About Rappahannock

320 E. Grace St.
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Upscale, yet casual seafood restaurant nestled in the historic Grace St. corridor of downtown Richmond, serving up seasonal dishes, craft beers, diverse wine, signature cocktails, and an enormous raw bar focusing on our very own oyster farms (ie, Rappahannock Oyster Co.). Rappahannock has assembled incredible talent to revolutionize the concept of farm to table.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11:30 am - 10 pm
Fri: 11:30 am - 11 pm
Sat: 3 pm - 11 pm
Sun: 3 pm - 10 pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 545-0565

Website:
http://www.rroysters.com/

Catering:
Rappahannock is an arm of Rappahannock Oyster Co (www.rroysters.com), which provides mobile raw bars and seafood small plates for weddings, parties and other functions.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking, Rappahannock has many nearby parking lots, such as 4th & Broad and 4th & Main.

Executive Chef:
Dylan Fultineer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Heirloom Salad - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Fresh Pasta With Butter - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Tuna Crudo Niçoise - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Old Fashioned - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Wood-Grilled Yellowfin Tuna - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Summerfling Ale - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Wood Grilled Scallops - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Chapman Manhattan - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Grilled Shrimp Salad - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oysters and Pearls - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Grilled Shrimps - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oysters & Pearls - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oysters - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Hanover Tomato Gazpacho Soup - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oysters on the Half Shell - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Pork Belly - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Père Et Fille - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Chocolate Ganache Buckwheat Crepe Cake - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Great Dismal Black Ipa - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
El General - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Baked Oysters - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Bloody Mary - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Tuna Melt - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Lamb Burger - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Scall - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oyster Back - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Old Salt Oyster Stout - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Spanish Highball - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
White Gazpacho - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Pork Belly Sandwich - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Cured Scotish Salmon Trout - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
hangtown fry - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Branzino - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Pork - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Scallop On The Half Shell - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Soon To Be Head Cheese - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Grilled Shrimp - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Oyster Chowder With Bacon  - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Grilled Rockfish Sandwich - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
Clams With Squid And Lamb Sausage - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
pork ribs - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA
House-Made Pastrami Sandwich - Rappahannock, Richmond, VA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether a seated dinner or a reception style event, Rappahannock and RappSession are the perfect spot for your group!

Rappahannock Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Local Ingredients (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Bar Seating (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Hot Spot (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Casual (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Healthy (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (12)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
People Watching (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great Beer (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Seasonal (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Historic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Oysters to die for. Everything was very ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Oysters to die for. Everything was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A delicious meal from start to finish, w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

A delicious meal from start to finish, with just the right balance of seasonings to make the seafood shine

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sea bass and the monk fish were exce ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The sea bass and the monk fish were excellent choices -- both tasty and cooked to perfection. Service was excellent. Pricey but the dinner marked a special occasion for my wife and me.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance which was energetic. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the ambiance which was energetic. The food was fantastic! Would come again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious experience. Great choice befo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious experience. Great choice before attending the Richmond Symphony at the Carpenter Center!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food selection was wonderful and the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The food selection was wonderful and the items we tried were all great. Exactly what we were seeking for the food aspect. The room is large and VERY noisy which is a huge distraction, making it hard to carry on conversations. When a place is noisy, everyone ends up speaking very loudly, so in addition to not being able to hear each other, the three of us also heard conversations from neighboring tables.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

My husband, a friend and I enjoyed the b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

My husband, a friend and I enjoyed the bar area first and then were seated for dinner. Our waitress was very helpful in helping us make selections. We enjoyed the pan seared fish and paella very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Three friends and I had a wonderful oyst ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Three friends and I had a wonderful oyster lunch at Rappahannock on a Tuesday.

We were early--but the staff was great to take care of us.

We were hungry for oysters, and so we had the oysters on the half shell--and then had the oyster entree as well!

All were great! We raved about the entree in that the oysters still took the lead and the accoutrements did not overwhelm them.

Then we all had the apple dessert which was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal I have had in RVA The cul ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The best meal I have had in RVA

The culinary team cooked out of their minds

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 4 of us were first time diners on Sa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The 4 of us were first time diners on Sat. Great food. Loved the pear salad & the scallops entree. Great service from staff, especially Jason. Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We introduced a family member to this sp ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We introduced a family member to this spot, and had a very good meal. We went the night before Thanksgiving, but the food, and especially the service, were still at the top of the chart.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A sleek and modern interior with great l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A sleek and modern interior with great lighting and perfectly warm on a cold night. Perfect dining after a terrific opera performance a block or two away.

The Oysters were absolutely delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything we eat here is always good. O ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Everything we eat here is always good. Our server Jason was super helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rappahannock is the deal if you like oys ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Rappahannock is the deal if you like oysters, clams, or mussels from Virginia. The other dishes are terrific as well. The bar is the focal point of the restaurant and plenty of room for beverages and sides. The atmoshere is a little loud around the bar, but there's seating elsewhere if you want a quiet dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My dinner at Rappahannock was excellent. ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My dinner at Rappahannock was excellent. I started with a dozen oysters of the 3 different varieties. They were incredibly fresh and flavorful and the mignonette was amazing. I saved it just in case I wanted it for my entree somehow.

I had the whole grilled branzino served with coconut basmati rice, sauteed kale and a puree. The fish was perfect and the kale dipped in the mignonette was excellent.

Service was prompt, attentive and the server was knowledgeable! Definitely a 5* experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In Richmond just for a night, we were ho ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

In Richmond just for a night, we were hoping to dine at one of the best restaurants in the city, which seems to have become a foodie destination. After some research, we selected this place downtown, based on a number of positive diner reviews on Open Table and elsewhere. We were really disappointed. A ridiculously slow kitchen, combined with inflexibility towards our request for an amazingly minor modification to one of the menu items, resulted in lackluster service. The food -- some of it overcooked -- didn't live anywhere near up to its billing. The variety of wines offered by the glass was quite limited, and the wine servings seemed over-priced. Finally, a high noise level made any kind of conversation very challenging. There's not much going for this place, which seemed generally to lack grace. We departed feeling really sorry that we hadn't chosen another of the dozen or so restaurants that are winning rave reviews in the capital city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

This was within walking distance of the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This was within walking distance of the Richmond Marriott Hotel, so convenient after a concert at the Coliseum. This is $$$ drinks and entrees, so if your wallet can cover it, it's worth the price. Food was farm to table and the seafood entrees and sides were wonderful. Staff was wine knowledgeable and helpful for food pairings. Overall, an impressive menu and helpful staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great bartender, wonderful food. We had ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great bartender, wonderful food. We had a good time and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Creative food with interesting combinati ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Creative food with interesting combinations. The noise level is quite high

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was great. Our waitress was ver ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was great. Our waitress was very helpful with her advice about choosing an entree. We loved our overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great oysters, incredible Mediterranean ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great oysters, incredible Mediterranean Sea Bass and "real" service. No fluff, just straight forward eating and drinking the way it should be! Bringing it!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our third visit to Rappahannock ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our third visit to Rappahannock and it never disappoints.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Was there pre-Anthem Richmond Marathon a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Was there pre-Anthem Richmond Marathon and was disappointed there wasn't more simple, well-prepared locally sourced options. The grilled fish of the day was from South Africa! That's a long haul for a fish, and leaves a pretty enormous carbon footprint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent staff. Food tasty and well pr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent staff. Food tasty and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We arrived with high expectations only t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We arrived with high expectations only to experience great disappointment. Positive experience was the young hostess at the door who welcomed us with a bright smile and our waiter Josh who went out of his way in explaining the menu and making sure that we had everything we needed. We ordered 12 oyster on the half shell, they arrived cold and very fresh. The second appetizer 'Baked Rappahannock Oysters, House bacon, creamed Swiss chard" they arrived barely warm, couldn't find the bacon and definitely no cream in sight just the stalks of the Swiss chard thrown hapzardly on top.

We had higher hopes for our main courses: 'House Made Raviolis, outer bank shrimp, chanterelle mushrooms, arugula, stewed fennel and tomatoes" the thickness of the pasta was unacceptable and, to make matters worse, they were cooked 'al dente' and the Swiss chard made another appearance, even though there was no mention of it in the description. My husband ordered the 'Harmony Hill Farm Pork' but was told that the chef had sustituted that dish with a 'Pork Belly' special, the dish arrived with some messy indistinguishable presentation and you guess it...Swiss chard! We actually enjoyed Swiss Chard on 3 of our choices. It was at this point that we wish we had stuck with the oysters and ignored everything else on the menu. Cannot recommend this restaurant, if you are an oyster lover sit at the bar and enjoy the three different types of oysters with a glass of wine or beer...bartender very friendly! Chef needs to work on his skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Great fresh food

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great fresh food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I had a fabulous, fabulous, solo dinner ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I had a fabulous, fabulous, solo dinner at Rappahannock. I started with a dozen oysters on the half shell (I splurged because I had wondered in during happy hour during which the bivalves are half price.) They were terrific. I followed the oysters with a greens, beans and sausage soup that I happily would have eaten for my dinner. I finished with a grilled branzino. It was incredibly well-prepared -- so much so that I asked my server to tell the kitchen staff that it was the best branzino I'd ever had. Fabulous food, attentive server. I couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service very good. Chef and ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and service very good. Chef and server do anything to make you feel good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Late-night Find, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

At the recommendation of a Richmond frie ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

At the recommendation of a Richmond friend, I took my wife to Rappahannock for dinner. Oysters are always on our radar. It also helped it was within walking distance of our hotel.

We were seated promptly upon our arrival. The table was by the window and good for people watching. Our server came over not long after but did not introduce herself. She seemed a tad stand-offish, not rude or abrupt but not overly friendly or suggestive of how to insure a great experience at the restaurant. She jumped right into the specials before drinks were ordered. She did answer our questions about the menu.

The wood-grilled oysters were a nice start, unique from the usual raw. The hamachi crudo was also nice although the fennel was a tad heavy. I enjoyed the Monkfish over a sweet potato hash and paired with beets. It was nice but I did not love it either. My wife tried the Rockfish & Oyster Bourride (fish stew) because she loves oysters and wanted to try something unique. She thought the fennel and the garlic overpowered the flavors and she tired of it quickly.

We decided to skip dessert and additional drinks for asked for the check.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent meal. Everyone in our party of ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent meal. Everyone in our party of 5 tried a cocktail and they were all very well made. The oysters were fresh and delicious. I had the paella and it was excellent. My wife had a great entree with scallops.

Would recommend for a date night or a small group (4 or 5).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

From out of town and everyone was super ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

From out of town and everyone was super inviting. The food was outstanding along with the cocktails. The paella and the fish of the day were spot on. We also enjoyed the chapman manhattan and the rappahannock and York oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The baked oysters were delicious. Creati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The baked oysters were delicious. Creative cocktail list too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Yes, its expensive, but the food is GREA ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Yes, its expensive, but the food is GREAT! Paella was a star as were the grilled scallops.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have 6 ppls at the party, it was a b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have 6 ppls at the party, it was a birthday party , our waitress from beginning to the end of the party no smiles at all! And not even a happy birthday wish or offered anything, food was ok . But with the kind of attitude (waitress) she don't deserve for the automatic 20% tip add into the bill. Will not be back!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We had a wonderful anniversary date nigh ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary date night thanks to the lovely staff and excellent food. Our waitress, Leisa was outstanding! She was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. We would absolutely recommend Rappahannock to our friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all really enjoyed our dinner. We had ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We all really enjoyed our dinner. We had not been in a while and we decided to come to Rappahanock before a show at The National. We had both raw and grilled oysters and they were excellent. Everyone enjoyed their beer, wine and entrees as well. We will definitely be back hopefully sooner than later. 👌

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good. A bit expensive but a Very ni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very good. A bit expensive but a Very nice atmosphere. Good selection of regional beers.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Oysters are phenomenal! Other food ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The Oysters are phenomenal! Other food really good too. We were two couples, mid-70's, booked at 7 pm Friday. By the time we left at 9 the noise level was irritating. But the young folk can handle it. Book early and avoid the noise.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Delish food...always good ,nice service. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Delish food...always good ,nice service.I always have a great time...awesome sefood

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 20th wedding ann ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and said that on the reservation. They seated us at the bathrooms. Not romantic. It took 15 minutes to get a person to take our drink order. The appetizers were good, yet pricey. The Oysters and Pearls were delicious and we enjoyed the flavor of the oysters. The oysters and Rockfish Barcat was very good. Again they let the oysters shine through the taste. We really came because of the oysters, which, thank goodness, were robust and had good size. Over-all not bad.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.