About Rainbow Ranch Lodge LLC

42950 Gallatin Road
Big Sky, MT 59716
View Larger Map

Rainbow Ranch Lodge is proud to offer world class Montana ranch-to-table cuisine, originating from the finest and freshest products available. We use the highest quality, fresh, locally grown and conscientiously raised products from regional producers, which help inspire us to create culinary and visual masterpieces.

Led by Executive Chef, Jake Irwin, our restaurant is at once relaxed and refined, with unsurpassed views of the majestic Gallatin River. House made specialties such as duck prosciutto, smoked bacon and house cured salami's are enhanced by our award-winning wine list and hand-crafted, barrel-aged cocktails in an environment as inviting as its Big Sky Country backdrop.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm.
Happy Hour: Monday-Sunday 4:30-6:00
Lounge: Monday-Sunday 4:30-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 191

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 995-4132

Website:
http://www.rainbowranchbigsky.com/montana_fine_dining.php

Catering:
The Rainbow Ranch Lodge is pleased to offer our fantastic menu served by a uniformed chef in your private home. Please contact us for additional details: (800) 937-4132.

Public Transit:
The Big Sky Shuttle stops directly across Highway 191 from the Rainbow Ranch Lodge. Check www.skylinebus.com for schedules.

Executive Chef:
Ian Troxler

Private Party Facilities:
The Rainbow Ranch Lodge features multiple venues for private dining. Enjoy a multi-course meal and wine pairings in the intimate setting of The Bacchus Room, located in our award-winning wine cellar. Or throw a party and dance the night away at the historic riverside Wedding Barn.

Private Party Contact:
Mollie Eckman: (406) 995-4132x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rainbow Ranch Lodge LLC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (4)
romantic (3)
fit for foodies (3)
See All
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
68 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As I've said before, The Rainbow Ranch k ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

As I've said before, The Rainbow Ranch keeps it real. While there have been a number of 'less than stellar' chefs over the years at this fine dining spot, the current Head of the Kitchen has my rapt attention!! The Wild Mushroom Bruschetta and the Berkshire Pork Belly Confit were stunning, and the Bison Ribeye was absolute perfection. Well done, RR!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and bar

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Don't let the drive up set the tone. The bar was great for drinks followed by a better meal. Service was spot on and prompt. The food was local and very well presented. We will be back on our next visit.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our second time dining there over the la ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Our second time dining there over the last 2 years - skiing at Big Sky both times. The food, wine list and service were very good. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and service. Great wine ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once a year..

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Sometimes you just have to go to see if anything changed or new items to rave about or a preparation that is something you need more often. The Rainbow is very good, not exciting, but a beautiful setting in a classic building and great people.

Keep going..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were looking forward to dinner at RR. We'd eaten there years ago and loved the ambiance and food. Unfortunately we were terribly disappointed this time. Our reservations were for 7:30, we arrived at 7:15. We sat at the bar; cocktails were good, bartender friendly. One bartender serving the bar and restaurant. We, and the couple at the bar next to us waited for at least 20 minutes for him to get the dining patrons served. We weren't too bothered because it was fun, but we got hungry! Found the hostess and were seated at 8:15. Ordered a beverage, salad and fish for each of us. Our drinks and salads arrived promptly. We continued to wait for our entree; assured it was on it's way (fish takes about 4 - 7 minutes to prepare). We continued to wait until after 9:00 when we saw the Chef chatting up a table in the restaurant; for at least 5 minutes. We left, hungry and disappointed. Other fantastic options in Big Sky. Farewell Rainbow Ranch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Loved

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Food, service and setting were very good. Portion was good for one but count on getting your own as it wasn't enough to share a plate. Would definitely recommend and return. We were very lucky to be there in the winter on a slow evening. While we were eating, a moose walked right along side the window which was an added bonus. If possible plan to stay here. Our experience was fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Go to Rainbow Lodge

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Excellent spot for almost any occasion. We had dinner for 5, and could not have been more impressed with the menu, wine list, ambience, and energy. A lot of people having fun, in the best way - people were happy, which could have been a result of the exceptional and creative fare. Check out the menu, we each had a different entre, all were five stars. Love to stay here for a few nights as well... Go, you'll be glad you did!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Favorite!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We went there for Christmas Dinner and it didn't disappoint. From the appetizers to dessert, everyone enjoyed their meal. Highly recommend having dinner there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas eve dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Started with the injera appetizer - it was excellent. We had the special goose for dinner and it was perfect - cooked medium with a great sauce. Dessert was just okay. Great cocktails and the server recommended a lovely Vouvray wine. Pricey dinner but it was good!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizers were exceptional. Dinners goo ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Appetizers were exceptional. Dinners good to very good. Service was excellent. Atmosphere charming but way too quiet and a little uptight. Laughter or conversation much louder than a whisper seemed inappropriate in the smaller dinning room. Not conducive to a celebration or much more than a quiet dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best dinner at Rainbow Ranch yet

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

The salmon was the best I have ever had. My husband completely enjoyed his lamb chop and our guest was blown away with the wagyu beef. The charcuterie platter appetizer was exquisite. So glad we chose to make the drive to Rainbow Ranch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Menu on the web did not match the one in the restaurant. Most of the entrees were wild game. Very well prepared and presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Perfect!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

As always, the food and service were superb, we would highly recommend this restaurant and have been there many times

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice to have in the neighborhood

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

The food was seriously very good. I would have rated it freat but for the wild boar was over cooked. The wine fecommendation was steller and service attentive but not intrusive. More Washington wate wines would bolster the wine selection.

I lived in Montana much of my live and now live in Seattle area. Quality of food is competitive with some of the better seattle experiences.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Beautiful view for dining

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

The service and food were a pleasant surprise for this lovely restaurant. You overlook the river and the beautiful lawn, you can enjoy a wide assortment of dishes. Great place for breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Big Sky home owner of 16 years

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

I am comparing the the Rainbow Lodge Restaurant to what it was when we 1st moved to Big Sky.

At that time it had the deserving reputation of the very BEST restaurant in the area by many of the people we met. No longer the case. Many more restaurants have opened up since then so the competition naturally increased, but the Rainbow Lodge dining has not maintained its one time great reputation. The food is not as outstanding as it once was, and the portions have definitely decreased in size, but the prices remained high. High prices are acceptable as long as the total experience remains top-notch. The restaurant has everything else going for it, except for the most important criteria mentioned. Too bad...since the food is still very good, even though not quite as good as it once was, so I personally think the most immediate improvement that can & should be made is increasing the size of the portions. To spent a lot of money and leave your restaurant still hungry is not acceptable! When we first went to the restaurant making advanced reservations was a must. It certainly was not the case the last 2 times we decided to give the restaurant "another chance"...in both cases there were more empty than occupied seats!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Blue Ribbon Experience on the Gallatin

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Gorgeous setting on the Gallatin. Superb cocktails and appetizer. Waiter was a pro. Centerpiece of the evening was the eye appealing and delicious preparation of our meals and dessert. We had bison tenderloin, wild boar, pheasant. Every dish that passed our table looked like a masterpiece. Pastry chef scored as well. Huge wine list. We had a yummy Malbec. Thanks, Chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super night out

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

We had a great night . The food and service were very good. The tables were a bit close together.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Didn't stay there, but the restaurant is about the best in the area. Big Sky fine dining is a bit behind in sophistication, but this place has at least one waiter who knows what he's doing, and the food is very good. Nice lighting, some nice art, and a decent wine list round things out. Down in the canyon, it's about a 15-20 min drive from base camp at the ski resort (depending on road conditions) - and watch out, there's a ditch in the parking lot that's not fenced off (hard to see in the dark).

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding cuisine

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 25, 2015

We live 100 miles from the RR. The fact that it is far and away our favorite "local" high-end restaurant will help to convey how good this place is. We've eaten there several times over the past few years and never had anything less than a very good meal and experience. We always get a room (very reasonably priced) so the excellent wine selection can be properly enjoyed. One thing to know if you have children is that there is a "kids menu" although it is not mentioned on the web site. There isn't an actual paper menu, but there are kid-friendly items available on request. This isn't exactly a family restaurant teeming with screaming kids (quite the opposite in fact), but if you have well behaved kids who aren't into quail and elk, there are items they will enjoy eating which will probably make the adult's dining experience less stressful and all the better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Disappointed ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

I took my wife out for her milestone birthday to the Rainbow Ranch restaurant. Everything was fine until we ordered our entres. I ordered the lamb rack and my wife ordered the butternut squash ravioli. Fifty minutes later we were served. My wife's ravioli was over-cooked and dry. Not wanting to complain on this very special occasion, we regretted the dinner and were very disappointed since we had heard such good things about it. I had even made mention of the special event but they didn't even acknowledge it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

High end ambience, mid range food, low end service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Coming in to the restaurant, it exuded a high end style and ambiance and our expectations were set very high. Overall the food was good, not great, but the prices were high so we expected more. Our evening was a very negative experience primarily due to a poor waiter. He initially took our order and served the wine we ordered before our meal. The menu only offered a single chardonnay by the glass, with all the other options requiring purchase of a bottle. When that selection turned out to be unpleasant to drink, we asked to return it for another selection and at that point the waiter seemed to want nothing to do with us. From that point onward the only people serving our table were several young women, the ones who poured water and clear tables. While we don't expect to be smothered with attention, an occasional "how is it" or "is there anything else you need" is appropriate. So at that point we had a sour taste in our mouth for the rest of the meal and it wasn't just the chardonnay. As noted the food was good but expensive relative to the quality. People going on a different night with a different waiter may have better experiences but we would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great place but service lacking

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

Beautiful setting and good, innovative food. The service seemed awkward/lacking and could benefit from some training - potential to match setting and food - would go again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Unbelievable!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2014

This place was incredible. We were greeted warmly when we arrived. The bartender actually came to the table to solicit cocktails and explain the drink list. The waiter was informative and knowledgable about everything. RR had a hunting lodge feel to it with quite the view of the neighboring river. My charcuterie plate was excellent; so was the cheese plate and the carpaccio. Special props to the onion and apricot spread! Bison was to die for. Surprisingly nice wine list as well.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite when at

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 7, 2014

Always a favorite when at Big sky. excellent food and outstanding wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Limited menu, but quality food

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 20, 2014

Our dinner at Rainbow Ranch Lodge was definitely an enjoyable one, but I wouldn't say it blew our socks off. The menu seemed a bit limited, but everything we tried was very tasty. I would say this would be a good fit for foodies (which we are). The carpaccio was the most unique presentation I have ever seen. It was thicker slices of seared filet with an assortment of other tasties served on a wood slab. I wasn't quite sure if everything was meant to be eaten together, so I just mixed-n-matched stuff with the meat. The risotto was wonderful, as was the crispy pork belly.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Best Food in Big Sky Montana area

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 14, 2014

Loved all of the dishes we ordered. After coming to Big Sky to ski for the past three seasons, this restaurant has the best food of any we have sampled, and is our group's favorite restaurant. (We discovered it by asking a local where he would go for a special night out.) Every course was more special than the last. You can't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

mixed experience at Rainbow Ranch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 14, 2014

We went to RR with a group of 6 adults. The evening started out perfectly with tasty cocktails at the bar served by Tyler, who did a great job. The menu was inventive & featured local produce & meat & the food was delicious, with the exception of the smoked chicken which was dry. The wine list was really great & the sommelier was knowledgable and helpful. The issues we had stemmed from spotty service (waitress didn't seem to have a real answer when we asked questions) & from the long lags between courses. The timing was off & resulted in a late dessert presentation which caused us to miss our shuttle ride home. We ended up sitting in the bar for 1.5 hours. The manager called the next day with her apologies. We would return to RR.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Rainbow Ranch was a recommendation

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 23, 2014

Rainbow Ranch was a recommendation from a co-worker and his assessment was bang on. What a wonderful experience. The Bison Hangar Steak was amazing. Great food and service. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Few small issues but good overall

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 16, 2014

Rainbow ranch's overall feel is warm and welcoming. There were only a few small issues. Check in was at 3pm we showed up at 3 they said it will be a few minutes and offered us coffee to wait. More people started to come in to check in and they were all told to wait as well. One employee said well check in isnt till 3 and its just 3 now. Actually it was 3:25pm. Finally at 330 our room was ready. This wouldnt have been a big deal except we had plans at 430.We finally got checked into our room and it was amazing except the sink drain was so full of hair and who knows so it wouldnt drain fast. Check out is at 11am. Was midly annoying that we werent allowed to check in till 330 and had to be out by 11am. Food was AMAZING!!!! Scenery was Great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

One of a Kind!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

I took my wife to the Rainbow Lodge for Valentines Day and it was surpassed my expectations. We arrived early and sat in front of the fireplace and sipped on the Gallatin Old Fashioned which set a great mood for the night. The atmosphere was perfect for a special night out. Dinner was delightful from start to finish. The staff was very polite and friendly and made you feel very welcome. All in all it was a great experience. Thank you Rainbow Ranch for a very special night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

The Rainbow Ranch Lodge was spectacular! It blew our expectations out of the water. Fantastic food. Wonderful views. Amazing staff. And an outstanding wine selection. I will be returning for sure, and could not recommend this place enough! Definitely a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's Baaaackkkk!!! ;o)

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 10, 2014

Over the years the Rainbow Ranch Lodge has been influenced by a number ofcCulinary touches... some terrific, others less so. The new Chef , Scott Myers - since November 2013 - is Mah'velous!!! I'd propose that his style is 'earthy and classic', not too heavy, and thankfully lacking in the 'Asian Flare' that has not flown well in the past in this special Montana Bistro.

The Pork Osso Bucco was utterly brillant!!

Rainbow Ranch... SOoooo glad you're back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique variety of appetizers

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 22, 2013

Unique variety of appetizers and several selections of wild game for entrees. Meat and vegetables from local sources, often organic and definitely home-grown. The bison was outstanding, offering a steak and a kielbasa that was spicy and tasty.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Montana Find

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2013

Great location on the river. Nice menu variety, very attentive service, nice wine list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

so good I went back next night

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 11, 2013

I so much enjoyed my 2 dinners there. The service was superb...Great team work...Very personalized attention with a staff full of great food and beverage knowledge. The bison mesquite steak was best I have had in the country and the mesquite flank stake was delicious as well....All the sides were local and perfectly balanced. The house desserts were exquisite. I have to say the drink menu was quite original and having a drink at the bar before the dinner allowed me to really look at the variety of creativity they present there. The reception lobby as this is a hotel as well immediately makes you feel very welcome. I would love to return as a guest to stay at that lodge and dine there nightly as well..DON'T MISS THIS PLACE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite in Big Sky

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 8, 2013

After our third summer in Big Sky we find Rainbow Ranch consistently awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steak I've Ever Eaten!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2013

Went to Rainbow Ranch to celebrate my birthday while vacationing in Montana. I had seen the Rainbow Ranch website while planning my trip. The restaurant exceeded all expectations. It was a lovely setting on the Gallatin River...lots of windows and pretty views. I ordered the rib eye steak and it was without a doubt, the best steak I've ever had! It was tender, juicy, flavorful and cooked to perfection. The staff was friendly and fun. It's a fine dining experience without being pretentious. Pricey but absolutely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2013

You might not notice Rainbow Ranch when you are zooming by on the highway but definitely plan to stop if you are in the Big Sky area. Beautiful dining room. Friendly attentive staff. Great wine list. Wonderful food - I could have the Bison steak every day. Only negative was a somewhat long wait for dessert - but then we were not in a hurry to leave.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.