Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About range

Located within the new Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel at the historic Colorado National Bank building, range will offer cuisine
that celebrates the cultural heritage and adventurous spirit of the American West, prepared with a modern day sophistication. The restaurant features a bar offering a wide selection of local beers, liquors and
wines, a private dining room and a wood fired oven, in which much of the fare will be prepared. In addition to offering daily featured dishes, the
menu will change seasonally and will offer a large selection of shareable plates in addition to entrees and side dishes.

918 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Champa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 726-4800

Website:
http://rangedowntown.com/

Parking Details:
Valet services are offered through The Renaissance Denver City Center. All guests of range receive complimentary valet parking during any visit.

Public Transit:
range is located within walking distance to multiple bus and light rail stops. We are happy to assist in offering directions.

Executive Chef:
Paul Nagan

Private Party Facilities:
Range offers our guest the ability to create the perfect space for any meal. Each event can be customized to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Lloyd: (720) 726-4822

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
range offers happy hour monday thru friday from 4pm to 7pm.

range Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Modern Decor (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Business Meals (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Historic (10)
Fun (9)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Healthy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Sports (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

The menu has delicious, creative selections. Choosing what to have was tough, but my meal was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

We booked this restaurant for its proximity to The Buell. A group of 5 of us had tix to a show. The free valet parking was the main reason we chose the restaurant - being from Fort Collins we wanted to eat before the show but also wanted to be close enough to walk without re-parking or feeding meters. Since none of us had eaten there prior, we didn't know what to expect. Happily, the food turned out to be fabulous and the happy hour drinks were amazing! Plus, saving 20% with theater tix was an added bonus! The atmosphere was lovely - though it was a bit loud for a group conversation. Each of us loved our food (note: the menu is diverse and choosing was tough) and the portions were generous. Everyone in the group said they would be sure to return in the future.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything we ordered was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here and the service was impeccable. Get a tour of the many vaults of this old bank building of you can.
My sazarac was fantastic but the Manhattan on their specialty cocktail list was the most boring drink this Manhattan lover had ever had.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had breakfast at Range after a night out on the town. We stayed at the Renaissance for the second time, and didn't partake in any meals at Range the first stay, but are glad we gave it a try. The breakfast sausage, according to my husband, was fantastic! I enjoyed the oatmeal and the local honey was totally the icing on the cake, so to speak. The coffee was ok, but we thought that a restaurant at the level of Range should have great coffee. It tasted like bulk coffee from work rather than a freshly ground, aroma-full brew, one would expect to find. The service was very good.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Ordered the Buffalo Ribs that come with wedge sweet potatoes fries. Although my ribs were good, the wedge fries were not fully cooked. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

After reading a good review in some publication and finding myself in downtown Denver on a Sunday afternoon, I thought we would swing by a give Range a try. I was a little put off by finding Range in a hotel, as I am with all US based restaurants, and now I have a hard reminder as to why. The second clue, was finding the restaurant near empty that afternoon.

Service was good, but the food was simply, very bad. I order pasta carbonara, and was asked if I would like a protein with it, and I gamely said sure, how about chicken. The result that I received, as was served cold (don't remember having it that way before...). Further, if there was any carbonara sauce on the pasta, it has to be so slight as to be in my imagination. Then of course there was the chicken.....and It could have been my imagination again, but I think the chicken was cooked a day or two before it was served up to me, if not longer. I would have hung it on the wall as a warning to others, but I don't think, I could have gotten a nail thru it!

So in closing, don't waste your time.......................

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everyone should check out their bottomless brunch! Such a great deal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As part of restaurant week, I had lunch at range inside the Rennaissance Hotel in LoDo, part of the Marriott chain. Their wood - fired pepperoni was very tasty and well balanced with cheese, crispy edges with soft center. Nicely done! This morning I had their green eggs and ham, also well made. The hollandaise sauce didn't have the kick I liked, but my server, Kayla recommended the perfect hot sauce. Nicely done, Kayla

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This restaurant is a hidden gem. The food is creative with so many different flavors Making it hard to choose but whatever you pick you won't be disappointed The executive chef takes great pride in the food he provides and it shows from the apps to the dessert. Great job chef Paul.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We came to Range during Restaurant Week and ate off that menu. Our group had the brussels sprouts salad, the duck enchiladas and one other salad for starters. These were all enjoyed. The dinner choices ranged from the lemon chicken to the steak and meatloaf. The presentation was very nice for each item. The person who selected the lemon chicken found their sprouts salad more interesting. The service was good - wait staff was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Partook in the Restaurant experience menu. Over indulged but amazing value for money. Very impressive menu. Would recommend

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was amazing, especially the banana creme brûlée. Highly recommend! Plus the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The food was phenomenal and the house wine was even better

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a fantastic experience during 5280 week at Range. We've stayed at the Renaissance several times and have not eaten there. That will definitely change! The food was wonderful! My 2 kids (7&9) loved the Bison ribs. The service was superb! We appreciated the timeliness of our meal courses and the attention to detail. We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service and attention of the staff, all levels, was among the best I've ever experienced
The food was delicious, too. I particularly enjoyed the lemon chicken and the French onion soup. I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Impressive and delicious food, and excellent but understated service. Hotel food rarely gets this good! And the building is stunning, although the restaurant is a bit cave-like. Highly recommend!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I chose Range to try during Denver restaurant week. I made a very good choice indeed. All courses of the meal were very good. I especially enjoyed the paella. It was excellent. Dessert was also very good. All in all, a very nice experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great dinner and our wait staff was wonderful about working with our restaurant week discount and our theatre discount. Loved the food!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good food and wine list. Staff was prompt. A great spot for a pre-theater bite to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed the meal thoroughly, I highly suggest the duck enchiladas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first time here, the hotel thay it is in is amazing and the hotel is iust as amazing! There is a lot of history in the place and it is great for an intimate meal as well as a group gathering.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great spot to go before the theatre. The flat bread appetizer was big enough to be called a small Pizza. Everything we ate was great. Server was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The best part was the service, which was very good. My dish, which was fish, was well prepared, but my companion's paella was too salty and not enough like real paella to merit the appellate. The wine list was not extensive but had good quality wines. My complaint about it was how overpriced the wines are. I fully expect to pay a restaurant markup of anywhere from 2-3x the market price of the wine bottle, but I don't like it when a restaurant rubs my nose in it. Range's markup was higher, about 350-400% in most cases. $95 for a bottle of Australian sauvignon blanc? Really? Even if the cuisine were outstanding, which wasn't the case here, the feeling of being taken to the cleaners leaves a bad aftertaste. There are plenty of good restaurants in downtown Denver generally, and in the immediate vicinity of Range in particular. The overall experience was not bad, but I don't expect to be going back there anytime soon. Give this one a pass.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. Perfect place to get a great meal in during the lunch hour. I'm looking forward to returning for dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Range has very cheap decor- warm tones. The waiter was very nice . The food was lacking sooo much. The mushroom appetizer wasn't even cooked all the way through. Shrimp and grits small plate was chewy with Luke warm grits. Dry ribs weren't bad. The sweet potatoes fries (all 4) were also okay. Cole slaw was dry (how is that possible?) and extremely bitter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Food was solid. Pricing is a little aggressive relative to menu ($15+ for a burger means it should be exceptional, not just solid). Overall, would return but it's not going to be top priority.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Kale salad was generous and yummy with moist grilled chicken breast. Unfortunately restaurant was really loud for a business lunch and party of 4 could not hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I would highly recommend the range. Not only is the food outstanding (you have to try the candied bacon and basically any entree) but the cocktails and service live up to all expectations.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our Valentine's Day evening meal before the Sting concert

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Range was fantastic! Quite happy with our meal overall. The cocktails were very creative and delicious. The bone marrow made my boyfriend very happy! One of the best steaks I've ever had. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Surprised how good this place was. Many interesting things on the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the restaurant and all dishes. Was dismayed by Teller bartender who didn't know how to make a straight up, non-blended daiquiri. He thought there would be soda in it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The French onion soup was bland and the meatloaf was fine but nothing special. The service was attentive but unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I did request a quiet table with reservation and we were definitely not in a quiet area. Fish was dry. Other than that your restaurant is excellent, the staff is superior. The other food I've had is delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Accommodation for the Superbowl couldn't have been better!

Thank you for such special service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Cozy, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Server was great. All our food allergies and diets were well taken care of, i.e., low carb, gluten free, whole30. Don't remember our servers name. She is petite with short colored hair. (I think green). Very good and friendly. Took good care of the 6 of us.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Historic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

my wife ordered the scallops, there were 3 thin sliced scallops. She was not impressed.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very surprising which is always better than expected. Food was great - service was excellent. Nice atmosphere

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Just a few blocks from DCPA, this is a marvelous spot for a pre-concert/theater dinner. We loved the sweet potato hush puppies -- light, just the right crunch, accompanied by cilantro and honey chipotle butter. The duck confit enchiladas and the porcini mushroom agnolotti (with an outstanding brandy shallot creme) were both excellent. Service was attentive and considerate of our concert-imposed time limit. We would definitely choose Range again, and we'll save room for dessert next time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.