Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Rao's Hollywood

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Friday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm to 10pm
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $10 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Michael Wesley

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (37)
Special Occasion (31)
Comfort Food (28)
See All
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Family Style (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Cozy (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Fun (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Business Meals (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Historic (11)
People Watching (10)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Can't say enough about this place. Absolutely delicious food, huge portions, and great staff. We will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Family Style, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

From the moment we walked it it was perfect friendly and warm. We had a great server and the rest of the staff was around if needed. Wonderful evening. Can't wait to go back. Food was so delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing. Service was wonderful. Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Svetlana, our server didn't introduce herself or make any sort of conversation. Not sure if there were specials and it being our first time we weren't recommended anything or told that each meal basically is served individually. I wish I had been told to maybe order a pasta with the veal scallopini as it was just the meat and sauce. Would've been great served with angel hair pasta (or I would've ordered a side). I told the server and the hostess it was our birthdays and after showing my email did I finally get 1 peice of cheesecake and a coffee. My birthday 4/15 and my boyfriends was on the dinner date night 4/8. We'll most likely be back but would love a bit more interaction/recommendations from our server.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very accommodating. We were pressed for time due to having tickets for a show. Food was great, ambiance was superb but the service was exquisite.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The staff was very helpful in discussing the various menu options and wine lists. Would recommend this place to my friends in LA
Great food

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wow! I had been wanting to go for a while. And what a great surprise. May be the best pasta in town.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The veal was not so good. Mushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

"Chicago", our server was great. The cheesecake was quite good as were the stuffed clams. The rest of the food, however, left a lot to be desired: chicken was dry and the onions overpowered the Marsala sauce on the veal. Dan Tana's is better for classic Italian/steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was our second visit. The food was still excellent. The wait staff is knowledgeable and the atmosphere casual but upscale. It's not cheap but it's worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The Rao's team always deliver exemplary service and food. I will be loyal to this place, always!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Well worth the drive to Hollywood, had the beet salad and veal marsala. Will definitely return when in LA.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I'm still looking for that great Italian restaurant in Los Angeles. Rao's isn't it. My husband had the fettucine with pancetta. The pasta was schizophrenic, with some pieces mushy and others too al dente. The pancetta was awful--so much fat you had to spit the pieces out. I had lemon chicken with a side order of grilled vegetables. No entre come with vegetables or potatoes--they have to be paid for separately. The chicken was tasty, though drowning in olive oil. The grilled vegetables were done with no seasoning or flair. They were grilled--had the grill marks to prove it, and nothing else. Flat, dull and boring. The wine list is mediocre and severely over-priced. The noise level was horrible. Blaring rock music--the music was fine, the level was impossible, forcing diners to shout. So, having a nice conversation at the table-impossible. The tables, however, were nicely spaced--none of that "Los-Angeles-eat-with-your-neighbor" spacing. The waitstaff was excellent. As my husband and I said when we left, "No need to go back there."

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Started off with baked clams - absolutely disgusting
Next was penna ala vodka - zero taste
Finished off with veal parm - sause was horrible.

Service was border line awful.

Gave this place a second chance - will never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Best authentic Italian food you will find on the West coast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server, Jason D., was exceptional.
His suggestions were right on.
He knew what we needed, without knowing us before
He can serve me anytime

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Loved Rao's. Music, ambiance, delicious food, great service, tasty drinks!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing. Loved everything. Bone in veal Parmesan was the bomb.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wow. I love this place! I was born in Harlem and was never able to eat there ! Glad you're in Hollywood. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Order the meatball appetizer. $17 for two but well worth it. Relaxed atmosphere and very friendly service. Not cheap but absolutely great Italian food. Definitely one of the best in Los Angeles. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Hmm. Stale bread (which the waiter left on the table after we informed him), hard upsell on multiple items, seated at the back corner against plast sheets on a concrete slab, tiny bar area - if the overpriced food wasn't good this would have been a horror rating. Not worth any hype whatsoever. Go to Franco's 5 blocks away for good Italian at a reasonable price and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Patrick is the most hospitable restaurant manager I've ever encountered - he's so warm, caring and genuine. He makes sure each and every person dining there is having a wonderful experience from the minute they walk through the doorway.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Loved our dinner there the other evening. Service, Food, Ambiance were all an A+.

We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great meal. Best Italian food.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Wow. Exceptional. Spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Rao's Hollywood delivers authentic Italian cuisine, warm atmosphere and great service. The Meatballs, Sausage & Peppers, Veal & Chicken Parm, pastas, and a great big rib eye to share is fantastic. old school and very cool!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This place is tasty. It's in a neighborhood where you are questioning the directions the moment you exit the freeway. Trust the directions, you are heading to the right place. I would valet park. You enter the doors and you are greeted immediately with a warm face asking for the name your reservations are under. We arrived 20 minutes early and we were seated right away. The lighting is dim inside however the outside seating is more lit. We brought a bottle of wine ($30 corkage fee) and we just started ordering. There was 4 of us and when you drive to LA for dinner, you make the most of it.

Appetizer - Fritto Misto - even though its fried, it wasn't greasy, it's very light and flavorful. Calamari, shirmp, cod -- so tasty

Salad - Seafood Salad - yummy! The lemon dressing was a perfect fit for this dish.

Pasta - Fiocchi - hands down a MUST ORDER. Ravioli, ricotta and pear filling, brown butter, sage and dried cranberries. I don't need to say anything more about this dish.

Chicken Scarpariello - Not my personal favorite however the group enjoyed it. The dish is spicy and I don't care for spicy. I was told the dish had a lot of flavors and they enjoyed it.

Sunday Gravy - If you dine on Sunday, you should order this for the table. Short rib, pork let, pork braciole, meatballs and hot & sweet sausage. Rigatoni and house salad. The house salad had mixed reviews....over-dressed however I personally enjoyed it. The lettuce was crisp and not soggy when you over dress a salad but it was a perfect pairing with the meal.

Dessert - Tiramisu, Chocolate Cake and Cheesecake. The chocolate cake was light, moist. The cheesecake was AMAZING -- MUST ORDER. The tiramisu was basic tiramisu.

Clearly we over ordered and if we did it again we would have stuck with the appetizer, lemon chicken and Sunday gravy and less tiramisu.

Ladies, I'm glad I wore leggings with a sweater and fancied it up with a pair of heels.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food is delicious! We loved the roasted red peppers with mozzarella, the seafood salad and the meatballs as appetizers. We LOVED the shrimp scampi with angel hair and be sure to order the peas with the prosciutto. Amazing meal.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The bolognese and sausage and peppers were amazing! Went here for my birthday dinner. The service was outstanding and the food was sooo good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was excellent, we are especially impressed by the double cut pork chop, huge portion yet tender! The grilled vegetables are tasty although a bit burned. I am not a cheesecake fan but ordered it under the high recommendation of the staff, it was surprisingly moist and creamy, well made! Service is exceptionally good, multiple people came check on us, they delivered the warmth and cozieness of a neighbothood eatery with a well trained efficiency. All in all a great dining experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We eat here all the time. This is a great NY Italian style restaurant!
Friendly, good service, great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Celebrated my husbands birthday, there were 10 of us and everyone enjoyed what they ate and the drinks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Thanks to Rao's! Great setting, comfortable service and extremely friendly. My guest thoroughly enjoyed their visit and the dining experience. A rare find in today's Hollywood restaurant world! Great food and atmosphere and we will be back soon!

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

For a restaurant with lots of history, I had high hopes. Especially since I cannot access the restaurant from my home town of NYC. It started off bad right away when they didn't have mozzarella corozza. They have a limited menu as it is. In addition the bread was stale and cold. My lemon chicken was burnt. Lobster and spaghetti was so spicy it was hard to taste the food. I would not recommend this place. The only great thing about this place was the meat balls and tomato sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome experience. Rao's is a famous NY establishment with two satellite restaurants owned and run by the same family as the original. I had to try it based on the history and the story of the original. Everyone is super friendly and everything was delicious. I give them four stars because I ordered Pene and it seemed like pretty run of the mill boxed pasta. I assumed they'd make it in house. I could be wrong but it didn't seem like it. Other than that, I have no complaints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Italian comfort food at it's best. The meatballs and the cheesecake were excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A bit too costly for heavy Italian food. We shared an appetizer, pasta, meat dish and sorbet. Was special winter occasion, so we checked it out but had to take some home.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I felt like I was in a 1980's mafia movie, and it was AWESOME. The meatballs will change you, the penne a la vodka is the best I've ever had and the waiters are honest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was good but the one in Vegas is better! The Hollywood one has eccentric servers and the vibe is down. The valet guys are bored and looked miserable wanting to take a picture of my wife and i. The server was pushy with specials and he used a new jersey slang which was way over the top. Other times he would just sound like he's from California. Just be yourself. Server got our order wrong. Some of the positives are that the food is delicious. Food The GM came by all the tables to greet us so that made us feel special.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place is amazing. Love the penne alla vodka, the rigatoni bolognese, meatballs, and the short rib pappardelle. The service is outstanding!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.