About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rancher's Club of New Mexico
Rancher's Club of New Mexico

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Steakhouse
New Mexico
4 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Mexico
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (49)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our primary waiter seemed scattered and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our primary waiter seemed scattered and not knowledgeable about any offerings or questions regarding the wine menu stating that "he was not a drinker"....Kind of disappointing when trying to get advice on a $100 + bottle of wine for a 16th wedding anniversary dinner. Seemed to be too busy to tend to us, yet they were not busy. Mixed up our drink order, when we first got there. The food was very good, the service was very disappointing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our first time at ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our first time at Rancher's Club. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best! Old school ambience wi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Always the best! Old school ambience with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Rancher's Club. It's our favori ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We love Rancher's Club. It's our favorite restaurant for special occasions. They treat us very well and we always thoroughly enjoy ourselves. Keep up the good work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything, my wife and I love the look ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything, my wife and I love the look and feel their service is second to none and the food is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a 7pm reservation. We were on time ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Had a 7pm reservation. We were on time and were asked to wait in the bar area until our table was ready. 30 minutes later we were seated. They apologized and gave us a free pour of wine. Everything else was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was good. Steak not cooked quite a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was good. Steak not cooked quite as asked. String beans not good. In general good food which is to be expected for price charged.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The steaks were excellent. We happened i ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The steaks were excellent.

We happened in on a night when the piano player was hosting a show tunes sing along night that ruined the ambiance and drowned out conversation. We at least were given complimentary wine and desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

It is great to see that The Rancher's Cl ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It is great to see that The Rancher's Club has been able to maintain it's superior quality of food and service. A pleasure to have a meal there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had two wonderful servers taking care of ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Had two wonderful servers taking care of us. Can't wait for the next special occasion to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of our food was delicious, from the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

All of our food was delicious, from the appetizer to the dessert. Our waiter explained menu items in a professional way while still being friendly unpretentious. All of our courses were served in a timely way. A lovely meal.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Four of us went to dinner for my husband ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Four of us went to dinner for my husband's birthday. We were seated at the appropriate time, I had requested a booth and we were seated at a table. The lighting is very dim so my husband asked for a candle, the waiter couldn't find one, but found a penlight, he brought it out with dead batteries. He went to get fresh batteries and still couldn't make it work. We ordered wine, which seemed to take a long time to come out. For an appetizer we decided on the BRIE, excellent choice, but it took over 30 minutes to come out. I ordered my Filet med rare and it was definitely med. The others at the table ordered med and my steak matched theirs. I prefer not to send my food back as long as it is edible and it was, the flavor was great, very tender. The twice baked potato was enjoyed by all four of us, as were the seasonal vegetables. Our bill was as expected, one appetizer, four dinners, 8 glasses of wine, the birthday boys dessert (Bread Pudding - Free), and the tip came to about $300. The food and service was much better at our Christmas party in Dec 2015. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I took my wife here for our anniversary. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I took my wife here for our anniversary. Our reservation was for 5:30. We didn't get seated intil 20 minutes after the reservation time. The the wait staff impressed me right away. That is until the main course was delivered. They never checked back asking how my steak was cooked. I ordered the Ribeye medium rare. It was at least medium and burn on the bottom. But the disguised this by putting the burned side down. Now I have had char broiled steaks before. This was well beyond that. This could have been an awesome review if they would have checked to see how my food turned out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was great! Service unorganized, ne ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was great! Service unorganized, new people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Spectacular in every sense! Food was inv ...

vip
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Spectacular in every sense! Food was inventive and wonderful. I tried the bison fillet which was very tasty. Service by Thomas was excellent as was the bananas foster flambé table side. Cozy yet elegant and interesting atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice bar great bar service pre seat ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Very nice bar great bar service pre seating very welcoming and enjoyable

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was a nice experience, but doubt we m ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was a nice experience, but doubt we make it a regular place for dinner. I know part of the ambiance is the décor but it needs freshening. Food was really good, service was excellent (our servers were Iris and David (I think). there was a buffalo head on the wall behind our table that one member thought reminded her of a Swiffer duster. That item should probably be replaced or cleaned up/freshened up. Always want to go here, now we have.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I read many review that dress code was e ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I read many review that dress code was enforced. Sadly it was not. I saw most men with plain tee shirts and women with flip flops. I do not feel that was appropriate at all. We sat at the bar and it took us 15 minutes to get a drink. When we sat down at the bar the women sad our table would be 5 minutes it took an extra 15. I asked for sauce on the side of my steak, when my food came out there was no sauce on the side. I would not go again or recommend this! Mind you I was very excited because this was mine and my husbands first time there. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Waygu Beef filet was to.die.for

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Waygu Beef filet was to.die.for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was out of this world. I have frequented this establishment for over ten years and the best surprise is that there is no surprise with superb service and deliciously prepared food. Thank you all for making our evening special.

Sincerely, Christopher Ashcroft, owner Red Rock Ranch, NM

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It was our first time there and would de ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It was our first time there and would definitely come back again. The service was excellent and food was the same. We also enjoyed the piano from the other room listening to some of the oldies. We will certainly bring another couple with us next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luis and Adam were amazing servers. They ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Luis and Adam were amazing servers. They went above and beyond with our funny requests! (ie Ocean sounds, wine tastings and suggestions etc...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic evening. Wonderful wine.

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fantastic evening. Wonderful wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was wonderful, The steaks are wo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was wonderful, The steaks are worth the price

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Groupon was an incredible bargain! ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Groupon was an incredible bargain! The food was wonderful, as always. The service was a little ragged. Orders were mixed up so that entrees were not served with appropriate sides; they quickly brought new sides. I had to wait more than 10 minutes for the server to find my credit card that I had submitted to pay for the tip. She had left it on a side table across the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

With the reservation available, there w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

With the reservation available, there was no waiting. The prices still high. The time to wait for the food was about 20 minute. The still high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

A unique dining venue for Albuquerque an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A unique dining venue for Albuquerque and New Mexico and an absolutely great ambiance and very good food. Always great for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to the Ranchers club in y ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had not been to the Ranchers club in years and now I don't know why because it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I ordered too much food and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I ordered too much food and loved everything. We taste, share, and take dogie bags. We are foodies and We loved our dinner. Cheers!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exquisite but admittedly hi ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was exquisite but admittedly high priced. I actually got the most expensive item on the menu (Kobe beef) because our friends gave us a coupon. He got Scottish salmon. Both were beautifully prepared and I cannot complain about a thing, other than the fact that I would rather eat such a heavy meal mid day (and most of the people who can afford to go here are business or older people who like to eat mid day.) The Parmesan polenta side was incredible too. There are less expensive dishes but still on the higher side for Albuquerque.

Unfortunately this restaurant only serves dinner. It is not for kids. While there are no windows and no outdoor dining the interior decor is captivating. The bar area is like an old hunting lodge, done Southwestern ranch style. The dining room is elegant, with incredible rancher paintings and other horse tack and equipment on walls. Since prices are on the higher side this is best for a special occasion or when one wants to treat themselves to something nice. The on-line menu is slightly different than the actual menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

if you looking for good steak yes. price ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

if you looking for good steak yes. price little on the high side compared to others but still cheaper then Marcelo or Hidden Valley.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at the Rancher's Club on s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have dined at the Rancher's Club on several occasions but this time everything was terrible. We had to wait 30 minutes to get our cocktails served. 2 of 4 steaks were served rare (raw) when all were ordered medium rare. The quality of the steaks (ribeye) was poor. Very fatty. When we told the server that we were using 2 Groupon certificates, he requested that we give him the coupons immediately so that he could confirm that they were not fraudulent. Talk about making a customer feel like he is trustworthy!!!

It was an extremely disappointing evening. We will never return to the Rancher's Club.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent food, even better service! En ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food, even better service! Enjoyed the Rancher's Club thoroughly and will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My prime rib wasn't to my liking, for th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My prime rib wasn't to my liking, for the price I expected it to be much better. The service was great and everything else was very good and I would recommend this place to other people. Over all it was good but once again I thought my food would have been better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Ranchers Club has been a go-to favor ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The Ranchers Club has been a go-to favorite of ours for many years. The food is a excellent, a creative and imaginative take on the American steakhouse menu. I have never experienced better service elsewhere in North America and seldom found its equal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance and service was awesome. Th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The ambiance and service was awesome. The prime rib was very tough. Hard to cut and chew. Creme brule was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very attentive service and the food is w ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very attentive service and the food is well prepared. I had the antelope chop and Mrs had the mixed grill (venison, boar, elk) - will be going back again for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Caesar salad I've ever had. Great c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Best Caesar salad I've ever had. Great customer service and the steaks were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dining exerience! We arrived ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding dining exerience! We arrived at 5:30 before the crowds and enjoyed exceptional service. They go the extra mile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, great first time experience. My ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall, great first time experience. My only issue was it was later in the evening and the dining rooms started to get a little warm. I'm not sure if they were trying to chaseu s out. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.