Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Raaga

"Raaga ("sweet melody") prides itself on offering superior taste and flavor. With each mouthwatering bite, guests can distinguish and savor the finest spices and the freshest herbs. In addition to his Northern Indian fare, chef Paddy Rawal offers dishes that incorporate local Southwest elements. Raaga's menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.

544 B Agua Fria
Unit B
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday Thru Friday.

11.00 a.m to 2.00 p.m

Dinner: Monday thru Friday
5 p.m to 9 p.m
Saturday: 4 p.m to 9 p.m


Cross Street:
Sanbusco

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-6440

Website:
http://www.raagacuisine.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Raaga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Authentic (31)
See All
Creative Cuisine (29)
Spicy (27)
Casual (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Healthy (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vegan (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Overall very good. Spinach Salad is tops. Other dishes fare well. Very good service.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely fabulous meal with incredible service. The spinach salad is to die for.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food -- fresh and flavorful. We particularly enjoyed the Spinach salad. Definitely the best Indian food in Santa Fe... and very affordable.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a wonderful pre-Opera meal at Raaga. The flash-fried spinach salad was amazing as was the rest of the meal. Have eaten there many times and always consistent. Excellent value.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Hot Spot, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Spinach Salad is AMAZING!!!!

Entrees were nice but not as flavorful as promised.

Rosemary naan was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Inspired Indian food left us full and happy. Excellent flavors. Try the spinach salad! Very helpful service from JD. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

had a 7pm reservation and although they were very busy got a table within 3 minutes.
Our waiter was freindly and gave excellent service. We ordered chicken satay and lentil/coconut soup both very good and I would order again. We split a play of chicken korma and this why I gave 3stars. The dish was basically tasteless and after the soup and appetizer I expected something more. My hope is that other dishes live up to the restaurants reputation and I would return for another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I was disappointed. The food was very bland and half our order -- all the pickle and chutney-- did not arrive for fifteen minutes after the first part so was useless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our first time at Raaga so took some time to figure out their huge menu. The food was very authentic with great flavor even though we could have moved the spicy level up a notch. The dishes were served family style with ample servings of each dish. I definitely will be going back to try some of their spicier fare.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The restaurant has a great menu. We arrived early, I needed a quieter place then what we originally got and they found another space which was quieter. We ask for medium spicy but it was not spicy at all. Although the chicken tikka had a good flavor it was a bit dry. The vegetables were over cooked. We had a shrimp green curry, it was very watery, not much flavor and the broccoli was too soft. We were very disappointed as we love Indian food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent Indian food, my favorite Indian place in Santa Fe

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Second recent bad experience. Korma sauce was an odd, unappetizing gray color, without much flavor and the chicken was large, (extremely) tough and dry chunks that weren’t integrated at all - as if the chicken was cooked separately and thrown in the sauce right before serving. The chicken was so rubbery, we ate around it. Requested spice levels were medium and hot; we got very mild and almost medium. Meat chunks were skimpy in quantity - sharable by two, but no way could you pass the dishes around a table of four or more if sharing - somebody ain’t getting meat. Even the (tiny order of) naan was weird - very thin and papery, almost crispy. We loved this place when we first discovered it a few years ago. Something has happened, and it's not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wait staff was very attentive. They were not pushy or trying to "turn tables". It appeared this is a local favorite which is what we were going for vs. "tourist hot spot". The lamb appetizer was fantastic - like a turnover. We had one vegan entree and one chicken - both excellent. For the food and wine - price range very fair! I would recommend 100% and if back in Santa Fe again - will definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very good relatively authentic Indian food...Not all that hot unless you specifically request. Very good homemade pickle, outside patio on a Santa Fe summer evening doesn't get much better. Causal atmosphere, attentive service, overall very good value. Beer goes best with Indian food, a reasonable bottled selection available.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We met for diner with a vegetarian friend. We had been there, knew the food was good, and offered a fine selection of vegetarian, fish and meat dishes.
While not a big fan of Indian cuisine, I find the food at Raaga's to be exceptionally flavorful and enjoy it. we ate outside. I had a salmon which was delicious, my wife a chicken curry, and my friend a spinach dish. Also, we ordered a variety of nan, which is wonderful here.
We ate outside in the cool summer breeze of Santa Fe. It was a good time for us to reestablish our friendship.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our experience was mixed in terms of food. The spinach salad was one of the most memorable and delicious dishes I have tasted. The green curry lamb was disappointing. The meat was dry and chewy and the sauce was thin like soup so it did not cling to the meat. The baby egg plant had its problems. The skin was brittle and dry and not digestible. The eggplant was bitter. The sauce was fairly good. Given the rave reviews on trip advisor we were expecting better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Praddy makes the best food! This place is worth an entire trip to Santa Fe! The service is great too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wonderful dinner experience at Raaga, service and food were wonderful and tasty. Enjoyed the chicken dish, plenty and delightful. Cauliflower apt was amazing. Our server was very helpful and we would go back with our any hesitation!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Classic northern Indian cuisine. Walking distance from the plaza in a very cute area of the railroad district.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

great food, great service. Sauces were unique to each dish, vegetable dishes were lovely.
Try the saffron rice...yummy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was ok but lacked flavor: was looking forward to good Indian food and was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our meal at Raaga was one of the best we had in Santa Fe. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Good, solid Indian food. Curries were very flavorful. Medium heat was not that hot.
Enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I love this place, they never disappoint! The staff is super friendly, and never let my drinks stay empty for more than a minute. I'd recommend this place to anyone who loves Indian food!

Tags: Romantic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Taste explosion in my mouth 😃
Love it! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Spicy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I can not say enough good things about this restaurant. The food is top notch, the service was impeccable and Paddy (owner) was attentive and genuinely concerned we enjoyed our night. This is a must in Santa Fe!!

Tags: Romantic, Spicy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent Indian food! I'm a foodie and was really impressed. We will be back on our next trip to Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I had dinner here on a Friday evening. Our server was so helpful guiding us through their wine list, as well as their menu. Our appetizer and meals were savory. We sat in the patio and it was so enjoyable. The Chef came by our table twice to check on us. I would highly recommend this restaurant for Indian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The spinach salad is so good - excellent menu choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This is my go-to restaurant as I am vegetarian and this restaurant offers great vegetarian options. I have never had a bad dish here. My waiter was extremely nice and prompt. I was seated right at my reservation time. No complaints and I will be returning twice next week!

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Delicious, friendly, cozy and inviting! We plan to become regulars.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent food. Terrific service. Energetic owner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This was a very nice place. The chef came out and greeted every diner. The food was very good.

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent Indian cuisine in New Mexico! Small, but excellent service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

From the first bite to the last it was absolutely delectably delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Raaga is our favorite Santa Fe restaurant. While Paddy's food is authentic Indian cuisine, it is also his creative personal take on tradition. I have yet to have a meal there when he doesn't quietly appear by the table to make sure we are enjoying ourselves. There are dishes on the menu that I have never seen in other Indian restaurants like the fried spinach salad and cauliflower florets tossed in tomato garlic sauce yet they are all delicious and adventurous. Prices are more than reasonable. I saw a new cookbook from chef Paddy Rawal and am sorely tempted to pick one up.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I think that Paddy is a great chef, and the Mahkani is always the best sauce. I felt like the chicken wasn't as well good as I like. Felt a bit underdone, and the Aloo Gobi, usually my favorite, wasn't spicy at all, despite the fact that I requested "medium" spice level. As always, the rosemary naan is the stand-out winner!

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great price! One of many terrific restaurants in Santa Fe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We chose this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. In fact, everything was excellent, from the greeting at the door to the final farewell. The chef, Paddy Rawal, stopped at our table and thanked us for coming in. We discussed lamb and he assured me that their locally-sourced lamb was second to none. We started with the spinach salad appetizer which was plenty for two and was amazingly delicious. She ordered the chicken tikka masala (mildly spiced) while I went for the lamb chops in massaman curry (extra spicy). Both dishes rivaled the best Indian food we've ever eaten. My lamb chops (Paddy threw in an extra chop) were the best lamb I've ever put in my mouth. Service by JD was very good. The total bill for dinner for two came to $67.89. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 16, 2017

My second visit to Raaga was just as outstanding as my first. This is a restaurant I want to visit every time I visit Santa Fe. Renowned chef is very friendly to patrons. Just great all the way around.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.