Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Raven & Rose

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – close

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues & Wed | 4pm – close
Thurs & Fri | 4pm – close
Saturday | 5pm – midnight
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
Traditional Irish Music EVERY Tuesday!
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bluegrass & Folk Some Wednesdays | Please inquire
7:30PM – 9:30PM

Tyler Carson EVERY Thursday!
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Enjoy a special holiday brunch and supper with us from 9:00am to 3:00pm. All reservations require a credit card in order to hold the table. We have a 24 hr cancellation policy for all empty seats. Please contact us if you are unable to join in order to avoid a charge. Thank you for dining with us!

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Historic (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Romantic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Wood Oven (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Fun (9)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fireplace (8)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Organic (5)
Casual (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
759 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

We were going to a 2pm concert at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall and decided to try Raven and Rose for brunch beforehand, lured by the promise of house-made donut muffins. The food (when we eventually got it) was excellent. The service, however, was most definitely not. Our food was very slow (not in the we're-giving-you-time-to-chat way, but in the the-server-totally forgot-about-us way - the server didn't check in at all, and we couldn't even get water refills). Overall it was a frustrating experience, because we loved the food and the atmosphere, but honestly would be reluctant to go back because of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Another delicious meal at R&R. Sat at the chefs counter and enjoyed watching the magic happen in the kitchen. Sous Chef Paul was super friendly and offered enthusiastic responses to our questions about the items he was making.

This restaurant is top notch and their whole staff, kitchen to wait staff and hostesses are phenomenal

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Had the chefs table great place to sit and be entertained while sorting out business will be back for more meeting requesting that table
Beautifully run kitchen your chef does a great job not just with the food but keeping the staff in the back upbeat

See you soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

St. Patricks day was our occasion to go to the raven and rose.
We had delicious cocktails and the cheese plate was a nice appetizer but the beet salad was excellent!!
Our main courses of pork chop with pollenta and brussel sprouts and the lamb were both very average faire..
the building is an interesting spot and recently remodeled...
I understand there is a fun bar upstairs however we did not investigate.
For the price I give it 3/5...
Mike
Portland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

By far, my favorite Portland restaurant! The histories building with all of its period trimmings makes for luscious ambience. The food is gorgeous; both rich and wholesome with colorful fresh veggies. And the rookery upstairs is always an experience with its fireplace, high wood beams and handcrafted cocktails. Every staff member I have encountered here has been really well picked out and trained. They are always friendly and accommodating. The only beef I have with this place is that I can't order upstairs food from downstairs and vice versa.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at Raven and Rose before a concert at the Shnitz. The service was phenomenal. They checked in with us about whether we were going to an event and kept the timing in mind as we ordered and ate. The cocktails were perfect and the food was excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Such a cool space! Food was amazing! One of the best kids menu in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, terrific staff, and delicious food. A perfect place to dine before taking in a show at the nearby theater.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Tried the donut muffins, they are great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a fun and very good meal. Building is historic. Salads were excellent - particularly the beet and pear. Vegetarian main course was just OK, but the venison haunch was excellent. Actual menu more limited that that shown on the net. Surprisingly limited seafood offerings - out of raw oysters and the market seafood was scallops from Maine. The upstairs lounge - the Rookery - is fun. Good drinks and desserts. Live music some evenings (but not last Saturday unfortunately). Interesting people watching.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Open Kitchen, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our first time at Raven & Rose. Unfortunately the experience was not great. Some of the staff (not all) were very unfriendly. The hostess was great but our server was cold as ice. Maybe I'm old fashioned but I expect a friendly smile when spending money and tipping. I tipped 20% but it wasn't diserved. I guess the hip places aren't for us. The building is amazing and the history is interesting. Good food, cozy atmosphere and warm staff is what we are looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Pre-concert dinner for my husband and myself. Had a delcious roasted beet salad to start, and then I had the 6 oz. beef medallion with Yorkshire pudding. My steak was a little tough, unfortunately. My husband had the venison which we both agreed was wonderful. Didn't have time for dessert, but the options looked very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

All was very good. A little pricey but very tasty. The house is a gorgeous setting & the bar upstairs is very inviting with a different menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was unique and excellent flavor. Cocktails were different from the standard fare. Wine bottles seemed pricey. The server had strange affect.
Chicken liver pate was wonderful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience!! Food and service = fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I keep telling myself that I really need to try other things on their menu but every time I go to R&R I end up with the full Irish breakfast. It is too good. Maybe some day I'll eat something else because I'm sure the other things are excellent but that breakfast steals my palate every time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my fifth visit over the last three years and I was disappointed. Food quality in terms of preparation and flavor were average at best. In terms of dollar value, it seems that they used to have a better food experience for the price. Maybe there has been management or kitchen turnover in the last year. But it was disappointing. We had been coming here on special occasions, but likely will only come back for the Rookery bar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Innovative culinary creations, delicious, great service from the door in to door out.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My friend and I grabbed dinner here last week prior to a Literary Arts event at the Schnitzer. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambience. Service was great. And the food was delicious. Our server was even cognizant of time as we had to walk to the venue. My one issue, however, was the cost!! We each ordered a salad, one item (flatbread) from the starter menu and she ordered the vegetarian entree. We did have 2 glasses of wine each as well. No dessert. Our bill came to $120! Seriously?!?! Where are we -- New York City?!!? That's just crazy to me. In hindsight we should have ordered a bottle to possibly offset the per glass price, but really? When we heard that the scallop entree (3 scallops on a bed of eggplant) was going to be $42, we dropped our jaws. I love a good meal and really love the atmosphere at this place. But the prices will make me avoid the regular dining menu and opt for Happy Hour whenever possible!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful cocktails and staff! The bartender was amazing! Thank you for good food and avoid time.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I loved our meals, but was hoping for a more private setting

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food, interesting historic building but WAY overpriced!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great service here and a great place to go before an event at the Schnitz. The GM is so friendly and makes sure everyone at your table is happy with their meal. Good wines and delicious and inventive food. Try the fish board-- so good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Typical Valentines Day 'set menu' fare. $80 per person...before drinks of course. Yes, they served a 5 course dinner, but the portions were so tiny. Dinner for two with the tip; $249. There are better Valentines Day deals out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very friendly staff, felt like we were regulars immediately. My wife has broken leg and quickly accommodated us and made her comfortable. Food and drinks were great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. It was a wonderful experience ! Prix Fixe menu that was tasty & just the right portions. Also offered a wine pairing that was good. Would go back to check out bar & regular menu. Cool historical building.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The bartenders really know their stuff, listen to their suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an early Valentine's Day celebration and had seen the lovely Raven & Rose before. We made a reservation which was easy online. We were greeted with a bubbly hostess and it felt very special but relaxed. Vivian was our server and she did a great job making us feel right at home. I had the corn beef hash with mustard sauce which was incredible and my husband had the full Irish breakfast. The coffee was some of the best we've had. It was all very special and fun. Thank you, R&R, for a unique and special time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and craft drinks. Very attentive staff. We try to visit every time we get to Portland.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food, great service, pub-like feel. Somewhat expensive, but all around a good place for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I took my sister-in-law and her boyfriend here for her birthday since she had always been attracted to the building but unfortunately the experience was abysmal to say the least. The noise level was so loud that we had to shout to hear each other, the water was lukewarm and the food had us rushing to the restroom within an hour of leaving. The waitress seemed to be adequate enough for most of the evening however when it was time for my sister-in-law's boyfriend and I to pay she very blatantly looked over our shoulders as we assigned her tip which made us all uncomfortable. Overall it was a poor experience, the food was bland and we will never go to this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Ridiculously overpriced. I have been eating there since they opened, but have not visited the main dining room for several years. The menu offers starter for entree prices: a pasta dish for $18 was "two bites" according to the server. The meat prices were higher than most other high end restaurants in the downtown and Pearl, the pork chop offered act the price of an aged New York Steak in other restaurants. Only the green salad was a reasonable price. I will never come here again--simply a poor value with food that is good but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was good, tasted like a good quality meal with quality ingredients. Workflow/staff duties on the floor looked efficient. Our Main server was Shaun and he was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Packed on Saturday Night, Good food, Nice building, Downtown Prices.

I really enjoyed the food, the flatbread, carpaccio and fisherman's board were very very good. My date liked the flatbread but doesn't eat raw beef or seafood, was less happy with the fillet of beef, would have preferred plainer sides and more sauce, is less of a foodie. I would probably have sent the Yorkshire pudding back on the basis that if i had dried one out that much it would have been binned, but it seemed to be enjoyed as a sort of cracker. Beer and wine selection was good for us, was good, forgot to tell us we couldn't switch the sides until we asked after it had been delivered, but no biggie, they were all running around like mad.

It was packed and open table got us in without a wait when we decided to go 45 minutes out. We sat in the first booth to the right of the door where three booths sit in the hallway which leads to the upstairs bar and impressive fireplace, the rest of the dining room was behind a curtain to the left with the bar along their wall level with our booth. The door really wasn't staying closed in the wind, which did lead to some chilly gusts, but didn't put me off my meal. My date enjoyed being on the hallway and looking out onto Broadway, good people watching opportunities.

We wandered upstairs between courses and might just go there next time and listen to some music, there's a beautiful fireplace up there. Was also a table at the top of the stairs around the corner from the bar which reminded me of the European pubs where they seem to have just heaved in tables anywhere they could. It's quite like an English gastro pub, but priced for a downtown major city, which is where it is. Was well worth it for us, definitely more gastro than pub, and downstairs is not the sort of pub I would go to with a bunch of mates, but great for our date.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful food, delightful service, always on our list for a return visit when in Portland!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Yummy drinks and food. A romantic ambiance. Great place to go before a show at Keller Auditorium

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food and service was great. The only issue was our table was close to the front door, and every time the door opened we caught a cold breeze

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good food, interesting menu, but it is quite expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was fantastic. Cocktails were amazing. Our server was attentive and friendly and definitely not pushy. We live out of town and cannot wait to come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Wood Oven, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.