About Raven & Rose

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – close

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues & Wed | 4pm – close
Thurs & Fri | 4pm – close
Saturday | 5pm – midnight
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
Traditional Irish Music EVERY Tuesday!
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bluegrass & Folk Some Wednesdays | Please inquire
7:30PM – 9:30PM

Tyler Carson EVERY Thursday!
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose
Raven & Rose

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (43)
Special Occasion (32)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
See All
Romantic (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Brunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

AMAZING. Had the pasta special (pesto gn ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

AMAZING. Had the pasta special (pesto gnocchi with rabbit and mushrooms) and ate every bite. The presentation and flavors were amazing. Our waiter recommended the butterscotch pudding which is one of my new favorite desserts. Delicious end to a wonderful meal! We will definitely be returning to Raven & Rose!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have enjoyed my lunch more if I ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I would have enjoyed my lunch more if I could have ordered the item which was on the menu but they did not have. The meal I had was acceptable, but not really what I wanted. If they are going to post their menu on their web site and have items on the printed menu, then they should be available to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The upstairs bar was playing Peewee Herm ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The upstairs bar was playing Peewee Herman's Big Adventure. The drinks are strong, the food beyond comparison.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best breakfast ever. .. I've been there ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best breakfast ever. .. I've been there for lunch in the past. Really enjoyed that, too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice food, good though not transcendent. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice food, good though not transcendent. Portions vary in size from meager to just right. Corned beef hash came with an over salted salad which to me was an odd pairing. Super nice and attentive staff and pretty good drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

this place is way over priced for dinner ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

this place is way over priced for dinner. You have to pay for bread, the house wine was $12 and the pour must have 4 oz., entrees in the $30s. There are so many great restaurants in Portland that this pricing is not worth it. The food is good, but not at this price. Salad had an anchovy filet in it, not visible, so one bite was so salty as opposed to spread throughout the salad. Slightly over dressed salad as well. Cocktail was quite good. Building outside, beautiful, upstairs bar very nice, downstairs decor ok.

Sorry but not a place i would go for the price level. I mean Imperial, Higgins, to name a few downtown that i would rather eat at than here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We had a great meal and phenomenal servi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a great meal and phenomenal service. Raven & Rose is a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always delicious, the craft ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food is always delicious, the craft cocktails are superb and the service is attentive and timely. I highly recommend Raven & Rose to anyone who appreciates delicious, uniquely prepared food, a lovely atmosphere and delicious cocktails. Take some friends and share your food because it will all be amazing!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply a wonderful dining experience. A ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Simply a wonderful dining experience. Artful food that tastes as good as it looks. Wild game done right. Cocktails are above and beyond. Go and you will agree. Also a nice lunch local.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food and service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderfully surprising find. I se ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What a wonderfully surprising find. I selected it simply based on the name sounding fun and it turned out not only a step in history but excellent food as well. The food is freshly picked and the service is perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Raven & Rose for s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been going to Raven & Rose for special occasions for couple of years now. It was already very good, and recently, they brought in a new chef that has upped them even further. From a fantastic menu, to great wait staff, this is absolutely our most favorite "special occasion restaurant". [There is also a bar upstairs, which we have been told is very vibrant, but we didn't pop in there and cant comment on it.]

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What was not right they righted. It was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

What was not right they righted. It was not the caliber that I know those in the lead are capable of. A bit disappointing.

P.S. The wine list has some gems, but be prepared for the $$$.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our second time to this place. We're di ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our second time to this place. We're disappointed the last time. Disappointed with our eggs Benedict. The hostess did the exact opposite of warm and welcoming greeting. I was totally taken aback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We were looking for a quirky place to ta ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were looking for a quirky place to take my sister for brunch during her business stopover, and Raven & Rose was a great choice. We had a 10:30 a.m. reservation on Sunday, and it was neither too annoyingly busy nor too worryingly empty. Ambiance is English pub-y: dark woodwork and heavy wooden tables, mixed with modern touches and high ceilings. Server was excellent: knowledgeable, funny, and friendly without being overbearing. Food was fantastic: started about with the donuts (4 to an order; should have gotten more), bread pudding (x2, a special of the day) and coffee (yum), then rounded things out with pretty much one of each of the breakfast items on the menu: Traditional English Breakfast for the preteen & teen boys, Eggs Benedict for sister, Traditional Irish Breakfast for hubby, and Peas on Toast (had to try it!) for me. All exceptional. I would definitely recommend and will certainly be back. Very cool place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. Our server went ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was fantastic. Our server went out of his way to make sure we were well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for dinner before a show. Food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went for dinner before a show. Food was really great, and service was helpful and friendly.

We sat in a booth that definitely needs reupholstering. Made it feel a bit shabby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food is simply outstanding each and ever ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food is simply outstanding each and every time without fail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for a great dinner before a show ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Perfect for a great dinner before a show at one of the local venues.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food here was good and the portion s ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food here was good and the portion sizes reasonable. The noise leve was a little high for intimacy. The prices rate special occasion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food excellent. Wine is absurdly expens ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food excellent. Wine is absurdly expensive for a restaurant of this type. Wines in the $25 to $35 range would encourage more diners (like me) to order wine. As it was, I saw only one wine bottle being consumed by patrons.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, staff friendly and worked wit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Good food, staff friendly and worked with both customers and each other well. Food excellent had some options not often seen on standard menus. We had reservations for 2 ready we walked in the door. I had neglected to mention our infant, who would not fit at the table they had ready, but within 5 minutes they had a for us that comfortably fit all 3 of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I would not recommend this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant for anything because, although the food is good and the service is also, it is way over-priced. When the least expensive wine on the list is $62 - and the house wine is $12 a glass - that 's over the top. The ambience doesn't warrant such prices. It's like eating in a noisy factory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

We loved the food, the service and the f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We loved the food, the service and the fact that they asked us if we had a time frame for our meal (we did). It is difficult to find a place to eat in downtown Portland, if you need to be at an event between 6-7, when most places don't open for dinner until 5. The food was very creative and well presented. Kudos to the kitchen!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. Perfect for a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food, great service. Perfect for a business lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They kept running out of menu items! Fis ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

They kept running out of menu items! Fish, pork, then mussels. Vegan dish was not heated. Yuck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Great people

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food is great and all, but the night wouldn't have been made without the employees being so fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Get the venison! It is not ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Delicious! Get the venison! It is not gamey at all! Meal was wonderful for entire group and waiter made sure to get us to our show on time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ruth and team did a great job with reco ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Ruth and team did a great job with recommendation-- rabbit sandwich and corned beef sandwich. The butterscotch pudding is marvelous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

an expensive experience

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The pub with the British selections was closed so we ate in the dining room. A happy hour menu was not offered although happy hour choices were being served. Food was good but expensive......$16 for an average Caesar salad. If interested in fish and chips, cottage pie make sure pub is open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Not bad, not great, but I will go back.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Very nice folks work here. The atmosphere is good. The bar is cool. It is a bit pricy though. Menu is meat heavy and otherwise somewhat limited. The single fish entree was $45!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were not impressed with The Raven & Rose.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

While the restaurant is an established fixture in downtown Portland, and it looks nice, our food was uninspired. Some of it was undercooked, while other items were over cooked. In general, the value just wasn't there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Good night. Wonderful dinner . I shared ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Good night. Wonderful dinner . I shared on Face Book suggesting to friends .Excellent cuisine and the place is much more welcoming. I recommend.This fillet to wine and Gods sauce.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Living downtown, this is our favorite.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

People who work there do all they can to make your dining experience the best possible. Everyone excels at their particular job: combined with wonderful food, extra ordinary drinks and seating for group conversations or romantic quiet spots R & R has it all. One of the best Portland dining experience you will encounter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

dinner

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved the cocktail called El Diablo Fratello. tequila, lime, cassis ginger ale...very yum. Disappointed by the potato rolls..starchy tasting....Pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon was tasty but not very easy to cut... Dessert, Lovage Panacotta was scrumptious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great food and service, convenient for b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

great food and service, convenient for before the show dinner out

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a business dinner

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We have eaten here several times. When I was asked to come up with a restaurant for a business dinner I quickly remembered that the booths along the front of the building are very quiet. We stared upstairs in the Rookery Bar and moved down when the entire party arrived. The food is always creative and delicious. Drinks are excellent. Service is friendly and professional. We love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not many vegetarian options

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

I made the reservation thru' Open table and explicitly requested vegetarian options. This was not acknowledged by the server. The tables were too close to hold a good conversation. Most of the dining establishments have better veg options compared to this. The veg sandwich was ver good though.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent changes to the menu since we w ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent changes to the menu since we were last in. The new head chef has created some masterful dishes. We enjoyed every course as well as the beer selections that pair nicely with them. The perfect neighborhood restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pricing Becoming Restrictive

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I loved R&R since they opened up. However, the last handful of times, it's becoming increasingly expensive, I find. For two of us, no alcohol, the bill was over $100. Although the food is good, I'm not quite sure it's $100 good. Maybe for a very, very special occasion. But for a casual dinner out, I would highly suggest finding another place to stretch your dollar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.