Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Il PostaleIl Postale
(15)
$$$$
Italian | Sunnyvale, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 1 time today
The Oxford - SunnyvaleThe Oxford - Sunnyvale
(32)
$$$$
Contemporary British | Sunnyvale, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 1 time today
Vino Vino - SunnyvaleVino Vino - Sunnyvale
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Wine Bar | Sunnyvale, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 1 time today
Benihana - CupertinoBenihana - Cupertino
(1411)
$$$$
Japanese | Cupertino, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 126 times today
CascalCascal
(2808)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Mountain View, Peninsula
Booked 44 times today
Il Fornaio - Santa ClaraIl Fornaio - Santa Clara
(281)
$$$$
Italian | Santa Clara, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 59 times today
Paul Martin's American Grill - Mountain ViewPaul Martin's American Grill - Mountain View
(1000)
$$$$
American | Mountain View, Peninsula
Booked 23 times today
Scratch (Mtn View)Scratch (Mtn View)
(1517)
$$$$
American | Mountain View, Peninsula
Booked 26 times today
Pacific Catch Mountain ViewPacific Catch Mountain View
(560)
$$$$
Seafood | Mountain View, Peninsula
Booked 16 times today
Birk'sBirk's
(2189)
$$$$
American | Santa Clara, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 66 times today
Parcel 104Parcel 104
(1037)
$$$$
American | Santa Clara, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 33 times today
Cucina VentiCucina Venti
(340)
$$$$
Italian | Mountain View, Peninsula
Booked 19 times today
Cetrella - Los AltosCetrella - Los Altos
(390)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Los Altos, Peninsula
Booked 16 times today
Gyu-kaku - CupertinoGyu-kaku - Cupertino
(418)
$$$$
Japanese | Cupertino, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 38 times today
Black Angus Steakhouse - SunnyvaleBlack Angus Steakhouse - Sunnyvale
(1541)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Sunnyvale, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 17 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Rasam's

Rasam's in Sunnyvale is a sophisticated spot for modern Indian recipes. The eatery offers a mix of traditional tastes paired with fresh ingredients and creativity, making it an ideal location for brunch, high tea, lunch or dinner.

Rasam's small plates offerings like the bay paneer and classic chicken tikka are sure to become favorites. Entrée options include tamatar chicken, local halibut Bengali style, and many others. Vegetarians will love the vegetable biryani and the spiced baby corn. Rasam's also offers organic dishes like the lamb pepper fry for those who want clean options. Make sure to save room for the baked brioche and other desserts to finish the meal.

193 S. Murphy Ave
Sunnyvale, CA 94086
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Indian, Indian, Crossover

Hours of Operation:
Rasam’s is pleased to launch a more personalized dining experience by becoming “reservation-only” restaurant. YES! We are OPEN for Group Dining by reservation only. Advance notice of 48 hours is requested.

Cross Street:
South Murphy and Washington St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 245-8500

Website:
http://www.rasams.com/

Catering:
For large catering orders, please call manager during restaurant hours.

Public Transit:
Opposite Sunnyvale Caltrain Station, easily accessible by rail, convenient parking, situated in downtown Sunnyvale (across from Macy's parking lot).

Executive Chef:
Tom Borah

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
62 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Great bar, excellent food. Like their selection of beer. Will be back there soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2016

Use opentable gift card, manager refused to take a QR code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2016

My family and I made a reservation using open table for 2.15pm (ditching an available 2.30pm slot). As soon as we reached the restaurant, we were told that 2.15pm was the last order and there was no point coming in. WHAT??!!?? Why then does OpenTable offer a 2.15 (and worse) a 2.30pm slot then?

Fortunately, since this is located in Sunnyvale downtown, options were plenty.

The food and restaurant itself is excellent - but they ought to do a better job with open table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2015

Awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2015

We were four of us. 2 vegetarians in the group. The menu explained the dishes pretty well even though for those familiar with Indian cuisine it was plainly obvious. The starters we had was quite exotic & they used Western Sauces on Indian Street food, the end result was good. Quinoa kofta curry was an excellent entree so was the lamb. Overall, we enjoyed the dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Joe waited on us and he almost like read our minds what we wanted. Richard the manger stopped by and asked to be sure we got what we wanted. This restaurant has private area so we sat there noise level was very low. This restaurant has excellent food and great for special occasions. It's very romantic and also has a very good eating area outside. It's great for outdoor dining. When we checked the wine list I found excellent selection of hard to find wines
and this happens to be a vibrant late night find because there is often music. I love the place, this happens to be my neighborhood gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 15, 2015

I loved it's Bombay Dum biriyani, Quinoa kofta and olive and thyme naan. Now they have reduced restaurant to half and removed my favourite dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2015

Our food was good. Our server "Mithee" was very helpful, and provided us with additional information, regarding the food we ordered, in terms of the pairing. She also ensured that our drinks was customized, per our order. We had a good night. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2015

Food was really good. Service was a tad slow. My date was running a little late due to parking, so I was seated while I waited. It would have been nice if a waiter had come by as I would have ordered a glass of vino while I waited. Parking on a Saturday is horrendous due to the farmers market, so give yourself extra time to find a place to park and/or be willing to walk a bit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2015

Food was horrible. The restaurant was empty on a Saturday night. Food was too pricey. However very small quantity was provided. Service was very poor as well. Never ever recommend such as horrible, poor restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2015

Went with my wife to try this place out on a Friday night and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The ambience and decor of the place is not great. The restaurant has very high ceilings and they have got a sound system and glitter ball in the back, presumably to make sure they can cater for weddings and parties etc. As a result the dining area doesn't feel very intimate or cosy.
The food was great, though. We had a lamb curry and an extremely tasty spinach curry with water chestnuts. The naan bread with olive oil and thyme was good too.
Service was fine, food came quickly and our server was cheerful and attentive.
Overall a good meal and probably the best Indian food we have found in the South Bay. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2015

Quinoa kofta anyone ? How about palak chaat...they have a decent cocktail menu. They are a good option for a large group. They have set menu options so it is hassle free for someone hosting a big group. Order in advance and you are all set. A little pricey but the food quality , ambiance, location and service are worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2015

Service was slow. Ordered chicken tikka and rogan josh. What showed up is cutlet and chicken curry. Called waiter. Came at own slow pace. He corrected the error!! Food was good. Wished for faster service

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2015

It's rare to find a restaurant that can skillfully fuse Indian and Western cuisine. I give Rasams 5 stars for the quality and innovation of their menu. Everything I've tried (been there twice so far) has been top notch. The salmon was very fresh and very flavorful, the quail dish with pesto was addictive and the upma served with the halibut outstanding. Would definitely eat here again. Have to say their cocktails are a little lackluster.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2015

Went here for a celebration dinner with my parents. The food here is great, but a little on the pricey side for Indian food, so make sure you are expecting it. Most Indian restaurants don't have a great ambiance; this place was very different from all the other Indian restaurants I have been to. We got a few dishes to share, starting off with the combination kebab and the goat biryani. It was all delicious. They also have a bar area which is nice. Overall a good experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 8, 2015

We had a hard time finding the place and when we reached there we did not like the menu and left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2015

We are vegan and we have not been here one time when the servers didn't bend over backwards to take care of our dietary needs. Indian food is frequently vegetarian, but they do prepare some dishes with cream and /or clarified butter. They will always go in, speak with the chef, and come out with Vegan suggestions. They don't act as if it's a hassle at all. We love this place

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2015

They cancelled our reservation as we were 2 mins late. Food was okay, but very small portions and super expensive. Service was terrible, esp when a dinner costs $100. Not worth at all. Go to Dosa on Valencia/Filimore instead.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2015

All about the food. Chef is brilliant. You have to pay homage To the lobster entree. Also Malabar prawn appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2015

Rasam's has taken what most Americans think of as "Indian food" and made it reflective of our global culture, here in Sunnyvale. Each dish retains the fundamental components of Asian Indian cuisine (specifically, they claim, "modern Hindustani" cuisine) and then integrates other ethnic cuisine elements seamlessly. However, these dishes do not reflect the Hindu Dharmaśāstras that outlines which foods are the Hindu equivalent of kosher. They serve dairy-based foods (e.g., for tandoor-prepared dishes) and (a little) beef. There is a substantial vegetarian menu. Most other dishes use either chicken or lamb.

The flavor balances are well executed. The presentation is attractive, especially for dishes like the "Fisherman's Bowl." (Yes, they make this dish with delicious Indian herbs and spices.) This dish includes large prawns, large scallops, and large pieces of salmon. The sauce is worth ordering naan so you have a way to get the last of it, once you've devoured the seafood. My dining partner ordered Pind Da Kukad (a chicken curry), which had a totally different flavor profile and was equally delicious.

I've eaten here twice and will definitely go back... again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2015

When my team asked to go out for Indian, we decided to try Rasam IC in sunnyvale. Itvwas an eclectic mix of traditional Indian food & exotic mixes.
The service was nice and the ambience was nice as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2015

Love their cocktails too. Try out their Irish mule and Moscow mule.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2015

Service was poor, had to get waiters attention. It was noisy (need to turn down live music volume).

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2014

I have been to this restaurant twice now and I have loved it both times. The food is very tasty and the waiters are all so friendly and knowledgeable of the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2014

We happened to have reservations at Rasam's on a rare evening when the restaurant was not packed. Our server was appropriately attentive without hovering. My dinner partner and I both chose a chicken curry that was unlike any either of us had ever had (and we both love Indian food). The dish was delicious. We agreed that we'd be back because not only was our meal wonderful but also there are so many other dishes on the menu that we would love to try. We were served by a small team who made sure our water glasses were full and empty plates were removed in a timely way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2014

Had dinner there while on a business trip. Service was prompt and friendly. The menu has a nice selection of Indian food. I chose a lamb curry with some flatbread and liked it. Spices, textures and hotness were enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 7, 2014

Really good food. I'd call it modernized rather than fusion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2014

Had lunch here - it was a nice day and we chose to sit outside. Seating on Murphy street was in the shade and very pleasant. Service was very good and the food was delicious. I had the Roti-pe-boti from the lunch bites menu. The lamb was tender, the spices great and the naan was fresh. Altogether wonderful. My guest had the butter chicken lunch and said it was delicious. The lunch came with salad, rice and a basket of Naan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2014

Love it...the chef (s?) do an excellent job with spices! Plan mant future repeat visits.....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2014

Enjpyed the chaat sampler, though the kurkure bhel didn't have much going for it. The veg biryani and the utthappam plate were both very good. Service was good as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 9, 2014

Had a business lunch - very impressed with both the quality of the food and the execution. Some interesting modern takes on classic dishes. The kitchen is really firing on all cylinders . Unfortunately though the servers were very solicitous and polite they forgot to put in our order ! We got served 40 min later than people who cam in after us

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2014

I ate lunch here with a friend in mid June. After checking in with the server and announcing I had a reservation we were seated outside on Murphy Avenue.
The table was pleasant and the food tasty .

My complaint is that I was later emailed by Open Table asking why I had missed my reservation. Since the place was almost empty when I checked in, I assume the server had not bothered to log me in with the Open Table software which resulted in a black mark against my OT account. I had to submit a detailed explanation of the situation to avoid being blacklisted and having my Open Table account closed! Not good Rassam. Your wait staff needs training.
John Kelly

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2014

Hands down the best, contemporary Indian restaurant in Sunnyvale that caters to the wider audience. Food is flavorful, service is good, and the location is the BEST. Good portion sizes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 5, 2014

The lobster dish was fantastic. It's quite a big dish and the price is reasonable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2014

Tony, the waiter, will steer you well at this fab Indian restaurant. The chicken was succulent and steamed to perfection with the fragrantly spiced rice in a sort of pot pie. Lamb korma was excellent-- no fatty, gristle as is some places. Nice wine list. The inside looks "lounge-y" so we sat out on a lovely evening, people watching on Murphy St, the one block in Sunnyvale with character!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 9, 2014

Nice fusion of Indian food. Good items on menu. They do good job in preparing dishes that have Indian flavor with either fusion from different parts of India or using non-Indian food style. I particularly found Tandoori Salmon creative and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2014

My friends and I really enjoyed our lunch dining out on the sidewalk under the trees. Service was prompt and professional, we enjoyed our food but for the value, I am sure we could have found a much better deal somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2014

The menu was impressive for restaurant week and we had a tasty sampling of their most enticing-sounding dishes. We were so impressed we added on several small dishes and a cocktail and we're really wowed and pleased with our first time there. Our server was a little spacey at times but we did appreciate the manager/owner stopping by to personally see how the meal was going.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2014

WE really enjoyed the food, it was tasty and different. Can't say so much for the music that was advertised. Turned into easy listening instead of real Gypsy music, that's not to say it wasn't good, just not what we were expecting. The service was good as well, friendly easy folks. This is a nice place to come for night out or for a different dining experience. The only real problem was a couple of families with extremely loud kids that the management didn't seem to care about how disruptive they were. Hopefully they do well in the location they're in and stay around for a good long time. We plan on visiting again in the near future. I think doing some research about the area this food and the people are from is a good idea before you go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2014

Loved the ambience and the clean settings with excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.