About Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch

3530 County Road 83
Tabernash, CO 80478
View Larger Map

Folks in Grand County know that if it's a special occasion, there's really only one place to go. Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch sits rather unpretentiously on the edge of a sweeping meadow with the Continental Divide above, and worn hardwood floors below. You see, it's located in the original homestead that was built on the Ranch in the 1930s. We like to think that when those early pioneers picked the spot for their home, it was chosen for it's magnificient views - elk and moose wander by, the stars blanket the sky like you'll never see in a city. We also like to think that those early Ranchers knew a thing or two about eating well. And we carry on the tradition with style at Ranch House Restaurant. We serve New American Mountain Cuisine here - which means real food, cooked with real ingredients. Organic and locally grown whenever we can. Always fresh, always delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm Wednesdays through Sundays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 726-7002

Website:
http://www.devilsthumbranch.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special events from 2 to 180 persons. Various spaces available including private wine cellar, meeting rooms with views and large conference area with views.

Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Mountains
Romantic
Mountains
Scenic View
Mountains
1 More
Special Occasion
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Tabernash / Granby ›

special occasion (22)
scenic view (19)
romantic (18)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
notable wine list (13)
good for groups (6)
 (2)
great for brunch (2)
 (2)
 (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for lunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful to behold.

Dined on May 20, 2016

Outstanding views, and the food is almost up to the competition from the views. Almost, but not quite. Still an excellent choice for a fancy dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Love this restaurant.

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We took some friends here for the first time and they loved everything about the place; views, service and food. We look forward to coming back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

beyond the muse & truffle dessert

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is just okay. Chix/mushroom risotto is nothing special. While the pork chop was great, the pear/chutney would be better warm. And the bread - needs improvement as it tastes old.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a very special place to go. Ever ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

This is a very special place to go. Everything about it was wonderful. Would love to go again in the daytime to see more of the property.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just amazing

Dined on March 3, 2016

Everything was delicious. Service was great. Definitely recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review of Ranch House restaurant

Dined on February 25, 2016

We invited friends to join us at Devils Thumb Ranch for a few days. We made reservations to the Ranch House restaurant and everyone was very complimentary about the food, venue and cost. Thanks for the great evening Ranch House!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Dinner

Dined on February 21, 2016

Wife and I had a great dinner, would definitely go out of our way to come back again. At first I thought the steak pricing was a bit ridiculous (compared to other fine steak houses), but once I had a bite I stopped complaining. The Elk was another stand out favorite. Best I have had. Unique setting and excellent food, should be on everyone's list for a fine dining spot when in the Winter Park/Fraser area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This is the fourth time that we dine the ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

This is the fourth time that we dine there. The service was, as always, exceptional. The food was OK but fell short of our expectations based on previous visits

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

HAD A GREAT EVENING!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great evening at the Ranch House Restaurant. Our server was awesome and we received excellent wine recommendations from the manager. The pre dinner cocktails by the fire were great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Restaurant Experience in Winter Park

Dined on February 11, 2016

Devil's Thumb restaurant I believe is the best in the Winter Park area. Beautiful setting and decor is perfect. Wednesday is half price wine day which makes this slightly more affordable. Cost is probably around $200 a couple. Steak is a specialty but at $12 to $14 an ounce it is very expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Hit or Miss

Dined on February 8, 2016

I ordered the chef's tasting menu and only half of it was good. The first course of wagyu carpaccio was delicious and the beet sampler was the star of the line-up. However, the bacon wrapped elk came with uncrisp and undercooked bacon and raw gnocchi. The dessert of goat cheese cheesecake was overpowered by a cherry sauce that did not go well with the dish. The wine pairings were average, nothing to write home about. The service was above average but I wouldn't go back for the food. Visited February 2016

food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Side dish nightmare

Dined on January 31, 2016

My wife side dishes were inedible. The squash had a chemical bitter taste and the sautéed greens were too salty. Both were sent back to the kitchen and waitress brought 2 different side dishes that were better. The short ribs were too well done and crispy. This will be our last time to eat at this restaurant. Wait service was excellent but the food was not well prepared.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wine Down Wednesday

Dined on January 14, 2016

Great deal on nice wines, also tasting menu was enjoyable. Noise level a bit higher than usual due to a large party with children. Nice treat in an area with limited foodie options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our Favorite Restaurant in Colorado

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We discovered this restaurant while staying at Devils Thumb Ranch and we return here even when we are not staying at DTR. They are so accommodating and the food and experience are spectacular. The trout and the elk are amazing. We share a tasting menu and add an entrée and salad or app. Goat cheese cheesecake is so yummy! I cannot recommend this place enough. It is fantastic for romantic special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

good but improvements need to be made

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

The arugula side salad was quite large and the thick stems should be trimmed back. Ordered a 3 oz piece of the wagyu beef med+ and it came very rare. Bread could be better (2nd day we were there it wasn't fresh). The squash soup was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Over all this is an outstanding restaurant

Dined on January 3, 2016

Outstanding food and service. My only concern is that for a steak at $14.00 per ounce (three oz minimum, I splurged and had four oz) you should get more than a salad consisting of arugula only and shoe string fries (great fries by the way but not appropriate for a $59 steak) on the same plate. I would suggest a salad with tomatoes, onion, and croutons - maybe plated separately or not. A potato of some sort with a vegetable to provide some texture and variety. My wife had the lamb, beautifully prepared but the portion left her still hungry. The Wagyu beef was exceptional tasting and perfectly prepared. If you come with an appetite you will leave still hungry. I appreciate small plates but this struck us as skimping. Daughter had the Wagyu burger with the shoe string fires which is appropriate and unbelievably great even at $25. The wine selection by the glass was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Rustic, upscale and the best family-styl ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Rustic, upscale and the best family-style ribeye ever. Wow...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top four meals of my life

Dined on December 29, 2015

One of the top four meals of my life - it was simply amazing. Great service, amazing food, and lovely cocktails!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Fabulous food, elegant rustic decor, and great service in a beautiful mountain setting! From the moment one drives up to Devil's Thumb Ranch, viewing the multitude of illuminated trees, until the last chocolate truffle is eaten, everything is perfect!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Dining Experience

Dined on December 29, 2015

We spent a few nights at Devils Thumb Ranch and had a very enjoyable dinner at The Ranch House Restaurant. They serve Wagyu Beef that they raise on the Ranch. My wife ordered the Filet Minon, it was a the best Filet Minon I had ever had. It was perfectly charred on the outside, cooked to the perfect Medium Rare on the inside and had great flavor. It was odd to pay so much for a perfect steak that had as sides shoe string fried Potatoes and a side of Arugula. It should have been paired with something that matches the quality of the steak closer. I had the four course meal with Bacon Wrapped Elk that was excellent. The beet assortment was very good as well and topped off with a goat cheese cake. It was a great dining experience. They also have a nice Bourbon selection. If you ask, they have some bottles that are on allocation and not found very often. I look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas dinner

Dined on December 26, 2015

We enjoyed a prix fixe dinner Christmas night. I am fairly picky and I have to say this was one of the best meals I'd ever had, start to finish, from a wonderful amuse bouche to scallop appetizer to prime rib to salted caramel chocolate cheesecake. The wine and liquor menu gives you lots of options. We enjoyed a drink at the bar both before and after dinner while listening to a father and son playing guitar and sax. Our server was personable and very responsive. We couldn't have had a better experience and will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointing

Dined on December 24, 2015

We got engaged at the Ranch House 8 yrs ago and it was so wonderful that we came back to celebrate our engagement and our daughter's bday again. The waitstaff was attentive and were wonderful to our daughter however it was wine down Weds with a prix fix menu option with 1/2 priced wines...which we choose to do---the food was such a disappointment! Unfortunately it was not the food experience we hoped for nor remembered.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

Dined on December 24, 2015

We always enjoy the Ranch House. It is a special treat once a year or so. Delicious food, good service, and inventive presentations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

5 Stars but pricey

Dined on November 29, 2015

Pricey, rustic, fabulous food! Service was great. Excellent wine and spirits list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

disappointing

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

Last couple of times at Devil's Thumb have been a disappointment. Don't mind the price when the food is good, but cold turkey dinner for $59.00 a person, just expect much better...

food5
ambience5
service5

service and food excellent, unique dishes,

Dined on November 23, 2015

food was very fresh and perfectly prepared. We sampled a variety of dishes and wine and were completely satisfied with our food and drink. The staff was personable, knowledgeable and efficient. It was a lovely evening

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service1

Great setting - terrible service & food

Dined on November 22, 2015

I eat at this restaurant a few times a year and this experience was the worse yet. The service was terrible and " there was nothing I put in my mouth I liked" as my friend and wife mentioned after dinner. Devils thumb ranch also owns Valorios in WinterPark and our last meal there was great. We figured the more upscale Ranch Resturant would be outstanding. We were wrong.

food5
ambience4
service1

The food was excellent. Wait service was bad.

Dined on November 19, 2015

We were very pleased with the food. the service was horrible. The waitress seemed to get lost and would come back if some one reminded her. There were only four tables occupied at the time. One table was obviously employees that were catered to over the top. All the staff stopped there and made sure everything was perfect for them. Kind of upsetting for the cost of the meal and expectation of good service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The best food and service that I have ha ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

The best food and service that I have had in grand county.

food5
ambience5
service4

Top 10 Feast of all Time

Dined on October 25, 2015

Order the taster menu and let Chef Daniel L. take you on an adventure. Truly exceptional integration of flavors delicately combined to compliment the subtleties of each element. The wines were well paired to round out one of the best meals I've had in memory.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding from Start to Finish

Dined on October 17, 2015

This was my second time dining here. It was a special occasion and I had the same server, Shawn who I remember made the whole experience extra special. She was patient, friendly and answered our questions about the menu. She went out of her way to make sure we received everything we wanted and more. The room was pretty quiet, which made conversation easy. The food was outstanding. We loved meeting the chef, who gave us a little background on some of our dishes. Everything was delicious. I loved the trout and the elk loin, which was far from the gamey taste I had remembered elk to be. It was so tender. The complimentary prosecco at the end of the meal was the icing on the cake. I love coming to the Ranch House and hope to see Shawn again who makes it all that much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Be ready to spend $$$!!!

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Salads were mediocre at best. Entree was quite delicious. I had the Colorado Elk and I must say it was extremely good! My only displeasure was the way they pretty much force you into a fixed price meal which was massively over priced! My wife, son, and I enjoyed our meal, but we will not be returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

A little mixed, but overall very nice

vip
Dined on September 28, 2015

The service was outstanding. I'd like to give a shout-out to Seanne, who was terrific and honest about the strengths and weaknesses of the food. My husband had the pork chop and said it was the best he'd ever had. The chef was a bit too enthusiastic about telling us and our neighboring table about his processes in cooking. One funny thing: I had the "Deconstructed Peach Cobbler", which was definitely deconstructed and the pastry part was not cobbler, but rather a bit of cake. The chef stopped by and said that it was important to have each element presented on the plate in every bite. So why deconstruct it? I would definitely have preferred a good cobbler. Sometimes a chef will overthink and spoil a perfectly good traditional food. They're traditional because they're so darned good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Devil's Thumb Resort - Ranch House Restaurant

Dined on September 14, 2015

Prices have increased a lot this year with the new menu. Food was good in previous years and has improved this year. There are not too many fine dining choices near Winter Park and Granby/Grand Lake so if you want inventive high-end cooking this is one of the few games in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Wine Down Wednesday!

vip
Dined on September 10, 2015

Their 50% wines by the glass or bottle on Wednesdays is a delightful treat especially when paired with their FABULOUS Prix Fixe menu! It is so much fun to choose your 3 or 4 courses from an incredible selection. The Elk is to die for as is the heirloom tomatoe and charred corn salad. Desserts are creative and perfectly sized for the finale to an amazing meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As Good As It Gets

Dined on September 6, 2015

Ranch House has been our favorite for food, service and ambience for over 15 years. However, in the past 5 years, the new owners have invested substantially in everything from new buildings and grounds, to cutting edge food & beverage, to sustainability. Ranch House food, wine, and spirits has reached a pinnacle and always features seasonal fresh ingredients, including delicious Wagyu beef, local produce and herbs, and great pairings. The wine and new spirits list is tremendous. Views of the Continental Divide all seasons are spectacular. It doesn't get any better in the Mountain West, if not nationally.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Anniversary Date Night Dinner at Ranch House

Dined on September 6, 2015

The views are wonderful, and magnificent as the food. The chief,and manager we encreitably kind men. They truly cared about their positions, and it showed. Our waitress that evening was on point as well as her assistants. It was so good we made reservations to come back the next day for dinner. Next day, On our way being seated by the manager again we passed the chief, he remembered us, and it was nice to have a few minute discussion on what he recommended for the evening. They can make many things vegetarian by the way.. you cant go wrong with anything you order!!!- so very good. The next day we had different waitress and assistance's. The waitress was not up to pair, and her assistance out shined her abilities. Yet still the manager and chief did superbly and made sure we were happy and taken care of even though the waitress seemed to be doing everything but her job. Thank goodness for one one bad egg and not the whole dozen.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Bacon. Wrapped. Elk.

Dined on September 3, 2015

I could write paragraph upon paragraph praising the food and service at Ranch House... about how the wait staff were attentive without being intrusive, about how they were willing to go out of their way to accommodate a vegetarian entree, about how the chef came out to chat with us and remembered us as we were leaving. But really, the only thing my girlfriend talked about for 2 solid days after the meal was her entrée... the Bacon. Wrapped. Elk. All of the food was amazing. The view of the ranch cannot be beat. The service was excellent. But the Bacon Wrapped Elk stole the show. And I didn't even eat it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Joansa

Dined on September 3, 2015

We went to Devil's Thumb Resort for our 54th wedding anniversary and had dinner at the Ranch House Restaurant. The Manager brought over 2 glasses of champagne as we were seated. Our waiter Bob couldn't be more attentive (or amusing). My wife is a diabetic and has to be careful about what she eats. Bob asked Chef Daniel Linza to come out and review the menu with us. Daniel spent quite a bit of time with us, advising what might be most appropriate for my wife. We had a delicious dinner since Bob and Daniel were our culinary experts! Bob made an excellent recommendation for the red wine we ordered. Following dinner Bob, Daniel, and the Manager brought out a wonderful complimentary dessert to top off out evening. (Because of my wife's diabetes, she only could taste a sampling of the dessert, but I enjoyed it immensely)!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

dean

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

Had reservation and was seated at bad table with no view. Ask for another table and was given some lip about all reserved. After being reseated noticed that all tables never filled.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.