Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Rebar - Trump International Hotel and Tower

REBAR. This chic, sophisticated lounge located on the mezzanine level offers a vibrant atmosphere in which to enjoy captivating views of the Chicago River & Michigan Avenue Bridge. Rebar takes a progressive approach to food and drink, and features ever-evolving hand-crafted cocktails & varied artisanal small plates. The beverage list is heavily focused on champagne & small-batch spirits, and is constantly curated in an effort to innovate and feature the most exciting products in the industry.

401 N Wabash Ave
Floor 1 Mezzanine
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Thursday & Friday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 1:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Wacker Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 588-8034

Website:
http://www.trumphotelcollection.com/chicago/downtown-chicago-bars.php

Parking Details:
Valet, Self-Parking and Street Parking available.

Public Transit:
Red Line to Grand
Brown Line to Merchandise Mart
Bus Routes: #29, #39 & #65

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Ideal for both business receptions and social gatherings, Rebar’s versatile space can be tailored to groups of any size. Book either the semi-private area for events 20

Rebar - Trump International Hotel and Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Special Occasion (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Waterfront (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Authentic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

First Class Food and Service in a First Class Brand!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on March 30, 2017

Nice place.... it close to early.....
Great facility..... snak bar ... like others...

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I went with friends for a drink. The bar had a beautiful view of the river. We were seated in comfortable conversation chairs right in front of the windows. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the drink menu. I'd love to go back and sample the bar menu. It looked delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One of the starting servers (man) was a little rude. Host and our stable server was super nice! Great view, fun time!

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always a fav for 1st class food and service, and of course the view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food had such great flavor. Salmon tartar great flavor profile. Fried chicken sliders nice to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent service and great food. Really beautiful view of the river and city from the large windows along the length of the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our favorite bar in the city! Best views to sit and relax in front of. The seasonal cocktails are truly unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great drinks! Pink Affair is still my favorite! It's not on the menu but you can still order it. Awesome view of the river! Service is amazing! The popcorn on the table is delicious! Can't wait for summer!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great place for a business drink and discussion. Quiet, classy, great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

No draft beer, only bottles :(. Cocktails were pricey, but delicious. One was served in a glass with cherry wood smoke sitting on top of the whiskey drink. Fancy! Had another cocktail that was hot tea, gin, and fruit. Super delicious, never had something like that before. The lounge has a nice view of the Chicago river with floor to ceiling windows.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

beautiful place and great views.. service was fine - although server was new.... food looked interesting and wish we would have had a chance to try some.. a bit pricey.. but very TRUMP!!
we will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had drinks and dessert with our kids. The popcorn they bring to the table is awesome, the nuts were a little weird. The view is great.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Perfect as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was my first visit. I wanted to share a special birthday experience for my daughter.
I thought we were going to have dinner on the 16th floor. When we got there they informed us that the 16th floor was closed. This mezzanine area was a huge disappointment. I will never attend again.
Raymond Ejnik

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were here early the night before Thanksgiving. Able to get a spot right by the window. Staff attentive but not annoying. Drinks were good. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Friendly staff, great view of the river, interesting drink menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Awesome view of the river, great service, and a wonderful wine list.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

4 in our party. Waited 37 minutes for a drink for one member of our party. Snacks come in tiny bowls. Need to be bigger bowls. Really wasn't that crowded.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Been there many many times. This time disappointed that we were seated at the worst seat available. Wanted to transfer seats but told all available seats are reserved. Only to find out 1 hour later that those seats are still unoccupied. The hostess could have been more accommodating..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

1st class table service and delicious small plates. Also first class view from a 1st class hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I came to the Trump to watch the 2016 election results. Given the name on this magnificent building, they didn't seem prepared for the event. The staff seemed to treat it like an ordinary night. There were only 2 small TVs near the bar, which were not visible to most of the seating, so everyone was standing. The staff kept urging us back to our seats. They should have brought in more TVs. How could they not know this was a destination for election night?

The bar ran out of several popular drinks like Bud Lite by 9:00. Glasses were repeatedly taken before drinks were finished. They took our champagne glasses before the cork was popped! There was no fanfare for the election. The TVs were abruptly turned off some time after midnight (they did stay open later than normal) and everyone kicked out, when we would have liked to stay for the results, regardless of being served or not (I realize there are liquor license laws). On this night, the crowd was what made it fun; everyone in the room became friends and it was electric.

I've also been to Rebar on an ordinary night and had a great experience. There is a great vibe here, you feel like you're someplace special. I would come back if I were in downtown Chicago again. They just missed an opportunity to capitalize on a momentous occasion.

On the plus side - given we were in a blue state, in the Trump building, on election night - I felt extremely safe. There was ample security that didn't stifle the environment. Police were out front when we left (this was precautionary, there were no issues inside or out). Plenty of cabs to get everyone home safely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Hand crafted cocktails created with top shelf brands and unique ingredients. House-made gourmet food. Overlooking Chicago river. A spectacular evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I went to Trump Tower's Rebar because it will not be more relevant than it is right now, given this election cycle. It was fun and goofy and different. The decor was swanky. The service was good. The drinks were fun but very expensive. Most of the reason for this positive review was the company I was with. I was having drinks with an old friend in a politically relevant building during an historically crazy election cycle. I don't know if I'd recommend this to others unless you have a taste for upper class style and dining with the upper class price to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Spectacular view; friendly, knowledgable service. Delicious food, tasty cocktails!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Rebar at the Trump Hotel Chicago is a sophisticated, country-club-casual bar with creative, expertly prepared small plates and top-shelf offerings of beer, wine and liquor. The large room winds around a floor-to-ceiling wall of windows facing the Chicago River lined with iconic architectural treasures and almost constant boat traffic.

The room is large, but is well-divided by pillars and walls, to provide many cozy spaces with comfortable seating and plenty of room between tables and chairs. Not busy during our late afternoon visit, the space allowed for relaxed, intimate conversation; although when the bar is full, the noise level and atmosphere may be substantially more lively.

Service was near-perfect, with smiling, sincere greetings, prompt and timely attention, and friendly comments and suggestions about the menu.

Food included a number of small plates with widely diverse origins, from sliders to charcuterie. While relatively simple in concept, the items were expertly prepared and attractively served. As it was our first visit, we 'explored the menu,' ordering 5-6 items in the $20 to $25 range, and enjoyed the variety and casual approach to what amounted to our dinner for the evening.

We stuck to our standard cocktails, but noted that the bar offers a number of creative mixtures, and boasts a particularly impressive list of premium liquors as their house brands. Of note: Top quality limes - plenty of juice from fresh, healthy wedges!

All considered, we agreed that we can't think of a better bar/casual dining experience when food, drinks, ambience, view, and service are all taken into account. We can only hope that when we return, we can enjoy a similar experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great service. Perfect cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great drinks. Great service. Great night. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the view and the intimate setting not loud and crazy

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 30, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a leisurely 2 hours at Rebar. We had a table right along the windows overlooking the river. We enjoyed a couple of drinks and food and had a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went with a Gilt City Deal. The food was great and our server was perfect. The regular prices are a bit high though (most apps/small bites are $20+), so I don't picture myself returning frequently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Got there at 10:15, just in time for the Saturday fireworks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful view, good service. Delicious finger foods.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Stunning view & strong, delicious drinks! The queso is a must try!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderfully quiet dinner together overlooking the river toward Lake Michigan. The service was excellent, as was the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Saturday night group business dinner of 12. They weren't particularly busy. We were in a corner purchasing cocktails and a variety of apps from their strictly app menu. The wait was very long for the food and the quality was not good. $1,000 bill later and no one at our table was raving. It's great scenery with a hip décor. I've had much better experiences at the Trump and sorry they weren't prepared this evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We thought this was a good restaurant for dinner, but it does not have a dinner menu. Mostly appetizers and bar.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our second time visiting Rebar, and the experience both times was fabulous. Our seats were right up against the window with a fabulous view of the river, the boats, the Michigan Avenue bridge, and the lake beyond. The drinks are pricey no doubt, but with the flawless service and the relaxed ambience, it is well worth it. The seasoned popcorn is a nice touch (especially if you love popcorn as much as I do). We were also served wasabi peas.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2016

I Love this place always for any occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.