Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Quiet Conversation (35)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Romantic (32)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Fireplace (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Historic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Private Room (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Live Music (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my first time dining at Rancher's Club. I was overwhelmed as to how good the service was and how pleasant the staff was. The food was incredible... I really enjoyed the evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Solid steak and sides at a reasonable (reasonable for good steak) price. Decor is throwback to 70s which is somehow comforting- longevity is a testiment to quality . Never had a bad meal @ Ranchers club. Steak is cooked over wood but smokey taste compliments the quality meat and does not overwhelm it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 13, 2017

My husband loved his steak. It was cooked exactly as he asked. I'm on a diet and asked to have an appetizer and salad as my dinner. Our waiter was very accommodating. Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Amazing meal severed by a great service staff. Definitely worth the cost!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food was mediocre and not worth the price point. The waiter smelled like marijuana.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We never are disappointed at the Rancher's Club! We had an excellent waiter, Luis. He and his assistant took very good care of us. It was my 77th birthday and we felt very special the whole time. There were three things missing, however - no preparation of the caesar salad at the table, no peppercorn sauce for the steak and no dramatic uncovering of the main dishes, but these are small issues compared to the delicious meal. I had the ribeye and the wife had the scallops and they were outstanding! We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The Ranchers Club is an Albuquerque treasure. Great atmosphere, superb service and the best steaks in the city.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Made our special occasion even more special. Excellent food, service, and atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The cocktails, wine, food was delicious as always. The waiters/waitresses are usually very attentive. The ambience is wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This is one of the southwest's finest places to eat. Beautifully appointed. While the menu is varied, it is a great steak spot. Piano bar is very cool. Food and service tops.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Very comfortable, enjoyable dining experience. Service was attentive, appropriate, and efficient. Portions were more than adequate and variety, preparation, of menu items excellent . Would highly recommend Rancher's Club for a "special occasion", celebration, or group meal

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We were visiting Albuquerque and thought it sounded good. It was great, with excellent service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Le plat tournedos de bison est tres bien. Par contre les pates carbonara au canard sont tres peu fournies en canard. On se retrouve avec de simple pates carbonara pour un prix excessif.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was delicious. We always forget about this restaurant. If you can forget about the animal heads and horn chandelier in the main room, the ambiance is nice too. My wife and I went there for our anniversary and were reminded how good the food is.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We made reservations for 5.30. We got there a few minutes early and asked the bartender if she was open. She was rude and disinterested so we went across the hall to the hotel's cantina for drinks.

We were seated at 5.30. Only one other table was occupied. We waited 20 minutes for our server to take our order and instead she waited on a table of "Portlandia" people for nearly 15 minutes, as though she had all the time in the world and no other tables. Then she went to a table that arrived after us. We got tired of waiting so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Once impeccable service has fallen off somewhat. Accompaniments were served only lukewarm. Manager table touch was awkward, insincere. Once a can't miss favorite--now in danger of falling off my recommended list unless serious changes are made. P.S.-- Bring back the raspberry chipotle sauce!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Service was abysmal! Worst service we have EVER experienced any where is the world. No Maitre'd at the entrance. Waitress was world class awful. Didn't get to our table for almost 20 minutes (and only 6 tables were filled). Didn't mention any specials. When our son wasn't ready to order, she walked away and didn't return. We had to ask the bus boy (Jesus, who was terrific) to please get us a waiter/waitress who could take our order (which he did). Other than the fact that our son loves this restaurant, we would never come back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Obtained some gift certificates from a friend and the food was the most savory and wonderful food we had ever experienced. Definitely a high priced menu, but honestly worth it for special occasions and amazing tasting food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent for all 5 of us. Pro staff, great food, no hassles and nice variety menu. Staff provided fantastic service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very expensive. Wish I had known about the mother's day buffet down the hall.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was great food! I was there about 10 years ago and forgot about how good it was. The atmosphere was quiet . The lights were a little too dim to eat by.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Two of my adult children and I made reservations for my Mother's Day celebration. The ambiance was wonderful. Our server was very attentive and the people who helped him were very friendly and attentive.
Each of us really enjoyed our appetizers and meals. I had the shrimp cocktail. I wish the shrimp had been fresh. The desserts were very good and presented in a lovely fashion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a birthday celebration. As usual the meal was perfectly prepared. They have added a calamari app, which was very tender and served with a wonderful sweet sauce. Service was up to the usual standard and overall we had a very enjoyable evening. This is, by far, our favorite dining establishment. We are looking forward to the wine dinner next month.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We loved the old fashioned steakhouse ambiance and the food couldn't have been better. Service was attentive without being intrusive.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful history and varied menu. Not every day you can get an antelope chop or bison.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As always, the food was great! My wife had the Salmon and I had Filet Mignon! Cooked perfectly Medium Plus-Pink in the middle. Great place for a steak!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. A favorite when in Albuquerque.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The dining experience is exceptional and has been maintained over the years- always the best service, food, and atmosphere. Don't change a thing! Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Took forever to get drinks, bread. Tuna over salted. Couldn't eat it. Steaks had no flavor. Potato cold in middle. Service was slow, very nice folks but very much amateurs. Sorry. Ruth Chris next time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

3rd time I have eaten here. Everything was great! My friends liked it too. The only minor issue was I ordered my filet medium and it came rare. Still good though. I did not say anything to the waiter.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Interestingly, the last time we dined at The Rancher's Club we temporarily thought we would never return. The service was poor, the waitress was dour, the food was so so and the baked potato was very overcooked and like a steamed potato. We decided to give it one more go and this time was the opposite. Very friendly and attentive service, great food. You never know! We'd return!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Whenever I am in town (from Vail), it's a must go. Dine early, pick a quiet corner table, and enjoy!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My friend ordered the jumbo shrimp and I thought they were a little small. The other three meals were excellent, and so was the service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Why was I not given credit for a 1000 point dinner as was promoted?

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Loved the western theme and elegant decor. Steak was cooked to perfection and vegetables were very good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was good and they provided a birthday dessert which was appreciated. The steak I had was ok but not great. The burnaise sauce was not good. Too salty. The salad was nostly onions ,canned and lettuce. Service was so so. Sue Chappell

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always good steaks. Some inconsistencies, but best steak house in Albuquerque.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We enjoyed our evening very much. The food was delicious and our service outstanding. The decor is very nice and enjoyed the fact that is is quiet. They even brought a complimentary dessert for our anniversary. They have a very nice wine list.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Everything was great! Food, service, ambiance. All terrific. Can't wait to get back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Superb food in an elegant setting. One of our favorites for fine dining.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.