Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Red Bird - Montana

Red Bird Restaurant severs eclectic local cuisine with flair. Red Bird Restaurant is opened for intimate evening dining in dramatic architectural surroundings with an art nouveau feel. The Restaurant strives for sustainability and serves local meats, handmade pastas, sustainable fresh seafood & delectable desserts. Our menus change frequently to reflect the wide variety of seasonal foods available regionally. The Wine Bar has over 25 wines by the glass and an extensive representation of Northwest Wines. The Wine bar offers enticing appetizers, fresh salads, artisan sandwiches and petite entrees. Monday night is live music night in the Wine Bar. Come join us at Red Bird and taste what grows under the Big Sky.

111 N. Higgins Suite 100
Missoula, MT 59802
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 Pm - 9:30 Pm

Cross Street:
Front

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 549-2906

Website:
http://www.redbirdrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We are located in the historic Florence Hotel Building which is on the corner of Higgins and Front Street. There is parking on Higgins and Front Street with a parking garage on Main street which is half a block away.

Public Transit:
Public Transportation is available to the downtown area in which we are located.

Executive Chef:
Jim Tracey

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining on Sundays and Mondays in the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Laura: (406) 549-2906

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Red Bird - Montana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Romantic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great Beer (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
338 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our second time here and it is a special place!! Fantastic food, outstanding service, great wine selection and nice ambiance!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were on vacation and so wanted to try the best restaurant in Missoula. The food at the Red Bird was outstanding. I had the roast duck kale salad and crab cakes and my husband had the lamb special for the evening (I believe a T-bone) with rice pilaf. All three dishes were delicious. The salad was large enough for two with a lot of roast duck. Could have become my full meal if needed. The crab cakes were all crabmeat unlike most restaurants that use a lot of breadcrumbs for binding. The lamb was perfectly done. We finished off with the trifle for dessert. The service was excellent. Our server Andrew was warm, courteous, answered any question we had regarding the menu and was delightful overall. I was glad we had a reservation as they are quite busy. They have a vibrant bar scene that extends beyond the dinner time and they were very busy when we left after 9:00 PM.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 12, 2017

As good as the finest meal you'll have anywhere (not just "great for Montana!")--I particularly loved the scallops with pesto, the carrot soup, and the halibut. Delicious, great service, and always amazing

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

One of my finest dining experiences for all time. Came away feeling well cared for and superb quality food ingredients and interesting combinations. I am so intrigued with the beets. Missoula is so fortunate. We are still talking about what a great event it turned out to be.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My friend and I both had the Pan Seared Alaskan Halibut and it was truly the best halibut either of us had ever had - anywhere! The halibut was super fresh and moist, cooked perfectly and the buerre blanc was incredible. I never would have thought roasted root veggies (like beets) would go with halibut, but it was a fabulous combination.
The chilled carrot soup was yummy, with cilantro and a bit of heat as well. We had the beignets for dessert and they were good. (Next time, I would choose another dessert. They generally have really excellent desserts.)
Excellent, knowledgeable server too!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Tapas, Seasonal, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very nice restaurant with creative menu, friendly wait staff, and soft ambiance. Is a very nice place to go for a special dinner or if you feel like having a cultured meal.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

So glad we found Red Bird in a Google search! Every morsel was cooked perfectly and delicious. We ordered the scallops appetizer, beet salad, halibut and sirloin entrees, and the lemon berry ice for dessert. The dining room is beautiful and unique. Our service was amazing!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Trusting online reviews, I selected the location of this restaurant because the menu looked like it would satisfy the variety of people who were attending the dinner. It did not disappoint. The food was good and my only disappointment was the lack of any "special" call out as I had added a note to the reservation that it was a special occasion. The waiter didn't ask although commented that he has noted it was a special occasion when prompted. I'm not talking singing at the tableside but a quiet comment of congratulations would have been most appropriate.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was a great meal and setting for the most part. The décor of the restaurant is beginning to look a little dated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was excellent but the very attentive waitstaff was exceptionally good! My wife is professionally trained as a chef and she loved her birthday dinner.

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We sat up front in the Wine Bar.

Excellent food, interesting dishes, nicely prepared and nice wines. Friendly staff. No problem with 9 month old sitting at table with us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great service and atmosphere

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

excellant as always, good food, good service, intimate table for 2, quiet, good wine, good capachino,

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Birthday great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything we ate was delicious but the scallops outshone everything. So good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Our favorite place to celebrate anniversaries, graduations, family events for 20 years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everyone at the Red Bird were extremely accommodating to our specific needs, the food was excellent and beautiful and you get what you pay for. Very nice interior and kind staff. I look forward to eating here again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall, food and service was very good. However, both my husband and I were disappointed in the lack of options for entrees, and found it weird that they offer a $13 burger and sandwich on an otherwise upscale menu. My husband ordered the beet salad and I the grilled octopus salad, and were disappointed that when the dishes came to the table we couldn't tell which was which. The beet salad was a salad with fried beets on top, and the octopus salad was a salad with a few pieces of sliced octopus-in my opinion, not how the dishes are described on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very Pleased.
This was our first visit, even though we have been in the area for over 35 years. I had an impression that the Red Bird was more of a bar atmosphere, which was totally unfounded.
My wife and I prefer a more "fine dining " experience when we eat out. I have truly missed the boat by not dining here before! Excellent service. Great flavor. Creative menu choices. Plate presentation photo worthy. It is moderately expensive, but in our opinion worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Though we had hesitation when we decided to go we were thoroughly pleased that we didn't back out. Service staff on all fronts were very courteous and engaging which we enjoy. From the Appetizers to the Dessert there was not one thing left on the plate. Loved they are working closely with the community and changing their menu as new opportunities arise for them. Atmosphere is pleasant and it was nice to hold a conversation without shouting. Decor was interesting and unlike most dining experiences town. Would love for them to establish a full bar menu instead of just beer and wine. Will be on our list this point forward of places to go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I went with my two daughters. We were just wanting to have great food and some time to visit. Our server, Andrew, was friendly and very knowledgeable. We had the sausage appetizer which is made in house, the scallops, duck, pork trio, and chicken Marsala. Everything was fantastic! We also highly recommend the iced tea which is a special blend brewed in house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Fabulous food, wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food and wine were excellent. I would recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The wine bar is busy and loud. Magic happens when you pass into the intimate dining room. It was amazing how a curtain at the entrance created a calm oasis.

Locally sourced food and creative combinations made for a great meal. Who knew root vegetables could be the highlight of a meal.

Must try the beet salad even if you don't think you like beets.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food and service were wonderful. On the night we went, there was a loud birthday party in one part of the restaurant. So the noise level was high when we arrived. But our server allowed us to move to another table removed from the noise, which really helped. Highly recommend this place! And the wine bar/small plates menu is excellent, as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

$$$$ but very good. Anniversary dinner. Wife teared up when we were seated. She was impressed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Just a fun dinner out. Really, really lovely food. Pretty funky setting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always great !!! Love the folks there, keeps us going back

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, my favorite place in Missoula--for more than a decade.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely amazing! Great food, excellent service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Never been disappointed at Red Bird! Always excellent food and service! If you can get in the dining room, there is nothing better in Missoula.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

An absolutely beautiful experience from beginning to end. The wine list is expansive and the best of any restaurant in the area. The menu features high quality 'farm to table' offerings from local farmers with creative and inspiring flavors and presentations. Our server was prompt, friendly and very knowledgeable of the wine list and menu. The dining room offers intimate tables with candle light and tasteful but interesting decor. We had heard about the fondue with buffalo added and were advised that it was served in the lounge and from a separate kitchen. Our server was able to get it for us in the dining room and it was much appreciated. It was excellent and the bison was tender and not gamey at all. We were very comfortable and felt welcome.

The lounge area was packed and the ambiance was upscale casual with a bit of a hip vibe. Our next visit will be to the lounge as it looked like everyone was having a good time and we've heard the menu in there is excellent as well. It would be a great spot after work to meet friends and enjoy wine or a cocktail and a nosh. The beer selection is also very good and quite large.

As you can probably surmise, we highly recommend the Red Bird and enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food! The lamb was amazing and the after dinner coffee with special sides was unexpected and delicious. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Good food, nice and dark with a good date vibe. We love going to red bird and trying out their changing menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants of all times. It is my go-to for special occasions. I can always count on excellent service and food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is one of the few restaurants in Missoula that is quiet enough to have an intimate conversation. The food is creative without being weird and there is enough variety to please most people. My steak was slightly tough, otherwise the food and service were excellent. The waiter very knowledgable about wines and very professional.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always have a great time at Red Bird! Loved New Year's Eve dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was expecting much better food, service and atmosphere than we got. Just another place to eat. Nothing special here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Redbird is our special place for celebrations, holidays, family gatherings.
We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was excellent,wine was perfect,decor
Is fantastic,and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.