About Raaga

544 B Agua Fria
Unit B
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

"Raaga ("sweet melody") prides itself on offering superior taste and flavor. With each mouthwatering bite, guests can distinguish and savor the finest spices and the freshest herbs. In addition to his Northern Indian fare, chef Paddy Rawal offers dishes that incorporate local Southwest elements. Raaga's menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday Thru Saturday.

4.00 p.m to 9.00 p.m

Cross Street:
Sanbusco

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-6440

Website:
http://www.raagacuisine.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Raaga, Santa Fe, NM
Raaga, Santa Fe, NM

Raaga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
2 More
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Fit for Foodies (36)
Authentic (34)
Good Vegetarian Options (32)
See All
Spicy (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Casual (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Cozy (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Fun (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Romantic (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Healthy (10)
Vegan (10)
Family Style (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Historic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I'm from Chicago where great Indian food ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

I'm from Chicago where great Indian food is easy to come by. Raga was a huge disappointment. The samosa was filled with what seemed like pea paste with an oil(?) and cilantro dipping sauce. No chutney.

The chicken tikka masala's sauce was thin, there was a huge chunk of broccoli, and the chicken was not tender.

The naan was good.

The service was indifferent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Raaga is a superb Indian restaurant. The ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Raaga is a superb Indian restaurant. The best of its kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Indian food anywhere. Always delici ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best Indian food anywhere. Always delicious, tender, delightful.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place kills it. The food, lighting, ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This place kills it. The food, lighting, seating, service all are top.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sublime. We have been several times. Han ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Sublime. We have been several times. Hands om owner. Consistently delightful.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic indian food. Worth a visit whe ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Authentic indian food. Worth a visit when in santa fe.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for a different type of Tha ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went here for a different type of Thanksgiving. This is a fabulous, really amazing, authentic Indian Food Restaurant. One of the best I have been to. Also had a great wine selection. Love it. The only critique I had out of the large selection of food we tasted was that the naan wasn't fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall the food was good. However, our ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Overall the food was good. However, our entrees arrived lukewarm. The menu is a little limited when it comes to entrees with meat compared to other Indian restaurants. The restaurant is in a small house converted to a restaurant so the tables for two are very close together, but the ambiance is nice. Onsite parking is limited to three vehicles with additional parking within a couple minute walk. Overall good experience and worth trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was really very good!! We were ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was really very good!! We were impressed! The chef came to our table 3 times to see how everything was - a very friendly person. Overall when we are coming back to visit Santa Fe we'll definitely come back there to eat. Bravo!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great value. Very cozy (close tables). H ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great value. Very cozy (close tables). Had lamb. Excellent.

Credit card machine was out. Cash only. Bummer! Technology is great......if it works!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Hands down our favorite restaurant in Sa ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Hands down our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe!

Consistently the best Indian food I have had anywhere.

Friendly and helpful waitstaff. The owner is warm and welcoming.

Great for dinner for 2 or a large table of family and friends.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Historic, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is on our very short list of best r ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is on our very short list of best restaurants in Santa Fe

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to enjoy authentic cusine in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great place to enjoy authentic cusine infused with fresh spices in an unpretentious atmosphere.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have always had a wonderful meal at R ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We have always had a wonderful meal at Raaga. I can not recommend the restaurant enough. It was a great date night and the staff gave us just the right amount of attention without being disruptive. The food was delicious and we enjoy trying something new every time we go. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner here! Friendly wel ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had a great dinner here! Friendly welcome and service, delicious food, and several visits from the chef. A rare find made for a delightful night!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here will convert anyone to Ind ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food here will convert anyone to Indian cuisine.

Tags: Vegan, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Our waiter was incredible/ so nice. I h ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our waiter was incredible/ so nice. I hadnever had that high-quality of Indian food before. It was excellent. I am receiving had been a little quieter to make the conversation more easily Heard.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This food has heart. It may be my favori ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This food has heart. It may be my favorite find since moving to Santa Fe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent South Asian cuisine with some ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent South Asian cuisine with some unique dishes. Well prepared and very helpful service. The spinach salad was very good and so were the cashew sauces and the different naans and the lamb curry and so on.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dinner at Raaga was a delight. The food ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Dinner at Raaga was a delight. The food is excellent. The chef/owner, Paddy Rawal, walked through the dining room chatting with diners. The only negative was one of the entrees arrived so late we were finished with everything else; it was boxed to take home. But we will definitely return for Paddy's wonderful food again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The chef is not only a artist culinary, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The chef is not only a artist culinary, he is a welcoming host.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One word... EPIC! Raaga is second to non ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One word... EPIC! Raaga is second to none. If you like Indian food then this is your place. I'm salivating just thinking about it. My wife, 7 year old son go there almost four times a month. Enjoy!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FANTASTIC! in every way. Warm, comfortab ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

FANTASTIC! in every way. Warm, comfortable interior. We had a lovely meal - some of the best Indian food I have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever in Santa Fe we can't wait to ge ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Whenever in Santa Fe we can't wait to get to Raaga and Paddy, the chef and owner. The lamb and fried spinach cannot be described - beyond delicious. Paddy's story from rags to riches is an inspiration to all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food - especially the hot spin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wonderful food - especially the hot spinach salad!! We'll be back!

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall a very nice dinner at Rogge serv ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Overall a very nice dinner at Rogge service was great in fact our waiter was very friendly and attentive food choices were many food was delicious the only thing I didn't like was the vegetable selection on my meal which was just corn and peas kind of disappointing no Indian flair at all but my chicken Teka was outstanding. Prices are a little high but between good service good ambience I suppose it maybe worth a try it

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was excellent. Location good ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service was excellent. Location good for visitors Food not up to the standards which am used to. For a novice it would be fine, but have had curry from San Francisco to London and had better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is excellent. Try the Spinach S ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food is excellent. Try the Spinach Salad for a real treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Some of the best and creative Indian foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Some of the best and creative Indian food I have ever had. Fresh tasting and not greasy like some Indian food. Paddy, chef, was attentive and friendly. Great and helpful wait staff. Buy the cook book.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us enjoyed the delicious Indian ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Four of us enjoyed the delicious Indian cuisine. The spinach salad made everyone who did not get one green with envy. We had to send back one dish as the server neglected to order it without milk products. The spicy dishes did not disappoint. The restaurant owner mingled among the tables and was concerned about how the diners felt. Complimentary naan due to the mistaken order. Classy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is great here and service is ex ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food is great here and service is excellent and friendly and Paddy the owner greets and treats you like a long lost friend. We love eating here!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food and well pr ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Outstanding service and food and well priced. This was our second visit and it won't be our last!

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Casual, Historic, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had not been to Raaga before. The fo ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We had not been to Raaga before. The food was fantastic. We had the flash fried spinach salad and loved it. We then had 3 different dishes and shared them all. Each was unique and especially flavorful. We made another reservation for the next week before we left.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Santa Fe. Flavors are sensational coupled with good service. Probably the most creative indian cuisine we have ever had.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We often bring out of town guests to Raa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We often bring out of town guests to Raaga, and when they return to Santa Fe they return to this restaurant. Always reliable!

Tags: Spicy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service staff and authentic Indian ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great service staff and authentic Indian food. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu, very friendly and checked back often to see if we needed anything. I would highly recommend going to Raaga if you like great Indian food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and you can get small ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food was great and you can get small portions which is great for those of us who are not big eaters. Service was prompt.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There was a mix up with the servers and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

There was a mix up with the servers and because of that, it took 25 min for us to have our order taken after sitting down. However, the host realized that we had not been taken care of yet and he actually ended up serving us. He was apologetic and gave us absolutely excellent service. When he asked if we were enjoying the food, it genuinely seemed to make him happy that we enjoyed it. Will definitely be going back for more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been to Raaga many times. Never ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We have been to Raaga many times. Never disappointed. Always great food - strongly recommend the spinach salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The flash fried spinach salad appetizer ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The flash fried spinach salad appetizer was excellent. Flavors were well balanced. Food is made with care. The chef even stopped by to check on us. Best Indian food I've had.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.