About Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch

3530 County Road 83
Tabernash, CO 80478
View Larger Map

Folks in Grand County know that if it's a special occasion, there's really only one place to go. Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch sits rather unpretentiously on the edge of a sweeping meadow with the Continental Divide above, and worn hardwood floors below. You see, it's located in the original homestead that was built on the Ranch in the 1930s. We like to think that when those early pioneers picked the spot for their home, it was chosen for it's magnificient views - elk and moose wander by, the stars blanket the sky like you'll never see in a city. We also like to think that those early Ranchers knew a thing or two about eating well. And we carry on the tradition with style at Ranch House Restaurant. We serve New American Mountain Cuisine here - which means real food, cooked with real ingredients. Organic and locally grown whenever we can. Always fresh, always delicious.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm Wednesdays through Sundays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 726-7002

Website:
http://www.devilsthumbranch.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special events from 2 to 180 persons. Various spaces available including private wine cellar, meeting rooms with views and large conference area with views.

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

A la carte dining with holiday specials and "White Christmas" mountain ambiance. Normal hours of operation and advanced reservations highly recommended.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Choose from Christmas Grand Buffet to ala carte dining at Heck's (children dine for 1/2 price) or special 4-course plated dinner with options and a la carte selections at Ranch House Restaurant. Advanced reservations strongly recommended. Alcohol, taxes and gratuities additional.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

New Year's Eve dining & party with Grand Buffet in High Lonesome Barn 7-10 pm including open bar, champagne and entertainment; Heck's Tavern offering A la Carte dining with specials; Ranch House four-course plated dinner for $72/person. Live band, music, dancing, free entry, open bar 10p-1a

Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Denver / Colorado
Best Ambiance
Mountains
Romantic
Mountains
3 More
Scenic View
Mountains
Special Occasion
Mountains
American
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Tabernash / Granby ›

Special Occasion (14)
Scenic View (14)
Romantic (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Historic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Bar Seating (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Organic (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Ranch House Restaurant has the poten ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Ranch House Restaurant has the potential to be a fine restaurant. My wife and I dined there for Thanksgiving. The food was actually quite inventive, but everything was served about room temperature. Additionally the service does not measure up as a fine restaurant. Given the cost of the meal... $65 per person, the overall experience was lacking. We spent Thanksgiving at Devil's Thumb one year ago, and had a similar experience. The kitchen needs to work on the overall service experience, especially getting food to the table while still hot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Although the meal and decor was great, i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Although the meal and decor was great, it was very expensive. I love that the Wagyu is from cattle from the ranch but it seems like it was pricey considering. My mom sent a bottle of champagne to the table but found the process very challenging. Without alcohol, our bill was over $240 for one appetizer each, wagyu steaks and a dessert each. The meal was great but they definitely capitalize on the market being the only nice restaurant in the resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Although the food wasn't flawless (some ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Although the food wasn't flawless (some under seasoning, dry short ribs), it was still high quality and creative. Cozy atmosphere and attentive service made it feel special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This has been one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 6, 2016

This has been one of our favorite restaurants for many years. This particular evening was not up to par. The pork was good, but the vegetables were cold. There was no vegetarian offering on the menu. The risotto on the tasting menu offered as a substitute entree was OK but was not really prepared as an entrée and was quite bland by itself and really not a good value. It was explained to us that the staff was strung out because of staffing during the low season and this was making them feel overburdened, which in turn made the evening feel unrelaxing to us.

We will be back, but hope for a better evening next time.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We have heard lots of good things about ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We have heard lots of good things about the Ranch House Restaurant, but it did not live up to its reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Restaurant is beautiful with gorgeous vi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Restaurant is beautiful with gorgeous views. Service was good... the food was not. The tartare was the best. The butter lettuce salad was bland. The elk medallions were delicious but the accompanying potato cake and peas were average at best. The worst part was my husband's shortrib which was dry! We'd still do it again just because it's charming and beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great except for the park ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything was great except for the parking. There was a wedding going on, and I had to park quite aways from the restaurant. There was almost no lighting. I got lost getting to my car, and driving to pick up my wife, drove onto a walkway thinking it was a driveway. Damaged my car. Would never eat there again at night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely awesome! Saw this restaurant ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Absolutely awesome! Saw this restaurant on a list named for best ambiance in CO and it didn't disappoint. Great service and beautiful resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wanted an really nice resturant with gre ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Wanted an really nice resturant with great food for our 48th wedding anniversary. The Ranch House filled the bill with a great menu and deliscious food. The views were fantastic, Continental Divide and the Devils thumb. Service was top notch and we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing setting with great views from th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Amazing setting with great views from the dining room. Food was outstanding. Service was wonderful and great wine list.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely setting and view. Generally very ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lovely setting and view. Generally very good food with lots of flavor and a lovely presentation. Tomato and goat cheese salad, trout, lamb, and fixed price menu meals were excellent. Beef short ribs were dry. Wagyu beef was so expensive at $12 to $14 per ounce with a 5 ounce minimum that no one ordered it. Also why not just say 5 oz filet, $70. ($14 per additional ounce). Service was friendly, leisurely, and attentive but staff need to watch that water glasses are frequently refilled for those only having water with their meal or who are trying to deal with the altitude. Biggest problem overall: it was very expensive at over $100 per person.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

Shawn is always an excellent server and ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Shawn is always an excellent server and makes every effort to make the dining experience unique and memorable. Perfect setting and exceptional food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding evening in a beautiful setti ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Outstanding evening in a beautiful setting. The tasting menu was complimented well by the wine pairings. We will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is absolutely spectacular! Pric ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The food is absolutely spectacular! Pricey, but worth it. Salad was a very unique combination. The ribeye melted in your mouth. Very tasty deserts. And you cannot beat the beautiful views. Lovely experience.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Absolutely delicious, great view. We ha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Absolutely delicious, great view. We had the bison tenderloin and trout and was prepared perfectly. Service was on point. It was a perfect evening for mother-daughter special dinner. Many people gave me good reviews of Ranch House prior to our visit and I was not disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is excellent and the view is sp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is excellent and the view is spectacular. To start there is a great selection of whiskey, bourbon, rye, and scotch. The menu includes many local seasonal items. Our group had an assortment of appetizers, five for the four of us. The Charcuterie Platter is a standout among giants. The only negative was that our party was four and the platter only had some items in quantities of three. The main courses were delicious. The meats were cooked perfect and the composition great. I really can't say enough good things about the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb dinner and fabulous service! A w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Superb dinner and fabulous service! A wonderful venue and ambiance for a relaxing easy dinner. Salads, entrees and deserts are truly special.

Sean was our server and she is absolutely superior - the best service! Thank you. Alan & Linda

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What needs to be said. A GREAT meal !! ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 11, 2016

What needs to be said. A GREAT meal !!!!!

Service, food and ambiance was great. Very enjoyable dinner to celebrate our anniversary and a birthday. Anthony was a gem of a host.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always. We usually come o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding as always. We usually come once each time we visit Grand County (1-2 times yearly).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely poor service. There were long ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Extremely poor service. There were long delays between courses. When our main courses finally arrived, food was dried out. I assume this was from our meals sitting under a warming lamp for a long time before our waitress brought them out to us. After our meals were served, our waitress never checked back to see how our meals tasted.

We barely ate our main courses. When a bus girl came to take away our plates; we told her how dissatisfied we were. To his credit, the manager came to our table immediately and "comped" our main courses and glass of wine. This was nice gesture, but our evening was still a huge disappointment. We had a terrible evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

A perfect dining experience starting wit ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

A perfect dining experience starting with the beautiful scenery of the Rocky Mountains and homestead ranch. Amazing and unique menu selections for entrée, salads, main course, and dessert. The local ranch-raised Wagyu beef is one of the best you will eat. This is our go to place to eat whenever we are near the Winter Park area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and ambience. Wednesday spe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Amazing food and ambience. Wednesday special menu and wine list 50% makes it even better. Highly recomendo for a special occassio

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The view and food was very good. A nice ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

The view and food was very good. A nice place for a special occasion. The Elk was

wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An absolutely wonderful experience! The ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

An absolutely wonderful experience! The setting, food, service...everything so well done. We tried the Field and Stream tasting menu with wine pairing - every course was fabulous. The entire evening was relaxed. We left feeling sated (not stuffed) and well cared for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here occasionally. The food and ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We eat here occasionally. The food and service are always excellent. Great for a special occasion, as there are not many restaurants in this area that combine excellent food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an amazing night. I went there to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2016

It was an amazing night. I went there to celebrate my birthday and they made sure I had a very special time. The food was amazing. I recommend the blood orange cheesecake it was delicious. They also brought chocolate plate over for my birthday. It was some of the best chocolate I've ever tried.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second time at the Ranch, very enjoyable!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We both adore the Ranch, it's a very romantic place, away from the busy city. We both enjoy a peaceful and quite secluded location...where we can relish in the outdoors! The restaurant compliments the occasion with a magnificent meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meat is heavenly, service attentive, ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The meat is heavenly, service attentive, and great ambiance. A very special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful to behold.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Outstanding views, and the food is almost up to the competition from the views. Almost, but not quite. Still an excellent choice for a fancy dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant.

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 3, 2016

We took some friends here for the first time and they loved everything about the place; views, service and food. We look forward to coming back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

beyond the muse & truffle dessert

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is just okay. Chix/mushroom risotto is nothing special. While the pork chop was great, the pear/chutney would be better warm. And the bread - needs improvement as it tastes old.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

This is a very special place to go. Ever ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2016

This is a very special place to go. Everything about it was wonderful. Would love to go again in the daytime to see more of the property.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just amazing

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Everything was delicious. Service was great. Definitely recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review of Ranch House restaurant

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2016

We invited friends to join us at Devils Thumb Ranch for a few days. We made reservations to the Ranch House restaurant and everyone was very complimentary about the food, venue and cost. Thanks for the great evening Ranch House!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dinner

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Wife and I had a great dinner, would definitely go out of our way to come back again. At first I thought the steak pricing was a bit ridiculous (compared to other fine steak houses), but once I had a bite I stopped complaining. The Elk was another stand out favorite. Best I have had. Unique setting and excellent food, should be on everyone's list for a fine dining spot when in the Winter Park/Fraser area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the fourth time that we dine the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2016

This is the fourth time that we dine there. The service was, as always, exceptional. The food was OK but fell short of our expectations based on previous visits

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

HAD A GREAT EVENING!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great evening at the Ranch House Restaurant. Our server was awesome and we received excellent wine recommendations from the manager. The pre dinner cocktails by the fire were great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant Experience in Winter Park

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Devil's Thumb restaurant I believe is the best in the Winter Park area. Beautiful setting and decor is perfect. Wednesday is half price wine day which makes this slightly more affordable. Cost is probably around $200 a couple. Steak is a specialty but at $12 to $14 an ounce it is very expensive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hit or Miss

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 8, 2016

I ordered the chef's tasting menu and only half of it was good. The first course of wagyu carpaccio was delicious and the beet sampler was the star of the line-up. However, the bacon wrapped elk came with uncrisp and undercooked bacon and raw gnocchi. The dessert of goat cheese cheesecake was overpowered by a cherry sauce that did not go well with the dish. The wine pairings were average, nothing to write home about. The service was above average but I wouldn't go back for the food.

Visited February 2016

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Side dish nightmare

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 31, 2016

My wife side dishes were inedible. The squash had a chemical bitter taste and the sautéed greens were too salty. Both were sent back to the kitchen and waitress brought 2 different side dishes that were better. The short ribs were too well done and crispy. This will be our last time to eat at this restaurant. Wait service was excellent but the food was not well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.