About Raymonds

95 Water Street
St. John's, NF A1C1A5
View Larger Map

Living in Newfoundland and Labrador, we’re blessed in having access to some of the best seafood, meat, and produce in the world. Having such a bountiful larder right on our doorsteps means we’re able to adopt a truly sustainable approach to fine dining – sourcing locally-grown ingredients and getting to know independent purveyors. We've made every effort to make dining at Raymonds a unique and rare treat. Visit us at 95 Water Street in the heart of downtown St. John’s. Our dinner menu, prepared by head chef Jeremy Charles, is inspired by rustic Atlantic Canadian cuisine. It features authentic dishes that take advantage of Newfoundland and Labrador’s rich variety of seafood, wild game, berries and vegetables, while also exploring innovative, 'haute cuisine' ingredient combinations and finishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm -9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(709) 579-5800

Website:
http://www.raymondsrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Moose Cavatelli - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Head Cheese With Asparagus - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Oysters - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Pork Tenderloin On Spaetzle - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Trout On Gnocci with Shrimp and A Sweet Corn Ravioli - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Tuna Nicoise - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Cod And Cassoulet - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Salmon And Gnocchi - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Beet Salad - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Gnocchi - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Arctic Char - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Creme Brulee - Raymonds, St. John's, NF

Raymonds Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
6 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Newfoundland and Labrador
Best Restaurants in St. John's ›

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (57)
Notable Wine List (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Local Ingredients (46)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Tasting Menu (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for a Date (32)
Scenic View (31)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Business Meals (21)
Waterfront (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Historic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Cozy (6)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
936 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I congratulate you on doing an excellent ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 3 days ago

I congratulate you on doing an excellent job at Raymonds & the public will never be disappointed with the food or service.

If I may make one suggestion..... I believe the price of alcoholic beverages are overpriced for the easily obtained/NLC products..... I appreciate that all businesses' need to make a profit, however, I believe the prices should be a little more reasonable for the beer, spirits, & wine.

Thank you for an excellent dining experience & promoting NL.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our Raymonds experience was simply excep ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our Raymonds experience was simply exceptional. Our server was very well informed and went out of his way to answer questions and provide a quality dining experience. The food is superb. When you order, you have an idea of what's to come and you assume it will be very good. When the plate arrives, the creativity on the plate, the flavor profiles, and the commitment to local ingredients take your eating pleasure to a whole new level. The portion sizes are not excessive which allows you to enjoy several courses, from 3-7, depending on your appetite. In St. John's, it is definitely a dining experience you cannot find elsewhere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience, as usual. Great serv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing experience, as usual. Great service and wine from Andrew and Jeremy. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

This is truly one of the finest restaura ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is truly one of the finest restaurants I have been to in Canada. Everything about it is great!

Would certainly go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten in many high end restaurant ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I have eaten in many high end restaurants throughout North America and Europe. This is if not the best then a tie for it with another in provence France. The service is excellent. The attention to local ingredients is phenomenal. The cost though high is very reasonable for the quality of food and service. This restaurant makes me proud of Newfoundland and what it has to offer on the world stage.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really great experience! The tasting men ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Really great experience! The tasting menu was awesome - such a variety of food! Everything was delicious, our waitress was friendly. Went into the bar for a drink after and the bartender did an awesome job at making different cocktails for us.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have dined at Raymonds every year sin ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have dined at Raymonds every year since the restaurant opened to celebrate our anniversary, and we still find the experience exhilarating. Yes, it is costlier than other restaurants in St. John's but we think it is worth it. Service has always been impeccable and the tasting menu with wine pairing is what we order most times. I guess we enjoy not knowing what will be served for each course. Creative combinations of food and over the top flavours. I've seen some reviews that state the serving sizes at Raymonds is small. However, I find that the food is so flavorful that there is no sense of leaving the restaurant feeling underfed. The brain obviously interprets 'big flavour' as a means of controlling appetite. In short, we were delighted to dine at Raymonds this past weekend, and we'll be back next year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new sommelier. The bartender Rya ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great new sommelier. The bartender Ryan is beyond amazing and attentive to everything from drinks to music to lighting.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Exceptional as always.

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Exceptional as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here for my husband and I. Ha ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First time here for my husband and I. Had a fantastic evening. Good was incredible and impeccable. Dining at its finest! We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic evening! The food was delici ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 26, 2016

A fantastic evening! The food was delicious, the service was impeccable the overall experience very satisfying. Will recommend and be back on another special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal at Raymond's. We ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Raymond's. We visit every time we are in St. John's.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic experience dinner was! ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 25, 2016

What a fantastic experience dinner was! All-around excellence!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, as always. I've dined in some ...

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Amazing, as always. I've dined in some of the greatest restaurants in the world. I count Raymonds among them!!! So fortunate to live so close!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5 part tasting menu with wine pairing wa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 21, 2016

5 part tasting menu with wine pairing was definitely a good choice.Everything served was exceptional, and the wine was perfect with each dish. Service was spot on, with staff being friendly, but not overly so.They were present and attentive,and the pace of the meal was just right. Our server Andrew gets A+ :)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Probably our first night out alone after ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Probably our first night out alone after #2 was born. It was just perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our daughter's gradu ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were celebrating our daughter's graduation. This was the perfect place for such a special occasion.

Our waiter, Martin made us feel at home from the moment we sat down. He was very knowledgeable about all the questions we had read the menu.

Great evening, warm and wonderful ambiance. Can't wait for the next excuse to return.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our was delicious and service impeccable ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Our was delicious and service impeccable. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I am allergic to fish so my options were somewhat limited but I did enjoy the steak.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A truly great experience, we thoroughly ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A truly great experience, we thoroughly enjoyed the food and ambiance. Our service was excellent, we will go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service the entire experience from t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The service the entire experience from the time you walk in the door is very professional . It is a true dining experience . We love to come for special occasions and have always had a fabulous time .

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly the experience was every bit as ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Honestly the experience was every bit as wonderful as the food...servers were 100% and the sommelier was fabulous!! It isn't a place that you would pop out for a bite, but certainly an occasion place.

Will definitely be back..

Kudos to all!!

Cheers,

Rick and Kathleen

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While it was a little pricey, it was def ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 7, 2016

While it was a little pricey, it was definitely worth it. The food was great and so was the service. We've been to Raymond's before and we'll go back again for sure!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants I've eaten a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 5, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've eaten at. I travel all over North America and Europe and Raymond's was by far the best. I shall be dining there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 30th Wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We celebrated our 30th Wedding anniversary @ Raymonds, we decided on the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing and it was superb. Staff was attentive but not over bearing. A fantastic evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High end dining experience! Incredible f ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 4, 2016

High end dining experience! Incredible food! Best waiter ever!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

extremely over priced for portion sizes, ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 1, 2016

extremely over priced for portion sizes, I know fine dining is presentation and portions

I usually order an apetizer and main course (never disappointed yet) decided to try the taste menu, big disappointent

we asked prior too if there was moose on the tasteing menu, we know its suppose to be some what of a surprise, we were told no moose, great first thing out was smoked moose heart ( other items) as an appetizer so we didnt eat it

the remainder was very small portions of pasta dish and a cube of pork, when the desert came it was a bowl of blue berries with a tea spoon of some sort of ice cream sitting on a loonie size (just as thin) piece of cake

135 per person is quite a tad over priced we stopped and picked up take out on the way home no joke with drinks was a 400 dollar night and gratuity

wont be back will stick with fifth ticket or fish exchange

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Everything was great, particularly the s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything was great, particularly the service was spectacular. The appetizers were also yummy. I found my main course to be way too salty (pulled moose pasta) and the dessert to be underwhelming.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was exceptional. Every course was beautifully presented. It was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining was an absolute wonderful experie ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Dining was an absolute wonderful experience, a definite gastronomical work of art on all dishes. Flavours were outstanding

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Attentive staff. Knowledgeab ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. Attentive staff. Knowledgeable sommelier. Lovely ambiance. Easily able to have private conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and unbelievable service. T ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing food and unbelievable service. Thought and effort went into everything served up. The presentation was beautiful and only bested by the taste. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food and overall was amazing, only c ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 16, 2016

the food and overall was amazing, only complaint is with the service from the bar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The best part of our evening was that th ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The best part of our evening was that the wait staff were professional , courteous and knowledgable. Our order was a little wrong as our oysters had been forgotten between our app and main course. But the waiter recognized the mistake and was quick to apologize and more importantly fix the error right away without question. Our wine pairing person knew her wine and was willing to discuss such. The food was good , but our main was not up to par for the price. Our bill came to 350$ with tip. The over all experience was good , wait staff, service the little Happy Anniversay written in chocolate on our plates was enough for me to pass along a compliment to management ( for Mitchell )as we left. But value for price for the food was a little high 7.5/10

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The tasting menu with wine pairing was o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The tasting menu with wine pairing was outstanding. The service was very professional and attentive with a friendly touch. The atmosphere is elegant but not at all stuffy. Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing experience as always. Truly c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 14, 2016

An amazing experience as always. Truly creative food and outstanding wine selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, perfect wine pairings, set ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Amazing food, perfect wine pairings, set in the most beautiful atmosphere. Cannot imagine a better place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food are outstanding. I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The service and food are outstanding. I have not been to a better restaurant before Raymonds.

The staff is attentive without hovering.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful anniversary experience ,Serv ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A wonderful anniversary experience ,Service was exceptional, the 5 course menu was a delicious selection, even the cods tongue was better than I anticipated . The wine pairing was very suitable to each selection that was prepared. our request for special consideration re food intolerances was handled exceptionally well. We will return and bring friends. There is good reasons for your top 10 rating .Thank you for making our day very special .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous, the service is ex ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was fabulous, the service is exceptional. We really enjoy our dining experience every time we go there

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing evening! Food was incredible and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing evening! Food was incredible and the wine pairing was superb. We chose to eat in the bar over the dining room, because we prefer the bar atmosphere, and the bar staff were incredible.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.