Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Rain Uptown

4.0
103 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Worth the Drive
Renowned chef Pierre Gabelli, brings high end Northern Italian cuisine to the South West. Menu items include, but not limited to, exquisite dry-aged steaks from Kobe beef to French-cut bone-in ribeyes, flown-in never frozen seafood from scallops to Maine lobster, as well as seasonal entrees as well. We cater to those with high standards in food, and those that refuse to compromise. We also are proud to offer the only exclusive martini bar in town, and wine selection that tops all in the city. The pastas we offer are not only made daily, but they are made with an imported customized machine shipped from Italy. This allows us to offer our guests a wide array of pastas ranging from gnocchi, fettuccine, angel hair, bow tie, ravioli, spaghetti, rigatoni,tortelli, fettuccine green and much more. This is truly the closest you can get to Italy without a passport or leaving town. We like to invite you to taste what has all of Lubbock buzzing over the hottest place to eat in town.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 8:00 am–3:00 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:00 am–4:30 pm
Dinner
Mon–Sat 4:30 pm–11:00 pm
Sun 4:30 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(806) 798-5900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Pierre Gabelli
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have a secluded Venetian room that can accommodate up to 60 guests away from the main dining area to offer your party the privacy you wish for. The room is equipped with custom lighting as well as a retractable projection screen if you so choose to use it. All services are extended to the party room as well as exclusive menus.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Clinton Shipman: (806) 798-5900
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
When it comes to catering, very little restaurants can offer a two-time IRON CHEF winner to cater your event in however way you please other than Rain Uptown. Our Catering services are extremely flexible to include all kinds of parties and sizes, from weddings to board meetings; we do it all. We can cook on location, as well as a food presentation if needed. Let us come wine and dine you where you are if you can’t come to us!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Slide
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Open parking in front of building (handicapped accessible)
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Every weekend as well as select weekdays, we offer our lounge guests live music ranging from local artists all across West Texas, to local magicians that bedazzle our guests until the real show -- that is your food, arrives at your table.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 103 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Amazing dinner! I tried lobster/sea bass - Delish!
Also tried manicotti and steak from my friend and husband and they were equally amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 2 days ago

We were excited to see the menu on google as the live musci and Martini Bar!

We got there early for a glass or two of wine and we were informed the lounge was closed for a private party! WHAT! The hostess did check and said we could sit at the bar which was fine.
This is graduation TT night and was suppriosed to hear their was no live music and the very good menu was a limited special menu. We were told that it was noted on facebook?? As if would look at this for the evening event. This should have been noted with open table.

Will never go back or recommend unless you first check facebook!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We celebrated Mother’s Day at Rain Uptown. The restaurant was very busy, as you can expect. I’ve only eaten shrimp and grits a few times in states like North Carolina and South Carolina, and those were great. The shrimp and grits at Rain Uptown are good, but not great. My fiancé had the Balsamic Chicken which she said was very good. Her daughter had the Manicotti, which was the best dish of the three. Service was average, but being Mother’s Day, I will give them a pass and expect better should I go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Good food good service. Nice bar drinks. Would definitely recommend this eatery!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Always a great martini! Food....wonderful. If only they’d return to their original bread!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Overpriced, slow service, food was under par, waiter did nothing to help when we complained about the not good mushroom pasta. Will definitely not go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Dinner was very good. Had an awkward table behind the host station.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Great meal. Nice location. Al

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food was so-so. Balsamic chicken had shriveled vegetables.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Quiet, wonderful food, attentive service, perfect for a date or special occasion. Very very good Italian food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Out of town guests, really enjoyed the Balsamic Chicken! The evening was lovely. We enjoyed being able to hear each other as we visited, because the noise level was not too loud.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 26, 2018

I took my wife for our one year anniversary. She ordered the veal, and when we got it, it was tough and hard to cut. My meal was good. Then, after the meal, my wife wanted to order crème brûlée for dessert. When we recieved it to our table, it looked fine, then she proceeded to take a single bite of it, finding it was clumpy, the caramelized layer was cold, and the texture was inconsistent. We paid much more than we should have, for a meal that frankly wasn’t worth it. I will not go again, and I will advise friends and family to do the same. Unprofessional, and undesirable. We will stick to Olive Garden.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Very good! Our server Matthew was very attentive, will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Not sure got what we ordered-
Not nearly as good as the last time we ate there

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Loved our evening there. Cioppino in Lubbock? And good? Oh yes, this was excellent. My husband had the veal piccata and loved it as well. Our waitress was amazing and provided excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We really enjoyed Sunday brunch at Rain. There was a great crowd, but our service was very prompt and personal. The brunch menu was varied and interesting. The manager was walking around checking on tables, and that seems to make the difference!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Only four entrees on the menu for Valentine's day.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was served cold, when I address it they brought out another they brought out another cold dish in place of the original.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I would have appreciated knowing ahead of time that Valentine's dinner was $75.00 a head. The food was good, but really $75.00?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was very good, special request was turned down due to large party and the waiter was not prepared for a fine dining environment . Great menu and terrific wine list...everyone enjoyed the meal! We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Very pleased with the service and Quality of our dinner. Our server Matt made excellent recommendations and we were happy with them all. will be going back again , next time in Lubbock.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Service a bit slow. Had to ask to submit a drink order.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Very good! Enjoyed the food and ambience!
Loved the pasta!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

I ordered the escargot for my entree and loved it. You can also depend on the risotto being good. A real chef in the kitchen makes all the difference. And, now after a years absense, the manager is back! Love the martinis.....made right!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent service! Very little wait for food although it was rather expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Amazing food! Our new favorite Italian in Lubbock.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Perfect evening. We enjoyed good service . Began with a house salad and creamy balsamic....delicious! My husband loved his cream of spinach soup. Shrimp Panna was rich and a real winner. You can tell the difference when a restaurant serves fresh pasta and sauces made when ordered. IF only they'd go back to their wonderful chiabatta bread!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Very disappointed in this place. We went for brunch and it took over an hour to get our food. When we finally got our meal it was cold and they forgot specific deletions and additions for each meal such as no potatoes or a side of sour cream. One person didn't get their meal when our came out. The reason was because they said one of the line cooks did not speak Spanish. We didn't send our food back or complain to the waiter because we were starving and didn't want to wait any longer for the food. It was a shame because it seemed like a nice place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was great. Both me and my woman loved it. Service was better than Ive ever had. A lot cheaper than I thought it'd be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food. Service was exceptional. Quiet atmosphere allowing friendly conversation Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Wanted a quick meal this restaurant delivered, will repeat visit next trip!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 5, 2017

Very disappointed in the food & the service at Rain Uptown. It was my mom's 75th birthday and we wanted to take her to her favorite restaurant. The seven of us were all so disappointed

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 23, 2017

the food was over priced, quality was poor and service was slow

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and sister both suffered from food posioning from the meal served here. There is certainly a problem with hygiene of cleanliness in the kitchen. I would not recommend this establishment to anyone.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 19, 2017

We were sat at a plastic table. Service was horrible. When paying the bill the manager just wanted to argue about the service. Highly recommend you stay away.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2017

This is one of our favorite places, both for Sunday brunch and evening entertainment. However, we will never again visit on a holiday or special occasion when things are busy. The menu was completely different on Mother's Day and was replace with food that was lower quality and none of our favorite items were available. Service was very slow and although our wait staff was kind she was too busy to keep things together. Drinks were not refilled and she gave another table our to go box. We noticed but she never mentioned it. Since strangers had opened the box and it was in their possession for 20 minutes, we just discarded it when we got home. All four of our meals were burned and had to be sent back. The replacements were better but not cooked right either. We ate them alway because of the 45 minute wait that we endured the first time. Mimosa is a brunch specialty and we usually order a carafe (about 4 glasses and reasonably priced). They decided to not offer this on Mothers Day. Instead, we had to order by the glass. They also changed the normal wine glasses to small champagne flutes which held one third the quantity. We ordered the individuals, received one third the amount and ended up paying about 5 times more. The atmosphere was busy, stressful and loud. We never saw a manager and there was no offer to comp anything (we are not the type of people to ask). The moral of the story is that we will continue to visit Rain Uptown but never again on a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice atmosphere when you want a more special breakfast or brunch. I loved my eggs benedict. However, my husband had to wait for his meal longer than the rest of us, and when he asked for more sauce for his crepes it was not warm enough and we were charged extra. The Mother's Day dessert gift was a nice touch.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Do not go to rain for special occasions. They try to be TOO prepared and it ends up not working in there favor. They portioned jelly and you got about a teaspoon had to spread the teaspoon between three people could not get anymore. Was there with three elderly women and they have out Mother's Day presents to mothers only it should have been given out to everyone and not made people feel excluded overall fair experience . Normally great special occasions negative and on top of that did I mention COLD food!!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was amazing. Six different entrees were ordered and all were delicious.

The service was awful. The three appetizers we ordered were apparently never ordered and, therefore, never arrived. When waiter appeared again 20 mins. later asking for our appetizer order, we reminded him that we'd already placed our appetizer order, but now we'll just move on to entrees. When he asked me for me order, I asked for the special that evening, a white fish with lobster sauce, broccolini, risotto (which he had just told me was the special)... He states that he needs to go get a pencil. OK? Rest of group orders. An hour later (1-1/2 hours after our reservation), we are actually served, sans any appetizers.

If it weren't for how amazing the cuisine was, we would never even consider coming again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2017

Thursday night.....They were informed with reservation that this was our anniversary. I ordered a martini...THEN SIDE salad. Our entrees arrived before I finished my salad. I expected risotto to take at least 30 minutes to prepare and it came out after only a few minutes. The lamb chops were not good......hard to cut into. Brussels sprouts were supposedly sautéed and finished in a lemon butter sauce but my plate held tasteless huge sprouts??? The Roberto pasta was good.... the new in house teramiusu was impressive in presentation and good. We were in and out in an hour.....
Maybe 3 other tables with diners. For the prices which keep going up, it will no longer be our favorite place. P.s. They finally got those torn up booth benches with stained foam replaced.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3