About Raaga

544 B Agua Fria
Unit B
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

"Raaga ("sweet melody") prides itself on offering superior taste and flavor. With each mouthwatering bite, guests can distinguish and savor the finest spices and the freshest herbs. In addition to his Northern Indian fare, chef Paddy Rawal offers dishes that incorporate local Southwest elements. Raaga's menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday Thru Saturday.

4.00 p.m to 9.00 p.m

Cross Street:
Sanbusco

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 820-6440

Website:
http://www.raagacuisine.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Raaga
Raaga

Raaga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
New Mexico
Best Overall
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Food
Santa Fe / Mountains
2 More
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Fit for Foodies (56)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (26)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Groups (14)
Authentic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Spicy (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vegan (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disappointed. I read many good reviews a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 3 days ago

Disappointed. I read many good reviews about this restaurant, however, the food did not meet our expectations. The tandoori chicken was the least tasteful of any that I have ever had. The vegetables that came with the chicken were soggy and tasteless. We will not return or recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Six years of dining at Raaga, invariably ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Six years of dining at Raaga, invariably with friends not experienced in gourmet Indian food.

Delighted them, and us every time.

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I watched a movie about an I ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My wife and I watched a movie about an Indian chef in NYC that won accolades for his cooking in his father's downward spiraling restaurant. So we had a craving for som decent Indian cuisine. Fat chance in Santa Fe, right? Wrong!

We met some friends at Raaga and had, what we thought, the absolute best restaurant experience in Santa Fe. Service, food, attention to detail and even a visit by the owner made for an extremely pleasant experience.

Will we go back? I have to answer honestly with a big fat yes! We may have found our newest favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is my son's favorite restaurant. V ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is my son's favorite restaurant. Very yummy naan bread and friendly servers. The food is carefully crafted and delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative take on traditional Indian fo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Innovative take on traditional Indian food. Loved the thinly sliced okra dish, and the cashew sauce with kofta was perfectly spiced. Lots of vegetarian options. Very very good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Paddy Rawal's Raaga. It ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We always enjoy Paddy Rawal's Raaga. It was buzzing on a Wednesday night when the city was generally quiet without a mob of tourists. Speaks to Raaga's popularity with locals -- we love it. This time we took friends visiting from Florida and they were bemoaning a lack of good ethnic restaurants in their area, whereas the Santa Fe food scene is rich with ethnicity, Raaga being one of the best. One of our guests also greatly appreciated the easy identification of gluten free dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Noah as our server and he was Fan ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had Noah as our server and he was Fantastic. Raaga is my favorite spot to have Indian food in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the folks as Raaga could not be nicer. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

the folks as Raaga could not be nicer. be sure to try the flash fried spinach salad- very unique and tasty. great wine list. flavorful food at its best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Paddy came around 5 times and is ov ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Chef Paddy came around 5 times and is overly proud of his cuisine. He should spend more time in the kitchen instead of trying to impress his clients. Big ego but good food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a busy evening at Raaga, but serv ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was a busy evening at Raaga, but service was friendly and accommodating. We always enjoy the food and service here when we come to Santa Fe, the broad and varied menu to suit every palate, and a good selection of beer and wine. The Delhi Chaat and warm spinach salad are excellent, and there are nearly a dozen varieties of Naan to accompany your meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Spicy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

you forgot, the food! The food is delic ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

you forgot, the food! The food is delicious!!! The service is superb and the ambiance very nice.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Spicy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food in a very comfortable, upbeat ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food in a very comfortable, upbeat setting. Service was fabulous and attentive without seeming intrusive. There were four in our group and we left (reluctantly) feeling fully satisfied. We'll be back in a heartbeat. The Spinach salad is awesome, app selection very varied and the entrees - well we could have eaten our way through the entire menu. We are locals -our dinner companions were from the Midwest and were uncertain about trying Indian food in Santa Fe. They can't wait to return and neither can we!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always.....Paddy does an ex ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent as always.....Paddy does an extraordinary job presenting the finest

Indian cuisine in Santa Fe. Clearly at the top of the list of the best in Santa Fe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Spicy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to Ragga. Very good Indian ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Second visit to Ragga. Very good Indian food. Lots of vegetarian options. Nice patio. Ample parking if you can find the lot behind the restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent. Very authentic. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The food was excellent. Very authentic. The chef/owner visits each table personally.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We very much indeed enjoyed our experien ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We very much indeed enjoyed our experience at 'Raaga'. the food was the best we ever had at an Indian restaurant, the service was outstanding and the atmosphere very pleasant. It was one of our best meals in Santa Fe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best Indian food ever, hands down. I ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The best Indian food ever, hands down. I come to Santa fe once a year on business and Raaga is always at the top of my list of places to eat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, creative cuisine, well-prepar ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent, creative cuisine, well-prepared and flavorful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very well reviewed Indian restaurant tha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very well reviewed Indian restaurant that we found disappointing. My husband's chicken went back twice--it was served raw. My lamb korma did not taste like any version I'd ever had before and, though ordered mild-medium in terms of spice, was so bland it was almost flavorless. The naan was fine. We were given a complementary dessert --a nice gesture but we won't go back.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We had the spinach salad to start which, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had the spinach salad to start which, as always was outstanding. We then had delicious lamb vindaloo and paneer palak with garlic naan. The only thing that was annoying was the service. Very slow and the waiter seemed unorganized. Not typical, not sure what wS going on. Still the best Indian food in Santa Fe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Flash-fried spinach salad was excellent. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Flash-fried spinach salad was excellent. All entrees were tasty. Nice to have option of a smaller entree. Weren't able to dine outdoors, which is a better option in Santa Fe. Waiter was very knowledgable about entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Indian food I've ever eaten - midwa ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best Indian food I've ever eaten - midway through my meal I booked a Roundtrip to India because the food was so inspiring!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Raaga has become a favorite spot for my ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Raaga has become a favorite spot for my wife and I on date night and we enjoy the food each time. The spices and flavors keep us coming back for more. The ambiance allows us to relax and I always enjoy looking across the table into my wifes lovely eyes....

The service is always knowledgeable and patient as we like to take our time and enjoy our dining experiences. Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not inexpensive but very delicious food. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Not inexpensive but very delicious food. The sauces are worth it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We decided to celebrate my wife's birthd ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We decided to celebrate my wife's birthday by visiting Meow Wolf and having dinner in Santa Fe. A relative had given us a gift certificate to Raaga, so we made that our plan. The outdoor seating was in back of the restaurant, which was nice for quiet and comfort. The food was delicious. A very unusual take on some familiar Indian dishes, and some that were new to us. The spinach salad was wonderful and I particularly like the Bagare Baingan as an entre. We don't get to Sante Fe very often, but would definitely consider going back to Raaga on one of those trips.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The two of us are very fond of Indian fo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The two of us are very fond of Indian food, which we seek out wherever we travel. We made a reservation for Raaga based on the praises sung by previous reviewers. Our high expectations proved to be fully justified. We were seated on a small patio behind the restaurant and immediately given menus so that we could peruse the very large number of options available. We settled on a Lamb Tikka Platter and a Chicken Tikka Platter, with Ginger and Mint Naan, and gulab jamun for dessert, since it was our first visit and we didn't want to stray too far from the conventional. The platters were beautiful to look at and tasted even better. The naan was first rate, as was the gulab jamun. We don't get to Santa Fe very often, but whenever we do from now on, Raaga will definitely be on our itinerary.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally amazing meal, especially the spi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Totally amazing meal, especially the spinach salad! Every bite was a delight to our palates

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our new favorite restaurant in S ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This is our new favorite restaurant in Santa Fe! We were warmly welcomed the moment we entered the front door. Chef Paddy and the intelligent staff make this restaurant very special. The food is beyond any Indian cuisine we have enjoyed on our travels and the unique flavors with Chef Paddy's signature is definite and forwardly creative. The restaurant is romantic, fun, and very classy. The whole evening took us away from a very stressful life! TOP NOTCH!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For many years we have been fans of Raag ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

For many years we have been fans of Raaga. The most recent visit was, if possible, even better than earlier ones. One of the best Indian restaurants I've ever eaten in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My lamb vindaloo was possibly one of the ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My lamb vindaloo was possibly one of the best I've had. The lamb was very soft and the spice level was appropriate. Went to dine there twice during my 6 day stay. Highly recommend making a reservation during peek times. Raaga is one of the most popular restaurants in Santa Fe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great meal and energatic, welcoming atmo ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great meal and energatic, welcoming atmosphere. If we visit Santa Fe again (which hopefully we will, we will definitely come back to Raaga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was fantstic, food was great can ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

service was fantstic, food was great cant wait to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. We were only in Santa Fe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food. We were only in Santa Fe for a week, but we ate at Raaga twice! Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Truly magnificent Indian food. The fres ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Truly magnificent Indian food. The freshly ground spices and authentic flavors and aromas make Raaga perhaps the best Indian restaurant I have ever eaten at and that includes 70 years in New York City among the very best this country has to offer. Friendly staff and the owner, Paddy Rawal, is always there taking care and ensuring the food and experience is perfect. They are always happy to adjust the heat level to your taste, including incendiary, my favorite. When the weather permits, sitting outside in their patio is delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food at Raaga was excellent-well-pre ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food at Raaga was excellent-well-prepared, delicious, and just rather right amount of heat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad we had made a reservation, as th ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

So glad we had made a reservation, as the place fills up pretty fast - and folks 'just show up' (and it is not a large place). But, our server did a great job of keeping in touch, even though he was 'in the weeds'. We ordered Stuffed Mushroom Caps (good) and Gobhi Satay (cauliflower w/peanut sauce & coconut); but, what we got was Lasooni Gobhi (cauliflower w/tomatoes and garlic). Our server realized the error after we'd already taken a bite, so he brought what we ordered and comped the 'extra'. Quite honestly, both the cauliflower dishes were fantastic; I thought the mushroom caps too bready. For our main course, we had small servings of Lamb Vindaloo and Shahi Paneer; both were incredible. And, of course, we had naan (garlic cilantro). The owner, Paddy, came by to visit, and we left full and satifsfied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

An exceptional dining experience!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

An exceptional dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food great. Nice ambiance. Service gene ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food great. Nice ambiance. Service generally good; however my friend was served and my meal didn't come for 12 or minutes later. Busy yes, but friends' meal could have been held. Maybe waiter forgot to place mine? Not sure what happened , but delay was not good. Too bad as everything else was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely delish food - every item was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Absolutely delish food - every item was "spot on."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food. Have 4 dishes that we love a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food. Have 4 dishes that we love all the time. Tried 2 new dishes, excellent. Tops in Santa Fe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.