About Rao's Hollywood

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Thursday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 6pm to 10:30
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $8 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Grimes

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hollywood
Best Service
Hollywood
Best Ambiance
Hollywood
1 More
Italian
Hollywood
Best Restaurants in Hollywood ›

Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (24)
Authentic (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Cozy (15)
Fun (15)
Family Style (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (12)
People Watching (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Historic (9)
Casual (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I never tried it, but its on a random st ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

I never tried it, but its on a random street in West Hollywood and the staff is so nice. Its my new favorite restaurant and I'll be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, fresh , authentic Italian in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious, fresh , authentic Italian in an atmosphere that makes you feel like family. Perfetto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great, we loved everything we go ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Food is great, we loved everything we got. Waiter was not the friendliest, but everyone else was nice. We especially liked the meatballs and Old Fashions. Spendy though!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Our new favorite restaurant . The ambien ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant . The ambience is great the food is absolutely delicious and the service is so pleasant and gracious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was great - clams oreganata e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The dinner was great - clams oreganata especially delicious, hard to find, but big, juicy

clams-the lemon chicken is a great favorite...all was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Maybe the worst veal Parm I have ever ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Maybe the worst veal Parm I have ever had. Tons of breading and way overcooked. And $50. Ridiculous.

If you can't get in to NYC don't come here. Waiter was very nice tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

This is classic Italian food at its best ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is classic Italian food at its best! Raos is as close to a New York Italian dining experience as you can have in Los Angeles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My parents-in-law were visiting and we t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My parents-in-law were visiting and we took them to Rao's, having had a great dinner there with friends a couple weeks before. Once again, the food did not disappoint. There is nothing adventurous - this is sort of home-style Italian - but the quality, taste, and preparation are all excellent. The place is relatively knew but designed to look like it's always been there. We had good wine from a decent list, expensive but not price-gouging. Waiters were attentive (if slightly corny). The fly in the ointment was a really obnoxious noise level. Ask for the back room if you go. But prepared to be unable to hear anyone else at your table unless they shout.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. The managers really step ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great. The managers really stepped up when they found we were late for our play.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We love the food and ambiance at Rao's. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love the food and ambiance at Rao's. Great meatballs, penne with vodka sauce. The veal parm was sublime, as were the double cut pork chops.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Great staff! Great time! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food! Great staff! Great time! Would recommend highly!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food AND service. Great energ ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic food AND service. Great energy and atmosphere but go for the food! Don't leave without trying the meatballs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey, but worth it! The meatballs are ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Pricey, but worth it! The meatballs are sooooooooooo good! Great atmosphere. Fun night out!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening - great food, great am ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent evening - great food, great ambience, great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rao's is always a treat. Great old scho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Rao's is always a treat. Great old school Italian dining, New York style.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rao's is a a restaurant from Harlem, New ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Rao's is a a restaurant from Harlem, New York, where it has a legendary reputation for it's nearly impossible to get a table reservation. The place has 11 tables which are permanently assigned to celebrities. A few years ago, Rao's decided to expand, first to Las vegas, then to Los Angeles. The resturant has a "back east Italian" flavor, both in cuisine and pictures. If you are from New York, as I am, it is a very nostalgic place. The menu is traditional Italian, very good, and, mostly fairly priced. We generally order the Veal chop, which is large enough to share. Rao's is one of a few places where you can get mozzarella en carroza, which is similar to mozzarella marinara, but much heavier, since it is like a sandwich. Delicious, but very filling.

Rao's is also famous for it's Lemon Chicken, which I have not tried yet.

A good place to celebrate a special occasion. My only caveat is: Their wine list is overpriced for the vintaes that they carry.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic. Best customer thank you dinne ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fantastic. Best customer thank you dinner. I meant to write down our servers name. But he was awesome. In fact had him order for us. Great foodie experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, we were happy with food and ser ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall, we were happy with food and service. We will come back soon.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I cannot say enough wonderful things abo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Rao's - the ambience was comfortable and warm, the service was OUTSTANDING (thanks Chicago!), and the food was....I can't even describe. I've never had Italian food like Rao's, it was out of this world. Nothing could ever possibly compare.

Order the scampi and a fiocchi!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coming from an old time NYC Italian "Thi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Coming from an old time NYC Italian "This is an old time NYC red booth joint serving the real thing" nothing that my Grandma wouldn't eat... or make at home on Sunday for that matter. "Tutto Posto"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was great. We all h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food and service was great. We all had a wonderful meal and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always consistently delicious. great Ita ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

always consistently delicious. great Italian fare. best in LA. try the Shrimp Scampi and meatballs... yum yum go!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience. Kind of a neighborhood ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great experience. Kind of a neighborhood feel with excellent food. Meatballs and double cut pork chop were excellent. Will go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was so happy to take my mom here for her ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Was so happy to take my mom here for her 60th Birthday - we had a great time and the food is always magical. We were even able to convince the chef to get the meatball drippings as an appetizer!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The BEST caesar salad and veal parm. Aut ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The BEST caesar salad and veal parm. Authentic southern Italian. Amazing sophisticated wine list. Great staff. A credit to the original.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meatballs appetizer and Risotto were exc ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Meatballs appetizer and Risotto were excellent. Entrees were OK but a bit pricey.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outrageously loud. Couldn't even speak ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Outrageously loud. Couldn't even speak to the other person because of loud table across from us. Waiter was completely checked out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

The food was excellent! Wine recommendat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food was excellent! Wine recommendation superb! Pricey-- but worth it -- especially for a special occasion. Can't wait for another special occasion so we can go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding food just medioc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Service was outstanding food just mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Delicious food served in an ambience tha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Delicious food served in an ambience that has a lot of character and makes you feel comfy & cozy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way overpriced and not that good. Servic ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Way overpriced and not that good. Service lacked knowledge of the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent food and ambiance. Lived up t ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Lived up to its' reputation. If you want true, authentic Italian food this is definitely the place to visit.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

need to improve the quality of some of t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

need to improve the quality of some of the dishes which supposedly are from 100 year old recipes.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our dinner at Rao's Hollywood was made e ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our dinner at Rao's Hollywood was made even more memorable by the way we were treated by family by everyone, especially Johnny "Roast Beef" Williams, who as host met us at the door with a welcome that made us feel like he'd known us for years. My son-in-law, an uber film buff, recognized him from his role in "Goodfellas", and I've never seen someone so excited! The food was superb - especially the sauces, and the service was impeccable and over-the-top friendly. Dinner turned out to be so much more than just a meal - it was a real experience! You won't likely get into Rao's NY anytime soon, but you can definitely get a reservation here - and you should!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rao's is old-world Italian in the best p ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Rao's is old-world Italian in the best possible way. Portions are large so come prepared to share. We ordered a lot of food as we were a large group and the absolute best items are the meatballs, the seafood salad and the veal chop parmigiana which was unbelieveably good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Plain and simple, this is one of the cla ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Plain and simple, this is one of the classic Italian restaurants in LA, an exact duplicate of the flagship NY Harlem restaurant, which is impossible to get into.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish as always!!! Go!!! Shrimp scampi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delish as always!!! Go!!! Shrimp scampi with linguine is spectacular yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great traditional Italian meal. It's th ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great traditional Italian meal. It's the sort of place you just need to order the Caesar salad and tiramisu for dessert! So delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately the criticism of Rao's is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Unfortunately the criticism of Rao's is the most accurate thing anyone can say about it. Bottom line, the food just does not live up to high quality of Italian dining that any experienced diner would eat. I'm sure the original back east is AMAZING but this branch is no better than your typical chain restaurant. Avoid, it's overpriced and they are proudly ripping you off with subpar service, food and just about everything else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Fantastic Italian, a little piece of New ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Fantastic Italian, a little piece of New York right in the heart of Hollywood.

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.