About Zero Restaurant + Bar

Zero Restaurant + Bar is located in downtown Charleston in the award winning Zero George Hotel. Chef Vinson Petrillo has a passion and appreciation for natural, local ingredients infused with a contemporary American Style. All of the dishes are elegantly prepared in the professional display kitchen, located in the property’s original circa 1804 carriage house. The menu is hyper-seasonal, and features the freshest herbs and vegetables from the on-site kitchen garden, local farms and seafood from local fisherman. Seating is available in the intimate dining room and the garden courtyard.

0 George St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Happy Hour: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street and George Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 628-3480

Website:
http://zerorestaurantcharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available.

Additionally there is a large city parking lot immediately to the right Zero George Hotel with free parking after 6PM.

Executive Chef:
Vinson Petrillo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zero Restaurant + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (44)
Special Occasion (37)
Tasting Menu (37)
See All
Creative Cuisine (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (32)
Good for a Date (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 21 hours ago

Wow--just wow! One of my new favorite spots!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Another phenomenal experience at Zero George! From the ambience to the staff to the amazing cuisine, everything was top notch -- already looking forward to our next trip!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointing. The physical ambiance - the circa 1800 structure and the tasteful design - is very appealing, but the food was undistinguished, the liquor overpriced, and the extra touches, like "why not have the truffles on your main course, our chef recommends them," can only be described as disingenuous when the server fails to mention they cost an extra fifteen dollars. Perhaps the Conde Nast rankings are all that matters, and if so Zero George has a bright future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I only need one word to describe our meal at Zero George. Wow! We were on vacation in Charleston and had already dined at some pretty nice restaurants. This was the last night of our trip and since I didn't have anything planned, I started doing some research and came upon Zero George. Boy, am I glad I did as it turned out I saved the best for last. My wife and I both had the 5 course tasting menu (which turned into 6 with the appetizer selection) and each course seemed to get better as the night went on. From the lamb tartare to the tres leches dessert, every course was amazing. The craft cocktails were very nice accompaniments as well. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The very next day we went to McCrady's so we had a head-to-head comparison.
"Zero" had better food (more creative), much better service and all that for half the price.
Enjoy!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We live in Charleston but this was our first visit to Zero Restaurant. The meal and service were excellent. We could see why the Beef Wellington is such a favorite. We
recommend dining at Zero at anytime but especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food and atmosphere, relaxed environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We love the dining experience and Zero delivered!! We had a wonderful 3 course meal with 2 added supplements, with the best server (Julia)! We have already recommended Zero to multiple friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

One of Charleston's finest restaurants - don't miss the opportunity to dine there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Incredible meal. Incredible service. The dessert in particular was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Outstanding meal. We enjoyed most aspects. Especially the tortilini course which was one for the record books.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food is unique . It's not a place that one would eat at every month. Everything was tasty, especially the desserts.
I feel it's expensive and only for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Juliana was a fabulous server :D

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Phenomenal selection of wine and perfect timing betweeen small plates. The ambience and creativity of the food here are unsurpassed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is immediately in our top 5 restaurants in Charleston. The bartender really knows his way around cocktails and the food and service were tremendous. I highly recommend Zero George. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Best meal we ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

When we visit Charleston, we expect excellent lowcountry / southern restaurants like Husk, or seafood/pasta places like FIG. Or shrimp and grits. We tried zero on a lark, and were enchanted by the staff. You enter through the tiny kitchen, which is certainly smaller than some apartments might have, and that makes the evening all the more impressive. We had both the omnivore and herbivore tasting menus, and both were quite impressive and led to debates about 'the best dish of the night.' The dining room is as cramped as the kitchen, so be ready for a loud dinner with energy rather than the romantic setting the meal and prices might best pair with.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Best meal I've had in my whole life! Juliana our waitress was outstanding and the chef is a genius! This was our 25 wedding anniversary celebration and this experience at Zero George was a perfect way to celebrate with amazing food and wine, and outstanding service! Not an inexpensive meal, but worth every penny!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This restaurant is such a great place to have some fun, enjoy a date or friends, and have some fun trying some amazing food! The many various courses and accompanying wine was a great treat! We had some phenomenal dishes and had a fabulous time with the wait staff that explained every course in detail and inserted their personality for a memorable evening. Don't skip this restaurant when in Charleston - it will be an unforgettable evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Do the 5 course Omnivore menu. You will not be disappointed! Best meal we had during our visit to Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent. Creative food, thoughtful wine pairings and service with a smile(thanks Amy!). My only critique would be to allow for longer dining times when planning out the seating of reservations so guests aren't waiting too long for their tables. While my wait was only 15-20 minutes, my friends were not sat for an hour after their reservation time. Also, don't be surprised when you walk right into the kitchen, you're at the right spot! Overall, a supremely memorable meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Charleston is overrun with wonderful restaurants. I have dined at most of them. Zero is in the elite top group. When it comes to beautiful and creative plating, it is at the top. It is a privilege to get a table in the small, lovely dining room. Do not go alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with a three or five course tasting menu with wine pairing. Our meal was flawless and the wine pairing was spot on. The room was a little noisy but otherwise the atmosphere was lovely. The service is excellent, many people to help but not intrusive. This place is a little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

subpar food. severely overpriced. thoroughly underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

From the Space Invader cocktail through to the cheese plate for dessert, this was a truly inimitable meal in a cozy, quiet and friendly atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Was very surprised to learn upon arrival that the a la carte menu was gone and replaced by very expensive fixed price menus and that the entire table had to agree on which version they wanted. Quality of the food was very good. Portion size and balance of dishes was very weak. Our beet salad was more of a "tasting" portion than what many others in town offer of equal or better quality for much less. I think the chef has taken what traditionally is a 33% food cost business down to something closer to 10-15%. Wait staff was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Absolutely one of the best meals we have ever had! The flavors were extraordinary! The wine and food pairings were simply perfect combinations. This was by far better than the three star Michelin restaurants we have been to throughout the country. I can't wait to come back to Charleston to try this again! My compliments to the chef and management for a superb job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

One of the most amazing restaurant experiences. A must when in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Charleston did not seem to have many vegetarian options. Zero's herbivore tasting menu was excellent. A great experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I had been to Zero with girlfriends while visiting Charleston last Fall and we dined there, loving it. It's amazing the wonderful food that comes out of that tiny kitchen! So when we had occasion to spend a night in Charleston before going to Kiawah Island, I insisted on our going to Zero because I knew he would love the wine pairing choice. We opted for the premium flights and although it was definitely expensive, the wines wee wonderful. Although the dinner is bill as five courses, the first few are really tastings--wonderful tastings--so you don't leave feeling stuffed. We also had drinks at the bar and enjoyed that. Great traditional slightly dirty martinis!!
My only disappointment was not their fault. My husband opted to dine inside...he therefore got to look at a wall. Outside on a beautiful summer night would have been better. Not their fault. I'd also love to stay at the Inn, but that was out of the question because we had to find a "pet friendly" hotel...which there are plenty of options in Charleston.

Here's a photo of the lovely Gran Marnier Creme Brulee that paired well with our final red wine pairing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Exceptional service, wonderful food, terrific wine pairings. Just a really special evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Incredible experience! This was probably the best meal we've ever had. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Amazing tasting menu, exceptional and friendly service, cozy little spot. My favorite part of the tasting menu was the last course of beef wellington. I was expecting smaller portions given the number of courses but it was like a full sized entree which I loved so much I ate most of anyway despite being full!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Amazing! Best food in Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Outstanding meal last night at this beautiful restaurant which encompasses all that Charleston has to offer. This place is perfect for that special celebration, be it a birthday, pre wedding meals, taking friends out. It is super upscale here & the dishes are just superb. Other reviews have talked about the menu & dishes, all of which I agree. We had the 9 course tasting menu. One dish after the next was mind blowing. The ambience here, WOW. They have valet parking, always a good thing in Charleston. The courtyard gardens & outside seating would just take your breath away. It felt like we were in a secret garden of a French Chalet, and just didn't want to leave. Perfect place for a special night out. Now to warn you all. We picked up the check for the four of us & it was $800. That included a couple of drinks at the bar for four, Cava sparkling wine at the table & the omnivore tasting menu for four. Worth every penny. We will definitely return here to experience the amazing gastronomic creations & superb service provided to us last night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This is not just a meal, it is an experience. We enjoyed the tasting menu, it was phenomenal. We also did the elevated pairings, which were wonderful. By the end of the experience I was euphorically happy I had found Zero by accident. A MUST TRY! If you love good food you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Absolutely delicious dinner with very knowledgeable and friendly service. A perfect dinner experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 15, 2017

After eating in most of the top restaurants in Charleston excited to get to Zero George. Follow the chef on Instagram. His food looks beautiful. Wish the experience met our expectations.

Sat in their beautiful courtyard. Unfortunately heat, lack of air movement, traffic noise and static from sound system could not be drowned out by the sound of the water feature. They need a mosquito system as I spent a miserable night from all the bites.

Now onto the food. We selected the carnivore tasting and wine pairing with some hits but too many misses. Too many chefs try to astound with platings, sacrificing taste. Of the 4 starter bites, 2 were good 2 not so much. Lobster roll very good and creative as was the tomato sandwich. Frozen "coal" froie gras and the shisito pepper gummies very strange. Were told 3 times"don't eat the shisito peppers " the gummies were sitting on. Apparently they are "reused". "Potted" was small terra cotta pot of homemade butter. Nothing to put it on. Eating butter alone is not my idea of fine dining!

Tortellini with liquid corn centers good but over powered by the citrus garnish. More disconcerting was the chipped plate it was served in. When brought to the attention of the server no offer to replace. Her comment "I will let the chef know" not what I expect from a high end restaurant!

Tile Fish and Beef Wellington both delicious and beautiful although caramelized onions which I love overpowered flavor of the duexelle.

Perhaps most disappointing was the Tres Leches cake dessert. Texture good unlike some that can be mushy and flavor of coconut good but plating looked like a mess on a plate. Cake had obviously fallen apart so was a jumbled mess with two blobs of berry coulis. When asked how we liked our dessert I said I was surprised given other platings that this looked like such a mess. Server stated that the chef admits he is not a pastry chef. So at these prices hire a pastry chef! Not the last impression you want for your guests !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A wonderful evening shared with my wife. Every course was better than the next! Can't wait for an excuse to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great Tasting menu and pairing. Service was outstanding. Accommodation was great. Two main dishes, tilefish and beef Wellington felt flat in comparison to remainder of menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.