About Red Dog

303 Second Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Chef Lauren Kiino brings her distinctive style of approachable, inventive farm-to-table California cuisine to SOMA. Taking advantage of the Bay Area's outstanding quality and variety of meats and produce, she incorporates local ingredients into dishes inspired by flavors from Italy and across the U.S. In perfect counterpoint, the 20 seat bar offers craft beer, a well curated wine program, and on-point modern and classic cocktails.

Expect a decidedly diner-friendly environment: comfortable and welcoming, with complementary modern and rustic touches.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am-9:30pm
Saturday -10:00am-9:30pm
Sunday: 10:00am-8:00pm

Brunch
Weekends: 10:00am-3:00pm
Lunch
Weekdays: 11:30pm-3:00pm
Happy Hour
Daily: 3:00-7:00pm
Dinner
Week Days: 5:30pm-close

Cross Street:
Between Folsom and Harrison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 692-0211

Website:
http://www.reddogrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
In close proximity to AT&T park, Red Dog welcomes Bay Area sports enthusiasts to enjoy local and nationwide games in HD at our 20-seat bar.

Catering:
Red Dog offers catering customized to your needs, from small business lunch delivery to full service formal events. Please email us at info@reddogrestaurant.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in our building (303 2nd Street); the entrance is located on Folsom between 1st St. and 2nd St. Street parking is plentiful on evenings and weekends.

Public Transit:
Montgomery Station at 2nd St. and Market serves all BART and MUNI trains.
Cal Train stops at 4th St. and Townsend.
Muni lines 10 & 12 run along 2nd St.
Muni lines 14 & 14L stop at 2nd St. & Mission.
Muni lines 8AX & 8BX, 30, & 45 run along 3rd St.

Executive Chef:
Lauren Kiino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Red Dog is available for private & semi-private events. We will customize menus and events for our business and private clients.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

2,500 square foot restaurant with open space, a huge bar, and floor to ceiling windows. Take a virtual tour of this beautiful, modern space on Google Maps!

Red Dog Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (6)
See All
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great restaurant for quick eat, good for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

great restaurant for quick eat, good for business lunch as well. I enjoyed the food and the services.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for brunch. Food was very good. Se ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great for brunch. Food was very good. Service was slow but they made up for it with a free round of mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Were there on a weeknight. The place was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Were there on a weeknight. The place was clearly understaffed due to the private event going on - the one waiter and one bus person were doing the best they could but still had huge gaps in service.

Always very happy with the food/chef, just has seemed perpetually understaffed since the new owners took over leading to very uneven experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Brought my family to Red Dog for Sunday ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Brought my family to Red Dog for Sunday brunch on a friend's recommendation. It was great! We went for fairly straightforward entrees, breakfast sandwich, pancakes, pastries -- they were all great and the prices were reasonable. Nice atmosphere and great service too. I had the breakfast sandwich myself and loved it, struck me as the perfect hangover medicine ;)

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good place to go in SOMA if you want a c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Good place to go in SOMA if you want a casual place with a vibrant bar scene and good food and drink. Not a big menu but good selection and variety. The scotch devil egg was good so does the fried Mac and Cheese Ball. Fun drinks with or without alcohol.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My second visit here & the experience is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My second visit here & the experience is completely different compared to my first. The food was served quickly, unlike my first experience where I waited over 40 minutes for some brunch food (eggs & sausages!!!). The waiter is attentive this time, compared to the other guy that worked weekend brunch.

Overall, a much more enjoyable experience my second time around. The downside is the expensive pricing for such small lunch portions. Either give us more food, or lower the price by $4-5?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Found Red Dog while looking for a date s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Found Red Dog while looking for a date spot in SoMa. The place was hosting a Giant's post-game happy hour that took over the whole bar area, which added a lot of noise and energy to the night. The hostess was delightful and much more present than the waiter, who was never around. Aside from her, the service wasn't great. Our waiter was never around, and multiple times we would flag him down and he would come over to say "be right back" and then go service tables across the room and even next to us without coming back. Quite frustrating.

Food was great.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service was pretty slow - we waited abou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was pretty slow - we waited about an hour for our lunch to come. They told us they sold out of burger, but then we noticed tables who were seated after us receiving burgers. One meal was missing from our table and then came out with fried chicken instead of grilled. Meat and Cheese board (which would have kept up satiated until the food arrived) did not come out until after entrees started arriving. Definitely don't go here if you need to get back to work anytime soon - but food was good once it arrived.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Unfortunately, we were there on a Friday ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Unfortunately, we were there on a Friday evening during "Happy Hour". The noise level was deafening (not energetic). But the food was scrumptious and the service terrific. We are long time fans of the chef from her days at Cane Rosso at the Ferry Building where we used to eat at least once a week. Since its closure, we have been in mourning. Finding her food again is lovely but we will try and pick another time of day to go.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but very slow service. Expect ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Good food but very slow service. Expect min of 30 minutes for your food to come out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is great but can't handle a busy lu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food is great but can't handle a busy lunch time. We had to wait almost an hour to get our food. The manager is very apologetic & gave us 50% discount off the total bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Excellent food sourced from Bay Area s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food sourced from Bay Area sources when possible.

A lively bar scene with great cocktails reasonably priced.

Interesting menu choices for appetizers and mains.

Cheese course a nice touch, only two desert choices.

Would recommend to friends and will be back.

Lynzee

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Healthy, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Very noisy, and understaffed for a Frida ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very noisy, and understaffed for a Friday night. While the staff was very friendly and service minded, we had to wait a while for our orders to arrive. They kept forgetting who had ordered what, and apologised and offered a round of drinks on the house as an apology for the late arrival of our orders... the free drinks came about the same time as the tab.

Much too noisy to have any kind of conversation, and not very vibe-y. Probably better for brunch than dinner. Lesson learned!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

my first visit to the Red Dog. My boss ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

my first visit to the Red Dog. My boss and I hosted a customer to lunch. We completed our business right at the table over lunch. Was a perfect setting just 2 blocks from the customer's offices. on Harrison Street. The staff all smiled with every interaction and made us feel welcome, along with helpful information about the menu. I loved the "fried green tomato" sandwich! Very creative menu. Thank you Red Dog staff for contributing to the success of our business lunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu available on the evening we attende ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Menu available on the evening we attended was an "egg special" NOT what was listed on their website. Misleading!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were there on Sunday 9/4/16 for brunc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were there on Sunday 9/4/16 for brunch at around 1:40. There were 2 other small tables (a party of 2 and a party of 3(?)). It was not busy at all, and our food took FOREVER to come out. For two eggs sunny side up and some sausages? Wow, I'm a very slow cook myself but it would not take me over 45 minutes to cook eggs and sausages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Went for a meeting with a bride of mine, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Went for a meeting with a bride of mine, wish I chose somewhere a little quieter but you live and you learn. This place was great, I requested A quiet corner and got placed at a table right under the speaker that was playing loud music. I asked the hostess if there was a more private To sit in and they were able to place us in a booth which was really appreciated. We were able to spread out our things and really discuss while chowing down on delicious food. Presentation and portions were great we kept ordering more and more. Will definitely be back for a more casual occasion but really like the energy in this place. Make sure to make a reservation as it gets full fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had high hopes since it go great revie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I had high hopes since it go great reviews on Yelp. It started out fine with the server greeting us and taking our drink orders, but it took kinda a long time to get a mimosa even though the restaurant was not busy at all, maybe just two other tables. After we ordered food, it took maybe 20 or 30 minutes for us to get our food -- on top of that my order was wrong so I had to wait a bit longer. The server never really checked back with us after that and we just wanted more water. Then my friend just went up and grabbed a pitcher of water for himself.

What got me was that it wasn't very busy at all, maybe 4-5 tables at the most with two servers, a bartender and what looked like one manager on the floor. Don't get me wrong, everyone was very friendly, and the food was good, but just slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Quality food, healthy options. Salads ar ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Quality food, healthy options. Salads are green bases you can add protein or avocado to; you only pay for what you want. Booth seating is very tight/narrow, suitable for small body frames; 4 men wouldn't fit. Good for business lunch: service was excellent (attentive and prompt), ambiance is quiet enough to speak at a normal volume but not so quiet that others hear your conversation.

Tags: Vegan, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I've been here for work lunches but neve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've been here for work lunches but never for brunch. The food was lovely, staff was incredibly friendly, and ambiance was great. No complaints whatsoever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for team dinner to this place ne ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for team dinner to this place near our workspace. Overall really enjoyed it. The only slight complain is about steak quality/price. $27 too much for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I am SO THRILLED that this place reopene ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I am SO THRILLED that this place reopened and under the careful eye of Jeff Handy (Local Kitchen, Oola). The flavors are as lively as ever and the atmosphere is so warm and welcoming. I love the small bites (like the daily flatbread) with drinks as well as the inventive entrees. Please don't leave us again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm not from the area, so I chose this b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I'm not from the area, so I chose this bar to meet friends for brunch primarily because they took reservations. This area definitely reminds me of a place that is probably more popular during the weekday for happy hours, and not so much on a weekend. It was really quiet. Our waiter was very nice, but the drinks and service took forever. Food was great, and they ended up comping our drinks because the wait was so long. Overall not a bad experience, but I don't have any reason to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was good, but the wait for our ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was good, but the wait for our drinks and food was very long. We were there for a total of 3 hours just to finish our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good location and like the ambiance. Foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Good location and like the ambiance. Food and service usually very good it this time a few glitches- first just as I was about to order was told that sandwich/salad combo could only include veggie sandwich of which there was only one sandwich type. Waiter said that was a decision just made. Then our salads didn' t have nectarines and it took quite a while to get someone's attention and then to get the nectarines. I'll still probably go back since it's a good location for me and hope that the service improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

I loved this restaurant before its manag ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2016

I loved this restaurant before its management change, but the salad I got was sub-par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The place was very quiet for Fathers Day ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The place was very quiet for Fathers Day, but my friend & I had a great time anyway. We had the BBQ platter, and it was awesome!!

We will be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch. It was solid. I would ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went for brunch. It was solid. I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was good. Great because of the compan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2016

It was good. Great because of the company I was with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of My Faves

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service. Love that this place is back open. Very happy to see that the menu has not changed much - still have all of my favorites!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Welcome Back, Red Dog!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

So glad this restaurant is back. Excellent food, excellent menu, excellent service. One of my local neighborhood favorites.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! We had to wait for other ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great service! We had to wait for others to arrive and they were very accommodating. Enjoyed citrus olives and a beer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service were outstanding! Nois ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Food and service were outstanding! Noise level was fairly high but don't let this fact stop you from a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The Server Made the Difference

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2016

There are several factors that go into having a quality dining experience. Food, ambiance and service to name a few. The food was good, ambiance just fine but the service was great! Lauren is a bubbly waitress who paid attention when we needed her and knew when to leave us alone to enjoy our conversation and food. She made the experience at Red Dog more than positive when it could have been just another lunch at just another restaurant. Be sure to ask for Lauren if you eat at Red Dog.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Red Dog SOMA

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2016

The best service from the point we walked in the door till we left. Our waitress was charming very attentive and made great suggestions for our first visit. She must have shared that with the manager who at the end of our meal came over to see how we liked our night mentioning he knew it was our first visit. BREAD...the beer bread starter was delicious served with honey butter, we (party of 4) devoured our first order with one slice each, we ordered a second equally delicious but not as warm as the first order. Bread continued the theme with home made buns for our burger orders. The hamburger was ground in house, juicy and cooked to perfection dressed with home made bacon and special sauce served with fresh crisp french fries. We finished the meal with no surprise here, Bread. We ordered the Lemon Bread Pudding!! SOOO delicious!! Warm amazing goodness topped with a huckleberry sauce and dollop of vanilla ice cream. The couple we dined with ordered the Rocky Road Sundae after our waitress recommendation. They too were not disappointed. Delicious ice creams with candied nuts and home made marshmallows. It felt like a place most would meet up and go after work but we will go again and don't mind making it a destination restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great!!!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Love Chef Lauren's delicious food. Great service. A true favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Solid afterwork meetup

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Wanted to meet a couple friends for dinner near our offices and Red Dog came up having availability. The menu looked great so we booked. Arrived at 730 to find the restaurant surprisingly empty. We ordered some drinks and appetizers. Two of our selections were no longer available. We all chose the burger for our entree. All of the food was solid, I would return to try items we did not order. The service felt as though they were new to the job, though they were pleasant. The bar was full the whole time we were there, that may be the place to sit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Brunch was delicious, definitely go back

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Brunch was delicious, definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent service, great location, and the food is delicious. Brunch is especially great. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great accommodation for food allergies.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great accommodation for food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.