About Raymonds

95 Water Street
St. John's, NF A1C1A5
View Larger Map

Living in Newfoundland and Labrador, we’re blessed in having access to some of the best seafood, meat, and produce in the world. Having such a bountiful larder right on our doorsteps means we’re able to adopt a truly sustainable approach to fine dining – sourcing locally-grown ingredients and getting to know independent purveyors. We've made every effort to make dining at Raymonds a unique and rare treat. Visit us at 95 Water Street in the heart of downtown St. John’s. Our dinner menu, prepared by head chef Jeremy Charles, is inspired by rustic Atlantic Canadian cuisine. It features authentic dishes that take advantage of Newfoundland and Labrador’s rich variety of seafood, wild game, berries and vegetables, while also exploring innovative, 'haute cuisine' ingredient combinations and finishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm -9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(709) 579-5800

Website:
http://www.raymondsrestaurant.com/

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Moose Cavatelli - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Head Cheese With Asparagus - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Oysters - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Pork Tenderloin On Spaetzle - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Trout On Gnocci with Shrimp and A Sweet Corn Ravioli - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Tuna Nicoise - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Cod And Cassoulet - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Salmon And Gnocchi - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Beet Salad - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Gnocchi - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Arctic Char - Raymonds, St. John's, NF
Creme Brulee - Raymonds, St. John's, NF

Raymonds Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Local Ingredients (38)
See All
Notable Wine List (37)
Tasting Menu (35)
Romantic (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Business Meals (22)
Waterfront (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Scenic View (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Historic (7)
Private Room (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Seasonal (6)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (3)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I didn't think you guys could get any be ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 7 days ago

I didn't think you guys could get any better . But you topped the charts this week .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great evening at Raymond's. Ama ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Another great evening at Raymond's. Amazing food and wine. The service, as always, was first class. They treated our 2 sons (9y and 13y) with great dignity and respect as well. They loved it!

Worth every penny.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go to Raymond's at least 2-3 times a y ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I go to Raymond's at least 2-3 times a year. Each time everything is top quality, predictable. Attention to detail is what makes the big difference. I travel across Canada for business, and I always pick the best restaurant in every city I go to. And Raymond's is by far my favorite place. When I travel to St. John's, before booking my flight and hotel, I make sure I can book a table at Raymond's. This is how good it is!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wife and I have made this our tradit ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The wife and I have made this our tradition to visit Raymond's during the holiday season, we have never been disappointed with the service or food. Everything about Raymond's is amazing. This years visit was a wonderful experience as expected.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt the best meal we've had. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Without a doubt the best meal we've had. Anywhere. There's no point eating at any other restaurant in St. John's after eating here. It's simply excellent, in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short but varied menu with interesting c ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Short but varied menu with interesting choices. Food was fantastic in every detail. Service was impeccable and the wine list was first rate.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and amazing food!

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had, as in the past 6 years, held our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had, as in the past 6 years, held our anniversary dinner at Raymonds. This year the experience was exceptional and worthy of our return again, hopefully before the anniversary date. The food was sublime and the service was impeccable and personal, with personality. Many thanks to the two Jeremy's (and Mr. Charles who drove us there in their new concierge service) for a wonderful evening. Really appreciated the anniversary touch and I wish you the best of success in 2017.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, fantastic service, wonderf ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Amazing food, fantastic service, wonderful time! It has become a Christmas tradition to treat my parents and it never disappoints, it will certainly be on the agenda for years to come.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved my entire experience. Everything ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I loved my entire experience. Everything was perfect !

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, , Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, atmosphere and service was exaepti ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food, atmosphere and service was exaeptional! Highly recommend the experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to dine for any occassio ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent place to dine for any occassion, the service & food is fabulous , always consistant.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Organic, Private Room,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I congratulate you on doing an excellent ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I congratulate you on doing an excellent job at Raymonds & the public will never be disappointed with the food or service.

If I may make one suggestion..... I believe the price of alcoholic beverages are overpriced for the easily obtained/NLC products..... I appreciate that all businesses' need to make a profit, however, I believe the prices should be a little more reasonable for the beer, spirits, & wine.

Thank you for an excellent dining experience & promoting NL.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a wonderful experience. I was o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was a wonderful experience. I was on my own when I had dinner at Raymond's -- a situation that often gives one a deeper insight into a restaurant than normal. The food was wonderfully interesting and good -- the braised rabbit being especially memorable. I was however particularly fascinated to observe the professionalism of the wait staff. It was so impressive to watch the service at a large table where there was a party of fourteen people. As each course was ready, a platoon of seven waiters and waitresses streamed out of the kitchen, moving as a unit, each one carrying two plates of dinner to the table. As a result everyone in that party was served simultaneously: impressive, almost military precision!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very well serviced, excellent knowledge ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very well serviced, excellent knowledge of the wine menu, delicious and special food

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Raymonds experience was simply excep ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our Raymonds experience was simply exceptional. Our server was very well informed and went out of his way to answer questions and provide a quality dining experience. The food is superb. When you order, you have an idea of what's to come and you assume it will be very good. When the plate arrives, the creativity on the plate, the flavor profiles, and the commitment to local ingredients take your eating pleasure to a whole new level. The portion sizes are not excessive which allows you to enjoy several courses, from 3-7, depending on your appetite. In St. John's, it is definitely a dining experience you cannot find elsewhere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience, as usual. Great serv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing experience, as usual. Great service and wine from Andrew and Jeremy. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

This is truly one of the finest restaura ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is truly one of the finest restaurants I have been to in Canada. Everything about it is great!

Would certainly go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten in many high end restaurant ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I have eaten in many high end restaurants throughout North America and Europe. This is if not the best then a tie for it with another in provence France. The service is excellent. The attention to local ingredients is phenomenal. The cost though high is very reasonable for the quality of food and service. This restaurant makes me proud of Newfoundland and what it has to offer on the world stage.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really great experience! The tasting men ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Really great experience! The tasting menu was awesome - such a variety of food! Everything was delicious, our waitress was friendly. Went into the bar for a drink after and the bartender did an awesome job at making different cocktails for us.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have dined at Raymonds every year sin ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have dined at Raymonds every year since the restaurant opened to celebrate our anniversary, and we still find the experience exhilarating. Yes, it is costlier than other restaurants in St. John's but we think it is worth it. Service has always been impeccable and the tasting menu with wine pairing is what we order most times. I guess we enjoy not knowing what will be served for each course. Creative combinations of food and over the top flavours. I've seen some reviews that state the serving sizes at Raymonds is small. However, I find that the food is so flavorful that there is no sense of leaving the restaurant feeling underfed. The brain obviously interprets 'big flavour' as a means of controlling appetite. In short, we were delighted to dine at Raymonds this past weekend, and we'll be back next year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new sommelier. The bartender Rya ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great new sommelier. The bartender Ryan is beyond amazing and attentive to everything from drinks to music to lighting.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Exceptional as always.

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Exceptional as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here for my husband and I. Ha ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First time here for my husband and I. Had a fantastic evening. Good was incredible and impeccable. Dining at its finest! We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic evening! The food was delici ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 26, 2016

A fantastic evening! The food was delicious, the service was impeccable the overall experience very satisfying. Will recommend and be back on another special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal at Raymond's. We ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Raymond's. We visit every time we are in St. John's.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic experience dinner was! ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 25, 2016

What a fantastic experience dinner was! All-around excellence!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, as always. I've dined in some ...

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Amazing, as always. I've dined in some of the greatest restaurants in the world. I count Raymonds among them!!! So fortunate to live so close!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5 part tasting menu with wine pairing wa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 21, 2016

5 part tasting menu with wine pairing was definitely a good choice.Everything served was exceptional, and the wine was perfect with each dish. Service was spot on, with staff being friendly, but not overly so.They were present and attentive,and the pace of the meal was just right. Our server Andrew gets A+ :)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our daughter's gradu ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were celebrating our daughter's graduation. This was the perfect place for such a special occasion.

Our waiter, Martin made us feel at home from the moment we sat down. He was very knowledgeable about all the questions we had read the menu.

Great evening, warm and wonderful ambiance. Can't wait for the next excuse to return.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably our first night out alone after ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Probably our first night out alone after #2 was born. It was just perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our was delicious and service impeccable ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Our was delicious and service impeccable. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I am allergic to fish so my options were somewhat limited but I did enjoy the steak.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A truly great experience, we thoroughly ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A truly great experience, we thoroughly enjoyed the food and ambiance. Our service was excellent, we will go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service the entire experience from t ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The service the entire experience from the time you walk in the door is very professional . It is a true dining experience . We love to come for special occasions and have always had a fabulous time .

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly the experience was every bit as ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Honestly the experience was every bit as wonderful as the food...servers were 100% and the sommelier was fabulous!! It isn't a place that you would pop out for a bite, but certainly an occasion place.

Will definitely be back..

Kudos to all!!

Cheers,

Rick and Kathleen

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While it was a little pricey, it was def ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 7, 2016

While it was a little pricey, it was definitely worth it. The food was great and so was the service. We've been to Raymond's before and we'll go back again for sure!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants I've eaten a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 5, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've eaten at. I travel all over North America and Europe and Raymond's was by far the best. I shall be dining there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 30th Wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We celebrated our 30th Wedding anniversary @ Raymonds, we decided on the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing and it was superb. Staff was attentive but not over bearing. A fantastic evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High end dining experience! Incredible f ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 4, 2016

High end dining experience! Incredible food! Best waiter ever!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

extremely over priced for portion sizes, ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 1, 2016

extremely over priced for portion sizes, I know fine dining is presentation and portions

I usually order an apetizer and main course (never disappointed yet) decided to try the taste menu, big disappointent

we asked prior too if there was moose on the tasteing menu, we know its suppose to be some what of a surprise, we were told no moose, great first thing out was smoked moose heart ( other items) as an appetizer so we didnt eat it

the remainder was very small portions of pasta dish and a cube of pork, when the desert came it was a bowl of blue berries with a tea spoon of some sort of ice cream sitting on a loonie size (just as thin) piece of cake

135 per person is quite a tad over priced we stopped and picked up take out on the way home no joke with drinks was a 400 dollar night and gratuity

wont be back will stick with fifth ticket or fish exchange

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.