Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About Red Cow

Red Cow is Steak Frites in Seattle’s Madrona neighborhood. A classic French brasserie featuring housemade charcuterie, local shellfish, a full bar, and a robust offering of steak to choose from.

1423 34th Ave
Seattle, WA 98122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, French, Steak

Hours of Operation:
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM Sunday through Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
E Union St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 454-7932

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/locations/red-cow/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Red Cow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Casual (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Romantic (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The appetizers and dessert were great. Both of our steaks tasted like olive -- is it a new trend?

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food!!! Love the beef tartare!!! Will definitely come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Johnny and his staff provide quality food and service. It is our neighborhood go to spot. Consistent high quality and execution.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food and service. We had a great time celebrating a family birthday.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food and very good service. Luke the outdoor space.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Birthday dinner was fabulous. Great service and such fabulous food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food & are server Beverly was attentive & friendly. We had Chicken & Steak , served perfect! Will return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our group found all steak entrees and sauces excellent The signature hamburger and fresh bread also earned top ratings. Suggest the French fries (frites) would benefit from less salt and a double frying process.
Thx for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Awesome as always! Best burgers (and burger options) in Seattle, easily! we will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great spot for a well-prepared dinner; been here three or four times in the last couple years. A consistent performer. Menu is small, but well executed. Fun little bar, too- the Old Fashions are stellar.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We always enjoy going here for special occasions or just for a GREAT consistent Meal! Johnny is a great host and manager and always accommodates us and takes great care of us each and every time! I highly recommend the split pea soup when in season as well as the Beet salad and the steaks! Also they have a great wine as well as tequila selection! We have never left disappointed. Thanks RED COW for being consistent and always delivering. We will see you soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The service was fine, and that's the problem if your going to place a service charge upfront, which I agree with, I expect the service to be better than places that don't or can't place service charges. The waiter wasn't my cup of tea personality wise he was a hard read, and treated us like we didn't belong or were out of place. We go to Red Cow about twice a year, given all of the other options in the city both brand new and established I think twice is a lot for people who live in West Seattle and eat out about six times a month. I was never relaxed and that makes me feel bad

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent service and staff. Food is excellent and straightforward. Excellent mixed drinks (try the black Manhattan) and well chosen wines. One of our neighborhoods go to spots.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The term "neighborhood gem" could not be more appropriate for this great place. Everyone should have a place like this to walk to a couple times a week. It has the sophistication and humble charm I now see as a trademark Ethan Stowell restaurant experience. How they get such great people to staff this place in crazy boom town Seattle is a real feat in itself. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I have eaten at Red Cow many times. It is the restaurant I took my nephew to the night my father died. It was therefore a natural selection when I returned from my new home in Denver and wanted to take my nephew and niece out to a special meal.

The male waiter ruined the experience. While the food was fantastic, the horrible servixe destroyed any memory of it. He was abrupt when he was rarely present, and when he finally attempted to take our order in the empty restaurant, viewing myself and my young family members didn't inquire about our order but instead said, "so, are we just having burgers tonight?"

We ordered bread, the frisée salad the $55 ribeye, and several other items.

It took nearly a full hour for our order to be taken, again, in an empty restaurant. I could see and hear the male waiter and the female hostess talking about our table and seemingly purposefully choosing to ignore us after I curtly told the waiter we would be ordering more than just burgers.

The female waitress who eventually took over was kind but damage was done. I may not dine at Red Cow again because of this experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have been to Red Cow a few times our last trip for my fiancé's birthday was very disappointing. Our past visits were amazing. This time we got poor service, long wait for our food, and food came out luke warm. I used to rave how this was such a great place for steak however we might switch back to going to Daniels. I was even more upset when we got the bill and there was a 20% service charge and it all made sense. I am normally a 20% tipper and I was ready to leave nearly 0% for the service we received. We won't be visiting this again restaurant again for a while. Extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I was shocked when they charged $4 for 6 quarter-inch slices of a baguettes (1/4 loaf). The food was good but lacked any wow factor. The creme brûlée was burned and tasted charred rather than caramelized. This was my third visit to red cow, and the first two times were awesome. Less than impressed this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Absolutely delicious!! We started with the grilled calamari which was a great choice and then both had two different cuts of steak. Both were delicious although I selected medium and mine was more on the rare side. We also had the mushrooms on the side which were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Although this restaurant has solid preparations, it delivered high quality ingredients without distinction and definitely overpriced. The mandatory tip leaves the customer without the option to reflect appropriately on the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I've been to Red Cow a couple of times, and it has never failed to disappoint. Perfect steak, wonderful sides, and the charcuterie is out of this world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Loving that burger. They get it right every time. Jonnie is gracious and kindly remembered where we like to sit--having our usual table waiting for us. Consummate service with equanimity and joy.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was solid. Food was consistently good across all four courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love Red Cow and keep going back- But for the amazing service and atmosphere, not for the steak. Unfortunately, they need to change their meat supplier (or something), because our $47 (!!!) NY Strip last night was really really lacking. Although cooked correctly, medium rate, was tough, flavorless meat. :(

We will be back because we love the service and atmosphere, but please please change your meat supplier if you want to charge those prices!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was excellent, but we waited about 50 minutes after ordering for food to appear. Way too long.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I don't mind the 20% service charge included on our bill, however service was lacking the night we dined. Service was friendly, but our server was not very attentive for such a small space restaurant. Ordered the Roasted Bone Marrow and Hanger Steak and it was cooked perfectly. I would try this place again and hopefully service will improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great place to go for a steak that is not overpriced. MUST save room for the profiteroles for dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Overall good meal, but on a Saturday night they were out of "anything with a bone in it" which was 5 out of the 8 steak options they had. The restaurant did try to make up for it, especially after the were out of the wine we ordered and out of the short ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Amazingly prepared food. Great combination of menu items and the service was exemplary. Ask to meet Matthew Wilson (one of the great chef's) for a steak recommendation of the day. He's a great guy with a passion for great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best steak frites and mussels with curry broth. Service was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As usual, consummate service and an exquisite Red Cow burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for Valentines day. Nearly everything that was served was undercooked (Including mussels that made me sick for the rest of the night). The food overall was mediocre and bland and for the price we paid I expected much better. Seattle has so many wonderful fine dining establishments, don't waste your time with Ethan Stowell's. This is the second of his restaurants we have been to and have been completely underwhelmed both times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Staff is excellent and beyond accommodating. Cocktails were spot on with fresh ingredients. Frites addicting. Steaks were cooked as a work of art. Only negative to speak of was poached egg in salad way undercooked for my taste. That may be how it's supposed to be done, but i did not care for it. I love soft poached eggs in ramen. This was liquid. Just saying! Would definitely come back and happy hour the heck out of this little gem...

Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dinner was delicious! We ordered the beet salad, parsnip soup, Brussels sprouts, steak and frites, and crime brûlée. The salad and brussel sprouts were soooo good! I could have just had those for an entire meal ;). The fries are amazing as well. Creme brûlée was great, much larger then we expected. Overall meal was amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I don't mind 20% tips (22% since it includes tax) but you really expect the service to be at least mediocre for that sum. Waitress did not know a red wine from the whites - when looking at her own wine menu - didn't know the specials, etc. Maybe it was her first day...

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Hadn't been to red cow for a while but it was as great as I remembered it. Good food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of my personal favorite restaurants in Seattle but for some reason on 2/2/17, while absolutely delicious, all main meals and side dishes arrived at the table cold. Vegetables were served in cast iron skillets which were stone cold. All extremely odd for an otherwise first class restaurant. The staff were apologetic and chef said he was sorry too. We did not make a fuss and preferred not to send any of it back. There were some mutterings about how if we wanted anything just to ask. Of course all we wanted was for the food to have been served hot in the first place which was now impossible. I don't run or own a restaurant but given the obvious faux pas, our lack of complaint, and no additional hassle caused by us sending food back I thought that would have been an ideal moment to make a kind gesture with an offer to comp some of the food or a bottle of wine or something like that but that was not forthcoming. Red Cow is far too good for me to boycott it . I just hope they can forgive me every time I come in from now on I'm going to be very annoying and ask that hot food be served hot but I believe I have earned the right to ask.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great beef tartare, the steak is always cooked to perfection! Wonderful service all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Cute spot, attentive and very friendly staff. Mussels and chicken both terribly overcooked. Tartare was fantastic, rustic simple. Probably should stick with the steak here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Dinner hit the spot! The steaks were amazing and our server was extremely helpful and attentive. I love that you get to choose a sauce topping for your steak, even though the steak is so delicious it doesn't even need it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.