Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Rao's Hollywood

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Friday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm to 10pm
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $10 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Michael Wesley

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
See All
Authentic (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fun (16)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Family Style (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Rao's was an outstanding dining experience, one of the best. Marc was friendly, attentive and genuinely ensured our experience was a great one.
The food and drinks were impeccable. If someone makes a better Caesar salad, I haven't had it. Our entrees were outstanding. The cheesecake was ridiculous good. Highly, highly recommend Rao's.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Such a magical evening for my first time at Rao's. I had the meatballs and Parpadelle with short rib which was UNBELIEVABLE. My date has the Shrimp Scampi (also amazing).

"Chicago" who is either the manager or maitre'd was SO AWESOME! He really made our night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time at Rao. One of my friends had tried over and over to get a reservation for them in New York and it was impossible. He was thrilled with our ability to get reservations. We initially went as part of the DineLA week. However, our waiter offered to pick items for us to share that would enable us to try many of their favorite dishes for not much more than the DineLA price. We jumped at his offer and from the first bite knew we made the right decision. My friend, who is a foodie and amazing chef, keeps referring to the meal as exceptional. The Manager and waiter were amazing and very friendly. They both checked on us regularly, told us stories of the restaurant and owner, and made use feel like we were old friends. This is now a favorite in LA and we've tried many!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

My colleagues and I had a wonderful time celebrating our Director's birthday. We're a small team so when we go out the overall experience is so important being that we come from a front-facing industry. We always set the expectations super high when we plan birthday dinners and the team at Rao's in Hollywood certainly did not disappoint. From the moment we walked in they'd already set the mood for the rest of our evening right to the point where "Chicago" ran out to send us off as we waited at the valet at the end of our night. The food was delicious and came out very fast! Meatballs were heavenly (recommended) and the chicken and spinach ravioli was on point. Our table also shared the rigatoni bolognese and an arrabiata with mushrooms and fusili especially crafted for us! Wine recommendation was superb too. I could go on and on!

I look forward to coming back for Sunday Gravy soon! Thanks guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The bar tender made fantastic cocktails , the wait service was great! But the food was the best part of the date. My wife had the short rib pasta and I had the veal! Wow!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

One of the best veal parm I have had...bone in of course. Some new twists on pasta preparations and some pastas I had not seen before. Save room for dessert...the gelati are the real deal..not just run of the ill ice cream. The chocolate cake and cheese cake are so good they have to be sinful. Staff is superb...friendly, courteous and very helpful. Best of all it is possible to get a reservation at this Rao's...at least for now.
Definitely will be back again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Was so excited to see they had a restaurant in Hollyeood. You can not get into Brooklyn, NY location. Was everything I expected. Portions are very large, my husband could not even finish his and my 25 year old son had a hard time also . A must go

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent old world Italian. Great meatballs and baked clams appetizers.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

In all of my 80 years of eating I have never experienced better service than what "Jason" provided!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Place has great food and drink. Great for birthday groups. Johnny is hilarious and made our dinner that much more enjoyable. Will defiantly be going back! MUST have the meatballs and mozzarella sandwiches, delicious!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was such a pleasant surprise. As soon as you walk through the door everything changes. You are no longer in Hollywood but a very cozy, Italian restaurant that feels like it's in New York. The atmosphere was wonderful, the service was first class, the food was so delicious. I think this is my favorite restaurant, it's just that good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Our dinner was delicious and service friendly and efficient. Meal is served family style so it's nice to sample each entree. Save room for the most delicious cheesecake. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As always, a perfect meal at Rao's. Early dinner for Father's Day before a concert. Everything came out a requested. Thanks .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I love this place! Ive been 8x times and every time its been great. The whole place from the food to the staff to the ambiance is very authentic. If you love Italian food and you havent been to Rao's go there right now.!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My favorite new restaurant...

... in LA...

... on planet Earth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We love the restaurant but this evening we were not happy with the hostess. She made us feel unwelcome and as if we were bothering her. That should not be the case in a city with so many other dining options. We will return and hope that next time the greeting will be warmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Whether in New York, Las Vegas or Los Angeles Rao's Never disappoints. I highly recommend the Meatballs, Fiocchi (the butter sauce is sublime) Pappardelle with Short Rib Ragu and the Cheesecake is one of the vest I've ever had outside of NY. I look forward to going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

YUM!! Fabulous Bolognase sauce!!!! Veal was beautiful & very tender & light in color
Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

A really great overall experience with great portions and a great waitstaff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Everything was fine as expected. Nothing wow-worthy. A little bummed that no one acknowledged that my husband and I were celebrating a wedding anniversary. I don't expect freebies, but special occasions should be acknowledged in restaurants that allow you to leave notes for the reservation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2017

If the original one in New York is half as good as this I can see why it is impossible to get a table, great atmosphere, dark, dark wood total New York feel.
I had Veal Marsela, friend had double thick Pork Chop. Excellent!!!
Appetizer Crab Stuffed Mushrooms were really good but I can't take rich foods so only ate one.
Manager whom they call "Chicago" was extremely polite and had great conversation about "The Windy City" if you like authentic Italian with New York flavor this is a must go.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My date was very impressed. Authentic old school meets retro new

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Took my wife and our 5 month old for a family dinner at Rao's and we enjoyed the friendly staff, photos on the walls and the great-tasting authentic Italian food. I ordered one meatball and spaghetti and it was delicious! We finished dinner with a slice of cheesecake which was also treat, light and easy to enjoy. Thanks for Woody for the recommendation on 98.7!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I was looking forward to finally eating here after hearing all the buzz about Rao's in NYC. I was slightly disappointed that for the price, the food was just traditional basic Italian. Nothing I ate that evening will stand out in my memory. It's not the employees fault, they were all very kind and accommodating. We appreciated their service and it was a fun place to eat. I think if you're looking for something unique as far as Italian cuisine is concerned, you have many other options in Los Angeles! This was just your basic pasta, meat sauce, meatballs, Italian food. You get the idea :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Authentic Italian - Home cooking !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went with a friend on a Friday night to Rao's Hollywood. Parked valet. 10 bucks + tip. We made reservations and got seated in patio. They had oldies playing like in the 60's and it was really lovely.

A gentleman who wore suspenders greeted us and welcomed us (think he was one of the managers). Made good suggestions. Checked up on us. Everything, everything was delicious.

Food, ambiance deserved all 5 stars. Reason gave it 4 stars was the waitress, a blonde in patio seemed a bit disconnected, low energy. Maybe she was having a bad personal day. Never really came by to check on us or to ask us how our dinner was. Her personality was actually somber.

Despite the waitress having weird energy -- Rao's reputation for it's food is well worth it. If you are a fan of Italian food, must come here. Totally delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our second time at Rao's recently. My boyfriend and I had previously dined here about a month ago in a cute corner booth inside and had a wonderful experience. This time, we joined our friends for their anniversary and sat on the patio. The service is top notch, the food is amazing, and the wine list has options for any budget. We went with almost every meal recommendation our server suggested (which included meatballs, fried mozzarella, seafood salad, two pasta dishes, and two entrees), and were not disappointed! It was a great evening and we left with very full, happy bellies.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Tried Rao's on a whim when we were looking for a spot in the Hollywood area on short notice. So glad we went! Our waiter (Jonathan) made some terrific recommendations for starters (you gotta get the meatballs; and the seafood salad!) and they had a terrific Frutto de Mare pasts special on this evening. Now I just need to find another time to get back tot he area to pay another visit!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

First time to Rao's and I will be back. Our server Kevin recommended the meatballs and the fiocchi and boy was he right! The beet risotto is also very good if you like something a little unique, and their NY cheesecake might be the best I've ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service and food are excellent. Such a wonderful experience. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The restaurant is located in a very odd place, more suited to light industrial than fine dining. The food was above that of a cafeteria, but made me embarrassed to have invited friends to dine there. When my friend ordered a lower-priced Brunello, the manager tried to up-sell him to a bottle twice the price. There is no reason for this restaurant to exist, let alone for you to spend any time or money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service at the bar. Fantastic food. Especially liked the meatball appetizer and the shrimp scampi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It's among the best Italian in the city! I can't wait to try the Sunday night gravy. Love the place

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Can't say enough about this place. Absolutely delicious food, huge portions, and great staff. We will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 21, 2017

From the moment we walked it it was perfect friendly and warm. We had a great server and the rest of the staff was around if needed. Wonderful evening. Can't wait to go back. Food was so delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was amazing. Service was wonderful. Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Svetlana, our server didn't introduce herself or make any sort of conversation. Not sure if there were specials and it being our first time we weren't recommended anything or told that each meal basically is served individually. I wish I had been told to maybe order a pasta with the veal scallopini as it was just the meat and sauce. Would've been great served with angel hair pasta (or I would've ordered a side). I told the server and the hostess it was our birthdays and after showing my email did I finally get 1 peice of cheesecake and a coffee. My birthday 4/15 and my boyfriends was on the dinner date night 4/8. We'll most likely be back but would love a bit more interaction/recommendations from our server.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very accommodating. We were pressed for time due to having tickets for a show. Food was great, ambiance was superb but the service was exquisite.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The staff was very helpful in discussing the various menu options and wine lists. Would recommend this place to my friends in LA
Great food

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wow! I had been wanting to go for a while. And what a great surprise. May be the best pasta in town.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.