Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Rao's Hollywood

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Thursday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 6pm to 10:30
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $8 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Grimes

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Comfort Food (27)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Cozy (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Family Style (21)
Romantic (20)
Fun (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Business Meals (14)
People Watching (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Casual (11)
Historic (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server, Jason D., was exceptional.
His suggestions were right on.
He knew what we needed, without knowing us before
He can serve me anytime

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Loved Rao's. Music, ambiance, delicious food, great service, tasty drinks!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing. Loved everything. Bone in veal Parmesan was the bomb.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wow. I love this place! I was born in Harlem and was never able to eat there ! Glad you're in Hollywood. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Order the meatball appetizer. $17 for two but well worth it. Relaxed atmosphere and very friendly service. Not cheap but absolutely great Italian food. Definitely one of the best in Los Angeles. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Hmm. Stale bread (which the waiter left on the table after we informed him), hard upsell on multiple items, seated at the back corner against plast sheets on a concrete slab, tiny bar area - if the overpriced food wasn't good this would have been a horror rating. Not worth any hype whatsoever. Go to Franco's 5 blocks away for good Italian at a reasonable price and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Patrick is the most hospitable restaurant manager I've ever encountered - he's so warm, caring and genuine. He makes sure each and every person dining there is having a wonderful experience from the minute they walk through the doorway.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Loved our dinner there the other evening. Service, Food, Ambiance were all an A+.

We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great meal. Best Italian food.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Wow. Exceptional. Spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Rao's Hollywood delivers authentic Italian cuisine, warm atmosphere and great service. The Meatballs, Sausage & Peppers, Veal & Chicken Parm, pastas, and a great big rib eye to share is fantastic. old school and very cool!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This place is tasty. It's in a neighborhood where you are questioning the directions the moment you exit the freeway. Trust the directions, you are heading to the right place. I would valet park. You enter the doors and you are greeted immediately with a warm face asking for the name your reservations are under. We arrived 20 minutes early and we were seated right away. The lighting is dim inside however the outside seating is more lit. We brought a bottle of wine ($30 corkage fee) and we just started ordering. There was 4 of us and when you drive to LA for dinner, you make the most of it.

Appetizer - Fritto Misto - even though its fried, it wasn't greasy, it's very light and flavorful. Calamari, shirmp, cod -- so tasty

Salad - Seafood Salad - yummy! The lemon dressing was a perfect fit for this dish.

Pasta - Fiocchi - hands down a MUST ORDER. Ravioli, ricotta and pear filling, brown butter, sage and dried cranberries. I don't need to say anything more about this dish.

Chicken Scarpariello - Not my personal favorite however the group enjoyed it. The dish is spicy and I don't care for spicy. I was told the dish had a lot of flavors and they enjoyed it.

Sunday Gravy - If you dine on Sunday, you should order this for the table. Short rib, pork let, pork braciole, meatballs and hot & sweet sausage. Rigatoni and house salad. The house salad had mixed reviews....over-dressed however I personally enjoyed it. The lettuce was crisp and not soggy when you over dress a salad but it was a perfect pairing with the meal.

Dessert - Tiramisu, Chocolate Cake and Cheesecake. The chocolate cake was light, moist. The cheesecake was AMAZING -- MUST ORDER. The tiramisu was basic tiramisu.

Clearly we over ordered and if we did it again we would have stuck with the appetizer, lemon chicken and Sunday gravy and less tiramisu.

Ladies, I'm glad I wore leggings with a sweater and fancied it up with a pair of heels.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food is delicious! We loved the roasted red peppers with mozzarella, the seafood salad and the meatballs as appetizers. We LOVED the shrimp scampi with angel hair and be sure to order the peas with the prosciutto. Amazing meal.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The bolognese and sausage and peppers were amazing! Went here for my birthday dinner. The service was outstanding and the food was sooo good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was excellent, we are especially impressed by the double cut pork chop, huge portion yet tender! The grilled vegetables are tasty although a bit burned. I am not a cheesecake fan but ordered it under the high recommendation of the staff, it was surprisingly moist and creamy, well made! Service is exceptionally good, multiple people came check on us, they delivered the warmth and cozieness of a neighbothood eatery with a well trained efficiency. All in all a great dining experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We eat here all the time. This is a great NY Italian style restaurant!
Friendly, good service, great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Celebrated my husbands birthday, there were 10 of us and everyone enjoyed what they ate and the drinks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Thanks to Rao's! Great setting, comfortable service and extremely friendly. My guest thoroughly enjoyed their visit and the dining experience. A rare find in today's Hollywood restaurant world! Great food and atmosphere and we will be back soon!

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

For a restaurant with lots of history, I had high hopes. Especially since I cannot access the restaurant from my home town of NYC. It started off bad right away when they didn't have mozzarella corozza. They have a limited menu as it is. In addition the bread was stale and cold. My lemon chicken was burnt. Lobster and spaghetti was so spicy it was hard to taste the food. I would not recommend this place. The only great thing about this place was the meat balls and tomato sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome experience. Rao's is a famous NY establishment with two satellite restaurants owned and run by the same family as the original. I had to try it based on the history and the story of the original. Everyone is super friendly and everything was delicious. I give them four stars because I ordered Pene and it seemed like pretty run of the mill boxed pasta. I assumed they'd make it in house. I could be wrong but it didn't seem like it. Other than that, I have no complaints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Italian comfort food at it's best. The meatballs and the cheesecake were excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A bit too costly for heavy Italian food. We shared an appetizer, pasta, meat dish and sorbet. Was special winter occasion, so we checked it out but had to take some home.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I felt like I was in a 1980's mafia movie, and it was AWESOME. The meatballs will change you, the penne a la vodka is the best I've ever had and the waiters are honest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was good but the one in Vegas is better! The Hollywood one has eccentric servers and the vibe is down. The valet guys are bored and looked miserable wanting to take a picture of my wife and i. The server was pushy with specials and he used a new jersey slang which was way over the top. Other times he would just sound like he's from California. Just be yourself. Server got our order wrong. Some of the positives are that the food is delicious. Food The GM came by all the tables to greet us so that made us feel special.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place is amazing. Love the penne alla vodka, the rigatoni bolognese, meatballs, and the short rib pappardelle. The service is outstanding!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Johnny Roast Beef made the evening memorable. Very engaging and entertaining.
Lana did an outstanding job as our server.

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great overall. Well worth visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Rao's was such a spectacular find! I had read some reviews prior to my trip to LA, and new that i had to check this place out. The bartender was so friendly and made a delicious cocktail. The server was very knowledgeable, and helped us make some decisions for the table. The meatballs were AMAZING as well as the fried Mozzarella. The Shrimp Scampi was very light and delicious! Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent! Fabulous! We had to move our table because our friend was cold. They moved us and bought us a round of drinks while we were waiting for our new table. The service was the best I had ever experienced. The meatballs were excellent -- they are known for them; the chicken Parmesan is not on the menu but they will make it for you it's unbelievable! The pasta with crab and pesto was delicious! My new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had no idea how good the food was going to be. We had used Raos Marinara sauce and loved it. The food was fabulous and we will definitely be returning. Bar bill was a little pricey though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food. The service was hit and miss though. Must try the Mozarella Sandwich appetizer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The staff is always great !! The food was very good and we were treated well and not rushed. Would recommend RAO's to all my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

First off let me say my wife was very pleased with the choice I made for our first anniversary. The meatballs were amazing. The double cut pork chop was so good and my wife loved her salmon. I feel guilty because I do not remember my waiters name but he was great as well. We will be going back soon I just don't know when. thank you very much for making our night very memorable. David& Melissa Matus,

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A friend loves their NYC location so we wanted to give this a try. We are from out of town and the night before coming some locals told us it was a mistake to come. We should have listening to the advice. I ordered the eggplant Parmesan. 1st of all, I have never seen eggplant Parmesan on a menu for $25.00. I was surprised to find out no pasta was even served with it for that price! The portion size was extremely disappointing and wasn't even that tasty. Other than the food, the service was wonderful and we loved the ambiance (great music). Overall, we are disappointed we spent so much money on mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great experience for all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Pasta was a bit soft. Would be nice if its a bit stiffer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went to Dine LA and we had such a problem with the waitress and the way we ordered I guess we got overcharged on the bill - so they adjusted it once but won't adjust to what we
argued with them that we thought was right! So we over paid it and left to never return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went fir New Years tables are tiny. Service was cocky and food was at par at best. So many better options in the city. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely amazing service. Best I've ever had. At any given time there were 3-4 people helping our table. Within 5 seconds of picking up an empty plate a waiter grabbed it. Food was also amazing. Highly suggest since you can never get into the one in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.