About Red Bird - Montana

111 N. Higgins Suite 100
Missoula, MT 59802
View Larger Map

Red Bird Restaurant severs eclectic local cuisine with flair. Red Bird Restaurant is opened for intimate evening dining in dramatic architectural surroundings with an art nouveau feel. The Restaurant strives for sustainability and serves local meats, handmade pastas, sustainable fresh seafood & delectable desserts. Our menus change frequently to reflect the wide variety of seasonal foods available regionally. The Wine Bar has over 25 wines by the glass and an extensive representation of Northwest Wines. The Wine bar offers enticing appetizers, fresh salads, artisan sandwiches and petite entrees. Monday night is live music night in the Wine Bar. Come join us at Red Bird and taste what grows under the Big Sky.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 Pm - 9:30 Pm

Cross Street:
Front

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 549-2906

Website:
http://www.redbirdrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We are located in the historic Florence Hotel Building which is on the corner of Higgins and Front Street. There is parking on Higgins and Front Street with a parking garage on Main street which is half a block away.

Public Transit:
Public Transportation is available to the downtown area in which we are located.

Executive Chef:
Jim Tracey

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining on Sundays and Mondays in the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Laura: 4065492906

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seafood Pasta - Red Bird - Montana, Missoula, MT
  • Black Cod - Red Bird - Montana, Missoula, MT
Seafood Pasta - Red Bird - Montana, Missoula, MT
Black Cod - Red Bird - Montana, Missoula, MT

Red Bird - Montana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montana
Best Food
Montana
Best Service
Montana
4 More
Best Ambiance
Montana
Best Value
Montana
Special Occasion
Montana
Most Booked
Missoula
Best Restaurants in Missoula ›

Romantic (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Casual (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've eaten at Red Bird over a dozen time ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined 2 days ago

I've eaten at Red Bird over a dozen times since living in Missoula and consider it to be our finest restaurant. The preparation, service, ambiance, and food quality were all amazing, as usual. Laura goes out of her way to ensure that guests have an excellent experience. She even recommended taking home the banana cream tart for dessert (we were too full to eat it there) and it was phenomenal. Wonderful as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire staff was fantastic. The food ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The entire staff was fantastic. The food was very good and coming from Seattle it was a terrific value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list. Fair pricing too. Not ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great wine list. Fair pricing too. Not the most prompt service. We were one of three tables and waited more than 15 minutes to be acknowledged. The waygu ribeye was cooked correctly, but was tough and chewy. Not what I expect from American Kobe. The beet salad was, however, fantastic! My wife's bison filet was overcooked and under seasoned. Our guests lamb chops were way undercooked. The décor is a bit dated feeling, compared to the adjacent bar area, which was hip and modern. The bar menu differs from the main menu. I think next time I'll try the bar area, which was much more crowded and buzzing with locals having a great time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Every time I go to Red Bird restaurant, ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Every time I go to Red Bird restaurant, I am reminded what a truly great option it is for fine dining. The location is great, the food is always good, service is stellar, and there is always something interesting going on. Thanks for being a fabulous big city dining option in little ole' Missoula!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Historic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had duck and it came out medium rare w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I had duck and it came out medium rare when I ordered in with no pink on it. It was also tasteless. The carrot soup with coconut mild was delicius. I also thought the menu items were very limited. I had one night in Missoula and I was I went to Red Bird

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Travelers to Montana for Fly Fishing. W ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Travelers to Montana for Fly Fishing. We always dine twice here. Never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Red Bird! It is unpretentious al ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We love Red Bird! It is unpretentious although beautiful, delicious food that is innovative. They use local, fresh product and the wine list is extensive. It has a lovely more formal dining room or you can eat in the front which is a more casual, cafe menu and vibe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the beautiful decor and intimate ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I love the beautiful decor and intimate dining experience of the Red Bird. The food is always amazing and innovative. The attention to detail and presentation is elegant and thoughtful. The local bison is not to missed, but the six at the table agreed the lamb, chicken and salmon dishes were all spectacular as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most expensive restaurants in ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

One of the most expensive restaurants in Missoula, and yet unremarkable aside from its location in the historic Florence Hotel building. There are better options in similar gastronomic categories, with better atmosphere, service, and menus at 20-25% lower prices. This is mediocrity for people with too much money.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We were taken through the lively wine ba ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We were taken through the lively wine bar at the front of the space to a quiet intimate dining room where we were served delicious plates of beet salad, corn and zucchini fritters, octopus salad and steamed seafood sausage. The waitstaff was courteous and well informed about the food. The wine and beer selection was good, and sadly we had no room for dessert, which looked fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A phenomenal dining experience at Red Bi ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 21, 2016

A phenomenal dining experience at Red Bird, as usual. The duck chile relleno was particularly amazing-

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, I would recommen ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was excellent, I would recommend trying the scallops. Yes, even in Montana.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and ambience were outstanding

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food and ambience were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Bird continues to break new ground i ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Red Bird continues to break new ground in creative cuisine, innovating at every turn with the use of local and regionally sourced meats, poultry, vegetables and grains. The menu, which changes frequently, will undoubtedly have something for nearly all tastes. The chef and his kitchen team craftily blend cuisines and techniques with flavor always at the forefront. Red Bird's self-described concept of "edible artwork" is sometimes an understatement as the presentations never fail to dazzle. Service is solicitous and friendly and each server demonstrates helpful knowledge of each dish and many of the wines from the extensive and carefully curated list. Red Bird is, by far, our favorite restaurant and we would rank its menus, service and wine list among the top in the U.S.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

was traveling and always use open table ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 31, 2016

was traveling and always use open table to find great restaurants.. and that's what we did.

the place is gorgeous. they have a separate wine bar and an abbreviated menu which looked as delic as the full menu in the restaurant. the restaurant was crazy chic and fun. definitely know their wines and how to explain them. they were very accommodating helping me choose a wine. the food was absolutely amazing. we ordered a bunch of smaller plates and a main so we could try more items... everything was out of this world... so creative without being pretentious. someone know what they are doing!!! this place is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten here several times- always re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I've eaten here several times- always really good, but my last visit was fantastic. Started with a great salad, then enjoyed the Mexican vegetarian plate. I can honestly say that the presentation and taste of that plate was as good as anything I enjoyed in 20 years of dining (frequently) in NYC. I happen to love meat, but always try something vegetarian if it sounds good, as I think those dishes are hard to come by. This did not disappoint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I ordered scallops for app ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I ordered scallops for appetizer and

Hallibut for our main course and they were both awesome.

Our friend had also ordered halibut but insisted that

there be no black pepper .The chef made a mistake,but admitted before serving and cooked a fresh dish ,apologized and didn't charge for it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, a great place. Spendy, but cl ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 12, 2016

As always, a great place. Spendy, but clearly Missoula's finest dining experience. Reasonably priced wine list with many gems. Many half bottles available so you can switch wines between courses. Entrees generous in size and interesting mixtures of flavors.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance of this establishment reall ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The ambiance of this establishment really captures Missoula and the vibe that local Missoulians embrace. Very solid service, bright, beautiful setting, and the House Sausage appetizer was absolutely delicious!!

Solid spot to go on a date or just go enjoy Perfectly executed food and spirits.

👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

incredible food, service, and atmosphere ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 31, 2016

incredible food, service, and atmosphere... will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back again to one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Back again to one of our favorite restaurants for anniversary dinner! Always a great choice. Did not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was great as was the servic ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ambience was great as was the service. However there was a worm crawling across my pork entree. Based on this I will not be dining at the Red Bird ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

We went to the Red Bird for our annivers ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went to the Red Bird for our anniversary-and were treated so well! The service was top notch and the food was excellent. I highly recommend the coffee...trust me...it's worth it :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about Red Bird was great! Wh ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything about Red Bird was great! When we came in the bar was noisy & busy. We were seated; however, in a much quieter room of the restaurant where 60's music was playing. Loved it!! Carl was a friendly, professional & well informed server who was very helpful. Wines are very reasonably priced. We had the beet salad which is presented in the most amazing way. You must try it - it is delicious! My lamb was cooked to perfection along with the vegetables, as way my husband's ribeye. Overall, we found this to be a wonderful dining experience. We are visiting Missoula and are certainly glad that we came across Red Bird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been going to Red ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Red Bird on our anniversary for the past few years. We love making our anniversary special there. The food is very well planned out and interesting. The chef takes special care to make a unique menu. I checked the website for the menu before we went, but there were some small differences. They say this is due to the freshness and availability of items. I almost always order halibut. They have had it on the menu every year, but always prepared differently. This year it was with curry and coconut milk and we both loved it. We had the same waiter (Andrew) as last year and he was just as friendly and accommodating. He offered to have me try three different wines before I found the one I liked. I had a great conversation with the hostess about where the chicken and pork in our sausage appetizer was sourced. She did not have to go "check with the kitchen" before she could answer which tells me it is important to that restaurant to know where the food comes from. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to enjoy eating their food and making an occasion special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So good! Food was amazing. Morel mushroo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 1, 2016

So good! Food was amazing. Morel mushroom starter amazing. Great setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow and salty

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Me and my hubby went to Montana to celebrate my Bday , and we decided to try Red Bird , it took probably 10 minutes for the server to touch the table to say his name and specials , then he "gave us" about 10 more minutes to come back and take my drink order.

Once we had our order in after 30 minutes of just drinking water and a glass of wine , our food took about 20-30 minutes to be ready , appetizers were beautiful looking and very tasty ,as for entrees I ordered the Lamb-Medium and my husband ordered the chicken , My lamb was rare and the chicken was so salty that it was impossible to eat . I sent my lamb back , and they simply reheated my meat in the microwave , plate was so hot and still the lamb was rare.

I manage a restaurant myself I know how a Lamb-Medium should be cooked.

My husband went to speak with the manager that it was my bday , if they could do something special, so the manager said that they would send a piece ofchocolate cake for me . After we were done with our entrees , he offered dessert menu and my husband told me not to order anything because he had a surprise coming , the server came back with our check, no Bday cake.

Appetizers : Good , Entrees : Bad , Service : Bad , Wine list: Good,Dessert : I wouldn't know . Prices : Very overpriced for a lamb reheated in the microwave.

Definitely not going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor service

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had an incredibly rude waitor. He was mad that we weren't spending tons of money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

As always ,the food and service were exc ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 10, 2016

As always ,the food and service were exceptional.Being served by Carl is special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Timer @ the Red Bird. We enjoyed it.

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 28, 2016

We found the food to be delicious. The menu is varied well. I am both gluten and dairy free and had no problem selecting a nice dinner. The waiter was knowledgable about the menu, that's not terribly common in MT restaurants. The service was friendly front to back. Timing of the meal was perfect.

Thanks for a great experience. I hope to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Red Bird is always one of my favorite sp ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Red Bird is always one of my favorite spots to visit when spending time in Missoula

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prefunction dinner with dear friend

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 28, 2016

The Red Bird 's warm ambiance, outstanding service, and adventurous, but familiar menu set the state for a fun start to a great night out with a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We chose the Red Bird for a special occasion and it was wonderful. The food was out of this world and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2016

It just goes to show you that great food can be found any where!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nice Evening

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Service was great. Food was good. Ambiance was exceptional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!!!!! All the way

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 23, 2016

We had lamb shoulder and Cajun chicken and both were delicious! The wine was perfect fit. Ambiance very romantic, a little too noisy we felt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Pork belly appetizer, Kale and Octopus s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Pork belly appetizer, Kale and Octopus salads were great. Black cod entrée was excellent. Lamb entrée was extremely under seasoned. Riccota donuts were great. Egg nog ice cream was tasty but slightly icy.

Great room. Background music choice was strange for upscale dining experience ("Fill me up Buttercup")

Server was fairly attentive and knowledgeable. After we finished eating plates were left on table for too long considering it wasn't that busy and it seemed to be well staffed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lamb was outstanding - the rest of the dinner not.

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 9, 2016

The lamb steak and ribs were outstanding but my duck in tomato sauce and the appetizers were all unfortunately bland. Not up to the usual standards of the Red Bird which we love. Wonderful birthday celebration for my bride that Andrew, our server, made special.

We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great evening with my son

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We had a fabulous time and a great meal. It was my son's first time and he loved the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Great place for a special dinner. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.