About range

918 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Located within the new Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel at the historic Colorado National Bank building, range will offer cuisine
that celebrates the cultural heritage and adventurous spirit of the American West, prepared with a modern day sophistication. The restaurant features a bar offering a wide selection of local beers, liquors and
wines, a private dining room and a wood fired oven, in which much of the fare will be prepared. In addition to offering daily featured dishes, the
menu will change seasonally and will offer a large selection of shareable plates in addition to entrees and side dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Champa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 726-4800

Website:
http://rangedowntown.com/

Parking Details:
Valet services are offered through The Renaissance Denver City Center. All guests of range receive complimentary valet parking during any visit.

Public Transit:
range is located within walking distance to multiple bus and light rail stops. We are happy to assist in offering directions.

Executive Chef:
Paul Nagan

Private Party Facilities:
Range offers our guest the ability to create the perfect space for any meal. Each event can be customized to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Lloyd: 7207264822x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
range offers happy hour monday thru friday from 4pm to 7pm.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

range Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (19)
Special Occasion (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
See All
Romantic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and bar drinks were great and r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food and bar drinks were great and reasonable priced! They have a kids menu. We really enjoyed our experience and would visit again!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu for this restaurant looked amaz ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The menu for this restaurant looked amazing. My father was in town and so I decided to make a reservation and try the place. Upon arrival we were promptly seated. Our water glasses were filled quickly and the waitress did come by for our drink order, but that was not as prompt. We also ordered our appetizer at the same time (bone marrow). The drinks were reasonably priced for downtown and had a decent selection for a hotel restaurant as well.

When the bone marrow arrived, the presentation was good, but the portion size was not. We got a single bone for $12 and there was not enough marrow to cover the bread that can with it. I had one french bread sized piece of bread and even that was too much for the paltry marrow amount. They did provide goat cheese on the side as well, and since this was my father's first marrow experience, I didn't complain.

The waitress did not return for quite some time to take our dinner orders. In fact, we were ready to order a second drink before she came back to ask what we'd like to eat (we were not fast drinkers). I ordered the Paella and my father ordered the ribs. We also ordered 2 of the daily wine special which turned out to be a steal of deal. A good price for a good wine.

Paella was so bland that I actually stopped eating after a few bites and ended up just sharing some of my fathers ribs. There were 3, I think, with a side of fries and coleslaw. The rib meat fell off the bone and he really enjoyed them. The waitress did come by and ask me if I wanted to get something else since I wasn't into the Paella, but I honestly wasn't and didn't want to wait.

When we were paying, the waitress informed us that they had taken the paella off the bill, which resolved the situation from our perspective. They realized the problem and fixed it. I like that about a restaurant. Will I go back? No. Would I refuse to if others wanted to? No, I'd take another chance.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food. Noisy. Staff was ok.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food. Noisy. Staff was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food seemed like they were trying to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food seemed like they were trying too hard. Main dish was over salty and just not well prepared. Scallops had a fishy flavor. Desserts were too rich. Seemed like the volume was turned way to high on all the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Just stopped in for a quick bite and a g ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Just stopped in for a quick bite and a glass of wine. Would like to enjoy a full meal next time. Kind of pricey but great food. Go for the truffle fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ambience lacks character and definitely ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Ambience lacks character and definitely looks and feels like a hotel restaurant. Service was quite rushed for a Saturday night meal even though the restaurant was very quiet. Service was otherwise good and food was better than average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Our server was AMAZING!! He always remem ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server was AMAZING!! He always remembers me and remembers to apply my discount as I work for Stonebridge. On another note: food was equally amazing! By far, the best Brussels sprouts I have ever had. Not to mention, it's my favorite restaurant :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a large group for a post wedding ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a large group for a post wedding brunch! Food was awesome, service was amazing!!!! We will definitely be back! Thanks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I made a lunch reservation for 7 through ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I made a lunch reservation for 7 through Open Table and received a confirmation but the restaurant didnt have the reservation even commenting that their system doesnt take reservations for more than 6 people. Despite that mixup, they were able to seat us immediately at the long high top table in front of the bar. The server was welcoming and quick. The food came out pretty quickly except for my order which I thought odd because someone else in the party ordered the same thing and theirs came. I waited to see if mine would come and after 10 minutes had to flag the server down and make him aware that I hadnt received my food. Food was good but a bit under seasoned for my personal taste. I had the drunken carnitas and I needed to add salt. Not a bad experience and would return but not at the top of my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The restaurant is conveniently located a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The restaurant is conveniently located and has decent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and drinks were excellent!!!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and drinks were excellent!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Next time I'm in Denver, this is a defin ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Next time I'm in Denver, this is a definite stop. We had the bone in Ribeye, the three piggies plate and the Buffalo Ribs. All were spectacular, as was the wine selection and the desert and post-dinner tawny port. The meats and veggies were cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for business lunch. Good lunch men ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great for business lunch. Good lunch menu and good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was tasty, service was great and fr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was tasty, service was great and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hotel restaurants can be dodgy, but "ran ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Hotel restaurants can be dodgy, but "range" does a good job, providing some savory treats (and pricey ones, too). Nothing was spectacular, but it was all good (if, with the low ceilings and hard surfaces, more than a bit noisy). I'll be keeping it on my list of places to return to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall, great experience . . . good foo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall, great experience . . . good food and service. We also enjoyed the western art in the lobby and bank history!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great find! Lots of gluten free o ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

What a great find! Lots of gluten free options. Planked shrimp and the bleu cheese burger were our choices. They were both big winners. Best burger I've ever had. Wife also really loved her shrimp and I enjoyed the aroma of the plank. The staff was very friendly and we had good service too. Delighted to add range to our date night repertoire!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting is wonderful located in an o ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The setting is wonderful located in an old bank building. We we're one of only 2 guests for a noon lunch (1st red flag). The one item I wanted was already sold out. My guest and I both ordered the market chop salad and we're both very disappointed. Very bland and didn't include the quinoa. My guest retuned hers and the brought her a salmon and asparagus dish. They did not charge her for her dish. She said the salmon was extremely salty. The server was very sweet but was working all alone playing hostess, server and bartender. Overall, not a pleasant meal. We will not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The food overall was good, we got a vari ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food overall was good, we got a variety of items which where all great and some unique. The only this that was an issue which was not such a big deal was the pizza was a little burned. Normally I would have said something but our group had a show to go see so we where a little crunched for time. We also got desert and one of the deserts I would not recomend is the strawberry cobbler. It just tast like strawberry jam with the cobbler on top. Not so good. But the others were great. And even with the pizza crust burned it still tastes good. Also we got some appetizers and they were wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant tries very hard to be uni ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The restaurant tries very hard to be unique, but falls somewhat short, in that the food is good, but not outstanding. Staff tries very hard to give a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Great food!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good overall, service very good ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was good overall, service very good, the setup inside is a little off, some tables too close to the kitchen, food is a little pricey for what you get too. The serving trays lined with paper are cool looking but when the paper soaks and tears and you start eating it you being to wonder if it was such a good idea or not. Overall it is good but for the price some things could be better.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was eclectic. Cheese puffs were goo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was eclectic. Cheese puffs were good. I had a chicken dish that came in a frying pan and it is good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience from start to finish. E ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great experience from start to finish. Everything we ordered was outstanding. We had grilled brussel sprouts, kale salad, and shrimp on cedar plank... everything was well presented and very tasty. Even the house wine was very enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took a little bit for our server to i ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It took a little bit for our server to initially greet us, but when I saw how many tables she had.....kuddos to her, she was running her tail off! Service was excellent. Very friendly. Food came out in a timely fashion, and was cooked perfectly. It was the first time I had been there, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but my expectations were exceeded! It's a beautiful restaurant. Perfect for a nice dinner out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, best meal we had in Breckenr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food, best meal we had in Breckenridge. Very comfortable, laid back atmosphere with excellent service. Highly recommend the meat loaf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was quite mediocre, I expected bett ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was quite mediocre, I expected better. I met up with a friend earlier in the day who said he's been there twice and neither time was he impressed with the food, I have to agree with him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great cocktails. Comfortable place. Deli ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great cocktails. Comfortable place. Delicious food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

we were on a business trip,

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Did not like the food, even had to pay for bread not our style of cuisine. They told us it was cowboy style...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not bad

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This place wasn't too bad overall. The brussell sprouts were amazing. For main course, I had the bison ribs, which weren't bad, although a little salty for my taste. The staff was extremely friendly, especially the hostess. The only complaint I had was the service was a bit slow. We had to wait quite awhile for anyone to come over and even take a drink order (apparently, as we very apologetically explained to me there was some confusion among the wait staff about whether or not we'd been helped). The food came fast, but after asking for a to-go box, everyone seemed to go MIA. I waited ten minutes for a box before just leaving our remaining food on the table so we could get to our show, which we actually ended up missing the opening number because of the delay we experienced.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Ambiance of "The Range"

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

While the food was great and very attractively presented, the ambiance of the setting was too casual, for a 46th anniversary dinner. The service was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Kale caesar salads were the favorite cou ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Kale caesar salads were the favorite course of the table. Portion size on the bison ribs was a bit small. Housemade pasta was delicious. The orange marmalade served with the vanilla creme brûlée was an excellent touch. Don't be turned off at dining in a restaurant located in a hotel - this one is definitely worth the visit!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was fantastic, a creative menu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was fantastic, a creative menu with so many good choices. The staff was friendly and made sure we were well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

MMMMM Pork Belly

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The pork belly from the 3 Little Pigs Board was ah-mazing!!! I honestly can't remember the main entree I had. We all fell in love with the pork belly. Must go for that!!!! The service was a bit slow but they were nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous Food, Drink & Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I ate here one evening while in town for a conference. I dined alone but felt well-cared for my my server, Donny. Actually, several people were involved in my service and all were great! The service was informative, friendly and delivered at the right pace. The food was fantastic. Try the scallops if you go - they were cooked perfectly and had the right accompaniment. Drinks and dessert were also yummy! I would definitely return if in the neighborhood again. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place and definitely plan ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We loved this place and definitely plan to return. Staff was wonderful; super attentive and helpful with menu item questions. The food was fantastic; cocktails, starter, mains, and dessert was all of the highest quality. Can't wait to go back and try other options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant to meet wi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

First time at this restaurant to meet with old friend. Food was fantastic including chicken recommendation for gluten free. Drinks were excellent and server recommendations were spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Denver Dining Experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My daughter and I tried Range and loved it. I would have gone back a second night, but thought we should branch out. The appetizer with the smoked trout dip was so good. We each got a salad, and we shared two smaller plates. The cedar planked shrimp had so much flavor, and the pasta was so good, too! I was hoping for a glass of David Bynum Pinot Noir, but the were out. Other nice wine choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A great spot! Delicious food!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A hidden gem. Food is first rate, ambiance of the old national bank is spectacular w/ it's Indian murals, and restraint itself very cool.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Exceeded expectations

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Went there with my girlfriend on a Friday, it was early and the restaurant wasn't very crowded yet. Great drinks, the food was exceptional for the price, great value, we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.