Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 2.45mi
  3. Distance: 3.02mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 2.45mi
  3. Distance: 3.02mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi

About Wine Experience Cafe and World Cellar

Established in 2007, we are a contemporary dining establishment featuring food with an international flair. Thee great chefs that are known for creating exciting wine friendly cuisine that change with the seasons. Owner Eldon Larson has over 30 years experience and has traveled extensively to the world’s greatest wine regions. Relax in our comfortable curved couch area or enjoy several courses in our softly lit dining room. Wine Experience Café boasts an elegant fabric ceiling, contemporary lighting, bay fire place and exciting colors. After dinner you can step into the World Cellar Fine Wine Shop to purchase the wines enjoyed at Wine Experience Café.
**Highlights:
wild boar and green chili wontons, watermelon radish and goat cheese salad, beef fillet au poivre, grilled molasses pork chop, pan-seared sea scallops, fresh market fish, cured meats and artisan cheese. Full Bar, 35 wines by the glass, wine flights, amazing wine list

6240 S Main St L115
(behind Mcalister's Deli)
Aurora, CO 80016
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday: 12:00 - 4:00pm


Dinner Every Day : 4:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
State Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 690-1025

Website:
http://www.wineexperiencecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Wine, Beer and Spirits tasting dinners with special guest speakers conducted several times per month. Wine dinners are usually five courses paired with six different wines, beers or spirits. Please call us for our monthly schedule.

Catering:
Our team of chefs can customize an array of catering options to fit your event and budget. Full entree catering for groups up to twenty-five. Please call for details. Sample menus can be viewed here: http://www.wineexperiencecafe.com/#!private-events/c12l3

Parking Details:
We have sixty plus parking spaces located directly in front of our entrance. Parking is free of charge.

Private Party Facilities:
We conduct parties for up to 75 guests in our establishment. We will close the restaurant to the public in order to accommodate large parties. Parties of 20-40 would be located in the main part of the restaurant while other guest would be seated in the opposite half.

Private Party Contact:
Eldon Larson: (303) 690-1025

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have wine tasting events 4 or 5 times per year. We also prepare Wine, Beer and Spirits tasting dinners with special guest speakers conducted several times per month. These dinner are usually five courses paired with six different wines, beers or spirits. Please call us for our monthly schedule.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Wine Experience Cafe and World Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Cozy (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Romantic (5)
Fireplace (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tapas (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Live Music (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The staff is warm, friendly and always accommodating!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This is my third time at this restaurant and sad to report was not my favorite visit. The wine and cheese is wonderful as always but one thing I will note was the inexperience of the servers this round. The first cocktail my BF ordered was awful sadly, he ordered the vodka gimlet and not only was it made poorly BUT it was barely full - and the glass was very, very small. So we just stuck to wine the rest of the night. I love going in being able to ask questions about the wine and get more information but it was more than obvious that our server was not only not old enough to drink or pour, but was not well versed on the drink menu at all. Don't get me wrong though, she was very nice and the customer service was fine but with Wine Experience in the name, I expect the people serving my wine to know about it.

As far as food goes, again the cheese plates are great. But the entrees were subpar. My guest ordered the scallops and had to send the plate back because it was lukewarm - and the scallops were uncooked. We were also one of TWO tables in the restaurant, not sure how food could be served cold. For that price or just in general, I was super disappointed. I've never experienced uncooked scallops. I had a salad, and it was just okay - nothing like the ones I've previously had. Overall, I really like this place and was disappointed it didn't live up to my rave reviews when I took my BF there. Not sure if I will be back anytime soon but definitely will pass on dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We spent Mothers Day brunch at The Wine Experience. It was a wonderful meal; our kids, ages 8 and 5 loved the special kids' menu and devoured the breakfast muffins and Belgian waffles.
We enjoyed the bacon cinnamon rolls and quiche Lorraine, the scallops, Wine Experience salad, and crepes. All were delicious.
The flourless torte was our favorite dessert.
Juan Carlos was our server. He was friendly, funny and great with the kids.
A memorable Mother's Day for sure. Thank you Wine Experience for a great afternoon. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We took the family for Easter. Brunch turned out to be a 4-course meal with plenty of options but difficult choices. Every course was well-presented and delicious, there simply wasn't enough belly space to hold it all. We each left with dessert in a box. Service was very attentive and helpful with questions. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Eldon and the staff at the Wine Experience always go above and beyond. We go there on a fairly regular basis and we always feel welcome and at home. The kitchen and bar offerings are always of the highest grade. The brunch was a different offering for Easter and again exceeded expectations. We look forward to frequenting the Wine Experience for years and years to come.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The first 2 visits were great, we have done the special occasion brunch visits and they were great in the past, this most recent visit was horrible. The food was awful, not cooked enough or over cooked. Too much butter and salt that the meal was overwhelmed by it. Service was horribly slow and there were only 3 other tables with guests when we placed our orders. My opinion has sadly changed, too expensive for such poor quality of food preparation and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food and service is always top notch. Wine Experience is the best restaurant in southeast Aurora without any competition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Wine Experience Cafe is our go-to fine dining spot in the neighborhood. We celebrated our Anniversary there on Wednesday night. The server was very pleasant and attentive. We ordered grilled salmon and proscuitto wrapped seared sea scallops. Both were delicious! The owner, Eldon Larson, was available and recommended a perfect wine for our entrees. We shared a complimentary dessert for the occasion. The experience could not have been more perfect! Highly Recommend. 5 Stars plus !!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I really enjoyed this place. It's very cute and the service was excellent. I went for a business meeting and didn't realize the there was going to be a band this particular night. So it it was extremely loud. But that was my fault for not checking. But I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We will be back soon. We had a cozy seat by the fire on a Saturday evening. We had tuna tar tar and porkbelly for appetizers, excellent. Our entrees were Veal dish and Lamb dish, also fantastic. Then finished with bread pudding that was to die for. Josie was our server and she was very knowledgable. The Arrowhead Cab sauvignon was lovely. See you again soon!

Tags: Fireplace, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great personal attention

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I came here for restaurant week and the choice and meal were outstanding. I will definitely come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food was tasty, bright, fresh. Nice size pours for wine flight. Only problem, while the bread pudding had a great flavor combination, it was tough to chew. Friendly staff. Fireplace. Owner on site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My wife and I have had dinner here a few times and have always enjoy the service and meal. The atmosphere is casual in the bar area and a bit more formal in the main dining area. Our server was very nice and discuss with us some choices which she liked and others that we have had that we have enjoyed. The portions are a bit on the large side so go hungry. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Lived here in Aurora for 6 years and never knew it served food. Just thought it was a wine bar. Bit pricey but I would return with my girlfriends for wind and cheese.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

There were 3 couples celebrating one person's 60th birthday.
We enjoyed the wine and food very much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is a go to place when we have guests come from out of town and when elegance is a must. The waitresses are well versed in wine suggestions that correspond with the meal. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food is very well done and unique. Delicious!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our waiter was very patient in explaining everything on the menu, especially the cheeses. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food.
Very conscientious service.
Very close quarters and loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, really nice wait staff. Two friends and I had met for dinner on Saturday, 1/28, but one friend cancelled her order and left. We couldn't hear ourselves talk above the music. Really talented, hard-working musicians, but we simply couldn't carry on a conversation. That's why my friend took off.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Maybe we had a new server, but she was incredibly slow. The owner noticed and offered to take our drink order after we had been sitting for several minutes without any attention. My husband's meal (pot pie) was fine but my winter squash salad was flavorless. It was disappointing that I could have made myself a better salad at home. We were using an open table gift card, but only chose this restaurant b/c its one of the few restaurants in Aurora that is listed on opentable. Opentable needs more options in Aurora, CO.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is a wonderful neighborhood restaurant with gourmet food, an extensive wine and cheese list. Could not have been nicer. We'll be there again before long.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I always look forward to seeing Eldon and his wonderful staff. Was great to see the place packed on NYE!

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Place was amazing great food and wine. Good prices

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Enjoyed the h'dourves and drinks. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The wild boar wonton appetizer is an absolute must try! We always have an incredible experience when we dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Server was really good and recommended some great wine/cheese combos

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fireplace, Cozy, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I've been to Wine Experience quite a few times and love the food, wine and ambiance. It is a neighborhood gem for sure. However, this time, it seemed that no one was responsible for our table and two servers just said sorry I'm not your server, and after about 5+ minutes we had to ask if they would send our server over. After several conversations between the wait staff, a waiter came over. He and his trainee were very nice, but we still had to call them over several times. Need a little more attention paid to your guests. I will definitely be back though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Dinner was great. Appetizer was outstanding while main course was right on time. Accompanying wines complimented the foods perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Pricey menu for upscale dining. Wine list is short but contains quality wines. Food menu is limited as are the specials, but food is well prepared. Wait staff is nothing exceptional - one would expect more for a venue marketing itself as fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I enjoyed myself. Spouse and I went for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We love the Wine Experience!! It's great for date night, out of town guests and family dinners. Every night is a perfect night for dinner at the Wine Experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was outstanding, I had the roasted duck special and my wife had risotto, both were fabulous. Our server, Juan Carlos, is very knowledgeable about the wines and his attention to the needs of his diners is impressive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our server I think her name is Casey, was awesome. The food was wonderful also!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Service is always great, food delicious and they are great about helping you work around food allergies.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were pleased to have a nice evening with out of town friends last Friday night. We had a nice table, an efficient server, interesting & Delish entrees and, of course, great wine! We lingered after dinner with another bottle of wine, and never felt rushed. Thank you, Wine Experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service by Zach was very good. Decor and ambiance quite nice. A little overpriced for the what is offered but overall, a neat place to come to.
FYI: the chicken tortilla soup had a great flavor. Bu TOO MUCH corn. Way too much.

Came here for anniversary; will definitely come again. Probably for wine and tapas. Very nice relaxing place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a relaxed place to enjoy some wine while waiting for our son to fly into DIA. Found this place on OpenTable and we were not disappointed. They have an excellent cheese list to pair with a large variety of wines. We chose one of the cheese flights along with a bottle of pinot grigio to start. We were served some delicious fresh-baked break with a buttery olive oil dipping sauce and then, even though we could barely eat it, we also ordered the margherita pizza. We really enjoyed everything we ordered and service was excellent. We were the only ones dining at the time because it was 3pm on a Wednesday, but I believe that we would have still had excellent service even if the place was full. Definitely not a place for kids, but would definitely recommend for a date night or relaxed get-together.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.