About Raven & Rose

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – 10pm

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues & Wed | 4pm – 10pm
Thurs & Fri | 4pm – midnight
Saturday | 5pm – midnight
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
TRADITIONAL IRISH MUSIC TUESDAYS
5:30PM – 7:30PM

BLUEGRASS & FOLK WEDNESDAYS
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

COCKTAIL CLASSES MONTHLY

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates. It is located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (60)
special occasion (45)
neighborhood gem (35)
See All
romantic (27)
good for groups (25)
great for lunch (23)
vibrant bar scene (22)
great for brunch (15)
notable wine list (14)
late-night find (8)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Ruth and team did a great job with reco ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Ruth and team did a great job with recommendation-- rabbit sandwich and corned beef sandwich. The butterscotch pudding is marvelous.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not bad, not great, but I will go back.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Very nice folks work here. The atmosphere is good. The bar is cool. It is a bit pricy though. Menu is meat heavy and otherwise somewhat limited. The single fish entree was $45!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We were not impressed with The Raven & Rose.

Dined on May 15, 2016

While the restaurant is an established fixture in downtown Portland, and it looks nice, our food was uninspired. Some of it was undercooked, while other items were over cooked. In general, the value just wasn't there.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good night. Wonderful dinner . I shared ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Good night. Wonderful dinner . I shared on Face Book suggesting to friends .Excellent cuisine and the place is much more welcoming. I recommend.This fillet to wine and Gods sauce.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Living downtown, this is our favorite.

Dined on May 8, 2016

People who work there do all they can to make your dining experience the best possible. Everyone excels at their particular job: combined with wonderful food, extra ordinary drinks and seating for group conversations or romantic quiet spots R & R has it all. One of the best Portland dining experience you will encounter.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved the cocktail called El Diablo Fratello. tequila, lime, cassis ginger ale...very yum. Disappointed by the potato rolls..starchy tasting....Pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon was tasty but not very easy to cut... Dessert, Lovage Panacotta was scrumptious

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great food and service, convenient for b ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

great food and service, convenient for before the show dinner out

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a business dinner

Dined on May 4, 2016

We have eaten here several times. When I was asked to come up with a restaurant for a business dinner I quickly remembered that the booths along the front of the building are very quiet. We stared upstairs in the Rookery Bar and moved down when the entire party arrived. The food is always creative and delicious. Drinks are excellent. Service is friendly and professional. We love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Not many vegetarian options

Dined on May 3, 2016

I made the reservation thru' Open table and explicitly requested vegetarian options. This was not acknowledged by the server. The tables were too close to hold a good conversation. Most of the dining establishments have better veg options compared to this. The veg sandwich was ver good though.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent changes to the menu since we w ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent changes to the menu since we were last in. The new head chef has created some masterful dishes. We enjoyed every course as well as the beer selections that pair nicely with them. The perfect neighborhood restaurant!

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Pricing Becoming Restrictive

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

I loved R&R since they opened up. However, the last handful of times, it's becoming increasingly expensive, I find. For two of us, no alcohol, the bill was over $100. Although the food is good, I'm not quite sure it's $100 good. Maybe for a very, very special occasion. But for a casual dinner out, I would highly suggest finding another place to stretch your dollar.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

I enjoyed meeting my friends for brunch at your location, however was unimpressed by the hostess and the food. Although it was tasty, I imagined it would be over the top delicious because of the price and reputation of Raven and Rose. My friends and I came for brunch on Sunday, and one of us was running late. Our hostess seemed annoyed that our fourth person had not yet arrived to complete our party of four reservation, although we were already seated. Also, she took away my friend's outside coffee even though my friend clearly stated she was almost done drinking it. Although this was a restaurant rule, we were unaware of this policy and because my friend had made it to the table with the coffee, I think it would have been appropriate for the hostess to let that one slide since it was her mistake to let my friend sit with her coffee in the first place. Our waiter, however, was amazing, and was doing a stand up job, even though he appeared to be the only waiter in the restaurant. The only reason I didn't put more stars for service was because his five star service was taken down by the hostess' one star service, resulting in a combined three stars overall for the restaurant. I most likely would not recommend this location to a friend.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Overpriced

Dined on April 24, 2016

We hadn't been here in a while so we tried it before the show. Although the food was tasty, it was horribly over-priced. One of the dishes was the halibut. Very small portion for $42. I had the duck which consisted of two slices of breast for over $30. They also charged a $30 corkage fee. Even after telling the waiter we had a show at 7:30, we didn't get the bill until 7:25. We will not return.

food5
ambience4
service5

As a treat before seeing an operetta at ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

As a treat before seeing an operetta at PSU, my daughter and I stopped here for dinner. We loved the English themed dinner choices. I had the duck and daughter had the steak. Both were delicious and prepared beautifully. Our server found out we had a show to get to so everything we ordered came out quickly. We even had time for dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprising decor and food items

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were delightfully surprised at the novel menu, excellent sea food, and an excellent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Treat!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We have been here several times and it has never disappointed. Our servers and host were especially attentive to my 95 year old mother and that was very pleasing. Food and drinks were great and the chocolate bread pudding was to die for! YUM! Thank you for a lovely evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would return

Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was prompt and attentive; manager stopped by several times to see food was to our liking and suggest cocktails - not because our server was neglecting us, but because they clearly follow a model of care and concern for customers. Atmosphere was classy, but also bustling and homey. The interior is sleek but there is some rustic flair. Mostly 2 tops and a few 4 tops. Food was outstanding. We ordered: 2 excellent craft beers, they had 2 different varieties on nitro. 2 excellent cocktails, a bourbon sour with hibiscus and an old fashioned. Chicken liver pate: this was served with a soft boiled egg, and toasted bread, big slices, and they happily brought more slices so we could finish the entire pot of pate. Rabbit chowder: an excellent hearty soup without being overly rich. Flavorful, good portion for my bf and I to split (we wanted to try everything) Bombay style duck: the duck was cooked so well it tasted like a dry aged steak, accompanying braised cabbage and tropical flavored rice was perfect. Rabbit 2 ways: this was excellent, and came with roasted veggies that were a perfect texture. Food was all 5 star quality with beautiful presentation. I loved the dinnerware so much I peeked at the bottom of my plate to see who makes it - high quality stuff from England. Would recommend for a date night or any foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Very little selection on the menu. The s ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Very little selection on the menu. The service could have been better. Not a bad experience, but not worth the price.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Really good food

Dined on April 13, 2016

The actual food quality is excellent, and the service is generally very attentive. It is a tad pricey but pretty consistent with the area and I'm sure more could be done to dampen down the noise levels but all-in-all, I really like this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bonkers for Brunch!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We met friends here for brunch, we were seated next to the fire oven and it was marvelous! The food, service, and ambience was top notch! We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Upstairs and Downstairs dining.

Dined on March 18, 2016

This particular location was selected due to proximity to the Portland Art Museum, the fact that it was March 17, and the desire to dine close by. The dining room on the first floor doesn't open until 5:00, however the bar upstairs opens earlier, which is where we headed prior to dining downstairs. Being St. Patrick's Day, I figured the background music upstairs would be Irish. Unfortunately, it was not, and unfortunately it was blaring. It as difficult to hear others talk. One could order modestly-priced food off the menu upstairs, but we decided just to drink some dark beer and eat downstairs. The sooner the better, noise-wise. At 5 p.m., we went downstairs, where it was quiet. We ordered the corned beef, and were thrilled with the tasty results. In fact, this was the best corned beef I have ever eaten. We split the meal, as the main course was expensive (over $30), and neither of us wanted a huge portion. We also split the dessert, a Myer Lemon Brûlée, which was equally delicious. I was disappointed in the noise upstairs. But I would definitely go back because the food was delicious. In fact, we plan to go back on our anniversary later on in the year.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great - service not so

Dined on March 13, 2016

I would recommend Raven & Rose, as the food was excellent. I had venison and it was perfectly cooked. The service as not as good as it should be considering the price. With reservations 1 wk in advance, we were seated at a table next to, right next to the open kitchen with a big ol' garbage can at the entrance. It did have a lid fortunately. When I complained, the hostess told me, essentially, too bad, that's the table I selected for you. I asked about another table and she said, that one was reserved. It was a real "Sorry Honey" moment.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I keep trying

Dined on March 12, 2016

Tried to give them another shot after reading about a new chef. Was excited to see welsh rarebit on the online menu. Psych - real menu wasn't the same as the online menu. If you're one of those foodies who likes beef and pork everything, this is the place for you. If you like porkless and beefless options (besides salad or vegan fare), there isn't a lot to choose from. We had a vegan option that was tasty, but once again I was disappointed..

food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent pork, venison & tuna. Great vi ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent pork, venison & tuna. Great vibe, bar upstairs very cool. Will be back!

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

great food, cool venue

Dined on March 6, 2016

We ate here before a theater performance. The food was excellent. I had the Ladd's caesar, which was much better than the typical caesar, and the venison, which was perfectly cooked, medium rare. All four of our dishes were beautifully done. I would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will definitely be back.

Dined on March 6, 2016

We loved almost everything about our dinner at Raven & Rose. The only thing I have a complaint about is the noise level. The open dining room gets quite noisy when full. But the food was spectacular as was the service. Very attentive wait staff who were aware that we had a show to catch and made sure we were done in time. After the show we went back to the Rookery Bar upstairs for a night cap. The old building adds interest to the evening. Raven & Rose is a "must"

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

bait and switch. They did not honor the ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

bait and switch. They did not honor the Portland dining out month. Instead of spending $58, we spent $120. Rip-off. Owner never returned phone calls. Manager offered 1 free dessert if we came back and spent another $120. Seriously?????

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and very helpful staff.

Dined on March 2, 2016

Excellent food and very helpful staff.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food outstanding, service good.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Food, atmosphere, online reservation option... all great. The only negative part of the meal was when the server said "Can I bring you some bread before your meal" - I shouldn't have assumed the bread was free, but $8 for a few pieces of bread is absurd - especially since the suggestion was that it came complimentary. But again, my fault for not clarifying.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Pork chop was great!

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Pork chop was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional Service

Dined on February 26, 2016

The waiter remembered the wine my friend and I ordered when we were last there many months ago and that we like to share dishes. That's incredible service. And the food was stellar, perfectly prepared and beautifully presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Good lunch

Dined on February 25, 2016

We were a table of 6 ladies, for lunch. Requested round table when making res and got it. The choice of wines-by-the- glass were dismal and consisted of 2 whites and 1 red. Red was okay, most of the white wine drinkers were disappointed, on the choices. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food. I didn't care for the sheppards pie...no veggies accept for two tiny pieces of carrots, some of the beef had grizzle and fat still attached...gross. The 'Gravy' was underdeveloped and bland. Lots, and lots of smashed potato's on top..lots... We will still go back, service was great and the round table was so appreciated.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dinners very much...

Dined on February 21, 2016

It was too loud for my hearing impaired mom n aunt

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Recommended

Dined on February 21, 2016

My rack of lamb was delicious. My wife's venison was tender and tasty. The service was prompt and helpful. The noise level was high, perhaps because we were seated near the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

Great ambiance and service. Food was a s ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great ambiance and service. Food was a set menu and we were at the end of the night. Probably was part of the reason that certain elements were a bit over done and cold. Will still consider going back though.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food in a historic setting

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Set in a 19th century carriage house is this very nice restaurant. The interior is attractive and couzy. We were seated promptly and the service was friendly. We went with friends on Valentines Day and it was a set menu which enabled a nicely paced meal. Each course was nicely presented and tasty.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was our first visit to Raven & Rose. From the moment we walked in the door the service was First-Class. Not over-the-top, just First-Class. The food was magnificent, from wonderful presentations to delightful tastes. Rare these days, the cooked entrees were temperature-perfect. We have been blessed to dine numerous places in the US and Europe. Our dinner experience at Raven & Rose was as satisfying as any we have had. We will not hesitate to recommend the Raven & Rose and you can count on many return visits by us as well. Thank you for an absolutely delight evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Brunch!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We really enjoy having brunch at the Raven and Rose but hadn't found time to come back since Saturday brunch was cancelled. We happily made it back for Valentine's Day which is also our anniversary. The food and overall service were great as always. My only disappointment was that a couple ahead of us didn't have a reservation and were sat at a booth and when we requested another of the empty booths the hostess wouldn't seat us there but the booth sat empty the whole time. We'll be back but I'll be sure to request a booth in our reservation next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

History with good food and a good ambiance

Dined on February 14, 2016

This is a historic building, with a lot of charm regarding the history of Portland. The food was amazing, services was great, and the bread pudding was excellent. The bread pudding was very different from anything I am use to, but overall a good change. The mussels were very flavorful and not too gritty or tasted like the ocean floor, well cleaned. My filet mignon was done perfectly and the Yorkshire pudding was actually done right. Drinks were unique and well executed. I would love to come back, even on Valentines it was a wonderful experience. I did feel the upstairs bar was a bit too noisy, but really neat decor. All the service staff was friendly and very respectful of timing and giving us our space.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Almost There

Dined on February 14, 2016

What a great space for a restaurant and bar. Arrived at reservation time and was told that they were not quite ready for us. Went upstairs to Rookery Bar, took quite a while to secure a drink. Then of course the table was ready, Maitre d asked us to pay our tab, NO assistance with the tab and no assistance physically transferring our drinks downstairs to our table. Went for the Prix Fix on Valentine's Eve; four course plus desert. First two courses, butter oyster and carrots 4-ways were under whelming. Lobster roll was good as was the beef tenderloin. Service was choppy throughout. Had to ask for silverware to accompany courses. I have been here at least 6 times and I come back because I sometimes get a great cocktail or a great dish; not a whole meal and there is always something lacking on the service aspect!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.