About Raymonds

95 Water Street
St. John's, NF A1C1A5
View Larger Map

Living in Newfoundland and Labrador, we’re blessed in having access to some of the best seafood, meat, and produce in the world. Having such a bountiful larder right on our doorsteps means we’re able to adopt a truly sustainable approach to fine dining – sourcing locally-grown ingredients and getting to know independent purveyors. We've made every effort to make dining at Raymonds a unique and rare treat. Visit us at 95 Water Street in the heart of downtown St. John’s. Our dinner menu, prepared by head chef Jeremy Charles, is inspired by rustic Atlantic Canadian cuisine. It features authentic dishes that take advantage of Newfoundland and Labrador’s rich variety of seafood, wild game, berries and vegetables, while also exploring innovative, 'haute cuisine' ingredient combinations and finishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm -9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(709) 579-5800

Website:
http://www.raymondsrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Moose Cavatelli
Head Cheese With Asparagus
Hamburger with French Fries
Pork Tenderloin On Spaetzle
Oysters
Cod And Cassoulet
Beet Salad
Tuna Nicoise
Trout On Gnocci with Shrimp and A Sweet Corn Ravioli
Salmon And Gnocchi
Arctic Char
Creme Brulee
Gnocchi

Raymonds Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
7 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Newfoundland and Labrador
Best Restaurants in St. John's ›

special occasion (80)
fit for foodies (63)
romantic (59)
See All
notable wine list (53)
scenic view (35)
hot spot (16)
good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (11)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The oysters were exquisite !!!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

The oysters were exquisite !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Raymond's caters to pretentious people w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined 4 days ago

Raymond's caters to pretentious people who don't understand what good food is. It is way over-priced and the quality of the product, as well as its preparation leave something to be desired. Much of the food needs to be deconstructed and the dishes are over complicated and small portion sizes. If you're looking for excellent food with a much better atmosphere, go to Mallard's Cottage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Overall a great experience. Food was fre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Overall a great experience. Food was fresh and tasty. Service was superb. Definitely at the top of the price scale for the value. Not a kid friendly environment (we didn't see or have any)

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was just phenomenal and the sta ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was just phenomenal and the staff made our dinner very special. Our experience was truly fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went based on Raymond's reputation as ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went based on Raymond's reputation as one of the best in Canada. Because of our great expectations, we were a bit disappointed with the experience. The food was good (not extraordinary by any means) and the service was mixed (the sommelier - not the one mentioned on the web site - was particularly inept and kept banging the bottle against the glasses when pouring). Overall a good time, but not a great value when thinking of the 300$+ addition for two.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

exceeded expectations. will definintely ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

exceeded expectations. will definintely refer to friends

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an outstanding experience. Amaz ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was an outstanding experience. Amazing service, great presentation and wonderful tastes made this a great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I could live in Newfoundland again an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

If I could live in Newfoundland again and had the budget for it, I'd eat here every week. The food is inspired. It was probably the best meal of my life. The service was outstanding from when I booked the reservation until dessert. Heavenly!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raymond's was so good - we went two nigh ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Raymond's was so good - we went two nights in a row!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ravioli and the lobster were delicio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The ravioli and the lobster were delicious! The Pinot noir recommended by the sommelier lived up to her recommendation. And Andrew gave us excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as usual. Five course tastin ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding as usual. Five course tasting menu was creative and surprising. They never cease to amaze with flavour combinations. Their use of local ingredients will delight even the most demanding foodie. It is a highlight of every trip to St. John's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent evening. The food is really g ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent evening. The food is really great and our server Kristin Washington fabulous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a treat to dine at Raymonds! We lov ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

What a treat to dine at Raymonds! We loved the five-course tasting menu. Such delicate food, and such a range of tastes and textures. The sense of Newfoundland produce comes through loud and clear. We particularly loved the raw scallop dish which tasted of the bracing Atlantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was extremely well done. The se ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was extremely well done. The service was very weak. The front of the house is just poorly organized. Given the price point, excellence in all domains should be the expectation. Thus, I can't recommend Raymond's sadly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Beautiful location, in a historic landma ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beautiful location, in a historic landmark. Wonderful Newfoundland specialties prepared creatively.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good tasting menus but took 4 hours ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Very good tasting menus but took 4 hours to complete dinner of 7 courses. That is too long too wait between courses

Expensive for the number of courses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Raymond's was recommended to us by frien ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Raymond's was recommended to us by friends as a must go spot. It's been one of the highlights of our vacation here in St-John's. One of the best restaurants in Canada.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a gem of a restaurant. Loved our me ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

What a gem of a restaurant. Loved our meal so much and had a wonderful server who just made the entire experience a 10 out of 10. Some of the best food we have had in this amazing country.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service to match! ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding food and service to match!

Everyone in our group was impressed and satisfied with the items that they ordered .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Going to Raymonds was one of the best dining experiences I have ever taken part in.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Pricey menu too limited

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The decor and setting is beautiful and very formal. The restaurant commands a premium price but unfortunately the menu is not customer friendly. There are only fixed price menu options (3, 5 or 7 courses) - the 3 course offers customer choice selections but the 5 and 7 course meals are blind. We opted for the lesser priced (but still rich) and visible 3 course menu. The 3 main course options were not special and seemed extreme for such limited choices - pork, duck or cod ??? I was disappointed that I could not find a conventional and special meal choice - especially for such a premium price and high expectation build-up. I regret going there and would definitely recommend that anyone considering dining at Raymonds confirm the menu in advance.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We chose the tasting menu because the di ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We chose the tasting menu because the dinner menu seemed limited and missing the Newfoundland-sourced items I had been expecting. A good decision as every course was an adventure in ingredients, preparation, and creativity. The food server was knowledgeable and interesting; the wine server was full of personality, information, and great matches. The extra gifts from the kitchen took the experience over the top. I had been looking forward to this evening for months and it more than lived up. Many thanks for kicking off a terrific two weeks in your beautiful province.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing overall experience! Truly lived up to and surpassed our already high expectations. Our waiter was super kind and generous with his explanations.

Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining room and seasonal ingredients

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Hard to beat a place like this when in St. John's, Newfoundland. Being honest, however, I am typically not a fan of white table cloth restaurants and prefer a more relaxed environment. Mainly, because often the price goes up to pay for the decor. And that's what happened here. The food was fresh and delicious, well prepared, but overpriced for what it was. The drinks list was great, but was a bit standard. I started with a fresh aglionetti, well made, but doused in standard sauce and covered in so much parmesan I could barely find the dish. The valpolicella win paring was on point. For the main dish, the cod was perfectly done and the accompanying fiddleheads ans mussles were perfect. A well-made fish dish, but not as mind blowing as the price has made me anticipate. I ended with a rhubard deconstructed pie which was fantastic, probably my favorite part of the meal (which is unusual for me to prefer the desert) and the Anchor Coffee at the end was fantastic as well. In the end, Raymond's is well worth the visit if you want to have a special evening overlooking the Harbour with some very delicious locally sourced plates. I would simply note that it is not the foodie hotspot I thought it would be, especially for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This restaurant would be wonderful anywhere in the world. A gorgeous room, impeccable service, deep wine list and good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dinner Ever

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We selected the 5 course and 7 course tasting menu with wine pairing.

Our server Adam was very attentive yet unobtrusive. The Sommelier was spot-on and wonderful as well. The ambiance was perfect - elegant yet relaxed. The chef was absolulely amazing - it truly was the best dinner we have ever had, and we enjoyed every minute of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real gem in Newfoundland

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

There have been a lot of fabulous reviews of Raymonds. I was very happy to see that it lived up to the hype. We dined at Raymonds twice during a week in St John's. The first was the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairings. it was excellent. So good that we went back with friends and ate a la carte.

A beautiful room. A deep, and interesting wine list. Mostly local ingredients, well prepared with impeccable service.

Raymonds is not just a great Newfoundland restaurant. It would be a gem anywhere in the world

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Excellent place for a date night. Food and wine were both delicious. However, the sommelier could have spent more time on the wine explanations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

There were 4 of us and we decided to do the 7 course meal and 2 of us did the wine tasting with it . The food amazing ! And the dishes which it was served on we're beautiful. The wine pairing was awesome! All was incredible. But you can just go and have dinner without all those courses so don't let that scare you. Definitely going again when in St. John's again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing Experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Had the 7 course option with wine pairing. Fantastic all around experience and service! Very expensive but understandable given the level of service, preparation and creativity that went into the final product. A true culinary experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. My server was amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great experience. My server was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb, as expected.

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was attentive, not rushed, friendly, and professional

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food: Hit & Miss. Certain items were ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food: Hit & Miss. Certain items were outstanding, while others almost tasteless. We felt that they were often trying to overcomplicate things unnecessarily.

Service: Old school fine dining. Things went perfectly and the server was lovely, but we felt like we were in 1985 at a food lecture. Some must appreciate this approach, but it created an arrogance that wasn't supported by the creativity, consistency, and quality of food that is required if one is going to preach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The evening started off with a few misst ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The evening started off with a few missteps in the service. We were greeted immediately and water was poured and then we waited and waited for our server to take our wine order. After a delay, we were told that they were out of our wine choice, but the sommelier would suggest a comparable wine. More waiting and waiting.... Eventually we received our choice, and it was very good.

The orders were taken, and more waiting.... It seemed that there was plenty of wait staff, but we definitely felt ignored. We received our appetizer- my husband had pasta with morels- delicious. I had one lonely scallop on a shell. Delicious but a small portion for the price I thought. Half way through, the waiter came by with a plate of three scallops, admitting that the had brought me the wrong starter (I think it was part of a tasting menu which we had not ordered.)

After that, things got back on track, and the brilliant food soon made us forget about the sloppy service. The halibut was the best fish I have ever had and was cooked perfectly. Delicious food, but the service needs some tweaking.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service, beautiful interior. We fe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great service, beautiful interior. We felt special with out having to dress up in a suit and tie. Dinner was fantastic. I had the 7 course tasters menus and my wife had the 5 course with the wine. Great presentation for each plate and the wine selected for each serving was perfect. Finished off the night with Spanish Coffee and a shot of Patron.

Hope to be back

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Local Fare

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Not really much to say here except the food is absolutely to die for. Jeremy Charles uses local and foraged ingredients to make familiar sounding treats into fine dining. The braised rabbit pasta, and blueberry oat desert are prime examples of this. It is an expensive place, but not so much so that you should avoid it. You can easily spend just as much or close to at a lesser chain place if you are having wine and cocktails, but the experience and food is so much better. Great for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

As usual Raymonds was superb from beginning to end. We had a table with a fantastic view of the Narrows. We started with the Charcuterie which has many interesting meats, it was great for two and was an interesting exploration of tastes and textures. The main course fish was very enjoyable and the portion size was generous but not too big. We had desert which was ideally just something sweet at the end of the meal. The tables are widely spaced and so you can talk without being overheard.

Look forward to the next visit. Highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Attention to detail on the part of all t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Attention to detail on the part of all the servers but especially our sommelier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Steak and service were excellent. Start ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Steak and service were excellent. Starter salad was very poor - three strands of lettuce, a sliver of raddish, 3 tiny beets and a lump of dressing. Very very underwhelming for $18!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

So impressed with our vegan tasting menus!

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We were amazed that the chef offered to make vegan tasting menus. The food was phenomenal, and our dining experience was fantastic. Our server was lovely - so attentive and friendly. We had a wonderful evening and would absolutely recommend Raymonds to both local and visiting friends. A truly delectable meal in a modern and warm atmosphere. 10/10!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.