About Wine Cellar

Wine Cellar has "all the right ingredients": award winning cuisine, international wines, attentive service, relaxing atmosphere.

This distinctive restaurant is located on Jacksonville's Southbank. With its French Country atmosphere, Wine Cellar is loaded with charm. An outdoor brick paved garden set beneath a majestic oak tree is the perfect place for a romantic luncheon or dinner.

While constantly evolving with eclectic new world dishes, Classic Continental Cuisine excels here. To add regional flavor, local produce and indigenous fresh seafood have become integral elements of the recipes.

Wine Cellar is consistently rated as one of "Florida's Top 500 Restaurants"; as one of "Jacksonville's Top 25 Restaurants" and the wine list perennially wins the "Wine Spectator Award of Excellence".

1314 Prudential Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:15pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Flagler Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-8989

Website:
http://www.winecellarjax.com/

Parking Details:
A private lot is available 1/4 block across from restaurant on the corner of Kipp and Home Street. Evening parking is also available in the Synovus Bank parking lot which is adjacent to Wine Cellar.

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cellar offers two private dining rooms. One will accommodate up to 16 guests - the other up to 28 guests and also has direct access to our lovely outdoor garden. We will customize your menu to suit your budget and your function - be it a business presentation, family and friends get together, wedding rehearsal dinner or reception. Screen and AV equipment may be set up.

Private Party Contact:
Gary Gebert: (904) 398-8989

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Cellar features a Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Thursday, Friday and Saturday each week. The menu changes bi-weekly. The price ranges from $30 - $36. First course offers a choice of at least four appetizers, including a special soup and salad. Second course feature choices of four or five entrees with great proteins including fresh fish, shellfish, foul and beef. Third course highlights a choice of two desserts. See the menu weekly on our website - www.winecellarjax.com.

Happy Hour - Monday through Friday 4:30PM - 7:00PM. Half off all glasses of house wine and well brand cocktails. Selection of Bar Bites $6.00 each. Menu posted on website.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Wine Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Business Meals (12)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful lunch with great wine... Superb service Can't wait to go back

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Tried Sip n Savor on fr night. Service was good. Food unfortunately hit and miss. Tuna app was good not great - for someone who eats sushi regularly not as fresh as would have liked. Steak very good seasoning just slightly over cooked. European sea bass - barely passable and risotto the same -latte over cooked. Fish -served two very small tail pieces. Scallops very good -and gnocci also very good. Peach puff pastry dessert wonderful. Unfortunately think they were struggling with $35 pp price point -should have been a bit more generous with ingredients and gone to $45pp like several other higher end restaurants. Decor just needs a bit of updating -looking alittle tired.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Overall a very enjoyable experience. Our Server (Lane) was fun and enjoyable. And we were never left wondering what was going on. The ambiance was very unique compared to other restaurants around here. I felt
It a little crowded, but not terribly so. For our starter, we had the escargot as we started with the bread, but after tasting it on its own, found the bread to hinder the wonderful flavor!! We also split a Caesar salad and we loved the touch of basil. It really "popped" and as I already make my own Caesar dressing at home, and grown my own basil, I am bringing that to my own table! The food had great flavor. I had the filet and it was excellently cooked. I prefer a little extra crust on the streak, but I didn't make that known and I'm sure if I would have, it would've been done, and it was a PERFECT medium rare. My only complaint was presentation. The taste was incredible, the plate was dull. No garnish to speak of. My girlfriend had the Tuna though and it was plated fabulously and tasted great while cooked to her satisfaction. For the called the wine cellar, I was a little disappointed with the wine selection. We were on our way to see a Flamenco guitar player, and a Rioja or Tempranillo was what I was hoping to enjoy, but I had to settle for a Malbec as it was the closest to a
Spanish wine I could find. In closing, my experience was wonderful and I look forward to coming back.

V/R

Drew M Anderson

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Overall, the experience was very good, but I have some reservations (no pun intended). Our meal started with cocktails. I had a Manhattan, while my wife enjoyed a dirty martini and another guest had an old fashioned. I must admit I was a bit disappointed in the drinks. While they were adequate, they did not approach my expectations. The old fashioned was garnished with one of those bright neon red Maraschino cherries rather than a more upscale cherry (like a Luxardo). The wine list is impressive and has a wide variety of price points. Even the inexpensive options were very good wines. I started my meal with the vichyssoise which had a wonderful flavor and was served at a perfect temperature. My main course was the European sea bass which again had fantastic flavor both in the center of the plate as well as the sides. I finished my meal with the almond amaretto cheese cake which was fine, but did not thrill as the rest of the food did. While I would certainly recommend this restaurant, I would advise to temper you expectations as the establishment seems to want to be more than it currently is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a price fixed menu including appetizer, entree and dessert. The menu items are inventive but also contain classics such as filet oscar. The restaurant has a lot of separate areas that are cozy and quiet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

So delightful. Loved the Sip and Savor menu. I had scallops and my husband had fish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We have been many times and it is consistently outstanding. We enjoy their escargot and the main course meals. I had the lamb chops for the first time. They were to die for.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Delighted that our birthday girls chose The Wine Cellar. Had not been there for quite some time and found it to be as good as my last visit. Service and food excellent. Karen anticipated and knew how to meet our order specifications. Love the atmosphere, gives one a feeling of comfort and presentation of food sparks of an artistic nature...lovely presentation. Must not forget the warm greeting from all when we entered and when we left...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This is a very cute little restaurant. A bit hard to access because of traffic. Also, parking lot is a bit of a walk. But food and service were both good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Wonderful menu at fair price, quality ingredients and excellent service. Quiet atmosphere with lots of seating options to make choices conducive to conversation. We could actually hear each other!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wonderful restaurant close to downtown. 43 years in business and our server was an employee of over 30 years. Family owned. Elegant, well prepared dishes and an extensive wine list. Quiet setting where you can have a relaxing dinner. It has been too long since we have been here, we live at the beach now but the ride is worth it. We will be back soon.

In my opinion, one of the top five in Jacksonville.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Best Resturant in Jacksonville for white linen service in the classic top shelf restaurants style.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our first time to the restaurant and food the ambiance to be delightfully comfortable, the staff to be eager to serve and fun to interact with, and the food to be absolutely delectable!! The flavors of the appetizers, main dishes and desserts that we ordered were varying and all mouth-watering. I like this place and will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Amazing food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I will never go back to wine cellar again. The place is absolutely miserable in the middle of summer. I am guessing the place was about 80 degrees... I'm sure my grandma my have liked it... but I didn't take my grandma.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Another wonderful meal as always. Service, food,drinks are always exceptional!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The Wine Cellar never disappoints! The food and service are always exceptional! We were there with 7 close friends who all have a different palate and preferences! Each of us loved our food. The grouper was so tender and tasty. The filet mignon melted in your mouth. The sea bass was amazing and so on.....The waiter took such good care of us. He was knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection! A fantastic dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The Wine Cellar has been consistently good over the years
This is a place for special occasion dining or a business lunch.
Dress up a little. Jackets for guys.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I have been to a different Wine Cellar location years ago. I took my girlfriend out for her birthday and was hoping it would be as good as I remember. I wasn't disappointed. The food was excellent, the service above and beyond, and the atmosphere stylish and cozy. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

So nice to be in an upscale , dignified atmosphere.
Great food and service, beautiful decor and ample parking.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had an early reservation. The waiter was prompt and kept our orders coming at a nice pace. We wanted a leisurely dinner to catch up and the waiter completely respected this. The Brie appetizer was very good. The bacon rapped scallops were delicious. Steaks done perfectly. The fried lobster was a little disappointing. The waiter offered drawn butter, which was more to our liking over the sweet sauce. Nice place for dinner. A bit pricey, but overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

As usual excellent food.. Shrimp Amaretto was awesome.. Bob our waiter was great and knowledgeable..we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Outstanding food, super service from Nick.

Will absolutely return and would recommend to anyone looking for a great meal at a outstanding place.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at the Wine Cellar and it felt like the perfect celebration for us. The service was attentive without being overbearing, we had complimentary champagne upon arrival and every bite of our meal was just perfection. The ambiance was super laid back and felt intimate even though it is a decent sized restaurant. We will be back for more celebrations!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Sorry to say but I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. Food was mediocre, service was okay. There are to many good restaurants to go to,so why settle for okay?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Beautiful place, exquisite food. Get the Lamb!! Omg good!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Amazing evening at the Wine Cellar. We started with the lobster spring rolls and scallop appetizers. Had an amazing bottle of wine. Then oscar grouper, sea bass and trio (filet mignon, stuffed shrimp and scallops) for our dinners. Desserts were bananas foster cheesecake and key lime pie. Great food nice size portions and priced reasonably. I would definitely recommend it for an evening out a date or before theater dinning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was our third visit in six months. The service, food, and ambiance have been consistently excellent. Thanks to Wayne, our server, for a perfect level of service.

Caution: Because of the fire ants, avoid parking near the dumpster in the Wine Cellar's parking lot.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

You can always count on a great meal when you dine at the Wine Cellar. Amazing menu for 43rd anniverary celebration

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Excellent spot for a business lunch. Quiet for conversation and a great menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I was able to ask for seating that was perfect for the occasion, service was great, attentive server, perfectly cooked steaks, delicious free birthday dessert. A very lovely time.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Very nice menu for business lunch meeting. Staff was attentive and discernible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Hadn't been there in years, but the food is still awesome. Great place for a special occasion dinner. Didn't notice they automatically added on an 18% tip, and I left a good tip on the total. We them know, and they fixed it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place for a special occasion. Quiet, romantic and cozy. Great food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They stuck us a tiny booth in a tiny room up against a brick column. Felt like I was dining on a porch. Food was really mediocre. Fish was swimming in a watery corn risotto that was so sweet I couldn't eat it. Prices were ridiculous. When I complained they did nothing.
Horrible experience and I won't be back.
Stay away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant reminded me of the 80s. This was in a good way. Nick, our server, was great. He was attentive without being intrusive. He genuinely seem to have a love of his job. The appetizer: the wedge salad had nice crisp iceberg lettuce with a generous amount of blue cheese and bacon. I didn't understand the addition of raw spinach on the side but it certainly was fine. The entrées: this is where problems developed. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection. It was a generous portion and was tender. However, that's where the positives stop. The fillet had no flavor of beef whatsoever. I asked for the béarnaise on the side. I truly believe that as the béarnaise was somewhat salty , the chef did not salt and pepper the meat prior to cooking. This was probably one of the worst filets I've ever had. The next disappointment was Tuna entree. Cooked to a perfect rare. Very tasty. The portion size was terribly small. There were six extremely thin slices about 3 inches long and an eighth of an inch thick. They did not belong adhered to a tower of mashed potatoes and topped with raw Arugula. The mashed potatoes tasted like the simply potatoes brand from refrigerator section at Publix. The restaurant gets rated very highly on OpenTable. I guess I'm the odd man out. The price point was excessive considering the quality and quantity of the food. It was a shame because when I walked in I felt it so warm and aesthetically pleasing but that is not enough to bring us back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Server (Bruce) outstanding as was the French Cuisine. Presentation of dish was outstanding, and the ambiance of the patio view tables was wonderful. Parking is inconvenient, but not dreadful. Dinners are perhaps 15% overpriced.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

On May 9, I invited 2 guests from out of town for a Business dinner. One from Louisville, KY which has fabulous restaurant choices. My guests were very impressed with the ambiance, Wine selection, menu, service and over-all experience. I can honestly say I have never been disappointed with my visits to Wine Cellar and always look forward to the opportunity to entertain guests there as well as personal dinners and celebrations. Thank you for your consistency and a successful business dinner experience.
Warmest regards to the Wine Cellar Team!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. The crab cakes were especially good, and my smoked salmon and asparagus was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We shared a variety of choices. The escargot were a little bland and my least favorite. The brie was delicious and is serviced with fruit and bread. We also loved both salad choices quite a bit. Steaks were cooked to perfection. Service was just the right amount of attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.