About Red Cow

1423 34th Ave
Seattle, WA 98122
View Larger Map

Red Cow is Steak Frites in Seattle’s Madrona neighborhood. A classic French brasserie featuring housemade charcuterie, local shellfish, a full bar, and a robust offering of steak to choose from.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, French, Steak

Hours of Operation:
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM Sunday through Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
E Union St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 454-7932

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/locations/red-cow/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Red Cow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (46)
neighborhood gem (46)
special occasion (32)
See All
notable wine list (22)
romantic (21)
hot spot (15)
good for groups (14)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb all around

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Superb all around

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Cow has never ever let me down. In f ...

Dined 7 days ago

Red Cow has never ever let me down. In fact, the only thing I can fault it for is quelling my desire to try new places. I love their moule frites. The frites. OMG. Double fried in duck fat. Derail your diet right now and indulge! I also love mixing and matching the housemade charcuterie. Get three. Or all of them. The tete de cochon is a MUST. Service is always on point. This place will forever grace my list of faves.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I checked this place out whe ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I checked this place out when we were visiting Seattle for our anniversary. We loved it. The food was great but what really made this place stand out was our server, Garrett. He went above and beyond and made us feel right at home. He was the best server we have ever had. We will definitely be making it back the next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Staff didn't seem to like each other, wh ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Staff didn't seem to like each other, which was noticeable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Red Cow

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Always have great meals at Red Cow. Always receive great service (thanks Collin, thanks John, etc.). Having such a fantastic, friendly restaurant so near us is a blessing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great frites... but meh...

Dined on May 25, 2016

This is an attractive restaurant, with a nice wine list, good cocktails and friendly staff. The food is good, not great. The frites and aioli are delicious, as was the foie gras... but the steak was tough, and the mussels were bland, and the mains, in general, seemed over-priced. The servers are friendly and attentive, but they each used the "patronizing we" -- as in "have we been to Red Cow before?" and "have we decided on something to drink?" That is a huge pet peeve of mine and it set me on edge for the whole night.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Ambiance is great, steaks were perfect! Frites are really just fries, would have liked another option instead. Altogether was a great meal! Spinach pear salad was a definite win!

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Meh . . .

Dined on May 16, 2016

Not bad, enjoyable enough . . . just nothing overwhelming. Then again it IS just food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved Red Cow...had been there in the ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We loved Red Cow...had been there in the past when it was a different restaurant. The layout and décor were pretty much the same, but they don't really have a great deal of space to work with. The food was awesome (burger, steak, daily special salad and dessert)! The drinks were great, especially my 2 Black Manhattans! Our waiter was great as well, very helpful in explaining the dishes and making recommendations. We had a great conversation with him about mutual interests. We'll definitely return soon and have already recommended it to friends. This place was a fun find!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

One of our "go to" spots for a classic f ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of our "go to" spots for a classic french meal yet the last 3 times we've been there the service and food have disappointed. Sad about that.

food5
ambience5
service5

Epic meal! So so good! Will go back ev ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Epic meal! So so good! Will go back every time I am in town!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food that we had was fantastic. Each ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The food that we had was fantastic. Each of our dishes were very flavorful. The service was excellent. We would definitely return again!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

So many delicious choices

Dined on April 13, 2016

We enjoyed so many delicious dishes, from olives and cheese plates as an appetizer, to burgers and steak as our main meal. The portions were large and we were too stuffed to eat dessert. My one criticism was that there was too much oil/grease in my meal (from the coating on the olives, to the fries, to the burger) and the totality of that left my stomach feeling off afterward. Next time, I will be more mindful of the combination of foods that I order.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable food and service.

Dined on April 11, 2016

I truly overall loved my whole experience. Servers were attentive, accommodating and knowledgable. Food was delicious. My only issue was the happy hour steak skewers were not even warm, but nicely medium rare. I still ate them! I can't wait to eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So worth all the calories!!

Dined on April 10, 2016

The bone marrow was rich, flavorful, and my mouth was singing in the luscious creaminess and richness of the bone marrow. It is to die for. The foie gras mousse was light, airy, and so flavorful. It was a perfect mix of savory and slight sweetness. We had a small hiccup with one of the steaks. I had requested it be cooked medium and it came really well done. Had to wait a while for them to remake it, but it was delicious once I got the steak. The waiters and servers were super nice about it and the chef was apologetic and gave us a free dessert for the trouble. The chocolate mousse was light, airy, and chocolate heaven. I can't recommend Red Cow enough. I have been there multiple times with various friends and we've always enjoyed the food immensely. You can never go wrong with Ethan Stowell restaurants. I am a huge fan. The service is always impeccable. The wine/drink list offers a great selection. Make sure to make reservations. They fill up fast.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting food and decent cocktails

Dined on April 8, 2016

I liked the service - the waitress kept my water glass filled, always a good thing. The fried garbanzo beans were delicious as was the beef. There was a lamb dish that was very disappointing; didn't even taste like lamb. Other than that, enjoyed the cocktails and the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food!

Dined on April 6, 2016

Amazing food, great atmosphere and friendly staff! We will definitely be going back and one of my new favorite restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Red Cow delightful

Dined on April 4, 2016

We have been to several other Stowell restaurants but this was our first meal at Red Cow. The service was very very good and our server Michael took time to answer all of our questions without giving the appearance of being in a hurry (no doubt he was!). I had hanger steak and it was beautifully cooked -- not everyone can do this! My husband had the pork cheeks and it too was delicious. We loved our two appetizer plates -- the sublime foie gras mousse and the most unusual fried chickpeas.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

meh

Dined on April 2, 2016

Same prices and quality (good) as other steak places, but fewer options (they are still just fries, even if you call them frites) and a casual ambiance that does not call for the price point. The steaks were good but equal with other places that offer more in the way of food options and ambiance. In other words, nothing special and I am not sure why I have heard so much about this place.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

One of my favorite spots!

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Red Cow is one of my go-to restaurants for really good food at a good price. I think their burgers are a contender for best in Seattle, and their steaks are really great. They also have a fabulous happy hour daily, where the food is great and extremely reasonably priced. Their fries are pretty darn good, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

LOVED RED COW

Dined on March 22, 2016

We drove from Greenlake in search of Steak Frites. Were not disappointed. The fries and beef were excellent. We also had marrow bones and a yummy chicken liver mousse. Nice salad, wine, Profiteroles. Cozy, parking available. I'm going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Getting together with friends

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

My husband had heard great things about this place and I will have to tell you they were right about everything. The food the service the establishment were fantastic. I can't wait to go back. We all had different things to eat and after tasting from everyone's plate I can say everything was good. I highly recommend going here.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Madrona magic

Dined on March 20, 2016

Best steak and frites I've had in Seattle. Bartender was our server and he was attentive and super nice. Little lag time to get our main courses, but we weren't in a hurry AND it was worth waiting for. Perfect preparation which rarely happens for me. Thanks Red Cow!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food in a cosy space

Dined on March 10, 2016

Red Cow is a lovely neighborhood restaurant, good food prepared simply, great wine list, excellent service. Perhaps slightly pricey, but to be expected in Madrona

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Okay, not great.

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Seemed a bit short-staffed - seemed like a long time between visits from the server. Most disappointing was that my steak wasn't cooked as I'd ordered it - at that price, I would expect it to be to "on target". I didn't send it back because I wanted to eat my other guests.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steak...as always

Dined on March 7, 2016

Great place, great quality and great service. Our fillets were perfectly cooked but we were blown away by the flavor...and this cut is not known to be as flavorful as others. Wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fun new spot in this neighborhoodand good food.

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We enjoyed steak, fin fish,shell fish a fun ambiance, nice,helpful servers, a busy bar...all on a wet cold night inseattle. perfect for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best burgers, ever!

Dined on March 3, 2016

First things first - they've got one of the best burgers you'll ever taste. Simply delicious! Also, the brussels sprouts are to die for. We sat in the bar and the service was wonderful. The bartender, Scott, was quite lovely and very attentive. HH is from 5-7 anywhere in the joint. This little neighborhood place is a gem. It'd be quite difficult not to enjoy this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Other than uncomfortable chairs, love th ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Other than uncomfortable chairs, love this place. Solid, reliable, yet delicious and interesting. I love to take my teens here one on one for some relaxed time together They love the burgers and mussels. I also take my spouse for a date night. We usually have everything but the full steaks even though they're wonderful. I find that the quality of the food and the service is consistently high. Love this place. Neighborhood bistros are not usually this good though A la Bon Franquette in Mt. Baker is our other go to spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3

Used to be very good and our to-go place ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Used to be very good and our to-go place for steak, seems like they ruined it and way to expensive now

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our neighborhood fave!

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

This space has turned over too many times in past 10 years. But it seems that Ethan Stowell finally found the answer: the perfect mix of sophistication and great food with a friendly neighborhood vibe at Red Cow.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Birthday Dinner

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Went here for my birthday. I thought the food was delicious. We had oysters and beef tartare for apps. Then for dinner pork belly, scallops, half chicken and sirloin + french fries. This food was great! Service was a slow, so I am happy I buffered an extra 30 in before our next event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4

A good Ethan Stowell restaurant. The fil ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

A good Ethan Stowell restaurant. The filet was a bit dry. I was a little surprised it didn't melt in my mouth. The sauces were good, but nothing to write home about. A good experience, however I prefer his other restaurants.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Met all expectations.

Dined on February 18, 2016

Warmly welcomed, service excellent. Black cod appetizer excellent. Beet salads too. Rib eye and hangar outstanding. We will go again and will recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

It's our favorite neighborhood restauran ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

It's our favorite neighborhood restaurant. For date night, an evening with friends, or the occasional happy hour with colleagues and clients. Everything on the menu is done right. My vote for favorite Ethan Stowell restaurant!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We came to Red Cow for our Valentine's d ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We came to Red Cow for our Valentine's dinner and had a corner table by the window. While I loved the table it was pretty cold with the draft from the door. We ordered the charcuterie and cheese to start. The chicken liver mousse was amazing and our waiter gave us the pro tip to save some for our frites--amazing! I ordered the Hanger Stake and my boyfriend had the Ribeye. Both cuts were delicious. Service was prompt and friendly even with a full restaurant. All in all a lovely experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The valentines day price fix menu was gr ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The valentines day price fix menu was great. It was nice getting numerous appetizers. Service was attentive.

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Lack of grattitude

Dined on February 6, 2016

Accepting our offer to taste some of the wine we brought, our waiter promptly poured himself a HUGE glass, did not say thank you or acknowledge it at all for the rest of the night. A simple "thanks for the taste" would have sufficed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional service and great food

Dined on February 5, 2016

I had the hanger steak and my dinner companion had the burger. We both rate these as '10'. The Little Gem salad and dressing was also excellent. The service matched this great food, being on point, congenial, friendly, thorough, and professional...a lot of Seattle spots miss on the last 2, but not Red Cow. Very thorough and professional in addition to very pleasant. Oh, the Black Manhattan cocktail was also delicious. If we had to nitpick, the butter that comes with the bread is stone cold and rock hard...hard to spread. We both thought the French fries were way over-seasoned (too salty); but that seems to be the American standard these days...highly seasoned potato fries. At home I prefer roasted Yukon Golds with just a drizzle of oil and a smitch of salt and maybe pepper. Like you would actually get in a French Bistro.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great food. Very good service but way too loud.

Dined on January 23, 2016

We just got back from Argentina and had great steaks there. We were hoping not to be disappointed and the food at Red Cow was great. Oysters, steaks, pork loin, and two desserts. Really, really great food and the wait staff were wonderful with some food allergies that we have. The only negative, but it was notable, was the noise. We are not ones to be bothered by a healthy noise level but from 8 - 9 pm, when the place was full, it was unbelievably loud. They need to address this as it made it notably less pleasant. No other Ethan Stowell restaurant that we have been to has been anywhere near this loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.