About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (38)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fireplace (22)
Historic (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (14)
Cozy (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Live Music (7)
Private Room (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined a day ago

Food was delicious yet slightly overpriced. Service ranged from amazing to decent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The days of the ranchers club as the premier dining spot in Albuquerque are long past. It is living on his reputation. Very spotty service. It used to be impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Went on a Wednesday night, restraint was about 1/4 full when we arrived and 1/3 full when we left.

The main dishes were very good but my soup was just ok and my side dish was not very good.

My wife's salad was good.

My main complaint is service was poor to marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Ranchers Club no longer does tableside bananas foster or salad tableside....... very disappointing!!! However, the service was excellent and the steak was good. However, the cheesecake was dry and very small slice for $12. Definitely not worth $12........

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time at the ranchers club and truely enjoyed it . The steak was superb . Cooked to our satisfaction..

What I really enjoyed about the service was it wasn't extreme just enough .... for my liking it's a top 2 steakhouse for me recommend it highly

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went to the Ranchers Club for a Valentine's Day dinner. I had made reservations and upon our arrival, we were promptly seated. The table was set for two and was a bit small for my taste. The service was very good. Out winter, Thomas, was patient allowing a bit of time to enjoy our drinks before we ordered. It is nice to sit for a bit (not homestead) and enjoy a cocktail and not feel rushed to get in and get out. I appreciated the serving staff taking care of the water refills, plate removals, etc.. They were attentive and and not intrusive. I have been to high end restaurants were they strive so hard to have good service they are intrusive and that is a buzz kill. In this area, we were dealing with Jesus. It was obvious he was watching us and when he came to fill up or whatever, he was quiet and swift. Perfect! Overall, I really enjoyed my experience at the Rancher's Club. Although I cannot afford that level of a meal all the time, I will be back when I can.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hands down one of the five best Restaurants in Albuquerque. The food is awesome and the service is first class. Right up there with many upscale steak houses in bigger cities like Chicago, Los Angeles or Dallas. Totally worth it !

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ranchers Club is an excellent find. Fabulous food tremendous portions great staff expensive but worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was amazing and the food was fantastic! Not our first trip and will not me our last. The cuts of meat are always amazing. I have never had a bad stem at this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had excellent food and very good service. Our son felt it was probably the best steak he had in a very long time. All of the food was very "on point".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time at the Ranchers Club. I had always wanted to try it, and I am so happy that we finally made it there for dinner. The appetizer was fantastic. The T-Bone steak was perfect. We were celebrating my Wife's birthday and the staff was great! I can't wait to go back and try another entrée. I highly recommend the Ranchers Club and have been telling all my friends to go and try it.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was amazing, wait staff was amazing, hostess needs some work. Will be returning.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great atmosphere with outstanding waitstaff. Food was well prepared and plated and seasoned to perfection.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were a party of six there to celebrate my mother's 88th birthday. The restaurant was basically empty when we arrived at 5:45 p.m. Initial service was good; however, our waiter never returned once our order was taken until it was time for the bill. The table was not cleared until they brought my mother a complimentary dessert. No one else was offered a dessert until we asked for the menu. The filets were good, my bacon wrapped bison tenderloin was a little overcooked, the mac and cheese was awful, the carrots were extremely undercooked. I had high exception for this restaurant and left very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A lovely birthday evening, we enjoyed the Roasted Beet salad, Filet, Twice baked potatoes and of course the Creme Brulee. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Private Room, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Celebrated a birthday dinner here. Food, service, and ambiance were all very good. Wait staff no longer wears formal attire, which is of no significant consequence. Our appetizer was the chorizo stuffed dates wrapped with bacon. The chorizo was Mexican and not Spanish as an FYI. It was very good. My dinner companion also enjoyed a bowl of mushroom soup made fresh that day per our server. It was excellent. We had the cowboy ribeye and the catch of the day, which was oysters. Both entrees were well prepared and enjoyed by both of us. Rancher's Club of New Mexico graciously comped dessert for our table, a shared creme brule, as we were celebrating a birthday. It is one of the best creme brule's I have ever had. We dined early on a Tuesday and the restaurant had seated about eight tables by the time we left at around 7:30 or so. We never felt rushed and, on the whole, the service was professional and cordial without being stuffy or pretentious. We have been dining here for the past twenty years and as the times have changed, so has the dress code. It is more casual now (a coat and tie are no longer required) which I must say makes for a more enjoyable dinner from my perspective. Just as long as they politely decline to sit the t-shirt, shorts and flip-flop crowd, I'll be more than happy to continue to patronize this establishment.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service here remains premier!!! Staff works as a team and you are always attended to.

Great food and elegant table and great stemware.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very sad there is no longer table side ceaser salad

Service seem a little slow considering we were the only people there

Great food as always

Excellent bartender

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My wife and I met some friends for dessert before attending a movie. The atmosphere was elegant and we were a bit underdressed. The dessert was fabulous. I had heard that the Crème Brulee was the best in the city and on the website it mentioned a 'red chile pecan' Crème Brulee, but the no longer served that dessert. However, the Crème Brulee and the bread pudding that we had were superb. No one was disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Super food, and even though it was a Monday night,fresh and delicious.Service was great!

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 22, 2017

So far our favorite Steakhouse in Albuquerque. Ambiance was perfect, great variety on the menu. Very large portion sizes, largest and most tasty 8oz Filet we've had in a long while. Chef perfectly cooked it. Veggies were fresh and delicious. The Oysters Rockefeller were a mushy and salty and the only thing we did not like that we ordered. Service was friendly, but a little slow considering it was not a packed house but the food quality overall made up for that. Duck carbonara was equally delicious, but the duck skin chicharron was bitter so didn't have more than a nibble of it. Definitely will keep this restaurant in our regular rotation from now on.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Servers were great. Overall a good experience. This place is great for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It had been a long time since we had dined at the restaurant and I am happy to say that the food and service are still exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is our favorite place. The staff always make us feel welcome and the service is exceptional. I had the bacon wrapped bison, and it was perfectly prepared. I especially enjoyed the oyster Rockafeller appetizer and the caesar salad was excellent. Portions are just right and wine paring sugestions spot on. Overall, a thouroughly enjoyable evening we will be repeating soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Just terrific. Everything was fabulous. The Ahi Tuna, Tartar, Oysters Rockefeller, Jumbo Shrimp, Bison Fillet were truly outstanding. Thomas was an excellent server. I will now always go to the Ranchers Club for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Anniversary dinner

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Just fabulous!, when we are in New Mexico we always stay at this hotel so that we can have this dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Incredible meal! Great service and a special evening.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great Steaks and Prime rib, this is the BEST meal I ever had in Albuquerque...I retired here from Chicago and this restaurant could make there along the many better steak houses they have there.

I'll be back!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was exceptionally good but slow getting to the table. That's the only reason we did not leave an additional tip.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was excellent except the salmon was undercooked, so my wife was only able to eat half of her dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Filet on New Years Eve was excellent. Wife had Prime Rib. Said was dry and not seasoned at all. Prime was tough and not up to usual Ranchers Club standards. First time being disappointed in dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The filet steaks were poor compared to what we have grown to expect from Ranchers. We have gone to Ranchers for all our special occasions, but will probably not go back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The lobby and bar could be a cowboy museum -- so much to look at/appreciate. 3 of 4 adults had bison tenderloin, which was tender and delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 29, 2016

They changed the menu literally days before our visit so several things that made me choose Ranchers Club weren't available. The cook temps on our steaks were wrong but that was not a big deal. The steaks were very, very salty. In fact, saltiest I have ever had. I didn't finish my steak and that NEVER happens. We've had better meals at Chili's.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We just moved to ABQ and had Christmas Day dinner at the restaurant. Food was excellent and service was superb. We will return to try items on the regular menu because they had a special Christmas Day menu. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I have been going here for years at Christmas but will never be back. The management changed and all of the competent, friendly staff that made it such a pleasant experience are now gone. The service was terrible, had to ask repeatedly for water, for our wine. Main dish was brought to our table even though we hadn't finshed our starters, The a la carte option was not available and the Christmas menu had very little to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food is as good as ever but the service is lacking which makes for a so-so overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love the Ranchers club. Been going there for years. Fantastic steaks, elegant, excellent service, friendly wait staff. Still one of our favorites in the world.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have been to the Rancher's Club a number of times over the last 20 years but earlier this year we found it was under new management. Unfortunately, it was nothing like it used to be. Rather than cross it off our list for good we went back one more time to see if anything had changed. Thankfully, they turned things around. It isn't quite what it used to be but we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

When we were seated, we were given a table near the entrance in the middle part of the restaurant. Members of our party soon began to be uncomfortable due to the constant draft blowing on us. When we mentioned this to our waitress (who was excellent! ), we were told that " this table always has a draft". The restaurant had many empty tables, so if management knows that there is a problem with this table, why were we seated there? After complaining a second time and strongly requesting a new table, we were moved to a booth.

Our dinner was very good, but the experience was a bit ruined due to the "cold table problem".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Rib-eye steak was delicious! Excellent! Wine selection was superb.

The interior is extremely dated. Could use an interiors update, yet maintain the New Mexican western elegance. Floral print booth fabric should be replaced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Salmon was great and my husband was pleased with filet he enjoyed. The wine and dessert were notable. Will definitely return and recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very fancy and awesome service. Worth the money but definitely high end.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent service and food. We were greeted promptly and pleasantly when we first arrived. We received wonderful attention throughout the meal. The food was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The Ranchers Club is our favorite special occasion restaurant. The food is always delicious and the service is attentive. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Last 2 times not good, gave 1 more chance, excellent. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was a wonderful meal for our first anniversary. We were a little worried at first; The hostess's station is outside the restaurant in the hallway and there was no-one there. So we walked in and there is a great bar/sitting area with a piano. To the right is another doorway and short stairwell into the dining room. However we waited for several minutes for anyone to talk to us. The bartender noticed us and a waiter had as well, but the hostess was busy prepping for a big table. Once we were noticed, everything was wonderful. The food, the waiter that noticed us before was our waiter and was wonderful, atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service. You can hear each other talk. Wait staff not intrusive, just right. Nice wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was good, the drinks excellent, and the waitress solid. The hostess was TERRIBLE and started our experience off with a sour note.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.