About Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch

3530 County Road 83
Tabernash, CO 80478
View Larger Map

Folks in Grand County know that if it's a special occasion, there's really only one place to go. Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch sits rather unpretentiously on the edge of a sweeping meadow with the Continental Divide above, and worn hardwood floors below. You see, it's located in the original homestead that was built on the Ranch in the 1930s. We like to think that when those early pioneers picked the spot for their home, it was chosen for it's magnificient views - elk and moose wander by, the stars blanket the sky like you'll never see in a city. We also like to think that those early Ranchers knew a thing or two about eating well. And we carry on the tradition with style at Ranch House Restaurant. We serve New American Mountain Cuisine here - which means real food, cooked with real ingredients. Organic and locally grown whenever we can. Always fresh, always delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm Wednesdays through Sundays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 726-7002

Website:
http://www.devilsthumbranch.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special events from 2 to 180 persons. Various spaces available including private wine cellar, meeting rooms with views and large conference area with views.

Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

5.0

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Denver / Colorado
American
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Mountains
8 More
Best Ambiance
Mountains
Best Value
Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Mountains
Notable Wine List
Mountains
Romantic
Mountains
Scenic View
Mountains
Special Occasion
Mountains
American
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Tabernash / Granby ›

Scenic View (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely setting and view. Generally very ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely setting and view. Generally very good food with lots of flavor and a lovely presentation. Tomato and goat cheese salad, trout, lamb, and fixed price menu meals were excellent. Beef short ribs were dry. Wagyu beef was so expensive at $12 to $14 per ounce with a 5 ounce minimum that no one ordered it. Also why not just say 5 oz filet, $70. ($14 per additional ounce). Service was friendly, leisurely, and attentive but staff need to watch that water glasses are frequently refilled for those only having water with their meal or who are trying to deal with the altitude. Biggest problem overall: it was very expensive at over $100 per person.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

Shawn is always an excellent server and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Shawn is always an excellent server and makes every effort to make the dining experience unique and memorable. Perfect setting and exceptional food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding evening in a beautiful setti ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding evening in a beautiful setting. The tasting menu was complimented well by the wine pairings. We will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is absolutely spectacular! Pric ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The food is absolutely spectacular! Pricey, but worth it. Salad was a very unique combination. The ribeye melted in your mouth. Very tasty deserts. And you cannot beat the beautiful views. Lovely experience.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food is excellent and the view is sp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is excellent and the view is spectacular. To start there is a great selection of whiskey, bourbon, rye, and scotch. The menu includes many local seasonal items. Our group had an assortment of appetizers, five for the four of us. The Charcuterie Platter is a standout among giants. The only negative was that our party was four and the platter only had some items in quantities of three. The main courses were delicious. The meats were cooked perfect and the composition great. I really can't say enough good things about the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb dinner and fabulous service! A w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Superb dinner and fabulous service! A wonderful venue and ambiance for a relaxing easy dinner. Salads, entrees and deserts are truly special.

Sean was our server and she is absolutely superior - the best service! Thank you. Alan & Linda

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What needs to be said. A GREAT meal !! ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

What needs to be said. A GREAT meal !!!!!

Service, food and ambiance was great. Very enjoyable dinner to celebrate our anniversary and a birthday. Anthony was a gem of a host.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always. We usually come o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding as always. We usually come once each time we visit Grand County (1-2 times yearly).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely poor service. There were long ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Extremely poor service. There were long delays between courses. When our main courses finally arrived, food was dried out. I assume this was from our meals sitting under a warming lamp for a long time before our waitress brought them out to us. After our meals were served, our waitress never checked back to see how our meals tasted.

We barely ate our main courses. When a bus girl came to take away our plates; we told her how dissatisfied we were. To his credit, the manager came to our table immediately and "comped" our main courses and glass of wine. This was nice gesture, but our evening was still a huge disappointment. We had a terrible evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

A perfect dining experience starting wit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A perfect dining experience starting with the beautiful scenery of the Rocky Mountains and homestead ranch. Amazing and unique menu selections for entrée, salads, main course, and dessert. The local ranch-raised Wagyu beef is one of the best you will eat. This is our go to place to eat whenever we are near the Winter Park area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and ambience. Wednesday spe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Amazing food and ambience. Wednesday special menu and wine list 50% makes it even better. Highly recomendo for a special occassio

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The view and food was very good. A nice ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The view and food was very good. A nice place for a special occasion. The Elk was

wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An absolutely wonderful experience! The ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

An absolutely wonderful experience! The setting, food, service...everything so well done. We tried the Field and Stream tasting menu with wine pairing - every course was fabulous. The entire evening was relaxed. We left feeling sated (not stuffed) and well cared for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here occasionally. The food and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We eat here occasionally. The food and service are always excellent. Great for a special occasion, as there are not many restaurants in this area that combine excellent food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an amazing night. I went there to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

It was an amazing night. I went there to celebrate my birthday and they made sure I had a very special time. The food was amazing. I recommend the blood orange cheesecake it was delicious. They also brought chocolate plate over for my birthday. It was some of the best chocolate I've ever tried.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time at the Ranch, very enjoyable!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We both adore the Ranch, it's a very romantic place, away from the busy city. We both enjoy a peaceful and quite secluded location...where we can relish in the outdoors! The restaurant compliments the occasion with a magnificent meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat is heavenly, service attentive, ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The meat is heavenly, service attentive, and great ambiance. A very special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful to behold.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Outstanding views, and the food is almost up to the competition from the views. Almost, but not quite. Still an excellent choice for a fancy dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We took some friends here for the first time and they loved everything about the place; views, service and food. We look forward to coming back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

beyond the muse & truffle dessert

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is just okay. Chix/mushroom risotto is nothing special. While the pork chop was great, the pear/chutney would be better warm. And the bread - needs improvement as it tastes old.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

This is a very special place to go. Ever ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

This is a very special place to go. Everything about it was wonderful. Would love to go again in the daytime to see more of the property.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just amazing

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Everything was delicious. Service was great. Definitely recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review of Ranch House restaurant

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

We invited friends to join us at Devils Thumb Ranch for a few days. We made reservations to the Ranch House restaurant and everyone was very complimentary about the food, venue and cost. Thanks for the great evening Ranch House!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Wife and I had a great dinner, would definitely go out of our way to come back again. At first I thought the steak pricing was a bit ridiculous (compared to other fine steak houses), but once I had a bite I stopped complaining. The Elk was another stand out favorite. Best I have had. Unique setting and excellent food, should be on everyone's list for a fine dining spot when in the Winter Park/Fraser area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the fourth time that we dine the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This is the fourth time that we dine there. The service was, as always, exceptional. The food was OK but fell short of our expectations based on previous visits

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

HAD A GREAT EVENING!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great evening at the Ranch House Restaurant. Our server was awesome and we received excellent wine recommendations from the manager. The pre dinner cocktails by the fire were great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant Experience in Winter Park

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Devil's Thumb restaurant I believe is the best in the Winter Park area. Beautiful setting and decor is perfect. Wednesday is half price wine day which makes this slightly more affordable. Cost is probably around $200 a couple. Steak is a specialty but at $12 to $14 an ounce it is very expensive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hit or Miss

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

I ordered the chef's tasting menu and only half of it was good. The first course of wagyu carpaccio was delicious and the beet sampler was the star of the line-up. However, the bacon wrapped elk came with uncrisp and undercooked bacon and raw gnocchi. The dessert of goat cheese cheesecake was overpowered by a cherry sauce that did not go well with the dish. The wine pairings were average, nothing to write home about. The service was above average but I wouldn't go back for the food.

Visited February 2016

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Side dish nightmare

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

My wife side dishes were inedible. The squash had a chemical bitter taste and the sautéed greens were too salty. Both were sent back to the kitchen and waitress brought 2 different side dishes that were better. The short ribs were too well done and crispy. This will be our last time to eat at this restaurant. Wait service was excellent but the food was not well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Wine Down Wednesday

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Great deal on nice wines, also tasting menu was enjoyable. Noise level a bit higher than usual due to a large party with children. Nice treat in an area with limited foodie options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our Favorite Restaurant in Colorado

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We discovered this restaurant while staying at Devils Thumb Ranch and we return here even when we are not staying at DTR. They are so accommodating and the food and experience are spectacular. The trout and the elk are amazing. We share a tasting menu and add an entrée and salad or app. Goat cheese cheesecake is so yummy! I cannot recommend this place enough. It is fantastic for romantic special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

good but improvements need to be made

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

The arugula side salad was quite large and the thick stems should be trimmed back.

Ordered a 3 oz piece of the wagyu beef med+ and it came very rare.

Bread could be better (2nd day we were there it wasn't fresh).

The squash soup was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Over all this is an outstanding restaurant

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Outstanding food and service. My only concern is that for a steak at $14.00 per ounce (three oz minimum, I splurged and had four oz) you should get more than a salad consisting of arugula only and shoe string fries (great fries by the way but not appropriate for a $59 steak) on the same plate. I would suggest a salad with tomatoes, onion, and croutons - maybe plated separately or not. A potato of some sort with a vegetable to provide some texture and variety. My wife had the lamb, beautifully prepared but the portion left her still hungry. The Wagyu beef was exceptional tasting and perfectly prepared. If you come with an appetite you will leave still hungry. I appreciate small plates but this struck us as skimping. Daughter had the Wagyu burger with the shoe string fires which is appropriate and unbelievably great even at $25. The wine selection by the glass was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Rustic, upscale and the best family-styl ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Rustic, upscale and the best family-style ribeye ever. Wow...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the top four meals of my life

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

One of the top four meals of my life - it was simply amazing. Great service, amazing food, and lovely cocktails!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Fabulous food, elegant rustic decor, and great service in a beautiful mountain setting! From the moment one drives up to Devil's Thumb Ranch, viewing the multitude of illuminated trees, until the last chocolate truffle is eaten, everything is perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

We spent a few nights at Devils Thumb Ranch and had a very enjoyable dinner at The Ranch House Restaurant. They serve Wagyu Beef that they raise on the Ranch. My wife ordered the Filet Minon, it was a the best Filet Minon I had ever had. It was perfectly charred on the outside, cooked to the perfect Medium Rare on the inside and had great flavor. It was odd to pay so much for a perfect steak that had as sides shoe string fried Potatoes and a side of Arugula. It should have been paired with something that matches the quality of the steak closer. I had the four course meal with Bacon Wrapped Elk that was excellent. The beet assortment was very good as well and topped off with a goat cheese cake.

It was a great dining experience. They also have a nice Bourbon selection. If you ask, they have some bottles that are on allocation and not found very often.

I look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Christmas dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We enjoyed a prix fixe dinner Christmas night. I am fairly picky and I have to say this was one of the best meals I'd ever had, start to finish, from a wonderful amuse bouche to scallop appetizer to prime rib to salted caramel chocolate cheesecake. The wine and liquor menu gives you lots of options. We enjoyed a drink at the bar both before and after dinner while listening to a father and son playing guitar and sax. Our server was personable and very responsive. We couldn't have had a better experience and will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We got engaged at the Ranch House 8 yrs ago and it was so wonderful that we came back to celebrate our engagement and our daughter's bday again. The waitstaff was attentive and were wonderful to our daughter however it was wine down Weds with a prix fix menu option with 1/2 priced wines...which we choose to do---the food was such a disappointment! Unfortunately it was not the food experience we hoped for nor remembered.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Delicious!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We always enjoy the Ranch House. It is a special treat once a year or so. Delicious food, good service, and inventive presentations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.