Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Raaga

"Raaga ("sweet melody") prides itself on offering superior taste and flavor. With each mouthwatering bite, guests can distinguish and savor the finest spices and the freshest herbs. In addition to his Northern Indian fare, chef Paddy Rawal offers dishes that incorporate local Southwest elements. Raaga's menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.

544 B Agua Fria
Unit B
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday Thru Friday.

11.00 a.m to 2.00 p.m

Dinner: Monday thru Friday
5 p.m to 9 p.m
Saturday: 4 p.m to 9 p.m


Cross Street:
Sanbusco

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-6440

Website:
http://www.raagacuisine.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

open for dinner only 4 pm to 8pm.

Raaga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Spicy (19)
Good for a Date (14)
Casual (12)
Healthy (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (5)
Vegan (5)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious. Great service. Chef stopped by our table. Great for vegetarians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food, great experience. The outdoor patio is mellow and relaxing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Enjoyed the interaction with the chef and our waiter was very friendly and attentive. Fun evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Spinach salad was amazing. Good wine, good food, good service. Owner & chef was very nice and personable. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had an Indian meal hear before an Indian dance show at the Lensic, and it was SUPER! Great food, service and prices. The chef even came out to check on us. We will definitely go back, there are so many menu items we want to try!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We love Ragga. Their food is sumptuous. The restaurant is very cozy and everything we've ordered is cooked to perfection. Don't miss this restaurant. You'll be in for a treat!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Best restaurant in town. Great service. Really great food. All the Indian dishes that I like!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Outstanding food, good staff, owner Paddy Rawal, treats you like an old friend and as well as great culinary skills has terrific personal skills as well. We eat here every occasion we're in Santa Fe, 4 or 5 times a year.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We haven’t eaten in India (yet), but I’d like to think we’ve had enough experience with Indian cuisine to appreciate what’s really good. We’ve eaten on Brick Lane. “Curry” Hill and Devon Ave. When we lived in Chicago, India House was a regular part of our rotation.
We dined at Raaga during a recent trip to Santa Fe and thought it was top notch. Everything we tried was expertly prepared and delicious. That includes vegetable samosas, naan (light and flaky), cumin crusted salmon, lamb palak and baingan bhartha. All were excellent, but the cumin-crusted salmon was the standout.
We had a very nice Brunello di Montalcino at a very good price.
We also purchased Chef Rawal’s cookbook. We haven’t cooked from it yet, but it is an educational and beautiful book. It explains the many cuisines of India and the food photography couldn’t be better. Chef Rawal assured us that all the recipes had been tested by amateur cooks with success.
I just wish we had an Indian restaurant this good near our home in Dallas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food wasn't memorable. Service was adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great service and excellent food. Raaga is a great Indian restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Awesome! Chef is great...food is amazing! Best tandori I've ever had!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Wonderful food and charming atmosphere. We were a party of six and had no difficulty hearing anybody at the table nor were we aware of the conversation of others in the restaurant. Our waiter was very attentive without being overbearing or annoying by continually interrupting us. The chef stopped by our table for a brief, fun chat. This is a superb restaurant and one of our favorites in Santa Fe. Don't miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Took friends who also love Indian food. We ordered a variety of dishes-Tandoori chicken, eggplant , spinach & cheese, samosas- both vegetarian & lamb, naan. All were great, spices just right, medium as we'd asked . Chef comes from Mumbai/Bombay area, he came round to check everything was right. Would recommend.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This restaurant is the bomb! The food is authentic and amazing and the atmosphere is cozy and romantic. Surpassed our expectations!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Vegan, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Apparently they were short on staff including a host during our visit. We were seated 1h after our reservation appointment. We decided to wait because all the people that were waiting also had been there before and only spoke good things about the food. And we confirmed it.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic, never had bad food or bad service even when it's really busy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Delightful service and tremendous food . We are addicted !!!!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The "main" dining room was full so we were given the option of an uncertain wait or have the second dinIng room all to ourselves.This was just after 8:00 on a Tuesday night, so little chance of more customers arriving. We opted for having a room all to ourselves, since we usually eat in the other room or on the patio.
Scott our waiter was doing double duty filling in at the cash register, but ensured us he could serve us as well - and he did so splendidly! As always we start with the samosas, while I peruse the menu for what new dish I'll try along with our "standards". This time it was the eggplant to accompany a curried vegetable dish.
Paddy the owner and chef popped his head around the corner to say "hi", and later came back to point out the curry leaves in our yellow Dahl which were awesome! And this night I had possibly one of THE best raitas ever!
Best Indian restaurant in Santa Fe.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Spicy, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The Owner/Chef was welcoming and lovely. We both absolutely loved the food, fresh and very flavorful. We can't wait to go back and are so happy we tried it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I selected this restaurant for my wife's birthday celebration dinner since they had so many vegetarian dishes. The Server asked us what table we would like as we strolled through the cozy dining area. We chose a table by a window but found it too hot as it was under a heater vent. When the Server returned with our water glasses he found that we had moved to another table. We said we moved because... but he stated our comfort was important and he was here to make our evening as pleasant as he could. A good start! We started off with Lasooni Gobhi which was Cauliflower florets tossed in the best tomato sauce that we have ever tasted. The Cumin-Crusted Salmon menu description looked so good that my wife deviated from her vegetarian plans. Going with the Server's recommendation I had the Chicken Madras with a Taj Mahal beer. Both were very tasty without being overpowering. The Server was very knowledgeable and answered all of our menu questions demonstrating his many years of experience working at this Restaurant. Chef Paddy Rawal checked with each table a few minutes after the food was delivered to insure his creations were pleasing to the diners. We conveyed that our expectations were exceeded and would be back soon to try some more of his wonderful dishes. He smiled brightly and wished us a wonderful evening. A truly fine dining experience with the BEST Indian food in Santa Fe and New Mexico!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic, Healthy, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 2, 2017

First, I changed my reservation from 2 to 3, to the delight of the man on the other end of the phone. I called to say we were running late (sigh) but again, no problem. The place was packed (on a weekday!) and the food is really really good. i can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Loved, loved, loved this restaurant. Great find for our first night in Santa Fe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 1, 2017

4 of us went to lunch and had the spinach salad and 4 different entrees. The food was fabulous and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent flash fried spinach appetizer, green curry duck was tough though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my first dining experience at this highly respected restaurant, and I will return. The food is excellent and we enjoyed the attentive service from all staff. Be sure and try the crispy spinach salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent Indian cuisine. No wonder that this place is ranked best Indian cuisine in Santa Fe. Lamb vindaloo -fantastic, Tikka masala not your typical tomato based fare. Good parking once you figure it out.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Paddy Rawal IS Raaga! He has created a restaurant that definitely carries his signature. Everything is made with his utmost care and before you leave you have spoken to him a number of times. I feel like we have visited a very good friend when we go to Raaga. The food, the atmosphere and Paddy makes this a very special experience.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Every dish was amazing, especially the Spinach Chaat. No life is complete without trying this dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here. Food is consistently top grade, owner/chef walks the floor. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Delicious real Indian food really well prepared to order. Clean pretty dining room with attentive service. One of my Santa Fe favorites - whenever my son comes to visit Santa Fe he has to get his "Raaga" fix. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves great Indian cooking!

Tags: Spicy, Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic choice! Wonderful food,service,and value. We will see you next trip to Santa Fe

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I love Indian and Paddy is world-class. Big menu, all the classics.
Our first visit, so ordered lamb curry. They offer 3 levels of heat. I ordered moderate and it was at the top end of my tolerance. Spices mix was wonderful, but not transformational (this isn't nouveau, so I wasn't expecting that). Good sized servings.
The space is not large (unless they have other rooms I didn't see). I love booths and we were able to carry on a fairly exuberant political conversation without risking a lynching. Despite the relatively close seating, we couldn't hear any of the other diners around us.
Prices were excellent.
2 Indian beers. Taj Mahal and Kingfisher. Both are light and help one survive the heat of the seasoning
Lots of parking at the Sanbusco center behind Raaga. Only 3 non-handicapped slots in front.
Greeted by Paddy and he paid a visit. I always like it when the chef makes him/herself seen.
Overall, a very good experience. We'll go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Try the fried spinach salad. All the sauces are great, not your average Indian food

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Each dish has a distinctive flavor. Very well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 15, 2017

raaga is always delicious with great service and authentic food made from scratch.
we are locals and go there regularly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This place is slipping. The aloo tikka were surprisingly dense and cold. The surmai kofta were salt bombs, nearly inedible, three kofta to an order. Naan was dripping with oil. Used to be our favorite Indian food in SF. Disappointing and a poor value. Three stars is generous for this visit. Hope it was a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wow! Wonderful food and service...outstanding!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

When we're in Santa Fe we MUST have a meal at Raaga. One of our favorites!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The Chef was wonderful. He greeted many customers at the door as well as checked on them during the meal. The service was very attentive and the food was delicious. I had the shrimp curry and my guest had chicken curry. Both were superb.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.