About Rao's Hollywood

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Thursday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 6pm to 10:30
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $8 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Grimes

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hollywood
Best Food
Hollywood
Best Service
Hollywood
4 More
Best Ambiance
Hollywood
Best Value
Hollywood
Special Occasion
Hollywood
Italian
Hollywood
Best Restaurants in Hollywood ›

Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Good for Groups (20)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Authentic (6)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outrageously loud. Couldn't even speak ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Outrageously loud. Couldn't even speak to the other person because of loud table across from us. Waiter was completely checked out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

The food was excellent! Wine recommendat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent! Wine recommendation superb! Pricey-- but worth it -- especially for a special occasion. Can't wait for another special occasion so we can go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding food just medioc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was outstanding food just mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Delicious food served in an ambience tha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food served in an ambience that has a lot of character and makes you feel comfy & cozy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way overpriced and not that good. Servic ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Way overpriced and not that good. Service lacked knowledge of the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent food and ambiance. Lived up t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Lived up to its' reputation. If you want true, authentic Italian food this is definitely the place to visit.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

need to improve the quality of some of t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

need to improve the quality of some of the dishes which supposedly are from 100 year old recipes.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our dinner at Rao's Hollywood was made e ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our dinner at Rao's Hollywood was made even more memorable by the way we were treated by family by everyone, especially Johnny "Roast Beef" Williams, who as host met us at the door with a welcome that made us feel like he'd known us for years. My son-in-law, an uber film buff, recognized him from his role in "Goodfellas", and I've never seen someone so excited! The food was superb - especially the sauces, and the service was impeccable and over-the-top friendly. Dinner turned out to be so much more than just a meal - it was a real experience! You won't likely get into Rao's NY anytime soon, but you can definitely get a reservation here - and you should!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rao's is old-world Italian in the best p ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Rao's is old-world Italian in the best possible way. Portions are large so come prepared to share. We ordered a lot of food as we were a large group and the absolute best items are the meatballs, the seafood salad and the veal chop parmigiana which was unbelieveably good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Plain and simple, this is one of the cla ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Plain and simple, this is one of the classic Italian restaurants in LA, an exact duplicate of the flagship NY Harlem restaurant, which is impossible to get into.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish as always!!! Go!!! Shrimp scampi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delish as always!!! Go!!! Shrimp scampi with linguine is spectacular yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great traditional Italian meal. It's th ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great traditional Italian meal. It's the sort of place you just need to order the Caesar salad and tiramisu for dessert! So delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately the criticism of Rao's is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Unfortunately the criticism of Rao's is the most accurate thing anyone can say about it. Bottom line, the food just does not live up to high quality of Italian dining that any experienced diner would eat. I'm sure the original back east is AMAZING but this branch is no better than your typical chain restaurant. Avoid, it's overpriced and they are proudly ripping you off with subpar service, food and just about everything else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Fantastic Italian, a little piece of New ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Fantastic Italian, a little piece of New York right in the heart of Hollywood.

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Best cheesecake ever!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best cheesecake ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent! Have always wanted to try the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent! Have always wanted to try the NYC restaurant but this is close enough. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both the food and service were very good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Both the food and service were very good. They are new to Los Angeles, but well known in New York. Old style Italian food, not trendy food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An amazing find! Would eat the lemon chi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

An amazing find! Would eat the lemon chicken every day if I could.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was certainly excited to try the LA lo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was certainly excited to try the LA location of this legendary establishment. I enjoyed the food and look orward to going again. I do wish the service was better. The waiter may have been busy, but I think our table merited more attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Rao's is one of my go-to places for out ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Rao's is one of my go-to places for out of town guests. I've also attended a work Christmas party there. The atmosphere is old New York and the food, although a little pricey for the portions is unbeatable! I highly recommend ordering family style and trying the seafood salad, the fiocchi (to die for) and the eggplant parm. Go early for quieter ambiance as it gets loud as it fills up. Rezzies a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is excellent. My mother cooked mos ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food is excellent. My mother cooked mostly Italian food in our house and this is so close to hers. Get the meatballs. The veal parm is outstanding. Do not miss the broccoli rabe. It was the best I ever had.

Don't over order unless you want leftovers (which is not a bad idea). One app, one pasta and one meat or fish entree is plenty for two people. We ordered that plus a salad plus a veggie and had enough left over for both of us to eat another dinner a couple of days later.

Waitstaff is friendly and not pretentious as can be in some high end places. Very homey feel.

Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rao's is an authentic N.Y. Italian dinin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Rao's is an authentic N.Y. Italian dining experience. I adore it! From the greeting by the owner at the door to the service to the food, all is great. The decor is wonderful, the wood paneling, comfortable seating, and beautiful outdoor dining area. The food is the key though. The salads, pastas, second courses are all fantastic! Rao's is expensive, but it is worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Traditional but exceptionally prepared S ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Traditional but exceptionally prepared Souther Italian style food- the kind your grandma used to make on Sunday afternoon. Start with the Seafood Salad and the Meat and Cheese plate. The fried seafood plate was great as well. By then you'll be too full to care but have the pasta anyway because your grandma would make you have some since she went to all that trouble. Finally save room for the best Tiaramasu or NY style cheescake you can get outside of NYC!!

Added bonus: "Johnny Roastbeef" from Goodfellas is one of the hosts that walks around and chats up the customers during dinner. He's a great guy and he was so gracious and nice to take pics with my family after dinner. Go to Rao's you won't regret it- Mangia!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rao's is traditional Italian food. The b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Rao's is traditional Italian food. The brand jars some of the best sauces so it's no surprise their full menu in Hollywood delivers some of the best flavors. Whether dining with friends or celebrating a birthday, Rao's does not disappoint. Tip for the LA crowd - the original location in NYC books FAST and is almost impossible to get a table. Take advantage of the fact that their west coast location is barely full to capacity, you will not regret it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the atmosphere and with reserving t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love the atmosphere and with reserving through OpenTable was awesome!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!! The food was delicious!!! The ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing!!! The food was delicious!!! The service was fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The penne alla vodka was great.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The penne alla vodka was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food, awesome service. Definitely ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food, awesome service. Definitely going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

East coast meets west coast. Service was ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

East coast meets west coast. Service was great. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic Old School Italian!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Classic Old School Italian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Raos is my favorite Italian restaurant i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Raos is my favorite Italian restaurant in the LA area. The good is excellent and dishes are best when shared. We have had many servers and they have all been so friendly and helpful.The host comes to every table to "kibbutz" with the guests. Reservations are honored on time and while this is a busy restaurant, you are never rushed. Don't miss the meatballs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rao's was a wonderful surprise. The enti ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Rao's was a wonderful surprise. The entire experience was great. The meatball appetizer is amazing. the sauce is fantastic. The service was great, everyone went out of their way to make our experience great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a solid consistently great meal a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always a solid consistently great meal and service! Love RAOs

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love their restaurant in NYC which is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love their restaurant in NYC which is impossible to get into so this one in LA is a real gem for me. Very NYC family run feel with a patio also for outdoor LA dining. The food is amazing and "Chicago" our waiter is always incredible anytime I eat there. Definite FIVE STARS for me. Be sure to order the Meatballs for an appetizer they're out of this world!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service was outstanding ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food and the service was outstanding!

I'm traveling through America from Australia and this is by far the best meal I have had so far.

On the way to New York soon and can't wait to try get another great Rao's meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing!!! Great service and ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was amazing!!! Great service and every bit Italian.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous old style Italian food and ambi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Fabulous old style Italian food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, staff, and ambiance. I ca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Awesome food, staff, and ambiance. I can see myself being a regular here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Satisfaction continues with each return ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Satisfaction continues with each return visit. From the greeting by hostess to the service and the food, we continue to be happy with every aspect of the restaurant... Louie & Johnny "Roast Beef" make sure every patron is happy with RAO's.

Rao's continues to be one of our favorite Hollywood 'eateries'.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special birthday occasion highlighted by ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Special birthday occasion highlighted by New York ambiance and service. Meatballs and lemon chicken are superb. Would definitely return for a Manhattan, foodie experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.