About range

918 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Located within the new Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel at the historic Colorado National Bank building, range will offer cuisine
that celebrates the cultural heritage and adventurous spirit of the American West, prepared with a modern day sophistication. The restaurant features a bar offering a wide selection of local beers, liquors and
wines, a private dining room and a wood fired oven, in which much of the fare will be prepared. In addition to offering daily featured dishes, the
menu will change seasonally and will offer a large selection of shareable plates in addition to entrees and side dishes.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Champa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 726-4800

Website:
http://rangedowntown.com/

Parking Details:
Valet services are offered through The Renaissance Denver City Center. All guests of range receive complimentary valet parking during any visit.

Public Transit:
range is located within walking distance to multiple bus and light rail stops. We are happy to assist in offering directions.

Executive Chef:
Paul Nagan

Private Party Facilities:
Range offers our guest the ability to create the perfect space for any meal. Each event can be customized to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Lloyd: (720) 726-4822

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
range offers happy hour monday thru friday from 4pm to 7pm.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

range Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Modern Decor (15)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (10)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Historic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Seasonal (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Private Room (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Range has very cheap decor- warm tones. The waiter was very nice . The food was lacking sooo much. The mushroom appetizer wasn't even cooked all the way through. Shrimp and grits small plate was chewy with Luke warm grits. Dry ribs weren't bad. The sweet potatoes fries (all 4) were also okay. Cole slaw was dry (how is that possible?) and extremely bitter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was solid. Pricing is a little aggressive relative to menu ($15+ for a burger means it should be exceptional, not just solid). Overall, would return but it's not going to be top priority.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Kale salad was generous and yummy with moist grilled chicken breast. Unfortunately restaurant was really loud for a business lunch and party of 4 could not hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I would highly recommend the range. Not only is the food outstanding (you have to try the candied bacon and basically any entree) but the cocktails and service live up to all expectations.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our Valentine's Day evening meal before the Sting concert

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Range was fantastic! Quite happy with our meal overall. The cocktails were very creative and delicious. The bone marrow made my boyfriend very happy! One of the best steaks I've ever had. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Surprised how good this place was. Many interesting things on the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the restaurant and all dishes. Was dismayed by Teller bartender who didn't know how to make a straight up, non-blended daiquiri. He thought there would be soda in it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The French onion soup was bland and the meatloaf was fine but nothing special. The service was attentive but unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I did request a quiet table with reservation and we were definitely not in a quiet area. Fish was dry. Other than that your restaurant is excellent, the staff is superior. The other food I've had is delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Accommodation for the Superbowl couldn't have been better!

Thank you for such special service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Cozy, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Server was great. All our food allergies and diets were well taken care of, i.e., low carb, gluten free, whole30. Don't remember our servers name. She is petite with short colored hair. (I think green). Very good and friendly. Took good care of the 6 of us.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Historic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

my wife ordered the scallops, there were 3 thin sliced scallops. She was not impressed.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very surprising which is always better than expected. Food was great - service was excellent. Nice atmosphere

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Just a few blocks from DCPA, this is a marvelous spot for a pre-concert/theater dinner. We loved the sweet potato hush puppies -- light, just the right crunch, accompanied by cilantro and honey chipotle butter. The duck confit enchiladas and the porcini mushroom agnolotti (with an outstanding brandy shallot creme) were both excellent. Service was attentive and considerate of our concert-imposed time limit. We would definitely choose Range again, and we'll save room for dessert next time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was outstanding--they knew we were attending the theatre so they were sensitive to our time concerns without rushing us. They provided the 20% discount for theatre patrons to our bill with no fuss. The waiter was very knowledgeable and sociable. The room is beautiful as is the lobby with those awesome WPA murals. Glad they saved them.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was very good, service very fine.... though being out of the 2 least expensive wines at $30+ & $40+ was unexceptable! forcing us to buy the $50+ bottle. Manager did come by after I complained, but with no satisfactory result. How hard is it to keep a constant stock of wine that is on your menu especially for a fine dining restaurant like this.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

It was a great place, but a bit noisy for a business lunch. Food and service were fantastic. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We made our reservation on open table and arrived at 6:50 for our 7:00 reservation Saturday night. While there was a decent crowd there were at least 10-15 open tables. The two gals at the hostess stand told us that our table wasn't ready and we could go sit at the bar. After ordering a drink, 10 minutes later she came by to take us to our table. This table was in view the entire time we were there and nobody was sitting there. I didn't like that they play that game, who cares if we are early, give us a table if it's available.

Our server arrived promptly and was very attentive, as was the bartender. Our drinks were good and the food was very delicious. I had the scallops and my husband had the sea bass. Both were great. We did splurge and get dessert, the cheesecake. It was excellent.

We will definitely return to this restaurant but I hope management, or anyone else at the restaurant reads this and changes the policy when tables are available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

So accommodating for our party of 22, we didn't mind not sitting together. The selections on the menu were great, especially for us foodies from the Western Slope.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It all started with the initial greeting. The Hostess sat my wife while I parked the car. When I entered the restaurant nobody greeted me or helped me find my wife. It's not a big place but someone should have acknowledged my entrance.

The waiter (Justin) did ok. He never refilled our water. He did not check to see how our cocktails were and took the wine glasses without even asking if we wanted any. Justin asked if we wanted any appetizers, so we asked what his recommendation was, "Definitely the field and Stream." So we ordered it. This appetizer is a bit bigger and has sever different meat options on it plus a trout spread. My wife and I agreed it was very good and enjoyed it as much as we could.

Without warning the woman expeditor (forgive me, I don't know her name of if expeditor is correct) brought us our entrees. She asked if we were still enjoying the F&S and I said no. She didn't even take the plate! After setting everything down she did not ask us how it looked or if there was anything else at the time. Sh basically left the food and ran off. If the restaurant was busy I would understand, but luckily for me, my seat had a clear view of the "line" in the kitchen and I clearly saw her go back to where her male counterpart was and grab a glass of water to start drinking it!

When all was said and done, I paid our bill.It occurred to me that I had parked our car in the complimentary parking and needed the card validated. I tried to track Justin down but was unable to do so. Next attempt was the same expeditor. I made eye contact at least twice without success. So my wife and I went to the hostess stand to where she was waiting. She asked us how everything was and we replied, "Eh, it was ok." The woman did not even ask what was wrong and walked away.

After reading several positive reviews we really had our hopes up. Apparently they were too high.

We will not be going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Somewhat limited menu. Taste was good though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I was expecting better food for how expensive it was. Cheapest appetizer is $8. The place is inside the hotel, the valet parking is kinda hard to spot. But ambiance was nice. Perfect place for a break-up dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Our meals were fantastic and the wines were wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Range. They do change their menus, so just be prepared for them to possibly be out of some things if they're about to change. This wasn't a problem as they still had wonderful dishes available and my fish was superbly cooked. We will definitely be going back there.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The good was very good and our wait staff person, Lindsay, was exceptional: smart, personable, always on top of the service but never hovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Although we had a reservation, Range would not seat us (there were empty tables, so it must have been a staffing issue). Instead, we had drinks and several items from the Happy Hour menu at the bar. Bartenders were very accommodating given the situation. I did not appreciate the Old Fashioned, but loved their Manhattans. After 15+ minutes at the bar, the hostess notified that our table was ready, but we stayed with our friendly bartenders. I can recommend the bar, but have no experience "dining" at Range.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

It was awesome. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to Range for the first time this week and will certainly be back.

The service was excellent, recommendations were on point, and the food was both creative and perfectly executed. I would recommend getting a couple of small plates and main plates to share for the table as you will want to try everything. Get the goat cheese fritters- they were fantastic.

Extra bonus: Valet Parking is included- very rare for downtown Denver.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Just off the stunning atrium lobby of the Downtown Renaissance hotel with the outstanding True murals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great restaurant for pre-show happy hour/dinner. Was our first time but we will be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We walked out after one bite of our appetizer - they were supposed to be pastry puffs but had the consistency and flavor of hockey pucks. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve....food was good and it wasn't too crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was great. She was attentive, helpful, and kind. I had the scallops, which were good, but the greens that came with them were flavorless and oily. The smoked tomatoes lacked a smokey flavor and the cauliflower puree was bland and distracted from the scallops. I feel for the price, the food should have been bursting with flavor. My friend had the lobster mac and cheese and was not impressed with his dish either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Enjoyed the charcuterie appetizer, kale salad, chicken and pork chop main courses. Chocolate dessert was great! Good sized portions, attentive service, and enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

What a surprise Chef Paul Nagan has created in Downtown Denver! The menu is varied and diverse, using locally sourced meats and indredients - and in unexpected combinations. Try the 'mixed grill' - the jalapeno-stuffed quail was an absolute treat. We also loved the root beer BBQ bison ribs, and the wine list was extensive, yet paired with the dinner fare perfectly. Cocktails were carefully crafted and service was attentive without being intrusive. Our server offered suggestions and answered questions about the menu and we very much enjoyed the meal. Will come back when in Denver.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We came last year for Christmas dinner and loved the Prix Fixe menu, there were multiple choices (including a veggie option) for each course so you could design your own menu. We enjoyed it so much last year, we thought we would return again this year but were underwhelmed this time. They changed their menu so that you only had an option for the 3rd course, none of which were Vegetarian. They were accommodating and made something up for me as my 3rd course, but it was very dry, bland, and not equal in price to the other options.

We'll be searching for a more diverse menu next year.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fantastic Food!!! Love the teller bar just outside as well. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food and service was amazing!My birthday is on Christmas

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Staff seemed very overwhelmed and under staffed. We went Christmas morning. The food was cold but good. Didn't want to send it back because it was obvious they were scrambling. Felt lucky to get our food and that it tasted good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful/diverse menu. We had three different entrees and all were delightful. The Kale Caesar salad was shared/was amazing.

It was very noisy and difficult to have a conversation, but would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Server was polite, though busy, and did his job. He began by talking about the wines that were on special and mentioned one change to the menu and told us the soup of the day. Could have been more attentive when my date asked where the bathroom was at, however, the FOH manager overheard the dialogue and pointed him in the right direction so that he didn't get lost. The food was very good (Scallops and Pork Tenderloin), and we both felt very full upon leaving. Every other staff member from the valet, to the hostess, even to the server assistant's did a very hospitable and great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Came early for dinner and we were greeted by several servers/hosts. Very good first impression. Inside is modern and chic. We mentioned it was our anniversary and were served two classes of prosecco shortly after being seated. Artichoke toast appetizer was amazing and filling--beware!! Loved the scallops. Have already recommended range to family.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Nice atmosphere food was really great. Creative dishes that shrimp dish was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent food and service. However, the dining area is not separated from the bar, so the meal was a bit nosier than I would expect for fine dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service a little slow, but food was awesome!! Sweet potato hush puppies the best!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent Service. Excellent all around.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Range was excellant!!! The food was incredible and it is a beautiful restaurant....the service was exemplary!!! Out of a 10 star rating I would give it a 12!!!! We absolutely loved it and I am going to take other friends there soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Overall great. Rueben was amazing. Can be a bit loud at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

excellent food and good service. noisy though.

I would eat here again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We made a reservation for eight people and we were given the private room for our get together. It was the perfect environment for us that evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.