About Raven & Rose

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – close

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues & Wed | 4pm – close
Thurs & Fri | 4pm – close
Saturday | 5pm – midnight
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
Traditional Irish Music EVERY Tuesday!
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bluegrass & Folk Some Wednesdays | Please inquire
7:30PM – 9:30PM

Tyler Carson EVERY Thursday!
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Valentine's Day for a romantic, multi-course prix fixe chef's tasting menu! Classics such as oysters, champagne and caviar will dress up our classic British Isles dishes. Special dietary requirements happily accommodated with advance notice. Reserve today!

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Romantic (29)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Historic (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Authentic (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (13)
Wood Oven (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Fireplace (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Organic (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
719 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was fantastic. Cocktails were amazi ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was fantastic. Cocktails were amazing. Our server was attentive and friendly and definitely not pushy. We live out of town and cannot wait to come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Wood Oven, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There were a few hiccups with communicat ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

There were a few hiccups with communication of where dinner would be as opposed to my early arrival.

Price/portion size is a bit steep, but the food was well prepared.

All the staff were friendly and we had some good discussions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I went for dinner on new yea ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I went for dinner on new years. This is a great little spot. The menu is pricey- hence the 3 for value. The food- oysters, liver pate, roasted beet salad, and scallops were awesome. The 4 for food is because of the beef wellington and crab citrus salad. The citrus overwhelmed the crab in the salad- leaving you with too much grapefruit flavor. The wellington- the pastry was doughy and mushrooms a bit mushy. I suspect all the moisture wasn't cooked out of the mushrooms prior to cooking. The staff was great- we were well taken care of. They quickly accommodated our request to move tables and were attentive throughout our meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first visit to the restaura ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant. It's an amazing place, taking British-inspired cooking to new heights. We cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Historic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service was top not ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was top notch. Enjoyed the casual atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious scallops and lamb. We sat in t ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious scallops and lamb. We sat in the booths to the right of the door and it was quite drafty. Music was a bit loud and incongruous with the setting. Would certainly return but would request the central part of the restaurant which is warmer and more inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our second time back for dinner ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our second time back for dinner and it was fabulous! I had the filet and my husband had the venison. Both were cooked to perfection! The portions were perfect, not too small, and not so large where we couldn't move after. Before dinner we decided to try the Rookery bar upstairs. We are already planning our next trip there - the cocktails are hand crafted with the freshest ingredients. They do have classic cocktails, and unique twists on the classics. If you're feeling adventurous, tell the mixologist what type of liquors you prefer and let them take you on a fantastic cocktail adventure!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a reservation and waited 30 minut ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a reservation and waited 30 minutes. Two of the dishes were fine but the third (the only vegetarian option) was practically inedible. Seemed overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We chose this restaurant based on the hi ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on the high ranking on Yelp. We were not disappointed. They only served craft spirits and beer, which were all fantastic--the ones we ordered anyway. Highly recommend the Snow Leopard vodka martini if you are Grey Goose/Belvedere man.

The beef Carpaccio was wonderful even though we had expected tartare. Not their misunderstanding, it was ours. We were really happy with everything they served and our server was really attentive and even gave us a free order of bread due to all that we ordered. Would definitely come back. A little pricey but was expected for the area.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My first time to Raven and Rose and I wa ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

My first time to Raven and Rose and I was blown away by the food. One of the best meals of my life. The service was also excellent. Perfect for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. The rabbit was ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was delicious. The rabbit was perfectly done and moist and tender! I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

An excellent choice for a special lunch ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

An excellent choice for a special lunch. Warm, friendly and welcoming. Menu was tempting and delightful; choices were delicious. Service was very good, accommodating our request to split an order without hesitation. A complimentary dessert for our birthday celebration topped it off. Prices were reasonable for the outstanding cuisine. We look forward to experiencing Happy Hour in the beautiful Rookery upstairs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

There were people smoking outside of the ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

There were people smoking outside of the window were we were seated. Every time the door opened the smell of smoke wafted in. The waitress asked one of the employees that was smoking to move to a different place to have her cigarette break.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

On Dec 17, I ordered Lamb T-bone. It was ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

On Dec 17, I ordered Lamb T-bone. It was about 3 inches thick, served medium rare, with lamb sausage and lentils. Best lamb I've had at a restaurant, including Italy and France! Overall, the wine list is expensive, as is the starter menu, but I'd go back because the entree was so outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great atmosphere. Enjoyed drinks upstai ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great atmosphere. Enjoyed drinks upstairs prior to our dinner reservations. Desserts were fabulous

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were very accommodating in fit ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

The staff were very accommodating in fitting us into a last minute pr theatre sitting. The food was outstanding- the homemade pasta a standout. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When they called to confirm the reservat ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

When they called to confirm the reservation, they asked if we were going to a show. We said yes. When we arrived, they asked it we were going to a show. We told them yes. Our waiter asked if we were going to a show. Again we said yes. He said don't worry, we will get you out in time. We arrived at 6. The show was at 7:30. Our food finally arrived at 7:10. One of our dishes was not what we ordered, but we had no choice and had to eat part of it. The rest of the party had to rush to eat their dinner in 10 minutes. We told our waiter and the only thing they did was to take off our 2 drink orders. $8.00 total off our bill and offer us two desserts on our NEXT dinner with them. The plate they got wrong was a $28.00 plate. The rushed meals included a filet. They should have taken off the dinner that was wrong. We didn't have time to argue with them or we would have been late to the show. This was a $160.00 bill and a very expensive lesson learned. We will NOT be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I am not food driven at all. I rarely fi ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

I am not food driven at all. I rarely find anything that "wows" my tastebuds. Most food, to me, is "ok." The food at Raven & Rose was outstanding. I had the chicken. It was full of flavor, tender, a nice portion, exquisite! And the dessert, I had the Eton Mess, was unique, refreshing, and delicious! It was on the house because it was my birthday and no embarrassing birthday songs or hats! Very elegant and classy! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This place was great! Our server was ver ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

This place was great! Our server was very knowledgeable but made us feel perfectly comfortable. Everyone was incredibly friendly. The food was interesting and delicious. The restaurant had a quiet, intimate feel, but right upstairs was a great bar to have a drink before or after dinner. I'd definitely go there again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hostess tried hard to get us in on a bus ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Hostess tried hard to get us in on a busy night even though we didn't have reservation. Food was excellent, creative and beautifully plated, altho a bit pricey.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food, vibe and service for a fun g ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food, vibe and service for a fun girls night out!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such an enjoyable and delicious dining e ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Such an enjoyable and delicious dining experience! I'm still rave-ing (pun intended) about it a week later. Daniel Mondok is a culinary wizard. What really impressed me was the ability to prepare something I wouldn't normally consider ordering, and completely win me over, not once but twice! Cases in point: the rabbit entree and octopus tentacles, part of the exquisite fisherman's platter. Alongside this, the venison exceeded my high expectations. A delightful and tantalizing menu. Likewise, the staff was incredibly friendly and took great care of us. They were especially flexible and welcoming despite a potentially awkward delay of half our party. Simply can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was incredible. Atmosphere very inv ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was incredible. Atmosphere very inviting, romantic and warm. A return visit is for certain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The building (inside & out) is beautifu ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

The building (inside & out) is beautiful. The front desk was very friendly and understanding that we were late due to an accident on I-5.

Our waitress was friendly but not overly happy that we asked to split the check.

The food quality was very good, but the prices were so high that it was hard to order anything.

The items on the menu are very eclectic. (Not a place for people who like simple foods or for children).

Overall our group of 6 was pleased with what we ordered- chicken and flatbread and cheese board; but not pleased with the cost.

The bread bowl was also very good- but we didn't realize it was an extra charge until we said yes, we wanted it.

It's located in a convenient spot if you're going to the theater; just be prepared to spend a lot.

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

The food was great as always! We love Ra ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food was great as always! We love Raven and Rose for when you just want a lovely, good, intimate dinner... Easy and wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding from start to finish. Seated ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding from start to finish. Seated promptly, server was very attentive yet not intrusive. Food was excellent. Steak done to perfection. Scallops were delicious too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for Thanksgiving and it was one ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

We came for Thanksgiving and it was one of the best experiences of dining out for the Holiday we have ever had. We were seated immediately, service was anything but rushed and the food excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

last year's tday fixed price menu was mu ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

last year's tday fixed price menu was much better. there was sausage on the stuffing and the appetizer was much better. however, the turkey was moist and delicious this year. also, the wine pairing was silly, they brought out two glasses of wine at a time, when I inquired with the waiter he just said it was what his manager told him to do. I wanted to make this an annual tradition because last year was so fabulous, I'll probably only give raven and rose one more try next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner w ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner with our daughter attending PSU.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Came here for Thanksgiving - huge disapp ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Came here for Thanksgiving - huge disappointment! Stuffing was particularly disgusting...nothing but celery and tarragon MUSH. Turkey tasted like mystery meat. Service was TOO good - you know, when you're in and out of a restaurant in under 40 minutes? Not really a relaxing, leisurely meal. Felt like they were force feeding us for foie gras. I'll come back for a drink, but that's about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Went here for my birthday while I was vi ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here for my birthday while I was visiting my daughter in Portland. The atmosphere was so cozy which was wonderful on a cold rainy night. The service was excellent and friendly. The food was very good--no complaints from anyone. Would definitely go back when I go back to Portland.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was amazing. It is ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food and service was amazing. It is a bit more costly than some other nice restaurants just a heads up. But still some of the best food I have had in Portland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had such amazing service here, everyone ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had such amazing service here, everyone was so friendly. The food was great had a great selection for beer and wine. It was my fiances birthday he had such an amazing experience here. Would definitely recommend visiting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Made reservations earlier that day. We w ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Made reservations earlier that day. We were attending a concert a few blocks away. Service was excellent and friendly. I had scallops and my husband had venison. Both were excellent. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raven and Rose never fails to impress. T ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Raven and Rose never fails to impress. The wait staff remembered us and dietary restrictions even though we've really only been there a few times. It's a bit pricey would be my only complaint. I had a $13 mixed drink that was the size of a standard lemon drop. The food is always exquisite. Don't be afraid to try something new there, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing experience at Raven Rose! Wonder ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing experience at Raven Rose! Wonderful food, great cocktails, small wine list but very impressive. Best thing of our visit was seeing Daniel Mondok again!!! Have missed his food for a while!! He's taking the brand of Raven and Rose and put his beautiful twist on it!! Wonderful

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$42 for 4 scallops, with a few sprigs of ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

$42 for 4 scallops, with a few sprigs of greens as garnish? You decide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was very good and the service was g ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food was very good and the service was great. But the price was very high and the restaurant was so very noisy - it was difficult to talk and to hear what everyone in our party was saying. The prices were way too high for lunch and be aware that they charge or bread. They don't ask if you want to buy the bread dish but just say that they'll bring you bread which at normal restaurants it's included at no charge but not at Raven and Rose. That seemed a bit underhanded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

We had business lunch, under some time c ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had business lunch, under some time constraints, and the staff accommodated us very well. The food was quite good and well presented, and the place itself is charming.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fun, Happy Hour, Authentic, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Raven and Rose always provides a great s ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

Raven and Rose always provides a great start to an evening at the theatre or symphony.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.