About Raymonds

95 Water Street
St. John's, NF A1C1A5
View Larger Map

Living in Newfoundland and Labrador, we’re blessed in having access to some of the best seafood, meat, and produce in the world. Having such a bountiful larder right on our doorsteps means we’re able to adopt a truly sustainable approach to fine dining – sourcing locally-grown ingredients and getting to know independent purveyors. We've made every effort to make dining at Raymonds a unique and rare treat. Visit us at 95 Water Street in the heart of downtown St. John’s. Our dinner menu, prepared by head chef Jeremy Charles, is inspired by rustic Atlantic Canadian cuisine. It features authentic dishes that take advantage of Newfoundland and Labrador’s rich variety of seafood, wild game, berries and vegetables, while also exploring innovative, 'haute cuisine' ingredient combinations and finishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm -9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(709) 579-5800

Website:
http://www.raymondsrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Moose Cavatelli
Head Cheese With Asparagus
Oysters
Pork Tenderloin On Spaetzle
Trout On Gnocci with Shrimp and A Sweet Corn Ravioli
Tuna Nicoise
Cod And Cassoulet
Salmon And Gnocchi
Beet Salad
Gnocchi
Arctic Char
Creme Brulee

Raymonds Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic Canada
Best Food
Atlantic Canada
Best Service
Atlantic Canada
7 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic Canada
Best Value
Atlantic Canada
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic Canada
Romantic
Atlantic Canada
Special Occasion
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Atlantic Canada
Most Booked
Newfoundland and Labrador
Best Restaurants in St. John's ›

Special Occasion (121)
Fit for Foodies (98)
Romantic (89)
See All
Notable Wine List (80)
Scenic View (50)
Good for Groups (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Tasting Menu (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Waterfront (7)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Historic (6)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
908 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dining was an absolute wonderful experie ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Dining was an absolute wonderful experience, a definite gastronomical work of art on all dishes. Flavours were outstanding

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Attentive staff. Knowledgeab ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. Attentive staff. Knowledgeable sommelier. Lovely ambiance. Easily able to have private conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and unbelievable service. T ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing food and unbelievable service. Thought and effort went into everything served up. The presentation was beautiful and only bested by the taste. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food and overall was amazing, only c ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

the food and overall was amazing, only complaint is with the service from the bar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The best part of our evening was that th ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The best part of our evening was that the wait staff were professional , courteous and knowledgable. Our order was a little wrong as our oysters had been forgotten between our app and main course. But the waiter recognized the mistake and was quick to apologize and more importantly fix the error right away without question. Our wine pairing person knew her wine and was willing to discuss such. The food was good , but our main was not up to par for the price. Our bill came to 350$ with tip. The over all experience was good , wait staff, service the little Happy Anniversay written in chocolate on our plates was enough for me to pass along a compliment to management ( for Mitchell )as we left. But value for price for the food was a little high 7.5/10

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The tasting menu with wine pairing was o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The tasting menu with wine pairing was outstanding. The service was very professional and attentive with a friendly touch. The atmosphere is elegant but not at all stuffy. Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing experience as always. Truly c ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

An amazing experience as always. Truly creative food and outstanding wine selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, perfect wine pairings, set ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Amazing food, perfect wine pairings, set in the most beautiful atmosphere. Cannot imagine a better place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food are outstanding. I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The service and food are outstanding. I have not been to a better restaurant before Raymonds.

The staff is attentive without hovering.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful anniversary experience ,Serv ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

A wonderful anniversary experience ,Service was exceptional, the 5 course menu was a delicious selection, even the cods tongue was better than I anticipated . The wine pairing was very suitable to each selection that was prepared. our request for special consideration re food intolerances was handled exceptionally well. We will return and bring friends. There is good reasons for your top 10 rating .Thank you for making our day very special .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous, the service is ex ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was fabulous, the service is exceptional. We really enjoy our dining experience every time we go there

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing evening! Food was incredible and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing evening! Food was incredible and the wine pairing was superb. We chose to eat in the bar over the dining room, because we prefer the bar atmosphere, and the bar staff were incredible.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too formal and completely lacking in ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Way too formal and completely lacking in warmth and energy - could not wait to get out.

Clipped wait staff rushing around does not impress - esp when they forget to pour the wine - and pour still water in our sparkling water glasses. The cooking was average - and not worth the cost.

The Merchant Tavern is way superior - in atmosphere/warmth/cooking/service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Last Thursday evening I had the most del ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Last Thursday evening I had the most delicious meal of halibut I have ever had in my life. It was very fresh and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. We were s group of thr ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent dinner. We were s group of three. Almost everything was spot on. The only minor hiccup was the starter braised rabbit tagliatelle (it was not as flavourful as the rest of our dishes). The service was impeccable. Definitely worthy of its reputation. I first met Jeremy at the first chef congress at Eigensinn farm. He's definitely one of the best in the country and a great guy.

Thanks for a memorable meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Historic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything tasted amazing. Food allergie ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything tasted amazing. Food allergies were accommodated very gracefully. It definitely lived up to the hype. The cocktails and wine pairing was amazing as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An amazing dining experience. We had the ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

An amazing dining experience. We had the 5 course tasting menu paired with the wines, the food was superb and the service was excellent. It was not just a meal it was an experience, and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were a party of 8. the food was impec ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

we were a party of 8. the food was impeccable, as was the service. our sommelier needed to be flagged down numerous times to give us even the name and varietal of the wine pairing. she seemed quite distracted. our wine service overall was disappointing in terms of both our need to literally request explanations of what we were served and the ~1oz servings we recieved. at nearly $250 per person (with tip) i would have expected much better.

hats off to the chef though. a delicious meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

What a wonderful experience to eat at Ra ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

What a wonderful experience to eat at Raymonds. The food was not only delicious but so very interesting. We had the 5 course taster menu and the wine pairing. Everything was fabulous and the service was attentive yet subtle. Tom was a wonderful server and he is a great barista!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful building, location, dining roo ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Beautiful building, location, dining room and view, chair seats a bit too soft and made one feel seated too low at table. They did not pull out your chair to seat you nor place your napkin on your lap. We felt a bit rushed. Good service and knowledgeable staff on all levels especially the french sommelier. We had the table d'hote with good choices but not enough seafood on the menu for Nfld surprisingly ( late August 2016). Especially enjoyed the stuffed pasta appetizer and amuse bouche not so much the pureed corn with the beef tenderloin, tasted too much like can creamed corn although it wasnt of course. My husband did not enjoy his dessert choice of Milk (sorbet with crumble).

With that being said we would give Raymonds a 4 1/2 stars overall and definately recommend it to our friends. :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely building and room in a great part ...

 
 (Singapore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lovely building and room in a great part of St. John's. Food was fantastic and wine pairings were spot on. The only thing I would recommend is that the servers describe the meal a little when they bring it to the table. In my experience they tended to just lay it in front of you and walk away. I don't remember every detail from the menu so a little description would have been nice. Also, a little explanation for the wine pairing and why a certain wine was chosen would go a long way. Other than that, it was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food. Great service. Staff was att ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food. Great service. Staff was attentive but allowed us our space to enjoy our dinner uninterrupted. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best meal I've had in years and I am foo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Best meal I've had in years and I am foodie who eats all over the world. Great wine pairings and knowledgable sommelier.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Private Room, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raymonds is a fantastic restaurant! The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Raymonds is a fantastic restaurant! The food is creative and beautifully plated, as well as being delicious! The staff is attentive, informative, makes you feel special, but is not overbearing or "hovering". The wine pairings are perfect with each dish! It is a big, airy room that is well light, and you never feel crowded. It is expensive, but it is so worth it! Save up, wait for a special occasion, and have a wonderful meal and time at Raymonds!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful and only surpa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was wonderful and only surpassed by the incredible work of their chef. The tasting menu was inspired and everything on it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent - thank you Kim an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was excellent - thank you Kim and Steve, your attention made the experience a memory

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food at Raymond's did not disappoint ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food at Raymond's did not disappoint. We started with the oysters and they were fantastic. I ordered the cod, with hesitation, because I cook it a lot at home. However, the presentation and the flavors that decorated the plate were simply divine. My husband ordered the steak and had the same experience. The desserts were creative and just the right portion size. I wasn't overly impressed with the cocktail I ordered, but a good wine selection is available. The overall ambiance is a little pretentious. We went for our anniversary and intend to go back again next year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have eaten all over the world and Ray ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have eaten all over the world and Raymond's is our favourite restaurant anywhere. We always go for our anniversary and we always have the taster's menu. It never disappoints. I have no idea how Jeremy continues to get better year after year. And the service is absolutely superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was on vacation in NL and had two nights ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Was on vacation in NL and had two nights in St. John's so just had to try Raymond's as the reviews had been so good. They did not disappoint. Beautiful dining room, impeccable service and the food was spectacular. Great selection of fresh, local fare. We wanted to have Canadian-only wines and Kim, the sommelier, was only too happy to recommend some delicious ones. She was well-informed and very helpful. We would recommend Raymond's to anyone - the menu is pricey, but I'm giving it 5 stars for value as it was worth every penny.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely experience at Raymonds where th ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A lovely experience at Raymonds where they never seem to disappoint. The service really makes the occasion and I especially appreciate the great chats over wine with the sommelier that are an important part of the wine pairings (highly recommended). As always, the food is original, delicious and so well prepared your focus is on the overall experience. Already looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our meal was delicious and the staff was ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our meal was delicious and the staff was excellent. I had the handmade pasta for appetizer, Duck as main and chocolate cake dessert. My husband had the scallops crudo, fish as main and chocolate cake for dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three, wife, me, son for dinner. Had th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Three, wife, me, son for dinner. Had the 5 course tasting menu with the wine pairings. Food superb and interesting. Best single oyster I've ever had. Got talked into the wine pairing rather than two bottles I had identified (about the same total price). Wine pairing meh. We would have enjoyed the two bottles I had picked more. Service very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my son's to dinner for an experienc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Took my son's to dinner for an experience of a lifetime and they were totally inspired by every bite of the 7 course tasting menu. It wouldn't be complete without the wine pairing so you gotta splurge on it to get the full dining experience. By far the best fine dining Canada has to offer and well worth the extra effort to get over to Newfoundland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff were very friendly and knowled ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The staff were very friendly and knowledgable. The staff were attentive to every need and made my dinner a really memorable occasion. The food was quite good though I found the beef tenderloin disappointing. When I advised the staff of this they removed the cost from my bill, without me asking. The rest of the meal, seafood and cheese tray were excellent. I elected to have "wine pairing" with my meal and the experience was fantastic. I would advise anyone who goes to Raymonds to agree to this feature. It is well worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the 7 course tasting menu. Took ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We did the 7 course tasting menu. Took about three hours, but you don't feel the time passing. Instead of doing the full wine pairing, they paired 4 half glasses over the night, which was a lovely variety of wines I wouldn't normally try.

The seven courses were a lovely tour of Newfoundland and the season. Oyster/capelin/cucumber/tuna to start, then a tomato salad, then a beautiful scallop, then cod three ways, then mouse bolognese, then steak, berries for dessert. The food was delightful and beautifully presented. The service is attentive yet friendly (this is newfoundland). The table next two us had vegetarian/shellfish concerns, and the kitchen easily accommodated them.

The room has a lovely few of the harbour, with an understated elegance. The tables are close enough to talk to your neighbours (if you feel so inclined) but not to fully overhear conversations.

If we lived in St John's this would be my default special occasion. It is expensive, but totally worth it for the food and experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in the world. From the f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

One of the best in the world. From the first to last bite. Service like an orchestra. Sommelier incredible. Pairings perfect in every way. Best meal of my life.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic evening, great food and great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

fantastic evening, great food and great wine. great place to spend our anniversary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the seven course tasting menu paired ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had the seven course tasting menu paired with wines. They even customized a tasting menu for our 11 yr old daughter including some fancy "cocktails". Food was exceptional - from the "snacking" first course, an incredible tomato salad (don't know how you get tomatos like this in Newfoundland in August!) to cod cooked three ways (the tongues were superb). The staff was very attentive and friendly. The restaurant was packed (we had an early reservation but they didn't rush us). Great selection of wines, a number of which I didn't know but all of which complemented the dinner exceptionally. One of the better meals I have had in a while. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Raymond's for a special occasio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We chose Raymond's for a special occasion dinner while in Newfoundland for a wedding--it did not disappoint! Everyone enjoyed the food and atmosphere immensely and had a wonderful time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raymonds provides top-notch food and ser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Raymonds provides top-notch food and service. Well timed meticulous service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.