Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About Wine Market Bistro

Wine Market Bistro is a unique café, wine bar and wine shop all under one roof. We proudly offer over 30 wines by the glass and a 500 bottle selection in the wine shop. Most restaurants charge 300% or more for wine--at Wine Market guests can enjoy amazing wines for a small corkage fee ($11) over the retail price! This is a great savings for any wine lover. We feature a beautiful courtyard patio in the warmer months and a sophisticated Soho Loft like dining area inside all year. Reviews- Baltimore Magazine "Best Restaurants" 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009; 2011 Baltimore Sun rated us as one of the top 10 kitchens in all of Baltimore; Style Magazine listed us as one of their- "100 Favorite Places, People and Things." See website for more details.

921 East Fort Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am -4:00pm *limited menu 3:00-4:00*
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm.

Cross Street:
Lawrence Sreet

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 244-6166

Website:
http://www.winemarketbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available right in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Baltimore's free bus service; the circulator banner route stops right next to our location.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have monthly wine tastings; sign up for our newsletter via our website to receive updates and information.
www.winemarketbistro.com/events

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

20% Off Entrées & 18 @ $18 Wine List

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Happy Hour @ The Bar

Mondays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $19.00

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Three wine pairings available for all Three Courses @ $12. Special valid Jul 11, 2017 - Nov 9, 2017 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

20% Off Entrées & 18 @ $18 Wine List

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

20% Off Entrées & 18 @ $18 Wine List. Excludes Tax and Tip. Neighborhood Night also features 18 wines at $18 per bottle. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 6, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Happy Hour @ The Bar

Mondays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join us AT THE BAR $5 Wine $4 Beer $4 Seasonal House Sangria $5 Small Plates $13 Creekstone Farms Burger & beer or wine pairing. Excludes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour is available ONLY at the bar!. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 on Mondays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $19.00

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Details

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $19.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. We offer a FULL a la carte menu in addition to a 2 course Prix Fixe option. Special valid Jul 10, 2017 - Nov 10, 2017 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events available in unique wine tasting room. Buy out options available as well.

Wine Market Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Seasonal (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We hadn't been in about a year, and it seems to have gone downhill. We just ordered bacon and egg breakfasts, shouldn't be hard to do. My bacon was burned on the ends. The hash browns or home fries (or whatever they call them) were greasy and tasteless. It wasn't very busy (which is also a change), yet we kept looking for the server, especially when we were ready for the bill. I don't think we will go back anytime soon. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great place. Nice atmosphere and great service. My first time there and will definitely be back soon.
Food is outstanding and priced well

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

all time favorite restaurants for the Federal Hill and Locust Pt neighborhood

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2017

My wife and I are always pleased with the Wine Market. It's a great former industrial room, plenty of free parking, food and service are always good. Having a wine and spirits store in its front lobby is a great touch.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was better than ever. the ahi tuna salad was terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Three of us had dinner on a perfect summer evening. We sat outside and really enjoyed it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We spent our Sunday afternoon here to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary. I won't bore anyone with the details but simply say, the manager knew what happened, knew what to do, and knows how run an awesome business. Understanding what your customers need without them having to ask is rare these days. I made my reservation here because he have had good times in your restaurant. Our experience on Sunday will keep us coming to your restaurant over and over and over again. Thank you for being part of our day!

Kristen

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food is always excellent-creative and delicious. Service is always top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Good setting and menu. Large wine selection also in a relaxed environment. Service was a little disorganized and we had to prompt the waitstaff to place orders a number of times

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Outstanding! Incredible food, wine, and service. Many paleo friendly options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The Wine Market is always a fantastic spot. We've been going there since it opened and all these years later it's still amazing. For those who love wine there's a great list plus the option of shopping for a bottle that evening. The staff is attentive and knowledgeable.

My wife and I went there for our anniversary and having noted that on Open Table reservation it was acknowledged with a great appetizer and glass of wine... and that was on top of an already generous amouse Boucher and bit of sparkling wine they were offering as part of restaurant week. Watermelon gazpacho, chicken liver mousse, entrees and desserts were great.

There are always inventive cocktails. And, on the way out there are great deals in the wine shop. The Wine Market used to be in my neighborhood and I used to get there frequently. I'm not that far away now but it remains worth a trip. Without a doubt one of the best, most inventive, most consistent restaurants in Baltimore. Love The Wine Market.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Everything was fine but we thought it was a little high priced, both food and wine.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always good. Industrial main room and long attractive bar. Food is good, parking is free, and diners get a discount in the wine shop on the way out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

First visit to the Wine Market Bistro proved to be a great experience. Very nice outdoor seating area. Service was perfect and the food outstanding! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Came for Restaurant Week. We had made a reservation weeks ago for a Saturday at 8pm and still had to wait for our table (more than 10 minutes past our reservation time with open tables in our line of sight - I really hate this, as what is the purpose of a reservation if it isn't honored?). We were seated at the back in the ante room, and our server was disinterested at best, negligent at worst. We had to wait ten minutes more for two Manhattan cocktails and a glass of Prosecco because the bartender "was backed up and is very particular about how the drinks are made". The food portions were moderate, but it was all delicious. We were pretty much abandoned by our waitress after we got dessert, and I wouldn't recommend the Wine Market to friends based on how we felt/were treated by the end of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food just not good. The so-called signature dishes were inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Good food but the entree took very long to come out. Luckily our waitress noticed and offered bread for the table

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food was disappointing. It has been much better in the past.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Decided to try this place for restaurant week. The food was great. I will definitely be back. I really enjoyed the tuna crudo. I was disappointed that the server failed to mention the price difference between the 3 and 6 oz glasses of wine. I would think that she would have inquired about what our preferences were. I was surprised when I received the bill. Nevertheless, the food is definitely worth coming back for.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Maybe a second chance?
This was my first dining experience in this part of the city, but I liked what I saw of the area. A monthly (or so ) lunch circuit I do with a friend -who had been here before, liked it, and figured I would, too. Being Baltimore restaurant week was a side benefit-our 3 course lunch was a great value at $20. The watermelon soup we chose was divine, but I was very disappointed with my entree choice of a burger. I asked for it medium, but it was more like well done and was very dry. A gluten free bun option would also have been a nicety...many trendy places are now offering that option for patrons with one of the now very common food allergies. The side of Brussel sprouts we decided to share was large and good. Unfortunately they were out of the ginger gelato dessert choice given, so I opted for raspberry, and it was tasty.
I may be interested in giving the bistro another shot...trying it for dinner during their normal weekly menu time.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Went for restaurant week and had a great time! You have to get the fried oysters they are truly amazing and a good size too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Have been to the Wine Market several times, never disappointing. Food is always interesting, and wine pairings are available for each course, which makes for more fun.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We had a lovely meal here during Baltimore Restaurant Week. The menu was tempting, the food was well-done and satisfying, and the value was outstanding. Normally, you find a little dip in the quality during restaurant week and we didn't find this to be the case here at all.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Staff was courteous, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. Ambiance was cozy and quiet. Great for a date night. And the food was incredible. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was tasty but was luke warm at best. Place was fairly empty so not sure why our food wasn't hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Upscale local place. Urban feel, easy parking, great wine list, plus the whole market of wine is available. Always a good choice!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I carefully went through the menu for main dishes without a descriptive word such as habanero or harissa. There were only two. I chose one of those, the waitress said it wasn't apicy and it was too spicy for me to eat. My companions also agreed it was spicy. I was comped a free dessert, delicious and I also loved the cappuccino. But please, everyone does not have a palate that takes to foods that make the throat burn and the eyes water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Lunch is always terrific. Great service and great food. Just one request: can you please bring back the shoestring fries?

Thanks for your consideration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A great wine list that changes with the season. They offer half pours and you have hundreds of bottles to chose from in the attached shop. Every dish we have tried has been a delight! The interior is nicely done, and there is plenty of space so one does not feel crowded.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We went for the 4th of July as we had done previously. We were able to eat (prix fixe menu), watch the fireworks over the harbor and then come back for dessert--even though they were technically closed. Great food and they were really accommodating. We will come back again next year, as well as during the year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 4, 2017

One of the Best Restaurants in Baltimore. Why??? Word of mouth is the best advertising for restaurants!!! Just ask around and look at there ratings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Off their game...
Usually we love the Wine Market. We had a family member come into town for Father's day and the menu was unappealing and 3 of us didnt like our food. We love th regular brunch with the chocolate donut things first etc. Too bad they didn't stick with that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The service is impeccable & we always seem to find ourselves having interesting conversations with the staff. The gazpacho was amazing!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Simply fantastic. Everything was wonderful. Highly recommended.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Always have an outstanding experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

As always, the best part is the wine market front of store, with a very good selection (esp. French for us) with the $11 corkage. The menu changes often enough that new tastes are always available. Very accessible location, parking never a problem. For good Baltimore dining, this rarely fails to please.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 26, 2017

It's always good. The food is fresh and imaginative. Recommend the baked oysters and the steamed mussels to start. You'll want extra bread for the latter. Great re-purposed industrial room, free parking. Eat at the restaurant but spend to time in the wine store. 15% off retail if you had dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We were there to honor our relative who just graduated from college and he likes interesting food. We all had good dinners and a good time. The black cod was exceptional! (pea fritters not so great) Buttermilk panna cotta ...yum!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Wine Market is a great option for consistently delicious food in a "smart casual" setting - special enough for a date night but not the least bit stuffy. The attached wine store is a terrific feature for wine lovers because you can buy any wine in the store to enjoy with dinner for only a small added corkage fee.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lovely ambience albeit weak cocktails and small pours. Good menu if you fancy yourself a bit of a "foodie" the service is very good and we will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.