Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Romantic (39)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Quiet Conversation (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fireplace (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Historic (17)
Authentic (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Private Room (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Live Music (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
1060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 5 days ago

Only disappointment was there is no longer any table side Caeser salad service, nor bananas foster at table side

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic evening. Very classy with the best service. Just outstanding for a special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Special event. St. Patrick's Day Irish Whiskey pairing with six course dinner. It was an outstanding evening as we celebrated an Irish wake and a birthday. The appetizer, soup and first entree, shredded bison ensconced in a croissant was outstanding. The salad a butter lettuce with grilled tomatoes was OK. The best part of the salad was the grilled tomatoes. The second entree was a Delmonico steak that was awesome. The pairing of Irish whiskey drinks with each course was awesome. It was truly an enjoyable evening. Service was above outstanding. I highly recommend any of these special events at the Rancher's Club.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service was amazing. Staff were very friendly, and inviting. The food was alright, nothing anymore special than anything else.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was fantastic and the best dinner I have had in New Mexico in the past 3 years. The decor is out of date and needing some repair, and the service could be improved. The food and whiskey menu more than made up for what it lacked. Plan on giving them another try.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Vegan, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our guest always plan their visit to allow for a dinner night at Ranchers Club before their flight the next morning. It is always a highlite to their ski vacation. Food and service is always consistent. We do miss the "table side preparation" of some items........

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I had one of my best steaks ever. The service was fantastic as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Unfortunately with their Prices, portion are " ilke " for 2 Persons. I can eat Plenty but with the GREAT Soup; I took 1/2 Home. Likewise the Braised Beet Salad was "LARGE.." so also took 1/2 Home. Had the Prime Rib, being 12 oz., Took 1/3 of it Hom (( ------ which was O.K. as made 2 Breakfasts with it.....)) . So NO room for Desert. DARN!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food; bison, prime rib, pork chops and lamb were all cooked as requested and full of flavor. Good service in an atmosphere that allows conversation without any outside noise. Calamari was exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was excellent and our waiters were prompt, courteous and provided great customer service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was fantastic along with the service. The piano bar is a must.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful dinner lots of food great services food was great fresh and attractive decor we'll be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We eat at this restaurant once or twice a year, usually on Christmas Day with our family. It has a place in our hearts because of that. This time we were celebrating an anniversary. The food was very good. Our service was good but there were a few issues. However everything was set to right nicely. The prices are on the higher side for Albuquerque hence the reason I indicate it as a special occasion place. The wine list is good, with prices for most budgets.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and, as always, The Rancher's Club did not disappoint. The service is impeccable and the steaks were perfectly prepared and delicious. I would recommend The Rancher's Club for any special occasion or for a memorable night out.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was delicious yet slightly overpriced. Service ranged from amazing to decent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The days of the ranchers club as the premier dining spot in Albuquerque are long past. It is living on his reputation. Very spotty service. It used to be impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Went on a Wednesday night, restraint was about 1/4 full when we arrived and 1/3 full when we left.
The main dishes were very good but my soup was just ok and my side dish was not very good.
My wife's salad was good.
My main complaint is service was poor to marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Ranchers Club no longer does tableside bananas foster or salad tableside....... very disappointing!!! However, the service was excellent and the steak was good. However, the cheesecake was dry and very small slice for $12. Definitely not worth $12........

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time at the ranchers club and truely enjoyed it . The steak was superb . Cooked to our satisfaction..
What I really enjoyed about the service was it wasn't extreme just enough .... for my liking it's a top 2 steakhouse for me recommend it highly

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went to the Ranchers Club for a Valentine's Day dinner. I had made reservations and upon our arrival, we were promptly seated. The table was set for two and was a bit small for my taste. The service was very good. Out winter, Thomas, was patient allowing a bit of time to enjoy our drinks before we ordered. It is nice to sit for a bit (not homestead) and enjoy a cocktail and not feel rushed to get in and get out. I appreciated the serving staff taking care of the water refills, plate removals, etc.. They were attentive and and not intrusive. I have been to high end restaurants were they strive so hard to have good service they are intrusive and that is a buzz kill. In this area, we were dealing with Jesus. It was obvious he was watching us and when he came to fill up or whatever, he was quiet and swift. Perfect! Overall, I really enjoyed my experience at the Rancher's Club. Although I cannot afford that level of a meal all the time, I will be back when I can.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hands down one of the five best Restaurants in Albuquerque. The food is awesome and the service is first class. Right up there with many upscale steak houses in bigger cities like Chicago, Los Angeles or Dallas. Totally worth it !

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ranchers Club is an excellent find. Fabulous food tremendous portions great staff expensive but worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was amazing and the food was fantastic! Not our first trip and will not me our last. The cuts of meat are always amazing. I have never had a bad stem at this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had excellent food and very good service. Our son felt it was probably the best steak he had in a very long time. All of the food was very "on point".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time at the Ranchers Club. I had always wanted to try it, and I am so happy that we finally made it there for dinner. The appetizer was fantastic. The T-Bone steak was perfect. We were celebrating my Wife's birthday and the staff was great! I can't wait to go back and try another entrée. I highly recommend the Ranchers Club and have been telling all my friends to go and try it.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was amazing, wait staff was amazing, hostess needs some work. Will be returning.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great atmosphere with outstanding waitstaff. Food was well prepared and plated and seasoned to perfection.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were a party of six there to celebrate my mother's 88th birthday. The restaurant was basically empty when we arrived at 5:45 p.m. Initial service was good; however, our waiter never returned once our order was taken until it was time for the bill. The table was not cleared until they brought my mother a complimentary dessert. No one else was offered a dessert until we asked for the menu. The filets were good, my bacon wrapped bison tenderloin was a little overcooked, the mac and cheese was awful, the carrots were extremely undercooked. I had high exception for this restaurant and left very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A lovely birthday evening, we enjoyed the Roasted Beet salad, Filet, Twice baked potatoes and of course the Creme Brulee. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Private Room, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Celebrated a birthday dinner here. Food, service, and ambiance were all very good. Wait staff no longer wears formal attire, which is of no significant consequence. Our appetizer was the chorizo stuffed dates wrapped with bacon. The chorizo was Mexican and not Spanish as an FYI. It was very good. My dinner companion also enjoyed a bowl of mushroom soup made fresh that day per our server. It was excellent. We had the cowboy ribeye and the catch of the day, which was oysters. Both entrees were well prepared and enjoyed by both of us. Rancher's Club of New Mexico graciously comped dessert for our table, a shared creme brule, as we were celebrating a birthday. It is one of the best creme brule's I have ever had. We dined early on a Tuesday and the restaurant had seated about eight tables by the time we left at around 7:30 or so. We never felt rushed and, on the whole, the service was professional and cordial without being stuffy or pretentious. We have been dining here for the past twenty years and as the times have changed, so has the dress code. It is more casual now (a coat and tie are no longer required) which I must say makes for a more enjoyable dinner from my perspective. Just as long as they politely decline to sit the t-shirt, shorts and flip-flop crowd, I'll be more than happy to continue to patronize this establishment.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service here remains premier!!! Staff works as a team and you are always attended to.
Great food and elegant table and great stemware.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very sad there is no longer table side ceaser salad
Service seem a little slow considering we were the only people there
Great food as always
Excellent bartender

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My wife and I met some friends for dessert before attending a movie. The atmosphere was elegant and we were a bit underdressed. The dessert was fabulous. I had heard that the Crème Brulee was the best in the city and on the website it mentioned a 'red chile pecan' Crème Brulee, but the no longer served that dessert. However, the Crème Brulee and the bread pudding that we had were superb. No one was disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Super food, and even though it was a Monday night,fresh and delicious.Service was great!

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 22, 2017

So far our favorite Steakhouse in Albuquerque. Ambiance was perfect, great variety on the menu. Very large portion sizes, largest and most tasty 8oz Filet we've had in a long while. Chef perfectly cooked it. Veggies were fresh and delicious. The Oysters Rockefeller were a mushy and salty and the only thing we did not like that we ordered. Service was friendly, but a little slow considering it was not a packed house but the food quality overall made up for that. Duck carbonara was equally delicious, but the duck skin chicharron was bitter so didn't have more than a nibble of it. Definitely will keep this restaurant in our regular rotation from now on.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Servers were great. Overall a good experience. This place is great for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It had been a long time since we had dined at the restaurant and I am happy to say that the food and service are still exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is our favorite place. The staff always make us feel welcome and the service is exceptional. I had the bacon wrapped bison, and it was perfectly prepared. I especially enjoyed the oyster Rockafeller appetizer and the caesar salad was excellent. Portions are just right and wine paring sugestions spot on. Overall, a thouroughly enjoyable evening we will be repeating soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Just terrific. Everything was fabulous. The Ahi Tuna, Tartar, Oysters Rockefeller, Jumbo Shrimp, Bison Fillet were truly outstanding. Thomas was an excellent server. I will now always go to the Ranchers Club for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Anniversary dinner

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.