Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Raymonds

Living in Newfoundland and Labrador, we’re blessed in having access to some of the best seafood, meat, and produce in the world. Having such a bountiful larder right on our doorsteps means we’re able to adopt a truly sustainable approach to fine dining – sourcing locally-grown ingredients and getting to know independent purveyors. We've made every effort to make dining at Raymonds a unique and rare treat. Visit us at 95 Water Street in the heart of downtown St. John’s. Our dinner menu, prepared by head chef Jeremy Charles, is inspired by rustic Atlantic Canadian cuisine. It features authentic dishes that take advantage of Newfoundland and Labrador’s rich variety of seafood, wild game, berries and vegetables, while also exploring innovative, 'haute cuisine' ingredient combinations and finishes.

95 Water Street
St. John's, NF A1C1A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm -9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(709) 579-5800

Website:
http://www.raymondsrestaurant.com/

Raymonds Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Tasting Menu (33)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Local Ingredients (30)
Romantic (25)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Business Meals (19)
Waterfront (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Authentic (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Scenic View (10)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1076 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 12 hours ago

Complete meal service and each dish was better than the last. Top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Really excellent fine dining experience. Great and patient staff. Excellent food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was outstanding. Dillon was our serve and he was great. Attentive. Food was extremely tasty and touched the senses. An enjoyable 3.5 hours.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was impeccable, the setting was formal yet warm and inviting, and the food outstanding. We particularly liked the emphasis on local ingredients and the wine pairings that were available. It was a lovely place to celebrate a wedding anniversary and the end of a spectacular two week Newfoundland vacation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 9, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had! The complexity of the flavors and the attention to detail are incredible. I love that they forage for herbs that are native to Newfoundland and incorporate them into almost every dish. You can truly feel the chef's passion. My waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable. Overall it was an incredible dining experience and one of the highlights of my trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Amazing meal. We were in St. John's for vacation, but would build a trip around a meal there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent food, plenty of it, and could not ask for better service. A wonderful treat as part of our visit to Newfoundland.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Visited Saint John's to try the restaurant. Food was very strong, some repetition in terms of ingredients but the presentation was compelling and the quality if ingredients was excellent. In terms of michelin stars it is a strong 1 star. The service was good without being incredible, slightly more attentive staff would be my only recommendation. On the whole, worth the trip to the island, I would recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Raymond's almost never disappoints. My wife and I have had our anniversary dinner at Raymond's (and the two Jeremy's predecessor, Atlantica) for more than ten years. The food seems to get better every year which we find quite astonishing, given the very high level at which it started. We have eaten all over the world and Raymond's is, unequivocally, our favourite restaurant anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The food and the wine pairing were amazing. We loved our Raymond's experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

amazing time for all - staff was amazing - highlight of our trip

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 2, 2017

G&T w local maritime gin and "Third Place" tonic - exceptional.
Oysters - excellent! Do try them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Had one of my best friends visiting from the UK. Her and I wanted to have and beautiful meal where we were served, someone else cooked and we were not responsible for the actions of our kids haha. We had an exceptional meal at Raymond's. When we were seated I was placed at a table had I sat in on another occasion, I asked if we could move to a window seat and it was no trouble. About 30 minutes into our meal I noticed we were seated next to Blue Rodeo. That was a pleasant surprise and we did not ask for pictures. The best part of our evening was the service. The food was fantastic as usual but having a great service is what makes the experience exceptional. Thanks again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Service impeccable, présentations soignées, recherche des saveurs et des textures, sommelière passionnée, allergies traitées avec sérieux. Une soirée mémorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The restaurant where meals cost a minimum of $80 per person needs a dress code so guys wearing only t-shirts should not be allowed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We went to Raymond's to celebrate my birthday while traveling from Miami. We had dined at Raymond's a couple years earlier and were blown away by the tasting menu and its homage to Newfoundland. Honestly, this time it was just okay. We did the full tasting menu with wine and each of the presentations were rushed and without much fanfare. Not at all what we expected and a bit disappointing. We had dined a couple nights earlier and Merchant Tavern and thought it was amazing and believed Raymond's would be even better. The food is on par with fine dining but honestly, for what you pay, they need to up their game in the service department.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We enjoyed the food and portion size. Found the wines somewhat questionable. If your doing a Canadian wine pairing or showcasing the regional fair be consistent. Oyster Bay is not Canadian or notable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Everything about the evening was lovely. We did have a wait for our table in the beginning, but we were also late (although we phoned to let them know). My only comment is that the meals could have been slightly bigger. The salad and pasta courses could do with with a couple more pieces, the cod, while small, was a reasonable amount and the duck could have been slightly bigger too. The desert was lovely. Most outstanding was the wine pairing. I was very impressed with the maple whisky and most importantly the lack of a headache the next day. On the whole, it was a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

5 course tasting with wine pairing was perfection. I can't fault it in any way. Delightful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Amazing! Best food and greatest experience!! The chef and staff are beyond compare!! Loved every mouthful; every minute!! Even the drinks were delicious!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful meal, fantastic wine pairing and excellent service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent, as always. Great staff, very accomodating.

Tags: Organic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

The menu was confusing at first. Isabella was very patient and although she was very good at explaining the menu options, unfortunately because we are older we were unable to remember the descriptions for each course. We felt bad we needed to have her repeat so much. However, Isabella was wonderful and although we asked her to repeat many times, she never made us feel like we were a bother. Amazing communication and service skills.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Grossly overpriced for a rather ordinary dining room. The food was OK, but quantities were tiny and the cost was outrageous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our Experience exceeded our expectations. Every aspect of our evening was wonderful. The foods and wines, the service, the room. It could not have been better.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Amazing experience. When We arrived we saw the Menu was manly meat. We wanted to eat seafood so they made some change for us and it was a really great food experience. Thank you to the chef and staff. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Exceptional food per usual.
Unfortunately the kitchen was slow but wait-staff had it covered and the delay helped to aid digestion :)
One atypical note was a special snowflake couple who were incredibly high maintenance and annoyed about the menu prior to eating anything. Excessive pandering to this apparently impossible to please couple including off menu items to satisfy their needs, almost to the exclusion of other customers. My approach would have been to invite them to leave.
Amusing to watch if nothing else.
I will be back whenever in St. John's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a terrific evening at Raymond's! The 7 course tasting menu was the right choice--every course was fresh and delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We celebrated our second wedding anniversary and the end of our 2 week trip to Newfoundland with a dinner at Raymonds. We had a wonderful meal and we loved the three course option. I had the pasta, cod and rhubarb. My husband had the carrot salad, beef tenderloin and chocolate. The pasta and beef tenderloin were amazing. The rhubarb dessert was light and refreshingly tart - exactly what I look for in a dessert. For the experience and quality of food, $85 for three, full-sized courses was great value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Amazing food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Very nice ambiance and excellent service. Worthy of its reputation.

The pasta appetizer was excellent but both main course meals were overcooked and dry. I had the duck and my date, the halibut. The duck came very well done and the halibut was very dry. Both were presented well but in the end, unremarkable.

Very disappointed

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Absolutely delicious ! Dishes were so original and creative. And the waiter was extremely informative, very polite, friendly and added some fun. We are still raving about our experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

On our bucket list of great Canadian restaurants. Our group of 4 all did the 7 course tasting and we were not disappointed. Was one of the highlights of our trip to Newfoundland! Thank you Raymonds!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Another fantastic experience at Raymond's!! The strawberry rhubarb dessert was the best dessert of my life! :D

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food outstanding and well-described by waiter. Sommelier very good. Service excellent and extremely pleasant. Room is very large and quiet. Hope to return to this excellent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I absolutely loved it. The service was perfect, the food was amazing, and the wine was spot on - well paired. I've never been disappointed. Excellent experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Amazing menu especially if you like seafood. The attention from our server, Tracy was excellent . If you go have the 7 course tasting menu. Not inexpensive but worth every penny. You will not be disappointed. Exquisite dining experience

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, People Watching, Romantic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Overrated. Waitress with heavy European accent was hard to understand and always in a rush. First course of raw scallops was excellent. Second course quite disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our first trip to St. John's was highlighted by a splendid meal at Raymond's. We decided to be adventurous and try the five course tasting menu and were assured that it could be customized to our needs (my sister can't have any seafood). My daughter and I delighted in the "regular" courses and my sister was given similar dishes that she enjoyed immensely. My daughter at seventeen was too young for wine so she was treated to virgin cocktails that were as tasty as they were beautiful. The service was friendly and each course was beautifully presented. The wine was served and replenished at exactly the right moments. The entire experience was exceptional and the food was well beyond our expectations. It was a special meal that we will remember forever.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were very impressed with the food and the service. My husband has celiac disease and they were extremely accommodating. Our server had a beautiful little Happy Anniversary dessert plate made for us after learning it was our anniversary. The sommelier paired wine to our food choices. We would definitely go again, if we return to St. John's.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.