About Rao's Hollywood

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Thursday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 6pm to 10:30
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $8 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Grimes

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hollywood
Best Food
Hollywood
Best Ambiance
Hollywood
2 More
Special Occasion
Hollywood
Italian
Hollywood
Best Restaurants in Hollywood ›

special occasion (47)
fit for foodies (42)
neighborhood gem (40)
See All
good for groups (32)
romantic (27)
notable wine list (21)
great for outdoor dining (15)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

East coast meets west coast. Service was ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

East coast meets west coast. Service was great. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Raos is my favorite Italian restaurant i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Raos is my favorite Italian restaurant in the LA area. The good is excellent and dishes are best when shared. We have had many servers and they have all been so friendly and helpful.The host comes to every table to "kibbutz" with the guests. Reservations are honored on time and while this is a busy restaurant, you are never rushed. Don't miss the meatballs!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rao's was a wonderful surprise. The enti ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Rao's was a wonderful surprise. The entire experience was great. The meatball appetizer is amazing. the sauce is fantastic. The service was great, everyone went out of their way to make our experience great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a solid consistently great meal a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always a solid consistently great meal and service! Love RAOs

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love their restaurant in NYC which is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love their restaurant in NYC which is impossible to get into so this one in LA is a real gem for me. Very NYC family run feel with a patio also for outdoor LA dining. The food is amazing and "Chicago" our waiter is always incredible anytime I eat there. Definite FIVE STARS for me. Be sure to order the Meatballs for an appetizer they're out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service was outstanding ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food and the service was outstanding!

I'm traveling through America from Australia and this is by far the best meal I have had so far.

On the way to New York soon and can't wait to try get another great Rao's meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing!!! Great service and ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was amazing!!! Great service and every bit Italian.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous old style Italian food and ambi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Fabulous old style Italian food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, staff, and ambiance. I ca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Awesome food, staff, and ambiance. I can see myself being a regular here.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Satisfaction continues with each return ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Satisfaction continues with each return visit. From the greeting by hostess to the service and the food, we continue to be happy with every aspect of the restaurant... Louie & Johnny "Roast Beef" make sure every patron is happy with RAO's.

Rao's continues to be one of our favorite Hollywood 'eateries'.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special birthday occasion highlighted by ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Special birthday occasion highlighted by New York ambiance and service. Meatballs and lemon chicken are superb. Would definitely return for a Manhattan, foodie experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome. Lived most of my life in NY an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Awesome. Lived most of my life in NY and never got into Rao's... So happy to have one here in LA.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Rao's never disappoints.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Rao's never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meatballs are the signature dish. O ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The meatballs are the signature dish. One of my favorite authentic Italian restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and atmosphere.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I was super excited to take my husband a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I was super excited to take my husband and godfathers to dinner on Father's Day. We love the Rao's sauce and use it often. But the restaurant food was just not very good -- I could do better at home. But I will say the gelato was the best I ever had and the cheesecake was delicious.

I would go there again but only for dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The service and meals were exceptional! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service and meals were exceptional! Looking forward to next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meatballs and raviolis were to die f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The meatballs and raviolis were to die for! It was too loud for my 80 year old in-laws but the food and service made up for it and we had a very pleasant dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun, good food, not too loud

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went here for an after theater meal and were not disappointed. The appetizers were delicious (heirloom tomatoes)but for some reason I can't remember my entree so I guess it didn't make a big impression. Pretty expansive wine list, loved the crispness of the white that was ordered. Very friendly host or possibly manager.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

EXCELENT!!!! FOR a guy who might not mak ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

EXCELENT!!!! FOR a guy who might not make to heaven... this popetas makes you feel as close as posible...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First Time

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Was our 1st time. Everything was very good. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Rao's

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food Great atmosphere Great people Fun and relaxing

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word.. AWESOME!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

One word.. AWESOME!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Far exceeded my expectations!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

From the moment you walk in not only are you greeted with smiles and a hearty welcome from a group of the nicest folks ever but also you are greeted with the aroma of food that could only be duplicated in grandmas kitchen! The service really sets the bar high, I will be going back to see our server Chicago because he was that good. Not to mention the food is a little piece of Italian heaven! The music, the ambiance the people my goodness I felt like I was in Brooklyn. What an experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are no words.. one of the top 10 b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

There are no words.. one of the top 10 best experiences and I am from L.A.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We can get enough… We've had dinner at R ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We can get enough… We've had dinner at Rao's two Saturdays in a row and are going again in two weeks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been told by friends to try and it ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Have been told by friends to try and it didn't let me down. We had a 7:15 reservation and showed up about 20 earlier and was escorted to the very nice out patio. My wife and I shared the Meatballs and Caesar Salad, both were incredible. For our main courses my wife ordered the Lemon Chicken and I had the Bone in Veal Parmesan. Both were very good and the veal was enough to feed 4 people. We ended up taking most of our main entrees home to be enjoyed another day. Would highly recommend and will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The vibe is cozy, old school New York, t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The vibe is cozy, old school New York, the wait staff is excellent, knowledgeable, friendly and fun, but best of all is the food. Best meatballs we've ever had, the most delicious and giant bowl of Caesar salad, an incredible Chicken Parm followed by a crazy good cheesecake. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very delicious meal as expected.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A very delicious meal as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My go-to restaurant in LA for special occasions.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

You can't find a restaurant like this anywhere west of the Hudson River, let alone in LA. If you're a New Yorker like me, this is the only way to get into Rao's! Lucky for us transplants they are here, and they have seats available in LA. This is my new special occasion restaurant. It's what Dan Tana's and Musso's wants to be but isn't authentic enough to pull it off like Rao's. And where else can you meet Johnny Roast Beef? No where, not even in NY anymore. I'll be back as often as I can afford it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meatballs are ridiculously delicious ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The meatballs are ridiculously delicious! The staff was extremely friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Gem

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Love the location and the experience of this place. great people, great food. Always a good meal. Will return over and over again like i always do.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Restuarant

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

If I could give the food six stars I would. The veal parmigiana was enough for three people.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raos

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was some of the best in the city. The food was good... but, not the best. The meatball appetizer was divine and the waiter made sure me scraped up all of the last bits of sauce from the dish before he cleared the dish from the table. We had the chicken scarpiello (OK) and the chicken parm... which is off menu. Kind of wished they served pasta with the chicken (or at least suggested it) Do not leave without having a slice of NY Style cheesecake.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Family Fine Dining

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant was perfect. It's a fine dining restaurant with a warm, family welcome. The staff here all treat you like family. Please ask the servers for suggestions, because they love to share their favorites, and they're really eager to give you the best dining experience.

If you're looking at the menu and everything sounds so good you can't decide, go with the Fiocci. I have never had anything like it! I could eat it for a meal or a dessert. It's that good!!

Speaking of dessert, my only regret was being too full to try the cheesecake.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another awesome meal at Rao's

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Each time I come to Rao's I leave happy, from the service, from the food, from the ambience, from the great conversation that takes place in this classic setting! Thanks again, see you next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The waiter was very attentive and very knowledgeable. The food was very good. Their meatball appetizer is a MUST.. Very tender and flavorful. Hard to go wrong. Great experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Real NY Italian food delights the senses ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Real NY Italian food delights the senses.... And the cast of characters working kept me smiling :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my third time at Rao's... While ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This is my third time at Rao's...

While the food is good, the service is not...We waited almost 1 1/2 hours to get our main course.

The general manager cam over and said, we would have our meal shortly...I told him that if it didn't come out in 5 minutes, we would leave. He seemed very shocked that I would say that.

He comes over and pours us a splash of wine to "make us happy" as he said.

While the food is good, there are many other great Italian restaurants in LA and I am not sure I would ever go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Party at Rao's

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

So consistently fun and delicious food. We always feel like we are at the original Rao's which is like being in the family home for dinner!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.