About Raven & Rose

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – close

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues & Wed | 4pm – close
Thurs & Fri | 4pm – close
Saturday | 5pm – midnight
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
Traditional Irish Music EVERY Tuesday!
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bluegrass & Folk Some Wednesdays | Please inquire
7:30PM – 9:30PM

Tyler Carson EVERY Thursday!
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Historic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Wood Oven (16)
Cozy (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fireplace (7)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (4)
Fun (4)
Organic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
739 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful cocktails and staff! The barte ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Wonderful cocktails and staff! The bartender was amazing! Thank you for good food and avoid time.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, interesting historic building ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food, interesting historic building but WAY overpriced!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Great service here and a great place to ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service here and a great place to go before an event at the Schnitz. The GM is so friendly and makes sure everyone at your table is happy with their meal. Good wines and delicious and inventive food. Try the fish board-- so good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Typical Valentines Day 'set menu' fare. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Typical Valentines Day 'set menu' fare. $80 per person...before drinks of course. Yes, they served a 5 course dinner, but the portions were so tiny. Dinner for two with the tip; $249. There are better Valentines Day deals out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Valentines day

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very friendly staff, felt like we were r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Very friendly staff, felt like we were regulars immediately. My wife has broken leg and quickly accommodated us and made her comfortable. Food and drinks were great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Valentine's Day. It was a wonde ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for Valentine's Day. It was a wonderful experience ! Prix Fixe menu that was tasty & just the right portions. Also offered a wine pairing that was good. Would go back to check out bar & regular menu. Cool historical building.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The bartenders really know their stuff, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The bartenders really know their stuff, listen to their suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an early Valentine's Day celebrat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an early Valentine's Day celebration and had seen the lovely Raven & Rose before. We made a reservation which was easy online. We were greeted with a bubbly hostess and it felt very special but relaxed. Vivian was our server and she did a great job making us feel right at home. I had the corn beef hash with mustard sauce which was incredible and my husband had the full Irish breakfast. The coffee was some of the best we've had. It was all very special and fun. Thank you, R&R, for a unique and special time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and craft drinks. Very attent ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and craft drinks. Very attentive staff. We try to visit every time we get to Portland.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, pub-like feel ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, great service, pub-like feel. Somewhat expensive, but all around a good place for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I took my sister-in-law and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I took my sister-in-law and her boyfriend here for her birthday since she had always been attracted to the building but unfortunately the experience was abysmal to say the least. The noise level was so loud that we had to shout to hear each other, the water was lukewarm and the food had us rushing to the restroom within an hour of leaving. The waitress seemed to be adequate enough for most of the evening however when it was time for my sister-in-law's boyfriend and I to pay she very blatantly looked over our shoulders as we assigned her tip which made us all uncomfortable. Overall it was a poor experience, the food was bland and we will never go to this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Ridiculously overpriced. I have been ea ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Ridiculously overpriced. I have been eating there since they opened, but have not visited the main dining room for several years. The menu offers starter for entree prices: a pasta dish for $18 was "two bites" according to the server. The meat prices were higher than most other high end restaurants in the downtown and Pearl, the pork chop offered act the price of an aged New York Steak in other restaurants. Only the green salad was a reasonable price. I will never come here again--simply a poor value with food that is good but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was good, tasted like a good qualit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was good, tasted like a good quality meal with quality ingredients. Workflow/staff duties on the floor looked efficient. Our Main server was Shaun and he was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Packed on Saturday Night, Good food, Nic ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Packed on Saturday Night, Good food, Nice building, Downtown Prices.

I really enjoyed the food, the flatbread, carpaccio and fisherman's board were very very good. My date liked the flatbread but doesn't eat raw beef or seafood, was less happy with the fillet of beef, would have preferred plainer sides and more sauce, is less of a foodie. I would probably have sent the Yorkshire pudding back on the basis that if i had dried one out that much it would have been binned, but it seemed to be enjoyed as a sort of cracker. Beer and wine selection was good for us, was good, forgot to tell us we couldn't switch the sides until we asked after it had been delivered, but no biggie, they were all running around like mad.

It was packed and open table got us in without a wait when we decided to go 45 minutes out. We sat in the first booth to the right of the door where three booths sit in the hallway which leads to the upstairs bar and impressive fireplace, the rest of the dining room was behind a curtain to the left with the bar along their wall level with our booth. The door really wasn't staying closed in the wind, which did lead to some chilly gusts, but didn't put me off my meal. My date enjoyed being on the hallway and looking out onto Broadway, good people watching opportunities.

We wandered upstairs between courses and might just go there next time and listen to some music, there's a beautiful fireplace up there. Was also a table at the top of the stairs around the corner from the bar which reminded me of the European pubs where they seem to have just heaved in tables anywhere they could. It's quite like an English gastro pub, but priced for a downtown major city, which is where it is. Was well worth it for us, definitely more gastro than pub, and downstairs is not the sort of pub I would go to with a bunch of mates, but great for our date.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful food, delightful service, alwa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful food, delightful service, always on our list for a return visit when in Portland!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy drinks and food. A romantic ambian ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Yummy drinks and food. A romantic ambiance. Great place to go before a show at Keller Auditorium

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and service was great. The only iss ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food and service was great. The only issue was our table was close to the front door, and every time the door opened we caught a cold breeze

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, interesting menu, but it is q ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good food, interesting menu, but it is quite expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Food was fantastic. Cocktails were amazi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was fantastic. Cocktails were amazing. Our server was attentive and friendly and definitely not pushy. We live out of town and cannot wait to come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Wood Oven, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate here during the snow storm so the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We ate here during the snow storm so there were literally 3 other tables so I don't know if their dinner service is always this perfect or the kitchen team just had a lot of time for attention to detail. Regardless the meal blew both my boyfriend and I away, the venison he got was amazingly cooked and delicious. We've since been back for lunch and it was equally as good as well as a late night dinner, where I got the duo of rabbit, which was also amazingly cooked. The Irish coffee is one of the better ones I have had and the staff and overall atmosphere have been equally great the 3 times we've been. I will say that the desserts that I have tried are just meh, I would suggest just getting an Irish coffee for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There were a few hiccups with communicat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

There were a few hiccups with communication of where dinner would be as opposed to my early arrival.

Price/portion size is a bit steep, but the food was well prepared.

All the staff were friendly and we had some good discussions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I went for dinner on new yea ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I went for dinner on new years. This is a great little spot. The menu is pricey- hence the 3 for value. The food- oysters, liver pate, roasted beet salad, and scallops were awesome. The 4 for food is because of the beef wellington and crab citrus salad. The citrus overwhelmed the crab in the salad- leaving you with too much grapefruit flavor. The wellington- the pastry was doughy and mushrooms a bit mushy. I suspect all the moisture wasn't cooked out of the mushrooms prior to cooking. The staff was great- we were well taken care of. They quickly accommodated our request to move tables and were attentive throughout our meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant. It's an amazing place, taking British-inspired cooking to new heights. We cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Historic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service was top not ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was top notch. Enjoyed the casual atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious scallops and lamb. We sat in t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious scallops and lamb. We sat in the booths to the right of the door and it was quite drafty. Music was a bit loud and incongruous with the setting. Would certainly return but would request the central part of the restaurant which is warmer and more inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our second time back for dinner ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our second time back for dinner and it was fabulous! I had the filet and my husband had the venison. Both were cooked to perfection! The portions were perfect, not too small, and not so large where we couldn't move after. Before dinner we decided to try the Rookery bar upstairs. We are already planning our next trip there - the cocktails are hand crafted with the freshest ingredients. They do have classic cocktails, and unique twists on the classics. If you're feeling adventurous, tell the mixologist what type of liquors you prefer and let them take you on a fantastic cocktail adventure!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a reservation and waited 30 minut ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a reservation and waited 30 minutes. Two of the dishes were fine but the third (the only vegetarian option) was practically inedible. Seemed overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We chose this restaurant based on the hi ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on the high ranking on Yelp. We were not disappointed. They only served craft spirits and beer, which were all fantastic--the ones we ordered anyway. Highly recommend the Snow Leopard vodka martini if you are Grey Goose/Belvedere man.

The beef Carpaccio was wonderful even though we had expected tartare. Not their misunderstanding, it was ours. We were really happy with everything they served and our server was really attentive and even gave us a free order of bread due to all that we ordered. Would definitely come back. A little pricey but was expected for the area.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My first time to Raven and Rose and I wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My first time to Raven and Rose and I was blown away by the food. One of the best meals of my life. The service was also excellent. Perfect for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The rabbit was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was delicious. The rabbit was perfectly done and moist and tender! I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

An excellent choice for a special lunch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

An excellent choice for a special lunch. Warm, friendly and welcoming. Menu was tempting and delightful; choices were delicious. Service was very good, accommodating our request to split an order without hesitation. A complimentary dessert for our birthday celebration topped it off. Prices were reasonable for the outstanding cuisine. We look forward to experiencing Happy Hour in the beautiful Rookery upstairs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

There were people smoking outside of the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

There were people smoking outside of the window were we were seated. Every time the door opened the smell of smoke wafted in. The waitress asked one of the employees that was smoking to move to a different place to have her cigarette break.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

On Dec 17, I ordered Lamb T-bone. It was ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

On Dec 17, I ordered Lamb T-bone. It was about 3 inches thick, served medium rare, with lamb sausage and lentils. Best lamb I've had at a restaurant, including Italy and France! Overall, the wine list is expensive, as is the starter menu, but I'd go back because the entree was so outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great atmosphere. Enjoyed drinks upstai ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great atmosphere. Enjoyed drinks upstairs prior to our dinner reservations. Desserts were fabulous

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were very accommodating in fit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The staff were very accommodating in fitting us into a last minute pr theatre sitting. The food was outstanding- the homemade pasta a standout. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When they called to confirm the reservat ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

When they called to confirm the reservation, they asked if we were going to a show. We said yes. When we arrived, they asked it we were going to a show. We told them yes. Our waiter asked if we were going to a show. Again we said yes. He said don't worry, we will get you out in time. We arrived at 6. The show was at 7:30. Our food finally arrived at 7:10. One of our dishes was not what we ordered, but we had no choice and had to eat part of it. The rest of the party had to rush to eat their dinner in 10 minutes. We told our waiter and the only thing they did was to take off our 2 drink orders. $8.00 total off our bill and offer us two desserts on our NEXT dinner with them. The plate they got wrong was a $28.00 plate. The rushed meals included a filet. They should have taken off the dinner that was wrong. We didn't have time to argue with them or we would have been late to the show. This was a $160.00 bill and a very expensive lesson learned. We will NOT be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I am not food driven at all. I rarely fi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I am not food driven at all. I rarely find anything that "wows" my tastebuds. Most food, to me, is "ok." The food at Raven & Rose was outstanding. I had the chicken. It was full of flavor, tender, a nice portion, exquisite! And the dessert, I had the Eton Mess, was unique, refreshing, and delicious! It was on the house because it was my birthday and no embarrassing birthday songs or hats! Very elegant and classy! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This place was great! Our server was ver ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This place was great! Our server was very knowledgeable but made us feel perfectly comfortable. Everyone was incredibly friendly. The food was interesting and delicious. The restaurant had a quiet, intimate feel, but right upstairs was a great bar to have a drink before or after dinner. I'd definitely go there again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hostess tried hard to get us in on a bus ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Hostess tried hard to get us in on a busy night even though we didn't have reservation. Food was excellent, creative and beautifully plated, altho a bit pricey.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.