About Red Cow

1423 34th Ave
Seattle, WA 98122
View Larger Map

Red Cow is Steak Frites in Seattle’s Madrona neighborhood. A classic French brasserie featuring housemade charcuterie, local shellfish, a full bar, and a robust offering of steak to choose from.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, French, Steak

Hours of Operation:
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM Sunday through Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
E Union St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 454-7932

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/locations/red-cow/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Red Cow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Northwest
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Northwest
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Leschi / Madrona / Madison Park ›

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Too expensive for what is actually deliv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Too expensive for what is actually delivered. Ambiance didn't make up for it either. Other ES restaurants are better. This one fell short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Always consistent. Very tasty. Family bi ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Always consistent. Very tasty. Family birthday celebration. Our server, Beverly is just THE best ever and makes each visit even better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Expected a little more. Food was good bu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Expected a little more. Food was good but nothing that made me think "WOW". Setting is cool. Probably a good spot to enjoy happy hour but won't be my first choice when seeking out a steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I thought the food and the service were ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I thought the food and the service were outstanding. It was out wedding anniversary and they acknowledged our celebration. Even the couple dining next to us knew it was a special occasion and returned to the restaurant with a gift of chocolates for us after they'd let for the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. The noi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and service were excellent. The noise level is a bit high from all of the hard surfaces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very happy with our experience a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were very happy with our experience and meal. The service was excellent. The food was outstanding. We'd make a point to dine at Red Cow next trip to Seattle!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and Beverly was an am ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was excellent and Beverly was an amazing server. Don't miss the fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The burger is one of the best I've ever ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The burger is one of the best I've ever had. Just amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely location, great staff, great qual ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lovely location, great staff, great quality food. Ethan Stoll has a winner here with a great team!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! We are a busy f ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was delicious! We are a busy family and tend to eat out a couple of times a week. Food and service was really good but adding everything up our bill ended up being 3x what we would normally pay for a nice steak dinner. Delicious but there too many other great places to eat that don't hit the wallet so hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and cocktails. Loud but stil ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food and cocktails. Loud but still has intimate feel.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were not disappointed in our visit to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We were not disappointed in our visit to one of Ethan Stowel's establishments. Our daughter chose this as the place to celebrate her 22nd birthday. There were wonderful choices for all of us, from the steak lovers to the other than red meat eaters. The burger was tried by one of our party, 2 of us had steaks, 1 had the mussels and 2 of us had the roasted chicken. All of us found our choices to be delicious. The service was attentive, knowledgeable and helpful. Very cozy place to go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, but service was terrible. T ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Nice place, but service was terrible. The server was very high so she wasn't attentive, sent us the wrong drinks, rambled on about odd things and took a long time to even greet us. Ironic that this restaurant included a 20% standard charge when the one time I'd like to tip less, it's when I can't.

The food was pretty mediocre - I went for the $60 Wagyu and I'm not sure she gave me the right cut. It has very little marbling, which is what I was expecting. Tasted like a filet - though I'm no expert. The fries were delicious. The cocktails weren't great. I did like the atmosphere and the neighborhood.

Honestly - the biggest complaint was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Dennis was fantastic!!-- the food was gr ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Dennis was fantastic!!-- the food was great--the wine was great. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

décor and table, inviting and warm all ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 26, 2016

décor and table, inviting and warm all courses were presented beautifully, food was innovative and delectable; everything from the mussels to the soup, to the foie gras, beef marrow and steaks. Perfect. And service was probably some of the best I've ever had. There when needed, no hovering, no mis-steps.

Expensive but worth every penny. will return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated a milestone birthday with ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We celebrated a milestone birthday with surprises that were accommodated cahoots with staff. We this beautiful and tasty restaurant. We're happy have an Ethan Stowell restaurant close by

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a nice time and the food was good ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a nice time and the food was good but spendy. It was 4 of us and we had 2 bottles of wine, 2 cocktails, a couple of apps, dinner, no dessert and it was $600 (including mandatory 20% gratuity). I think that is pretty spendy and it better be fantastic for that price. It was good, not great.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Overall the experience was wonderful. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overall the experience was wonderful. I did not rate it a 5 however, because I scheduled the reservation for a birthday and didn't get the experience I was quite expecting. I was asked if we were coming for a special occasion over the phone when confirming the reservation, and then again mentioned it once when we arrived. We mentioned it to our server and after the entrees a different staff member (not our server), came over to ask if we were there for a special occasion, which we confirmed again. However, there was no acknowledgement other than that, which I found to be pretty strange. No desert, singing, etc. I was pretty disappointed since the reservation confirmer made it a point to ask about it up front.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'll definitely return. The food was fa ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I'll definitely return. The food was fantastic. The maitre d' was very attentive to all our queries, and our server Beverly was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Been here a few times now. Food is very ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Been here a few times now. Food is very good. Overall the noise level was a bit too high for my dad, who is in his early 60's and a bit hard of hearing. For my wife and I in our early 30's the noise was totally fine.

Definitely has a casual fine dining feel to it. No need to wear a suit, but you still get a quality dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great special occasion/intimat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is a great special occasion/intimate/date night type place. The food was amazing - everything from the cocktails, the steak selection, the appetizers, the decor - perfect for couples or small groups. I would have tried the dessert selection but I was too full after a few appetizers, a salad, and a steak plate. I would rank Red Cow as one of the best steak restaurants in Seattle. This restaurant although an Ethan Stowell (which are all amazing) somehow makes a steak dinner out not feel so stuffy/franchise-y. It wasn't an arm and a leg for dinner and the price definitely made it worth it. I also really appreciated the service here. Everyone from the greeting at the door, to being seated, throughout the meal, and even when we left provided amazing service. I already cannot wait to come back here and have already recommended this restaurants to several friends family and colleagues this past week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to the Red Cow but will not b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

First time to the Red Cow but will not be the last. Excellent service and food. Was a wonderful dinner celebrating my daughter's birthday.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff made sure my nephew had an exc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The staff made sure my nephew had an excellent time on his birthday. They even put a happy birthday message for him their board outside. Food was great. Interesting, tasty dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely magnificent service and food! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely magnificent service and food! Look forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service from the manager, he even ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service from the manager, he even remembered us from our last time there (well over a year ago when I was still pregnant! This time we brought some new friends with us). However, the service was incredibly slow from our waiter. It was obvious that the manager noticed this too because the manager had to come to service our table multiple times while our server was always missing-in-action. We were given a complimentary carafe of wine without asking for anything. It was also disappointing that the waiter was not only very slow and but also didn't offer us dessert and made the excuse that they were all out....well, maybe if you had been faster with taking our orders then we could've had dessert. This is our first bad service experience from the server at an ESR and if we had the option to tip minimum we probably would have. Regardless, the manager was great and we will be back again but hopefully not with the same waiter---will speak up next time if we get him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had an Ethan Stowell gift card so pic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had an Ethan Stowell gift card so picked this as the closest location for us. Pleasantly surprised at the delicious food. We started with the lamb charcuterie and a variety of goat cheese, the a beet salad and we each had a steak. Everything delicious. I'd recommend the filet mignon with bernaise. Yum. The frites are fabulous with the aioli. Will come back and try the cows tongue charcuterie that our waiter raved about.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was impeccable. We were ther ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was impeccable. We were there to celebrate my birthday, and they definitely made it special, including writing a happy birthday message on the welcome board outside to surprise me. The food (and wine) was very tasty, and reasonably priced. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service from greeting at the d ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service from greeting at the door and through entire meal. Food was excellent.. the foigras was amazing as was the rest of the dinner. Top Notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Cow was good, but not great because ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Red Cow was good, but not great because of the service. Each of our steaks were well prepared and we found a good bottle of wine on the menu for a reasonable price. No complaints about the food at all.

Regarding the service: upon being seated, we sat for 10 minutes without being acknowledged. We then waited another 10 minutes for drinks. For a small restaurant that only seats 20-30, that wait time seemed excessive. We weren't in an hurry but the flow of the dining experience seemed to lag throughout. At the end of the meal, our table of four was trying to flag down our server to get the check.

The 20 percent service charge is just a tad hard to chew when the dining experience doesn't match the level of cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Had a fantastic server this evening. She ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a fantastic server this evening. She was so super attentive, never made us feel rushed and only came by when needed, which she seemed to inutiutively know better than most servers in Seattle. She was also just a lot of fun. I wish I'd caught her name, but she was an older lady with a great smile. Made the evening that much better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Third time. We were more impressed this ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Third time. We were more impressed this time. The best table is the one by the window. The food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Just spot on in every way. Food and ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Just spot on in every way. Food and service were the best we have had. Been to Red Cow ~12 times and this was the best time we have had yet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food always great... Service was slow as ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food always great... Service was slow as they did not have enough servers staffed for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very tasty selection of meats and cockta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very tasty selection of meats and cocktails. Worth trying!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. Ethan Stowell's m ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was fabulous. Ethan Stowell's menu, wine and food are always top notch. I have never had a bad meal. The staff is always knowledgeable and friendly. However I find that his restaurants have at least 1 person too few servicing the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The restaurant itself is very nicely lai ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The restaurant itself is very nicely laid out for the small space, and the décor is minimal but classy. We really enjoyed the cocktails, appetizers, and the fries!!! Unfortunately my steak was a bit tough (and I ordered the tenderloin!) and under seasoned. For the amount of money I paid for the steak I expected to be wowed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The vol-au-vent pasty was a little wet a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The vol-au-vent pasty was a little wet and dense. The rest was quite nice. Fun place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great steaks. Prepared perfectly.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great steaks. Prepared perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

My husband and I both had burgers. I re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I both had burgers. I requested mine well done. He said "chef's discretion". Mine was perfect, just the way I like it! Oh, we had a sweet little hummus plate appetizer but we didn' have to wait long. The wine list was interesting, and I found a sweet import Riesling that was very agreeable. Sorry, I don't remember which one. My husband only had a coke (he was driving and he follows aviation alcohol rules for all motor vehicles). He said his burger was delicious, and I could see from his plate that the meat was even juicer than mine. He mentioned the fries were extra spicy but nice, not too hot. We felt neither rushed nor delayed, but just right. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Black Manhattan to start was fantastic. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Black Manhattan to start was fantastic. Creative cocktail menu, more approachable than most newer restaurants.

The food, starting with the cheese course was outstanding. One hangar steak, ny steak, grilled salmon and a burger all cooked perfectly. Frites are great. I would serve a few more and on the plate, a little less fussy and a few on the bottom would absorb the natural jus from the steak. Yum.

Any chance you'll add au poivre?

Service was excellent. Johnny was incredibly knowledgeable and not condescending. Only complaint is the 20% fixed tip at ES Restaurants. Perfect for Johnny but not all servers are created equal. I prefer American hustle to European indifference when it comes to service.

Thanks for a great night. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.