Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.27mi
  2. Distance: 3.36mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 3.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.27mi
  2. Distance: 3.36mi
  3. Distance: 3.37mi
  4. Distance: 3.44mi

About Rain Uptown

Renowned chef Pierre Gabelli, brings high end Northern Italian cuisine to the South West. Menu items include, but not limited to, exquisite dry-aged steaks from Kobe beef to French-cut bone-in ribeyes, flown-in never frozen seafood from scallops to Maine lobster, as well as seasonal entrees as well. We cater to those with high standards in food, and those that refuse to compromise. We also are proud to offer the only exclusive martini bar in town, and wine selection that tops all in the city. The pastas we offer are not only made daily, but they are made with an imported customized machine shipped from Italy. This allows us to offer our guests a wide array of pastas ranging from gnocchi, fettuccine, angel hair, bow tie, ravioli, spaghetti, rigatoni,tortelli, fettuccine green and much more. This is truly the closest you can get to Italy without a passport or leaving town. We like to invite you to taste what has all of Lubbock buzzing over the hottest place to eat in town.

5217 98th St.
Suite 600
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Slide

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 798-5900

Website:
http://www.rainuptown.com/

Entertainment:
Every weekend as well as select weekdays, we offer our lounge guests live music ranging from local artists all across West Texas, to local magicians that bedazzle our guests until the real show -- that is your food, arrives at your table.

Catering:
When it comes to catering, very little restaurants can offer a two-time IRON CHEF winner to cater your event in however way you please other than Rain Uptown. Our Catering services are extremely flexible to include all kinds of parties and sizes, from weddings to board meetings; we do it all. We can cook on location, as well as a food presentation if needed. Let us come wine and dine you where you are if you can’t come to us!

Parking Details:
Open parking in front of building (handicapped accessible)

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gabelli

Private Party Facilities:
We have a secluded Venetian room that can accommodate up to 60 guests away from the main dining area to offer your party the privacy you wish for. The room is equipped with custom lighting as well as a retractable projection screen if you so choose to use it. All services are extended to the party room as well as exclusive menus.

Private Party Contact:
Clinton Shipman: (806) 798-5900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rain Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
See All
Romantic (7)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
61 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I absolutely love this place, it's perfect for a nice date night.
The service is phenomenal and the everything on the menu is to die for, the chef pays close attention to details and ensure everything dish that leaves the kitchen is perfect.
I highly recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great food & ambiance. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Rain Uptown is a great place for a date. The meals that I would recommend are the Roberto, the manicotti and their pizzas.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Decent prices and the service was perfect. Our server was on point with food recommendations and very polite. The only thing that was horrible was this machismo guy got all hostile and threw his drink. His family try to justify what he did was "okay". They kept saying he was hungry and they had waited two hours to get their food. Someone should've gave that guy a sneakers. "You're not you when you're hungry"

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

For valentines dinner, my wife, daughter and I made reservations at Rain Uptown. This has historically been one of our family's favorite places to eat for special occasions. Saldly this was our worst dining experience in a long time. The restaurant was under staffed for a busy night. Our waiter did his best and had a good attitude but was completely overwhelmed and was unable to even handle basic issues of providing water and breads for the table. I expect better staffing when taking reservations. It's inexcusable to be under staffed when you know ahead of time how many your serving and when they will be there.

For valentines they offered a shortened menu which I'm okay with on nights like this but the menu items were not good or cooked to order. Everything appeared to be prepared ahead of time and sitting under a heat lamp. This is my favorite place to go for a quality steak but this menu only had medallion tenderloin which where bite size and over cooked. My wife ordered ravioli that came out cold so she sent the dish back. The waiter picked up her plate walked to the kitchen and immediately returned with a fully prepared plate of ravioli. So either he gave her someone else's order or the plates of food were just sitting there under the heat lamp.

This was not a cheap night nor did I expect it to be. But the service and food where not what we paid for.

We were not the only table that felt this way. Several tables in the restaurant were openly complaining about similar issues. At no point was a manager in the dining room to check on the service. We attempted to contact ownership after we left but after a week we have received no response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waitstaff seemed really short-handed on Valentines. It took 45 minutes to get our check, have the credit card run, and returned. It's a good thing we didn't have anything else planned after dinner because we would not have made it! A decent experience, but not what we were expecting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food. Live music was very entertaining. Very nice evening out

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was the PERFECT venue to Celebrate 2 EXTRAordinary Mother's BDay Week! Also FANTASTIC Place to WELCOME Family Home to LUBBOCK after 35 years away! Tasty appetizers, comfort food for entire group, & Wine selection well paired to Menu offerings! Michael was both knowledgeable and attentive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

They obviously had an off night in the kitchen. Will be back fo mr another try, but this night was unexpected. Would not recommend at this time, but have been there before and it was exceptional. Food and ticket time was not up to expectations this go around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and service was very good. Bar was very slow and wine list is almost nonexistent. Tried to order 4 different wines by the glass and they were out of all of them. They brought me a wine to taste and see if I liked it and it was oxidized and tasted bad. They need to update their wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Expensive for the quality. My husband and I both had pasta. It was like eating a bowl of oil and butter and my chicken was soggy

Cocktails were great but I was very disappointed in the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and ombiance. Perfect for date or special occasions. Food was fantastic and wine list adequate. Specialty cocktails are fabulous for desert! Abraham, our server was exceptional!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good food and fairly cheap consideri the type of restaurant. Would recommend to a friend. Great staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with friends & Italian food was great! Very pricey but excellent. Splurged for dessert & could not believe the size of Chocolate Torte! Gigantic!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was okay.. they do have two side to the restaurant, one for dining and one with live music. No one told us (it would have been nice to listen to it) My food was WAY to hot, I could not even eat it until everyone els was done with theirs.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Only place to get risotto and it is always wonderful. I had chicken piccata.......delicious. And I love my grey goose martini. Seats need reburshing.....torn vinyl. Not enough cushion. I don't think this is a place for kids......more of a quiet date night or even an adult group drinking and dining. Entrees are $20-$48. Homemade pastas and more wonderful choices. I could live on their bread alone!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Lunch...Waiter did not know the menu or which sides were up charged. He tried to get info from chef but couldn't understand Pierre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We both ordered the petite 12 oz rib eye. Cooked med rare for me and med for husband. Best steaks we've had in a long time. My favorite was the risotto. Usually we start with escargot but opted for the crab cakes. Perfection. The chocolate torte was really a layer cake....only disappointment and since it was my birthday....made for a lousy ending! But.....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I really enjoyed the food, service an atmosphere. Overall it's was a amazing experience. It was perfect for my 9 year anniversary. My wife was in heaven thank you guys for the excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and service were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Poor service, food calamari tasted fishy and rubbery, parmigiana was very dry with a piece of Swiss cheese on top

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It wasn't a bad experience per say but the seating was very uncomfortable. We were seated at a folding table with a table cloth on it that was too tall for the benches. My steak was over-cooked which is unacceptable for a $40+ choice cut of meat. The service was good and he was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Ambiance was fantastic. Our waiter, while clearly new, was friendly and quick. The food was good, but in no way lived up to the price tag in both flavor and quantity. Someone would have to get us a gift card for us to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was great! Beautiful restaurant! Service a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The only reason I would hesitate to return is the price. I found it to be way to expensive to dine on a regular basis and would be hesitant on returning even on a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I went to Sunday brunch with two friends since our husbands were off on a fishing trip. I'm so glad we picked Rain Uptown for our get together. The service was impeccable by Jenna, the food, eggs benedict and benedict crepes was excellent. Get the mimosas by the carafe for sure!! We hogged a table for quite a while we talked, but felt no pressure to leave. Our ticket was split without our asking. I would recommend brunch for sure to everyone. (I've been there for dinner too and food was great!)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food was very good. We went to lunch (3 ladies) and enjoyed the atmosphere, the quiet some could converse and our waitress was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food is good but overpriced. Restaurant is still too dark but they do have flashlights available if one wants to read the menu--be careful not to trip over the bench near the entrance, however!

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We love the food. The ambiance is nice though a bit noisy. We've always had a great experience there except for this time. We received our salads and took maybe 2 bites when our entrees arrived. The waiter said, "Sorry, the kitchen is running ahead of schedule", then plopped our food down and left. We didn't want the dinner to get cold so we pushed salads aside and enjoyed the dinner. The waiter only returned to ask if we wanted dessert while we were still eating. We declined. We were thinking about a second glass of wine when the waiter returned with the check. Hope next time is better!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Don't know if a different chef, but food quality has definitely gone down. Place used to be packed with guests. Used to be one of the best Italian restaurants. Now you can walk in & get any table. Food value does not equal the excessive prices. Wake up Rain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Friday night birthday dinner. Unfortunately, this was a bad experience. We were sat in a booth which the upholstery was torn. Sat for a little more than 10 minutes as 2 hostesses looked on with no waiter, no water and what appeared to be very poor front of house training. Looked over the menu (it looked great) but decided that the prices were a bit much for the level of service we were going to receive. Decided to spend our money elsewhere. Service is paramount when you have a place named "uptown."

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Absolutely delicious food and wonderful setting for a moms night out. Our waitress was fabulous, not even mentioning to us they had closed 50 minutes earlier because we were enjoying our evening so much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were staying overnight on the way from Breckenridge to Houston - and found this great dinner place via Open Table.
Their spinach pasta with the curry chicken was not only unusual but delightful.
Their wine list too was not a run of the mill winelist with some hard to find wines on their.
Kudo's to their sommelier. From a Houston pricing perspective the place is very moderate in price. We all loved our food!
The restaurant is located in a strip center but the owners have done a very nice job. There were even Palazzo style floors.
Our 9 year old wanted just plain pasta with meat sauce which while not being on the menu - our server graciously brought out. The service was timely and attentive.
We were there on a Tuesday night so it was not too crowded. If you live in Lubbock or go to Tech you should all go to this place for a great experience:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Just a great place to take friends. Good service and good atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dine at Rain Uptown regularly. It is convenient and has never disappointed. This trip was for brunch. Great Bloody Mary's and omlettes. But there is much more to choose and it is all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went for brunch on a busy Sunday. I ordered the cereal crusted French Toast. It was so good that I am heading there this Sunday too. Btw the breakfast pizza was excellent as were the blueberry pancakes

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Sea Bass was the best my wife and I ever tried.
There was also a layered chocolate cake that was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great for dinner, but brunch was amazing. The French Toast and Blueberry Pancakes were the best I have had!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I suspect they are always busy on Sunday's as their brunch menu is very enticing. Be sure and try a Bloody Mary! (go spicy) Although very busy, they honored our reservation and seated us almost immediately. Our server had worked here previously and was returning after a long absence. He was not to have been assigned a section that day, but was. I do not want to base my impression on their service based on this day. He forgot my salad, but our entries arrived within a reasonable time and was hot and delicious. (Chicken Parm..we were not in the mood for brunch on this occasion. We have had dinner here before with excellent service and again, our meal was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The meal we enjoyed was very well presented by our server. We had two young children with us and the wait staff was very understanding and accommodating . We really like Rain and enjoy our dining experience there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.