About Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos

680 Laurel Street
San Carlos, CA 94070
View Larger Map

Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine-San Carlos

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Burmese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday-Friday 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: Friday 5:00pm-10:00pm
Lunch/Dinner: Saturday 11:30am-10:00pm
Lunch/Dinner: Sunday 11:30am-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Cherry

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 592-1852

Website:
http://www.rangoonruby.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot across the street and to the side

Public Transit:
Caltrain and Caltrans

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rangoon Ruby Burmese Cuisine - San Carlos Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (30)
neighborhood gem (28)
great for lunch (20)
See All
special occasion (15)
good for groups (10)
romantic (5)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (2)
notable wine list (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I've enjoyed all the "Ruby" restaurants. ...

Dined 6 days ago

I've enjoyed all the "Ruby" restaurants. Each has its own vibe, but they share good food and service. We sat outside and had excellent waitstaff attending us before and during our meal. The veggie samosas and shrimp lettuce wraps were great starters, along with a couple different white wines. The waiter recommended the lemongrass salmon, and he was right. It was tasty and a little spicy. The coconut rice went well to soak up the sauce.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent variety of burmese dishes. Def ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Excellent variety of burmese dishes. Definitely worth going back to try more dishes

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not only is the food and service excelle ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Not only is the food and service excellent, but the restaurant is extremely pet friendly in their outdoor area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, nice flavors. Open airy rest ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Good food, nice flavors. Open airy restaurant inside, tables outside also. Friendly staff, highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy coming here. The food is ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We always enjoy coming here. The food is excellent. I highly recommend the samosa salad and the basil chili fish. The garlic eggplant is also good. The restaurant has good ambience .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE this place

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

This restaurant is consistently fabulous!! Fun to celebrate a birthday with the sparkler on the cake!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great meal and service

Dined on May 14, 2016

As usual, we had a great visit to Rangoon Ruby. Our server was good about offering suggestions to counter our group indecision, which we appreciated, including a good recommendation for an inexpensive but nice wine. $200 tag for 4 people was a bit steep, but it's a special occasion, right? Sadly we asked for our leftovers to be packed and didn't realize they were never brought out to us until we were home. Tea Leaf Salad is the food of the gods. Do not miss it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is tasty. Service was not satisfactory.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food is tasty. But for the price some more attention could have been given for presentation. Tables are placed very close. For a casual lunch/dinner this would be a good place. Observed neither a smile nor politeness from the waiter.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was great is usual. Wanted to try everything on the menu, will return soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love this place!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, really different ingredients. the tea leaf salad is a must! Everything here is really good. Highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great for out of town guests

Dined on May 1, 2016

A few months ago we brought a friend visiting from Chicago here and she fell in love with the food. She returned for a visit this weekend and the only thing she wanted to do was eat at Ruby Rangoon. There are NO Burmese restaurants in the Chicago area, strangely enough. This visit the server was very helpful in matching our guests wine preferences with the cuisine. Very helpful staff and delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The Sesame beef is a must have! Fun plac ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

The Sesame beef is a must have! Fun place to gather a group of friends and share family style. Our Bookclub loved the whole experience. Thank you

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Inconsistent

Dined on April 24, 2016

Was disappointed, after a delicious dinner at Rangoon several months back, that the lunch fare was rather pedestrian and without any personality. Staff was great, although we did wait for a long time between appetizers and main course. For a $75 lunch for two (not including tip), could've been a lot tastier and delivered a real ethnic experience, which did not happen.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful Flavors!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We love Rangoon Ruby's delicious dishes. We always share three dishes between the two of us so can each experience multiple favors. We think their tea salad is not to be missed. During our recent dinner there we shared their chicken curry and prawns and walnuts.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Best birthday treat ever! A sparkling fi ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Best birthday treat ever! A sparkling firecracker and ice cream :)

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth repeating

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a second time and the food and service were as good or better than the first time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Tea Leaf Salad is the best!

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Always must have Tea Lead Salad. The Chicken & Ginger salad are also right up there with the Tea Leaf Salad. Enough choices for Vegetarians too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Green tea salad was really good and wait ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Green tea salad was really good and waiter was very pleasant and engaging.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We were served spoilt food!

Dined on March 13, 2016

The samosa soup that was served was spoilt!! We complained and the lady argued and took the soup back to the kitchen. At the least we expected to be served a new soup. We waited for 15minutes and asked if we will served a new bowl of soup? The lady said "oh! You want your soup to be replaced"... No one even appolozised... Bad bad experience.. Will never go back!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Tea leaf salad, village catfish, and coc ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Tea leaf salad, village catfish, and coconut rice are not to be missed.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We have eaten at this place many times but not recently. I was disappointed with the food this time, we both share dishes to get a variety. I had pumpkin pork, the pumpkin was very hard and dry, I do not cook this at home and am not sure what the problem was, my wife tried it and agreed it was not what we were expecting. We frequently go to the Afghanistan restaurant on El Camino and have always enjoyed their pumpkin dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on March 5, 2016

We made a reservation for our anniversary. Luckily it was not too busy, even for a Friday. We were given our choice of table, the services was impeccably fast and the food was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Unusual and Flavorful

Dined on February 24, 2016

I've had Burmese food before but this is a little more unusual and upscale compared to my previous experiences. It's great to have so many vegetarian options, but plenty to keep meat eaters happy. One suggestion: more price range in the wine list would be appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good variety

Dined on February 12, 2016

Portions have gotten smaller since the last time I've been. Food is still unique and servers are very attentive.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our First Time for Burmese Cuisine!

Dined on February 7, 2016

The hostess and servers were very helpful in describing the menu and making recommendations. We tried several of their suggestions and enjoyed them all. We were with old friends we hadn't seen in awhile, so we appreciated that the noise level was low enough for us to enjoy our conversation. We will definitely be back and will recommend the Rangoon Ruby San Carlos to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Well worth repeating

Dined on February 7, 2016

Everything we had was very good. The tea leaf salad is very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent waiter

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

The best thing about this restaurant were the friendly and helpful staff from the hostess to our waiter who provided excellent guidance in what to order!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Tasty dishes, terrible service

Dined on January 30, 2016

We went here for lunch on a Saturday to celebrate my sister's birthday. This food was good, however, the service was terrible. The server kept disappearing, couldn't understand why because the place was half empty. Everything was al carte, we had to order rice separately because it didn't come with any of the dishes. The location in Burlingame is not like that, they give you rice with the dish you order. I took our own birthday cake from Copenhagen which they put in their refrigerator-that was nice. When the time came to bring the cake out, instead of bringing the cake to the table, they cut it in the back and brought the slices, the slices looked mutilated. My sister didn't even get to see the pretty cake. We had to ask for the leftover cake:-(. And to slice the cake, they charged us $1.50 per slice...imagine that!! When we received the bill, I noticed something very interesting, ACA 2016 charge. I was a bit disturbed about this because this is suppose to be employers responsibility not the customers. This 3% charge was calculated on food plus tax, and you end up giving tip on food plus tax plus this ACA charge. I just don't feel this was ethically right.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Food and Service!

Dined on January 30, 2016

I ate here with my husband on a date night for the first time Friday night...our server was wonderful and helped make our experience a lot of fun. We tried a few items on their menu per her advice and it was all delicious! Very vibrant flavors and combinations we don't usually see every day! We will definitely go back...

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Yum!

Dined on January 21, 2016

I always get the Burmese Chicken Salad, which is really good, but added the Walnut Shrimp and Coconut Rice this time -- and loved it! ...all very good! It's usually on the noisy side but you can still each other talk. Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Over-priced, under-whelmed ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Very noise restaurant. Tables are packed together. Slow service. Menu entrees are in 20's. Priced way above comparable restaurants. Food portion average but tasteless. Spicy dish not spicy enough; prawns were overlooked & rubbery. Only thing going for restaurant is its prime location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food everytime I visit

Dined on January 9, 2016

Great food and an adventure in eating. LOVE their tea leaf salad and have found many other wonderful dishes. the atmosphere is great (they have a beautiful glass Chihuli-like sculpture on the ceiling!) and it's one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time, took my niece,who had never ...

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Great time, took my niece,who had never been there. The waiter was fantastic explaining everything. She had a great time, she loves spicy food, which was great, so we had some things I had never tried before. So I have expanded my favorite list too.

food4
ambience2
service2

We were sat by the front windows which h ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were sat by the front windows which have a draft because they can be opened and there's a big gap. We asked to be moved and we were accommodated. The waiter took a while to approach the table. It was 4 courses for NYE and he didn't check back. The coconut noodle soup was delicious as well as the Breaded Calamari. The eggplant was extremely salty. The reason I gave 4 stars for the overall experience is due to the manager taking the time to send the eggplant back and had them remake it. Good customer service. A little too pricey for the food and ambiance.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on December 31, 2015

I had been to this restaurant a couple of times before and really enjoyed it but that was admittedly quite a long time ago. I had noted on my reservation, I was taking people who had never been before and would appreciate a nice table and any extra attention, suggestions, etc. For starters, the temperature in the restaurant was uncomfortably cold and made worse every time the door was opened. The food and service were merely ok - nothing special and, again made worse by the fact there were very few diners so there was excuse for the lack of attentiveness. It was also quite expensive. Doubtful I will go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place!

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Love their Tea salad. It is a must try. It has good options for vegans and vegetarians. I would recommend their garlic noodles. Egg and okra with jasmine rice!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Average Food!

Dined on December 25, 2015

Ambience was Good! Taste of food varies from person to person, so take this review in perspective. The soup (cat fish) was very good. Appetizer (calamari) was good but nothing to rave about, it is a simple dish deep fried in batter. Requested a spicy sauce, the waiter promised to get it but never turned up. The Thai beer was light and good. For main course, we had chosen pork curry along with palata and chicken/shrimp briyani. Pork Curry was very good, but again nothing unique about the dish. Palata had a slight sweet taste. Briyani had lots and lots of cashews/raisins, the whole dish was on the sweeter side. Don't expect a robust, tangy, spicy, flavor packed thai/indian food, this is an average fair with good ambience, catered for people not used to hot spices. NOTE: Their very hot version is average hot.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

Meh

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Tried to like Burmese food but it's not very tasty. Upsides were samosas and the tea leaf salad but entrees were too bland and unexciting.

food4
ambience3
service4

Good Food

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

I had made reservations a month prior to our going to this restaurant, for 7pm. When we arrived, about 10 minutes early, we were promptly seated and told that our table was needed by 8 pm as they had two large parties coming in for dinner. I, needless to say, was shocked. I have never been told at any restaurant that a table was needed by a certain time. It did not set a very good tone for the evening. With that, the food we ordered was good, garlic noodles, green tea salad, fish with mango, jasmine rice and beef. The only exception was the chicken dish that we ordered. It was very ordinary and not very flavorful. Our waiter was wonderful. My husband left an item in the restaurant and spoke to the receptionist at the front desk, when he went back in. She apologized but told him that management directed them to tell customers that they needed the table. Amazingly they continued to seat people up until 8pm. I did feel rushed and as I watched the manager clean and reset the table, it was like watching a roadrunner. Will we go back, not so sure.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service2

I was surprised and disappointed.

Dined on November 27, 2015

it was a terrible experience. It was a cold day an all of their many windows were open. My daughter and I were the only people in the restaurant and when I asked that they close some windows, they didn't. I sat with my hat and coat on and ordered the pumpkin stew with hopes it would warm me but it was nt servedt hot. The tofu in it was shriveled. If I had not been with my daughter who is easily embarrassed, I would have walked out when they didn't close the windows. My daughter liked her shrimp and prawn dish.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.