Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Raven & Rose

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – 9pm

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues - Thurs | 4pm – 9pm
Fri | 4pm – 11pm
Saturday | 5pm – 11pm
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
Traditional Irish Music EVERY Tuesday!
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bluegrass & Folk Some Wednesdays | Please inquire
7:30PM – 9:30PM

Tyler Carson EVERY Thursday!
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Romantic (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Business Meals (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Live Music (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Historic (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great Beer (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Wood Oven (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great, service was excellent. Love the decor of the carriage house. They even mailed my husbands precious cap back to us as we left it at the table when we went to have a glass in the hay loft!

Thank you so much.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service here was so great. I was running late for my reservation and had to schedule a later time and Rachel was so helpful and courteous. Our server Vivian was also so energetic and funny. She made the experience 100 times better. There is fantastic team work, our water glasses were never empty and everyone helps each other. The ambiance for Brunch was very relaxed and comfortable. The Irish Coffee was delicious and I recommend the English Breakfast, their baked beans are spectacular! I'm not from Oregon but if I ever go visit again I will definitely stop by Raven & Rose.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I would say, best Cesar Salad in town, their food is sooo good, we got a really nice friendly person helping us with our food order, we had a small table, after a few minutes we asked if we can switch to a bigger one (im a pain in the back) they with happy faces said yes no problem. I would recommend this place to all of you Oregonians and visitors that love good food

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food cooked extremely well. Amazing rabbit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I read about the Raven & Rose in Historic Preservation magazine in 2014 and resolved that if I went to Portland, I would eat dinner there. In 2017 I did. It was worth the wait and the effort. In a re-purposed and restored building, the R&R offers outstanding food and outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The bartenders/mixologists of the rookery (upstairs bar) made the visit worthwhile. We planned to dine elsewhere and just stopped in for a drink and their attention and specialty cocktails convinced to change plans and dine at Raven & Rose. I had the rabbit - twos; my companion at the lamb. Both dishes were outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We visited prior to Portland Opera event. Used the discount and recommendation of Portland Opera. Food was top notch! Service was great! We will be back! Experience the Portland Opera if you have not yet ... and certainly make this place a part of the full package!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Cannot say enough good things about Raven & Rose! From the time we arrived until we left - after going upstairs to the beautiful bar - after dinner, everything was perfect! The staff, the surroundings and especially the food was amazing. Fine dining at it's best. Great wine list. The manager, Ruth Nelson and the chef, Dan Mancini both stopped by to see that we were happy with our experience. It was exquisite!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Authentic, Organic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Met a friend here for lunch. What a lovely menu. I had the crispy trout sandwich, she had the caesar salad with chicken. Both were fresh, obviously crafted with care and delicious. Conveniently located on Broadway. I'll be back!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We sat down at 5:45 for a pre Theatre dinner. We ordered almost immediately. Our salads came quickly but our entrees didn't arrive until 6:50. We had to eat pretty quickly to make our show.
That's the bad news. I had the rabbit cooked two ways with miatake mushrooms. It was superb. That's the good news.
Despite the slow service I'd return just for the rabbit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We had a great brunch. We tried both bloody marys and were impressed. For entrrees, we had white beans on toast and shepherds pie. Both were delicious. The service was attentive and very friendly. This is an excellent restaurant that is staffed well. You should certainly go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Good atmosphere and good food. Slightly slow service , as I came at a busier time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

$17 for a very pretty cheese board. I mean six little pieces of cheese, 3 blackberries, ... you get the idea. Really pretty tho. Juke box was out of Applebees. Inside ambiance is good for business partners, boring people with too much money. Good for a date with somebody you want polite conversation with and empty sex from. Not a friendly, relaxing place to have a real conversation. Sort of depressing in there, artless, loveless, but clean. The building is so cool from the outside, makes you wonder what happened.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The grass-fed venison was cooked perfectly and was very tender and tasty. The lamb was tasty but not as tender as it could have been. Would definitely give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were celebrating a friend's birthday. The service and food were perfect as usual. Everyone agreed tha the West Cork rabbit two ways was superb as were the lamb and venison and the Souracher and other cocktails were perfect accompaniment.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Want 6 small pieces of pasta for $32? Well this is your place. A limited menu. I just wasn't feeling it. Best for happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The place is lovely and fairly quiet, we had a great booth by the window for our party of four. Waitstaff was friendly, knowledgeable but not intrusive. Best-cooked porkloin i've ever had, and my husband had terrific venison. But the food was a little too salty for our taste (we live in San Francisco and I think they've all gone low-salt down there). The wine list was very small and the prices were outrageously high. We all opted for beer and one glass of house wine. I have to say, even being used to high-end SF restaurants, the menu prices were way above normal. Special occasion only, or Money-No-Object spenders!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 22, 2017

A place where you can have a civilized conversation without raising your voice. Food was delicious and perfectly described. Service was soooooo attentive.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Thank you to these folks for their exceptional care on our third anniversary! Food and service were bar none! We shall be returning for more exploration of their menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was fantastic, donut muffin were incredible and do not miss out on the Irish bloody Mary. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great place to have dinner. It's my go to impromptu date night. Must try when in Portland.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great atmosphere, food, and service. Easily the best Irish coffee I've ever tasted... literally all of the tables surrounding our agreed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Really great service! Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the menu, proactively explained all specials, and was quick to answer questions. She made solid recommendations without being pushy. Really excellent experience.

Food was very good, but not great. The fish board we got as an appetizer ranged from delicious (mackerel) to forgettable (halibut tartare). I had the fish special that consisted of pan-roasted halibut, parmesan risotto, and asparagus. The fish was perfect, the asparagus was great, but the risotto was overdone and the sauce was broken.

Overall, it was a very pleasant pre-theatre date and I'd go back. Order the Irish coffee! Best part of the night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great lunch as always. Perfect service by Alex. Ordered the grilled cheese and added bacon and egg to it. My only minor issue was that there was less cheese on the sandwich this time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We were a group of six. None of us had been there before. We started with a seafood board appetizer to share and then each ordered an entree that we shared with our spouse. The meals were delicious and the service was great. We really enjoyed our dinner and plan to return on another occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Raven and Rose is fast becoming a favorite for pre Matinee brunch. Easy walk to the Keller or Newmark theaters. Moderately priced, good food - things on the menu that you'll remember from your Mom's or Grandma's kitchen. I had very good corned beef hash, my friend had beans on toast. Both were well presented, and very tasty. (Any complaint at all would be that no one could eat all of the hash I had on my plate. ) I'm sure we'll be back for a repeat performance. And, extra bonus, great coffee.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Raven and Rose will always be my favorite restaurant! I go there for every special occassion and recommend it to everyone

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Amazing food, fish and venison. Ruth was very helpful, friendly, and made us feel at ease.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Most of the food was good, however the underdone steak was also underspiced making it bland and inedible. While the beet salad and halibut steak were excellent, along with attractively presented, the main courses were starkly devoid of accompanying vegetables - even a tiny portion of which would have created greater visual and gastronomic satisfaction.
We were surprised at the exorbitantly high pricing, especially considering lack of linens on small bistro-style tables, minimal accoutrements, and the small portion sizing.
Perhaps rent there is also very high?
If not for the outstanding staff, we would feel the experience was a total waste.
Harsh, but true thoughts from folks who frequently dine out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Welcome was warm. Waiter very aware of our requirements and kept meal flowing appropriately. Food was excellent. Cesar Salad, Mussels, beef and dessert all excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The bar is terrific. Go upstairs to The Rookery. Cocktails, food, and service are excellent. Downstairs the front of the house doesn't match the kitchen. And, given the competition at this price point, R&R has to take its game up. I paid $32 for 4 tortellini. Not again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had both always wanted to stop into this restaurant, particularly because the outside is so unique and inviting. The staff was fantastic. They were knowledgable, professional, and attentive. It is on the pricier side, but the food is high quality, creative and tasty. We were having a date night and it was perfect, but this would also be a great spot to meet up with a few good friends and linger over some good food and wine. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Although the food was good, the service was less than desirable and the servers's voice was very loud and harsh. When
I asked for a different salad dressing on my side salad, I was told a substitution wasn't possible.
I offered to pay additional, but was told it just
wasn't possible to get a serving of any other dressing...? A restaurant with only one salad dressing? There was also a big confusion over what decaffeinated teas were available. Then I was given sugar cubes to sweeten iced tea & had to request another form of sweetener that
would melt in a cold drink.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Nice atmosphere, beautiful building, quiet, different menu featuring food from England,Ireland etc. Sweet muffins were great. The service was great. The only down side was expense. Went for Sunday brunch. Mimosas were quiet expensive. Would like to try the evening dining on a special occasion. I also hear the whiskey bar upstairs is top notch.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We enjoyed the friendly service and creative small plates. We will return.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We ate at Raven and Rose for the first time before going to the symohony and it was fabulous! Great, unique ambiance. Service was awesome! Ruth (Assistant GM) was very attentive to us and our experience. Daniel (server) have great recommendations. It was fun to watch the chefs in action, too. The food was fantastic as was the Chardonnay flight. It was a wonderful experience and we will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had drinks, mussels (excellent), steak (8 oz, medium rare; excellent) and desert (cake & ice cream; excellent). It was busy before the theater. Reception person disappeared for a while and was seating people outside. He had too much on his plate and the restaurant didn't put it's best foot forward. Waiter was prompted and the dinner went well except for the slow delivery of the 2nd glass of wine. I think this was due to the fact that the restaurant was full. It was our 2nd meal there and the food has been excellent on both occasions. I think the decor is OK but not great;it was busy and full but the activity did not interfere with conversation. We will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We ate dinner there before going to a Broadway show and they made sure we were done in time. The menu was not the usual stuff but was very creative. The tomato bisque was very good as was the salad that I got. The filet was very tender and the halibut that my wife got was excellent. We kept trading plates so we could taste what the other had gotten. The meal was a little expensive, but this was a night on the town for us, so was expected. Nice to have it close to our hotel, the Modera, and also Keller Auditorium. Thanks for a great night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 17, 2017

After an unfortunate experience during Portland Dining Month, we were encouraged to return. This time the atmosphere was wonderful and the food (Halibut Wellington) was excellent. It was one of the best fish entree I have enjoyed. The chardoney flight was perfectly matched to the halibut and the 3 wines were outstanding. The service was polite, efficient, met our needs--all without being hovering or rushed. Overall, it was a wonderful birthday dinner. We will definitely return. Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.