About Zero Zero

826 Folsom Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
View Larger Map

Zero Zero opened in 2010 inspired by Chef Bruce Hill’s dedication to farm driven ingredients, combined with his love for wood-fired pizzas that have been nicknamed “Calipolitan”. Michael Bauer of the San Francisco Chronicle named us the French Laundry of upscale pizza, and the readers of 7x7 Magazine voted us “Best Pizza in San Francisco”. In addition to pizza, our menu showcases housemade pastas, a variety of market-fresh appetizers, and artisan soft serve. We also have two big time bars with a selection of seasonal house cocktails, beers, and 12 wines on tap.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Organic

Hours of Operation:
11:30am-10pm Everyday (‘til 11pm on Fridays and Saturdays)
Kitchen is closed Monday-Friday from 2:30pm-4pm

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 348-8800

Website:
http://www.zerozerosf.com/

Executive Chef:
Bruce Hill

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us directly for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Gerasomovich: (415) 348-8800

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zero Zero Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Bar Seating (17)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Fun (15)
Family Style (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first time going to Zero Zero and the food was outstanding. My daughter, who lives in the city, jumped for joy when I informed her that I booked a reservation there. Little did we know that we too will make this restaurant one of our go-to favorites. The pizzas were outstanding! Most of the cheese are made on the premises and so quality tasting. The soft serve ice cream with olive oil & salt was fabulous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant staff were very friendly towards kids. But I wish they could install diaper changing facilities in the men's restroom. This would make me want to eat at this restaurant more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great this time around! Pizza was excellent, gnocchi was fluffy, and brussel sprouts were full of flavor. Would definitely recommend and return!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was Valentines night but we did not want a romantic setting. This was perfect, lively and lots of groups. Great bar and wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was actually quite good. But all three items we ordered came all at once. They should have been staggered. Server was nice but very new so knew nothing about wines selection by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fried french toast was amazing! As someone who is vegetarian I'm usually relegated to a sloppy piece of bread that it is either overcooked toast or egg soup mush loaf. The texture of this french toast was perfect and the bourbon flavor was amazing. The potatoes were equally delicious. I wish the waitress would have told us that the pastrami hash (light on the pastrami) was also just a bowl of the same potatoes so we wouldn't have ordered two, but that meant more potatoes for me so can't be too mad. The service also got a little sparse once the crowd picked up. They appeared to only have one waitress working but other than that the everything was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was quite good. Salad creative and yummy. I had crab pasta good flavor but very little crab. Two of my companions had a different pasta dish with pork that was very flavorful. The pizza looked like a typical Margarita could have benefited from smaller dabs of cheese more even space on the pie.

Dessert menu was intriguing but we were full so we passed.

Service was casual and not particularly attentive.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 10, 2017

All around great spot! Need to make it a regular on my list. From the cocktails, wine list to the appetizers and delectable pizzas - 5 stars!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great lunch at Zero Zero, as always. Their arancini is one of my favourite things on the menu, as is the french toast.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was tasty. So no complaints there. Prices have gone up a lot and a little too high to come here more than once in a while. And service is slow. Very inattentive staff. Can never get the waiter in between food delivery.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The panna cotta was superb! What a creative combination of guava and mango. I've never tasted that before, and it was delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was incredible, service was sub-parr. Quite a shame since the actual food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Took business team to Zero-Zero for restaurant week sampling, as we were considering Zero Zero for a department event in the future. We were highly disappointed:

  • Service was exceedingly slow. Our lunch for fix took nearly two hours.

  • The SF-restaurant week menu was paltry compared to other restaurants. Usually, these are the 'best of' menu items to garner new, loyal customers. No vegetarian entree option on the event menu, either.

  • Every dish that everyone was served was REALLY salty. Salad? Salty. Pizza? Salty? Ice cream? yes, SALTY.

  • The dessert selection was vanilla soft-serve, drenched with olive oil and kosher salt. No one finished their dessert, as it tasted disgusting after the first few bites.

I have already been made fun of for suggesting this restaurant, which really stings, as previous visits to Zero-Zero didn't have this issue. Now, we have to schedule our department event elsewhere.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Good food and appropriate portions. However, service was slow. What made this

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was great but service was slooooowwwwwwww. Seated at 5:30, left at 7:30...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great diverse food menu and wine menu. Delicious food and solid service.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Zero Zero is a popular, busy restaurant, yet when we arrived for our reservation we were seated immediately and served rapidly. We both had pizza, which rivaled the pizza we savored on our trip to Napoli, Italy. That is saying a lot. I'd go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This was my first time attending SF Restaurant week. I was seated timely but my girlfriend had to search the floor(s) for me as the host disappeared after seating another guest. All in all, the food was okay. The Twain's Twist was wonderful -- a non alcoholic drink and the Taleggio stuffed arancini was really delicious even though it wasn't a part of the restaurant week lunch menu. I have to admit the Townsend pizza which had prosciutto cotton, potatoes, garlic, rosemary, mozzarella and grana padano was bland. I would have preferred to have tomato sauce on my pizza for a little bit of flavor. The Casareccia pasta dish, which had prosciutto, grana padano, straus butter and arugula was very small but it was definitely tastier than the pizza. The soft serve vanilla ice cream was nice but I think I would have preferred not to have olive oil drizzled on it.... it didn't add to the flavor to the ice cream so it was more of a nuisance. I'm happy to have tried this restaurant -- it has good comfort food. I may come back but this time try the pizza(s) with tomato sauce.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

great food and cocktails tempered by timid service shown a number of staff. the food and drinks are top notch for what they charge. . .service really drags them down.

Tags: Family Style, Wood Oven, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Not as good as it was pre-2015. Not sure what happened to the original chef, but they changed the menu and removed a lot of our favorite items. This was the fourth or fifth time we've tried to give it another chance since the change, but likely our last. Such a shame as it used to be one of our favorite, go-to restaurants in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and drinks. Came on a quiet Saturday afternoon and stayed for a few hours celebrating a birthday. Pizza and bruschetta are very yummy!! Would recommend to anyone for a special occasion/date. Cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Not the best food, it was pretty mediocre. We ordered a Caesar and pizza and it was ok not amazing like A16 or Tony's pizza in north beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Pizza was paper thin soggy crust, flavorless sauce, virtually no cheese. Sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Such an amazing restaurant.... great service and incredible menu!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our party of four had three of us with our pasta dishes waiting for our fourth diner to receive his dish for several minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good food, attentive service. Good stop if you're in the area.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great soft serve ice cream for desert, but the rest of the meal was just ok. Service was good but impersonal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It was a bit loud for catching up with an old friend, but the pasta dishes were superb. I was disappointed in the meager desert choices though!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food and music were great. Service was a bit slow, and I hate when waiters blame slow service on the fact that restaurant is busy. Restaurants are supposed to be busy, they know how many seats they have and the number of reservations they have. Busy should be the goal, not the excuse. It also gets extremely loud. Although food was good, would only go back for drinks, before having dinner at another restaurant. Would drop by to buy their frozen pizza, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We had two salads the Broccoli as great. Cesar salad was marginal. Salad dressing was weak. The Duck pasta dish was very good and the crab pasta had very little crab. It was mostly noodles.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This was our second time here, and it did not disappoint! We had the meatball and brussel sprouts as appetizers and shared a pizza and caesar salad for dinner. Always great cocktails, and great ambiance! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

As always, it was a perfect meal at 00. they have a seasonal pizza with Blue Bottle braised pork that was to die for, and for every one of those pizzas they sell, they are donating $5 to families of the victims of the Oakland fire! I love that this restaurant tries to give back to it's surrounding community whenever it can. We finished off with the vanilla soft serve with the calabrian chili caramel and olive oil and sea salt...it was delicious!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food and drinks. Nice beer list and great cocktails. Trendy atmosphere. Must have the pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great food and service, but cheesy department store/shopping mall Christmas music played loudly...made ambiance worse than it could have been.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at Zero Zero. The poke appetizer was delicious. We ordered a special pizza of the day which was delicious as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Outstanding pizza!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Smoke in the dining room upstairs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Love the food, service and atmosphere here. Bravo to everyone who works here. Spot on perfect every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was incredible. Music was slightly too loud. Our server was all about efficiency with zero personal touch or attempt at being personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Went here for a work dinner — love that they have a larger open spaces upstairs + another bar! Great location, great vibe, great food, great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

As with every other visit all was absolutely delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Inventive but not too out there food. We had the polenta fries, Brussels sprouts, and the Castro pizza. All awesome. Oh, and I had the negroni from the tap, and we finished with the soft serve ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I recommend someone who wants to eat handmade pizza to visit here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I read great reviews on Zero Zero and this was not my first time either but I thought I would give it another try.

First of all our table wasn't ready until 15 minutes after my reservation time which was not quite impressing given it was a Sunday night.

I ordered the Trout salad based on our waitress recommendation. It was way tooooo fishy ( smell) I was not impressed. I had Pizza here before, nothing very special.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were very excited to try this place. Unfortunately, the pizza did not meet my expectations of Naples style or gourmet pizza. Crust (which really makes or breaks a pizza) was really so-so, missing the "bite" of a great thin crust pizza. Also, the decor is a little dark and dreary. I think this could be good for a group before a game, where gourmet food is not the main objective rather lots of space and close to the ballpark.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Came here with the bride and groom families for a pre-wedding weekend dinner. It did not disappoint. Great creative pizzas. Even our vegetarian family members were accommodated!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Unexceptional food. Solicitous staff. Too many fabulous restaurants in our city to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.