Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Recess Eatery - Glendale

3.9
54 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants

About

Offering a modern twist on American cuisine, Recess EateryGlendale, provides a comfortable and cozy bistro style dining environment. It serves an array of dishes for dinner, including burgers, seasonal fish, short ribs, gnocchi and caprese. You can also finish your meal with a tasty dessert, such as cheesecake, sorbet and fresh fruit. Recess Eatery also serves alcoholic beverages including wines, beers and specialty cocktails.

During the weekends, Recess Eatery serves brunch items, such as pancakes, french toast and eggs benedict. Chef owned, its menu is extremely inclusive and able to satisfy every appetite. It changes often to accommodate seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Contemporary European, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Saturday & Sunday: 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday through Friday: 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(818) 507-0592
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sevan Abdessian
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We offer full service catering for all your needs. From dinner parties to large events, Chef Sevan plans the perfect menu. Our staff of experienced event planners and servers can make any occasion a memorable one.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Tamar Kevonian: (818) 425-1284
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Recess Eatery provides catering services from small to large events, both on and offsite. So whether it's your location or ours, it will surely be a memorable event.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Dryden
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live acoustic flamenco music every Thursday, Friday, and Saturday from June through September.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We welcome you to celebrate your special occasion at Recess Eatery - Glendale. Or invite us to your location. Either way, our exceptional service and cuisine will be sure to impress your guests. We are prepared to cater large parties, weddings, corporate events, or event a private dinner in your home for your close and intimate friends with Chef Sevan preparing every last detail.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 54 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9based on all time ratings
4.1
food
3.8
service
4.0
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on February 6, 2016

Have had mixed experiences here but the newest menu seems to have some more interesting choices. Worth a try!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 24, 2016

I wanted to like this place, but I have to agree with what others have said. Food is just ok, and I think the price point is on the high side for just average food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 22, 2016

We had planned on eating at Recess on Friday. We were seated, handed our menus and given a moment to look at them. We made our choices and waited for the server to come take our order. When she came back, she ran off the list of foods that the restaurant did not have, which felt like a quarter of the menu. AND...every item that was not available, was an item I had considered. OK. Back to square one and a new choice. When she came back and asked, I gave her my choice to which she replied that they were also out of. After that, really all that was left to choose from were overpriced sandwiches and french fries. We chose not to stay have dinner elesewhere that did have the food offered on their menu.

The saving grace of this was that our server was professional and very apologetic and very nice. She expressed understanding and sympathy to not being able to bring us what we wanted. There was no fault on her part. She was just the messenger and she delivered the message very well.

So. If you choose to eat at Recess, call ahead and find out if every item they offer is available before going over there. It will save you a lot of time and frustration.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2015

Had brunch/lunch with four friends last Sunday. The food was excellent, the waitstaff was efficient and accommodating to those of us with special requests. It was the perfect spot to meet before heading to a show at the Alex Theater. Plenty of parking at the restaurant, and only a few minutes to the Alex after eating. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 12, 2015

Great menu, beautiful presentation and stellar wine list.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 13, 2015

This used to be a great little spot. Maybe they were having an off day - it does happen. But the food was so so and the service was not good. Very slow. Bottle of wine delivered with cork out already, not given opportunity to approve it. Patio, however, is still quite lovely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 9, 2015

I thought the service was great, from start to finish. The food was just mediocre but I'm going to try them again, maybe it was an off day or perhaps I didn't order the right things.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 2, 2015

The food is excellent here! HOWEVER, our server was absolutely unattentive, leaving another server to step in when we got ignored. To make matters worse, she kept bringing me flat Diet Coke, and I kept saying "this is flat." Finally, I gave up and asked for water. Eventually the second server fixed the soda machine and brought me a soda . . . at the end of the meal. When we got our bill it charged us for the Diet Coke AND the water. Putting aside the fact that you charge for water is one thing (and kind of annoying, particularly when we werent warned), but to charge me for BOTH when the only reason I ordered both was because the soda was flat? Terribly tacky. Left a bad taste in my mouth, even with the tasty food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2015

The server suggested a great Sauvignon Blanc and it paired really well with the special, halibut ceviche, which we ordered for an appetizer. The banana chips were thinly sliced and perfectly salted. Our dinner was very tasty and this place has a cute atmosphere. I definetely recommend!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 14, 2015

The pictures on Instagram sent me to this very sweet restaurant in Glendale. Everyone looks like they are trying so hard, and the food was good. However, the service really spoils the experience. The servers were sweet, but something is amiss with either training, or management of the staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 10, 2015

Whenever I'm in the area, I make sure to stop by and get that salad. It's beyond. Very cute place, huge outdoor patio, but make sure to go when it isn't really hot outside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2015

I was totally surprised by this place, loverly outdoor dining amongst large planted dividers.
A very good, and not too loud guitar player, very interesting cuisine. I'll go back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 31, 2015

I'm sorry--I wanted to like Recess, but the fact that I paid $19 for a salad and was hungry again less than two hours after eating lunch is not good. The actual slices of ahi tuna were of seemingly sufficient quantity, but the whole salad only filled a small plate and it didn't come with any sides. Worse, the flavor of the ahi was strange--I eat raw tuna quite often at different restaurants and though I cannot put my finger on what the issue was, it just didn't taste yummy to my tongue. The patio is sweet and the servers were nice but c'mon--a salad that costs $19 should be a feast!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 30, 2015

Food is good.
Gets loud when busy.
Make sure they confirm your Opentable reservation (claimed I was a no-show although I mentioned my reservation)

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 20, 2015

Once loved this eatery, however, this time I was disappointed in the changed menu. Very limited now for lunch suggestions. Salad menu is miniscule compared to what it used to be. The food is good but my favorite dishes have all but disappeared. Only found one item that was appealing at the time. Last time I was there, I brought my work colleagues who raved about the food. All the dishes they ordered at that time have disappeared also.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 17, 2015

I made a reservation to have lunch here but had to sit outside. The patio is nice to look at and quiet but it has no fans and no mist. They should invest in these. It is just too hot and uncomfortable to sit out there when it's 85 degrees, despite the shade.
The ahi tuna sandwich was very good and my friend liked the fish and chips. The service needs work. We were desperate for iced tea refills but the one server for the whole patio could spare a glance around as he served the area.
I'll go back but at some point even great food can't overcome discomfort.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 25, 2015

Everything on the menu is delicious. Service is perfect. So professional and friendly.
The perfect location to pop in and meet friends even if for just appetizers or dessert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 25, 2015

I've been here several times and for lunch, it never fails. The food has been pretty consistent. This time though my prosecco was close to flat, my ahi tuna salad which was $19 didn't have ahi and I still paid $19 plus the up charge for lobster (which I expected) but the lobster didn't deliver. It wasn't fresh at all. I was very disappointed. We ordered the bread pudding after and that was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 24, 2015

The food was decent but not good enough to make up for the terrible service. We sat on the patio on a warm day for lunch. The waitress asked for our order within the first minute or two of sitting down. Of course we weren't ready, but then it took another 15 to get her to come back to take our order. She must have forgotten that we ordered salads with dressing on the side because all of them had dressing when delivered. No big deal but, on a warm day, she never refilled our drinks, not once. We wanted to leave but it literally took half an hour to receive and pay for our food. I don't know if she is unable to handle multiple tables or if the owners should hire more staff. The food was not good enough to endure such neglected service. In any case, I won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2015

Sashimi appetizer was the winner of our dining experience hands down. So fresh.
The roasted chicken was excellent as were the fish n chips. Fish and chips were very fresh with a tasty batter.
We definitely could have done with out the potato chips and fried edamame , which we were excited to try but seemed to fall flat for us compared to everything else.
The service was friendly and helpful.
The patio is definitely the place to sit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2015

The food was great and my group loved the outdoor dining. There are lights strung up around the outdoor area. We think it will be a very romantic restaurant to take our husbands.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2015

The food is really good but the service on Mother's Day was terrible. It took over an hour just to get my cup of coffee. The owners are nice. We will go back again but not with a large group.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2015

We went for Saturday night dinner before mother's day. Really looking forward to eating on the outdoor patio that is so attractive from street...but it was closed. It was a cold evening and they had no soup of the day even though it was on menu. Server was friendly but seemed novice. The food was delicious. The Sea Bass was incredible. I will back, but only if I know the outdoor seating is available.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2015

We looked for a restaurant close to where some out-of-town friends were staying. The service was great, the music was charming and the food was really good. We started with the fried edamame, which was a light choice, but enough to enjoy while waiting for our food. I had the seared tuna salad, which was not overwhelming - good texture and subltle flavors, my daughter loved her chicken sandwich and the carrot-ginger soup was great. We also had the creme brulee cheescake which was divine. Great local spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2015

The server was very kind and helpful and simply genuine. My sea bass and his burger were incredible as was the lamb appetizer. This is our second time there and even though we live 50 miles away, we will be back! We haven't had the right weather for the garden yet, but can't wait!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 5, 2015

This was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had. The food was mediocre and extremely overpriced, the service was even worse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2015

While at the zoo in Los Angels my significant other and I looked up restaurants for dinner and being a cook at a 5 star restaurant I wanted to taste unique foods at of course a reasonable price. This restaurant was the only one out of 50 we looked through that was exactly what we wanted. Note that this was also on valintines day about 5 o'clock so we had different ran or luck on getting a table.YES they had a table and after changing our minds about sitting inside they still were able to seat us outside because my girl friend saw the bushes covered in flowrs by the outside dinning area. Romantic dosnt cover it ! Candles on the table , soft music playing, and my girl friends smiling at all the flowers around her. It was magnificent. However we didn't relize there was a set menu that day, so I told her we would just come back on a day were we could order what we wanted. We drove from Ventura all the way to Glendel just to eat at this restaurant . IT was Definitely worth the drive! The food was exquisite! My tastebuds got exactly what I was looking for something new and delicious . The chief was even nice enough to give us a slice of chocolate cake topped with strawberries and almonds in the house . I also ordered the crème brûlée cheese cake which was the most amazing, fantastic, DELICIOUS dessert I have ever tasted. I look forward to eatting at this restaurant again and definitely ordering a pice of that cheese cake!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 8, 2015

Booked it for location and ability to accommodate 12 people at noon on a weekend. We sat outside on the patio which was nice. Food was decent....my Quinoa salad was not the best....but everyone else seemed to like what they had...including burritos and burgers and eggs.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2015

We were seated outside next to another couple. We did the Valentines menu and everything food wise was very good. The service was very lackluster. The kind where they explain the dishes to the table next to you but not to your table. They also didn't stagger the food timing so our next course would arrive before we were done with the last one. Plus it was mystery food, the plates were delivered without a single word so we had to make wild guesses on items. And they forgot the wine we ordered. Would get to go maybe if they do that otherwise would not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2015

I had a lovely lunch with my family to celebrate my birthday. The food was fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. They even gave me a cake decorated with berries and sauce that we literally ate every bite of. I already have a date to bring back some friends next week!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 1, 2015

I wouldn't recommend Recess Eatery, at least when the patio is closed. The food was mediocre, and the service indifferent. It seemed the staff was in a hurry to get closed up, as they didn't even offer us dessert, and they were putting up chairs while we finished up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2014

This is like a fine dining cafe which means you pay more for the specially prepared and presented food. I was impressed by the food presentation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2014

We had a large group, accommodated with ease and served us impeccably. Food, nothing short of extraordinary. Do not let the small unobtrusive exterior fool you. The gift is on the inside. Only issue was so many heat lamps sitting with no fuel and only two were gassed up for patio on a cool evening. Server was wonderful to our sometimes difficult party of 18, but smiled and handled us with grace. I highly recommend this gem of a boutique eatery. And the master chef (owner) coming out to the table to greet us was a nice touch of care.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 7, 2014

I had read good things on line and we were going to the ballet nearby so it seemed a perfect opportunity to go to this restaurant. It was a beautiful day and they have a lovely outdoor patio.
ALl the food going by looked fabulous but we were ignored by all the servers. we had allowed plenty of time to visit and eat before curtain time but we waited and waited and asked people going by if they were our waiter. Finally someone said they would take our order. then no one seemed responsible for delivering our food to our table. Or any condiments we needed. Someone finally said they would bring the bill so we could get going but that took another 15- 20 minutes. The food was very tasty but it's really not worth it. There are plenty of places with great food and better service to chose from. The funny thing is the restaurant wasn't really that crowded.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 6, 2014

We had a nice long brunch at Recess on a Saturday morning. The food was creative and very tasty. Our waiter was very nice and helpful. We sat there for a long time and nobody bothered us, but when we needed something our waiter was right there to help.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2014

Pleasant atmosphere. Variance to the menu. Lovely staff.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 24, 2014

We ordered sweet potato fries and got regular fries because you didn't have any sweet potato. Then we ordered a kale/chicken salad, and they brought us a ceasar type salad with chicken. What was most annoying about it all was that we were never notified that you didn't have the items we ordered and we were just brought the substitute items without asking us first. I was in the industry before and you should know better than to assume that the customer will like what you are bringing them as the replacement. You should always give the customer the option to order something else. We were not given the option and not to mention that by the time our food was brought out, it would've been too late because we were on our lunch hour.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 22, 2014

The chef tries new ways to present and deliver a tasty experience. Have you had a lamb burger? I hadn't until I tried it at Recess and I can stop thinking about how good it tasted.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 18, 2014

We were very surprised at how empty the restaurant was given how amazing the food was! The waitress told us that due to location it is normally packed during the week and empty on the weekend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 5, 2014

friendly service, food was very good, nice atmosphere. Would definitely go there again.

Report
Helpful
1
2