Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.61mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.07mi

About Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling

The Ram Restaurant & Brewery is the place for fun! Whether the occasion is meeting co-workers for freshly brewed beer after work, a cozy family dinner, or meeting friends for the big game; The Ram will make your event a memorable one! The smartly decorated interior houses a casual, though… sophisticated environment; & there are no dress code requirements.

700 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday & Monday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 520-1222

Website:
http://www.theram.com/

Entertainment:
Monday - Friday 3:00 to 6:00 PM Happy Hour
$3.50 18 oz Ram Craft Drafts
$3.50 House Wine
$3.50 Well cocktails

Brewery tours available upon request!

Catering:
Ram offers many catering options for any type of event. Please call for more details.

Executive Chef:
Chef Diego Rodriguez

Private Party Facilities:
Ram offers multiple private and semi-private event options to accommodate your dining needs. We also have many multimedia options, in house, for business meetings or presentations. Any of our rooms can be modified to fit your party's needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Brainerd: (847) 520-1222

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Great Beer (11)
Comfort Food (9)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Cozy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
483 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our server Stacie was very attentive, she did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great restaurant for lunch with friends. Not rushed by server and food was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Maybe an off night. Service not so great as it usually is. Think
next time will ask for Don's seating area. He is personable and attentive.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Ram sponsors USA Curling,. As former curlers we support The Ram! Go USA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We came with kids on Tuesday for "kids eat for $1" (as it says on the Wheeling newspaper add), but we were told at the restaurant that it is on Sunday, not Tuesday. When we tried to explain the waitress that there is an add in the Wheeling newspaper, she went to ask manager and he called his manager and in about 10 minutes we were told that they do not know what we were talking about... We already got a table and set kids down with menus and decided to order the food anyway. I brought the add in couple of days to the restaurant and they were surprised to see it... The food at this place is very good but that was strange that the management do not know what they offer to people to come and eat at this place, not the management at the restaurant nor the general manager of that place had no idea that the newspaper had the offer for kids on Tuesday....

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was not great. We had trouble finding our server at one point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Got together with a client for a quick, informal business meal. Food was good, not great. I liked the fact that they had decent number of healthy options (not just burgers, sandwiches, etc) I ordered a kale/quinoa salad with protein and it was really good! I'll definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I enjoy trying foods on the Burgerama menu and their seasonal beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The restaurant is very nice - good food, good service, friendly staff. Both the restaurant website and OpenTable could be more helpful with clarifying that bar area seating is open and if that is your preference don't bother with an OpenTable reservation. We wanted to watch a hockey game while we ate and while the restaurant put the game on the TV in the dining room area the bar was really our preference which is why I specified it in the OpenTable booking only to find out that was not possible.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good food and beer. A little too noisy for conversation though

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Tasty food at a reasonable price. Excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We're regulars...always good food, great service, convenient location, plenty of parking.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great spot for a family dining experience. My wife and three boys, ages 6 months - 7 years. Don was our server and he was terrific with the boys and did a nice job keeping them happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food tasted good. I enjoyed their beer. The Monday special was very reasonable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

the salmon was not fresh. We both had it and it smelled fishy and a was not fresh.
the server gave us a few dollars off but they really should not serve unfresh food especially at $18 each

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always reliable food, service, plenty of parking, neighborhood location.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and beer selection and service. Casually posh bar area. Solid choice for date night, family dining, business meeting or meeting beer-loving friends to catch up. Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good food and now nice atmosphere for all group types

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I have gone numerous times to the Wheeling Ram and never been disappointed. Great beer selection. My favorite - The Disorder Porter.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Always good food, good service, convenient location, plenty of parking.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Haven't been to Ram in a while now I remember why. Service is slow sooooo slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We have been going to the RAM on and off for years and enjoy the food. The one thing that's consistent over the years is that they always seem understaffed which seems to compromise efficient service.
Our reservation was for 5 o'clock leaving us plenty of time to leave by 6:30 for a show at the high school.
We started to get concerned when by 5:20 we had no sign of a wait person. We finally flagged someone down and she told our waitress to come by. Our waitress came by with a tray of drinks in one hand and the pad in her other hand in attempt to take our drink orders. We told her to go ahead and deliver the other drinks first and then she disappeared again. Finally the first waitress who helped us came over and took our order. She was super helpful and got us our food in a timely manner and we were able to leave on time.
I always order the turkey havarti melt plus avocado. My husband ordered a burger. My sandwich arrived without the avocado and my husband's arrived without the bacon and some other items. A few people chipped in and got all of our items that were missing.
We do enjoy the atmosphere and the food there but just know to leave plenty of time as the service is often times lacking.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had the grapefruit vodka and soda cocktail, nice!
The Portobello mushroom was wonderful. Nice Caesar salad, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We're regulars...good food & service, convenient location & parking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very friendly servers and excellent food. The only negative thing I would have to say, is that the coleslaw had a little too much horseradish in it. So it you are not a fan of horseradish, skip the coleslaw. Other than that, everything was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and beer were very good. Service was ok but we did have a large party. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Private Room, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Enjoyed the Cubs-Indians World Series finale.
We were there as a group to celebrate a birthday.
Good place to watch a game.
Service was abysmal!! Server mixed up drinks and food took forever - I in fact never did get my food order.
Server was not cooperative or attentive to what would have been a very lucrative table.
Actually composed to management at least twice.
Would NOT recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Waited 30 minutes to be seated (even though we had a reservation) waited an additional hour for our appetizer (waitress forgot to put it in) and then our food was so below average that We asked for part of it to be taken off. Would not recommend this place to anyone. They definitely need additional staff

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Ahi poke nachos are a favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great place to see the Cubs play. I was a bit disjointed at the Large screen being a bit blurry. I was lucky to grab a booth location!My fish taco's were very good with some great home brew. Excellent service considering it was a crazy Friday night watching the Cubs play in the World Series. My wife's Chicken Caesar salad was also very good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went here to watch the Cubs World Series game 2. Food was good overall. Service was a little slow, but I don't blame the server. It appears as if they didn't have sufficient staff to handle all the tables. The bar was packed, as was the dining area. We sat at a booth, but waited over 10 minutes for our first contact with a server. Once we ordered, the food seemed to come out fairly quickly and we didn't feel rushed to leave the table as we enjoyed the game.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Asked for no salt on a drink still came with it.
Received the wrong dinner.
Had to ask for water twice.
Done eating by the time ketchup came.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very Good Lunch salad. No brews as it was lunch. Great service!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

They were very accommodating to the fact that I have food allergies. Chef suggested items that were safe for me to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Came in on a Sunday afternoon to watch football with some coworkers. It was surprisingly not packed and they had lots of games on! Music overhead, instead of confusing which game you were watching with what you were hearing :) Beer is always good, food was much better than I remember - with vegetarian options to boot! - and the service was great. I believe the gentleman in the bar's name was Don - he was awesome.

Tags: Seasonal, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Burgers are this month's special and you can't go wrong ordering any of the burgers, either the special or the build-your-own option. I have a burger with Morkt's cheddar, grilled onions, and barbecue sauce. It was the best burger I've had in a very long time, paired with a Ram pale ale, their homemade chips, and it was the perfect meal out with my friends while watching the ball game in the giant screen. Service was okay- our waiter seemed to be ignoring us much of the time- perception that a table full of women don't tip well? Because we were in the corner? Here's a hint, dude...women tip well when the service is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very nice (physical) restaurant. Table/booths spread out and provide privacy. Too bad their food was disappointing. Best part was the beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We are regulars and always enjoy the food, service, location, parking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was really slow, we had a business meeting and the customer needed to get back to the office by 1:45 and the food did not get there till 20 after 1. and we ordered at 12:45. to long of a delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had a great experience, as always. We've been going to this location of RAM for years and always request that Don is our server if he is available. He goes above and beyond to make sure we're always well taken care of and feel special. Nice pub food selection that's a couple of notches up and energetic atmosphere makes it easy to bring the kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.