Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 3.53mi
  3. Distance: 3.60mi
  4. Distance: 5.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 3.53mi
  3. Distance: 3.60mi
  4. Distance: 5.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 3.53mi
  3. Distance: 3.60mi
  4. Distance: 5.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 3.53mi
  3. Distance: 3.60mi
  4. Distance: 5.95mi

About Rainbow Ranch Lodge LLC

Rainbow Ranch Lodge is proud to offer world class Montana ranch-to-table cuisine, originating from the finest and freshest products available. We use the highest quality, fresh, locally grown and conscientiously raised products from regional producers, which help inspire us to create culinary and visual masterpieces.

Rainbow Ranch dining is at once, relaxed and refined, with unsurpassed views of the majestic Gallatin River. House made specialties such as duck prosciutto, smoked bacon and house cured salami's are enhanced by our award-winning wine list and hand-crafted, barrel-aged cocktails in an environment as inviting as its Big Sky Country backdrop.

42950 Gallatin Road
Big Sky, MT 59716
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
Happy Hour: Monday-Sunday 4:30-6:00
Lounge: Monday-Sunday 4:00-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 191

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 995-4132

Website:
http://www.rainbowranchbigsky.com/dining/restaurant.htm

Catering:
The Rainbow Ranch Lodge is pleased to offer our fantastic menu served by a uniformed chef in your private home. Please contact us for additional details: (800) 937-4132.

Public Transit:
The Big Sky Shuttle stops directly across Highway 191 from the Rainbow Ranch Lodge. Check www.skylinebus.com for schedules.

Executive Chef:
Hunter Durgan

Private Party Facilities:
The Rainbow Ranch Lodge features multiple venues for private dining. Enjoy a multi-course meal and wine pairings in the intimate setting of The Bacchus Room, located in our award-winning wine cellar. Or throw a party and dance the night away at the historic riverside Wedding Barn.

Private Party Contact:
Ryan Kunz: (406) 995-4132

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rainbow Ranch Lodge LLC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (10)
Scenic View (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
See All
Fireplace (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Romantic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Private Room (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Waterfront (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I had one of the most perfectly prepared beef tenderloins EVER!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I have had great food on this trip to Big Sky but I can say that my dinner at Rainbow Ranch was the best of all. From the appetizer to the dessert it was exceptional. I only wish I had one more night left to go there again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

For the third season in a row, this remains the best restaurant in the Big Sky area (down in the canyon). The pappardelle is one of the best entrees I've had anywhere. The chicken simple, but very good. The shrimp & grits appetizer is outstanding, scant on the grits, but with an exceptionally flavorful broth. Spacious, nice ambiance, with views of the grounds. Friendly staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our third time there while skiing at Big Sky. Best dinner yet and all the others were great. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We've eaten here before and really enjoy the food and atmosphere. Our server was very helpful with wine selection as we like to try new wines.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Have been to RR many times over the years. Have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Not to be missed in Big Sky. We come every year and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was outstanding. So good we ate there three out of the 4 nights we were in town. I would highly recommend the Lodge to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great food. Great atmosphere. We plan to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Rainbow ranch is the best in Big Sky. Not cheap but you get what you pay for

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent food and service. Best place in Big Sky for a reliably excellent meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve. Spectacular dinner and overall experience. May be the best dining experience I have had in Montana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very much enjoyed the evening. The table next to us was disruptively loud that dampen the evening somewhat. RR has been a family tradition for over a decade and will be for decades to come.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First off, the food was perfect. Great presentation, unique flavors, and plenty of variety. Beef tenderloin was as good as it gets! The ambience and service only added to make this an unforgettable meal!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Seasonal, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding service and delicious food made all 5 of my group happy as can be on a -10 degree evening in Big Sky. Very classy place. Really loved it. Nice cocktails as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great. Service was a little off and below average for a fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service. Worth the drive from Big Sky resort

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This place is EXCELLENT. Food and service were both top notch. Our servers Mandy and Kelsey were amazing attentive and friendly. A MUST when in big sky, well with the short drive from moonlight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Montana lodge atmosphere, wonderful bar with live music. Service was excellent, staff was friendly and food was creative and flavorful. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was excellent. I did not like the back ground music playing. The wine list is decent but very little maturity to the choices and the prices were 3-4 times retail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Always a beautiful place for a relaxing and intimate dinner. The food was wonderful and the views couldn't have been more beautiful! They had a good wine list and the wait staff was attentive. Will definitely go back as it's always a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were on a road trip and this was a perfect stopping point for us. We were delighted that the Lodge also had a restaurant of such calibre. Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We eat at Rainbow Ranch at every possibility when we're passing through or staying in the area. Food is excellent and the staff is very responsive but not hovering.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2016

A wonderful lodge with a terrfic dining room 40 miles from the west gate entrance into Yellowstone National Park.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a wonderful time with relatives to celebrate anniversaries

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Seasonal, Cozy, Private Room, Authentic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2016

One of the best dinners we have had!

I could have just had my appetizer, wild mushroom bruschetta, my salad, a warm kale, and my cocktail, a huckleberry vodka martini, and been happy, but then I would have missed out on the very fresh and scrumptious seafood.

Our servers were excellent had lots of information about the surrounding area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Could not have selected a better venue to celebrate our anniversary. The location was absolutely gorgeous, staff very friendly, food was great. Would recommend to all our friends

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 2, 2016

They had super loud music playing-Miley Cyrus, Sia, etc. my husband and I were there for an anniversary dinner and it just killed the mood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was excellent as was the service. Local trout was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 18, 2016

As I've said before, The Rainbow Ranch keeps it real. While there have been a number of 'less than stellar' chefs over the years at this fine dining spot, the current Head of the Kitchen has my rapt attention!! The Wild Mushroom Bruschetta and the Berkshire Pork Belly Confit were stunning, and the Bison Ribeye was absolute perfection. Well done, RR!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Don't let the drive up set the tone. The bar was great for drinks followed by a better meal. Service was spot on and prompt. The food was local and very well presented. We will be back on our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Our second time dining there over the last 2 years - skiing at Big Sky both times. The food, wine list and service were very good. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2016

Sometimes you just have to go to see if anything changed or new items to rave about or a preparation that is something you need more often. The Rainbow is very good, not exciting, but a beautiful setting in a classic building and great people.
Keep going..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were looking forward to dinner at RR. We'd eaten there years ago and loved the ambiance and food. Unfortunately we were terribly disappointed this time. Our reservations were for 7:30, we arrived at 7:15. We sat at the bar; cocktails were good, bartender friendly. One bartender serving the bar and restaurant. We, and the couple at the bar next to us waited for at least 20 minutes for him to get the dining patrons served. We weren't too bothered because it was fun, but we got hungry! Found the hostess and were seated at 8:15. Ordered a beverage, salad and fish for each of us. Our drinks and salads arrived promptly. We continued to wait for our entree; assured it was on it's way (fish takes about 4 - 7 minutes to prepare). We continued to wait until after 9:00 when we saw the Chef chatting up a table in the restaurant; for at least 5 minutes. We left, hungry and disappointed. Other fantastic options in Big Sky. Farewell Rainbow Ranch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 2, 2016

Food, service and setting were very good. Portion was good for one but count on getting your own as it wasn't enough to share a plate. Would definitely recommend and return. We were very lucky to be there in the winter on a slow evening. While we were eating, a moose walked right along side the window which was an added bonus. If possible plan to stay here. Our experience was fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Excellent spot for almost any occasion. We had dinner for 5, and could not have been more impressed with the menu, wine list, ambience, and energy. A lot of people having fun, in the best way - people were happy, which could have been a result of the exceptional and creative fare. Check out the menu, we each had a different entre, all were five stars. Love to stay here for a few nights as well... Go, you'll be glad you did!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2015

We went there for Christmas Dinner and it didn't disappoint. From the appetizers to dessert, everyone enjoyed their meal. Highly recommend having dinner there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Started with the injera appetizer - it was excellent. We had the special goose for dinner and it was perfect - cooked medium with a great sauce. Dessert was just okay. Great cocktails and the server recommended a lovely Vouvray wine. Pricey dinner but it was good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Appetizers were exceptional. Dinners good to very good. Service was excellent. Atmosphere charming but way too quiet and a little uptight. Laughter or conversation much louder than a whisper seemed inappropriate in the smaller dinning room. Not conducive to a celebration or much more than a quiet dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.