About Rappahannock

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11:30 am - 10 pm
Fri: 11:30 am - 11 pm
Sat: 3 pm - 11 pm
Sun: 3 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Heirloom Salad - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Fresh Pasta With Butter - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Tuna Crudo Niçoise - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Old Fashioned - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Wood-Grilled Yellowfin Tuna - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Summerfling Ale - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Wood Grilled Scallops - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Chapman Manhattan - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Grilled Shrimp Salad - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oysters and Pearls - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Grilled Shrimps - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oysters & Pearls - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oysters - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Hanover Tomato Gazpacho Soup - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oysters on the Half Shell - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Pork Belly - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Père Et Fille - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Chocolate Ganache Buckwheat Crepe Cake - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Great Dismal Black Ipa - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
El General - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Baked Oysters - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Bloody Mary - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Tuna Melt - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Lamb Burger - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Scall - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oyster Back - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Old Salt Oyster Stout - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Spanish Highball - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
White Gazpacho - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Pork Belly Sandwich - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Cured Scotish Salmon Trout - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
hangtown fry - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Branzino - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Pork - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Scallop On The Half Shell - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Soon To Be Head Cheese - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Grilled Shrimp - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oyster Chowder With Bacon  - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Grilled Rockfish Sandwich - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Clams With Squid And Lamb Sausage - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
pork ribs - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
House-Made Pastrami Sandwich - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether a seated dinner or a reception style event, Rappahannock and RappSession are the perfect spot for your group!

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (32)
Local Ingredients (31)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Bar Seating (28)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Casual (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Business Meals (10)
People Watching (10)
Great Beer (10)
Romantic (10)
Fun (10)
Authentic (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Historic (6)
Healthy (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Seasonal (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We include this great restaurant on our ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We include this great restaurant on our monthly list of places to go out to dinner. Always great oysters and seafood prepared well with a wonderful and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very limited options for lunch. Over pri ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very limited options for lunch.

Over priced especially considering portion size. 6 baked oysters were $16 I believe?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Oysters were great. Sauce was subtle wit ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Oysters were great. Sauce was subtle with Sherry and sugar and vinegar. The baked oysters were a little buried in lesss savory toppings and a little bit unmatched in flavor. Will try the smoked once next time. Great waitstaff and good vibes.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent oysters! Had three of the four ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent oysters! Had three of the four folks that had never been to this restaurant and all loved it. Great choice for New Years Eve dinner. I ordered the Blue Runner Jack which I had never even heard of. Came as a whole fish, served over greens and rice. Absolutely fantastic flavor no off flavors at all. Filling but not stuffed. The desserts we spot on as was the entire evening did not feel rushed and Elena did a great job with solid recommendations. Worth every penny.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu for the evening was a special m ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The menu for the evening was a special menu and it was a bad choice.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Our food was uneven. The Yellowfin tuna ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our food was uneven. The Yellowfin tuna was very, very good. It was a generous portion cooked just right. The flavor mix with the accompanying prosciutto and other ingredients made the dish. On the other hand, the very large bone-in pork chop was so salty as to be almost inedible. The scallops were cooked unevenly. One was exactly right and two were slightly undercooked. Overall, there were 6 of us. Three thought it was great and the other three thought their dishes were ill prepared. I would give it one more chance. At $533 all in with mandatory 20% tip for 6 people, it should be right the first time.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our first time there . . . . Food was be ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our first time there . . . . Food was better than the service. After finally getting the attention of our waiter, we received a lame excuse for not serving bread.: "The bakery let us down and we don't have any."

It's one of our daughter's favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Attentive service. Delicious oysters. Li ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Attentive service. Delicious oysters. Limited menu choices. Good ambience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Quick Bite, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The server was not very attentive. We se ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The server was not very attentive. We seemed like a bit of an after thought. I could also tell the table next to us was not happy with her service as well. She would pour water at our table and then ask over her shoulder if the other table was okay without looking at them. It was odd and not very professional. I asked for the wine menu and she did not bring it. I had to get it myself. Also, our tab sat for awhile until finally a hostess came by and processed our payment. She didn't say good-bye or thank you for coming in. The food was unique and good. It was just a tad too salty.

I will probably not return now that I've tried it once.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We really enjoyed eating at Rappahannock ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We really enjoyed eating at Rappahannock. We each had an appetizer, then split the bouillabaisse. Very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rappahannock had been recommended severa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Rappahannock had been recommended several times, so we wanted to check it out. Pleasant greeting at the front door, table was ready even though we were early. Very nice server, but timing was off and missed details of service I expect at this price. Seafood was delicious, and I liked their honest description and version of paella. Desserts were fine. We all agreed we would dine again.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Perfect dinner spot for friends getting ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Perfect dinner spot for friends getting together during the holidays. Everyone's meal was exceptional; it was great to go out to dinner and feel like you had a satisfying, healthy and nutritious meal. We will definitely be coming back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

If you like fresh oysters, great wine, i ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

If you like fresh oysters, great wine, interesting beers and a fun, lively, city atmosphere, this place is for you!

Tags: Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great Beer, Healthy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Nice casu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and great service. Nice casual atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently went to Rappahannock and had ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I recently went to Rappahannock and had a wonderful meal. Had the seafood ravioli, it was spectacular. I fully planned to get it again, I check the online menu and it was there but not on the menu at the restaurant that night. Took my sister when she came into town and we both had poor food. I got oysters that are always good, I then got the escargot and it was horrible. Felt like I was chewing grains of sand. Really uneatable. My sister got the rockfish dinner. It was a very poor dish, no flavor, lacking seasoning and texture. Seems like this place it very hit or miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Paella very tasty. Will get trout caviar ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Paella very tasty. Will get trout caviar again.

Server forgot to bring several items. We had to ask for them separately. One item never came (husband's beverage) but thankfully was not billed. Coffee refilled once but when they took the entree away, took the coffee cup with them w/o asking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed Rappahannock very much. It ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We enjoyed Rappahannock very much. It is quite loud and somewhat smoky due to the (wood?) fire in the kitchen, but the food was great and the service too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food here is outstanding, fresh and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food here is outstanding, fresh and completely original. Absolutely delicious!!! One of the best restaurants in Richmond.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations at 9 on a Saturday s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had reservations at 9 on a Saturday so when they were out of a few dishes, it was not too surprising even though it was disappointing. We got the scallops which were delicious and perfectly cooked! We also got the pork belly which was to die for! Wine was really expensive but beer prices were normal. It was a wonderful dinner and I recommend this place to anyone that doesn't mind a little splurge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always love our evenings here in Rappaha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always love our evenings here in Rappahanock Restaurant. This time we just had time for two main dishes, the Rockfish and the Monkfish both of which were very good, if I had to say something negative it would be ( as in all restaurants ! ) the food is a little too salty for my taste. Front of house and waiter were both excellent , service was good and attentive. My wine by the glass was a bit too sweet for me and my waiter changed it to another type without a problem. The atmosphere is always great here and I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time here food was great had Rockf ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

First time here food was great had Rockfish which was cooked to perfection. Wife had seafood ravioli also great. Had 3 different oysters as app which were excellent . We will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I drove by this place on the way to my h ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I drove by this place on the way to my hotel two blocks away and it just looked lake a good restaurant. I walked over and found it was a great restaurant. Terrific sea food. Its grilled octopus really stood out as among the best I have ever had. Service was excellent. All too often when eating alone on a business trip you get treated like a leper and put in the lousiest seat in the house. Not true here my server was attentive and pleasant even though she was up to her elbows serving a huge group table next to me.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed a very nice anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice anniversary dinner. Though my husband was weary of the oysters, I loved them. I ordered an impressive pork chop - that made my husband a bit envious, though he thoroughly enjoyed his monk fish dish. He did finish off my pork chop, but that was so I could save room for a dessert, which was nice, but not stellar. The coffee was wonderful and I'll have to seek out that beanery in North Carolina. Also great cocktails, as usual. An all-around lovely dinner without the kids.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rappahannock is always a treat. We came ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Rappahannock is always a treat. We came here for a post-year-end-bonus celebration and we were pleased with the food, our drinks, dessert - it was ALL wonderful! The service was slow this particular evening, but typically the service is good. We love the seasonal food options and there are staples on the menu that are so well-done. We will be back for our next special occasion or date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Staff very friendly and accommodating, t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Staff very friendly and accommodating, they fit us in 30 minutes prior to our reservation. Oysters were great, however the main courses - grilled scallops and the whole fish special were both extremely 'grilled' - both were overly charred and nearly inedible. Next time, we'll do appetizers and then somewhere else for dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was excellent. Our servers, bo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food was excellent. Our servers, both at the bar and at the table were extremely attentive and made us feel well taken care of.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters to die for. Everything was very ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Oysters to die for. Everything was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A delicious meal from start to finish, w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A delicious meal from start to finish, with just the right balance of seasonings to make the seafood shine

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sea bass and the monk fish were exce ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The sea bass and the monk fish were excellent choices -- both tasty and cooked to perfection. Service was excellent. Pricey but the dinner marked a special occasion for my wife and me.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance which was energetic. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Loved the ambiance which was energetic. The food was fantastic! Would come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious experience. Great choice befo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Delicious experience. Great choice before attending the Richmond Symphony at the Carpenter Center!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food selection was wonderful and the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food selection was wonderful and the items we tried were all great. Exactly what we were seeking for the food aspect. The room is large and VERY noisy which is a huge distraction, making it hard to carry on conversations. When a place is noisy, everyone ends up speaking very loudly, so in addition to not being able to hear each other, the three of us also heard conversations from neighboring tables.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

My husband, a friend and I enjoyed the b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

My husband, a friend and I enjoyed the bar area first and then were seated for dinner. Our waitress was very helpful in helping us make selections. We enjoyed the pan seared fish and paella very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Three friends and I had a wonderful oyst ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Three friends and I had a wonderful oyster lunch at Rappahannock on a Tuesday.

We were early--but the staff was great to take care of us.

We were hungry for oysters, and so we had the oysters on the half shell--and then had the oyster entree as well!

All were great! We raved about the entree in that the oysters still took the lead and the accoutrements did not overwhelm them.

Then we all had the apple dessert which was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal I have had in RVA The cul ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The best meal I have had in RVA

The culinary team cooked out of their minds

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 4 of us were first time diners on Sa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The 4 of us were first time diners on Sat. Great food. Loved the pear salad & the scallops entree. Great service from staff, especially Jason. Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We introduced a family member to this sp ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We introduced a family member to this spot, and had a very good meal. We went the night before Thanksgiving, but the food, and especially the service, were still at the top of the chart.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good but relatively expensive. Dinner an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Good but relatively expensive. Dinner and drinks for Four was in excess of 300.00 and we were not excessive for apps, or drinks (2each) and no dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A sleek and modern interior with great l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A sleek and modern interior with great lighting and perfectly warm on a cold night. Perfect dining after a terrific opera performance a block or two away.

The Oysters were absolutely delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything we eat here is always good. O ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything we eat here is always good. Our server Jason was super helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.