Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Raven & Rose

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – 9pm

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues - Thurs | 4pm – 9pm
Fri | 4pm – 11pm
Saturday | 5pm – 11pm
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
Traditional Irish Music EVERY Tuesday!
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bluegrass & Folk Some Wednesdays | Please inquire
7:30PM – 9:30PM

Tyler Carson EVERY Thursday!
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Romantic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Authentic (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Live Music (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great location for events at the Keller or Lincoln Hall. The menu has become more meat centric including venison and rabbit which is not what I personally prefer. Limited fish options, no main chicken dish. Cost has risen noticeable since our last visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service always A+. Great for pre- theater or any time you want a wonderful food experience. Cocktail not bad either.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Out for an evening at the ballet after a hectic day at work for both of us. Early dinner before performance turned out to be just the ticket to a magnificent and totally restorative night. We were expertly cared for by Joe on a very busy night at The Rose. His calm manner and superb service was greatly appreciated. Love this place now and will definitely return. Soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Very lovely restaurant and we enjoyed the food, service, and atmosphere. It was much louder than we expected, but was still a nice place to eat before the theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Best restaurant yet that I've experienced yet in Portland! Wonderful service, food is exceptional, and not too stuffy for my college-aged girls. Both the lamb and the pork chops were fabulous with wonderful sauces and the desserts are to die for!! A must!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food here is exceptionally delicious and pretty to look at, but the portions are skimpy. I was very disappointed in my $36 entree of venison which came with only two small potato medallions. I spent a fortune but left hungry. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Love this restaurant. All courses of food was great.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food and drink was amazing. By far the best food I've ever ate. The rabbit was tender and flavorful. The filet of beef was tender and cooked perfectly. It was a bit busy for a Saturday at 5:30, and the bar tender was like a dozen drinks behind is the only complaint, but still worth it. I'd highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great food and great service! Our server was so generous and kind and our food was beyond delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

First time at this gem of a restaurant. Sunday brunch before a symphony matinee. We both had bean toast, which may not sound all that appealing, but it consisted of white beans on a thick slab of luscious grilled bread, accompanied by squash and a hearty trumpet (?) mushroom, with delicate greens and a poached egg on top. Our server was engaging and attentive, and the host was gracious. The pub feel was cozy. We have already declared Raven & Rose as our pre-concert meeting spot for the coming season. Plus the building is gold LEED certified, an impressive accomplishment, and makes me like this place that much more.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

First, the food was excellent, the venison preparation with huckleberry sauce was fantastic. The beet salad was creative and tasty. However, the wine list is sparse and very very very overpriced. The selection is so weak with only wines that should be a fraction of the cost on it, that I will not return because of it. Also, there was a party, a bachelorette party going on in the main dining room and the staff encouraged the loud and obnoxious screams that disturbed our dinner. It's too bad because the food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Old school ambiance with neavoux cuisine
Super wait staff food terrific
Great lace

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vegan, Late-night Find, Healthy, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food was not what we expected for the price. My husband and son-in-law ordered the steak and they actually thought they were accidentally served pot roast. Considering the price point...not too happy. And the $16 salad with the warm pork belly was very disappointing. Sadly, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 20, 2017

The chef is very personable. He visits the tables whenever the kitchen isn't too busy

Tags: Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent food and superb service. We were going to a performance and they were right on target getting us out on time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food is excellent and the menu is well thought out, if not a bit limited. The cocktails are awesome, the bar is very well run. Service was a bit below the professional level of the venue and the price point. The wine list was very limited and priced completely out of range vs the cost of the meal or entrees. The ambience was excellent. A very cute and fun space.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This a great place for dinner. U had the rabbit which was wonderful and fit my paleo diet. The server was attentive and had some great suggestions

Tags: Vegan, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Friendly, efficient service. Super tasty food (we both cleaned our plates it was so good). And we were in and out in 50 minutes. A perfect brunch before a matinee at the Schnitz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food seemed pricey for the amount that you get. It was good, but felt like it should have been a little cheaper. The service was wonderful, very kind and cheerful waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Outstanding eggs Benedict, and an “Irish” Bloody Mary that’s one of the best I’ve had. Interesting menu, cozy decor, good service. A little more expensive than expected, but great overall.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great for a dining experience while staying downtown. A little bit in a quiet area for the weekend, but we had amazong service, great food and great wine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This is a good pre-theater dining spot. The history of the building is great, and the ambiance is awesome. The food is decent, but I'm never overly impressed. Maybe as a former GM for two celebrity chefs, I'm harder to please. The service is usually sub par though, and I never see a manager running the show. The outside expo might have been the manager, but couldn't tell for sure. Our entrees were delivered with app plates still on the table. Our server never checked in with us after entrees were dropped, and my wine glass sat empty through the entire main course. I would have ordered another glass if anyone had bothered to stop by the table, but they didn't. Overall, I would still recommend this place, but I wish they would work on their service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We were visiting Portland from San Francisco and looking for a good restaurant near downtown, near our hotel. We especially don't like noisy restaurants, and this one came up when we searched for quiet. While it was only moderately quiet, it was certainly a good deal quieter than most restaurants, co we didn't have to shout at each other. We enjoyed our choices, including excellent lamb, a superb Caesar salad with pickled lemons, and excellent mussels in a curry sauce. The only negative was a bourbon cocktail that appeared to have no or almost no bourbon in it. I could taste the citrus flavors but not the bourbon--at all!! This restaurant lived up to CA standards of food and wine. We had a Willamette Valley pinot noir-- excellent wine!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was great, service was excellent. Love the decor of the carriage house. They even mailed my husbands precious cap back to us as we left it at the table when we went to have a glass in the hay loft!

Thank you so much.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service here was so great. I was running late for my reservation and had to schedule a later time and Rachel was so helpful and courteous. Our server Vivian was also so energetic and funny. She made the experience 100 times better. There is fantastic team work, our water glasses were never empty and everyone helps each other. The ambiance for Brunch was very relaxed and comfortable. The Irish Coffee was delicious and I recommend the English Breakfast, their baked beans are spectacular! I'm not from Oregon but if I ever go visit again I will definitely stop by Raven & Rose.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I would say, best Cesar Salad in town, their food is sooo good, we got a really nice friendly person helping us with our food order, we had a small table, after a few minutes we asked if we can switch to a bigger one (im a pain in the back) they with happy faces said yes no problem. I would recommend this place to all of you Oregonians and visitors that love good food

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food cooked extremely well. Amazing rabbit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I read about the Raven & Rose in Historic Preservation magazine in 2014 and resolved that if I went to Portland, I would eat dinner there. In 2017 I did. It was worth the wait and the effort. In a re-purposed and restored building, the R&R offers outstanding food and outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The bartenders/mixologists of the rookery (upstairs bar) made the visit worthwhile. We planned to dine elsewhere and just stopped in for a drink and their attention and specialty cocktails convinced to change plans and dine at Raven & Rose. I had the rabbit - twos; my companion at the lamb. Both dishes were outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We visited prior to Portland Opera event. Used the discount and recommendation of Portland Opera. Food was top notch! Service was great! We will be back! Experience the Portland Opera if you have not yet ... and certainly make this place a part of the full package!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Cannot say enough good things about Raven & Rose! From the time we arrived until we left - after going upstairs to the beautiful bar - after dinner, everything was perfect! The staff, the surroundings and especially the food was amazing. Fine dining at it's best. Great wine list. The manager, Ruth Nelson and the chef, Dan Mancini both stopped by to see that we were happy with our experience. It was exquisite!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Authentic, Organic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Met a friend here for lunch. What a lovely menu. I had the crispy trout sandwich, she had the caesar salad with chicken. Both were fresh, obviously crafted with care and delicious. Conveniently located on Broadway. I'll be back!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We sat down at 5:45 for a pre Theatre dinner. We ordered almost immediately. Our salads came quickly but our entrees didn't arrive until 6:50. We had to eat pretty quickly to make our show.
That's the bad news. I had the rabbit cooked two ways with miatake mushrooms. It was superb. That's the good news.
Despite the slow service I'd return just for the rabbit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We had a great brunch. We tried both bloody marys and were impressed. For entrrees, we had white beans on toast and shepherds pie. Both were delicious. The service was attentive and very friendly. This is an excellent restaurant that is staffed well. You should certainly go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Good atmosphere and good food. Slightly slow service , as I came at a busier time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

$17 for a very pretty cheese board. I mean six little pieces of cheese, 3 blackberries, ... you get the idea. Really pretty tho. Juke box was out of Applebees. Inside ambiance is good for business partners, boring people with too much money. Good for a date with somebody you want polite conversation with and empty sex from. Not a friendly, relaxing place to have a real conversation. Sort of depressing in there, artless, loveless, but clean. The building is so cool from the outside, makes you wonder what happened.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The grass-fed venison was cooked perfectly and was very tender and tasty. The lamb was tasty but not as tender as it could have been. Would definitely give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were celebrating a friend's birthday. The service and food were perfect as usual. Everyone agreed tha the West Cork rabbit two ways was superb as were the lamb and venison and the Souracher and other cocktails were perfect accompaniment.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Want 6 small pieces of pasta for $32? Well this is your place. A limited menu. I just wasn't feeling it. Best for happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The place is lovely and fairly quiet, we had a great booth by the window for our party of four. Waitstaff was friendly, knowledgeable but not intrusive. Best-cooked porkloin i've ever had, and my husband had terrific venison. But the food was a little too salty for our taste (we live in San Francisco and I think they've all gone low-salt down there). The wine list was very small and the prices were outrageously high. We all opted for beer and one glass of house wine. I have to say, even being used to high-end SF restaurants, the menu prices were way above normal. Special occasion only, or Money-No-Object spenders!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.