About Rappahannock

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11:30 am - 10 pm
Fri: 11:30 am - 11 pm
Sat: 3 pm - 11 pm
Sun: 3 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

House-Made Pastrami Sandwich
Grilled Shrimp Salad
Oysters and Pearls
Grilled Shrimps
Oysters & Pearls
Oysters
Heirloom Salad
Hanover Tomato Gazpacho Soup
Oysters on the Half Shell
Père Et Fille
Chocolate Ganache Buckwheat Crepe Cake
Great Dismal Black Ipa
El General
Baked Oysters
Pork Belly
Bloody Mary
Tuna Melt
Lamb Burger
Scall
Oyster Back
Old Salt Oyster Stout
Spanish Highball
White Gazpacho
Pork Belly Sandwich
Cured Scotish Salmon Trout
Branzino
hangtown fry
Soon To Be Head Cheese
Grilled Shrimp
Scallop On The Half Shell
Oyster Chowder With Bacon
Grilled Rockfish Sandwich
Pork
pork ribs
Clams With Squid And Lamb Sausage

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Virginia
Vibrant Bar Scene
Virginia
Seafood
Virginia
3 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Fit for Foodies
Richmond
Vibrant Bar Scene
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

fit for foodies (128)
special occasion (79)
vibrant bar scene (73)
See All
neighborhood gem (57)
hot spot (56)
good for groups (45)
notable wine list (31)
romantic (28)
great for lunch (17)
late-night find (13)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best oysters I've had! The staff was fri ...

Dined 3 days ago

Best oysters I've had! The staff was friendly and extremely knowledgeable regarding the menu. The beer and wine selection was great with some unusual "flavors" to choose from. I would recommend an afternoon or evening outing to anyone. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding, every time. One of the most ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding, every time. One of the most consistent dining experiences in Richmond. The service is always excellent and tonight, the rock shrimp and the octopus starters were absolute standouts. You can't go wrong. We like everything about our evenings at Rappahannock.

food2
ambience5
service3

Had the fried fish. A bit mediocre for t ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had the fried fish. A bit mediocre for the price paid. The service was okay, but she didn't know the menu very well and wasn't very invested with the recommendations.

food4
ambience3
service4

Went for business lunch time business me ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went for business lunch time business meeting. It was pretty loud and distracting for this purposes. I could imagine it being a lot louder for dinner. Service was good and the food was good. I will defiantly go back again for food and drink

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always lively with delicious and fresh s ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Always lively with delicious and fresh seafood menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We had high hopes for Rappahannock. Some ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We had high hopes for Rappahannock. Some were met or exceeded. Many were not. Fantastic space and location. But so acoustically wrong that shouting is required for conversation. This was exacerbated by choice of surfer music (which normally I enjoy but not at killer volume level and during a $200+ dinner). IF we ever return, we'll opt to sit outdoors on the sidewalk. Some food was sublime: oysters, ceviche, bread, kumquat butter. Some was gruesome: something labeled as "paella" had nice flavor (though not a hint of saffron) and contained beautiful housemade sausage yet the rice was swimming in greasy liquid. Extra greasy. Gross! Service was poor: an indifferent, lazy waiter plus inattentive support staff. Nobody wanted to answer our few questions. Appetizers were delivered BEFORE the oysters -- epic fail. Our dirty dishes from every course sat on the table untended, even as the staff sauntered by. In other words, there was a lot to like about the restaurant but its stellar qualities were far outweighed by its shortcomings.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Third visit here was a total disappointm ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Third visit here was a total disappointment. Service was slow and food was mediocre. We will not be going there again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food here is a bit uneven. None of i ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food here is a bit uneven. None of it was bad, it is just that some dishes justified the price and some did not. The locally-sourced pork chop and tuna steak were *truly* outstanding. The paella and bourride were so-so, as in edible but not memorable. My son was able to doctor the bourride enough that it was ok, but, for a restaurant that makes it reputation on seafood, it was a disappointment.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Rappahannock is ideal for a special occa ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Rappahannock is ideal for a special occasion and for very fresh seafood, but it will cost you. My spouse's 2 craft beers were $10 each, and my 2 modest glasses of great wine were $13 each. He ordered a dozen oysters, which were exceptional but the most he's ever paid for them ($25). I highly recommend the whole wood-grilled fish, which was memorable, plenty and absolutely delicious for $35. Parking is a challenge, but the service was 5 stars. The cocktail menu was confusing and offered several ingredients I've never heard of. He thought his portion of the pan-cooked fish was a bit small for the price. The gelato is amazing - get the salted caramel.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated my sons birthday. Service was ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Celebrated my sons birthday. Service was great. Menu was unique in seafood .We had oysters, escargot, the octopus salad and yellow tuna which was cooked perfectly. It was a great evening. Highly recommend if you are a true seafood person.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was excellent and very knowle ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and very knowledgeable. The food was very good but not as outstanding as the price.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

awesome service! food was delish and dr ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

awesome service! food was delish and drinks are always amazing!!! a little disappointed in the portion size for the grilled octopus but nevertheless it was yum! Go for the oyster happy hour at 4pm on Sunday!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great...except the bar se ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything was great...except the bar service. When an order of oysters arrives far before your drink order--that went in first--there's an issue. And it happened a 2nd time during the evening as well. With that said though, Rappahannock is unbeatable for its oysters, freshness, variety of food and drink items, and atmosphere. I brought friends visiting from PA here and they adored it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The best in Richmond for seafood

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

I adore this place for its fabulous oysters, don't miss the oysters and pearls with caviar and their caviar selection and presentation is amazing. I have converted tons of so-called caviar haters to lovers with that app. Their dishes are fresh and fabulous....though sometimes a bit heavy on garlic and the smoke flavor but none the less amazing. This is one of the hotspots in Richmond for their handsome and talented mixologists....especially Paul. He is worth the trip just to see him shake a martini ladies....and his mint juleps are not to be missed!! Let he recommend a nice app or a fabulous cocktail or a type of bourbon if you are at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice place

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the food quality there. Nice selection of oysters and Virginia cheese. My main entree was a sauté trout with asparagus and grapefruit. It was really well-prepared. Very good implementation of the farm to table concept. The wine list has interesting finds even if there are some glaring mistakes in the wine descriptions (a cote du rhone from Guigal is classified as an Alsace wine!) Bread service is $5 per table which is an arguable choice. Attentive and friendly service from Susan. Nice ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Too expensive.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Menu was very pricey and limited. Wine list was extensive and impressive but overpriced as well. Won't be going back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Very expensive and the food was just ave ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Very expensive and the food was just average. Good, but just good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience!!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food and great cocktails. We started off with selections from the raw bar, which did not dissapoint. The bartenders also offered some very unique and different mixed drinks. Our entrees were excellent as well. Not a cheap place, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Sensational Seafood

Dined on May 28, 2016

Appetizers should always include oysters (brinie the better aka old salts). Wife had the scallops which were buttery and melted in your mouth. I had the NC trout which was pan seared and a traditional favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Charged for bread

Dined on May 25, 2016

Great Oysters! Very good but not filling of course. We asked for bread for the table and some great toasted bread was brought....... And we were charged for it! Very surprised when the bill came. Small charge but.... Really?

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent and served quickly. ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Dinner was excellent and served quickly. Microbrew selection was comprehensive and well chosen. Service was also very good. I would go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Amaz'n Luke & Ginger Smash! Spectacular!!!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Service: Thank you Rappahannock for making our 18th wedding anniversary very special! We sat at the bar with the Amazing Luke (bartender). Luke was outstanding and very knowledgeable about every single item on the bar. We gave him a sense of what we like and he took that check all the way to the bank, deposited it, and invested it all in the same day. We were more than pleased with his service! Thanks again Luke!!! Food: The oyster were briny and so delicious! They were everything that we had hoped for and more. My husband couldn't get enough of the mignonette and fresh horseradish. Rappahannock is officially on our annual to-do list when we visit for our anniversary each year.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must visit

Dined on May 21, 2016

From the moment we entered until we left there was nothing that did not please us. My new favorite place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Everything was very nice, but extremely ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was very nice, but extremely pricey. I've never eaten in a restaurant that charges you $5 for a basket with 4 1/2 pieces of bread in it.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding seafood and service marks Ra ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding seafood and service marks Rappahannock. We had seen an article naming them a best new restaurant and we were staying outside Richmond on a our way south. Glad we did. A handsome converted industrial space made for a relaxing evening. Of course the oysters were outstanding, particularly the Old Salts for those who like briny. My wife had the whole fish which was simply perfect. Cooked perfectly and absolutely delicious. An entree where you take the first bite and go wow, and as amateur cooks wonder what the ingredient is that is making it so special. Being able to dine regularly in both New York and Philadelphia we can say that dish ranked with the best. I had the grilled octopus and ceviche small plates and both were excellent. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is always a winner with food ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

This place is always a winner with food service and atmosphere. The cocktails are unbelievably unique and delicious. I will be back over and over.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

mixed night

Dined on May 17, 2016

It was our second time at Rappahannock. Three of the four dishes were stellar. Fourth was good. Waiter detracted significantly from the evening. He was arrogant, condescending and not helpful. Loud restaurant. While the food was really good it might be enough to get me to go back given the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Not as good as I wanted it to be

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband had wanted to come here for a while. I booked a 4 top for his birthday. I informed the restaurant in writing prior and when we arrived and when we sat at the table. But at no time did anyone in the restaurant say anything to him AND to make it worse, the waitress congratulated my two 19 year old children at the end of the meal. I am not sure if they looked like they graduated or what. So, not devastating or anything, but disappointing. As for the food, well, um, well, if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all. Okay to be fair, part of the food was great, Paella, and soft crabs, but the pea soup, the asparagus salad, the baked oysters and grilled octopus were fair. And the same for the service, we were seated at 5:30, with several empty tables around us, but we could not hear the waitress tell us the specials, we had to make her repeat each item several times. I am not sure if she thought she was being exclusive or special, but it was slightly irritating after the first three times. I would like to try the restaurant again, to be fair, before I make a severe judgment.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Rappahannock oysters are now my favo ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The Rappahannock oysters are now my favorite! So buttery and delicious!!! The wood grilled branzino was so fresh and perfectly cooked! Great wood grilled taste. We were visiting from out of town, but will definitely go back the next time we are in Richmond. Fabulous restaurant for fresh delicious seafood!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oysters!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Need I say more? The oysters were great! Dessert was surprisingly good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks so much for a wonderful experienc ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Thanks so much for a wonderful experience. We even had a toddler with us. You all were very accommodating. The food was superb! We will definitely be back again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Came down from Philly to meet friends an ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Came down from Philly to meet friends and wish we had such a place. Super fun and engaging waitress sold us on the best oysters I've had in a while. The York River ones were amazing. Then had tile fish perfectly prepared. All in a fun festive space. Downtown Richmond is lucky to have this place.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Inventive but small menu. FRESH

Dined on May 9, 2016

Unusual pairing that came as a wonderful meal.lively scene. recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner at Rappahannock

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time we tried this restaurant, based on a friend's recommendation. We went for Mother's Day and were not disappointed. The seafood was excellent. The service was spot on and the right timing, not bugging us, but also making sure our glasses were filled. If you like seafood, I would definitely try this place. Also, the wine list had some different wines, we had an excellent Chenin Blanc to go with our meal. Overall, a very good experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Downtown Eatery

Dined on May 5, 2016

Excellent food and service. The ambience is somewhat diminished by the high level of noise. It is difficult to be heard , and very taxing to hear your dining companions at the same table.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Oysters Exceptional

Dined on May 3, 2016

The waiter informed us that they were serving three kinds of oysters, ranging from pure oyster taste to briny. We ordered all three at his suggestion. We love oysters, and these were great. I had pork belly (perhaps slightly over-cooked) on a ho'cake over pickled slaw. Perhaps a 6 out of 10. The softshell crabs ordered by my wife, on the other hand, were a 10. Desert was a strawberry cobbler, served just out of the oven; perfect ending.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and surprisingly good for chi ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great meal and surprisingly good for children. Nice for a special event. A good mix of dishes for all tastes and a good vibe. Just go!

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great for raw oysters

Dined on April 24, 2016

The restaurant decor is very modern and nice. The raw oyster selection is great. My dinner guests do not like oysters and were disappointed with the other entree and appetizer selections. The host was not very friendly the night we were there, maybe she was having a bad night. Our waitress was friendly, but very reserved. We did not feel very welcomed there. My wife and I have been there before and we felt very welcomed , so who knows what was going on that night. When in Richmond, I will go back for the oysters, but not take my other dinner guests.

food5
ambience5
service5

Highly energetic place and hard to get a ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Highly energetic place and hard to get a seat at bar so busy. Took work colleagues to dinner and everyone enjoyed their meals. Orderd the escargot which most would not orderd unless in French restaurant. I enjoyed them very much. Great service and food!

food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Ahhhh...could be better

Dined on April 17, 2016

It's a good place for appetizers and a drink after work but def not a place for a date...I had to ask my GF multiple times to repeat what she said. The servers were good only Bc they gave us oysters for free Bc they ran out of caviar...I got 4 scallops for $34 lol, they were "ok" but coulda ordered a bunch more food with that kinda money. So make up your own mind

Tags: vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.