Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Rao's Hollywood

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Friday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm to 10pm
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $10 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Michael Wesley

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Authentic (32)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Good for Birthdays (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Comfort Food (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Cozy (22)
Romantic (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Fun (16)
Casual (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (11)
People Watching (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

From the easy valet parking to the warm welcome, this place is predictable and joyful. The food is beyond satisfying and the casual yet upscale experience makes for a very happy evening. Every time. Caesar, Meatballs (!), Chicken Milanese, Chocolate Cake. Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Best meatballs ever! Service was fantastic- highly recommend this restaurant for a great meal & wonderful evening. Love it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is delicious. Great Italian restaurant. Brings real Italian food to Los Angeles

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Another great meal and experience at Rao's, hosted by Goodfellas actor Johnny "Roast Beef" Williams and the rest of the staff. Only complaint is the horrendous markups on wine, but it's a great list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We enjoyed our food and our wait person. Was a very pleasant experience and we will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The drinks are big, the service too notch-attentive at the right pace. And the food is so amazing. Bolognese and rigatoni, the meatballs are a must to start, the chicken, sausage and peppers. Oh and let the server bring you the wine based on what you like. Always wins. The cheesecake is like no other and it travels easily if you take it to go.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

1st visit and definitely not the last.
Meatballs and gravy so good; use the bread and don't leave drop.
Milanese as good as da Berti in Milan.
Warm and inviting hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was a second visit to Raos. The food is marvelous. The host and servers warm and friendly. The atmosphere is right out of New York. Very comfortable place to eat.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Rao's is the perfect blend of pure excellent service, delicious food, cocktails and lovely comfortable ambiance all without having to come dressed. We were comfortable dressed in business casual attire after work. The Manager that evening was Chicago, he treated like special guests, far beyond our expectation. The food was simply scrumptious. We have decided to make it our new spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent food, impeccable service and a fabulous atmosphere Expensive but very worthwhile.
Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Best meatballs on planet and penne vodka is great. Lemon chicken brings it home
Great staff and Lucky to have this in LA.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

OMG! So good. What a great place with an authentic italian feel. The pasta was to die for, the meatballs, wow, and the canoli's!! The best canoli's i've ever had. The cheesecake is really good too. We'll be back. Yum.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My experience at Rao's was a disappointing one. The restaurant was recommended to me by a friend and I had never been to Rao's before this. The food was as if it was out of the microwave oven and brought to the table. Since I dine out in Los Angeles often I am used to high prices and am never bothered with the cost when the food is great. I ordered the Sea Bass and my friend had the Shrimp Scampi. I was brought a piece of over cooked fish with a pile of sautéed artichokes/vegetables on top of the entire plate. After I moved the sautee there was the Sea Bass.
It really looked like a frozen dinner that you buy at the grocery store and microwave. Only this dish was $38. The Burrata salad was like I have never seen. Cucumbers and onions tossed in a vinaigrette dressing and a few wedges of a small Heirloom tomato and a dollop of Burrata cheese in the center. Where did the chef get this idea? Needless to say, I was very disappointed with the experience and would not return or recommend Rao's. One more thing. There were flies all over our food and we had to shoo them away once there was food on the table. I was embarrassed to invite my guest to such a place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Best night of many at Rao's. The simple green salad has no reason to be special ... but it is! The fusilli carbonara was a suggestion of our amazing waiter (Jonathan) and was the surprise favorite of the night. Or maybe the favorite was the seafood salad.Or maybe we couldn't pick a favorite - it was all great. A perfect night! Thanks to the team at Rao's. 😋

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, personal connection with management all made for a great experience

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Second visit in our trip. Make sure you try the meatballs! Wonderful service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Simply incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great dining experience as we have seen in previous visits. Tasty meatballs and a menu full of great pastas. If I lived nearby I'd be there four times a week(at least).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We love Rao's! It's a 10/10 every time we come. Worth the drive from Orange County, and my husband's most-requested birthday spot. This time we were able to try the Sunday Gravy, and it did NOT disappoint. Only available on Sundays (as the name implies) this sells out quickly, so we made sure to get an early reservation and order quickly. We encourage you to do the same. We will be back soon, Rao's. Alla prossima volta!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Rao's is one of our favorite places and we return over and over again!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Love Raos!! The food, the drinks and service is always great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always a pleasure - good food, good service, convenient location for Pantages and ArcLight - will undoubtedly be back again soon!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2017

WE HAVE ALWAYS LOVED RAOS FROM HARLEM AND RETURN FOR THE BEST SUNDAY GRAVY IN HOLLYWOOD!!!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food and service is always outstanding at Rao's. Can't help but to keep coming back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 14, 2017

AMAZING! PHENOMENAL! ENJOYABLE! AUTHENTIC! That says it all in a nutshell! I cannot wait to go again. Thanks you for a wonderful meal and service!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great Italian American comfort food. Love hearing stories from Johnny Roastbeef--his presence makes the experience so much more fun and authentic.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

A great dinning experience. The service is top notch. Our waitress Svetlana (spelling?) was very attentive and made a great wine recommendation to pair with our food. The food was excellent. The noodles , meats and sauces are all flavorful and fresh. We sat out on the patio. We live about 2 hours away and would visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I am a regular there since they opened. It is like a home away from home. They are family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Loved our time here! Great meatballs, Caesar salad, fantastic penne ala vodka with veal. A quaint old Hollywood feel. Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Right when stepping into the door I was greeted by some really nice people who sat us down right away. Very welcoming. My girlfriend dropped her phone on the side of the bench and was hard to get and they helped her out the food was great, large portions. Very nice vibe would go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was truly disappointing. We are lucky enough to have dined in the NYC Rao's several times. While we didn't expect the same superior food, we DID expect dinner to be edible. It was probably the worst Italian food that I have eaten in LA. We shared the pappardelle with short ribs and the fusilli carbonara. I wanted to send the fusilli back- it LOOKED disgusting. There was egg yolk running all over it. With big hunks of bacon, it looked as bad as it tasted. It tasted nothing like a carbonara. The pappardelle was bland and cold. My husband did not want to send anything back so we ate quickly and left. We also had the chicken part which I find hard to believe wasn't microwaved. Overall, I was really surprised with the food, and encourage anyone to go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Johnny was fantastic and made us feel right at home on this first of the many dining pleasures we look foreward to at Rao's!
love it!
best
Beverly D'Angelo

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Rao's is classic and sophisticated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Pasta and Food was outstanding. I had a great experience. And I can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Woah, the meatballs were fantastic and the penne vodka! Delicious!
Will def be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Our first time, it was absoutly wonderful. The staff was very attentive, friendly and right on time. The food is to die for, better than my mother made (I am Italian).

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great food and service. What more can you ask for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was my first visit to Rao's. It was excellent. Really good food, great service and a wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Svetlana was awesome. She was very helpful and courteous with all our needs. Best server I've seen in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Rao's was an outstanding dining experience, one of the best. Marc was friendly, attentive and genuinely ensured our experience was a great one.
The food and drinks were impeccable. If someone makes a better Caesar salad, I haven't had it. Our entrees were outstanding. The cheesecake was ridiculous good. Highly, highly recommend Rao's.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.