Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.28mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi
  1. Distance: 1.28mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.28mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi
  1. Distance: 1.28mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

About Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch

Folks in Grand County know that if it's a special occasion, there's really only one place to go. Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch sits rather unpretentiously on the edge of a sweeping meadow with the Continental Divide above, and worn hardwood floors below. You see, it's located in the original homestead that was built on the Ranch in the 1930s. We like to think that when those early pioneers picked the spot for their home, it was chosen for it's magnificient views - elk and moose wander by, the stars blanket the sky like you'll never see in a city. We also like to think that those early Ranchers knew a thing or two about eating well. And we carry on the tradition with style at Ranch House Restaurant. We serve New American Mountain Cuisine here - which means real food, cooked with real ingredients. Organic and locally grown whenever we can. Always fresh, always delicious.

3530 County Road 83
Tabernash, CO 80478
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm Wednesdays through Sundays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 726-7002

Website:
http://www.devilsthumbranch.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special events from 2 to 180 persons. Various spaces available including private wine cellar, meeting rooms with views and large conference area with views.

Specials

Ranch House Restaurant Social Hour

Wednesdays - Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Ranch House Restaurant Social Hour

Wednesdays - Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Toast the day or week with a special saloon menu of small/shared plates and drink specials. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 7, 2017 - Sep 28, 2017 on Wednesdays - Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Scenic View (16)
Worth the Drive (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Romantic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Well worth the drive to dine at this unique restaurant in a unique location. We watched a guest at the lodge say goodbye to the horses she had apparently ridden during her stay - wearing her bathrobe! Food was good & the cocktails were special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was superb as was the conversation we had with Seanne. I would absolutely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Terrible service. Started off well then our server forgot about us. Never even asked if we wanted a drink with dinner. We wanted dessert but got so tired of waiting and left. Unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

This is where my husband andI celebrate our anniversary every year. I thought the stuffed trout was the best trout I've ever eaten. It's always a very pleasant and romantic place to eat. Thank you for being there and your great food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Sean, Sarah and "Ms Kentucky" were absolutely superb!!!! Wonderful experience!!! Thank you!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food was wonderful and our server Jeff was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The stuffed trout on wild rice was excellent . The homemade bread is the best of any place we have been. Service and views amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

The crab/avocado appetizer and the scallop entree were wonderful. Chicken and lamb were very good.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great for our anniversary celebration. This is for us another visit to Devil's Thumb Ranch House and we have yet to be disappointed, everything was great !!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good steak, but over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fabulous dinner, amazing scenery, first class service. Five stars!
Nataliegh, our waitress was exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

8/3/17 very delicious dinner in a relaxed atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Stars marked reflect our experience....A very noisy large group made table wide conversation difficult...in all other respects a GREAT experience...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Everything was lovely. The ambience is fantastic; service polite & friendly; food incredible!! This was the best trout dish I've ever had & my husband raved about the elk tenderloin. We won't wait so long before returning!!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great place. Don't be in a big hurry when you eat here. Enjoy the ambience and your company! Not a fast food restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We've been going to this restaurant for years to celebrate our anniversary. This year was a real let-down from our prior experiences. In the past, we've always found the food to be outstanding, with a great combination of ingredients and flavors. The presentation has always been high class chef quality. However, this year neither my wife or I were impressed with either the quality of the meal or the presentation.

Getting an average meal for a high dollar price isn't something we're willing to do again. Next year we'll look for another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our dinner here was truly a memorable dining experience. The menu, the service and the ambience were all outstanding. This is an expensive venue, but well worth the splurge for that special occasion. The unique mountain ranch setting make this restaurant distinctive from many others, but the exemplary food and wine list are outstanding features as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

What a wonderful couple of evenings having dinner here. Jeff our waiter was outstanding and the food was fresh, relatively light, and lots of interesting flavors, textures and color. Hubby had the lamb and the bison, I had the scallops and lamb. Both were outstanding. The spinach salad is a standout as far as I'm concerned...and ah the pineapple cake...wonderful. The real star is the stunning view across the valley...a not to miss at sunset. We'll be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Ranch House is consistently a great place for dinner. We have gone there for special occasions for several years. It never disappoints.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Everything was wonderful. It seems like the wait staff are trained to swoop in and remove food dishes at the first sign someone has stopped eating. We had to ask multiple waitstaff to leave plates that still had food and sauce on them. This happened to the point that it was laughable. Someone should address this in training.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

An amazing place to have dinner! The view was wonderful and the service is out of this world.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food and service were both absolutely amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Wow! Dinner at Ranch House was spectacular. First, the dining room is comfortable and nicely appointed and the view of the ranch is outstanding. We ate late and there was no crowd. The waitstaff was courteous and very knowledgeable about the menu. Dinner was well paced between the charcuterie appetizer with house made everything (compote, cheese, meats); beet tasting plate; Colorado trout and elk tenderloin main course; homemade chocolate ice cream for dessert.
The chef is committed to sustainability in his food choices and uses local foods when possible.
The commitment to detail in service, presentation and preparation shines through everything and everyone there. Chef even came to our table to say hello and talk about his food.
It was a dark, stormy night and the staff even offered to escort us to our car using their cell phone flashlights.
Very expensive but worth every penny for a special night out.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Can't say enough good things! Our serve Sean absolutely made our night. She was so kind, welcoming and attentive. The spectacular views just put everything over the top and although it would be hard to do for most, the food was just as lovely.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Outstanding!!!!! .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great dinner with my nephew Jake after skiiing. Anything on the menu may be prepared to your special requirements. Fantastic.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful dinner spot. Creative first rate menu. I had the elk and it was A+++.

Service matched the food.

Great dinner; great evening

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Tres bon restaurant `à proximité de la station de ski de Winterpark. Restaurant au coin du feu dans un chalet en bois, tres cosy. La cuisine est parfaite, inventive et le boeuf Wagyu est excellent,

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our dinner was excellent - the lamb and the beef dishes were the best! The atmosphere and service were perfect - not pretentious like some higher-priced restaurants. The wait staff, who were from a variety of countries, were friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great restaurant. We having been going to the Ranch House for 10 years. All were memorable dining experiences,

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had an absolutely fabulous meal. I met a local resident on the ski lift at Winter Park who recommended Devil's Thumb, and I'm glad he did. One of our party who has traveled and dined extensively commented that it was probably the best meal she had ever enjoyed. I would highly recommend the local Wagyu ribeye. The service was attentive without being overbearing and the ambience was lovely. In fact, we explored a bit more of this beautiful resort after dinner. It was well worth the drive out of town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding atmosphere, service and food. A real gem with windows offering mountain views. Knowledgeable and helpful staff. Featuring local and healthy foods prepared perfectly and creatively. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Such a spectacular venue! Even on a bone-chilling night in mid-January, the drive from Winter Park and back was fine. Wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food at the Ranch House Restaurant was exquisite - interesting flavors and combinations but not overly contrived or too complicated. The presentations were beautiful. The beet tasting small plate was fabulous as were our main courses of lamb and trout. The finale was a flourless chocolate torte with cranberry compote - AMAZING! Even my decaf coffee was delicious. Our servers were all lovely and informative without being pushy. It was truly a memorable meal and this restaurant is a reason, alone, to return to Devil's Thumb Ranch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was a holiday celebration. Our daughter was visiting for the first time in several years and we wanted to find a special place for dinner. This was it. An historic log cabin from the 1930's. Very cozy and well appointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Restaurant is hard to find. Two different hotel staff members gave us wrong directions from main building. Another just admitted she had no idea. One we found it, service was impossibly slow. Was over an hour from the time we were seated to when our entrees arrived. Literally had to complain to manager (who was very responsive) before we could get any service. Bad experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had an exceptional evening at the Ranch House. The food variety and quality was perfect for our family. The servers were attentive, knowledgeable, and engaged. Our best meal of 2016!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My fiance and I had 5:00 pm reservations and were fortunate enough to have the restaurant to ourselves . We were given a wonderful table by the window with a view of the mountains. Service was wonderful overall as well as the food. My fiance had the butternut squash ravioli and I had the filet. She loved her and mine was good as well but at $14 an ounce, just too expensive. It was a special occasion for us and was very nice overall.

We had one bad experience with our server. My fiance ordered the butternut squash ravioli and they gave her a butternut bisque. We don't eat at fancy restaurants often to so we assumed that was her meal. She ate about 1/3 of it and our server returned and we asked and she said that my fiance ordered the butternut squash bisque and not ravioli so that's why she received the bisque. We are both 90% confident she ordered the ravioli but the server insisted she said the bisque.....arguing with the customer is not my idea of good customer service. The server went and had the ravioli made which was delicious; however, we were still charged for the bisque and ravioli. I didn't argue it as it was a special occasion for us and I didn't want to ruin the moment but that experience left a very bad taste in our mouths.

Will we be back? Maybe on another anniversary special occasion waaaay down the road, but paying $70 for 5 ounces of filet is not something I plan on doing again. I'll stick with Outback as it's nearly as good for 1/3 the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Cozy restaurant with accommodating staff. We especially enjoyed the abalone appetizer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.