About Raaga

544 B Agua Fria
Unit B
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

"Raaga ("sweet melody") prides itself on offering superior taste and flavor. With each mouthwatering bite, guests can distinguish and savor the finest spices and the freshest herbs. In addition to his Northern Indian fare, chef Paddy Rawal offers dishes that incorporate local Southwest elements. Raaga's menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Lunch and Dinner: Monday Thru Saturday.

12.00 noon to 9.00 p.m

Cross Street:
Sanbusco

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-6440

Website:
http://www.raagacuisine.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Raaga
Raaga

Raaga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
New Mexico
Neighborhood Gem
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
4 More
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

fit for foodies (44)
neighborhood gem (43)
special occasion (27)
See All
great for outdoor dining (18)
great for lunch (14)
good for groups (14)
romantic (11)
kid-friendly (4)
notable wine list (4)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Probably some of the best Indian food I' ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

Probably some of the best Indian food I've had. Perfect blend of seasoning and spices.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated a family birthday here and ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated a family birthday here and shared several plates. The food was EXCELLENT and the chef even came out to greet us and check-in, which is always a sign of a restaurant that cares!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was great except ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great, food was great except for the naan bread. It was badly burned, we sent it back, it came back less badly burned second time but basically burned and inedible. Not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love the food. Bought cook book. Can't w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Love the food. Bought cook book. Can't wait to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed my experience and my dinner at ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I enjoyed my experience and my dinner at Raaga. The food was excellent and the service friendly and efficient. I sat outdoors in a quiet peaceful setting. I look forward to going back in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

spectacular food, reasonable prices, gre ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

spectacular food, reasonable prices, great service, adorable decor,

Paddy is an amazing chef. Restaurant is clean, quiet, enjoyable! Totally deserving of it's #2 rating out of 383 Santa Fe restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quality food, the wait service ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent quality food, the wait service is superb and desirous to please.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good. Service was average.They ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was good. Service was average.They seemed totally unprepared for the dinner crowd. Not enough menus, servers rushing around. That said, our service was fine, food arrived promptly. It was all very good, but not terribly inspired.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, I mean GREAT food. Coming t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, I mean GREAT food. Coming to Santa Fe, eat great food and this is a must for your list.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We read rave reviews prior to making a r ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We read rave reviews prior to making a reservation at Raaga. We were slightly underwhelmed.

The spinach salad was great, the other entrees were only so, so. The Nann was over cooked/burned and we only got one piece per order. Our outside table for 4 was way too small for the food and service ware and the table was on an uphill slant.

Maybe it was an off night at the restaurant, we know that can happen. With so many choices in Santa Fe we will most likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experie ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Raaga.....the service was excellent and the food, as always, was fantastic! It is one of our favorite places in Santa Fe!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited Raaga while vacationing in Sa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We visited Raaga while vacationing in Santa Fe. We were seated in the patio area which was really nice. The menu has lots of vegetarian options of which we selected three (small ). We ordered naan, as well. Every dish had amazing flavor with just the right amount of kick - not too spicy. The garlic naan is addictive! And three small portions were plenty for the two of us. I hope to return the next time I visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant with food so wonder ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic restaurant with food so wonderfully flavorful. We visit Santa Fe once a year and Raaga is always on our list of restaurants to go to. Have never been disappointed - food is always fresh and delicious. Prices very reasonable. Have been to both lunch and dinner and would recommend going at either time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The Indian food here makes the atmospher ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The Indian food here makes the atmosphere irrelevant. It is a small restaurant and so atmosphere is more like neighborhood dining but the food is just really excellent. Would recommend it to anyone who loves Indian food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We really enjoy Raaga. We are vegetarian ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We really enjoy Raaga. We are vegetarians and I have to limit my gluten. We like the menu lay out since it lists all the foods that are vegan, gluten free and vegetarian. The service is quick, polite and they do not hover. The server was able to answer all of our questions. The food itself is delicious every time we come. And every time we visit we order something different. This time we had the vegetable Korma which is made with a cashew cream and very yummy. We are grateful to have such a wonderful restaurant available to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best Indian food I have ever ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Simply the best Indian food I have ever had!!! Bold and intense flavors delivered in a bright and nuanced way showcase the quality ingredients. The chicken ancho amchur tandoori was a magnificent melding of traditional Indian food with a southwest twist and is a MUST HAVE when (not if) you dine here. The depth of flavors in the lamb vindaloo and chicken tikka masala was nearly transcendent and the vegetable korma was a cashew creamy dream come true, perfectly complimented by naan that I'll dream of later. We finished with a mango ice cream and rasmali that cemented the perfect 10 rating I give it. A side note, there is an Indian restaurant in Morristown New Jersey near me that Chef Paddy Rawal came over from India to open back in the mid 90's that WAS my favorite Indian restaurant before dining here, I now know that it was merely an apple that fell from the tree, today I dined at the tree!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We keep trying to see if we can catch th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We keep trying to see if we can catch this restaurant on an OFF-Night. NEVER HAPPENS!

The food, the quality, the flavors, the service, the smiles remain SPLENDID regardless of the size of the crowd. Paddy and his staff Paddy are always welcoming. Food is FRESH and unique--prepared to the spicy you request. Consistently yummy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted graciously at the door, ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were greeted graciously at the door, our server was personable & gave good advice about ordering & the food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. The spinach salad is a must ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food. The spinach salad is a must to start. Service was also very good and attentive. Took the fam there as we rolled into Santa Fe (three kids age 12 - 20) and they also loved it, all fairly new to Indian cuisine. Chef (and presumably the proprietor) came out during our meal and said hello, which seldom happens and is always appreciated - didn't give the usual "how is everything," just said hello and a little small talk which is nice. Park around the corner in the grocery parking lot, despite the signs that it is for grocery parking only. Definitely recommend - great family dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently delicious food and I love t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Consistently delicious food and I love that the owner comes around to the tables to check-in/say hello. Be sure to try the flash fried spinach salad appetizer. We'll be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb cuisine. Friendly owner/chef. Bes ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Superb cuisine. Friendly owner/chef. Best Indian food.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ragga is outstanding. The chef, Paddy R ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ragga is outstanding. The chef, Paddy Rawal, not only cooks amazing food, but is also very friendly and attentive to the diners in his restaurant. Server J.D. also made the dining experience even more enjoyable with his great service and excellent food and wine suggestions.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raaga is my favorite Santa Fe restaurant ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Raaga is my favorite Santa Fe restaurant, and when I have out-of-town guests, that's where we go. The food has subtle and delicate flavors, and it is carefully and skillfully prepared. I am a vegetarian, and there are plenty of great choices for me. I love the now famous flash fried spinach salad and the okra with pico de gallo. The menu offers food that is completely different from the more common Indian buffet food that one finds in many Indian restaurants, and Raaga offers a dining experience different from the typical Southwestern variety found in many restaurants in Santa Fe. I also like the rather intimate atmosphere of Raaga.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Indian cuisine and make several ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We love Indian cuisine and make several time a month. A few years back we spent a day in Boulder CO with a chef learning about the art of Indian food.

Raaga is the finest Indian restaurant we have had the pleasure to dine at. A wide variety of unique dishes make the menu a real treat, each item we ordered was excellent, and the extensive selection allowed us to choose items we had not tried before. The wine list was great we enjoyed a bottle of white Burgundy.

Our waiter was attentive not intrusive, and offered helpful suggestions, along with a dose of humor. Frequent visits from the chef made our evening a very special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely courtyard, good food and exceptio ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Lovely courtyard, good food and exceptional service from Noah!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at this r ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This was our first time dining at this restaurant and it won't be our last. The food was excellent and the chef/owner was very personable and attentive. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy trying Indian restaurants in ne ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoy trying Indian restaurants in new cities and this was one of the best! I had the vegetarian kabobs which were shaped like rolls and cooked in a clay oven. So different and delicious! My husband had the clay oven chicken which was also great and a large portion. Service was attentive and friendly and prices were reasonable for the high quality of the meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was okay

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had the famous spinach salad which was very good. Then we had curry with Mahi Mahi. It was okay but the fish was a bit hard. We also had flash fried okura but it was too close with the spinach salad. I wish the server told us to order other dishes. Overall the taste was good but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Curry!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

After eating Southwestern food all week - it was a nice change of pace to eat really good curry! We were traveling with a pet so their patio was perfect to dine outside with our dog. Would recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a thoroughly wonderful meal. The ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It was a thoroughly wonderful meal. The wait staff were only too happy to answer questions. We were impressed the owner/chef stopped by the table to see how we liked our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting from NJ and were thrill ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We were visiting from NJ and were thrilled to find this delicious restaurant on the last night of our vacation!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best Indian food! Great service and ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The best Indian food! Great service and attention to detail. The best Tandoori and naan,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Indian food in Santa Fe

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've eaten here numerous times, and I believe it is the best Indian food I've ever eaten. Love it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Santa Fe gem

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The spinach salad was such a pleasant surprise for our group. All members(4) of our group ordered different entries, and all were very pleased. The owner Paddy makes sure everything is as it should be. You will not be disappointed, if you like Indian food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone was friendly and personable.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was great, the owner/chef was friendly and fun, and all of the staff were very helpful. The waiter suggested the spinach salad. It was unique and memorable. The entrees were very good and filling. My sister was very happy with the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequent the place and love the food/owner.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

love Raaga, the food and service staff. Always a treat but the noise level in the side room is often too loud. Americans rarely use their dining out voice and act as though they are eating at home. If the conversation is interesting, OK. Usually however, it is inane and positively stupid.

BUT I DO LOVE THIS PLACE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always the awesome experience

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Raaga is one of the best restaurants in town. My friend and I dine here 3-4 times a year and always look forward to it. The waitstaff is helpful, friendly and efficient. It's a beautiful spot, nicely intimate and comfortable. You're never rushed. We always spend about two hours sampling the various dishes -- the food is out of this world. Great wine list. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was okay.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Having dined quite a number of other Indian restaurants, I have to say Raaga is just an okay one. I have had better. I absolutely have nothing bad to say. If you are in Santa Fe and feel like an Indian food, this is the place to go. The restaurant is good. Parking is actually easy if you go through the shopping center parking lot behind the restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The spinach salad is fantastic! Also th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The spinach salad is fantastic! Also the chicken Zafran is delicious. If you think that Indian food isn't your thing try Raaga!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Indian Food

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Terrific meal as always. They easily accomodated out group of 9 and were very helpful in explaining everything to those in our party who had never had the cuisine before.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.