About Wine Cellar

Wine Cellar has "all the right ingredients": award winning cuisine, international wines, attentive service, relaxing atmosphere.

This distinctive restaurant is located on Jacksonville's Southbank. With its French Country atmosphere, Wine Cellar is loaded with charm. An outdoor brick paved garden set beneath a majestic oak tree is the perfect place for a romantic luncheon or dinner.

While constantly evolving with eclectic new world dishes, Classic Continental Cuisine excels here. To add regional flavor, local produce and indigenous fresh seafood have become integral elements of the recipes.

Wine Cellar is consistently rated as one of "Florida's Top 500 Restaurants"; as one of "Jacksonville's Top 25 Restaurants" and the wine list perennially wins the "Wine Spectator Award of Excellence".

1314 Prudential Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:15pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Flagler Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-8989

Website:
http://www.winecellarjax.com/

Parking Details:
A private lot is available 1/4 block across from restaurant on the corner of Kipp and Home Street. Evening parking is also available in the Synovus Bank parking lot which is adjacent to Wine Cellar.

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cellar offers two private dining rooms. One will accommodate up to 16 guests - the other up to 28 guests and also has direct access to our lovely outdoor garden. We will customize your menu to suit your budget and your function - be it a business presentation, family and friends get together, wedding rehearsal dinner or reception. Screen and AV equipment may be set up.

Private Party Contact:
Gary Gebert: (904) 398-8989

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Cellar features a Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Thursday, Friday and Saturday each week. The menu changes bi-weekly. The price ranges from $30 - $36. First course offers a choice of at least four appetizers, including a special soup and salad. Second course feature choices of four or five entrees with great proteins including fresh fish, shellfish, foul and beef. Third course highlights a choice of two desserts. See the menu weekly on our website - www.winecellarjax.com.

Happy Hour - Monday through Friday 4:30PM - 7:00PM. Half off all glasses of house wine and well brand cocktails. Selection of Bar Bites $6.00 each. Menu posted on website.

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $43.00

Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $43.00

Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $43.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. June marks Wine Cellar's 43 year Anniversary. Visit website to see Special Menu. Special valid Jun 5, 2017 - Jul 1, 2017 on Mondays - Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Wine Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
See All
Quiet Conversation (28)
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Business Meals (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Private Room (14)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Historic (4)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice menu for business lunch meeting. Staff was attentive and discernible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Hadn't been there in years, but the food is still awesome. Great place for a special occasion dinner. Didn't notice they automatically added on an 18% tip, and I left a good tip on the total. We them know, and they fixed it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place for a special occasion. Quiet, romantic and cozy. Great food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They stuck us a tiny booth in a tiny room up against a brick column. Felt like I was dining on a porch. Food was really mediocre. Fish was swimming in a watery corn risotto that was so sweet I couldn't eat it. Prices were ridiculous. When I complained they did nothing.
Horrible experience and I won't be back.
Stay away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant reminded me of the 80s. This was in a good way. Nick, our server, was great. He was attentive without being intrusive. He genuinely seem to have a love of his job. The appetizer: the wedge salad had nice crisp iceberg lettuce with a generous amount of blue cheese and bacon. I didn't understand the addition of raw spinach on the side but it certainly was fine. The entrées: this is where problems developed. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection. It was a generous portion and was tender. However, that's where the positives stop. The fillet had no flavor of beef whatsoever. I asked for the béarnaise on the side. I truly believe that as the béarnaise was somewhat salty , the chef did not salt and pepper the meat prior to cooking. This was probably one of the worst filets I've ever had. The next disappointment was Tuna entree. Cooked to a perfect rare. Very tasty. The portion size was terribly small. There were six extremely thin slices about 3 inches long and an eighth of an inch thick. They did not belong adhered to a tower of mashed potatoes and topped with raw Arugula. The mashed potatoes tasted like the simply potatoes brand from refrigerator section at Publix. The restaurant gets rated very highly on OpenTable. I guess I'm the odd man out. The price point was excessive considering the quality and quantity of the food. It was a shame because when I walked in I felt it so warm and aesthetically pleasing but that is not enough to bring us back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Server (Bruce) outstanding as was the French Cuisine. Presentation of dish was outstanding, and the ambiance of the patio view tables was wonderful. Parking is inconvenient, but not dreadful. Dinners are perhaps 15% overpriced.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

On May 9, I invited 2 guests from out of town for a Business dinner. One from Louisville, KY which has fabulous restaurant choices. My guests were very impressed with the ambiance, Wine selection, menu, service and over-all experience. I can honestly say I have never been disappointed with my visits to Wine Cellar and always look forward to the opportunity to entertain guests there as well as personal dinners and celebrations. Thank you for your consistency and a successful business dinner experience.
Warmest regards to the Wine Cellar Team!!

Tags: Historic, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. The crab cakes were especially good, and my smoked salmon and asparagus was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We shared a variety of choices. The escargot were a little bland and my least favorite. The brie was delicious and is serviced with fruit and bread. We also loved both salad choices quite a bit. Steaks were cooked to perfection. Service was just the right amount of attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Wonderful dinner prior to attending Kinky Boots. Lamb chops were perfectly prepared as were the scallops.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The best food we've had since moving from NY to n/e FL. 3 1/2 yrs ago. While a little pricey, if you are craving a taste of NY restaurants, this is the place to go.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food. Everyone was happy with their choice---duck, filet, tuna. Nice ambiance.
The one downside was a waiter, not ours, who was too loud while explaining the menu, etc. to the table next to us. Otherwise, quiet enough for good conversation--a rarity these days.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our server K was awesome my second trip to Jacksonville in as many weeks will always make it my business to stop there when I'm in town everything was excellent had the trio steak scallops shrimp crabmeat love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Our dinner experience was very pleasant and informative in a positive way. During our previous visits, we had always been seated near the front. This time we sat in the back by the floor to ceiling window by the huge live oak. It was like being on a nicely groomed patio while enjoying air-conditioned comfort. We learned some of the history of the Wine Cellar, including its acquisition of a 30-plus space parking lot nearby and that some of its wait staff have been there many years. However, one would never guess that by their appearance and enthusiasm.

Our food was well-prepared and delicious. The service was excellent. We plan to go there more frequently.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Delicious as always

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious food was beautifully presented in attractively decorated rooms with nice artwork. Our waiter was quietly efficient. He made great recommendations when asked. We never felt rushed. It was a memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Although my wife and I do not do Fine dining very often, The Wine Cellar is "our go to place"for special occasions. It makes you really appreciate the finer things in life. The food was excellent. Karen our server was patient with us and very helpful. Her recommendation on the food and wine were spot on. It was a memorable experience for us and look forward to our next celebration so we can go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Amazing food and atmosphere. The staff is excellent and attentive. We always enjoy our time there and look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great and affordable prix fix menu and amazing wine list.
We'll be back and we highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 13, 2017

First visit for a special occasion. Very comfortable. Great service. Nick was fantastic. Enjoyed the appetizers, main course, dessert, wine and cocktails. Thoroughly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The special French Price Fix menu drew us for a return visit within a month from our last meal here. We were very pleased---as usual. Gary gave us just the right amount of attention. The only blip on the evening's radar was the cappuccino machine malfunction. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Love the food here! Has a great ambiance! Perfect for date nights! Definitely come here again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Winner, winner birthday dinner!

The occasion was our daughter's birthday. Our party was our daughter, her husband, my wife and myself. As always, everything was excellent - great food, great service, wonderful atmosphere, fine wine list. The Wine Cellar is very close to being my all time favorite restaurant. We can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had not been to the Wine Cellar for more than a year, but we were entertaining friends from out of town and wanted a nice environment with a great wine list. Our male server (whose name I did not get) was very accommodating. I had requested a table with relative quiet because I'm hearing impaired, and upon realizing a noisy group above us might be impairing our conversation, offered to move us to a more secluded spot. We were very grateful and enjoyed the rest of the meal and evening. The wines and food were excellent as we had remembered. We'll come back and bring others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Jacksonville! The ambience is wonderful, the wine list and
menu are amazing, and the service is off the chart good. Wayne always takes wonderful
care of our every need. I go here every opportunity that presents itself, but especially on
special occasions. If you haven't been...go!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The wine Cellar never disappoints. It was awesome as usual, we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything we had was excellent. The smoked salmon app was excellent as was the yellow fin tuna dinner. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wine Cellar is a local favorite that never disappoints. The decor is a little dated and the space feels a little cramped, but the food and service are always enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding.
Wayne great service!!!
Excellent food, chef outstanding again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We have been there twice when in Jacksonville. Food excellent and friendly wait staff.Both times excellent and we will return when visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Perhaps they have a new chef, perhaps they have a new staff; the escargo (I am a lousy speller) was a five out of 10 and the duck was a four out of 10. Waiters were adequet but not up to the restaurants previous standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Wine Cellar is a favorite ... never fails to please ... can't wait for the next visit.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Consistently wonderful meal and service. One of our favorite go to restaurants. The food is exceptional and the service is as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Waitress was not good. Attitude and arrogant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The jacksonville area magazines have been given false information by the restaurant. Prix fixe is not every th/f/sat as the magazines say but we were told only every other week. False advertising on everyone's part. Needs to be corrected. Food was great, service a bit spotty-was given a dirty plate and server did not bring bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Chef was very accommodating for special dietary needs. Staff was wonderful. Food excellent.
My only negative is the place was not crowded however they placed us in a room with a rambunctious table of 10 when we could have been seated elsewhere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Really enjoyed out evening! Great server - very informative and attentive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Perfect for Valentines Day. Allowed my Husband and I to have a nice conversation. Server Gary was great.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Deliciously Delightful
With more than a couple positive recommendations from friends, and one negative from my brother, we tried the Wine Cellar ourselves and were not disappointed. Our server, Wayne, was attentive without being intrusive and was excellent in his wine recommendations as well as food options.
We shared the soup of the day, a really wonderful 'loaded potato ' that was not at all heavy. I had the pecan crusted grouper, a house specialty, and my husband had the fried chicken sandwich. Both were superbly prepared. We shared the house made Key lime pie, with a truly memorable crust. The coffee was dark and flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

What a wonderful experience. From the food options, to the fantastic staff recommendations, to the beautiful decor the wine cellar is a must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.