Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Workshop Kitchen + Bar

Dedicated to food, drink, design, and community. Workshop Kitchen + Bar is Palm Spring's newest gem in the heart of the Uptown Design District.
Located in the Class 1 Historic El Paseo building from 1926, Workshop’s Industrial chic interior gives the historic space a contemporary edge befitting the locale.

Our kitchen is based around seasonal products from local farms, so the menu changes often. Although "Americana" may best describe the style of our food, influences are many. Favorite techniques in the kitchen include our wood-fired pizza oven, wood-fired grill, and custom sous-vide station.
The bar looks mostly to American classics and carefully homemade basics. Original cocktails vary with the market's availability and our bartender's mood.

* Please note: Booth seating is limited and is reserved for parties of 3 - 6. We will do our best to accommodate your requests, but make no guarantees. For special requests, please call us at (760) 459-3451. *

800 N. Palm Canyon Dr. Suite G
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday + Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 459-3451

Website:
http://workshoppalmsprings.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot located on Indian Canyon, just north of Tamarisk on the west side of the street. Street parking on Palm Canyon and Tamarisk.

Executive Chef:
Michael Beckman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Workshop Kitchen + Bar understands event planning is a lot of work, and memorable events especially so. In order to make the process easier, Chef Michael Beckman designs season-appropriate menus for every event. Join us for a truly unique dining experience in the historic El Paseo Building.

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (87)
Creative Cuisine (86)
Modern Decor (65)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (55)
Good for a Date (55)
Special Occasion (54)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Local Ingredients (47)
Hot Spot (42)
Worth the Drive (31)
Romantic (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (28)
People Watching (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fun (23)
Seasonal (22)
Authentic (22)
Healthy (21)
Cozy (19)
Organic (16)
Casual (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Brunch (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Historic (8)
Tapas (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Private Room (7)
Great Beer (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 15 hours ago

Food and cocktails were interesting, creative, and delicious. Loved the local lemon tart with beet sorbet - the contrasting flavors were so surprising together

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely place. Was highly recommended by the hotel concierge as well as some of the guests we met at the hotel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our second visit to WSK. It is a very busy place with a lot of crowd noise. There is a long table in the dinning room with backless stools and open seating. The 8 or 10 booths are a little tight. The patio is very nice and misted on warm nights. The bar is very nice with creative cocktails but not a friendly place. That said the food is well prepared, creative, presented. You can choose from pizza or burger to a rib eye for two. The service is friendly, attentive but often lax. The staff is knowledgeable and informative as well as helpful. We were a party of four and brought wine ($25 corkage). We also sampled a vatiety of small plates, entrees, pizza and the burger. The small plate of muscles was the clear favorite of the night. Dinner with corkage, tax & Tip was $350. This was a bit stiff for the evening's food. All things considered I, we would return

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

Seated by washroom--every time we use Open Table we get seated by the washroom. Food was bland and flavourless--dry chicken almost to the point of so dry it was unedible. Diver scallops dish did not make sense--no flavour. Would not recommend--not good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Best food in Palm Springs-truly unique. Food quality was excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This is a beautiful space. The menu has a wide variety of options, and the staff was extremely accommodating when we preferred an inside table (instead of outside). My only negative would be that the food almost arrived too quickly!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very noisy at the community table. We asked for an empty table for two outside on patio, were told it was "reserved" but no one sat there . Was empty when we left. Not nice or hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was better than I remembered. The Service was good except the waiter took care of a group that came in after us. Both times I went we were seated at the community table which was terrible noisy and uncomfortable. I will always ask for a booth from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

It was overpriced and the food was horrible . The waitress was constantly trying to push us out of the restaurant for another reservation that was after ours. I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Bel endroit. Service trop rapide. Le carpaccio de pieuvre est pré-coupé, servi trop froid, en moins de temps qu'il n'en faut pour faire un aller-retour au réfrigérateur. Très décevant compte tenu du prix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Workshop was recommended to us by various folks, both through the accommodations we stayed at and others staying there. While we appreciated the preparations of our dishes as well as the cocktails, all in our party did not feel that the value at Workshop spoke for the food or service provided.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great brunch menu, attentive and friendly service and overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was cool, trendy and hip (three ways of saying the same thing, I know). The food was fantastic (our friends ordered the shared sea bass, I had the pork chop and my wife ate the duck study #1. It was all flavorful and a totally enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Super cute space! Good food, good service. Definitely a hot spot in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Workshop was a lovely experience. The interior of the space iz absolutely stunning. This alone is a reason to visit. The drinks and the meal were outstanding, epecially the brussle sprouts with chorizo. I ordered with a fried egg on top per the server's suggestion and it was lively. My husband was impressed with the Octopus carpaccio as well. Service was outstanding! Will definately come again.

Tags: Vegan, Cozy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The food was exceptional. I highly recommend the octopus carpaccio, pork cheek fries, and the pork chop. Can't wait to come back and try everything else. Oh, and the cocktails were wonderful. Kudos!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The cocktails showed creativity and seasonality and were great. Portion size of the food was good and loved the farm to table idea. The Mesquite pork chop was okay but over powered by the grilled grapefruit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Perfect!! Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was really good and so was service. Great place. Mussles were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We love Workshop - it's always wonderful and tonight was no exception. The Brussels sprouts salad once again includes pomegranate seeds and is delicious. Our server, Nina, was solicitous, charming and altogether delightful! Never disappointing!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always a great meal and fabulous service, amazing food and fun times!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food, fabulous service, modern setting and good ambiance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Poor service and inedible appetizer. Didn't even stay for full meal. Slow response time even after complaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Really outstanding kitchen and service, very attractive setting. A standout in Palm Springs for quality and interesting wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Always very good and a fun time. I particularly loved the curred gravalax on rye bred, amazing appetizer, cant stop talking about it!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was great but portions were extremely small. I should not spend $110 on a meal and leave hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great food, so good we went there two nights in a row. Cocktails list was fun, as was their new bar next door. Get's a little noisy inside, but overall, it was money well spent. Nice food and cocktail selection and of 7 dishes we tried they were all fantastic. Service was great, although the servers support staff could use some polishing in upscale dining rules and etiquette. When spending that much money on food and drink, then the expectation is to have all of your front house staff up to par, not just the servers. Overall, the experience was fantastic though, will be back the next time I'm in PS.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Amazing food and beautiful ambiance on the terrace. We were extremely well attended to by all those who interacted with us - Kyle and Hailey were lovely! Will absolutely be recommending to friends and family, and will be returning when back in PS.

Tags: Historic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service is below average , staff encourages table to over order sharing plates, dramatic reservation process of which table you will get.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food is pretty and mostly quite tasty but incredibly expensive for what it really is. Even if you took $10 off the price of each dish it still wouldn't be cheap but it would reflective of what it is. It's a cool place with aspirations that don't live up to the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 19, 2017

My only complaint is how bright the lights were in the booth.
Everything else was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food and service were great! Beautiful space as well, modern and open. However, if you are seated at the long table, you will have zero privacy. It's basically a communal table and you will be sitting right next to strangers. I made a reservation so I was surprised when we were seated there. The couples next to us seemed slightly uncomfortable too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Fabulous in every way! Great cocktails and amazing food. Loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Our evening got off to a great start with the cocktail of the day, the Bee's Knees. It was scrumptious. We shared a butter lettuce salad and charred carrots, which were delicious. We had perfectly prepared steaks and shared a coffee ice cream dessert to finish off a wonderful meal. The decor is really cool, with high ceilings and concrete dividers between the booths. Love this place.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Best food in Palm Springs! And forget about the cocktails, fabulous spot

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Visiting Palm Desert since 1991. My son drove over from Vegas to join us for 2 days. He heard about the restaurant from a wine Som. Best restaurant we have been to out here. We are foodies and this was a pleasant surprise. Food and service were excellent. Jeff, our server, made our dining experience even better!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We ate out side in the dark. I ordered my steak medium. It came out rare, bleeding. Sent it back
and the returned the same. They took it off the bill but I left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service, community table fine for this evening, just a long table shared by diners but without crowding or need to talk to others...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Would not return or recommend. Like a trendy LA restaurant. Not a lot of food choices --particularly if you are vegan or vegetarian--unless you like pork or shellfish. Food and wine incredibly overpriced. Courtyard is pleasant, but bland--nothing fun or memorable about it. Difficult to get server's attention.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

When we arrived the hostess wanted to seat us in the corridor exiting the restaurant. We asked for a different table and she was snippy. Next couple to be seated there (in corridor) wanted to be moved as well but with no luck. The food was salty and boring. Trying culinary sophistication but falls way short.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.