About Red Dog

Chef Lauren Kiino brings her distinctive style of approachable, inventive farm-to-table California cuisine to SOMA. Taking advantage of the Bay Area's outstanding quality and variety of meats and produce, she incorporates local ingredients into dishes inspired by flavors from Italy and across the U.S. In perfect counterpoint, the 20 seat bar offers craft beer, a well curated wine program, and on-point modern and classic cocktails.

Expect a decidedly diner-friendly environment: comfortable and welcoming, with complementary modern and rustic touches.

303 Second Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am-9pm
Saturday -10:00am-9pm
Sunday: 10:00am-8:00pm

Brunch
Weekends: 10:00am-3:00pm
Lunch
Weekdays: 11:30pm-3:00pm
Happy Hour
Daily: 3:00-6:00pm
Dinner
Week Days: 5:00pm-close

Cross Street:
Between Folsom and Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 692-0211

Website:
http://www.reddogrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
In close proximity to AT&T park, Red Dog welcomes Bay Area sports enthusiasts to enjoy local and nationwide games in HD at our 20-seat bar.

We are featuring live Jazz every Friday and Saturday nights at 7pm.

Catering:
Red Dog offers catering customized to your needs, from small business lunch delivery to full service formal events. Please email us at catering@reddogrestaurant.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our building (303 2nd Street); the entrance is located on Folsom between 1st St. and 2nd St. Street parking is plentiful on evenings and weekends.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Station at 2nd St. and Market serves all BART and MUNI trains.
Cal Train stops at 4th St. and Townsend.
Muni lines 10 & 12 run along 2nd St.
Muni lines 14 & 14L stop at 2nd St. & Mission.
Muni lines 8AX & 8BX, 30, & 45 run along 3rd St.

Executive Chef:
Lauren Kiino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Dog is available for private & semi-private events. We will customize menus and events for our business and private clients.

Specials

Live Jazz

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Live Jazz

Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

We offer live Jazz on Fridays and Saturday evenings starting at 7pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 28, 2017 - Jun 25, 2017 on Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Family Style Easter Brunch at Red Dog Restaurant. Family style prix-fixie menu $40 for adults and $12 for kids.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Bring mom to Red Dog this Mother's Day!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

2,500 square foot restaurant with open space, a huge bar, and floor to ceiling windows. Take a virtual tour of this beautiful, modern space on Google Maps!

Red Dog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Authentic (2)
Live Music (2)
Live Sports (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is a good solid place to eat. Lots of light and space. Excellent service. Good bar. Lot's of flexibility in seating.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The menu is small, but nonetheless had multiple interesting options. The fare seems to feature seasonal ingredients with a slight Italian accent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Quinoa Salad, added Salmon - fresh and tasty. Glass of Chardonnay was buttery/delicious and generous. Great value overall. Definitely recommend for biz lunch.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The fried mac & cheese balls were amaze-balls. It was a bit noisy but seems because we were sitting right under a ceiling speaker blasting music, but once the place filled with lunch time visitors the music was quickly drowned out by the crowd noise. Not too noisy to have a nice lunch conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The staff is friendly & the food is great! It's a beautiful spot. It would make a fun happy hour spot but I went during Brunch time on a Saturday. I absolutely loved the cocktails. I met the manager & the head bartender who were both friendly & attentive. I will return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service was great. It wasn't very busy when we came..Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was so loud we could not hear each other. It would have be excellent all across the board but the noise level was ridiculous. By 30 minutes in, I had to take a break and go outside. Other than the noise level it was great especially our server. He was excellent. It was recommended but the music was new.

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Staff needs to be quicker chef was slow took 20 minutes for one dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food! Kind staff, but not very attentive. Drinks and service were lacking. Went for dinner but it became apparent Red Dog is more of a happy hour and lunch spot than a dinner location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were particularly disappointed in the vegetarian options--first there was nothing on the main course menu (and only one appetizer) and then the pastas that were created lacked most anything else, like vegetables.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This place is very lightly and has live jazz music playing. So people have to speak up quite a bit to Be heard. The food overall was pretty good. Everything was timed very well. I definitely go back.

Tags: Live Sports, People Watching, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I went for restaurant week, and the food was amazing! However, the service was quite slow. I was expecting the service to be much faster, especially given that there was a prix fixe menu. That being said, the food was delicious enough that I would go again.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food. Friendly service. Too loud, especially with a band playing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Host was very accommodating and friendly. Food was delicious. Service got a bit slow at the end, but they were busy for restaurant week. Also had live jazz, which was a nice touch.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

What should have been a simple lunch turned into a 2 plus hour exercise in patience. The kitchen was so slow in getting food out to the table that people in my party had to leave before their meals arrived. The server apologized for the delay but did nothing to accommodate the problem. If you are going to take over an hour to bring food to the table then toss a little bread their way to tide them over while they wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Let me first off begin by saying that I am very impressed at how quick and swiftly I was able to make my reservation for the restaurant. Upon arriving (10 minutes early) I was promptly seated.

After being seated I was put under the impression that our waitress was under training; so during a couple instances where her service slightly fell short, I was more than willing to look past it. Even if she wasn't being trained, I still looked past it. My reason for this was everyone else involved in the service, who clearly outshone her.

My friends and I decided to do three separate orders of the prix fixe four course menu because of restaurant week, all trying different things.

The Indian date with yogurt and chutney instantly opened my palette.

The deviled Scotch egg was done very well, perfectly balanced with the greens. It wasn't too salty at all.

The prime rib was cooked perfectly medium rare, without me having to make a specific request. I often have to do this. Even someone else on the staff particularly asked if the prime rib appeared and tasted as I would like it to.

The apple crisp dessert had a nice homemade flair to it, where the oats made a presence but the cinnamon gelato was still able to bring the dessert together.

I remarked on the presentation of the kitchen, in which is looked absolutely stunning. It was when I saw how impeccable the kitchen looked that I believed I was going to enjoy my meal. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. I'm really glad they participated in Restaurant Week.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We came in at noon on a Sunday for table for 2. Although the service was a little slow, everything else was pleasant about the experience. We started with the spinach salad: it was quite heavily dressed, and I would recommend requesting a lighter dressing. However, it was still quite tasty. We also got scramble and the pork trotter sandwich, both of which we enjoyed. The fries were particularly good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

photos looks better than reality unfortunately. the bartender failed to mention the ongoing happy hour..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

we arrived a few minutes before our reservation time and were seated immediately. the restaurant did not appear very busy - about 8 tables sat, not even 30 total customers including those seated at the bar. we waited over 10 minutes until someone even brought us water and to check if we have been greeted yet. the food was overly salted. the scotch egg had way too much outside crusting for the tiny egg on the inside and it was overly spicy. the apple crisp dessert was even too sweet and sugary and supposedly came with cinnamon gelato which was really just vanilla gelato with a sprinkle of cinnamon on top. the live jazz band was way too loud. the only positive was they substituted broccoli for brussel sprouts in my entree. definitely not returning or recommending to anyone.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Live Sports, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Red Dog does a great job of balancing the offerings between vegetarian and carnivorous. I works for the most diverse group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I went to Red Dog for Restaurant Week for their Prix Fixe menu. Everything was delicious and the service was really nice. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

When I dine here, it's usually for lunch, since I work in the office complex it shares. The food is quite good - they have a "core" menu of regular items that are all excellent; their specials are also very good. The service can be a bit harried, since, at lunchtime, they can get busy. Because of this, they've been known to make errors: this has happened to me on several occasions.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent lunch. Table placements were not intrusive and limited noise. Service was abysmal. The waiters were fine, polite and well mannered, but it took over 40 minutes for the main course to come out after the first course. A 3 course meal for lunch took 80 minutes to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We live in the neighborhood and continue to pull for this restaurant. Love, love, love the menu, the chef, the food. Constantly evolving and adapting to what's fresh and local, and always vegan and veggie options.

However, since the change in ownership the service has clearly been cut way back and the few waitstaff are always running and behind. Also much less expertise on the food itself since the cut backs.

We will continue to go here, but with low expectations for service and anticipation for the food.

Tags: Seasonal, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was extremely loud. They turned the music down (a bit) but it was still loud. As the place filled, it got louder - it's a big boomy space with bright surfaces. The food really is quite excellent (though the fries were cold). Our server was gracious and attentive. The options in that neighborhood are few, but this one is really pretty tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent dinner. Interesting variety of food and drinks, all excellent. Very accommodating to allergies.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Waiter was very pleasant but unfamiliar with the simple menu .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I'm fond of Red Dog and really love their salads, including the warm farro. The service is consistently pleasant but painfully slow, so don't go here if you're looking for an efficient lunch hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Quite possibly the best, most consistent food quality for the price in SF. Everything was delicious, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

great restaurant for quick eat, good for business lunch as well. I enjoyed the food and the services.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great for brunch. Food was very good. Service was slow but they made up for it with a free round of mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Were there on a weeknight. The place was clearly understaffed due to the private event going on - the one waiter and one bus person were doing the best they could but still had huge gaps in service.

Always very happy with the food/chef, just has seemed perpetually understaffed since the new owners took over leading to very uneven experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Brought my family to Red Dog for Sunday brunch on a friend's recommendation. It was great! We went for fairly straightforward entrees, breakfast sandwich, pancakes, pastries -- they were all great and the prices were reasonable. Nice atmosphere and great service too. I had the breakfast sandwich myself and loved it, struck me as the perfect hangover medicine ;)

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Good place to go in SOMA if you want a casual place with a vibrant bar scene and good food and drink. Not a big menu but good selection and variety. The scotch devil egg was good so does the fried Mac and Cheese Ball. Fun drinks with or without alcohol.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My second visit here & the experience is completely different compared to my first. The food was served quickly, unlike my first experience where I waited over 40 minutes for some brunch food (eggs & sausages!!!). The waiter is attentive this time, compared to the other guy that worked weekend brunch.

Overall, a much more enjoyable experience my second time around. The downside is the expensive pricing for such small lunch portions. Either give us more food, or lower the price by $4-5?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Found Red Dog while looking for a date spot in SoMa. The place was hosting a Giant's post-game happy hour that took over the whole bar area, which added a lot of noise and energy to the night. The hostess was delightful and much more present than the waiter, who was never around. Aside from her, the service wasn't great. Our waiter was never around, and multiple times we would flag him down and he would come over to say "be right back" and then go service tables across the room and even next to us without coming back. Quite frustrating.

Food was great.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was pretty slow - we waited about an hour for our lunch to come. They told us they sold out of burger, but then we noticed tables who were seated after us receiving burgers. One meal was missing from our table and then came out with fried chicken instead of grilled. Meat and Cheese board (which would have kept up satiated until the food arrived) did not come out until after entrees started arriving. Definitely don't go here if you need to get back to work anytime soon - but food was good once it arrived.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Unfortunately, we were there on a Friday evening during "Happy Hour". The noise level was deafening (not energetic). But the food was scrumptious and the service terrific. We are long time fans of the chef from her days at Cane Rosso at the Ferry Building where we used to eat at least once a week. Since its closure, we have been in mourning. Finding her food again is lovely but we will try and pick another time of day to go.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Good food but very slow service. Expect min of 30 minutes for your food to come out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food is great but can't handle a busy lunch time. We had to wait almost an hour to get our food. The manager is very apologetic & gave us 50% discount off the total bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.