About Zero Restaurant + Bar

Zero Restaurant + Bar is located in downtown Charleston in the award winning Zero George Hotel. Chef Vinson Petrillo has a passion and appreciation for natural, local ingredients infused with a contemporary American Style. All of the dishes are elegantly prepared in the professional display kitchen, located in the property’s original circa 1804 carriage house. The menu is hyper-seasonal, and features the freshest herbs and vegetables from the on-site kitchen garden, local farms and seafood from local fisherman. Seating is available in the intimate dining room and the garden courtyard.

0 George St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street and George Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 628-3480

Website:
http://zerorestaurantcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available.

Additionally there is a large city parking lot immediately to the right Zero George Hotel with free parking after 6PM.

Executive Chef:
Vinson Petrillo

Private Party Facilities:
Intimate and lush and so quintessentially Charleston, Zero Restaurant + Bar is an ideal private event venue. Delight your guests with the candlelit alfresco ambiance of our Old World courtyard and/or our inviting dining room. Zero Restaurant’s combination of upscale hospitality and culinary wow makes your special event truly special.

Types of private events: Private Cooking Classes, Hosted Happy Hours, Private Dinners, Cocktail Receptions. Please inquire directly with Restaurant for pricing and availability.

Private Party Contact:
Kendall Moore: (843) 901-8675

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zero Restaurant + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Tasting Menu (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Historic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Authentic (13)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Seasonal (8)
Fireplace (7)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vegan (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

This was one of the best meals I've ever had. What a unique and wonderful place. The service and food was beyond expectation. Thank you taking our trip to Charleston to the next level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding is a good word for the overall experience. From the moment we were greeted and escorted to wait in the lovely drawing room upstairs, to being seated in the outside garden complete with fountains and lanterns, to the last fabulous bite, this experience was one of perfection. The waiters were knowledgable, attentive, understated and did it just right. The food is imaginative, pretty but unlike many tasting menus of the sort, everything not only looked beautiful but tasted fabulous. The tasting menu is a wonderful experience and the way to go. It is well worth the cost especially with the wine pairings included. We will be back.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We dined on the patio (my 9th visit this year) and had the five course tasting menu which was spectacular . The charcoal foie gras was a huge hit . Customer service was fantastic and we felt well attended to. Dessert was so good we ordered a third ! If you've eaten at Michelin starred restaurants throughout the world this is as close as you're going to find in Charleston. The prefixed menu comes with wine selections which are spot on . This is THE place to go for a special evening, and plan on spending several hours to enjoy your meal .

After dining through most all of Charleston my top three picks (all for different reasons) are Zero Restaurant, R Kitchen, and Harold's Cabin. If you dine at these three, you're guaranteed to have the best dining experience, in the most unique surroundings, combined with authentic gracious service.

Two honorable mentions are Halls Chophouse if you're dying for a fantastic steak, and also has killer service attendants (but ambience is very busy and loud), or High Cotton for breakfast which has the best breakfast menu (specifically corn beef hash) (with a nice jazz trio playing periodically).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

The evening was a culinary experience. Food, wine and service excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Do not miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic haute cuisine! Lovely service and ambiance!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is a Michelin quality restaurants and deserves at least a 1 or 2 stars from Michelin if they rated it.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had the Omnivore tasting menu and were blown away by the imaginative presentation and faultless flavors of Zero Restaurant's food. The wine pairings were perfectly matched to each course, and the service was knowledgeable and friendly. My husband and I agreed this was the best meal we've had since a much-loved experience at the French Laundry over a decade ago. Expensive, but worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Lovely evening thank you for a beautiful Birthday celebration!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 3, 2017

An amazing and delicious dining experience in a beautiful courtyard. The meal greatly exceeded our expectations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Unique food, intimate/cozy atmosphere and amazing service. Best meal ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Truly the best food I have ever experienced. Our server was so enthusiastic and truly loved food and wine and was extremely knowledgeable The chef is outstanding and I would highly recommend this for a special occasion

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Best dining adventure ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Wonderful flavors in each bite and the servers did a great job describing each dish. Catherine was a terrific waitress and made our evening most enjoyable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We opted for the five course tasting menu with wine pairings and I'm so glad we did! Great, creative menu and perfect wine selections. Kailee was our server and she was super nice and very knowledgeable! The property is also beautiful. Would love to visit Charleston and dine here again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The five course tasting menu was amazing. Celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary and it was truly a fantastic and special experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food and service were fantastic, despite a small kitchen mix-up. JJ was such a fun server!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food and ambiance were outstanding! They only had two menu options - Chef's 5-course menu for herbivores or the Chef's 5-course menu for carnivores. Then there are two different wine pairing options. This was ok for us but some may not like that there is no a-la-cart menu. A bit pricey, but very, very good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Second time here with equally good experience. Although expensive it's worth it for any special occasion. The tasting menu, in my opinion, is the most creative and adventurous in the whole city. The wine pairings are spot on and the presentation and service are also the best in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I went to Zero George w no expectations and man was I wowed. It's a warm, welcoming space w fantastic, chill service and exceptional food. One note for folks w narrow tastes (and I don't mean that negatively) but the menu isn't extensive. And it is creative. So look before you go to make sure it's your cup of tea. But we LOVED it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food did not meet expectations. Visually pleasing, taste no. Over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The highlight of our trip to Charleston. Exceptional food and service. Beautifully presented. Our server was tremendously knowledgeable friendly. Passionate about food. Excellent communicator. Very accommodating to our flight delay. A Wow

Janet and John Smiljanic. Fredericksburg. TX

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The intimate boutique B&B style really sticks out right when you walk in. But the highlight isn't the amazing wait staff or the clever interior design. It's the FOOD!! I can't wait to experience another fun, creative and delicious menu. Recommend for anyone looking to have an unforgettable Charleston dining experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Amazingly creative food, friendly knowledgeable service. Somewhat disappointing wine pairing.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Interesting experience. Both of us ordered the 3 course menu with the tastes extra. We told our waitress we wanted to order one 3 course menu and one 5 course with wine. She explained you could not mix, so we "downscaled" to both ordering the 3 course. Great atmosphere on patio outside. Great service/presentation. Soft shell crab and tres leches dessert/atmosphere were the highlight. Overall great experience--glad we went!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

What an enjoyable dining experience. The service was incredible and Galiard menu perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Fantastic intimate setting. Theater 3 course was perfectly priced and fulfilling, especially the soft shell crab and Beef Wellington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Zero George is a dining experience. Our whole evening was perfect. The service was excellent. The food was amazing. The setting was beautiful. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This small restaurant offers charm, good service and world-class cuisine. We had the five-course tasting menu with wine pairings...pricey at $150, but it was a special occasion and we came away feeling we had gotten our money's worth plus some. The wines were unusual choices, but complemented the food selections very well. The food was exquisite. The "snacks" (appetizers) offered distinctly different tastes and textures. I would recommend Zero highly for anyone wanting a dining experience in Charleston.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Amazing! Stunning decor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 27, 2017

AmAzing ambience and wonderful wine parings with and three or five course meal. Check out the hotel lounge area upstairs ..

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I rarely fill out a review but I felt compelled to given the quality of food and service. Lovely ambience and outstanding service. Innovative and memorable cuisine. Best restaurant I've yet to find in Charleston

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Zero George is the best hidden gem in Charleston!!!! Outstanding service: JJ Is quite possibly on his way to sainthood; he was invariably knowledgeable about every dish and timed everything to perfection -- we closed the menus and let him order for us. BEST DECISION OF THE NIGHT!!! The chef was amazing. Each of his dishes was insanely sexy and some of the best cuisine you could have on your palette!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Two fixed course options is the menu, but the food and presentation are amazing. A true fine dining expirience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Be prepared for a dining experience. It is worth the money to go. Presentation and the food were fantastic. Menu changes often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Charleston has built a reputation for great food using outstanding local ingredients; Zero George takes it to an even higher level. This is truly exceptional, creative food by a chef who knows what he's doing. The setting isntimate and charming. You will not be disappointed!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Hard to put into words what an experience this was. It was to dining what Van Gogh is to art. All of the wasted elements are gone and only what is essential to tasting remains. Chef Petrillo creates other worldly tastes in snack sizes that leave you surprisingly satisfied and waiting for the next course. Loved everything about it.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Highly recommend the "snacks supplement" and the 3 course option. Plenty of food. Delicious, innovative. Great staff. Would have liked to be outside, inside was loud and kind of cramped.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our meal at Zero Restaurant was spectacular. The extraordinary creations prepared by the chef and his team were beyond comparison. We have eaten at Daniel in New York City, which is widely recognized as being among the very best restaurants in the United States and the world. Zero Restaurant certainly is in the same league. Your meal there will be one you will remember for a long time and you will want to come back as often as you were lucky enough to get a reservation. We have eaten at many restaurants in Charleston and this one is by far the best. It is expensive, but worth every penny.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.