About range

Located within the new Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel at the historic Colorado National Bank building, range will offer cuisine
that celebrates the cultural heritage and adventurous spirit of the American West, prepared with a modern day sophistication. The restaurant features a bar offering a wide selection of local beers, liquors and
wines, a private dining room and a wood fired oven, in which much of the fare will be prepared. In addition to offering daily featured dishes, the
menu will change seasonally and will offer a large selection of shareable plates in addition to entrees and side dishes.

918 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Champa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 726-4800

Website:
http://rangedowntown.com/

Parking Details:
Valet services are offered through The Renaissance Denver City Center. All guests of range receive complimentary valet parking during any visit.

Public Transit:
range is located within walking distance to multiple bus and light rail stops. We are happy to assist in offering directions.

Executive Chef:
Paul Nagan

Private Party Facilities:
Range offers our guest the ability to create the perfect space for any meal. Each event can be customized to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Lloyd: (720) 726-4822

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
range offers happy hour monday thru friday from 4pm to 7pm.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

range Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Modern Decor (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Historic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was expecting better food for how expe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

I was expecting better food for how expensive it was. Cheapest appetizer is $8. The place is inside the hotel, the valet parking is kinda hard to spot. But ambiance was nice. Perfect place for a break-up dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Our meals were fantastic and the wines w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Our meals were fantastic and the wines were wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Range. They do change their menus, so just be prepared for them to possibly be out of some things if they're about to change. This wasn't a problem as they still had wonderful dishes available and my fish was superbly cooked. We will definitely be going back there.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The good was very good and our wait staf ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

The good was very good and our wait staff person, Lindsay, was exceptional: smart, personable, always on top of the service but never hovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Although we had a reservation, Range wou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Although we had a reservation, Range would not seat us (there were empty tables, so it must have been a staffing issue). Instead, we had drinks and several items from the Happy Hour menu at the bar. Bartenders were very accommodating given the situation. I did not appreciate the Old Fashioned, but loved their Manhattans. After 15+ minutes at the bar, the hostess notified that our table was ready, but we stayed with our friendly bartenders. I can recommend the bar, but have no experience "dining" at Range.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

It was awesome. We will definitely be b ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

It was awesome. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Range for the first time this ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to Range for the first time this week and will certainly be back.

The service was excellent, recommendations were on point, and the food was both creative and perfectly executed. I would recommend getting a couple of small plates and main plates to share for the table as you will want to try everything. Get the goat cheese fritters- they were fantastic.

Extra bonus: Valet Parking is included- very rare for downtown Denver.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just off the stunning atrium lobby of th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Just off the stunning atrium lobby of the Downtown Renaissance hotel with the outstanding True murals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great restaurant for pre-show happy hour ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great restaurant for pre-show happy hour/dinner. Was our first time but we will be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We walked out after one bite of our appe ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We walked out after one bite of our appetizer - they were supposed to be pastry puffs but had the consistency and flavor of hockey pucks. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

New Years Eve....food was good and it wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve....food was good and it wasn't too crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Our server was great. She was attentive, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was great. She was attentive, helpful, and kind. I had the scallops, which were good, but the greens that came with them were flavorless and oily. The smoked tomatoes lacked a smokey flavor and the cauliflower puree was bland and distracted from the scallops. I feel for the price, the food should have been bursting with flavor. My friend had the lobster mac and cheese and was not impressed with his dish either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Enjoyed the charcuterie appetizer, kale ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Enjoyed the charcuterie appetizer, kale salad, chicken and pork chop main courses. Chocolate dessert was great! Good sized portions, attentive service, and enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a surprise Chef Paul Nagan has crea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

What a surprise Chef Paul Nagan has created in Downtown Denver! The menu is varied and diverse, using locally sourced meats and indredients - and in unexpected combinations. Try the 'mixed grill' - the jalapeno-stuffed quail was an absolute treat. We also loved the root beer BBQ bison ribs, and the wine list was extensive, yet paired with the dinner fare perfectly. Cocktails were carefully crafted and service was attentive without being intrusive. Our server offered suggestions and answered questions about the menu and we very much enjoyed the meal. Will come back when in Denver.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came last year for Christmas dinner a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We came last year for Christmas dinner and loved the Prix Fixe menu, there were multiple choices (including a veggie option) for each course so you could design your own menu. We enjoyed it so much last year, we thought we would return again this year but were underwhelmed this time. They changed their menu so that you only had an option for the 3rd course, none of which were Vegetarian. They were accommodating and made something up for me as my 3rd course, but it was very dry, bland, and not equal in price to the other options.

We'll be searching for a more diverse menu next year.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food and service was amazing!My birt ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food and service was amazing!My birthday is on Christmas

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food!!! Love the teller bar j ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fantastic Food!!! Love the teller bar just outside as well. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff seemed very overwhelmed and under ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Staff seemed very overwhelmed and under staffed. We went Christmas morning. The food was cold but good. Didn't want to send it back because it was obvious they were scrambling. Felt lucky to get our food and that it tasted good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Wonderful/diverse menu. We had three di ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful/diverse menu. We had three different entrees and all were delightful. The Kale Caesar salad was shared/was amazing.

It was very noisy and difficult to have a conversation, but would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was polite, though busy, and did ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Server was polite, though busy, and did his job. He began by talking about the wines that were on special and mentioned one change to the menu and told us the soup of the day. Could have been more attentive when my date asked where the bathroom was at, however, the FOH manager overheard the dialogue and pointed him in the right direction so that he didn't get lost. The food was very good (Scallops and Pork Tenderloin), and we both felt very full upon leaving. Every other staff member from the valet, to the hostess, even to the server assistant's did a very hospitable and great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came early for dinner and we were greete ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Came early for dinner and we were greeted by several servers/hosts. Very good first impression. Inside is modern and chic. We mentioned it was our anniversary and were served two classes of prosecco shortly after being seated. Artichoke toast appetizer was amazing and filling--beware!! Loved the scallops. Have already recommended range to family.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice atmosphere food was really great. C ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Nice atmosphere food was really great. Creative dishes that shrimp dish was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. However, th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent food and service. However, the dining area is not separated from the bar, so the meal was a bit nosier than I would expect for fine dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service a little slow, but food was awes ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service a little slow, but food was awesome!! Sweet potato hush puppies the best!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent food. Excellent Service. Exc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent Service. Excellent all around.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Range was excellant!!! The food was inc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Range was excellant!!! The food was incredible and it is a beautiful restaurant....the service was exemplary!!! Out of a 10 star rating I would give it a 12!!!! We absolutely loved it and I am going to take other friends there soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall great. Rueben was amazing. Can ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Overall great. Rueben was amazing. Can be a bit loud at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

excellent food and good service. noisy ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

excellent food and good service. noisy though.

I would eat here again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

We made a reservation for eight people ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We made a reservation for eight people and we were given the private room for our get together. It was the perfect environment for us that evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate my girlfriend's bir ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We went to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday and choose range since it looked like a nice venue. I left a note about the birthday on the reservation beforehand. No one ever acknowledged this at all. Our food was pretty good and decently priced and the ambiance was quiet and nice. When we went to leave no one was at the host stand and the lady in charge was 5 feet away having a conversation with another worker. We stood there for a couple minutes til our server actually came over and asked it we needed anything. I informed him we wanted to pick up our coats and he took the tag and awkwardly handed to the lady 5 feet away who still proceeded to finish her conversation before bothering to get our coats.

The place is fine, the food is good, and overall the service isn't bad; I just expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

A surprising find. Best meal in quite a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

A surprising find. Best meal in quite a while! Close to DPAC, free parking. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fish was very over cooked and service wa ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Fish was very over cooked and service was neglectful at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

First time at Range and we were very ple ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First time at Range and we were very pleasantly surprised. We had Thanksgiving dinner at Range and it was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafeteria food at best. Cold environment ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Cafeteria food at best. Cold environment. The tables need table clothes or to be better. It felt like a basement hotel cafe not fine dining. I had high hopes but was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

2nd Time here - and still delighted The ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

2nd Time here - and still delighted

The food is super, wonderful presentation and a serious on-tap beer menu with great brews.

We will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment we sat down, one thing w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

From the moment we sat down, one thing was abundantly clear: this place is LOUD. Our food was good overall, but the charcuterie board was the star of the show. The scallops and pork were good. Cocktails and the wine list were well priced and offered a good selection.

But it's funny how even the best of meals can taste bad when service is lacking. We ordered soup before our main course, but we weren't half way through the charcuterie board when our entrees arrived. The soup never came. Our server seemed uninterested and aloof. Because our starters never came and our entrees were so late, we didn't get our bottle of wine until we were nearly finished. The whole night was rushed, and we couldn't wait to get out of there. We left the wine with the ladies sitting next to us, because we weren't interested in staying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food at Range was delicious, especia ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The food at Range was delicious, especially the mixed grill and roasted brussels sprouts. The marrow bone was unusual and very tasty, especially if the marrow is eaten with a piece of french bread and cheese (part of the dish). Nice atmosphere and very convenient if you're downtown near the Denver Convention Center. Take time to see the adjacent lobby of the Renaissance Hotel...beautiful and historic.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were in search of a late night dining ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were in search of a late night dining option that offered a wide range of choices for a party of five. Everyone found something they liked from steaks and fries to small plates. The environment was quiet enough for good conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Arrived early and were sat immediately. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Arrived early and were sat immediately. Excellent food with great portion sizes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been here a few times. Great food and g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Been here a few times. Great food and great service!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, tasty food and friendly serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great menu, tasty food and friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.