About Raven's Restaurant - Stanford Inn by the Sea

44850 Comptche Ukiah Rd.
Mendocino, CA 95460
View Larger Map

The Ravens, nationally acclaimed award winning restaurant serves organic vegan cuisine. The restaurant sources many ingredients locally, from sea palm to chanterells and other ingredients including produce, fruit and edible flowers from the restaurant’s certified organic farm. On Wednesdays The Ravens features an ever changing "Ethnic Menu" - special menus from around the world. And every evening Happy Hour is offered as well as an extensive appetizer menu. Dinner features the Ravens signature Sea Palm Strudel featured in culinary magazines and cooking shows globally and chocolate mint ganache tort.

Breakfast features Ravens" Portobello "Benedict" on house made English Muffins; signature Citrus Polenta with freshly harvested greens and cashew cream sauce; Ravens Chiliquilles, and much more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Vegetarian / Vegan, Californian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast 8:00-10:00 AM
Dinner 5:30-8:00 PM - Call for actual closing times which vary seasonally.

Cross Street:
Coast Highway 1

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 331-8884

Website:
http://ravensrestaurant.com/

Catering:
N/A

Public Transit:
N/A

Executive Chef:
Jeff Stanford

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Wednesday is Ethnic Night featuring a changing menu of priced fixed cuisine from around the world.

Raven's Restaurant - Stanford Inn by the Sea Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Mendocino
Best Restaurants in Mendocino ›

Fit for Foodies (26)
Scenic View (23)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Romantic (18)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great time dining at Raven. The ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time dining at Raven. The menu is amazing. Such delicious vegetarian food that is nutritious and delicious. The dining room is beautiful, with big windows that make you feel like you're dining in the trees. Service is great, very kind folks.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced mediocre food. Poor service. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overpriced mediocre food. Poor service. Wrong food came out twice and blue sky soda was substituted with a can of Hansen's without checking with us. When we questioned the switch, the server argued with us, saying it was a comparable substitute. Server could not tell us ingredient in the signature dish and had to go ask someone in the kitchen. This vegetarian was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

We had a wonderful experience at Raven's ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful experience at Raven's. We loved eating in a restaurant where dogs were allowed, the fireplace was crackling and live music was playing. Definitely the nicest ambiance we've enjoyed. We also loved the full vegan fare!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is vegan. We had 3 meals at thi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food is vegan. We had 3 meals at this restaurant The food lacks imagination and taste. It is very bland. The enchiladas were the only item that were tasteful and quite good with good flavor. The breakfast waffles and pancakes and French toast left a lump in the stomach for hours. Heavy and again tasteless except for the same cinnamon flavor in all three. The breads are dry. Vegan food can be quite good. This was not. It is also way overpriced. Too many better options in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Lovely ambiance and service. Vegan food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Lovely ambiance and service. Vegan food quality fresh and well prepared, perhaps just a bit high priced - will return, but only occasionally.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As vegans, this restaurant is a rare fi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

As vegans, this restaurant is a rare find for us, a vegan restaurant of high quality, creativity and freshness. Associated with the charming inn, The Stanford Inn, it has an open airy modern rustic ambience and serves an extensive menu utilizing the fresh produce and herbs from its own garden. The big plate portions are huge, perhaps to ensure that omnivores too are completely satisfied. There is a full bar. The downside was the rather amateurish service at most meals. The hosts rarely offer a warm greeting and other staff seem distracted and forgetful, if well meaning. The only dish we didn't care for was the sea palm seaweed phyllo roll. We loved the beet salad, daily flatbread, and taco with trumpet mushrooms in barbecue sauce with pineapple salsa.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our waiter was very nice, but a bit of a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our waiter was very nice, but a bit of a language barrier made understanding the food descriptions difficult which were numerous as there were 2 different menus. A Mexican menu and their standard menu. Our food took an exceptionally long time to come out. The heirloom tomato salad was the highlight of our meal. Mole potatoes were fine, but would have made a better side than appetizer as listed. One salad was served with an over abundance of cabbage and uninteresting. Our spinach ravioli was flavorless and the red sauce was very heavy and not good flavor. Dessert options were uninspired and we didn't try after such a disappointing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Enjoyed our meal very much. Thx.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Enjoyed our meal very much. Thx.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Loved the special meals prepared for our ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Loved the special meals prepared for our dietary needs. The raw meal was fabulous and the gf SOS-free meal was so yummy. Thank you! Susan Comdon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

As vegans, we enjoyed the truly imaginat ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

As vegans, we enjoyed the truly imaginative menu and delicious, healthful food. Lovely, memorable experience for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Chef made a special meal and dessert for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Chef made a special meal and dessert for us that was gluten free and SOS-free (no sugar, oil or salt). We so appreciated the extra effort of adapting the Wednesday night BBQ special to our needs and the chocolate avocado mousse. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even my dairy-devotee husband loved the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Even my dairy-devotee husband loved the food here! The vegan sour cream was surprisingly excellent. We had items off the Mexican menu and all were delicious. The pecan torte with coconut-milk ice cream was delicious. Creme brulee was a little disappointing, just too far from the original texture & taste of a dairy-based custard, but overall our experience was excellent and we would absolutely dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I could not believe how a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband and I could not believe how amazing this place was! It was absolutely amazing! The service was outstanding! That food was unbelievable! I wish they were in my city!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vegan heaven! Creative and delicious me ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Vegan heaven! Creative and delicious meals. Be sure to save room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. Ex vegan, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Ex vegan, and these guys donut right. Ambiance is a bit odd and cold, only downside to this place, otherwise top notch all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We love the healthy yet delicious food t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love the healthy yet delicious food that Ravens offers. Please keep it up! 😀

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious and interesting food. Had a ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Delicious and interesting food. Had a very hard time trying to decide what to order and really wanted tastes of everything. My food was wonderful. Portions weren't very big except where dessert was concerned and then it was too big and I ate every bite. Even though I live more then three hours away I am looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The vegan cuisine was a special treat. S ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The vegan cuisine was a special treat. Service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

organic and vegan, beet salad was great ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

organic and vegan, beet salad was great and they split the plates for us to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I am not a total vegan. We had 6 meals ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I am not a total vegan. We had 6 meals at the Stafford Inn. Every meal was amazing. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. The preparation and presentation was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had meals at Raven's a number of ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have had meals at Raven's a number of times and the food and staff have never been a disappointment. Top quality food and gracious staff. I love that we can order anything off of the menu and that we can glance over at what is being served to others and know that we could have made that choice to get a sense of our next meal the following night/day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE WENT FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY; MY WIFE IS ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

WE WENT FOR OUR ANNIVERSARY; MY WIFE IS A VEGAN. IF WE HAD THIS RESTAURANT IN UKIAH WE WOULD EAT THERE AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK. LOTS OF FLAVOR; ALL THE DISHES WERE BEAUTIFUL TO LOOK AT; I WISH I HAD TAKEN PIX. EXPENSIVE, BUT A GOOD VALUE; WE HAD LEFT OVERS FOR DINNER WHEN WE GOT HOME ON MONDAY; 2 FOR THE PRICE OF ONE CANT BE BEAT. LOVED THE HOUSE VODKA MARTINI (GREAT PRICE $5 INSTEAD OF $13 AT OUR FAVORITE HOMETOWN RESTAURANT. CANT WAIT TO GET BACK THERE; DONT WANT TO WAIT ANOTHER YEAR!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My sister and I ventured to Mendocino fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My sister and I ventured to Mendocino for a little girl's weekend and could not have been happier with the choice of Raven's for dinner. As a vegan / vegetarian, I am used to the difficult task of finding something to order when I go out. This, was the complete opposite. The difficulty was in deciding what NOT to order. It was Heaven. And nothing disappointed. From our yummy tortilla and black bean starter and glass of Pinot Grigio, to my delicately stacked kale salad and flavorful portobello sliders for dinner, to a lovely coconut ice cream dessert, the experience was absolutely perfect. You don't have to be a vegan to enjoy the restaurant, but you will be ecstatic and completely at home, if you are. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My late wife loved this restaurant and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My late wife loved this restaurant and we spend many anniversaries and birthdays in Mendocino. Came this year to celebrate what would have been our 48th wedding anniversary. The evening was clear with a view of the ocean. Service and food outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointment on the coast

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

My experience at Raven's felt like a training video segment in which poor customer service was exemplified to demonstrate all the things not to do. Our waitress was uninformed of the menu and overall the service was very inconsistent throughout the evening. The final straw of a disappointing evening being an interaction that took place over one of the entree's ordered. My girlfriend had ordered the Chile Verde Tamale which listed trumpets (mushrooms) as a primary ingredient. When she received the dish and was eating, she noticed that there were no mushrooms in the tamale. The waitress responded by telling her that she had ordered the Chile Verde tamale and there was only Chile Verde (salsa) in it. My girlfriend explained that maybe she had misunderstood the menu as it had listed trumpets as an ingredient and she had assumed it was mushrooms. The waitress explained that trumpets were mushrooms, she just didn't think they were supposed to be in the tamale but she would go find out for sure. She came back and informed us that they were in fact supposed to be in the tamale but had been left out on accident. She then stood there awkwardly before asking "so... anything else? Did you want more water?" before walking away. There was no apology for the mistake or any effort to offer an alternative. When we were presented with the bill, it was for the full amount which we did not take kindly to considering that one of the primary ingredients had been left out of the main dish. As no one came by to check on the bill, we took it up front and explained the situation and they informed us they would check into it and follow up. They brought us out a new bill an informed us that they had adjusted the bill to account for the missing mushrooms- a total of $5 off. Once again, no apology for the mistake or acknowledgement that a main ingredient had been overlooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was mediocre. Service and ambiance ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was mediocre. Service and ambiance were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Total Disappointment! Minimal and very s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Total Disappointment! Minimal and very slow service (despite mandatory 20% gratuity for parties of 6) on a half empty Saturday night. Our server walked up and said "Hi, I'm ___, are you ready to order?" Had more personable service at fast food establishments. We experienced bland, unimaginative food except for the salsa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

This superb vegan restaurant was a gem of a find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything about Ravens was first-class. From the understated elegance of the venue to the warm and welcoming smiles and carriage of the staff, to the soothing ambiance of the dining room we felt the eco-friendly health conscious vibe from the moment we arrived. And the food was simply superb! The Portobello mushroom sliders garnished with perfectly crisped asparagus was well received. The tofu red curry was tasty but a tad filling --and did not leave much room for dessert. The brussell sprouts were certainly a dish to be raved over. Scrumptious. Service was timely and attentive. Five stars and worthy of a return visit.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is now my favorite restaurant, too ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is now my favorite restaurant, too bad I live so far away! I cannot say enough good things about our experience dining at The Ravens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go out of your way to dine here!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

From the kitchen to the wait staff , to the ambiance of feeling secluded within a amazing arboretum and botanical garden of delight, all is amazing here! Th cuisine is creative - in a way that personally inspire each of us to pay attention to all the details in one's life. Yes, it is a vegan temple, but you will love the taste sensations. Yes, go out of your way to dine here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our group of 6 health conscious foodies was extremely disappointed during our visit to Ravens. The original upscale vegan menu has been replaced by vegan Mexican fare that was bland and tasteless. The high cost did not match the very ordinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The Ravens

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Our selections were top notch. We loved the dinner so much we came back the nest day for breakfast. The citrus polenta with braised greens was beyond delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great concept but spotty execution = poor value

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

There aren't a lot of fine-dining vegan options so I really wanted to like this place. The wood-paneled dining room was understated but beautiful. Appetizers were excellent - the cauliflower ceviche and the tofu were really special. But entrees and desserts were frankly disappointing (especially at that price point). The tamales de chile verde was bland and had a dry, chalky texture I would expect more from supermarket deli-counter tamales. And the pecan torte was a messy assemblage of pecans in a caramel sauce on top of a thin disk of cake - the whole thing fell apart when probed with a fork. Good pecans, but hardly a torte.

Our server was pleasant but poorly informed and trained. When I asked what the pinot gris/pinot noir blend was like all she could offer was, "I don't know...umm, it's a white wine." She didn't offer to get someone who could answer my question. I ordered another wine instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Great Veggie Restaurant

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Wonderful tasting food and presentation, great service. Dogs are welcomed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing dinner experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Having read that this is an award-winning restaurant, we were very excited for our dinner there. The restaurant was beautiful and the view was magical but the food was uncreative and poorly seasoned as well as small portions for the price. I've been a vegan for many years and this was by far one of the most disappointing vegan restaurants I've been to. And I'm not a picky eater. Since it's the only vegan option in the area, I would eat there again but it is not a good representation for how amazing vegan food can taste.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Food had flavor, but too pricey

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The restaurant didn't WOW me. It is practically a vegan Mexican restaurant. Being Latino myself, i would never select a Mexican restaurant for food because is not my favorite. But because it was a vegan one, I wanted to check the TWIST they putted into it. The food had good flavor, tasted fresh and the portions where good. The presentation was just average. My only complaint is that it was VERY VERY EXPENSIVE. I'm a vegetarian who is pretty used to spend a lot of money on organic food. But I have tasted better flavors and more creative dishes for less (made by myself or in other restaurants). If I am paying $10 for a creme brulee, it has to be the best... but it was just below average. The ambiance was nice and also the service. The food came out fast. I was staying at the hotel (witch is beautiful) so I went for breakfast with my husband two times and had dinner there two times also. All the food gave me the same reaction: It had flavor, but it was just okay and expensive. I did enjoy the complimentary dessert during the afternoon. That dessert was better than the one served at dinner. I wouldn't visit again because the menu and prices.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Awesome

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We both enjoyed all the fresh unique flavors. We had a lovely time and we will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overrated

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

While the atmosphere and service are notable, the food seems to be more about presentation than taste; everything we ate, while beautiful, was rather bland and unremarkable. This restaurant caters to a noticeably (annoyingly) picky clientele: we were asked if "cucumber-infused lemon water" was okay when we requested water. Sure? (Over-infused, by the way). We also had trouble locating the restaurant- it sits within a hotel and directing signage is basically non-existent (made worse by the rain that night). I'm not a picky diner, but this restaurant is really more hype than substance: a bit overpriced for reasons based more on location and image rather than food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Tasty, if not slightly funky, Mendocino gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We've been customers of Raven's for many years, and have seen it through a number of culinary phases. The current incarnation is interesting, more polished, and still the best vegan option on the north coast, although it's not up to "big city" standards. The food is good, but not amazing. There's always something weird happening, like the tamale dish that costs $26 and is 2/3 lightly seasoned rice and beans or the $14 guacamole starter that comes with 5 over- baked tortilla chips. The tofu scramble at brunch is tasty, but really ugly (too much liquid) and unbearably tiny. The price is very high for meals that are not actually at fine dining level. However, the restaurant and inn are gorgeous and the service is generally wonderful. We come back every year, sometimes twice a year, because it's the best option for vegans in the area. We keep hoping that one year it will be PERFECT. The owners are very nice too, which helps make up for the occasional disasters in the kitchen.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Favorite place in Mendocino

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We absolutely love this restaurant. I am a vegan and my husband is not. We are both able to come and eat an enjoyable and satisfying meal. Food is always seasonal--produce often comes from their own garden. Specialty menus for holidays. Desserts are amazing. I love, love this place. Every time we come to Mendocino, we have to eat here at least once. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.