Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Raymonds

Living in Newfoundland and Labrador, we’re blessed in having access to some of the best seafood, meat, and produce in the world. Having such a bountiful larder right on our doorsteps means we’re able to adopt a truly sustainable approach to fine dining – sourcing locally-grown ingredients and getting to know independent purveyors. We've made every effort to make dining at Raymonds a unique and rare treat. Visit us at 95 Water Street in the heart of downtown St. John’s. Our dinner menu, prepared by head chef Jeremy Charles, is inspired by rustic Atlantic Canadian cuisine. It features authentic dishes that take advantage of Newfoundland and Labrador’s rich variety of seafood, wild game, berries and vegetables, while also exploring innovative, 'haute cuisine' ingredient combinations and finishes.

95 Water Street
St. John's, NF A1C1A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm -9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(709) 579-5800

Website:
http://www.raymondsrestaurant.com/

Raymonds Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Romantic (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Waterfront (15)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Organic (4)
Historic (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1028 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

When a restaurant has such rave reviews you just know it will be consistently great. We were thrilled with our experience as well as the food. Their reputation is well deserved. The service was perfect as were our meal choices. Gluten free was no problem and quietly addressed which was an added touch.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Raymond's, St. John's during our June travel event. The reservation was well planned by staff, confirming the event in advance, as well as allergy concerns and the evening was well handled.
We shared the 5-Course tasting event c/ wine paring, as we always do for specials. All dishes were well prepared, nicely presented and delivered with informative description by our server. We found most dishes to be excellent. (One scallop starter (ceviche/daikon ?) the only dissapontment.) All, mostly seafood dishes which we had hopefully expected, were exemplary of fine maritime dining, and most memorable of our event.
The selected wine parings were excellent in choice, uniquely delectable, and presented with great descriptions by our Sommelier. Only the timing of wine delivery and food service seeme out of syn. While the wine service was always appropirate in timing after finishing a course, it seemed the kitchen delivery was just a little late. Wine was consumed/spoiled for sharing before delivery of the appropriate course.
Not so much of a criticism, but thoughts for consideration.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Dinner at Raymond's was simply amazing. Outstanding in all aspects. Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Everything was just perfect. The food was around the best we've ever had and the service was perfect. The wind pairing was ideal. We ate the five course surprise menu and despite having two different menus everything worked extremely well

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I was at Raymonds in March and food choices were limited and the food was only average. I returned the other night the good was fantastic. The service was very rushed. I had to ask the server to slow down the service. It was fine once I addressed the problem, which I should not have to do. Their was no maitre d' present. No one visited my table. I think the service is slipping!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Seven coarse tasting menu truly amazing. It was matched by truly amazing service. Top 3 in my work travels as a place to enjoy food!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 10, 2017

An eclectic experience for the palate. The seven course meal was expensive but the experience was worth every penny. The staff were superb at explaining the food and the wine pairings. Overall, one if the best food experiences we have ever had in 26 years if marriage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Best restaurant in Canada, there I said it. Amazing service and meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It is easy to see why Raymonds is so highly rated as one of the best in the country. All facets of the meal were outstanding. There were no Cal Chards on the by the glass menu so Ryan said no problem and open a bottle of Raymonds (go figure) so she could enjoy some wine with dinner. Then the chef surprised us with a complimentary scallops dish as a teaser before the main course. This place is unforgettable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Exquisite.
In my experience, trust the Chef and order the tasting menu. They know what is fresh, local and what their kitchen can prepare well.
We selected Raymond's because we want to experience (and encourage) Canadian cuisine.
We waffled on whether to add the matched wines (which is often too much wine for us) and Natalie suggested we could have the "half wine" times two. Since I had a clear view of other diners, I could see that while we had an average sized glass with each course , probably 4 to 6 oz poured, others had glasses with a larger bowl, which was filled with at least 8 oz. with each serving per course.
The Sommelier was warmly enthusiastic about the selections and knowledgeable about their origin. I regret I didn't get her name. Most wines offered were from Canadian vintners.
We enjoyed a wonderful evening, we were not rushed or annoyed with over-solicitous service. We felt well taken care of and welcomed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Good restaurant we took special menu 5 dishes a bit expensive for what you get

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I was planning to visit New Foundland with a friend. Since i watch very often Food Network (Top Chef) I decided to reserve from Montréal. We were very satisfied with the food ( texture, taste, presentation, the used of food from producers of the region, which for me, is very important). We appreciated very much our dinner. Most important is the service that was remarquable. You have very dedicated employees: this is an important part of a meal experience. From the "somelière" ( I really loved her) and the service from a young girl from Shawinigan, everything was perfect. Thank you

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Amazing service. They made our special event even better than we could have hoped for.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Food was perfection. Staff was friendly but not intrusive. We have visited many times when we come to Newfoundland to visit family. Raymond's is consistently an excellent overall experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Organic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We've dined in NYC, Paris, London and all over India and the Far East. Raymond's is world class. Server "Leah" was a spunky, fun delightful soul; who's conversation we thoroughly enjoyed. BIG thanks to all.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellant restaurant. The food is exceptional all the time, we go there quite often & would highly reccomend it. The staff are so friendly & courteous all the time, they go the extra mile ! Our table is always available to us & the wine chilled the way we like it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We were at Raymond's to celebrate our daughters high school graduation. Staff went out of their way with little extras to make this day more special. Excellent food great service. We will be back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had a great evening at Raymond's. The food was amazing and the service was spectacular. Its a great place to celebrate a birthday!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Absolutely fantastic, it is truly an experience that is beyond great

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We did the 7 course tasting menu with the wine pairing and the whole experience was fantastic! Definitely not something you would do often, but was a great treat to celebrate a special achievement!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding dinner with 6 star service! We had the beef tartare to start - fabulous!
We both had their special - a lobster dinner that was served with a lobster bisque & fingerling potatoes = AMAZING! I have been dreaming of the lobster bisque ever since. The house made whipped butter served with house made bread was fantastic as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Amazing evening at Raymond's - everything was completely top notch! Locally sourced food including game / the tasting menu was superb! We learned a ton about local Canadian and other wines from the sommelier - incredible fine dining experience worth every penny!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The atmosphere is quite romantic, but the food was definitely the star.
Fun, unique, and local food left us wanting more. We can't stop talking about the fresh stuffed pasta.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The tasting menu is a must: it is an adventure in local ingredients, with each course beautifully presented and full of flavour.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I had heard about Raymond's and had always wanted to go there and I must say the meal met and went beyond all my expectations. The service was exceptional. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We shared the Charcuterie plate and cheeses. The waiter explained each offering and the platters had a plentiful assortment for us to share.
We each ordered something different. I wanted beef tenderloin which was served a perfect medium rare and accompanied with a delicious assortment of vegetables. My companions had the duck and halibut which they equally enjoyed. The servings were plentiful and each with it's pairings. Would highly recommend this place.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Raymonds never fails to Wow! The food is the best quality local ingredients, creatively prepared & beautifully presented. Definitely our favourite restaurant in Canada!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I've loved Raymonds in the past. I was disappointed by the service which was not memorable. It seemed we where inconveniencing the wait staff.

The good choices were very limited. Four mains is disappointing.

Is complacency setting in? Feels like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful evening with the family, the food, wine pairings, service, atmosphere is exceptional, an absolute definite to be added to everybody's bucket list to dine here. You guys are amazing and what a great location! :-)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

One of the best fine dining experiences that I've ever had. Bravo!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

2nd time there and the food was amazing !!! Great location , view and service ! I can't find anything to complain about at all. Very accommodating to people with allergies! Love love this place. Portions are not small. Would recommend this restaurant as a must do while in st john's

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing establishment. Great for a small group to sit and enjoy a spectacular meal or celebrate an occasion. From the service to the food it's an overall great experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A unique dining experience with friends . Tasting menu with wine pairings outstanding.
Henry, our server was knowledgeable, professional and friendly. A winning combination.

Our only surprise was when the bill was presented and we noted that coffee was not included. We felt that after our amazing food and wine experience ($250 each plus) that the minimal cost of coffee should have been included.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Not much food for what your paying however, prepared well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Really enjoyable. Fresh food. Attentive service. Lovely historic building. Very good value fine dining. Tasty cocktails.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The overall experience was great and the service was perfect. Chef Charles' execution and creation on seafood was the best I ever had before(Amuse, Scallop, and Cod were so delicious); however, there are few things I would say that can be improved was the main course and dessert. The main course was Duck (Partridge, apple, celery root), Partridge was good, seasoned well nice doneness. But the duck's skin was a bit too chewy to me, not sure if it was because the render of the fat was not enough. The dessert's flavor was good(Brown butter, cultured cream, strawberry), the only thing I would say is that I couldn't feel the Newfoundland-based taste in it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always enjoy Raymond's , the food is second to none & the staff are all very friendly, very knowledgeable& very accommadating

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Décevant pour 300 $, un cuisine décevante entrée et plat principal , dessert très bein, vin commandé un 2013 et on me sert un 2014 sans excuses et sans baisse de prix ! D'autres restaurant sur la place on un bon niveau .

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love the restaurant. Don't know what some of those choices stand for but all is great

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. They do a great job. I especially liked the spin on local food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Of all of the restaurants that I have it in then across the world I would have to say that Raymons ranks as number one or number two. It was simply an extraordinary food and service experience

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.