Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Red Bird - Montana

Red Bird Restaurant severs eclectic local cuisine with flair. Red Bird Restaurant is opened for intimate evening dining in dramatic architectural surroundings with an art nouveau feel. The Restaurant strives for sustainability and serves local meats, handmade pastas, sustainable fresh seafood & delectable desserts. Our menus change frequently to reflect the wide variety of seasonal foods available regionally. The Wine Bar has over 25 wines by the glass and an extensive representation of Northwest Wines. The Wine bar offers enticing appetizers, fresh salads, artisan sandwiches and petite entrees. Monday night is live music night in the Wine Bar. Come join us at Red Bird and taste what grows under the Big Sky.

111 N. Higgins Suite 100
Missoula, MT 59802
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 Pm - 9:30 Pm

Cross Street:
Front

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 549-2906

Website:
http://www.redbirdrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We are located in the historic Florence Hotel Building which is on the corner of Higgins and Front Street. There is parking on Higgins and Front Street with a parking garage on Main street which is half a block away.

Public Transit:
Public Transportation is available to the downtown area in which we are located.

Executive Chef:
Jim Tracey

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining on Sundays and Mondays in the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Laura: (406) 549-2906

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Red Bird - Montana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great Beer (6)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We are beer geeks so the exotic and extensive beer menu always draws us in. Not many restaurants have Aecht Schlenkerla Rauchbier. The food, service and ambiance is also excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

No wonder this restaurant has a great reputation. We finally got to eat here. Excellent all the way around. We appreciated the quiet, comfortable ambience. The food was extraordinary. And I can't stop thinking about the delicious fondue! Hope we get a chance to dine here again soon.

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We always enjoy our meals and experience at The Red Bird. Love that many of the ingredients are local and what they do with those ingredients is always delicious. I feel special and pampered when I eat here. Good for a casual meal with friends in the bar or a special romantic dinner in the main dining area. We will be back!

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

ONE OF THE TOP 3 PLACES TO EAT IN MISSOULA - SHOULD DEFINITELY BE ON EVERYONE'S LIST OF PLACES TO DINE. EXCELLENT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very nice ambience, and comfortable atmosphere, yet elegant. Very retro motif, but not too tacky. Food was most excellent, with incredible flavor and texture. The server had great suggestions and the price was a pleasant surprise! Recommend for any special date.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Server Andrew was great! Very nice food ! Drinks were very good as well! It was our 5th anniversary and we had a complimentary champagne glass, a very nice gesture that made us feel very special ! Thanks

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We are from out of town and took a gamble on the reviews. Decent reasonable fine dining. We got the fondue, charcuterie, bison entree, duck salad and sirloin entree. Drinks were pretty reasonable as well. I will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

One of just a few options for gourmet food in Missoula that we know of. Waitress was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Four very different meals, 2 desserts and a beautifully fresh gazpacho...all excellent. Vegetables were farm fresh and perfectly prepared. Bison tenderloin was outstanding, as were the lamb and the sirloin steak. My wife is vegetarian and had many delicious options. The wine list is nice and the markups on bottles were very reasonable. Will definitely return next time we are in Missoula.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We loved Andrew as our waiter! The food was amazing from the wine to the salmon to the desserts.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was our third visit to the Redbird and another grand slam !!!
We had visiting friends from out of town the six of us dined Sunday evening, 12 thumbs up !!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 6, 2017

One of the most inventive, delicious meals we've had. In the old Florence Hotel which has been lovingly redone and appears to be Arte Deco. We started with the scallop appetizer which was perhaps the best combination of flavors and presentation we've ever had. We also had the beet salad which was mixed greens, lightly dressed with a "nest" of crispy, hair like beets on top. They were a little salty and greatly added to the salad. I had bison and it was very good. My wife had salmon which replaced the Halibut and lived it too. We finished with beignets with a rhubarb puree and they were awesome too. You have to love any restaurant who has Merry Edwards pinot noir on their wine list. Service was excellent. A great and leisurely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Missoula was our entry and exit point for a week long trip to Glacier. We had such a great meal on the Saturday of our arrival that we ended our week at Red Bird the following Friday. The staff is engaged, the menu appealing and flavorful and the wine and beer list ... fantastic!

Looking forward to our next trip!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our meal at Red Bird is one of the best meals I have had, every course was delicious and well crafted. The menu highlighted lovely seasonal and local food items. The service was great and they were able to accommodate my dietary restriction (little to no cow-dairy). The space was uniqur and perfect for a date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Lovely music and atmosphere in the back restaurant area.
Our hostess was great, I wish she had been our server... extremely personable.

Our server apologetically admitted that the specials that night were too detailed to remember so she laid the specials menu card down on the table and had us read it. She also couldn't offer any insight into the bubbly we were curious about but was very quick to get us a sample. I appreciated that effort.

We ordered the charcuterie app and it was fun to eat. The mustardo really punched it up for a classic appetizer plate. Our entrees were well executed and so fresh and beautiful with the edible flower garnish. I had the halibut but it was last minute changed to King Salmon due to being out of the halibut and my date had the chicken special.

Overall, very yummy but we didn't have knowledgeable or engaged service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 30, 2017

What a FABULOUS restaurant!!! While on vacation in Montana, we came one night and made it the goal to return for one ore outstanding meal prior to flying back to Ohio! The chef's wife (and co-owner) could not have been more kind and friendly with the entire family throughout both evenings. The food was exceptional (the lamb is out of this world!) and the flavors so complimentary. The Vegetarian dish was the best I have ever had and the Chicken Marsala was melt-in-your-mouth, along with the steak and fish!! The wait-staff is just as exceptional as the food, and we all agreed that we would trust the chef to serve us sight-unseen any dish and we know we would just love it. We are sorry that we live so far away but know that we will be back! Missoula is very luck to have you!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Incredible food, great cider and wine. The desserts are so damn good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Service was a bit slow this time, but food is excellent. I've had just about everything on the menu. Little on the spendy side, great for special occasions and dates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Lovely dinner, as always, with thoughtful service and attention. The menu is varied and creative, with careful attention to detail. For example, the tempura-battered squash blossom atop a cold squash soup was perfectly prepared and delicious. The wine and beer offerings are also extensive and excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our second time here and it is a special place!! Fantastic food, outstanding service, great wine selection and nice ambiance!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were on vacation and so wanted to try the best restaurant in Missoula. The food at the Red Bird was outstanding. I had the roast duck kale salad and crab cakes and my husband had the lamb special for the evening (I believe a T-bone) with rice pilaf. All three dishes were delicious. The salad was large enough for two with a lot of roast duck. Could have become my full meal if needed. The crab cakes were all crabmeat unlike most restaurants that use a lot of breadcrumbs for binding. The lamb was perfectly done. We finished off with the trifle for dessert. The service was excellent. Our server Andrew was warm, courteous, answered any question we had regarding the menu and was delightful overall. I was glad we had a reservation as they are quite busy. They have a vibrant bar scene that extends beyond the dinner time and they were very busy when we left after 9:00 PM.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 12, 2017

As good as the finest meal you'll have anywhere (not just "great for Montana!")--I particularly loved the scallops with pesto, the carrot soup, and the halibut. Delicious, great service, and always amazing

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

One of my finest dining experiences for all time. Came away feeling well cared for and superb quality food ingredients and interesting combinations. I am so intrigued with the beets. Missoula is so fortunate. We are still talking about what a great event it turned out to be.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My friend and I both had the Pan Seared Alaskan Halibut and it was truly the best halibut either of us had ever had - anywhere! The halibut was super fresh and moist, cooked perfectly and the buerre blanc was incredible. I never would have thought roasted root veggies (like beets) would go with halibut, but it was a fabulous combination.
The chilled carrot soup was yummy, with cilantro and a bit of heat as well. We had the beignets for dessert and they were good. (Next time, I would choose another dessert. They generally have really excellent desserts.)
Excellent, knowledgeable server too!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Tapas, Seasonal, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very nice restaurant with creative menu, friendly wait staff, and soft ambiance. Is a very nice place to go for a special dinner or if you feel like having a cultured meal.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

So glad we found Red Bird in a Google search! Every morsel was cooked perfectly and delicious. We ordered the scallops appetizer, beet salad, halibut and sirloin entrees, and the lemon berry ice for dessert. The dining room is beautiful and unique. Our service was amazing!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Trusting online reviews, I selected the location of this restaurant because the menu looked like it would satisfy the variety of people who were attending the dinner. It did not disappoint. The food was good and my only disappointment was the lack of any "special" call out as I had added a note to the reservation that it was a special occasion. The waiter didn't ask although commented that he has noted it was a special occasion when prompted. I'm not talking singing at the tableside but a quiet comment of congratulations would have been most appropriate.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was a great meal and setting for the most part. The décor of the restaurant is beginning to look a little dated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was excellent but the very attentive waitstaff was exceptionally good! My wife is professionally trained as a chef and she loved her birthday dinner.

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We sat up front in the Wine Bar.

Excellent food, interesting dishes, nicely prepared and nice wines. Friendly staff. No problem with 9 month old sitting at table with us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great service and atmosphere

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

excellant as always, good food, good service, intimate table for 2, quiet, good wine, good capachino,

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Birthday great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything we ate was delicious but the scallops outshone everything. So good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Our favorite place to celebrate anniversaries, graduations, family events for 20 years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everyone at the Red Bird were extremely accommodating to our specific needs, the food was excellent and beautiful and you get what you pay for. Very nice interior and kind staff. I look forward to eating here again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall, food and service was very good. However, both my husband and I were disappointed in the lack of options for entrees, and found it weird that they offer a $13 burger and sandwich on an otherwise upscale menu. My husband ordered the beet salad and I the grilled octopus salad, and were disappointed that when the dishes came to the table we couldn't tell which was which. The beet salad was a salad with fried beets on top, and the octopus salad was a salad with a few pieces of sliced octopus-in my opinion, not how the dishes are described on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very Pleased.
This was our first visit, even though we have been in the area for over 35 years. I had an impression that the Red Bird was more of a bar atmosphere, which was totally unfounded.
My wife and I prefer a more "fine dining " experience when we eat out. I have truly missed the boat by not dining here before! Excellent service. Great flavor. Creative menu choices. Plate presentation photo worthy. It is moderately expensive, but in our opinion worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Though we had hesitation when we decided to go we were thoroughly pleased that we didn't back out. Service staff on all fronts were very courteous and engaging which we enjoy. From the Appetizers to the Dessert there was not one thing left on the plate. Loved they are working closely with the community and changing their menu as new opportunities arise for them. Atmosphere is pleasant and it was nice to hold a conversation without shouting. Decor was interesting and unlike most dining experiences town. Would love for them to establish a full bar menu instead of just beer and wine. Will be on our list this point forward of places to go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I went with my two daughters. We were just wanting to have great food and some time to visit. Our server, Andrew, was friendly and very knowledgeable. We had the sausage appetizer which is made in house, the scallops, duck, pork trio, and chicken Marsala. Everything was fantastic! We also highly recommend the iced tea which is a special blend brewed in house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.