About Rebar - Trump International Hotel and Tower

401 N Wabash Ave
Floor 1 Mezzanine
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

REBAR. This chic, sophisticated lounge located on the mezzanine level offers a vibrant atmosphere in which to enjoy captivating views of the Chicago River & Michigan Avenue Bridge. Rebar takes a progressive approach to food and drink, and features ever-evolving hand-crafted cocktails & varied artisanal small plates. The beverage list is heavily focused on champagne & small-batch spirits, and is constantly curated in an effort to innovate and feature the most exciting products in the industry.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Thursday & Friday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 1:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Wacker Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 588-8034

Website:
http://www.trumphotelcollection.com/chicago/downtown-chicago-bars.php

Parking Details:
Valet, Self-Parking and Street Parking available.

Public Transit:
Red Line to Grand
Brown Line to Merchandise Mart
Bus Routes: #29, #39 & #65

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Ideal for both business receptions and social gatherings, Rebar’s versatile space can be tailored to groups of any size. Book either the semi-private area for events 20

Rebar - Trump International Hotel and Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (7)
romantic (6)
special occasion (3)
See All
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
good for groups (2)
notable wine list (2)
fit for foodies (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
36 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We thought this was a good restaurant fo ...

Dined 6 days ago

We thought this was a good restaurant for dinner, but it does not have a dinner menu. Mostly appetizers and bar.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Trump knows how its done!

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our second time visiting Rebar, and the experience both times was fabulous. Our seats were right up against the window with a fabulous view of the river, the boats, the Michigan Avenue bridge, and the lake beyond. The drinks are pricey no doubt, but with the flawless service and the relaxed ambience, it is well worth it. The seasoned popcorn is a nice touch (especially if you love popcorn as much as I do). We were also served wasabi peas.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I Love this place always for any occasio ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

I Love this place always for any occasion

food5
ambience5
service5

Pink Affair is a must! It's usually not ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Pink Affair is a must! It's usually not on the menu but it's available if you ask for it. The mother butters popcorn is addicting!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place and service as always.

Dined on December 28, 2015

Great place and service as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

Superb

Dined on November 22, 2015

They made my proposal perfect. Excellent in every way.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for appetizer and drinks before ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Perfect for appetizer and drinks before dinner or coffee & baileys with dessert after dinner. Great food, excellent views of the city and fantastic service! We come every time we visit Chicago.

food1
ambience2
service2

Dissatisfied

Dined on October 25, 2015

Disssatisfaction guaranteed! First time here in this tiny lounge, and I am not coming back any time soon. Skyline view was nice and crowed was pleasant, ambiance was not as eclectic. An order of their expensive $22 savorless 4-piece dumplings took 40 mins to be served. Music played that weekend was ok. Drinks were ok, ladies drinks were ok. No parking validation nor parking discount. I expected more,.. should've just gone elsewhere.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Best view of Chicago River

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

We went here just for an after-dinner cocktail. It is a beautiful view over the Chicago River and downtown. We didn't order any food, but the nuts/popcorn came complimentary and were tasty. Cocktails are pricey, but good. Service is friendly too. Expect a lot of skin exposure when you come here, but what else at a swanky Trump bar?

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyable as well as satisfying. Will go ...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

Enjoyable as well as satisfying. Will go back for sure.

food5
ambience5
service5

The view!

Dined on August 29, 2015

Always my go to place! My absolute favorite!!!!! Recommend for date night!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always is perfect

Dined on August 28, 2015

Always is perfect for every moment ! I took my mom there and she loved a lot the place and the coctels

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service4

Great View but Pricey

vip
Dined on August 6, 2015

Rebar has a fantastic view and great food/wine but you will be paying a premium for the experience. I would recommend it for a glass or two of wine and an appetizer during the spring/summer/fall to get the most of the river front view.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pricey cocktails. It's very good b ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2015

Very pricey cocktails. It's very good but expensive.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Modern plush bar with wonderful views!

vip
Dined on April 18, 2015

Sit by the windows @ ReBar & you have great views of the Chicago river. Ambiance is modern and comfortable. Drinks are a little pricey, but the ones with bourbon are easily worth it. Don't settle for just drinks though - their kitchen also serves up delectable appetizers. The lamb meatballs and the buttersquash + pistachio + sausage flatbread is highly recommended. Service is good too.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Unico...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2015

Este lugar es magico fantastico me encanta cada vez que vengo y contemplo el rio! Es mi favorito para Pasar y tomarme un trago!

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience5
service5

Views great, food not!

vip
Dined on March 22, 2015

I was disappointed. They changed the menu and I was very disappointed in their selections. Great view, poor food choices.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Valentine's Review

Dined on February 15, 2015

Came here on Valentine's day as an end to the evening. My date was greeted with a red rose - nice touch. We were then taken to our table, right by the window looking over the river. So far, so good. However a couple of things irked me. The music was too loud for the environment. The bar has chairs ideal for lounging in - this naturally encourages one to spread out a little. However doing so left the two of us unable to hear each other. So all of the couples were joined up close at their tables, rather than relaxing a touch more with more space. It just didn't quite fit the ambiance for romance. Our server was a lovely guy, but made a couple of mistakes - firstly bringing the wrong wine, then bringing the wrong bill at the end. OK, everyone is human, but again it didn't contribute to the relaxed, effortless mood I was hoping for.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

Dined on February 14, 2015

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Go For the View and Drinks

Dined on February 1, 2015

Good spot for a before or after drink. Limited food menu for snacks. Call ahead if you have a group of 4 for a table and want to sit down on a Friday/Saturday.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Gorgeous View for Cocktails

Dined on January 23, 2015

I brought my best friend here for cocktails after work on a Friday. I made reservations so we could have a table by the window...that's the best view. I'd much rather come here than the Signature Lounge for drinks. The river is all lit up and if you come on a fireworks night you can see them at Navy Pier. We got cocktails that were great, a bit pricy but that's what you pay for the view and ambience. We ordered hummus and a flatbread. Also they brought complimentary olives and popcorn as nibbles. By accident they brought us the wrong flatbread and let us keep that one free plus the correct one we ordered, both were tasty. A great place to start your evening out in Chicago.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

vip
Dined on January 23, 2015

Since the hotel opened, we have visited Rebar or eaten at 16 on every visit to Chicago, every 1 - 2 months. On our last visit, we were disappointed to learn they have changed their wine list offerings at Rebar. Clearly, they have downgraded their Cabernet from the Jordan they used to serve. The quality of the food and service remain excellent. We are hopeful that they will reconsider their choice of house wines for Rebar.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night cap

vip
Dined on January 17, 2015

A great place to end a Chicago night out; with fantastic river views and very chic atmosphere.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on December 28, 2014

We were there for a drink .. Outstanding & attentive service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Decor and Food

Dined on December 21, 2014

We loved everything at Rebar... from the service to the food. The french fries were the best french fries I've ever had. I don't know what they do to them... or how they do it, but it was love in my mouth. Our server was wonderful and very nice and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely evening with excellent food and drinks

Dined on December 13, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves the other night at Rebar. I chose the Pink Lady for my drink and it was wonderful. I had the spiced lamb meatballs while there and they were excellent. My husband had India Ale and chose the Braised short rib sliders to eat. We both enjoyed the complimentary popcorn and olives too! We will definitely be going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

The setting and view was relaxing and lovely.

Dined on December 8, 2014

The Christmas decorations in the lobby were tastefully done. The gentlemen at the entrance were welcoming. The window view was very nice. The St. Jude's elevator was well done. The drink menu was quite limited. The Margarita was poorly made. The popcorn and olives were adequate.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4

sushi disappointment

Dined on November 7, 2014

Ambience and view was good but the menu online showed a great line up of sushi which they apparently have not had for over a year. One tuna app only. Apps are 25 bucks and most are fried they were good but was just a totally different experience than I was looking for. Disco beat but quiet enough to talk

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5

Relaxing Chicago River View

vip
Dined on November 2, 2014

We loved the cocktails and appetizers at Rebar. They were very accommodating as we ordered more than could fit on the table they brought over another table. The tallegio pizza with truffle and honey was a delight. The macarons dessert featured a peppermint cookie we loved. The white bean hummus was served with both pizza and veggie strips. The toasted sesame seeds was a nice accompaniment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

rebar at trump tower

Dined on October 12, 2014

Great food and drinks..breathtaking view of downtown chicago..waitress very attentive but not to a point of annoying...

Tags: late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful

Dined on September 21, 2014

It was a really nice place. The service was Outstanding! The View was breathe taking... The food was good. But make sure you take someone with you to enjoy it all. Not a real place to meet anyone new.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Great view

vip
Dined on September 20, 2014

Overlooking the river, wow what a view if the city. Great small plates and nice drin menu. Nice place for lunch or cocktails with a great city and river view.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Drinks are unique and amazing. Went with ...

Dined on August 22, 2014

Drinks are unique and amazing. Went with a group of 5 and we all loved our drinks! However they are a bit pricey. I went on a Thursday evening and it was not busy at all.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great drinks and service

Dined on June 28, 2014

I reserved a table for two for drinks. We received a great table by the window with views of the river. A great spot to watch the boats along the chicago river. Service was excellent and so were the drinks. The only issue we had is that we were seated next to a wedding party that became a little more noisey. I would definitely go back here for drinks again and ask to be seated away from large groups. This is definitely the spot to go for drinks with a nice view. The drinks are pricey and glasses not full but something we expected.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Only went for drinks not food, but would ...

Dined on May 18, 2014

Only went for drinks not food, but would recommend it. Comfortable seating and nice views.

Tags: late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Pricey!!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2014

I took a friend here for her birthday, and we spent about $120 for three drinks, an appetizer, and a flatbread. The food and drinks were good, but not good enough to warrant the pricetag. Cocktails were $18 each, and I think I saw one that was $32. The cocktails were no better than other restaurants/bars that have a specialty cocktail program and don't charge $18 a drink. Overall, it wasn't too crowded, but we were here on a weeknight.

Tags: romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.