About Raven & Rose

1331 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Raven & Rose offers classic farmhouse cookery, fine cocktails, beer and wine in Portland’s historic Ladd Carriage House. The first-floor dining room features the finest, simply-prepared cuisine, rooted in American cooking and influenced by the British Isles. The atmosphere is warm and inviting with the highest level of attentive, friendly service.The second-floor vaulted hayloft space is now a classic bar and lounge furnished with leather sofas, armchairs and cocktail tables that is at once intimate and grand, with soaring open trusses and a beautiful fireplace. It provides an exclusive hideaway for sipping cocktails inspired by the building’s exuberant history, for meeting friends for a game of chess or billiards, or enjoying after-dinner drinks, coffee and dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Irish, British

Hours of Operation:
SUMMER HOURS

Brunch
Sunday | 10am – 2pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11:30am – 2pm

Happy Hour In the Rookery Bar | 21+
Tues – Fri | 4pm – 6pm

Dinner | In Dining Room
Tues – Sat | 5pm – close

Upstairs Rookery Bar
Tues & Wed | 4pm – close
Thurs & Fri | 4pm – close
Saturday | 5pm – midnight
Sun – Mon | closed

Cross Street:
Columbia

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-7673

Website:
http://www.ravenandrosepdx.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music upstairs in the Hayloft
Traditional Irish Music EVERY Tuesday!
5:30PM – 7:30PM

Bluegrass & Folk Some Wednesdays | Please inquire
7:30PM – 9:30PM

Tyler Carson EVERY Thursday!
7:30PM – 9:30PM

FREE BILLIARDS EVERY DAY IN THE SECOND FLOOR ROOKERY BAR

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered and generally has good availability on surrounding blocks. There is also a parking garage with spaces available to the public at standard city parking rates located directly underneath the Carriage House, and the entrance is on Jefferson Street, on the left, at the block’s mid-point.

Public Transit:
MAX stops (3 blocks’ walk): Green/Yellow line, City Hall/SW 5th & Jefferson St

OR

Green/Yellow line, SW 6th & Madison.

Bus stops (1 block walk): SW Columbia & SW Park Ave, buses #6, 38, 45, 55, 58, 68, 92, 96.

SW 6th & Columbia, buses #35, 36, 44, 54, 56.

Light Rail stop: SW Park & Market

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR
Raven & Rose, Portland, OR

Raven & Rose Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Historic (21)
Romantic (21)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Authentic (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (6)
Fireplace (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great Beer (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The building (inside & out) is beautifu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

The building (inside & out) is beautiful. The front desk was very friendly and understanding that we were late due to an accident on I-5.

Our waitress was friendly but not overly happy that we asked to split the check.

The food quality was very good, but the prices were so high that it was hard to order anything.

The items on the menu are very eclectic. (Not a place for people who like simple foods or for children).

Overall our group of 6 was pleased with what we ordered- chicken and flatbread and cheese board; but not pleased with the cost.

The bread bowl was also very good- but we didn't realize it was an extra charge until we said yes, we wanted it.

It's located in a convenient spot if you're going to the theater; just be prepared to spend a lot.

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

The food was great as always! We love Ra ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great as always! We love Raven and Rose for when you just want a lovely, good, intimate dinner... Easy and wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding from start to finish. Seated ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding from start to finish. Seated promptly, server was very attentive yet not intrusive. Food was excellent. Steak done to perfection. Scallops were delicious too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for Thanksgiving and it was one ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We came for Thanksgiving and it was one of the best experiences of dining out for the Holiday we have ever had. We were seated immediately, service was anything but rushed and the food excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

last year's tday fixed price menu was mu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

last year's tday fixed price menu was much better. there was sausage on the stuffing and the appetizer was much better. however, the turkey was moist and delicious this year. also, the wine pairing was silly, they brought out two glasses of wine at a time, when I inquired with the waiter he just said it was what his manager told him to do. I wanted to make this an annual tradition because last year was so fabulous, I'll probably only give raven and rose one more try next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner with our daughter attending PSU.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Came here for Thanksgiving - huge disapp ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Came here for Thanksgiving - huge disappointment! Stuffing was particularly disgusting...nothing but celery and tarragon MUSH. Turkey tasted like mystery meat. Service was TOO good - you know, when you're in and out of a restaurant in under 40 minutes? Not really a relaxing, leisurely meal. Felt like they were force feeding us for foie gras. I'll come back for a drink, but that's about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The food and service was amazing. It is ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food and service was amazing. It is a bit more costly than some other nice restaurants just a heads up. But still some of the best food I have had in Portland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had such amazing service here, everyone ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had such amazing service here, everyone was so friendly. The food was great had a great selection for beer and wine. It was my fiances birthday he had such an amazing experience here. Would definitely recommend visiting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Made reservations earlier that day. We w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Made reservations earlier that day. We were attending a concert a few blocks away. Service was excellent and friendly. I had scallops and my husband had venison. Both were excellent. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raven and Rose never fails to impress. T ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Raven and Rose never fails to impress. The wait staff remembered us and dietary restrictions even though we've really only been there a few times. It's a bit pricey would be my only complaint. I had a $13 mixed drink that was the size of a standard lemon drop. The food is always exquisite. Don't be afraid to try something new there, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing experience at Raven Rose! Wonder ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing experience at Raven Rose! Wonderful food, great cocktails, small wine list but very impressive. Best thing of our visit was seeing Daniel Mondok again!!! Have missed his food for a while!! He's taking the brand of Raven and Rose and put his beautiful twist on it!! Wonderful

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$42 for 4 scallops, with a few sprigs of ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

$42 for 4 scallops, with a few sprigs of greens as garnish? You decide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was very good and the service was g ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food was very good and the service was great. But the price was very high and the restaurant was so very noisy - it was difficult to talk and to hear what everyone in our party was saying. The prices were way too high for lunch and be aware that they charge or bread. They don't ask if you want to buy the bread dish but just say that they'll bring you bread which at normal restaurants it's included at no charge but not at Raven and Rose. That seemed a bit underhanded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

We had business lunch, under some time c ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had business lunch, under some time constraints, and the staff accommodated us very well. The food was quite good and well presented, and the place itself is charming.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fun, Happy Hour, Authentic, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Raven and Rose always provides a great s ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Raven and Rose always provides a great start to an evening at the theatre or symphony.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There for our anniversary. Served us com ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

There for our anniversary. Served us complimentary champagne. Nice dim candle light setting. Amazing clam appetizer with a perfectly rich sauce. We had the scallops, wow. Good sized and best we ever had. Perfectly prepared. We also had the steak. Once again I have never had better. Melted in your mouth! With multiple drinks and tip we paid 185 but worth every penny! We got a seat close to upstairs bar. Noisy. Ask to be seated in main part of dining room.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time was excellent all around. Ro ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time was excellent all around. Rookery bar upstairs a great complement. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Raven & Rose is our go-to place for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Raven & Rose is our go-to place for dinner before a show at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall or one of the theaters in the Antoinette Hatfield Hall. It is only 2 to 3 blocks from the theaters and there is a parking garage under the restaurant. Very convenient. The pork chop with polenta and Brussels sprouts and was delicious and the Middle Eastern inspired lamb dish was very flavorful and tender. Don't expect an inexpensive meal, but expect amazing food and service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Raven & Rose is in an historic building ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Raven & Rose is in an historic building in Downtown Portland. The food, drinks, ambience, and service were outstanding. I had the chicken, my wife had the pork chop, and we split a Caesar salad made from kale. Both of our dinners came with artistically presented side dishes. We each had a martini made from local Aria gin and Ransom vermouth, and we took the recommendation of our wonderful waitress, Margot, on a glass of red wine each. We finished with a pumpkin dessert. I had an espresso, and we split a glass of sherry. This was our delayed wedding anniversary dinner, prior to seeing Il Divo in concert at the Schnitz. I wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant for special occasions! It was featured in an episode of Grimm a few years ago.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lunch was lovely. We enjoyed our foo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our lunch was lovely. We enjoyed our food and our server was excellent!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really good food and service. The dishe ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Really good food and service. The dishes were artistically displayed and the variety was really nice. I only partially ding it because the volume was really loud once more people started showing up and the lighting is fairly dark.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food prepared to excite the taste buds. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food prepared to excite the taste buds. Excellent presentation. Rustic elegance atmosphere. Be prepared to pay for the quality-- we split an entree, two soups,two salads, two beers-over $100

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was very rude and our experie ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server was very rude and our experience was poor. First, we were finally approached after we had been waiting to be served for nearly 25 minutes after getting seated. At this point, we were more than ready to put in our order for drinks and appetizers. As the server started to talk us through the specials, my dad politely spoke up and said that we actually knew what we wanted and were ready to order. The server rudely cut him off, saying "can I finish what I was saying first??". While none of us said anything, we were taken aback by her attitude, especially after we had been waiting patiently. The rest of the night, service was extremely slow and we had a long dining experience of almost three hours. As this was to informally celebrate my recent engagement, it was really unfortunate that the experience was such that we will never return here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was very good and the service f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was very good and the service friendly but the food was overpriced ($40.00 for salmon) and the wine list was very limited with not many choices and in my opinion a pretty high markup (3x). If I was on an expense account and needed a downtown spot this works but otherwise you can get much better meals in Portland for the price.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Gorgeous building. Very accomplished che ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Gorgeous building. Very accomplished chef. Good bar. However, the food server and receptionist were poor. The prices were high, but we expected high prices. The dishes we ordered were very good. But again, the service lagged in value v. the price charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

We had late lunch here on a Thursday - t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We had late lunch here on a Thursday - that timing was great for less room noise and more attention from the server. Good food and beer. Very cool, historic building.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a delightful brunch and both the ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a delightful brunch and both the wait staff and Paul the sous chef were delightful. We loved the fall preparation of quince ice cream and the corn beef hash.

Tags: Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were 4, and no one was disappointed w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were 4, and no one was disappointed with their order. Had the venison and it was fantastic!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Raven and Rose in celebration ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We visited Raven and Rose in celebration of you 32nd wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was pleasant as was the service. The waiter mentioned a number of specials including an aged 14oz Rib Eye with mushrooms and broccoli - it sounded fantastic. Upon arrival however I was met with disappointment on two fronts; the steak lacked flavor (it was not seared nor seasoned) and the cost, which was not disclosed by the waited (and I failed to inquire ) was $75 or $87 dollars a pound. Needles to say the meal was less than we hoped for but we enjoyed our time together non the less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

A wonderful restaurant right in downtown ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A wonderful restaurant right in downtown. The staff is sensitive to time needs for people who are going to a show. The main dishes were interesting and unique and everyone liked their dishes. The butterscotch pudding I had for desert was TO DIE FOR! YUMMY. Going back just for that.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Historic location with great service. Go ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Historic location with great service. Good food, great cocktails and dessert. A fitting atmosphere to linger from starters through to dessert. Go to engage with your dining companion over a good meal. Leave your cellphones in your pocket.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came in for a light dinner before a c ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We came in for a light dinner before a concert. Enjoyed a tangy Perfect Pear cocktail, delicious mixed greens and beet salads, topped off with the tasty flatbread. All tasted fresh and flavorful. We ended an enjoyable dining experience with the wonderful butterscotch pudding. Not to be missed!!

The folks who greeted us and served our meal were all gracious and friendly. We love the calm setting for a tasty meal and relaxed conversation. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and service. It was pricey ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Awesome food and service. It was pricey, but for a special occasion it worked.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food and the service was outstanding ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food and the service was outstanding. We had beef tender loin with caramelized onion and Yorkshire pudding. Fantastic. They also have interesting lighter fare, salads and desserts. Somewhat expensive, but with the cost.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unexpectedly good food and service on a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Unexpectedly good food and service on a rainy night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food. Even better atmosphere. But I ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good food. Even better atmosphere. But I have to say this: the most absurdly small martini I have ever been served in my entire life. I thought I might be on candid camera. I actually laughed when they brought it out. I cannot believe they actually think that is acceptable. Will likely not be back although may go upstairs late night for dessert - but no martini!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The restaurant was so crowded the night ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The restaurant was so crowded the night we were there that it took away from the whole evening. The noise level was too much and the time it took for the food to arrive was extremely slow, especially as we had theater tickets. The food had to be consumed hurriedly in order for us to get to our theater in time.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I very much liked the look of the interi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I very much liked the look of the interior, and the food was generally good. The biggest problem was the noise. I could not hear the waiter nor my friend for conversation. I would describe it as painful, not "energetic." The Yorkshire pudding was very dry. It needed some au jus, which was not available. I would recommend the restaurant only with a warning about the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food is good not great. For the pri ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food is good not great. For the prices that they charge, the food should be exceptional! They charge $29 for marginal chicken. The noise level is very loud. You find yourself speaking loudly to be heard. I definitely will not repeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.