About Zeal

1255 Johnson Ferry Rd
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Zeal is a chic, farm-to-table modern eatery that brings to the Merchant"s Walk area of East Cobb an exciting new dining option. Our selection of craft beers and boutique wines and spirits blend with our chef inspired menu of appetizers, entrees and small plates which are 80% gluten free. A living room menu for the bar complements our crafted bar offerings and adds a vibe to gathering with your friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 3:00pm-10:00pm
Dinner Friday-Saturday 3:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am to 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner 4:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 401-7142

Website:
http://www.zealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Finding a parking spot is easy.

Executive Chef:
Kristian Hargrove

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Scott Sawant. ssawant@zealrestaurant.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zeal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Gluten Free Options (16)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Seasonal (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great Beer (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Organic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Live Music (5)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great staff, and perfect amb ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Great food, great staff, and perfect ambience for a relaxing night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but not great. We tried Zeal's fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Good but not great.

We tried Zeal's for the first time last night. First concern was we got a 7P reservation on Saturday night with out a problem on Saturday afternoon - never a good sign. Ambiance was industrial attractive with a good vibe. We were seated right away because the restaurant was only half full when we arrived but filled up as the night went on. We started with the humus which was amazing. For dinner my wife had the chicken and I the pork chop. Both were tasty but slightly over cooked and therefore a little tough. Service was excellent (Jake)who was knowledgeable and checked back just the right number of times. Food was delivered right on time. I had a cocktail which was delicious. All in all, Zeal's was good but not great for the price which came in below $100 for two. We will be back but not soon give the many other great restaurants rising OTP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Went for Valentines Day dinner. We were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for Valentines Day dinner. We were pleasantly surprised to see they had some live music playing which added to the atmosphere in a good way. It was not overly loud. Although we had an 8:30 reservation, we showed up early and they were able to seat us. It took a bit too long for our server to appear, but when he did he was nice enough but looked tired. The regular menu was replaced by your choice of 3 courses and the price was not too bad considering the food. The food itself was very good and tasty - it just took too Long to come out. In the end our sever gave us a gift card to return for being so patient. He didn't have to do that but it was nice touch. Overall we still had a nice time and would recommend Zeal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food great, music was great but we were ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Food great, music was great but we were across the room, wish she was centered inside. Long wait between courses had us waiting a bit and seemed like staff was overwhelmed at times. Overall we love Zeal and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I took my wife to Zeal's for Valentine's ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

I took my wife to Zeal's for Valentine's Day and arrived at a perfect time: 7 pm. Got seated almost immediately though all the booths were full. Drinks came quickly and the appetizers came out shortly thereafter. The entrees came out after our appetizers were finished. (It always bugs me when the entrees come out before the appetizers are finished.) For a Prefix menu, having multiple selections for appetizers and entrees and deserts were very nice.

Thank you for a great time and we will return again.

RickR

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It took awhile fir the staff to figure o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

It took awhile fir the staff to figure out who was going to be out server. Then we wed told they were out of hamburgers as we said we were leaving the manager came over and explained they weren't out but they were saving the grill space for their steaks. They made us our bugers. It was a little crazy i guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Valentines night early dinner - had the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentines night early dinner - had the mussels appetizer and the burger. Both were excellent - and noise level was perfect - we could talk without yelling.

We have had several good meals here - and will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice looking restaurant. We had not been ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice looking restaurant. We had not been there for a few years but wanted to give it another try. Our waitress was very nice but she had 7 tables and was just overwhelmed . I don't think they get that busy and it was the weekend before Valentine's Day. My wife got the mussels and I got the fired chicken-her meal was fine but my chicken was really not good. Too bad as they are very c lose to my house but I don't think I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The staff have always been friendly and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The staff have always been friendly and the food has been very acceptable. Unfortunately they have failed to address a problem with light glare from surrounding properties which makes seeing your meal partner difficult during daylight hours.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Delicious meal and lovely service -- we' ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Delicious meal and lovely service -- we'll be back often!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was great and he suggested a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our waiter was great and he suggested a nice Chardonnay wine. The atmosphere was nice. We got the shrimp and grits (not a fan) and the salmon is always delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server, Gary, was outstanding. I had ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our server, Gary, was outstanding. I had the halibut, which was served over a spicy risotto. It was excellent. My wife had the scallops. They too were excellent. There was a nice craft beer selection and a good variety on the wine list.

We would also recommend the hummus as a starter, but I must say that the portion sizes for dinner made us wish that we didn't get an appetizer!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is good. The Brussel sprouts were s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food is good. The Brussel sprouts were soft and didn't have a lot of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Zeal has quickly become one of our favor ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Zeal has quickly become one of our favorite restaurants in the area (and that says something with the quality of restaurants in the immediate vicinity). I have yet to get a plate that wasn't sent back licked clean. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about both food and drink.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our new neighbors to Zeal on Fri ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We took our new neighbors to Zeal on Friday night. My husband and I love Zeal because it's a consistently good experience. Friday was an exception. Our server was not very attentive. The food was good, but not its normal "great". We still had a great time though. We will go back. Hopefully, our next visit will be a bit better.

Tags: , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I thought that for the price the meal co ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I thought that for the price the meal could have included a soup or a salad.

We had a BOGO coupon and probably would not dine at Zeal without one.

Service was excellent, Kylie was awesome.

Thanks,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We've been to Zeal many times and the fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We've been to Zeal many times and the food is always delicious, fresh & interesting. Good job!

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

nice industrial decor with a cool chic v ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 24, 2017

nice industrial decor with a cool chic vibe. Lunch was great and service was friendly. Gary was very enthusiastic, seems very passionate about his job. try the salmon club, it was perfect. The lunch steak and frites was cooked just right and the fresh cut fries are probably the best we have tried in the neighborhood.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Authentic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday dinner date was exactly what we ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Saturday dinner date was exactly what we needed before the movies. The new tuna steak special was quite surprising. I did not know what to expect and it was def the best choice for the night. Wine list was very unique. We got a bottle of an Oregon pinot and a few of the new featured cocktails. Overall, it was a great experience and we will be back very soon.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good looking place, however, the fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very good looking place, however, the food left much to be desired. My wife ordered steak med. rare and came out between med and med well - I had salmon med and was a bit overcooked and the swiss chard side tasted like eating salt, my son got the fishermans bowl (think that is what it was called) which had 2 small shrimp, 2 clams, and 2 mussells - a whole bunch of filler - my daughters scallops were the best item, while they may have been slightly underdone but were good. The waiter did not come back to check if anything was good for a very long time and since we were hungry, we ate what we could and didn't bother complaining at the time since it didn't seem they really cared. The waiter was friendly enough, just once the food came out he checked to see if it came out ok but never checked once we started eating until we were done - even though we took quite a while to eat hoping he would come back. The prices are that of a high end, high quality restaurant and we left quite dissapointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Decent food, but service was lacking. D ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Decent food, but service was lacking. Despite a half full restaurant our waiter seemed to take forever to bring drinks and food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was extremely slow. Food overpr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was extremely slow.

Food overpriced for what you get.

Love the setting and decor! It's a shame the service isn't better and the food was just mediocre. This place has such potential but

we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Great food from a creative menu. Excell ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food from a creative menu. Excellent servers, well trained to explain menu items and wines. Unobtrusive but attentive service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, great food, great service! T ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As always, great food, great service! Thanks to our server, I opted for the crabcakes special, which was a deviation from my usuals, scallops at dinner or the veggie burger at lunchtime... Great change of pace!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went specifically for veggie loaf...no l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Went specifically for veggie loaf...no longer on menu

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Everything was spot on but the beer sele ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Everything was spot on but the beer selection was by far the best in east cobb. Thursday night was $5 draft night for all the great beers. Night on Ponce and Basement IPA by far the best IPA's out right now. We didn't try the Goose Bourbon County but very surprised and glad to see they carry highly allocated beers! try the scallops and fried chicken...gluten free and very tasty. We will be back soon.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wine down Wednesday was the right night ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 6, 2017

wine down Wednesday was the right night to pick zeal. Dinner special was trout with prawns, super delicious. We got a bottle of baby blue at 1/2 price which was a sweet deal. service was good and the entire staff was very nice and attentive. They did not have live music but our server mentioned they will have music on Wednesdays and Saturdays going forward. check this place out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a birthday dinner, very small c ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Went for a birthday dinner, very small crowd due to holiday and weather, but nice ambience. The pork chops were sensational. Strong recommendation for good food and good service

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Went for a New Years celebration, that w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for a New Years celebration, that was supposed to have a prefixed menu. According to waitress, ran out of food, which a replacement was offered. Table was supposed to come with midnight toast and chocolate covered strawberries ($49)- waitress was very late setting up and had to rush for 2017 toast, strawberries were "ok" at best. Would NOT recommend at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Surprisingly original and tasty cuisine. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Surprisingly original and tasty cuisine. A great beginning to our New Years Celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food - Really good service - Moder ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food - Really good service - Moderate pricing.

All around great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, , Vegan, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Zeal for our girl ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a great time at Zeal for our girls new years get together. Babies make for busy seduces, so we went to Zeal for lunch. Great ambiance, although we were talkative and noisy, so other diners might have been annoyed. Gary was our server and was attentive most of the time, thankfully the hostess contantly filled our water glasses. Bartender accommodated my allergy and made me a great drink. First disappointment was no goat cheese fritters...one of the main reasons Zeal was chosen for our get together. It's lunch time and we were told they were out, but they'd have them at dinnertime. 😑 our sandwiches were great: salmon clubs and sweet tea fried chicken. One friend had the strawberry salad with ahi tuna added, looked delicious and the tuna perfectly cooked. The West Cobb Harvest cocktail was excellent. One friend did have to ask repeatedly for her check as she had to get to work, and had to wait longer than expected. Overall, we loved Zeal, and will be back...but probably for dinner, so there will be goat cheese fritters.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Christmas eve was a great choice to go t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Christmas eve was a great choice to go to zeal. It was a fun evening with friends and family. Dinner was great but the cocktails were even better! everyone enjoyed the night thoroughly. Looking forward to many more nights at zeal!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice little lunch date at Zeal. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a nice little lunch date at Zeal. Gary was our server and we enjoyed his passion and zealous personality. The kale salad was too good! my girlfriend had the sweet tea fried chicken sandwich, pretty much liked the plate. We made a NYE reservation, looking forward to the live music!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little gem in the heart of Atlanta. L ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A little gem in the heart of Atlanta. Love their philosophy on sourcing local ingredients & changing menus to reflect seasonal favorites. Decent wine list & great whisky selection. Adorable inside & a great value! We would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a fantastic time at Zeal this Chr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a fantastic time at Zeal this Christmas Eve. Our food was delicious and our waiter Jake was awesome. The other service staff were attentive and very friendly as well. Will definitely go back!

My only negative is the prices - the entrees themselves were reasonable priced but we ordered a few sides and appetizers that were a little ridiculous. The charcuterie board was around $15 and came with a few pieces of cheese and meats. The asparagus was $8 and came with 6 pieces - not enough for sharing and overpriced.

Will go again for sure but only for special occasions because of the prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We came for our family Christmas Eve din ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We came for our family Christmas Eve dinner this evening - an early evening at 4:00pm. There wasn't anyone else really there, but that was ok, as the place was filling up when we left. Sam was our server and he was lovely. Very energetic and excited about menu items he thought we'd enjoy. The hummus was AWESOME! The Charcuterie needs some work... but the boards were empty all the same. 3 out of 6 of us enjoyed the scallops. They were yummy. I had the halibut and tried some of my nephew's salmon that was cooked to perfection. BOTH were very very good.

I can highly recommend this spot... it was really very tasty!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After sitting at our table for about 20 ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

After sitting at our table for about 20 minutes, without seeing a server, and while listening to the staff yell and curse at each other in the kitchen, we left. We have been to Zeal a few times in the past, with the service and food being hit or miss. We decided to give it another shot. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I really like the food here and have bee ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I really like the food here and have been several times for lunch so decided to bring the family for a special birthday dinner. I made reservations and then was seated in the bar, we asked to move and then we were seated in the back of the restaurant in a booth. I thought perfect until I realized that a piece of fabric was separating us from the kitchen and the kitchen staff behind the curtain was yelling at one another and slinging the F word and other choice words. I watched as 2 tables of people got up and left without dinner. Let's get to the food we had a Kale hummus with chips and fresh veggies which was delicious and fresh. The teenagers ordered burgers, salads and soups which they enjoyed. I had the cedar plank salmon which was seasoned perfectly and done to perfection. My husband had the short ribs served over mashed potatoes and it was delicious! The food here is really superb but the atmosphere was just awful. I kept hoping it would get louder to drown out the fighting and cursing in the kitchen. Probably not returning for dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Great experience for a girls night out. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great experience for a girls night out. The only thing I would like to mention is that the decorations outside were scarecrows and fall flowers. This was a December get together.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.