About Racks Fish House and Oyster Bar

5 SE 2nd Ave
Delray Beach, FL 33444
View Larger Map

In keeping with founder Gary Rack’s goal of establishing an unprecedented culture of restaurant dining experiences, the Delray Beach establishment sources a variety of inspiration for all aspects of its presentation. A New England seafood house featuring prohibition-style cocktails and Grand Central Oyster Bar-inspired steam kettles, RACKS Fish House + Oyster Bar will feature a unique, nouveau-nautical décor along with a responsibly sourced ocean-to-table menu that excites and inspires.
Culinary Director Matthew Danaher, known for his straightforward style of cooking, has developed an innovative menu that incorporates beloved classics with the modern style and appetite of South Florida. Guests will discover ever-evolving recipes for Oysters Rockefeller, pan roasts and po-boys as well as an extensive live raw bar featuring what’s fresh and in season.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Monday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Tuesday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Wednesday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Thursday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)
Friday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)
Saturday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue and 2nd street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(561) 450-6718

Website:
http://www.racksdelray.com/

Catering:
We will do our best to accommodate all catering

Parking Details:
There's valet available.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Danaher and Todd Katz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Specials

Become an Exclusive GR Member {Reward Program}

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

HAPPY HOUR- EVERY day of the week!

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Become an Exclusive GR Member {Reward Program}

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

1 pt. for every dollar spent all locations. Earn 100 pts. receive $10 off next purchase. Double your pts. when dining between 2pm - 4pm, 7 days a week. Birthday gifts! gift card pts!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Also enjoy priority seating & email notifications. $20/card initial cost. Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:30 PM.

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Monday Wine Down is available every Monday from open to close. Holidays may vary. Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

HAPPY HOUR- EVERY day of the week!

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour Menu available + 50% off select drinks! Valid at the bar + BUCK-a-SHUCK, $1 Blue points during Oyster Happy Hour by the 1/2 dz. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join the fun!. Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 1, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Racks Fish House and Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
People Watching (10)
Bar Seating (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

We have eaten at Racks many times before but found the service to be seriously lacking. We waited 15 minutes to place a drink order and then found it ridiculous in trying to place a dinner order. Racks Oyster Bar had so so oysters at premium prices. We ordered on waiter recommendation. Mistake...We had to search for waiter at the end to get the check which we would not have minded paying close to $275 for 4(one did not have a main course and only one drink a piece). This was hardly worth it and we will not return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Another good experience . Always a great to go place.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

A nice casual restaurant with outside seating. Our usual restaurant Rosa was closed btw lunch and dinner. Open table directed it here and thanks to your reviews, we found a hit right around the corner that was great. Thanks for taking the time to rate restaurants, we help each other that way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We shared a kale salad & our entrees were blackened swordfish and fishermans platter. Food was good, we found the waiter a bit pushy in asking if we wouldn't rather have a fish platter with scallops. The hostess was a bit glum & I there seemed to be an undercurrent with the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

The good parts; great cocktails, good wine price, excellent kale salad, vegetables were very good, delish truffle fries.

Not good; main course (snapper) two orders, $29 for a small piece of fish and twice the pieces were under cooked. Would NOT recommend. Poor value and preparation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great happy hour! Love Rack's

Tags: Open Kitchen, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Meal was served cold. Waitress said she would have it replace but just brought back the same plate reheated. Cocktails were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Specifically asked for outside when reservation was made - no outside available due to happy hour hangovers! Wanted outside because guest had just flown in from frozen tundra of Chicago. 4-5th time we've eaten here, always recommended it. Not anymore. Trout special (which I have loved) was watery; asked for rolls got 4 tiny rolls for $3 - are you kidding me. Sent the white wine back and got a different one that was worse. Just kept it. Waiter never came back to ask if we needed anything like a coffee refill. Too many good restaurants on the avenue like 32 East, Tramonte's. I don't like to complain, I just don't recommend and will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great seafood & fish! Inside seating is very noisy and hard to talk to my companions. Outside seating is preferred, but they could not accommodate us. Will definitely return and wait for better seating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great night. Delicious food. Good company. Great waiter. Wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent meal and service on Valentine's evening,fish was fresh,prepared as we ordered,tasty salad and side dishes.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Perfect location in downtown Delray Beach, half a block off of Atlantic Ave. The fish was perfect, the service great and it was a wonderful choice for a Valentine's Day celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good price/quality ratio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good food and service, good ambience, good attitudes. Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Worth it for the food alone. Spectacular meals for everyone in our party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, service and experience!!! It was my first time dining at Racks...Great place for business dinners, date night or any occasion

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Dinner was very good. Waiter was a little off and made my mom uncomfortable with her wine choice but would be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great food, phenomenal service, best Happy Hour food in town!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We eat here every time we visit Delray Beach. Always a good meal and service is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Wait staff needs training, tables need to be cleaner, glasses need to be cleaner. Food was OK. What an awful waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Awesome, but stone crab claw over priced and not the size discribed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fun and imaginative! Specials are terrific. We loved the Lobster Roll!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

3 of us dined and ordered several apps and shareables ... nobody was unsatisfied with any of the dishes! All delish

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food was phenomenal! Blackened swordfish & crab cake were musts! Pat did a great job taking care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My mom and I were having dinner at Racks, and to reminisce about memories of my dad , as it was his one year passing. Into eating our appetizers the busboy pass by with lots of plates stacked up in a black bin and the plates were going to tumble over on my head behind me and he push them as not to fall on my head. The plates landed on the table and shattered everywhere, glass brushing up against my eyes and my arm. Landing into the food as well. My mother and I both got startled and thought it was gunshots.

Everyone came over and apologized. I received a half a glass of wine. That I asked for to calm me down. At the end of our dinner after they took all the food away and replaced it with new food the waiter asked if we wanted dessert. My mom replied are you going to compensate dessert for our evening? And he replied I wish I could.

When the $70 bill arrived for our dinner I was a little surprised that they didn't squash the bill. They did not even ask me for my phone number to check up on me today.

PS. My mother is using a walker. She is increasingly getting better from an accident she had where she broke her femur bone. We needed to use the bathroom and the walkway inside the restaurant was not handicap accessible. My mother had to go all the way outside and around to the back to the bathroom which she still had a little hard time to get back into the restaurant on the other side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Overpriced for what it was. Lobster roll was a tough as could be. Very noisy

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food! The hostesses could use an attitude adjustment as they seated us at a table with an unpleasant smell and were rude and unhelpful when we asked to be moved. Luckily the waiter's excellent attitude and the delicious food made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Totally inflexible on menu. Customer clearly not priority. Caesar salad had good dressing but no anchovies or croutons. Bread cost extra. Wouldn't give me sauce or side I wanted for trout almandine. Potatoes that came w meal barely edible so had to pay extra for fries. Fish was delicious after I was able to get sauce I wanted from my mother who ordered grouper. Everyone enjoyed fish but angered my father bringing his entree before he finished salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very good great service

Food was good

Went there for the roasted Califla and was told they ran out bummed

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Pricing is Ok but quantity of food is simply a rip off. Our waitress was terrific but agin 3 dollars for rolls when you offer clams wth that much sauce yet no bread total bush league . Same grilled octopus nice flavor but smallest portion ever and my son got Scallops and Pork Belly which he could not find on the plate it was so small of a portion.

My sons girlfriend got crab crusted grouper no one shared it was 40+ dollars again a rip off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This place is OK, nothing special. The oysters were pretty good, the food wasn't bad either, but nothing special. The ambience is loud. Overall it's more of a fun place - it's right off Atlantic Ave in Delray, which has become a big party destination (mostly thanks to the owner of this place, who owns the whole corner), so how you feel about that is up to you.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Expensive but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our server was friendly and energetic. Our entrees finally arrived about an hour after we were seated. The salmon with mashed potatoes and asparagus was tasty. The Loo-ey sauce on the hamburger was spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Exceptional preparation of classic fish dishes. Great service when the place was packed. Excellent drinks list. We will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pasta and rice and coconut shrimp all very bland.

$70 seafood platter totally over priced!! Conch civic he was tough and hardly edible.

Waiter was not listening. Forgot our lemon then acted like we asked for the first time when we said he forgot it. Brought a second drink when we said no to another.

Waiter put on the charm right before time to pay bills. Prior to that he was too distracted to pay attention to what we were saying to him.

Tags: People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had wanted to go for happy hour (4-7pm), but our 6pm dinner reservation was for a table not included in happy hour pricing. Happy hour is strictly first come, first serve, and we were too late to participate. I recommend getting there early, maybe by 5pm. We went to our table and had fresh oysters and tuna tartare; both delicious. My husband had the steamed clams, which were ok, but the steamed oysters we tasted were better. They do take a little while to make, so order these early if you want them. Our main courses were very good - trout almondine and the fisherman's platter. Everything we ate was very fresh and well prepared. The place was packed, it our server was still extremely attentive, and the managers came to greet us and make sure we were enjoying our meal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food is very good and semi-reasonably priced. The drink prices however are very high and the pour a very mediocre drink. For what they charge for a drink it should be a country club pour. In addition it was 1/2 off on bottles of wine and no one told us. The attitude of the bar tender was a little snippy as well. Probably won't go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent food and service..fun authentic New England feel

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Tiffany was enthusiastic, friendly and professional. We tried several dishes and all were delicious. Happy Hour is a great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great, fresh food! Fabulous happy hour (if you are in the right section!)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a great meal with friends . Our waiter was so courteous and provided excellent service. Will go back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had to eat outside - couldn't hear each other indoors. But really enjoyed the service and the food. I had the Crab Cakes with a Signature Salad side. Both were great. My dinner guest had the Coconut Shrimp with Mango Sauce and Rice, and said that too was great. Dinner was pricey but not terribly out of line with many other choices in Delray.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great Happy Hour - if you sit in the right spot. If you are going to Rack's for Happy Hour make sure to ask the host or server if it is available at your table. For some reason, Rack's has decided that Happy Hour pricing is in effect at the bar (obviously) and only certain booths and tables. The quality of the food and service are always good regardless of where you sit, but there could be a big difference in the check.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always enjoyable, wait staff always friendly and efficient. Location is perfect to watch what is happening on the avenue.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

After reading many reviews I was a bit apprehensive since there were complaints about service. Our waiter was delightful, informative, and very attentive. I had grilled salmon which was cooked perfectly as I asked. The crab cakes had by 2 others were flavorful and all lump crab meat. Another person had the ribs and said they were delicious. The vegetables were all excellent too. The one complaint was that the person who ordered ribs didn't want french fries and there were no substitutions allowed. For the price charged for the ribs it wouldn't kill them to give a different vegetable. Other reviewers complained about the management but we didn't have any issues so I can't answer to that. The prices are not cheap, but it is downtown Delray and you expect that.It's not a fancy place but very comfortable...the hostess was accommodating and offered us our choice of tables as it wasn't crowded on a Sunday night. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We chose Rack's after we called and they confirmed they were serving stone crabs. Great we thought, I was told on the phone they had a large selection. After being seated we asked our server about the selection, he said they have 1 size: colossal. Disappointed but ordered 2. One was great the other was terrible. We told the waiter and he said he would take it off the bill. That was nice we said but not neccesary. He insisted-so we said thank you. When the bill came and the 2 claws were on the bill at $35.00 each, we questioned the waiter. He said sorry-my manager said no-way. So we won't be returning. We dine out consistantly every weekend. I have never had a more disappointed with the lack of integrity in the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent raw bar featuring very fresh food. Scallops entre was outstanding.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Everything lacked basic seasoning. Wine glasses sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Over a year ago, I was introduced to RFH by locals for a business lunch. The one thing that I remembered was that they had the best coleslaw that I had ever tasted. That's what drew me back this time for a revisit. Unusual and quite an accomplishment in my book that a side item has such an impact.

The decor is fun. The staff members were excellent and very well trained. The food was very good. We had a deliciously tender octopus appetizer. Then we had the recommended lobster rolls. Their "Very Best Cole Slaw", wasn't how I remembered though. They must have changed the recipe? It was now quite ordinary which made me really sad.

I know Delray has some big spenders, but $28 for a lobster roll? Wow! 2 iced teas, 1 appetizer and 2 mains exceeded $100 with a customary tip. The area has many, many outstanding choices for meals. I probably won't make it back to Racks.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.