Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Raaga

4.4
655 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. "Raaga ("sweet melody") prides itself on offering superior taste and flavor. With each mouthwatering bite, guests can distinguish and savor the finest spices and the freshest herbs. In addition to his Northern Indian fare, chef Paddy Rawal offers dishes that incorporate local Southwest elements. Raaga's menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian, Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday Thru Friday.

11.00 a.m to 2.00 p.m

Dinner: Monday thru Friday
5 p.m to 9 p.m
Saturday: 4 p.m to 9 p.m


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 820-6440
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sanbusco
Additional
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 655 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.0
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

To the Wonderful Raaga Staff and Paddy,
Thank you for all your hard work, great service, terrrrrriffic food, and smiles!

We wish you the very best,
Becky and John

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2017

Dinner was wonderful, as always. We went that night to have our last dinner there, as they are closing in two days.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 19, 2017

Great food - too bad it's closing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2017

My heart is breaking because this will be our last time at Raaga. Thank you Chef Paddy for your many years of excellent Indian food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Dick, the owner, runs a fun and smooth operation with a fantastic chef. The vibe is great the minute you walk in. It's everything you'd want for a casual night out. Caring, friendly, great service, great food for a very good value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2017

The food was very delicious, a wonderful neighborhood standout and very authentic Indian food. I like my food spicy so you can request the amount of spice needed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Out second trip here. Love it. Highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Flash-fried spinach salad is fantastic. Very tasty entree. A little confusion on our reservation but resolved quickly. Our waiter made excellent suggestions and helped with our choices. Same waiter as last year for similar event. One of our Santa Fe pleasures.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 25, 2017

The atmosphere at Raaga is very nice as was the service. Diners have the option of specifying the desired spice level of entrees. The chef is a master of spices. However, compared to other East Indian restaurants in the area, the portion sizes seemed somewhat small.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 24, 2017

Good, if expensive, curries. But so cramped, jostling, and noisy that it made for a dreadful evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 24, 2017

Excellent Indian food with original seasoning. Fried spinach salad was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 21, 2017

Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable, in addition to being friendly. He explained that the food comes in seven levels of "heat," and recommended we stick to Level 3 or lower. I went for a shrimp dish with a sauce that was not on the menu for shrimp but for chicken; our waiter explained that we could mix and match the sauce, so I did. Very tasty, a bit on the hot side but not a problem. Eat outdoors if you can; we sat on the front porch on a pleasant afternoon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

My family and I make it to Raaga every time we visit Santa Fe. It is one of our favorite restaurants and always something to look forward to. Being from New York, we have very high standards when it comes to Indian food and Raaga never disappoints:

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 19, 2017

I had such high hopes after hearing so much about this place. The fried spinach salad starter WAS fabulous. The next best dish was the chicken zafran as the saffron taste was up front and so different. We also had the lamb tikka masala which was tasteless and nothing unique, and the chicken biryani which was dry and lacking flavor. Great service but lackluster food and surroundings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Fabulous Indian food. Spinach salad was one of the best menu items ever

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 19, 2017

I love this resteraunt. One of the best in my book. I always give 5's, however I found a piece of metal in my lamb palak that cut my mouth and throat pretty bad. Dissapointed with this experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Flies outside were a problem. Waiter forgot to bring the side of hot sauce. Otherwise everything was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

We eat at Raaga every time we are in Santa Fe which is monthly. If we lived there full time it would be a weekly eating spot

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Raaga is always a home run. The food is so so good. We love it!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 15, 2017

The food was excellent and the chef will prepare dishes to your preference of spiciness,

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 15, 2017

Samozas like billiard balls, tasteless chicken, lamb curry made wth scraps,slow inaccurate servce,small tables. Cheap but poor value

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 15, 2017

Great restaurant with an ample menu. Food was delicious and well-seasoned. Would benefit from a wider selection of wines by the glass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 14, 2017

We were upgraded to outdoor seating upon arrival. Our server Chris was fast, friendly, & at our every beckon call. His recommendations were top notch! Food was fresh, bright, & delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was very good. The seating is tight. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 10, 2017

Raaga remains consistently fabulous-- gourmet Indian cuisine that is good for sharing or just for 1-2. We go many times a year and are never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Raaga is a beautiful restaurant, lovely ambience. The fish was good and well-presented. However, it is way over-priced. Each of us had one drink, shared two desserts, shared a few appetizers. The tab was about $400 with tip. Our wait person was friendly, but could not remember our Order or specificities. I doubt that I will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 4, 2017

After earlier good experiences here, we were surprised to find a noticeable drop off in quality.
We had lamb korma and asked for medium spicy, along with garlic naan. The food was served lukewarm and so bland we had to ask the waiter for salt. The rice was soggy.

We also missed the half portions that were previously available which allowed us to sample more items. The half portions are still listed on the Open Table menu, but they are not on the actual dinner menu.

Ragaa used to be a great value for well seasoned Indian food, but now we think we will try some other Indian places in town before risking a return visit.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 3, 2017

The naan was good. The Samosas were flavorless and hard enough to break a toorh. The Vegetable Curry was ok, but the Channa dish lacked spices. The greatest disappointment was the rice. It was mushy. I have never had over cooked rice even in the most humble Indian restaurant. I asked for fresh rice, and was presented with the same mushy rice, but microwaved. What should have been a special dinner turned out to be a big disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 3, 2017

Raaga was wonderful. Fresh, full flavors, very creative and everything was delicious.
The Spinach salad and califllower were excellent, as well as the lamb and chicken dishes.
Must go while in Santa Fe.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 3, 2017

Quiet afternoon lunch. Pappadums were a bit stale and mint sauce too runny for my taste. But my Tandoori chicken was delicious - very moist. Cauliflower was supposed to accompany my main, but they substituted frozen mixed veggies which surprised me. Its sauce was very good but disappointed in the frozen substitution. Hubs very much enjoyed the Chicken Madras and dal. Atmosphere was pleasant, nothing fancy. Service was attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 2, 2017

Everything about Ragaa is warm and welcoming - the staff, the ambiance, and the menu. Carnivores and vegetarians can find lots of good options here and the price point is friendly.
Service is attentive - food came out promptly but we never felt rushed. Comfortable seating is available in the colorful dining room or on the shaded patio outside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 25, 2017

The entire dining experience was beautiful and memorable .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 24, 2017

Overall very good. Spinach Salad is tops. Other dishes fare well. Very good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal with incredible service. The spinach salad is to die for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Fantastic food -- fresh and flavorful. We particularly enjoyed the Spinach salad. Definitely the best Indian food in Santa Fe... and very affordable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Had a wonderful pre-Opera meal at Raaga. The flash-fried spinach salad was amazing as was the rest of the meal. Have eaten there many times and always consistent. Excellent value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 19, 2017

We have returned after about 2 years away (because of a close to two hour wait for our food last time and a non-caring attitude). However, the last three times we've dined here (one in house and two pick up) we have loved it. The waiters are doing a much better job and seems to be managed much better!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 17, 2017

Spinach Salad is AMAZING!!!!

Entrees were nice but not as flavorful as promised.

Rosemary naan was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Inspired Indian food left us full and happy. Excellent flavors. Try the spinach salad! Very helpful service from JD. We will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 15, 2017

had a 7pm reservation and although they were very busy got a table within 3 minutes.
Our waiter was freindly and gave excellent service. We ordered chicken satay and lentil/coconut soup both very good and I would order again. We split a play of chicken korma and this why I gave 3stars. The dish was basically tasteless and after the soup and appetizer I expected something more. My hope is that other dishes live up to the restaurants reputation and I would return for another chance.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17