About Rappahannock

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11:30 am - 10 pm
Fri: 11:30 am - 11 pm
Sat: 3 pm - 11 pm
Sun: 3 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

House-Made Pastrami Sandwich
Grilled Shrimp Salad
Oysters and Pearls
Grilled Shrimps
Oysters & Pearls
Oysters
Heirloom Salad
Hanover Tomato Gazpacho Soup
Oysters on the Half Shell
Père Et Fille
Chocolate Ganache Buckwheat Crepe Cake
Great Dismal Black Ipa
El General
Baked Oysters
Pork Belly
Bloody Mary
Tuna Melt
Lamb Burger
Scall
Oyster Back
Old Salt Oyster Stout
Spanish Highball
White Gazpacho
Pork Belly Sandwich
Cured Scotish Salmon Trout
Branzino
hangtown fry
Soon To Be Head Cheese
Grilled Shrimp
Scallop On The Half Shell
Oyster Chowder With Bacon
Grilled Rockfish Sandwich
Pork
pork ribs
Clams With Squid And Lamb Sausage

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Virginia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Fit for Foodies
Richmond
2 More
Vibrant Bar Scene
Richmond
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

fit for foodies (116)
special occasion (75)
vibrant bar scene (69)
See All
hot spot (58)
neighborhood gem (55)
good for groups (39)
romantic (26)
notable wine list (21)
great for lunch (18)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The octopus appetizer was one of the bes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

The octopus appetizer was one of the best tasting dishes I've had in a while. Can't miss it if you eat here. We paired that with 6 grilled oysters which were tasty and fresh. For the entree I had the yellowfin tuna (rare). It came out cooked perfectly with just enough warmth. The service, bartender and server, were friendly, extremely knowledgeable, and inviting. Would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great special occasion dinner! Recommend ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great special occasion dinner!

Recommended by Bernie Murphy

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dry, tasteless paella. Mediocre cheese ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Dry, tasteless paella. Mediocre cheese sandwich but great oysters. Overall, disappointing expensive meal.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Salmon entrees over-cooked and Whiskey c ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Salmon entrees over-cooked and Whiskey cake was dry, but octopus starter and paella were very good. Cocktails were delicious, but wine with entrees was slow coming to the table.

One of the pricier dinners we've had so might return for small plates and drinks at the bar, but probably not for a full meal.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food very ordinary despite unusual compo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food very ordinary despite unusual components. Too much salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Creative seafood at its best. I think t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Creative seafood at its best. I think this may be best restaurant in Richmond . Atmosphere is very nice and service is always solid.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Empty drinks, caviar and oyster so icy i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Empty drinks, caviar and oyster so icy it was more of a slurpee, not as good as bookbinders or hard shell.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Salad and entrees came out at the same t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Salad and entrees came out at the same time and "plopped" on the table! Unfortunately, the oysters were small and not as tasty as I has heard about. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great food, great service! Rappahannock ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, great service! Rappahannock really knows how to make a night!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner to welcome a visi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a lovely dinner to welcome a visiting relative. The cocktails were particularly outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food late overcooked. Management was hel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food late overcooked. Management was helpful. Comp 1/2 bill. Gracious. Noisy. Will try again. Great salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The sweet water oysters were icy icy col ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The sweet water oysters were icy icy cold and delicious. The entrees were not too huge, and the fire grilled octopus as well as the scallops were just wonderful. The scent of the open grilling fire as we entered the restaurant was wonderful. Salads were delicate and flavorful. Out Australian white wine was a perfect complement to the dinner. All in all, a marvelous experience. Too bad we live in NW CT!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Rappahannock on a Saturday an ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to Rappahannock on a Saturday and it was pretty jumpin. Good location and we got a seat next to the window at a high top table. The only downside was that it got a little hot since it was right next to the kitchen.

We decided to split the whole fish and a few appetizers. 2 apps with this is plenty but the waitress thought we may want more so we ordered a third...it wasn't necessary.

We tried the grilled octopus which was really delicious- very tender and not chewy at all. We also tried the charcuterie and tomato salad. I loved the tomato salad- it was so fresh and flavorful. The charcuterie was also good- honestly, I loved the pickled items on the board the most!

The Branzino was delicious- very flavorful and light and flaky. It was great for sharing!

Cocktail selection was great too! And the bartender made us a dealers choice which turned out really well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Service was spot on with care taken with ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was spot on with care taken with delivered flowers. My wife really enjoyed the oysters and the sautéed rockfish we both had was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The menu has something to please all tas ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The menu has something to please all tastes, from the adventurous to the conventional. The food is great, and the service even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

As always, the food was fantastic. But w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

As always, the food was fantastic. But what really made my experience stand out was the staff! We were seated by a window, with a great view of all of the activity on the street. But after a little while, it became too warm (we were also near the kitchen). Our server reseated us immediately and in good cheer - even though it meant we would be leaving her section. The food arrived promptly and was perfection. I would advise the wait staff, though, to let guests linger instead of making multiple attempts to remove a plate with food remaining. We might just order another glass of wine to accompany it instead of feeling rushed!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, including things you don't s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food, including things you don't see every day (like escargots - excellent!)

We are always skeptical of paella, it is just too hard to do well in a restaurant kitchen - but the paella here was excellent. Perfectly fresh seafood, tasty chorizo, rice done perfectly.

Service was good even on a very busy Thursday evening, very well informed on the menu and happy to offer recommendations.

I docked a star for ambiance only because it was very very warm in the dining area (lots of window glass and a 95 degree day). Also the volume level was very high - not a problem for us but might be for some. More of a hopping bar atmosphere. Not a complaint, just an observation.

Overall a terrific place, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The smell of he wood smoked fish upon ar ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The smell of he wood smoked fish upon arrival draws you in. The 3 types of oysters on the half shell were delicious enough to make me order some more but cooked. Meanwhile my wife chomped on the clams. and the whole Bronzino was cooked perfectly. Love this place and a tasty birthday dinner went down well with the attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The raw oysters were absolutely excellen ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The raw oysters were absolutely excellent. I think If we had stuck to oyster dishes, we would have a different opinion. We shared the octopus appetizer which had an overall flavor of woodsmoke but there were also pockets of spiciness which seemed incongruent. I know it said "wood grilled" but it overwhelmed the dish. We had the Bourride for the main course which had the same overall smoke flavor. It was ok but certainly, for me, did not showcase the flavors of fresh fish.

Our serve was indifferent but adequate. We went on a Friday night with reservations and were seated promptly. I had been looking forward to going there since they first opened and maybe expected too much. Richmond has so many really interesting, good restaurants that it is a pleasure to go out to dinner. Rappahannock was not bad, just not as good as other Richmond restaurants I have tried.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Best oysters I've had! The staff was fri ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Best oysters I've had! The staff was friendly and extremely knowledgeable regarding the menu. The beer and wine selection was great with some unusual "flavors" to choose from. I would recommend an afternoon or evening outing to anyone. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding, every time. One of the most ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding, every time. One of the most consistent dining experiences in Richmond. The service is always excellent and tonight, the rock shrimp and the octopus starters were absolute standouts. You can't go wrong. We like everything about our evenings at Rappahannock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the fried fish. A bit mediocre for t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Had the fried fish. A bit mediocre for the price paid. The service was okay, but she didn't know the menu very well and wasn't very invested with the recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Went for business lunch time business me ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Went for business lunch time business meeting. It was pretty loud and distracting for this purposes. I could imagine it being a lot louder for dinner. Service was good and the food was good. I will defiantly go back again for food and drink

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Always lively with delicious and fresh s ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always lively with delicious and fresh seafood menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had high hopes for Rappahannock. Some ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had high hopes for Rappahannock. Some were met or exceeded. Many were not. Fantastic space and location. But so acoustically wrong that shouting is required for conversation. This was exacerbated by choice of surfer music (which normally I enjoy but not at killer volume level and during a $200+ dinner). IF we ever return, we'll opt to sit outdoors on the sidewalk. Some food was sublime: oysters, ceviche, bread, kumquat butter. Some was gruesome: something labeled as "paella" had nice flavor (though not a hint of saffron) and contained beautiful housemade sausage yet the rice was swimming in greasy liquid. Extra greasy. Gross! Service was poor: an indifferent, lazy waiter plus inattentive support staff. Nobody wanted to answer our few questions. Appetizers were delivered BEFORE the oysters -- epic fail. Our dirty dishes from every course sat on the table untended, even as the staff sauntered by. In other words, there was a lot to like about the restaurant but its stellar qualities were far outweighed by its shortcomings.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Third visit here was a total disappointm ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Third visit here was a total disappointment. Service was slow and food was mediocre. We will not be going there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food here is a bit uneven. None of i ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food here is a bit uneven. None of it was bad, it is just that some dishes justified the price and some did not. The locally-sourced pork chop and tuna steak were *truly* outstanding. The paella and bourride were so-so, as in edible but not memorable. My son was able to doctor the bourride enough that it was ok, but, for a restaurant that makes it reputation on seafood, it was a disappointment.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Rappahannock is ideal for a special occa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Rappahannock is ideal for a special occasion and for very fresh seafood, but it will cost you. My spouse's 2 craft beers were $10 each, and my 2 modest glasses of great wine were $13 each. He ordered a dozen oysters, which were exceptional but the most he's ever paid for them ($25). I highly recommend the whole wood-grilled fish, which was memorable, plenty and absolutely delicious for $35. Parking is a challenge, but the service was 5 stars. The cocktail menu was confusing and offered several ingredients I've never heard of. He thought his portion of the pan-cooked fish was a bit small for the price. The gelato is amazing - get the salted caramel.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Celebrated my sons birthday. Service was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Celebrated my sons birthday. Service was great. Menu was unique in seafood .We had oysters, escargot, the octopus salad and yellow tuna which was cooked perfectly. It was a great evening. Highly recommend if you are a true seafood person.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was excellent and very knowle ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and very knowledgeable. The food was very good but not as outstanding as the price.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

awesome service! food was delish and dr ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

awesome service! food was delish and drinks are always amazing!!! a little disappointed in the portion size for the grilled octopus but nevertheless it was yum! Go for the oyster happy hour at 4pm on Sunday!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great...except the bar se ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything was great...except the bar service. When an order of oysters arrives far before your drink order--that went in first--there's an issue. And it happened a 2nd time during the evening as well.

With that said though, Rappahannock is unbeatable for its oysters, freshness, variety of food and drink items, and atmosphere. I brought friends visiting from PA here and they adored it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The best in Richmond for seafood

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I adore this place for its fabulous oysters, don't miss the oysters and pearls with caviar and their caviar selection and presentation is amazing. I have converted tons of so-called caviar haters to lovers with that app. Their dishes are fresh and fabulous....though sometimes a bit heavy on garlic and the smoke flavor but none the less amazing. This is one of the hotspots in Richmond for their handsome and talented mixologists....especially Paul. He is worth the trip just to see him shake a martini ladies....and his mint juleps are not to be missed!! Let he recommend a nice app or a fabulous cocktail or a type of bourbon if you are at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice place

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the food quality there. Nice selection of oysters and Virginia cheese. My main entree was a sauté trout with asparagus and grapefruit. It was really well-prepared.

Very good implementation of the farm to table concept.

The wine list has interesting finds even if there are some glaring mistakes in the wine descriptions (a cote du rhone from Guigal is classified as an Alsace wine!)

Bread service is $5 per table which is an arguable choice.

Attentive and friendly service from Susan.

Nice ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Too expensive.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Menu was very pricey and limited. Wine list was extensive and impressive but overpriced as well. Won't be going back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Very expensive and the food was just ave ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very expensive and the food was just average. Good, but just good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great Experience!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food and great cocktails. We started off with selections from the raw bar, which did not dissapoint. The bartenders also offered some very unique and different mixed drinks. Our entrees were excellent as well. Not a cheap place, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sensational Seafood

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Appetizers should always include oysters (brinie the better aka old salts). Wife had the scallops which were buttery and melted in your mouth. I had the NC trout which was pan seared and a traditional favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Charged for bread

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great Oysters! Very good but not filling of course. We asked for bread for the table and some great toasted bread was brought....... And we were charged for it! Very surprised when the bill came. Small charge but.... Really?

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner was excellent and served quickly. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Dinner was excellent and served quickly. Microbrew selection was comprehensive and well chosen. Service was also very good. I would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.