About Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling

700 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

The Ram Restaurant & Brewery is the place for fun! Whether the occasion is meeting co-workers for freshly brewed beer after work, a cozy family dinner, or meeting friends for the big game; The Ram will make your event a memorable one! The smartly decorated interior houses a casual, though… sophisticated environment; & there are no dress code requirements.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday & Monday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 520-1222

Website:
http://www.theram.com/

Entertainment:
Monday - Friday 3:00 to 6:00 PM Happy Hour
$3.50 18 oz Ram Craft Drafts
$3.50 House Wine
$3.50 Well cocktails

Brewery tours available upon request!

Catering:
Ram offers many catering options for any type of event. Please call for more details.

Executive Chef:
Chef Diego Rodriguez

Private Party Facilities:
Ram offers multiple private and semi-private event options to accommodate your dining needs. We also have many multimedia options, in house, for business meetings or presentations. Any of our rooms can be modified to fit your party's needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Brainerd: 8475201222x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
North Suburbs
Kid Friendly
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheeling ›

Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
See All
Kid-friendly (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (3)
Great Beer (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Came in on a Sunday afternoon to watch f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Came in on a Sunday afternoon to watch football with some coworkers. It was surprisingly not packed and they had lots of games on! Music overhead, instead of confusing which game you were watching with what you were hearing :) Beer is always good, food was much better than I remember - with vegetarian options to boot! - and the service was great. I believe the gentleman in the bar's name was Don - he was awesome.

Tags: Seasonal, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Burgers are this month's special and you ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Burgers are this month's special and you can't go wrong ordering any of the burgers, either the special or the build-your-own option. I have a burger with Morkt's cheddar, grilled onions, and barbecue sauce. It was the best burger I've had in a very long time, paired with a Ram pale ale, their homemade chips, and it was the perfect meal out with my friends while watching the ball game in the giant screen. Service was okay- our waiter seemed to be ignoring us much of the time- perception that a table full of women don't tip well? Because we were in the corner? Here's a hint, dude...women tip well when the service is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Very nice (physical) restaurant. Table/ ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very nice (physical) restaurant. Table/booths spread out and provide privacy. Too bad their food was disappointing. Best part was the beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

We are regulars and always enjoy the foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We are regulars and always enjoy the food, service, location, parking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was really slow, we had a busine ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was really slow, we had a business meeting and the customer needed to get back to the office by 1:45 and the food did not get there till 20 after 1. and we ordered at 12:45. to long of a delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Had a great experience, as always. We've ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had a great experience, as always. We've been going to this location of RAM for years and always request that Don is our server if he is available. He goes above and beyond to make sure we're always well taken care of and feel special. Nice pub food selection that's a couple of notches up and energetic atmosphere makes it easy to bring the kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere for all to enj ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and atmosphere for all to enjoy. Love the Amber Ale Chicken sandwich.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars here....always good food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We are regulars here....always good food, good service, convenient location, plenty of parking

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, & great beer. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, great service, & great beer. Took home 32oz canned beer they canned on the spot! Kris is a great server! Very attentative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They have changed the menu. Not to impre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

They have changed the menu. Not to impressed. Many good items no longer on menu . I think it's a mistake

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Always reliable good food, good service, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Always reliable good food, good service, convenient location, plenty of parking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were from out of town but I made rese ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were from out of town but I made reservations for 6 of us. Seems like a fun place. We had an awesome server, Kristopher, and we enjoyed talking to him. He attends Marquette University and wants to teach high school math. 4 of us were teachers and in fact my husband was a high school math teacher. He made our night! Food was good except one person order a kale and quinoa salad and she said she couldn't find any quinoa, only lots of kale. We should have said something but didn't because we were having such a good time. The manager even stopped by to ask how things were and was very friendly as well. Would definitely recommend The Ram!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant sports bar ambiance and good se ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Pleasant sports bar ambiance and good service remains, but the new, abbreviated menu is AWFUL. Heavier than ever on the fried and fatty with little diversity and few healthy choices remaining. The two appetizers and entrees we chose did not measure up to consistently good past quality. What a shame. A favorite dining destination of ours since it opened years ago is gone for good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

One of the people in my group had a bad ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the people in my group had a bad experience with her soup. She did complain to our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great server Kristefer. He was very know ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great server Kristefer. He was very knowledgable about the menu. He recommended ahi tuna salad and was delicious. Burger was good also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible Experience. Took 15 minutes f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrible Experience.

Took 15 minutes for a server to come to my table after I asked the host to assign someone to my table. It got worse from there with 3 other issues that took place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

It is a classic sports bar/brewery we we ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It is a classic sports bar/brewery we were there to watch NBA final game -had a great time

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service, convenient loca ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Good food, good service, convenient location, plenty of parking. We are regulars at The Ram.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Friends in from out of town. He's lactos ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Friends in from out of town. He's lactose intolerant; she's gluten intolerant; and two teenage boys who love basketball and are picky eaters. Ram was the perfect option for dinner! Everyone could get what they liked. The food was great. TVs around for the boys to watch the game. The server, Shawn, was awesome. This was a great, casual dinner with good food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Brewery

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good food, they have a new menu of items, but the same great beer selection.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food awful service - 3rd time we've ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

good food awful service - 3rd time we've had terrible service. this time we had to get manager to find someone to take order. then had to find server to get our check. wasn't overly busy. just really poor service. try implementing a better training program b/c what you're doing isn't working.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Mother's Day dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day dinner, and our reservations served us well. Service was a bit slow, given that there were not too many guests. Most of the food was good, but the salmon was a bit too salty. Overall, not a bad experience, but not our best at the same restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Never returning

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We have been coming to The Ram for several years. This last visit will be our last. So many things went wrong, such as a horrible waitress. We couldn't get our drinks refilled. Was told an entree wasn't spicy and it was very spicy, so it was returned. The waitress never came to the table to see if we needed anything until we were almost finished. I asked for mustard, it took 10 minutes to get it. Many other things went wrong. We just won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

As always, good food, good service, good ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

As always, good food, good service, good value, convenient location and plenty of parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good food, great service, plenty ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Always good food, great service, plenty of parking, conveniently located.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner option!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I loved this restaurant. There are so many options, we looked at the menu for 20 minutes! Loved the vibe and our waiter was great. Awesome beer options and great iced mint tea. :) I had steak which was a little overcooked but highly recommend the burgers and the reuben quesadillas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always reliable service, food. Convenien ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Always reliable service, food. Convenient location. Plenty of parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu has changed. It is mainly bar f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The menu has changed. It is mainly bar food. Not many main entrees. The kitchen was slow due to new menu. Food was good, but not a good selection of anything besides hamburgers and bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Good food, great service. plenty of park ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Good food, great service. plenty of parking, convenient location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant is mainly a brewery attr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This restaurant is mainly a brewery attracting a young crowd. The food is basic and not very interesting. Since the 4 of us are not drinkers, we were like fishes out of water. We were seated in the back (overflow) room with a large, very loud party. When we arrived, I told the host that we had sat in that room on a previous visit and the service was not very good. When we were seated, a man came over, maybe a manager, and told us the kitchen was very busy so there might be a delay in getting our order. The delay was not in getting our food, it was in getting it ordered. It was a Saturday night at 7:30 PM. How come they did not have an adequate staff?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great restaurant, will go on a regular basis

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

It was quiet but it would be probably be nosier on weekend evenings. Great atmosphere, service and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service, convenient loca ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Good food, good service, convenient location, plenty of parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good food, service. Plenty of par ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Always good food, service. Plenty of parking. Convenient location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great Friday night fish

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

drinks and fish were fantastic! They did not have Moscoto wine though! They said they where out!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Convenient location, plenty of parking, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Convenient location, plenty of parking, good food & service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fine dining food in a bar setting!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The beer here is fabulous and so is the food. Their food put into a fine dining restaurant would be right at home. Service is friendly and everyone seems to work together in harmony --empty drinks filled, food served, etc. Make a reservation if you want to sit in the dining room because they is frequently a wait!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

The appetizers were good. The food is no ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The appetizers were good. The food is not as good as it used to be. So disappointing. We've been coming to this restaurant for a number of years . The quality of the dinners has just gone down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great sport bar for all occasions

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

The Ram has a great menu with a wide variety of appetizers, salads, burgers, sandwiches and entrees. Three couples dined with us following a movie, and we all enjoyed a wonderful dinner. The hostess were especially warm, friendly and accommodating. Will definitely return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for groups. We've been goin ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

Great place for groups. We've been going to RAM as a group for the past several years. Great food and great service!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very disappointed. Not sure if it was th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

Very disappointed. Not sure if it was the chefs or th wait staff. At least the manager comped our dinners that were wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.