About Rappahannock

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11:30 am - 10 pm
Fri: 11:30 am - 11 pm
Sat: 3 pm - 11 pm
Sun: 3 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Private Party Facilities:
Situated within the historic Union Market in Washington, DC’s NoMa district, Rappahannock Oyster Bar has been recognized by the Wall Street Journal as one of the best oyster bars in America.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Osborne: 8447855513

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Heirloom Salad - Rappahannock
Fresh Pasta With Butter - Rappahannock
Tuna Crudo Niçoise - Rappahannock
Old Fashioned - Rappahannock
Wood-Grilled Yellowfin Tuna - Rappahannock
Summerfling Ale - Rappahannock
Wood Grilled Scallops - Rappahannock
Chapman Manhattan - Rappahannock
Grilled Shrimp Salad - Rappahannock
Oysters and Pearls - Rappahannock
Grilled Shrimps - Rappahannock
Oysters & Pearls - Rappahannock
Oysters - Rappahannock
Hanover Tomato Gazpacho Soup - Rappahannock
Oysters on the Half Shell - Rappahannock
Pork Belly - Rappahannock
Père Et Fille - Rappahannock
Chocolate Ganache Buckwheat Crepe Cake - Rappahannock
Great Dismal Black Ipa - Rappahannock
El General - Rappahannock
Baked Oysters - Rappahannock
Bloody Mary - Rappahannock
Tuna Melt - Rappahannock
Lamb Burger - Rappahannock
Scall - Rappahannock
Oyster Back - Rappahannock
Old Salt Oyster Stout - Rappahannock
Spanish Highball - Rappahannock
White Gazpacho - Rappahannock
Pork Belly Sandwich - Rappahannock
Cured Scotish Salmon Trout - Rappahannock
hangtown fry - Rappahannock
Branzino - Rappahannock
Pork - Rappahannock
Scallop On The Half Shell - Rappahannock
Soon To Be Head Cheese - Rappahannock
Grilled Shrimp - Rappahannock
Oyster Chowder With Bacon  - Rappahannock
Grilled Rockfish Sandwich - Rappahannock
Clams With Squid And Lamb Sausage - Rappahannock
pork ribs - Rappahannock
House-Made Pastrami Sandwich - Rappahannock

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Virginia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Vibrant Bar Scene
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Fit for Foodies (63)
Special Occasion (46)
Hot Spot (39)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Romantic (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Casual (8)
Healthy (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Fun (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1054 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was very good but food and drinks w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good but food and drinks were a bit over priced. Not the most preferred wisky/bourbon

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Overpriced and food was tasteless. We ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overpriced and food was tasteless. We will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Oysters were excellent as were the cockt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Oysters were excellent as were the cocktails. Service dropped off a bit. Bourride was underseasoned.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Combine a lot of unique items to make gr ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

Combine a lot of unique items to make great dishes, excellent meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We are from out of town and paid a secon ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We are from out of town and paid a second visit to this restaurant. Great meal as before. Our friends enjoyed it as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good and the service was a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was good and the service was a little too much. It was hard to have a conversation because the waitress constantly came back to check on us. The only big flaw was we were celebrating a birthday. I wrote on my Open Table reservation that we were celebrating a birthday. Also, I called the restaurant the day before to tell them about the birthday and they said they would put a candle in the desert. The candle never came and the birthday was not recognized. We came in with birthday presents and they sat us at a small table with little space to store presents except next to the wall. The staff is "fake" nice but doesn't go out of their way to accommodate you even if you ask.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

In general our meal was very good. We st ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

In general our meal was very good. We started with a selection of Virginia oysters, which were all excellent; the real strength of this place is the seafood. For mains, my wife had the pan seared fish of the night, corvina, with vegetables, while I had the wood grilled tuna. My dish was uniformly delicious. My wife's fish was excellent, and we both appreciated the restaurant's commitment to real vegetable sides, not just garnishes -- something hard to find in the States. Our only complaint was that my wife's vegetables were distinctly too salty (we say this as people who don't like under-salted dishes). I would encourage the restaurant to pursue slightly "cleaner" and less salty saucing and seasoning, and think it would become with this uniformly excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We really want this restaurant to succee ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We really want this restaurant to succeed! But it is beginning to slip in "attention to detail" on food preparation and service. Have eaten here 3 times in the course of 6 months. First visit was outstanding; the second visit was very poor service (30 minutes to get a glass of wine and a beer; waitress also forgot our appetizer), but food was excellent! Third visit was this week, and one of our main dishes had uncooked shrimp, no apology from the waiter or chef, simply thrust a new menu to pick another dish. Overall the Paella was watery and not of the same standard as our previous visit. On both occasions, the restaurant did not charge for some drinks and main course to compensate for the issues encountered, and that was fine, but not the point. No one really took charge; no one seemed to care; not even sure there is a manager present. A real shame, as this restaurant was on a great trajectory and still has potential, but it needs to step up...every night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

While there are limited food specials on ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

While there are limited food specials on them, the oysters are fantastic and worth the effort and cost.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time there but not the last. Had a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

First time there but not the last. Had a reservation and arrived early. Went to the bar and Stephanie suggested the "Dealer's Choice". She made such a great drink we stayed at the bar and gave up our table. The food was as amazing as the drinks. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Understand it is a seafood specialty men ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Understand it is a seafood specialty menu but was a little surprised and disappointed that there was not at least one main course choice that was vegetarian the night we were there. Made it challenging with a diverse group.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to Rappahannock for a date night wi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went to Rappahannock for a date night with my wife though had heard some mixed reviews. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The service was spot on; the server anticipated each and every time we needed something. The food was great and portions were just right. I was surprised there were only three different selections of oysters the night we went but the ones they had were quite good. Even my wife liked them and she is not the biggest oyster fan.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The oysters were very good. Probably t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The oysters were very good. Probably the best part of the meal. The wood grilled scallops were cooked perfectly but the wood grilled flavor overpowered the scallops. Think: if Burger King did oysters...yuck! My husband's housemade ravioli wasn't any better. The shrimp on top looked and tasted like the tiny bagged cocktail shrimp that you buy at the grocery store. Overall, a below average dining experience with above average prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Over $180 with tip for a shared appetize ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Over $180 with tip for a shared appetizer, two entrees and a cheap bottle of wine. Food just OK. Had to park 3 blocks away and wave away flies from our plates the entire evening. No thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Not your run of the mill seafood restaur ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Not your run of the mill seafood restaurant. Choices of the more exotic abound. We had the escargot, oysters and grilled octopus. Bartender was wine knowledgeable making good recommendations to compliment our food choices. Not cheap but worth the experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Delicious food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service from the moment we walked ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great service from the moment we walked in. Freshest oysters around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Creative food.. Wonderful seafood

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Creative food.. Wonderful seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Unique menu and presentation. The food i ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Unique menu and presentation. The food is really good, the service even better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Didn't think much of it, considering the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Didn't think much of it, considering the reviews. I had scallops which basically had no flavor other than salt. My partner had a good meal but overall I thought it was just overpriced. The bread, was burnt. The waiter was pretentious and acted like he was doing us a favor to split the check up for our three couples. Will not return. There are much better restaurants in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Definitely recommend this place! Will b ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Definitely recommend this place! Will be coming back soon for more oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The reviews for this place were AMAZING, ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The reviews for this place were AMAZING, and we didn't get that vibe. The food was good, but the service was just OK. For multiple bar tenders behind the counter - and not many people at the bar - I would not have expected a 10/20 minute wait when we ordered drinks. We did enjoy the oysters, but I just don't know that we would choose this place again.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Wonderful seafood, plus tasty alternativ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful seafood, plus tasty alternatives for non-seafood fans. Good service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Modern Decor, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very bland except the octopus. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was very bland except the octopus. Otherwise we were very disappointed and dissatisfied. My wife was very sad she chose this restaurant for her birthday dinner. I was upset at how much I spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I made the mistake of ordering the Rockf ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I made the mistake of ordering the Rockfish and Oyster dish. It is boiled with some potatoes and limited seasoning. I left half in the bowl. Escargot appetizer was served very hot and well spiced. My wife ordered the whole fish, which was different and she enjoyed the fish. The sides were left on the plate after one taste by her. I will not return, but would stick with appetizers and raw bar. Very over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Been here several times in the past 2 ye ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Been here several times in the past 2 years with groups of friends. The food is always good, although maybe not great. I ventured off the beaten path by having the escargots and then the chicken. Both were actually very good and perfectly seasoned. Just the right and plentiful amount of garlic and butter in the escargots. And the chicken was moist and flavorful. Oysters at the rest of the table were a hit too (Olde Salts).

It may sound a bit petty, but my biggest complaint of the evening was with the slab of granite in a basket that they call bread ($5 upcharge). I gladly forked over $5 per basket of the grilled bread they used to serve, but this stuff isn't worth getting even if it's free. For a menu with so many broths and sauces, the grilled bread is so much better suited. Please bring it back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food, great service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delicious food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Underwhelming. Oysters were great - will ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Underwhelming. Oysters were great - will return and only order the oysters but won't waste money on the entrees (specifically: ravioli pasta was gummy and not in the good chewy pasta texture way; several pieces of shrimp were overcooked; mushrooms, fennel and tomatoes were nicely done / tuna was perfectly seared rare but overzealously sprinkled with seasoning to look good but didn't taste great; radishes were great). Wine was decent, but server was uneducated on pairing suggestions but overheard him tell the table next to us that he'd check with the somm in the back. Wish he would have done that for us!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We absolutely and positively LOVE Rappha ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We absolutely and positively LOVE Rapphannock. We've been there many, many times and have never been disappointed. Had a wonderful evening this past weekend---we love sitting at the bar---the wait staff was fabulous with their suggestions and we had a great time---will be back soon.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent seafood, well prepared. Servic ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent seafood, well prepared. Service was outstanding.

The restaurant is sort of an "industrial" atmosphere. Great bar where you can watch your oysters being shucked. Fun atmosphere and beautiful fresh seafood!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Recommended to us and absolutely worth t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Recommended to us and absolutely worth the trip from Newport News!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Have been there 2 times before. It was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Have been there 2 times before. It was especially noisy this time and the waiter we had took forever to come to our table. The food is very good (well know for their oysters) but for the price it seemed sort of outrageous to charge so much for a few pieces of bread.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Noisy, service slow and indifferent. No ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Noisy, service slow and indifferent. No bread served to the table, even with escargot appetizer (can't POSSIBLY be served without some bread to absorb the garlic butter!), had to ask specifically for bread. Quality of entrees quite good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Rappahannock never fails us. The food i ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Rappahannock never fails us. The food is consistently excellent as is the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was excellent. Our baked oyster ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The meal was excellent. Our baked oyster appetizer was a great start to a great meal. The entrees were delicious, the wine was perfect, and the dessert was a great cap to the evening. Rappahannock is our favorite restaurant in Richmond, and a must go whenever we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was out of this world amazing. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was out of this world amazing. The service was also excellent. The ambience was not what I expected. It was noisy and hard to hear each other across the table. I was expecting a more low key, romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Extremely uncomfortable temperature-wise ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Extremely uncomfortable temperature-wise and the seafood paella was disappointing as the rice was crusty on the top AND the bottom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

We were very excited to try Rappahannock ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were very excited to try Rappahannock given our love for their sister restaurant, Merroir, in Topping VA. The restaurant is decorated in sleek urban industrial but is very comfortable, and the noise level is energetic, but you are still able to carry on a conversation. Our group of 4 loved the drinks (bourbon sour particularly good) and the menu selections. The tomato salad was terrific and so well described on the menu that all 4 ordered it! I had a dozen of Rappahannock/York oysters and they were fresh and delicious. Our group had scallops, chicken, and the whole branzino and we can only say that the food is just terrific. Really, really good food.

Nice clientale and very diverse will all age groups represented. The bar is nice and is 270 degrees in the front of the house.

A very enjoyable dining experience but there is one item that did not make it a terrific experience - the service. Our waiter was very cold and distant - and disappeared for long periods of time. No smiles. No follow-up at the table. Nobody asked us if everything was to our expectations, no one came to our table until after entrees finished - and then just to remove the plates from the table silently. I looked around and watched - no smiles to be found on employees except the two lovely ladies at the hostess stand. I overheard the table behind us commenting on the same. Just looks like a miserable group of people working there and it reduced our enjoyment. This includes the manager - who brought food to our table and was taken aback when I actually spoke to her - trying to escape as quickly as possible. Come on people - SMILE - ENGAGE you patrons.

I will return again for the delicious food - but I think because of the service issue and gray employee demeanor I will sit at the bar to eat. Bartenders are always pleasant people!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

this is THE PLACE to go for farm to tabl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

this is THE PLACE to go for farm to table interesting food -and the wood grilled octopus is as outstanding as the local chicken. The bartenders are full of great info and love to chat and explain the fabulous collection of hard liquors. it is a blast. and the oysters are THE BEST I have had ANYWHERE and I am an oysterholic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food excellent, service very good. Only ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food excellent, service very good. Only drawback extremely loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.