Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Raaga

"Raaga ("sweet melody") prides itself on offering superior taste and flavor. With each mouthwatering bite, guests can distinguish and savor the finest spices and the freshest herbs. In addition to his Northern Indian fare, chef Paddy Rawal offers dishes that incorporate local Southwest elements. Raaga's menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.

544 B Agua Fria
Unit B
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday Thru Friday.

11.00 a.m to 2.00 p.m

Dinner: Monday thru Friday
5 p.m to 9 p.m
Saturday: 4 p.m to 9 p.m


Cross Street:
Sanbusco

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-6440

Website:
http://www.raagacuisine.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Raaga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Authentic (23)
See All
Spicy (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Healthy (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Casual (13)
Special Occasion (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fun (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vegan (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a very nice place. The chef came out and greeted every diner. The food was very good.

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent Indian cuisine in New Mexico! Small, but excellent service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

From the first bite to the last it was absolutely delectably delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I think that Paddy is a great chef, and the Mahkani is always the best sauce. I felt like the chicken wasn't as well good as I like. Felt a bit underdone, and the Aloo Gobi, usually my favorite, wasn't spicy at all, despite the fact that I requested "medium" spice level. As always, the rosemary naan is the stand-out winner!

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great price! One of many terrific restaurants in Santa Fe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We chose this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. In fact, everything was excellent, from the greeting at the door to the final farewell. The chef, Paddy Rawal, stopped at our table and thanked us for coming in. We discussed lamb and he assured me that their locally-sourced lamb was second to none. We started with the spinach salad appetizer which was plenty for two and was amazingly delicious. She ordered the chicken tikka masala (mildly spiced) while I went for the lamb chops in massaman curry (extra spicy). Both dishes rivaled the best Indian food we've ever eaten. My lamb chops (Paddy threw in an extra chop) were the best lamb I've ever put in my mouth. Service by JD was very good. The total bill for dinner for two came to $67.89. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was superb. The cauliflower coconut soup and fried spinach salad are a must. We had the chicken and beef korma, and both were delicious.
The food was fresh and not heavy or greasy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 11, 2017

They had the best Indian food I have ever had. It was so goodI bought the Chef's cookbook

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Awesome food, great selection, great service - with the exception that when it came time for our bill, even though the bill claimed NOT to have included a gratuity charge, the change we received back was inaccurate. The server took it upon himself to hold back some cash without telling us, and caused unnecessary confusion and disappointment and we had to call him on it. He was literally holding onto $20 in his hand - for no apparent reason (perhaps distrust that we would leave him a tip!). A disappointing, allbeit short lived, end to an otherwise awesome experience (& the only reason I didn't give it a 5 star "outstanding" review). The server got a 20% tip - no problem, but it still left a slightly less than perfect impression for the final stage of the evening. It will in no way put me off from returning however.

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food is good but not great, for example, tanduri chicken lacked the classical cooking and flavors found in outstanding restaurants. Service is attentive but the noise was awful and we had to move to a different table. Good value overall but not a place to impress a date.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wonderful food. Purchased Chef Patsy's cookbook. Fabulous

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always a great treat for us! I find myself craving certain dishes and I know it's time for another dinner at Raaga.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Creative menu selection, both food and customer service is terrific.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Superb food, and the chef/owner comes to your table a couple of times to make sure it hit the mark. We have been around the world and eaten Indian everywhere and Paddy's is the best.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We were greeted at the front door by a friendly and enthusiastic maître d'. They had recently done a renovation and we were impressed with the colorful and simple surroundings. We ordered our standard medium spiced dishes for an Indian eatery: chicken tikka masala, palak paneer, chicken korma, and raita for dipping naan. The chef was touted on the restaurants website as putting his own special spin on his dishes and this was accurate because all of the dishes were indeed "different" than the usual flavors I had grown familiar with. Not to say they weren't tasty though...just a unique blend of spices. The chicken dishes had very ample chunks of chicken and the paneer dish had plenty of paneer. The raita I could tell was made from scratch. The medium pepper heat was a bit too light for me. We appreciated that the chef visited our table several times during dinner. All in all a very good and interesting experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Had 3 appetizers we shared. Favorite was fried spinach. Main course was special of the evening. -- lamb chops with curry. Food was outstanding. It is a nice touch that chef comes to the table to ask how things are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious. Great service. Chef stopped by our table. Great for vegetarians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food, great experience. The outdoor patio is mellow and relaxing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Enjoyed the interaction with the chef and our waiter was very friendly and attentive. Fun evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Spinach salad was amazing. Good wine, good food, good service. Owner & chef was very nice and personable. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had an Indian meal hear before an Indian dance show at the Lensic, and it was SUPER! Great food, service and prices. The chef even came out to check on us. We will definitely go back, there are so many menu items we want to try!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We love Ragga. Their food is sumptuous. The restaurant is very cozy and everything we've ordered is cooked to perfection. Don't miss this restaurant. You'll be in for a treat!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Best restaurant in town. Great service. Really great food. All the Indian dishes that I like!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Outstanding food, good staff, owner Paddy Rawal, treats you like an old friend and as well as great culinary skills has terrific personal skills as well. We eat here every occasion we're in Santa Fe, 4 or 5 times a year.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We haven’t eaten in India (yet), but I’d like to think we’ve had enough experience with Indian cuisine to appreciate what’s really good. We’ve eaten on Brick Lane. “Curry” Hill and Devon Ave. When we lived in Chicago, India House was a regular part of our rotation.
We dined at Raaga during a recent trip to Santa Fe and thought it was top notch. Everything we tried was expertly prepared and delicious. That includes vegetable samosas, naan (light and flaky), cumin crusted salmon, lamb palak and baingan bhartha. All were excellent, but the cumin-crusted salmon was the standout.
We had a very nice Brunello di Montalcino at a very good price.
We also purchased Chef Rawal’s cookbook. We haven’t cooked from it yet, but it is an educational and beautiful book. It explains the many cuisines of India and the food photography couldn’t be better. Chef Rawal assured us that all the recipes had been tested by amateur cooks with success.
I just wish we had an Indian restaurant this good near our home in Dallas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food wasn't memorable. Service was adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great service and excellent food. Raaga is a great Indian restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Awesome! Chef is great...food is amazing! Best tandori I've ever had!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Wonderful food and charming atmosphere. We were a party of six and had no difficulty hearing anybody at the table nor were we aware of the conversation of others in the restaurant. Our waiter was very attentive without being overbearing or annoying by continually interrupting us. The chef stopped by our table for a brief, fun chat. This is a superb restaurant and one of our favorites in Santa Fe. Don't miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Took friends who also love Indian food. We ordered a variety of dishes-Tandoori chicken, eggplant , spinach & cheese, samosas- both vegetarian & lamb, naan. All were great, spices just right, medium as we'd asked . Chef comes from Mumbai/Bombay area, he came round to check everything was right. Would recommend.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This restaurant is the bomb! The food is authentic and amazing and the atmosphere is cozy and romantic. Surpassed our expectations!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Vegan, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Apparently they were short on staff including a host during our visit. We were seated 1h after our reservation appointment. We decided to wait because all the people that were waiting also had been there before and only spoke good things about the food. And we confirmed it.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic, never had bad food or bad service even when it's really busy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Delightful service and tremendous food . We are addicted !!!!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The "main" dining room was full so we were given the option of an uncertain wait or have the second dinIng room all to ourselves.This was just after 8:00 on a Tuesday night, so little chance of more customers arriving. We opted for having a room all to ourselves, since we usually eat in the other room or on the patio.
Scott our waiter was doing double duty filling in at the cash register, but ensured us he could serve us as well - and he did so splendidly! As always we start with the samosas, while I peruse the menu for what new dish I'll try along with our "standards". This time it was the eggplant to accompany a curried vegetable dish.
Paddy the owner and chef popped his head around the corner to say "hi", and later came back to point out the curry leaves in our yellow Dahl which were awesome! And this night I had possibly one of THE best raitas ever!
Best Indian restaurant in Santa Fe.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Spicy, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The Owner/Chef was welcoming and lovely. We both absolutely loved the food, fresh and very flavorful. We can't wait to go back and are so happy we tried it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I selected this restaurant for my wife's birthday celebration dinner since they had so many vegetarian dishes. The Server asked us what table we would like as we strolled through the cozy dining area. We chose a table by a window but found it too hot as it was under a heater vent. When the Server returned with our water glasses he found that we had moved to another table. We said we moved because... but he stated our comfort was important and he was here to make our evening as pleasant as he could. A good start! We started off with Lasooni Gobhi which was Cauliflower florets tossed in the best tomato sauce that we have ever tasted. The Cumin-Crusted Salmon menu description looked so good that my wife deviated from her vegetarian plans. Going with the Server's recommendation I had the Chicken Madras with a Taj Mahal beer. Both were very tasty without being overpowering. The Server was very knowledgeable and answered all of our menu questions demonstrating his many years of experience working at this Restaurant. Chef Paddy Rawal checked with each table a few minutes after the food was delivered to insure his creations were pleasing to the diners. We conveyed that our expectations were exceeded and would be back soon to try some more of his wonderful dishes. He smiled brightly and wished us a wonderful evening. A truly fine dining experience with the BEST Indian food in Santa Fe and New Mexico!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic, Healthy, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 2, 2017

First, I changed my reservation from 2 to 3, to the delight of the man on the other end of the phone. I called to say we were running late (sigh) but again, no problem. The place was packed (on a weekday!) and the food is really really good. i can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Loved, loved, loved this restaurant. Great find for our first night in Santa Fe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 1, 2017

4 of us went to lunch and had the spinach salad and 4 different entrees. The food was fabulous and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.