About Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling

700 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

The Ram Restaurant & Brewery is the place for fun! Whether the occasion is meeting co-workers for freshly brewed beer after work, a cozy family dinner, or meeting friends for the big game; The Ram will make your event a memorable one! The smartly decorated interior houses a casual, though… sophisticated environment; & there are no dress code requirements.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday & Monday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 520-1222

Website:
http://www.theram.com/

Entertainment:
Monday - Friday 3:00 to 6:00 PM Happy Hour
$3.50 18 oz Ram Craft Drafts
$3.50 House Wine
$3.50 Well cocktails

Brewery tours available upon request!

Catering:
Ram offers many catering options for any type of event. Please call for more details.

Executive Chef:
Chef Diego Rodriguez

Private Party Facilities:
Ram offers multiple private and semi-private event options to accommodate your dining needs. We also have many multimedia options, in house, for business meetings or presentations. Any of our rooms can be modified to fit your party's needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Brainerd: 8475201222x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (30)
great for lunch (16)
kid-friendly (12)
See All
neighborhood gem (10)
vibrant bar scene (10)
special occasion (4)
fit for foodies (3)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
notable wine list (2)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Terrible Experience. Took 15 minutes f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrible Experience. Took 15 minutes for a server to come to my table after I asked the host to assign someone to my table. It got worse from there with 3 other issues that took place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a classic sports bar/brewery we we ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It is a classic sports bar/brewery we were there to watch NBA final game -had a great time

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, good service, convenient loca ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Good food, good service, convenient location, plenty of parking. We are regulars at The Ram.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Friends in from out of town. He's lactos ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Friends in from out of town. He's lactose intolerant; she's gluten intolerant; and two teenage boys who love basketball and are picky eaters. Ram was the perfect option for dinner! Everyone could get what they liked. The food was great. TVs around for the boys to watch the game. The server, Shawn, was awesome. This was a great, casual dinner with good food and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brewery

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good food, they have a new menu of items, but the same great beer selection.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

good food awful service - 3rd time we've ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

good food awful service - 3rd time we've had terrible service. this time we had to get manager to find someone to take order. then had to find server to get our check. wasn't overly busy. just really poor service. try implementing a better training program b/c what you're doing isn't working.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Mother's Day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day dinner, and our reservations served us well. Service was a bit slow, given that there were not too many guests. Most of the food was good, but the salmon was a bit too salty. Overall, not a bad experience, but not our best at the same restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Never returning

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We have been coming to The Ram for several years. This last visit will be our last. So many things went wrong, such as a horrible waitress. We couldn't get our drinks refilled. Was told an entree wasn't spicy and it was very spicy, so it was returned. The waitress never came to the table to see if we needed anything until we were almost finished. I asked for mustard, it took 10 minutes to get it. Many other things went wrong. We just won't be going back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, good food, good service, good ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

As always, good food, good service, good value, convenient location and plenty of parking.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good food, great service, plenty ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Always good food, great service, plenty of parking, conveniently located.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner option!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I loved this restaurant. There are so many options, we looked at the menu for 20 minutes! Loved the vibe and our waiter was great. Awesome beer options and great iced mint tea. :) I had steak which was a little overcooked but highly recommend the burgers and the reuben quesadillas.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always reliable service, food. Convenien ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Always reliable service, food. Convenient location. Plenty of parking.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

The menu has changed. It is mainly bar f ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

The menu has changed. It is mainly bar food. Not many main entrees. The kitchen was slow due to new menu. Food was good, but not a good selection of anything besides hamburgers and bar food.

food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, great service. plenty of park ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Good food, great service. plenty of parking, convenient location.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This restaurant is mainly a brewery attr ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

This restaurant is mainly a brewery attracting a young crowd. The food is basic and not very interesting. Since the 4 of us are not drinkers, we were like fishes out of water. We were seated in the back (overflow) room with a large, very loud party. When we arrived, I told the host that we had sat in that room on a previous visit and the service was not very good. When we were seated, a man came over, maybe a manager, and told us the kitchen was very busy so there might be a delay in getting our order. The delay was not in getting our food, it was in getting it ordered. It was a Saturday night at 7:30 PM. How come they did not have an adequate staff?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, will go on a regular basis

Dined on February 13, 2016

It was quiet but it would be probably be nosier on weekend evenings. Great atmosphere, service and food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, good service, convenient loca ...

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Good food, good service, convenient location, plenty of parking.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good food, service. Plenty of par ...

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

Always good food, service. Plenty of parking. Convenient location.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great Friday night fish

Dined on January 16, 2016

drinks and fish were fantastic! They did not have Moscoto wine though! They said they where out!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Convenient location, plenty of parking, ...

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

Convenient location, plenty of parking, good food & service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Fine dining food in a bar setting!

Dined on January 1, 2016

The beer here is fabulous and so is the food. Their food put into a fine dining restaurant would be right at home. Service is friendly and everyone seems to work together in harmony --empty drinks filled, food served, etc. Make a reservation if you want to sit in the dining room because they is frequently a wait!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The appetizers were good. The food is no ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The appetizers were good. The food is not as good as it used to be. So disappointing. We've been coming to this restaurant for a number of years . The quality of the dinners has just gone down.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great sport bar for all occasions

Dined on December 27, 2015

The Ram has a great menu with a wide variety of appetizers, salads, burgers, sandwiches and entrees. Three couples dined with us following a movie, and we all enjoyed a wonderful dinner. The hostess were especially warm, friendly and accommodating. Will definitely return soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for groups. We've been goin ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

Great place for groups. We've been going to RAM as a group for the past several years. Great food and great service!

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2

Very disappointed. Not sure if it was th ...

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

Very disappointed. Not sure if it was the chefs or th wait staff. At least the manager comped our dinners that were wrong

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on November 28, 2015

Excellent food and a great selection of RAM Brewery beer.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Quick service, responsive, helpful. Foo ...

Dined on November 25, 2015

Quick service, responsive, helpful. Food was amazing-- lemon caper parmesan cod and Mahi Mahi tacos:-) "Curl" was outstanding! Most creative brews and great holiday drink list we've seen. Had a sample of Gordo's pumpkin ale ( loved it) and they brought us a sample of the choco cherry nitro. We are Ram fans and would love to have one in the Twin Cities (West side perhaps;-)? Highly recommend and glad we found it!

food3
ambience3
service1

Just ok.

Dined on November 19, 2015

The biggest problem we had was a 30 minute wait for our drinks (there were only 4 of us, 2 glasses of wine, 1 beer, and 1 margarita). Totally unacceptable. It was busy there but not crowded, the server came back to our table after 20 minutes to tell us the bartender was "backed up". Hard to believe as it was not overly busy, and it was a Thursday evening. The hostess finally brought us water at the 25 minute mark. Other than the server's first explanation, there was no apology nor effort to provide us better service. The food was delivered shortly after our drinks; for the price it was acceptable but nothing spectacular.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Shannon, was phenomenal! Attentive!!

Dined on November 11, 2015

Our food was really great! I had the salmon tacos & Shannon alerted the kitchen to my food allergy so they made alternate suggestions! I was grateful to her for that. All 4 of us in our party enjoyed our meal tremendously; there's a wide selection of items so enjoy yourself & try something new. This is a GREAT restaurant & we will be back soon! Thank you Ram!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

You won't leave hungry

Dined on November 8, 2015

Our family came here to celebrate my wife's birthday. We all had different burgers; tumbleweed, stadium, hillbilly, and beast. All were delicious and reasonably priced. Give this place a try. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service2

We had 3 servers that walked past our ta ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

We had 3 servers that walked past our table multiple times. No one seemed to want to wait on us until we asked the hostess for service. We ordered burgers medium well and the came medium rare. I'm not sure what's going on but the last few times we've gone, arrive has been super slow. Short handed maybe? It will be a while before we are back.

food5
ambience5
service5

I love the Ram, as does my husband. Great place!

Dined on October 22, 2015

I always order the veggie burger. It is the best; there are no competitors in this regard. My friends and I are diners quite often and we frequent the Ram several times a month. The ambience at the Ram is inviting and comfortable. I'm a Rammie for life.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an excellent experience.

Dined on October 20, 2015

When you find a restaurant anywhere where the food is quite above average to excellent at reasonable prices, coupled with attentive staff, it makes sense to let people know. We have found that at the RAM Brewery in Wheeling.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service2

Consistently good food

Dined on October 12, 2015

RAM always serves consistently good food with reasonable prices. Specials are offered and usually a deal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Good food, lots of choices

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

I wanted to go to the Ram so I could get the ice cream pie dessert. It didn't disappoint. On my way to dessert I had half a burger, and it was very good. I would definitely recommend. Service was slow, but they apologized and were gracious about it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Flexible and Great food

Dined on October 9, 2015

Restaurant was flexible with handling a slightly earlier seating and service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food! Very good beer selection. S ...

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

Great food! Very good beer selection. Service was a little slow in the bar where we ate. Overall, great place to eat and catch a sporting event!

food4
ambience4
service3

Great hamburgers, potatoes. Plenty of pa ...

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

Great hamburgers, potatoes. Plenty of parking. Lots of happy people watching sports in the bar.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

We're regulars and are always satisfied ...

vip
Dined on August 6, 2015

We're regulars and are always satisfied with the food, service, convenient location.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Saturday night

Dined on August 2, 2015

Arrived Saturday night at 7:00 with a reservation. Was seated immediately. Service was friendly and attentive without being pushy. Good menu selection and drink specials. Beer on tap was fabulous. Food was well-prepared and tasty. Our party was there for almost 3 hours and we were never rushed to leave. A great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.