Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Yuwa Japanese Cuisine (fka Zest Restaurant)

We are excited to announce that Zest Japanese Cuisine will be re-envisioned as “Yuwa Japanese Cuisine,” with our new Executive Chef, Masahiro Omori at the helm. Chef Omori’s grandmother “Yuwa” passionately owned a fish market in Chiba, Japan for over 35 years. Yuwa’s dedication to her craft deeply touched Chef Omori and he lovingly brings her spirit forward with 20 years of professional experience. Look forward to a culinary tour of regional Japanese cuisine and sake utilising the freshest local BC ingredients. Each dish has a story and a wonderful glass of wine or sake to go with it!

2775 W. 16th Ave
Vancouver, BC V6k 3C3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (9:45pm Last Call)

Cross Street:
Mcdonald St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 731-9378

Website:
http://www.yuwa.ca/

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in front of the building off 16th or at the back of the building accessing from Mcdonald St to the back alley. Or there are plenty of free parking along 16th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Masahiro Ohmori

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer winemaker's dinner or sake maker's dinner throughout the year. Please see out Facebook page or website for the details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 9:15PM

Tue - Thu 8:30PM - 9:15PM

Yuwa Japanese Cuisine (fka Zest Restaurant) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Worth the Drive (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort by
S
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Nice atmosphere & authentic japanese gourmet with traditional pottery plates
Well hospitality and service manner !
Will comeback again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

This is Japanese food in Vancouver elevated to a whole new level. Impeccable preparation and presentation. Each dish we had was exceptional, from good old agadashi tofu to brand new taste experiences. Sake creme brulee was to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Fantastic re-invention of restaurant formerly known as Zest. Awesome food with authentic Japanese items that you likely won't find elsewhere. Attentive and friendly service ... perfect. Also a great wine and sake list for excellent food pairings. Prices are low considering the quality of the food. Overall superb.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Could not ask for a more perfect night out for a meal.
Reservation via online website was a breeze, I had special requests which the restaurant emailed me back to fulfill the requests. Even phoned me on the same day to confirm my requests and my reservation.
A staff greeted me and my family at the front, offered to take our coats for us, seated us, explained the specials for the evening.
All the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Even the chef was very friendly and acknowledged myself and my son as we watched him make the special gluten-free, off the menu, sushi for my son.
The food came out in sequence so the night rolled out like a movie/play. The chef made my son's meal first so my son would be eating as soon as we sat down.
The meal and night was so perfect that we wished we could go back the next evening!!

Thank you Yuwa Japanese Cuisine!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Excellent food and service. They went out of their way to make sure we had a first rate experience.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Wife's birthday and they remembered. Very polite Japanese staff. The traditional welcome and goodbye in Japanese way.
Service good and professional.
Sophisticated atmosphere. Nice upscale feeling.
Food was creative and high quality.

Ordered 7 dishes between wife and I. All very good.

One thing I wasn't sure about. The wasabi is quite weak and need a lot to get a kick. Other than that it was great.

The price is fair for the quality and quantity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Not worth it. Over rated and over priced. So disappointed. Won't recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Overall, my wife and I were a bit disappointed with the Restaurant. We felt like we made a mistake choosing this Restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. We both regretted not having gone to Ajisai or Minami.
For the price we paid we could have eaten more food with same or even higher level of quality at those two other restaurants.
We felt that portions were a bit short, but the biggest problem was speed. We ordered everything at once but it came at a desperate rate. I think from one dish to another we had to wait easily 15 to 20 minutes. It broke the mood of our dinner.
Very much appreciated the detail with the dessert for our anniversary. But despite that, we won't be coming back nor recommending it to our friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2017

My friend and I shared appetizers. Every one was delicious. My only observation would be that portions could have been larger for the price. Service great and not rushed. Very enjoyable experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Really enjoyed our visit. Delicious, excellent service, good beer, very enjoyable experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 27, 2017

We missed our favourite Japanese restaurant when it closed earlier this year for a Reno and Chef change. We were thrilled to see that although the menu is different the food is all very good. The sushi rolls are the same as the sushi chef has remained the same — they truly are the best in the city!! All the original servers have returned so the service continues to be impecable!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 26, 2017

A good restaurant that's over priced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Perfect dishes using top quality ingredients. Nice contemporary setting and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2017

A lovely restaurant. Excellent food and good service. It is quite noisy, which can be difficult for the hard of hearing, as is my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food is amazing, but it was very slow. Everybody is extremely nice and friendly. I imagine the speed was due to the fact that the chef is new to the restaurant. I hope that it improves in the future because I want more Toriten so badly!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Yuwa has turned the best Japanese Restaurant in Vancouver into an also ran.
Blue fin Tuna was excellent.
Sushi rice seemed cheap, poorly prepared, and dry dry dry.
Wygu beef was very tough...cut into cubes exacerbates it.

Am very disappointed.

BOBSAN

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

So glad our favourite sushi restaurant on the west side has reopened!! We loved the new look. The menu is different but everything we tried was wonderful. We were so pleased to see that most of the serving staff and Aki have returned.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We were fans of Zest Restaurant for the quality of service and excellent food and wine selection. Yuwa has not skipped a beat - lots of interesting items on the new menu and the food, wine selection and service continue to be outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had the omakase with sake pairing, was excellent.
Looking forward to next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Japanese food at its best. The food is authentic and prepared just as it would be in Japan--one of our favorite vacation spots. The menu has fresh sheet changes every week. We have never been disappointed. The staff is over the top, and we love eating there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Some dishes were fantastic and none were less than good. But they enter a hiatus on Saturday and will open with a new chef in a month or so, so look for newer reviews after June 2017.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is a very good but not excellent japanese restaurant. I was suggested to eat some of the nigiri as is but found them to lack on texture; maybe if i had added some soy sauce and wasabi, they would have tasted better. Lastly the restaurant is not a good value at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was divine. The seasonal menu is worth focussing on as each dish takes on locally sourced ingredients.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was very good. Unfortunately, we were seated at the sushi bar which meant that the service was spotty (at one point I had to get up to get my own water) and occasionally the waitresses would yell orders to the sushi chefs over our heads which was annoying.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I think it's over rated. The price is quite high and the portion is very small. We spent $300 for six of us and we still felt hungry after. We decided to pay the bill and finished the meal at a local noodles place.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The taste of food is excellent. The servers are nice and attentive. The dessert is a bonus and out of expect tasty. It's a kind of Japanese-western fusion cuisine, a little bit pricey since the portion of food is small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Very cozy place.... great food and atmosphere...!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

over-rating, quite expensive but the food is not valued. order a fresh tuna belly ( $38 ) , it is not fresh, 5 small tiny piece, colour is not good and taste worse. other food is normal, not good and not bad. but the green tea cake is quite good.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Overall, we had a lovely dinner. The sea bass was by far our favourite dish. I was a little disappointed that the four piece sashimi dish was served with Albacore, not Ahi, which is so much better. The California and Dynamite rolls were not exceptional. The service was great; however, we felt a little rushed. It's nice to linger over each dish, but sometimes a new dish was served before we completed the previous course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food and excellent service! Definitely worth trying out!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Terrific as always. The seasonal menu offers sensational dishes - each one a unique flavor & texture - delicious on the palate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Loved it. Tempura fiddlehead greens amazing. Salad on spring menu beautiful. Rolls delish. Seafood very fresh.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Romantic setting. Always delicious consistent great quality food with beautiful presentation and attentive friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was delish! We tried the tasting menu and everything tasted so good we ordered a couple side dishes of what was already included in the tasting. The portions are on the small side, and likely for sharing, but worth the try to see what Zest is all about!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great Japanese style service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 17, 2017

beautiful, precise food with great wines to match!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

After visiting Zest I can understand why it so highly rated. The service at Zest was top notch and the food albeit pricey was delicious. The sashimi was fresh but I thought that the rolls were over priced compared to other sushi restaurants in the city.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

In one word: Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

in a city of amazing sushi, just felt this was a bit overblown in way - i think there are better choices out there as far as value and amazing sushi - the server we had was absolutely amazing though, she was on her game - she is the only reason , i'm taking the time to write this review.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.