Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About range

Located within the new Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel at the historic Colorado National Bank building, range will offer cuisine
that celebrates the cultural heritage and adventurous spirit of the American West, prepared with a modern day sophistication. The restaurant features a bar offering a wide selection of local beers, liquors and
wines, a private dining room and a wood fired oven, in which much of the fare will be prepared. In addition to offering daily featured dishes, the
menu will change seasonally and will offer a large selection of shareable plates in addition to entrees and side dishes.

918 17th Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Champa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 726-4800

Website:
http://rangedowntown.com/

Parking Details:
Valet services are offered through The Renaissance Denver City Center. All guests of range receive complimentary valet parking during any visit.

Public Transit:
range is located within walking distance to multiple bus and light rail stops. We are happy to assist in offering directions.

Executive Chef:
Paul Nagan

Private Party Facilities:
Range offers our guest the ability to create the perfect space for any meal. Each event can be customized to fit your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Thomas Lloyd: (720) 726-4822

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
range offers happy hour monday thru friday from 4pm to 7pm.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

range Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Business Meals (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Romantic (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Cozy (11)
Casual (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (8)
Historic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Seasonal (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Organic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good but expensive and slow to arrive on an uncrowded night. Cocktails were great - really dig the Manhattans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

We were hesitant to try this restaurant due to some of the reviews on Open Table, but it was the only restaurant on the resort. The food was just ok, not with the price. I have had better dishes at Olive garden. The dessert menu was not very good considering it is supposed to be a little on the high end side for this location. My other complaint is that my entree came out before I finished my salad. The server was nice and friendly, but we plan to dine elsewhere for the remainder of this week while at the resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect for before theatre dinning. Food was novel and great. We had several appetizers and drinks, which was filling. Service spot on. A little louder than the last time we were there, but I would not say it was noisy. Will be back again, as I have season tickets, and this is by far the best pre-show spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious - I had the Pork Collar, she had the Scallops on Risotto. And we shared the Sweet Potato Hushpuppies, which I'd also highly recommend. It was a little loud, but service was fantastic, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very confortable setting with an original menu and good food. The service was attentive without being pushy or overbearing. My companion and I were there for lunch on a Sunday, I had pork soft tacos which were tasty and thankfully not messy to eat. My companion eats gluten free and was able to order a pizza which she reported was quite good. It was pretty quiet, but I imagine it would be busier during the work week.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The service was excellent with some intersting food options available. Dessert was excellent...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great Pre/theater dinner! Three generations party of 5 had a wonderful dining experience! Fantastic service and we loved our food, especially the charcuterie board and French onion soup. Next time, will go with small plates and appetizers because we loved those best! We took the hotel shuttle to and from the DCPA show. The seniors had given OK for a 6 minute walk, but the shuttle was a welcome surprise!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Neatest thing about the place? That it sits in the Renaissance Hotel that used to be the Colorado National Bank Building. Why is that so cool? . . . Because Alan Tupper True did 5 triptychs of Indian tribes that still grace the interior entry hall and which are absolutely super! (Check out his work also at the Brown Palace and the Central City Opera House).

The Range Restaurant? Good. Serviceable and quite nice for a business lunch. Went there once for dinner with my honey and thought it was good but a bit pricey for what you got. Rate it somewhere between a 3 and a 4 depending on the vagaries of your mood and their meal . . ..

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

There was a mouse running around under our table and the tables close to us. Told the staff. They said "it's an old building."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The menu at range looked so good I asked the server how often they change it so I knew how soon I had to come back to eat more. Service was excellent. Execution of the starters and small plates was excellent. The main dishes we had were good but not great. We'll definitely be going back to try a few more things.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Everything was fine and overall review would be better if the place wasn't so darn loud. No point in going out to eat if I can't have a conversation with my date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Delicious American Western cuisine, located inside the Renaissance Hotel, offers free valet parking and the staff are all friendly and great. We came here for dinner and had a very enjoyable experience.

Started with sharing the Warm Brussel Sprout Salad, which came chopped with things like roasted squash, wild rice, parmesan cheese. Also tried the Sweet Potato Hushpuppies, 5 round tasty bread balls served with green tomato jam. I also had a buttermilk biscuit which came with butter and rhubarb strawberry jam.

For mains, we tried the Skuna Bay Salmon, served with chopped asparagus and quinoa and their 7x Wagyu meatloaf, served with roasted peppers and cheddar grits. Nice kick to the meatloaf, so perfect with the biscuit and grits.

For dessert, we had the Pecan Pie Bread Pudding, generously served in a iron skillet with a dollop of caramel and bourbon pecan ice cream. We also tried the Chocolate Espresso cake, served warm in a skillet with vanilla ice cream. Both amazing and too much for the 2 of us because of the large portions (the other 2 folks in our group didn't partake, their loss!)

Overall, delicious food, interesting menu, great service, convenient location. Would definitely come back here again and recommend to others.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very enjoyable experience- thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Hotel restaurant. It has very little noise abatement so it was very noisy especially if a large group is at the bar or in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We went to Range for dinner on our anniversary before a show at DCPA. Dinner was wonderful, our service was great. We could not have picked a better spot. Our waiter even brought us champagne to celebrate!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Enjoyed the history of the building which houses this restaurant in downtown Denver.
The menu was different and interesting and our four selections of sea bass, pork collar, paella, and lemon chicken were all excellent. Spent some time in the bar first with a congenial bartender and friendly patrons. The dining service was very good too.

Tags: Great Beer, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was slow and lacking considering it was empty in the restaurant. The food took about 30 minutes to come out.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and excellent desserts. Slower service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Brought our father here for 70th birthday dinner. It was an early dinner at 4pm and there was only one other table taken in restaurant. Super chill and most of our food was fantastic! Sweet potato hush puppies were delicious. Shrimp and grits were great. The best item at our table was the bourbon glazed pork belly. It was outstanding!! Definitely going back to order that again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The salad (can't recall the name..it included slices of pear) we had with our dinners was delicious. The ribeye was served on a smaller 2" thick butcher block... I was concerned about juices running off ...the steak was overly fatty (even for a ribeye) and with gristle......the baked potato was cold..I had to ask for it to be heated and butter provided.. We were downtown to attend an event.. The valet parking was convenient and well run.. I would stop there for drinks but not for a dining experience. There is a bar in the lobby adjacent to the dining room..if we weren't seeking quiet I'd go there..the martini I had was perfect..!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food was very disappointing. Pastas were overcooked and taste in general had no flavor.
Atmosphere was dark and somber like a tavern.

Realized as we went out that people were eating at the bar in the hotel Renaissance lobby instead of the Range restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

the place was way too loud, i called in advance to ask for a quiet place, too bad that there was no quiet spot in the house. people were shouting.
service was nice but way too slow.
food arrived in room temperature like it was waiting on the counter for awhile.
we order the bison ribs and the meat loaf.
meet loaf was warm enough to eat, i didn't touched the ribs as it was smothered with BBQ sauce.

not will be in my recommended choices to dine in down town Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I have been to The Range several times and while I mostly enjoy it overall I am not overly fond of the menu and the somewhat limited choices. It always takes me the longest to decide what to eat as there are a limited amount of choices and most are not to my liking. Once I just had the brussel sprouts and roasted carrots as nothing else appealed to me but those two items were awesome. The dessert menu is really good I have to say.
Our waiter for dinner seemed to keep disappearing on us which was irritating as I told him I needed to get an associate to the airport in an hour. So when I had someone track him down he copped a bit of attitude on me.
Overall this is a really great place for a nice dinner in a nice hotel in downtown Denver and good value for the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Range is a very good hotel restaurant. The menu is creative and the food quality is good but i didn't realize it was a "hotel restaurant" when I booked it so it wasn't the level of dining experience I was looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great experience, taking a business group there next week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome Place! Have never eaten here before but definitely will come back!! My wife and I came here before attending an afternoon show at the DPAC and have a wonderful lunch. The presentation of the meal was incredible and the food was delicious. Our waiter Fabian was attentive but not intrusive and made us feel welcome. It was snowing when we went so the restaurant was not too busy but that could because of the weather; it was very quiet for us which we enjoyed. Definitely will come back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our outing was driven by a last minute theatre outing, complimentary valet and a sweet discount w/theatre tix. Every bite was delish! Esp tomato jalepeno soup, kale Caesar, brick chicken and sea bass. Creme brûlée large and yummy, service outstanding, def worth a return!👍👍

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was very average at best. I had the Bison ribs and paid food money...honestly Chilis would have tasted better for fat less.
Nice decor and atmosphere but food isn't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a good lunch there. The burgers were very good. I didn't care for my pizza, but others liked it. Drinks were excellent, waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We went here prior to a play at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. The restaurant is just a short walk from DCPA and there is a discount if you hold theater tickets.

The restored bank building that the restaurant is in provides a unique and attractive decor.

Service was attentive, ambiance enjoyable and food and beverage choices special, well prepared and delicious. We had bison spare ribs and scallops as our main courses.

I certainly would return to this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was great, but the restaurant was too loud for a weekday business lunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good food, slow service. There were very few customers in the area we were sat, so we were quite surprised at the wait to order and get the check. Otherwise good meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious, creative menu! The bone marrow, gulf shrimp & side of Brussels sprouts were all very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Service is always great and food is always amazing! :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I was very impressed with Range. Very vibrant bar area while at the same time preserving a more intimate ambiance in the dining room. The menu has a little something for everyone and the portions are fantastic. The pork belly charcuterie was divine. The salads are full size so if you're planning on getting one pre-dinner it'd probably be best to get one and share. I highly recommend this place and will certainly be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We arrived to a bustling dining room and a very friendly server. As we were looking over the menu, we quickly realized we were not given the same ones. The food was a mix. The hush puppies were great but the crab risotto which came with the sea bass (also very tasty) was very fishy and inedible. I would also expect a better quality coffee for the caliber restaurant they're trying to emulate. I'd try it again because the majority of the food was exceptional. Hopefully the chef will taste the creations next time before they're served!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our second time to dine at The Range and it was again, fantastic. Great service, food was outstanding. The ribs were amazing

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Small plates are actually good size portions, great for sharing!

Tags: Tapas, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Good food. We had the Elk/Bison/Quail dish with a side of brussel sprouts. It was all delicious and prepared well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Excellent food, quiet surroundings, and great atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.