About range

918 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Located within the new Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel at the historic Colorado National Bank building, range will offer cuisine
that celebrates the cultural heritage and adventurous spirit of the American West, prepared with a modern day sophistication. The restaurant features a bar offering a wide selection of local beers, liquors and
wines, a private dining room and a wood fired oven, in which much of the fare will be prepared. In addition to offering daily featured dishes, the
menu will change seasonally and will offer a large selection of shareable plates in addition to entrees and side dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Champa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 726-4800

Website:
http://rangedowntown.com/

Parking Details:
Valet services are offered through The Renaissance Denver City Center. All guests of range receive complimentary valet parking during any visit.

Public Transit:
range is located within walking distance to multiple bus and light rail stops. We are happy to assist in offering directions.

Executive Chef:
Paul Nagan

Private Party Facilities:
Range offers our guest the ability to create the perfect space for any meal. Each event can be customized to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Lloyd: 7207264822x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
range offers happy hour monday thru friday from 4pm to 7pm.

range Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (37)
special occasion (22)
good for groups (18)
See All
romantic (16)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
notable wine list (4)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The setting is wonderful located in an o ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

The setting is wonderful located in an old bank building. We we're one of only 2 guests for a noon lunch (1st red flag). The one item I wanted was already sold out. My guest and I both ordered the market chop salad and we're both very disappointed. Very bland and didn't include the quinoa. My guest retuned hers and the brought her a salmon and asparagus dish. They did not charge her for her dish. She said the salmon was extremely salty. The server was very sweet but was working all alone playing hostess, server and bartender. Overall, not a pleasant meal. We will not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The food overall was good, we got a vari ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food overall was good, we got a variety of items which where all great and some unique. The only this that was an issue which was not such a big deal was the pizza was a little burned. Normally I would have said something but our group had a show to go see so we where a little crunched for time. We also got desert and one of the deserts I would not recomend is the strawberry cobbler. It just tast like strawberry jam with the cobbler on top. Not so good. But the others were great. And even with the pizza crust burned it still tastes good. Also we got some appetizers and they were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant tries very hard to be uni ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The restaurant tries very hard to be unique, but falls somewhat short, in that the food is good, but not outstanding. Staff tries very hard to give a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Great food!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good overall, service very good ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was good overall, service very good, the setup inside is a little off, some tables too close to the kitchen, food is a little pricey for what you get too. The serving trays lined with paper are cool looking but when the paper soaks and tears and you start eating it you being to wonder if it was such a good idea or not. Overall it is good but for the price some things could be better.

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was eclectic. Cheese puffs were goo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was eclectic. Cheese puffs were good. I had a chicken dish that came in a frying pan and it is good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience from start to finish. E ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great experience from start to finish. Everything we ordered was outstanding. We had grilled brussel sprouts, kale salad, and shrimp on cedar plank... everything was well presented and very tasty. Even the house wine was very enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took a little bit for our server to i ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It took a little bit for our server to initially greet us, but when I saw how many tables she had.....kuddos to her, she was running her tail off! Service was excellent. Very friendly. Food came out in a timely fashion, and was cooked perfectly. It was the first time I had been there, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but my expectations were exceeded! It's a beautiful restaurant. Perfect for a nice dinner out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, best meal we had in Breckenr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food, best meal we had in Breckenridge. Very comfortable, laid back atmosphere with excellent service. Highly recommend the meat loaf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was quite mediocre, I expected bett ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was quite mediocre, I expected better. I met up with a friend earlier in the day who said he's been there twice and neither time was he impressed with the food, I have to agree with him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great cocktails. Comfortable place. Deli ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great cocktails. Comfortable place. Delicious food.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

we were on a business trip,

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Did not like the food, even had to pay for bread not our style of cuisine. They told us it was cowboy style...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not bad

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This place wasn't too bad overall. The brussell sprouts were amazing. For main course, I had the bison ribs, which weren't bad, although a little salty for my taste. The staff was extremely friendly, especially the hostess. The only complaint I had was the service was a bit slow. We had to wait quite awhile for anyone to come over and even take a drink order (apparently, as we very apologetically explained to me there was some confusion among the wait staff about whether or not we'd been helped). The food came fast, but after asking for a to-go box, everyone seemed to go MIA. I waited ten minutes for a box before just leaving our remaining food on the table so we could get to our show, which we actually ended up missing the opening number because of the delay we experienced.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Ambiance of "The Range"

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

While the food was great and very attractively presented, the ambiance of the setting was too casual, for a 46th anniversary dinner. The service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Kale caesar salads were the favorite cou ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Kale caesar salads were the favorite course of the table. Portion size on the bison ribs was a bit small. Housemade pasta was delicious. The orange marmalade served with the vanilla creme brûlée was an excellent touch. Don't be turned off at dining in a restaurant located in a hotel - this one is definitely worth the visit!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was fantastic, a creative menu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was fantastic, a creative menu with so many good choices. The staff was friendly and made sure we were well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

MMMMM Pork Belly

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The pork belly from the 3 Little Pigs Board was ah-mazing!!! I honestly can't remember the main entree I had. We all fell in love with the pork belly. Must go for that!!!! The service was a bit slow but they were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous Food, Drink & Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I ate here one evening while in town for a conference. I dined alone but felt well-cared for my my server, Donny. Actually, several people were involved in my service and all were great! The service was informative, friendly and delivered at the right pace. The food was fantastic. Try the scallops if you go - they were cooked perfectly and had the right accompaniment. Drinks and dessert were also yummy! I would definitely return if in the neighborhood again. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place and definitely plan ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We loved this place and definitely plan to return. Staff was wonderful; super attentive and helpful with menu item questions. The food was fantastic; cocktails, starter, mains, and dessert was all of the highest quality. Can't wait to go back and try other options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant to meet wi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

First time at this restaurant to meet with old friend. Food was fantastic including chicken recommendation for gluten free. Drinks were excellent and server recommendations were spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Denver Dining Experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My daughter and I tried Range and loved it. I would have gone back a second night, but thought we should branch out. The appetizer with the smoked trout dip was so good. We each got a salad, and we shared two smaller plates. The cedar planked shrimp had so much flavor, and the pasta was so good, too! I was hoping for a glass of David Bynum Pinot Noir, but the were out. Other nice wine choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A great spot! Delicious food!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A hidden gem. Food is first rate, ambiance of the old national bank is spectacular w/ it's Indian murals, and restraint itself very cool.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Exceeded expectations

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Went there with my girlfriend on a Friday, it was early and the restaurant wasn't very crowded yet. Great drinks, the food was exceptional for the price, great value, we'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location for a work lunch.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

This was a perfect meeting spot for several people who work around downtown Denver. Our foodies and our picky eaters all found something on the menu they wanted. Atmosphere is nice, calm, classy. Overall, great for a work meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Aps were great! Salads were great, drink ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Aps were great! Salads were great, drinks were great, lamb was a disappointment. Not cooked to our liking x3, all over cooked. Waiter talked us out of the Bison Ribs and we were sorry we listened, they looked great coming out of the kitchen coming home by our table being served to others. Worth trying again just for that bacon, mmmm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Not a hidden brunch spot.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I took my girlfriend there for brunch, since all of Denver eats brunch and they take reservations. When we got there it looked promising, but when we met the hostess she was pretty short with us, and told us we needed to be quick. Its fine if the kitchen is closing for brunch, but being told we have 2 minutes to make a decision is a little ridiculous. Then the waiter was short with us. I get it and don't mind timing, but 11 am on a Sunday for brunch and then I'm told to be quick with a pricey bill is not what I'm looking for. Anyway it was a hotel restaurant that I will not be returning to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Put this restaurant on your list

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We really loved our evening at Range. The hotel it is situated in was once a bank and the space is pretty spectacular as you enter. We stopped at the bar and had a drink in one of their amazing hooded seats. Then we walked into Range and ordered bacon-wrapped jalapenos and a charcuterie board to get started. Both were outstanding. It was early and the dining room was fairly empty and we got terrific service. We both ordered the ribs, sweet potato hand-cut fries and the pickled green tomatoes. It was served on a big wooden board and was just so tasty in every wonderful way. I couldn't finish mine and my husband was stuffed. I wanted to try a dessert so I got the chocolate molten cake with vanilla stout gelato. Incredible and plenty of it. I ate the ice cream and brought the sizable mini-cake home with ganache. We can't wait to go back and try the rest of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Disappointing

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The 'range' looks great from the outside but did not live up to that promise. The menu in the restaurant did not match the one shown online and there was only one type of steak available; a 'hanger' steak which was tough and lacking flavor. The fish selection was no better. At these prices you shouldn't have to pay extra just to get bread. The wine was sub-par and our waiter made it clear from his attitude that he'd rather be somewhere - anywhere - else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great food and great location!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food and great location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Ok but nothing special

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We had a reservation for lunch but for some reason there is not availability at 11:30. In any case we arrived early and they seated my companion before our time which was much appreciated. At first the restaurant was empty so thought we made a mistake but it filled out very quickly adding a lively and louder(not uncomfortably so) atmosphere. The waiter was very accommodating to our food needs and attentive but although we ordered first in the restaurant, our food was last to come out compared to the other tables. The handmade pasta was definitely fresh but the pesto sauce used drowned out the taste a bit. We did have some bread to start off which was the best tasting part of the meal. I'll give it another try for dinner and a bar drink-maybe it will be better.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Pleasantly surprised of the quality of t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Pleasantly surprised of the quality of the food in capturing Colorado-style cuisine. The butchers board featuring bacon candy and salami lollipops were worth coming back just for another round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Slightly lacking

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The pork chops were perfect, the cauliflower hummus was bland, and the beat salad tasted like one of those salads out of a bag.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Typical hotel restaurant

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Another hotel restaurant trying too hard to have "local" or "Colorado" dishes. If you are visiting Denver and want local food go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Meals were great. Dessert was average ex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Meals were great. Dessert was average except the gelato was excellent. We really enjoyed the bacon wrapped jalapeños as appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unique food and good service in an intim ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Unique food and good service in an intimate setting. The bacon jalapeños are really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

What a find. Excellent food at a reasona ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

What a find. Excellent food at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. Our server was helpful in ou ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Great food. Our server was helpful in our lunch selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything is great, but too noisy, FIX IT!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

This could be a great place, but no tables that aren't noisy. This needs to be fixed.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The artichoke and burrata toasts were in ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

The artichoke and burrata toasts were incredible and SO good. I will definitely order them again. I had perfectly cooked sea bass. It was served flesh side down to display a golden brown crispy skin; it was delicious. My lunch partner had the meatloaf. It was a hearty dish, full of flavor and presented beautifully. This restaurant is impressive and classy. It is a place I would recommend for both special occasions or lunch meetings to discuss business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bison meatloaf was amazing

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Bison meatloaf was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.