Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling

The Ram Restaurant & Brewery is the place for fun! Whether the occasion is meeting co-workers for freshly brewed beer after work, a cozy family dinner, or meeting friends for the big game; The Ram will make your event a memorable one! The smartly decorated interior houses a casual, though… sophisticated environment; & there are no dress code requirements.

700 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday & Monday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 520-1222

Website:
http://www.theram.com/

Entertainment:
Monday - Friday 3:00 to 6:00 PM Happy Hour
$3.50 18 oz Ram Craft Drafts
$3.50 House Wine
$3.50 Well cocktails

Brewery tours available upon request!

Catering:
Ram offers many catering options for any type of event. Please call for more details.

Executive Chef:
Chef Diego Rodriguez

Private Party Facilities:
Ram offers multiple private and semi-private event options to accommodate your dining needs. We also have many multimedia options, in house, for business meetings or presentations. Any of our rooms can be modified to fit your party's needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Brainerd: (847) 520-1222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Kids Eat for $1

Special valid Jun 7, 2017 - Oct 7, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Perfect Pair! Burger and a Beer only $10

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Mac and Cheese only $7

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Buy one burger get second half off

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Kids Eat for $1

Special valid Jun 7, 2017 - Oct 7, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Kids Eat for $1 with purchase of adult entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 7, 2017 - Oct 7, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Perfect Pair! Burger and a Beer only $10

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

A Ram Classic Burger and 18 oz Flagship Pint for only $10!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 7, 2017 - Oct 7, 2017 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Mac and Cheese only $7

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Our signature Mac and Cheese with choice of Blackened or Grilled Chicken only $7! Reg price $13.50. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 7, 2017 - Oct 7, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Buy one burger get second half off

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Buy One Burger and Get the Second Burger Half Off!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 7, 2017 - Oct 7, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

3.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
See All
Great Beer (5)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Live Sports (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

I was excited to try Ram... it was my mom's birthday and i noted that in the reservation as well as confirmed upon arrival.. they did nothing to celebrate it.. I ordered a specialty drink.. while I admit I changed it a little it tasted and smelled like grapefruit juice...which i did not order and was not in the description... when i asked the waitress she stated the bar didn't even have grapefruit juice.. really??
The food was uninspired .. the turkey and havarti would have had more zing on sourdough and the cheese mashed potatoes were lackluster ...I added a-1 and hot sauce to make them edible..

May or may not give them a second chance..

Tags: Live Sports, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We're regulars....convenient location, good food, great service, parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Genevieve was our waitress and very good! Service was very good and timely- she came by a few times and asked if we needed anything

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great beer and very good food. We had great service. I also like the gluten free options.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The fried chicken was way too heavily breaded. The chicken quesadilla was extremely good. The roasted vegetables made it very tasty.
We had a reservation for 4 on a Saturday, which wAs unnecessary. There were free tables the whole time we were there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I really liked Ram it just took a very long time for a server to arrive at out table. The appetizer arrived cold. The beer was excellent. The entree's were excellent. Server seemed to be lost most of the time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Overall a great experience. We enjoyed our meal and had great service.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Good fun place and menu for friends and family. Little wait

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We are regulars...always good food, great service, convenient location, plenty of parking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Hamburger, Havarti turkey melt, fries have all changed to a much poorer quality. Bad enough even with a deal I would really have to think twice before going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server was very attentive, but the empty drink glasses were never removed when another one was served. It was also extremely loud in there which made it difficult to talk with our friends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great place to meet with your friends. All beers are crafted to your liking and you have good waiters.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Good beer choices. Good food. Fast service and server was attentive but did not hover.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As always, good food, great service, plenty of parking, convenient location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Laid back restaurant with a good selection of menu items and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great service from ted and enjoyed all our meals for mothers day!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food is good and the service outstanding! I always look forward to going. Thank you.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was excellent and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dined at Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling on 5/13/17 at 6:00p. I ordered the Olympus Steak Salad. Before ordering I understood I may have to cut my own steak medallions. I did not realize I would have to chop the peppers, avocados, and onions myself. If I wanted to prep my own salad I'd stay home. All three literally came whole so it wasn't like they weren't small enough to meet my standards. In addition (and probably more disappointing), whom I presume was the Manager (because he was walking around chatting with most tables) came by and asked how everything was going because I think he saw us frustrated. At this time I relayed my frustration to him that I would not have ordered this salad if I'd known I would have to spend 15 minutes prepping my own salad because it was an inconvenience me and for my boyfriend whom had to wait 15 minutes for me to cut everything. It was very frustrating to both of us. The Manager did apologize for this misunderstanding, but in a customer service "no no" he turned it back on me and made it feel like it was my fault. I made it clear that it was our first time here so I didn't know and would have ordered something different if I'd known, and he said, "...this is how we prepare our salads, so for next time now you know to ask us to cut everything for you." He also said, "you're the first person that's every complained about this. First, there won't be a next time. Second, you don't make the customer feel like crap and like it's their fault on a situation like this. I wasn't asking for anything in return, just venting my frustration about how unclear the menu is, and the Manager made it my fault for not knowing something on my first time here. All the Manager would have had to do is ask, "is there anything I can do for you because of this inconvenience, and for next time just so you know this salad doesn't come fully prepped?" Don't ever make a customer feel like they should know how something is done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The service was great, but the menu was not very original. The food was over salted.
Ordered a "crawler": 7 ,5 oz samplers of their house and seasonal beers, we really enjoyed all of them.
I recommend Ram for drinks and appetizers.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Love this restaurant. coming here for years. easy casual atmosphere. great food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our server Stacie was very attentive, she did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great restaurant for lunch with friends. Not rushed by server and food was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Maybe an off night. Service not so great as it usually is. Think
next time will ask for Don's seating area. He is personable and attentive.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Ram sponsors USA Curling,. As former curlers we support The Ram! Go USA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We came with kids on Tuesday for "kids eat for $1" (as it says on the Wheeling newspaper add), but we were told at the restaurant that it is on Sunday, not Tuesday. When we tried to explain the waitress that there is an add in the Wheeling newspaper, she went to ask manager and he called his manager and in about 10 minutes we were told that they do not know what we were talking about... We already got a table and set kids down with menus and decided to order the food anyway. I brought the add in couple of days to the restaurant and they were surprised to see it... The food at this place is very good but that was strange that the management do not know what they offer to people to come and eat at this place, not the management at the restaurant nor the general manager of that place had no idea that the newspaper had the offer for kids on Tuesday....

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was not great. We had trouble finding our server at one point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Got together with a client for a quick, informal business meal. Food was good, not great. I liked the fact that they had decent number of healthy options (not just burgers, sandwiches, etc) I ordered a kale/quinoa salad with protein and it was really good! I'll definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I enjoy trying foods on the Burgerama menu and their seasonal beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The restaurant is very nice - good food, good service, friendly staff. Both the restaurant website and OpenTable could be more helpful with clarifying that bar area seating is open and if that is your preference don't bother with an OpenTable reservation. We wanted to watch a hockey game while we ate and while the restaurant put the game on the TV in the dining room area the bar was really our preference which is why I specified it in the OpenTable booking only to find out that was not possible.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good food and beer. A little too noisy for conversation though

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Tasty food at a reasonable price. Excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We're regulars...always good food, great service, convenient location, plenty of parking.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great spot for a family dining experience. My wife and three boys, ages 6 months - 7 years. Don was our server and he was terrific with the boys and did a nice job keeping them happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food tasted good. I enjoyed their beer. The Monday special was very reasonable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

the salmon was not fresh. We both had it and it smelled fishy and a was not fresh.
the server gave us a few dollars off but they really should not serve unfresh food especially at $18 each

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always reliable food, service, plenty of parking, neighborhood location.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and beer selection and service. Casually posh bar area. Solid choice for date night, family dining, business meeting or meeting beer-loving friends to catch up. Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Good food and now nice atmosphere for all group types

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I have gone numerous times to the Wheeling Ram and never been disappointed. Great beer selection. My favorite - The Disorder Porter.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.