About Red Cow

1423 34th Ave
Seattle, WA 98122
View Larger Map

Red Cow is Steak Frites in Seattle’s Madrona neighborhood. A classic French brasserie featuring housemade charcuterie, local shellfish, a full bar, and a robust offering of steak to choose from.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, French, Steak

Hours of Operation:
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM Sunday through Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
E Union St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 454-7932

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/locations/red-cow/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Red Cow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Romantic (13)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We celebrated a milestone birthday with ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We celebrated a milestone birthday with surprises that were accommodated cahoots with staff. We this beautiful and tasty restaurant. We're happy have an Ethan Stowell restaurant close by

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a nice time and the food was good ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a nice time and the food was good but spendy. It was 4 of us and we had 2 bottles of wine, 2 cocktails, a couple of apps, dinner, no dessert and it was $600 (including mandatory 20% gratuity). I think that is pretty spendy and it better be fantastic for that price. It was good, not great.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Overall the experience was wonderful. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overall the experience was wonderful. I did not rate it a 5 however, because I scheduled the reservation for a birthday and didn't get the experience I was quite expecting. I was asked if we were coming for a special occasion over the phone when confirming the reservation, and then again mentioned it once when we arrived. We mentioned it to our server and after the entrees a different staff member (not our server), came over to ask if we were there for a special occasion, which we confirmed again. However, there was no acknowledgement other than that, which I found to be pretty strange. No desert, singing, etc. I was pretty disappointed since the reservation confirmer made it a point to ask about it up front.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'll definitely return. The food was fa ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I'll definitely return. The food was fantastic. The maitre d' was very attentive to all our queries, and our server Beverly was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Been here a few times now. Food is very ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Been here a few times now. Food is very good. Overall the noise level was a bit too high for my dad, who is in his early 60's and a bit hard of hearing. For my wife and I in our early 30's the noise was totally fine.

Definitely has a casual fine dining feel to it. No need to wear a suit, but you still get a quality dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great special occasion/intimat ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is a great special occasion/intimate/date night type place. The food was amazing - everything from the cocktails, the steak selection, the appetizers, the decor - perfect for couples or small groups. I would have tried the dessert selection but I was too full after a few appetizers, a salad, and a steak plate. I would rank Red Cow as one of the best steak restaurants in Seattle. This restaurant although an Ethan Stowell (which are all amazing) somehow makes a steak dinner out not feel so stuffy/franchise-y. It wasn't an arm and a leg for dinner and the price definitely made it worth it. I also really appreciated the service here. Everyone from the greeting at the door, to being seated, throughout the meal, and even when we left provided amazing service. I already cannot wait to come back here and have already recommended this restaurants to several friends family and colleagues this past week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to the Red Cow but will not b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

First time to the Red Cow but will not be the last. Excellent service and food. Was a wonderful dinner celebrating my daughter's birthday.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff made sure my nephew had an exc ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The staff made sure my nephew had an excellent time on his birthday. They even put a happy birthday message for him their board outside. Food was great. Interesting, tasty dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely magnificent service and food! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely magnificent service and food! Look forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service from the manager, he even ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service from the manager, he even remembered us from our last time there (well over a year ago when I was still pregnant! This time we brought some new friends with us). However, the service was incredibly slow from our waiter. It was obvious that the manager noticed this too because the manager had to come to service our table multiple times while our server was always missing-in-action. We were given a complimentary carafe of wine without asking for anything. It was also disappointing that the waiter was not only very slow and but also didn't offer us dessert and made the excuse that they were all out....well, maybe if you had been faster with taking our orders then we could've had dessert. This is our first bad service experience from the server at an ESR and if we had the option to tip minimum we probably would have. Regardless, the manager was great and we will be back again but hopefully not with the same waiter---will speak up next time if we get him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had an Ethan Stowell gift card so pic ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had an Ethan Stowell gift card so picked this as the closest location for us. Pleasantly surprised at the delicious food. We started with the lamb charcuterie and a variety of goat cheese, the a beet salad and we each had a steak. Everything delicious. I'd recommend the filet mignon with bernaise. Yum. The frites are fabulous with the aioli. Will come back and try the cows tongue charcuterie that our waiter raved about.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was impeccable. We were ther ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was impeccable. We were there to celebrate my birthday, and they definitely made it special, including writing a happy birthday message on the welcome board outside to surprise me. The food (and wine) was very tasty, and reasonably priced. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service from greeting at the d ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service from greeting at the door and through entire meal. Food was excellent.. the foigras was amazing as was the rest of the dinner. Top Notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Cow was good, but not great because ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Red Cow was good, but not great because of the service. Each of our steaks were well prepared and we found a good bottle of wine on the menu for a reasonable price. No complaints about the food at all.

Regarding the service: upon being seated, we sat for 10 minutes without being acknowledged. We then waited another 10 minutes for drinks. For a small restaurant that only seats 20-30, that wait time seemed excessive. We weren't in an hurry but the flow of the dining experience seemed to lag throughout. At the end of the meal, our table of four was trying to flag down our server to get the check.

The 20 percent service charge is just a tad hard to chew when the dining experience doesn't match the level of cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Had a fantastic server this evening. She ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a fantastic server this evening. She was so super attentive, never made us feel rushed and only came by when needed, which she seemed to inutiutively know better than most servers in Seattle. She was also just a lot of fun. I wish I'd caught her name, but she was an older lady with a great smile. Made the evening that much better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Third time. We were more impressed this ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Third time. We were more impressed this time. The best table is the one by the window. The food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Just spot on in every way. Food and ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Just spot on in every way. Food and service were the best we have had. Been to Red Cow ~12 times and this was the best time we have had yet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food always great... Service was slow as ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food always great... Service was slow as they did not have enough servers staffed for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very tasty selection of meats and cockta ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very tasty selection of meats and cocktails. Worth trying!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. Ethan Stowell's m ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was fabulous. Ethan Stowell's menu, wine and food are always top notch. I have never had a bad meal. The staff is always knowledgeable and friendly. However I find that his restaurants have at least 1 person too few servicing the tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The restaurant itself is very nicely lai ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The restaurant itself is very nicely laid out for the small space, and the décor is minimal but classy. We really enjoyed the cocktails, appetizers, and the fries!!! Unfortunately my steak was a bit tough (and I ordered the tenderloin!) and under seasoned. For the amount of money I paid for the steak I expected to be wowed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The vol-au-vent pasty was a little wet a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The vol-au-vent pasty was a little wet and dense. The rest was quite nice. Fun place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great steaks. Prepared perfectly.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great steaks. Prepared perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

My husband and I both had burgers. I re ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I both had burgers. I requested mine well done. He said "chef's discretion". Mine was perfect, just the way I like it! Oh, we had a sweet little hummus plate appetizer but we didn' have to wait long. The wine list was interesting, and I found a sweet import Riesling that was very agreeable. Sorry, I don't remember which one. My husband only had a coke (he was driving and he follows aviation alcohol rules for all motor vehicles). He said his burger was delicious, and I could see from his plate that the meat was even juicer than mine. He mentioned the fries were extra spicy but nice, not too hot. We felt neither rushed nor delayed, but just right. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Black Manhattan to start was fantastic. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Black Manhattan to start was fantastic. Creative cocktail menu, more approachable than most newer restaurants.

The food, starting with the cheese course was outstanding. One hangar steak, ny steak, grilled salmon and a burger all cooked perfectly. Frites are great. I would serve a few more and on the plate, a little less fussy and a few on the bottom would absorb the natural jus from the steak. Yum.

Any chance you'll add au poivre?

Service was excellent. Johnny was incredibly knowledgeable and not condescending. Only complaint is the 20% fixed tip at ES Restaurants. Perfect for Johnny but not all servers are created equal. I prefer American hustle to European indifference when it comes to service.

Thanks for a great night. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super tasty food and drinks!!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Super tasty food and drinks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thought everything was overpriced and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We thought everything was overpriced and unremarkable. We ordered a carafe of wine

(which according to most every source we have checked says should be a full bottle of wine)

was only a half bottle for $32.00. We assumed we were getting a full bottle for this price and

was told carafes only hold 1/2 of a bottle. We never would have paid $64. for the wine we

were served. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Superb all around

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Superb all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Red Cow has never ever let me down. In f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Red Cow has never ever let me down. In fact, the only thing I can fault it for is quelling my desire to try new places. I love their moule frites. The frites. OMG. Double fried in duck fat. Derail your diet right now and indulge! I also love mixing and matching the housemade charcuterie. Get three. Or all of them. The tete de cochon is a MUST. Service is always on point. This place will forever grace my list of faves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I checked this place out whe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I checked this place out when we were visiting Seattle for our anniversary. We loved it. The food was great but what really made this place stand out was our server, Garrett. He went above and beyond and made us feel right at home. He was the best server we have ever had. We will definitely be making it back the next time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff didn't seem to like each other, wh ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Staff didn't seem to like each other, which was noticeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Love Red Cow

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Always have great meals at Red Cow. Always receive great service (thanks Collin, thanks John, etc.). Having such a fantastic, friendly restaurant so near us is a blessing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great frites... but meh...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This is an attractive restaurant, with a nice wine list, good cocktails and friendly staff. The food is good, not great. The frites and aioli are delicious, as was the foie gras... but the steak was tough, and the mussels were bland, and the mains, in general, seemed over-priced.

The servers are friendly and attentive, but they each used the "patronizing we" -- as in "have we been to Red Cow before?" and "have we decided on something to drink?" That is a huge pet peeve of mine and it set me on edge for the whole night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Lovely!

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Ambiance is great, steaks were perfect! Frites are really just fries, would have liked another option instead. Altogether was a great meal! Spinach pear salad was a definite win!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Meh . . .

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Not bad, enjoyable enough . . . just nothing overwhelming. Then again it IS just food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We loved Red Cow...had been there in the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We loved Red Cow...had been there in the past when it was a different restaurant. The layout and décor were pretty much the same, but they don't really have a great deal of space to work with. The food was awesome (burger, steak, daily special salad and dessert)! The drinks were great, especially my 2 Black Manhattans! Our waiter was great as well, very helpful in explaining the dishes and making recommendations. We had a great conversation with him about mutual interests. We'll definitely return soon and have already recommended it to friends. This place was a fun find!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our "go to" spots for a classic f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

One of our "go to" spots for a classic french meal yet the last 3 times we've been there the service and food have disappointed. Sad about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Epic meal! So so good! Will go back ev ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Epic meal! So so good! Will go back every time I am in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food that we had was fantastic. Each ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food that we had was fantastic. Each of our dishes were very flavorful. The service was excellent. We would definitely return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So many delicious choices

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

We enjoyed so many delicious dishes, from olives and cheese plates as an appetizer, to burgers and steak as our main meal. The portions were large and we were too stuffed to eat dessert. My one criticism was that there was too much oil/grease in my meal (from the coating on the olives, to the fries, to the burger) and the totality of that left my stomach feeling off afterward. Next time, I will be more mindful of the combination of foods that I order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.