Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About Red Cow

Red Cow is Steak Frites in Seattle’s Madrona neighborhood. A classic French brasserie featuring housemade charcuterie, local shellfish, a full bar, and a robust offering of steak to choose from.

1423 34th Ave
Seattle, WA 98122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, French, Steak

Hours of Operation:
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM Sunday through Thursday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
E Union St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 454-7932

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/locations/red-cow/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Red Cow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Casual (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (8)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very good steaks and burgers. Consider splitting entrees to make room for delicious sides! Bread and butter top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Of course a place called Red Cow knows how to cook a piece of beef, but the pork, fish, and chicken dishes I've had were terrific too - as were the sides. Yes, they also know how to cook green beans and broccoli. The staff knows their menu and make informed recommendations about wine pairings. The wine list always has a mix of PNW standards and interesting new finds. The price point is high enough that we don't eat there every week, but the food and experience are such that it's not a 'special occasion only' spot either.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Red Cow never disappoints. The steaks are always impeccably prepared and the service is fantastic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Probably my favorite restaurant. Been there for two anniversaries and have never been disappointed - and we are unashamed foodies. I think everyone should give this place a try!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We sat outside on a warm summer night. The five-piece charcuterie board was a great mix of flavors, and plenty as an appetizer for six. Cocktails were interesting, tasty and strong. Draught beer came in what I assume was a 12oz glass (it was definitely smaller than 16oz), which was a small disappointment. Between us we had three different types of steak and the roast chicken, all excellent. The frites are good but would be even better if twice as thick. The waiter brought me malt vinegar, which is the greatest condiment there is for good fries. For dessert, profiteroles were large, light and fluffy - about as good as I've had anywhere. Dinner for 6 came to about $450, including 20% service charge, which seemed good value for the quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner, but it is a very loud restaurant. Have to be in the mood for noisy energy...FANTASTIC BEEF MARROW!!!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Cozy neighborhood bistro. Recommended to us as a local option near where we were staying in Madrona. Good steaks, great service, cozy ambiance, but a bit overpriced.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Nice location, good steak, nice atmosphere, tasty cocktails

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food but Red Cow is one more Seattle restaurant that's too loud. It's a drag to have to shout to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The steaks are always perfect, and the burger is one of the best in the area. All the dishes are fresh and seasonal, and exceptionally prepared. The space is clean and inviting, and seeing the open kitchen makes it obvious that everyone is working hard to make the customer's dining experience perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was delicious. The servings could be considered relatively small compared to other places, especially given the price. Pretty loud and the tables are close together (too close in my opinion but the décor is modern and it was easy to find parking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 10, 2017

My husband had the Filet Mignon. He likes his steak well done and he said the steak was tender and delicious. I had the Vol Au Vent and it was excellent. The service was great. We had a 6 pm reservation and the restaurant was not yet full. Toward the end of our dinner it began to get a little louder, so I would suggest an earlier reservation if you do not like loud restaurants.
But I would definitely recommend this restaurant. We live close so we walked to dinner. That is one of the nice things about local neighborhood restaurants.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Always interested to find good French food in Seattle, Red Cow is a good restaurant in a cool urban space. Fairly meat heavy, as expected when going French, the courses were abundant and overall seemed reasonably priced by today's standards. One of our group thought the roast 1/2 chicken was good but not a stand-out, the burger was good and juicy, the recommended vol-au-vent tasty but wasn't sure what to say about it to recommend it other than flaky and rich full of delicious mushrooms, the salmon was very nice. Desserts were really good as well. The wine list could use some additional under $50 options...very few to choose from for those of us not inclined to spend a chunk of change on wine. Cocktails were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

I took my wife out for dinner and this was our first time at red cow, and the experience was good, we will definetly go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food was great. They have a wonderful happy hour and the cutest outdoor seating area. Our server Laura was excellent. Sweet young lady and she took very good care of us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Red Cow is our favorite! Amazing, consistently delicious food, wonderful space, and perfect service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We come back annually for my son's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was awesome; great burgers. The service not up to the usual ESR standards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We love Red Cow
Johny always makes us feel special

Helina

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 22, 2017

One of our neighborhood favorites. Had an out of town guest who loved it.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The appetizers and dessert were great. Both of our steaks tasted like olive -- is it a new trend?

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Amazing food!!! Love the beef tartare!!! Will definitely come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Johnny and his staff provide quality food and service. It is our neighborhood go to spot. Consistent high quality and execution.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food and service. We had a great time celebrating a family birthday.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food and very good service. Luke the outdoor space.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Birthday dinner was fabulous. Great service and such fabulous food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food & are server Beverly was attentive & friendly. We had Chicken & Steak , served perfect! Will return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our group found all steak entrees and sauces excellent The signature hamburger and fresh bread also earned top ratings. Suggest the French fries (frites) would benefit from less salt and a double frying process.
Thx for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Awesome as always! Best burgers (and burger options) in Seattle, easily! we will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great spot for a well-prepared dinner; been here three or four times in the last couple years. A consistent performer. Menu is small, but well executed. Fun little bar, too- the Old Fashions are stellar.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Such a lovely place. I can't say enough nice things about this restaurant. The food is delicious (I would eat my own hand if it had their Béarnaise sauce on it). The staff, particularly the host, are charming, professional and attentive. It is a great place to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We always enjoy going here for special occasions or just for a GREAT consistent Meal! Johnny is a great host and manager and always accommodates us and takes great care of us each and every time! I highly recommend the split pea soup when in season as well as the Beet salad and the steaks! Also they have a great wine as well as tequila selection! We have never left disappointed. Thanks RED COW for being consistent and always delivering. We will see you soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The service was fine, and that's the problem if your going to place a service charge upfront, which I agree with, I expect the service to be better than places that don't or can't place service charges. The waiter wasn't my cup of tea personality wise he was a hard read, and treated us like we didn't belong or were out of place. We go to Red Cow about twice a year, given all of the other options in the city both brand new and established I think twice is a lot for people who live in West Seattle and eat out about six times a month. I was never relaxed and that makes me feel bad

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent service and staff. Food is excellent and straightforward. Excellent mixed drinks (try the black Manhattan) and well chosen wines. One of our neighborhoods go to spots.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The term "neighborhood gem" could not be more appropriate for this great place. Everyone should have a place like this to walk to a couple times a week. It has the sophistication and humble charm I now see as a trademark Ethan Stowell restaurant experience. How they get such great people to staff this place in crazy boom town Seattle is a real feat in itself. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I have eaten at Red Cow many times. It is the restaurant I took my nephew to the night my father died. It was therefore a natural selection when I returned from my new home in Denver and wanted to take my nephew and niece out to a special meal.

The male waiter ruined the experience. While the food was fantastic, the horrible servixe destroyed any memory of it. He was abrupt when he was rarely present, and when he finally attempted to take our order in the empty restaurant, viewing myself and my young family members didn't inquire about our order but instead said, "so, are we just having burgers tonight?"

We ordered bread, the frisée salad the $55 ribeye, and several other items.

It took nearly a full hour for our order to be taken, again, in an empty restaurant. I could see and hear the male waiter and the female hostess talking about our table and seemingly purposefully choosing to ignore us after I curtly told the waiter we would be ordering more than just burgers.

The female waitress who eventually took over was kind but damage was done. I may not dine at Red Cow again because of this experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have been to Red Cow a few times our last trip for my fiancé's birthday was very disappointing. Our past visits were amazing. This time we got poor service, long wait for our food, and food came out luke warm. I used to rave how this was such a great place for steak however we might switch back to going to Daniels. I was even more upset when we got the bill and there was a 20% service charge and it all made sense. I am normally a 20% tipper and I was ready to leave nearly 0% for the service we received. We won't be visiting this again restaurant again for a while. Extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I was shocked when they charged $4 for 6 quarter-inch slices of a baguettes (1/4 loaf). The food was good but lacked any wow factor. The creme brûlée was burned and tasted charred rather than caramelized. This was my third visit to red cow, and the first two times were awesome. Less than impressed this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Absolutely delicious!! We started with the grilled calamari which was a great choice and then both had two different cuts of steak. Both were delicious although I selected medium and mine was more on the rare side. We also had the mushrooms on the side which were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.