About Zaytinya

Under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés, Zaytinya offers an innovative mezze menu inspired by Turkish, Greek and Lebanese cuisines served up in a sleek and modern setting. Shared small plates, creative cocktails and unique Mediterranean wines make this spot one of DC’s top dining destinations.

701 9th St NW
Washington, DC 20001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek

Hours of Operation:
Sunday and Monday: 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM

Tuesday–Thursday: 11:00 AM to 11:00 PM

Friday and Saturday: 11:00 AM to Midnight

Brunch Specials:
Saturday & Sunday 11:00 AM until 2:30 PM (regular menu available all day)

Cross Street:
G St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 638-0800

Website:
http://www.zaytinya.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 638-0800.

Parking Details:
We offer valet parking Monday - Friday starting at 5pm and starting at 4pm Saturday and Sunday till one hour after restaurant closing time. Cost is $12.

Public Transit:
Gallery Place/Chinatown station.
9 th & G St exit on the red, green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef José Andrés; Zaytinya Head Chef, Michael Costa

Private Party Facilities:
Zaytinya is the perfect place for your next event. We have a number of large spaces, intimate coves, and dramatic communal tables to accommodate any size and type of event or group dining big or small.

Private Party Contact:
Events@zaytinya.com: (202) 810-8283

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website www.zaytinya.com and sign up for our mailing list to receive the latest information and updates on special events at Zaytinya

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Zaytinya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (333)
Fit for Foodies (316)
Creative Cuisine (277)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (224)
Good for a Date (214)
Special Occasion (207)
Hot Spot (176)
Modern Decor (171)
Authentic (170)
Good for Groups (166)
Fun (162)
Great for Lunch (158)
Healthy (140)
Good for Birthdays (130)
Good for Anniversaries (120)
Business Meals (116)
Tasting Menu (116)
Casual (96)
Pre/post Theatre (90)
Vibrant Bar Scene (86)
People Watching (84)
Bar Seating (83)
Great for Outdoor Dining (83)
Worth the Drive (82)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
Family Style (79)
Romantic (77)
Notable Wine List (70)
Handcrafted Cocktails (68)
Sunday Lunch (66)
Vegan (58)
Great for Brunch (57)
Happy Hour (48)
Comfort Food (46)
Outstanding Value (35)
Open Kitchen (33)
Local Ingredients (32)
Late-night Find (29)
Kid-friendly (28)
Seasonal (27)
Gluten Free Options (27)
Quick Bite (26)
Cozy (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Paleo Friendly (18)
Molecular Gastronomy (13)
Spicy (13)
Scenic View (11)
Fireplace (10)
Organic (10)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
Live Music (1)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
Sort By:
S
11120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 17 hours ago

Great small dishes, attentive service, close to everything in Penn Quarter. The only downside is the noise level if you want a quiet, intimate conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 18 hours ago

I love this restaurant. It's my go to spot to meet friends or take out of town guest. It never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The flavors of the food were fantastic. The spanakopita was the best I had ever tasted and it is one of my favorite Mediterranean foods. Will definitely visit again. The prefix lunch menu is a great way to try multiple things for a better value.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant is fun but noisy. The food was interesting and well prepared. But I found the prices to be very high given the portion sizes. And the service was not good. The busses kept trying to clear serving plates that still had food on them. Given the small portions I don't know why he would have thought we were done. Mostly we were ignored.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The hostess was rude and abrupt. The food and wait staff were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Very disappointing experience overall. Service was inattentive and slow. The booth was uncomfortable and the restaurant was warm/humid. Usually love this restaurant so this experience was a let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Really enjoyed the meal. Had been awhile since I last dined at Zaytinya and had friends visiting from Australia. They thought it was some of the best Greek food they had enjoyed. My only complaint was that as good value as the meat kabob platter was, the octopus tapas - was the most expensive of the small dishes we got and it was tiny - and as I am a non-meat eater - I was very disappointed - as other similar restaurants I've been to and had the octopus have had a much larger serving. Otherwise - everything else was delicious and my friends loved the meat kabob platter they shared.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent as usual. Noise level higher than usual. Tables for two are right on top of each other. We were seated promptly, the server was very helpful is suggesting menu items to order.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Great quality food, very inventive ! Service was perfect, very considerate and attentive
Would recommend highly. Especially if you have people with different tastes and requirements. Something for everyone

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

We had made a reservation months ahead to celebrate our grandson's graduation from GW. It was a wonderful meal and evening. We were very happy and satisfied. Jose Andres has fabulous restaurants, plus he's a great man.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, excellent service! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Somewhat disappointing. Almost chaotic at busy dinner time, with service trying to cope. Large, varied mezze menu of enticingly described dishes which for the most part turned out to be rather bland. Falafel hard as rocks. Lamb in phyllo mushy and flavorless. Slivers of white asparagus hiding in a small pile of watercress. Nothing great except maybe the octopus Santorini. Unless you want to leave hungry, order many dishes, but the bill will mount up. All this being said, everyone in the packed modern dining room seemed to be having a great time, and the people-watching was fun.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Zaytinya is one of our pre-theater favorites. We can share delicious small plates without over stuffing ourselves and succumbing to sleep at the theater ;-) Every meal we have eaten there has been delicious! The wait staff is knowledgeable, attentive and friendly.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The staff is nice and also very helpful. The waiter, Spaniol (sorry for any typo) was very friendly and he smiled a lot without interrupting us every five minutes like in most restaurants. We made a big order and stayed 2 hours and at no point did we feel pressured to leave. The food was delicious. We whipped the plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food is just the best Mediterranean. The falafel are outstanding. The wine was delicious and the server delightful and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The service at the terrasse wasn't very nice, they didn't smile at all...

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the characteristics of Mediterranean cuisine. Turkish tapa plates were fantastic. Special thanks to Chef Efe who came to our table to give us some insight as to the way they prepared the lamb. Overall experience was awesome although a bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Stopped by for lunch after a visit to the National Portrait Gallery & was fantastic. Had been for dinner before for the tasting menu & can't recommend highly for either quick bite or dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always great. The noise level is often way too high, but one adjusts! The outdoor patio is the perfect place for lunch or tapas when the weather is right. Indoors - keep your group small enough and you won't have to shout too much.

Today just wasn't a great day. We were seated upstairs, which was perhaps a smidge quieter, but a bit more neglected. Our hummus and baba gannouj sat on the table for 15 minutes (and two requests) before the pita to eat it with arrived. Lots of similar small details were noticed by all three parties at this business lunch -- however, great food and excellent companionship happily overcome small mishaps.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

THIS PLACE NEEDS A REFRESH! The white upholstery is black with dirt and was torn. The tables are banged up. The menu is OK but uninspiring and not that much better than less expensive Mediterranean places elsewhere in the city.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Great meal, delicious food. The food always arrives very quickly, but this sometimes leads to a rushed atmosphere, as if they are trying to free up your table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This was our third time at Zaytinya. We love it and have had great experiences at Jose Andres restaurants.
The servers were excellent as well as the food. Will return on our next D.C. trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Zaytinya consistently delivers a delicious and unique dining experience with excellent service. Staff are helpful in recommending food and wine selections. They are efficient without being intrusive. The prices are reasonable when considered in comparison to other high end establishments in the DC area. And, of course, the space is lovely. Crowd flow is managed and seating placed so that you can have a private conversation and get in some people watching.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great food. Great Service. Will definitely be on the list of restaurants to return to next time I'm in D.C.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Loud, had to shout across table the entire dinner. They brought a us other tables' dishes, twice. Setting that aside, food was not particularly noteworthy either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Dinner was fabulous. Great flavors, interesting dishes and wonderful, helpful service

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Second time here. Great meal both times. Very different than your typical dinner out.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Modern Decor, Spicy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

A wonderful restaurant that continues to surprise with enormously satisfying dishes for anyone. Attentive, friendly service. The main drawback: a noise level so high that it is impossible to talk to anyone across a table, and very difficult to talk to anyone sitting next to you. Outside seating is probably the best bet, though street noise keeps that from being especially quiet. Still, we'll keep going back. It might be worth it to call ahead to check on the generally quieter times if that is important to you.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

great service great and interesting food choices. You won't be disappointed

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great experience. Service and food was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The experience was fantastic; with respect to atmosphere and dining. The wine selection was expansive .

We did have a concern that some preparations (couscous) were overlooked. The handoffs from waiter and server got confused. Not being accustomed to that blended cuisine, it was wonderful. Definitely would return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Requested outside seating to sit with our dogs. We got seated at one of the middle tables. Could not get a waiter to come take our order for 40 minutes. We then got moved to a different table as our food was being served because they have "designated outside area for dogs." I had made a note in the reservation that we were going to be dining with our dog and told them (and they also saw they were with us) we had them with us when we got there. They had us move without even apologizing or being nice about it. Also, the server took 40 minutes to come take our order.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day brunch - fantastic food, good service, a nice patio to sit outside - prices were reasonable, but overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always visit when in the DC area, best restaurant in town! Great service with very knowledgable servers. Outstanding food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day lunch outside. The food was great, though it took a long time to come--though it was Mother's Day.

Love this place for business or family meals. Great food, fun space.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice mother's day menu. Good service and surprisingly not very crowded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a favorite with large groups, especially if there are vegetarians going with you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing food . Awesome servicem. Amazing drinks. Overall a really good experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

food good, much too loud, could hardly talk with yelling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.