About Rappahannock

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11:30 am - 10 pm
Fri: 11:30 am - 11 pm
Sat: 3 pm - 11 pm
Sun: 3 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

House-Made Pastrami Sandwich
Grilled Shrimp Salad
Oysters and Pearls
Grilled Shrimps
Oysters & Pearls
Oysters
Heirloom Salad
Hanover Tomato Gazpacho Soup
Oysters on the Half Shell
Pork Belly
Père Et Fille
Chocolate Ganache Buckwheat Crepe Cake
Great Dismal Black Ipa
El General
Baked Oysters
Bloody Mary
Tuna Melt
Lamb Burger
Scall
Oyster Back
Old Salt Oyster Stout
Spanish Highball
White Gazpacho
Pork Belly Sandwich
Cured Scotish Salmon Trout
hangtown fry
Branzino
Pork
Scallop On The Half Shell
Soon To Be Head Cheese
Grilled Shrimp
Oyster Chowder With Bacon
Grilled Rockfish Sandwich
Clams With Squid And Lamb Sausage
pork ribs

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Fit for Foodies (93)
Special Occasion (59)
Vibrant Bar Scene (54)
See All
Hot Spot (52)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for Groups (27)
Romantic (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food, great service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

Delicious food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent seafood, well prepared. Servic ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent seafood, well prepared. Service was outstanding.

The restaurant is sort of an "industrial" atmosphere. Great bar where you can watch your oysters being shucked. Fun atmosphere and beautiful fresh seafood!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have been there 2 times before. It was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Have been there 2 times before. It was especially noisy this time and the waiter we had took forever to come to our table. The food is very good (well know for their oysters) but for the price it seemed sort of outrageous to charge so much for a few pieces of bread.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Noisy, service slow and indifferent. No ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Noisy, service slow and indifferent. No bread served to the table, even with escargot appetizer (can't POSSIBLY be served without some bread to absorb the garlic butter!), had to ask specifically for bread. Quality of entrees quite good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Rappahannock never fails us. The food i ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Rappahannock never fails us. The food is consistently excellent as is the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was excellent. Our baked oyster ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The meal was excellent. Our baked oyster appetizer was a great start to a great meal. The entrees were delicious, the wine was perfect, and the dessert was a great cap to the evening. Rappahannock is our favorite restaurant in Richmond, and a must go whenever we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was out of this world amazing. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was out of this world amazing. The service was also excellent. The ambience was not what I expected. It was noisy and hard to hear each other across the table. I was expecting a more low key, romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Extremely uncomfortable temperature-wise ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Extremely uncomfortable temperature-wise and the seafood paella was disappointing as the rice was crusty on the top AND the bottom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

We were very excited to try Rappahannock ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were very excited to try Rappahannock given our love for their sister restaurant, Merroir, in Topping VA. The restaurant is decorated in sleek urban industrial but is very comfortable, and the noise level is energetic, but you are still able to carry on a conversation. Our group of 4 loved the drinks (bourbon sour particularly good) and the menu selections. The tomato salad was terrific and so well described on the menu that all 4 ordered it! I had a dozen of Rappahannock/York oysters and they were fresh and delicious. Our group had scallops, chicken, and the whole branzino and we can only say that the food is just terrific. Really, really good food.

Nice clientale and very diverse will all age groups represented. The bar is nice and is 270 degrees in the front of the house.

A very enjoyable dining experience but there is one item that did not make it a terrific experience - the service. Our waiter was very cold and distant - and disappeared for long periods of time. No smiles. No follow-up at the table. Nobody asked us if everything was to our expectations, no one came to our table until after entrees finished - and then just to remove the plates from the table silently. I looked around and watched - no smiles to be found on employees except the two lovely ladies at the hostess stand. I overheard the table behind us commenting on the same. Just looks like a miserable group of people working there and it reduced our enjoyment. This includes the manager - who brought food to our table and was taken aback when I actually spoke to her - trying to escape as quickly as possible. Come on people - SMILE - ENGAGE you patrons.

I will return again for the delicious food - but I think because of the service issue and gray employee demeanor I will sit at the bar to eat. Bartenders are always pleasant people!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

this is THE PLACE to go for farm to tabl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

this is THE PLACE to go for farm to table interesting food -and the wood grilled octopus is as outstanding as the local chicken. The bartenders are full of great info and love to chat and explain the fabulous collection of hard liquors. it is a blast. and the oysters are THE BEST I have had ANYWHERE and I am an oysterholic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food excellent, service very good. Only ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food excellent, service very good. Only drawback extremely loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Love the raw oysters. Love the escargot ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Love the raw oysters. Love the escargot and octopus. the rest was good also but these were my favors. Would go back just for them.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters and Pearls....Prince would be pr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Oysters and Pearls....Prince would be proud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here prior to a play we were going ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went here prior to a play we were going to go see. We had made our reservation using open table and were promptly seated upon arrival. Waitress was quick to arrive, took drink order and then walked is through he specials. Returned with drinks and took our order. Enjoyed the oysters on the half shell and escargot to start both were very good. Oysters were plump and flavorful as was escargot. Dinner was the pan seared fish and a scallop dish. Both meals were well prepared and tasted wonderful. Appetizer prices were reasonable, drink and entrees were a bit high. It is an open restaurant so a little noisy and bar seen was very active at 5:30 for reference.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't make any comments on the food. Wha ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Can't make any comments on the food. What food?? You guys have got to be kidding with those prices and portion sizes!!! There wasn't enough food on my plate nor wine in my glass to make a judgement on it. You are ridiculously over priced. So no. I would not recommend you to anyone unless you actually started to put food on the plate. My friend and I spent $65 on a nothing more than a sample. Tiny one at that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

everything was wonderful except that the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

everything was wonderful except that the temperature was hot

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

My wife and I had a fantastic time. We ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My wife and I had a fantastic time. We really enjoyed the oysters, so much so we asked for a second round. The other food was fresh and well cooked, and the drink list was great with some great local beers and ciders. If in the area again, will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service. H ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Highly recommended. Only negative was long wait for cocktails which were very good when they finally arrived. I got the impression they are somewhat understaffed on a busy weekend night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fresh and inventive. Definitely an esse ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fresh and inventive. Definitely an essential Richmond restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This place is a winner in the central do ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This place is a winner in the central downtown area. We stuck to oysters and small plates. We left full and happy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, great drinks, great beer.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food, great drinks, great beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Service kinda slow at fi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food. Service kinda slow at first. Took someone too long to acknowledge we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The atmosphere was nice. The oysters on ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The atmosphere was nice. The oysters on the half shell appetizer was great. The scallop entree was horrible. All I could taste was salt. The server was slow. It took 10 minutes to get a drink to the table. The overall cost of 173 dollars for me and my date was too much for the service and food quality that was delivered. We didn't even have dessert. We had 3 drinks each, appetizer and entree. I'd go back for drinks and apps at the bar, but not dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This restaurant was OK, but not particul ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This restaurant was OK, but not particularly note worthy. Very limited selections. Salads were generous, but the mains were rather small. Close to Marriott hotel and that is why we chose it. Would choose another restaurant next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Bartenders were very good. Menu had very ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Bartenders were very good. Menu had very interesting and different choices. It was fun watching them be made. Our group has a variety of choices and all were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The octopus appetizer was one of the bes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The octopus appetizer was one of the best tasting dishes I've had in a while. Can't miss it if you eat here. We paired that with 6 grilled oysters which were tasty and fresh. For the entree I had the yellowfin tuna (rare). It came out cooked perfectly with just enough warmth. The service, bartender and server, were friendly, extremely knowledgeable, and inviting. Would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great special occasion dinner! Recommend ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great special occasion dinner!

Recommended by Bernie Murphy

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dry, tasteless paella. Mediocre cheese ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Dry, tasteless paella. Mediocre cheese sandwich but great oysters. Overall, disappointing expensive meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

You will not find better oysters anywher ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

You will not find better oysters anywhere. Fun place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon entrees over-cooked and Whiskey c ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Salmon entrees over-cooked and Whiskey cake was dry, but octopus starter and paella were very good. Cocktails were delicious, but wine with entrees was slow coming to the table.

One of the pricier dinners we've had so might return for small plates and drinks at the bar, but probably not for a full meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food very ordinary despite unusual compo ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food very ordinary despite unusual components. Too much salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Creative seafood at its best. I think t ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Creative seafood at its best. I think this may be best restaurant in Richmond . Atmosphere is very nice and service is always solid.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Empty drinks, caviar and oyster so icy i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Empty drinks, caviar and oyster so icy it was more of a slurpee, not as good as bookbinders or hard shell.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Salad and entrees came out at the same t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Salad and entrees came out at the same time and "plopped" on the table! Unfortunately, the oysters were small and not as tasty as I has heard about. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great food, great service! Rappahannock ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, great service! Rappahannock really knows how to make a night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner to welcome a visi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We had a lovely dinner to welcome a visiting relative. The cocktails were particularly outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food late overcooked. Management was hel ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food late overcooked. Management was helpful. Comp 1/2 bill. Gracious. Noisy. Will try again. Great salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The sweet water oysters were icy icy col ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The sweet water oysters were icy icy cold and delicious. The entrees were not too huge, and the fire grilled octopus as well as the scallops were just wonderful. The scent of the open grilling fire as we entered the restaurant was wonderful. Salads were delicate and flavorful. Out Australian white wine was a perfect complement to the dinner. All in all, a marvelous experience. Too bad we live in NW CT!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Rappahannock on a Saturday an ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to Rappahannock on a Saturday and it was pretty jumpin. Good location and we got a seat next to the window at a high top table. The only downside was that it got a little hot since it was right next to the kitchen.

We decided to split the whole fish and a few appetizers. 2 apps with this is plenty but the waitress thought we may want more so we ordered a third...it wasn't necessary.

We tried the grilled octopus which was really delicious- very tender and not chewy at all. We also tried the charcuterie and tomato salad. I loved the tomato salad- it was so fresh and flavorful. The charcuterie was also good- honestly, I loved the pickled items on the board the most!

The Branzino was delicious- very flavorful and light and flaky. It was great for sharing!

Cocktail selection was great too! And the bartender made us a dealers choice which turned out really well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Service was spot on with care taken with ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was spot on with care taken with delivered flowers. My wife really enjoyed the oysters and the sautéed rockfish we both had was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.