About Racks Fish House and Oyster Bar

5 SE 2nd Ave
Delray Beach, FL 33444
View Larger Map

In keeping with founder Gary Rack’s goal of establishing an unprecedented culture of restaurant dining experiences, the Delray Beach establishment sources a variety of inspiration for all aspects of its presentation. A New England seafood house featuring prohibition-style cocktails and Grand Central Oyster Bar-inspired steam kettles, RACKS Fish House + Oyster Bar will feature a unique, nouveau-nautical décor along with a responsibly sourced ocean-to-table menu that excites and inspires.
Culinary Director Matthew Danaher, known for his straightforward style of cooking, has developed an innovative menu that incorporates beloved classics with the modern style and appetite of South Florida. Guests will discover ever-evolving recipes for Oysters Rockefeller, pan roasts and po-boys as well as an extensive live raw bar featuring what’s fresh and in season.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday- Tuesday: 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday & Thursday: 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 12:00 pm - 11:00pm (Bar open until Midnight)

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue and 2nd street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(561) 450-6718

Website:
http://www.racksdelray.com/

Catering:
We will do our best to accommodate all catering

Parking Details:
There's valet available.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Danaher and Todd Katz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wine

Promotions

HAPPY HOUR- EVERY day of the week!

Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Become an Exclusive GR Member {Reward Program}

Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

HAPPY HOUR- EVERY day of the week!

Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour Menu available + 50% off select drinks! Valid at the bar + BUCK-a-SHUCK, $1 Blue points during Oyster Happy Hour by the 1/2 dz. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join the fun!. Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. This Monday Wine Down is available on Labor Day Sept 7th from open to close. Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Become an Exclusive GR Member {Reward Program}

Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

1 pt. for every dollar spent all locations. Earn 100 pts. receive $10 off next purchase. Double your pts. when dining between 2pm - 4pm, 7 days a week. Birthday gifts! gift card pts!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Also enjoy priority seating & email notifications. $20/card initial cost. Special valid May 3, 2016 - Sep 3, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM.

Racks Fish House and Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my birthday. We ordered a $60 bo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was my birthday. We ordered a $60 bottle of wine. Then ordered the trout almondine and steak filet. The Filet was ordered medium and it came out red and bloody. It was sent back then came out burnt. The waiter suggested to order something else since they made the steaks thinner and smaller (but still $40) and they have this problem with cooking them. The manager came over and we ordered salmon medium. The salmon came out raw inside. The waiter took it away and we asked for the manager several times. He never came back and we sat there with no food. I ate the trout which was good as my daughter sat there with no food and the manager never came by. The waiter kept saying he asked him to come over but he was busy. We got our check for the trout and wine. The manager came over and was very rude saying our server never told him to come over and told him we did not want anything else. This manager at this Racks should be FIRED. He's not a nice person. He wouldn't even offer to take anything off the bill. There must be something wrong with the grill at this restaurant. Used to go there a few times a month. I have been telling friends about my experience and they have had similar issues with this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

I love all Rack's Restaurant's consisten ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love all Rack's Restaurant's consistently good food and great staff!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time there, kind of fel ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was our first time there, kind of felt bad for the waitress she said it was her first big table (party of 8). Too much spice on the shrimp and steak one of the staff said the chefs that were working were known to overdo it but how would we have known before ordering on our first time but still delicious! We had crab cakes, applewood BBQ ribs, seafood linguini, Chilean sea bass, calamari ceviche, oysters, clams, and the Higo was a refreshing drink!! Overall we had a great night with great food didn't mind paying top dollar $$$$

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The worst value and food quality. I'm am ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The worst value and food quality. I'm amazed this restaurant is in business. I'd never consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great experience. Will definitely be ret ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great experience. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Rack's Fish House and Oyster Bar offers ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Rack's Fish House and Oyster Bar offers American fare at average prices. There was nothing wrong with our meals but they were just not anything special. I believe that in season, the bar scene is very active as the restaurant is located in the "hot" area of downtown Delray Beach. We were at the Rack's located in Mizner Park and felt that their menu had better choices. We were glad we tried it but we are not sure we will return. There are many better choices in downtown Delray.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Tasteless over-priced food served by arr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Tasteless over-priced food served by arrogant staff. Came for an 8:30 reservation and it was clear that server (Erik) just wanted to call it a night. Entrees arrived randomly. Mashed potatoes and asparagus cold. Server refused to apologize but said that dishes with fries required his presence before being served. Within 5 minutes of final entree arriving, server asked us 3 times if we wanted anything. Not our problem that the guy wanted to go home. Food was cold, bland, and just slightly above airline quality. Overall an expensive waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Though the waiter was good, and the Oyst ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Though the waiter was good, and the Oyster House ambiance well done, the food was disappointing. The oysters were overpriced, and the salad was overdressed. My grilled scallops were over seasoned and overcooked, the Brussels sprouts were undercooked, and the potatoes cool. My wife's red snapper was equally over seasoned. At their price points, I expected much better food. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

They were able to accommodate our large ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

They were able to accommodate our large party at the last minute. The food was great and the service allowed us to truly enjoy our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was ok but overpriced for what it w ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was ok but overpriced for what it was. Service was horrible and chef wasn't able to do any substations for certain sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Getting seated without a wait was great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Getting seated without a wait was great for a Saturday night... And we now know why. We were seated and ate within 40 minutes. Our server seemed to be in a race or rush of some sort. He took our order all at once and everything came all at once -- apps and meals. Drinks tasted terrible. Food was alright - I've had better and for less expensive too. I mean buffalo shrimp app $17 for 4 shrimps in buffalo sauce? The app my husband order was sold out & instead of brining the menu the waiter insisted on the mac n cheese or grilled octopus. Had to ask for a drink menu, and asked for one thing and was told I should get another. The manager happen to stop by our table. We expressed our disappointment but she just apologize and kept on walking. Not a good way to get repeat customers (just saying). And to end the rushed meal no mention of dessert or even ask/ offer a cup of coffee. Thanks but no thanks on this restaurant. I suggest taking a look at other restaurants within Delray before spending your time & money here! This place is overrated!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Food was good enough to cover the servic ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was good enough to cover the service that was unnecessarily slow for only having 6 tables sat in the whole restaurant. It was Father's Day and it was the fathers at the table who were constantly left waiting for their drink or their food to be made correctly. And instead of the server just apologizing and quickly fixing the issues, he kept making excuses as to why it wasn't his fault (no one cared, they just wanted what they ordered in a timely fashion) .. and $70 for 5 cups of soup (which was WAY overdressed with scallions and just mediocre) is outrageous. We still tipped over 20% because we are all "in the biz" and "we understand" ... but in hindsight, we left upset and will never return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Fabulous food and the most wonderful ser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fabulous food and the most wonderful service. Outstanding all around. Recommend highly‼️‼️

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a big birthday with some f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated a big birthday with some family members and we had a great time. The food and service were excellent. We ate at an outside corner table that was comfortable and private. Nobody rushed us and Racks was a hit with all of us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Subpar food and very expensive. Truffle ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Subpar food and very expensive. Truffle fries cost $9 and were soggy, drenched in oil

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The wait staff is very knowledgeable, th ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The wait staff is very knowledgeable, the oysters were great, and the drinks were delicious.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great Food, Great Service. I will be back! I had the lobster blt. I am no exaggerating when I say it was one of the best sandwiches I ever had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Creole calamari was superb. The lobster ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Creole calamari was superb. The lobster roll was the best I've had in years. Our server Jennifer was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took out of town guests here and were ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We took out of town guests here and were very pleased with the service, food and our waiter was exceptional.

We have been there before and will go back many times in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bland bland bland seafood.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Bland bland bland seafood.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Adam was awesome

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Adam was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very Average. Congested dining area. No ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very Average. Congested dining area. Not comfortable at all waiters up selling instead of advising. Overall just ok. Nothing worth going back for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Elissa was terrific

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Elissa was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Deliciousness

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We really like this place. We've been there a few times and have never been disappointed. The food is phenomenal. Everything you see coming out of the kitchen looks awesome. I had the Idaho Trout Almandine and my wife had the Chilean Sea Bass. We loved both. I tried a bite of the Sea Bass, and all I can say is, if you like coconut and crab and rice, this is the dish to get. Phenomenal. We'll continue to bring friends here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's a fun place. Food is good. Grass-fe ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

It's a fun place. Food is good. Grass-fed burger w/ fried oysters - amazing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Racks has it all

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We've been to Racks several because we like the food. Most times we've come at night and the place is loud and frenetic with a crowded feel. Q. At lunch however it's much calmer and relaxing. Either time the food is very good; the drinks and the appetizers are very creative; and the service efficient with a smile. The specialties include oysters from around the world; and all seafood is their mainstay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love eating out side there. The food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Love eating out side there. The food was wonderful but the drink pours were short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service was fantastic. I wo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The food and service was fantastic. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great meal with excellent Service and great location

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Racks in Delray

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was ok to good, but a bit pricy for brunch, $120.00 with tip for brunch for two people on a Saturday. Food only, no alcohol.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

awful

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Went on recommendation and booked Easter lunch for 3 people. I was so embarrassed. The grilled octopus was just ok. We each ordered the grilled snapper and one side. no alcohol. No dessert, and no extras. The bill was $170 before tip. The worst part was that the server was terse and didn't seem to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Very disappointed

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Started off pretty bas as we were seated for more than 20 minutes before someone came over. From then on, service was great. We ordered fish, mine was definitely undercooked and had to send it back. Still came back undercooked. My wife's was a little better. The fries were very good so were the oysters. Luckily, the manager saved the day by the treating us to a bottle of wine.

Maybe they just had a bad night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

They don't seem to understand customer s ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

They don't seem to understand customer service. After we waited close to an hour for our food . It came cold. The manager came over to apologize and offered to send us desert. One desert for 4 people, really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Not Worth It.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Sorry, Gary Rack, your growing fame as a restauranteur seems greatly overblown in my opinion. We two couples decided to have an anniversary dinner at Rack's Fish and Oyster House last Saturday evening. We were greeted and seated promptly by a very friendly hostess who offered us a choice of a noisy area or a booth farther away from the bar. It seems not to have mattered as it is a very noisy place, but the offer was appreciated.

There is a limited menu for anyone who wants a simple healthy seafood meal. I was pleased with my plain grilled mahi, and the trout almondine was tasty, but the calamari was very breaded and over cooked. Being charged $3.00 for a basket of 4 small, plain rolls was offensive as Rack's is not shy about their prices. In order to get butter for said rolls or any condiment such as plain balsamic vinegar, one had to be lucky. There was no balsamic at all and they presented one single pat of butter for the 4 rolls. They certainly are not generous in any way with butter or serving sizes.

To be fair, I am on a very limited diet for medical reasons, so my choices aren't easy. But, I have not had any problem in any other restaurant we have dined in. Overall, We were not impressed by our dining experience at Racks. There are too many other great choices in the Delray area to bother with overblown prices and less than really good food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Racks again

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

We have been to the restaurant many times and each time bring a newbie to Racks with us and each person thinks it is a find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not memorable

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

A friend recommended this restaurant for great oysters. They were okay, but not top notch. I later found out that he meant City Oyster, not Racks.

While the oysters were not first rate, my husband's lobster roll came exactly as he had personalized it and the shrimp and grits were tasty.

However, the people at the next table send back their order of mussels.

There was an extra $2.00 charge for a scotch we had ordered. When questioned, we were told that the bartender had mistakenly poured an extra bit into the glass. Hence, the extra charge. Not a move to entice customers to return.

There are too many other similar places on Atlantic Avenue to recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Great atmosphere and food. The waitress was very friendly and helpful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Didn't love the menu

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

This restaurant was suggested to us, but we we disappointed. The menu was limited, and there was not much on it that appealed to any of the 3 of us. We ended up just ordering a few appetizers and drinks. There was so much noise that we couldn't hear ourselves, and the air-conditioning was so high we were freezing. The menu was expensive and limited so overall it isn't someplace I would suggest to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Racks

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My wife wanted some stone crabs and Racks was the only one nearby. Unfortunately the only stone crabs they had was one colossal claw as an appetizer for 30 bucks. It was not worth the 30 bucks. Lesson learned. The ambiance was that of an old worn out restaurant...furniture, floors, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Great for a crowd

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We went with a party of ten and the restaurant did a great job. Service was excellent and the food was very good although they ran out of the black cod special which was unfortunate because that's what I really wanted. Very nice evening though. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Happy Hour

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Happened on happy hour what a deal. Half price drinks and wine. Lots of great snacks fabulous burger.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.