Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.55mi
  4. Distance: 0.64mi

About Zeal

Zeal is a chic, farm-to-table modern eatery that brings to the Merchant"s Walk area of East Cobb an exciting new dining option. Our selection of craft beers and boutique wines and spirits blend with our chef inspired menu of appetizers, entrees and small plates which are 80% gluten free. A living room menu for the bar complements our crafted bar offerings and adds a vibe to gathering with your friends.

1255 Johnson Ferry Rd
Marietta, GA 30068
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday thru Friday 11:30am-3:00pm
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 3:00pm-10:00pm
Dinner Friday-Saturday 3:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am to 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner 4:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(678) 401-7142

Website:
http://www.zealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music

Parking Details:
Finding a parking spot is easy.

Executive Chef:
Kristian Hargrove

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Scott Sawant. ssawant@zealrestaurant.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zeal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Gluten Free Options (20)
Casual (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Fun (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Live Music (11)
Great Beer (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Romantic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 10 hours ago

Everything was the bomb

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I had a great experience at Zeal for dinner. Our server Jake did a great job taking care of us. In particular he had a knowledgeable point-of-view on the wine list and directed my wife to a great selection. I had a 1/2 dozen raw oysters to start which were large, briny and delicious. Only complaint, the saltines packages were all crushed. For our dinner my wife enjoyed the Zeal salad with pan seared salmon. Great! I had the Wagyu burger and substituted mashed potatoes for fries. Both were excellent. Overall a really nice dinner and again, our server Jake was a difference maker with his effusive personality and rock-solid product knowledge.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Third time we've tried Zeal. For some reason, we always want to give it the benefit of the doubt and go back. Server was very friendly but forgot about us. I never got my wine and we never got salt/pepper (which should be staples on the table). Burger was overcooked and underwhelming. My salad was fine but how can you ruin a salad ??!?!?! So - unfortunately, I don't think we will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and staff. Extensive menu with seasonal ingredients

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Mothersday experience was very special. We have been to zeal a handful of times. We were worried because our reservation was at 1pm and when we got there the place was packed and everyone was very busy. But our server Gary accommodated us very well and ensured we had a good experience. We had 7 omelets amongst the 4 of us so that tells ya we enjoyed our brunch. We will be back for next Sunday's regular brunch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, People Watching, Live Music, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Wow definitely coming again! The service was wonderful, had a very nice server (Jake) very funny, always got us what we needed. The food was prepared very well, I was not disappointed. The atmosphere was lively and their live music was very enjoyable. Very bright atmosphere, well decorated. The bartender made the best drinks for me. 10/10 would come again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have gone to Zeal several times and have had good experiences but we visited Zeal for their Mother's Day Brunch and half of the food options were empty and by the time they were filled, we had been there for 30 minutes and my family was ready to leave. Thus, we paid $30 per person for brunch that consisted of only a few options. When we asked whether the rest of the items would be replaced, nobody really knew so ultimately we paid double for what it was worth. Not a good experience. They appeared confused and did not look like they expected it to be as busy as it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was very slow. Food was average at best. Staff seemed very confused. Not a well run restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Are you kidding me with this service? Didn't even have silverware at the table. It's like there were a bunch of servers running around and no manager. Took forever to bring drinks to the table. Luckily it was a brunch buffet otherwise we'd still be there waiting for our food. Truly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sunday brunch did not impress. This was a set menu buffet. The food ran out fast and more than a dozen of us waited in line for about 10 minutes before some of the food was replenish. It still took about 5 or so minutes before the remaining buffet items were replenished. Staff seemed over whelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a very disappointing Mother's Day brunch. Had to wait several times for the buffet dishes, desserts to be refilled. Had to wait for over 20 mins to get an omelette. Service was lousy, used plates were not removed, had to go hunting for the server for coffee refills, check etc. I can't blame it on mother's day either as the place was not packed (now I know why). Not coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food (GF), and service.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was not really good. I have been to Zeal's twice before and the food was much better. Also, the waiter was a little slow in attending to us. The bar side with the live band was a little too loud for my taste. For the $90 ticket, I expected way much more...not a good value this time in my opinion.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Music was too loud. Seating was uncomfortable. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent neighborhood find! This was our first time at ZEAL and it is our absolute hands down favorite place to enjoy a wonderful, fresh meal. We loved everything we ordered and will definitely return. Our waiter, Gary, was superb and knowledgeable, which we greatly appreciated since we had never been to Zeal previously. I checked Open Table reviews to help with our restaurant selection, and, once again, this was right on point. We'll be back and often.
Dr. Z

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our first visit to Zeal, food was wonderfully prepared and displayed well, service was poor for the displayed appearance of the restaurant. Would give a second chance, based solely on the food, was well prepared and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Dinner was great. It was cinco de Maio so they had hand crafted margaritas and a 3 taco special which my husband loved!! The burger was amazing!! But the service was the best. Sam helped us and he was spot on, very knowledgeable and funny. My husband said he should be on the food network. Zeal is very professional with professional servers and the best food in East Cobb. We love Zeal and will definitely go back. Great neighborhood restaurant. It's worth it. Food is amazing!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My son has considerable food allergies and Zeal is always able to provide a very delicious dinner for him, without us worrying about cross contamination. the quality of the food and the unique flavor combinations are always spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great. Live music was a plus. Great place for a fun evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great restaurant! They have live music on Friday and Saturday nights but is still quiet enough to have a conversation. Entrees aren't above low 30s so reasonable and great quality.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great Beer, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We had a large table of 8 in the back corner and LOVED the experience. Live music by singer songwriter and the wine-down Wednesday 1/2 price bottles were a big hit. Very relaxing atmosphere, easy to hear one another, food inventive / delicious and service excellent. We had a complicated tab with separate checks and our waiter didn't miss a beat. Thank you. This social & service organization will be back for another group meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This is probably the 4th time I have dined at Zeal with groups ranging from 2-7. The service is attentive and knowledgeable (Jake) and the wine selection is very good and the food variety is excellent; well prepared and of good value.

If you live in East Cobb or Roswell, you should try it out.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good food and good service. Nice place to have lunch or dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, service, & experience. Plan on going back.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had our daughter's bday dinner there on a Thursday night. Wasn't crowded at all. My daughter was very disappointed that filet mignon was off the menu. Service was good. Food was good but nothing exceptional that I would go back for.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had easter brunch here. It was delish and done so well. Loved how you did not have to wait for your omelette but they you ordered it at your table and they brought it to you. Such a great buffet brunch. Wish they had it all the time. :) Great service too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Read several best of for Easter Brunch. This place was highly recommended. Said it was limited menu with several chefs specials. Showed up and it was a buffet. Checked the website numerous times to see what the chef specials were. Never mentioned it would be buffet. Buffet was so so in offerings. 29.95. No mention of that at anytime. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our second time at zeal. While they are no more expensive than many peer restaurants, they are just slightly behind in overall consistent food quality. For example, I've had the burger twice now. It's a good burger, but for $14 I expect...as I do of every other place that serves a high price burger...that the side it comes with be as high quality as the burger. Both times I've had the burger at zeal, I've had to return the french fries because they were barely warm. Yeah, I'm picky when it comes to my fries, but for $14 I want HOT high quality fries. Period. Both times I returned the fries, but as expected, they can't turn out a new batch of fries before my burger goes cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

A little pricey, but we had a nice meal. The live music is a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Halibut is always one of the best things on the menu. Salmon is a good second choice as is Swordfish when they have it. The short rib is always good as is the pork chop. For steak, the butcher steak is consistently excellent. We have never had a bad soup here and they are always willing to give you a little sample. My wife loves the Oysters. It's really hard to have a bad meal here. If anything isn't what you expected their main servers Sam, Ethan, or Jim will make things right. Scott (the owner) is usually around and always promoting beer or wine dinners which are some of the best deals and experiences around. If you haven't tried Zeal you need to and if you have and weren't completely satisfied you need to give them a second chance. These guys provide top notch food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The restaurant has an open ceiling which makes the noise level very high. Service was extremely slow.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Way too noisy. We could not converse with our friends sitting accross from us in the booth. There was a big group there who were loud but even when they left, it was too loud. We could not relax & enjoy the evening. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. The live music was the perfect addition .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great service and amazing food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Best cheesecake ever! I'm Celiac and appreciate the knowledge and level of care in preparing safe and yummy meals, even fish and chips and fried chicken 😋 Julie Holmes was playing/singing great music in the background.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Live Music, Authentic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great fresh, creative dishes. Short rib spring rolls were delicious and plated attractively. I think the menu has a good balance of appetizers, charcuterie items, upscale burgers & sandwiches , then nicely put together entrees. We both got seafood. My seafood "bowl" was full of wept prepared fish, shrimp, mussels. And more. The flavors were perfectly balanced. Three mousse cake was decadently delicious but never seemed too heavy

Our drinks were definitely great. Fine spirits in well crafted cocktails. I had the (cedar) smoked Sauzerac - well two of them so you know I thought they were good. I still have trouble feeling like $12 or more dollars for a small cocktail is justified. That still seems above market. Then again, I did enjoy them enough to order a second round. Nice selection of bourbons. Probably will do one of their bourbon "flights" next time.

I think what made our meal even better was the good service we got from our server, Jake. He was very good in taking us through the menu and offering suggestions. He has a warm, friendly demeanor and was attentive

Around the corner from the main dining area was a young woman performing solo on guitar. Her singing volume actually was at just the right level to add great ambience and energy to the room.

We are definitely going to be back.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Authentic, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Always a pleasure to have Sam as a server. Very knowledgeable,friendly excellent service. Food and drinks always very good.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We met up with friends for my husband's birthday dinner. Two in our party eat gluten-free, one by choice and the other because she is severely allergic. The wait staff was very accommodating and went the extra mile to ensure there was nothing served with gluten or any cross-contamination on the items she ordered or even the apps we shared. Aside from that, we were all very happy with our appetizers and meals, and would definitely recommend Zeal to others. The fried calamari was exceptional, especially considering it was GF! There are many GF options on the menu. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is probably the fifth time I've dined at zeal. I've have never had a bad meal here. The food is great. The service is great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Relaxing atmosphere, friendly service, and the food was fresh and well prepared.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.