About Rain Uptown

5217 98th St.
Suite 600
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Renowned chef Pierre Gabelli, brings high end Northern Italian cuisine to the South West. Menu items include, but not limited to, exquisite dry-aged steaks from Kobe beef to French-cut bone-in ribeyes, flown-in never frozen seafood from scallops to Maine lobster, as well as seasonal entrees as well. We cater to those with high standards in food, and those that refuse to compromise. We also are proud to offer the only exclusive martini bar in town, and wine selection that tops all in the city. The pastas we offer are not only made daily, but they are made with an imported customized machine shipped from Italy. This allows us to offer our guests a wide array of pastas ranging from gnocchi, fettuccine, angel hair, bow tie, ravioli, spaghetti, rigatoni,tortelli, fettuccine green and much more. This is truly the closest you can get to Italy without a passport or leaving town. We like to invite you to taste what has all of Lubbock buzzing over the hottest place to eat in town.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Slide

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 798-5900

Website:
http://www.rainuptown.com/

Entertainment:
Every weekend as well as select weekdays, we offer our lounge guests live music ranging from local artists all across West Texas, to local magicians that bedazzle our guests until the real show -- that is your food, arrives at your table.

Catering:
When it comes to catering, very little restaurants can offer a two-time IRON CHEF winner to cater your event in however way you please other than Rain Uptown. Our Catering services are extremely flexible to include all kinds of parties and sizes, from weddings to board meetings; we do it all. We can cook on location, as well as a food presentation if needed. Let us come wine and dine you where you are if you can’t come to us!

Parking Details:
Open parking in front of building (handicapped accessible)

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gabelli

Private Party Facilities:
We have a secluded Venetian room that can accommodate up to 60 guests away from the main dining area to offer your party the privacy you wish for. The room is equipped with custom lighting as well as a retractable projection screen if you so choose to use it. All services are extended to the party room as well as exclusive menus.

Private Party Contact:
Clinton Shipman: 8067985900x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rain Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lubbock
Best Restaurants in Lubbock ›

Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
See All
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lunch...Waiter did not know the menu or ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Lunch...Waiter did not know the menu or which sides were up charged. He tried to get info from chef but couldn't understand Pierre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We both ordered the petite 12 oz rib eye ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We both ordered the petite 12 oz rib eye. Cooked med rare for me and med for husband. Best steaks we've had in a long time. My favorite was the risotto. Usually we start with escargot but opted for the crab cakes. Perfection. The chocolate torte was really a layer cake....only disappointment and since it was my birthday....made for a lousy ending! But.....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed the food, service an at ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I really enjoyed the food, service an atmosphere. Overall it's was a amazing experience. It was perfect for my 9 year anniversary. My wife was in heaven thank you guys for the excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were good

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and service were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor service, food calamari tasted fishy ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Poor service, food calamari tasted fishy and rubbery, parmigiana was very dry with a piece of Swiss cheese on top

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

It wasn't a bad experience per say but t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It wasn't a bad experience per say but the seating was very uncomfortable. We were seated at a folding table with a table cloth on it that was too tall for the benches. My steak was over-cooked which is unacceptable for a $40+ choice cut of meat. The service was good and he was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Ambiance was fantastic. Our waiter, whil ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Ambiance was fantastic. Our waiter, while clearly new, was friendly and quick. The food was good, but in no way lived up to the price tag in both flavor and quantity. Someone would have to get us a gift card for us to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was great! Beautiful restaurant! Se ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was great! Beautiful restaurant! Service a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The only reason I would hesitate to return is the price. I found it to be way to expensive to dine on a regular basis and would be hesitant on returning even on a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I went to Sunday brunch with two friends ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I went to Sunday brunch with two friends since our husbands were off on a fishing trip. I'm so glad we picked Rain Uptown for our get together. The service was impeccable by Jenna, the food, eggs benedict and benedict crepes was excellent. Get the mimosas by the carafe for sure!! We hogged a table for quite a while we talked, but felt no pressure to leave. Our ticket was split without our asking. I would recommend brunch for sure to everyone. (I've been there for dinner too and food was great!)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good. We went to lunch ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food was very good. We went to lunch (3 ladies) and enjoyed the atmosphere, the quiet some could converse and our waitress was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is good but overpriced. Restaurant ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food is good but overpriced. Restaurant is still too dark but they do have flashlights available if one wants to read the menu--be careful not to trip over the bench near the entrance, however!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We love the food. The ambiance is nice t ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We love the food. The ambiance is nice though a bit noisy. We've always had a great experience there except for this time. We received our salads and took maybe 2 bites when our entrees arrived. The waiter said, "Sorry, the kitchen is running ahead of schedule", then plopped our food down and left. We didn't want the dinner to get cold so we pushed salads aside and enjoyed the dinner. The waiter only returned to ask if we wanted dessert while we were still eating. We declined. We were thinking about a second glass of wine when the waiter returned with the check. Hope next time is better!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Friday night birthday dinner. Unfortuna ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Friday night birthday dinner. Unfortunately, this was a bad experience. We were sat in a booth which the upholstery was torn. Sat for a little more than 10 minutes as 2 hostesses looked on with no waiter, no water and what appeared to be very poor front of house training. Looked over the menu (it looked great) but decided that the prices were a bit much for the level of service we were going to receive. Decided to spend our money elsewhere. Service is paramount when you have a place named "uptown."

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Absolutely delicious food and wonderful ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Absolutely delicious food and wonderful setting for a moms night out. Our waitress was fabulous, not even mentioning to us they had closed 50 minutes earlier because we were enjoying our evening so much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying overnight on the way fro ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were staying overnight on the way from Breckenridge to Houston - and found this great dinner place via Open Table.

Their spinach pasta with the curry chicken was not only unusual but delightful.

Their wine list too was not a run of the mill winelist with some hard to find wines on their.

Kudo's to their sommelier. From a Houston pricing perspective the place is very moderate in price. We all loved our food!

The restaurant is located in a strip center but the owners have done a very nice job. There were even Palazzo style floors.

Our 9 year old wanted just plain pasta with meat sauce which while not being on the menu - our server graciously brought out. The service was timely and attentive.

We were there on a Tuesday night so it was not too crowded. If you live in Lubbock or go to Tech you should all go to this place for a great experience:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a great place to take friends. Good ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Just a great place to take friends. Good service and good atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine at Rain Uptown regularly. It is ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dine at Rain Uptown regularly. It is convenient and has never disappointed. This trip was for brunch. Great Bloody Mary's and omlettes. But there is much more to choose and it is all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great brunch

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went for brunch on a busy Sunday. I ordered the cereal crusted French Toast. It was so good that I am heading there this Sunday too. Btw the breakfast pizza was excellent as were the blueberry pancakes

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sea Bass was the best my wife and I ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Sea Bass was the best my wife and I ever tried.

There was also a layered chocolate cake that was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for dinner, but brunch was amazing ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great for dinner, but brunch was amazing. The French Toast and Blueberry Pancakes were the best I have had!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for Mother's Day or just a nice dinner

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I suspect they are always busy on Sunday's as their brunch menu is very enticing. Be sure and try a Bloody Mary! (go spicy) Although very busy, they honored our reservation and seated us almost immediately. Our server had worked here previously and was returning after a long absence. He was not to have been assigned a section that day, but was. I do not want to base my impression on their service based on this day. He forgot my salad, but our entries arrived within a reasonable time and was hot and delicious. (Chicken Parm..we were not in the mood for brunch on this occasion. We have had dinner here before with excellent service and again, our meal was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Bobby

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The meal we enjoyed was very well presented by our server. We had two young children with us and the wait staff was very understanding and accommodating . We really like Rain and enjoy our dining experience there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice variety of dishes and not the usual

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Nice variety of dishes and not the usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to Rain last Saturday for brunch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I went to Rain last Saturday for brunch with some girls before a bridal shower. We were SO excited for Rain's brunch and flavored mimosas, but the bartender was not available (or hungover because it was 9am on a Saturday morning) and no one else in the entire place was "allowed" to make drinks. Not even the manager! We even offered to get behind the bar and make em ourself a! The bartender showed up right as we were finishing our meal and finally got us some drinks. Luckily our waitress didn't make us pay for them, but still! BRUNCH IS NOT BRUNCH WITHOUT MIMOSAS!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

only reason i did not give outstanding f ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 24, 2016

only reason i did not give outstanding for food was the dinner salad was lacking in construction and simply not enough dressing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Italian Fare

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 5, 2016

The food at Rain Uptown is really good, as well it should be for the asking price of most of the entrees. Service was attentive, but not generally knowledgable about the menu as a whole. Good, but not outstanding, which is what we expected based on the recommendations we received.

Try the Escargot. It may be the best that I have ever had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My first time in Lubbock with our group ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 1, 2016

My first time in Lubbock with our group and this was a nice find

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Rain Uptown

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 11, 2016

The dining area is a separate room from the bar and is quiet and elegant without being too much. There are food items available here not offered elsewhere in town. The Fettuccine di Roberto (spinach noodles) is excellent. There have a very nice cheese tray as well. The wine selection is good but a little pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian in town

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 11, 2016

I took my wife to a romantic dinner, and she loved it. The food was delicious, it was better than the food we ate back in our trip to Italy. The waitress was so helpful, and she took good care of all our needs. This place is quite expensive, but it is totally worth it if you are celebrating romantic or professional situations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Pleasently surprise

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 20, 2016

I was taking a chance to go back since previous time, food was cold, service below par.

Happily surprised, food was good, service was very attentive and the whole experience was very pleasant. Probably will get a table rather than a booth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Euro feel .....

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 18, 2016

All pasta made fresh in house. Chef Pierre is the real thing! I had the lamb with risotto which was delicious. Veal Marsala was another winner. And the hot fresh euro bread is so good! I know I'm gushing but the food is just so good, as is the service and the martini. Love the escargot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricing is erratic. Some dishes and drin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2016

Pricing is erratic. Some dishes and drinks are good value or fairly priced. Others are not. Some wines by bottle are $20 above what other area restaurants charge...nearly 200% markup...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun i. The rain

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It is a very nice place for a 60-90 minute dinner. Food very good. 2 separate ambiance, dining and bar scene. Perfect for us for Valentines.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

35$ for macaronis

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2016

I tried the lobster tail with macaroni and cheese. The latter was good, but the lobster tail was a joke, more of a shrimp tail, really disappointing especially for 35$...

Plus 1 hour after the opening the sea bass was out as well as fruit purée for cocktail... Really bad.

I tried contacting them on their CB page but they never answered...

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great weekend brunch in Lubbock.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great weekend brunch in Lubbock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent staff in a great ambiance! Fan ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent staff in a great ambiance! Fantastic food and the best breakfast pizza we have ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoy the Rain

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We have been to Rain Uptown many times and have enjoyed every meal, but to varying degrees.

Try to sit in the main room, the service there has always been prompt and correct. The bar area is a fun atmosphere but the service is very slow and you find yourself flagging down people for drinks and checks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Brunch review

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was very good for brunch. We would definitely go again for brunch. Would also try for anothe time of day as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food!

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 7, 2016

The food is wonderful and the menu is varied...something for everyone.

The wine list is superb. Lots of wines to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.