Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Romantic (30)
See All
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Cozy (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (13)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Live Music (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food and good service. Glad I picked this for wife's birthday

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

See Review at Travel Advisor...........................................

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Walking into the hotel was a nice updated experience. Walking into the Rancher’s lounge was very pleasing to the eye because of the leather club chairs and wood paneling. Beautiful decor and rustic. It makes you want to sit and enjoy a nice and neat whiskey and a beautiful woman.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Fabulous service, steaks, fresh roasted veggies, huge wine list & great coffee. Quiet too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 10, 2017

An iconic New Mexico destination. Since the 1970s, the premier Albuquerque steakhouse and a gathering place for business persons, locals and good friends on special occasions. Truly a place of many happy memories and exceptional meals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Floyd was our waiter and he was delightful. The food was delicious as always. We dine here once a year for special occasions and we try to bring someone with us that has never been there before. I have to say she enjoyed it as well. Keep up the goid work and see you soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a most enjoyable evening starting with Lindy Gold's nostalgic and romantic music, followed by Evan's most attentive, responsive service, and the wonderfully prepared food.

Thanks for a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This use to be a good place to eat in Albuquerque but its gone down hill the pass couple, i will never go back again. Place sucks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Steak and lobster special was great. Lamb was excellent as well. The service was very nice, from the hostess to the waiter. Definitely go back when I'm in Albuquerque again.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Good appetizers and steaks. Good service and desserts. White tablecloth type restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

This place has gone downhill. Food was nowhere near what it used to be. Menu has been downsized. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The service was horrendous, the waiter was totally off the entire night. He was slow, inattentive and even missed our salads. When reminded he even asked if we wanted them with the entrée. Just plain bad.
That said, the manager was stellar. She went to great lengths to ensure we would return - and we will. Hence the 4 stars. We've been going here for ages and I guess anyone can have a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Ah, for the days of yore! High class restaurants in Albuquerque are no more. Pretty ordinary food, nothing special. Out of champagne splits, but for our anniversary they opened a large bottle of WARM proseco...oh yum. No special flourishes like before, cleaning crumbs from the table, serving entrees with a cloche...no wonder they weren't busy, just basic. I mentioned several times that I'm gluten free, but the complimentary dessert we got was bread pudding! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great service, great ambiance on a cool, rainy night, and the food...absolutely delicious. If you like steak, it's cooked perfectly and cuts like butter. Highly recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

The only problem with the meal was that the restaurant was freezing, making it hard to fully relax and fully enjoy the food. The meal was excellent, the presentation was beautiful, and we greatly enjoyed our waiter, who was natural, attentive without being intrusive, and very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great place, we ate hear a few years ago when visiting for Balloon Fiesta. Will come back again next time we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Had to wait a few minutes for the hostess to seat us, but otherwise, it was wonderful, as usual. The Rancher's Club is one of our favorite places to visit to celebrate a special event, like my husband's 75th birthday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had an enjoyable evening out at this restaurant. We had dinner in the dining room then had coffee and dessert in the large comfie bar area with the wonderful life piano music. This is a one of a kind place to that is rare to find.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Took friends for their 45th anniversary and they were treated very special by the staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Let's start from the hostess. She canceled my open table reservation without inquiry. She was smug and though she apologized later, it was a facade.
The service was barely adequate and we had to flag down our server and remind him of our requests.
The food was expected to be high quality but fell short. The prime rib was tough. The vegetables on both plates were cold and not cooked thourouly. The baked potato was perfect but that was the only thing on the plate that was. For the price and reputation of Ranchers, I expected better.
It was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Service and wait staff were non-attentive and the restaurant was almost empty. Waiter had no wine training. Food was a far cry from what is expected at this price point. The decor is dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The restaurant was a bit loud due to the table full of cackling hens next to us. But when they left a couple that had apparently been drInking earlier had come in and started on a bottle of wine and were a bit annoying. They let the guy in with shirts & a t-shirt. The steak was good although not exactly cooked to my specifications nor were any of the steaks my part he ordered. The crab macaroni & cheese was not very tasty it was actually quite fishy. I could not eat it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our dining experience was extra nice. We were seated in a private area that I've always felt was rather exclusive. That was special. The prime rib was delicious and the service was excellent. We will be back. I love the atmosphere here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
service4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very helper,fun and observant waiter. Cost will keep me from visiting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Wow absolutely incredible this is my favorite place in Albuquerque and this time was did not disappoint once again!!! However I asked a question to my server and I felt attacked because supposedly my question was invalid by the server to which she will she shall remain nameless but other Than that I will always return for the amazing atmosphere food and service thank you for what you people do

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The Service was absolutely perfect. He was there when needed. He did not hoover over us. Very attentive.

The food was great. As always as good as it gets.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 14, 2017

First of all if you do not like western decor this is not the place for you. We, though, absolutely LOVED it! Reminded me of the classy restaurants of the 60's and 70's. If you prefer a noisy bistro where everyone is staring at their cellphone and you can't carry on a conversation this is not the place for you. This is a romantic restaurant. And LOVED the bar! Our steaks were done to perfection and service by Floyd was impeccable. "Dessert Flight" was on the house as we were celebrating a birthday. Outstanding restaurant with great food and prices for a good steak.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food was very good and included several game options which are rarely seen. Our waitress was very personable and tried to provide good service. There were a couple of bobbles along the way. She forgot my sauce and I had to remind her to bring it. I won't say that the service was slow but we were definitely not rushed. All in all, it was a good dinner and a friendly atmosphere. We have always enjoyed the Ranchers Club and consider it a special place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Just got out of the DeLorean in ABQ 1970. This restaurant's decor and food are trapped in the 80's. Maybe some renovation, and innovation on the menu might help. Probably never going again, unless I see some changes.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

3 out of 4 of us had the bison bacon wrapped tenderloin. It melts in your mouth and was cooked to perfection! The other had the Swordfish special and was very pleased as well. The ambiance is that of an old school steakhouse. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food and service. The calamari app was especially good. The filet was perfectly prepared and the fish special was exceptional. Portions were perfect and it was a very relaxing meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We are new to the Albuquerque area and are exploring various restaurants since we eat out at least 6 of 7 days. I am especially critical on steakhouses and find that many are over rated and slipping in food, service etc. The Ranchers Club fulfilled our every wish for excellent food, well prepared and well served, in an unhurried and very comfortable environment. We will be back and will let others know of our very positive experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Loved the environment we had a great time. Meal was delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had another great dinner here. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Had dinner with friends that had not seen for a long time. Lots of talking - waiter was very patience and give us good recommendation. It was a nice long dinner - great evening

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I have always heard of the Rancher's Club but never went there until the other night. The waiter was fantastic, the drinks were very good and the steaks were great! I had the best rib eye in ABQ and my wife's Bison and Venison were tender and juicy. We usually do not get those cuts of meat because they are generally overcooked and tough. The price was no more than some of the other high end and specialty restaurants in town. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our fine dining experience. Amazing service and the meal was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Got exactly what we ordered in a resonable time. Food was cooked to our specifications and was excellent taste and quality. Tom was our waiter and did an excellent job.

Gary S.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Very nice evening with really good food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Perfect Service and very nice menu. We plan to dine there more often

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.