Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 15 times today
Special offers available. See details

Rancher's Club of New Mexico

4.4
1285 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 889-8071
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Menaul
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

What 1285 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 6 days ago

For being a very quiet evening, not many patrons, the waiter was not as attentive as what we have experienced in the past. He may have been new. The food was delicious as usual as were the cocktails.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I have heard of Ranchers Club for years. Reservation process was well managed. Food was excellent. Service was also excellent. I was disappointed with the dining room. Carpet was warn through on stairs, pictures all looked faded, upholstery was very dated with large floral print. If Ranchers Club is suppose to stand out as worth the high money it would be worth the investment to do some serious remodeling.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My mother loved the experience and the food!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Unfortunately it is not as good as Rancher's used to be. We were there for Mother's Day. They seemed short staffed as we did not receive the service expected. The filet was good. The baked potato seemed old as if it was made in the morning and kept warm. It is not that difficult to make a decent baked potato. We had dessert, which was pretty good. The worst part was lukewarm coffee. It was refilled with room temperature coffee, which I could not drink. Our server took so long to check on us, nothing worth bringing to her attention.

It did not seem busy and I can see why. I don't think we'll be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

With a slow start, the Rancher's Club got better and better with great salads and well prepared main courses. Our waiter Josh took charge and did his very best to make the dining
experience memorable. Will definitely return and try some of the other traditonal menu offerings.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We used to come here often...food was still great. Wait staff tried hard but have not been well trained for a restaurant at this level. They were not very attentive, and generally acted as though this were just a litltle bit higher than an "Outback" level of steakhouse. Not thier fault. Rancher's Club used to be an elegant restaurant....not anymore. Very casually dressed diners...shorts...t shirts...etc.I felt out of place with a tie and coat. The food was great...but the whole expereince was not...certainly not worth almost $200 for a couple. This is not the same Ranchers Club we used to know and love. I don't plan on coming back unless something changes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We celebrated a birthday with a great meal. As usual, the food was prepared perfectly and the service was friendly. We always have such a nice time here.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

I wanted to take my wife to a very special dinner for her birthday. We arrived on time and after walking through the bar we waited five minutes as no hostess was at her station. Finally a waiter saw a line and fetched her.
This particular Thursday evening was Graduation Parties and they were extremely busy.
Our waiter finally gave us attention to receive waters and I was served a nice glass of Pinor Noir from Carmel CA. My wife ordered Oystes Rockefeller which was incredible. We enjoyed not being in a hurry and ordered half hour later. I had to ask the waiter for bread. Really! Fine dining and one must ask?
The Bison wrapped in bacon was excellent. Unfortunately the birthday's lady's Prime Rib was very fatty and not great at all.
We sent it back and the waiter said they all would be like this. So I shared the Bison. Our waiter did bring her Carmel Bread Pudding which was the best I have ever had anywhere.
Maybe just the wrong night but if I'm dropping $100 to $200 to go all out I do expect a more enjoyable experience. Management at no time came by to see how dinner was at any tables. I won't recommend risking a special occasion based on my experience. Sorry!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

It's pricey but worth the ambiance, service, and overall experience. A good spot for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The food and service was outstanding! The steaks were amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Maybe the best steak I have ever had. Very good service to go along with some very fine food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Elegant atmosphere, but quite expensive for Albuquerque. Excellent service. Nice quiet room, wasn't very crowded. Full menu, unless your vegan, then this is not somewhere you want to go. Prime rib was tasty but tough. Filet tender with spicy but quite salty rub. Fresh vegetables cooked properly, still firm, not overcooked mush as happens too often elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We took our youngest son (he is in residency at UNM) and his girlfriend whom is vegan/vegetarian. They made her a special plate for her using items off various entrees on the menu (though it did seem a little on the expensive side). Filet and ribey Steak cooked according to expectations, and the best part of our 4 meals. My smoked duck was disappointing, much more pasta, and very little duck. Calimari appetiser was good and a nice serving size for the four of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This was another spectacular wine dinner. The featured wines were paired with 7 courses this time by Chef with his usual fenomenal flair. Although I thought the scallop course was not my favorite, my partner loved it. The Moroccan seasoned lamb was fantastic and ending the meal with a cheese course was perfect for me. I had been looking forward to this dinner since I received the email announcement with the menu a couple of weeks ago and I certainly was not disappointed. It was a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The two previous times we had been there everything was amazing but this last time is was bad. They sat us between two large loud parties even though when I made the reservation I told them we were celebrating our anniversary. We ended up asking to be moved to a different table which didn't matter because they were still super loud. Our server took over 20 minutes to come take our order. In the past, the captain would literally stand and wait till he saw you put your menus down and come right over. Our server was not very knowledgeable about the food or how to pair it. My smoked duck fettuccine was swimming in sauce to hide the fact there wasn't very much duck in it and it was very salty so I sent it back. I got a filet miniogn and it was excellent but they gave me about a pound of asparagus, half way cooked and no seasoning on then with the sauce on the side. The broccoli looked old and over cooked. My husband bison medallions were good but they just piled food on top of them so he didn't like that. I think maybe if we had gone for the first time we may have enjoyed it more but our expectations were very high and the service just did not measure up. You can go to red lobster and get the same service, same ambiance, better food and pay half the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

It was overall AMAZING!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Jacob was excellent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Had beef filet and prime rib with beet salad, chicken chili soup and desert. Filets were under cooked and surprisingly tough, not like the “old” Ranchers Club we used to know. Service was excellent although we arrived at 5:30 so only 3 tables occupied for much of our stay. Can’t say we will be back. We’ll probably go to Ruth’ s Chris from now on for our special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The restaurant and dinner was fantastic. Iris, our server was amazing and very attentive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Place was empty on a Tuesday nite around 8:30. Ordered the meat and cheese plate and the waiter had no idea what was on the platter. Had the Antelope Chop and ordered it medium and it came out rare. Sent it back and they basically just warmed it up, but not cooked much further. Thought it was a a little tough as well. Wanted another glass of wine but the waiter disappeared in between serving each course. There was literally no one else working the dining room. I had to go into back area to get service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Open Table advertised the Ranchers Club as having an Easter brunch buffet. They did not have a buffet and we didn't want to try and search for another buffet location at the last minute, so we did have lunch at the Ranchers Club. Our meal was enjoyable but we are disappointed that your advertisement was incorrect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Sourdough bread was amazing!! Ordered filet mignon cooked medium. Free beef tenderloin appetizer was a nice unexpected touch. Filet came out almost rare. Had to send it back twice to finally get it to medium. It was very flavorful. Waitress offered free dessert because of issues with undercooked filet. Had the dulce de leche ice cream. Very tasty. Left very full. Nice rancher ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We were a little concerned pulling up but the minute you step in the door you know it is special. Service and food was excellent. There were 9 of us and all agreed it was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

This is our go-to place when we have an event at the Crowne Plaza. I remember the glory days of the Ranchers Club when Albuquerque was a much smaller town, and the hotel was the Albuquerque Hilton. The Ranchers Club has retained much of its original ambiance, but could use a facelift. Still, the food and service never disappoint, and we enjoy the exceptional wine selection and delicious meals offered. Nice for an anniversary or special dinner with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Excellent service and food. A little pricey though

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Josh was our server and did a good job and noticed immediately in his passing that my niece's fillet was raw as she had cut into it. He responded appropriately and brought it back to the kitchen. I was surprised how quick it came back out, only to find that the meat was clearly still raw (not even rare). It was ordered as medium rare. My niece who was visiting from Chicago was embarrassed to say anything and ate around the parts of the fillet that weren't raw.

I had paused eating my dinner, prime rib - medium, while awaiting the return of my niece's meal. Of course it went cold waiting, and as I progressed into the meat, I found it to be very rare and a little tough.

This is my third time eating at the Ranchers Club, first time the kitchen failed.

It was a very expensive disappointment and embarrassing too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Excellent wine dinner.\tasting. Arrived a little early for wine tasting, but they di not use the occasion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

This was a wine dinner paring selected wines with courses specifically created by the Chef for the occasion. Rancher’s Club holds these periodically and we would not miss them. As usual the dinner was carefully crafted to be interestingly different and satisfying. I didn’t think a red with a fish course was going to work, but it did! It was an extremely enjoyable evening. I enjoyed every course and the portions were perfect. I cannot wait for the next one!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Bison was excellent. Great service. Fun place to eat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Once again, we had a remarkable meal at the Rancher's Club! I had a fabulous ribeye and my wife had the scallops. We both had delicious sides, I had a twice baked potato. We had to take some home for next day lunches, so didn't have room for dessert. The service was attentive, informative, helpful and pleasant. We had a coupon and it was accepted without any concern. The Rancher's Club is our favorite restaurant for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Floyd was very kind and patient making us feel at home as we celebrated 4 years of marriage

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Food was amazing waiter was great but spread really thin, shame on management. When you're paying top dollar you deserve immediate attention but when there is only one waiter for the whole section I have to say it again shame on the management.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great Service & Meal as USUAL. I'm a EATER but find that Portions are enough for 2 People so I also take Half of everything Home. So No room for a Desert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Service was wonderful. Overall, the meal was good. I was disappointed in the beet salad, mostly greens and very few strips of beets. I expected better from The Rancher's Club.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Rancher's Club is not what you expect when you pull up and walk in, but the steaks are first class, well prepared, and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

50th Wedding anniversary! We were treated royally, the staff was attentive but not overbearing, the food was perfect as was the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Arguably the worst service in a mid-to-high level dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Went for our wedding anniversary celebration and our waiter, Floyd, was just wonderful and very attentive. The Maitre'D, Jacy, was also very accommodating and took great care of us. The food was excellent, especially the sea bass...cooked to perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great food. Loved our steaks. Knowledgeable staff.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33