Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About range

Located within the new Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel at the historic Colorado National Bank building, range will offer cuisine
that celebrates the cultural heritage and adventurous spirit of the American West, prepared with a modern day sophistication. range features a bar offering a wide selection of local beers, liquors and
wines, a private dining room and a wood fired oven, in which much of the fare will be prepared. In addition to offering daily featured dishes, the
menu will change seasonally and will offer a large selection of shareable plates in addition to entrees and side dishes.
range also offers free valet for all guests.

918 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Champa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 726-4800

Website:
http://rangedowntown.com/

Parking Details:
Valet services are offered through The Renaissance Denver City Center. All guests of range receive complimentary valet parking during any visit.

Public Transit:
range is located within walking distance to multiple bus and light rail stops. We are happy to assist in offering directions.

Executive Chef:
Paul Nagan

Private Party Facilities:
Range offers our guest the ability to create the perfect space for any meal. Each event can be customized to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Lloyd: (720) 726-4822

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
range offers happy hour monday thru friday from 4pm to 7pm.

range Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fun (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Historic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The appetizers were good with but my entree was dry and the grits were so spicy that I could not eat them, what's of about that, is that it didn't said they were spiced at all, just aged cheddar. When I bought it to the servers attention she said it just depends on who makes them on how spicy they are, and offered another option. In general not worth a trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great experience here! The happy hour food menu is creative and refreshing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious food and amazing service. Will most certainly return in the near future!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I can't say enough about the phenomenal personal attention and service by the Range team. 5 stars for sure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We were concerned when we first walked in, because a large group at the bar were really loud. After they dispersed, we were able to carry on a conversation. Food was very good - interesting sauces. Tasty salads. Good, strong cocktails.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great french onion soup. I can't wait for cold weather to enjoy this masterpiece again. Everything was good though not overly imaginative. I would come back and would recommend to friends looking for quality classic dishes.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We went here with average expectations, but couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. Despite being wary of a hotel restaurant with nothing that looked especially unique in the menu, everyone loved their meal. Burger, fish sandwich, soup, salad and scallops all perfectly done. You don't need unique when you do the seemingly less creative items to perfection. Great for a downtown lunch or dinner. We will go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was very flavorful but 3 of the four dinners felt their entrees were overly spicy (pork collar, shrimp and grits, and shrimp entree).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The atmosphere was chaotic and very noisy. The food was way overpriced & not very flavorful

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Range is always a great place for business lunches. Great food and good service.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Range is my new favorite go-to for lunch in downtown Denver. I have tried several items on the lunch menu, but what keeps me coming back for more is the green chile bacon burger with homemade chips. Delicious, and easily one of the best burgers in Denver! A little pricey (the burger is ~$15) but well worth it. The atmosphere is nice, and I am definitely planning to check out their happy hour at some point.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Angus steak is mouthwatering. Brussels sprouts are something special, not over or under cooked, and tangy balanced flavor. Manhattan truly creative, as was the smashed berry bourbon drink. Great valet.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great impromptu dinner place we decided to try. Great for different events, cozy yet vibrant. Service lagged a bit and was pricier than expected. Entrees were $23+ but decent portion sized and very tasty!! Will be going back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Loved the happy hour and the small plates options. Delicious!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was fantastic, if you are a meat lover. Locally sourced meats expertly prepared. The sides were well matched to each dish. Fewer options for vegetarians, but that was not a concern in our party. Deserts were good, but portion was almost too big for one person.Conveniently located just off of 16th Street Market place. Convenient to downtown hotels, convention center, Coors field, Republic Plaza, Capitol, etc.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had dinner, drinks, and desert. The service was over the top, the food was fabulous, and the service was the very very best. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Tapas, Authentic, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Food was good but expensive and slow to arrive on an uncrowded night. Cocktails were great - really dig the Manhattans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We went here for our anniversary and got a drink at the teller bar before coming in for dinner. The food and service were both good and overall was pretty quiet as it wasn't very busy. I got the bison ribs and my wife got the paella and we both enjoyed the apple and pear salad. Nice restaurant with proximity to the main part of 16th street mall, which was nice as only had a short walk to the paramount after.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were hesitant to try this restaurant due to some of the reviews on Open Table, but it was the only restaurant on the resort. The food was just ok, not with the price. I have had better dishes at Olive garden. The dessert menu was not very good considering it is supposed to be a little on the high end side for this location. My other complaint is that my entree came out before I finished my salad. The server was nice and friendly, but we plan to dine elsewhere for the remainder of this week while at the resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Perfect for before theatre dinning. Food was novel and great. We had several appetizers and drinks, which was filling. Service spot on. A little louder than the last time we were there, but I would not say it was noisy. Will be back again, as I have season tickets, and this is by far the best pre-show spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Delicious - I had the Pork Collar, she had the Scallops on Risotto. And we shared the Sweet Potato Hushpuppies, which I'd also highly recommend. It was a little loud, but service was fantastic, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very confortable setting with an original menu and good food. The service was attentive without being pushy or overbearing. My companion and I were there for lunch on a Sunday, I had pork soft tacos which were tasty and thankfully not messy to eat. My companion eats gluten free and was able to order a pizza which she reported was quite good. It was pretty quiet, but I imagine it would be busier during the work week.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The tender belly pork collar... one of the most spectacular dishes I've eaten. I eat out alot... Go to this place for an amazing dinner out. Walk the couple blocks off 16th street and get away from the mall... EAT HERE!! you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was excellent with some intersting food options available. Dessert was excellent...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great Pre/theater dinner! Three generations party of 5 had a wonderful dining experience! Fantastic service and we loved our food, especially the charcuterie board and French onion soup. Next time, will go with small plates and appetizers because we loved those best! We took the hotel shuttle to and from the DCPA show. The seniors had given OK for a 6 minute walk, but the shuttle was a welcome surprise!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This is not a typical hotel restaurant. The menu is varied and the service was excellent.
As others have mentioned it could be noisy when full so try to pick a weekday at an early time to avoid this. Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Neatest thing about the place? That it sits in the Renaissance Hotel that used to be the Colorado National Bank Building. Why is that so cool? . . . Because Alan Tupper True did 5 triptychs of Indian tribes that still grace the interior entry hall and which are absolutely super! (Check out his work also at the Brown Palace and the Central City Opera House).

The Range Restaurant? Good. Serviceable and quite nice for a business lunch. Went there once for dinner with my honey and thought it was good but a bit pricey for what you got. Rate it somewhere between a 3 and a 4 depending on the vagaries of your mood and their meal . . ..

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 7, 2017

There was a mouse running around under our table and the tables close to us. Told the staff. They said "it's an old building."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The menu at range looked so good I asked the server how often they change it so I knew how soon I had to come back to eat more. Service was excellent. Execution of the starters and small plates was excellent. The main dishes we had were good but not great. We'll definitely be going back to try a few more things.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Everything was fine and overall review would be better if the place wasn't so darn loud. No point in going out to eat if I can't have a conversation with my date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Delicious American Western cuisine, located inside the Renaissance Hotel, offers free valet parking and the staff are all friendly and great. We came here for dinner and had a very enjoyable experience.

Started with sharing the Warm Brussel Sprout Salad, which came chopped with things like roasted squash, wild rice, parmesan cheese. Also tried the Sweet Potato Hushpuppies, 5 round tasty bread balls served with green tomato jam. I also had a buttermilk biscuit which came with butter and rhubarb strawberry jam.

For mains, we tried the Skuna Bay Salmon, served with chopped asparagus and quinoa and their 7x Wagyu meatloaf, served with roasted peppers and cheddar grits. Nice kick to the meatloaf, so perfect with the biscuit and grits.

For dessert, we had the Pecan Pie Bread Pudding, generously served in a iron skillet with a dollop of caramel and bourbon pecan ice cream. We also tried the Chocolate Espresso cake, served warm in a skillet with vanilla ice cream. Both amazing and too much for the 2 of us because of the large portions (the other 2 folks in our group didn't partake, their loss!)

Overall, delicious food, interesting menu, great service, convenient location. Would definitely come back here again and recommend to others.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very enjoyable experience- thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Hotel restaurant. It has very little noise abatement so it was very noisy especially if a large group is at the bar or in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Range is a downtown Denver restaurant that offers a trifecta of desirable traits - a tasty international menu, reasonable priced, free valet parking. The lobby bar is inside a huge landmark space. We've had the baby arugula salad twice - the generous portion can readily be shared. A great starter. I just had the shrimp paella - rich and very spicy. Wine list is reasonably priced. I forgot to mention the flawless service - everyone is attentive and smiling. I'm looking forward to the new late spring / summer menu. This is a restaurant where a party of 4 can converse without shouting - a key requirement for our dining choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We went to Range for dinner on our anniversary before a show at DCPA. Dinner was wonderful, our service was great. We could not have picked a better spot. Our waiter even brought us champagne to celebrate!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed the history of the building which houses this restaurant in downtown Denver.
The menu was different and interesting and our four selections of sea bass, pork collar, paella, and lemon chicken were all excellent. Spent some time in the bar first with a congenial bartender and friendly patrons. The dining service was very good too.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was slow and lacking considering it was empty in the restaurant. The food took about 30 minutes to come out.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and excellent desserts. Slower service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Brought our father here for 70th birthday dinner. It was an early dinner at 4pm and there was only one other table taken in restaurant. Super chill and most of our food was fantastic! Sweet potato hush puppies were delicious. Shrimp and grits were great. The best item at our table was the bourbon glazed pork belly. It was outstanding!! Definitely going back to order that again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The salad (can't recall the name..it included slices of pear) we had with our dinners was delicious. The ribeye was served on a smaller 2" thick butcher block... I was concerned about juices running off ...the steak was overly fatty (even for a ribeye) and with gristle......the baked potato was cold..I had to ask for it to be heated and butter provided.. We were downtown to attend an event.. The valet parking was convenient and well run.. I would stop there for drinks but not for a dining experience. There is a bar in the lobby adjacent to the dining room..if we weren't seeking quiet I'd go there..the martini I had was perfect..!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.