About Rebar - Trump International Hotel and Tower

401 N Wabash Ave
Floor 1 Mezzanine
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

REBAR. This chic, sophisticated lounge located on the mezzanine level offers a vibrant atmosphere in which to enjoy captivating views of the Chicago River & Michigan Avenue Bridge. Rebar takes a progressive approach to food and drink, and features ever-evolving hand-crafted cocktails & varied artisanal small plates. The beverage list is heavily focused on champagne & small-batch spirits, and is constantly curated in an effort to innovate and feature the most exciting products in the industry.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Thursday & Friday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 1:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Wacker Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 588-8034

Website:
http://www.trumphotelcollection.com/chicago/downtown-chicago-bars.php

Parking Details:
Valet, Self-Parking and Street Parking available.

Public Transit:
Red Line to Grand
Brown Line to Merchandise Mart
Bus Routes: #29, #39 & #65

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rebar - Trump International Hotel and Tower, Chicago, IL
Rebar - Trump International Hotel and Tower, Chicago, IL

Private Dining

Ideal for both business receptions and social gatherings, Rebar’s versatile space can be tailored to groups of any size. Book either the semi-private area for events 20

Rebar - Trump International Hotel and Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Scenic View (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Romantic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great Beer (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Casual (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
57 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were here early the night before Than ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were here early the night before Thanksgiving. Able to get a spot right by the window. Staff attentive but not annoying. Drinks were good. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly staff, great view of the river, ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Friendly staff, great view of the river, interesting drink menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome view of the river, great service ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Awesome view of the river, great service, and a wonderful wine list.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4 in our party. Waited 37 minutes for a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

4 in our party. Waited 37 minutes for a drink for one member of our party. Snacks come in tiny bowls. Need to be bigger bowls. Really wasn't that crowded.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Been there many many times. This time di ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Been there many many times. This time disappointed that we were seated at the worst seat available. Wanted to transfer seats but told all available seats are reserved. Only to find out 1 hour later that those seats are still unoccupied. The hostess could have been more accommodating..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

1st class table service and delicious sm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

1st class table service and delicious small plates. Also first class view from a 1st class hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came to the Trump to watch the 2016 el ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I came to the Trump to watch the 2016 election results. Given the name on this magnificent building, they didn't seem prepared for the event. The staff seemed to treat it like an ordinary night. There were only 2 small TVs near the bar, which were not visible to most of the seating, so everyone was standing. The staff kept urging us back to our seats. They should have brought in more TVs. How could they not know this was a destination for election night?

The bar ran out of several popular drinks like Bud Lite by 9:00. Glasses were repeatedly taken before drinks were finished. They took our champagne glasses before the cork was popped! There was no fanfare for the election. The TVs were abruptly turned off some time after midnight (they did stay open later than normal) and everyone kicked out, when we would have liked to stay for the results, regardless of being served or not (I realize there are liquor license laws). On this night, the crowd was what made it fun; everyone in the room became friends and it was electric.

I've also been to Rebar on an ordinary night and had a great experience. There is a great vibe here, you feel like you're someplace special. I would come back if I were in downtown Chicago again. They just missed an opportunity to capitalize on a momentous occasion.

On the plus side - given we were in a blue state, in the Trump building, on election night - I felt extremely safe. There was ample security that didn't stifle the environment. Police were out front when we left (this was precautionary, there were no issues inside or out). Plenty of cabs to get everyone home safely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Hand crafted cocktails created with top ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Hand crafted cocktails created with top shelf brands and unique ingredients. House-made gourmet food. Overlooking Chicago river. A spectacular evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to Trump Tower's Rebar because it ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I went to Trump Tower's Rebar because it will not be more relevant than it is right now, given this election cycle. It was fun and goofy and different. The decor was swanky. The service was good. The drinks were fun but very expensive. Most of the reason for this positive review was the company I was with. I was having drinks with an old friend in a politically relevant building during an historically crazy election cycle. I don't know if I'd recommend this to others unless you have a taste for upper class style and dining with the upper class price to match.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Spectacular view; friendly, knowledgable ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Spectacular view; friendly, knowledgable service. Delicious food, tasty cocktails!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rebar at the Trump Hotel Chicago is a so ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Rebar at the Trump Hotel Chicago is a sophisticated, country-club-casual bar with creative, expertly prepared small plates and top-shelf offerings of beer, wine and liquor. The large room winds around a floor-to-ceiling wall of windows facing the Chicago River lined with iconic architectural treasures and almost constant boat traffic.

The room is large, but is well-divided by pillars and walls, to provide many cozy spaces with comfortable seating and plenty of room between tables and chairs. Not busy during our late afternoon visit, the space allowed for relaxed, intimate conversation; although when the bar is full, the noise level and atmosphere may be substantially more lively.

Service was near-perfect, with smiling, sincere greetings, prompt and timely attention, and friendly comments and suggestions about the menu.

Food included a number of small plates with widely diverse origins, from sliders to charcuterie. While relatively simple in concept, the items were expertly prepared and attractively served. As it was our first visit, we 'explored the menu,' ordering 5-6 items in the $20 to $25 range, and enjoyed the variety and casual approach to what amounted to our dinner for the evening.

We stuck to our standard cocktails, but noted that the bar offers a number of creative mixtures, and boasts a particularly impressive list of premium liquors as their house brands. Of note: Top quality limes - plenty of juice from fresh, healthy wedges!

All considered, we agreed that we can't think of a better bar/casual dining experience when food, drinks, ambience, view, and service are all taken into account. We can only hope that when we return, we can enjoy a similar experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great drinks. Great service. Great night ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great drinks. Great service. Great night. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. Perfect cocktails!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great service. Perfect cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the view and the intimate setting ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the view and the intimate setting not loud and crazy

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

My husband and I enjoyed a leisurely 2 h ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 30, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a leisurely 2 hours at Rebar. We had a table right along the windows overlooking the river. We enjoyed a couple of drinks and food and had a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a Gilt City Deal. The food wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went with a Gilt City Deal. The food was great and our server was perfect. The regular prices are a bit high though (most apps/small bites are $20+), so I don't picture myself returning frequently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Got there at 10:15, just in time for the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Got there at 10:15, just in time for the Saturday fireworks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful view, good service. Delicious ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful view, good service. Delicious finger foods.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stunning view & strong, delicious drinks ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Stunning view & strong, delicious drinks! The queso is a must try!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Evening together

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderfully quiet dinner together overlooking the river toward Lake Michigan. The service was excellent, as was the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saturday night slow

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Saturday night group business dinner of 12. They weren't particularly busy. We were in a corner purchasing cocktails and a variety of apps from their strictly app menu. The wait was very long for the food and the quality was not good. $1,000 bill later and no one at our table was raving. It's great scenery with a hip décor. I've had much better experiences at the Trump and sorry they weren't prepared this evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We thought this was a good restaurant fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We thought this was a good restaurant for dinner, but it does not have a dinner menu. Mostly appetizers and bar.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Trump knows how its done!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our second time visiting Rebar, and the experience both times was fabulous. Our seats were right up against the window with a fabulous view of the river, the boats, the Michigan Avenue bridge, and the lake beyond. The drinks are pricey no doubt, but with the flawless service and the relaxed ambience, it is well worth it. The seasoned popcorn is a nice touch (especially if you love popcorn as much as I do). We were also served wasabi peas.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I Love this place always for any occasio ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2016

I Love this place always for any occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pink Affair is a must! It's usually not ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Pink Affair is a must! It's usually not on the menu but it's available if you ask for it. The mother butters popcorn is addicting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place and service as always.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Great place and service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2015

They made my proposal perfect. Excellent in every way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for appetizer and drinks before ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Perfect for appetizer and drinks before dinner or coffee & baileys with dessert after dinner. Great food, excellent views of the city and fantastic service! We come every time we visit Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dissatisfied

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2015

Disssatisfaction guaranteed! First time here in this tiny lounge, and I am not coming back any time soon. Skyline view was nice and crowed was pleasant, ambiance was not as eclectic. An order of their expensive $22 savorless 4-piece dumplings took 40 mins to be served. Music played that weekend was ok. Drinks were ok, ladies drinks were ok. No parking validation nor parking discount.

I expected more,.. should've just gone elsewhere.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Best view of Chicago River

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2015

We went here just for an after-dinner cocktail. It is a beautiful view over the Chicago River and downtown. We didn't order any food, but the nuts/popcorn came complimentary and were tasty. Cocktails are pricey, but good. Service is friendly too. Expect a lot of skin exposure when you come here, but what else at a swanky Trump bar?

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable as well as satisfying. Will go ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2015

Enjoyable as well as satisfying. Will go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The view!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2015

Always my go to place! My absolute favorite!!!!! Recommend for date night!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always is perfect

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2015

Always is perfect for every moment ! I took my mom there and she loved a lot the place and the coctels

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great View but Pricey

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2015

Rebar has a fantastic view and great food/wine but you will be paying a premium for the experience. I would recommend it for a glass or two of wine and an appetizer during the spring/summer/fall to get the most of the river front view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very pricey cocktails. It's very good b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2015

Very pricey cocktails. It's very good but expensive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Modern plush bar with wonderful views!

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 18, 2015

Sit by the windows @ ReBar & you have great views of the Chicago river. Ambiance is modern and comfortable. Drinks are a little pricey, but the ones with bourbon are easily worth it. Don't settle for just drinks though - their kitchen also serves up delectable appetizers. The lamb meatballs and the buttersquash + pistachio + sausage flatbread is highly recommended. Service is good too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unico...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2015

Este lugar es magico fantastico me encanta cada vez que vengo y contemplo el rio! Es mi favorito para Pasar y tomarme un trago!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Views great, food not!

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 22, 2015

I was disappointed. They changed the menu and I was very disappointed in their selections. Great view, poor food choices.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Review

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Came here on Valentine's day as an end to the evening. My date was greeted with a red rose - nice touch. We were then taken to our table, right by the window looking over the river. So far, so good.

However a couple of things irked me. The music was too loud for the environment. The bar has chairs ideal for lounging in - this naturally encourages one to spread out a little. However doing so left the two of us unable to hear each other. So all of the couples were joined up close at their tables, rather than relaxing a touch more with more space. It just didn't quite fit the ambiance for romance.

Our server was a lovely guy, but made a couple of mistakes - firstly bringing the wrong wine, then bringing the wrong bill at the end. OK, everyone is human, but again it didn't contribute to the relaxed, effortless mood I was hoping for.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2015

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.