Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.98mi

About Rare Chop House

Come and enjoy the region's most exquisite culinary experience, from our open kitchen, to our Wine Room with 1000+ wines from all over the world, to the unique culinary cuisine prepared by the one and only Chef James Rushing. Exceptional Food and even better service await your palate here at RARE Chophouse, just off the square in Mt. Vernon! Visit us online at www.rarechophouse.com.

224 South Tenth Street
Mount Vernon, IL 62864
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 244-7273

Website:
http://www.rarechophouse.com/

Parking Details:
RARE Features a small parking lot on the South side of the building with handicap accessibility, 2 other parking facilities across Jordan Street, and across Broadway, as well as a City Parking Lot caddy-corner to RARE.

Executive Chef:
James Rushing

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rare Chop House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (5)
Live Music (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Staff is friendly and informative. Delmonico special was excellent. Brussel sprouts are back on the menu as a side and I loved them! Draft beer selections are interesting and changed from time to time. Great local restaurant if you are looking for something away from the chain options.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

An excellent restaurant in a small town. The atmosphere is classy, the service is helpful and efficient and the food is delicious. We had steak and tuna and both meals were outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a reservation and were on time and seated right away. Table was perfectly fine and we ordered promptly. Food came fairly quickly and was good, but not worth the price. We were ready to call the date a success and were generally pleased, when the waiter dumped a Raspberry pudding moose something all over my husband. We’re talking shoes, pants, all over his black shirt as well as the floor. Apologized once and we could over-hear him joking about it back in the kitchen. Came back out, to inform me the desert I had actually ordered, they “couldn’t do”. I passed on anything else and requested the ticket. Never offered to comp anything. For a restaurant of that scale, it would have been the only appropriate gesture. Even Fazolis would have offered something if just to show they appreciate your business. I truly don’t know who these people think they are. We will NOT be returning. There are other places of equal stature, that have actual customer service equal of what you’d expect from a high end eatery. Unfortunately, I work in an industry where I am constantly asked for recommendations for restaurants in the area. Rare Chop House will not be on that list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great food in the middle of nowhere! It's worth driving to eat here. A few miles off the road. Excellent. Amazing value! More than that a gem that many might miss. How lucky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The best review is that we are return customers. We've celebrated anniversaries there, gone with family, and just dined there because it was a pleasant outing. I will try a place once, and even if dissatisfied, give them another chance, but Rare has provided a consistent and good experience in both atmosphere and culinary excellence in each of our visits. Kudos!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food. Wonderful atmosphere. Great after dinner bar area to sit and have drinks while continuing the conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Beautiful gem of a restaurant unexpected in a small town! Hubby's aged filet was absolutely perfect. My chicken Marsala with Italian sausage and bacon was delicious. Lovely desserts. I enjoyed the mousse filled cream puffs. A real treat!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very delicious food - worth the price. Will definitely go back for more!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Again this restaurant has surpassed itself. For a small town place to be this is amazing.
Can't believe the food is as good as many big cities we have been too.
Please keep doing what you're doing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food is absolutely worth going for. The chef really knows what he is doing.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This time eating at rare was not as good as the first time we where there when they first opened . I had a steak and it was charbroiled burnt on the outside , the Baked potato tasted old like it was made the night before and reheated, I also had a Cesar salad and it did not have enough dressing on it . We had two wait 30 minutes for appitzer spinach dip and then there was not much in the bowl ? My husbands dish was tuna and it was good , the waiter took our salad plates and took his fork and he had to wait at least 5 minutes for a fork so his food was getting cold by the time he got one . Also the watress was slow and told us to wait when asked for something ? Which was for a fork, because another guy was to get it and didn't ?? We will not go back for awhile. That is sad, because the first time we ate there was great. Plus it is hard to get my husband out for dinner because he travels and eats out all the time and when I do get him to go out we want good food ! We love the look of the restaurant but would
Love to have good food to go with it ! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Amazing food, perfect atmosphere for romantic and special occasion dining. Well worth the drive to Mt. Vernon Illinois for something truly tasteful.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our food was wonderful; we all had steaks that were cooked to perfection. Interesting salads/dressings, dipping sauce for sweet potato fries was really good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Nice wine list, all at cellar temperatures. A limited lunch menu, nontheless very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Exceptional food and atmosphere. The service left something to be the desired. While the waitress was friendly and accommodating it took three tries to get a simple two ingredient drink order correct. Also, dessert was to be included in the dinner but was billed separately and had to be corrected. While there was no problem getting these things right, it was somewhat troubling they occurred at all. The meal, of prime pork and New York strip were done to perfection, the timing of the courses were slow. While I enjoy a leisurely meal, it should be dictated by the diner and not the kitchen staff. It appeared that the place was not overly busy for a Saturday night.
Overall, though there were some concerns. the experience was enjoyable and will be returning again to give it another shot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was my 3rd. visit to this restaurant when I visited family . It is a very nice place and I am glad Mt. Vernon has this available to them. I would say this particular time I visited my tuna was not as fresh as I would have liked it. It had a bit of a fishy taste unfortunately. Tuna is a favorite of mine so I am used to ordering it. The presentation was good and our appetizers , bruschetta and artichoke dip were both good as well.
I am sure I will be back, hopefully I'll try again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

One of the top restaurants in town. Staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. Menu is tweaked to keep things fresh and weekend specials can be exciting. Definitely worth the trip if you are looking for something different (non-chain).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Met with brothers for a birthday meal. Very welcoming service and good service throughout the meal. Got a free desert to share for the birthday. Good choice of entrees and appetizers. The yellow fin tuna was excellent. Good place to gather but is a little on the expensive side but worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have eaten here several times. It was busier than usual and service was poor. Had to keep asking for water etc. Bread is not served here which seems strange for this quality of restaurant. We'll be back as past experience was much better than this trip.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We try to dine here few times a year but haven't been for a little while. Everything was great as usual, except for the menu. Our favorite dishes had been take off and there were very few options other than beef. I know, it's a chop house, but in our opinion they were much more before the menu change. Besides the above mentioned, it's still one of my favorites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Meal was great as always. Staff is really friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Always a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent Wine list, outstanding meal selection, pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent service. Very good food. Great atmosphere. Very pricey. Mixed drinks way over priced.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Second time we we have ate at Rare for our anniversary. Both times were great. Great steaks and great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A great night out for our 22nd anniversary. Private dining plus an excellent waitress-Mollee. Really enjoyed the food and ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It was very good, just wanted some bread but I will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We always enjoy Rare. I'm very glad this area has a place like this.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husband and I came to Rare to celebrate my one year anniversary from my last Chemo treatment. We got there early enough we were there by ourselves for a while, it was nice! The server was great and the food was excellent! Definitely going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Have been going to Rare since it opened and loved every meal. However, our brunch was past poor (what there was of it). Poor menu selections. Our food was not hot. This occasion was not indicative of the quality Rare usually puts out. Very disappointing but we will go back because we know they are capable of much better. Brunch is not their thing apparently.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Graduation

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Just a great restaurant, would give it a 5 for food but my steak was closer to medium well than medium...still a really good steak. The quality of food here is the best around. Not cheap, but not over priced either.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service, food and drink in a very pleasant environment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great place for a special dinner. Prime rib Friday nights are reason enough. The entire staff is very good and very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Not all that impressed. Made reservations a week prior and was seated next to the bathroom with several tables still available. The temp inside was so cold my teeth were chattering and I'm hot natured. Ordered the steak au pouivre which was extremely salty. Probably won't be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I have just relocated to this area and have had the opportunity to dine at Rare Chop House for both lunch and dinner. The service has been exceptional and the food excellent each visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I came to Rare to celebrate a friend's birthday on Saturday evening. First impression was fairly nice. Good Decor, Quiet. Our server Josh came over to tell us about the specials that they had. When we were ready to order, he came over to take our orders. We ordered drinks and my friend who was celebrating her birthday, gave the server her ID. The new state rule is that to renew your license, they give you a paper form of ID and mail the ID within 3 weeks. She handed over the paper ID to the server. He looked surprised, looked at us, looked back at the ID and then went back to show the manager the ID. The manager came over to discuss with us and said he'd never seen anything like it. We went back and forth, telling him that this was the new state law. He refused and said he couldn't serve us. Told him he could call the police to verify the ID. AT this point attention had been drawn on to us from waiters and other customers. manager comes back with executive chef and it was only when the executive chef said this is what sos did now that the manager agreed to allow it. As they walked away this made us feel some type of way so i asked for the manager back and asked for a discount of some sort for the embarrassment and the attention that had been drawn on us. He didn't feel as if he did anything wrong, when i expressed my feeling of being uncomfortable at which point the manager said that he was also uncomfortable. He went as far as telling us that we could leave and that we didn't have to eat there. We expressed that we drove an hour to come to this restaurant. He didn't care. And expressed that. I should mention at this point that were black. After the confrontation. He had to call a black waiter to attempt to "speak our language". This was extremely rude. Coming from the manager, this was unacceptable. Worst experience I've ever had at a restaurant. While I'm sure that the service would have been fine if there was no ID debacle, the way this was handled was egregious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Prime rib friday nights are always amazing. Staff is very knowledgeable and attentive. Nice IPA selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

A diamond in the rough! This place is great...excellent food!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I came in for a solo dinner after a long day of business. I was quickly greeted and seated. I ordered the flank steak with house salad. The steak was excellent and well marinated with perfect seasoning. I love Rare..,..best spot in Mt. Vernon....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was my second time here and I enjoyed it again. I am visiting from out of town and Rare reminds me of the restaurants I am used to going to. So happy Mt. Vernon has such a nice restaurant to go to. I am sure I will be back on my next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.