About Rare Chop House

224 South Tenth Street
Mount Vernon, IL 62864
View Larger Map

Come and enjoy the region's most exquisite culinary experience, from our open kitchen, to our Wine Room with 1000+ wines from all over the world, to the unique culinary cuisine prepared by the one and only Chef James Rushing. Exceptional Food and even better service await your palate here at RARE Chophouse, just off the square in Mt. Vernon! Visit us online at www.rarechophouse.com.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 244-7273

Website:
http://www.rarechophouse.com/

Parking Details:
RARE Features a small parking lot on the South side of the building with handicap accessibility, 2 other parking facilities across Jordan Street, and across Broadway, as well as a City Parking Lot caddy-corner to RARE.

Executive Chef:
James Rushing

Private Party Facilities:
We feature several private dining opportunities for your meetings, parties, showers, celebrations, and everything in between.
We feature a Semi-Private dining area adjacent to the main dining floor behind frosted glass that can hold larger parties of 20-25. For your private needs we have the "LJB Room" complete with a Board Room table that seats 12 comfortably, a media center that plugs directly into our 60' Big Screen TV on the wall, a private entrance, and beautiful Art from all over the world. RARE requires only a minimum purchase of $500 to reserve the LJB Room. Call us directly for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Brandon Bullard: 6182447273x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Rare Chop House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Southern Illinois
Best Restaurants in Mt. Vernon ›

special occasion (40)
fit for foodies (21)
good for groups (21)
See All
romantic (20)
notable wine list (13)
great for lunch (11)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (8)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We used to love to go to Rare for the wo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We used to love to go to Rare for the wonderful bread that they served with oil and grated Parmesan cheese. They got rid of that and now only offer bread as an appetizer for purchase, but it's not the good bread they used to have.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing food! Great service, scenery was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing food! Great service, scenery was relaxing & very clean! We wil back! Also loved making reservations on here need to change and it was very easy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steaks ( I always get the ribeye) i ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Best steaks ( I always get the ribeye) in southern Illinois. The whole menu is good and just can't go wrong. If your in the area, I highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prime rib is very good but only serv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The prime rib is very good but only served on friday night. Cajin prawn special was very nice. Great bar and draft beer selections. Staff is very good, friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived about 15 minutes early for ou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We arrived about 15 minutes early for our reservation and were seated and greeted by the server right away. It took about 15 minutes before she came back and took an order for a group of 5 that came in after us. We then ordered and it took a good 20 minutes for the appetizer to get to the table. Then about a half hour for our salads. When the steaks finally arrived 2 hours had passed. The manager came to our table right after the steaks arrived and asked how they were. This was his first visit to our table. I told him I haven't cut into it yet but it has taken 2 hours for us to get them. He shrugged his shoulders and walked away without saying anything. The steaks were burnt and the baked potato over cooked. Since we were hungry from waiting for 2 hours we went ahead and tried to eat them anyway. When we paid the check the server apologized for the wait and asked us to give them another try. I doubt that we will. We were using a $50 gift certificate given to us as a wedding gift from friends. We still ended up paying $40 or so for the remainder of the bill. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Taking a friend for first time She was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Taking a friend for first time She was very impressed. The three of us had a enjoyable evening. Staff was great,kitchen was slow BUT they let us know and made up for the delay. Food was outstanding. Things can happen and this was not their norm. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Not as good as the last couple of times ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Not as good as the last couple of times we've been and they have taken some of our favorite things off of the menu but was still ok

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and had heard many great things about Rare and decided to give it a try. We were certainly not disappointed! Our server was outstanding and was very accommodating with a special request. The steak and pork chop lived up to the perfection we had been led to expect. The dessert was excellent! We will definitely recommend it and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great resturant. Staff is always great. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great resturant. Staff is always great. Food is very good. Best is Friday night prime rib but steaks are great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasant time. The menu is var ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Always a pleasant time. The menu is varied without being confusing or repetitious. A nice place for an intimate dinner or gathering of friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I enjoy our anniversary at R ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and I enjoy our anniversary at Rare with a delicious prime rib. This is a great place for a special occasion. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great property and very modern. However ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great property and very modern. However, the food is very averaged for the price and the wine is priced higher for the same product at other establishments.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Expierence

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at Rare for our 10th Anniversary!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved our dinner and the a ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We absolutely loved our dinner and the ambiance. We were here on business and were so impressed with this restaurant. It was also nice to know that National Railway was owner of this fine restaurant. We were there to visit with them. Thanks for the excellent wine selection as well. We will be back when we visit the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience, will return no doubt.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our first visit the the restaurant, we had top twenty dining cards, but it was a good value for the quality of food and experience if we had paid full. My entire family has birthdays within a couple of weeks together, so we chose this place for something different (travelling from Carbondale). Our server was not up to speed on the nuances of the menu as she was returning from leave, but she was very attentive and the suggestions she had (or obtained after conferral with the chef) were spot on. The portions and food quality exceeded expectations (and we were all expecting something good, heh). As we perused the other tables during our meal, we noticed delicious looking options we hope to try on return visits. Evidently, bruschetta is the go to app, everyone but us had it for the table and it looked great. My father got the Caprese salad and soup as an appetizer, but shared the salad, it was a delicious and cost-effective option to add something to share if you don't want a full appetizer as the entrees were all copious. The strip steak itself I had was as good as the one I had at Mary's a couple weeks prior (although the one at Mary's was topped Oscar style, I suspect given the seafood and asparagus options from other dishes that the chef could have similarly prepared the steak here if I had asked ). I can't think of anything to complain about. It seems it's a good place for happy hour too, if it were closer to home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place for a celebration or special ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice place for a celebration or special occasion. Food was good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not our best experience at Rare

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our visit to Rare was unexpectedly lackluster. The steak was good, but the appetizer (stuffed mushrooms) was overcooked and chewy. In fairness, the staff did take it off our bill. The speed of the service was extremely slow. Our food was put in wrong, so they had to rush my wife's filet and it ended up under cooked.

We've been to Rare before and found it to be exquisite. Perhaps this was just an off night. We will go again, but hopefully will receive a better experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I was entirely satisfied and thought the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I was entirely satisfied and thought the restaurant was a great find! Excellent chefs. I will go again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Restaurant in Mt. Vernon, IL

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We always stop here when staying in Mt. Vernon. found it on TripAdvisor. Great food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible restaurant

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We go everytime we are in Mt. Vernon. Best sea bass I ever had ! Hubby had the prime rib! Fantastic food , wine! Smashed cauliflower is amazing! Service from Andrew was impeccible!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant interior is very nice. Th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The restaurant interior is very nice. The service was very good.

I wish the menu had a few more options. The food is high priced for the area so I expected the food to be better than it was. Probably won't come back except for happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Pricey but nice

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Cheese plate left something to be desired.

Wine list was amazing for the area.

Limited entree options but the quality was there.

Recommended for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great Evening

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Food is always great. New menu in place so if you haven't been back in a while, it might be time to drop in. Meal can run $100 for two during dinner with drinks and appetizer but its a great place to go when a situation calls for something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rare was a rare find indeed!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

The food and ambiance were excellent for a romantic night out. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I was dissapointed. The Eggs Benifict was not well done. There was no fruit or fried potatoes. The bacon was cold and there was no champagne which goes with a high end brunch. You should have Breakfast at Brennens and learn. Jhays

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Filet EVER

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Clean, quiet, excellent service, best filet ever, friendly and helpful staff. 5 STAR

It may be priced a bit higher than others in the area but you get what you pay for....... And

RARE CHOP HOUSE is worth paying for.

We were ready to go back the next day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great friendly staff that allowed us to ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Great friendly staff that allowed us to dine at our own pace. Was a perfect setting for catching up with a friend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food paired with outstanding v ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Excellent food paired with outstanding venue and staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best in this area

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

The food menu is exotic and the service top rate. Because of cost, it remains my number one choice for special events. Jhaysmd

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine's Day dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

My girlfriend and I visited Rare for our Valentine's dinner. The ambience was great and was to food and drink. Our waiter wasn't quite as friendly as I expect at a place of this caliber. Our only other complaint was even though the restaurant wasn't very busy they claimed to be "making more bread" the entire time we were there but never had any finished. We were there for over an hour. Bread doesn't take that long. Other than that it was great and we will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice night at Rare

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Had a really nice evening meal at Rare. Food was very good, and it was a little quieter than the last time. Not sure if it was a waiter or kitchen mix-up, but our salads didn't come until after our entrees were served. Waiter was very shocked when we asked for our salads, but took full responsibility whether it was his or not.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I are at Rare this past weekend. All I can say is, it was wonderful. From the staff to the food they were nothing short of fantastic. We love going there and will go back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stepped up service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

It was a busy night during Valentine's Day weekend, but the service was excellent. Food was beyond wonderful as well. As someone who loves good food, I can say this is the place to go for quality.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Good Food, Un-remarkable Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Food and ambiance is upscale. Service sometimes borders on amateur. Surprised by the lack of tablecloth or bread service for this caliber of menu. Great to have Rare as a high end dining option in our area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

great experience!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We had family in town and took our parents there for their birthday. The staff was wonderful and the food was delicious. The 2 steaks we had were a little tough but the the filet mignon was amazing! So were the pork medallions and the swordfish. I highly recommend RARE steak house. We will be returning!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Time!

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We came here to celebrate Valentines Day. We had a wonderful dining experience at Rare. The food was excellent with a beautiful presentation. The service could not have been better. The atmosphere was nice with soft music playing. I wore dress slacks and a sweater, but my husband was just as comfortable in nice jeans and a sports shirt. I have already recommended this to friends. We would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not their best night

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I have been to the Chop House before and enjoyed the food and service.

Upon arrival, with Open Table reservations, we were asked to wait for seating. The crowd in the waiting area consisted only of my date and myself. We were queued for about 15 to 20 minutes then provided with a table.

We were promptly given menus but a more chaotic experience soon followed with a jumbled progression of events involving asking for our appetizer order, and I believe even our entrees, before a drink order was requested- save for ice water which was solicited instead automatically provided.

They were out of "all" specials and swordfish which was not an issue at all. We happily ordered from the menu and requested 2 appetizers including the fried pickles. We were told we ordered the last batch.

Soon after I was cascaded with "fried pickle sauce" as the waitress dropped an order next to my chair and hit my left side pretty good with the condiment. Another couple was also involved.

A circus ensued with all level of waitstaff offering apologies and towels. I was the focal point of the dining room for some time. We were informed that was the other tables order and we could no longer have pickles.

We ordered another appetizer. At full menu price .Food was simply excellent as always. We were told we would receive a complementary dessert for the incident.

I feel a little more was in order to properly compensate a returning customer for a night of poor service. If were we made to wait alone for our reserved table - I would say a complementary drink was in order.

I would feel the complementary dessert would justify the chaotic service adequately.

Being covered in pickle sauce however- in the center of the dining room- I feel a bit more than dessert, a course I often skip, should have been offered.

I am a manager of a successful transportation company who deals in customer service daily. When we are responsible for a shipping delay, our customers enjoy a discount.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The live musicians were a bit loud for m ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The live musicians were a bit loud for my tastes. My wife's steak was very tasty as was the Basil Pesto Bruscetta appetizer. I found my Shrimp Diablo to a bit over spicy. The menu characterized as having a "kick of heat", but I felt that is was overwhelmingly hot to the point that the heat overshadowed any other flavor.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

New Brunch Offering

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was excellent being that it was only the 3rd time they have had the Brunch offering. However it became evident that they were still learning when they ran out of coffee. But it was worth the wait as after they got more the service and taste was excellent. You could tell that when they got busy they kept up with filling the serving dishes.

When things were slow they were not quick to replenish and rotate the items to make sure nothing burned or dried out. They need to work on there "Buffet" skills to keep everything looking appetizing to the eyes as the taste was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Awesome waiter, food, and overall service was top notch

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.