About Rancher's Club of New Mexico

1901 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102
View Larger Map

The Ranchers Club is an experience in dining that no visitor to the Land of Enchantment should miss. The only authentic grill in New Mexico that prepares the food on a Gridiron over a variety of aromatic wood embers such as Mesquite, Hickory, Sassafras and Apple. This grilling method imparts a unique and unusual flavor to the ample portions of meat, seafood, poultry and game. The Ranchers Club specializes in corn-fed, dry-aged USDA Prime beef. The impeccable captain service is recognized for the attention given to every detail. An award winning wine list enhances the superb dining experience. The Ranchers Club offers all the ambiance of western elegance that New Mexico has to offer.


Rancher's Club has been a DiRoNA award member since 1994, recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award for nine consecutive years, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2001, and known as Albuquerque’s Best of the Best.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Menaul

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 889-8071

Website:
http://www.theranchersclubofnm.com/

Entertainment:
On Wednesday - Thursdays there is live piano, Lindy Gold and on Fridays - Saturdays there is a live jazz piano.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for your Vanletine's Day Dinner.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Rancher's Club of New Mexico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (38)
Romantic (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fireplace (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Business Meals (19)
Historic (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Cozy (15)
Authentic (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Private Room (9)
Live Music (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Super food, and even though it was a Mon ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined a day ago

Super food, and even though it was a Monday night,fresh and delicious.Service was great!

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So far our favorite Steakhouse in Albuqu ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

So far our favorite Steakhouse in Albuquerque. Ambiance was perfect, great variety on the menu. Very large portion sizes, largest and most tasty 8oz Filet we've had in a long while. Chef perfectly cooked it. Veggies were fresh and delicious. The Oysters Rockefeller were a mushy and salty and the only thing we did not like that we ordered. Service was friendly, but a little slow considering it was not a packed house but the food quality overall made up for that. Duck carbonara was equally delicious, but the duck skin chicharron was bitter so didn't have more than a nibble of it. Definitely will keep this restaurant in our regular rotation from now on.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Servers were great. Overall a good exper ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Servers were great. Overall a good experience. This place is great for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It had been a long time since we had din ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

It had been a long time since we had dined at the restaurant and I am happy to say that the food and service are still exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite place. The staff al ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our favorite place. The staff always make us feel welcome and the service is exceptional. I had the bacon wrapped bison, and it was perfectly prepared. I especially enjoyed the oyster Rockafeller appetizer and the caesar salad was excellent. Portions are just right and wine paring sugestions spot on. Overall, a thouroughly enjoyable evening we will be repeating soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just terrific. Everything was fabulous. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Just terrific. Everything was fabulous. The Ahi Tuna, Tartar, Oysters Rockefeller, Jumbo Shrimp, Bison Fillet were truly outstanding. Thomas was an excellent server. I will now always go to the Ranchers Club for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Anniversary dinner

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just fabulous!, when we are in New Mexic ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Just fabulous!, when we are in New Mexico we always stay at this hotel so that we can have this dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible meal! Great service and a sp ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Incredible meal! Great service and a special evening.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steaks and Prime rib, this is the ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great Steaks and Prime rib, this is the BEST meal I ever had in Albuquerque...I retired here from Chicago and this restaurant could make there along the many better steak houses they have there.

I'll be back!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was exceptionally good but slow get ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was exceptionally good but slow getting to the table. That's the only reason we did not leave an additional tip.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was excellent except the salm ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was excellent except the salmon was undercooked, so my wife was only able to eat half of her dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Filet on New Years Eve was excellent. Wi ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Filet on New Years Eve was excellent. Wife had Prime Rib. Said was dry and not seasoned at all. Prime was tough and not up to usual Ranchers Club standards. First time being disappointed in dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet steaks were poor compared to w ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The filet steaks were poor compared to what we have grown to expect from Ranchers. We have gone to Ranchers for all our special occasions, but will probably not go back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The lobby and bar could be a cowboy muse ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The lobby and bar could be a cowboy museum -- so much to look at/appreciate. 3 of 4 adults had bison tenderloin, which was tender and delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They changed the menu literally days bef ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 29, 2016

They changed the menu literally days before our visit so several things that made me choose Ranchers Club weren't available. The cook temps on our steaks were wrong but that was not a big deal. The steaks were very, very salty. In fact, saltiest I have ever had. I didn't finish my steak and that NEVER happens. We've had better meals at Chili's.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We just moved to ABQ and had Christmas D ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We just moved to ABQ and had Christmas Day dinner at the restaurant. Food was excellent and service was superb. We will return to try items on the regular menu because they had a special Christmas Day menu. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going here for years at Chri ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I have been going here for years at Christmas but will never be back. The management changed and all of the competent, friendly staff that made it such a pleasant experience are now gone. The service was terrible, had to ask repeatedly for water, for our wine. Main dish was brought to our table even though we hadn't finshed our starters, The a la carte option was not available and the Christmas menu had very little to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The food is as good as ever but the serv ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food is as good as ever but the service is lacking which makes for a so-so overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Love the Ranchers club. Been going ther ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love the Ranchers club. Been going there for years. Fantastic steaks, elegant, excellent service, friendly wait staff. Still one of our favorites in the world.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Rancher's Club a num ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have been to the Rancher's Club a number of times over the last 20 years but earlier this year we found it was under new management. Unfortunately, it was nothing like it used to be. Rather than cross it off our list for good we went back one more time to see if anything had changed. Thankfully, they turned things around. It isn't quite what it used to be but we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we were seated, we were given a ta ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

When we were seated, we were given a table near the entrance in the middle part of the restaurant. Members of our party soon began to be uncomfortable due to the constant draft blowing on us. When we mentioned this to our waitress (who was excellent! ), we were told that " this table always has a draft". The restaurant had many empty tables, so if management knows that there is a problem with this table, why were we seated there? After complaining a second time and strongly requesting a new table, we were moved to a booth.

Our dinner was very good, but the experience was a bit ruined due to the "cold table problem".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Rib-eye steak was delicious! Excellent! ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Rib-eye steak was delicious! Excellent! Wine selection was superb.

The interior is extremely dated. Could use an interiors update, yet maintain the New Mexican western elegance. Floral print booth fabric should be replaced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Great atmosphere and service. Salmon was ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Salmon was great and my husband was pleased with filet he enjoyed. The wine and dessert were notable. Will definitely return and recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very fancy and awesome service. Worth th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very fancy and awesome service. Worth the money but definitely high end.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. We were gre ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent service and food. We were greeted promptly and pleasantly when we first arrived. We received wonderful attention throughout the meal. The food was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Ranchers Club is our favorite speci ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The Ranchers Club is our favorite special occasion restaurant. The food is always delicious and the service is attentive. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Last 2 times not good, gave 1 more chanc ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Last 2 times not good, gave 1 more chance, excellent. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a wonderful meal for our first ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was a wonderful meal for our first anniversary. We were a little worried at first; The hostess's station is outside the restaurant in the hallway and there was no-one there. So we walked in and there is a great bar/sitting area with a piano. To the right is another doorway and short stairwell into the dining room. However we waited for several minutes for anyone to talk to us. The bartender noticed us and a waiter had as well, but the hostess was busy prepping for a big table. Once we were noticed, everything was wonderful. The food, the waiter that noticed us before was our waiter and was wonderful, atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service. You can hear each other t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service. You can hear each other talk. Wait staff not intrusive, just right. Nice wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, the drinks excellent, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was good, the drinks excellent, and the waitress solid. The hostess was TERRIBLE and started our experience off with a sour note.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food. steaks were cooked over a woo ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good food. steaks were cooked over a wood fire. I asked for Blu but it was closer to mid rare for my rib eye. not a deal breaker but i wanted extremely rare. great Filet Mignon like cutting butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the prime rib and stuffed salmon ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had the prime rib and stuffed salmon with asparagus and green beans and shrimp cocktail. The asparagus was so fresh it seemed to be immediately pulled out of the ground. Even people who think they don't like asparagus would like their asparagus. The prime rib was as soft as butter and juicy-delicious. The salmon stuffed with crab was incredible. We had the restaurant to ourselves the service was very attentive and the atmosphere was romantic. This is a restaurant to take a date to impress her. You better have money though, it is expensive and worth it.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and atmosphere was more than exp ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service and atmosphere was more than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We liked this place a lot but something ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We liked this place a lot but something was very off on this night. From the transaction dispute that occurred at another table that was evident to the rest of the place it was far from a memorable experience.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The service was so slow. For three of u ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service was so slow. For three of us, it took three hours! One in my party ordered the rack of lamb, and twenty minutes later we were told the restaurant didn't offer rack of lamb. We asked for a menu and pointed it out. Ten minutes later the server stopped by again to say they didn't have any lamb, "what else would you like?" The steaks were good, the wine recommend not so good. The meal arrived with hot baked potato's and steamed green beans, hot rolls. Desert was cheesecake with sauce, pretty good. It was an early dinner, so the noise level was low, the ambiance is in need of a remodel, something that would appeal to a non rancher. No more cow hair chairs. My Grandparents would have loved this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

A truly wonderful and delicious Thanksgi ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

A truly wonderful and delicious Thanksgiving dinner experience for my wife and me! The roast turkey meal was exceptional in every way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we had dinner on thanksgiving night beca ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

we had dinner on thanksgiving night because my son had to work - there were only 3 entree choices - turkey, pork or tuna - how can they call themselves the Ranchers Club when there was no beef on the menu? very disappointing - ended up spending a lot of money for something none of us wanted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Worst Thanksgiving dinner ever. Website ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Worst Thanksgiving dinner ever. Website lied. No regular entrees. Special entrees were terrible. And horribly over-priced. Management did not care at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Poor Thanksgiving menu. No warning to re ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Poor Thanksgiving menu. No warning to repeat customers menu had been changed. Website showed old menu. When this was raised w manager we were told If we had looked on their Facebook page we would have seen the menu had changed! So, why do they bother to have a website?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.