Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Raven & Rose

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – close

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues & Wed | 4pm – close
Thurs & Fri | 4pm – close
Saturday | 5pm – midnight
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
Traditional Irish Music EVERY Tuesday!
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bluegrass & Folk Some Wednesdays | Please inquire
7:30PM – 9:30PM

Tyler Carson EVERY Thursday!
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (28)
Historic (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Romantic (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Cozy (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Fun (13)
Wood Oven (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Authentic (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Seasonal (7)
Fireplace (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (5)
People Watching (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Live Music (5)
Organic (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We ate at Raven and Rose for the first time before going to the symohony and it was fabulous! Great, unique ambiance. Service was awesome! Ruth (Assistant GM) was very attentive to us and our experience. Daniel (server) have great recommendations. It was fun to watch the chefs in action, too. The food was fantastic as was the Chardonnay flight. It was a wonderful experience and we will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

We had drinks, mussels (excellent), steak (8 oz, medium rare; excellent) and desert (cake & ice cream; excellent). It was busy before the theater. Reception person disappeared for a while and was seating people outside. He had too much on his plate and the restaurant didn't put it's best foot forward. Waiter was prompted and the dinner went well except for the slow delivery of the 2nd glass of wine. I think this was due to the fact that the restaurant was full. It was our 2nd meal there and the food has been excellent on both occasions. I think the decor is OK but not great;it was busy and full but the activity did not interfere with conversation. We will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

We ate dinner there before going to a Broadway show and they made sure we were done in time. The menu was not the usual stuff but was very creative. The tomato bisque was very good as was the salad that I got. The filet was very tender and the halibut that my wife got was excellent. We kept trading plates so we could taste what the other had gotten. The meal was a little expensive, but this was a night on the town for us, so was expected. Nice to have it close to our hotel, the Modera, and also Keller Auditorium. Thanks for a great night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

After an unfortunate experience during Portland Dining Month, we were encouraged to return. This time the atmosphere was wonderful and the food (Halibut Wellington) was excellent. It was one of the best fish entree I have enjoyed. The chardoney flight was perfectly matched to the halibut and the 3 wines were outstanding. The service was polite, efficient, met our needs--all without being hovering or rushed. Overall, it was a wonderful birthday dinner. We will definitely return. Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent interpretations of standard brunch fare. I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I stumbled upon Raven & Rose while trying to find somewhere different to take my mom for Mother's Day. What an experience we had. Parking was relatively easy, which was my biggest concern. When we arrive we were immediately swept upstairs to the bar, which is the former hayloft. While up there everyone in my party was offered a glass of champagne to celebrate Mothers. We were very impressed by the history of the building. The detail in the building to try and hold the history is amazing. Once we were led to our table we were excited to see what the menu had to offer for this special occasion. We immediately ordered Irish Coffee and Full Bloody Irish as soon as we sat down. Both were AMAZING! Then we had the amazing donuts, they reminded me of the Danish cookies that come in the tin at Christmas time. 4 people in our group ordered eggs Benedict. One was crab Benedict and it was amazing. One ordered the French Toast! Melt in your mouth amazing. There was also an order of Glazed Ham at our table. We loved that there was no rush, the noise level was decent, and the coffeeand water were always filled. Our only disappointment was there was no butterscotch pudding available during our visit. I guess we will have to visit again.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to Raven and Rose for Mother's Day brunch, had been there only one time before for brunch. Both experiences were fabulous. Both traditional and new dishes to try. Great service and middle of the road pricing for brunch in Portland. Not too noisy so a good place to bring girlfriends or for a special occasion. Would love to try this place for happy hour!

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came here after a performance of Pinkalicious on a Saturday night (awesome performance BTW). On first impression, the historic building is beautiful and inviting. The ambience is easy-going but on the fancy side of casual. We started off with chicken liver pate which was slightly bland but had good texture. My main course was the venison which was cooked a perfect medium rare. It had a spice rub which was a little bit like clove or allspice. Very delicate and good contrast to the subtle gamey-ness to the meat. My wife ordered the lamb which was also a perfectly cooked medium rare (mine was better! 😀). Both dishes were enjoyable but safe. The kids (age 6) did not care for the Mac and cheese from the kids menu...I thought it was deliciously sharp and simple. Dessert of course was fabulous and the high point of the night. We split three dishes between the four of us and we barely got through the finish line! The butterscotch pudding is so worth mentioning because a) it was decadent, and b) it paired nicely with their tawny port. A nice exclamation point at the end of a great day! All in all, very enjoyable experience. I'd probably take my wife there again on a date night without the kids!

Ps. I should mention they took great pains to make sure we were not in a rush to catch a show. Very considerate,

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server asked if we had theater tickets and confirmed the show time so that she would be sure to keep us on schedule. Our reservation was at 5:45 and our meal ended at about 7:15, perfect timing. Food was excellent, cocktails were exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've dined at Raven & Rose with my husband, with friends and with business associates. The food has consistently been wonderful, with great presentation and great service. This time was no exception. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list and made great recommendations. When confirming my reservation they asked if we had theater or event ticket that evening. I said yes. When we were seated our server confirmed that we had theater tickets and promised that we would make our curtain time. He made sure that our meal was paced accordingly, but without rushing us. I love the ambiance of the bar upstairs. No matter what you order, save room for the butterscotch pudding. It's amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We took out of town family and some local friends for a nice dinner. We were 8 people in total, including a 12 year old boy. The restaurant was very accommodating as we changed the number of people from 6 to 8. No problem!

As we arrived, the table was set and ready early. We started with some signature cocktails. I ordered the Manhattan (up) and it was delicious. We ordered some appetizers for the table. The lamb tartar was excellent.

With the 8 of us, we ordered a plethora of dishes for dinner and did some "ping pong" tasting. I really enjoyed my lamb and some of my son's filet. The fish was outstanding and the pasta dish was very nice as well. The waiter, Daniel, was very easy to catch as needed and took excellent care of our crew. He provided honest opinions and was very helpful throughout the night.

It was nice that Daniel's first question was if we had any time constraints (like theater tickets). I thought that was a nice touch, although we were in no hurry! Some delicious red wine was suggested and it was a perfect complement to the lamb.

Everyone thanked me for the choice of restaurant and I was pleased that the night was a total success. The noise level was medium, but conversations were possible even for those sitting a few seats away. Great time!!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Saturday night was by far the busiest I've ever seen the place yet everyone was still cool, calm and collected. Yes, the wait was a bit longer for food but we were well cared for and checked on frequently. Great job!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great local ales with an English touch. Oregon chardonnay flight. Perfectly cooked fish. Overall a great experience. Server Zack made excellent wine recommendations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The general manager was wonderful...gave us a tour of the fabulous upstairs bar with an architectural tour. No kidding...the beans on toast was the best breakfast I've had in 47 years on this planet. Beautiful presentation and beyond delicious. Everyone was so friendly. Can't wait to go back the next time we are in Portland...it will always be a must do when in town. Looking forests to experiencing the bar and happy hour!

Tags: Live Music, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Fun, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lovely atmosphere in charming historic building. Downstairs space is gorgeous, with intimate bar, wood burning oven, open kitchen, sophisticated feel. Tempting menu with lots of sharing options. Fabulous music listening room (The Rookery) upstairs - fireplace, vaulted ceiling, large bar. LGBT friendly; diverse and friendly people upstairs in the Rookery. Community atmosphere in the Rookery. Lamb and lentil dish very good, but accompanying sausage contained a couple of hairs. The waitress, when told this, said that hairs in her food don't really bother her, so she tried to normalize our experience, which is never an effective customer service approach. She did have the manager come speak to us, not per our request, which seemed appropriate, and he was super nice. He said he would take something off our bill, but that didn't actually happen. maybe someone did not get the message; I'd give him the benefit of the doubt, as he was super pleasant and sorry! We had to hurry off to a show, so we did not pursue it. Unpleasant glitch for such a great place. Would give them another try though, but I might sit at the bar next time, and start with a drink.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Disappointing. Went for Sunday brunch and was surprised at limited menu; expected at least some seasonal specials per website. Shepard pie good but soup was salty and not hot. Grilled cheese charred. Coffee lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was good. Decor was attractive. Food was just "OK". Lamb was tough. Portions generally were small. Noise was a major problem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It took quite a long time before we got our meal, but once we did it was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was ok...we were hoping for more but the lack of service once all the theater goers left was disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was excellent, the place was quiet, and I really enjoyed my salmon and risotto.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was overall very good. I had the Eggs Benedict and I'm very picky about a true hollandaise and this more than met my expectations. There was a pickled green on it that was good but overpowered the delicate flavor of the egg and sauce but it was tasty, just perhaps too much for this dish so I only ate half the greens. Also, the egg yolk was more solid than I would have expected and missed the runny yolk I expect with a Benedict. My mom and sister both had a beautiful side salad with their entrees and neither ate it because they said the dressing was too overpowering with vinegar but they raved about the Shepherds Pie, Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup and I can attest they were all delicious. Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I was excited to order the Traditional Irish Breakfast. I have been to Ireland and you cannot get good pudding and fudge in the states. I asked the waitress before ordering if it was authentic she said "yes". While the food was good I did not find it to be authentic or as good as the real thing. I would not order it again. I also only received 2 baby mushroom caps. I also ordered tea and ran out of hot water. No one came back to check on us or offer us more water and they were not overly busy.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Pros...beautiful restaurant, nice downtown location. Cons....my pork chop was dry, one of my dining partners was the same. The cesar salad was weird; it had different types of greens in it. The service was ok, nothing special. Had to ask 3 times to fill my tea glass. I would expect top notch service and food for the high prices here. Entree prices are $30 to $40 and up, but didn't seem worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My family just enjoyed a lovely meal on Saturday March 25th. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was amazing. Efficient, hard working and friendly. The manager was delightful. I will return again again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were going to a 2pm concert at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall and decided to try Raven and Rose for brunch beforehand, lured by the promise of house-made donut muffins. The food (when we eventually got it) was excellent. The service, however, was most definitely not. Our food was very slow (not in the we're-giving-you-time-to-chat way, but in the the-server-totally forgot-about-us way - the server didn't check in at all, and we couldn't even get water refills). Overall it was a frustrating experience, because we loved the food and the atmosphere, but honestly would be reluctant to go back because of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Another delicious meal at R&R. Sat at the chefs counter and enjoyed watching the magic happen in the kitchen. Sous Chef Paul was super friendly and offered enthusiastic responses to our questions about the items he was making.

This restaurant is top notch and their whole staff, kitchen to wait staff and hostesses are phenomenal

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had the chefs table great place to sit and be entertained while sorting out business will be back for more meeting requesting that table
Beautifully run kitchen your chef does a great job not just with the food but keeping the staff in the back upbeat

See you soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

St. Patricks day was our occasion to go to the raven and rose.
We had delicious cocktails and the cheese plate was a nice appetizer but the beet salad was excellent!!
Our main courses of pork chop with pollenta and brussel sprouts and the lamb were both very average faire..
the building is an interesting spot and recently remodeled...
I understand there is a fun bar upstairs however we did not investigate.
For the price I give it 3/5...
Mike
Portland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

By far, my favorite Portland restaurant! The histories building with all of its period trimmings makes for luscious ambience. The food is gorgeous; both rich and wholesome with colorful fresh veggies. And the rookery upstairs is always an experience with its fireplace, high wood beams and handcrafted cocktails. Every staff member I have encountered here has been really well picked out and trained. They are always friendly and accommodating. The only beef I have with this place is that I can't order upstairs food from downstairs and vice versa.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at Raven and Rose before a concert at the Shnitz. The service was phenomenal. They checked in with us about whether we were going to an event and kept the timing in mind as we ordered and ate. The cocktails were perfect and the food was excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Such a cool space! Food was amazing! One of the best kids menu in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always a treat to bring a Portland guest or business colleague to this special place with very helpful staff paring wines with menu selections and inspired cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, terrific staff, and delicious food. A perfect place to dine before taking in a show at the nearby theater.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Tried the donut muffins, they are great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a fun and very good meal. Building is historic. Salads were excellent - particularly the beet and pear. Vegetarian main course was just OK, but the venison haunch was excellent. Actual menu more limited that that shown on the net. Surprisingly limited seafood offerings - out of raw oysters and the market seafood was scallops from Maine. The upstairs lounge - the Rookery - is fun. Good drinks and desserts. Live music some evenings (but not last Saturday unfortunately). Interesting people watching.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Open Kitchen, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our first time at Raven & Rose. Unfortunately the experience was not great. Some of the staff (not all) were very unfriendly. The hostess was great but our server was cold as ice. Maybe I'm old fashioned but I expect a friendly smile when spending money and tipping. I tipped 20% but it wasn't diserved. I guess the hip places aren't for us. The building is amazing and the history is interesting. Good food, cozy atmosphere and warm staff is what we are looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Pre-concert dinner for my husband and myself. Had a delcious roasted beet salad to start, and then I had the 6 oz. beef medallion with Yorkshire pudding. My steak was a little tough, unfortunately. My husband had the venison which we both agreed was wonderful. Didn't have time for dessert, but the options looked very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

All was very good. A little pricey but very tasty. The house is a gorgeous setting & the bar upstairs is very inviting with a different menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.