Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Rao's Hollywood

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Friday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm to 10pm
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $10 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Michael Wesley

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (32)
Comfort Food (28)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Family Style (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Fun (19)
Cozy (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
People Watching (7)
Historic (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I was looking forward to finally eating here after hearing all the buzz about Rao's in NYC. I was slightly disappointed that for the price, the food was just traditional basic Italian. Nothing I ate that evening will stand out in my memory. It's not the employees fault, they were all very kind and accommodating. We appreciated their service and it was a fun place to eat. I think if you're looking for something unique as far as Italian cuisine is concerned, you have many other options in Los Angeles! This was just your basic pasta, meat sauce, meatballs, Italian food. You get the idea :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Authentic Italian - Home cooking !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Went with a friend on a Friday night to Rao's Hollywood. Parked valet. 10 bucks + tip. We made reservations and got seated in patio. They had oldies playing like in the 60's and it was really lovely.

A gentleman who wore suspenders greeted us and welcomed us (think he was one of the managers). Made good suggestions. Checked up on us. Everything, everything was delicious.

Food, ambiance deserved all 5 stars. Reason gave it 4 stars was the waitress, a blonde in patio seemed a bit disconnected, low energy. Maybe she was having a bad personal day. Never really came by to check on us or to ask us how our dinner was. Her personality was actually somber.

Despite the waitress having weird energy -- Rao's reputation for it's food is well worth it. If you are a fan of Italian food, must come here. Totally delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This was our second time at Rao's recently. My boyfriend and I had previously dined here about a month ago in a cute corner booth inside and had a wonderful experience. This time, we joined our friends for their anniversary and sat on the patio. The service is top notch, the food is amazing, and the wine list has options for any budget. We went with almost every meal recommendation our server suggested (which included meatballs, fried mozzarella, seafood salad, two pasta dishes, and two entrees), and were not disappointed! It was a great evening and we left with very full, happy bellies.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Tried Rao's on a whim when we were looking for a spot in the Hollywood area on short notice. So glad we went! Our waiter (Jonathan) made some terrific recommendations for starters (you gotta get the meatballs; and the seafood salad!) and they had a terrific Frutto de Mare pasts special on this evening. Now I just need to find another time to get back tot he area to pay another visit!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

First time to Rao's and I will be back. Our server Kevin recommended the meatballs and the fiocchi and boy was he right! The beet risotto is also very good if you like something a little unique, and their NY cheesecake might be the best I've ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service and food are excellent. Such a wonderful experience. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The restaurant is located in a very odd place, more suited to light industrial than fine dining. The food was above that of a cafeteria, but made me embarrassed to have invited friends to dine there. When my friend ordered a lower-priced Brunello, the manager tried to up-sell him to a bottle twice the price. There is no reason for this restaurant to exist, let alone for you to spend any time or money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great service at the bar. Fantastic food. Especially liked the meatball appetizer and the shrimp scampi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It's among the best Italian in the city! I can't wait to try the Sunday night gravy. Love the place

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Can't say enough about this place. Absolutely delicious food, huge portions, and great staff. We will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Family Style, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

From the moment we walked it it was perfect friendly and warm. We had a great server and the rest of the staff was around if needed. Wonderful evening. Can't wait to go back. Food was so delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food was amazing. Service was wonderful. Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Svetlana, our server didn't introduce herself or make any sort of conversation. Not sure if there were specials and it being our first time we weren't recommended anything or told that each meal basically is served individually. I wish I had been told to maybe order a pasta with the veal scallopini as it was just the meat and sauce. Would've been great served with angel hair pasta (or I would've ordered a side). I told the server and the hostess it was our birthdays and after showing my email did I finally get 1 peice of cheesecake and a coffee. My birthday 4/15 and my boyfriends was on the dinner date night 4/8. We'll most likely be back but would love a bit more interaction/recommendations from our server.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very accommodating. We were pressed for time due to having tickets for a show. Food was great, ambiance was superb but the service was exquisite.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The staff was very helpful in discussing the various menu options and wine lists. Would recommend this place to my friends in LA
Great food

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wow! I had been wanting to go for a while. And what a great surprise. May be the best pasta in town.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The veal was not so good. Mushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

"Chicago", our server was great. The cheesecake was quite good as were the stuffed clams. The rest of the food, however, left a lot to be desired: chicken was dry and the onions overpowered the Marsala sauce on the veal. Dan Tana's is better for classic Italian/steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was our second visit. The food was still excellent. The wait staff is knowledgeable and the atmosphere casual but upscale. It's not cheap but it's worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The Rao's team always deliver exemplary service and food. I will be loyal to this place, always!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Well worth the drive to Hollywood, had the beet salad and veal marsala. Will definitely return when in LA.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I'm still looking for that great Italian restaurant in Los Angeles. Rao's isn't it. My husband had the fettucine with pancetta. The pasta was schizophrenic, with some pieces mushy and others too al dente. The pancetta was awful--so much fat you had to spit the pieces out. I had lemon chicken with a side order of grilled vegetables. No entre come with vegetables or potatoes--they have to be paid for separately. The chicken was tasty, though drowning in olive oil. The grilled vegetables were done with no seasoning or flair. They were grilled--had the grill marks to prove it, and nothing else. Flat, dull and boring. The wine list is mediocre and severely over-priced. The noise level was horrible. Blaring rock music--the music was fine, the level was impossible, forcing diners to shout. So, having a nice conversation at the table-impossible. The tables, however, were nicely spaced--none of that "Los-Angeles-eat-with-your-neighbor" spacing. The waitstaff was excellent. As my husband and I said when we left, "No need to go back there."

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Started off with baked clams - absolutely disgusting
Next was penna ala vodka - zero taste
Finished off with veal parm - sause was horrible.

Service was border line awful.

Gave this place a second chance - will never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Best authentic Italian food you will find on the West coast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server, Jason D., was exceptional.
His suggestions were right on.
He knew what we needed, without knowing us before
He can serve me anytime

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Loved Rao's. Music, ambiance, delicious food, great service, tasty drinks!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing. Loved everything. Bone in veal Parmesan was the bomb.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wow. I love this place! I was born in Harlem and was never able to eat there ! Glad you're in Hollywood. Amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Order the meatball appetizer. $17 for two but well worth it. Relaxed atmosphere and very friendly service. Not cheap but absolutely great Italian food. Definitely one of the best in Los Angeles. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Hmm. Stale bread (which the waiter left on the table after we informed him), hard upsell on multiple items, seated at the back corner against plast sheets on a concrete slab, tiny bar area - if the overpriced food wasn't good this would have been a horror rating. Not worth any hype whatsoever. Go to Franco's 5 blocks away for good Italian at a reasonable price and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Patrick is the most hospitable restaurant manager I've ever encountered - he's so warm, caring and genuine. He makes sure each and every person dining there is having a wonderful experience from the minute they walk through the doorway.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Loved our dinner there the other evening. Service, Food, Ambiance were all an A+.

We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great meal. Best Italian food.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Wow. Exceptional. Spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Rao's Hollywood delivers authentic Italian cuisine, warm atmosphere and great service. The Meatballs, Sausage & Peppers, Veal & Chicken Parm, pastas, and a great big rib eye to share is fantastic. old school and very cool!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This place is tasty. It's in a neighborhood where you are questioning the directions the moment you exit the freeway. Trust the directions, you are heading to the right place. I would valet park. You enter the doors and you are greeted immediately with a warm face asking for the name your reservations are under. We arrived 20 minutes early and we were seated right away. The lighting is dim inside however the outside seating is more lit. We brought a bottle of wine ($30 corkage fee) and we just started ordering. There was 4 of us and when you drive to LA for dinner, you make the most of it.

Appetizer - Fritto Misto - even though its fried, it wasn't greasy, it's very light and flavorful. Calamari, shirmp, cod -- so tasty

Salad - Seafood Salad - yummy! The lemon dressing was a perfect fit for this dish.

Pasta - Fiocchi - hands down a MUST ORDER. Ravioli, ricotta and pear filling, brown butter, sage and dried cranberries. I don't need to say anything more about this dish.

Chicken Scarpariello - Not my personal favorite however the group enjoyed it. The dish is spicy and I don't care for spicy. I was told the dish had a lot of flavors and they enjoyed it.

Sunday Gravy - If you dine on Sunday, you should order this for the table. Short rib, pork let, pork braciole, meatballs and hot & sweet sausage. Rigatoni and house salad. The house salad had mixed reviews....over-dressed however I personally enjoyed it. The lettuce was crisp and not soggy when you over dress a salad but it was a perfect pairing with the meal.

Dessert - Tiramisu, Chocolate Cake and Cheesecake. The chocolate cake was light, moist. The cheesecake was AMAZING -- MUST ORDER. The tiramisu was basic tiramisu.

Clearly we over ordered and if we did it again we would have stuck with the appetizer, lemon chicken and Sunday gravy and less tiramisu.

Ladies, I'm glad I wore leggings with a sweater and fancied it up with a pair of heels.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food is delicious! We loved the roasted red peppers with mozzarella, the seafood salad and the meatballs as appetizers. We LOVED the shrimp scampi with angel hair and be sure to order the peas with the prosciutto. Amazing meal.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The bolognese and sausage and peppers were amazing! Went here for my birthday dinner. The service was outstanding and the food was sooo good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was excellent, we are especially impressed by the double cut pork chop, huge portion yet tender! The grilled vegetables are tasty although a bit burned. I am not a cheesecake fan but ordered it under the high recommendation of the staff, it was surprisingly moist and creamy, well made! Service is exceptionally good, multiple people came check on us, they delivered the warmth and cozieness of a neighbothood eatery with a well trained efficiency. All in all a great dining experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.