Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Romantic (28)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Live Music (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent food. Few issues with attentiveness of wait staff. Enjoy ambiance & beautiful piano in bar

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was ok, nothing all that special given the prices. The red chile demi glace was the stand out item of our meal.

The decor is very dated and does not match the prices charged.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

An Albuquerque tradition, great food and service. Thomas is a great waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful meal in quiet lovely surroundings. BUT so few tables occupied I wonder how they can stay open. Always had great service and a fine meal before but often was more filled that at last visit .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Awesome friendly service our waiter was excellent in explaining the menu to us as well as breaking everything down for us .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Understaffed waitstaff. Slow service. No mention by staff of our wedding anniversary even though I mentioned it on the reservation

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent venue, especially for business meals. Staff was responsive, food was excellent and reasonably priced. I will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Awesome time and food. The Hunter's Meal was outstanding and is always my favorite. I was able to treat a friend to this meal which made it even better. Service was excellent. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Evening started out well with a drink at the bar. We were seated and waitress was very pleasant and helpful initially. As the evening continued however we saw less and less of her as she picked up more tables. Her lack of experience with handling multiple tables resulted in the evening lasting much longer than it should have. Do I have to pour my own wine at a 5-star restaurant?

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great evening with 10guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Jay, has been our server on several occasions and has always provided excellent service and recommendations. Your hostess has always provided us with our preferred sitting. Keep up the excellent service.The food is always fantastic. thank you all.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I was very upset the menu had changed. No more Foie Gras. No more lobster bisque. Otherwise, the food was ok. The restaurant was empty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

As usual the service and food was outstanding

Fabulous settling with wonderful staff

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is not a place I would take kids unless it's a super special occasion and you should check the list for meals... I don't remember seeing any gauged towards kids or vegetarians. It is called ranchers club after all. Found their apps to be worth the money while their dinners a little over priced. Their drinks were def overpriced. THe ambiance is fantastic and the service was great! Def worth the time to try it out at least once.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We come here often and enjoy the service and food every time we did miss the piano music
are waiter was very good, and informative, I tell are friends about this place all the time.
Keep up the good work.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had hoped to hear the pianist, which is why we code 6:30. However we were disappointed that she doesn't play in June. The food was excellent and the service was exemplary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food and service are always top notch. What's the etiquette for taking off cowboy hats in restaurants?

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The chef knows how to handle meat and seafood. Everything is gracious and special. They split salads with no "attitude" and are accommodating in every way. We do not usually spend this much money on meals, but for special occasions, this is a true gem. It was perfect for taking our adult children out for dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Ranchers Club is an upscale dining experience, terrific ambiance, quiet, low lighting (but sufficient). Staff was well trained, courteous, not overly zealous but attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing and flavorful! Service was first rate, as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 26, 2017

When we arrived, we were ushered to a table - were not asked if we had reservations or if it was a special occasion. Sparkling wine was ordered by the name but the waitress insisted on the wine number from the menu. I gave her the wrong number. When she brought the wine I informed her it was the wrong wine and she told me to look at the menu, that was the number I gave her? uncouth the way it was handled. The wedge salad was very much like a mayonnaise dressing with almost no Gorgonzola. Scallop potatoes and veggies were excellent but my stake, a cowboy rib-eye, at best, was almost tasteless and a little tough. For a place that claims to be a Steak House, very disappointing. This is not my first visit as I have frequented the establishment for over 25 years. In general, we were most disappointed in the service by the wait staff which was very ordinary, more cafe like. We enjoyed the piano playing in the background and will probably try coming back once more, maybe. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were served with a nice dessert, complements of the house.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

anniversary

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The server has to treat every customer the same weather it's just one or ten. My server ignored me and another single person all the while she was bsing with others. It should not take almost two hours for dinner of one.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was my first time dining at Rancher's Club. I was overwhelmed as to how good the service was and how pleasant the staff was. The food was incredible... I really enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We were celebrating our tenth anniversary - we are not fancy people, but we were treated quite well nonetheless. My salmon was de-lish; the crab stuffing was real crab, not 'crab-with-a-K', which was good, because real crab was appropriate for the price tag. Our server, Ande, and her helper Jay were very good, we enjoyed our visit and want to go back next time we're in the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Solid steak and sides at a reasonable (reasonable for good steak) price. Decor is throwback to 70s which is somehow comforting- longevity is a testiment to quality . Never had a bad meal @ Ranchers club. Steak is cooked over wood but smokey taste compliments the quality meat and does not overwhelm it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 13, 2017

My husband loved his steak. It was cooked exactly as he asked. I'm on a diet and asked to have an appetizer and salad as my dinner. Our waiter was very accommodating. Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Amazing meal severed by a great service staff. Definitely worth the cost!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was mediocre and not worth the price point. The waiter smelled like marijuana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We never are disappointed at the Rancher's Club! We had an excellent waiter, Luis. He and his assistant took very good care of us. It was my 77th birthday and we felt very special the whole time. There were three things missing, however - no preparation of the caesar salad at the table, no peppercorn sauce for the steak and no dramatic uncovering of the main dishes, but these are small issues compared to the delicious meal. I had the ribeye and the wife had the scallops and they were outstanding! We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The Ranchers Club is an Albuquerque treasure. Great atmosphere, superb service and the best steaks in the city.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Made our special occasion even more special. Excellent food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The cocktails, wine, food was delicious as always. The waiters/waitresses are usually very attentive. The ambience is wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This is one of the southwest's finest places to eat. Beautifully appointed. While the menu is varied, it is a great steak spot. Piano bar is very cool. Food and service tops.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Very comfortable, enjoyable dining experience. Service was attentive, appropriate, and efficient. Portions were more than adequate and variety, preparation, of menu items excellent . Would highly recommend Rancher's Club for a "special occasion", celebration, or group meal

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We were visiting Albuquerque and thought it sounded good. It was great, with excellent service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Le plat tournedos de bison est tres bien. Par contre les pates carbonara au canard sont tres peu fournies en canard. On se retrouve avec de simple pates carbonara pour un prix excessif.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was delicious. We always forget about this restaurant. If you can forget about the animal heads and horn chandelier in the main room, the ambiance is nice too. My wife and I went there for our anniversary and were reminded how good the food is.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We made reservations for 5.30. We got there a few minutes early and asked the bartender if she was open. She was rude and disinterested so we went across the hall to the hotel's cantina for drinks.

We were seated at 5.30. Only one other table was occupied. We waited 20 minutes for our server to take our order and instead she waited on a table of "Portlandia" people for nearly 15 minutes, as though she had all the time in the world and no other tables. Then she went to a table that arrived after us. We got tired of waiting so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.