About Racks Fish House and Oyster Bar

5 SE 2nd Ave
Delray Beach, FL 33444
View Larger Map

In keeping with founder Gary Rack’s goal of establishing an unprecedented culture of restaurant dining experiences, the Delray Beach establishment sources a variety of inspiration for all aspects of its presentation. A New England seafood house featuring prohibition-style cocktails and Grand Central Oyster Bar-inspired steam kettles, RACKS Fish House + Oyster Bar will feature a unique, nouveau-nautical décor along with a responsibly sourced ocean-to-table menu that excites and inspires.
Culinary Director Matthew Danaher, known for his straightforward style of cooking, has developed an innovative menu that incorporates beloved classics with the modern style and appetite of South Florida. Guests will discover ever-evolving recipes for Oysters Rockefeller, pan roasts and po-boys as well as an extensive live raw bar featuring what’s fresh and in season.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Monday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Tuesday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Wednesday: (11:30 am – 10:00 pm)
Thursday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)
Friday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)
Saturday: (11:30 am – 11:00 pm, Bar open until Midnight)

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue and 2nd street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(561) 450-6718

Website:
http://www.racksdelray.com/

Catering:
We will do our best to accommodate all catering

Parking Details:
There's valet available.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Danaher and Todd Katz

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We are celebrating the holidays is fashion at RACKS in Delray Beach. Book your table today and enjoy the holidays with friends & family.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

We are celebrating the holidays is fashion at RACKS in Delray Beach. Book your table today and enjoy the holidays with friends & family.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

We are open on New Year's Eve & Day for a celebration you won't forget. Limited seating, make sure to book your table today! Regular menus and a party like atmosphere to begin 2017 with a kick!

Racks Fish House and Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Palm Beach County
Best Restaurants in Delray Beach ›

Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service..fun authenti ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service..fun authentic New England feel

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tiffany was enthusiastic, friendly and p ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Tiffany was enthusiastic, friendly and professional. We tried several dishes and all were delicious. Happy Hour is a great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, fresh food! Fabulous happy hour ( ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great, fresh food! Fabulous happy hour (if you are in the right section!)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal with friends . Our ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a great meal with friends . Our waiter was so courteous and provided excellent service. Will go back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing server

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had to eat outside - couldn't hear each ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had to eat outside - couldn't hear each other indoors. But really enjoyed the service and the food. I had the Crab Cakes with a Signature Salad side. Both were great. My dinner guest had the Coconut Shrimp with Mango Sauce and Rice, and said that too was great. Dinner was pricey but not terribly out of line with many other choices in Delray.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Happy Hour - if you sit in the rig ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great Happy Hour - if you sit in the right spot. If you are going to Rack's for Happy Hour make sure to ask the host or server if it is available at your table. For some reason, Rack's has decided that Happy Hour pricing is in effect at the bar (obviously) and only certain booths and tables. The quality of the food and service are always good regardless of where you sit, but there could be a big difference in the check.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Always enjoyable, wait staff always frie ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always enjoyable, wait staff always friendly and efficient. Location is perfect to watch what is happening on the avenue.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading many reviews I was a bit a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

After reading many reviews I was a bit apprehensive since there were complaints about service. Our waiter was delightful, informative, and very attentive. I had grilled salmon which was cooked perfectly as I asked. The crab cakes had by 2 others were flavorful and all lump crab meat. Another person had the ribs and said they were delicious. The vegetables were all excellent too. The one complaint was that the person who ordered ribs didn't want french fries and there were no substitutions allowed. For the price charged for the ribs it wouldn't kill them to give a different vegetable. Other reviewers complained about the management but we didn't have any issues so I can't answer to that. The prices are not cheap, but it is downtown Delray and you expect that.It's not a fancy place but very comfortable...the hostess was accommodating and offered us our choice of tables as it wasn't crowded on a Sunday night. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We chose Rack's after we called and they ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We chose Rack's after we called and they confirmed they were serving stone crabs. Great we thought, I was told on the phone they had a large selection. After being seated we asked our server about the selection, he said they have 1 size: colossal. Disappointed but ordered 2. One was great the other was terrible. We told the waiter and he said he would take it off the bill. That was nice we said but not neccesary. He insisted-so we said thank you. When the bill came and the 2 claws were on the bill at $35.00 each, we questioned the waiter. He said sorry-my manager said no-way. So we won't be returning. We dine out consistantly every weekend. I have never had a more disappointed with the lack of integrity in the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent raw bar featuring very fresh f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent raw bar featuring very fresh food. Scallops entre was outstanding.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything lacked basic seasoning. Wine ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Everything lacked basic seasoning. Wine glasses sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Over a year ago, I was introduced to RFH ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Over a year ago, I was introduced to RFH by locals for a business lunch. The one thing that I remembered was that they had the best coleslaw that I had ever tasted. That's what drew me back this time for a revisit. Unusual and quite an accomplishment in my book that a side item has such an impact.

The decor is fun. The staff members were excellent and very well trained. The food was very good. We had a deliciously tender octopus appetizer. Then we had the recommended lobster rolls. Their "Very Best Cole Slaw", wasn't how I remembered though. They must have changed the recipe? It was now quite ordinary which made me really sad.

I know Delray has some big spenders, but $28 for a lobster roll? Wow! 2 iced teas, 1 appetizer and 2 mains exceeded $100 with a customary tip. The area has many, many outstanding choices for meals. I probably won't make it back to Racks.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

We have eaten at Rack's several times an ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We have eaten at Rack's several times and it is the BOMB every single time. Awesome restaurant staff - they are friendly every time you visit. They are respectful of your time with your friends and family which is nice. The food is amazing. From oysters to steak to chicken - the wood fire oven makes such a difference. The atmosphere is relaxing, not stuffy and uptight. The bard is cool and you can dine outside or in. I highly recommend Racks to all my friends, family and colleagues.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother and her boyfriend got the lobs ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

My mother and her boyfriend got the lobster roll. They were basically hot dog buns with a very small amount of lobster. I was embarrassed when then came out since I suggested Racks and was treating my mother for her birthday. I got the filet mignon which was good but way overpriced. Back to Cut 432 next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great food and wonderful service. Ask fo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Ask for Luis!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time I went back and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was the second time I went back and had the same waiter Johan , and loved it just as much as the first. The trout almondine, fried green tomatoes and roasted brussels sprouts made my week! Love sitting outside and no matter how hot it is it's always comfortable on the hightops. It was a perfect evening and so much fun… Definitely be back👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crisis! After sitting for 45 min our se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Crisis! After sitting for 45 min our server finally realized we never got our appetizers let alone any service. We then decided to leave and the manager made us wait for 10 min to speak with her bc she was in a "conversation". It was so bad- service and no apology that we didn't eat on a Friday night.

No one really cared we were shafted and I really couldn't believe in the world of social media no one cared. Our advice- give your money to more of a local place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

It was my birthday. We ordered a $60 bo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was my birthday. We ordered a $60 bottle of wine. Then ordered the trout almondine and steak filet. The Filet was ordered medium and it came out red and bloody. It was sent back then came out burnt. The waiter suggested to order something else since they made the steaks thinner and smaller (but still $40) and they have this problem with cooking them. The manager came over and we ordered salmon medium. The salmon came out raw inside. The waiter took it away and we asked for the manager several times. He never came back and we sat there with no food. I ate the trout which was good as my daughter sat there with no food and the manager never came by. The waiter kept saying he asked him to come over but he was busy. We got our check for the trout and wine. The manager came over and was very rude saying our server never told him to come over and told him we did not want anything else. This manager at this Racks should be FIRED. He's not a nice person. He wouldn't even offer to take anything off the bill. There must be something wrong with the grill at this restaurant. Used to go there a few times a month. I have been telling friends about my experience and they have had similar issues with this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

I love all Rack's Restaurant's consisten ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love all Rack's Restaurant's consistently good food and great staff!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time there, kind of fel ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was our first time there, kind of felt bad for the waitress she said it was her first big table (party of 8). Too much spice on the shrimp and steak one of the staff said the chefs that were working were known to overdo it but how would we have known before ordering on our first time but still delicious! We had crab cakes, applewood BBQ ribs, seafood linguini, Chilean sea bass, calamari ceviche, oysters, clams, and the Higo was a refreshing drink!! Overall we had a great night with great food didn't mind paying top dollar $$$$

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic, the octopus and oysters were ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fantastic, the octopus and oysters were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The worst value and food quality. I'm am ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The worst value and food quality. I'm amazed this restaurant is in business. I'd never consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great experience. Will definitely be ret ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great experience. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Rack's Fish House and Oyster Bar offers ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Rack's Fish House and Oyster Bar offers American fare at average prices. There was nothing wrong with our meals but they were just not anything special. I believe that in season, the bar scene is very active as the restaurant is located in the "hot" area of downtown Delray Beach. We were at the Rack's located in Mizner Park and felt that their menu had better choices. We were glad we tried it but we are not sure we will return. There are many better choices in downtown Delray.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Tasteless over-priced food served by arr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Tasteless over-priced food served by arrogant staff. Came for an 8:30 reservation and it was clear that server (Erik) just wanted to call it a night. Entrees arrived randomly. Mashed potatoes and asparagus cold. Server refused to apologize but said that dishes with fries required his presence before being served. Within 5 minutes of final entree arriving, server asked us 3 times if we wanted anything. Not our problem that the guy wanted to go home. Food was cold, bland, and just slightly above airline quality. Overall an expensive waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Though the waiter was good, and the Oyst ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Though the waiter was good, and the Oyster House ambiance well done, the food was disappointing. The oysters were overpriced, and the salad was overdressed. My grilled scallops were over seasoned and overcooked, the Brussels sprouts were undercooked, and the potatoes cool. My wife's red snapper was equally over seasoned. At their price points, I expected much better food. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

They were able to accommodate our large ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2016

They were able to accommodate our large party at the last minute. The food was great and the service allowed us to truly enjoy our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was ok but overpriced for what it w ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was ok but overpriced for what it was. Service was horrible and chef wasn't able to do any substations for certain sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Getting seated without a wait was great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Getting seated without a wait was great for a Saturday night... And we now know why. We were seated and ate within 40 minutes. Our server seemed to be in a race or rush of some sort. He took our order all at once and everything came all at once -- apps and meals. Drinks tasted terrible. Food was alright - I've had better and for less expensive too. I mean buffalo shrimp app $17 for 4 shrimps in buffalo sauce? The app my husband order was sold out & instead of brining the menu the waiter insisted on the mac n cheese or grilled octopus. Had to ask for a drink menu, and asked for one thing and was told I should get another. The manager happen to stop by our table. We expressed our disappointment but she just apologize and kept on walking. Not a good way to get repeat customers (just saying). And to end the rushed meal no mention of dessert or even ask/ offer a cup of coffee. Thanks but no thanks on this restaurant. I suggest taking a look at other restaurants within Delray before spending your time & money here! This place is overrated!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Food was good enough to cover the servic ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was good enough to cover the service that was unnecessarily slow for only having 6 tables sat in the whole restaurant. It was Father's Day and it was the fathers at the table who were constantly left waiting for their drink or their food to be made correctly. And instead of the server just apologizing and quickly fixing the issues, he kept making excuses as to why it wasn't his fault (no one cared, they just wanted what they ordered in a timely fashion) .. and $70 for 5 cups of soup (which was WAY overdressed with scallions and just mediocre) is outrageous. We still tipped over 20% because we are all "in the biz" and "we understand" ... but in hindsight, we left upset and will never return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Fabulous food and the most wonderful ser ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fabulous food and the most wonderful service. Outstanding all around. Recommend highly‼️‼️

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a big birthday with some f ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated a big birthday with some family members and we had a great time. The food and service were excellent. We ate at an outside corner table that was comfortable and private. Nobody rushed us and Racks was a hit with all of us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Subpar food and very expensive. Truffle ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Subpar food and very expensive. Truffle fries cost $9 and were soggy, drenched in oil

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The wait staff is very knowledgeable, th ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2016

The wait staff is very knowledgeable, the oysters were great, and the drinks were delicious.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great Food, Great Service. I will be back! I had the lobster blt. I am no exaggerating when I say it was one of the best sandwiches I ever had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Creole calamari was superb. The lobster ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Creole calamari was superb. The lobster roll was the best I've had in years. Our server Jennifer was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took out of town guests here and were ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 23, 2016

We took out of town guests here and were very pleased with the service, food and our waiter was exceptional.

We have been there before and will go back many times in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bland bland bland seafood.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Bland bland bland seafood.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Adam was awesome

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Adam was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.