About Wine Experience Cafe and World Cellar

6240 S Main St L115
(behind Mcalister's Deli)
Aurora, CO 80016
View Larger Map

Established in 2007, we are a contemporary dining establishment featuring food with an international flair. Thee great chefs that are known for creating exciting wine friendly cuisine that change with the seasons. Owner Eldon Larson has over 30 years experience and has traveled extensively to the world’s greatest wine regions. Relax in our comfortable curved couch area or enjoy several courses in our softly lit dining room. Wine Experience Café boasts an elegant fabric ceiling, contemporary lighting, bay fire place and exciting colors. After dinner you can step into the World Cellar Fine Wine Shop to purchase the wines enjoyed at Wine Experience Café.
**Highlights:
wild boar and green chili wontons, watermelon radish and goat cheese salad, beef fillet au poivre, grilled molasses pork chop, pan-seared sea scallops, fresh market fish, cured meats and artisan cheese. Full Bar, 35 wines by the glass, wine flights, amazing wine list

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Wednesday - Sunday: 12:00 - 4:00pm


Dinner Every Day : 4:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
State Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 690-1025

Website:
http://www.wineexperiencecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Wine, Beer and Spirits tasting dinners with special guest speakers conducted several times per month. Wine dinners are usually five courses paired with six different wines, beers or spirits. Please call us for our monthly schedule.

Catering:
Our team of chefs can customize an array of catering options to fit your event and budget. Full entree catering for groups up to twenty-five. Please call for details. Sample menus can be viewed here: http://www.wineexperiencecafe.com/#!private-events/c12l3

Parking Details:
We have sixty plus parking spaces located directly in front of our entrance. Parking is free of charge.

Private Party Facilities:
We conduct parties for up to 75 guests in our establishment. We will close the restaurant to the public in order to accommodate large parties. Parties of 20-40 would be located in the main part of the restaurant while other guest would be seated in the opposite half.

Private Party Contact:
Eldon Larson: (303) 690-1025

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have wine tasting events 4 or 5 times per year. We also prepare Wine, Beer and Spirits tasting dinners with special guest speakers conducted several times per month. These dinner are usually five courses paired with six different wines, beers or spirits. Please call us for our monthly schedule.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Wine Experience Cafe and World Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (8)
Fireplace (7)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Romantic (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Authentic (2)
Live Music (2)
Business Meals (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is very well done and unique. Delic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is very well done and unique. Delicious!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our waiter was very patient in explainin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our waiter was very patient in explaining everything on the menu, especially the cheeses. Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Very conscientious service ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food.

Very conscientious service.

Very close quarters and loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, really nice wait staff. Two ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, really nice wait staff. Two friends and I had met for dinner on Saturday, 1/28, but one friend cancelled her order and left. We couldn't hear ourselves talk above the music. Really talented, hard-working musicians, but we simply couldn't carry on a conversation. That's why my friend took off.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe we had a new server, but she was i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Maybe we had a new server, but she was incredibly slow. The owner noticed and offered to take our drink order after we had been sitting for several minutes without any attention. My husband's meal (pot pie) was fine but my winter squash salad was flavorless. It was disappointing that I could have made myself a better salad at home. We were using an open table gift card, but only chose this restaurant b/c its one of the few restaurants in Aurora that is listed on opentable. Opentable needs more options in Aurora, CO.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This is a wonderful neighborhood restaur ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is a wonderful neighborhood restaurant with gourmet food, an extensive wine and cheese list. Could not have been nicer. We'll be there again before long.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always look forward to seeing Eldon an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I always look forward to seeing Eldon and his wonderful staff. Was great to see the place packed on NYE!

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place was amazing great food and wine. G ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Place was amazing great food and wine. Good prices

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the h'dourves and drinks. Servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Enjoyed the h'dourves and drinks. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wild boar wonton appetizer is an abs ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The wild boar wonton appetizer is an absolute must try! We always have an incredible experience when we dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was really good and recommended s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Server was really good and recommended some great wine/cheese combos

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fireplace, Cozy, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Wine Experience quite a few ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I've been to Wine Experience quite a few times and love the food, wine and ambiance. It is a neighborhood gem for sure. However, this time, it seemed that no one was responsible for our table and two servers just said sorry I'm not your server, and after about 5+ minutes we had to ask if they would send our server over. After several conversations between the wait staff, a waiter came over. He and his trainee were very nice, but we still had to call them over several times. Need a little more attention paid to your guests. I will definitely be back though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Dinner was great. Appetizer was outstand ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Dinner was great. Appetizer was outstanding while main course was right on time. Accompanying wines complimented the foods perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricey menu for upscale dining. Wine li ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Pricey menu for upscale dining. Wine list is short but contains quality wines. Food menu is limited as are the specials, but food is well prepared. Wait staff is nothing exceptional - one would expect more for a venue marketing itself as fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I enjoyed myself. Spouse and I went for ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I enjoyed myself. Spouse and I went for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the Wine Experience!! It's great ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We love the Wine Experience!! It's great for date night, out of town guests and family dinners. Every night is a perfect night for dinner at the Wine Experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, I had the roas ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was outstanding, I had the roasted duck special and my wife had risotto, both were fabulous. Our server, Juan Carlos, is very knowledgeable about the wines and his attention to the needs of his diners is impressive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server I think her name is Casey, wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our server I think her name is Casey, was awesome. The food was wonderful also!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always great, food delicious ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Service is always great, food delicious and they are great about helping you work around food allergies.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pleased to have a nice evening w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were pleased to have a nice evening with out of town friends last Friday night. We had a nice table, an efficient server, interesting & Delish entrees and, of course, great wine! We lingered after dinner with another bottle of wine, and never felt rushed. Thank you, Wine Experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service by Zach was very good. Decor and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service by Zach was very good. Decor and ambiance quite nice. A little overpriced for the what is offered but overall, a neat place to come to.

FYI: the chicken tortilla soup had a great flavor. Bu TOO MUCH corn. Way too much.

Came here for anniversary; will definitely come again. Probably for wine and tapas. Very nice relaxing place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I were looking for a relaxed ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a relaxed place to enjoy some wine while waiting for our son to fly into DIA. Found this place on OpenTable and we were not disappointed. They have an excellent cheese list to pair with a large variety of wines. We chose one of the cheese flights along with a bottle of pinot grigio to start. We were served some delicious fresh-baked break with a buttery olive oil dipping sauce and then, even though we could barely eat it, we also ordered the margherita pizza. We really enjoyed everything we ordered and service was excellent. We were the only ones dining at the time because it was 3pm on a Wednesday, but I believe that we would have still had excellent service even if the place was full. Definitely not a place for kids, but would definitely recommend for a date night or relaxed get-together.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Wine Experience is always a fun time ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The Wine Experience is always a fun time. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. Zach & Juan Carlos (JC) are very good at advising which wines pair well with the various entrees and the food never fails to please. If you don't like anything on their menu, then you just don't like quality food!

If you like the wine you just enjoyed with your dinner, you can buy a bottle on your way out. They have an extensive wine selection in the adjoining store.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my wife here for our 2nd Annivers ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I took my wife here for our 2nd Anniversary this past Friday and I must admit, this restaurant is the best we've been to in a while. Thanks to the reservation, we didn't have to wait at all to be seated and we were greeted warmly by who I assume to be either the Owner or the General Manager. We ordered two glasses of their saracco moscato d'asti. A very reserved sparkling wine that lacked any dryness but met us with a rather cool and refreshing sweet flavor that did not make the mistake of being too sweet that so many sweet wines commit. The wild boar and Colorado green chili wantons were a delight as well. The shells were cooked perfectly, the chili amount in the filling was just right and did not over power, and the avocado puree while in a small portion, accented the dish beautifully. My wife and I both humorously agreed that we may as well return just for the moscoto and the wantons! We both order the steak frites and while the steaks were delicious, the variety on the plate was rather lacking but the food was great for steak and fries. We finished our dinner with their seasonal peach creme brulee which was a good after thought to such a wonderful experience and paired very well with our wine selection. The waitstaff was very polite and made sure that we were happy constantly. Were it not for the arguably steep prices on most of their menu, we would probably eat there more often. Overall, my wife and I loved the Wine Experience Cafe and World Cellar and we look forward to when we can patron them again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had never been to The Wine Experienc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had never been to The Wine Experience and live in the area. It is lovely and quaint with attentive servers and wonderful food. Our only complaint was slow kitchen and servers not as attentive as the evening progressed. We would recommend and plan to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We come here quite often to enjoy the de ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We come here quite often to enjoy the delicious food and wine. We always receive awesome service and attention from the staff. It's a great place for a date, special occasion or a group get together. We love to do wine tastings here and have discovered several favorites to take home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive service, great food.

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Attentive service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the 3rd time we have been there ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 23, 2016

This is the 3rd time we have been there and each time we were pleased. The good was great as was the wine. Our business guests were also very pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Successful Wine Experience

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 7, 2016

We have never been let down by the food or service. We have been to the Wine Experience several times and each time we've come away pleased.

Our server on this occasion was Juan Carlos. He goes above and beyond to ensure his customer's complete satisfaction.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous night of old jazz vocal standar ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous night of old jazz vocal standards, food, and vintage drinks. The Wine Experience has done it again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

So happy to have Wine Experience here... ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2016

So happy to have Wine Experience here...a great retreat from the typical 'burb schlock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A Great Wine Experience!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I had a great meal and a wonderful bottle of wine recently when we dined at the Wine Experience Cafe. This little gem is tucked away in the Southlands Shopping Complex and is well worth the trip. Our servers were very helpful with the entree and dinner selections. The quality of the food is outstanding and the wine list is impressive. We plan on attending one of their frequent wine tasting/pairings in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great evening with great service!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Had the cheese plate and wine tasting - absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

FaIr, but not overly impressed.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 20, 2016

The service was very good; however, the wine/beer offerings were very simplistic and not inspired. The mussels appetizer was sufficiently large to serve as an entrée. The Calamari appetizer was over breaded, which hid the potential flavor of the dish. The scallops were a treat served over a risotto base with a pink hue due to the beets.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Fun evening

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2016

We visited this restaurant during Denver Restaurant Week. The food was excellent and a great value at Restaurant Week prices. Service was a little uneven but that is something that we have come to expect during the extra busy Restaurant Week event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very Disappointing

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2016

My husband and I ate here during restaurant week. The restaurant had decided that in addition to the packed dining room for restaurant week, they would also book a 20 top. They squeezed us into a tiny table away from the large party (their idea) and sat us and two other couples at the same time. We all ordered at the same time as the others, and the first dish was slapped down (literally) in front of us. This was described as a "cheese course" and was delivered without any description of what we were eating. This was two of the tiniest pieces of cheese I have ever seen. Microscopic. It was meant to be some sort of "bonus" to the meal, but it was just laughable. Our appetizers appeared within seconds, and before we could eat our tiny cheese, and before we had made a wine order. The pork belly was cold, very dry, and not flavorful. We were waiting for wine to drink with the appetizer, when, within 5 minutes of receiving our appetizer, our main course appeared. We asked them to hold it until our wine came and we could eat the appetizer. Big mistake. Fast forward to 40 minutes later when our main course had still not come out, despite the fact that we asked three different people for it. No one had asked us if we wanted more wine or water during those 40 minutes, and both tables seated next to us had finished dessert, paid, and left. Grrr...Now, I get how restaurant week works, that the restaurant is usually crowded, and service might be affected, however, the service we received was so terrible that we dropped cash on the table and left. Did anyone even notice? Nope. We drove to Parker and had a great cheese plate and glass of wine at our local (familiar) spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Went for Restaurant Week.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2016

Food was excellent, selection very nice, great wine list. Nice quiet place to enjoy dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was good, it seems like t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2016

While the food was good, it seems like the kitchen had trouble coordinating delivering the food quickly after it was prepared. Many of our dishes were lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent experience!!!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2016

Excellent experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.