Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today

Rao's Hollywood

4.8
541 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Comfort Food
  • Good for a Date
Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday to Friday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Saturday: 5pm to 10pm
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(323) 962-7267
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Wesley
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highland and Santa Monica
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking $10 or street parking nearby.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

View Private Dining Details
What 541 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Large portions, especially on Sunday Night, Chief Mikes Gravy could feed 3 or 4 people. Great for a special occasion, fairly expensive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

We chose Rao's because of it's reputation and location.
We had an early reservation and we were greeted and seated right away to a nice intimate booth. Ambience was great, but $16.00 for a glass of House Cabernet seemed a bit excessive.
The stuffed mushrooms were pretty much just a mouthful of batter.
We ordered the Sunday Gravy special which included Dinner salad, rigatoni, meatballs, sausage Pork, and Braised Beef. We waited to order after the appetizer and drinks were served, but since it is served family style, that means the salad, pasta and entrees all come out at the same time. So, you are using the same plate for everything. Salad had a tasteless vinaigrette, meat was dry and the sauce was not all that tasty after hearing.
All in all, I think Rao's is riding on their NY reputation.
We won't be returning anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Excellent restaurant fantastic service and food loved the decor

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous pasta dishes and the meatballs are amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Fun! We had 8 people, service a little slow & would’ve wished the pricing was more easily split for individuals or the food was served more individually, since the menu is all family style and the check splitting in the end got confusing with everyone sharing different dishes but having their own drinks. But the manager or someone with a NJ/NY accent was clearly working the tables regularly and he made the experience. The food was good, but had some basic items that were headacratchingly off (e.g. aglio olio was literally just pasta & oil...no red pepper, garlic, parm...thankfully we had extra meatball orders to help that out). Rigatoni was good but not special. Steak was great, salads & meatballs were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Food is always amazing. Service is great. Best meatballs ive ever eaten.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Snazzy joint and the food will knock your socks off. The wait staff was top shelf it my kinda place. A LA must do

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Rao’s was very good. We ate on the patio, which is considerably quieter than the dining room. Everything was great. We both felt the wine by the glass prices were high by all standards- plus a rather short pour. Next time we will order a bottle.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We went to Rao’s for our anniversary dinner while in town from Louisiana. It was a great experience! The meatballs are delicious! It was everything we hoped it would be. Service was fast and friendly. I would recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Other than driving from Orange County, we thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Rao's. We will definitely go back. Only complaint was being served starter and salad at the same time and feeling as if we were being rushed to order.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Waiter made recommendations for our meal and was extremely happy with his choices

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

What a wonderful time, great food excellent service, absolutely beautiful inside. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Great service and amazing food! They made our 90 year old special guest feel very special. The manager even gave her a Rao’s shirt!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Meatballs!. A reason to drive long distances to savor them and enjoy. Best I've ever had. They do a good job of creating a NewYork atmosphere in a location off the beaten path. Service was outstanding. Veal parm was disappointing, but the meatballs were fabulous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

The entire staff was amazing. My nephew has a lot of food allergies that require special attention. They were attentive to those needs and made my mother’s birthday very special. They also went out of their way to make the experience amazing for my 6 year old nephew with their jokes and magic tricks. Great place.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I’ve bought their pasta sauce for decades and jumped at the chance try the LA location while in town. Food was shockingly subpar - rigatoni bolognese was lackluster and rigatoni was over cooked. Lemon Chicken was rubbery and “gamey” not what I’d expect from an Italian joint.

Service was good - bill was incredibly pricey for food I legit thought was no better than a Sbarro - very disappointing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Rao’s was the perfect setting for my partners birthday. We brought friends to Rao’s for their first visit and they both said “this is my new favorite restaurant”. Great food and service !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Always a wonderful time, perfect food, attentive service, and a lovely lovely staff.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We have been here twice before and had great experiences. Unfortunate service from the hostess. We had been given the choice of indoor or outdoor seating on open table and chose indoor. After being seated outdoors, we asked to be moved inside and the hostess acted like we were jerks for making this request. She then did nothing to accommodate us and when we asked again, she again responded like we were being unreasonable but eventually got us a new table. The gregarious host, or manager or whoever he is, was keen on greeting new diners but not keeping tabs on service. Also, from our dining table we could here the two hostesses talking all throughout our meal which was annoying.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Tony Soprano meets Sylvester Stallone faux old-school Italian. Very flavorful. Huge portions. Friendly waiter full of personality. Would go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Overstating the obvious ... but this is no more than a copy of the original. On par with other knockoffs like Maggiano’s. OK in a pinch, but better to stick to more boutique Italian.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

I always love the food and atmosphere of Rao’s. The waiters are great, true characters, that make the evening fun. Plus you can live on your leftovers for days! Portions are generous and great for sharing...,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Johnny roast beef!! Made my mom’s night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Wonderful food and atmosphere. Huge portions that can be shared so bring a major appetite. We had our table for well over two hors and nothing was rushed. Got dressed up and had my 15 yo son and 18 yo daughter and lovely wife. We had one of the best meals as a family we have ever had and I appreciate all of the hard work and years of love that went into each recipe.
We shall Return!

The Harrisons

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Raos never disappoints. Great wait staff, terrific ambiance, and a menu that delivers a lot of satisfying options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Loved the food, ambience & personnel
Great birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

It's Southern Italian heaven at Rao's in Hollywood. I've been to the original Rao's in Harlem, New York City and I was a bit concerned that the one out here would pale by comparison. I'm happy to say I was concerned for naught. It was amazing. If you like old-fashioned Southern Italian cooking, Rao's is the ultimate. I had the Veal Parmigiana which was amazing. It's enough for two or for one and then lunch the next day. My wife had the Lobster Fra Diavolo, which was a nice lobster tail with pasta and the incredible Rao's red sauce. My wife does not eat pasta in general, but in this case, she ate every morsel. The wait staff is great and the maitre 'd was fun.....very New York. It's pricey, but totally worth it. We are going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

A NICE COZY SPOT FOR AUTHENTIC ITALIAN... Portions are big, so come with an empty stomach!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Cool atmosphere. We were greeted by someone straight out of “Goodfella’s.” The Service was really slow, which I would not have minded m, but we had a show to catch. That all said, I give it 5 Stars because the pork chop was the absolute best I’ve ever had. I will come back just for that chop - UNBELIEVABLE L!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Staff was great! Made you feel really at home. Great food and great cheesecake. Thanks Rao’s!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Great dining experience. Food and service were both excellent. Location is a little off the grid, but no worries. Had high expectations based on the reputation and all was exceeded.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

We brought friends who had never been and they feel in love with everything, particularly the excellent waiter we had. Meatballs,house salad and veal parmigiana were recommended and they met or exceeded all of expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

One of the best Italian meals I have EVER had! Delicious! Lou, the host, was tremendous! Always looking in on us, answering all our questions, telling great stories, listening to our stories. A fantastic evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

From the service to the food, everything was amazing. One of the best meals I have ever had...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Service was great
Food was great
Johnny is the best

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

This was the closest thing I have had to Grandmas cooking in recent memory. The meatballs were incredible, veal parm was amazing. Loved this meal, this is home style red sauce Italian. We ate here as a family & my kids loved their meals as well

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

It was a fair drive to get there, but man it was worth it. We had to check out and see just how good the sauce was freshly made. It was a bit on the pricier side, but man do you get what you pay for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Rao's is a gem. NYC and Vegas and LA all represent the highest of standards in Italian faire.
Superb food - balanced menu, fairly priced. And a staff that makes you feel welcome and appreciated.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Needs a spring cleaning. Beginning to smell of either old food or cheap disinfectant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

always wanted to go , glad i did, service is wonderful, food was abundant and yummy!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14