Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Zero Zero

Zero Zero opened in 2010 inspired by Chef Bruce Hill’s dedication to farm driven ingredients, combined with his love for wood-fired pizzas that have been nicknamed “Calipolitan”. Michael Bauer of the San Francisco Chronicle named us the French Laundry of upscale pizza, and the readers of 7x7 Magazine voted us “Best Pizza in San Francisco”. In addition to pizza, our menu showcases housemade pastas, a variety of market-fresh appetizers, and artisan soft serve. We also have two big time bars with a selection of seasonal house cocktails, beers, and 12 wines on tap.

826 Folsom Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Organic

Hours of Operation:
11:30am-10pm Everyday (‘til 11pm on Fridays and Saturdays)
Kitchen is closed Monday-Friday from 2:30pm-4pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 348-8800

Website:
http://www.zerozerosf.com/

Executive Chef:
Bruce Hill

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us directly for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Gerasomovich: (415) 348-8800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zero Zero Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Family Style (7)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Slow start. Understaffed at lunch in the upstairs dining room as servers had to double as bartenders for their own tables. Nonetheless they pulled it off and did a great job. Nonalcoholic cocktails were great, Arancini and pizza well done. Overall very enjoyable and good value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fabulous food and service, but rather expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The only reason we went to Zero Zero was because we wanted to be in that part of town afterwards.I had read about it as a good place for pizza, and indeed the pizza was good. It was very quiet becz we were there for a late lunch and the place was empty. I would recommend it for pizza and if or are in that neighbood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

It's super cute and the food is really good. The avocado bruschetta is delicious and it's vegetarian friendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The people who worked there were very pleasant and they kindly allowed us to leave a suitcase there while we walked to a sports bar to watch the end of the Warriors game after our meal. The food selection was limited. The pizza was a little burnt in places, had to much flavorless cheese on it so it made it kind of tasteless. The Bloody Mary was the best part of the lunch. Chock full of horseradish it was right up my alley. Only one of us ordered something other than pizza and it was a hash dish. It was full of potatos....to many for my taste...an egg on top and some kind of meat (perhaps ham) sliced thinly in it. I had a taste, and while it was flavorful, the potatoes were too big for me to be called a hash. We asked for both hot sauce and ranch dressing. They had neither. I guess they either feel that is an insult to the cook or they just don't want to carry it but in today's day and age, one would think that hot sauce should be a staple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place, good food. Incredibly slow service. Everyone around us was seated after us and got their food before. It took 20 min just to get coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were having mother's day brunch and Brandon gave excellent service! he was pleasant and attentive (refilling waters & iced-tea without us having to ask). He went above and beyond when my mother's pizza was delivered with olives when she requested without. He got her a replacement quickly and then at the end of the meal apologized again and said the pizza was taken off the bill for the mistake. Zero Zero is a favorite neighborhood restaurant as I live in SOMA and I hope to have Brandon as my server again in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Zero zero is always a win. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Amazing arrancini, pizza, pasta, and dessert!! We will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food is always good at Zero Zero. Great salads and pizzas, and sinful build-your-own desserts. This time, our server was pretty unenthusiastic. We were there on a Sunday afternoon, and the place was very quiet--maybe she just wasn't interested in being there (?).

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was amazing, as usual; arancini super crispy and the black garlic sauce was delicious! Entrees and salads are huge and extremely yummy; nobody makes fried chicken like Zero Zero! The ricotta doughnuts are light and just sweet enough, even if you don't go crazy on dipping sauces like we did (hot fudge, straweberries in vanilla sauce, caramel sauce!). Service was lackluster; had to ask for more water, got the check before we ordered dessert; typically service is really good so it could have been an off day. We drive 40 miles each way to go to Zero Zero and always feel like it was worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We were seated promptly on the upper level with a nice table next to the window. Our server was personable and efficient. We started withe. Caesar salad and a bowl of their creamy asparagus soup. The soup was one of the best I have ever had. We shared the night's special pizza - three kinds of cheese, tomatoes, garlic cloves, and roasted kernels of corn. It was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This is a great pizza place. You have to like thin crust pizza. We had the hamachi tartar appetizer which was absolutely delish. I loved the fennel salad and the meatball appetizer came with a white and red sauce which was wonderful. Fun environment and really nice bar to have a drink in. The table service was a little lacking as we were not asked if we wanted a 2nd drink but otherwise our server was very nice and offered good advice on the menu.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I was at zero zero last Sunday, I asked to take 4 pieces of pizza that was left over, when I got home, I went to see that they had only put 3 pieces in the box.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I've been here for dinner twice. The food was excellent, especially the short ribs pasta and avocado toast. The service was really good, as well.
I came here on a Sunday for a birthday celebration, just four of us. The service was terrible even though there were many empty tables. There was no pasta on the menu either. I should have realized that a Sunday menu would be different. We were hard pressed to find something to order. We ended up with a couple of pizzas and Caesar salad. Just okay. I'll try again but not on a Sunday.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Nice SOMA-located restaurant with excellent Italian dishes. Quickly seated (we had reservations) and overall service was friendly and efficient. Pasta with lemon crème sauce and a pizza were both very tasty and served hot and timely. Wine list is small but satisfactory. Chocolate Budino dessert was beyond excellent - just plain delicious! Ambiance is nice but tables are close together and a quiet, private dinner conversation is not likely here. Overall, a very good experience and a good value for the quality of food and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Zero Zero is always amazing and the food selection and drink menu has something for all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Average pizza; nothing sp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Pizza was good, sour and crisp crust. A little pricey for lunch. Service was lacking. Host seemed out of it and only 1 server for all of upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Came 15 minutes early before a reservation on a Monday and hostess said that there are no free tables that she could seat us at before our reservation. The majority of downstairs was completely empty and we sat at one of the many free bar tables. Many tables were not seated for at least an hour into our time there. The pizza was only ok - good tasting crust but for a thin crust pizza place the crust was soggy and the toppings came off when trying to take a piece off the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

When I had friends visiting from the UK and we had one opportunity for dinner together I immediately wanted to take them to Zero Zero. Fabulous drinks, a wonderful seasonally rotating pizza menu, delicious vegetable appetizers, and a dessert menu with just enough quirky options to satisfy everybody. We requested a quiet table and I think we got one as quiet as it gets--unfortunately nowhere in this restaurant is especially quiet! But the service, food, drink, and ambience are all so attractive that we just dealt with it.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was a severe disappointment. We've eaten there before and enjoyed it but either Friday was chef's night off or things have gone sadly down hill. The food was heavy, over salted (and I love salt!) and just unspecial. I wished I'd just stayed home and cooked myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fresh ingredients and friendly fast service. The kale salad was delicious and the new snap pea pizza was amazing.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

One Zero Zero out of 100 |

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The italian style pizza was good but not so thin and crusty as a European would have expected. Got a bigger table by asking which was nice. I think they should let you know if the pizza you choose does not have tomate sauce but ia one of those white pizzas (just cheese).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Good ambiance but poor service + less than average food = not worth it
Spaghetti was not better than jarred sauce and boxed noodles at home.
Waiter did not tell us specials, did not check on us to see if we wanted another drink, did not give us our check at the end, etc ... just very sub-par

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Let's start with service. The bartender was extremely rude and unpleasant. My friend needed a piece of bread just to get something in his stomach from having taking medication, and the bartender was like "you have to order biscuits." The food was OK, but WAY overpriced. it was like $18 for a brunch entree, for something that should have been $12. Unsurprisingly, this place was empty for brunch, and given these issues I'm not going to be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

After a fantastic first experience I was sadly disappointed with the service the second time. The food was still fun, flavorful and festive but the service left a bad taste in my mouth. There was nothing overtly awful about our server, we just didn't seem to be on the same page at the same time. We weren't hurried as it was a Tuesday pm and not a full restaurant. But our server seemed rushed. Later she nicely asked us to move for our dessert to a tall table to accomodate a larger party. We did so gracefully, yet were somewhat chagrined when she quickly brought our bill after delivering the desserts. And we had not asked for Arbelo, wanted another round of drinks, never received our to go box and had to ask for a new bill after our next round of cocktails. It was odd as the restaurant was mostly empty at this point other than the one other large party and our server seem to have very little on her plate. Just a disappointing a way to end the day

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Avocado bruschetta was delicious. Housemade mozzarella on pizzas. Fairly close to convention center on Folsom close to children's museum side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Slow service. Understaffed and needs trained personnel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I have been here many times before and the pizza used to be so much better. The crust was airy, crispy, had just the right amount of chew, and a pleasant sourdough'iness that made it oh so fitting of this city. This time around it was just flat, had a chew reminiscent of gummie bears, and an almost acrid saltiness to every bite. We had the standard margherita, and Geary (clam pie). The toppings on both were on point, but man, I can't get past that crust *sad face*.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was very tasty! My only complaint was that my friend's pizza came out way later than the rest of our entrees, so whoever was expediting in the kitchen needed to time everything a bit better. Otherwise we had a good meal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Went here for my sister's birthday. Their pizzas were good and unique, but nothing spectacular in my opinion; I have had better pizza. Their pizza was too soggy towards the center. Their desserts were good though! Fun and nice environment.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Nick at the bar was great! Kudos
And also happy he invented The Molina drink that Friday.

Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wow - poor service, minuscule servings, average yet over-priced wine list, spectacularly expensive, for what? - won't be open long in sf. Too much superior competition. Walk on by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great pizza especially the "Columbus." Poke was tasty with some crunchy bits.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food used to be very good there. I have not been back for 3 years. That's why I took my friend there but food was bad this time. Everything was salty especially the broccoli was very salty! The dessert was the best and it's very good. Waitress was not professional - charged us something we didn't order, spilled the food on my friend's sleeve, forgot to bring us coffee we ordered, didn't know what beer was out (my friend had to read the menu 3 times to order the beer and he ended up taking water only because they're all out).

Wont go back..sorry...feel very disappointed because I used love this place. Always took my out-of-town friends there. No more....not worth with the horrible parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The pasta was a disappointment. The pizza, on the other hand, is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was great and atmosphere was awesome. I'd definitely recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Amazing pizza and spaghettoni. Also love that they have wine on tap!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.