Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 63 times today
Special offers available. See details

Racks Fish House and Oyster Bar

4.3
465 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Fun
  • Good for a Date
In keeping with founder Gary Rack’s goal of establishing an unprecedented culture of restaurant dining experiences, the Delray Beach establishment sources a variety of inspiration for all aspects of its presentation. A New England seafood house featuring prohibition-style cocktails and Grand Central Oyster Bar-inspired steam kettles, RACKS Fish House + Oyster Bar will feature a unique, nouveau-nautical décor along with a responsibly sourced ocean-to-table menu that excites and inspires.
Culinary Director Matthew Danaher, known for his straightforward style of cooking, has developed an innovative menu that incorporates beloved classics with the modern style and appetite of South Florida. Guests will discover ever-evolving recipes for Oysters Rockefeller, pan roasts and po-boys as well as an extensive live raw bar featuring what’s fresh and in season.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Sushi, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Monday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Tuesday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Wednesday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Thursday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm) ALL DAY HAPPY HOUR until 7pm!
Friday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)
Saturday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(561) 450-6718
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matthew Danaher
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We will do our best to accommodate all catering
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Atlantic Avenue and 2nd street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There's valet available.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Daily 5:00PM - 7:00PM

What 465 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.0
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Great food and service!!! Thank you!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

I would go back

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 3 days ago

The food tasted good but the restaurant was not accommodating at all. It was to the point where we were considering leaving.

1. They have a kids menu with pasta on it. They sell clams on the main menu but would not make a clams and pasta dish for my son. I had to order one of each in order to accomplish this. My 8 year old son ordered the pasta meal and was still hungry afterwards. They gave him such a small portion of pasta (if I had to guess 40 shells), I had to laugh. He ended up eating off the adult plates.

2. The same issue was presented for one of the adults when ordering her main meal.

3. All the meals were small. We ended up ordering 2 servings of bread for the table (which they charge for) in order to compensate for the lack of food.

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. The staff was amazing and the ambiance was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Everyone in our group of 6 enjoyed their entree. I had the lobster roll, which was wonderful.
We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Waiter could have been more genuine in his delivery- felt like he was just going through the motions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Again a great experience. Being a local Racks is our go to place. Great menu Great Service all good. Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Visited both locations in Boca & Del Ray Beach. Awesome food, great service and friendly server.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We enjoyed dinner with our young son. He had the fish sticks which were the most amazing we had ever had. My husband and i both had the fresh catch and both were extremely good. We also ordered oysters, and since they only had one east coast variety available, we opted to also try a few of the west coast. All just good choices. Overall, everyhing was very good and would absolutely go back again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Food was excellent! When we sat down at table it took the server a very long time to come over and greet us and take our order. We sat outside right near the receptionist station. Once we were waited on after getting out of our seat to ask if someone was coming over. We were extremely happy with the dining experience. We were told that they had a staff meeting and that’s why no one had come over to take our order. We did have a reservation and were seated right on time...that should not have happened that we waited approximately 15 minutes before someone took our drink order.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Got a reservation on short notice easily, interesting food combinations, fresh ingredients, very tasty. Service from the hostess, bartender and waitress quite lacking. Went with an older friend who uses a walker, the hostess chose a table & route to the table that went up steps at the narrowest point next to the seafood bar rather than the ramp that they have. Additionally took us to a table that had an additional step bypassing an available table set for our party size near the entrance on the main level ignoring my request for that table. We then backtracked to that table while she stated that she led us to the original table as the other hostess assigned a server to the first one. Bad business, no common sense. A whiskey was ordered shaken and served on the rocks and delivered in a martini glasses. The waitress was asked about the spiciness of sushi rolls and the response was "I worked at a different restaurant and don't no anything about sushi". The rest of the meal continued in this vein.
While what we ordered was properly cooked and quite tasty the total experience was not. We won't be going back and will not recommend dining here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Server was sub par. Appetizers came out in about 5 minutes but entrees took about 40 minutes. The manager came over and apologized and offered a dessert as he brought the food out. My whole plate and everything on it was cold. I sent it back and proceeded to wait another 10-15 minutes. Food was great after I finally got it. Manager was amazing. But overall service and ambiance was just eh for me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great fresh fish! Incredible wait staff ! Noise level very very high on a busy night . Food was very good . Catch of the day can be prepared Almost anyway you want it . Seared, grilled, blackened , sautéed . In addition to all the great preparations on the menu . If you ask for lobster roll with hot butter not mayo. Just ask wait staff to remind kitchen to warm the lobster meat !! LOL! It was still tasty just not hot! But it was insanely insanely busy night ! We would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Racks meals were good but the appetizers were sorely lacking - overpriced is not even the word ... charred octopus was literally 4 tiny pieces of hidden and a 1/2 can of chick peas for 18 dollars. That’s offensive. Calamari was the same - 15 dollars and each person at table of 4 can get 4-5 pieces. Drinks were good but pricy as you would expect on Atlantic but overall horrible value at Racks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

There's a great deal more to Delray than Atlantic Ave. Even if you don't permit yourself to venture more than a half city block off that "Strip," that's far enough to get you to the broad front of this excellent find. If you're seeking great deals on meals, then look elsewhere, but be aware that quite a few other Delray bistros will burn a larger hole in your pocket than will Racks. There is a New Orleans tilt to their offerings, but it's not obvious. (I didn't see on the menu nor did I desire jambalaya, e.g.) Although we steered clear of their oysters, imported from near and far, we did stick with seafood. The steamed clams were young & tender, their delicate broth not at all overpowered by copious slices of fresh garlic with ground pepper. The Atlantic cod was fried just to doneness, sliced into attractive bars & evenly browned, served over a huge bed of homemade French fries. I would have loved a larger portion of the unique cole slaw, enlivened by fresh chopped parsley. My brother demolished his plate of grilled shrimp & scallops (chosen from that night's list of specials); when they first brought it out it looked as if it had just been whisked away from a photo shoot at your favorite food magazine. Even though we were not especially hankering after dessert, it would have been nice if the waiter had brought out a dessert menu. But there was none to speak of. He recited a total of two commonplace choices. No harm was done. We put a cap on our calorie intake, the waiter expertly packed away my unfinished food (discreetly, not in the dining room), we paid our bill, then walked away very pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Each guest had different dish, each very delicious. We shared mussels and a chopped salad. Best salad ever!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

This was our return visit. This time we were with 3energetic grandsons. The server was very accommodating. Everyone enjoyed the food and cocktails. We plan to return next year during Easter break.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Food was delicious!! Can’t wait to go back!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

It was busy when we were there, but our reservation was held to the time we reserved. Our server was training another server which proved slightly difficult at times. It took a little longer than I would have liked for my kids food to arrive. Happy hour menu was an excellent value and all the food was tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Fun spot with very good seafood. Service friendly and knowledgeable. PEI oysters were excellent as was an Asian-style snapper. I'll go back when I'm next around Delray.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Sat outside at hightop. Good food, good drinks, a little loud

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Racks has been my favorite restaurant in Delray since I moved a year ago. However this particular time, for my birthday dinner, we had a bad server which really ruins the mood. Food was incredible per usual though!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Everything was perfect from the happy hours bartender to the server, Brian to the manager checking at the end of our dessert. Been there many times and will return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food and service. The filet mignon and shrimp was delicious.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 30, 2018

I had the fried scallops. Their fried batter is awful. So salty. And the fries too. Coleslaw with scallions...absolute yuck. I was disappointed for sure and would not recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Scallops, oysters, and poke bowl were all delicious and incredibly fresh. Flavors were out of this world. Service was slow and inattentive. Could have been because we were seated outside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

One of my favorite restaurants we go there all the time had family in town decided it be a great place to have a wonderful dinner. Thanks for a great time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Restaurant staff was very nice and accommodating , allowing us to move our reservation from 7 to 5:45 on a Saturday. We had excellent happy hr specials: oysters on half shell, baby back ribs, crab cakes, fish tacos, and grilled octopus. All food was very good. Looking forward to next visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great food, sitting by sidewalk not so great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I'll be back for the Southern Fried Chicken. As it was lent, I chose fishermans platter of shrimp, crab cake n cod. Ask for cocktail sauce! Btw the fries are amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Racks is one of my top 2 favorite restaurants in Palm Beach County. I’ve lived in South Florida for about three years. I hail from generations of restaurant rats in the Greater Philadelphia area who owned and ran organizations (AKA food snob). As soon as I walk into any restaurant I’m sizing it up, service, ambiance, value, turn around time, etc. Racks pros: food is exceptional on most nights, typically cooked to perfection and always fresh. Service is outstanding. From the hostess to the bussers. Never a wait, they crank out the food. Cons: can be loud, (I mean it’s Delray) servers are not always familiar with the food selections. Long bathroom lines. often very busy and you should use open table to book resi.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

We visited this restaurant 2 years ago and absolutely loved it. So when we came back to Delray Beach, we made it our first choice for dining. And actually, we had the same waiter in the same section that we had 2 years ago. Amazing service and food. Can’t wait to go back again. Hope it’s not 2 years until we return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Really good food. Right on Atlantic Avenue so that’s fun. Kitchen was a little slow but we were warned and ordered appropriately. Food is always good and service is really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great food; plenty of fresh fish. A little noisy, but that added to the ambiance of this place. Suggest reservations

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I love this place. Great food. Oysters were fantastic. I ask bartender to make me a pomegranate vodka.. and it was delicious. I try the new seafood casserole... yummy yummy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Rack’s made St Paddy’s day even more fun!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 16, 2018

An awful experience. I reserved IN ADVANCE an outside booth because I knew inside could be noisy. I confirmed the outside booth by phone on the day of the reservation. Reservations are meaningless at this restaurant.
We were seated way inside at a booth for 6 w a high backless stool for the 7th person. The noise level was beyond HORRENDOUS! We could not talk or hear each other . The food was good but did NOT compensate for the discomfort . Will never go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Was in the area and just happened to pick this place. Was surprised by the quality and qauntity of food! What a find! Best fisherman's platter I've ever had. My wife's blackened grouper was perfect. Definately someplace we'd go again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Much too loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

As recommended by friends, this is a good restaurant for fish entrees. All were satisfied with service, food quality, plated appearance of dinners, and savory tastings. Appreciated having my request for seating ( quiet spot) accommodated . Realize it’s often quieter sitting outdoors than within ,true of most restaurants in busy Delray Beach. Previously, have had wonderful selection of fresh oysters at cocktail time. Would gladly return.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12