About Red Dog

303 Second Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Chef Lauren Kiino brings her distinctive style of approachable, inventive farm-to-table California cuisine to SOMA. Taking advantage of the Bay Area's outstanding quality and variety of meats and produce, she incorporates local ingredients into dishes inspired by flavors from Italy and across the U.S. In perfect counterpoint, the 20 seat bar offers craft beer, a well curated wine program, and on-point modern and classic cocktails.

Expect a decidedly diner-friendly environment: comfortable and welcoming, with complementary modern and rustic touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am-8:00pm
Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am-7pm

Brunch
Weekends: 10:00am-3:00pm
Lunch
Weekdays: 11:30pm-3:00pm
Happy Hour
Daily: 3:00-7:00pm
Dinner
Week Days: 5:30pm-close

Cross Street:
Between Folsom and Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 692-0211

Website:
http://www.reddogrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
In close proximity to AT&T park, Red Dog welcomes Bay Area sports enthusiasts to enjoy local and nationwide games in HD at our 20-seat bar.

Catering:
Red Dog offers catering customized to your needs, from small business lunch delivery to full service formal events. Please email us at info@reddogrestaurant.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our building (303 2nd Street); the entrance is located on Folsom between 1st St. and 2nd St. Street parking is plentiful on evenings and weekends.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Station at 2nd St. and Market serves all BART and MUNI trains.
Cal Train stops at 4th St. and Townsend.
Muni lines 10 & 12 run along 2nd St.
Muni lines 14 & 14L stop at 2nd St. & Mission.
Muni lines 8AX & 8BX, 30, & 45 run along 3rd St.

Executive Chef:
Lauren Kiino

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Dog is available for private & semi-private events. We will customize menus and events for our business and private clients.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

2,500 square foot restaurant with open space, a huge bar, and floor to ceiling windows. Take a virtual tour of this beautiful, modern space on Google Maps!

Red Dog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (11)
neighborhood gem (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
See All
good for groups (4)
hot spot (2)
fit for foodies (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good location and like the ambiance. Foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Good location and like the ambiance. Food and service usually very good it this time a few glitches- first just as I was about to order was told that sandwich/salad combo could only include veggie sandwich of which there was only one sandwich type. Waiter said that was a decision just made. Then our salads didn' t have nectarines and it took quite a while to get someone's attention and then to get the nectarines. I'll still probably go back since it's a good location for me and hope that the service improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

I loved this restaurant before its manag ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I loved this restaurant before its management change, but the salad I got was sub-par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The place was very quiet for Fathers Day ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The place was very quiet for Fathers Day, but my friend & I had a great time anyway. We had the BBQ platter, and it was awesome!!

We will be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch. It was solid. I would ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went for brunch. It was solid. I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was good. Great because of the compan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It was good. Great because of the company I was with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of My Faves

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service. Love that this place is back open. Very happy to see that the menu has not changed much - still have all of my favorites!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Welcome Back, Red Dog!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

So glad this restaurant is back. Excellent food, excellent menu, excellent service. One of my local neighborhood favorites.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! We had to wait for other ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great service! We had to wait for others to arrive and they were very accommodating. Enjoyed citrus olives and a beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service were outstanding! Nois ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Food and service were outstanding! Noise level was fairly high but don't let this fact stop you from a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The Server Made the Difference

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

There are several factors that go into having a quality dining experience. Food, ambiance and service to name a few. The food was good, ambiance just fine but the service was great! Lauren is a bubbly waitress who paid attention when we needed her and knew when to leave us alone to enjoy our conversation and food. She made the experience at Red Dog more than positive when it could have been just another lunch at just another restaurant. Be sure to ask for Lauren if you eat at Red Dog.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Red Dog SOMA

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The best service from the point we walked in the door till we left. Our waitress was charming very attentive and made great suggestions for our first visit. She must have shared that with the manager who at the end of our meal came over to see how we liked our night mentioning he knew it was our first visit. BREAD...the beer bread starter was delicious served with honey butter, we (party of 4) devoured our first order with one slice each, we ordered a second equally delicious but not as warm as the first order. Bread continued the theme with home made buns for our burger orders. The hamburger was ground in house, juicy and cooked to perfection dressed with home made bacon and special sauce served with fresh crisp french fries. We finished the meal with no surprise here, Bread. We ordered the Lemon Bread Pudding!! SOOO delicious!! Warm amazing goodness topped with a huckleberry sauce and dollop of vanilla ice cream. The couple we dined with ordered the Rocky Road Sundae after our waitress recommendation. They too were not disappointed. Delicious ice creams with candied nuts and home made marshmallows. It felt like a place most would meet up and go after work but we will go again and don't mind making it a destination restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great!!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Love Chef Lauren's delicious food. Great service. A true favorite!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Solid afterwork meetup

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Wanted to meet a couple friends for dinner near our offices and Red Dog came up having availability. The menu looked great so we booked. Arrived at 730 to find the restaurant surprisingly empty. We ordered some drinks and appetizers. Two of our selections were no longer available. We all chose the burger for our entree. All of the food was solid, I would return to try items we did not order. The service felt as though they were new to the job, though they were pleasant. The bar was full the whole time we were there, that may be the place to sit.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Brunch was delicious, definitely go back

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Brunch was delicious, definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent service, great location, and the food is delicious. Brunch is especially great. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great accommodation for food allergies.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great accommodation for food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible Brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Met with out of town friends the day before Super Bowl..., Red Dog was close and highly recommended! It did not disappoint..., EXCELLENT service, bottomless Mimosa's, yummy Brunch food and totally a great experience...5 Stars!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inconsistency

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My friend and I both ordered the same sandwiches. His eggs were over cooked and mine was runny but thought I only had one egg because it was so flat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Restaurant Week Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

I came here for the first time the other day with my sister. We wanted to try out their $15 lunch and it was fantastic! In addition to the choices on the set Restaurant Week menu we also got the Scotch Egg. Everything was delicious and our server was super friendly to boot. Ice cream sandwich packed to go was a nice treat to enjoy later too! I would come back for their food, ambiance, and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, so-so service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Restaurant Week menu was a reasonable value, especially with the paired cocktails. The Crispy Fried Brussels Sprouts were amazing! Pickled egg, not so much.

The service really fell down here. Our waitress was nice enough, but the coordination between her, the bar, and the kitchen food runner was nonexistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Red Dog a great place for lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

The Red Dog is a good place for lunch because the food is fresh made. The hamburgers are especially good because they grind their own hamburger. The burgers look small, but they are thick and mine was perfectly cooked. The fries are delicious and cookie ice cream sandwich is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Decent SOMA food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

During my recent dinner, the best features of Red Dog were the service and the lively atmosphere. All wait staff were cheerful, attentive, and helpful. Food portions were generous and for the most part tasty. Hard-boiled egg, however, was way overcooked. Beet and burratta salad was very good. Tagliatelle entree was the low point, not terrible but when you order pasta in a restaurant, you want to be confident that you yourself couldn't do better at home, and, in this case, I wasn't. The high point: my cocktail, an El Presidente, was superb. I would go back just for the cocktails (but probably pass on dinner). On the whole, not a bad experience. The SOMA location is convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

What stood out was the horrendous servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

What stood out was the horrendous service and how we spent our lunch hour waiting and never getting to eat. Great way to entice new customers for restaurant week. We'll be sure to never go back and let our friends know as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

A delicious lunch with some really great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

A delicious lunch with some really great food. What a nice find in the busy area of downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Interesting menu with a variety of choices, delicious fried chicken sandwich & great fries, good service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for brunch!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Great place for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the lunch combos! Perfect for a tea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

Love the lunch combos! Perfect for a team lunch in the financial district

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Not up to SF standards

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

The only positive about this restaurant was 50% off wine on Monday. Food was subpar for SF and the wait staff are very inexperienced. What a shame for SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Every bite was delicious, the portions w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Every bite was delicious, the portions were generous, the cocktail menu was very creative, the service was just right and the noise level was active but not annoying. I can't wait to go back to Red Dog.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Dog - needs more training

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

I want to like this place more. I work and live nearby. But the service is just so erratic. Waiters don't check in. Plates aren't cleared before new dishes arrive. They put used silverware back on the table rather than bringing a new set. Food doesn't all come at one time. It feels like there is no manager or training. Food is decent and well priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food was okay, nothing special

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Food was okay, nothing special. Took a large group and they struggled a bit serving us. It was nice in that it wasn't too crowded for a brunch but they made a couple errors on dishes. Would give it another try though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Really loved the Scotch egg

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Really loved the Scotch egg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good for goodbye lunches

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

Good spot for office lunch when someone is moving on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Wonderful meal and incredible hospitalit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

Wonderful meal and incredible hospitality from the moment I walked in until I left. I went in for a casual dinner and left feeling like a king. Very impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Every time I go here, we get excellent f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Every time I go here, we get excellent food - part comfort, part innovative, plus amazing cocktails, attentive service - and very reasonable prices. Hat's off to Chef Kiino for making Red Dog a consistently great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, food is excellent. Good f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Great service, food is excellent. Good for groups as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really love the vibe at Red Dog. They ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 29, 2015

I really love the vibe at Red Dog. They put care into the food, but the people are relaxed (Zins a good way). They change the menu a lot and on this occasion I just wasn't drawn to the options. But I would certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Never disappointing, the food is always ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Never disappointing, the food is always on point, with some consistency issues. It's never bad, it hovers between amazing and very good. I'd love to have an epic meal every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Food & Great Service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

This restaurant is clearly a local favorite given that the restaurant filled up quite quickly for lunch. The menu is varied and changes frequently which keeps it fresh. The staff was very friendly, courteous and attentive. The food was very good and the portions were just right. I'd definitely go visit again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was good.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Food was good, but it was noisy and servers seemed overwhelmed. However, in their defense, it was during Dreamforce week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.