Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.76mi

About Raven's Restaurant - Stanford Inn by the Sea

The Ravens, nationally acclaimed award winning restaurant serves organic vegan cuisine. The restaurant sources many ingredients locally, from sea palm to chanterells and other ingredients including produce, fruit and edible flowers from the restaurant’s certified organic farm. On Wednesdays The Ravens features an ever changing "Ethnic Menu" - special menus from around the world. And every evening Happy Hour is offered as well as an extensive appetizer menu. Dinner features the Ravens signature Sea Palm Strudel featured in culinary magazines and cooking shows globally and chocolate mint ganache tort.

Breakfast features Ravens" Portobello "Benedict" on house made English Muffins; signature Citrus Polenta with freshly harvested greens and cashew cream sauce; Ravens Chiliquilles, and much more.

44850 Comptche Ukiah Rd.
Mendocino, CA 95460
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vegetarian / Vegan, Californian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast 8:00-10:00 AM
Dinner 5:30 - Call for actual closing times which vary seasonally.

Cross Street:
Coast Highway 1

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 331-8884

Website:
http://ravensrestaurant.com/

Catering:
N/A

Public Transit:
N/A

Executive Chef:
Jeff Stanford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Wednesday is Ethnic Night featuring a changing menu of priced fixed cuisine from around the world.

Raven's Restaurant - Stanford Inn by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

80% would recommend it to a friend

Vegan (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Scenic View (19)
See All
Local Ingredients (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Organic (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (10)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Was there for my birthday and was in bliss the entire time. We will be returning again and again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved everything about our experience. Being able to eat with confidence like that is priceless.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

You must like non-meat meals to take full advantage of the menu items. The menu items are tasty and original. But if you are looking for meat or fish, you should look elsewhere.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

First visit in your dining room. Tables could be larger. Overall, excellent experience and I will return. Already recommended it to four foodie friends.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were disappointed that most of the entrees were hot with chilies and very spicy. My wife does not tolerate spicy food and had very limited choices. The last time we were at The Raven the selection included a number of choices that my wife could enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We chose Ravens for our wedding anniversary dinner and as always the food exceeded our expectations. Plenty of gluten-free items to choose from, the dishes were beautifully presented and the flavors well balanced. A healthy, nurturing and elegantly prepared meal. Loved the "Rustic Flatbread" the tomatoes were at their peak of ripeness, "Kale Salad" with cauliflower ceviche, innovative. Service was at a perfect pace.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I like the idea of this vegan restaurant, and many of the dishes were pleasing, but one was not. The entree, Sea Palm & Root Vegetable Strudel, was hard to take. The sea palm was unappealing both in flavor and texture. The rest of our dinner was fine.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our absolute favorite vegan dinner spot - beautiful setting, organic whole-plant delicious cuisine, beautiful view, quiet and inviting ambiance, but best of all: your (well-behaved) dogs can sit with you as you dine!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Organic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was good but I would say it wasn't spectacular. Too pricey for what you get. Only one thing raw. Unfortunately. Wish there was more to choose from. No kids menu. The dog was cute though

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We celebrated my daughter's birthday. This restaurant was very special. You felt the kitchen was making innovative, thoughtful dishes that made sense, brought joy and were fully satisfying (the portions were surprisingly ample). Ditto for the service. The ambiance (the restaurant is part of an inn) is lovely: bright yet understated, artistic yet comfortable and calming. Definitely full price, but we felt we paid for a special experience that was delivered!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Setting is lovely, interesting menu but staff not adequately trained on wine list. No one was able to discuss wine to help us choose from local vineyards as other restaurants in area gladly did. Host did nothing to make us feel welcome when we checked in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was good, though needed more flavor. We were seated uncomfortably near the tables on either side. I could overhear conversations on both sides with perfect clarity. Especially annoying considering the many empty tables.

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was terrific and the staff were attentive. It was a very nice experience definitely worth repeating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Pretty bland and unimaginative. Even the vegetarian at the table thought the food could use a little more pizzazz/

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great breakfast. Waffle and potabello Benedict are the best. Also get the scones!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Did not know vegan food could be so good! Really a fabulous meal. We had apps, entres and desserts...cause we wanted to try as much as possible...and all was so yummy. If I had to pick, the kale salad and choc dessert were my fav. Informative, friendly staff. Bought the cookbook too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Really interesting vegan menu. I can honestly say that I didn't miss the meat! Try the trumpet mushroom 'pulled pork. It is used in the tamales and it has the perfect texture to fool anyone. Only fault I could find is some of the veggies are served under one. Esp. Kale which is too chewy to be appetizing. It is definitely worth a try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Attentive service and creative food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Delicious Vegan food, friendly and efficient service, beautiful dining room overlooking the river.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Fun, Healthy, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Love finally having a high end vegan dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Fabulous vegan restaurant, featuring local and organic. Flare toward Mexican dishes, which were delicious!! Salsa was so yummy! Vegetables and creative dishes were outstanding! Service was wonderful..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Organic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Seasonal, Vegan, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

As out-of-state vegans, we are always looking for places where we don't have to cross examine the server to find something vegan. This place has that covered!

Raven's is superb, as food. And everything about it is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great Service! Great Breakfast/Brunch menu. Some items on dinner menu on spicy side.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Delicious vegan fare with a vegan wine list to match. Only quibble is that the kitchen was unwilling to serve my corn "off the cobb" - I recently had dental work and this seemed like a very minor accommodation to make in the circumstances, so a bit disappointed there. Half price cocktails helped make up for it though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent! Really a lovely dining experience. The food is fabulous whether you are vegan or not.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

My wife is a vegetarian and we really were looking forward to this place. Totally disappointing on all accounts. The food is uninspired tasteless and overpriced. Maybe we're spoiled with all the excellent vegan/veg options in LA, but this place was just lame. Tamales that were dry, served w iceberg lettuce, looked microwave defrosted and tasted as if. The ravioli was drowned in marinara that tasted metallic and at 26 bucks was a ripoff. The carrot cake tasted like the frosting was made with margarine Really? Not moist and not at all good. The service was okay, but for the prices you expect service that meets that category. Save your money and time and go to Piacis for vegan pizza and delicious salads.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was prepared and presented with such care. The walk through the gardens afterwards were spectacular.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Organic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Absolutely fabulous cuisine in marvelous environment both inside and outdoor! JPS

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a lovely meal, overall.

For starters we had,
-- Vegatales con salsa de chile - was better of the two, made very well.
-- Appetizer Taco - the black bean variation. Nothing special about one single tortilla with usual toppings.

Entree was,
- Enchiladas - good quantity, made well
- Thai Red Curry - colorful, flavorful though was on the blander side, added a chili sauce and it got better

Desserts - we took it to go, but not sure we would do this bit, again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

As a lacto-vegetarian, it was nice to be able to eat at a restaurant without having to ask "is it egg free?", "does it contain any fish or oyster sauce?" etc. A little pricey, but okay for a special occasion. Otherwise very nice! Our only complaint was that it was difficult to find the restaurant entrance to the building. A larger sign with an arrow would have helped a lot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent vegan menu, but has something everyone will enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Vegan and organic food in a classy and scenic setting. The on-site owners have very high standards for the restaurant (and the entire lodge) and it is evident in every aspect of the dining experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Well prepared vegan dishes that are tasty and appealing to non-vegans! Lovely setting and peaceful dining room. Staff was very courteous, accommodating, and hosted a pleasant non rushed dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The compassionate choice (vegan, sustainable, organic) is all i needed to know aout htis restaurant! Staff is very friendly, the lobby is wonderful to browse books or just hang out and talk to the owners if they are around.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

A pet-friendly shangra-la, serving elegant, plant-based cuisine of a highly artistic and nutritional order. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My wife and I have been wanting to visit The Ravens since becoming vegan four years ago. Based on other reviews and the price point, I had set fairly high expectations. Unfortunately, this place didn't fully deliver. The setting and views are great, and the staff was attentive,(although some were more personable than others). The wine, beer and drink menu is very good and Wednesday nights the drinks and beer are half price. There was a piano player in the bar, and the music was drifting into the dining room was nice.

The first ding was the cucumber infused table water. It was room temperature and tasted funky.
I ordered a beer, so this wasn't that big of a deal. My wife and I started with the sushi appetizer and each of us ordered the enchiladas. The sushi was excellent. The enchiladas arrived and looked wonderful. Unfortunately, the sauce lacked flavor and there was absolutely no spiciness to it at all. The mushrooms in the filling were fine but the accompanying rice was a bit dry.

For desert, we shared the pecan tart which was very good...until we got to the burnt bottom. We pointed it out to the waiter and he did take it off the bill.

The prices for the food here are comparable to Millennium in Oakland, but based on our experience, the food is nowhere near as imaginative nor as tasty. We likely won't be coming back, which is a shame since Mendocino and Fort Bragg have very limited options for vegans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very disappointing experience. Food was all mediocre to poor. Service was rushed. Wine was very good though, and salvaged the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I think the menu posted to Open table is old. Food was delicious, but different. Absolutely beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was awesome, ambience was perfect and this was the highlight of our trip!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Decor in dining room is dated/lacking. Table setting does not provide any intimacy. Food and food presentation, however, are good.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.