About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rancher's Club of New Mexico
Rancher's Club of New Mexico

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Steakhouse
New Mexico
4 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Mexico
Best Food
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

Special Occasion (64)
Romantic (50)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Fireplace (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (2)
Live Music (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
886 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed everything but the rhubarb custa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed everything but the rhubarb custard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

If you like meat you will really appreci ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

If you like meat you will really appreciate this restaurant. Although the scallops I had were very good. Lovely place for a quiet meal in a very cozy environment

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, but Open Table does not hav ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great place, but Open Table does not have enough dollar signs... it's expensive $$$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vietnam army buddies and wives. Great se ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Vietnam army buddies and wives. Great service - private room so everybody could hear each other - added 2 additional people to our table at the last minute without a hitch. Provided separate checks. Made it a pleasant memorable experience for all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

There was two server's and only really n ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

There was two server's and only really needed one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I have dined many times at this restaura ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have dined many times at this restaurant and have always been satisfied with the dining experience. However this evening the service was inattentive. This is a premium restaurant and frankly I expect attentive service, or at least being checked on regularly by the servers. I believe the restaurant has changed the way they operate. No more captains looking after you. Probably will still be okay but I just cannot give a high rating for inattentive service for this reservation. I'll dine at this restaurant again based on my previous satisfaction with the restaurant but will expect the service and quality of the dining experience a premium restaurant should provide.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

This used to be a special restaurant wit ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This used to be a special restaurant with special people waiting on tables. Once Ralph, Don, Thomas and all the others like them left, it hasn't been nearly the same. The wait staff were completely overwhelmed the last two times we dined there. Not enough servers and not with the same professional demeanor as before. We had trouble getting anyone's attention and it took over 20 minutes to get our check and pay the bill. They did not understand how to process a gift certificate and explained it incorrectly to us. When we left, we looked at each other and simultaneously said we would not be back. So sad, it used to be so wonderful an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I took my long time friend out to Ranche ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I took my long time friend out to Rancher's for her 77th birthday. Our service was excellent and I can't rave enough about the gourmet dinner that we were served. Starting with the Oysters Rockefeller appetizer we savored our meal. The salad came next and was very fresh. We ordered lobster tails for our entree and we were amazed at their size and so tender. We both had to take home boxes.. The finale was a delicious dessert of specially prepared brownies with caramel ice cream. My guest said it was the most fabulous dinner she had ever had. I agreed!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for myself and my h ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I made a reservation for myself and my husband to celebrate his birthday. The first half of our time there was great. The food was excellent and the wine we picked out was great. The second half of our experience there was horrible. An older gentlemen and his date were sat at the booth next to ours. They were intoxicated and speaking very loudly. Their conversations were inappropriate and crude. The wait staff, servers, and manager were aware of this behavior and did nothing about it. This restaurant is not inexpensive and it is definitely what I would call a classy place, but the customer service is not up to par. I will definitely not be returning and will not recommend this establishment to friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Very expensive but the food and service ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very expensive but the food and service was worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent atmosphere, appropriate to New ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, appropriate to New Mexico. comfortable banquette seating. wine selection good. Servers knowledgable about the varied menu. Had the ribeye steak, best in the city! The room is beautiful and the piano music a perfect accompaniment to our conversation. The best place in Albuquetque for a relaxed and quiet celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ThefoodwasgreatServicewasawesome theatmo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

ThefoodwasgreatServicewasawesome theatmosphere wasunbelievable the best restaurantI'vebeen totodate woulddefinitelyrecommend andplantovisitwheneverI'minAlbuquerque

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our primary waiter seemed scattered and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our primary waiter seemed scattered and not knowledgeable about any offerings or questions regarding the wine menu stating that "he was not a drinker"....Kind of disappointing when trying to get advice on a $100 + bottle of wine for a 16th wedding anniversary dinner. Seemed to be too busy to tend to us, yet they were not busy. Mixed up our drink order, when we first got there. The food was very good, the service was very disappointing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our first time at ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our first time at Rancher's Club. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best! Old school ambience wi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Always the best! Old school ambience with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Rancher's Club. It's our favori ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We love Rancher's Club. It's our favorite restaurant for special occasions. They treat us very well and we always thoroughly enjoy ourselves. Keep up the good work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything, my wife and I love the look ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything, my wife and I love the look and feel their service is second to none and the food is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a 7pm reservation. We were on time ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Had a 7pm reservation. We were on time and were asked to wait in the bar area until our table was ready. 30 minutes later we were seated. They apologized and gave us a free pour of wine. Everything else was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was good. Steak not cooked quite a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was good. Steak not cooked quite as asked. String beans not good. In general good food which is to be expected for price charged.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The steaks were excellent. We happened i ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The steaks were excellent.

We happened in on a night when the piano player was hosting a show tunes sing along night that ruined the ambiance and drowned out conversation. We at least were given complimentary wine and desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

It is great to see that The Rancher's Cl ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It is great to see that The Rancher's Club has been able to maintain it's superior quality of food and service. A pleasure to have a meal there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had two wonderful servers taking care of ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Had two wonderful servers taking care of us. Can't wait for the next special occasion to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of our food was delicious, from the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

All of our food was delicious, from the appetizer to the dessert. Our waiter explained menu items in a professional way while still being friendly unpretentious. All of our courses were served in a timely way. A lovely meal.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Four of us went to dinner for my husband ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Four of us went to dinner for my husband's birthday. We were seated at the appropriate time, I had requested a booth and we were seated at a table. The lighting is very dim so my husband asked for a candle, the waiter couldn't find one, but found a penlight, he brought it out with dead batteries. He went to get fresh batteries and still couldn't make it work. We ordered wine, which seemed to take a long time to come out. For an appetizer we decided on the BRIE, excellent choice, but it took over 30 minutes to come out. I ordered my Filet med rare and it was definitely med. The others at the table ordered med and my steak matched theirs. I prefer not to send my food back as long as it is edible and it was, the flavor was great, very tender. The twice baked potato was enjoyed by all four of us, as were the seasonal vegetables. Our bill was as expected, one appetizer, four dinners, 8 glasses of wine, the birthday boys dessert (Bread Pudding - Free), and the tip came to about $300. The food and service was much better at our Christmas party in Dec 2015. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I took my wife here for our anniversary. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I took my wife here for our anniversary. Our reservation was for 5:30. We didn't get seated intil 20 minutes after the reservation time. The the wait staff impressed me right away. That is until the main course was delivered. They never checked back asking how my steak was cooked. I ordered the Ribeye medium rare. It was at least medium and burn on the bottom. But the disguised this by putting the burned side down. Now I have had char broiled steaks before. This was well beyond that. This could have been an awesome review if they would have checked to see how my food turned out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was great! Service unorganized, ne ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was great! Service unorganized, new people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Spectacular in every sense! Food was inv ...

vip
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Spectacular in every sense! Food was inventive and wonderful. I tried the bison fillet which was very tasty. Service by Thomas was excellent as was the bananas foster flambé table side. Cozy yet elegant and interesting atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice bar great bar service pre seat ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Very nice bar great bar service pre seating very welcoming and enjoyable

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was a nice experience, but doubt we m ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was a nice experience, but doubt we make it a regular place for dinner. I know part of the ambiance is the décor but it needs freshening. Food was really good, service was excellent (our servers were Iris and David (I think). there was a buffalo head on the wall behind our table that one member thought reminded her of a Swiffer duster. That item should probably be replaced or cleaned up/freshened up. Always want to go here, now we have.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I read many review that dress code was e ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I read many review that dress code was enforced. Sadly it was not. I saw most men with plain tee shirts and women with flip flops. I do not feel that was appropriate at all. We sat at the bar and it took us 15 minutes to get a drink. When we sat down at the bar the women sad our table would be 5 minutes it took an extra 15. I asked for sauce on the side of my steak, when my food came out there was no sauce on the side. I would not go again or recommend this! Mind you I was very excited because this was mine and my husbands first time there. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Waygu Beef filet was to.die.for

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Waygu Beef filet was to.die.for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was out of this world. I have frequented this establishment for over ten years and the best surprise is that there is no surprise with superb service and deliciously prepared food. Thank you all for making our evening special.

Sincerely, Christopher Ashcroft, owner Red Rock Ranch, NM

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It was our first time there and would de ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It was our first time there and would definitely come back again. The service was excellent and food was the same. We also enjoyed the piano from the other room listening to some of the oldies. We will certainly bring another couple with us next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luis and Adam were amazing servers. They ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Luis and Adam were amazing servers. They went above and beyond with our funny requests! (ie Ocean sounds, wine tastings and suggestions etc...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic evening. Wonderful wine.

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fantastic evening. Wonderful wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was wonderful, The steaks are wo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was wonderful, The steaks are worth the price

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Groupon was an incredible bargain! ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Groupon was an incredible bargain! The food was wonderful, as always. The service was a little ragged. Orders were mixed up so that entrees were not served with appropriate sides; they quickly brought new sides. I had to wait more than 10 minutes for the server to find my credit card that I had submitted to pay for the tip. She had left it on a side table across the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

With the reservation available, there w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

With the reservation available, there was no waiting. The prices still high. The time to wait for the food was about 20 minute. The still high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

A unique dining venue for Albuquerque an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A unique dining venue for Albuquerque and New Mexico and an absolutely great ambiance and very good food. Always great for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to the Ranchers club in y ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had not been to the Ranchers club in years and now I don't know why because it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.