About Red Bird - Montana

111 N. Higgins Suite 100
Missoula, MT 59802
View Larger Map

Red Bird Restaurant severs eclectic local cuisine with flair. Red Bird Restaurant is opened for intimate evening dining in dramatic architectural surroundings with an art nouveau feel. The Restaurant strives for sustainability and serves local meats, handmade pastas, sustainable fresh seafood & delectable desserts. Our menus change frequently to reflect the wide variety of seasonal foods available regionally. The Wine Bar has over 25 wines by the glass and an extensive representation of Northwest Wines. The Wine bar offers enticing appetizers, fresh salads, artisan sandwiches and petite entrees. Monday night is live music night in the Wine Bar. Come join us at Red Bird and taste what grows under the Big Sky.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00 Pm - 9:30 Pm

Cross Street:
Front

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 549-2906

Website:
http://www.redbirdrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We are located in the historic Florence Hotel Building which is on the corner of Higgins and Front Street. There is parking on Higgins and Front Street with a parking garage on Main street which is half a block away.

Public Transit:
Public Transportation is available to the downtown area in which we are located.

Executive Chef:
Jim Tracey

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining on Sundays and Mondays in the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Laura: 4065492906

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Seafood Pasta
  • Black Cod
Seafood Pasta
Black Cod

Red Bird - Montana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Montana
Best Ambiance
Montana
Best Value
Montana
5 More
Fit for Foodies
Montana
Notable Wine List
Montana
Romantic
Montana
Special Occasion
Montana
Most Booked
Missoula
Best Restaurants in Missoula ›

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (18)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I ordered scallops for app ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I ordered scallops for appetizer and

Hallibut for our main course and they were both awesome.

Our friend had also ordered halibut but insisted that

there be no black pepper .The chef made a mistake,but admitted before serving and cooked a fresh dish ,apologized and didn't charge for it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, a great place. Spendy, but cl ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

As always, a great place. Spendy, but clearly Missoula's finest dining experience. Reasonably priced wine list with many gems. Many half bottles available so you can switch wines between courses. Entrees generous in size and interesting mixtures of flavors.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance of this establishment reall ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The ambiance of this establishment really captures Missoula and the vibe that local Missoulians embrace. Very solid service, bright, beautiful setting, and the House Sausage appetizer was absolutely delicious!!

Solid spot to go on a date or just go enjoy Perfectly executed food and spirits.

👍

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

incredible food, service, and atmosphere ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

incredible food, service, and atmosphere... will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back again to one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Back again to one of our favorite restaurants for anniversary dinner! Always a great choice. Did not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was great as was the servic ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ambience was great as was the service. However there was a worm crawling across my pork entree. Based on this I will not be dining at the Red Bird ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

We went to the Red Bird for our annivers ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went to the Red Bird for our anniversary-and were treated so well! The service was top notch and the food was excellent. I highly recommend the coffee...trust me...it's worth it :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about Red Bird was great! Wh ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything about Red Bird was great! When we came in the bar was noisy & busy. We were seated; however, in a much quieter room of the restaurant where 60's music was playing. Loved it!! Carl was a friendly, professional & well informed server who was very helpful. Wines are very reasonably priced. We had the beet salad which is presented in the most amazing way. You must try it - it is delicious! My lamb was cooked to perfection along with the vegetables, as way my husband's ribeye. Overall, we found this to be a wonderful dining experience. We are visiting Missoula and are certainly glad that we came across Red Bird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been going to Red ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Red Bird on our anniversary for the past few years. We love making our anniversary special there. The food is very well planned out and interesting. The chef takes special care to make a unique menu. I checked the website for the menu before we went, but there were some small differences. They say this is due to the freshness and availability of items. I almost always order halibut. They have had it on the menu every year, but always prepared differently. This year it was with curry and coconut milk and we both loved it. We had the same waiter (Andrew) as last year and he was just as friendly and accommodating. He offered to have me try three different wines before I found the one I liked. I had a great conversation with the hostess about where the chicken and pork in our sausage appetizer was sourced. She did not have to go "check with the kitchen" before she could answer which tells me it is important to that restaurant to know where the food comes from. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to enjoy eating their food and making an occasion special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So good! Food was amazing. Morel mushroo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

So good! Food was amazing. Morel mushroom starter amazing. Great setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow and salty

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Me and my hubby went to Montana to celebrate my Bday , and we decided to try Red Bird , it took probably 10 minutes for the server to touch the table to say his name and specials , then he "gave us" about 10 more minutes to come back and take my drink order.

Once we had our order in after 30 minutes of just drinking water and a glass of wine , our food took about 20-30 minutes to be ready , appetizers were beautiful looking and very tasty ,as for entrees I ordered the Lamb-Medium and my husband ordered the chicken , My lamb was rare and the chicken was so salty that it was impossible to eat . I sent my lamb back , and they simply reheated my meat in the microwave , plate was so hot and still the lamb was rare.

I manage a restaurant myself I know how a Lamb-Medium should be cooked.

My husband went to speak with the manager that it was my bday , if they could do something special, so the manager said that they would send a piece ofchocolate cake for me . After we were done with our entrees , he offered dessert menu and my husband told me not to order anything because he had a surprise coming , the server came back with our check, no Bday cake.

Appetizers : Good , Entrees : Bad , Service : Bad , Wine list: Good,Dessert : I wouldn't know . Prices : Very overpriced for a lamb reheated in the microwave.

Definitely not going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had an incredibly rude waitor. He was mad that we weren't spending tons of money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

As always ,the food and service were exc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

As always ,the food and service were exceptional.Being served by Carl is special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Timer @ the Red Bird. We enjoyed it.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We found the food to be delicious. The menu is varied well. I am both gluten and dairy free and had no problem selecting a nice dinner. The waiter was knowledgable about the menu, that's not terribly common in MT restaurants. The service was friendly front to back. Timing of the meal was perfect.

Thanks for a great experience. I hope to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Red Bird is always one of my favorite sp ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Red Bird is always one of my favorite spots to visit when spending time in Missoula

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prefunction dinner with dear friend

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The Red Bird 's warm ambiance, outstanding service, and adventurous, but familiar menu set the state for a fun start to a great night out with a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We chose the Red Bird for a special occasion and it was wonderful. The food was out of this world and the service was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

It just goes to show you that great food can be found any where!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nice Evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Service was great. Food was good. Ambiance was exceptional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!!!!! All the way

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We had lamb shoulder and Cajun chicken and both were delicious! The wine was perfect fit. Ambiance very romantic, a little too noisy we felt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Pork belly appetizer, Kale and Octopus s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Pork belly appetizer, Kale and Octopus salads were great. Black cod entrée was excellent. Lamb entrée was extremely under seasoned. Riccota donuts were great. Egg nog ice cream was tasty but slightly icy.

Great room. Background music choice was strange for upscale dining experience ("Fill me up Buttercup")

Server was fairly attentive and knowledgeable. After we finished eating plates were left on table for too long considering it wasn't that busy and it seemed to be well staffed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lamb was outstanding - the rest of the dinner not.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

The lamb steak and ribs were outstanding but my duck in tomato sauce and the appetizers were all unfortunately bland. Not up to the usual standards of the Red Bird which we love. Wonderful birthday celebration for my bride that Andrew, our server, made special.

We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great evening with my son

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We had a fabulous time and a great meal. It was my son's first time and he loved the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Great place for a special dinner. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

This Red Bird has been recommended highly by Missoulans, so we tried it on a visit to the city. We loved the unique, delicious food. I had the bison tenderloin, which was absolutley delicious, but the portion was disappointingly small. The other half had the lamb special, which was very good but not great. Service was good, but not as outstanding as the food. Would definitely recommend this spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

What a wonderful place as always!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

What a wonderful place as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice meal out for our college girl

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

AWESOME food, service and atmosphere. This is the second time we've been to the Red Bird and it was even better than the first time, the waiter was patient with our questions and quick with our requests. Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants in Missoula .

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Fabulous food - very creative and the menu changes frequently. Ambiance is exceptional.

Service is outstanding. Extensive wine list also. You should dine here now.

Both the wine bar and restaurant have something to suit every taste and occasion. The management and staff are very amiable, courteous and willing to work with food allergies also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Little stumble

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

We made a reservation on line for 7:15. We were on time, and was told she was going to the back to make sure the table was ready and to stay close. We took a seat just outside the door as the bar was full. She came out and got at least four other groups/couples. I waited till 7:30 and went back to the desk. She had forgotten us. Said she'd be right back and left again. We were about 20 past reservation time. Was a bit of a put off. We knew it was First Friday and made the reservation to get around this busy night. It didn't work. Thought maybe we would get a free beer? Nothing. HOWEVER! The food we ordered was wonderful. Cooked to perfection, and our waiter was fabulous! Man bun and all. 😉 We will probably be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Superb for a special dinner occasion

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

We were so very pleased with our dining experience at the Red Bird. The historical feel of the location in the old Florence Hotel building on Higgins adds greatly to the whole evening. You can feel the past surround you as you enter. Our waiter was a gem. He took time to explain the menu and to bring up some changes that the chef (who is also the husband of the owner) had made recently to improve it even more. From our appetizer (shrimp and corn bisque soup and pan seared scallops) to the main course (Seared Alaskan Salmon and Cannelloni and Shrimp with Fontina Cheese Stuffed Squash) to our dessert (Molten Chocolate Cake with Coconut Sorbet) our meal was uniformly exceptional.

The Red Bird isn't inexpensive, real quality rarely is. It is, however, affordable and is absolutely a wonderful place to visit for that special night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Local cuisine at its finest

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

The Red Bird restaurant simply never disappoints. Outstanding service and food that will titillate your taste buds from the first course to the last. The art-deco decor allows you to step back into 1900 Paris or Vienna - truly, entering the restaurant through the curtain is like stepping into a Klimt painting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food vs noise

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

The food and service were excellent; perhaps a bit pricey. The main reason I marked ambience and noise level down is because we were seated directly by the open door to the bar, which was an entirely different crowd and very noisy. Only a curtain separated the two areas, and it did little to cut the noise. If we were to return, I would certainly request a table away from that passageway.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Wonderful Date Night

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

I just recently went to Red Bird with a new date and it was a wonderful experience. It was just the right level of intimate and the servers were attentive and intuitive. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. I would definitely recommend to a friend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

get the coffee

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

I can not afford to eat here often but when I do it is always a treat. Everything was great, the owner circulates and makes sure customers have everything they need. I love the after dinner coffee with cinnamon sticks, fresh flavored whipped cream, rock sugar, chocolate... yum. And a bargain for $3.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reliably Special

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

Another great meal at Red Bird this past week. Service is consistently above par from the hostess to the entire wait staff and bartender. They know the menu - they make appropriate recommendations that are 100% on target. Enjoyed the crab cake appetizer (BIG - share it with someone!) and the scallop entrée. Wine selection good. Server brought out fresh house-made hot sauce that complimented the crab cakes 100%. Love the "dark ambiance" of the bar area. Dark, quasi-chic space in downtown Missoula. Will return again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great upper class meal at only a moderate part

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

As title says! There was a range of different meats for dishes, very big meals. There was no way wee could fit in dessert after the first two courses.

There were two sections. In the restaurant, we were in the quieter section, but there was also a much rowdier section around the bar

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect for that special occasion

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 13, 2015

While in Missoula visiting her daughter, my fiancee and I were looking for a very special night out. After some reading several reviews online we decided on The Red Bird and I must say we were thoroughly satisfied with our decision. The atmosphere was romantic while not overly intimate. Carl, our server, was prompt, polite and extremely knowledgeable regarding the food and beverage choices that were available. Carl was very attentive to our every need while not hovering and allowing us to enjoy our meals and each others company at our own pace. The food was delicious and presented well. The portion sizes were perfect to enjoy the meal and some wine. We had the lamb and the bison for this dinner and both were amazing. They were fork tender and the flavors were exceptional. We would definitely recommend The Red Bird to anyone and will most definitely dine there again ourselves.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

dont miss this epicurean dream!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

We live in another state but come to missoula regularly to visit family and one of our "must visit" places is the Red Bird. The service is impeccable, the atmosphere is subdued and lovely, and then they bring the food. It is always something traditional with a twist to a modern or more evolved palate, with amazing quality ingredients. They offer the most vibrant, unique flavors, With a regularly updated menu so you can try something new each time. I have never been even a little bit disappointed and we look forward to eating here again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVED this place

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

We enjoyed our first dining experience at the Red Bird in Missoula last week. Although pricey, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the food was perfectly prepared, the waiter very attentive without going overboard, and the atmosphere, quite fun.

We will definitely consider going again, it's a bit expensive, however well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service, want to go back soon!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

The menu was great making it difficult to choose an entrée (good thing). The food was amazing with flavor combinations and presentations that rivaled any fine dining restaurant my wife and I have been to. The décor was unique, sort of vintage. We liked it, and it helped create a special setting that actually matched the food and music perfectly, creating a really nice experience. The music was a bit louder than other fine dining restaurants, but allowed you to relax a bit and have fun with the conversation. The music, by the way, was eclectic, and varied from flamenco to old jazz. Again, nicely matched to everything else. Just s great experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.