About Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling

700 N Milwaukee Ave
Wheeling, IL 60090
View Larger Map

The Ram Restaurant & Brewery is the place for fun! Whether the occasion is meeting co-workers for freshly brewed beer after work, a cozy family dinner, or meeting friends for the big game; The Ram will make your event a memorable one! The smartly decorated interior houses a casual, though… sophisticated environment; & there are no dress code requirements.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Brewery, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday & Monday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
Lake Cook

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 520-1222

Website:
http://www.theram.com/

Entertainment:
Monday - Friday 3:00 to 6:00 PM Happy Hour
$3.50 18 oz Ram Craft Drafts
$3.50 House Wine
$3.50 Well cocktails

Brewery tours available upon request!

Catering:
Ram offers many catering options for any type of event. Please call for more details.

Executive Chef:
Chef Diego Rodriguez

Private Party Facilities:
Ram offers multiple private and semi-private event options to accommodate your dining needs. We also have many multimedia options, in house, for business meetings or presentations. Any of our rooms can be modified to fit your party's needs.

Private Party Contact:
Matt Brainerd: 8475201222x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ram Restaurant & Brewery - Wheeling Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Live Sports (9)
See All
Great for Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Private Room (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We're regulars...good food & service, co ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We're regulars...good food & service, convenient location & parking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very friendly servers and excellent food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very friendly servers and excellent food. The only negative thing I would have to say, is that the coleslaw had a little too much horseradish in it. So it you are not a fan of horseradish, skip the coleslaw. Other than that, everything was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and beer were very good. Service w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and beer were very good. Service was ok but we did have a large party. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great Beer, Private Room, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyed the Cubs-Indians World Series fi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Enjoyed the Cubs-Indians World Series finale.

We were there as a group to celebrate a birthday.

Good place to watch a game.

Service was abysmal!! Server mixed up drinks and food took forever - I in fact never did get my food order.

Server was not cooperative or attentive to what would have been a very lucrative table.

Actually composed to management at least twice.

Would NOT recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Waited 30 minutes to be seated (even tho ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Waited 30 minutes to be seated (even though we had a reservation) waited an additional hour for our appetizer (waitress forgot to put it in) and then our food was so below average that We asked for part of it to be taken off. Would not recommend this place to anyone. They definitely need additional staff

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Ahi poke nachos are a favorite

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Ahi poke nachos are a favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great place to see the Cubs play. I was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great place to see the Cubs play. I was a bit disjointed at the Large screen being a bit blurry. I was lucky to grab a booth location!My fish taco's were very good with some great home brew. Excellent service considering it was a crazy Friday night watching the Cubs play in the World Series. My wife's Chicken Caesar salad was also very good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Went here to watch the Cubs World Series ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went here to watch the Cubs World Series game 2. Food was good overall. Service was a little slow, but I don't blame the server. It appears as if they didn't have sufficient staff to handle all the tables. The bar was packed, as was the dining area. We sat at a booth, but waited over 10 minutes for our first contact with a server. Once we ordered, the food seemed to come out fairly quickly and we didn't feel rushed to leave the table as we enjoyed the game.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Asked for no salt on a drink still came ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Asked for no salt on a drink still came with it.

Received the wrong dinner.

Had to ask for water twice.

Done eating by the time ketchup came.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very Good Lunch salad. No brews as it wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very Good Lunch salad. No brews as it was lunch. Great service!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They were very accommodating to the fact ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

They were very accommodating to the fact that I have food allergies. Chef suggested items that were safe for me to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Came in on a Sunday afternoon to watch f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Came in on a Sunday afternoon to watch football with some coworkers. It was surprisingly not packed and they had lots of games on! Music overhead, instead of confusing which game you were watching with what you were hearing :) Beer is always good, food was much better than I remember - with vegetarian options to boot! - and the service was great. I believe the gentleman in the bar's name was Don - he was awesome.

Tags: Seasonal, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Burgers are this month's special and you ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Burgers are this month's special and you can't go wrong ordering any of the burgers, either the special or the build-your-own option. I have a burger with Morkt's cheddar, grilled onions, and barbecue sauce. It was the best burger I've had in a very long time, paired with a Ram pale ale, their homemade chips, and it was the perfect meal out with my friends while watching the ball game in the giant screen. Service was okay- our waiter seemed to be ignoring us much of the time- perception that a table full of women don't tip well? Because we were in the corner? Here's a hint, dude...women tip well when the service is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Very nice (physical) restaurant. Table/ ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very nice (physical) restaurant. Table/booths spread out and provide privacy. Too bad their food was disappointing. Best part was the beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

We are regulars and always enjoy the foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We are regulars and always enjoy the food, service, location, parking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was really slow, we had a busine ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was really slow, we had a business meeting and the customer needed to get back to the office by 1:45 and the food did not get there till 20 after 1. and we ordered at 12:45. to long of a delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Had a great experience, as always. We've ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had a great experience, as always. We've been going to this location of RAM for years and always request that Don is our server if he is available. He goes above and beyond to make sure we're always well taken care of and feel special. Nice pub food selection that's a couple of notches up and energetic atmosphere makes it easy to bring the kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere for all to enj ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and atmosphere for all to enjoy. Love the Amber Ale Chicken sandwich.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars here....always good food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We are regulars here....always good food, good service, convenient location, plenty of parking

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, & great beer. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, great service, & great beer. Took home 32oz canned beer they canned on the spot! Kris is a great server! Very attentative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They have changed the menu. Not to impre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

They have changed the menu. Not to impressed. Many good items no longer on menu . I think it's a mistake

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Always reliable good food, good service, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Always reliable good food, good service, convenient location, plenty of parking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were from out of town but I made rese ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were from out of town but I made reservations for 6 of us. Seems like a fun place. We had an awesome server, Kristopher, and we enjoyed talking to him. He attends Marquette University and wants to teach high school math. 4 of us were teachers and in fact my husband was a high school math teacher. He made our night! Food was good except one person order a kale and quinoa salad and she said she couldn't find any quinoa, only lots of kale. We should have said something but didn't because we were having such a good time. The manager even stopped by to ask how things were and was very friendly as well. Would definitely recommend The Ram!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant sports bar ambiance and good se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Pleasant sports bar ambiance and good service remains, but the new, abbreviated menu is AWFUL. Heavier than ever on the fried and fatty with little diversity and few healthy choices remaining. The two appetizers and entrees we chose did not measure up to consistently good past quality. What a shame. A favorite dining destination of ours since it opened years ago is gone for good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

One of the people in my group had a bad ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the people in my group had a bad experience with her soup. She did complain to our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great server Kristefer. He was very know ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great server Kristefer. He was very knowledgable about the menu. He recommended ahi tuna salad and was delicious. Burger was good also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible Experience. Took 15 minutes f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrible Experience.

Took 15 minutes for a server to come to my table after I asked the host to assign someone to my table. It got worse from there with 3 other issues that took place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

It is a classic sports bar/brewery we we ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It is a classic sports bar/brewery we were there to watch NBA final game -had a great time

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service, convenient loca ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2016

Good food, good service, convenient location, plenty of parking. We are regulars at The Ram.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Friends in from out of town. He's lactos ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Friends in from out of town. He's lactose intolerant; she's gluten intolerant; and two teenage boys who love basketball and are picky eaters. Ram was the perfect option for dinner! Everyone could get what they liked. The food was great. TVs around for the boys to watch the game. The server, Shawn, was awesome. This was a great, casual dinner with good food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Brewery

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good food, they have a new menu of items, but the same great beer selection.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food awful service - 3rd time we've ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2016

good food awful service - 3rd time we've had terrible service. this time we had to get manager to find someone to take order. then had to find server to get our check. wasn't overly busy. just really poor service. try implementing a better training program b/c what you're doing isn't working.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Mother's Day dinner

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day dinner, and our reservations served us well. Service was a bit slow, given that there were not too many guests. Most of the food was good, but the salmon was a bit too salty. Overall, not a bad experience, but not our best at the same restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Never returning

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2016

We have been coming to The Ram for several years. This last visit will be our last. So many things went wrong, such as a horrible waitress. We couldn't get our drinks refilled. Was told an entree wasn't spicy and it was very spicy, so it was returned. The waitress never came to the table to see if we needed anything until we were almost finished. I asked for mustard, it took 10 minutes to get it. Many other things went wrong. We just won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

As always, good food, good service, good ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2016

As always, good food, good service, good value, convenient location and plenty of parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good food, great service, plenty ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Always good food, great service, plenty of parking, conveniently located.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner option!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2016

I loved this restaurant. There are so many options, we looked at the menu for 20 minutes! Loved the vibe and our waiter was great. Awesome beer options and great iced mint tea. :) I had steak which was a little overcooked but highly recommend the burgers and the reuben quesadillas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always reliable service, food. Convenien ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2016

Always reliable service, food. Convenient location. Plenty of parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu has changed. It is mainly bar f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2016

The menu has changed. It is mainly bar food. Not many main entrees. The kitchen was slow due to new menu. Food was good, but not a good selection of anything besides hamburgers and bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Good food, great service. plenty of park ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2016

Good food, great service. plenty of parking, convenient location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.