About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rancher's Club of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
Rancher's Club of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
New Mexico
Steakhouse
New Mexico
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Mexico
3 More
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Most Booked
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (37)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fireplace (19)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Historic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Live Music (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Wood Oven (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
950 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food. steaks were cooked over a woo ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food. steaks were cooked over a wood fire. I asked for Blu but it was closer to mid rare for my rib eye. not a deal breaker but i wanted extremely rare. great Filet Mignon like cutting butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the prime rib and stuffed salmon ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had the prime rib and stuffed salmon with asparagus and green beans and shrimp cocktail. The asparagus was so fresh it seemed to be immediately pulled out of the ground. Even people who think they don't like asparagus would like their asparagus. The prime rib was as soft as butter and juicy-delicious. The salmon stuffed with crab was incredible. We had the restaurant to ourselves the service was very attentive and the atmosphere was romantic. This is a restaurant to take a date to impress her. You better have money though, it is expensive and worth it.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and atmosphere was more than exp ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service and atmosphere was more than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We liked this place a lot but something ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We liked this place a lot but something was very off on this night. From the transaction dispute that occurred at another table that was evident to the rest of the place it was far from a memorable experience.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The service was so slow. For three of u ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service was so slow. For three of us, it took three hours! One in my party ordered the rack of lamb, and twenty minutes later we were told the restaurant didn't offer rack of lamb. We asked for a menu and pointed it out. Ten minutes later the server stopped by again to say they didn't have any lamb, "what else would you like?" The steaks were good, the wine recommend not so good. The meal arrived with hot baked potato's and steamed green beans, hot rolls. Desert was cheesecake with sauce, pretty good. It was an early dinner, so the noise level was low, the ambiance is in need of a remodel, something that would appeal to a non rancher. No more cow hair chairs. My Grandparents would have loved this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

we had dinner on thanksgiving night beca ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

we had dinner on thanksgiving night because my son had to work - there were only 3 entree choices - turkey, pork or tuna - how can they call themselves the Ranchers Club when there was no beef on the menu? very disappointing - ended up spending a lot of money for something none of us wanted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

A truly wonderful and delicious Thanksgi ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

A truly wonderful and delicious Thanksgiving dinner experience for my wife and me! The roast turkey meal was exceptional in every way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worst Thanksgiving dinner ever. Website ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Worst Thanksgiving dinner ever. Website lied. No regular entrees. Special entrees were terrible. And horribly over-priced. Management did not care at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Poor Thanksgiving menu. No warning to re ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Poor Thanksgiving menu. No warning to repeat customers menu had been changed. Website showed old menu. When this was raised w manager we were told If we had looked on their Facebook page we would have seen the menu had changed! So, why do they bother to have a website?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The occasion was Thanksgiving. We enjoye ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The occasion was Thanksgiving. We enjoyed the fact that they offered a traditional T/giving meal and special menu selections. Excellent service and food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ranchers Club has never disappointed me. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ranchers Club has never disappointed me. This is hands down the best place to come when you want to enjoy a meal and someone's company. It is the kind of place where you relax into your meal as the evening progresses. I always choose a semi-circle booth; it somehow manages to be both intimate and spacious. I had large sea scallops in a brown butter sauce this trip and they were delicious. David and Michelle gave us wonderful service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience excellent. We are mem ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Overall experience excellent. We are members at Los Companas in Santa Fe and eat at the Clubhouse often.You are better in all respects. Keep up the good work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing about this meal was right. Caesa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Nothing about this meal was right. Caesar salad with old lettuce brown at the edges and bases. Steak brought out bloody when ordered medium and brought back shoe leather. Mac and cheese actually bow ties in some creepy medical-appearing tasteless pseudo cheese soup... Not sure where this place gets rave for "classic" steakhouse unless classic means an out of date wreck ready for demolition

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Our dinner was a celebration of a dear f ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our dinner was a celebration of a dear friends 75th birthday. There were just three of us, yet, the service, respect and acknowledgment of his birthday made it feel as if the entire family was with us. He is hearing impaired and I asked for a quiet corner to assist him. The booth could not have been better even if we picked it ourselves. :) The food was great, try the beet salad, yum yum. Our prime rib was a little fatty but the flavor and preparation made it all better. Thank you all for a lovely evening

SLC

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great , but I expected more fro ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was great , but I expected more from the staff .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We have not visited for several years. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have not visited for several years. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrific, service ah, okay. ne ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was terrific, service ah, okay. never got our appetizers, and food service was slow in comparison with other times we have been there. the manager did comp our drinks and salads because of the appetizers

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

It is always a great relaxing dinner for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It is always a great relaxing dinner for us just to have a good meal or have a birthday or anivesery !

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place and staff was very nice! ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very nice place and staff was very nice!! Wonderful food and ambience!!

Tags: Tapas, Fireplace, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, wine and service. Was r ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Wonderful food, wine and service. Was referred to Rancher's Club by the Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort when asked where my business team could go to have great steak. Our entire team was extremely happy with the choice. Highly recommend the antelope chop!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and we enjoyed ce ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was delicious and we enjoyed celebrating a birthday of a friend. Very good service.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience! We went for bot ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

What a great experience! We went for both mine and my husband's birthdays. It was perfect. The food was delicious. The wait staff was top notch. I want to go back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had never been to the R ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband and I had never been to the Rancher's Club until November 5th. It was our 34th wedding anniversary. The food & service were both excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food all four courses except f ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Delicious food all four courses except for a bad Caesar salad. Good service. Steaks and sides cooked perfectly

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner and service! Was a gre ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent dinner and service! Was a great evening!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking for a good steak restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was looking for a good steak restaurant in Albuquerque and came across this restaurant. It was on the Open-Table list and after being in town for three days, I was not optimistic that I would find any good restaurants in this city.

When I arrived, it was in a very nice hotel and the dining room was formal and well adorned with southwest/rancher accoutrements.

The service was excellent. The wine list extensive. The food was superb.

I WAS DELIGHTED!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was some of the best food I've ever ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was some of the best food I've ever had. I had the scallops and they were cooked perfectly. The venison in the Mixed Grill entrée was the best I've ever had, and the elk was so delicious. The crab cake appetizer was also very good. The service was excellent. Fantastic place! I'd highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a classic, old-fashioned steakho ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This is a classic, old-fashioned steakhouse. Ambience is great. Best part of the meal was the foie gras appetizer. We had lobster which was a bit dry and bison which was rare, rather than medium rare. But overall, it was a tasty meal with tasty leftovers. The cocktails and wine list were fine. A fun place to go for a splurge on a nicer steak dinner. Will return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Ranchers Club used to be our favorite re ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Ranchers Club used to be our favorite restaurant, but not so much now. Since the change in management the restaurant isn't nearly as good as it used to be. The service isn't as good and the kitchen doesn't seem to understand the difference between medium rare and medium well.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Having been many years since we dined he ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Having been many years since we dined here, it was just as wonderful as we remembered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed our dinner; great place to eat. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner; great place to eat. The ambiance was super; nice quiet place to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Ranchers Club never disappoints. Th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The Ranchers Club never disappoints. The ambience and unique decor fit the menu to a tea and the service is always outstanding. It is my go-to restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Title: Very poor customer service and at ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Title: Very poor customer service and attitude from servers.

Even with two servers assigned to my table of six, they were slow and in attentive. An item we ordered - salad, wasn't delivered to the table and when the server returned with main courses and I asked about it, rather than apologizing and attempting to make it right, her excuse was "I didn't see it served to your table" as if it was my problem.

The food:

The prime rib cut was terrible and tough and cold

The macaroni with crab was runny as water

The stuffed tomato as default vegetable was cold

The final insult was the mandatory 20% tip for mediocre food and terrible, slow service.

I will not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Such good food! The brie cheese appetize ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Such good food! The brie cheese appetizer is so delicious. You may want to take an extra one home with you for later! Slightly disappointed that they no longer do the table side Caesar salad. That was always so fun to watch them prepare from scratch. The salad was still good, you just didn't get the cool presentation. Filet was so good and flavorful. It always is! Servers were attentive and friendly!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Upon arriving, the hostess seemed rather ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Upon arriving, the hostess seemed rather aloof. We arrived a half hour before our reservation, but she checked us in, telling us there were a few parties ahead of us, and so we went to the bar for a drink. Surprised (not really - no places in NM seem to have it) that the bar didn't offer Rose's Lime juice for their vodka gimlets. Ordered a margarita instead, which was overly sweet. We were seated shortly and had very nice wait staff. My husband ordered the "hunters" mixed grill - the elk and boar sausage were superb, and the venison was ok. I had the prime rib - it was large, but somewhat tough and not very flavorful. The atmosphere was lovely, and we had a nice time, overall. I was disappointed when, upon returning home, I received an email saying that the restaurant cancelled our Open Table reservation. Not sure what that was about, since we arrived early and enjoyed both the bar and the dining room, but at least Open Table's staff fixed the problem. Overall, a nice experience. Perhaps a bit overpriced for what it is, but I would probably go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Ordered bone in rib eye-I have had bette ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Ordered bone in rib eye-I have had better!!

Not happy with steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

As usual, food cooked as ordered, servic ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 13, 2016

As usual, food cooked as ordered, service is always excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Took forever for everything the Kobe be ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Took forever for everything the Kobe beef was delicious, but Kobe is usually delicious. Horrible and dated surroundings: somewhere between elks Lodge and your grandmother's couch.the dessert menu had the creativity of a Bennigans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The food was really good but the service ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was really good but the service left a lot to be desired. The atmosphere was no better then an Applebee's. There's a dress code but it's ok to come looking like your in your pajamas. For the price that we paid, I would rather go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The service was very slow considering it ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The service was very slow considering it was not busy at 6:15pm.

Both Andi and Dan were nice but not so attentive... like we are used to at most fine-dining places we have been to like Antiquity in Albuquerque.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.