Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Workshop Kitchen + Bar

Dedicated to food, drink, design, and community. Workshop Kitchen + Bar is Palm Spring's newest gem in the heart of the Uptown Design District.
Located in the Class 1 Historic El Paseo building from 1926, Workshop’s Industrial chic interior gives the historic space a contemporary edge befitting the locale.

Our kitchen is based around seasonal products from local farms, so the menu changes often. Although "Americana" may best describe the style of our food, influences are many. Favorite techniques in the kitchen include our wood-fired pizza oven, wood-fired grill, and custom sous-vide station.
The bar looks mostly to American classics and carefully homemade basics. Original cocktails vary with the market's availability and our bartender's mood.

* Please note: Booth seating is limited and is reserved for parties of 3 - 6. We will do our best to accommodate your requests, but make no guarantees. For special requests, please call us at (760) 459-3451. *

800 N. Palm Canyon Dr. Suite G
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday + Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 459-3451

Website:
http://workshoppalmsprings.com/

Parking Details:
Private lot located on Indian Canyon, just north of Tamarisk on the west side of the street. Street parking on Palm Canyon and Tamarisk.

Executive Chef:
Michael Beckman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Workshop Kitchen + Bar understands event planning is a lot of work, and memorable events especially so. In order to make the process easier, Chef Michael Beckman designs season-appropriate menus for every event. Join us for a truly unique dining experience in the historic El Paseo Building.

Workshop Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for a Date (43)
Creative Cuisine (39)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (13)
Authentic (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Seasonal (10)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (8)
People Watching (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Tapas (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing space and always great food, but the prices have gone up and it's now even more expensive than the already-expensive prices they used to have. It's reached the point where, lovely as it is, it is no longer a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

We had the farro, market vegetables & rib eye & we’d give it all an 11 out of 10! Wish we lived closer so we could make it a regular spot. Great food, service & ambiance!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We were here with family while visiting in Palm Springs. Since we were a family of 5 we sat in the middle on the communal table and it was fine . The decor is beautiful in this restaurant and they also have outside seating.
We ordered some of the craft cocktails and they were very good. The wine selection is very nice as well.
We ordered a sampling of the small plates to share for appetizers and all thought the food creative and well prepared.
Then we ordered main courses as well.
I had the scallops - they were absolutely delicious and my daughters shared the whole cooked fish special and that was wonderful and simply prepared.
All in all a wonderful experience but it is on the pricey side.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Never disappoints. Great food wine service.
Feels like part of our culinary family....where I don't have to cook...even though I could!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We eat out a lot. Had a fantastic experience here. From the minute we walked in the door service was top notch. Hand crafted cocktails. Farm to table menu was spot on. I did the Market Vegetables. Delicious! My husband did the pork chop. Cooked perfectly. Food arrived at perfect pace. I don’t usually do dessert but decided to try the Lemon Tart. Ridiculous. Good thing they only gave me one slice. Give it a go. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Fun fun fun.....great decor and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Kyle was absolutely fantastic. The food was absolutely delicious. The octopus carpaccio was Devine. We also shared the Brussel sprouts and the ribeye which was totally worth the price. Fabulous decor as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

A maitre d'hotel should NEVER ask, " Is you second here?" when a patron checks in. The food was C+ at best, uncomfortable booths--excellent friendly service though- and my main course was $30+ for three small scallops. I won't even talk about the dessert! I would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Freaking amazing! I would highly suggest that you check this place out. If you only have 1 night in PS I'd make sure you hit this place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Dinner was delicious ! Service was awesome! It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent choice for couples and dates in Palm Springs

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Architectural delicious brunch. Great value. Great staff especially front desk hostess with the glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We have wanted to go here forever, but for some reason had not booked it until now. I think the communal table idea was a turnoff, but in the end it turned out just fine. The food was really outstanding (chicken with blackberry BBQ sauce, little gem Caesar salad, hangar steak, pork tenderloin). Good craft cocktails. Service was great too (Patrick). It was kind of a “scene” at the bar, and with all the young ladies in little black dresses it felt more like a nightclub. Highly recommended for the food and decor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The service was excellent and the starters too. The large plates or entrees were way too expensive. The cocktails and service were both excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The problem is, this restaurant charges way too much for what it is. We live in Los Angeles and go out to dinner a lot. We explore all of the new restaurants, etc. I rarely feel ripped off in Los Angeles even though it is a major city and has a lot of high end restaurants. It's simply overpriced by several estimations.

Second issue was, it took 35 min between our salad and our entrees; that was unacceptably long.

I give this feedback simply to help this place readjust to better serve its customers. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food was great, but small portions for the price. The service was a bit slow. We sat at the bar for a drink while waiting for our table and it took the bar tender 10 minutes to take our order and serve us. I would go back but would keep in mind the slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Seriously overpriced at this point. $85 for their stuffed fish special is criminal. Cocktails overpriced as well. They need to up their dessert game in a serious way. Their cornmeal/almond cake should be springy and fluffy and cold from the refrigerator is a lump of blandness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I didn't know I'd be seated at the communal table. I think I should have been notified of that in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Hit or miss food and a bit pricey for what it is
Service good; space generic
Best for apps/drink and move on

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was delicious, but it smelled like a bathroom when you walked in & when you were sitting at your table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our dinner was one I will always remember. The food was phenomenal, the drinks were delicious and our server, Jeff, was perfect!! We had so much fun and enjoyed tons of appetizers, our meals, desserts!! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Most creative and interesting brunch in Palm Springs. Everything was delicious (special kudos for the duck hash which had more duck than potato). And the best Ramos Fizz I have ever had in my life! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The best place to dine in the desert cities. Very creative with high quality ingredients. Great drinks at the bar next door. Food is amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Outstanding service, great design but it unfortunately ended there.
The overall culinary experience was a big disappointment.
If you do decide to experience Workshop Kitchen + Bar, I would recommend that you do so for drinks and appetizers only!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We typically have a great time here. Food is great, service attentive, and seems like a good value although we tend to run up the wine bill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

GOOD FOOD NOT WORTH THE OTHER STRESSES> Listen, I know its the desert, and it was a particularly hot weekend, but there was no difference between the outdoor heat and indoor heat. we literally rushed our whole dinner because we could not bear to sit in their any longer. our reservation was at 9 but the could seat us for for a mother 5 minutes because we arrived @855 even though the table was ready. so we were forced to the bar with an extremely rude bartender and then could not even transfer the tab to our table. we had to pay for our drinks before we were allowed to sit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Portions are like a kids meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 31, 2017

the shared prime rib is quite a bargain, appetizers and sides added to the flavor profiles

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Workshop is a welcome addition to the PS food scene, most notably for the ultra modern ambience which is a real wow factor. My server was attentive and friendly. I found the food, while inventive, just ok. The portion sizes of what I oredered were small and it would have been appropriate if bread was included, considering the prices were on the higher end of the scale.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 30, 2017

2nd consecutive anniversary dinner at workshop. Told them in my reservation and to my surprise they stuck a candle in the desert we ordered and said happy anniversary then charged us for the desert??
Petty?? Not sure. Oh well good menu and cocktails a really quiet night so not too loud can get loud when full.
Bring your wallet with you, gets a bit spendy quick.
Great for a special dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great space, great service, trendy ambiance, small to moderate sized portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Still one of the coolest places in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Was not what it was promoted to be... for James beard... awards, should have been over the top... more hype than real

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Workshop was such a great dining experience. The food was so different with amazing flavours. My only complaint would be that each course came out extremely quickly so our overall dining experience was shorter than we would have preferred. Other than that, it was fantastic!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We had brunch here and then came back a few days later for after dinner drinks & dessert. Everything was excellent! Highly recommend the brunch; the gin fizz (only available for brunch) is literally one of the best drinks we've ever had. Totally worth the wait and absolutely incredible. We also had the croissant BLT, the blue crab Benedict (another must-have), and some duck fat fries. We live in Chicago so brunch is important to us and this was easily one of the best we've had.

While we didn't have dinner, their wine list is excellent and the seasonal cocktails were both amazing. The almond cake was delicious too.

Also of note, both the servers we had were so so friendly, accommodating, and attentive. We'll be going back on our next visit for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I loved everything about this place, the food was great, and it's great for dinner with family or friends, special occasion with your significant other, or a date. I had a beautiful experience here, thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great spot. Great service. The menu was a bit overpriced but not bad. The wine list was crazy expensive .

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I have eaten here three times. The first two times were a wonderful experience. The last time I dined at Workshop Kitchen, there was a definite drop in the portion size vs. price. The portions were VERY small, and the prices seemed extremely expensive for what arrived at the table. We ordered a variety of plates, and I hate to say it, but it was very underwhelming for what it cost.

I love the ambience at the place, and all of the staff are extremely polite and it seems very organized. The space is beautiful. I wouldn't recommend Workshop to anyone for anything more than a cocktail and maybe a snack.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.