About Red Dog

303 Second Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Chef Lauren Kiino brings her distinctive style of approachable, inventive farm-to-table California cuisine to SOMA. Taking advantage of the Bay Area's outstanding quality and variety of meats and produce, she incorporates local ingredients into dishes inspired by flavors from Italy and across the U.S. In perfect counterpoint, the 20 seat bar offers craft beer, a well curated wine program, and on-point modern and classic cocktails.

Expect a decidedly diner-friendly environment: comfortable and welcoming, with complementary modern and rustic touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-10:30pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:00pm-11:00pm

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Between Folsom and Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 692-0211

Website:
http://www.reddogrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
In close proximity to AT&T park, Red Dog welcomes Bay Area sports enthusiasts to enjoy local and nationwide games in HD at our 20-seat bar.

Catering:
Red Dog offers catering customized to your needs, from small business lunch delivery to full service formal events. Please email us at info@reddogrestaurant.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our building (303 2nd Street); the entrance is located on Folsom between 1st St. and 2nd St. Street parking is plentiful on evenings and weekends.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Station at 2nd St. and Market serves all BART and MUNI trains.
Cal Train stops at 4th St. and Townsend.
Muni lines 10 & 12 run along 2nd St.
Muni lines 14 & 14L stop at 2nd St. & Mission.
Muni lines 8AX & 8BX, 30, & 45 run along 3rd St.

Executive Chef:
Lauren Kiino

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Dog is available for private & semi-private events. We will customize menus and events for our business and private clients.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

2,500 square foot restaurant with open space, a huge bar, and floor to ceiling windows. Take a virtual tour of this beautiful, modern space on Google Maps!

Red Dog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (14)
fit for foodies (12)
good for groups (11)
See All
neighborhood gem (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (6)
hot spot (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
special occasion (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service! We had to wait for other ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great service! We had to wait for others to arrive and they were very accommodating. Enjoyed citrus olives and a beer!

food5
ambience3
service5

Food and service were outstanding! Nois ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food and service were outstanding! Noise level was fairly high but don't let this fact stop you from a great meal.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The Server Made the Difference

Dined on March 14, 2016

There are several factors that go into having a quality dining experience. Food, ambiance and service to name a few. The food was good, ambiance just fine but the service was great! Lauren is a bubbly waitress who paid attention when we needed her and knew when to leave us alone to enjoy our conversation and food. She made the experience at Red Dog more than positive when it could have been just another lunch at just another restaurant. Be sure to ask for Lauren if you eat at Red Dog.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Red Dog SOMA

Dined on March 12, 2016

The best service from the point we walked in the door till we left. Our waitress was charming very attentive and made great suggestions for our first visit. She must have shared that with the manager who at the end of our meal came over to see how we liked our night mentioning he knew it was our first visit. BREAD...the beer bread starter was delicious served with honey butter, we (party of 4) devoured our first order with one slice each, we ordered a second equally delicious but not as warm as the first order. Bread continued the theme with home made buns for our burger orders. The hamburger was ground in house, juicy and cooked to perfection dressed with home made bacon and special sauce served with fresh crisp french fries. We finished the meal with no surprise here, Bread. We ordered the Lemon Bread Pudding!! SOOO delicious!! Warm amazing goodness topped with a huckleberry sauce and dollop of vanilla ice cream. The couple we dined with ordered the Rocky Road Sundae after our waitress recommendation. They too were not disappointed. Delicious ice creams with candied nuts and home made marshmallows. It felt like a place most would meet up and go after work but we will go again and don't mind making it a destination restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great!!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Love Chef Lauren's delicious food. Great service. A true favorite!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Solid afterwork meetup

Dined on February 20, 2016

Wanted to meet a couple friends for dinner near our offices and Red Dog came up having availability. The menu looked great so we booked. Arrived at 730 to find the restaurant surprisingly empty. We ordered some drinks and appetizers. Two of our selections were no longer available. We all chose the burger for our entree. All of the food was solid, I would return to try items we did not order. The service felt as though they were new to the job, though they were pleasant. The bar was full the whole time we were there, that may be the place to sit.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was delicious, definitely go back

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Brunch was delicious, definitely go back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent service, great location, and the food is delicious. Brunch is especially great. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great accommodation for food allergies.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great accommodation for food allergies.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Brunch

Dined on February 6, 2016

Met with out of town friends the day before Super Bowl..., Red Dog was close and highly recommended! It did not disappoint..., EXCELLENT service, bottomless Mimosa's, yummy Brunch food and totally a great experience...5 Stars!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Inconsistency

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

My friend and I both ordered the same sandwiches. His eggs were over cooked and mine was runny but thought I only had one egg because it was so flat.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Restaurant Week Lunch

Dined on January 27, 2016

I came here for the first time the other day with my sister. We wanted to try out their $15 lunch and it was fantastic! In addition to the choices on the set Restaurant Week menu we also got the Scotch Egg. Everything was delicious and our server was super friendly to boot. Ice cream sandwich packed to go was a nice treat to enjoy later too! I would come back for their food, ambiance, and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, so-so service

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

Restaurant Week menu was a reasonable value, especially with the paired cocktails. The Crispy Fried Brussels Sprouts were amazing! Pickled egg, not so much. The service really fell down here. Our waitress was nice enough, but the coordination between her, the bar, and the kitchen food runner was nonexistent.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Red Dog a great place for lunch

Dined on January 26, 2016

The Red Dog is a good place for lunch because the food is fresh made. The hamburgers are especially good because they grind their own hamburger. The burgers look small, but they are thick and mine was perfectly cooked. The fries are delicious and cookie ice cream sandwich is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent SOMA food

Dined on January 22, 2016

During my recent dinner, the best features of Red Dog were the service and the lively atmosphere. All wait staff were cheerful, attentive, and helpful. Food portions were generous and for the most part tasty. Hard-boiled egg, however, was way overcooked. Beet and burratta salad was very good. Tagliatelle entree was the low point, not terrible but when you order pasta in a restaurant, you want to be confident that you yourself couldn't do better at home, and, in this case, I wasn't. The high point: my cocktail, an El Presidente, was superb. I would go back just for the cocktails (but probably pass on dinner). On the whole, not a bad experience. The SOMA location is convenient.

food1
ambience2
service1

What stood out was the horrendous servic ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

What stood out was the horrendous service and how we spent our lunch hour waiting and never getting to eat. Great way to entice new customers for restaurant week. We'll be sure to never go back and let our friends know as well.

food5
ambience4
service4

A delicious lunch with some really great ...

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

A delicious lunch with some really great food. What a nice find in the busy area of downtown.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Lunch

Dined on January 15, 2016

Interesting menu with a variety of choices, delicious fried chicken sandwich & great fries, good service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for brunch!

vip
Dined on December 20, 2015

Great place for brunch!

food1
ambience2
service2

Not up to SF standards

vip
Dined on December 15, 2015

The only positive about this restaurant was 50% off wine on Monday. Food was subpar for SF and the wait staff are very inexperienced. What a shame for SF.

food5
ambience5
service5

Every bite was delicious, the portions w ...

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

Every bite was delicious, the portions were generous, the cocktail menu was very creative, the service was just right and the noise level was active but not annoying. I can't wait to go back to Red Dog.

food3
ambience3
service2

Red Dog - needs more training

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

I want to like this place more. I work and live nearby. But the service is just so erratic. Waiters don't check in. Plates aren't cleared before new dishes arrive. They put used silverware back on the table rather than bringing a new set. Food doesn't all come at one time. It feels like there is no manager or training. Food is decent and well priced.

food3
ambience4
service3

Food was okay, nothing special

Dined on November 15, 2015

Food was okay, nothing special. Took a large group and they struggled a bit serving us. It was nice in that it wasn't too crowded for a brunch but they made a couple errors on dishes. Would give it another try though.

food4
ambience3
service4

Really loved the Scotch egg

vip
Dined on November 6, 2015

Really loved the Scotch egg

food4
ambience3
service3

Good for goodbye lunches

Dined on November 5, 2015

Good spot for office lunch when someone is moving on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful meal and incredible hospitalit ...

Dined on October 20, 2015

Wonderful meal and incredible hospitality from the moment I walked in until I left. I went in for a casual dinner and left feeling like a king. Very impressed!

food5
ambience5
service5

Every time I go here, we get excellent f ...

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

Every time I go here, we get excellent food - part comfort, part innovative, plus amazing cocktails, attentive service - and very reasonable prices. Hat's off to Chef Kiino for making Red Dog a consistently great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, food is excellent. Good f ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Great service, food is excellent. Good for groups as well.

food3
ambience4
service4

I really love the vibe at Red Dog. They ...

vip
Dined on September 29, 2015

I really love the vibe at Red Dog. They put care into the food, but the people are relaxed (Zins a good way). They change the menu a lot and on this occasion I just wasn't drawn to the options. But I would certainly return.

food4
ambience4
service4

Never disappointing, the food is always ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

Never disappointing, the food is always on point, with some consistency issues. It's never bad, it hovers between amazing and very good. I'd love to have an epic meal every time.

food4
ambience3
service5

Good Food & Great Service

vip
Dined on September 17, 2015

This restaurant is clearly a local favorite given that the restaurant filled up quite quickly for lunch. The menu is varied and changes frequently which keeps it fresh. The staff was very friendly, courteous and attentive. The food was very good and the portions were just right. I'd definitely go visit again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was good.

Dined on September 17, 2015

Food was good, but it was noisy and servers seemed overwhelmed. However, in their defense, it was during Dreamforce week.

food4
ambience3
service3

Brunch was really good!

vip
Dined on September 13, 2015

We came here for a late Sunday brunch (around 12:30) and the food and drinks were all great! I would definitely recommend the fried chicken and biscuits! The place was pretty empty so it was easy to hear each other during our conversations.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Trotter sandwich was delicious. Wish the ...

Dined on August 27, 2015

Trotter sandwich was delicious. Wish there were more shareable appetizers though

food5
ambience5
service5

Red Dog has really great food!

Dined on August 23, 2015

My daughter and I went to Red Dog on Saturday night when I was visiting. The food was absolutely fabulous. I hope to come back when I visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

Creative and delicious food

vip
Dined on August 20, 2015

We have eaten at Red Dog quite a few times. Red Dog offer creative and delicious food. Last night they had a large group. The service and food is not as good as we've had in the past. In the future, we'll go some place else when we see they have a large group. We want to give a Kudos to Meghan. She has been our server a few times on previous visits. Meghan is very thoughtful and courteous waitress. We missed her on Wednesday. The service was not the same.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting Flavors on Brunch Favorites

vip
Dined on August 16, 2015

It was pretty deserted on a Saturday for brunch. Huge TV over the bar showing the Giants game. Great service, attentive and helpful, and the fried chicken and waffles and eggs with fried green tomatoes were both delicious. Their Turkish Coffee (recommended by the Server) was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

My favorite place for lunch. Yummy.

vip
Dined on August 12, 2015

My favorite place for lunch. Yummy.

food4
ambience3
service5

wine list and bar need Help

Dined on June 15, 2015

The food is very good. Everyone in our party enjoyed their entrees. The wine list is in need of major improvement. More choices and add more California wines. The bar did not have Crown Royal or Segrams and the bartender did not know what they were. The wines offered on tap were terrible. Bring your own bottle of wine if you are dining here!

food4
ambience3
service4

Trotter and Burger time

vip
Dined on June 13, 2015

We went to Red Dog for the 2nd time because we liked it so much the first time. First time was a Sunday night - this time was during happy hour before a Giants game. We did table service and not the bar and the waitress told us service would be slow for drinks because so many people were at the bar ordering. It was slow but not too bad. Great cocktail menu with explanations of where they came from - really enjoy that. Tried a Tampico Affair - really good. Still - not happy hour price at $12.00 per drink - which I guess is about average for SF these days. My wife had the Pork Trotter and I had the Classic Burger. Both huge. Have to cut it in half and take part home. The Pork Trotter has some strange name on the menu where its not exactly clear what you are getting- remember its Pigs Feet and tastes like that. Don't think you are getting a real burger of some kind. We'll go again but probably not during happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.