About Rare Chop House

224 South Tenth Street
Mount Vernon, IL 62864
View Larger Map

Come and enjoy the region's most exquisite culinary experience, from our open kitchen, to our Wine Room with 1000+ wines from all over the world, to the unique culinary cuisine prepared by the one and only Chef James Rushing. Exceptional Food and even better service await your palate here at RARE Chophouse, just off the square in Mt. Vernon! Visit us online at www.rarechophouse.com.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 244-7273

Website:
http://www.rarechophouse.com/

Parking Details:
RARE Features a small parking lot on the South side of the building with handicap accessibility, 2 other parking facilities across Jordan Street, and across Broadway, as well as a City Parking Lot caddy-corner to RARE.

Executive Chef:
James Rushing

Private Party Facilities:
We feature several private dining opportunities for your meetings, parties, showers, celebrations, and everything in between.
We feature a Semi-Private dining area adjacent to the main dining floor behind frosted glass that can hold larger parties of 20-25. For your private needs we have the "LJB Room" complete with a Board Room table that seats 12 comfortably, a media center that plugs directly into our 60' Big Screen TV on the wall, a private entrance, and beautiful Art from all over the world. RARE requires only a minimum purchase of $500 to reserve the LJB Room. Call us directly for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Brandon Bullard: (618) 244-7273

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rare Chop House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Historic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Live Music (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I went for our first dining experience to RARE CHOP HOUSE on Friday, February 24, 2017. We had heard good things about the restaurant. We were seated promptly with a reservation. They were having a special Mardi Gras Celebration with a live band in the bar section. We knew several musicians in the band and were excited for an evening of good food and music!

I ordered the Prime Rib and my wife ordered a pasta dish. Neither dish was hot when it arrived at the table and the prime rib, although ordered MEDIUM RARE, was horribly overcooked and dried out. Both dishes were tasteless and bland. The crab cake appetizer was by far the best thing we ate. It had flavor and was cooked well.

We had to buy bread to accompany our meal. Odd. The breads were all dry and crumbly with exception of the plain dinner roll, which was... a plain dinner roll. The waitress seemed overworked with too many tables. My drink glass sat empty on two separate occasions during the meal. The bus staff were the ones who took away our uneaten plates of food, so the waitress never saw that neither of us took more than two bites of the meal. This afforded us no opportunity to give any feedback on the quality, presentation, or lack of flavor in the food. We were never approached by a manger to welcome us or assess our experience. He did speak to several other tables during our one hour stay.

Overall, our experience was VERY DISSAPOINTING.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent evening with great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Met friends for Mardi Gra dinner. The food, as always, was amazing. I tried the duck pot pie and was not disappointed. Was a little louder than normal, could have been just the crowd.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely great 3 course meal. Did not disappointed. Traveling thru from MN; take the time to stop over. You won't regret it!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Unfortunately my date wasn't able to go so u decided to go by myself and it was worth it. I had the 3 course meal with the wine pairing and it was Devine! The service was great and everyone was very pleasant. I would definitely go again either with or without someone with me.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a wonderful Valentines Day dinner. Little expensive but if you want great food and service you will not be disappointed. Love going to the Rare!

Tags: Historic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Friends from out of town were visiting!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Took the wife for valentine's a few days early. Food was really good as usual. Waitress was great. Only problem was we had a reservation and they didn't have a table for us. They comped us a round of drinks to make up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service and food. Amazing wine list! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic place! Love the old building and the atmosphere. Food was awesome and the staff was great! I was expecting to spend at least 120.00 that night but the dinner for 2 option is a great value! Spent way less even with the tip! Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I continue to go back to Rare as they continue to improve the experience. We ate from the conventional menu, though the Experience menu was tempting - who wouldn't be tempted with an included bottle of wine? Abby was excellent - knew the menu, attentive without being a nuisance - great skill! Bradley chose our wine for us, and though I don't usually drink red wine, his description of taste and grape was spot on. Well done! Must say this - Abby listened attentively to any small critique we had and acted accordingly - there are places around the world I've eaten at, and her service was outstanding - she's a keeper. My advice - keep going back - it gets better and better. Worth the trip from anywhere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything from the appetizer to dessert was fabulous! Knowledgeable and courteous staff. Great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The prime rib is amazing. My wife had the fish is said it was very good. Entire staff is amazing. Bar tenders and servers are very knowledgeable and strive to take care of your every need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The cocktail program could use some work. Sadly lacking in craft and innovation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We like Rare for a special occasion. It was great

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

2nd year in a row we have met with friends for New Years Eve dinner. We request the private dining as there are 12 in our group. The service was excellent. They didn't have a surf and turf option like they did the year before, but the food was still amazing. Will be back with the same group next year!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Small company Christmas party. Throughly enjoyed the entire dinner! Really great service, food was wonderful. Perfect evening

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very nice and really good food. Pastry chef is awsome! Definitely get dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were a group of 10 for a Christmas get together. We made reservations and RARE gave us a prjvate room. The service was great, food couldn't have been better. It was a very nice relaxing evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious meal once again! They have definitely mastered 'sous vide'! Great wine choices, also.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love this restaurant! We were hoping that the switch to the new fall menu had occurred but not yet. Great local place with excellent staff who are very familiar with the restaurants offerings. We go every couple of weeks or so and haven't ever been disappointed yet.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Historic, Disabled Access, Private Room, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Always very reliable for food quality. Prices comparable to St. Louis though. A reference in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I travel to Mt Vernon several times a year to meet an old friend. Once we found the Rare Chophouse we've never tried any other restaurant. We get excellent service, great food and we are never rushed. We try everything, appetizers, salad, entrees and desserts and it's all wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We read the reviews and thought we would give it a try. We were very pleased with the decor, the service and the food. Only one complaint, we ordered two filets and they only had one left. So, we got the one filet and the pasta special. Both of them were very good but I really wish they would have had another filet. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We there for our anniversary. I had the ribeye and it was perfect. My wife loved the salmon. We also enjoyed the moscato wine

Thank you for an excellent evening

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were there for a birthday and also had two young children with us. The staff made us feel very welcome. They were able to juggle our orders (multiple tickets) without complaint. Also was accommodating with the meals for the children coming out earlier with the appetizers. I would highly recommend this restaurant!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Negatively the coffee was old and desert ice cream skimpy other than that we had a fine

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We rented a private dining room for a family reunion with 12 people (that actually ended up being only 9). The food, when we got it, was absolutely superb. Two of my favorite wines were on the list (Ferrari Carrano and Cline Cellars- we ordered two each) Unfortunately the server forgot us a lot. After our hors d'ouevres and the wine were served, she disappeared. After an inexcusable delay, I went into the dining room and talked to a woman who seemed to have some authority who said "I'll get somebody in there right away." Just under 15 minutes later I went back out to ask for somebody to take our entree orders. That time it worked. The server came in 5 minutes later. I think that if we'd been in the main dining room the server issues might not have been a problem but when 9 people are willing to pop a little over $500 (not including tip) for a dinner, service should be a primary concern of the management.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always great! The staff even recalled my wife's cocktail preference and even joked they had renamed it in her honor since it is an off menu drink order. Staff is well informed on all menu items and very attentive and friendly. Prime rib is excellent. New fall menu is rumored to begin soon. Looking forward to it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My guest and I both tried the hanger steak which was a marinated flank steak over cheddar/jalapeno grits topped off with a chimichurri. All ingredients had a great depth of flavor, and for the cut of steak being a flank, it was surprisingly tender and loaded with flavor. We started off with the crab stuffed mushrooms which were standard, good but overpriced in my opinion. Each had a soup or salad. I opted for the broccoli cheddar which was nothing over the top, but good hearty flavor. My friend ordered the spinach watermelon salad which was pretty tasty, but for $8 seemed overpriced for such simple ingredients on a pre-dinner salad. To top it off, we both ordered dessert and were very much pleased with the chocolate bread pudding and crème brulee. All in all a satisfying experience, but with two cocktails, dinner, dessert, and tip the total bill came out to just over $150 for two. We would definitely return, but it's not an every weekend type of place for me. Something very nice for a change, and glad to see it so close to home. Definitely recommend for a date nite for couples. Great ambiance and service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Enjoyable evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very good food. A little pricey. But over all very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our food was delicious. This is not your every day diner--but a sophisticated dining venue and atmosphere. The food reflects this sophistication. The Sous Vide process was used for cooking out steaks and they were outstanding! Tender. Flavorful. All in all a fine dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was fine, nothing extraordinary. The portions were very small for the price of the dish. The cheesecake was below par.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Anniversary dinner at Rare Chop House. We had crab stuffed mushrooms for an appetizer that were amazing. Both of our entrees were quite delicious as well. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive to our needs/wishes. It was a wonderful dinner date.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Service is always great. Dinner menu can be a little expensive but it is worth it. WE have had most of the appetizers now and haven't found one we wouldn't order again. Fish dishes are very good as well. Prime Rib was excellent. Bar tenders are very good at making mixed drinks and will go off the menu if they have the ingredients. Beautifully restored restaurant that is unique to Mt Vernon if you want to get away from the chain style restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were celebrating my wife's birthday with our son and his family as well as my parents. The service was excellent and the food was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My steak was one of the best I have had. Good baked potato. For the price I would have liked to have a salad with my steak and potato. Prices were high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very pricey and only adequate food. Steaks were good, not great. Salmon was awful! Baked potatoes were on small side compared to most steak houses. The restaurant was beautiful and our waitress was amazing but wouldn't pay those prices again for just an ok meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love fine dining, and we were not disappointed with our dinner experience at Rare Chop House! The food was delicious; the service was fantastic; the dining environment was great! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food and service were excellent as always. Restaurant was a little on the cold side with a lot of the ladies choosing to wear light weight jackets. We wrote this off to the changing of the seasons and perhaps the thermostats hadn't been adjusted yet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Spectacular food in gorgeous restaurant. All steaks were tender, cooked to specifications and full of flavor.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fantastic dinner! We had just spent 3 days in New Orleans and this was the best meal of our trip. The night we were there, there was an amazing duo singing and playing guitar and fiddle at the bar. Such a nice evening!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Shrimp appetizer was very good. All the rest was good as well! We always enjoy our meal at Rare Chop House .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Nice place and close to home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Went for the prime rib but ended up going with the special tomahawk rib-eye. Expensive but a great treat! Staff is top notch. Nice bar area with regularly rotated draft selections. All around great restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Homemade ravioli were DELISH!! Service was fantastic! Gotta eat here if you have a chance!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It took over an hour to be served our entree. My wife cannot eat olive oil or canola oil. Told server. Very few options on the menu for that restriction. However, ordered a filet with no sauce. After about an hour of waiting, server said kitchen messed up and made filet with the sauce. Had to redo. Waited again. Eventually dinner for both was served about 1 hr 10 min or so after order. Dinner good and didn't charge us for the filet. Ordered desert an coffee but that took some time also and finally cancelled it. Left about 1-1/2 after arriving

Been there a couple of times before when travelling through the area. Done with it . Server was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great aged NY strip. I went to the resturant for the prime rib but once I heard the special for a aged NY strip I had to try it. Always great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent filet - literally cut it with a fork and melt in your mouth. The salad was awesome, feta was really good (I am Greek so I get critical about feta). I really had a great time with my date. We loved it - even the after dinner music in the bar area. The guy was classy and very good musically - excellent voice. 100% class with this place - I was very impressed - drove 1.5 hours to go there!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.