About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Rancher's Club of New Mexico
Rancher's Club of New Mexico

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Steakhouse
New Mexico
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Mexico
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

special occasion (56)
romantic (46)
fit for foodies (25)
See All
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (4)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was wonderful, The steaks are wo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was wonderful, The steaks are worth the price

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Groupon was an incredible bargain! ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Groupon was an incredible bargain! The food was wonderful, as always. The service was a little ragged. Orders were mixed up so that entrees were not served with appropriate sides; they quickly brought new sides. I had to wait more than 10 minutes for the server to find my credit card that I had submitted to pay for the tip. She had left it on a side table across the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

With the reservation available, there w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

With the reservation available, there was no waiting. The prices still high. The time to wait for the food was about 20 minute. The still high.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

A unique dining venue for Albuquerque an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A unique dining venue for Albuquerque and New Mexico and an absolutely great ambiance and very good food. Always great for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to the Ranchers club in y ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had not been to the Ranchers club in years and now I don't know why because it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exquisite but admittedly hi ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was exquisite but admittedly high priced. I actually got the most expensive item on the menu (Kobe beef) because our friends gave us a coupon. He got Scottish salmon. Both were beautifully prepared and I cannot complain about a thing, other than the fact that I would rather eat such a heavy meal mid day (and most of the people who can afford to go here are business or older people who like to eat mid day.) The Parmesan polenta side was incredible too. There are less expensive dishes but still on the higher side for Albuquerque.

Unfortunately this restaurant only serves dinner. It is not for kids. While there are no windows and no outdoor dining the interior decor is captivating. The bar area is like an old hunting lodge, done Southwestern ranch style. The dining room is elegant, with incredible rancher paintings and other horse tack and equipment on walls. Since prices are on the higher side this is best for a special occasion or when one wants to treat themselves to something nice. The on-line menu is slightly different than the actual menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

if you looking for good steak yes. price ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

if you looking for good steak yes. price little on the high side compared to others but still cheaper then Marcelo or Hidden Valley.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at the Rancher's Club on s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have dined at the Rancher's Club on several occasions but this time everything was terrible. We had to wait 30 minutes to get our cocktails served. 2 of 4 steaks were served rare (raw) when all were ordered medium rare. The quality of the steaks (ribeye) was poor. Very fatty. When we told the server that we were using 2 Groupon certificates, he requested that we give him the coupons immediately so that he could confirm that they were not fraudulent. Talk about making a customer feel like he is trustworthy!!!

It was an extremely disappointing evening. We will never return to the Rancher's Club.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent food, even better service! En ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food, even better service! Enjoyed the Rancher's Club thoroughly and will definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My prime rib wasn't to my liking, for th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My prime rib wasn't to my liking, for the price I expected it to be much better. The service was great and everything else was very good and I would recommend this place to other people. Over all it was good but once again I thought my food would have been better.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The Ranchers Club has been a go-to favor ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The Ranchers Club has been a go-to favorite of ours for many years. The food is a excellent, a creative and imaginative take on the American steakhouse menu. I have never experienced better service elsewhere in North America and seldom found its equal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance and service was awesome. Th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The ambiance and service was awesome. The prime rib was very tough. Hard to cut and chew. Creme brule was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very attentive service and the food is w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very attentive service and the food is well prepared. I had the antelope chop and Mrs had the mixed grill (venison, boar, elk) - will be going back again for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Caesar salad I've ever had. Great c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Best Caesar salad I've ever had. Great customer service and the steaks were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dining exerience! We arrived ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding dining exerience! We arrived at 5:30 before the crowds and enjoyed exceptional service. They go the extra mile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, great first time experience. My ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall, great first time experience. My only issue was it was later in the evening and the dining rooms started to get a little warm. I'm not sure if they were trying to chaseu s out. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food and service was impeccable at t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service was impeccable at the Rancher's Club. Everyone at the table was exceptionally pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rancher's Club is the best restaurant in ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Rancher's Club is the best restaurant in Albuquerque. With authenticity and food quality they provide the best service and highest quality meat. Every course was special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was much improved over our last vis ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was much improved over our last visit. IF they can keep the consistency, then this might return to being a great regular for Albuquerque.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Afterw ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Afterward we thoroughly enjoyed hearing Lindy Gold on the piano.

P.S. I don't know what our total bill was, but the two of us shared a salad and each ordered the special of the evening (ahi tuna rare -- excellent!) and we each had a glass of wine.

The only "less than stellar" thing was that it took a long time for a waitress to come take our drink order in the lounge after dinner. When we finally got our drinks, though, they were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an 8:30 pm reservation for 2 on a Tu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Had an 8:30 pm reservation for 2 on a Tuesday evening. It was very quite. Lighting and music really made the mood. Service was excellent. Food was excellent. Table side Carbonara dish was impressive. Filet was cooked perfectly, medium rare. Au Gratin potatoes very flavorful. Caesar salad and wedge salsa were fresh. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall impressions

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Rancher's Club needs to up their game. The food was mediocre at best and, the service was slow. For the amount they charge, they need to take a lesson from some of the bigger steak houses in other cities. I have had better prime rib at the Monte Carlo which is anything but a top notch restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Missing the past 🙁

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The Ranchers Club has been our anniversary "go to" place for three years. The food was fine, the service friendly, but not like it used to be. We really enjoyed the full service staff that used to be here. Previous management? Treated like royalty! Now, while the waitresses are friendly and do their job well, it is just not the same. The service here is now no better than any other steak house in Albuquerque. Seems a little more common. I am looking for a special place that I can take my wife for our anniversary and be treated the way she deserves. Special! Not sure what we will do next year.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Outstanding! Everything was wonderful.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Rancher's Club has always been a favorite, from the ambiance to the service and food. They've never let me down and, once again, came through with excellence in all things. This is still my favorite dining place in the state.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really Worth It

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The ambiance of the restaurant was really great. We started with drinks and they were made perfectly. A good martini is surprisingly hard to find. The wait staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and very attentive. The food was amazing. We all enjoyed the entrees, sides and salads. The desert we shared was fantastic. This restaurant is a real gem. They have never disappointed us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding as always, alth ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was outstanding as always, although some of the meats were cooked more to medium instead of to medium-rare as requested. But they were still very tasty. We were very disappointed that the signature chocolate mousse was no longer offered on the dessert menu.

The service was abysmally slow and uninspired. The servers were pleasant and friendly enough, but we had to look for them for any requests or continued service. Twice one of the guest's drinks were forgotten and had to be served separately from the group.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

With the change in management and the de ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

With the change in management and the departure of two long time servers, the service needs some improvement. The good news is that the food is still wonderful. If you are a meat eater, have the bison without fail.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Extremely nice restaurant . Enjoyed th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Extremely nice restaurant . Enjoyed the décor. Easy to carry on a conversation even with a number of people in the room. Good acoustics. Meal was outstanding along with the service. Will definitely recommend to others and return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, unpleasant crowd

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The service was good, the decor and the meals were excellent. We did pick an unfortunate night to dine as the hotel was hosting a very large group of the sort of people that we found to be not our choice of dining companions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food but over-worked wait staf ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent food but over-worked wait staff. Consequently service was much slower than usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This used to be our favorite spot to go ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This used to be our favorite spot to go for special occasions. The restaurant manager has left, and the service quality has dropped significantly.

The expectations of a restaurant like this are well prepared and presented food, superb service and quiet ambiance. The chefs are the same, and the food is still excellent. The service was clearly below expectations for this type of restaurant.

The hostess Debbie continues to be a well appreciated mainstay.

We will be finding a new special occasion restaurant due to the significant decrease in service quality, I am very sad to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The Ranchers Club is under new managemen ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The Ranchers Club is under new management. The food and services is still good. However not nearly what it used to be. The servers were very sweet but inexperienced. Same goes for the food. It was good but not excellent, like in the past.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

It is one of the best restaurants in tow ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

It is one of the best restaurants in town. We gave 4 because the lobster bisque was VERY salty.

Besides that we really enjoyed the rest of the food. Ah! one more thing. This time it took so long between the appetizers and the entrees. Next time we'll make sure that whatever we might have to tell the waitress/waiter at the same time. Thank you

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Misleading Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We made reservations for a special Mother's Day Brunch at the Rancher's Club. We called the restaurant to confirm that they would be serving brunch. We love the ambiance and the food has been great in the past. However, during this recent visit there were not listed prices on the menu or anywhere to be seen. Also, there were no brunch options, only the regular items that they usually have. To our shock and dismay the price was made known when we received our bill. It was a whopping and unbelievable price of $240 for four people not including tip!!!! This ruined the ENTIRE experience and we will not be going back to this restaurant anytime soon.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Not so good

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife here for a nice evening out for our anniversary. Poor service. It took 45 minutes to get the check. Food was subpar for the price. Waiter seemed to forget about my wife and me.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Had a little issue with the hostess, but ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a little issue with the hostess, but GM took care of it. Food is outstanding, you can't go wrong with anything on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a good meal, however...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Took my Mother here for an early Mother's Day treat as she doesn't like going out on the day itself (too crowded, spotty service, etc).

Restaurant was empty when we arrived for an early dinner. There were about eight tables having dinner when we left. Our waiter was Thomas and he was assisted by Aaron. Service was professional and we were happy to have them waiting on us. We enjoyed the goat cheese stuffed mushroom we each received as a complimentary appetizer from the kitchen. We shared the seared foie gras, which was excellent. Our entrees were the lamb shank and the cowboy bone-in ribeye. Both were well prepared and tasted delicious. The sides, while not exceptional, were still quite good. We also enjoyed a glass of wine and a Kir Royale, both were fine accompaniments to our respective dinners. No room for dessert and to be honest, the dessert menu may need to be refreshed in the near future.

I was disappointed to see the hostess seat a table where one of the patrons was wearing a pair of cargo shorts, sneakers, and a t-shirt. The Rancher's Club of New Mexico promotes itself as a fine dining experience, I don't think they are enforcing any sort of dress code any longer (not even a minimal one requiring gentlemen to wear a sport coat at the very least). Too bad. I expect that sort of ambiance at a chain steakhouse, but certainly not at this one. I doubt that Ralph (the recently-retired wait captain), would have served or for that matter allowed the hostess to even seat that particular party. Our dining experience lost some of its sparkle as a result. Time to tighten things up. Dinner for two was $140.00 not including tip.

Tags: fit for foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

So disappointed.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Ranchers continues to decline in service and quality. So disappointed in my last visit. It used to be a first-class fine dining experience, but those days seem to be gone. I don't know if it is new management or what but it has sadly gone downhill very quickly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Less than stellar

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

This restaurant had many bad reviews & all were right on target! The good: Their bread was fantastic. We liked the atmosphere. The twice baked potato was very good too. The mediocre: Our waitress started out fairly good, but then seemed to forget we were there. She only had 3 tables. Both of our drinks were empty 3/4 of the way through our entrée & she never stopped by to see if we wanted refills. We finished our meal & 15 minutes after that, she still had not returned. We had to ask for our check. She never bothered to ask if we enjoyed our meal. The bad: It started with the hostess. We were the 1st ones there for the 5:30 seating. Yet we were the 3rd ones seated. She was very stuffy & seemed to have an attitude. However, once she did seat us, she was more pleasant. The waitress brought out a complimentary mini-appetizer of stuffed mushrooms (2). Barely warm & super bland. I ordered the antelope for my entrée, medium rare. My husband ordered the Hunter's Mix (Venison, Elk and wild boar sausage), all medium rare too. The order came out timely. After the waitress set them down, she told us to cut into all 4 of the meats right that moment & ensure that they were cooked to our specifications. I have never had an "upscale" restaurant make such a request. A chef should certainly know how to cook their entrees to medium rare. All of them, except the wild boar, were more to the rare side than medium rare. But we were hungry & accepted them as is. The venison was a decent cut of meat, but not spectacular. The elk was a bit tougher & the antelope had a lot of grissle. All were even challenging to cut, which was quite obvious even to the waitress when we were "checking" them per her request. I will say, the portion size for each was quite generous. However, I would have been okay with a slightly smaller portion for a better cut of meat. We were super disappointed in the quality of the cuts for the price that was charged. (We have eaten game extensively)

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

jsdakar

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoy this venue very much! When a special occasion occurs The Ranchers Club is high on our list. While known for it's steaks, what brings us back is their Oysters Rockefeller.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.