Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Red Bird - Montana

Red Bird Restaurant severs eclectic local cuisine with flair. Red Bird Restaurant is opened for intimate evening dining in dramatic architectural surroundings with an art nouveau feel. The Restaurant strives for sustainability and serves local meats, handmade pastas, sustainable fresh seafood & delectable desserts. Our menus change frequently to reflect the wide variety of seasonal foods available regionally. The Wine Bar has over 25 wines by the glass and an extensive representation of Northwest Wines. The Wine bar offers enticing appetizers, fresh salads, artisan sandwiches and petite entrees. Monday night is live music night in the Wine Bar. Come join us at Red Bird and taste what grows under the Big Sky.

111 N. Higgins Suite 100
Missoula, MT 59802
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 Pm - 9:30 Pm

Cross Street:
Front

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 549-2906

Website:
http://www.redbirdrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We are located in the historic Florence Hotel Building which is on the corner of Higgins and Front Street. There is parking on Higgins and Front Street with a parking garage on Main street which is half a block away.

Public Transit:
Public Transportation is available to the downtown area in which we are located.

Executive Chef:
Jim Tracey

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining on Sundays and Mondays in the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Laura: (406) 549-2906

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Red Bird - Montana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Historic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined 6 days ago

excellant as always, good food, good service, intimate table for 2, quiet, good wine, good capachino,

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined 7 days ago

Birthday great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything we ate was delicious but the scallops outshone everything. So good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Our favorite place to celebrate anniversaries, graduations, family events for 20 years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everyone at the Red Bird were extremely accommodating to our specific needs, the food was excellent and beautiful and you get what you pay for. Very nice interior and kind staff. I look forward to eating here again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Overall, food and service was very good. However, both my husband and I were disappointed in the lack of options for entrees, and found it weird that they offer a $13 burger and sandwich on an otherwise upscale menu. My husband ordered the beet salad and I the grilled octopus salad, and were disappointed that when the dishes came to the table we couldn't tell which was which. The beet salad was a salad with fried beets on top, and the octopus salad was a salad with a few pieces of sliced octopus-in my opinion, not how the dishes are described on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very Pleased.
This was our first visit, even though we have been in the area for over 35 years. I had an impression that the Red Bird was more of a bar atmosphere, which was totally unfounded.
My wife and I prefer a more "fine dining " experience when we eat out. I have truly missed the boat by not dining here before! Excellent service. Great flavor. Creative menu choices. Plate presentation photo worthy. It is moderately expensive, but in our opinion worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Though we had hesitation when we decided to go we were thoroughly pleased that we didn't back out. Service staff on all fronts were very courteous and engaging which we enjoy. From the Appetizers to the Dessert there was not one thing left on the plate. Loved they are working closely with the community and changing their menu as new opportunities arise for them. Atmosphere is pleasant and it was nice to hold a conversation without shouting. Decor was interesting and unlike most dining experiences town. Would love for them to establish a full bar menu instead of just beer and wine. Will be on our list this point forward of places to go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Organic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I went with my two daughters. We were just wanting to have great food and some time to visit. Our server, Andrew, was friendly and very knowledgeable. We had the sausage appetizer which is made in house, the scallops, duck, pork trio, and chicken Marsala. Everything was fantastic! We also highly recommend the iced tea which is a special blend brewed in house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fabulous food, wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food and wine were excellent. I would recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The wine bar is busy and loud. Magic happens when you pass into the intimate dining room. It was amazing how a curtain at the entrance created a calm oasis.

Locally sourced food and creative combinations made for a great meal. Who knew root vegetables could be the highlight of a meal.

Must try the beet salad even if you don't think you like beets.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and service were wonderful. On the night we went, there was a loud birthday party in one part of the restaurant. So the noise level was high when we arrived. But our server allowed us to move to another table removed from the noise, which really helped. Highly recommend this place! And the wine bar/small plates menu is excellent, as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

$$$$ but very good. Anniversary dinner. Wife teared up when we were seated. She was impressed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Just a fun dinner out. Really, really lovely food. Pretty funky setting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always great !!! Love the folks there, keeps us going back

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As always, my favorite place in Missoula--for more than a decade.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely amazing! Great food, excellent service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Never been disappointed at Red Bird! Always excellent food and service! If you can get in the dining room, there is nothing better in Missoula.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

An absolutely beautiful experience from beginning to end. The wine list is expansive and the best of any restaurant in the area. The menu features high quality 'farm to table' offerings from local farmers with creative and inspiring flavors and presentations. Our server was prompt, friendly and very knowledgeable of the wine list and menu. The dining room offers intimate tables with candle light and tasteful but interesting decor. We had heard about the fondue with buffalo added and were advised that it was served in the lounge and from a separate kitchen. Our server was able to get it for us in the dining room and it was much appreciated. It was excellent and the bison was tender and not gamey at all. We were very comfortable and felt welcome.

The lounge area was packed and the ambiance was upscale casual with a bit of a hip vibe. Our next visit will be to the lounge as it looked like everyone was having a good time and we've heard the menu in there is excellent as well. It would be a great spot after work to meet friends and enjoy wine or a cocktail and a nosh. The beer selection is also very good and quite large.

As you can probably surmise, we highly recommend the Red Bird and enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food! The lamb was amazing and the after dinner coffee with special sides was unexpected and delicious. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Good food, nice and dark with a good date vibe. We love going to red bird and trying out their changing menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants of all times. It is my go-to for special occasions. I can always count on excellent service and food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is one of the few restaurants in Missoula that is quiet enough to have an intimate conversation. The food is creative without being weird and there is enough variety to please most people. My steak was slightly tough, otherwise the food and service were excellent. The waiter very knowledgable about wines and very professional.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always have a great time at Red Bird! Loved New Year's Eve dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was expecting much better food, service and atmosphere than we got. Just another place to eat. Nothing special here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Redbird is our special place for celebrations, holidays, family gatherings.
We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was excellent,wine was perfect,decor
Is fantastic,and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my second time dining at The Red Bird. Both times were very enjoyable, with great service, and creative plate options. Our server also provided excellent recommendations for wine paring. I would dine here again. My one critique is that both times I found my meals to be slightly over salted. Apart from this, I love everything about this venue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Wonderful food and wonderful service! It made our date so special.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Loved our hors d'oeuvre, a seafood sausage, & the beet salad & the fish special. Great waiter, friendly & attentive,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I've eaten at Red Bird over a dozen times since living in Missoula and consider it to be our finest restaurant. The preparation, service, ambiance, and food quality were all amazing, as usual. Laura goes out of her way to ensure that guests have an excellent experience. She even recommended taking home the banana cream tart for dessert (we were too full to eat it there) and it was phenomenal. Wonderful as always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The entire staff was fantastic. The food was very good and coming from Seattle it was a terrific value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great wine list. Fair pricing too. Not the most prompt service. We were one of three tables and waited more than 15 minutes to be acknowledged. The waygu ribeye was cooked correctly, but was tough and chewy. Not what I expect from American Kobe. The beet salad was, however, fantastic! My wife's bison filet was overcooked and under seasoned. Our guests lamb chops were way undercooked. The décor is a bit dated feeling, compared to the adjacent bar area, which was hip and modern. The bar menu differs from the main menu. I think next time I'll try the bar area, which was much more crowded and buzzing with locals having a great time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Every time I go to Red Bird restaurant, I am reminded what a truly great option it is for fine dining. The location is great, the food is always good, service is stellar, and there is always something interesting going on. Thanks for being a fabulous big city dining option in little ole' Missoula!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Historic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I had duck and it came out medium rare when I ordered in with no pink on it. It was also tasteless. The carrot soup with coconut mild was delicius. I also thought the menu items were very limited. I had one night in Missoula and I was I went to Red Bird

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Travelers to Montana for Fly Fishing. We always dine twice here. Never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We love Red Bird! It is unpretentious although beautiful, delicious food that is innovative. They use local, fresh product and the wine list is extensive. It has a lovely more formal dining room or you can eat in the front which is a more casual, cafe menu and vibe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I love the beautiful decor and intimate dining experience of the Red Bird. The food is always amazing and innovative. The attention to detail and presentation is elegant and thoughtful. The local bison is not to missed, but the six at the table agreed the lamb, chicken and salmon dishes were all spectacular as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

One of the most expensive restaurants in Missoula, and yet unremarkable aside from its location in the historic Florence Hotel building. There are better options in similar gastronomic categories, with better atmosphere, service, and menus at 20-25% lower prices. This is mediocrity for people with too much money.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.