Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About range

Located within the new Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel at the historic Colorado National Bank building, range will offer cuisine
that celebrates the cultural heritage and adventurous spirit of the American West, prepared with a modern day sophistication. The restaurant features a bar offering a wide selection of local beers, liquors and
wines, a private dining room and a wood fired oven, in which much of the fare will be prepared. In addition to offering daily featured dishes, the
menu will change seasonally and will offer a large selection of shareable plates in addition to entrees and side dishes.

918 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Champa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 726-4800

Website:
http://rangedowntown.com/

Parking Details:
Valet services are offered through The Renaissance Denver City Center. All guests of range receive complimentary valet parking during any visit.

Public Transit:
range is located within walking distance to multiple bus and light rail stops. We are happy to assist in offering directions.

Executive Chef:
Paul Nagan

Private Party Facilities:
Range offers our guest the ability to create the perfect space for any meal. Each event can be customized to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Lloyd: (720) 726-4822

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
range offers happy hour monday thru friday from 4pm to 7pm.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

range Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for a Date (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
See All
Business Meals (27)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Modern Decor (19)
Cozy (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Fun (12)
Historic (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Casual (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Private Room (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tapas (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Enjoyed the history of the building which houses this restaurant in downtown Denver.
The menu was different and interesting and our four selections of sea bass, pork collar, paella, and lemon chicken were all excellent. Spent some time in the bar first with a congenial bartender and friendly patrons. The dining service was very good too.

Tags: Great Beer, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was slow and lacking considering it was empty in the restaurant. The food took about 30 minutes to come out.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and excellent desserts. Slower service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Brought our father here for 70th birthday dinner. It was an early dinner at 4pm and there was only one other table taken in restaurant. Super chill and most of our food was fantastic! Sweet potato hush puppies were delicious. Shrimp and grits were great. The best item at our table was the bourbon glazed pork belly. It was outstanding!! Definitely going back to order that again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The salad (can't recall the name..it included slices of pear) we had with our dinners was delicious. The ribeye was served on a smaller 2" thick butcher block... I was concerned about juices running off ...the steak was overly fatty (even for a ribeye) and with gristle......the baked potato was cold..I had to ask for it to be heated and butter provided.. We were downtown to attend an event.. The valet parking was convenient and well run.. I would stop there for drinks but not for a dining experience. There is a bar in the lobby adjacent to the dining room..if we weren't seeking quiet I'd go there..the martini I had was perfect..!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food was very disappointing. Pastas were overcooked and taste in general had no flavor.
Atmosphere was dark and somber like a tavern.

Realized as we went out that people were eating at the bar in the hotel Renaissance lobby instead of the Range restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

the place was way too loud, i called in advance to ask for a quiet place, too bad that there was no quiet spot in the house. people were shouting.
service was nice but way too slow.
food arrived in room temperature like it was waiting on the counter for awhile.
we order the bison ribs and the meat loaf.
meet loaf was warm enough to eat, i didn't touched the ribs as it was smothered with BBQ sauce.

not will be in my recommended choices to dine in down town Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I have been to The Range several times and while I mostly enjoy it overall I am not overly fond of the menu and the somewhat limited choices. It always takes me the longest to decide what to eat as there are a limited amount of choices and most are not to my liking. Once I just had the brussel sprouts and roasted carrots as nothing else appealed to me but those two items were awesome. The dessert menu is really good I have to say.
Our waiter for dinner seemed to keep disappearing on us which was irritating as I told him I needed to get an associate to the airport in an hour. So when I had someone track him down he copped a bit of attitude on me.
Overall this is a really great place for a nice dinner in a nice hotel in downtown Denver and good value for the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Range is a very good hotel restaurant. The menu is creative and the food quality is good but i didn't realize it was a "hotel restaurant" when I booked it so it wasn't the level of dining experience I was looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great experience, taking a business group there next week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome Place! Have never eaten here before but definitely will come back!! My wife and I came here before attending an afternoon show at the DPAC and have a wonderful lunch. The presentation of the meal was incredible and the food was delicious. Our waiter Fabian was attentive but not intrusive and made us feel welcome. It was snowing when we went so the restaurant was not too busy but that could because of the weather; it was very quiet for us which we enjoyed. Definitely will come back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our outing was driven by a last minute theatre outing, complimentary valet and a sweet discount w/theatre tix. Every bite was delish! Esp tomato jalepeno soup, kale Caesar, brick chicken and sea bass. Creme brûlée large and yummy, service outstanding, def worth a return!👍👍

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was very average at best. I had the Bison ribs and paid food money...honestly Chilis would have tasted better for fat less.
Nice decor and atmosphere but food isn't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a good lunch there. The burgers were very good. I didn't care for my pizza, but others liked it. Drinks were excellent, waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We went here prior to a play at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. The restaurant is just a short walk from DCPA and there is a discount if you hold theater tickets.

The restored bank building that the restaurant is in provides a unique and attractive decor.

Service was attentive, ambiance enjoyable and food and beverage choices special, well prepared and delicious. We had bison spare ribs and scallops as our main courses.

I certainly would return to this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was great, but the restaurant was too loud for a weekday business lunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good food, slow service. There were very few customers in the area we were sat, so we were quite surprised at the wait to order and get the check. Otherwise good meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious, creative menu! The bone marrow, gulf shrimp & side of Brussels sprouts were all very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Service is always great and food is always amazing! :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I was very impressed with Range. Very vibrant bar area while at the same time preserving a more intimate ambiance in the dining room. The menu has a little something for everyone and the portions are fantastic. The pork belly charcuterie was divine. The salads are full size so if you're planning on getting one pre-dinner it'd probably be best to get one and share. I highly recommend this place and will certainly be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We arrived to a bustling dining room and a very friendly server. As we were looking over the menu, we quickly realized we were not given the same ones. The food was a mix. The hush puppies were great but the crab risotto which came with the sea bass (also very tasty) was very fishy and inedible. I would also expect a better quality coffee for the caliber restaurant they're trying to emulate. I'd try it again because the majority of the food was exceptional. Hopefully the chef will taste the creations next time before they're served!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our second time to dine at The Range and it was again, fantastic. Great service, food was outstanding. The ribs were amazing

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Small plates are actually good size portions, great for sharing!

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Good food. We had the Elk/Bison/Quail dish with a side of brussel sprouts. It was all delicious and prepared well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Excellent food, quiet surroundings, and great atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Range has a great menu with a variety of options for appetizers and entrees! My sister and I both ordered a Blonde Cosmo which was delicious as well. Our server was nice and so was the hostess. Overall lovely experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Just so-so. We went for brunch on a Sunday. The food was incredibly salty. There were some odd food combinations also. The tomatos in the omelette were marinaded in vinegar and it didn't mesh with the feta. Also, the roasted brussel sprouts were also too heavy on the basalmic. It took over the dish. Service was good, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The menu has delicious, creative selections. Choosing what to have was tough, but my meal was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We booked this restaurant for its proximity to The Buell. A group of 5 of us had tix to a show. The free valet parking was the main reason we chose the restaurant - being from Fort Collins we wanted to eat before the show but also wanted to be close enough to walk without re-parking or feeding meters. Since none of us had eaten there prior, we didn't know what to expect. Happily, the food turned out to be fabulous and the happy hour drinks were amazing! Plus, saving 20% with theater tix was an added bonus! The atmosphere was lovely - though it was a bit loud for a group conversation. Each of us loved our food (note: the menu is diverse and choosing was tough) and the portions were generous. Everyone in the group said they would be sure to return in the future.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything we ordered was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here and the service was impeccable. Get a tour of the many vaults of this old bank building of you can.
My sazarac was fantastic but the Manhattan on their specialty cocktail list was the most boring drink this Manhattan lover had ever had.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had breakfast at Range after a night out on the town. We stayed at the Renaissance for the second time, and didn't partake in any meals at Range the first stay, but are glad we gave it a try. The breakfast sausage, according to my husband, was fantastic! I enjoyed the oatmeal and the local honey was totally the icing on the cake, so to speak. The coffee was ok, but we thought that a restaurant at the level of Range should have great coffee. It tasted like bulk coffee from work rather than a freshly ground, aroma-full brew, one would expect to find. The service was very good.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Ordered the Buffalo Ribs that come with wedge sweet potatoes fries. Although my ribs were good, the wedge fries were not fully cooked. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

After reading a good review in some publication and finding myself in downtown Denver on a Sunday afternoon, I thought we would swing by a give Range a try. I was a little put off by finding Range in a hotel, as I am with all US based restaurants, and now I have a hard reminder as to why. The second clue, was finding the restaurant near empty that afternoon.

Service was good, but the food was simply, very bad. I order pasta carbonara, and was asked if I would like a protein with it, and I gamely said sure, how about chicken. The result that I received, as was served cold (don't remember having it that way before...). Further, if there was any carbonara sauce on the pasta, it has to be so slight as to be in my imagination. Then of course there was the chicken.....and It could have been my imagination again, but I think the chicken was cooked a day or two before it was served up to me, if not longer. I would have hung it on the wall as a warning to others, but I don't think, I could have gotten a nail thru it!

So in closing, don't waste your time.......................

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everyone should check out their bottomless brunch! Such a great deal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As part of restaurant week, I had lunch at range inside the Rennaissance Hotel in LoDo, part of the Marriott chain. Their wood - fired pepperoni was very tasty and well balanced with cheese, crispy edges with soft center. Nicely done! This morning I had their green eggs and ham, also well made. The hollandaise sauce didn't have the kick I liked, but my server, Kayla recommended the perfect hot sauce. Nicely done, Kayla

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This restaurant is a hidden gem. The food is creative with so many different flavors Making it hard to choose but whatever you pick you won't be disappointed The executive chef takes great pride in the food he provides and it shows from the apps to the dessert. Great job chef Paul.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We came to Range during Restaurant Week and ate off that menu. Our group had the brussels sprouts salad, the duck enchiladas and one other salad for starters. These were all enjoyed. The dinner choices ranged from the lemon chicken to the steak and meatloaf. The presentation was very nice for each item. The person who selected the lemon chicken found their sprouts salad more interesting. The service was good - wait staff was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Partook in the Restaurant experience menu. Over indulged but amazing value for money. Very impressive menu. Would recommend

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was amazing, especially the banana creme brûlée. Highly recommend! Plus the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.