About Rao's Hollywood

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Thursday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 6pm to 10:30
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $8 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Grimes

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Cozy (19)
Romantic (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Family Style (18)
People Watching (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Fun (14)
Historic (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Casual (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

For a restaurant with lots of history, I had high hopes. Especially since I cannot access the restaurant from my home town of NYC. It started off bad right away when they didn't have mozzarella corozza. They have a limited menu as it is. In addition the bread was stale and cold. My lemon chicken was burnt. Lobster and spaghetti was so spicy it was hard to taste the food. I would not recommend this place. The only great thing about this place was the meat balls and tomato sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome experience. Rao's is a famous NY establishment with two satellite restaurants owned and run by the same family as the original. I had to try it based on the history and the story of the original. Everyone is super friendly and everything was delicious. I give them four stars because I ordered Pene and it seemed like pretty run of the mill boxed pasta. I assumed they'd make it in house. I could be wrong but it didn't seem like it. Other than that, I have no complaints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Italian comfort food at it's best. The meatballs and the cheesecake were excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A bit too costly for heavy Italian food. We shared an appetizer, pasta, meat dish and sorbet. Was special winter occasion, so we checked it out but had to take some home.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I felt like I was in a 1980's mafia movie, and it was AWESOME. The meatballs will change you, the penne a la vodka is the best I've ever had and the waiters are honest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was good but the one in Vegas is better! The Hollywood one has eccentric servers and the vibe is down. The valet guys are bored and looked miserable wanting to take a picture of my wife and i. The server was pushy with specials and he used a new jersey slang which was way over the top. Other times he would just sound like he's from California. Just be yourself. Server got our order wrong. Some of the positives are that the food is delicious. Food The GM came by all the tables to greet us so that made us feel special.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place is amazing. Love the penne alla vodka, the rigatoni bolognese, meatballs, and the short rib pappardelle. The service is outstanding!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Johnny Roast Beef made the evening memorable. Very engaging and entertaining.

Lana did an outstanding job as our server.

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great overall. Well worth visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Rao's was such a spectacular find! I had read some reviews prior to my trip to LA, and new that i had to check this place out. The bartender was so friendly and made a delicious cocktail. The server was very knowledgeable, and helped us make some decisions for the table. The meatballs were AMAZING as well as the fried Mozzarella. The Shrimp Scampi was very light and delicious! Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent! Fabulous! We had to move our table because our friend was cold. They moved us and bought us a round of drinks while we were waiting for our new table. The service was the best I had ever experienced. The meatballs were excellent -- they are known for them; the chicken Parmesan is not on the menu but they will make it for you it's unbelievable! The pasta with crab and pesto was delicious! My new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had no idea how good the food was going to be. We had used Raos Marinara sauce and loved it. The food was fabulous and we will definitely be returning. Bar bill was a little pricey though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food. The service was hit and miss though. Must try the Mozarella Sandwich appetizer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The staff is always great !! The food was very good and we were treated well and not rushed. Would recommend RAO's to all my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

First off let me say my wife was very pleased with the choice I made for our first anniversary. The meatballs were amazing. The double cut pork chop was so good and my wife loved her salmon. I feel guilty because I do not remember my waiters name but he was great as well. We will be going back soon I just don't know when. thank you very much for making our night very memorable. David& Melissa Matus,

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A friend loves their NYC location so we wanted to give this a try. We are from out of town and the night before coming some locals told us it was a mistake to come. We should have listening to the advice. I ordered the eggplant Parmesan. 1st of all, I have never seen eggplant Parmesan on a menu for $25.00. I was surprised to find out no pasta was even served with it for that price! The portion size was extremely disappointing and wasn't even that tasty. Other than the food, the service was wonderful and we loved the ambiance (great music). Overall, we are disappointed we spent so much money on mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great experience for all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Pasta was a bit soft. Would be nice if its a bit stiffer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went to Dine LA and we had such a problem with the waitress and the way we ordered I guess we got overcharged on the bill - so they adjusted it once but won't adjust to what we

argued with them that we thought was right! So we over paid it and left to never return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went fir New Years tables are tiny. Service was cocky and food was at par at best. So many better options in the city. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely amazing service. Best I've ever had. At any given time there were 3-4 people helping our table. Within 5 seconds of picking up an empty plate a waiter grabbed it. Food was also amazing. Highly suggest since you can never get into the one in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Puts other Italian restaurants to shame. What wonderful hosts and what a wonderful meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The building is a standalone building in Hollywood where you may think you took a wrong turn, but the lack of a prestige address in no way diminishes the quality of the service or the food. A good wine list including some nice by-the-glass options. The food was excellent and the service friendly and impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food. Lots of parties happening so a bit loud. We were on the patio which lacked the ambiance of the inside of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. We enjoyed the bar before our dinner. Our server was great, and the bartender was friendly and fun to talk to.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I love Rao's authentic Italian cuisine and professional service from server to manager. The food is absolutely delicious from seafood salad to meatballs to a special carbonara. You will be so satisfied. The drinks are stiff and perfect. It's great for special night out or even dinner w family. Whatever the occasion your gonna love it!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife and I eat here on a very regular basis. We started going over three years ago when they first opened up and have found that it is not only our regular hang out but feel very welcome by very one. Over the years we have brought many, many guests who have always enjoyed the experience and have in some cases become regular customers.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love Raos the more time I go back. This is a keeper!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Perfect classic NYC food. It's Rao's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Terrible. They meaning a guy named Tony forgot the most important thing

"the customer is always right"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Absolutely loved this neighborhood place. The atmosphere was incredible. The food delicious but a little pricey.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Seasonal, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

stellar service...went on a gilt city menu...ordered from regular menu as well...meatball a must have...wife really enjoyed the seafood salad...i'd let the wait staff recommend your pasta course (papardelle was not my favorite)...meat course, pork chop was a hit, chicken parm was, too...dessert winner is the pistachio ice cream

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Spicy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I never tried it, but its on a random street in West Hollywood and the staff is so nice. Its my new favorite restaurant and I'll be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Delicious, fresh , authentic Italian in an atmosphere that makes you feel like family. Perfetto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Food is great, we loved everything we got. Waiter was not the friendliest, but everyone else was nice. We especially liked the meatballs and Old Fashions. Spendy though!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant . The ambience is great the food is absolutely delicious and the service is so pleasant and gracious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The dinner was great - clams oreganata especially delicious, hard to find, but big, juicy

clams-the lemon chicken is a great favorite...all was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Maybe the worst veal Parm I have ever had. Tons of breading and way overcooked. And $50. Ridiculous.

If you can't get in to NYC don't come here. Waiter was very nice tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is classic Italian food at its best! Raos is as close to a New York Italian dining experience as you can have in Los Angeles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My parents-in-law were visiting and we took them to Rao's, having had a great dinner there with friends a couple weeks before. Once again, the food did not disappoint. There is nothing adventurous - this is sort of home-style Italian - but the quality, taste, and preparation are all excellent. The place is relatively knew but designed to look like it's always been there. We had good wine from a decent list, expensive but not price-gouging. Waiters were attentive (if slightly corny). The fly in the ointment was a really obnoxious noise level. Ask for the back room if you go. But prepared to be unable to hear anyone else at your table unless they shout.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great. The managers really stepped up when they found we were late for our play.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love the food and ambiance at Rao's. Great meatballs, penne with vodka sauce. The veal parm was sublime, as were the double cut pork chops.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food! Great staff! Great time! Would recommend highly!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic food AND service. Great energy and atmosphere but go for the food! Don't leave without trying the meatballs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Pricey, but worth it! The meatballs are sooooooooooo good! Great atmosphere. Fun night out!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent evening - great food, great ambience, great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Rao's is always a treat. Great old school Italian dining, New York style.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Rao's is a a restaurant from Harlem, New York, where it has a legendary reputation for it's nearly impossible to get a table reservation. The place has 11 tables which are permanently assigned to celebrities. A few years ago, Rao's decided to expand, first to Las vegas, then to Los Angeles. The resturant has a "back east Italian" flavor, both in cuisine and pictures. If you are from New York, as I am, it is a very nostalgic place. The menu is traditional Italian, very good, and, mostly fairly priced. We generally order the Veal chop, which is large enough to share. Rao's is one of a few places where you can get mozzarella en carroza, which is similar to mozzarella marinara, but much heavier, since it is like a sandwich. Delicious, but very filling.

Rao's is also famous for it's Lemon Chicken, which I have not tried yet.

A good place to celebrate a special occasion. My only caveat is: Their wine list is overpriced for the vintaes that they carry.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fantastic. Best customer thank you dinner. I meant to write down our servers name. But he was awesome. In fact had him order for us. Great foodie experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.