About Rao's Hollywood

1006 Seward Street
Hollywood, CA 90038
View Larger Map

Rao's, the legendary East Harlem eatery, is now set in Hollywood amongst the studio district branding its third location. Widely acclaimed as one of the hardest reservations in America, Rao's New York was established in 1896 and has not moved locations since its inception.

Featuring iconic classics such as Uncle Vincent's Lemon Chicken, Meatballs, Veal Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi and Baked Clams, Rao's Hollywood showcases all signature Rao's dishes as well as unique additions creating a robust and fulfilling dining experience.

We greatly look forward to serving you and welcoming you to our Home-Style Neapolitan restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday to Thursday: 6pm to 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 6pm to 10:30
Sunday: 5pm to 9pm

Cross Street:
Highland and Santa Monica

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 962-7267

Website:
http://www.raosla.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking $8 or street parking nearby.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Grimes

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA
  • Rao's Hollywood, Hollywood, CA

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Rao's can accommodate all of your special event needs.

Rao's Hollywood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Authentic (28)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Romantic (19)
Cozy (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Fun (16)
People Watching (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Family Style (15)
Business Meals (13)
Historic (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Casual (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Spicy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
295 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pasta was a bit soft. Would be nice if i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Pasta was a bit soft. Would be nice if its a bit stiffer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Dine LA and we had such a pro ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to Dine LA and we had such a problem with the waitress and the way we ordered I guess we got overcharged on the bill - so they adjusted it once but won't adjust to what we

argued with them that we thought was right! So we over paid it and left to never return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Went fir New Years tables are tiny. Serv ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went fir New Years tables are tiny. Service was cocky and food was at par at best. So many better options in the city. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Absolutely amazing service. Best I've ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely amazing service. Best I've ever had. At any given time there were 3-4 people helping our table. Within 5 seconds of picking up an empty plate a waiter grabbed it. Food was also amazing. Highly suggest since you can never get into the one in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Puts other Italian restaurants to shame. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Puts other Italian restaurants to shame. What wonderful hosts and what a wonderful meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The building is a standalone building in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The building is a standalone building in Hollywood where you may think you took a wrong turn, but the lack of a prestige address in no way diminishes the quality of the service or the food. A good wine list including some nice by-the-glass options. The food was excellent and the service friendly and impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Lots of parties happening so ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food. Lots of parties happening so a bit loud. We were on the patio which lacked the ambiance of the inside of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. We enjoyed the bar before our dinner. Our server was great, and the bartender was friendly and fun to talk to.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love Rao's authentic Itali ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I love Rao's authentic Italian cuisine and professional service from server to manager. The food is absolutely delicious from seafood salad to meatballs to a special carbonara. You will be so satisfied. The drinks are stiff and perfect. It's great for special night out or even dinner w family. Whatever the occasion your gonna love it!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I eat here on a very regular ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My wife and I eat here on a very regular basis. We started going over three years ago when they first opened up and have found that it is not only our regular hang out but feel very welcome by very one. Over the years we have brought many, many guests who have always enjoyed the experience and have in some cases become regular customers.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Raos the more time I go back. This ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love Raos the more time I go back. This is a keeper!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect classic NYC food. It's Rao's!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Perfect classic NYC food. It's Rao's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible. They meaning a guy named Tony ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Terrible. They meaning a guy named Tony forgot the most important thing

"the customer is always right"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Absolutely loved this neighborhood place ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Absolutely loved this neighborhood place. The atmosphere was incredible. The food delicious but a little pricey.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Seasonal, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

stellar service...went on a gilt city me ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

stellar service...went on a gilt city menu...ordered from regular menu as well...meatball a must have...wife really enjoyed the seafood salad...i'd let the wait staff recommend your pasta course (papardelle was not my favorite)...meat course, pork chop was a hit, chicken parm was, too...dessert winner is the pistachio ice cream

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Spicy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I never tried it, but its on a random st ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I never tried it, but its on a random street in West Hollywood and the staff is so nice. Its my new favorite restaurant and I'll be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, fresh , authentic Italian in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Delicious, fresh , authentic Italian in an atmosphere that makes you feel like family. Perfetto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great, we loved everything we go ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Food is great, we loved everything we got. Waiter was not the friendliest, but everyone else was nice. We especially liked the meatballs and Old Fashions. Spendy though!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Our new favorite restaurant . The ambien ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant . The ambience is great the food is absolutely delicious and the service is so pleasant and gracious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was great - clams oreganata e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The dinner was great - clams oreganata especially delicious, hard to find, but big, juicy

clams-the lemon chicken is a great favorite...all was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Maybe the worst veal Parm I have ever ha ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Maybe the worst veal Parm I have ever had. Tons of breading and way overcooked. And $50. Ridiculous.

If you can't get in to NYC don't come here. Waiter was very nice tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

This is classic Italian food at its best ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is classic Italian food at its best! Raos is as close to a New York Italian dining experience as you can have in Los Angeles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My parents-in-law were visiting and we t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My parents-in-law were visiting and we took them to Rao's, having had a great dinner there with friends a couple weeks before. Once again, the food did not disappoint. There is nothing adventurous - this is sort of home-style Italian - but the quality, taste, and preparation are all excellent. The place is relatively knew but designed to look like it's always been there. We had good wine from a decent list, expensive but not price-gouging. Waiters were attentive (if slightly corny). The fly in the ointment was a really obnoxious noise level. Ask for the back room if you go. But prepared to be unable to hear anyone else at your table unless they shout.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. The managers really step ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great. The managers really stepped up when they found we were late for our play.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We love the food and ambiance at Rao's. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love the food and ambiance at Rao's. Great meatballs, penne with vodka sauce. The veal parm was sublime, as were the double cut pork chops.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Great staff! Great time! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food! Great staff! Great time! Would recommend highly!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food AND service. Great energ ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic food AND service. Great energy and atmosphere but go for the food! Don't leave without trying the meatballs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey, but worth it! The meatballs are ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Pricey, but worth it! The meatballs are sooooooooooo good! Great atmosphere. Fun night out!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening - great food, great am ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent evening - great food, great ambience, great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rao's is always a treat. Great old scho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Rao's is always a treat. Great old school Italian dining, New York style.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rao's is a a restaurant from Harlem, New ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Rao's is a a restaurant from Harlem, New York, where it has a legendary reputation for it's nearly impossible to get a table reservation. The place has 11 tables which are permanently assigned to celebrities. A few years ago, Rao's decided to expand, first to Las vegas, then to Los Angeles. The resturant has a "back east Italian" flavor, both in cuisine and pictures. If you are from New York, as I am, it is a very nostalgic place. The menu is traditional Italian, very good, and, mostly fairly priced. We generally order the Veal chop, which is large enough to share. Rao's is one of a few places where you can get mozzarella en carroza, which is similar to mozzarella marinara, but much heavier, since it is like a sandwich. Delicious, but very filling.

Rao's is also famous for it's Lemon Chicken, which I have not tried yet.

A good place to celebrate a special occasion. My only caveat is: Their wine list is overpriced for the vintaes that they carry.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic. Best customer thank you dinne ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fantastic. Best customer thank you dinner. I meant to write down our servers name. But he was awesome. In fact had him order for us. Great foodie experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, we were happy with food and ser ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall, we were happy with food and service. We will come back soon.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I cannot say enough wonderful things abo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Rao's - the ambience was comfortable and warm, the service was OUTSTANDING (thanks Chicago!), and the food was....I can't even describe. I've never had Italian food like Rao's, it was out of this world. Nothing could ever possibly compare.

Order the scampi and a fiocchi!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coming from an old time NYC Italian "Thi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Coming from an old time NYC Italian "This is an old time NYC red booth joint serving the real thing" nothing that my Grandma wouldn't eat... or make at home on Sunday for that matter. "Tutto Posto"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was great. We all h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food and service was great. We all had a wonderful meal and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always consistently delicious. great Ita ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

always consistently delicious. great Italian fare. best in LA. try the Shrimp Scampi and meatballs... yum yum go!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience. Kind of a neighborhood ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great experience. Kind of a neighborhood feel with excellent food. Meatballs and double cut pork chop were excellent. Will go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was so happy to take my mom here for her ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Was so happy to take my mom here for her 60th Birthday - we had a great time and the food is always magical. We were even able to convince the chef to get the meatball drippings as an appetizer!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The BEST caesar salad and veal parm. Aut ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The BEST caesar salad and veal parm. Authentic southern Italian. Amazing sophisticated wine list. Great staff. A credit to the original.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.