Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.83mi

About Wine Market Bistro

Wine Market Bistro is a unique café, wine bar and wine shop all under one roof. We proudly offer over 30 wines by the glass and a 500 bottle selection in the wine shop. Most restaurants charge 300% or more for wine--at Wine Market guests can enjoy amazing wines for a small corkage fee ($11) over the retail price! This is a great savings for any wine lover. We feature a beautiful courtyard patio in the warmer months and a sophisticated Soho Loft like dining area inside all year. Reviews- Baltimore Magazine "Best Restaurants" 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009; 2011 Baltimore Sun rated us as one of the top 10 kitchens in all of Baltimore; Style Magazine listed us as one of their- "100 Favorite Places, People and Things." See website for more details.

921 East Fort Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am -4:00pm *limited menu 3:00-4:00*
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm.

Cross Street:
Lawrence Sreet

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 244-6166

Website:
http://www.winemarketbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available right in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Baltimore's free bus service; the circulator banner route stops right next to our location.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have monthly wine tastings; sign up for our newsletter via our website to receive updates and information.
www.winemarketbistro.com/events

Specials

$35 - Chef's Weekly Three Course Prix Fixe

Specials

$35 - Chef's Weekly Three Course Prix Fixe
Details

Chef's Weekly Three Course Prix Fixe - offering a multiple selection of different appetizers, entrees, and desserts

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: March 10, 2017

Ends: September 10, 2017

Availability: Tue-Thu 5:00PM-9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Private events available in unique wine tasting room. Buy out options available as well.

Wine Market Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (19)
Good for a Date (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Casual (10)
Cozy (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Always have an outstanding experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We were there to honor our relative who just graduated from college and he likes interesting food. We all had good dinners and a good time. The black cod was exceptional! (pea fritters not so great) Buttermilk panna cotta ...yum!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Wine Market is a great option for consistently delicious food in a "smart casual" setting - special enough for a date night but not the least bit stuffy. The attached wine store is a terrific feature for wine lovers because you can buy any wine in the store to enjoy with dinner for only a small added corkage fee.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lovely ambience albeit weak cocktails and small pours. Good menu if you fancy yourself a bit of a "foodie" the service is very good and we will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Really enjoyed our experience there.
Would def bring friends
Only wish there were a couple more menu choices
Definitely go again

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My husband and I took his mom here for brunchfor Mother's Day after reading some good reviews. Maybe on a regular day it's good but we did not have a great experience. It wasn't crowded at all but the service was incredibly slow. It took forever to get anything. They also had a special three course menu for the day since it was a holiday but I wish they had just served their regular menu because some of the items seemed like they were trying too hard and they weren't well done. Overall a disappointing experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We always have a wonderful meal at the Wine Market. We were there for a special occasion and the waitress took the time with us to debate wine choices and lend her opinion. The conversation was part of the fun of ordering a special wine. We shared some of the best mussels I've ever had and then had a lovely entree.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very noisy when we arrived for our anniversary dinner at 7pm. Seated in between two larger tables despite other open tables in quieter locations. Service was attentive . Food was just average. No acknowledgement of our special occasion.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The kitchen appeared rushed. The appetizers were under cooked; which should have been evident to the cook and the server. Everything else was delicious and fresh.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Unique and excellent wine selections! Food is delicious!! And staff are very friendly.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Casual, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food and wine were excellent. Had a bottle of the Blank Ankle red and thought the price was great. Waitress was very nice but new. Dessert was the only think lacking. Not sure what is was but overall a great place and neat area.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I haven't been to The Wine Market in many years ago. I returned with my family for Easter brunch and it was a big disappointment. The food was average, at best, and the service was VERY slow. Our food for each course never came all together. It came in waves...two of us would get our appetizer and then finally the other two would get their appetizer...and the same for dinner and desert. It's not very enjoyable waiting for others to receive their food so we could eat together. For the price of the meal the food was just not that delicious. The meat on the burger was flavorful, but nothing special, and served with an overly sized dry roll. The fries were overcooked. The eggs Benedict was flavorful, but not outstanding. Overall, it was an over priced meal for average food and slow service. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Was a fixed price brunch for easter.
Was not enough food received 2 pcs
of french toast that was only 2 inch
square you could see through the 2 pcs. bacon with it and desert was 2 inch circle. Would not do a price fix meal again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food is usually good here (get the brussel sprouts and mac n cheese) but service is always so slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Reliably good! We most always enjoy our meals at the Wine Market. Some seasonal menus we like more than others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I don't want to be too negative about this visit since we eat here often and it is usually good. On this occasion, however, the service was very very slow. The server was polite and knowledgeable, but the food took forever to arrive. They must have been understaffed. My wife enjoyed her tuna-on-top-of-a-salad entrée, but I hated the spices used in my chicken rolade. I could only eat half of it because it was making me sick. I am sure our next visit will be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I don't think I've ever had a bad experience at Wine Market Bistro. The food is always lovely as well as the ambiance. This is the best spot for a nice get together with friends for brunch or dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We have enjoyed the creative delicious menu on a number of occasions. Wonderful food served by friendly helpful waitstaff team. We are impressed by consistent high level and value for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have eaten at the Wine Market Bistro many times often for Sunday brunch. There is so much to enjoy including the beignets with chocolate hazelnut sauce gratis and the $19 prix fixe 2 course brunch which includes a mimosa or a bloody. Food is good here as is the presentation...be sure to try the soup. Today I had the celery root apple pureed soup and the veggie burger with a side salad. Another benefit is their well-stocked wine market. With each $200 spent you receive a $20 certificate toward your meal. We used two today which covered our tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Dinner with my two daughters. Upon arival we were promptly seated and greeted by our friendly and professional server. As usual one daughter late so we had a beverage as we waited. Menu is fairly limited in my view but my eyes went quickly to the rock fish entree. I eat seafood when dining out probably 90% of the time. Ordered the rock (as did another daughter) and it was as tasty a piece of rock that I have had in many years. Meaty, moist and simply prepared--it was grand! Other daughter had chicken that she liked as well. Passed on dessert but more than satisfied with the service, decor and quality of food. Look forward to our return and more tasty fish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We drove up from Sussex County, Delaware, for my wife's birthday. On line reviews were positive as I took a chance. We found the Wine Market no problem, but didn't see the restaurant in the back right away. Once inside, a pleasant clerk at the market directed us to the restaurant. Our server was wonderful, the food delicious, and the treatment superb by the waitress, servers & bus-staff.

The ONLY downside to the entire visit was the host; he was beginning to seat us, but got distracted by a waiter who insisted in discussing some situation and thusly took the host's attention from us for about 30 seconds.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food. Good specials. Nice service. Great drinks

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great service, great food, and a great value. Their wine prices are fantastic compared to most restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed Our Meal!
We all got different items. I got 2 appetizers that I liked and my two table mates each got entrees they really liked. We all shared french fries and a yummy buttermilk pana cotta to boot!
Our waiter was very professional and we all had a good evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service really poor. They ran out of a prix fix menu item. If some of the food items weren't so good, I'd be hard pressed to come back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful dining room. Great complicated food. Waiter was great. Great special occasion place. Time between courses was a little long, but it was Valentine's Day. Not loud, you could talk easily.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent Valentine's Dinner. Great food and service!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a great meal at the Wine Market. Portions aren't large but excellent quality and unique selections and great service. Very accommodating to gluten allergy even though a dedicated GF menu is not available. They are knowledgeable with celiac and gluten free and very open to modifying the various dishes to be gluten free. Corn meal oysters were mouth watering as always, the quinoa and kale salad was excellent and the seared tuna salad was also very good. Nice selection of wines by the glass and great bottles of $18 wines on Monday nights. Always a nice time at the Wine Market.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We mentioned it was a Birthday, but nothing was acknowledged. Disappointed!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The opportunity to browse the wine store and choose wine for dinner or to take home makes this place unique, but it would be a wonderful place to eat anyway

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I live in the neighborhood so it can be a good go to. Great cocktails. I ordered a manhattan and my date ordered an old fashioned. Usually consistent and pretty good although I've experienced one or two not so good dinners. TONIGHTS SPECIAL FISH WAS GREAT! It was a halibut pan seared, done to perfection and very creative in its plating. Service was also outstanding. Our server went out of his way to please my picky wine palate.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

In at least 10 visits to Wine Market this is the only disappointing meal I have had... but it was VERY disappointing. We did the extended restaurant week menu which had a great selection but all the food came out cold and poorly executed. I am not sure what was going on that night but it makes me hesitate to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love the wine and ambiance and great service.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Coming from a previous great experience here last year, our expectations were pretty high. The food was decent this time but a few plates missed the mark. The tuna crudo needed a sprinkle of salt. The spetzle (with the pork ragu) wasn't seasoned enough or should have been cooked in saltier water. The truffle mac n cheese was missing the truffle. Service was generally good. However, I made a special request in my reservation to acknowledge my wife's birthday that we were celebrating, and nothing came of it. We may return in the future but it will probably be a while.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have been to the Wine Market several times and took several couples to enjoy brunch on Sunday. What a disappointment! Because it was restaurant week, we had to order off of a menu with limited choices. Our service was horrible. The restaurant was not busy so I am not sure why
it was almost impossible to get the server's attention and the food took forever to come from the kitchen. I actually had to apologize to our guests. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have been to Wine Market many times but it's just not as good as it used to be. Food is just okay!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was on pony. Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Went for a birthday dinner and had a very good experi nice with 4 different meals. Service was very good and the food coming out a little slow was not the fault of the server.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Trout was yummy. Restaurant week menu great selections. Waitress was attentive and pleasant

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.