Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About XO Le Restaurant

The French called Canada’s main financial thoroughfare "rue Saint-Jacques", and the English "St-James Street". Synonymous with opulence and influence, it was the second street in what is now Montréal. Bordered by banks and named after Jacques Olier, the street continues to be known today as a museum of high finance. Today, Hotel Le St-James, the former Merchants Bank, sits enthroned at the crossroads of history. On midsummer nights, modern-day coachmen in top hats take us back a hundred years to a day when bankers glanced at their pocket watches while crossing rue St-Jacques to the stock exchange and central telegraph offices just blocks away.



XO Le Restaurant, situated in the former Banker's Hall, is truly a beautiful space composed of a dining room, a bar & lounge, two beautiful mezzanines, as well as four alcoves which add an extra touch of comfort and privacy. Chef Robillard's exciting culinary imagination brings you modern, creative French cuisine.

355, rue Saint - Jacques ouest
Montréal, QC H2Y 1N9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7am to 11am Monday to Sunday

Brunch: 11am to 3pm Sunday

Lunch: 11am to 2:30pm Monday to Friday

Dinner: 6pm to 10pm Monday to Sunday

Tasting menu: 6pm to 9pm Monday to Sunday

Bar / Lounge: 11am to 11pm Monday to Sunday

Cross Street:
rue St-Pierre

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 841-5000

Website:
http://www.xolerestaurant.com/

Public Transit:
Square Victoria Station
or
Place D'Armes Station

Executive Chef:
Julien Robillard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Our dedicated event planning team is on hand to assist you in carefully planning every detail for a memorable occasion. Notre équipe est à votre disposition pour vous aider à planifier avec soin tous les détails afin de vivre une expérience inoubliable.

XO Le Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Romantic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

incredible food, ambiance, and service!!! Made our last dinner in Montreal something we will talk about for years to come. Thank you!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been going to this restaurant every summer for the past 3 years when we come to Montreal. Food in the past was excellent. There was 3 of us at dinner this time and all 3 of us found that the food was not as good as the previous 3 years. Don't know if they the changed the chef or what, but we all ate different meals and all 3 of us felt that it was nowhere near as good as in the past. Service was still very good as previous years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Peerless. The Chef absolutely defines culinary artistry.
The atmosphere is regal and unparallelled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Maybe we came on an off night but they ran out of two entrees (the rack of lamb and the short rib). Maitre d was also acting as bartender and our waiter so service was very slow. Food was decent but just seemed like they weren't at their best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our wonderful brunch was very filling. Each course was beautifully presented and delicious. The restaurant itself is simply gorgeous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Major disappointment! The three colossal olives in our martinis were more of a distraction than the intended generous garnish. The cold pasta appetizer was bland and definitely not worth the carb intake. Apparently leaving most of it untouched failed to deliver a message to anyone on staff. The clam chowder, while inventive in concept, failed in its execution; "potatoes three ways" all shared the characteristic of being unpleasantly undercooked. As a departure from most of the meal, the flat iron steak was braised to perfection. The accompanying hassleback potatoes needed to be reheated as they were served stone cold. The intent of the bacon jam (aka diced bacon) stuffed crab apple was not apparent as it did not harmonize with the meal (perhaps better served with a pork dish). We were graciously comped with two desserts which were both delicious, although the mousse was challenging to eat due to its serving container - a narrow mouthed canning jar. And yes, while we are apparently outdated in that we dress up when dining, but slashed jeans on a middle aged woman and a t shirt (aka underwear) on a young man - really? XO = crossed off our list of dining destinations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great service and fantastic food
This is a great find and the food is good quality.
Definitely a fine dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 18, 2017

heavy buttery cooking . my son had French toast ,they try to reinvent some simple dish to a disaster . I had the omelette the cheese had to much of a strong taste and was really heavy cook in butter. same for rice gf had, the sauce on it was so heavy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great experience. Went during formula One weekend. Excellent professional staff. Fantastic food. Wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Fabulous dinner! I recommend the dessert! Unbelievable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our server was excellent, the food magnificent and ambiance was perfect! Would highly recommend and we will return on our next trip to Montreal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Meal was spectacular. We did the tasting menu with wine pairing. Amazing dinner with wonderful art explanations.
Thank you!!!! For an amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 2, 2017

An absolutely fantastic atmosphere with delicious, very presented and extremely unique plates. Pricey for a normal dinner, but not unreasonable for a fine dining experience like this. The perfect choice for our special occasion (a graduation dinner). We would certainly return.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Decor agréable, mais la carte pour le brunch assez ordinaire pour un prix aussi élevé.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We absolutely loved it! We did the tasting menu along with wine pairing . The chef's artistic interpretation of the food was clever and very entertaining. Our sommelier was fabulous and our server attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very good service, outstanding ambiente was disturbed by running television screens,
Sensational cheese plate, wunderful duck.
Very friendly and helpful staff

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was a nice experience to try XO restaurant, the place looks fancy, service is fantastic and all the staff are very friendly. Food is ok, their dessert is so tasty :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Très bel endroit. Bon service. Cuisine intéressante.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My wife and I came in for their Easter brunch. They were serving a set menu which was creative and delicious! Our server was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the wine list, a few more reasonably priced bottles in 30 to 45 would be nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I came to XO for a weekend brunch, and wasn't disappointed. The croissant was warm and delectable, and the 3-course brunch was very filling and flavorful. The restaurant itself is luxurious and beautifully decorated. It's not cheap, but great for a special occasion or tourist.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My girlfriend was happy so I was happy! It was a lovely experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Anniversaire de naissance

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 28, 2017

le repas n'était pas chaud, (chowder, morue noire)
Quantité pour le plat de pâtes insuffissante.
Bon service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent service
Great food
I would have missed it and glad I didn't

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Second time for brunch. Excellent food and service. Special restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Magnifique soirée en amoureux pour un anniversaire. Excellent à tous points de vue.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I went for Valentine's Day and everything was perfect. Great experience.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A perfect place for a Valentine's Day celebration. Beautiful decor, amazing overall experience from the valet parking to the service and even the wash basin is amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of the best dinner experiences I have had. Service was excellent - friendly, polite & knowledgeable. We had the tasting menu, along with the wine pairings. This was so fun and a real adventure. The music and setting was ideal. Loved it. Felt like I was somewhere far away from all the noise and hustle of real life, just for an evening. Thoroughly enjoyed our night out. Thank you

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was okay. Had the filet mignon with market vegetables. The outside was quite dry but the outside was nicely done. No complaints about the vegetables. For a business meeting, the setting is nice and conducive to a successful meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a wonderful time, an excellent brunch in beautiful surroundings with very courteous and discreet service.
From the moment we arrived with valet parking, they were attending to our needs.
There is a comfortable space between tables which invites private conversation. It is refreshing to find a restaurant who seems to have time to be at the service of their guests.

Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We came for our 5 year anniversary and the food was great . The service was perfect and price was very reasonable:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food doesn't measure up to the price but it was a fantastic service and a lovely quiet atmosphere with impressively beautiful interior. We had the set Christmas menu so I can't comment on the normal Dinner menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Un des plus beaux restaurant à Montréal. Malheureusement, le prix des plats est exagéré pour les portions. Nous étions 8 personnes et on a tous été très déçus de la quantité dans nos assiettes. La facture était de plus de 350$ pour 2 et on avait encore faim!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I went to the XO restaurant to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. The decor is very beautiful but the service is inexperienced and untrained. The main course took over 40 min to be served and when it came it was cold! Great disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Impeccable evening..attentive staff..friendly..beautiful room..five stars!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Date night with my husband. The restaurant came very well recommended and it did not disappoint. The staff and service was professional and pleasant; the food very good.
Thank you for a pleasurable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Le chef Julien Robillard fait des merveilles en cuisine! Le tout dans un décor grandiose.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Nous y sommes allés lors de l'événement Montréal à Table. Super beau menu. Service impeccable, repas succulents et bien présentés. Tout était délicieux. Le dessert, Trompe-l'oeil au chocolat, était surprenant et excellent. Nous recommanderons ce resto et y retournerons certainement. Quelle belle soirée !

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The decor is Old Europe type, It reminded me of some beautiful halls I saw in Budapest, with the high ceilings and grandiose finishings. The service was great, our waiter Massimo was warm, friendly and gave us good service. The food was really delicious and original. I brought my mum there for her birthday and she really enjoyed every course. Lovely evening all in all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.