About Raven & Rose

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – close

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues & Wed | 4pm – close
Thurs & Fri | 4pm – close
Saturday | 5pm – midnight
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
Traditional Irish Music EVERY Tuesday!
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bluegrass & Folk Some Wednesdays | Please inquire
7:30PM – 9:30PM

Tyler Carson EVERY Thursday!
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (31)
Special Occasion (22)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Historic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Casual (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Venison was superb though minimal in siz ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Venison was superb though minimal in size, at 5 slices and accompany plate mates consisted of about 4 thumbnail size meringues and potato slices, on par with a single, small potato.

Other guests opted for the beef filet, again perfectly cooked and presented with a beaut of a skyscraper, Yorkie Pudd but in all 3 plates we lacked, yes what Mum always wanted you to eat more of... those veggies! She obviously wasn't as impactful on this Chef. Not only scant on your entrees but amiss on the menu even as a Side to share..."please sir, can I have more!"

Thankfully we all took in a salad but the menu could definitely benefit from some Sides to share. Makes it easier to order dessert as we were all still kinda unfull, which could be exactly the point perhaps?!

Desserts were all yum, peach cobbler and melon sorbet, but it was the almond and fig cake that had the other two spoons resting at my plate ;) !!

Cocktails were a known and main draw, and pleased well, except on price, pushing $12/14 is Portland steep, headed the way rent of rent hikes!

Upstairs bar has a great vibe with a live band on Weds night we visited, but prices again for both food and cocktails make it a special occasion stop vs a go to bar for entertainment and eats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was more than expensive than the ta ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was more than expensive than the taste and quality called for! Just too speedy for the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for lunch. Everything was freshly ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Went for lunch. Everything was freshly prepared and quite good.

Would like to try Happy hour and/or dinner . English fries really crispy and dlish

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The special venison was AMAZING! Only se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The special venison was AMAZING! Only served medium rare, period. And it was so moist and tender👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Raven and Rose never fails to impressive ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Raven and Rose never fails to impressive. I have eaten here many times and the food has always been superb. We always order 3 courses and have yet to find anything we disliked. Food comes out quite quickly for such amazing dishes. Staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. I will be back over and over

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We sat at the Chef's table and got to se ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We sat at the Chef's table and got to see a little bit of what was going on in the kitchen. Great overall experience and the food was phenomenal. We had the venison and the gnocchi and both were outstanding! The venison tasted like the most tender filet I've ever had, cooked and seasoned to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere and location. Excellent ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nice atmosphere and location. Excellent drinks but mediocre, overpriced food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The heirloom tomato and egg salad and th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The heirloom tomato and egg salad and the beet and bean salad were amazing. We enjoyed our steak and salmon entrees, but the salads and the desserts (butterscotch pudding and blackberry crisp) were the highlights of an excellent meal. An issue with one entree less well done than preferred, was handled with grace by the server and returned quickly by the kitchen, exactly as requested.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal with our young girls before ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great meal with our young girls before heading to a show at the Keller. Food was amazing as were the drinks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service would best be described as awkwa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service would best be described as awkward. Our server was trying to be friendly and relatable, but he just came off as strange. I couldn't hear him half the time. His timing coming to the table was poor. We asked for mustard and it came 30 minutes later. Someone kept trying to close the blinds behind me and rather than say, excuse me, they would sneak up behind me. Lastly the food was good, but small and very expensive.

I've been to happy hour upstairs and the drinks are quite good, but again more expensive than they should be. I don't think I need to return for the dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was delicious and the wait staf ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was delicious and the wait staff was very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING. Had the pasta special (pesto gn ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

AMAZING. Had the pasta special (pesto gnocchi with rabbit and mushrooms) and ate every bite. The presentation and flavors were amazing. Our waiter recommended the butterscotch pudding which is one of my new favorite desserts. Delicious end to a wonderful meal! We will definitely be returning to Raven & Rose!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have enjoyed my lunch more if I ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I would have enjoyed my lunch more if I could have ordered the item which was on the menu but they did not have. The meal I had was acceptable, but not really what I wanted. If they are going to post their menu on their web site and have items on the printed menu, then they should be available to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The upstairs bar was playing Peewee Herm ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The upstairs bar was playing Peewee Herman's Big Adventure. The drinks are strong, the food beyond comparison.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best breakfast ever. .. I've been there ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best breakfast ever. .. I've been there for lunch in the past. Really enjoyed that, too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice food, good though not transcendent. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice food, good though not transcendent. Portions vary in size from meager to just right. Corned beef hash came with an over salted salad which to me was an odd pairing. Super nice and attentive staff and pretty good drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

this place is way over priced for dinner ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

this place is way over priced for dinner. You have to pay for bread, the house wine was $12 and the pour must have 4 oz., entrees in the $30s. There are so many great restaurants in Portland that this pricing is not worth it. The food is good, but not at this price. Salad had an anchovy filet in it, not visible, so one bite was so salty as opposed to spread throughout the salad. Slightly over dressed salad as well. Cocktail was quite good. Building outside, beautiful, upstairs bar very nice, downstairs decor ok.

Sorry but not a place i would go for the price level. I mean Imperial, Higgins, to name a few downtown that i would rather eat at than here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We had a great meal and phenomenal servi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a great meal and phenomenal service. Raven & Rose is a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always delicious, the craft ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food is always delicious, the craft cocktails are superb and the service is attentive and timely. I highly recommend Raven & Rose to anyone who appreciates delicious, uniquely prepared food, a lovely atmosphere and delicious cocktails. Take some friends and share your food because it will all be amazing!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply a wonderful dining experience. A ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Simply a wonderful dining experience. Artful food that tastes as good as it looks. Wild game done right. Cocktails are above and beyond. Go and you will agree. Also a nice lunch local.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food and service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderfully surprising find. I se ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What a wonderfully surprising find. I selected it simply based on the name sounding fun and it turned out not only a step in history but excellent food as well. The food is freshly picked and the service is perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Raven & Rose for s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been going to Raven & Rose for special occasions for couple of years now. It was already very good, and recently, they brought in a new chef that has upped them even further. From a fantastic menu, to great wait staff, this is absolutely our most favorite "special occasion restaurant". [There is also a bar upstairs, which we have been told is very vibrant, but we didn't pop in there and cant comment on it.]

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What was not right they righted. It was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

What was not right they righted. It was not the caliber that I know those in the lead are capable of. A bit disappointing.

P.S. The wine list has some gems, but be prepared for the $$$.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our second time to this place. We're di ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our second time to this place. We're disappointed the last time. Disappointed with our eggs Benedict. The hostess did the exact opposite of warm and welcoming greeting. I was totally taken aback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We were looking for a quirky place to ta ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were looking for a quirky place to take my sister for brunch during her business stopover, and Raven & Rose was a great choice. We had a 10:30 a.m. reservation on Sunday, and it was neither too annoyingly busy nor too worryingly empty. Ambiance is English pub-y: dark woodwork and heavy wooden tables, mixed with modern touches and high ceilings. Server was excellent: knowledgeable, funny, and friendly without being overbearing. Food was fantastic: started about with the donuts (4 to an order; should have gotten more), bread pudding (x2, a special of the day) and coffee (yum), then rounded things out with pretty much one of each of the breakfast items on the menu: Traditional English Breakfast for the preteen & teen boys, Eggs Benedict for sister, Traditional Irish Breakfast for hubby, and Peas on Toast (had to try it!) for me. All exceptional. I would definitely recommend and will certainly be back. Very cool place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. Our server went ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was fantastic. Our server went out of his way to make sure we were well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for dinner before a show. Food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went for dinner before a show. Food was really great, and service was helpful and friendly.

We sat in a booth that definitely needs reupholstering. Made it feel a bit shabby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food is simply outstanding each and ever ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food is simply outstanding each and every time without fail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for a great dinner before a show ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Perfect for a great dinner before a show at one of the local venues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food here was good and the portion s ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food here was good and the portion sizes reasonable. The noise leve was a little high for intimacy. The prices rate special occasion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food excellent. Wine is absurdly expens ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food excellent. Wine is absurdly expensive for a restaurant of this type. Wines in the $25 to $35 range would encourage more diners (like me) to order wine. As it was, I saw only one wine bottle being consumed by patrons.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, staff friendly and worked wit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Good food, staff friendly and worked with both customers and each other well. Food excellent had some options not often seen on standard menus. We had reservations for 2 ready we walked in the door. I had neglected to mention our infant, who would not fit at the table they had ready, but within 5 minutes they had a for us that comfortably fit all 3 of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant for anything because, although the food is good and the service is also, it is way over-priced. When the least expensive wine on the list is $62 - and the house wine is $12 a glass - that 's over the top. The ambience doesn't warrant such prices. It's like eating in a noisy factory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

We loved the food, the service and the f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We loved the food, the service and the fact that they asked us if we had a time frame for our meal (we did). It is difficult to find a place to eat in downtown Portland, if you need to be at an event between 6-7, when most places don't open for dinner until 5. The food was very creative and well presented. Kudos to the kitchen!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. Perfect for a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food, great service. Perfect for a business lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They kept running out of menu items! Fis ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

They kept running out of menu items! Fish, pork, then mussels. Vegan dish was not heated. Yuck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Great people

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food is great and all, but the night wouldn't have been made without the employees being so fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Get the venison! It is not ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Delicious! Get the venison! It is not gamey at all! Meal was wonderful for entire group and waiter made sure to get us to our show on time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth and team did a great job with reco ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Ruth and team did a great job with recommendation-- rabbit sandwich and corned beef sandwich. The butterscotch pudding is marvelous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.