Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Raymonds

Living in Newfoundland and Labrador, we’re blessed in having access to some of the best seafood, meat, and produce in the world. Having such a bountiful larder right on our doorsteps means we’re able to adopt a truly sustainable approach to fine dining – sourcing locally-grown ingredients and getting to know independent purveyors. We've made every effort to make dining at Raymonds a unique and rare treat. Visit us at 95 Water Street in the heart of downtown St. John’s. Our dinner menu, prepared by head chef Jeremy Charles, is inspired by rustic Atlantic Canadian cuisine. It features authentic dishes that take advantage of Newfoundland and Labrador’s rich variety of seafood, wild game, berries and vegetables, while also exploring innovative, 'haute cuisine' ingredient combinations and finishes.

95 Water Street
St. John's, NF A1C1A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm -9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(709) 579-5800

Website:
http://www.raymondsrestaurant.com/

Raymonds Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
See All
Tasting Menu (22)
Romantic (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Business Meals (13)
Waterfront (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Private Room (7)
Scenic View (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Historic (5)
Seasonal (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
Casual (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
1004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I had heard about Raymond's and had always wanted to go there and I must say the meal met and went beyond all my expectations. The service was exceptional. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We shared the Charcuterie plate and cheeses. The waiter explained each offering and the platters had a plentiful assortment for us to share.
We each ordered something different. I wanted beef tenderloin which was served a perfect medium rare and accompanied with a delicious assortment of vegetables. My companions had the duck and halibut which they equally enjoyed. The servings were plentiful and each with it's pairings. Would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Raymonds never fails to Wow! The food is the best quality local ingredients, creatively prepared & beautifully presented. Definitely our favourite restaurant in Canada!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I've loved Raymonds in the past. I was disappointed by the service which was not memorable. It seemed we where inconveniencing the wait staff.

The good choices were very limited. Four mains is disappointing.

Is complacency setting in? Feels like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful evening with the family, the food, wine pairings, service, atmosphere is exceptional, an absolute definite to be added to everybody's bucket list to dine here. You guys are amazing and what a great location! :-)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

One of the best fine dining experiences that I've ever had. Bravo!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

2nd time there and the food was amazing !!! Great location , view and service ! I can't find anything to complain about at all. Very accommodating to people with allergies! Love love this place. Portions are not small. Would recommend this restaurant as a must do while in st john's

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing establishment. Great for a small group to sit and enjoy a spectacular meal or celebrate an occasion. From the service to the food it's an overall great experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A unique dining experience with friends . Tasting menu with wine pairings outstanding.
Henry, our server was knowledgeable, professional and friendly. A winning combination.

Our only surprise was when the bill was presented and we noted that coffee was not included. We felt that after our amazing food and wine experience ($250 each plus) that the minimal cost of coffee should have been included.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Not much food for what your paying however, prepared well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Really enjoyable. Fresh food. Attentive service. Lovely historic building. Very good value fine dining. Tasty cocktails.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The overall experience was great and the service was perfect. Chef Charles' execution and creation on seafood was the best I ever had before(Amuse, Scallop, and Cod were so delicious); however, there are few things I would say that can be improved was the main course and dessert. The main course was Duck (Partridge, apple, celery root), Partridge was good, seasoned well nice doneness. But the duck's skin was a bit too chewy to me, not sure if it was because the render of the fat was not enough. The dessert's flavor was good(Brown butter, cultured cream, strawberry), the only thing I would say is that I couldn't feel the Newfoundland-based taste in it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always enjoy Raymond's , the food is second to none & the staff are all very friendly, very knowledgeable& very accommadating

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Décevant pour 300 $, un cuisine décevante entrée et plat principal , dessert très bein, vin commandé un 2013 et on me sert un 2014 sans excuses et sans baisse de prix ! D'autres restaurant sur la place on un bon niveau .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Love the restaurant. Don't know what some of those choices stand for but all is great

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. They do a great job. I especially liked the spin on local food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Of all of the restaurants that I have it in then across the world I would have to say that Raymons ranks as number one or number two. It was simply an extraordinary food and service experience

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It had been awhile since I last visited, and it did not disappoint. Having always ordered the tasting menu which tends to be a little more creative and exotic, we opted to order off the menu. The moose ragu pasta has been a staple since the beginning and with good reason. I had the halibut as a main and the portion was quite large. It was perfectly prepared amongst local fresh root vegetables. I can't remember the dessert just that it featured chocolate mousse and raspberry. Everything was delicious and the service and atmosphere; both impeccable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Raymond was amazing to say the least! My wife and I had the 7 course meal and wine and it was beyond divine ! Each course was interesting and original, and the dessert was like nothing I have ever experienced in my life. Words can not describe ! Overall the food, drinks and service made that meal if not the best one of the best I've ever experienced ! Must try !

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 31, 2017

This was our first experience dining at Raymond's and we were very impressed. The open table was exquisite in the presentation of each course and we delighted in the delicious food items that were offered that day, along with the accompanying wine. Open table is a fabulous way to taste a variety of local fare. Kudos to the chef ! Our service was excellent! We loved the NL flavour in the decor and in the presentation of the food - simple but elegant. Loved the homemade butter served on a rock!!
Thank you for a beautiful evening celebrating 50 years of our first date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a pleasure to visit Raymonds this past weekend with my parents on a quick trip home to visit St. John's. Always love flying in over the narrows, despite the bumps. This was my second visit to Raymonds and it is a fantastic restaurant with a definite take on local cuisine and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the service from our waiter Mr. Vokey. Of course, it is extremely expensive so it is not somewhere I would go regularly but it is nice to go from time to time. I will say that I was quite full after the meal (we had the three course table offer). The atmosphere was nice and the noise level was not too loud and the tables were not too close together.
St. John's has many great places to eat but Raymond's is very worth a visit as long as it fits your budget.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a 5 course tasting menu ($115) with wine pairing ($65). Negotiated with the server to replace the cod dish with a scallops dish ( the restaurant has an exclusive deal with local divers that provide amazing scallops from some "secret" location) - which they accommodated no problem. First dish - 4 +1 small bites arranged on a wooden plate included an oyster, snow crab, smoked Arctic char and local beers. The +1 was a razor clam thrown in because their drivers had found it ( very unusual this far north). The snow crab was great, the char fantastic and the razor clam a delightful surprise. It was paired with a sparkling wine from Nove Scotia ( Benjamin Bridge winery) - an excellent choice. The second dish was Moose Heart Tarter which it turned out the server had arranged on top up the 5 dishes that were originally part of the menu. The tarter was fine, but nothing more - had been paired with a Riesling from the same brewery which didn't have the structure to match the moose. Next dish was the scallop dish - really good, but again the wine pairing was underwhelming. Next dish was a veggie ravioli - nothing interesting, the organic wine from Puglia - had the lightness of a burgundy but lacked character ( except the first; all the wine pairings were somewhat disappointing so I'll stop mentioning them). Next dish was bites of pork - filet plus belly; well prepared but uninteresting. Another bonus dish came - sorbet of pear; very nice - before the actual desert which was small sweet bites - all good. Service was really excellent, I just wish the wine servers had better stuff to work with - I firmly believe great wine can elevate any meal, but in this case it didn't.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and service was excellent, it made for a great date with my wife!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Wonderful food. Excellent wine. Wonderful atmosphere. Wonderful view. A great place to bring visitors to St. John's. Lively staff but quiet enough that you can easily have conversations that involve the whole table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I didn't think you guys could get any better . But you topped the charts this week .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Another great evening at Raymond's. Amazing food and wine. The service, as always, was first class. They treated our 2 sons (9y and 13y) with great dignity and respect as well. They loved it!

Worth every penny.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I go to Raymond's at least 2-3 times a year. Each time everything is top quality, predictable. Attention to detail is what makes the big difference. I travel across Canada for business, and I always pick the best restaurant in every city I go to. And Raymond's is by far my favorite place. When I travel to St. John's, before booking my flight and hotel, I make sure I can book a table at Raymond's. This is how good it is!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The wife and I have made this our tradition to visit Raymond's during the holiday season, we have never been disappointed with the service or food. Everything about Raymond's is amazing. This years visit was a wonderful experience as expected.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Without a doubt the best meal we've had. Anywhere. There's no point eating at any other restaurant in St. John's after eating here. It's simply excellent, in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Short but varied menu with interesting choices. Food was fantastic in every detail. Service was impeccable and the wine list was first rate.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had, as in the past 6 years, held our anniversary dinner at Raymonds. This year the experience was exceptional and worthy of our return again, hopefully before the anniversary date. The food was sublime and the service was impeccable and personal, with personality. Many thanks to the two Jeremy's (and Mr. Charles who drove us there in their new concierge service) for a wonderful evening. Really appreciated the anniversary touch and I wish you the best of success in 2017.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Amazing food, fantastic service, wonderful time! It has become a Christmas tradition to treat my parents and it never disappoints, it will certainly be on the agenda for years to come.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I loved my entire experience. Everything was perfect !

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food, atmosphere and service was exaeptional! Highly recommend the experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent place to dine for any occassion, the service & food is fabulous , always consistant.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Organic, Private Room, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I congratulate you on doing an excellent job at Raymonds & the public will never be disappointed with the food or service.

If I may make one suggestion..... I believe the price of alcoholic beverages are overpriced for the easily obtained/NLC products..... I appreciate that all businesses' need to make a profit, however, I believe the prices should be a little more reasonable for the beer, spirits, & wine.

Thank you for an excellent dining experience & promoting NL.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was a wonderful experience. I was on my own when I had dinner at Raymond's -- a situation that often gives one a deeper insight into a restaurant than normal. The food was wonderfully interesting and good -- the braised rabbit being especially memorable. I was however particularly fascinated to observe the professionalism of the wait staff. It was so impressive to watch the service at a large table where there was a party of fourteen people. As each course was ready, a platoon of seven waiters and waitresses streamed out of the kitchen, moving as a unit, each one carrying two plates of dinner to the table. As a result everyone in that party was served simultaneously: impressive, almost military precision!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very well serviced, excellent knowledge of the wine menu, delicious and special food

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our Raymonds experience was simply exceptional. Our server was very well informed and went out of his way to answer questions and provide a quality dining experience. The food is superb. When you order, you have an idea of what's to come and you assume it will be very good. When the plate arrives, the creativity on the plate, the flavor profiles, and the commitment to local ingredients take your eating pleasure to a whole new level. The portion sizes are not excessive which allows you to enjoy several courses, from 3-7, depending on your appetite. In St. John's, it is definitely a dining experience you cannot find elsewhere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing experience, as usual. Great service and wine from Andrew and Jeremy. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.