About Red Eye Brewing Company

612 Washington St
Wausau, WI 54403
View Larger Map

At Red Eye we pride ourselves with providing our community with the freshest beer and food available. We strive to operate responsibly, and source natural and locally, when possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Beer Garden

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
Sixth

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(715) 843-7334

Website:
http://redeyebrewing.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Bychinski

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Red Eye Brewing Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Wisconsin
Best Value
Wisconsin
Neighborhood Gem
Wisconsin
2 More
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wausau
Best Restaurants in Wausau ›

fit for foodies (37)
neighborhood gem (35)
great for lunch (27)
See All
good for groups (23)
hot spot (23)
vibrant bar scene (19)
special occasion (18)
great for outdoor dining (17)
kid-friendly (16)
late-night find (4)
romantic (2)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Helpful, friendly with delicious food

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had such a good experience with this restaurant. I have many dietary restrictions and they helped me choose something that would work and made me feel like it was absolutely no problem. The chef was able to modify one of their specials to fit my need and it was delicious. We enjoyed a delicious appetizer and each of the drink orders, both beer and other mixed drinks, were very good. My son and husband really liked the red eye ginger cocktail; said it was very refreshing and if you like Moscow Mules, that went over well too! Oh and don't forget dessert! They ended well by sharing the Nutella calzone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good as always

Dined on May 31, 2016

Good food and service. The cooks in the kitchen must have a long day this day. Missing items on sandwiches..........

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Loved it, their pizza's are a little too ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Loved it, their pizza's are a little too black though, I know wood fired pizza's but these were a little too burnt. Great tastings of beer, great ambiances, great burgers, will go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Eye is our go-to for good healthy de ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Red Eye is our go-to for good healthy delicious food with gluten free options and a great beer menu. Our whole family (3 generations) loves it. They have great and consistent service and accommodate whatever size group we may have.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. This is the second time I have visited this spot....each time it has been really good. The fire roasted pizza on the forst visit was so good, that I returned. My second visit, has the pulled pork shoulder......perfect. The waitress was very helpful in helping me with my decision.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food

Dined on May 21, 2016

We our meal. Everything was as advertised. The only disappointment was when took our leftovers home- they were somebody else's pizza. I hope whoever got it enjoyed it! (Red eye remains one of the places to eat in the area. )

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our "go-to" spot as a neighborh ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is our "go-to" spot as a neighborhood favorite. Red-Eye Brewing is a great place to take our big city company and has all the organic foods and drinks our children like for our grandchildren . The wait staff is always consistently well trained and a number of them have been there for years. We always feel special when we walk in the door and are greeted like old friends. The service is prompt if you want and you can also dawdle over your drink if you want. The food is interesting and well prepared and there is a new chef's menu every week using what is available at local farms at the time. In the summer there is no place better for a little dinner than the outdoor patio with umbrellas on the tables and hops growing up the fence.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Hannah did a great job recommanding item ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Hannah did a great job recommanding items off the menu and suggesting the right beer for us. Keep up the good work. We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beer and good food. A great place ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Great beer and good food. A great place to meet friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Burgers could have been better.

Dined on April 4, 2016

My burger was burnt and my friends was under done and we both ordered them Medium Well. Beer and burger was the special that day.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

AMAZING FOOD AGAIN

Dined on April 2, 2016

I loved this place so much from the last time, that we HAD to come here again. The server must have been pretty new because he was slightly lost. I can over look that though because the food is SO SO SO freaking good. I can't wait to go back and try something different again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keeps me coming back

Dined on April 2, 2016

I will keep coming back as long as they keep supporting local and organic!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service

Dined on March 30, 2016

We always enjoy the food and service at Redeye. The food is unique and alway quite delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The spot

Dined on March 27, 2016

Red eye is the spot to be - great food great service and just keeps getting better - love love love they work with local farmers!!!!!! Will keep coming back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Spot in Wausau

Dined on March 27, 2016

I could probably rave all day about Red Eye. It's my absolute favorite place to go in Wausau. While I don't live in the area anymore, every time I come home to visit family or friends I absolutely must go. The beer is always delicious and I like that they also rotate other local breweries in the mix and always have a variety of styles. It seems a lot of places these days are just a little too IPA happy with all their beer selections. I also love that in addition to their regular menu they have chef specials that are changing. Service is always great here as well. Definitely a must in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food and service was excellent! We ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our food and service was excellent! We had shrimp tacos and a black bean quinoa burger with wonderful greens.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific locally sourced food and beer

Dined on March 18, 2016

We try something different every time we go - never disappointed. Kids love the wood-fired pizza and Italian sodas.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place. Wowed friends from Portland.

Dined on March 8, 2016

We were visiting red eye, which is already a favorite, with my inlaws from portland. They ordered a pizza and the chicken mac, and thought both were delicious. Our waitress was also extremely friendly, natural, and made our experience there even better. I loved the locavore pizza and my husband had the burger (juicy and flavorful). I love how everything is unique, with local ingredients and fresh veggies. So good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Gluten Friendly Menu

Dined on March 5, 2016

I was very happy to find a wide variety of gluten free options that were healthier to eat. For the first time in years, I could order a burger in a restaurant. Gluten free bun, grass fed beef, absolutely wonderful. We had great service, great food and will be going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First but Not Last

Dined on March 5, 2016

We showed up an hour and a half before our reservations just to sample the excellent selection of in house brews. We got seated early and enjoyed our food immensely. The thing we really enjoyed about the whole night is how friendly the staff was, from the check in girl to the bartender to Makayla our waitress, who was awesome. This was our First time there and definitely not our Last time going there. Really a great place!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food in hip atmosphere

Dined on March 5, 2016

I love Red Eye Brewing. It is my favorite restaurant in the Wausau area. The food is interesting, flavorful, and they offer specials which are unique and varied. Whenever people come to visit this is where we like to bring them to eat. My only complaint was The noise. We were having a family dinner with out of town guests and had a very difficult time hearing each other on Friday night when the restaurant was very busy. Also, I wish they would offer more comfortable seating. I have a hard time with the seating which is hard wooden chairs and I have heard similar complaints from others. Overall Red eye is still my favorite restaurant as the food, beer and beverages are outstanding!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Don't miss out on Red Eye when you're in Wausau

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was our third trip up from Chicago and we've gone to Red Eye each time. The food is yummy (I'm in love with the Bianca Pizza and the Truffle Tots) and the atmosphere has a great energy but is still relaxing. Service has been great for us each time (last weekend we had Amelia and she was wonderful for our group of 8 adults and kids).

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience as always.

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Great dining experience as always. My family's favorite Wausau restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely go back!

Dined on February 16, 2016

This was our first time eating at Red Eye Brewing Company, and I would definitely recommend it. The food was excellent, as was the service, and the ambiance is very eclectic.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

out of town visit

Dined on February 14, 2016

we were in Wausau to go skiing and found Red Eye Brewery on Open Table. Make your reservations early because this place fills up! The food was great and they had a special occasion menu for Valentines Day. We tried 3 different beers and enjoyed them all. We will return next time we visit Granite Peak!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food, great tap selection, and ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent food, great tap selection, and energetic atmosphere make this a local favorite!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Always make reservations for Saturday night, and other select weeknights.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brew pub in Wausau, hands down. The ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Best brew pub in Wausau, hands down. The food is tasting and appeals to a family or an adult night out.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall, good experience

Dined on January 30, 2016

My husband and I were visiting Wausau for the weekend and decided to check this place out. We stopped by Friday but were told it was an hour 1/2 wait, so we decided to wait until Saturday and made a reservation online, to be safe. When we arrived for our reservation, we were seated promptly and the food came out quickly, despite the fact that it was busy in the restaurant. The food was very good; my husband had the meatballs and I had the Wisconsin burger. He also had a beer and cranberry gin drink. Overall, our experience was positive. One thing I would note, though, is that we felt very rushed during our dining experience. I understand that waiters want to get as many tables as they can in a shift, but I felt like that was our server's main focus, rather than us enjoying our time at the restaurant. For instance, I had eaten half of my burger and was obviously not finished with my meal, yet, and she quickly asked if I wanted a box. She also asked us on several occasions if we wanted the bill when we were still eating our meals. She was very nice, but this was just something that prevented us from giving an outstanding rating. This place is nice and has a cool ambiance, but they may benefit from upgrading to a bigger space, which would give them more bar space for people to hang out while waiting for their tables and would most likely lower their wait time, which was even an hour 1/2 when we got there on Saturday.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Great service!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Went there with 4 other girls for a bachelorette party lunch and our server was AWESOME!! They brought us out a huge dessert to share as a gift to the bride, it was so sweet of them. Great beer, good food, and amazing service.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Faorite Microbrewery in Central Wisconsin!

Dined on January 28, 2016

The Red Eye offers some of the best prepared artisan food in Central Wisconsin and will top it off will some of the best craft beer in the Mid-West. My favorites are the grilled angus beef flatiron (medium rare) and the Napolitana woodfired pizza topped with a cracked egg.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

We frequent this restaurant often over t ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

We frequent this restaurant often over the years. As always, the service was pretty good. This time the food was a disappointment. (That's why the only 3 stars this time) The server came to us- did not state Her name, but instead stated she would be back with water- not asking if we wanted anything else to drink. The server took over 5 minutes to bring water. The chefs specials were not up to the usual standards. The nachos I special ordered ahead did not have much on them for veggies/ just mostly a soupy mess of cheese. The salmon was burned to the point it only tasted charred. I did return it, and it took over 1/2 hour to get new- by that time the other guest was finished with her food( which was also sub par for a 25$ steak!) It was such a disappointment after years of going here, I might rethink it for a food choice next time and only go back for drinks.

food3
ambience5
service5

The waitstaff was perfect. My lunch comp ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

The waitstaff was perfect. My lunch companion was 30 minutes late and the wait staff never once made me feel I was taking up valuable lunchtime space (which I know I was.)

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing mussels as an appetizer, outstan ...

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Amazing mussels as an appetizer, outstanding food! When we are in Wausau, which is mostly to ski, we go! Always great!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good food - awesome waitress

Dined on December 24, 2015

This was a fun place to go - we had a couple of appetizers and ordered 3 pizzas - more than enough food for 4 people. It was our first time to the area and unlikely we will return, but it's a fun place to go.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The customer service was top notch tonig ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

The customer service was top notch tonight. Our waitress, Meredith was attentive and on top of each thing we requested. We had a reservation for 12---- and she made sure that each of us felt like we were the only person at the table! Food was superb, atmosphere was great as usual and the drinks were yummy! The owners and staff really give customers a one of a kind customer service experience! Our special occasion, with 12, was well taken care of at this establishment from the time we walked in to the minute we left!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dishes and super friendly staf ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

Delicious dishes and super friendly staff

food5
ambience5
service5

Truly Excellent

Dined on December 13, 2015

The food is fantastic, and the service is always excellent. Honestly, I'm always impressed by the friendly and accommodating waitstaff. My favorite place to eat with Wausau.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great setting for a after work dinner with friends

Dined on December 11, 2015

From the drinks to prior to our meal, the wonderful food and finally the great service all in all it was a pleasure to eat at Red Eye!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

We are never disappointed in Red Eye. T ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

We are never disappointed in Red Eye. The staff is well trained and friendly. We had the wood-fired pizza which was good. After seeing some of the other plated meals, it makes us want to go back and try other choices on the menu. Good beer also!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.