About Raymonds

95 Water Street
St. John's, NF A1C1A5
View Larger Map

Living in Newfoundland and Labrador, we’re blessed in having access to some of the best seafood, meat, and produce in the world. Having such a bountiful larder right on our doorsteps means we’re able to adopt a truly sustainable approach to fine dining – sourcing locally-grown ingredients and getting to know independent purveyors. We've made every effort to make dining at Raymonds a unique and rare treat. Visit us at 95 Water Street in the heart of downtown St. John’s. Our dinner menu, prepared by head chef Jeremy Charles, is inspired by rustic Atlantic Canadian cuisine. It features authentic dishes that take advantage of Newfoundland and Labrador’s rich variety of seafood, wild game, berries and vegetables, while also exploring innovative, 'haute cuisine' ingredient combinations and finishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm -9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(709) 579-5800

Website:
http://www.raymondsrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Moose Cavatelli
Head Cheese With Asparagus
Oysters
Pork Tenderloin On Spaetzle
Trout On Gnocci with Shrimp and A Sweet Corn Ravioli
Tuna Nicoise
Cod And Cassoulet
Salmon And Gnocchi
Beet Salad
Gnocchi
Arctic Char
Creme Brulee

Raymonds Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
7 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Newfoundland and Labrador
Best Restaurants in St. John's ›

Special Occasion (109)
Fit for Foodies (89)
Romantic (81)
See All
Notable Wine List (72)
Scenic View (39)
Hot Spot (26)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Great service. Staff was att ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Great service. Staff was attentive but allowed us our space to enjoy our dinner uninterrupted. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best meal I've had in years and I am foo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best meal I've had in years and I am foodie who eats all over the world. Great wine pairings and knowledgable sommelier.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raymonds is a fantastic restaurant! The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Raymonds is a fantastic restaurant! The food is creative and beautifully plated, as well as being delicious! The staff is attentive, informative, makes you feel special, but is not overbearing or "hovering". The wine pairings are perfect with each dish! It is a big, airy room that is well light, and you never feel crowded. It is expensive, but it is so worth it! Save up, wait for a special occasion, and have a wonderful meal and time at Raymonds!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful and only surpa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was wonderful and only surpassed by the incredible work of their chef. The tasting menu was inspired and everything on it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent - thank you Kim an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was excellent - thank you Kim and Steve, your attention made the experience a memory

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food at Raymond's did not disappoint ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food at Raymond's did not disappoint. We started with the oysters and they were fantastic. I ordered the cod, with hesitation, because I cook it a lot at home. However, the presentation and the flavors that decorated the plate were simply divine. My husband ordered the steak and had the same experience. The desserts were creative and just the right portion size. I wasn't overly impressed with the cocktail I ordered, but a good wine selection is available. The overall ambiance is a little pretentious. We went for our anniversary and intend to go back again next year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have eaten all over the world and Ray ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have eaten all over the world and Raymond's is our favourite restaurant anywhere. We always go for our anniversary and we always have the taster's menu. It never disappoints. I have no idea how Jeremy continues to get better year after year. And the service is absolutely superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely experience at Raymonds where th ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A lovely experience at Raymonds where they never seem to disappoint. The service really makes the occasion and I especially appreciate the great chats over wine with the sommelier that are an important part of the wine pairings (highly recommended). As always, the food is original, delicious and so well prepared your focus is on the overall experience. Already looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our meal was delicious and the staff was ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our meal was delicious and the staff was excellent. I had the handmade pasta for appetizer, Duck as main and chocolate cake dessert. My husband had the scallops crudo, fish as main and chocolate cake for dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three, wife, me, son for dinner. Had th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Three, wife, me, son for dinner. Had the 5 course tasting menu with the wine pairings. Food superb and interesting. Best single oyster I've ever had. Got talked into the wine pairing rather than two bottles I had identified (about the same total price). Wine pairing meh. We would have enjoyed the two bottles I had picked more. Service very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my son's to dinner for an experienc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Took my son's to dinner for an experience of a lifetime and they were totally inspired by every bite of the 7 course tasting menu. It wouldn't be complete without the wine pairing so you gotta splurge on it to get the full dining experience. By far the best fine dining Canada has to offer and well worth the extra effort to get over to Newfoundland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff were very friendly and knowled ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The staff were very friendly and knowledgable. The staff were attentive to every need and made my dinner a really memorable occasion. The food was quite good though I found the beef tenderloin disappointing. When I advised the staff of this they removed the cost from my bill, without me asking. The rest of the meal, seafood and cheese tray were excellent. I elected to have "wine pairing" with my meal and the experience was fantastic. I would advise anyone who goes to Raymonds to agree to this feature. It is well worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the 7 course tasting menu. Took ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We did the 7 course tasting menu. Took about three hours, but you don't feel the time passing. Instead of doing the full wine pairing, they paired 4 half glasses over the night, which was a lovely variety of wines I wouldn't normally try.

The seven courses were a lovely tour of Newfoundland and the season. Oyster/capelin/cucumber/tuna to start, then a tomato salad, then a beautiful scallop, then cod three ways, then mouse bolognese, then steak, berries for dessert. The food was delightful and beautifully presented. The service is attentive yet friendly (this is newfoundland). The table next two us had vegetarian/shellfish concerns, and the kitchen easily accommodated them.

The room has a lovely few of the harbour, with an understated elegance. The tables are close enough to talk to your neighbours (if you feel so inclined) but not to fully overhear conversations.

If we lived in St John's this would be my default special occasion. It is expensive, but totally worth it for the food and experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in the world. From the f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

One of the best in the world. From the first to last bite. Service like an orchestra. Sommelier incredible. Pairings perfect in every way. Best meal of my life.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the seven course tasting menu paired ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had the seven course tasting menu paired with wines. They even customized a tasting menu for our 11 yr old daughter including some fancy "cocktails". Food was exceptional - from the "snacking" first course, an incredible tomato salad (don't know how you get tomatos like this in Newfoundland in August!) to cod cooked three ways (the tongues were superb). The staff was very attentive and friendly. The restaurant was packed (we had an early reservation but they didn't rush us). Great selection of wines, a number of which I didn't know but all of which complemented the dinner exceptionally. One of the better meals I have had in a while. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raymonds provides top-notch food and ser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Raymonds provides top-notch food and service. Well timed meticulous service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not much else can be said about Raymonds ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Not much else can be said about Raymonds that hasn't been already. You get what you pay for. Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kristen our wait person was amazing. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Kristen our wait person was amazing. The charcuterie was excellent and I really enjoyed my halibut.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only problem I had with this was tab ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The only problem I had with this was tables to close together. We were on the opposite side of te windows in what felt like row tables. Maybe some background music eould take away noise level too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Wonderfully prepared meals using fresh s ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderfully prepared meals using fresh seasonal produce and seafood, with a lovely new twist on old Newfoundland favourits.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food outstanding friendly ser ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food outstanding friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a group of 10. The food and servi ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a group of 10. The food and service was great. Some of us had cod. It was very good but maybe have slightly bigger portions. The beef portions were quite big in comparison. Overall a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raymonds is one of the finest establishm ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Raymonds is one of the finest establishments in Canada. Each year we visit it and have never been disappointed. Both owners are delightful and care about their patrons.

From the moment you enter the restaurant, you are warmly greeted by their friendly staff. This warm greeting is carried through until you leave the restaurant. The servers are well trained and well versed with the menu.

The ambiance is very regal with wonderful paintings of Ron Bolt.

We find the dishes served are beautifully presented which adds to the interesting flavours. It is quite a treat to see the presentation of each dish. We have never had a bad dinner there and await our visit in 2017.

Congratulations to both Jeromes!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beef tartare was out of this world - ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The beef tartare was out of this world - the stone presentations were a nice nod to the local landscape! A lovely restaurant with knowledgeable friendly (not stuffy) staff. Relaxed casual atmosphere. We were on vacation from Ontario and lucked out and got a reservation on a Thursday three weeks in advance. Didn't disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Raymonds is nothing short of culinary ma ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Raymonds is nothing short of culinary mastery. I cannot say enough about the outstanding quality of the food, wine, and service. If you are in the St. John's area and are looking for a fine dining experience, Raymonds is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience corresponded to the reput ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our experience corresponded to the reputation of Raymonds: excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting St. John's and had hear ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were visiting St. John's and had heard great things about Raymond's. The ambiance was amazing. The service was impeccable. We had the seven course tasting menu with wine pairing. Where most of the dishes were amazing, a few fell short and could only be described as bland. I really enjoyed that they were celebrating Canadian food and wine during our visit. The price was high, but overall the experience was worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my sixth visit to Raymond's. We ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This was my sixth visit to Raymond's. We were a party of seven last night and I was anticipating the meal, service and ambiance. We were seated immediately and brought cocktail and wine menus, but somehow the waiter (S) seemed to forget about us. When he returned he proceeded to get into the menu additions but forgot to take our drink orders. We sorted through this and finally ordered from their excellent cocktail menu. Still, the waiter remained aloof and seemed disengaged; perhaps he was having a bad night, but we were left shaking our heads and we felt uncomfortable. In fairness, this improved somewhat as the night went on but the excitement and enjoyment had already been dulled. The male wait staff wore blue shirts and in a couple of cases, well worn, wrinkled yellow ties, a far cry from the professional service we enjoyed in our previous visits to the restaurant, when our waiter was courteous and friendly, in crisp whites adding to the special ambiance of the restaurant. Later in the evening several members of our party visited washrooms; there are four washrooms and three of the four were, frankly dirty and had no hand towels. Again, a major departure from the pristine condition of the washrooms in earlier visits. What happened?

The food was very good, especially the pasta appetizer and the scallop appetizer, which were outstanding. For a main course I had the tenderloin. It was prepared as I ordered it and was delicious - not quite as tender as other times I have had the same dish, but very, very good. Some members of our party had the pork, which was excellent and the cod (skin on) - again very well prepared. The food at Raymond's is unique in that Chef Jeremy takes locally-sourced ingredients and prepares them with imagination and flair. Chef Jeremy came out at the end of the evening and greeted us - a nice touch.

In summary, the food didn't disappoint, but the service and some aspects of the dining experience unfortunately seem to have slipped.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely dinner with family! Traditional N ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Lovely dinner with family! Traditional NL food with a flare of elegance...It was a wonderful meal and a special evening

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The creativity of the all the dishes

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The creativity of the all the dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service & food was exceptional. We trie ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service & food was exceptional. We tried the 7 course tasting menu but passed on the paired wines. We stuck with a single wine for the meal which was also excellent.

Loved the atmosphere - elegant but completely unpretentious. I understand how this place is one of the best in Canada! I'd be back if I'm ever in St. John's again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful 7-course tasting dinn ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had a wonderful 7-course tasting dinner. It was graciously served, creatively composed & presented and so tasty! We loved that they considered our own unique preferences in the preparation as well! Raymond's is an absolute must when you travel to St John's. We both felt it was a superb meal experience! Bravo Raymond's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood appetizer and cod main slightly ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Seafood appetizer and cod main slightly over done. Menu I was emailed earlier that day was not the same as the one at the restaurant. The emailed menu had more choices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing dining experience. We did the fi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Amazing dining experience. We did the five course blind tasting and it was definitely worth it. Must go if you're in St. John's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

So proud to have such a fine restaurant ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

So proud to have such a fine restaurant in our city. Thank you, Raymonds for making our engagement special and enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is fabulous here. Portion size ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food is fabulous here. Portion size is good. Service is very efficient but friendly. Sommelier is very knowledgable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went as a treat wth my wife, one of the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Went as a treat wth my wife, one of the best meals we've ever had, food was incredible! The staff were amazing explaining the dishes and making suggestions for drinks as well. What an incredible experience!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was great and the food ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The tasting menu was great and the food was great, but the portion size for at least one serving (i.e., the main) needed to be larger. I know it may defeat the purpose of 'tasting' but people would like to leave filling full after spending nearly $1000.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

We live in PEI and were visiting St John ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We live in PEI and were visiting St John's for a friends wedding. We decided to celebrate our 20 year anniversary with a special dinner and it was amazing. We look forward to returning one day soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did the 7 course tasting menu with win ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I did the 7 course tasting menu with wine pairing. The food was orgasmic and the wine was delicious. Perfection at its best. Excellent service and atmosphere. I would highly recommend it. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.