About Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos

680 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine-San Carlos

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Burmese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: Friday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Lunch/Dinner: Saturday 11:30am-10:00pm
Lunch/Dinner: Sunday 11:30am-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cherry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 592-1852

Website:
http://www.rangoonruby.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot across the street and to the side

Public Transit:
Caltrain and Caltrans

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos
Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Great for Lunch (19)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Spicy (4)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Romantic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent experience. The food was very ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent experience. The food was very authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! We ordered the s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was delicious! We ordered the samosas, Pad Thai, and string beans. They have a Burmese Iced Tea, which is similar (not identical) to a Thai Iced Tea and less sweet. Relatively quick meal, which is good when you're having lunch during business hours.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for Burmese food, wait staff ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place for Burmese food, wait staff for the most part is good, I have been here several times and I think they are taught to be a bit curt. Kind of get the impression, that they are rushing you through.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent restaurant, I've been here thr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent restaurant, I've been here three times now and will absolutely keep going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to Rangoon Ruby in San Ca ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We love coming to Rangoon Ruby in San Carlos. It always has a lively atmosphere. The food is excellent and the service efficient and friendly. The samosa salad and basil chillie swai ( fish) are fabolous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari was awesome. Definitely rec ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The calamari was awesome. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Their tea-leaf salad is a must, as is th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Their tea-leaf salad is a must, as is their eggplant (in almost any form, but the curry is excellent). The management at this establishment is particularly good - they often do glass pours of wine not on the winelist, and will give you a sample! If you have non-drinkers, the whole coconut can't be beat. The noise level inside is high, but, in good weather, you can sit on the sidewalk. The capability for opening the windows on all sides makes it pleasant in almost all weather.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The salmon was not great and not worth t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The salmon was not great and not worth the price. The eggplant was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent place to dine and try somethin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent place to dine and try something special; great staff who look well after the customer

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a Tuesday evening, this place was ju ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

For a Tuesday evening, this place was jumping - and, consequently, noisy. Be prepared for that. The service was outstanding: our waiter knew his business, with good advice, keeping us informed, holding dishes until we were ready, and giving us tastings of wines by the glass. ! The food is reliably good in this chain. The tea-leaf salad is a classic, dressed at your table, just right for 3-4 people. The calamari appetizer is a sure winner. Mango dishes are made with green mango, so be prepared for al-dente. We also liked the egg plant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoy dining here. The food is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We really enjoy dining here. The food is consistently excellent. Service is attentive. However, it is a bit noisy and sometimes difficult to carry on a conversation (understandable, since it is always packed).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great meal. Love this location. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always a great meal. Love this location. Max is the best server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a popular place but you can stil ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is a popular place but you can still grab a last minute seat much of the time. Food is fresh, tasty, and surprising. Service is top notch! And if you happen to be in a rush the kitchen can be really fast to get your food on the table as needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food seems well prepared (I say "see ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food seems well prepared (I say "seems" only because I don't know much about Burmese food), and is tasty and nicely presented. There's a lot to choose from, including many vegetarian options. My only complaint is that the servers are a little overly attentive, making suggestions without being asked, possibly trying to upsell a bit. I do like the place, though, and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A far cry from the Burmese food I've had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A far cry from the Burmese food I've had in Myanmar over the last 3 years. So I dinged it for that. Even for pseudoburmese food it was so so.... I suspect they were playing to the clientele, so understand, but was disappointed nonetheless.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Really good food and options for vegetar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Really good food and options for vegetarians. The food is a bit pricey. Their roti and tofu with string beans are a must try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service and decor is fantastic! We all e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service and decor is fantastic! We all enjoyed the salad and desserts but the other dishes were a little bland would try medium spicy next time. The beef sorry to say in our dish was a little chewy. Our waiters were awesome! Would go back !

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, Great service, Great ambienc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food, Great service, Great ambience, Great location, Great decor, Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rangoon Ruby has such a unique, savory m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Rangoon Ruby has such a unique, savory menu that it's hard to make a selection. The one item we always order, though, is the Tea Leaf Salad. They bring it to your table and mix the fresh and delicious ingredients together right in front of you. Simply scrumptious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We purposely made lunch reservations fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We purposely made lunch reservations for the end if the lunch period. The restaurant was half full and they still wouldn't seat my friend and I at a table for four, even though we noticed they never sat a group of 3/4 at the tables we requested. They sat us in the back where there were loud tables. We couldn't hear each other. And they turned the lights out in our area while we were still there. We will not return. Too many other good restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

It was good, but I was not blown away. T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was good, but I was not blown away. The service was very good, but the tables were so close, we heard every word our neighbors were chatting about. I get it, I have dined out a lot. Once the establishment is full, the noise is off the charts loud. Standouts were the garlic noodles and beef dish, but portions were small and didn't feel value versus portion matched. It was "family style" which is fine, but bring a family sized dish, not 6 pieces of beef with veggies. Jasmine rice was good. House beer was okay. Will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I've enjoyed all the "Ruby" restaurants. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I've enjoyed all the "Ruby" restaurants. Each has its own vibe, but they share good food and service. We sat outside and had excellent waitstaff attending us before and during our meal. The veggie samosas and shrimp lettuce wraps were great starters, along with a couple different white wines. The waiter recommended the lemongrass salmon, and he was right. It was tasty and a little spicy. The coconut rice went well to soak up the sauce.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent variety of burmese dishes. Def ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent variety of burmese dishes. Definitely worth going back to try more dishes

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not only is the food and service excelle ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not only is the food and service excellent, but the restaurant is extremely pet friendly in their outdoor area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, nice flavors. Open airy rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Good food, nice flavors. Open airy restaurant inside, tables outside also. Friendly staff, highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy coming here. The food is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We always enjoy coming here. The food is excellent. I highly recommend the samosa salad and the basil chili fish. The garlic eggplant is also good. The restaurant has good ambience .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE this place

vip
 (London)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This restaurant is consistently fabulous!! Fun to celebrate a birthday with the sparkler on the cake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

As usual, we had a great visit to Rangoon Ruby. Our server was good about offering suggestions to counter our group indecision, which we appreciated, including a good recommendation for an inexpensive but nice wine. $200 tag for 4 people was a bit steep, but it's a special occasion, right? Sadly we asked for our leftovers to be packed and didn't realize they were never brought out to us until we were home.

Tea Leaf Salad is the food of the gods. Do not miss it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food is tasty. Service was not satisfactory.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food is tasty. But for the price some more attention could have been given for presentation. Tables are placed very close. For a casual lunch/dinner this would be a good place.

Observed neither a smile nor politeness from the waiter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Delicious!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was great is usual. Wanted to try everything on the menu, will return soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always love this place!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, really different ingredients. the tea leaf salad is a must! Everything here is really good. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great for out of town guests

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

A few months ago we brought a friend visiting from Chicago here and she fell in love with the food. She returned for a visit this weekend and the only thing she wanted to do was eat at Ruby Rangoon. There are NO Burmese restaurants in the Chicago area, strangely enough.

This visit the server was very helpful in matching our guests wine preferences with the cuisine. Very helpful staff and delicious food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Sesame beef is a must have! Fun plac ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The Sesame beef is a must have! Fun place to gather a group of friends and share family style. Our Bookclub loved the whole experience. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Inconsistent

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Was disappointed, after a delicious dinner at Rangoon several months back, that the lunch fare was rather pedestrian and without any personality. Staff was great, although we did wait for a long time between appetizers and main course. For a $75 lunch for two (not including tip), could've been a lot tastier and delivered a real ethnic experience, which did not happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Delightful Flavors!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We love Rangoon Ruby's delicious dishes. We always share three dishes between the two of us so can each experience multiple favors. We think their tea salad is not to be missed. During our recent dinner there we shared their chicken curry and prawns and walnuts.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best birthday treat ever! A sparkling fi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Best birthday treat ever! A sparkling firecracker and ice cream :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Worth repeating

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a second time and the food and service were as good or better than the first time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tea Leaf Salad is the best!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Always must have Tea Lead Salad. The Chicken & Ginger salad are also right up there with the Tea Leaf Salad. Enough choices for Vegetarians too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Green tea salad was really good and wait ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Green tea salad was really good and waiter was very pleasant and engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were served spoilt food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The samosa soup that was served was spoilt!! We complained and the lady argued and took the soup back to the kitchen. At the least we expected to be served a new soup. We waited for 15minutes and asked if we will served a new bowl of soup? The lady said "oh! You want your soup to be replaced"... No one even appolozised... Bad bad experience.. Will never go back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.