About Racks Fish House and Oyster Bar

5 SE 2nd Ave
Delray Beach, FL 33444
View Larger Map

In keeping with founder Gary Rack’s goal of establishing an unprecedented culture of restaurant dining experiences, the Delray Beach establishment sources a variety of inspiration for all aspects of its presentation. A New England seafood house featuring prohibition-style cocktails and Grand Central Oyster Bar-inspired steam kettles, RACKS Fish House + Oyster Bar will feature a unique, nouveau-nautical décor along with a responsibly sourced ocean-to-table menu that excites and inspires.
Culinary Director Matthew Danaher, known for his straightforward style of cooking, has developed an innovative menu that incorporates beloved classics with the modern style and appetite of South Florida. Guests will discover ever-evolving recipes for Oysters Rockefeller, pan roasts and po-boys as well as an extensive live raw bar featuring what’s fresh and in season.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Monday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Tuesday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Wednesday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Thursday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)
Friday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)
Saturday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue and 2nd street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(561) 450-6718

Website:
http://www.racksdelray.com/

Catering:
We will do our best to accommodate all catering

Parking Details:
There's valet available.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Danaher and Todd Katz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Specials

Become an Exclusive GR Member {Reward Program}

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

HAPPY HOUR- EVERY day of the week!

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Become an Exclusive GR Member {Reward Program}

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

1 pt. for every dollar spent all locations. Earn 100 pts. receive $10 off next purchase. Double your pts. when dining between 2pm - 4pm, 7 days a week. Birthday gifts! gift card pts!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Also enjoy priority seating & email notifications. $20/card initial cost. Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM.

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Monday Wine Down is available every Monday from open to close. Holidays may vary. Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

HAPPY HOUR- EVERY day of the week!

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour Menu available + 50% off select drinks! Valid at the bar + BUCK-a-SHUCK, $1 Blue points during Oyster Happy Hour by the 1/2 dz. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join the fun!. Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Racks Fish House and Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Bar Seating (5)
See All
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Authentic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was phenomenal! Blackened sword ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was phenomenal! Blackened swordfish & crab cake were musts! Pat did a great job taking care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mom and I were having dinner at Racks ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

My mom and I were having dinner at Racks, and to reminisce about memories of my dad , as it was his one year passing. Into eating our appetizers the busboy pass by with lots of plates stacked up in a black bin and the plates were going to tumble over on my head behind me and he push them as not to fall on my head. The plates landed on the table and shattered everywhere, glass brushing up against my eyes and my arm. Landing into the food as well. My mother and I both got startled and thought it was gunshots.

Everyone came over and apologized. I received a half a glass of wine. That I asked for to calm me down. At the end of our dinner after they took all the food away and replaced it with new food the waiter asked if we wanted dessert. My mom replied are you going to compensate dessert for our evening? And he replied I wish I could.

When the $70 bill arrived for our dinner I was a little surprised that they didn't squash the bill. They did not even ask me for my phone number to check up on me today.

PS. My mother is using a walker. She is increasingly getting better from an accident she had where she broke her femur bone. We needed to use the bathroom and the walkway inside the restaurant was not handicap accessible. My mother had to go all the way outside and around to the back to the bathroom which she still had a little hard time to get back into the restaurant on the other side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Overpriced for what it was. Lobster roll ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Overpriced for what it was. Lobster roll was a tough as could be. Very noisy

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food! The hostesses could use an a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food! The hostesses could use an attitude adjustment as they seated us at a table with an unpleasant smell and were rude and unhelpful when we asked to be moved. Luckily the waiter's excellent attitude and the delicious food made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Totally inflexible on menu. Customer cle ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Totally inflexible on menu. Customer clearly not priority. Caesar salad had good dressing but no anchovies or croutons. Bread cost extra. Wouldn't give me sauce or side I wanted for trout almandine. Potatoes that came w meal barely edible so had to pay extra for fries. Fish was delicious after I was able to get sauce I wanted from my mother who ordered grouper. Everyone enjoyed fish but angered my father bringing his entree before he finished salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Very good great service Food was good W ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very good great service

Food was good

Went there for the roasted Califla and was told they ran out bummed

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Pricing is Ok but quantity of food is si ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Pricing is Ok but quantity of food is simply a rip off. Our waitress was terrific but agin 3 dollars for rolls when you offer clams wth that much sauce yet no bread total bush league . Same grilled octopus nice flavor but smallest portion ever and my son got Scallops and Pork Belly which he could not find on the plate it was so small of a portion.

My sons girlfriend got crab crusted grouper no one shared it was 40+ dollars again a rip off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

This place is OK, nothing special. The o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This place is OK, nothing special. The oysters were pretty good, the food wasn't bad either, but nothing special. The ambience is loud. Overall it's more of a fun place - it's right off Atlantic Ave in Delray, which has become a big party destination (mostly thanks to the owner of this place, who owns the whole corner), so how you feel about that is up to you.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Expensive but delicious.

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Expensive but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was friendly and energetic. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our server was friendly and energetic. Our entrees finally arrived about an hour after we were seated. The salmon with mashed potatoes and asparagus was tasty. The Loo-ey sauce on the hamburger was spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Exceptional preparation of classic fish ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Exceptional preparation of classic fish dishes. Great service when the place was packed. Excellent drinks list. We will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pasta and rice and coconut shrimp all v ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pasta and rice and coconut shrimp all very bland.

$70 seafood platter totally over priced!! Conch civic he was tough and hardly edible.

Waiter was not listening. Forgot our lemon then acted like we asked for the first time when we said he forgot it. Brought a second drink when we said no to another.

Waiter put on the charm right before time to pay bills. Prior to that he was too distracted to pay attention to what we were saying to him.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We had wanted to go for happy hour (4-7p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had wanted to go for happy hour (4-7pm), but our 6pm dinner reservation was for a table not included in happy hour pricing. Happy hour is strictly first come, first serve, and we were too late to participate. I recommend getting there early, maybe by 5pm. We went to our table and had fresh oysters and tuna tartare; both delicious. My husband had the steamed clams, which were ok, but the steamed oysters we tasted were better. They do take a little while to make, so order these early if you want them. Our main courses were very good - trout almondine and the fisherman's platter. Everything we ate was very fresh and well prepared. The place was packed, it our server was still extremely attentive, and the managers came to greet us and make sure we were enjoying our meal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is very good and semi-reasonably pr ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food is very good and semi-reasonably priced. The drink prices however are very high and the pour a very mediocre drink. For what they charge for a drink it should be a country club pour. In addition it was 1/2 off on bottles of wine and no one told us. The attitude of the bar tender was a little snippy as well. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Excellent food and service..fun authenti ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent food and service..fun authentic New England feel

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tiffany was enthusiastic, friendly and p ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Tiffany was enthusiastic, friendly and professional. We tried several dishes and all were delicious. Happy Hour is a great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, fresh food! Fabulous happy hour ( ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great, fresh food! Fabulous happy hour (if you are in the right section!)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal with friends . Our ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a great meal with friends . Our waiter was so courteous and provided excellent service. Will go back!

Tags: , Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing server

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had to eat outside - couldn't hear each ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had to eat outside - couldn't hear each other indoors. But really enjoyed the service and the food. I had the Crab Cakes with a Signature Salad side. Both were great. My dinner guest had the Coconut Shrimp with Mango Sauce and Rice, and said that too was great. Dinner was pricey but not terribly out of line with many other choices in Delray.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Happy Hour - if you sit in the rig ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great Happy Hour - if you sit in the right spot. If you are going to Rack's for Happy Hour make sure to ask the host or server if it is available at your table. For some reason, Rack's has decided that Happy Hour pricing is in effect at the bar (obviously) and only certain booths and tables. The quality of the food and service are always good regardless of where you sit, but there could be a big difference in the check.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Always enjoyable, wait staff always frie ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always enjoyable, wait staff always friendly and efficient. Location is perfect to watch what is happening on the avenue.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading many reviews I was a bit a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

After reading many reviews I was a bit apprehensive since there were complaints about service. Our waiter was delightful, informative, and very attentive. I had grilled salmon which was cooked perfectly as I asked. The crab cakes had by 2 others were flavorful and all lump crab meat. Another person had the ribs and said they were delicious. The vegetables were all excellent too. The one complaint was that the person who ordered ribs didn't want french fries and there were no substitutions allowed. For the price charged for the ribs it wouldn't kill them to give a different vegetable. Other reviewers complained about the management but we didn't have any issues so I can't answer to that. The prices are not cheap, but it is downtown Delray and you expect that.It's not a fancy place but very comfortable...the hostess was accommodating and offered us our choice of tables as it wasn't crowded on a Sunday night. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We chose Rack's after we called and they ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We chose Rack's after we called and they confirmed they were serving stone crabs. Great we thought, I was told on the phone they had a large selection. After being seated we asked our server about the selection, he said they have 1 size: colossal. Disappointed but ordered 2. One was great the other was terrible. We told the waiter and he said he would take it off the bill. That was nice we said but not neccesary. He insisted-so we said thank you. When the bill came and the 2 claws were on the bill at $35.00 each, we questioned the waiter. He said sorry-my manager said no-way. So we won't be returning. We dine out consistantly every weekend. I have never had a more disappointed with the lack of integrity in the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent raw bar featuring very fresh f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent raw bar featuring very fresh food. Scallops entre was outstanding.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything lacked basic seasoning. Wine ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Everything lacked basic seasoning. Wine glasses sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Over a year ago, I was introduced to RFH ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Over a year ago, I was introduced to RFH by locals for a business lunch. The one thing that I remembered was that they had the best coleslaw that I had ever tasted. That's what drew me back this time for a revisit. Unusual and quite an accomplishment in my book that a side item has such an impact.

The decor is fun. The staff members were excellent and very well trained. The food was very good. We had a deliciously tender octopus appetizer. Then we had the recommended lobster rolls. Their "Very Best Cole Slaw", wasn't how I remembered though. They must have changed the recipe? It was now quite ordinary which made me really sad.

I know Delray has some big spenders, but $28 for a lobster roll? Wow! 2 iced teas, 1 appetizer and 2 mains exceeded $100 with a customary tip. The area has many, many outstanding choices for meals. I probably won't make it back to Racks.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

We have eaten at Rack's several times an ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We have eaten at Rack's several times and it is the BOMB every single time. Awesome restaurant staff - they are friendly every time you visit. They are respectful of your time with your friends and family which is nice. The food is amazing. From oysters to steak to chicken - the wood fire oven makes such a difference. The atmosphere is relaxing, not stuffy and uptight. The bard is cool and you can dine outside or in. I highly recommend Racks to all my friends, family and colleagues.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother and her boyfriend got the lobs ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

My mother and her boyfriend got the lobster roll. They were basically hot dog buns with a very small amount of lobster. I was embarrassed when then came out since I suggested Racks and was treating my mother for her birthday. I got the filet mignon which was good but way overpriced. Back to Cut 432 next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great food and wonderful service. Ask fo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Ask for Luis!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time I went back and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was the second time I went back and had the same waiter Johan , and loved it just as much as the first. The trout almondine, fried green tomatoes and roasted brussels sprouts made my week! Love sitting outside and no matter how hot it is it's always comfortable on the hightops. It was a perfect evening and so much fun… Definitely be back👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crisis! After sitting for 45 min our se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Crisis! After sitting for 45 min our server finally realized we never got our appetizers let alone any service. We then decided to leave and the manager made us wait for 10 min to speak with her bc she was in a "conversation". It was so bad- service and no apology that we didn't eat on a Friday night.

No one really cared we were shafted and I really couldn't believe in the world of social media no one cared. Our advice- give your money to more of a local place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

It was my birthday. We ordered a $60 bo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was my birthday. We ordered a $60 bottle of wine. Then ordered the trout almondine and steak filet. The Filet was ordered medium and it came out red and bloody. It was sent back then came out burnt. The waiter suggested to order something else since they made the steaks thinner and smaller (but still $40) and they have this problem with cooking them. The manager came over and we ordered salmon medium. The salmon came out raw inside. The waiter took it away and we asked for the manager several times. He never came back and we sat there with no food. I ate the trout which was good as my daughter sat there with no food and the manager never came by. The waiter kept saying he asked him to come over but he was busy. We got our check for the trout and wine. The manager came over and was very rude saying our server never told him to come over and told him we did not want anything else. This manager at this Racks should be FIRED. He's not a nice person. He wouldn't even offer to take anything off the bill. There must be something wrong with the grill at this restaurant. Used to go there a few times a month. I have been telling friends about my experience and they have had similar issues with this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

I love all Rack's Restaurant's consisten ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love all Rack's Restaurant's consistently good food and great staff!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time there, kind of fel ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was our first time there, kind of felt bad for the waitress she said it was her first big table (party of 8). Too much spice on the shrimp and steak one of the staff said the chefs that were working were known to overdo it but how would we have known before ordering on our first time but still delicious! We had crab cakes, applewood BBQ ribs, seafood linguini, Chilean sea bass, calamari ceviche, oysters, clams, and the Higo was a refreshing drink!! Overall we had a great night with great food didn't mind paying top dollar $$$$

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic, the octopus and oysters were ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fantastic, the octopus and oysters were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The worst value and food quality. I'm am ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The worst value and food quality. I'm amazed this restaurant is in business. I'd never consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great experience. Will definitely be ret ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great experience. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Rack's Fish House and Oyster Bar offers ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Rack's Fish House and Oyster Bar offers American fare at average prices. There was nothing wrong with our meals but they were just not anything special. I believe that in season, the bar scene is very active as the restaurant is located in the "hot" area of downtown Delray Beach. We were at the Rack's located in Mizner Park and felt that their menu had better choices. We were glad we tried it but we are not sure we will return. There are many better choices in downtown Delray.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Tasteless over-priced food served by arr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Tasteless over-priced food served by arrogant staff. Came for an 8:30 reservation and it was clear that server (Erik) just wanted to call it a night. Entrees arrived randomly. Mashed potatoes and asparagus cold. Server refused to apologize but said that dishes with fries required his presence before being served. Within 5 minutes of final entree arriving, server asked us 3 times if we wanted anything. Not our problem that the guy wanted to go home. Food was cold, bland, and just slightly above airline quality. Overall an expensive waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.