Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 15 times today

Red Dog

4.3
256 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Lunch
  • Comfort Food
Chef Lauren Kiino brings her distinctive style of approachable, inventive farm-to-table California cuisine to SOMA. Taking advantage of the Bay Area's outstanding quality and variety of meats and produce, she incorporates local ingredients into dishes inspired by flavors from Italy and across the U.S. In perfect counterpoint, the 20 seat bar offers craft beer, a well curated wine program, and on-point modern and classic cocktails.

Expect a decidedly diner-friendly environment: comfortable and welcoming, with complementary modern and rustic touches.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sat 10:00 am–7:00 pm
Sun 10:00 am–3:00 pm
Brunch
Sat, Sun 10:00 am–3:00 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:00 am–3:00 pm
Happy Hour
Daily 3:00 pm–7:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 692-0211
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Lauren Kiino
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Red Dog offers catering customized to your needs, from small business lunch delivery to full service formal events. Please email us at catering@reddogrestaurant.com for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Folsom and Harrison
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available in our building (303 2nd Street); the entrance is located on Folsom between 1st St. and 2nd St. Street parking is plentiful on evenings and weekends.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Montgomery Station at 2nd St. and Market serves all BART and MUNI trains.
Cal Train stops at 4th St. and Townsend.
Muni lines 10 & 12 run along 2nd St.
Muni lines 14 & 14L stop at 2nd St. & Mission.
Muni lines 8AX & 8BX, 30, & 45 run along 3rd St.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
In close proximity to AT&T park, Red Dog welcomes Bay Area sports enthusiasts to enjoy local and nationwide games in HD at our 20-seat bar.

We are featuring live Jazz every Friday and Saturday nights at 7pm.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Red Dog is available for private & semi-private events. We will customize menus and events for our business and private clients.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

2,500 square foot restaurant with open space, a huge bar, and floor to ceiling windows. Take a virtual tour of this beautiful, modern space on Google Maps!

View Private Dining Details
What 256 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.0
service
4.0
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 6 hours ago

Terrible, fussy, upselling waitstaff wouldn’t provide soda water. One dude, I literally have no idea what combo of drugs he was on. Chicken in my salad was riddled with skin and cartilage. An embarrassment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

We had a toddler with us and the restaurant was so kind to us the whole time. Very happy with the service. They seemed quite happy to see the cute kid!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Perfect spot to eat before a Giants game!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Awesome breakfast! Great menu options and flavors.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Overpriced for the food selection offered. More meat offering expected. Buffets usually include a drink so the $5 for that brought more disappointment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

My friend and I really loved the outdoor patio seating with the fountains and lights surrounding us, quite a refuge from the city life around us. We also enjoyed our drinks (she got a custom one with more sweetness and I got a delicious IPA.

We decided to share some of the appetizers on the Happy Hour Menu -- what a great deal! We got the pork sliders & fried chicken sliders -- really perfectly crispy and juicy. We also enjoyed the asparagus and beer bread (they had to substitute Brussel sprouts with asparagus since they had run out, unfortunately).

Overall a great time and I'd happily come here again after work with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Should apply some sound abatement. Too noisy.

Staff and food are excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great food and service was on point. Welcoming environment.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 22, 2018

The service was the worst I’ve had in years. The waitress didn’t come to check on us or take our order for close to 20min after we were seated. Then after we placed our order for drinks and food it was another 20min before our waitress brought drinks, except it was 2 coffees for the next table (we ordered 2 bottles of sparkling water). After we told her it was almost 10more min before we got our water. Food arrived another 10min later. We were only a party of 2 and our orders weren’t complicated. Food was ok but not great but the overall experience was incredibly slow.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Was here for business gathering and was great location. Staff weren’t very attentive, only complaint.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2018

We were able to conduct business over lunch but staff knew when to provide service !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Wonderful service - very charming and helpful. Delicious lunch food, with comfort food and healthier options. Didn't have a drink, but the selections looked very good. Perhaps I'll return for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Met some friends for brunch. I didn't know the area so I went by the reviews others had left. I was not disappointed. Our waiter was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. One friend had some dietary restrictions, but it was not problem. Our server made suggestions for substitutions. We all loved our food - very flavorful and very well executed. It was not very crowded on a weekend. We were catching up and did not feel rushed at all. Very good experience. If I'm in the area, I will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Friendly staff, decent food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great neighborhood spot. Recently improved their menu. Their brunch has all the favorites without the hassle of waiting in ridiculous lines. You just go whenever you want, they have a lot of seating and can usually accommodate your party. We were a party of 2, but I saw some other tables with 6 and 8.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Great staff. Limited menus . Noisy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Service from the front desk to the actual server was poor. Desultory.. Disinterested. Clearly thought they were above it all is how they came across. Hilarious.. In a crappy two bit bistro knock off with poor food. Dont like working there then leave and go elsewhere! Burgers were not bad. The fries were appallingly bad. Overly crunchy the whole way through. Poor value for money.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 6, 2018

This place is loud, and when I booked, I asked (as I always do) for their quietest table. When he seated us there, the music was blaring. He set about trying to quieten it, without luck initially, but he persisted until he succeeded. Made a huge difference.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

I was looking forward to Restaurant Week dining. When we arrived, the menu had been changed. Also, no longer a 4 course menu, and now a 3 course menu. My wife’s salmon was over cooked even though she specified she wanted it medium rare. The fries served with the hanger steak, were luke warm and did not taste fresh. Flavor of the dessert lacked a distinct chocolate flavor. Lastly, as I had booked reservations thru Open Table, we were supposed to receive special desserts for all of us. I raised attention to our host and they did nothing to accommodate us. Overall, we were not pleased with this restaurant. I’ve gone to several restaurants thru the years via Restaurant Week in SF and New York, and I believe this has been one of our worst experiences, sad to say.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Not a good experience at all! We went for restaurant week based on the menu they had posted online. After we arrived though, the menu was completely different, including one less course than advertised! The service was poor, with over 20 minutes before we were even offered water, despite the restaurant being less than half full. I ordered the fish of the day because I was told it was king salmon. It took over half an hour for our entrees to arrive after they took away the appetizer plates... but we were only notified there was a delay after over 20 minutes, and there was no effort to compensate us or offer anything for the wait. The reason they gave was that the kitchen was backed up, though the restaurant was still less than half full. Then, when the food arrived I didn’t get salmon! To make matters worse, they didn’t bother to tell me about the change - I had to ask why my fish was white to be told that they had run out of salmon and we’re using halibut instead. My two friends both ordered steak medium rare... one got medium steak and the other was rare. The food itself was only ok and was underseasoned (the “Cajun” mussels had no spice). Overall a very disappointing and overpriced experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 22, 2018

a fine place to walk in and get a decent lunch in a place you can have a conversation

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Didn’t realize they closed at 7 on a Saturday until we got there. Had reservations at 6 so we had to hurry up and leave after eating dinner.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 5, 2018

Arrived at noon for lunch. Order taken 10 mins later. Food arrived 45 mins after the order was taken -- that was for 4 burgers, 2 sandwiches, not very complex things on the menu. 2 of the burgers were ordered Medium but raw in the middle. Sent them back. 20 mins after that the burgers came back. Again they were raw in the middle. Gave up and left. Serving staff was appropriately apologetic but the kitchen performance was abysmal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

I planned a company dinner here and Melissa was our amazing server for the ENTIRE party. She kept the food coming, the drinks coming, and provided us with all of the help we needed. I decided to take my husband here for date night a few weeks after my company dinner. And, Melissa was our server again! SHE IS PHENOMENAL. She gave all of the best recommendations and helped create such a relaxing atmosphere. SHE DESERVES A RAISE. I plan to have another company meal here and when I do, I am going to request Melissa!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Really good food and service. Scotch egg is a favorite. Burger was a bit overdone but well seasoned and flavorful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 5, 2017

We were on time for a reservations, were seated and waited half an hour to order and another half hour for food- one person had to leave and get their food to go. If you are serving lunch in the financial district, you need to be more efficient than that!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

The food was excellent and the mimosa carafes were a fantastic touch! I would definitively return here again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

We are never disappointed with Red Dog! Great service and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Great service and the food was delicious. We ate a prix fix Thanksgiving and it was a huge portion of amazing food. We will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Red Dog is an underdiscovered gem in San Francisco. It is truly a place where hospitality meets food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2017

We stumbled into this place without any expectations. The brunch menu looked appetizing- I had a nice burger and a mimosa. Great service and friendly staff. I would come back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Great food. Great service especially considering the circumstances. The day we came for brunch, it was clear that the restaurant was understaffed. It took nearly 10 minutes after we sat down to order drinks, another 10+ minutes before we could order brunch, and what felt like and eternity before we received our drinks and meal. However, the waiter was always pleasant, apologized for the delay and would try to bring us updates. The issue was clearly a staffing issue which is why I cannot give this review a full 5 stars. However, I would still recommend this place to others; the food was quite excellent and staff was cheerful. I'm sure the next time will be better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Service was extremely friendly and the food was awesome! Will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2017

Management must have taken the service critiques seriously--from the friendly host to the knowledgeable waiter who kept the coffee refills coming, to the efficient bus staff, the experience was seamless and fast. And the food was delicious. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Red Table reservation had a “bonus” for a dessert via Open Table. After bringing it up to waitress, she came back with 2 dessert options then added the dessert item to the bill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2017

A great neighbourhood restaurant

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 6, 2017

My friend's order was specific: coleslaw on the side and no dressing on the bun for his fried chicken sandwich. Unfortunately, it came with dressing on the bun and coleslaw on the plate. The good news is that a manager came over and quickly returned the plate and prepared a new sandwich to my friend's specifications.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Service was a bit sluggish on a Saturday afternoon. It took 10 mins from being seated until we saw the waiter, and on from there.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 29, 2017

This was the second time I've been to Red Dog and have been disappointed. Both times the food was COLD and LATE to our table and they were OUT of food. The manager came by our table and talked about how our group should definitely try the Scotch Egg - we were so excited to try it, but when our waitress came to the table she said they were out of it.

Also, we did ask for a dish to be replaced because it was super cold and inedible, and the waitress was very apologetic and got us a hot meal.

It seems like this is a new restaurant that is down on kitchen staff, so I would not recommend this place unless you are SUPER hungry and don't mind waiting for your food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 17, 2017

We are from the neighborhood and want this restaurant to succeed and do well. Unfortunately, it seems that this restaurant is doomed to fail. We have gone back several times, hoping they can get their act together. Last time we were there was before Lady Gaga at ATT park, and it was clear they were overwhelmed and did a horrible job. In fact, we never did receive our food after two hours of waiting and left.

So, we went back again on an evening when they weren't very busy. The good news, we did receive our food and so can actually comment on that aspect. However, the overall service was poor and perhaps even some ethical problems. After arriving at the restaurant and being seated, we waited for perhaps 15 minutes for menus, water, etc. The wine menu is very limited, and in my opinion, overpriced. We ordered one of the 6 red wines on the menu. 10 minutes later, the waitress came back and said they were out of the wine we ordered. She suggested instead another wine which was 50% higher price than the (overpriced) bottle we had ordered. I asked to see the wine menu again and ordered a different wine. The wine finally came about 10 minutes later, 30 minutes after entering the restaurant. Interestingly, when we actually received our bill at the end of the meal, we were charged a wine price that was $13 higher than listed on the menu. I challenged this and after 10 minutes, they came back and said there was an error in their computer and they corrected the bill. Hmm.

The food itself was ok, although I believe is overpriced for the value. As an example, our daughter had a bowl of the vegetarian chili, which is $17. I had the $16 burger, and it was reasonable.

We won't be back to this restaurant. The service is poor, the food is ok, but overpriced and the wine list is limited and overpriced. Fortunately, there are an increasing number of choices in the neighborhood (go to the excellent South Park Cafe or Fringale for example).

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7