About Rare Chop House

224 South Tenth Street
Mount Vernon, IL 62864
View Larger Map

Come and enjoy the region's most exquisite culinary experience, from our open kitchen, to our Wine Room with 1000+ wines from all over the world, to the unique culinary cuisine prepared by the one and only Chef James Rushing. Exceptional Food and even better service await your palate here at RARE Chophouse, just off the square in Mt. Vernon! Visit us online at www.rarechophouse.com.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 244-7273

Website:
http://www.rarechophouse.com/

Parking Details:
RARE Features a small parking lot on the South side of the building with handicap accessibility, 2 other parking facilities across Jordan Street, and across Broadway, as well as a City Parking Lot caddy-corner to RARE.

Executive Chef:
James Rushing

Private Party Facilities:
We feature several private dining opportunities for your meetings, parties, showers, celebrations, and everything in between.
We feature a Semi-Private dining area adjacent to the main dining floor behind frosted glass that can hold larger parties of 20-25. For your private needs we have the "LJB Room" complete with a Board Room table that seats 12 comfortably, a media center that plugs directly into our 60' Big Screen TV on the wall, a private entrance, and beautiful Art from all over the world. RARE requires only a minimum purchase of $500 to reserve the LJB Room. Call us directly for availability.

Private Party Contact:
Brandon Bullard: 6182447273x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Rare Chop House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Chicago / Illinois
Best Ambiance
Chicago / Illinois
Notable Wine List
Chicago / Illinois
3 More
Special Occasion
Chicago / Illinois
Steakhouse
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Southern Illinois
Best Restaurants in Mt. Vernon ›

special occasion (58)
romantic (35)
good for groups (29)
See All
notable wine list (28)
fit for foodies (27)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (14)
great for lunch (11)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent dining experience, will return no doubt.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our first visit the the restaurant, we had top twenty dining cards, but it was a good value for the quality of food and experience if we had paid full. My entire family has birthdays within a couple of weeks together, so we chose this place for something different (travelling from Carbondale). Our server was not up to speed on the nuances of the menu as she was returning from leave, but she was very attentive and the suggestions she had (or obtained after conferral with the chef) were spot on. The portions and food quality exceeded expectations (and we were all expecting something good, heh). As we perused the other tables during our meal, we noticed delicious looking options we hope to try on return visits. Evidently, bruschetta is the go to app, everyone but us had it for the table and it looked great. My father got the Caprese salad and soup as an appetizer, but shared the salad, it was a delicious and cost-effective option to add something to share if you don't want a full appetizer as the entrees were all copious. The strip steak itself I had was as good as the one I had at Mary's a couple weeks prior (although the one at Mary's was topped Oscar style, I suspect given the seafood and asparagus options from other dishes that the chef could have similarly prepared the steak here if I had asked ). I can't think of anything to complain about. It seems it's a good place for happy hour too, if it were closer to home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place for a celebration or special ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice place for a celebration or special occasion. Food was good.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Not our best experience at Rare

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our visit to Rare was unexpectedly lackluster. The steak was good, but the appetizer (stuffed mushrooms) was overcooked and chewy. In fairness, the staff did take it off our bill. The speed of the service was extremely slow. Our food was put in wrong, so they had to rush my wife's filet and it ended up under cooked. We've been to Rare before and found it to be exquisite. Perhaps this was just an off night. We will go again, but hopefully will receive a better experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was entirely satisfied and thought the ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I was entirely satisfied and thought the restaurant was a great find! Excellent chefs. I will go again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Restaurant in Mt. Vernon, IL

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We always stop here when staying in Mt. Vernon. found it on TripAdvisor. Great food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

We go everytime we are in Mt. Vernon. Best sea bass I ever had ! Hubby had the prime rib! Fantastic food , wine! Smashed cauliflower is amazing! Service from Andrew was impeccible!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

The restaurant interior is very nice. Th ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

The restaurant interior is very nice. The service was very good. I wish the menu had a few more options. The food is high priced for the area so I expected the food to be better than it was. Probably won't come back except for happy hour.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey but nice

Dined on April 17, 2016

Cheese plate left something to be desired. Wine list was amazing for the area. Limited entree options but the quality was there. Recommended for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great Evening

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food is always great. New menu in place so if you haven't been back in a while, it might be time to drop in. Meal can run $100 for two during dinner with drinks and appetizer but its a great place to go when a situation calls for something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rare was a rare find indeed!

Dined on April 6, 2016

The food and ambiance were excellent for a romantic night out. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

I was dissapointed. The Eggs Benifict was not well done. There was no fruit or fried potatoes. The bacon was cold and there was no champagne which goes with a high end brunch. You should have Breakfast at Brennens and learn. Jhays

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Filet EVER

Dined on March 26, 2016

Clean, quiet, excellent service, best filet ever, friendly and helpful staff. 5 STAR It may be priced a bit higher than others in the area but you get what you pay for....... And RARE CHOP HOUSE is worth paying for. We were ready to go back the next day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great friendly staff that allowed us to ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Great friendly staff that allowed us to dine at our own pace. Was a perfect setting for catching up with a friend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food paired with outstanding v ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Excellent food paired with outstanding venue and staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best in this area

Dined on February 17, 2016

The food menu is exotic and the service top rate. Because of cost, it remains my number one choice for special events. Jhaysmd

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentine's Day dinner

Dined on February 16, 2016

My girlfriend and I visited Rare for our Valentine's dinner. The ambience was great and was to food and drink. Our waiter wasn't quite as friendly as I expect at a place of this caliber. Our only other complaint was even though the restaurant wasn't very busy they claimed to be "making more bread" the entire time we were there but never had any finished. We were there for over an hour. Bread doesn't take that long. Other than that it was great and we will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice night at Rare

Dined on February 16, 2016

Had a really nice evening meal at Rare. Food was very good, and it was a little quieter than the last time. Not sure if it was a waiter or kitchen mix-up, but our salads didn't come until after our entrees were served. Waiter was very shocked when we asked for our salads, but took full responsibility whether it was his or not.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I are at Rare this past weekend. All I can say is, it was wonderful. From the staff to the food they were nothing short of fantastic. We love going there and will go back soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stepped up service.

Dined on February 13, 2016

It was a busy night during Valentine's Day weekend, but the service was excellent. Food was beyond wonderful as well. As someone who loves good food, I can say this is the place to go for quality.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very Good Food, Un-remarkable Service

Dined on February 7, 2016

Food and ambiance is upscale. Service sometimes borders on amateur. Surprised by the lack of tablecloth or bread service for this caliber of menu. Great to have Rare as a high end dining option in our area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great experience!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had family in town and took our parents there for their birthday. The staff was wonderful and the food was delicious. The 2 steaks we had were a little tough but the the filet mignon was amazing! So were the pork medallions and the swordfish. I highly recommend RARE steak house. We will be returning!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Time!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We came here to celebrate Valentines Day. We had a wonderful dining experience at Rare. The food was excellent with a beautiful presentation. The service could not have been better. The atmosphere was nice with soft music playing. I wore dress slacks and a sweater, but my husband was just as comfortable in nice jeans and a sports shirt. I have already recommended this to friends. We would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Not their best night

Dined on January 31, 2016

I have been to the Chop House before and enjoyed the food and service. Upon arrival, with Open Table reservations, we were asked to wait for seating. The crowd in the waiting area consisted only of my date and myself. We were queued for about 15 to 20 minutes then provided with a table. We were promptly given menus but a more chaotic experience soon followed with a jumbled progression of events involving asking for our appetizer order, and I believe even our entrees, before a drink order was requested- save for ice water which was solicited instead automatically provided. They were out of "all" specials and swordfish which was not an issue at all. We happily ordered from the menu and requested 2 appetizers including the fried pickles. We were told we ordered the last batch. Soon after I was cascaded with "fried pickle sauce" as the waitress dropped an order next to my chair and hit my left side pretty good with the condiment. Another couple was also involved. A circus ensued with all level of waitstaff offering apologies and towels. I was the focal point of the dining room for some time. We were informed that was the other tables order and we could no longer have pickles. We ordered another appetizer. At full menu price .Food was simply excellent as always. We were told we would receive a complementary dessert for the incident. I feel a little more was in order to properly compensate a returning customer for a night of poor service. If were we made to wait alone for our reserved table - I would say a complementary drink was in order. I would feel the complementary dessert would justify the chaotic service adequately. Being covered in pickle sauce however- in the center of the dining room- I feel a bit more than dessert, a course I often skip, should have been offered. I am a manager of a successful transportation company who deals in customer service daily. When we are responsible for a shipping delay, our customers enjoy a discount.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The live musicians were a bit loud for m ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The live musicians were a bit loud for my tastes. My wife's steak was very tasty as was the Basil Pesto Bruscetta appetizer. I found my Shrimp Diablo to a bit over spicy. The menu characterized as having a "kick of heat", but I felt that is was overwhelmingly hot to the point that the heat overshadowed any other flavor.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

New Brunch Offering

Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was excellent being that it was only the 3rd time they have had the Brunch offering. However it became evident that they were still learning when they ran out of coffee. But it was worth the wait as after they got more the service and taste was excellent. You could tell that when they got busy they kept up with filling the serving dishes. When things were slow they were not quick to replenish and rotate the items to make sure nothing burned or dried out. They need to work on there "Buffet" skills to keep everything looking appetizing to the eyes as the taste was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on January 22, 2016

Awesome waiter, food, and overall service was top notch

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

RARE is amazing!

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was our first time at Rare, and we've recommend friends to come back with us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Birthday Dinner for Mom

Dined on January 9, 2016

Great family dinner for my mother's birthday. Great food, great staff, great night! My wife said fish was slightly over cooked but Prime Rib was excellent as always!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

All meals were excellent from both the specials and regular menu. We eat here at least twice a month with consistently good food, service, and atmosphere. I am especially fond of the chorizo grits with shrimp. RARE Chophouse has a lovely bar, occasionally with live music. The wine list is excellent. They have just started a Sunday Brunch as of January 3, 2016. I can't wait to try it! Supposed to have mimosa or Bloody Mary bar. The restaurant is set up to accommodate parties and business meetings.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Disappointed

Dined on December 27, 2015

We don't come often...we had gift certificates we needed to use. My husband ordered a ribeye..wasn't cooked as ordered and was gristly. They took it back and brought another and it was better. Our son had the filet...it wasn't cooked right either. They did give us all free desserts which we appreciated. It's not nearly as good as it was when you first opened and that's not good. We love having somewhere special to come that's not such a drive...it will be a wile before we are back just because it's a little pricey. We ope you get it back up to what it was.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Delight

Dined on December 22, 2015

On our way through Mt. Vernon for the holidays, we stopped off and ate at Rare Chop House. We started with cocktails (very good) and then selected the chef's tasting menu. The wine parings were as excellent as each of the five courses. The service was superb, and although we were the last two diners, we were in no way rushed. We'll make it a habit to visit Rare Chop House each time we drive through Mt. Vernon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We were a group of 8 out for an annual h ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

We were a group of 8 out for an annual holiday dinner. We were seated by an outside wall which was very convenient and somewhat private. The server was very friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious. We will most definitely go there again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

By far the best place in town.

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

Food was good. Out of Meiomi Pinot Noir on Tuesday and then again on Friday. First time service was a little slow. Usually better. Rare has new plates for the entrée and they are silly small. You can even cut your steak or prop the knife on the edge of the plate. Needs to be fixed. Caesar salad is very good. Sometimes the server brings bread and sometimes they blow it off.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!

Dined on November 20, 2015

Rare Chop House is a gem for southern Illinois dining. I had heard great things about it, but hadn't been there. It was all that I had heard. Wonderful atmosphere, service and food. I will definitely be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great resturant

Dined on November 14, 2015

Very good Prime Rib. Ladies in our party had the scallops and really enjoyed them. Restaurant was very busy but staff did a great job! No Brussels sprouts but everything was excellent and what we have come to expect when we want a night out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Will always eat here when in town

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

We live out of state but ALWAYS try to eat here when home visiting family. GREAT steaks, wonderful service, and just an all around special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

We loved the steak, the mashed cauliflower/potatoes that came as a side. Excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

From the moment we entered the restauran ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

From the moment we entered the restaurant, the staff and atmosphere was friendly and inviting. Our server Abby was wonderful. The food was DELICIOUS. The restaurant was full of patrons. There was a musician playing in the bar. Yet with all this, we could talk with each other without having to shout. Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Food/Chef/Staff

Dined on October 24, 2015

We have traveled to Rare on 3 occasions from St. Louis to eat at this amazing find in Mt. Vernon. Each time the menu is a little different but shows the quality of the chef. Today we had bruschetta and it was a VERY large portion and absolutely delicious. Next hubby had the Caesar Salad with house made dressing. My entrée was crab cakes and listen I have eaten crab cakes in California, Boston, and Florida and these we delicious and some of the best I have ever had. Hubby had the large rib eye and it was delicious and cooked perfectly. Wine list was great and we had a Washington State Wine. Our server Kristi was the best. She knew the menu. I highly recommend RARE

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great place for the area

Dined on October 18, 2015

This is hands-down the best restaurant in the area. Great food and drinks, and while some will view it as too pricey....you get what you pay for.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.