About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Rancher's Club of New Mexico
Rancher's Club of New Mexico

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Romantic
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
4 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

special occasion (50)
romantic (38)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (11)
neighborhood gem (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dining exerience! We arrived ...

Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding dining exerience! We arrived at 5:30 before the crowds and enjoyed exceptional service. They go the extra mile.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall, great first time experience. My ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall, great first time experience. My only issue was it was later in the evening and the dining rooms started to get a little warm. I'm not sure if they were trying to chaseu s out. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was impeccable at t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service was impeccable at the Rancher's Club. Everyone at the table was exceptionally pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rancher's Club is the best restaurant in ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Rancher's Club is the best restaurant in Albuquerque. With authenticity and food quality they provide the best service and highest quality meat. Every course was special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was much improved over our last vis ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was much improved over our last visit. IF they can keep the consistency, then this might return to being a great regular for Albuquerque.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Afterw ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Afterward we thoroughly enjoyed hearing Lindy Gold on the piano. P.S. I don't know what our total bill was, but the two of us shared a salad and each ordered the special of the evening (ahi tuna rare -- excellent!) and we each had a glass of wine. The only "less than stellar" thing was that it took a long time for a waitress to come take our drink order in the lounge after dinner. When we finally got our drinks, though, they were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an 8:30 pm reservation for 2 on a Tu ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Had an 8:30 pm reservation for 2 on a Tuesday evening. It was very quite. Lighting and music really made the mood. Service was excellent. Food was excellent. Table side Carbonara dish was impressive. Filet was cooked perfectly, medium rare. Au Gratin potatoes very flavorful. Caesar salad and wedge salsa were fresh. Will definitely go back!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall impressions

Dined on June 4, 2016

Rancher's Club needs to up their game. The food was mediocre at best and, the service was slow. For the amount they charge, they need to take a lesson from some of the bigger steak houses in other cities. I have had better prime rib at the Monte Carlo which is anything but a top notch restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Missing the past 🙁

Dined on June 2, 2016

The Ranchers Club has been our anniversary "go to" place for three years. The food was fine, the service friendly, but not like it used to be. We really enjoyed the full service staff that used to be here. Previous management? Treated like royalty! Now, while the waitresses are friendly and do their job well, it is just not the same. The service here is now no better than any other steak house in Albuquerque. Seems a little more common. I am looking for a special place that I can take my wife for our anniversary and be treated the way she deserves. Special! Not sure what we will do next year.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding! Everything was wonderful.

Dined on June 1, 2016

Rancher's Club has always been a favorite, from the ambiance to the service and food. They've never let me down and, once again, came through with excellence in all things. This is still my favorite dining place in the state.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really Worth It

Dined on June 1, 2016

The ambiance of the restaurant was really great. We started with drinks and they were made perfectly. A good martini is surprisingly hard to find. The wait staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and very attentive. The food was amazing. We all enjoyed the entrees, sides and salads. The desert we shared was fantastic. This restaurant is a real gem. They have never disappointed us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food was outstanding as always, alth ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was outstanding as always, although some of the meats were cooked more to medium instead of to medium-rare as requested. But they were still very tasty. We were very disappointed that the signature chocolate mousse was no longer offered on the dessert menu. The service was abysmally slow and uninspired. The servers were pleasant and friendly enough, but we had to look for them for any requests or continued service. Twice one of the guest's drinks were forgotten and had to be served separately from the group.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

With the change in management and the de ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

With the change in management and the departure of two long time servers, the service needs some improvement. The good news is that the food is still wonderful. If you are a meat eater, have the bison without fail.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely nice restaurant . Enjoyed th ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Extremely nice restaurant . Enjoyed the décor. Easy to carry on a conversation even with a number of people in the room. Good acoustics. Meal was outstanding along with the service. Will definitely recommend to others and return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great restaurant, unpleasant crowd

Dined on May 21, 2016

The service was good, the decor and the meals were excellent. We did pick an unfortunate night to dine as the hotel was hosting a very large group of the sort of people that we found to be not our choice of dining companions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent food but over-worked wait staf ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent food but over-worked wait staff. Consequently service was much slower than usual.

food4
ambience4
service2

This used to be our favorite spot to go ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This used to be our favorite spot to go for special occasions. The restaurant manager has left, and the service quality has dropped significantly. The expectations of a restaurant like this are well prepared and presented food, superb service and quiet ambiance. The chefs are the same, and the food is still excellent. The service was clearly below expectations for this type of restaurant. The hostess Debbie continues to be a well appreciated mainstay. We will be finding a new special occasion restaurant due to the significant decrease in service quality, I am very sad to say.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The Ranchers Club is under new managemen ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The Ranchers Club is under new management. The food and services is still good. However not nearly what it used to be. The servers were very sweet but inexperienced. Same goes for the food. It was good but not excellent, like in the past.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It is one of the best restaurants in tow ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

It is one of the best restaurants in town. We gave 4 because the lobster bisque was VERY salty. Besides that we really enjoyed the rest of the food. Ah! one more thing. This time it took so long between the appetizers and the entrees. Next time we'll make sure that whatever we might have to tell the waitress/waiter at the same time. Thank you

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Misleading Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We made reservations for a special Mother's Day Brunch at the Rancher's Club. We called the restaurant to confirm that they would be serving brunch. We love the ambiance and the food has been great in the past. However, during this recent visit there were not listed prices on the menu or anywhere to be seen. Also, there were no brunch options, only the regular items that they usually have. To our shock and dismay the price was made known when we received our bill. It was a whopping and unbelievable price of $240 for four people not including tip!!!! This ruined the ENTIRE experience and we will not be going back to this restaurant anytime soon.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Not so good

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife here for a nice evening out for our anniversary. Poor service. It took 45 minutes to get the check. Food was subpar for the price. Waiter seemed to forget about my wife and me.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a little issue with the hostess, but ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a little issue with the hostess, but GM took care of it. Food is outstanding, you can't go wrong with anything on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Still a good meal, however...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Took my Mother here for an early Mother's Day treat as she doesn't like going out on the day itself (too crowded, spotty service, etc). Restaurant was empty when we arrived for an early dinner. There were about eight tables having dinner when we left. Our waiter was Thomas and he was assisted by Aaron. Service was professional and we were happy to have them waiting on us. We enjoyed the goat cheese stuffed mushroom we each received as a complimentary appetizer from the kitchen. We shared the seared foie gras, which was excellent. Our entrees were the lamb shank and the cowboy bone-in ribeye. Both were well prepared and tasted delicious. The sides, while not exceptional, were still quite good. We also enjoyed a glass of wine and a Kir Royale, both were fine accompaniments to our respective dinners. No room for dessert and to be honest, the dessert menu may need to be refreshed in the near future. I was disappointed to see the hostess seat a table where one of the patrons was wearing a pair of cargo shorts, sneakers, and a t-shirt. The Rancher's Club of New Mexico promotes itself as a fine dining experience, I don't think they are enforcing any sort of dress code any longer (not even a minimal one requiring gentlemen to wear a sport coat at the very least). Too bad. I expect that sort of ambiance at a chain steakhouse, but certainly not at this one. I doubt that Ralph (the recently-retired wait captain), would have served or for that matter allowed the hostess to even seat that particular party. Our dining experience lost some of its sparkle as a result. Time to tighten things up. Dinner for two was $140.00 not including tip.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

So disappointed.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Ranchers continues to decline in service and quality. So disappointed in my last visit. It used to be a first-class fine dining experience, but those days seem to be gone. I don't know if it is new management or what but it has sadly gone downhill very quickly

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Less than stellar

Dined on May 2, 2016

This restaurant had many bad reviews & all were right on target! The good: Their bread was fantastic. We liked the atmosphere. The twice baked potato was very good too. The mediocre: Our waitress started out fairly good, but then seemed to forget we were there. She only had 3 tables. Both of our drinks were empty 3/4 of the way through our entrée & she never stopped by to see if we wanted refills. We finished our meal & 15 minutes after that, she still had not returned. We had to ask for our check. She never bothered to ask if we enjoyed our meal. The bad: It started with the hostess. We were the 1st ones there for the 5:30 seating. Yet we were the 3rd ones seated. She was very stuffy & seemed to have an attitude. However, once she did seat us, she was more pleasant. The waitress brought out a complimentary mini-appetizer of stuffed mushrooms (2). Barely warm & super bland. I ordered the antelope for my entrée, medium rare. My husband ordered the Hunter's Mix (Venison, Elk and wild boar sausage), all medium rare too. The order came out timely. After the waitress set them down, she told us to cut into all 4 of the meats right that moment & ensure that they were cooked to our specifications. I have never had an "upscale" restaurant make such a request. A chef should certainly know how to cook their entrees to medium rare. All of them, except the wild boar, were more to the rare side than medium rare. But we were hungry & accepted them as is. The venison was a decent cut of meat, but not spectacular. The elk was a bit tougher & the antelope had a lot of grissle. All were even challenging to cut, which was quite obvious even to the waitress when we were "checking" them per her request. I will say, the portion size for each was quite generous. However, I would have been okay with a slightly smaller portion for a better cut of meat. We were super disappointed in the quality of the cuts for the price that was charged. (We have eaten game extensively)

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

jsdakar

Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoy this venue very much! When a special occasion occurs The Ranchers Club is high on our list. While known for it's steaks, what brings us back is their Oysters Rockefeller.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

We took my wife's brother to dinner with two of his best friends here and the evening was more than could be expected. The food and service were superb and the opportunity to enjoy a quiet dining experience was very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Ernest was a great waiter, and he made t ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Ernest was a great waiter, and he made the bananas foster flambe so much fun :-)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were traveling through New Mexico.

Dined on April 25, 2016

My husband discovered a recommendation for the Ranchers Club. It was very fortunate find. The decor, food and service were outstanding. If we get back to that area it will definitely be the place to dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Six Star Resturant on a Scale of Five

Dined on April 15, 2016

The Ranchers Club is the best restaurant in Albuquerque. The food was superb, the staff was outstanding, and the pianist was delightful! I'm looking forward to our next dining adventure. Not only was the food delicious, the portions were quite generous!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Great cuts, but the rest of the food was just ok

Dined on April 3, 2016

Took me wife to Ranchers club for her birthday, a night out without our 2 year old for the 1st time in a while. It was a surprise for her, and a much need time for just the 2 of us to relax and enjoy a premium steak dinner that we haven't had in quite some time... We had reservations for 6pm on a Saturday night, and it was almost empty. by the time we left at 8 pm, maybe there were 8 tables, most were just 2 party tables. I originally tried to get a reservation at Vernon's Hidden Valley, but they were booked for all times on this Saturday. Love the setting and ambiance, and the ribeye steak was excellent (these are really the most important factors to me) but the sides were just very average. The steamed veggies that came with the dish is almost embarrassing to see next to your awesome steak. Ordered the au gratin potatoes, and I had to salt them. I hardly ever use salt in the 1st place. The way the sides of butter, sauces, etc came with the dinner needs to be better than the same cups I see at a Chili's/Applebee's type of restaurant. I also ordered the Jumbo shrimp to go with my steak, needless to say, they were NOT jumbo. More like a 30-40 count size. Ordered the creme brulee, not bad but its much better at The Range. I hope Ranchers club can make these simple improvements. Paul's Monterrey was my "go to place" for special occasions, and not because it was necessarily better but you knew what you were getting for a certain price point, service, and setting. If Ranchers club is trying to be the next Paul's, the price is too high. If it's trying to compete with Vernon's, Season's, Marcello's, and soon Ruth's Chris...it's just not good enough. Ranchers club has seen better days, quality was higher a few years back. I hope they can turn things around, if so, I would love to come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Ranchers Club not up to previous standard

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I went the Ranchers Club for Easter dinner and were not very pleased with the dinner. First of all I go there for their good steaks and they didn't offer a single steak! They had a very limited menu. We chose the prime rib but it was not very tender and had a whole lot of uneatable fat on the serving we got. Then they had a terrible selection of deserts so we didn't have any. For a meal that was over $130 we felt we were taken advantage of and will certainly consider not returning!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Outstanding (still)!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Outstanding staff. Thought I was going to miss Ralph. Well, I still do, but the "B" team is just as good. I do miss the covered plates presentation. Was a nice touch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding evening

Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellant food and service. Our server Tom took very good care of us. Could not have asked for a better dinning experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetite for steak

Dined on March 22, 2016

We had nit had a good steak in a long time. Rancher's Club bison filet with a twice baked potato and glass of red Bordeaux hit the spot. our waiter, Thomad, and his staff were attentive. the food was well prepared and hot. A grat way to end the day!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always enjoyed the Ranchers Club

Dined on March 17, 2016

Outstanding service, but not intrusive. We always order the Caesars Salad prepared table side. You can never go wrong when ordering a steak. I've never had a steak that wasn't prepared as ordered-medium rare. It would be hard to not find a wine that didn't meet your taste. My retirement party was held here three years ago and as I recall the wait staff and kitchen did a great job for such a large group. Ranchers is a wonderful place to celebrate a special event.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very grateful for this experience!

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food and wine were absolutely amazing! The waitstaff were just as impressive, but the true human beauty I found that night was in their management. I was completely thrilled with our experience and they made a very special day even better!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Returning Customer

Dined on March 10, 2016

The bar was excellent, loved the live Piano. Food was excellent as always but disappointed that the new manager got rid of the simultaneous unveiling of the dinner plates when served. Also recommend that they once again enforce the dress code of business attire. Servers could have been a tad-bit more attentive, but we appreciate the restaurant and will return soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ranchers Club was OUTSTANDING!

Dined on March 4, 2016

We've been there many times before, but this was the first for the entire family together (6 persons). We were seated in a small private room, which was perfect for us. Our waiter, Thomas, and his assistant, Nina, did a superior job. Husband had the bison steak which he still raves about; I had the salmon which was huge, succulent, and tender. One son is a vegetarian and the kitchen staff prepared special dishes for him. His food looked amazing and he was delighted with the dishes. A great time was enjoyed by all!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

bad,bad,bad! Service was very slow.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Would never go again. Food was less then I was excepting . Over rated. 18$ salad was brown. Waited so long for a drink I went to the bar and got it myself. Complained to manager , he didn't care. Felt like a orphan. The place was not busy, and the salad took an hour, maybe that's why it was weleted. Order was messed up. Nothing about it was enjoyable .

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.