About Zaytinya

Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.

701 9th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Sunday and Monday: 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00 AM to 11:00 PM

Friday and Saturday: 11:00 AM to Midnight

Brunch Specials:
Saturday & Sunday 11:00 AM until 2:30 PM (regular menu available all day)

Cross Street:
G St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-0800

Website:
http://www.zaytinya.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 638-0800.

Parking Details:
We offer valet parking Monday - Friday starting at 5pm and starting at 4pm Saturday and Sunday till one hour after restaurant closing time. Cost is $12.

Public Transit:
Gallery Place/Chinatown station.
9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef José Andrés; Zaytinya Head Chef, Michael Costa

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website www.zaytinya.com and sign up for our mailing list to receive the latest information and updates on special events at Zaytinya

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zaytinya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (284)
Tapas (263)
Creative Cuisine (242)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (192)
Good for a Date (188)
Special Occasion (164)
Good for Groups (155)
Authentic (151)
Fun (142)
Great for Outdoor Dining (125)
Great for Lunch (124)
Good for Birthdays (123)
Healthy (115)
Tasting Menu (114)
Hot Spot (110)
Casual (110)
Good for Anniversaries (97)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Business Meals (87)
Bar Seating (75)
Pre/post Theatre (70)
Vibrant Bar Scene (67)
Great for Brunch (66)
Notable Wine List (63)
Worth the Drive (61)
Romantic (60)
People Watching (58)
Handcrafted Cocktails (54)
Sunday Lunch (50)
Vegan (45)
Happy Hour (42)
Local Ingredients (36)
Comfort Food (30)
Gluten Free Options (29)
Quick Bite (28)
Cozy (26)
Late-night Find (26)
Seasonal (23)
Kid-friendly (22)
Spicy (16)
Paleo Friendly (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Disabled Access (10)
Scenic View (8)
Organic (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Great Beer (6)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
11576 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 19 hours ago

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

great food and tons of choices. i was excited that the wine list is from 3 regions only, and i enjoyed a bottle from greece. great place for sharing small plates, enjoyed cauliflower, meatballs, lamb and octopus. finished it all off with some turkish coffee. jose andres can do no wrong!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Before attending an event at Capital One Arena, my friend and I decided to have dinner at Zaytinya, a Greek restaurant near Gallery Place - Chinatown.

My friend ordered a beer while I ordered a non-alcoholic beverage. The server recommended the
Cucumber Mint Cooler which was garnished with a cucumber ribbon on a toothpick. It was surprisingly tart (tasted like pickle juice) and a bit too cucumber to me.

After placing our order, our server brought us a basket of puff bread with a Balsamic Drizzled EVOO dipping sauce. It would have been nice if it came with a garlic toum too.

The service was outstanding. Our server kept checking on us to see if we needed anything and to replace our dishes in between our dishes.

We shared the following dishes:

(1) Imam Bayildi - ottoman style roasted eggplant stuffed with pearl onions, roasted tomatoes, and candied walnuts

The taste reminded me of an eggplant parmesan.

(2) Summer Vegetable Saganaki - local green and yellow squash, crushed tomato, kefalograviera cheese, feta cheese, spices

It wasn't what I expected it to be. I don't know why it has saganaki in its name because there was no fried cheese.

(3) Garides Me Anitho - sautéed jumbo shrimp, dill, shallots, mustard, lemon juice

This is my favorite dish. If you aren't allergic to shellfish, you must get this. The leftover sauce goes nicely with the puff bread. My date jokingly told me to drink the plate of sauce since I loved it so much.

(4) Knisa Lamb Chops - a pair of grilled lamb rib chops, smoked yogurt tzatziki, caper dill salata

It was tasty. We requested the lamb chops to cooked to medium rare but it was rather medium well.

(5) Shish Taouk - grilled chicken skewer, sumac, onions, garlic toum, grilled tomatoes

My friend was surprised that the chicken didn't come on a skewer. The chicken meat was tender and flavorful. We loved the garlic toum that came with the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful service. We were taken care of from the front door to the last course. Zaytinya takes food and people seriously.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, People Watching, Tapas, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I brought a large group for a business dinner. This is not white table cloth fine dining but it modern fine dining. Lovely atmosphere, innovative greek/turkish small plates and fun. Highly recommend. Only knock is the noise level is a little high.

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely outdoor din ing as usual. Food and variety of offerings is always good, and the staff is very well trained and attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wasn't greeted for about 10 min. After we sat down. The section got triple-sat, our 2-top was the first to sit, the last to be greeted, and the last to be served.
The hostess sat us between a family of 4 with 2 small kids, and 2 older unruly and obnoxious talkers.
The waitress noticed we hadn't been acknowledged and said our server would be right with us. 5 min later she approached our table again and said 'nevermind, I will be taking care of you two'. She was great - she did the right thing and tried to help us when it wasn't her fault there was miscommunication from the host stand or sections (?).
Overall the food wasn't great, flavor was ok, ambiance was ruined by the people around us, experience was below average and bill was high and disappointing considering food quality and overall visit.

Another note: restaurant patrons don't FaceTime while at the table. Excuse yourself and let others enjoy their evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Bit of confusion with waiter bringing alcohol when non-alcoholic was ordered. Also, cards were not charged properly and not discovered until we left Restaurant. I love eating here but was disappointed with the service this visit. Especially, because I invited first time diners with me after I raved about it.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Zaytina and have returned many times over the past few years to enjoy their flavorful, creative dishes! We have tried many things on the menu and have never had something we didn't thoroughly enjoy! The vibe is fun, lots of interesting people, and the ambiance is pleasing to enjoy a meal in. We loved our server, Ricardo this past Sunday afternoon. He was excellent! Perfect Sunday afternoon meal after church. We will surely be back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Healthy, Seasonal, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Lebanese food and loved our brunch at Zaytinya. The food was creative and delicious, the atmosphere and service lovely. Next time we will book far in advance in order to try dinner there . We will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful meal and service as always; always fun trying new dishes; noise level was very high indoors making it difficult at times to hear each other in the booths - but other than that we look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

What a disappointment. This is not our first time here, but our first time ever being disappointed. We were seated immediately at the entrance, with my chair hanging out where everybody had to bump it to go by, wait staff and customer alike. I finally had enough and asked to be moved... and apparently we got a new waiter, but he never said his name or asked if we wanted anything else... which was fine, since the food came out cold and disappointing.

The other half dozen times have been five stars but this one deserved a one. Happy birthday indeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my second visit and what a disappointment. Our server was not easy to talk to and his food and wine recommendations were not good. We wanted a mix of fresh and crispy items and the two fried things were soggy. The two hummus items were the best dishes. But the air pitas were heavy. Everything was blah, frankly . Last year's visit was fantastic. This year was embarrassing for me as the host at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I had been telling a friend about your restaurant for years and I finally got a chance to take her there. I hate to say but I was very disappointed because the food was not as good as it had been in my previous experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The food here is always fresh and good. Our service was terrific too, with good recommendations on wine and food. We stayed a few hours which was fine with the waiter, who stopped by occasionally to check on us. Terrific meal, with lots of vegetarian options.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We ate outdoors and it was wonderful.. more quiet and still great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is amazing. Great wine and beer selection.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Because my guest was running late, we were pressed for time and our server Carlos was fabulous in getting us our food and out the door, with delightful encounters throughout the day.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Worn out. We were last here when this restaurant was just opened. Now the tables are rubbed and shabby. The various small plates we had were bland - the brussels sprouts under cooked, the escargots flavorless. Skewered lamb was better. But the whole evening had the feel of a restaurant which had become tired of itself.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Probably like a number of people, after reading some reviews about Zaytinya, we thought that we would have one of the most exquisite culinary experiences in DC. We went there quite open minded and left disappointed since we felt that we did not come even close to what we had in mind... First mistake, we made - one of us got the Chef's Experience on the menu. It's $65 but in reality, it's not worth than $45 since you can REALLY get the most interesting items from Chef's Experience a la carte for much less. Second, drinks are a little bit overpriced too... they are good, but nothing more - hence, why they are overpriced. All in all - a good dinner - but nothing above and beyond as we initially expected.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I've been here twice with great experiences- awesome food, good service, and nice ambiance. I went here for a meeting of my parents and my boyfriend's parents this past Tuesday evening at 6:45pm, and it was packed and noisy. Our waiter seemed overwhelmed and way too much time went between him checking on us. The food was just okay and little help was given to our table in terms of ordering the right amount of food per wave of small plates. At least the bill was manageable...

Probably won't be back.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Second time here. Was as great as the first time. Consistently good

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The roasted cauliflower was fantastic but the taramosalata tasted only like lemon. Vasili's is better. Noise level was ok because we were there early but it was starting to get loud when we left. Lots of good vegetarian items.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Absolutely delicious food! Great atmosphere as well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food is always wonderful, but the service was not great. We ordered 4 mezze, including one eggplant dish and one meatball dish. We were brought 2 of the same eggplant dish and no meatballs. We told the waitress and she removed one eggplant. Still no meatballs. After asking twice more, meatballs finally arrived after we had finished the first three dishes.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Greek tapas D.C. Style, excellent service, great ambiance, something for everyone !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We ate a number of mezzes here. I am Turkish, and I was hoping to eat authentic Turkish food. But unfortunately the dishes were a bit "Americanized". For example Mercimek koftesi is not like what you would eat back home. Overall, they were tasty, so I would recommend eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The service was great and the food was better. Will make this a regular while in DC.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The ambience was very nice but not a diverse crowd. The food was amazing- I highly recommend the Chef Experience for the many options of food to taste. Btw- best pits bread I've ever tasted !! The price is reasonable for the location but you can find more authentic Mediterranean food for cheaper im sure.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Bad experience - small portions and the staff forgot 7 items we ordered. The food is overpriced and portions are smaller than your palm. If you know real middle eastern food you'll be woefully disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I went with a couple of friends for brunch. The food was delicious- we ordered the pre- fixe brunch menu which was $25. It was a good amount of food considering it was tapas. Waiter was friendly. Sat outside which was great. Overall I would highly recommend for brunch or lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was good but the service was terrible. Never got the pita bread to eat the rest of our food so we ate half of the hummus, etc. It took forever to get our drinks and they never cleared the empty plates of our table until we asked bc apparently they pretended to serve dessert around all the empty/ dirty entree plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Fantastic mezze, light as air puffy pitas! Our favorite place to dine while in DC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food and service are always excellent and provide a wonderful opportunity for variety and experimentation at a good price. Sometimes, I experiment and try something that is not my cup of tea, but that should be part of life and simply reflects my taste rather than an issue with the restaurant.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Service was mediocre and the nice level is so high that is impossible to have any conversation. Strange wine list with offerings from Lebanon and Greece featured making it difficult to choose since we're not familiar with these.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants anywhere. Babaganoush, hummus, Hunkar Baegendi are some of my favorites

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food wasn't as good as the last time I was there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Very mediocre - not at all what I expect at a Jose Andras restaurant. We sat outside which was pleasant but the service was sooooooo slow we missed the opening act at our concert at the Verizon Center. We had a variety of plates - crispy eggplant, spanakopita, Bronzino, mushroom couscous and baba ghannouge. They were all so bland. The couscous was the best dish but it was a very underwhelming experience. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Our service was very good but it was entirely too noisy and the tables were too close together

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 7, 2017

From the first hello at the host station to the warm and friendly service by our waiter, we had a great time. The food was remarkable, full of interesting flavors and quite beautiful as well. We took the recommendations of our waiter and were not disappointed. The small plate concept is such a wonderful way to dine, as it allows us to experience many different dishes without regretting it!

Tags: Tapas, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.