Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About XO Le Restaurant

The French called Canada’s main financial thoroughfare "rue Saint-Jacques", and the English "St-James Street". Synonymous with opulence and influence, it was the second street in what is now Montréal. Bordered by banks and named after Jacques Olier, the street continues to be known today as a museum of high finance. Today, Hotel Le St-James, the former Merchants Bank, sits enthroned at the crossroads of history. On midsummer nights, modern-day coachmen in top hats take us back a hundred years to a day when bankers glanced at their pocket watches while crossing rue St-Jacques to the stock exchange and central telegraph offices just blocks away.



XO Le Restaurant, situated in the former Banker's Hall, is truly a beautiful space composed of a dining room, a bar & lounge, two beautiful mezzanines, as well as four alcoves which add an extra touch of comfort and privacy. Chef Robillard's exciting culinary imagination brings you modern, creative French cuisine.

355, rue Saint - Jacques ouest
Montréal, QC H2Y 1N9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7am to 11am Monday to Sunday

Brunch: 11am to 3pm Saturday & Sunday

Lunch: 11am to 2:30pm Monday to Friday

Dinner: 6pm to 10pm Monday to Sunday

Tasting menu: 6pm to 9pm Monday to Sunday

Bar / Lounge: 11am to 11pm Monday to Sunday

Cross Street:
rue St-Pierre

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 841-5000

Website:
http://www.xolerestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Square Victoria Station
or
Place D'Armes Station

Executive Chef:
Julien Robillard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:45PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:30AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 11:30AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Our dedicated event planning team is on hand to assist you in carefully planning every detail for a memorable occasion. Notre équipe est à votre disposition pour vous aider à planifier avec soin tous les détails afin de vivre une expérience inoubliable.

XO Le Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (4)
Historic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Authentic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 3 days ago

Très bel endroit. Bon service. Cuisine intéressante.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My wife and I came in for their Easter brunch. They were serving a set menu which was creative and delicious! Our server was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the wine list, a few more reasonably priced bottles in 30 to 45 would be nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I came to XO for a weekend brunch, and wasn't disappointed. The croissant was warm and delectable, and the 3-course brunch was very filling and flavorful. The restaurant itself is luxurious and beautifully decorated. It's not cheap, but great for a special occasion or tourist.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My girlfriend was happy so I was happy! It was a lovely experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Anniversaire de naissance

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 28, 2017

le repas n'était pas chaud, (chowder, morue noire)
Quantité pour le plat de pâtes insuffissante.
Bon service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent service
Great food
I would have missed it and glad I didn't

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Second time for brunch. Excellent food and service. Special restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Magnifique soirée en amoureux pour un anniversaire. Excellent à tous points de vue.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I went for Valentine's Day and everything was perfect. Great experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A perfect place for a Valentine's Day celebration. Beautiful decor, amazing overall experience from the valet parking to the service and even the wash basin is amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best dinner experiences I have had. Service was excellent - friendly, polite & knowledgeable. We had the tasting menu, along with the wine pairings. This was so fun and a real adventure. The music and setting was ideal. Loved it. Felt like I was somewhere far away from all the noise and hustle of real life, just for an evening. Thoroughly enjoyed our night out. Thank you

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was okay. Had the filet mignon with market vegetables. The outside was quite dry but the outside was nicely done. No complaints about the vegetables. For a business meeting, the setting is nice and conducive to a successful meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a wonderful time, an excellent brunch in beautiful surroundings with very courteous and discreet service.
From the moment we arrived with valet parking, they were attending to our needs.
There is a comfortable space between tables which invites private conversation. It is refreshing to find a restaurant who seems to have time to be at the service of their guests.

Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We came for our 5 year anniversary and the food was great . The service was perfect and price was very reasonable:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food doesn't measure up to the price but it was a fantastic service and a lovely quiet atmosphere with impressively beautiful interior. We had the set Christmas menu so I can't comment on the normal Dinner menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Un des plus beaux restaurant à Montréal. Malheureusement, le prix des plats est exagéré pour les portions. Nous étions 8 personnes et on a tous été très déçus de la quantité dans nos assiettes. La facture était de plus de 350$ pour 2 et on avait encore faim!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My husband and I went to the XO restaurant to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. The decor is very beautiful but the service is inexperienced and untrained. The main course took over 40 min to be served and when it came it was cold! Great disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Impeccable evening..attentive staff..friendly..beautiful room..five stars!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Date night with my husband. The restaurant came very well recommended and it did not disappoint. The staff and service was professional and pleasant; the food very good.
Thank you for a pleasurable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Le chef Julien Robillard fait des merveilles en cuisine! Le tout dans un décor grandiose.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Historic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Nous y sommes allés lors de l'événement Montréal à Table. Super beau menu. Service impeccable, repas succulents et bien présentés. Tout était délicieux. Le dessert, Trompe-l'oeil au chocolat, était surprenant et excellent. Nous recommanderons ce resto et y retournerons certainement. Quelle belle soirée !

Tags: Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The decor is Old Europe type, It reminded me of some beautiful halls I saw in Budapest, with the high ceilings and grandiose finishings. The service was great, our waiter Massimo was warm, friendly and gave us good service. The food was really delicious and original. I brought my mum there for her birthday and she really enjoyed every course. Lovely evening all in all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Soirée Magique! Nous sommes allés au XO dans le cadre de Montréal à Table (41$ par personne). Un 3 services très recherché et différent des joues de boeuf qu'on retrouve dans 50% des menus de Montréal à Table. Tartare et salade d'endives pour débuter, Pintade en plat principal, tarte de chocolat et surprise au chocolat en dessert. On vous offre un accompagnement de verre de vin pour chacun des plats. C'était réussi! Un pure délice pour le yeux et le palais. On prend le temps de vous expliquer chaque plat et vin qui l'accompagne. Le service impeccable en entrant, au repas et à la sortie.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent service et le personnel est professionnel, attentionné mais pas hautain!
Le menu offert dans le cadre de Montréal à Table était exquis. Nous nous sentions pas pressé à sortir de table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A great experince, waiters very attentive. Incredible presentation of food and very savory dishes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Outstanding service and the food is a total delish. I recommand it to everyone. Well located in hotel luxurious Hotel St-James. Amazing food especially the tasting menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I came here for Montreal à Table and it was my first time attending the restaurant with my significant other. Keep in mind, it's a french restaurant so for those who have a big appetite, don't be shy with the bread. There were 3 types of bread that came with our basket: Black Olive (my favorite of the bunch due to it's bold flavor), one with nuts and another with white sesame. The bread- soft with a nice hard top.

Our main meal was fantastic and they went well with the wine paring. Finally, desert came and it was definitely a taste to remember. Non-the-less, I don't come coming back for a 2nd visit. Fellas, if you want to impress your date, this is the spot; ladies, you will love this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Très beau restaurant et belle expérience en général! Les plats manquaient un peu de goût, de cohésion et de profondeur par contre! Très belle présentation! Personnels sympathique, Le service était excellent et les conseils du sommelier était très apprécié pour le choix des vins! Une ambiance idéal pour prendre un bon repas!

Merci encore!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

There was a problem with the service that day.
Wine arrived late. Service was slow.
Usually it is very good.
Do not worry, We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

First time at The Hotel St James. I wanted to stay here but it was $600 per night. So instead I stayed next door for half the price. And then blew my budget at XO at lunch. Had endless bottles of gorgeous champagne and took our time having a leisurely lunch. We sat at the back round table and were having a romantic lunch for 2. When 4 obnoxious women showed up and started playing rock YouTube videos on their phones at full volume. We told our waiter how inappropriate it was and the manager came over and moved us immediately into the lounge - which ended up being an even sexier table than the dining room. She even compd us a few drinks for our troubles. Well worth having a drink in the lounge just to see the gorgeous castle like room of XO. Please also take your time to view the bathrooms - more castle like ambiance. Truly the most stunning ballroom for dining I've ever been in. I felt like the princess I am.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Loved the whole experience. The food was delish simply amazing. I will recommend this restaurant to everyone I know. Hope to go back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Massimo was our server, although everyone at the restaurant seemed to stop by our table at some point to help. That was fantastic. We felt very welcome and comfortable there.

Massimo kept our courses at a pace that was very enjoyable. We never felt rushed.

What a joy it was. We will visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One of the best restaurants that I have dined at around the world! Highly recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Very good food. A little bit expensive. Nice presentation of cassoulet fruit de mer. Magret de canard outstanding. Bollenger champagne very good. Dishes little bit cold et lack of blue cheese with the endives. Chocolate desserts original and tasty. Excellent service and spectacular decor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Très beau resto. Rapport qualité/prix moyen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2016

A superbly crafted gastronomic meal prepared elegantly and expertly
As a chaine des rotisserie member I so enjoyed this meal
Merci

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 29, 2016

A beautiful room, attentive staff and good classical cooking

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

This was my worst dining experience ever, across 30+ cities in the last 15 years. We ordered dinner at 8:20 PM and were not served anything until 9:45 PM. We even had to ask for the bread after an hour. Then, we got the wrong appetizers - our server came later to tell us that the kitchen did not have what we ordered. We were ready to leave but stayed because he told us our entrees were 5 minutes away. Then we got the wrong entrees - both of us! The server came to apologize again. We asked how long our food would take it would be another 15 minutes. At that point, we just got up and left. How can a restaurant like this continue to be rated 5 stars?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Un des meilleurs brunchs à vie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.