Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Red Cow

4.5
454 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Northwest
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

Red Cow is Steak Frites in Seattle’s Madrona neighborhood. A classic French brasserie featuring housemade charcuterie, local shellfish, a full bar, and a robust offering of steak to choose from.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Northwest, French, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM Sunday through Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM Friday and Saturday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 454-7932
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
E Union St
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine
What 454 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.1
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Love the feel of this little neighborhood restaurant but was very disappointed with the food. It’s exactly the restaurant I want to love but the food was really sub par.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Quaint restaurant in a cute part of town. From the moment I walked in the door the service was exceptional. The menu offered a lot of variety. We started with the steak tartare, followed by the filet mignon and the hangar steak. All were delicious. Definitely want to come back to try the burger and French onion soup.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Very average for above average price. Very disappointing for an Ethan Stowell restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Great food. Great atmosphere. Like a quaint French Bistro.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 5, 2018

Red Cow was absolutely delicious and our server was lovely. I just want to sound a note of caution for fellow celiacs. I was assured the steaks + sauces were safe but I was sick for two days immediately after eating here. The food was amazing and absolutely worth a visit, but triple check with the kitchen that what you’re ordering is ok for celiacs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 22, 2017

Red Cow’s food is not complex - what you order is what you get - which means they have to do it right, and they do. We decided to test whether Ethan Stowell’s steakhouse could hit . . . not steak: yes. Oysters with a thoughtful mignonette; French Onion soup packed with flavor presented well; a juicy burger (this could have used some greens for bitterness or some acidic component to brighten it up); and a perfectly-cooked pork shank that rode the razor’s edge of too salty but had celery root purée, squash, and pomegranate seeds for balance. Service was exceptional - pleasant and timely. The atmosphere was both casual but adaptable to a couple looking for a romantic date; this is not a corporate business lunch hole-in-the-wall, just a good time. Red Cow is also an excellent value with an ultimate sticker about 60% of what I would expect from comparable cuisine at any “big box” steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

The food exceeded expectations and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant I’ve been to on a date in Seattle. We got taken care of so well and it doesn’t compare to other places.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

This is just an awesome place Johnny is terrific and all of the waitstaff are as well. And the best burger in all of Seattle, beyond any doubt. All other food is really really good as welll⛄️🎅🎄😀😀😀

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Great atmosphere, food was excellent and service exceeded both. We would definitely recommend and come back as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 5, 2017

I love this place so much. The wait staff is warm and welcoming, the drinks and delicious and strong and the food is just wonderful. Duck fat fries!! My GOD. I went for dinner with a group of friends before the holidays and it was just lovely. Thank you. Ethan is the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 5, 2017

This was not my first visit to Red Cow, certainly not my last... The steaks here are excellent and cooked to exactly the temperature (redness) you request. Each of the sauces for the steak is incredible, you really can't go wrong - there were four of us so we each got a different one. The frites and aioli were also excellent. Highly recommend if you want a steak and want a pretty homey environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 5, 2017

Wonderful menu. Unique cocktails. Pleasurable service. Lovely meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 4, 2017

This is our "go to" steakhouse in Seattle. Must try the marrow bones complete with marrow spoons designed specifically for this one dish. The frisee salad with lardons and the beet salad were excellent, as were the pommes frites. Of course, the main reason to go is for the steak. They do it right with perfect execution and just the right amount of char, cooked exactly to order. Very reasonably priced including a good selection of French Bordeaux.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2017

Lovely Sunday night dinner with family visiting from out of town. Delicious from start to finish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Great food, great service and just what I would expect from a ESB restaurant. Little loud but an awesome place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Good overall steak place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Have been a fan for a while. Cozy neighborhood steakhouse, simple but well curated menu and casual but professional service. Food not quite as good as on previous visits - one of our steaks was a little overcooked, the tartar was kind of dry - but very minor miscues overall. Price has edged up a little, and is comparable to other similar places, but no bargain.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Yet another excellent and distinctive Seattle neighborhood restaurant. A quite commendable facsimile of a typical local brasserie in Northern France or Belgium (great frites) - missing only the nostalgic aroma of Gauloise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 13, 2017

Delicious steak & the horseradish is top-notch. Went for a birthday dinner and the ambiance was perfect for the occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2017

I am exclusively a 20% tipper when meal/service deserve. When charge is laid out I think incentive to keep meal/service top notch. A restaurant like this should do better - 100%. Visited another Seattle restaurant this week - same issues. Really too bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Red Cow was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. What a pleasure to have superior service combined with astonishly delicious food. The red wine granita served with the oysters was fabulous. My husband said his filet mignon was simply the best he had ever eaten in a restaurant (and he’s a New Yorker). My daughter, her friend and I all had the scrumptious vol au vent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Steak was delicious .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 9, 2017

We expected a nice, moderatly quiet dining experience. It was very noisy. It was expensive for the environment and the food served. If we return, it would be to sit in the bar for Happy Hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2017

Probably the best steaks I have ever ordered! Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 2, 2017

I made a mistake on my reservation and Johnny (the manager) moved mountains to accommodate us on a very busy night. You can't get better service than that!
Steak was awesome, but the frites were really out of this world. A truly decadent and sublime dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 2, 2017

Great service, ambiance, food. What’s not to like?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 1, 2017

Great food and very good service. Only downside was the noise - as it filled up the noise level was very high.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 30, 2017

Excellent neighborhood gem. Delicious food, nice selection and nicely priced wine list, friendly and efficient service made it an enjoyable evening. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 29, 2017

Went here for restaurant week and they ran out of ribeye steak. That is great for a steak house but the meat they gave me was very poor in taste. They won’t not make accommodations. I had a horrible date night and I would not go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 27, 2017

Food was of good quality but all items lacked flavor or dustinction. Best item of the $246.00 meal for the four of us were the frites. Everything else was bleh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2017

This was our first visit based on a recommendation by friends. Food was really good, especially the bone marrow, and the service was friendly and great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 24, 2017

Server wasn’t attentive. Lucky they have runners serving food and drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 23, 2017

We visited Red Cow for restaurant week. The food was amazing! I ordered the chicken as my main - the chicken was in the top 3 chicken dishes I have ordered in a restaurant. I would definitely recommend Red Cow for a nice dinner/date night meal out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2017

Came with girlfriends for restaurant week! It was delicious and we were able to try things we've never eaten before with the starters. All around great meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 18, 2017

Delicious food. Nice neighborhood feel. Great service. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2017

The food was delicious, the service was great, and the restaurant itself was cozy but not cramped.

Definitely recommend the steak frites and bone marrow to everyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2017

We took part in restaurant week and had a very good meal. Highly recommend it and will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 17, 2017

The appetizers and dessert were excellent. However the waiter's attitude and the main course were not. The waiter was condescending from the beginning of the meal to the end. Perhaps that was due to the obligatory 20% service fee. The entree was rib eye steak for two. At least 1/3 of it was gristle. When my wife complained to the waiter he said that was due to the cut of meat. That was absurd, but it was pointless to argue with him because of his attitude.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2017

It’s sinole, love great food and a place that cares about diners and atmosphere? Go here! YUM!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12

Tweets by Red Cow