About Red Dog

Chef Lauren Kiino brings her distinctive style of approachable, inventive farm-to-table California cuisine to SOMA. Taking advantage of the Bay Area's outstanding quality and variety of meats and produce, she incorporates local ingredients into dishes inspired by flavors from Italy and across the U.S. In perfect counterpoint, the 20 seat bar offers craft beer, a well curated wine program, and on-point modern and classic cocktails.

Expect a decidedly diner-friendly environment: comfortable and welcoming, with complementary modern and rustic touches.

303 Second Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am-9pm
Saturday -10:00am-9pm
Sunday: 10:00am-8:00pm

Brunch
Weekends: 10:00am-3:00pm
Lunch
Weekdays: 11:30pm-3:00pm
Happy Hour
Daily: 3:00-7:00pm
Dinner
Week Days: 5:00pm-close

Cross Street:
Between Folsom and Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 692-0211

Website:
http://www.reddogrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
In close proximity to AT&T park, Red Dog welcomes Bay Area sports enthusiasts to enjoy local and nationwide games in HD at our 20-seat bar.

We are featuring live Jazz every Friday and Saturday nights at 7pm.

Catering:
Red Dog offers catering customized to your needs, from small business lunch delivery to full service formal events. Please email us at catering@reddogrestaurant.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our building (303 2nd Street); the entrance is located on Folsom between 1st St. and 2nd St. Street parking is plentiful on evenings and weekends.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Station at 2nd St. and Market serves all BART and MUNI trains.
Cal Train stops at 4th St. and Townsend.
Muni lines 10 & 12 run along 2nd St.
Muni lines 14 & 14L stop at 2nd St. & Mission.
Muni lines 8AX & 8BX, 30, & 45 run along 3rd St.

Executive Chef:
Lauren Kiino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Dog is available for private & semi-private events. We will customize menus and events for our business and private clients.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

2,500 square foot restaurant with open space, a huge bar, and floor to ceiling windows. Take a virtual tour of this beautiful, modern space on Google Maps!

Red Dog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.4

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
See All
Great for Brunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We are from the neighborhood and want this restaurant to succeed and do well. Unfortunately, it seems that this restaurant is doomed to fail. We have gone back several times, hoping they can get their act together. Last time we were there was before Lady Gaga at ATT park, and it was clear they were overwhelmed and did a horrible job. In fact, we never did receive our food after two hours of waiting and left.

So, we went back again on an evening when they weren't very busy. The good news, we did receive our food and so can actually comment on that aspect. However, the overall service was poor and perhaps even some ethical problems. After arriving at the restaurant and being seated, we waited for perhaps 15 minutes for menus, water, etc. The wine menu is very limited, and in my opinion, overpriced. We ordered one of the 6 red wines on the menu. 10 minutes later, the waitress came back and said they were out of the wine we ordered. She suggested instead another wine which was 50% higher price than the (overpriced) bottle we had ordered. I asked to see the wine menu again and ordered a different wine. The wine finally came about 10 minutes later, 30 minutes after entering the restaurant. Interestingly, when we actually received our bill at the end of the meal, we were charged a wine price that was $13 higher than listed on the menu. I challenged this and after 10 minutes, they came back and said there was an error in their computer and they corrected the bill. Hmm.

The food itself was ok, although I believe is overpriced for the value. As an example, our daughter had a bowl of the vegetarian chili, which is $17. I had the $16 burger, and it was reasonable.

We won't be back to this restaurant. The service is poor, the food is ok, but overpriced and the wine list is limited and overpriced. Fortunately, there are an increasing number of choices in the neighborhood (go to the excellent South Park Cafe or Fringale for example).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Horrible horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We waited for almost 2 hours with barely any service. I'm sure they lost the order, but after talking to the manager and the head waitstaff three times, we expected they would respond and find it. We walked out without eating at 7:15 after arriving at 5:15 with a reservation. I know restaurants have mix-ups at times, but fixing them is what service is all about. The food never arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We were a party of 8, with 5:00 reservation pre lady Gaga show at AT&T. After ordering, we received our drinks about 30 minutes later. Then 10 minutes later, 2 people received their food. 30 minutes later, the rest of us had still not received our food. We ended up leaving without eating, as we needed to get to our show. So, we can't really review the food, but the service was horrible. This restaurant just isn't ready for prime time. Very frustrating experience as we had out of town guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We went before a concert and it was packed. The waiter was very friendly and tried his best even though the staff was stretched way too thin. Food was mostly good, but pretty pricey. The beer bread was $5.00, but only for 4 smallish slices. Expensive for the amount of food in the dishes. Took a long time to get our drinks, they arrived after our starters. We had to send back our Pisco Sours as they were full of bitters, they were orange as the bartenders had stirred the bitters in and then put more bitters on top. The waiter readily took them back and did not charge us. Shrimp risotto really good. Lots of potential, but they need some improvements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Had a reservation before a concert for 5:00. We ordered and 7:00 NO food! We walked out and will never return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I recently selected the Red Dog Restaurant to meet a friend for a goodbye brunch. Both of us never having dined there and looking for a good place to eat and chat, I selected this restaurant due to its good ratings on service and food.

We reserved an early Sunday Brunch time without a problem. Upon arriving the staff warmly greeted us and sat us promptly. Our server was very helpful to offer suggestions for potential brunch choices. After carefully reviewing our choices, we chose the Red Dog Benedict and Chicken & Biscuits. Along with our entrees, I chose a beautiful Brut Rosé. A few short minutes after our entrees arrived and taking one quick bite, I immediately went to grab the pepper grinder. While reaching for the pepper grinder, I slightly tapping my champagne flute. I watched in slow motion and horror as my Brut Rosé went tumbling into my friend's plate of Red Dog Benedict. Not only did the flute fall, it broke leaving several shards of glass on her plate and the table. My spill was heard throughout the restaurant. One of the staff immediately came to our rescue, picked up the broken glass, both of our dishes, cleared the table, removed the glass shards, and said that they would have two new entrees back at our table quickly. Aside from my utter embarrassment, the staff (manager, our server, and the gentleman who cleared our table) did everything to take care of the situation - making sure we were both OK, getting two new of the same entrees, and new beverages. All three said not to worry, accidents happen and we'll take care of it.

The service we received alone would make me recommend this place, but the entrees we selected were so delicious, along with the delicious and bubbly Brut Rosé. I highly recommend both entrees, the Red Dog Benedict and Chicken & Biscuits for brunch. We chose to share our meals to enjoy both options. I plan to go back and try their lunch or dinner choices, but for brunch, Red Dog is Top Dog on service and food in my book.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

We stopped there before a baseball game at ATT Park for a quick bite in a casual setting. Service was friendly and helpful in recommending a beer for our taste. My husband had a very good burger and I ordered the Shrimp and Grits which was outstanding. It was before 5 pm so place was very quiet but probably much more lively later in the evening. We would definitely go back particularly for the Shrimp and Grits!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I'll start with the good part - the food has potential (although there was a so much vinegar on a salad that my mouth actually puckered when I tasted it). The melon, burrata and speck salad was good as was the beer bread. I would love to tell you about the pasta entrée, but I can't because it took so long to come out that we had to leave before tasting it. I don't know if they were understaffed in the kitchen or with servers, but everything was slow and we were not the only ones. Through sheer luck, we decided to order everything when we first saw our server (after almost 15 minutes). If we hadn't done that, I can't imagine how long it would have taken. Even then, the food came out in dribs and drabs. We even had to go to the bar to get water while waiting for our server. I guess I should have known we were in for trouble when we first got there and the host initially couldn't find our Open Table reservation and then realized that he had seated another party of two and assumed it was us. If they get their act together on the service issues, the restaurant has potential (once they figure out the vinegar ratio for their dressing).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Went there before the James Taylor concert. The restaurant was aware of the event. However, the staff was still a bit overwhelmed. Food was great, but our waitress had forgotten about one of our drinks. The table next to ours had to remind the waitress about their drinks and one of their entrees. We will like to go back an try it again when the situation isn't so hectic.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Met some friends here for brunch, and we enjoyed it tremendously. LOVED the burrata and speck. Outstanding! The service was great, too. Definitely worth a try...and unlike most restaurants in SF, they take brunch reservations.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Very good place !! Our server (Gabby) was awesome. Food was very good, I had the shrimp and Gritts. Just a really laid back comfortable dinner. Do your self a favor and go.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food is delicious and very fresh and creative. The menu includes a nice range from casual to more "refined" dishes. The space is large and even though it was a crowded night (after a Giants game) we were comfortable and able to have table conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This place is a great find in SOMA. We had brunch on Sunday, the food is fundamentally basic breakfast/brunch, but with spicy twists and some interesting combinations that made it fun and delicious. The smashed fried potatoes are a great spin on hash browns, the chicken and biscuit absolutely delicious...sausage gravy! And the biscuit was kind of an herby cornbread. Portions are generous. Service is a little slow, but very accommodating and friendly, so no problems, just don't be in a big hurry. The coffee is excellent, and props to the bartender and his spicy Bloody Marys. Real grated horseradish and everything. We will come back for sure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great service and food. Definitely returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Good time, good food, good price, good decor, good location, easy parking

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Very good food, especially the local salmon they are serving now. Service is friendly and good, but a little slow at times.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

My first visit and while they were very accommodating as an extra friend showed up without notice, felt the food was not commiserate with the prices. Took forever to receive my check for signing after giving my credit card. Most likely something occurred that was not normal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Not that crowded when we got our table, but service was beyond slow. It took about 10 minutes to get a drink order in, then another 10 to 15 to receive said drink. The hamburger was super salty. Super. Salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great place for a lovely business meal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I've been to Red Dog many times for lunch and enjoyed my experience, but I was shocked to see such a difference during the brunch service. The service was extremely slow. Not only to bring out our food, but to take our order, bring water, and bring our drinks. The restaurant was half empty, and it was at noon on a Saturday, so definitely a time for the management to anticipate enough people coming in. They really didn't seem to understand their service was slow, even when we followed up on a few items. Will not go for brunch again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We recently had the opportunity to have brunch here and we were so happy with our selection. This restaurant's pastry chef is the real deal. You must try the house made English muffin or the spring garlic biscuits both will leave you begging for more. We shared the meyer lemon ricotta pancakes WOW. Light, fluffy, not overly sweet but the syrup added just the right amount of sweetness. We didn't even need butter. Shrimp and grits is another must try. Shrimp are cooked to perfection. The grits are substantial, cheesy and full of flavor. The smoked tomatoes on the plate had just enough smoke. The other dish we shared was the fried chicken with sausage gravy and biscuit. The chicken was very moist, the breading was well seasoned and the gravy was not too heavy. All in all a great meal. We can't wait to come back and try lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great service. They accommodated out food restrictions without a problem. Great ambience for a casual dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Took too long for the waitress to come over and take our order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was the saddest excuse for a prix fix buffet brunch I've experienced outside of a complimentary industrial park hotel buffet ridiculously priced, meh assortment, everything was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great ambiance and good service. Very cool bar and on the way to the Giants game from downtown. Try the Fried Chicken Sandwich!

Tags: Organic, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had a nice brunch at Red Dog. Good selection of dishes to satisfy both the sweet and savoury palate. Our server was friendly and accommodating but the food took a while to arrive. Pick a table further away from the door as it tends to get drafty there. Nice ambiance too and not too crowded on weekends. Will come back for dinner and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is a good solid place to eat. Lots of light and space. Excellent service. Good bar. Lot's of flexibility in seating.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The menu is small, but nonetheless had multiple interesting options. The fare seems to feature seasonal ingredients with a slight Italian accent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Quinoa Salad, added Salmon - fresh and tasty. Glass of Chardonnay was buttery/delicious and generous. Great value overall. Definitely recommend for biz lunch.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The fried mac & cheese balls were amaze-balls. It was a bit noisy but seems because we were sitting right under a ceiling speaker blasting music, but once the place filled with lunch time visitors the music was quickly drowned out by the crowd noise. Not too noisy to have a nice lunch conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The staff is friendly & the food is great! It's a beautiful spot. It would make a fun happy hour spot but I went during Brunch time on a Saturday. I absolutely loved the cocktails. I met the manager & the head bartender who were both friendly & attentive. I will return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service was great. It wasn't very busy when we came..Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was so loud we could not hear each other. It would have be excellent all across the board but the noise level was ridiculous. By 30 minutes in, I had to take a break and go outside. Other than the noise level it was great especially our server. He was excellent. It was recommended but the music was new.

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Staff needs to be quicker chef was slow took 20 minutes for one dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food! Kind staff, but not very attentive. Drinks and service were lacking. Went for dinner but it became apparent Red Dog is more of a happy hour and lunch spot than a dinner location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were particularly disappointed in the vegetarian options--first there was nothing on the main course menu (and only one appetizer) and then the pastas that were created lacked most anything else, like vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This place is very lightly and has live jazz music playing. So people have to speak up quite a bit to Be heard. The food overall was pretty good. Everything was timed very well. I definitely go back.

Tags: Live Sports, People Watching, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I went for restaurant week, and the food was amazing! However, the service was quite slow. I was expecting the service to be much faster, especially given that there was a prix fixe menu. That being said, the food was delicious enough that I would go again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food. Friendly service. Too loud, especially with a band playing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.