About Rao's Hollywood

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Thursday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 6pm to 10:30
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $8 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Grimes

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
  • Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood
Rao's Hollywood

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Los Angeles
Best Overall
Hollywood
Best Food
Hollywood
4 More
Best Service
Hollywood
Best Ambiance
Hollywood
Special Occasion
Hollywood
Italian
Hollywood
Best Restaurants in Hollywood ›

Special Occasion (44)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
See All
Romantic (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An amazing find! Would eat the lemon chi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

An amazing find! Would eat the lemon chicken every day if I could.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was certainly excited to try the LA lo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

I was certainly excited to try the LA location of this legendary establishment. I enjoyed the food and look orward to going again. I do wish the service was better. The waiter may have been busy, but I think our table merited more attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Rao's is one of my go-to places for out ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Rao's is one of my go-to places for out of town guests. I've also attended a work Christmas party there. The atmosphere is old New York and the food, although a little pricey for the portions is unbeatable! I highly recommend ordering family style and trying the seafood salad, the fiocchi (to die for) and the eggplant parm. Go early for quieter ambiance as it gets loud as it fills up. Rezzies a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is excellent. My mother cooked mos ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food is excellent. My mother cooked mostly Italian food in our house and this is so close to hers. Get the meatballs. The veal parm is outstanding. Do not miss the broccoli rabe. It was the best I ever had.

Don't over order unless you want leftovers (which is not a bad idea). One app, one pasta and one meat or fish entree is plenty for two people. We ordered that plus a salad plus a veggie and had enough left over for both of us to eat another dinner a couple of days later.

Waitstaff is friendly and not pretentious as can be in some high end places. Very homey feel.

Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rao's is an authentic N.Y. Italian dinin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Rao's is an authentic N.Y. Italian dining experience. I adore it! From the greeting by the owner at the door to the service to the food, all is great. The decor is wonderful, the wood paneling, comfortable seating, and beautiful outdoor dining area. The food is the key though. The salads, pastas, second courses are all fantastic! Rao's is expensive, but it is worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Traditional but exceptionally prepared S ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Traditional but exceptionally prepared Souther Italian style food- the kind your grandma used to make on Sunday afternoon. Start with the Seafood Salad and the Meat and Cheese plate. The fried seafood plate was great as well. By then you'll be too full to care but have the pasta anyway because your grandma would make you have some since she went to all that trouble. Finally save room for the best Tiaramasu or NY style cheescake you can get outside of NYC!!

Added bonus: "Johnny Roastbeef" from Goodfellas is one of the hosts that walks around and chats up the customers during dinner. He's a great guy and he was so gracious and nice to take pics with my family after dinner. Go to Rao's you won't regret it- Mangia!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rao's is traditional Italian food. The b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Rao's is traditional Italian food. The brand jars some of the best sauces so it's no surprise their full menu in Hollywood delivers some of the best flavors. Whether dining with friends or celebrating a birthday, Rao's does not disappoint. Tip for the LA crowd - the original location in NYC books FAST and is almost impossible to get a table. Take advantage of the fact that their west coast location is barely full to capacity, you will not regret it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the atmosphere and with reserving t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love the atmosphere and with reserving through OpenTable was awesome!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The penne alla vodka was great.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The penne alla vodka was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food, awesome service. Definitely ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food, awesome service. Definitely going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

East coast meets west coast. Service was ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

East coast meets west coast. Service was great. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic Old School Italian!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Classic Old School Italian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Raos is my favorite Italian restaurant i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Raos is my favorite Italian restaurant in the LA area. The good is excellent and dishes are best when shared. We have had many servers and they have all been so friendly and helpful.The host comes to every table to "kibbutz" with the guests. Reservations are honored on time and while this is a busy restaurant, you are never rushed. Don't miss the meatballs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rao's was a wonderful surprise. The enti ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Rao's was a wonderful surprise. The entire experience was great. The meatball appetizer is amazing. the sauce is fantastic. The service was great, everyone went out of their way to make our experience great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a solid consistently great meal a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always a solid consistently great meal and service! Love RAOs

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love their restaurant in NYC which is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I love their restaurant in NYC which is impossible to get into so this one in LA is a real gem for me. Very NYC family run feel with a patio also for outdoor LA dining. The food is amazing and "Chicago" our waiter is always incredible anytime I eat there. Definite FIVE STARS for me. Be sure to order the Meatballs for an appetizer they're out of this world!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service was outstanding ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food and the service was outstanding!

I'm traveling through America from Australia and this is by far the best meal I have had so far.

On the way to New York soon and can't wait to try get another great Rao's meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing!!! Great service and ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was amazing!!! Great service and every bit Italian.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous old style Italian food and ambi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Fabulous old style Italian food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, staff, and ambiance. I ca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Awesome food, staff, and ambiance. I can see myself being a regular here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Satisfaction continues with each return ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Satisfaction continues with each return visit. From the greeting by hostess to the service and the food, we continue to be happy with every aspect of the restaurant... Louie & Johnny "Roast Beef" make sure every patron is happy with RAO's.

Rao's continues to be one of our favorite Hollywood 'eateries'.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special birthday occasion highlighted by ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Special birthday occasion highlighted by New York ambiance and service. Meatballs and lemon chicken are superb. Would definitely return for a Manhattan, foodie experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome. Lived most of my life in NY an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Awesome. Lived most of my life in NY and never got into Rao's... So happy to have one here in LA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Rao's never disappoints.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Rao's never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meatballs are the signature dish. O ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The meatballs are the signature dish. One of my favorite authentic Italian restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and atmosphere.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I was super excited to take my husband a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I was super excited to take my husband and godfathers to dinner on Father's Day. We love the Rao's sauce and use it often. But the restaurant food was just not very good -- I could do better at home. But I will say the gelato was the best I ever had and the cheesecake was delicious.

I would go there again but only for dessert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The service and meals were exceptional! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service and meals were exceptional! Looking forward to next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meatballs and raviolis were to die f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The meatballs and raviolis were to die for! It was too loud for my 80 year old in-laws but the food and service made up for it and we had a very pleasant dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun, good food, not too loud

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We went here for an after theater meal and were not disappointed. The appetizers were delicious (heirloom tomatoes)but for some reason I can't remember my entree so I guess it didn't make a big impression. Pretty expansive wine list, loved the crispness of the white that was ordered. Very friendly host or possibly manager.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

EXCELENT!!!! FOR a guy who might not mak ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

EXCELENT!!!! FOR a guy who might not make to heaven... this popetas makes you feel as close as posible...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First Time

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Was our 1st time. Everything was very good. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Rao's

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food Great atmosphere Great people Fun and relaxing

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word.. AWESOME!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

One word.. AWESOME!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Far exceeded my expectations!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

From the moment you walk in not only are you greeted with smiles and a hearty welcome from a group of the nicest folks ever but also you are greeted with the aroma of food that could only be duplicated in grandmas kitchen! The service really sets the bar high, I will be going back to see our server Chicago because he was that good. Not to mention the food is a little piece of Italian heaven! The music, the ambiance the people my goodness I felt like I was in Brooklyn. What an experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are no words.. one of the top 10 b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

There are no words.. one of the top 10 best experiences and I am from L.A.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We can get enough… We've had dinner at R ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We can get enough… We've had dinner at Rao's two Saturdays in a row and are going again in two weeks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been told by friends to try and it ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Have been told by friends to try and it didn't let me down. We had a 7:15 reservation and showed up about 20 earlier and was escorted to the very nice out patio. My wife and I shared the Meatballs and Caesar Salad, both were incredible. For our main courses my wife ordered the Lemon Chicken and I had the Bone in Veal Parmesan. Both were very good and the veal was enough to feed 4 people. We ended up taking most of our main entrees home to be enjoyed another day. Would highly recommend and will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The vibe is cozy, old school New York, t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The vibe is cozy, old school New York, the wait staff is excellent, knowledgeable, friendly and fun, but best of all is the food. Best meatballs we've ever had, the most delicious and giant bowl of Caesar salad, an incredible Chicken Parm followed by a crazy good cheesecake. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very delicious meal as expected.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A very delicious meal as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.