Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Raven & Rose

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – close

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues & Wed | 4pm – close
Thurs & Fri | 4pm – close
Saturday | 5pm – midnight
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
Traditional Irish Music EVERY Tuesday!
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bluegrass & Folk Some Wednesdays | Please inquire
7:30PM – 9:30PM

Tyler Carson EVERY Thursday!
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

We ask that all holiday reservations be confirmed with a credit card. There is a 48hr cancellation policy so if you are unable to join us please let us know in advance to avoid a charge. Please let us know if any allergies or food preferences before your visit so that we may take the best care!

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Historic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Romantic (16)
Wood Oven (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Authentic (7)
Fireplace (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (6)
Organic (6)
Healthy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It took quite a long time before we got our meal, but once we did it was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was ok...we were hoping for more but the lack of service once all the theater goers left was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was excellent, the place was quiet, and I really enjoyed my salmon and risotto.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was overall very good. I had the Eggs Benedict and I'm very picky about a true hollandaise and this more than met my expectations. There was a pickled green on it that was good but overpowered the delicate flavor of the egg and sauce but it was tasty, just perhaps too much for this dish so I only ate half the greens. Also, the egg yolk was more solid than I would have expected and missed the runny yolk I expect with a Benedict. My mom and sister both had a beautiful side salad with their entrees and neither ate it because they said the dressing was too overpowering with vinegar but they raved about the Shepherds Pie, Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup and I can attest they were all delicious. Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I was excited to order the Traditional Irish Breakfast. I have been to Ireland and you cannot get good pudding and fudge in the states. I asked the waitress before ordering if it was authentic she said "yes". While the food was good I did not find it to be authentic or as good as the real thing. I would not order it again. I also only received 2 baby mushroom caps. I also ordered tea and ran out of hot water. No one came back to check on us or offer us more water and they were not overly busy.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Pros...beautiful restaurant, nice downtown location. Cons....my pork chop was dry, one of my dining partners was the same. The cesar salad was weird; it had different types of greens in it. The service was ok, nothing special. Had to ask 3 times to fill my tea glass. I would expect top notch service and food for the high prices here. Entree prices are $30 to $40 and up, but didn't seem worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My family just enjoyed a lovely meal on Saturday March 25th. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was amazing. Efficient, hard working and friendly. The manager was delightful. I will return again again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were going to a 2pm concert at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall and decided to try Raven and Rose for brunch beforehand, lured by the promise of house-made donut muffins. The food (when we eventually got it) was excellent. The service, however, was most definitely not. Our food was very slow (not in the we're-giving-you-time-to-chat way, but in the the-server-totally forgot-about-us way - the server didn't check in at all, and we couldn't even get water refills). Overall it was a frustrating experience, because we loved the food and the atmosphere, but honestly would be reluctant to go back because of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Another delicious meal at R&R. Sat at the chefs counter and enjoyed watching the magic happen in the kitchen. Sous Chef Paul was super friendly and offered enthusiastic responses to our questions about the items he was making.

This restaurant is top notch and their whole staff, kitchen to wait staff and hostesses are phenomenal

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had the chefs table great place to sit and be entertained while sorting out business will be back for more meeting requesting that table
Beautifully run kitchen your chef does a great job not just with the food but keeping the staff in the back upbeat

See you soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

St. Patricks day was our occasion to go to the raven and rose.
We had delicious cocktails and the cheese plate was a nice appetizer but the beet salad was excellent!!
Our main courses of pork chop with pollenta and brussel sprouts and the lamb were both very average faire..
the building is an interesting spot and recently remodeled...
I understand there is a fun bar upstairs however we did not investigate.
For the price I give it 3/5...
Mike
Portland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

By far, my favorite Portland restaurant! The histories building with all of its period trimmings makes for luscious ambience. The food is gorgeous; both rich and wholesome with colorful fresh veggies. And the rookery upstairs is always an experience with its fireplace, high wood beams and handcrafted cocktails. Every staff member I have encountered here has been really well picked out and trained. They are always friendly and accommodating. The only beef I have with this place is that I can't order upstairs food from downstairs and vice versa.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at Raven and Rose before a concert at the Shnitz. The service was phenomenal. They checked in with us about whether we were going to an event and kept the timing in mind as we ordered and ate. The cocktails were perfect and the food was excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Such a cool space! Food was amazing! One of the best kids menu in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, terrific staff, and delicious food. A perfect place to dine before taking in a show at the nearby theater.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Tried the donut muffins, they are great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a fun and very good meal. Building is historic. Salads were excellent - particularly the beet and pear. Vegetarian main course was just OK, but the venison haunch was excellent. Actual menu more limited that that shown on the net. Surprisingly limited seafood offerings - out of raw oysters and the market seafood was scallops from Maine. The upstairs lounge - the Rookery - is fun. Good drinks and desserts. Live music some evenings (but not last Saturday unfortunately). Interesting people watching.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Open Kitchen, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our first time at Raven & Rose. Unfortunately the experience was not great. Some of the staff (not all) were very unfriendly. The hostess was great but our server was cold as ice. Maybe I'm old fashioned but I expect a friendly smile when spending money and tipping. I tipped 20% but it wasn't diserved. I guess the hip places aren't for us. The building is amazing and the history is interesting. Good food, cozy atmosphere and warm staff is what we are looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Pre-concert dinner for my husband and myself. Had a delcious roasted beet salad to start, and then I had the 6 oz. beef medallion with Yorkshire pudding. My steak was a little tough, unfortunately. My husband had the venison which we both agreed was wonderful. Didn't have time for dessert, but the options looked very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

All was very good. A little pricey but very tasty. The house is a gorgeous setting & the bar upstairs is very inviting with a different menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was unique and excellent flavor. Cocktails were different from the standard fare. Wine bottles seemed pricey. The server had strange affect.
Chicken liver pate was wonderful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience!! Food and service = fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I keep telling myself that I really need to try other things on their menu but every time I go to R&R I end up with the full Irish breakfast. It is too good. Maybe some day I'll eat something else because I'm sure the other things are excellent but that breakfast steals my palate every time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my fifth visit over the last three years and I was disappointed. Food quality in terms of preparation and flavor were average at best. In terms of dollar value, it seems that they used to have a better food experience for the price. Maybe there has been management or kitchen turnover in the last year. But it was disappointing. We had been coming here on special occasions, but likely will only come back for the Rookery bar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Innovative culinary creations, delicious, great service from the door in to door out.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My friend and I grabbed dinner here last week prior to a Literary Arts event at the Schnitzer. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambience. Service was great. And the food was delicious. Our server was even cognizant of time as we had to walk to the venue. My one issue, however, was the cost!! We each ordered a salad, one item (flatbread) from the starter menu and she ordered the vegetarian entree. We did have 2 glasses of wine each as well. No dessert. Our bill came to $120! Seriously?!?! Where are we -- New York City?!!? That's just crazy to me. In hindsight we should have ordered a bottle to possibly offset the per glass price, but really? When we heard that the scallop entree (3 scallops on a bed of eggplant) was going to be $42, we dropped our jaws. I love a good meal and really love the atmosphere at this place. But the prices will make me avoid the regular dining menu and opt for Happy Hour whenever possible!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful cocktails and staff! The bartender was amazing! Thank you for good food and avoid time.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I loved our meals, but was hoping for a more private setting

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food, interesting historic building but WAY overpriced!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great service here and a great place to go before an event at the Schnitz. The GM is so friendly and makes sure everyone at your table is happy with their meal. Good wines and delicious and inventive food. Try the fish board-- so good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Typical Valentines Day 'set menu' fare. $80 per person...before drinks of course. Yes, they served a 5 course dinner, but the portions were so tiny. Dinner for two with the tip; $249. There are better Valentines Day deals out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very friendly staff, felt like we were regulars immediately. My wife has broken leg and quickly accommodated us and made her comfortable. Food and drinks were great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. It was a wonderful experience ! Prix Fixe menu that was tasty & just the right portions. Also offered a wine pairing that was good. Would go back to check out bar & regular menu. Cool historical building.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The bartenders really know their stuff, listen to their suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an early Valentine's Day celebration and had seen the lovely Raven & Rose before. We made a reservation which was easy online. We were greeted with a bubbly hostess and it felt very special but relaxed. Vivian was our server and she did a great job making us feel right at home. I had the corn beef hash with mustard sauce which was incredible and my husband had the full Irish breakfast. The coffee was some of the best we've had. It was all very special and fun. Thank you, R&R, for a unique and special time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and craft drinks. Very attentive staff. We try to visit every time we get to Portland.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, great service, pub-like feel. Somewhat expensive, but all around a good place for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.