About Raaga

544 B Agua Fria
Unit B
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

"Raaga ("sweet melody") prides itself on offering superior taste and flavor. With each mouthwatering bite, guests can distinguish and savor the finest spices and the freshest herbs. In addition to his Northern Indian fare, chef Paddy Rawal offers dishes that incorporate local Southwest elements. Raaga's menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday Thru Friday.

11.00 a.m to 2.00 p.m

Dinner: Monday thru Friday
5 p.m to 9 p.m
Saturday: 4 p.m to 9 p.m


Cross Street:
Sanbusco

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-6440

Website:
http://www.raagacuisine.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Raaga, Santa Fe, NM

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Special Pre fixe menu for Valentine's dinner menu. Include a appetizer, main entree and dessert. Includes a glass of wine pairing with appetizer and entree.

Raaga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (41)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good Vegetarian Options (33)
See All
Creative Cuisine (32)
Spicy (30)
Casual (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Cozy (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Fun (14)
Healthy (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Vegan (11)
Family Style (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Romantic (8)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Historic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Each dish has a distinctive flavor. Very ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Each dish has a distinctive flavor. Very well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

raaga is always delicious with great ser ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

raaga is always delicious with great service and authentic food made from scratch.

we are locals and go there regularly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This place is slipping. The aloo tikka w ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

This place is slipping. The aloo tikka were surprisingly dense and cold. The surmai kofta were salt bombs, nearly inedible, three kofta to an order. Naan was dripping with oil. Used to be our favorite Indian food in SF. Disappointing and a poor value. Three stars is generous for this visit. Hope it was a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wow! Wonderful food and service...out ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wow! Wonderful food and service...outstanding!!

Tags: , Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When we're in Santa Fe we MUST have a me ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

When we're in Santa Fe we MUST have a meal at Raaga. One of our favorites!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Chef was wonderful. He greeted many ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The Chef was wonderful. He greeted many customers at the door as well as checked on them during the meal. The service was very attentive and the food was delicious. I had the shrimp curry and my guest had chicken curry. Both were superb.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Indian Food EVER, I make a point to ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best Indian Food EVER, I make a point to dine here every time I visit Santa Fe, which is monthly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique combinations of flavors, excellen ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Unique combinations of flavors, excellent warm service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flavors were good for the curries and ti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Flavors were good for the curries and tikka massala. Unfortunately, they came with cold rice. Chicken Satay appetizer was very disappointing. Pieces of chicken floating in a plate of flavorless sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

A nice fun relaxing place to dine with G ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A nice fun relaxing place to dine with Great Food with wonderful mixed flavors in every bite!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Spicy, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The chicken dish in coconut milk was jus ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The chicken dish in coconut milk was just as spices as requested. Mango chutney was delectable. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food is amazing! Everything we ordered f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food is amazing! Everything we ordered from starters to mains. Unfortunately our server was not great. Never offered drinks or recommendations, and was short all night. But, several other servers helped us and were great, and good was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Raaga is the best Indian Restaurant this ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Raaga is the best Indian Restaurant this side of London. Paddy is a phenomenal chef and a delightful hose (if he's not too busy cooking.)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I wanted to like this BUT, Chicken was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I wanted to like this BUT, Chicken was overcooked reminded me of a wool rug. Chef was heavy handed with spices. Spinach salad "tempura flash fried" was inedible and one of the most greasy dishes I've ever ordered. Lastly, we made a reservation 15 mins prior to our seating time and arrived to find the lobby packed like sardines with guests overflowing uncomfortably into dining area. Frantic workers said issue was that guests "were not leaving on time." Yikes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Some of the best Indian food we've ever ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Some of the best Indian food we've ever enjoyed - Very delicious! Small space, so make a reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always, Paddy's cuisine was fabulous! ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

As always, Paddy's cuisine was fabulous! We were introducing Raaga to visiting family members who agreed it was the best Indian restaurant they had ever enjoyed.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Family Style, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, , Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would have been great if we didn't ge ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It would have been great if we didn't get lots (at least 4) long black hairs in our naan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Always great. This time we had a hiccup ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Always great. This time we had a hiccup with the food and the server was rude about it. Another server helped and everything was great.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Fantastic- a real treat! I was staying a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fantastic- a real treat! I was staying at the Guadalupe Inn, and walked there for dinner for Christmas Eve. Both the service and the food was remarkable. Great dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food -- the spinach appetizer and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food -- the spinach appetizer and okra course were especially delicious!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Plenty of options for vegetarian palates ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Plenty of options for vegetarian palates - try the cashew cream dishes!

Tags: Late-night Find, Spicy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was a unique ambience that my wife an ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was a unique ambience that my wife and I have never experience before. Great job everyone at Raaga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not a typical Indian restaurant. You can ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Not a typical Indian restaurant. You can choose your heat level. The flash fried spinach salad was unique and tasty. We ordered the papadums served with mint/tamarind chutney. We shared the large size entree of Chicken Makhani, a delicious tomato and cream sauce. We also shared an order of Ginger mint Naan. For dessert we ordered the Ras Maali. It was a perfect meal in Santa Fe when you need a change from NM food.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lot of hype... They will fill you up w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A lot of hype... They will fill you up with mostly rice, ordered the seafood korma regular portion, underspiced, not that much seafood, could count 1 and a half shrimp. This place wouldn't score two stars at a big city in the East coast.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Just what I needed. Delicious clean fill ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Just what I needed. Delicious clean filling food for the season. Owner kept staring at me though...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our most recent meal at Raaga was delici ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our most recent meal at Raaga was delicious (as usual!) and served with the same welcoming, meticulous care we have come to expect from this gem of a restaurant. If you're in Santa Fe, Raaga's is a "must visit" during your trip. (If you live in Santa Fe, chances are, you already know that!) Chef Paddy visits every table personally, to make sure your meal is excellent and exquisite. The combination of Indian cuisine with local Santa Fe ingredients (ancho chile in the Pindi Chana, for example) means that while you may have tasted good Indian food before, you've NEVER tasted anything quite like Raaga's masterpieces before.

Thank you for another fantastic meal!

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Historic, Wood Oven, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, , Comfort Food, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is a gem! The food was fantas ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This place is a gem! The food was fantastic and surprisingly flavorful. Service was superb.

We will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is delicious. Everything ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food here is delicious. Everything tastes so fresh and it's clear they pay great attention to the quality of food. Our waiter was great, and Paddy, the owner/chef came around to our table to make sure everything was to our liking. It definitely was! If you want Indian food in Santa Fe, this is definitely the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, great night. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food, great service, great night. The spinach salad is a must.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious. Great food and gre ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Absolutely delicious. Great food and great service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, , Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm from Chicago where great Indian food ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I'm from Chicago where great Indian food is easy to come by. Raga was a huge disappointment. The samosa was filled with what seemed like pea paste with an oil(?) and cilantro dipping sauce. No chutney.

The chicken tikka masala's sauce was thin, there was a huge chunk of broccoli, and the chicken was not tender.

The naan was good.

The service was indifferent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Raaga is a superb Indian restaurant. The ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Raaga is a superb Indian restaurant. The best of its kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Indian food anywhere. Always delici ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best Indian food anywhere. Always delicious, tender, delightful.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place kills it. The food, lighting, ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This place kills it. The food, lighting, seating, service all are top.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sublime. We have been several times. Han ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Sublime. We have been several times. Hands om owner. Consistently delightful.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic indian food. Worth a visit whe ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Authentic indian food. Worth a visit when in santa fe.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for a different type of Tha ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went here for a different type of Thanksgiving. This is a fabulous, really amazing, authentic Indian Food Restaurant. One of the best I have been to. Also had a great wine selection. Love it. The only critique I had out of the large selection of food we tasted was that the naan wasn't fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall the food was good. However, our ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Overall the food was good. However, our entrees arrived lukewarm. The menu is a little limited when it comes to entrees with meat compared to other Indian restaurants. The restaurant is in a small house converted to a restaurant so the tables for two are very close together, but the ambiance is nice. Onsite parking is limited to three vehicles with additional parking within a couple minute walk. Overall good experience and worth trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was really very good!! We were ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was really very good!! We were impressed! The chef came to our table 3 times to see how everything was - a very friendly person. Overall when we are coming back to visit Santa Fe we'll definitely come back there to eat. Bravo!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great value. Very cozy (close tables). H ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great value. Very cozy (close tables). Had lamb. Excellent.

Credit card machine was out. Cash only. Bummer! Technology is great......if it works!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.