Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

About Zeal

Zeal is a chic, farm-to-table modern eatery that brings to the Merchant"s Walk area of East Cobb an exciting new dining option. Our selection of craft beers and boutique wines and spirits blend with our chef inspired menu of appetizers, entrees and small plates which are 80% gluten free. A living room menu for the bar complements our crafted bar offerings and adds a vibe to gathering with your friends.

1255 Johnson Ferry Rd
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday - Saturday 11:30am-3:30pm
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 4:30pm-9:00pm
Dinner Friday-Saturday 4:30pm-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am to 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner 4:30pm-9:00pm

Bar (Sunday - Thursday) Open till 10 pm
Bar (Friday - Saturday) Open till 11 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 401-7142

Website:
http://www.zealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Catering:
We offer catering for office luncheon as well as catering an entire wedding. Email us at ssawant@zealrestaurant.com or call us at 678-401-7142 to request a menu or plan a customized menu.

Parking Details:
Finding a parking spot is easy.

Executive Chef:
Kristian Hargrove

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Scott Sawant. ssawant@zealrestaurant.com

Specials

Wine Down Wednesday / 1/2 Price Wine Bottles

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Wine Down Tuesday / 1/2 Price Wines by the Glass

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Thirsty Thursday / Craft Beer Night - $5

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Oyster Happy Days- $1 each Sunday-Thursday!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

Wine Down Wednesday / 1/2 Price Wine Bottles

Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us every Wednesday and indulge in your favorite wine bottle for 1/2 the price and live music from 7pm to 10pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 21, 2017 - Oct 21, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Wine Down Tuesday / 1/2 Price Wines by the Glass

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us every Tuesday and sip your favorite glass of wine for 1/2 price!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 21, 2017 - Oct 21, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Thirsty Thursday / Craft Beer Night - $5

Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

We are known to have the best Craft Beer List in East Cobb. Featuring 14 of the best Craft Beers out there! This list consists of some of America's best craft breweries, along with some unique local brewa, thus our beer list is simply Amazing!. Excludes Tax and Tip. We have beers for all tastes and interesting enough to explore your curiosity!. Special valid Jun 21, 2017 - Oct 21, 2017 on Thursdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Oyster Happy Days- $1 each Sunday-Thursday!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Come enjoy Chesapeake Bay Virginia Oysters for $1 Sunday - Thursday 4pm to 6:30pm!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Minimum 1/2 Dz Purchase. Special valid Jun 21, 2017 - Oct 21, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zeal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Casual (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Live Music (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great Beer (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Romantic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2017

A personal favorite for lunch or dinner.
Great variety on menu.
Consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our waitress was delightful and tried her best but the kitchen was unable to do their part. The restaurant was not even half full but our party of 10 could not be properly served so there is a problem there. It was approximately 10-12 minutes between the time the first plate came out and the time the last plate came out. Even for dishes that were the same dish, they came out a way different times. Unfortunately we were sorry we chose this restaurant once we experienced this. Previously the only person from the group that has been had only been for lunch so we had no real data to go on. Wish it had been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had the chef special & it was amazing!! Waitstaff are amazing-friendly, & attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great place to have a great meal. The Service was spectacular as well as the food.
I will be grabbing friends and going back, for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Everything was excellent. Appetizers, food was well prepared. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2017

First time dining at Zeal (used my $20 gift card from Open Table). Had salmon omelette, which was delicious. Also ordered a side of bacon, which was nothing special (was expecting thick smoke wood bacon or similar) and was burnt. Orange juice tasted like a sweet orange in a glass...freshly squeezed. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Once again good food, good beverages,good service and especially Sam.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Love that they have live music on the weekend. Wine, drink choices and food are solid. Wait staff is friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The service was exceptional. However, the food didn't live up to its billing. Normally, I would make at least two or three visits to a restaurant before offering a review; I want to be sure an experience isn't an anomaly. However, our evening here consisted of a wide range of samples from the menu, and my conclusion is solid. The menu reads wonderfully, but the food was sub-par. I'm envisioning a chef who watches too much Chopped on Food Network, but hasn't mastered sophisticated flavor combinations. The brisket spring rolls had virtually no flavor (and almost no brisket); the cheese/meat sampler would easily be bested by Boars Head; the hummus was oily; the hanger steak and scallops both were under seasoned and over cooked. I believe Zeal's attempt to compete with Seed is failing. After well over $100, I am disappointed and probably won't be back unless I see a "change in chef" banner out front by the traffic cones. To end on a positive, the service was exceptional all around, from the host stand to our waiter (Josh) to what we saw at the back of the house. The beer and wine selection was very nice as well.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Ask top be seated with Sam. He's the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always good for us. Slow Sunday night. Disappointed that many regular items were sold out. But waitress Rachel totally took care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2017

My husbands meal was delicious. Mine was not. I ordered a steak and one end was so well done that I couldn't eat it and the other end was how I ordered it. The truffle Mac and cheese was not on point at all. I have had better in other restaurants. They chose to serve my steak on a cutting board and within 30 seconds of delivering to our table the juice from the cooking surface was running off of the board and on to my lap. I would definitely return though and give them another chance. The restaurant was packed on a very busy Friday night. The staff could have just been rushed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Another great meal at Zeal! Great atmosphere and love the menu!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We always have the best experience at Zeal and this evening was not an exception! The gracious, personable and knowledgeable GM, Sam, was his usual charming and engaging self and the food was superb. We tried a couple inspired cocktails and different wines that we had never tried before, and they were all delicious. These selections were all made at Sam's suggestion, and he has never steered us wrong. Go to Zeal, enjoy your entire evening and return week after week because it's just that good!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We had a great meal at Zeal. Server was very personable and attentive, knew the menu very well and we loved his suggestions. Substitutions were graciously made upon request. The food was a huge improvement over the last time we went. Restaurant was casual and unpretentious. We'll definitely be going back. Love that the East Cobb location is close to home.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We were in from out of town on a business trip and looked on Open Table for a restaurant in the area. I decided to pick this one and it was a great choice. The waiter explained everything on their menu and made some super recommendations. Everything was wonderful and the waiter even paid for our dessert as a thank you for eating there. I would highly recommend this restaurant and give them 5+++ stars.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This place was amazing! My first restaurant review ever, only because it was that great. Amazing allergen awareness. Buns are free of top 8 allergens. Our waiter was the best we've had in a year. Great atmosphere as well and delicious drinks and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We LOVE Zeal and it is our favorite restaurant! We have been several times and take different couples to dine with us every time. The good news is that every couple wants to come back. The bad news may be that they get so busy that we are unable to make a reservation for ourselves!
Sam, the General Manager, is super knowledgeable about both their food as well as their very impressive and deep wine list. It's always a fun and perfectly delicious evening when we go to Zeal and we had a great time this past weekend celebrating our wedding anniversary with our friends. This place is consistently good and a terrific value. Treat yourself and go to Zeal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food (kale salad is my go to) and awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great ambiance and excellent service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

What a great experience! The food options for a gluten-free diet are remarkable (90% of menubus GF). The food was perfectly prepared and tasted great. Friends enjoyed the wine flight and I enjoyed a bartender-designed craft cocktail. We were a party of six and enjoyed the nicely decorated private table against the back wall. The music by acoustic guitarist Julie Holmes was a wonderful touch. My friend enjoyed her birthday at Zeal and plans to return. Zeal could be located in midtown - It has the vibe and the quality.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Enjoyed our food & service. Healthy eating/delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Loved the decor, waiter was very good. Noise level was loud, mainly due to a large birthday party, unable to enjoy the live music. Food was very good, a little over priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We were seated in the back in a very private booth, which was ideal for us talkative women celebrating a friends birdthday. The food was very good from an interesting and varied menu. The waiter was very attentive and when I didn't like the wine I ordered, he brought me 3 glasses to taste 3 different wines. My only complain is that the waiter wouldn't sing!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The location doesn't lend itself to the crowds it deserves. The food and cocktails were really good. This is a suburban gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Wish they had a Father's Day buffet like last year but the Father's Day a la Carte menu was still very good. My dad had the salmon hash and I had the chorizo hash. Both very good, and Leonardo was our server and did an awesome job. He got a little busy but still gave us nice service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This is my "staple" place I keep going back to as others disappoint. Great food, service and value.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Monday fun day! Last night was a fun dinner at zeal. We wanted to go to Red Sky but a friend recommended Zeal and we are glad we went. The kale salad was nice. Wine menu is great with lots of options. The James River Oysters were great and comparable to intown oysters at the Optimist, thumbs up there. Service was good.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Embarrassingly empty on Father's Day. Food was pretty good but options were quite limited. It was definitely not the buffet brunch I was expecting as advertised on Open Table and held on Mother's Day. My son ordered the shrimp po-boy which was exactly four shrimp on a hamburger bun. Unaccepable. Service was slow to be only one of three tables there and we even had to flag down someone at the end to pay the check. Busboy came to bus the tables as we were signing the check! Really? It's not like they needed the table but I did need my water glass for one more sip. Servers were friendly but some things should be understood if you are in the business. This was our second time there but likely our last as I now feel like I owe my husband a do-over for his Father's Day dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great as always. The live music was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food did not meet our expectations at all. Many other really good options close by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Went for a meal that we wanted to show off to a new East Cobb resident. Was not very busy for a Thursday evening but the ambiance and decor were pleasant as usual. Our server Jake did a great job on pointing out wines, cocktails and entrees to try. The food tasted fresh and was well prepared. Zeal isn't the highest end Dining experience but it is very dependable and has always been good for us.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Good food. Enjoyed the scallops and fisherman's bowl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 31, 2017

the food was amazing! I had the scallops which came with pork belly brussel sprouts. our server was really slow but it was fine for a catch up dinner. wine bottles were also half off and there was live music - we went on a Wednesday. definitely will return!

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Veggie burger mushy and no flavor. Shrimp and polenta very spicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Everything was the bomb

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I had a great experience at Zeal for dinner. Our server Jake did a great job taking care of us. In particular he had a knowledgeable point-of-view on the wine list and directed my wife to a great selection. I had a 1/2 dozen raw oysters to start which were large, briny and delicious. Only complaint, the saltines packages were all crushed. For our dinner my wife enjoyed the Zeal salad with pan seared salmon. Great! I had the Wagyu burger and substituted mashed potatoes for fries. Both were excellent. Overall a really nice dinner and again, our server Jake was a difference maker with his effusive personality and rock-solid product knowledge.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Third time we've tried Zeal. For some reason, we always want to give it the benefit of the doubt and go back. Server was very friendly but forgot about us. I never got my wine and we never got salt/pepper (which should be staples on the table). Burger was overcooked and underwhelming. My salad was fine but how can you ruin a salad ??!?!?! So - unfortunately, I don't think we will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great service and staff. Extensive menu with seasonal ingredients

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Tuesday night was our 2nd night at zeal in 48 hours. We had Mothersday Dinner Sunday and ladies night on Tuesday, both nights we were glad to have Jim as our server. They were very busy yet he managed to give great service and recommend everyone exactly what they would enjoy. Mothersday was great, as my mother and daughter are ciliacs and Zeals GF menus is probably top 3 in Atlanta for all their choices and variety. Nice menu! Thanks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Business Meals, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.