About Rare Chop House

224 South Tenth Street
Mount Vernon, IL 62864
View Larger Map

Come and enjoy the region's most exquisite culinary experience, from our open kitchen, to our Wine Room with 1000+ wines from all over the world, to the unique culinary cuisine prepared by the one and only Chef James Rushing. Exceptional Food and even better service await your palate here at RARE Chophouse, just off the square in Mt. Vernon! Visit us online at www.rarechophouse.com.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 244-7273

Website:
http://www.rarechophouse.com/

Parking Details:
RARE Features a small parking lot on the South side of the building with handicap accessibility, 2 other parking facilities across Jordan Street, and across Broadway, as well as a City Parking Lot caddy-corner to RARE.

Executive Chef:
James Rushing

Private Party Facilities:
We feature several private dining opportunities for your meetings, parties, showers, celebrations, and everything in between.
We feature a Semi-Private dining area adjacent to the main dining floor behind frosted glass that can hold larger parties of 20-25. For your private needs we have the "LJB Room" complete with a Board Room table that seats 12 comfortably, a media center that plugs directly into our 60' Big Screen TV on the wall, a private entrance, and beautiful Art from all over the world. RARE requires only a minimum purchase of $500 to reserve the LJB Room. Call us directly for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Brandon Bullard: 6182447273x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rare Chop House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Southern Illinois
Best Restaurants in Mt. Vernon ›

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (17)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fine, nothing extraordinary ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was fine, nothing extraordinary. The portions were very small for the price of the dish. The cheesecake was below par.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We thoroughly enjoyed our Anniversary di ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our Anniversary dinner at Rare Chop House. We had crab stuffed mushrooms for an appetizer that were amazing. Both of our entrees were quite delicious as well. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive to our needs/wishes. It was a wonderful dinner date.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always great. Dinner menu can ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service is always great. Dinner menu can be a little expensive but it is worth it. WE have had most of the appetizers now and haven't found one we wouldn't order again. Fish dishes are very good as well. Prime Rib was excellent. Bar tenders are very good at making mixed drinks and will go off the menu if they have the ingredients. Beautifully restored restaurant that is unique to Mt Vernon if you want to get away from the chain style restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating my wife's birthday w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were celebrating my wife's birthday with our son and his family as well as my parents. The service was excellent and the food was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My steak was one of the best I have ha ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My steak was one of the best I have had. Good baked potato. For the price I would have liked to have a salad with my steak and potato. Prices were high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very pricey and only adequate food. Stea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very pricey and only adequate food. Steaks were good, not great. Salmon was awful! Baked potatoes were on small side compared to most steak houses. The restaurant was beautiful and our waitress was amazing but wouldn't pay those prices again for just an ok meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We love fine dining, and we were not dis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love fine dining, and we were not disappointed with our dinner experience at Rare Chop House! The food was delicious; the service was fantastic; the dining environment was great! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent as a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food and service were excellent as always. Restaurant was a little on the cold side with a lot of the ladies choosing to wear light weight jackets. We wrote this off to the changing of the seasons and perhaps the thermostats hadn't been adjusted yet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spectacular food in gorgeous restaurant. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Spectacular food in gorgeous restaurant. All steaks were tender, cooked to specifications and full of flavor.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Family Style, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner! We had just spent 3 da ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fantastic dinner! We had just spent 3 days in New Orleans and this was the best meal of our trip. The night we were there, there was an amazing duo singing and playing guitar and fiddle at the bar. Such a nice evening!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shrimp appetizer was very good. All the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Shrimp appetizer was very good. All the rest was good as well! We always enjoy our meal at Rare Chop House .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for the prime rib but ended up goin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Went for the prime rib but ended up going with the special tomahawk rib-eye. Expensive but a great treat! Staff is top notch. Nice bar area with regularly rotated draft selections. All around great restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Homemade ravioli were DELISH!! Service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Homemade ravioli were DELISH!! Service was fantastic! Gotta eat here if you have a chance!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took over an hour to be served our en ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It took over an hour to be served our entree. My wife cannot eat olive oil or canola oil. Told server. Very few options on the menu for that restriction. However, ordered a filet with no sauce. After about an hour of waiting, server said kitchen messed up and made filet with the sauce. Had to redo. Waited again. Eventually dinner for both was served about 1 hr 10 min or so after order. Dinner good and didn't charge us for the filet. Ordered desert an coffee but that took some time also and finally cancelled it. Left about 1-1/2 after arriving

Been there a couple of times before when travelling through the area. Done with it . Server was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great aged NY strip. I went to the restu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great aged NY strip. I went to the resturant for the prime rib but once I heard the special for a aged NY strip I had to try it. Always great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent filet - literally cut it with ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent filet - literally cut it with a fork and melt in your mouth. The salad was awesome, feta was really good (I am Greek so I get critical about feta). I really had a great time with my date. We loved it - even the after dinner music in the bar area. The guy was classy and very good musically - excellent voice. 100% class with this place - I was very impressed - drove 1.5 hours to go there!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wine guy, Bradley, new his wines, and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wine guy, Bradley, new his wines, and wine presentation, the sever, Karessa, was at her best, aways asking what else can I do, yet knew when to allow me to drink my Cab, and eat my meal. She new that my meal is an event, not something to get over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious, was disappointed to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was delicious, was disappointed to get there and find out that the crab cakes are no longer on the menu. It was stated on the on line menu that was the main reason we went.

Had one of the best steaks I have eaten in the USA. Its hard to beat the steak we get in South America!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We used to love to go to Rare for the wo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We used to love to go to Rare for the wonderful bread that they served with oil and grated Parmesan cheese. They got rid of that and now only offer bread as an appetizer for purchase, but it's not the good bread they used to have.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing food! Great service, scenery was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing food! Great service, scenery was relaxing & very clean! We wil back! Also loved making reservations on here need to change and it was very easy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steaks ( I always get the ribeye) i ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Best steaks ( I always get the ribeye) in southern Illinois. The whole menu is good and just can't go wrong. If your in the area, I highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prime rib is very good but only serv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The prime rib is very good but only served on friday night. Cajin prawn special was very nice. Great bar and draft beer selections. Staff is very good, friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived about 15 minutes early for ou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We arrived about 15 minutes early for our reservation and were seated and greeted by the server right away. It took about 15 minutes before she came back and took an order for a group of 5 that came in after us. We then ordered and it took a good 20 minutes for the appetizer to get to the table. Then about a half hour for our salads. When the steaks finally arrived 2 hours had passed. The manager came to our table right after the steaks arrived and asked how they were. This was his first visit to our table. I told him I haven't cut into it yet but it has taken 2 hours for us to get them. He shrugged his shoulders and walked away without saying anything. The steaks were burnt and the baked potato over cooked. Since we were hungry from waiting for 2 hours we went ahead and tried to eat them anyway. When we paid the check the server apologized for the wait and asked us to give them another try. I doubt that we will. We were using a $50 gift certificate given to us as a wedding gift from friends. We still ended up paying $40 or so for the remainder of the bill. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Taking a friend for first time She was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Taking a friend for first time She was very impressed. The three of us had a enjoyable evening. Staff was great,kitchen was slow BUT they let us know and made up for the delay. Food was outstanding. Things can happen and this was not their norm. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Not as good as the last couple of times ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Not as good as the last couple of times we've been and they have taken some of our favorite things off of the menu but was still ok

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and had heard many great things about Rare and decided to give it a try. We were certainly not disappointed! Our server was outstanding and was very accommodating with a special request. The steak and pork chop lived up to the perfection we had been led to expect. The dessert was excellent! We will definitely recommend it and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great resturant. Staff is always great. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great resturant. Staff is always great. Food is very good. Best is Friday night prime rib but steaks are great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasant time. The menu is var ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Always a pleasant time. The menu is varied without being confusing or repetitious. A nice place for an intimate dinner or gathering of friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I enjoy our anniversary at R ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and I enjoy our anniversary at Rare with a delicious prime rib. This is a great place for a special occasion. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great property and very modern. However ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great property and very modern. However, the food is very averaged for the price and the wine is priced higher for the same product at other establishments.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Expierence

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at Rare for our 10th Anniversary!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved our dinner and the a ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We absolutely loved our dinner and the ambiance. We were here on business and were so impressed with this restaurant. It was also nice to know that National Railway was owner of this fine restaurant. We were there to visit with them. Thanks for the excellent wine selection as well. We will be back when we visit the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience, will return no doubt.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our first visit the the restaurant, we had top twenty dining cards, but it was a good value for the quality of food and experience if we had paid full. My entire family has birthdays within a couple of weeks together, so we chose this place for something different (travelling from Carbondale). Our server was not up to speed on the nuances of the menu as she was returning from leave, but she was very attentive and the suggestions she had (or obtained after conferral with the chef) were spot on. The portions and food quality exceeded expectations (and we were all expecting something good, heh). As we perused the other tables during our meal, we noticed delicious looking options we hope to try on return visits. Evidently, bruschetta is the go to app, everyone but us had it for the table and it looked great. My father got the Caprese salad and soup as an appetizer, but shared the salad, it was a delicious and cost-effective option to add something to share if you don't want a full appetizer as the entrees were all copious. The strip steak itself I had was as good as the one I had at Mary's a couple weeks prior (although the one at Mary's was topped Oscar style, I suspect given the seafood and asparagus options from other dishes that the chef could have similarly prepared the steak here if I had asked ). I can't think of anything to complain about. It seems it's a good place for happy hour too, if it were closer to home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place for a celebration or special ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice place for a celebration or special occasion. Food was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not our best experience at Rare

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our visit to Rare was unexpectedly lackluster. The steak was good, but the appetizer (stuffed mushrooms) was overcooked and chewy. In fairness, the staff did take it off our bill. The speed of the service was extremely slow. Our food was put in wrong, so they had to rush my wife's filet and it ended up under cooked.

We've been to Rare before and found it to be exquisite. Perhaps this was just an off night. We will go again, but hopefully will receive a better experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I was entirely satisfied and thought the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I was entirely satisfied and thought the restaurant was a great find! Excellent chefs. I will go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Restaurant in Mt. Vernon, IL

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We always stop here when staying in Mt. Vernon. found it on TripAdvisor. Great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible restaurant

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We go everytime we are in Mt. Vernon. Best sea bass I ever had ! Hubby had the prime rib! Fantastic food , wine! Smashed cauliflower is amazing! Service from Andrew was impeccible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant interior is very nice. Th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The restaurant interior is very nice. The service was very good.

I wish the menu had a few more options. The food is high priced for the area so I expected the food to be better than it was. Probably won't come back except for happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Pricey but nice

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Cheese plate left something to be desired.

Wine list was amazing for the area.

Limited entree options but the quality was there.

Recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.