About Raaga

544 B Agua Fria
Unit B
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

"Raaga ("sweet melody") prides itself on offering superior taste and flavor. With each mouthwatering bite, guests can distinguish and savor the finest spices and the freshest herbs. In addition to his Northern Indian fare, chef Paddy Rawal offers dishes that incorporate local Southwest elements. Raaga's menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Lunch and Dinner: Monday Thru Saturday.

12.00 noon to 9.00 p.m

Cross Street:
Sanbusco

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-6440

Website:
http://www.raagacuisine.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
happy father's day

Raaga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
New Mexico
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

neighborhood gem (50)
fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (24)
See All
great for lunch (21)
good for groups (15)
great for outdoor dining (10)
romantic (8)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (3)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a thoroughly wonderful meal. The ...

Dined 4 days ago

It was a thoroughly wonderful meal. The wait staff were only too happy to answer questions. We were impressed the owner/chef stopped by the table to see how we liked our meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were visiting from NJ and were thrill ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were visiting from NJ and were thrilled to find this delicious restaurant on the last night of our vacation!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The best Indian food! Great service and ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The best Indian food! Great service and attention to detail. The best Tandoori and naan,

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Indian food in Santa Fe

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've eaten here numerous times, and I believe it is the best Indian food I've ever eaten. Love it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Santa Fe gem

Dined on May 5, 2016

The spinach salad was such a pleasant surprise for our group. All members(4) of our group ordered different entries, and all were very pleased. The owner Paddy makes sure everything is as it should be. You will not be disappointed, if you like Indian food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was friendly and personable.

Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was great, the owner/chef was friendly and fun, and all of the staff were very helpful. The waiter suggested the spinach salad. It was unique and memorable. The entrees were very good and filling. My sister was very happy with the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We frequent the place and love the food/owner.

Dined on April 29, 2016

love Raaga, the food and service staff. Always a treat but the noise level in the side room is often too loud. Americans rarely use their dining out voice and act as though they are eating at home. If the conversation is interesting, OK. Usually however, it is inane and positively stupid. BUT I DO LOVE THIS PLACE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the awesome experience

Dined on April 25, 2016

Raaga is one of the best restaurants in town. My friend and I dine here 3-4 times a year and always look forward to it. The waitstaff is helpful, friendly and efficient. It's a beautiful spot, nicely intimate and comfortable. You're never rushed. We always spend about two hours sampling the various dishes -- the food is out of this world. Great wine list. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was okay.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Having dined quite a number of other Indian restaurants, I have to say Raaga is just an okay one. I have had better. I absolutely have nothing bad to say. If you are in Santa Fe and feel like an Indian food, this is the place to go. The restaurant is good. Parking is actually easy if you go through the shopping center parking lot behind the restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The spinach salad is fantastic! Also th ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The spinach salad is fantastic! Also the chicken Zafran is delicious. If you think that Indian food isn't your thing try Raaga!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Indian Food

Dined on April 20, 2016

Terrific meal as always. They easily accomodated out group of 9 and were very helpful in explaining everything to those in our party who had never had the cuisine before.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

We were visiting Santa Fe and looking for a comfortable restaurant that we could reach without going to the center of town. This was it! Delicious Indian food and very friendly service. The only difficulty was the parking. There were very few spots in f not and we squeezed in. Maybe there are more spots in back but , if so, it wasn't clear how to get to them. We would definitely go back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Indian Food Ever

Dined on April 18, 2016

Have dined on Indian food in Great Britain, Europe and the U.S. in many venues, and Raaga was the best I have ever eaten. Superb authentic Indian cuisine with a few Southwestern twists. The lamb Samosa was excellently spiced and crispy outside; the accompanying chutney had a good bite. The menu features large and small portions enabling one to order several different styles of foods to sample tastes. Notwithstanding the label "small", there was quite sufficient portioning in each dish we ordered to satisfy a good hunger. The chicken tikka masala had great depth and even at medium+ level, sufficient heat. Our small dish of lamb palak had sizable chunks of very tender lamb and was blessed with a wonderful sauce of spinach and ginger with a base of cream that made it smooth and very flavorful. Overall, this was a wonderful meal, and we enjoyed very much Paddy's attention to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Raaga, Santa Fe

Dined on April 17, 2016

Clearly one of Santa Fe's finest restaurants. Paddy is a magician.....I have eaten at very fine Indian restaurants from New York to LA. Raaga is clearly the finest Indian Restaurant I have ever experience. I consider it at the top tier of Santa Fe Best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food/No parking

Dined on April 10, 2016

here is absolutely no parking (but that seems to be the norm for Santa Fe), but aside from that it is a cute spot with good food.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Indian Food in New Mexico

Dined on April 9, 2016

Raaga is simply the best Indian food you will find in New Mexico. It is the best Indian food I have had outside of England and in many cases it is far superior to some in England. I obviously haven't eaten in every Indian restaurant in the U.S , but I'd be happy to put my neck on the line and say this would compete with them all. If you live in Albuquerque then this is the only place you will find the real deal, and it is more than worth the 50 min drive. I'd rather not eat Indian food than eat what Albuquerque has to offer. Do your taste buds a favor and make the trip to Raaga, I am 100% confident that you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

A little disappointed

Dined on April 1, 2016

My wife and I do not normally frequent Indian Restaurants, but we were looking for someplace that has vegetarian food, so we thought we would give this place a try. We really don't know much about the names of the foods, and how much to order. The server was not much help, and we felt like we were fumbling along with no real assistance. It is not like it was real busy either. The food itself was very good, though a little oily for our tastes. The Hot and Sour soup was delightful. So, we give the plave a mixed review.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Definitely worth the visit!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Never would have guessed we would find an outstanding Indian restaurant in Santa Fe. Creative menu, fresh ingredients, well seasoned. The amount of heat that's added is up to you. Very welcome atmosphere and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

All our food was served luke warm. Even ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

All our food was served luke warm. Even the spiced tea was barely warm. Had the samosas, cilantro sauce served on the side had some kind of brown goo in the bottom of the little cup it was served in. Just a disappointment. Went to the restaurant this time last year and it was great. Not this time.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good Indian food, service with nice ambiance

Dined on March 21, 2016

After visiting India last year, we were overdue for a cuisine redux, so we tried Raaga for the first time. We had a reservation and good thing too as the smallish restaurant was filled on a Sunday evening. It offers a pretty broad menu and we started with the Raaga Tikki potato pancake, which came hot with a few pieces of greens and a flavorful fenugreek sauce. For mains we shared the small Baingan Bhartha (roasted eggplant and sauce; best of the bunch), the small Chicken Korma (cashew cream sauce), Lamb Biryani rice, and Naan bread. One diner has issues with spicey food so we asked for mild and it was, so perhaps next time we'll ask for one medium to gain a little zip. Nice wine and beer list. Service was attentive and helpful. Parking is out back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Indian food!! Will definitely ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent Indian food!! Will definitely be going back. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Fabulous Indian food!

Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I went here for dinner. We were blown away by the unique flavors. I ordered the eggplant dish that was to die for and my husband had the lamb that was so tasty and tender with a sauce that was delicious. We will make this a regular stop when we go to Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic

Dined on March 19, 2016

Absolutely the best Lamb Biryani I have had to date in my life. I very much enjoy that the lamb was local and the whole spices were used. I went with my daughter and husband and my 4.5 year old daughter loved the chicken tikka platter and didn't have any issues with the space in terms of managing herself.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great flavors

Dined on March 13, 2016

We visited Raaga on a recent trip to Santa Fe. The flavors of the dishes were wonderful. Service was really good. Will definitely try again if I make it to Santa Fe for another trip.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best! One of my favorites!

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Always the best! One of my favorites!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, delicious Chicken Tikka Masal ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent, delicious Chicken Tikka Masala, Vegetable Samosa, and Mango Kulfi.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and wonderful people....

Dined on March 12, 2016

We loved the whole experience, but the food.....ah, the food...memorable!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love that Paddy always ask if our waiter ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Love that Paddy always ask if our waiter carded us. Every time! Ha. 50 something!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Plesant experience

Dined on March 1, 2016

Great Indian food and a wonderful host and staff. I can't wait to get the second cookbook from this restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Raaga's food, which we enjoy eight or te ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Raaga's food, which we enjoy eight or ten times each year, is consistently outstanding. Lamb Korma, Chicken Mint Salad, Flash Fried Spinach, Chicken Vindaloo, Bombay Fish Masala, and Onion Nan are just a few of the dishes we enjoy. Even the rice is outstanding - always fluffy and delicious. We have never found better Indian food in the US.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great find

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent food, more creative than just usual curry and tandoori dishes offered by most Indian restaurants in the U.S. The service was personal and attentive without being intrusive. The owner/chef came to our table sure we were happy, which we were!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and staff

Dined on February 20, 2016

The Indian food was great but the staff really made it for me. The receptionist was on the ball, knew who we were and was friendly and enjoyable to talk with. Our waiter was very informative, attentive to our needs and helpful in food and wine selection. Finally, the Chief came by and made himself available for our compliments. A real find in Santa Fe, where there are many great restaurants to choose from.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites!

Dined on February 18, 2016

Great food and excellent, friendly, attentive service. It is my favorite restaurant in Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have enjoyed dining at some of the best restaurants in major cities-- New York, San Francisco, Berkeley, Mexico City, and London, to name a few. Raaga is right up there with the best. Fresh, local, organic greens, tender chicken, and herbs and spices so subtly nuanced that one can just barely identify them-- all presented so beautifully, in such delightful ambiance, that we can't wait to return. Thank Heaven Raaga is in Santa Fe!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent!

Dined on February 14, 2016

This spot is one of our favorites. Excellent food, friendly staff, chefs exquisite! Love it love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best food in town

Dined on February 14, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe. I'm a vegetarian and my husband isn't. We agree that the food is incredibly flavorful and is reasonably priced. The chef often visits the tables and the atmosphere is very quaint. Charming place that is great for dates nights!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is fantastic, heating system dodgy

Dined on February 6, 2016

Come dressed to be warm and then cold...the heating system shoots on and off. But you will not be disappointed from the diverse menu. Whether you are super hungry or want to get splits, Cheff Patty has a selection for either appetite. You won't be sorry. Just bring a scarf and sweater if you have a tendency to get chilled.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food has always been very good. Now ...

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

The food has always been very good. Now after a fresh coat of paint, an updated menu and a much needed change with their wine list, this local gem is even move special. Hopefully they will soon add much needed larger wine glasses to help enjoy the much better wines on their new list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Variety and Taste!

Dined on January 3, 2016

love the food here, which is quite consistently 4.5 stars! A good variety of choices and spice levels!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Not sure how you can run out of...

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

We went at the recommendation of a friend who lives in Santa Fe. We ate on New Years day evening. I will say the food was quite good, and we are well versed in Indian food. Raaga was not full, but there were a few large table that were sat just before us. However, we overheard the waiter tell them that they had run out of mango lassi, pappadum and at least one main dish. I can understand the main dish, but how does and indian restaurant run out of mango lassi and pappadums? I also thought the naan were quite small relative to other indian restaurants. With all that being said, the food quality and taste were good. I had the Madras, my wife Tikka Marsala and kids each had Chicken Tikka. Everything was consumed! I would go again and hope that a few of the logistical issues were sorted out. The food was worth going back for.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.