About Red Cow

1423 34th Ave
Seattle, WA 98122
View Larger Map

Red Cow is Steak Frites in Seattle’s Madrona neighborhood. A classic French brasserie featuring housemade charcuterie, local shellfish, a full bar, and a robust offering of steak to choose from.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, French, Steak

Hours of Operation:
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM Sunday through Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
E Union St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 454-7932

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/locations/red-cow/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Valentine's Day for a delicious 4 course tasting menu. $85 per person not including tax and automatic service charge. The first course will be multiple small plates to share. Second course, entree course, and dessert course will have options. All dietary restrictions can be accommodated.

Red Cow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Romantic (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was definitely the highlight ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

The service was definitely the highlight of the night. The food was great, but the help was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Portions are pe ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. Portions are perfect - not so large that you're overstuffed when you leave but not so small that you're still hungry. One thing that was a little frustrating was that they were out of several items that we wanted to order (marrow bones, trout almondine, fromage frais). When we got to the third item, the fromage frais, the waitress kindly offered another one on the house. All the more reason for us to go back, I suppose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only downside was we attempted to su ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

The only downside was we attempted to substitute the fries for the side salad. We received the salad before the dinner and then fries with the dinner. And we were charged for the salads. I did eat the fries too, so did not want to complain. But there was a misstep in communication in regards to the substitution. The menu does indicate that a side salad can be substituted, and a neighboring table did just that.

Really other than that it was a very nice place and I would go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the meat centric menu. Food was pr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the meat centric menu. Food was prepared perfectly. Our server was on top of it the whole night. My 11 year old granddaughter loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening and the hogsheads cheese w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great evening and the hogsheads cheese was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. Unfortunately m ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was delicious. Unfortunately my New York strip has quite a bit of fat, so bad to send it back, but the flavor of the non fatty portion was amazing. The chicken liver mousse was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was delicious and the service ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our dinner was delicious and the service outstanding. My only objection was the closeness of the tables. The couple next to us was very interested in our conversation and even "contributed" a few times with some rather personal comments. Could have done without that although we got a good laugh out of it as we walked back to the car.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The oysters are small, usually I like mi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The oysters are small, usually I like mine a bit plump. Smoked trout and bone marrow are delicious. Steaks are tender and cooked perfectly. However, a bit more salt would be more flavorful. We finish with the coffee ice cream. The ice-cream is good, but the pastries are plain dried. This restaurant has an automatic 20% tip. At first, I was afraid of bad service but our server is very attentive and I love both the red and white wine that she recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

waitress was knowledgeable and very welc ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

waitress was knowledgeable and very welcoming . this was my second time to the restaurant and I am looking forward to returning soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful birthday dinner - friendly att ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful birthday dinner - friendly attentive staff and knock out food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great server and service. Food ma ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Really great server and service. Food made to perfection. Great burger and steak. Small and quaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We think the staff was lovely and very p ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We think the staff was lovely and very professional. The food was terrific, special was a bit tough but flavorful. It was busy, so we felt the 2 servers were overloaded. Being mandated to pay 20% when we felt we had to wait for basic service was disappointing and frankly maddening.

The ambience was nice as the place was full, but decor was cold and seating not comfortable.

Would we go back?Probably not with all the great choices nearby.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We recently shared a meal with friends a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We recently shared a meal with friends at Red Cow and were, once again, extremely pleased with the food and the service. The wine list is excellent. The sirloin was delicious. Definitely save some room for dessert. You can't go wrong with the petite fours!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Too expensive for what is actually deliv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Too expensive for what is actually delivered. Ambiance didn't make up for it either. Other ES restaurants are better. This one fell short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Always consistent. Very tasty. Family bi ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always consistent. Very tasty. Family birthday celebration. Our server, Beverly is just THE best ever and makes each visit even better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Expected a little more. Food was good bu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Expected a little more. Food was good but nothing that made me think "WOW". Setting is cool. Probably a good spot to enjoy happy hour but won't be my first choice when seeking out a steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I thought the food and the service were ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I thought the food and the service were outstanding. It was out wedding anniversary and they acknowledged our celebration. Even the couple dining next to us knew it was a special occasion and returned to the restaurant with a gift of chocolates for us after they'd let for the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. The noi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and service were excellent. The noise level is a bit high from all of the hard surfaces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very happy with our experience a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were very happy with our experience and meal. The service was excellent. The food was outstanding. We'd make a point to dine at Red Cow next trip to Seattle!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was amazing! Our waiter anticipat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Dinner was amazing! Our waiter anticipated our every need before we even asked. Even suggested the dessert we wanted based on our meal. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and Beverly was an am ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was excellent and Beverly was an amazing server. Don't miss the fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The burger is one of the best I've ever ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The burger is one of the best I've ever had. Just amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely location, great staff, great qual ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lovely location, great staff, great quality food. Ethan Stoll has a winner here with a great team!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! We are a busy f ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was delicious! We are a busy family and tend to eat out a couple of times a week. Food and service was really good but adding everything up our bill ended up being 3x what we would normally pay for a nice steak dinner. Delicious but there too many other great places to eat that don't hit the wallet so hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and cocktails. Loud but stil ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food and cocktails. Loud but still has intimate feel.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were not disappointed in our visit to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We were not disappointed in our visit to one of Ethan Stowel's establishments. Our daughter chose this as the place to celebrate her 22nd birthday. There were wonderful choices for all of us, from the steak lovers to the other than red meat eaters. The burger was tried by one of our party, 2 of us had steaks, 1 had the mussels and 2 of us had the roasted chicken. All of us found our choices to be delicious. The service was attentive, knowledgeable and helpful. Very cozy place to go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, but service was terrible. T ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Nice place, but service was terrible. The server was very high so she wasn't attentive, sent us the wrong drinks, rambled on about odd things and took a long time to even greet us. Ironic that this restaurant included a 20% standard charge when the one time I'd like to tip less, it's when I can't.

The food was pretty mediocre - I went for the $60 Wagyu and I'm not sure she gave me the right cut. It has very little marbling, which is what I was expecting. Tasted like a filet - though I'm no expert. The fries were delicious. The cocktails weren't great. I did like the atmosphere and the neighborhood.

Honestly - the biggest complaint was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Dennis was fantastic!!-- the food was gr ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Dennis was fantastic!!-- the food was great--the wine was great. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

décor and table, inviting and warm all ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 26, 2016

décor and table, inviting and warm all courses were presented beautifully, food was innovative and delectable; everything from the mussels to the soup, to the foie gras, beef marrow and steaks. Perfect. And service was probably some of the best I've ever had. There when needed, no hovering, no mis-steps.

Expensive but worth every penny. will return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated a milestone birthday with ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We celebrated a milestone birthday with surprises that were accommodated cahoots with staff. We this beautiful and tasty restaurant. We're happy have an Ethan Stowell restaurant close by

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a nice time and the food was good ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a nice time and the food was good but spendy. It was 4 of us and we had 2 bottles of wine, 2 cocktails, a couple of apps, dinner, no dessert and it was $600 (including mandatory 20% gratuity). I think that is pretty spendy and it better be fantastic for that price. It was good, not great.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Overall the experience was wonderful. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overall the experience was wonderful. I did not rate it a 5 however, because I scheduled the reservation for a birthday and didn't get the experience I was quite expecting. I was asked if we were coming for a special occasion over the phone when confirming the reservation, and then again mentioned it once when we arrived. We mentioned it to our server and after the entrees a different staff member (not our server), came over to ask if we were there for a special occasion, which we confirmed again. However, there was no acknowledgement other than that, which I found to be pretty strange. No desert, singing, etc. I was pretty disappointed since the reservation confirmer made it a point to ask about it up front.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'll definitely return. The food was fa ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I'll definitely return. The food was fantastic. The maitre d' was very attentive to all our queries, and our server Beverly was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Been here a few times now. Food is very ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Been here a few times now. Food is very good. Overall the noise level was a bit too high for my dad, who is in his early 60's and a bit hard of hearing. For my wife and I in our early 30's the noise was totally fine.

Definitely has a casual fine dining feel to it. No need to wear a suit, but you still get a quality dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great special occasion/intimat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is a great special occasion/intimate/date night type place. The food was amazing - everything from the cocktails, the steak selection, the appetizers, the decor - perfect for couples or small groups. I would have tried the dessert selection but I was too full after a few appetizers, a salad, and a steak plate. I would rank Red Cow as one of the best steak restaurants in Seattle. This restaurant although an Ethan Stowell (which are all amazing) somehow makes a steak dinner out not feel so stuffy/franchise-y. It wasn't an arm and a leg for dinner and the price definitely made it worth it. I also really appreciated the service here. Everyone from the greeting at the door, to being seated, throughout the meal, and even when we left provided amazing service. I already cannot wait to come back here and have already recommended this restaurants to several friends family and colleagues this past week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to the Red Cow but will not b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

First time to the Red Cow but will not be the last. Excellent service and food. Was a wonderful dinner celebrating my daughter's birthday.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff made sure my nephew had an exc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The staff made sure my nephew had an excellent time on his birthday. They even put a happy birthday message for him their board outside. Food was great. Interesting, tasty dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely magnificent service and food! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely magnificent service and food! Look forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service from the manager, he even ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service from the manager, he even remembered us from our last time there (well over a year ago when I was still pregnant! This time we brought some new friends with us). However, the service was incredibly slow from our waiter. It was obvious that the manager noticed this too because the manager had to come to service our table multiple times while our server was always missing-in-action. We were given a complimentary carafe of wine without asking for anything. It was also disappointing that the waiter was not only very slow and but also didn't offer us dessert and made the excuse that they were all out....well, maybe if you had been faster with taking our orders then we could've had dessert. This is our first bad service experience from the server at an ESR and if we had the option to tip minimum we probably would have. Regardless, the manager was great and we will be back again but hopefully not with the same waiter---will speak up next time if we get him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had an Ethan Stowell gift card so pic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had an Ethan Stowell gift card so picked this as the closest location for us. Pleasantly surprised at the delicious food. We started with the lamb charcuterie and a variety of goat cheese, the a beet salad and we each had a steak. Everything delicious. I'd recommend the filet mignon with bernaise. Yum. The frites are fabulous with the aioli. Will come back and try the cows tongue charcuterie that our waiter raved about.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.