About Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos

680 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine-San Carlos

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Burmese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: Friday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Lunch/Dinner: Saturday 11:30am-10:00pm
Lunch/Dinner: Sunday 11:30am-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cherry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 592-1852

Website:
http://www.rangoonruby.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot across the street and to the side

Public Transit:
Caltrain and Caltrans

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (30)
fit for foodies (30)
great for lunch (22)
See All
special occasion (13)
good for groups (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (4)
notable wine list (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
romantic (1)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great meal. Love this location. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always a great meal. Love this location. Max is the best server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a popular place but you can stil ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is a popular place but you can still grab a last minute seat much of the time. Food is fresh, tasty, and surprising. Service is top notch! And if you happen to be in a rush the kitchen can be really fast to get your food on the table as needed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food seems well prepared (I say "see ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food seems well prepared (I say "seems" only because I don't know much about Burmese food), and is tasty and nicely presented. There's a lot to choose from, including many vegetarian options. My only complaint is that the servers are a little overly attentive, making suggestions without being asked, possibly trying to upsell a bit. I do like the place, though, and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A far cry from the Burmese food I've had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A far cry from the Burmese food I've had in Myanmar over the last 3 years. So I dinged it for that. Even for pseudoburmese food it was so so.... I suspect they were playing to the clientele, so understand, but was disappointed nonetheless.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Really good food and options for vegetar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Really good food and options for vegetarians. The food is a bit pricey. Their roti and tofu with string beans are a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service and decor is fantastic! We all e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service and decor is fantastic! We all enjoyed the salad and desserts but the other dishes were a little bland would try medium spicy next time. The beef sorry to say in our dish was a little chewy. Our waiters were awesome! Would go back !

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, Great service, Great ambienc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food, Great service, Great ambience, Great location, Great decor, Great place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We purposely made lunch reservations fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We purposely made lunch reservations for the end if the lunch period. The restaurant was half full and they still wouldn't seat my friend and I at a table for four, even though we noticed they never sat a group of 3/4 at the tables we requested. They sat us in the back where there were loud tables. We couldn't hear each other. And they turned the lights out in our area while we were still there. We will not return. Too many other good restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

It was good, but I was not blown away. T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was good, but I was not blown away. The service was very good, but the tables were so close, we heard every word our neighbors were chatting about. I get it, I have dined out a lot. Once the establishment is full, the noise is off the charts loud. Standouts were the garlic noodles and beef dish, but portions were small and didn't feel value versus portion matched. It was "family style" which is fine, but bring a family sized dish, not 6 pieces of beef with veggies. Jasmine rice was good. House beer was okay. Will return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I've enjoyed all the "Ruby" restaurants. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I've enjoyed all the "Ruby" restaurants. Each has its own vibe, but they share good food and service. We sat outside and had excellent waitstaff attending us before and during our meal. The veggie samosas and shrimp lettuce wraps were great starters, along with a couple different white wines. The waiter recommended the lemongrass salmon, and he was right. It was tasty and a little spicy. The coconut rice went well to soak up the sauce.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent variety of burmese dishes. Def ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent variety of burmese dishes. Definitely worth going back to try more dishes

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not only is the food and service excelle ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not only is the food and service excellent, but the restaurant is extremely pet friendly in their outdoor area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, nice flavors. Open airy rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Good food, nice flavors. Open airy restaurant inside, tables outside also. Friendly staff, highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always enjoy coming here. The food is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We always enjoy coming here. The food is excellent. I highly recommend the samosa salad and the basil chili fish. The garlic eggplant is also good. The restaurant has good ambience .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE this place

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This restaurant is consistently fabulous!! Fun to celebrate a birthday with the sparkler on the cake!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

As usual, we had a great visit to Rangoon Ruby. Our server was good about offering suggestions to counter our group indecision, which we appreciated, including a good recommendation for an inexpensive but nice wine. $200 tag for 4 people was a bit steep, but it's a special occasion, right? Sadly we asked for our leftovers to be packed and didn't realize they were never brought out to us until we were home.

Tea Leaf Salad is the food of the gods. Do not miss it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food is tasty. Service was not satisfactory.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food is tasty. But for the price some more attention could have been given for presentation. Tables are placed very close. For a casual lunch/dinner this would be a good place.

Observed neither a smile nor politeness from the waiter.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Delicious!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was great is usual. Wanted to try everything on the menu, will return soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always love this place!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, really different ingredients. the tea leaf salad is a must! Everything here is really good. Highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great for out of town guests

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

A few months ago we brought a friend visiting from Chicago here and she fell in love with the food. She returned for a visit this weekend and the only thing she wanted to do was eat at Ruby Rangoon. There are NO Burmese restaurants in the Chicago area, strangely enough.

This visit the server was very helpful in matching our guests wine preferences with the cuisine. Very helpful staff and delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Sesame beef is a must have! Fun plac ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The Sesame beef is a must have! Fun place to gather a group of friends and share family style. Our Bookclub loved the whole experience. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Inconsistent

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Was disappointed, after a delicious dinner at Rangoon several months back, that the lunch fare was rather pedestrian and without any personality. Staff was great, although we did wait for a long time between appetizers and main course. For a $75 lunch for two (not including tip), could've been a lot tastier and delivered a real ethnic experience, which did not happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Delightful Flavors!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We love Rangoon Ruby's delicious dishes. We always share three dishes between the two of us so can each experience multiple favors. We think their tea salad is not to be missed. During our recent dinner there we shared their chicken curry and prawns and walnuts.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best birthday treat ever! A sparkling fi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Best birthday treat ever! A sparkling firecracker and ice cream :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Worth repeating

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a second time and the food and service were as good or better than the first time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tea Leaf Salad is the best!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Always must have Tea Lead Salad. The Chicken & Ginger salad are also right up there with the Tea Leaf Salad. Enough choices for Vegetarians too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Green tea salad was really good and wait ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Green tea salad was really good and waiter was very pleasant and engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were served spoilt food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The samosa soup that was served was spoilt!! We complained and the lady argued and took the soup back to the kitchen. At the least we expected to be served a new soup. We waited for 15minutes and asked if we will served a new bowl of soup? The lady said "oh! You want your soup to be replaced"... No one even appolozised... Bad bad experience.. Will never go back!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Tea leaf salad, village catfish, and coc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Tea leaf salad, village catfish, and coconut rice are not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We have eaten at this place many times but not recently. I was disappointed with the food this time, we both share dishes to get a variety. I had pumpkin pork, the pumpkin was very hard and dry, I do not cook this at home and am not sure what the problem was, my wife tried it and agreed it was not what we were expecting. We frequently go to the Afghanistan restaurant on El Camino and have always enjoyed their pumpkin dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We made a reservation for our anniversary. Luckily it was not too busy, even for a Friday. We were given our choice of table, the services was impeccably fast and the food was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unusual and Flavorful

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

I've had Burmese food before but this is a little more unusual and upscale compared to my previous experiences. It's great to have so many vegetarian options, but plenty to keep meat eaters happy. One suggestion: more price range in the wine list would be appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good variety

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Portions have gotten smaller since the last time I've been. Food is still unique and servers are very attentive.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our First Time for Burmese Cuisine!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The hostess and servers were very helpful in describing the menu and making recommendations. We tried several of their suggestions and enjoyed them all. We were with old friends we hadn't seen in awhile, so we appreciated that the noise level was low enough for us to enjoy our conversation. We will definitely be back and will recommend the Rangoon Ruby San Carlos to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Well worth repeating

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Everything we had was very good. The tea leaf salad is very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent waiter

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The best thing about this restaurant were the friendly and helpful staff from the hostess to our waiter who provided excellent guidance in what to order!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty dishes, terrible service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We went here for lunch on a Saturday to celebrate my sister's birthday. This food was good, however, the service was terrible. The server kept disappearing, couldn't understand why because the place was half empty. Everything was al carte, we had to order rice separately because it didn't come with any of the dishes. The location in Burlingame is not like that, they give you rice with the dish you order.

I took our own birthday cake from Copenhagen which they put in their refrigerator-that was nice. When the time came to bring the cake out, instead of bringing the cake to the table, they cut it in the back and brought the slices, the slices looked mutilated. My sister didn't even get to see the pretty cake. We had to ask for the leftover cake:-(. And to slice the cake, they charged us $1.50 per slice...imagine that!!

When we received the bill, I noticed something very interesting, ACA 2016 charge. I was a bit disturbed about this because this is suppose to be employers responsibility not the customers. This 3% charge was calculated on food plus tax, and you end up giving tip on food plus tax plus this ACA charge. I just don't feel this was ethically right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent Food and Service!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

I ate here with my husband on a date night for the first time Friday night...our server was wonderful and helped make our experience a lot of fun. We tried a few items on their menu per her advice and it was all delicious! Very vibrant flavors and combinations we don't usually see every day! We will definitely go back...

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yum!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

I always get the Burmese Chicken Salad, which is really good, but added the Walnut Shrimp and Coconut Rice this time -- and loved it! ...all very good! It's usually on the noisy side but you can still each other talk. Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Over-priced, under-whelmed ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Very noise restaurant. Tables are packed together. Slow service. Menu entrees are in 20's. Priced way above comparable restaurants. Food portion average but tasteless. Spicy dish not spicy enough; prawns were overlooked & rubbery.

Only thing going for restaurant is its prime location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.