Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Ten Foot HenryTen Foot Henry
(775)
$$$$
Contemporary Canadian | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 58 times today
Bridgette BarBridgette Bar
(235)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 35 times today
Foreign ConceptForeign Concept
(149)
$$$$
Contemporary Asian | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 14 times today
CHARCUTCHARCUT
(3192)
$$$$
Northwest | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 20 times today
The NashThe Nash
(393)
$$$$
Canadian | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 30 times today
charbarcharbar
(685)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 41 times today
Teatro RestaurantTeatro Restaurant
(1377)
$$$$
Italian | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 17 times today
Deane HouseDeane House
(285)
$$$$
Canadian | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 27 times today
CLEAVERCLEAVER
(528)
$$$$
European | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 34 times today
ANJUANJU
(294)
$$$$
Contemporary Korean | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 28 times today
River CaféRiver Café
(2913)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 101 times today
La Vita E BellaLa Vita E Bella
(1299)
$$$$
Italian | Calgary, Calgary
ONE18 EMPIREONE18 EMPIRE
(290)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 11 times today
ANEJO RestaurantANEJO Restaurant
(583)
$$$$
Mexican | Mission, Calgary
Booked 37 times today
Blink RestaurantBlink Restaurant
(1499)
$$$$
Northwest | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 6 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About ZEN 8 GRILL

Zen 8 Grill is in Calgary, Alberta and it has become a very popular pace for the locals to get together for some great food, a welcoming atmosphere and perhaps some karaoke. The eatery serves up lunch and dinner, as well as drinks. Some of the options on the drinks menu include various wines, sakes, hand crafted cocktails and beers.

Zen 8 Grill is known for great food. You and your group can start with some appetizers including the edamame, shrimp tempura, yam fries and popcorn calamari. Some of the larger plates on the menu include the Kobe rib eye, chicken breast, salmon filet, tuna steak and hot teriyaki beef. Noodle bowls, as well as sushi, are available, too. Zen 8 Grill offers dessert, as well, so end with something sweet.

412 12th Ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 1A5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian, Pan-Asian, Japanese

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
3 St Southeast - Inside Cowboys Casino

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 261-1888

Website:
http://www.zen8grill.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary underground parking. Entrance located between Macleod and 3rd st SE

Private Party Facilities:
Our Kabuki room can seat 35 people comfortably.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
25 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 23, 2015

Great place before the game, great service, great food served in a timely fashion

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Where greeted at the door and seated right away. The restaurant was not busy when we where seated but became quite busy at the end of our meal. Staff was pleasant and friendly. I thought our main meal that we ordered where small for a dinner portion. Overall It was a good dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 9, 2015

Zen 8 is ok but nothing notable. We went for its location since we were going to a concert at the Saddledome. The edamame were overdone and mushy, one of sushi rolls we ordered was deep fried which would have been ok if it wasn't gooey, and the pad thai was just passable. The dynamite roll was good and at least the prices were reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 16, 2014

Food was pretty blend. Got salmon teriyaki. Not so much flavour at all. eatable but it is pricey for the quality you will get.
Maybe better than food in saddledome though....
Parking garage was closed on the night of the game. No free parking so better eat somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2014

Was a little difficult to find. Service was a little slow, however there was a hockey game on. Good was really good. They honoured my request for the quietest area! Overall it was good and I'd go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2014

Hard to have a converstaion with loud back ground noise, causing miscommuncation with staff on orders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 17, 2014

very slow service food wasnt was good as we were expecting for price the Chef was pretty good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 14, 2014

We arrived during a busy time and the sound level was quite loud, as people cleared out it became easier to hear each other. The tables were very close together so you couldn't help but over hear the conversation at the next table. This made for an uncomfortable experience. The boothe were more intimate and seem better for conversation. Food was fantastic and service was above par.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2014

one of our fav's. Great before a game.
Loved the warm Saki

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 12, 2014

They had Thai, Vietnamese, Chinese and Japanese food. We should have know better that this type of restaurant cannot be a good place. We had wonton soup noodle and some sushi (Dynamite roll, Spicy Salmon roll) . The noodle was awful, it's blend and lukewarm. Sushi was okay at the best, the rice was too soft and still very warm (sushi rice shouldn't be warm as it's served with raw fish). Service was really bad. Took awhile for wait stuff to greet us and take the order. For some reason they are so rush and take the plates off of the table as soon as we pick the last piece of sushi even before the sushi made it to our mouth. The place was nearly empty and it was Friday lunch time. No wonder why people avoid coming here...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2014

We took parents for their anniversary and the six of us had a great time. The staff were very accommodating, including preparing some of the side dishes on the table-front grill instead of in the kitchen. This was more fun and the chef paid special attention to my older parents. The food was excellent. We will go definitely go back. Luckily we didn't take our kids as originally planned... did't realize you could only access the restaurant through the casino, ie no exterior door, and no minors through the casino.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 8, 2014

The food was good and the presentation is wonderful. The staff is very friendly and pleasant. The fact that it is inside a casino does have an effect on the atmosphere, but overall experience is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 25, 2014

friends and family. Before and after an event at Saddledome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 24, 2014

Really enjoyed my visit. My food was very tasty and the presentation quite creative. Very pleased with the pricing and wine selection. Will definately return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 21, 2014

Food and service were great, but was disappointed to know that the restaurant is now located within the Cowboys Casino... which kind of cheapens the experience. We dined on a Saturday evening and there were hardly any customers. This should definitely be a downtown/core-area establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 2, 2014

We went to zen 8 on a whim, made reservations, when we got there the place was empty. We sat in a booth, but it was quite chilly, so we requested to sit at the tepanyaki bar. The chef was preparing a rice dish, and offered us a free sample. The chef continued with a spectacular show at the grill, complete with fire tricks. The menu has many different options. We were full by the end. 2nd time we went, made reservations, at the tepanyaki bar, ordered food, and then this huge group of loud drunks came in, were banging on the drum, that they conveniently wheeled over right next to us. No free rice. No fire show. Food was ok, not full afterwards, and server didn't tell us of specials: $5 all rolls on Monday. Cheapest place for rolls in Calgary

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 31, 2014

We go to Zen 8 fairly often. There are some things on the menu that you just cannot get anywhere else. Two of these include and are my favourites: Gomae salad and the Orange Bay Scallops. The gomae salad is cooked spinach with a sweet sesame sauce served cold. It has a peanut flavour but not made with any nuts. I could eat this on a daily basis! The scallops are tempura but the combination of them with the bite-sized orange segments are delicious! We also always order the red tuna and avocado dish and it is simply wonderful. The sashimi, sushi and rolls have consistently been spot on. Go and enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 26, 2014

We enjoyed the atmosphere in the restaurant. Our chef was very efficient and friendly. He prepared a fabulous meal for our enjoyment. The service was excellent. Thank you for a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 25, 2014

Thanks jonny for making our night special. The atmosphere was awesome..food excellent. Table perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 3, 2014

Love the meal and staff was great will be back that's for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 3, 2014

I enjoy going there, not many people go there yet so you would figure service would be faster. The last waitress we had not so good again. Prices are fair and food tastes good, just takes awhile to get your food, they do not seem to be listening to the requests of their customers.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 29, 2014

we really enjoyed the experience of sitting at the open table. The food was cooked perfect

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 29, 2014

I have dined here twice now, and have had two completely different experiences. The service the first time was great, the 'show' was spectacular! This last time however made it seem like the staff were really indifferent to the whole thing. They weren't that busy at all...maybe ten people, but we almost never saw our waitress, and she was quite apathetic. The chef as well pretty well looked like he was just going through the motions. The food itself was tasty, but nothing really worth standing out.
I'll come here again, maybe with a larger group to attract more attention and better service from the staff...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 28, 2014

Food was excellent as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2014

I came there for my 26th birthday with my lady. We had a great time and lovely service. There was no noise what so ever. It was a slow night so everything came out in a great timely fashion. I enjoy fine dinning And this would be somewhere I'd come back no questions asked.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.