About range

918 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Located within the new Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel at the historic Colorado National Bank building, range will offer cuisine
that celebrates the cultural heritage and adventurous spirit of the American West, prepared with a modern day sophistication. The restaurant features a bar offering a wide selection of local beers, liquors and
wines, a private dining room and a wood fired oven, in which much of the fare will be prepared. In addition to offering daily featured dishes, the
menu will change seasonally and will offer a large selection of shareable plates in addition to entrees and side dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Champa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 726-4800

Website:
http://rangedowntown.com/

Parking Details:
Valet services are offered through The Renaissance Denver City Center. All guests of range receive complimentary valet parking during any visit.

Public Transit:
range is located within walking distance to multiple bus and light rail stops. We are happy to assist in offering directions.

Executive Chef:
Paul Nagan

Private Party Facilities:
Range offers our guest the ability to create the perfect space for any meal. Each event can be customized to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Lloyd: 7207264822x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
range offers happy hour monday thru friday from 4pm to 7pm.

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

range will be serving a wonderful four course dinner from 4pm to 9pm for $56 per person. Additionally each course will have an optional wine pairing available

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

range Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Denver / Colorado
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Business Meals (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Romantic (5)
Historic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

excellent food and good service. noisy ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

excellent food and good service. noisy though.

I would eat here again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

We made a reservation for eight people ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

We made a reservation for eight people and we were given the private room for our get together. It was the perfect environment for us that evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate my girlfriend's bir ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday and choose range since it looked like a nice venue. I left a note about the birthday on the reservation beforehand. No one ever acknowledged this at all. Our food was pretty good and decently priced and the ambiance was quiet and nice. When we went to leave no one was at the host stand and the lady in charge was 5 feet away having a conversation with another worker. We stood there for a couple minutes til our server actually came over and asked it we needed anything. I informed him we wanted to pick up our coats and he took the tag and awkwardly handed to the lady 5 feet away who still proceeded to finish her conversation before bothering to get our coats.

The place is fine, the food is good, and overall the service isn't bad; I just expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

A surprising find. Best meal in quite a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

A surprising find. Best meal in quite a while! Close to DPAC, free parking. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fish was very over cooked and service wa ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Fish was very over cooked and service was neglectful at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

First time at Range and we were very ple ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First time at Range and we were very pleasantly surprised. We had Thanksgiving dinner at Range and it was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

2nd Time here - and still delighted The ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

2nd Time here - and still delighted

The food is super, wonderful presentation and a serious on-tap beer menu with great brews.

We will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment we sat down, one thing w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

From the moment we sat down, one thing was abundantly clear: this place is LOUD. Our food was good overall, but the charcuterie board was the star of the show. The scallops and pork were good. Cocktails and the wine list were well priced and offered a good selection.

But it's funny how even the best of meals can taste bad when service is lacking. We ordered soup before our main course, but we weren't half way through the charcuterie board when our entrees arrived. The soup never came. Our server seemed uninterested and aloof. Because our starters never came and our entrees were so late, we didn't get our bottle of wine until we were nearly finished. The whole night was rushed, and we couldn't wait to get out of there. We left the wine with the ladies sitting next to us, because we weren't interested in staying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food at Range was delicious, especia ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The food at Range was delicious, especially the mixed grill and roasted brussels sprouts. The marrow bone was unusual and very tasty, especially if the marrow is eaten with a piece of french bread and cheese (part of the dish). Nice atmosphere and very convenient if you're downtown near the Denver Convention Center. Take time to see the adjacent lobby of the Renaissance Hotel...beautiful and historic.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were in search of a late night dining ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were in search of a late night dining option that offered a wide range of choices for a party of five. Everyone found something they liked from steaks and fries to small plates. The environment was quiet enough for good conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Arrived early and were sat immediately. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Arrived early and were sat immediately. Excellent food with great portion sizes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been here a few times. Great food and g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Been here a few times. Great food and great service!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, tasty food and friendly serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great menu, tasty food and friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food options, particularly in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent food options, particularly in the appetizers. Wine selection by the glass also did not disappoint.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really good food, great service. Get de ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Really good food, great service. Get desert, it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The scallops were the best scallops in D ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The scallops were the best scallops in Denver. Also, the pecan bread pudding was out of this world.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the range grill plate. It cam ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We ordered the range grill plate. It came with lamb, bison, and jalepeno quail. ALL THREE meats were incredible and it was some of the best bison I've ever eaten. Definitely recommend for date not. Not the type of atmosphere for children.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We only had happy hour, but they had a R ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We only had happy hour, but they had a REALLY good selection, and you don't have to sit at the bar to get happy hour, AND it goes until 7:00! So A+++ for that. The pesto flatbread was so good, would definitely come back just for that. Cocktails were decent. Overall really good experience and would go back. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a group of 8 gather for lunch, with ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Had a group of 8 gather for lunch, with most of us being in our 60's or so, and we were very pleased to be seated in their private dining area, which seats 10. Nice and quiet and out of the way, which really enhanced our experience. Great food, too! Everyone was pleased on all counts.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy appetizers. Good atmosphere

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Yummy appetizers. Good atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

All good except the noise level which I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 27, 2016

All good except the noise level which I found to be beyond 'energetic' and in the 'hard to hear our conversation' category.

Tags: Healthy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and bar drinks were great and r ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food and bar drinks were great and reasonable priced! They have a kids menu. We really enjoyed our experience and would visit again!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu for this restaurant looked amaz ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The menu for this restaurant looked amazing. My father was in town and so I decided to make a reservation and try the place. Upon arrival we were promptly seated. Our water glasses were filled quickly and the waitress did come by for our drink order, but that was not as prompt. We also ordered our appetizer at the same time (bone marrow). The drinks were reasonably priced for downtown and had a decent selection for a hotel restaurant as well.

When the bone marrow arrived, the presentation was good, but the portion size was not. We got a single bone for $12 and there was not enough marrow to cover the bread that can with it. I had one french bread sized piece of bread and even that was too much for the paltry marrow amount. They did provide goat cheese on the side as well, and since this was my father's first marrow experience, I didn't complain.

The waitress did not return for quite some time to take our dinner orders. In fact, we were ready to order a second drink before she came back to ask what we'd like to eat (we were not fast drinkers). I ordered the Paella and my father ordered the ribs. We also ordered 2 of the daily wine special which turned out to be a steal of deal. A good price for a good wine.

Paella was so bland that I actually stopped eating after a few bites and ended up just sharing some of my fathers ribs. There were 3, I think, with a side of fries and coleslaw. The rib meat fell off the bone and he really enjoyed them. The waitress did come by and ask me if I wanted to get something else since I wasn't into the Paella, but I honestly wasn't and didn't want to wait.

When we were paying, the waitress informed us that they had taken the paella off the bill, which resolved the situation from our perspective. They realized the problem and fixed it. I like that about a restaurant. Will I go back? No. Would I refuse to if others wanted to? No, I'd take another chance.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food. Noisy. Staff was ok.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food. Noisy. Staff was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food seemed like they were trying to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food seemed like they were trying too hard. Main dish was over salty and just not well prepared. Scallops had a fishy flavor. Desserts were too rich. Seemed like the volume was turned way to high on all the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Just stopped in for a quick bite and a g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Just stopped in for a quick bite and a glass of wine. Would like to enjoy a full meal next time. Kind of pricey but great food. Go for the truffle fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ambience lacks character and definitely ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Ambience lacks character and definitely looks and feels like a hotel restaurant. Service was quite rushed for a Saturday night meal even though the restaurant was very quiet. Service was otherwise good and food was better than average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Our server was AMAZING!! He always remem ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server was AMAZING!! He always remembers me and remembers to apply my discount as I work for Stonebridge. On another note: food was equally amazing! By far, the best Brussels sprouts I have ever had. Not to mention, it's my favorite restaurant :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a large group for a post wedding ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a large group for a post wedding brunch! Food was awesome, service was amazing!!!! We will definitely be back! Thanks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I made a lunch reservation for 7 through ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 16, 2016

I made a lunch reservation for 7 through Open Table and received a confirmation but the restaurant didnt have the reservation even commenting that their system doesnt take reservations for more than 6 people. Despite that mixup, they were able to seat us immediately at the long high top table in front of the bar. The server was welcoming and quick. The food came out pretty quickly except for my order which I thought odd because someone else in the party ordered the same thing and theirs came. I waited to see if mine would come and after 10 minutes had to flag the server down and make him aware that I hadnt received my food. Food was good but a bit under seasoned for my personal taste. I had the drunken carnitas and I needed to add salt. Not a bad experience and would return but not at the top of my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The restaurant is conveniently located a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The restaurant is conveniently located and has decent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and drinks were excellent!!!!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and drinks were excellent!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Next time I'm in Denver, this is a defin ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Next time I'm in Denver, this is a definite stop. We had the bone in Ribeye, the three piggies plate and the Buffalo Ribs. All were spectacular, as was the wine selection and the desert and post-dinner tawny port. The meats and veggies were cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for business lunch. Good lunch men ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great for business lunch. Good lunch menu and good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was tasty, service was great and fr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was tasty, service was great and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hotel restaurants can be dodgy, but "ran ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Hotel restaurants can be dodgy, but "range" does a good job, providing some savory treats (and pricey ones, too). Nothing was spectacular, but it was all good (if, with the low ceilings and hard surfaces, more than a bit noisy). I'll be keeping it on my list of places to return to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall, great experience . . . good foo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall, great experience . . . good food and service. We also enjoyed the western art in the lobby and bank history!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great find! Lots of gluten free o ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2016

What a great find! Lots of gluten free options. Planked shrimp and the bleu cheese burger were our choices. They were both big winners. Best burger I've ever had. Wife also really loved her shrimp and I enjoyed the aroma of the plank. The staff was very friendly and we had good service too. Delighted to add range to our date night repertoire!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting is wonderful located in an o ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The setting is wonderful located in an old bank building. We we're one of only 2 guests for a noon lunch (1st red flag). The one item I wanted was already sold out. My guest and I both ordered the market chop salad and we're both very disappointed. Very bland and didn't include the quinoa. My guest retuned hers and the brought her a salmon and asparagus dish. They did not charge her for her dish. She said the salmon was extremely salty. The server was very sweet but was working all alone playing hostess, server and bartender. Overall, not a pleasant meal. We will not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The food overall was good, we got a vari ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food overall was good, we got a variety of items which where all great and some unique. The only this that was an issue which was not such a big deal was the pizza was a little burned. Normally I would have said something but our group had a show to go see so we where a little crunched for time. We also got desert and one of the deserts I would not recomend is the strawberry cobbler. It just tast like strawberry jam with the cobbler on top. Not so good. But the others were great. And even with the pizza crust burned it still tastes good. Also we got some appetizers and they were wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.