About Rappahannock

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11:30 am - 10 pm
Fri: 11:30 am - 11 pm
Sat: 3 pm - 11 pm
Sun: 3 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

fit for foodies (137)
special occasion (83)
vibrant bar scene (70)
See All
hot spot (60)
neighborhood gem (57)
good for groups (47)
romantic (33)
notable wine list (31)
great for lunch (18)
late-night find (14)
great for brunch (10)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
955 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Amaz'n Luke & Ginger Smash! Spectacular!!!

Dined 3 days ago

Service: Thank you Rappahannock for making our 18th wedding anniversary very special! We sat at the bar with the Amazing Luke (bartender). Luke was outstanding and very knowledgeable about every single item on the bar. We gave him a sense of what we like and he took that check all the way to the bank, deposited it, and invested it all in the same day. We were more than pleased with his service! Thanks again Luke!!! Food: The oyster were briny and so delicious! They were everything that we had hoped for and more. My husband couldn't get enough of the mignonette and fresh horseradish. Rappahannock is officially on our annual to-do list when we visit for our anniversary each year.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must visit

Dined 4 days ago

From the moment we entered until we left there was nothing that did not please us. My new favorite place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Everything was very nice, but extremely ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything was very nice, but extremely pricey. I've never eaten in a restaurant that charges you $5 for a basket with 4 1/2 pieces of bread in it.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is always a winner with food ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

This place is always a winner with food service and atmosphere. The cocktails are unbelievably unique and delicious. I will be back over and over.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

mixed night

Dined on May 17, 2016

It was our second time at Rappahannock. Three of the four dishes were stellar. Fourth was good. Waiter detracted significantly from the evening. He was arrogant, condescending and not helpful. Loud restaurant. While the food was really good it might be enough to get me to go back given the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Not as good as I wanted it to be

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband had wanted to come here for a while. I booked a 4 top for his birthday. I informed the restaurant in writing prior and when we arrived and when we sat at the table. But at no time did anyone in the restaurant say anything to him AND to make it worse, the waitress congratulated my two 19 year old children at the end of the meal. I am not sure if they looked like they graduated or what. So, not devastating or anything, but disappointing. As for the food, well, um, well, if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all. Okay to be fair, part of the food was great, Paella, and soft crabs, but the pea soup, the asparagus salad, the baked oysters and grilled octopus were fair. And the same for the service, we were seated at 5:30, with several empty tables around us, but we could not hear the waitress tell us the specials, we had to make her repeat each item several times. I am not sure if she thought she was being exclusive or special, but it was slightly irritating after the first three times. I would like to try the restaurant again, to be fair, before I make a severe judgment.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Rappahannock oysters are now my favo ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The Rappahannock oysters are now my favorite! So buttery and delicious!!! The wood grilled branzino was so fresh and perfectly cooked! Great wood grilled taste. We were visiting from out of town, but will definitely go back the next time we are in Richmond. Fabulous restaurant for fresh delicious seafood!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oysters!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Need I say more? The oysters were great! Dessert was surprisingly good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Came down from Philly to meet friends an ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Came down from Philly to meet friends and wish we had such a place. Super fun and engaging waitress sold us on the best oysters I've had in a while. The York River ones were amazing. Then had tile fish perfectly prepared. All in a fun festive space. Downtown Richmond is lucky to have this place.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Inventive but small menu. FRESH

Dined on May 9, 2016

Unusual pairing that came as a wonderful meal.lively scene. recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner at Rappahannock

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time we tried this restaurant, based on a friend's recommendation. We went for Mother's Day and were not disappointed. The seafood was excellent. The service was spot on and the right timing, not bugging us, but also making sure our glasses were filled. If you like seafood, I would definitely try this place. Also, the wine list had some different wines, we had an excellent Chenin Blanc to go with our meal. Overall, a very good experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Downtown Eatery

Dined on May 5, 2016

Excellent food and service. The ambience is somewhat diminished by the high level of noise. It is difficult to be heard , and very taxing to hear your dining companions at the same table.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Oysters Exceptional

Dined on May 3, 2016

The waiter informed us that they were serving three kinds of oysters, ranging from pure oyster taste to briny. We ordered all three at his suggestion. We love oysters, and these were great. I had pork belly (perhaps slightly over-cooked) on a ho'cake over pickled slaw. Perhaps a 6 out of 10. The softshell crabs ordered by my wife, on the other hand, were a 10. Desert was a strawberry cobbler, served just out of the oven; perfect ending.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great for raw oysters

Dined on April 24, 2016

The restaurant decor is very modern and nice. The raw oyster selection is great. My dinner guests do not like oysters and were disappointed with the other entree and appetizer selections. The host was not very friendly the night we were there, maybe she was having a bad night. Our waitress was friendly, but very reserved. We did not feel very welcomed there. My wife and I have been there before and we felt very welcomed , so who knows what was going on that night. When in Richmond, I will go back for the oysters, but not take my other dinner guests.

food5
ambience5
service5

Highly energetic place and hard to get a ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Highly energetic place and hard to get a seat at bar so busy. Took work colleagues to dinner and everyone enjoyed their meals. Orderd the escargot which most would not orderd unless in French restaurant. I enjoyed them very much. Great service and food!

food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Ahhhh...could be better

Dined on April 17, 2016

It's a good place for appetizers and a drink after work but def not a place for a date...I had to ask my GF multiple times to repeat what she said. The servers were good only Bc they gave us oysters for free Bc they ran out of caviar...I got 4 scallops for $34 lol, they were "ok" but coulda ordered a bunch more food with that kinda money. So make up your own mind

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Nice Seafood Spot, Service Amateurish

Dined on April 17, 2016

Really nice seafood; the service and timing of when food came to the table was bad. We had some oysters and trout caviar for appetizer - and it was absolutely amazing! Then we ordered three small plates to share, and instead of bringing them out separately, they brought them all out at the same time. This part of the meal was a really poor showing. Any decent place in a city should know about the food, and how and when to bring it out. Luckily they have a good source to seafood.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First Class

Dined on April 15, 2016

Might have been the best meal my wife and I have had in the last 3 or 4 years. I had a dozen raw oysters split evenly between 4 sources (from sweet to briny), she had a half dozen roasted. Just about dead solid perfect! We had wood grilled scallops and pan seared fish (sea bass): both entrees were delicious and perfectly cooked. We started with a nice Prosecco and split a fine bottle of Sancerre. Oh...and a big shout out to our terrific server, Molly! She was enthusiastic, knew everything about the menu and was wonderfully attentive on a busy Friday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Too little food for too much money.

Dined on April 15, 2016

I had looked forward to going here, but was roundly disappointed. The portions were small for the price. My tuna was tough and the wine pour was niggardly. My friend had the scallops. Just four for $32! I've had more a better up on Church Hill for a reasonable price. The gelato was excellent. I would not go back and would not recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great otsters

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

We were in town visiting a group of friends and heard about this excellent place for oysters. One of my favorite things! We were excited but my wife had read some less than spectacular reviews about the service. I am a huge fan of NW oysters but have recently enjoyed oyster from the east coast. I wasn't sure about oysters harvested in the rivers of Virginia. The oysters were great!! Service was good with very good recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the rockfish and oyster burride ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

We loved the rockfish and oyster burride. Will be back again.

food1
ambience3
service1

Waste of money. Good and service not goo ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Waste of money. Good and service not good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rappahannock is known for their oysters, ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Rappahannock is known for their oysters, but we like that they also have fish, such as yellow tail, that you can't always get at restaurants. The desserts also combine fun flavors such as fresh marmalade with chocolate and pistachio gelati. Some in our party like beer, and especially like the offering of darker ales along with IPA's.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Best place to have an anniversary. Laure ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Best place to have an anniversary. Lauren is the best server. And they have such tastie oysters from places I never heard of. I can still taste them.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent, waitress was knowled ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was excellent, waitress was knowledgeable. Was fun to sample different types of oysters as an appetizer. All around it was a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food, High Price for the portion sizes.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Three seafood dinners of Rockfish and Trout, one child's meal and you are at $120 before tip. Side portions are very small. Way over-priced for the ambience and portion sizes. The meals tasted great but the value proposition is far better at neighboring restaurants. Service was okay, but nothing to boast about.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Average Seafood Restaurant

Dined on April 7, 2016

The owners are suppose to have their own oyster farm. However, I found the menu lacking in oyster dishes. I expected a nice oyster stew and fried oyster platter. The noise level was over the top and the music they had playing was awful. Would not return to this restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rappahannock is a TripAdvisor Gem!!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Whether you're a local or visiting (staying at a local hotel), you will be well served to visit Rappahannock!! If you stay at the Richmond downtown Marriott (on E. Broad St. between N. 5th and N. 6th Street) or across the street at the Hilton Richmond Downtown, you are within one block of the best purveyor of local seafood fare! If your palate is eager for oysters (ours weren't), you're in luck! The oyster bar is conveniently co-located next to the wood-fired oven at the restaurant. You will be able to smell the savory aromas even before you arrive at Whether you're a local or visiting (staying at a local hotel), you will be well served to visit Rappahannock!! If you stay at the Richmond downtown Marriott (on E. Broad St. between N. 5th and N. 6th Street) or across the street at the Hilton Richmond Downtown, you are within one block of the best purveyor of local seafood fare! If your palate is eager for oysters (ours weren't), you're in luck! The oyster bar is conveniently co-located next to the wood-fired oven at the restaurant. You will be able to smell the savory aromas even before you arrive at Rappahannock. My wife and I were treated to appetizing Sub Rosa Bread with whipped butter infused with kumquat butter!! Mmmmm. They offer a wide variety of wine by the bottle or glass, craft local beer (I had an exceptional Hardywood Park Craft Brewery's 'Give Bock' beer from one of Richmond's premier local industries) and unique appetizers to suit every discerning visitor. We began with a Root Vegetable Salad and Spring Pea Soup. We dined on wood grilled scallops with guanciale, spinach, blue ginger, maitake mushrooms, brown butter vinaigrette, and crimson lentil puree! WOW!! By the time the dessert menu was presented, we were pleasantly sated and duly impressed! Rappahannock is a 'do not miss' venue that appeals to a wide variety of patrons and one that you do NOT have to dress up to enjoy! Bon Appetite!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

One of our party payed $4 for bread whic ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

One of our party payed $4 for bread which was served cold. For that nice a place you would think they could microwave it for a few seconds at least. Otherwise the food was terrific!

food5
ambience4
service5

Of course you have to have some raw oyst ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Of course you have to have some raw oysters and they are great. We also enjoyed the monkfish and the scallops. You won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The rockfish and barcat oyster bourride was an oyster lover's delight. Think oyster stew with a clear broth loaded with oysters, fish, fennel, and thin slice potatoes. My wife's wood-grilled monkfish was also cooked to perfection. Our server was attentive but not pushy and was very helpful with our entree selections. Special kudos: our daughter called us during our dinner with the good news of her engagement and our server suddenly appeared with flutes of prosecco to celebrate the good news. The only constructive criticism I have would be to add a couple more oyster themed entrees to the dinner menu. Yes, we will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Service was a bit slow this time

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Service was a bit slow this time

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

One great dish, the other just ok

Dined on April 1, 2016

Being fairly new in town, we wanted to try some seafood that was a little more upscale. I had the tuna and my wife had the seared fish. Mine was excellent, full of flavor, and well paired with the sides. My wife's was just bland, both the fish and the sides. Both were cooked just right. The portions are medium sized at best. In the end, it was a little pricey with half the tab being just average.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 1, 2016

Good eats and they had Madeira to finish off the meal. Thanks for the good service and prompt bill.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing food!!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Amazing food!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved

Dined on March 27, 2016

Loved going here but boy very pricey $$$$. So won't going unless special occasion

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went early for Easter brunch. The menu was limited the food was very good but a couple of things were not hot. The service was very good but the food took a very long time to arrive from the kitchen.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Tasty oysters, but very small.

Dined on March 27, 2016

I was very excited about the oysters, but when our order arrived, I found the size to be a little disappointing for the $2.25 each price tag. They seemed to be a little larger than a quarter. The $10 dessert was only about two forkfuls of cake with a half of a tiny scoop of ice cream. The flavor was good, but be prepared to shell out a lot of cash for small oysters.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dinner

Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent food, great service, a real gem in Richmond

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Perhaps Shellfish was a Poor Choice

Dined on March 23, 2016

Scallop dish was way too salty for either of us and was undercooked. My wife and I ordered bread (not complimentary), 1 glass of wine, 1 lemon aide, 1 appetizer, 2 entrées, 1 desert and 2 coffees. With tip = $140. Our dining companion ordered trout and enjoyed it.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.