Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.28mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi
  1. Distance: 1.28mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.28mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi
  1. Distance: 1.28mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.49mi
  4. Distance: 2.63mi

About Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch

Folks in Grand County know that if it's a special occasion, there's really only one place to go. Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch sits rather unpretentiously on the edge of a sweeping meadow with the Continental Divide above, and worn hardwood floors below. You see, it's located in the original homestead that was built on the Ranch in the 1930s. We like to think that when those early pioneers picked the spot for their home, it was chosen for it's magnificient views - elk and moose wander by, the stars blanket the sky like you'll never see in a city. We also like to think that those early Ranchers knew a thing or two about eating well. And we carry on the tradition with style at Ranch House Restaurant. We serve New American Mountain Cuisine here - which means real food, cooked with real ingredients. Organic and locally grown whenever we can. Always fresh, always delicious.

3530 County Road 83
Tabernash, CO 80478
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm Wednesdays through Sundays

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 726-7002

Website:
http://www.devilsthumbranch.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer special events from 2 to 180 persons. Various spaces available including private wine cellar, meeting rooms with views and large conference area with views.

Specials

Ranch House Restaurant Social Hour

Wednesdays - Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Ranch House Restaurant Social Hour

Wednesdays - Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Toast the day or week with a special saloon menu of small/shared plates and drink specials. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 7, 2017 - Sep 28, 2017 on Wednesdays - Sundays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Ranch House Restaurant at Devil's Thumb Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

4.9

ambience

5.0

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Scenic View (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Romantic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Our dinner here was truly a memorable dining experience. The menu, the service and the ambience were all outstanding. This is an expensive venue, but well worth the splurge for that special occasion. The unique mountain ranch setting make this restaurant distinctive from many others, but the exemplary food and wine list are outstanding features as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

What a wonderful couple of evenings having dinner here. Jeff our waiter was outstanding and the food was fresh, relatively light, and lots of interesting flavors, textures and color. Hubby had the lamb and the bison, I had the scallops and lamb. Both were outstanding. The spinach salad is a standout as far as I'm concerned...and ah the pineapple cake...wonderful. The real star is the stunning view across the valley...a not to miss at sunset. We'll be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Ranch House is consistently a great place for dinner. We have gone there for special occasions for several years. It never disappoints.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Everything was wonderful. It seems like the wait staff are trained to swoop in and remove food dishes at the first sign someone has stopped eating. We had to ask multiple waitstaff to leave plates that still had food and sauce on them. This happened to the point that it was laughable. Someone should address this in training.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

An amazing place to have dinner! The view was wonderful and the service is out of this world.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food and service were both absolutely amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Wow! Dinner at Ranch House was spectacular. First, the dining room is comfortable and nicely appointed and the view of the ranch is outstanding. We ate late and there was no crowd. The waitstaff was courteous and very knowledgeable about the menu. Dinner was well paced between the charcuterie appetizer with house made everything (compote, cheese, meats); beet tasting plate; Colorado trout and elk tenderloin main course; homemade chocolate ice cream for dessert.
The chef is committed to sustainability in his food choices and uses local foods when possible.
The commitment to detail in service, presentation and preparation shines through everything and everyone there. Chef even came to our table to say hello and talk about his food.
It was a dark, stormy night and the staff even offered to escort us to our car using their cell phone flashlights.
Very expensive but worth every penny for a special night out.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Can't say enough good things! Our serve Sean absolutely made our night. She was so kind, welcoming and attentive. The spectacular views just put everything over the top and although it would be hard to do for most, the food was just as lovely.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Outstanding!!!!! .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great dinner with my nephew Jake after skiiing. Anything on the menu may be prepared to your special requirements. Fantastic.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful dinner spot. Creative first rate menu. I had the elk and it was A+++.

Service matched the food.

Great dinner; great evening

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Tres bon restaurant `à proximité de la station de ski de Winterpark. Restaurant au coin du feu dans un chalet en bois, tres cosy. La cuisine est parfaite, inventive et le boeuf Wagyu est excellent,

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our dinner was excellent - the lamb and the beef dishes were the best! The atmosphere and service were perfect - not pretentious like some higher-priced restaurants. The wait staff, who were from a variety of countries, were friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great restaurant. We having been going to the Ranch House for 10 years. All were memorable dining experiences,

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had an absolutely fabulous meal. I met a local resident on the ski lift at Winter Park who recommended Devil's Thumb, and I'm glad he did. One of our party who has traveled and dined extensively commented that it was probably the best meal she had ever enjoyed. I would highly recommend the local Wagyu ribeye. The service was attentive without being overbearing and the ambience was lovely. In fact, we explored a bit more of this beautiful resort after dinner. It was well worth the drive out of town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding atmosphere, service and food. A real gem with windows offering mountain views. Knowledgeable and helpful staff. Featuring local and healthy foods prepared perfectly and creatively. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Such a spectacular venue! Even on a bone-chilling night in mid-January, the drive from Winter Park and back was fine. Wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food at the Ranch House Restaurant was exquisite - interesting flavors and combinations but not overly contrived or too complicated. The presentations were beautiful. The beet tasting small plate was fabulous as were our main courses of lamb and trout. The finale was a flourless chocolate torte with cranberry compote - AMAZING! Even my decaf coffee was delicious. Our servers were all lovely and informative without being pushy. It was truly a memorable meal and this restaurant is a reason, alone, to return to Devil's Thumb Ranch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was a holiday celebration. Our daughter was visiting for the first time in several years and we wanted to find a special place for dinner. This was it. An historic log cabin from the 1930's. Very cozy and well appointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Restaurant is hard to find. Two different hotel staff members gave us wrong directions from main building. Another just admitted she had no idea. One we found it, service was impossibly slow. Was over an hour from the time we were seated to when our entrees arrived. Literally had to complain to manager (who was very responsive) before we could get any service. Bad experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had an exceptional evening at the Ranch House. The food variety and quality was perfect for our family. The servers were attentive, knowledgeable, and engaged. Our best meal of 2016!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My fiance and I had 5:00 pm reservations and were fortunate enough to have the restaurant to ourselves . We were given a wonderful table by the window with a view of the mountains. Service was wonderful overall as well as the food. My fiance had the butternut squash ravioli and I had the filet. She loved her and mine was good as well but at $14 an ounce, just too expensive. It was a special occasion for us and was very nice overall.

We had one bad experience with our server. My fiance ordered the butternut squash ravioli and they gave her a butternut bisque. We don't eat at fancy restaurants often to so we assumed that was her meal. She ate about 1/3 of it and our server returned and we asked and she said that my fiance ordered the butternut squash bisque and not ravioli so that's why she received the bisque. We are both 90% confident she ordered the ravioli but the server insisted she said the bisque.....arguing with the customer is not my idea of good customer service. The server went and had the ravioli made which was delicious; however, we were still charged for the bisque and ravioli. I didn't argue it as it was a special occasion for us and I didn't want to ruin the moment but that experience left a very bad taste in our mouths.

Will we be back? Maybe on another anniversary special occasion waaaay down the road, but paying $70 for 5 ounces of filet is not something I plan on doing again. I'll stick with Outback as it's nearly as good for 1/3 the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Cozy restaurant with accommodating staff. We especially enjoyed the abalone appetizer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service and food at ranch house restaurant are always the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Ranch House Restaurant has the potential to be a fine restaurant. My wife and I dined there for Thanksgiving. The food was actually quite inventive, but everything was served about room temperature. Additionally the service does not measure up as a fine restaurant. Given the cost of the meal... $65 per person, the overall experience was lacking. We spent Thanksgiving at Devil's Thumb one year ago, and had a similar experience. The kitchen needs to work on the overall service experience, especially getting food to the table while still hot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Although the meal and decor was great, it was very expensive. I love that the Wagyu is from cattle from the ranch but it seems like it was pricey considering. My mom sent a bottle of champagne to the table but found the process very challenging. Without alcohol, our bill was over $240 for one appetizer each, wagyu steaks and a dessert each. The meal was great but they definitely capitalize on the market being the only nice restaurant in the resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Although the food wasn't flawless (some under seasoning, dry short ribs), it was still high quality and creative. Cozy atmosphere and attentive service made it feel special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 5, 2016

This has been one of our favorite restaurants for many years. This particular evening was not up to par. The pork was good, but the vegetables were cold. There was no vegetarian offering on the menu. The risotto on the tasting menu offered as a substitute entree was OK but was not really prepared as an entrée and was quite bland by itself and really not a good value. It was explained to us that the staff was strung out because of staffing during the low season and this was making them feel overburdened, which in turn made the evening feel unrelaxing to us.

We will be back, but hope for a better evening next time.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We have heard lots of good things about the Ranch House Restaurant, but it did not live up to its reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Restaurant is beautiful with gorgeous views. Service was good... the food was not. The tartare was the best. The butter lettuce salad was bland. The elk medallions were delicious but the accompanying potato cake and peas were average at best. The worst part was my husband's shortrib which was dry! We'd still do it again just because it's charming and beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything was great except for the parking. There was a wedding going on, and I had to park quite aways from the restaurant. There was almost no lighting. I got lost getting to my car, and driving to pick up my wife, drove onto a walkway thinking it was a driveway. Damaged my car. Would never eat there again at night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Absolutely awesome! Saw this restaurant on a list named for best ambiance in CO and it didn't disappoint. Great service and beautiful resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Wanted an really nice resturant with great food for our 48th wedding anniversary. The Ranch House filled the bill with a great menu and deliscious food. The views were fantastic, Continental Divide and the Devils thumb. Service was top notch and we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Amazing setting with great views from the dining room. Food was outstanding. Service was wonderful and great wine list.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Lovely setting and view. Generally very good food with lots of flavor and a lovely presentation. Tomato and goat cheese salad, trout, lamb, and fixed price menu meals were excellent. Beef short ribs were dry. Wagyu beef was so expensive at $12 to $14 per ounce with a 5 ounce minimum that no one ordered it. Also why not just say 5 oz filet, $70. ($14 per additional ounce). Service was friendly, leisurely, and attentive but staff need to watch that water glasses are frequently refilled for those only having water with their meal or who are trying to deal with the altitude. Biggest problem overall: it was very expensive at over $100 per person.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Shawn is always an excellent server and makes every effort to make the dining experience unique and memorable. Perfect setting and exceptional food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Outstanding evening in a beautiful setting. The tasting menu was complimented well by the wine pairings. We will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food is absolutely spectacular! Pricey, but worth it. Salad was a very unique combination. The ribeye melted in your mouth. Very tasty deserts. And you cannot beat the beautiful views. Lovely experience.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.