About Workshop Kitchen + Bar

800 N. Palm Canyon Dr. Suite G
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dedicated to food, drink, design, and community. Workshop Kitchen + Bar is Palm Spring's newest gem in the heart of the Uptown Design District.
Located in the Class 1 Historic El Paseo building from 1926, Workshop’s Industrial chic interior gives the historic space a contemporary edge befitting the locale.

Our kitchen is based around seasonal products from local farms, so the menu changes often. Although "Americana" may best describe the style of our food, influences are many. Favorite techniques in the kitchen include our wood-fired pizza oven, wood-fired grill, and custom sous-vide station.
The bar looks mostly to American classics and carefully homemade basics. Original cocktails vary with the market's availability and our bartender's mood.

* Please note: Booth seating is limited and is reserved for parties of 3 - 6. We will do our best to accommodate your requests, but make no guarantees. For special requests, please call us at (760) 459-3451. *

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday + Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 459-3451

Website:
http://workshoppalmsprings.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot located on Indian Canyon, just north of Tamarisk on the west side of the street. Street parking on Palm Canyon and Tamarisk.

Executive Chef:
Michael Beckman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Workshop Kitchen + Bar understands event planning is a lot of work, and memorable events especially so. In order to make the process easier, Chef Michael Beckman designs season-appropriate menus for every event. Join us for a truly unique dining experience in the historic El Paseo Building.

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (49)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Modern Decor (39)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
People Watching (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fun (14)
Healthy (12)
Organic (11)
Authentic (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Tapas (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Fireplace (6)
Casual (6)
Family Style (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My weekly spot for the best dinner in Pa ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

My weekly spot for the best dinner in Palm Springs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful space, great service, but way ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful space, great service, but way way overpriced

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

This place is amazing....just go. You ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

This place is amazing....just go. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a special place. I've eaten ther ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a special place. I've eaten there twice and both times have been exceptional. The service is outstanding, I love the architecture of the place. Even though they have a nice patio, I think the inside is too great to miss by eating outside. The food is solid with a twist. The hanger steak was cooked to perfection and the brussel sprout salad was excellent. One of my friends had the salmon on toast and the other had the burger - both felt their meal was exceptional. It isn't cheap but it's worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Such a great spot, never have had a bad ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Such a great spot, never have had a bad meal here. It is a hip atmosphere and the decor is perfect. The service is impeccable. My only complaint would be the prices are very high, but I do think it's worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent. On every level

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent. On every level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food a Workshop is always good ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

While the food a Workshop is always good, the menu doesn't seem to have changed in several years. My real issue is with the wine list. The cheapest bottle on the list is nearly $100, which means I am reluctant to visit often.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Called at last minute on Valentines Day ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Called at last minute on Valentines Day and they were able to accommodate us. Wait staff was very attentive and energetic. Food was worth returning for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Workshop is one of my very favorite rest ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Workshop is one of my very favorite restaurants in Palm Springs! Every visit is the same; delicious and creative food, amazing service along with great atmosphere! No wonder I keep going back again and again. It is reassuring to know that the food, service and ambiance is consistently at a very high level of quality. Can't wait until next time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extraordinary. Not only special for Val ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Extraordinary. Not only special for Valentine's with little garden 2-top off to the side in an historic authentic Spanish courtyard = straight to romantic perfect but amazing food, a wonderfully orchestrated and non-disruptive ballet of arrivals and departures all under the skilled care of staff and noticeable discipline of management and chef. A newer to the scene and not-yet tried by us, we have recommended it HIGHLY to several already and would love to get back to explore! Being from a design background as well, the integration of stylish minimalism set against a true passion palette of food/drinks/wine is a gift. Kudos all and thanks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

We've eaten at Workshop Kitchen multiple ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We've eaten at Workshop Kitchen multiple times since purchasing a home here in Palm Springs last year. We love the food, edgy atmosphere and the service, especially our last waiter, Jeff!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!! Great price also

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome!! Great price also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined for Sunday Brunch outside on th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We dined for Sunday Brunch outside on the lovely patio with a running fountain. The inside is very beautiful too. Overall good. We enjoyed our server though can't remember her name, very French. We ordered the Tom Collins (good) and the Hemingway Daiquiri (served with chunks of ice in it, odd), I ordered a second one and asked for no ice, an improvement. For food, we had the duck hash, very good, the house cured gravlax tartine, good but overpriced for the sizse of the dish, and the lobster breakfast burrito, described as pretty. Would go back as we'd love to try the dinner menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome. I am now a regular!

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome. I am now a regular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience overall. Here with ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent experience overall. Here with LA friends who commented that this is the only place they have been to in PS that has an LA vibe, in a good way. Shared everything. The 4 apps were all very good, best was the duck fried rice; least favorite but still good were the carrots; very small portion for the price. Shared sea bass special; best fish dish I have had in the desert. Only mild disappointment was the chicken; too much mustard which obliterated all the other flavors.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We shared several appetizers and had mai ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We shared several appetizers and had main courses...everything we has was delicious drinks were great as was the exuberant service! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place is wonderful. We go every tim ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place is wonderful. We go every time we go to Palm Springs.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner was great! Ate in the mo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Birthday dinner was great! Ate in the moonlight

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but WORTH IT!!!! Love sitting ou ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Pricey but WORTH IT!!!! Love sitting outside! Love the wide range of choices!

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entrees were excellent but the appet ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The entrees were excellent but the appetizer we ordered was very sparse even the buratta cheese skimpy. .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

food was tasty but portions were tiny. I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 6, 2017

food was tasty but portions were tiny. I usually eat small portions and even I left hungry. You will need to pay a lot of money to feel satisfied. I went with my sister and mother-in-law who are both pescatarians, very few veg/seafood options. Service was exceptional though and decor is on point.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Private Room, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Delicious food. Attentive service. Priva ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Delicious food. Attentive service. Private. Great cocktails

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a wonderful meal. The food was just ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

What a wonderful meal. The food was just incredible and the service was so friendly and helpful. We had a great time and can't wait to come back. Easily the best new restaurant in Palm Springs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, as always. Very consiste ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic food, as always. Very consistent. Service was beyond expectation. Loved it!!!! Will keep coming back...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting menu. Creative and delicious ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Interesting menu. Creative and delicious food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

From start to finish the experience is f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

From start to finish the experience is fantastic. The cool unique design of the space, to the yummy cocktails, detailed service and absolutely delicious food. Was wowed from beginning to end. Absolutely can not wait to dine here again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Palm Springs. Would also ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great find in Palm Springs. Would also have been a great find in West Hollywood or the Mission (in which case it would be more mobbed than it already is). Locally sourced ingredients, and a creative chef with rock solid, classical technique. Courteous, knowledeable service. Great patio. Easily among the top places in the Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Seasonal, , Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

5th time here. One of the very best in P ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

5th time here. One of the very best in Palm Springs!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place!! The food was phenomen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Loved this place!! The food was phenomenal, the drinks on point and our waiter Pat was awesome

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took 35 minutes to get in our drink o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

It took 35 minutes to get in our drink order. They were busy, but that's extreme. Food was excellent, service was very upset even but friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

This place is fantastic: beautiful, clas ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This place is fantastic: beautiful, classy with amazing food, wine, drinks and great service. A new favorite. Best in the city?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fun, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a 9:15 reservation and everything ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a 9:15 reservation and everything felt rushed from the moment we sat down. While my porkchop ($35.00) was tasty, it barely came with a side dish. I counted 6 micro sized Brussels sprout halves.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great scene, food is underwhelming and v ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great scene, food is underwhelming and very expensive.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

This is an outstanding, if somewhat expe ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is an outstanding, if somewhat expensive, restaurant. Chic environment. They've converted a mission-style space into a contemporary industrial set with concrete booths and wooden trusses in the ceiling. Very nice patio. The food is excellent. Try the two-pound roasted bass (whole fish), available on weekends; ample for two. Service is excellent, pleasant and knowledgable without being pretentious or obsequious. You'll remember a meal at Workshop for a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything but the seating. Booths ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Loved everything but the seating. Booths are too small, seat backs too straight.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice ambience, pretty good food, good va ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Nice ambience, pretty good food, good value, service was good, quiet enough to have conversation...overall very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food. A little pricey for wha ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very good food. A little pricey for what you get though. Was very loud - lots of hard surfaces that just bounce around he noise.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent as always. A little pricey ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent as always. A little pricey for my budget but good clean ingredients, creative recipes -- you can see and taste the amount of effort and "love" they put into their food. Highly recommended, especially when you want to splurge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Only thing better than the food was the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Only thing better than the food was the incredible service from Nina. Great Birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High price for tiny portion. Five ounces ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 21, 2017

High price for tiny portion. Five ounces of fish with NOTHING else on plate. No rolls. No potato. No vegetable. We left hungry. PBJ at home. Waiter was good. Fish was tasty. Restaurant exceedingly noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.