing truffle tots that are supposed to be a side), then dined on the flatiron steak and meatballs. My husband and I shared as we like to try as much as we can on a menu. Both were fantastic, the steak was tender and juicy and the meatball and polenta had just the right spiciness. We loved the woodfired calzone for dessert, it is definitely family size so please share with a friend or three. Come hungry and enjoy some of the fantastic beers or specialty drinks, take your time and enjoy your meal and have a dessert too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 11th Annual Sister's weekend started ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our 11th Annual Sister's weekend started off with a meal at Red Eye, Friday evening. My sister's and I enjoyed the food and environment. Our server was very helpful in making recommendations, for food and adult beverages. We liked that your food is locally grown as much as possible

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RedEye is always our "go to"! Everyone i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

RedEye is always our "go to"! Everyone is super friendly, the food is always fresh & delicious & the drink menu is always fun!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being from a smaller town it seems our l ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Being from a smaller town it seems our local places have all the same types of food. It is a nice change to be able go out and enjoy something different.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The personal pizza was absolutely wonder ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The personal pizza was absolutely wonderful. I crafted my own. I had fresh squeezed lemonade for a change and it was very refreshing. My husband had one of the hamburgers on the menu and was very pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable, relaxing evening out. Except ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Enjoyable, relaxing evening out. Exceptional staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very comfortable, relaxed, nice pleasant ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very comfortable, relaxed, nice pleasant evening. Excellent beer selection of course.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great pizza, enjoyed the beer I had help ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great pizza, enjoyed the beer I had help choosing. Does get rather loud when there are a lot of diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always an enjoyable dining experience. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always an enjoyable dining experience. Courteous, polite service and exceptional food and drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, waitress was great. I w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very good food, waitress was great. I will come back whenever in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time dining with Red Eye. Food was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

First time dining with Red Eye. Food was superb with great attention to detail. Waitstaff was great and the drinks obviously amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a popular place but we were disa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is a popular place but we were disappointed. The menu is varied and interesting, but the food was disappointing. My flatbread was greasy. They were out of cheese curds. The tater tots were not very special. My dining companions said there food was also nothing special. Everything was certainly adequate but not remarkable. Service was slow and we waited a long time just for our wine. It was a Thursday evening, but they seemed understaffed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The salad special was not especially fla ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The salad special was not especially flavorful despite the unique ingredients and overpriced for what it was. The Margherita Woodfired Pizza was as good as ever!! Great service. Patio seating was really nice, but lack of umbrella makes it feel impersonal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Helpful, friendly with delicious food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had such a good experience with this restaurant. I have many dietary restrictions and they helped me choose something that would work and made me feel like it was absolutely no problem. The chef was able to modify one of their specials to fit my need and it was delicious. We enjoyed a delicious appetizer and each of the drink orders, both beer and other mixed drinks, were very good. My son and husband really liked the red eye ginger cocktail; said it was very refreshing and if you like Moscow Mules, that went over well too! Oh and don't forget dessert! They ended well by sharing the Nutella calzone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good as always

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Good food and service. The cooks in the kitchen must have a long day this day. Missing items on sandwiches..........

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it, their pizza's are a little too ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Loved it, their pizza's are a little too black though, I know wood fired pizza's but these were a little too burnt. Great tastings of beer, great ambiances, great burgers, will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Red Eye is our go-to for good healthy de ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Red Eye is our go-to for good healthy delicious food with gluten free options and a great beer menu. Our whole family (3 generations) loves it. They have great and consistent service and accommodate whatever size group we may have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. This is the second time I have visited this spot....each time it has been really good. The fire roasted pizza on the forst visit was so good, that I returned. My second visit, has the pulled pork shoulder......perfect. The waitress was very helpful in helping me with my decision.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We our meal. Everything was as advertised. The only disappointment was when took our leftovers home- they were somebody else's pizza. I hope whoever got it enjoyed it! (Red eye remains one of the places to eat in the area. )

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This is our "go-to" spot as a neighborh ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is our "go-to" spot as a neighborhood favorite. Red-Eye Brewing is a great place to take our big city company and has all the organic foods and drinks our children like for our grandchildren . The wait staff is always consistently well trained and a number of them have been there for years. We always feel special when we walk in the door and are greeted like old friends. The service is prompt if you want and you can also dawdle over your drink if you want. The food is interesting and well prepared and there is a new chef's menu every week using what is available at local farms at the time. In the summer there is no place better for a little dinner than the outdoor patio with umbrellas on the tables and hops growing up the fence.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hannah did a great job recommanding item ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Hannah did a great job recommanding items off the menu and suggesting the right beer for us.

Keep up the good work. We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great beer and good food. A great place ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great beer and good food. A great place to meet friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Burgers could have been better.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

My burger was burnt and my friends was under done and we both ordered them Medium Well.

Beer and burger was the special that day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

AMAZING FOOD AGAIN

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I loved this place so much from the last time, that we HAD to come here again. The server must have been pretty new because he was slightly lost. I can over look that though because the food is SO SO SO freaking good. I can't wait to go back and try something different again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Keeps me coming back

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I will keep coming back as long as they keep supporting local and organic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

We always enjoy the food and service at Redeye. The food is unique and alway quite delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The spot

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Red eye is the spot to be - great food great service and just keeps getting better - love love love they work with local farmers!!!!!! Will keep coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Spot in Wausau

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I could probably rave all day about Red Eye. It's my absolute favorite place to go in Wausau. While I don't live in the area anymore, every time I come home to visit family or friends I absolutely must go. The beer is always delicious and I like that they also rotate other local breweries in the mix and always have a variety of styles. It seems a lot of places these days are just a little too IPA happy with all their beer selections. I also love that in addition to their regular menu they have chef specials that are changing. Service is always great here as well. Definitely a must in the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food and service was excellent! We ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Our food and service was excellent! We had shrimp tacos and a black bean quinoa burger with wonderful greens.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific locally sourced food and beer

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We try something different every time we go - never disappointed. Kids love the wood-fired pizza and Italian sodas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Wowed friends from Portland.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

We were visiting red eye, which is already a favorite, with my inlaws from portland. They ordered a pizza and the chicken mac, and thought both were delicious. Our waitress was also extremely friendly, natural, and made our experience there even better. I loved the locavore pizza and my husband had the burger (juicy and flavorful). I love how everything is unique, with local ingredients and fresh veggies. So good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Gluten Friendly Menu

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I was very happy to find a wide variety of gluten free options that were healthier to eat. For the first time in years, I could order a burger in a restaurant. Gluten free bun, grass fed beef, absolutely wonderful. We had great service, great food and will be going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First but Not Last

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We showed up an hour and a half before our reservations just to sample the excellent selection of in house brews. We got seated early and enjoyed our food immensely. The thing we really enjoyed about the whole night is how friendly the staff was, from the check in girl to the bartender to Makayla our waitress, who was awesome. This was our First time there and definitely not our Last time going there. Really a great place!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in hip atmosphere

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I love Red Eye Brewing. It is my favorite restaurant in the Wausau area. The food is interesting, flavorful, and they offer specials which are unique and varied. Whenever people come to visit this is where we like to bring them to eat.

My only complaint was The noise. We were having a family dinner with out of town guests and had a very difficult time hearing each other on Friday night when the restaurant was very busy. Also, I wish they would offer more comfortable seating. I have a hard time with the seating which is hard wooden chairs and I have heard similar complaints from others.

Overall Red eye is still my favorite restaurant as the food, beer and beverages are outstanding!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Don't miss out on Red Eye when you're in Wausau

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was our third trip up from Chicago and we've gone to Red Eye each time. The food is yummy (I'm in love with the Bianca Pizza and the Truffle Tots) and the atmosphere has a great energy but is still relaxing. Service has been great for us each time (last weekend we had Amelia and she was wonderful for our group of 8 adults and kids).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience as always.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Great dining experience as always. My family's favorite Wausau restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely go back!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

This was our first time eating at Red Eye Brewing Company, and I would definitely recommend it. The food was excellent, as was the service, and the ambiance is very eclectic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

out of town visit

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

we were in Wausau to go skiing and found Red Eye Brewery on Open Table. Make your reservations early because this place fills up! The food was great and they had a special occasion menu for Valentines Day. We tried 3 different beers and enjoyed them all. We will return next time we visit Granite Peak!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.