HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Rasam's

4.0
62 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Indian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for Groups
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

Rasam's in Sunnyvale is a sophisticated spot for modern Indian recipes. The eatery offers a mix of traditional tastes paired with fresh ingredients and creativity, making it an ideal location for brunch, high tea, lunch or dinner.

Rasam's small plates offerings like the bay paneer and classic chicken tikka are sure to become favorites. Entrée options include tamatar chicken, local halibut Bengali style, and many others. Vegetarians will love the vegetable biryani and the spiced baby corn. Rasam's also offers organic dishes like the lamb pepper fry for those who want clean options. Make sure to save room for the baked brioche and other desserts to finish the meal.

Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Indian, Indian, Crossover
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Rasam’s is pleased to launch a more personalized dining experience by becoming “reservation-only” restaurant. YES! We are OPEN for Group Dining by reservation only. Advance notice of 48 hours is requested.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(408) 245-8500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tom Borah
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For large catering orders, please call manager during restaurant hours.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
South Murphy and Washington St
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Opposite Sunnyvale Caltrain Station, easily accessible by rail, convenient parking, situated in downtown Sunnyvale (across from Macy's parking lot).
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 62 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0  based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.0
service
4.0
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipAK19 (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on February 25, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Great bar, excellent food. Like their selection of beer. Will be back there soon.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on February 9, 2016

Use opentable gift card, manager refused to take a QR code.

Report
Helpful
SeNaInCA (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on January 2, 2016

My family and I made a reservation using open table for 2.15pm (ditching an available 2.30pm slot). As soon as we reached the restaurant, we were told that 2.15pm was the last order and there was no point coming in. WHAT??!!?? Why then does OpenTable offer a 2.15 (and worse) a 2.30pm slot then?

Fortunately, since this is located in Sunnyvale downtown, options were plenty.

The food and restaurant itself is excellent - but they ought to do a better job with open table.

Report
Helpful
SandM (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 29, 2015

Awesome food!

Report
Helpful
Rohan (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on October 30, 2015

We were four of us. 2 vegetarians in the group. The menu explained the dishes pretty well even though for those familiar with Indian cuisine it was plainly obvious. The starters we had was quite exotic & they used Western Sauces on Indian Street food, the end result was good. Quinoa kofta curry was an excellent entree so was the lamb. Overall, we enjoyed the dining experience.

Report
Helpful
alraytse (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on October 24, 2015

Joe waited on us and he almost like read our minds what we wanted. Richard the manger stopped by and asked to be sure we got what we wanted. This restaurant has private area so we sat there noise level was very low. This restaurant has excellent food and great for special occasions. It's very romantic and also has a very good eating area outside. It's great for outdoor dining. When we checked the wine list I found excellent selection of hard to find wines
and this happens to be a vibrant late night find because there is often music. I love the place, this happens to be my neighborhood gem!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Orange County)
5.0  Dined on October 15, 2015

I loved it's Bombay Dum biriyani, Quinoa kofta and olive and thyme naan. Now they have reduced restaurant to half and removed my favourite dishes.

Report
Helpful
SimplyVeg (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on September 4, 2015

Our food was good. Our server "Mithee" was very helpful, and provided us with additional information, regarding the food we ordered, in terms of the pairing. She also ensured that our drinks was customized, per our order. We had a good night. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on August 29, 2015

Food was really good. Service was a tad slow. My date was running a little late due to parking, so I was seated while I waited. It would have been nice if a waiter had come by as I would have ordered a glass of vino while I waited. Parking on a Saturday is horrendous due to the farmers market, so give yourself extra time to find a place to park and/or be willing to walk a bit.

Report
Helpful
Horrible (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on August 8, 2015

Food was horrible. The restaurant was empty on a Saturday night. Food was too pricey. However very small quantity was provided. Service was very poor as well. Never ever recommend such as horrible, poor restaurant to anyone.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on June 26, 2015

Went with my wife to try this place out on a Friday night and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The ambience and decor of the place is not great. The restaurant has very high ceilings and they have got a sound system and glitter ball in the back, presumably to make sure they can cater for weddings and parties etc. As a result the dining area doesn't feel very intimate or cosy.
The food was great, though. We had a lamb curry and an extremely tasty spinach curry with water chestnuts. The naan bread with olive oil and thyme was good too.
Service was fine, food came quickly and our server was cheerful and attentive.
Overall a good meal and probably the best Indian food we have found in the South Bay. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
AgathaBals (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on May 21, 2015

Quinoa kofta anyone ? How about palak chaat...they have a decent cocktail menu. They are a good option for a large group. They have set menu options so it is hassle free for someone hosting a big group. Order in advance and you are all set. A little pricey but the food quality , ambiance, location and service are worth it.

Report
Helpful
KingKong (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on May 1, 2015

Service was slow. Ordered chicken tikka and rogan josh. What showed up is cutlet and chicken curry. Called waiter. Came at own slow pace. He corrected the error!! Food was good. Wished for faster service

Report
Helpful
vipaltatante (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on March 28, 2015

It's rare to find a restaurant that can skillfully fuse Indian and Western cuisine. I give Rasams 5 stars for the quality and innovation of their menu. Everything I've tried (been there twice so far) has been top notch. The salmon was very fresh and very flavorful, the quail dish with pesto was addictive and the upma served with the halibut outstanding. Would definitely eat here again. Have to say their cocktails are a little lackluster.

Report
Helpful
Tanu (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on March 13, 2015

Went here for a celebration dinner with my parents. The food here is great, but a little on the pricey side for Indian food, so make sure you are expecting it. Most Indian restaurants don't have a great ambiance; this place was very different from all the other Indian restaurants I have been to. We got a few dishes to share, starting off with the combination kebab and the goat biryani. It was all delicious. They also have a bar area which is nice. Overall a good experience.

Report
Helpful
vipRamu (Detroit)
1.0  Dined on March 8, 2015

We had a hard time finding the place and when we reached there we did not like the menu and left

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 20, 2015

We are vegan and we have not been here one time when the servers didn't bend over backwards to take care of our dietary needs. Indian food is frequently vegetarian, but they do prepare some dishes with cream and /or clarified butter. They will always go in, speak with the chef, and come out with Vegan suggestions. They don't act as if it's a hassle at all. We love this place

Report
Helpful
JayIyer (San Francisco)
2.0  Dined on February 15, 2015

They cancelled our reservation as we were 2 mins late. Food was okay, but very small portions and super expensive. Service was terrible, esp when a dinner costs $100. Not worth at all. Go to Dosa on Valencia/Filimore instead.

Report
Helpful
RoyBoy (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2015

All about the food. Chef is brilliant. You have to pay homage To the lobster entree. Also Malabar prawn appetizer.

Report
Helpful
CaliforniaPatricia (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2015

Rasam's has taken what most Americans think of as "Indian food" and made it reflective of our global culture, here in Sunnyvale. Each dish retains the fundamental components of Asian Indian cuisine (specifically, they claim, "modern Hindustani" cuisine) and then integrates other ethnic cuisine elements seamlessly. However, these dishes do not reflect the Hindu Dharmaśāstras that outlines which foods are the Hindu equivalent of kosher. They serve dairy-based foods (e.g., for tandoor-prepared dishes) and (a little) beef. There is a substantial vegetarian menu. Most other dishes use either chicken or lamb.

The flavor balances are well executed. The presentation is attractive, especially for dishes like the "Fisherman's Bowl." (Yes, they make this dish with delicious Indian herbs and spices.) This dish includes large prawns, large scallops, and large pieces of salmon. The sauce is worth ordering naan so you have a way to get the last of it, once you've devoured the seafood. My dining partner ordered Pind Da Kukad (a chicken curry), which had a totally different flavor profile and was equally delicious.

I've eaten here twice and will definitely go back... again and again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4