Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

About Rare Chop House

Come and enjoy the region's most exquisite culinary experience, from our open kitchen, to our Wine Room with 1000+ wines from all over the world, to the unique culinary cuisine prepared by the one and only Chef James Rushing. Exceptional Food and even better service await your palate here at RARE Chophouse, just off the square in Mt. Vernon! Visit us online at www.rarechophouse.com.

224 South Tenth Street
Mount Vernon, IL 62864
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 244-7273

Website:
http://www.rarechophouse.com/

Parking Details:
RARE Features a small parking lot on the South side of the building with handicap accessibility, 2 other parking facilities across Jordan Street, and across Broadway, as well as a City Parking Lot caddy-corner to RARE.

Executive Chef:
James Rushing

Private Party Facilities:
We feature several private dining opportunities for your meetings, parties, showers, celebrations, and everything in between.
We feature a Semi-Private dining area adjacent to the main dining floor behind frosted glass that can hold larger parties of 20-25. For your private needs we have the "LJB Room" complete with a Board Room table that seats 12 comfortably, a media center that plugs directly into our 60' Big Screen TV on the wall, a private entrance, and beautiful Art from all over the world. RARE requires only a minimum purchase of $500 to reserve the LJB Room. Call us directly for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Brandon Bullard: (618) 244-7273

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rare Chop House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Music (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We have eaten here several times. It was busier than usual and service was poor. Had to keep asking for water etc. Bread is not served here which seems strange for this quality of restaurant. We'll be back as past experience was much better than this trip.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We try to dine here few times a year but haven't been for a little while. Everything was great as usual, except for the menu. Our favorite dishes had been take off and there were very few options other than beef. I know, it's a chop house, but in our opinion they were much more before the menu change. Besides the above mentioned, it's still one of my favorites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Meal was great as always. Staff is really friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Always a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent Wine list, outstanding meal selection, pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent service. Very good food. Great atmosphere. Very pricey. Mixed drinks way over priced.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Second time we we have ate at Rare for our anniversary. Both times were great. Great steaks and great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A great night out for our 22nd anniversary. Private dining plus an excellent waitress-Mollee. Really enjoyed the food and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It was very good, just wanted some bread but I will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We always enjoy Rare. I'm very glad this area has a place like this.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husband and I came to Rare to celebrate my one year anniversary from my last Chemo treatment. We got there early enough we were there by ourselves for a while, it was nice! The server was great and the food was excellent! Definitely going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Have been going to Rare since it opened and loved every meal. However, our brunch was past poor (what there was of it). Poor menu selections. Our food was not hot. This occasion was not indicative of the quality Rare usually puts out. Very disappointing but we will go back because we know they are capable of much better. Brunch is not their thing apparently.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Graduation

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Just a great restaurant, would give it a 5 for food but my steak was closer to medium well than medium...still a really good steak. The quality of food here is the best around. Not cheap, but not over priced either.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, food and drink in a very pleasant environment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great place for a special dinner. Prime rib Friday nights are reason enough. The entire staff is very good and very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Not all that impressed. Made reservations a week prior and was seated next to the bathroom with several tables still available. The temp inside was so cold my teeth were chattering and I'm hot natured. Ordered the steak au pouivre which was extremely salty. Probably won't be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I have just relocated to this area and have had the opportunity to dine at Rare Chop House for both lunch and dinner. The service has been exceptional and the food excellent each visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I came to Rare to celebrate a friend's birthday on Saturday evening. First impression was fairly nice. Good Decor, Quiet. Our server Josh came over to tell us about the specials that they had. When we were ready to order, he came over to take our orders. We ordered drinks and my friend who was celebrating her birthday, gave the server her ID. The new state rule is that to renew your license, they give you a paper form of ID and mail the ID within 3 weeks. She handed over the paper ID to the server. He looked surprised, looked at us, looked back at the ID and then went back to show the manager the ID. The manager came over to discuss with us and said he'd never seen anything like it. We went back and forth, telling him that this was the new state law. He refused and said he couldn't serve us. Told him he could call the police to verify the ID. AT this point attention had been drawn on to us from waiters and other customers. manager comes back with executive chef and it was only when the executive chef said this is what sos did now that the manager agreed to allow it. As they walked away this made us feel some type of way so i asked for the manager back and asked for a discount of some sort for the embarrassment and the attention that had been drawn on us. He didn't feel as if he did anything wrong, when i expressed my feeling of being uncomfortable at which point the manager said that he was also uncomfortable. He went as far as telling us that we could leave and that we didn't have to eat there. We expressed that we drove an hour to come to this restaurant. He didn't care. And expressed that. I should mention at this point that were black. After the confrontation. He had to call a black waiter to attempt to "speak our language". This was extremely rude. Coming from the manager, this was unacceptable. Worst experience I've ever had at a restaurant. While I'm sure that the service would have been fine if there was no ID debacle, the way this was handled was egregious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Prime rib friday nights are always amazing. Staff is very knowledgeable and attentive. Nice IPA selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

A diamond in the rough! This place is great...excellent food!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I came in for a solo dinner after a long day of business. I was quickly greeted and seated. I ordered the flank steak with house salad. The steak was excellent and well marinated with perfect seasoning. I love Rare..,..best spot in Mt. Vernon....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was my second time here and I enjoyed it again. I am visiting from out of town and Rare reminds me of the restaurants I am used to going to. So happy Mt. Vernon has such a nice restaurant to go to. I am sure I will be back on my next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Highly recommend this as a special dining locale. The dinner for 2 for $50 was fantastic. Appetizer or salads, two entrees, and 2 desserts or a bottle of wine. We had the crab cakes, NY strip, hanger steak with cheesy jalapeño grits, and a dessert sampler. Wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great service with excellent food. Nice wine selection. Very nicely arranged and decorated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed our evening celebrating my wife's birthday. Service was excellent

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My wife and I went for our first dining experience to RARE CHOP HOUSE on Friday, February 24, 2017. We had heard good things about the restaurant. We were seated promptly with a reservation. They were having a special Mardi Gras Celebration with a live band in the bar section. We knew several musicians in the band and were excited for an evening of good food and music!

I ordered the Prime Rib and my wife ordered a pasta dish. Neither dish was hot when it arrived at the table and the prime rib, although ordered MEDIUM RARE, was horribly overcooked and dried out. Both dishes were tasteless and bland. The crab cake appetizer was by far the best thing we ate. It had flavor and was cooked well.

We had to buy bread to accompany our meal. Odd. The breads were all dry and crumbly with exception of the plain dinner roll, which was... a plain dinner roll. The waitress seemed overworked with too many tables. My drink glass sat empty on two separate occasions during the meal. The bus staff were the ones who took away our uneaten plates of food, so the waitress never saw that neither of us took more than two bites of the meal. This afforded us no opportunity to give any feedback on the quality, presentation, or lack of flavor in the food. We were never approached by a manger to welcome us or assess our experience. He did speak to several other tables during our one hour stay.

Overall, our experience was VERY DISSAPOINTING.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent evening with great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Met friends for Mardi Gra dinner. The food, as always, was amazing. I tried the duck pot pie and was not disappointed. Was a little louder than normal, could have been just the crowd.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely great 3 course meal. Did not disappointed. Traveling thru from MN; take the time to stop over. You won't regret it!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unfortunately my date wasn't able to go so u decided to go by myself and it was worth it. I had the 3 course meal with the wine pairing and it was Devine! The service was great and everyone was very pleasant. I would definitely go again either with or without someone with me.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a wonderful Valentines Day dinner. Little expensive but if you want great food and service you will not be disappointed. Love going to the Rare!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Friends from out of town were visiting!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Took the wife for valentine's a few days early. Food was really good as usual. Waitress was great. Only problem was we had a reservation and they didn't have a table for us. They comped us a round of drinks to make up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service and food. Amazing wine list! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic place! Love the old building and the atmosphere. Food was awesome and the staff was great! I was expecting to spend at least 120.00 that night but the dinner for 2 option is a great value! Spent way less even with the tip! Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I continue to go back to Rare as they continue to improve the experience. We ate from the conventional menu, though the Experience menu was tempting - who wouldn't be tempted with an included bottle of wine? Abby was excellent - knew the menu, attentive without being a nuisance - great skill! Bradley chose our wine for us, and though I don't usually drink red wine, his description of taste and grape was spot on. Well done! Must say this - Abby listened attentively to any small critique we had and acted accordingly - there are places around the world I've eaten at, and her service was outstanding - she's a keeper. My advice - keep going back - it gets better and better. Worth the trip from anywhere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything from the appetizer to dessert was fabulous! Knowledgeable and courteous staff. Great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The prime rib is amazing. My wife had the fish is said it was very good. Entire staff is amazing. Bar tenders and servers are very knowledgeable and strive to take care of your every need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The cocktail program could use some work. Sadly lacking in craft and innovation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We like Rare for a special occasion. It was great

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.