About Wine Cellar

Wine Cellar has "all the right ingredients": award winning cuisine, international wines, attentive service, relaxing atmosphere.

This distinctive restaurant is located on Jacksonville's Southbank. With its French Country atmosphere, Wine Cellar is loaded with charm. An outdoor brick paved garden set beneath a majestic oak tree is the perfect place for a romantic luncheon or dinner.

While constantly evolving with eclectic new world dishes, Classic Continental Cuisine excels here. To add regional flavor, local produce and indigenous fresh seafood have become integral elements of the recipes.

Wine Cellar is consistently rated as one of "Florida's Top 500 Restaurants"; as one of "Jacksonville's Top 25 Restaurants" and the wine list perennially wins the "Wine Spectator Award of Excellence".

1314 Prudential Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:15pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Flagler Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 398-8989

Website:
http://www.winecellarjax.com/

Parking Details:
A private lot is available 1/4 block across from restaurant on the corner of Kipp and Home Street. Evening parking is also available in the Synovus Bank parking lot which is adjacent to Wine Cellar.

Private Party Facilities:
Wine Cellar offers two private dining rooms. One will accommodate up to 16 guests - the other up to 28 guests and also has direct access to our lovely outdoor garden. We will customize your menu to suit your budget and your function - be it a business presentation, family and friends get together, wedding rehearsal dinner or reception. Screen and AV equipment may be set up.

Private Party Contact:
Gary Gebert: (904) 398-8989

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Cellar features a Three Course Prix Fixe Menu Thursday, Friday and Saturday each week. The menu changes bi-weekly. The price ranges from $30 - $36. First course offers a choice of at least four appetizers, including a special soup and salad. Second course feature choices of four or five entrees with great proteins including fresh fish, shellfish, foul and beef. Third course highlights a choice of two desserts. See the menu weekly on our website - www.winecellarjax.com.

Happy Hour - Monday through Friday 4:30PM - 7:00PM. Half off all glasses of house wine and well brand cocktails. Selection of Bar Bites $6.00 each. Menu posted on website.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Wine Cellar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
See All
Romantic (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Private Room (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (10)
Healthy (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Historic (3)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Chef was very accommodating for special dietary needs. Staff was wonderful. Food excellent.

My only negative is the place was not crowded however they placed us in a room with a rambunctious table of 10 when we could have been seated elsewhere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Really enjoyed out evening! Great server - very informative and attentive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Perfect for Valentines Day. Allowed my Husband and I to have a nice conversation. Server Gary was great.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Deliciously Delightful

With more than a couple positive recommendations from friends, and one negative from my brother, we tried the Wine Cellar ourselves and were not disappointed. Our server, Wayne, was attentive without being intrusive and was excellent in his wine recommendations as well as food options.

We shared the soup of the day, a really wonderful 'loaded potato ' that was not at all heavy. I had the pecan crusted grouper, a house specialty, and my husband had the fried chicken sandwich. Both were superbly prepared. We shared the house made Key lime pie, with a truly memorable crust. The coffee was dark and flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

What a wonderful experience. From the food options, to the fantastic staff recommendations, to the beautiful decor the wine cellar is a must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Only negative (or could be negative) is the tip is included, regardless of party size (or service). Other than that, great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been several ties and find the ambiance out of this world. Great place for a private, cozy, and wonderful evening

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Karen, our waitress was OUTSTANDING. It was cozy--we enjoyed other people near us, but had our privacy too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This has become our go to pre theater or other event restaurant. The food is consistently outstanding. It is a nice quiet venue. We typically tray to avoid the crowds, but even when they are nearly full, it is still pleasant. The service is routinely excellent. This time Kevin was our waiter, and he was great, but we have never had bad service. The wine list has something for everybody. On this night we did not feel like a bottle. Even the wines by the glass are superior. The Wine Cellar has been on my Open Table favorites list for some time and I do not see that changing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We enjoyed every bite. Everything was top of the line and delicious! Wayne was amazing both as a bartender and server. A man of many talents! He was most gracious. Our experience could not have been better!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The Wine Cellar remains the place to go for a quiet dinner with impeccably prepared food in a setting conducive to conversation. Wayne provided outstanding service as always. The tomato bisque with salmon and the European sea bass (both of us had these) were delicious. While the menu and wine prices are a bit higher in terms of mark up than some of my other favorite upscale places, the serene surroundings make up for that. But still, this is a place for special occasions and business meals rather than a casual dinner out.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Perfect for dinner before the symphony or Florida Theatre! I can't wait to eat here again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Even though we had to change the number in our 6+ reservation a few times, they were always accommodating. The food is really good and the service is nicely attentive. My only complaint is that they did not "tell" us up front that they would be 16% gratuity on automatically and most of us did not look close enough to notice it on our bill so we gave additional tips.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I have been to the Wine Cellar many times over the years. I wouldn't say it has gone down hill but I would say it has been surpassed. It is expensive for what you get. We had a party of five and no one raised about their choice. I believe it is time for a makeover. I hope so because it is an old standard.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great service and wonderful waiter. I will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had high hopes for the Wine Cellar - it was our first visit on New Year's Eve and the pri-fixe meal looked excellent . The crab & lobster bisque was a good start, but it went downhill from there. The baked brie was bland. The new york strip was fatty & full of gristle and couldn't even be cut with a steak knife. The waiter brought a second steak knife and that helped a little bit - but still unimpressive. The cheesecake was a nice finish, but too little too late.

Also have to share that towards the end of our meal - two gentlemen from the table next to us leaned over and asked about the steak. They had also ordered it and were very disappointed as well. They mentioned it to their waiter and he apologized and stated he would let the kitchen know. No one from the kitchen or management came and discussed/apologized.

To top everything off - there was an automatic gratuity of 18% added to our check. I can understand this for large groups - but there were only two of us!!

A very disappointing $180 spent on dinner for two. We will not be returning to this cellar any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The staff was amazing. I think our waiter was David. We were about 20 minutes late and it was New Years Eve. He handled everything perfectly and we still did t feel rushed! The crab and lobster bisque was delicious as was my encrusted grouper. It was a great night and I'm grateful to the staff for their patience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

waitstaff was very knowledgeable and attentive. we were disappointed that here were no specials for the evening and several desserts were unavailable

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

this is one of our special restaurants. It was for my wifes birthday and it was very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Haven't been to the Wine Cellar in years. I'm so glad we decided to try again. Food was fabulous! Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We live 100 miles from Jacksonville, but got tickets to the Jacksonville Symphony's performance of Handel's "Messiah" and wanted to enjoy a great meal beforehand. As we had dined at the Wine Cellar several times, we reserved a table for 6 p.m -- two hours before the concert. We weren't able to arrive until 6:30, but our waiter, Gary, assured us that we would get there on time. He was right. He is an excellent waiter, and the food was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Took my wife for her birthday here. Food was outstanding. Service was excellent. The atmosphere was amazing. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Exceptional as always! Highly recommend the Wine Cellar for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This place is great. This was my second visit and I brought my local staff in for a holiday dinner. We had five courses and each was absolutely superb. The wine list was perfect for the foods on the menu. There was not a dish that was not top notch. My first visit to this location was the same experience.... perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Excellent restaurant, food was great, waitress extremely nice, beautiful restaurant inside. we live in orlando and wish it was there.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good wine selection. Food, while fairly good, is vastly overpriced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

your list was too trendy- left off most important reason for choosing Wine Cellar - its excellent food ; salmon was beautifully cooked !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere - A+, as usual. Thank you for honoring my table request.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Wine Cellar never fails to satisfy ... it is my go=to place for special dinners with family and it's the first place I take my out-of-town guests.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great meal AGAIN. The Wine Cellar has become a favorite anytime that we are attending the theater in Jacksonville. The food is always very good as well as being made from very fresh ingredients. The service is a highlight. All of the servers are really good at what they do and they are more than helpful in getting you through a meal without being over filled. The wines are reasonably priced and there is a selection for anything that you choose on the menu. THe deserts are great but the portions are small enough to asuage guilt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Anniversary dinner. Had moved away from JAX for about twenty years, this is where we used to go back then for special occasions, nothing has changed, it's still great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Held an important business dinner at the restaurant and very pleased with the food and the service. One of my new favorites in Jacksonville!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Service was excellent. Our waiter was Kevin and he very efficient as well as friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I wait here for my anniversary dinner. The staff was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly. The food was absolutely fabulous and I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great guy list and great food.

Tags: Healthy, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent service and food. Great night out for anniversary dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Delicious fish lunch., prepared "Mediterranean Style" with capers and olives, over a bed of spinach. The only thing that was not perfect was the fact that we had to ask for rolls. They were poppyseed and very tasty. Full bar, wine list, after dinner liquors. Quiet elegant dining in separated private rooms. Reminds me of a small "Euporean Cafe" on Worth Avenue in Palm Beach. Service is always prompt and professional. A perfect place for conversation and great food! By the way, 16% tip is added regardless of the no. in "your party".

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Always my favorite. Never disappointed. I would recommend for superb dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The waiter was very friendly and the steak was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food is always delicious, the prix fixe menu is a good option. Service is always spot on.

Normally Wine Cellar is quiet, this time is was loud.

Branzino, scallops and lamb chops are good choices. Lately menu has been more inventive and that is a welcome change.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My wife and I come here for each anniversary (only 3 so far). The food is always a given for its freshness, quality and taste. But, as good as the food was, Wayne, our server, was even better. Very attentive, polite and on time with refills.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Fabulous food and very creative. There were so many choices I want to go back soon. The fried lobster was excellent and the lamb chops were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Took my wife there for lunch and the food and Service was excellent, the decor is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were In Jacksonville visiting my Daughter at University of North Florida and celebrating hers and my husband's birthday. I chose wine cellar because the menu had something that would appeal to everyone. The food, ambience and service exceeded my expectations. We will not hesitate to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food was delicious Our server was amazing he went above and beyond to make my wife birthday special. From the beginning we told him we would take our time for everything and not once he try to rush us with our selection. Very knowledgeable and the food and wine suggestions he recommended were an A+. Can't wait to go back!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The place and the food felt a dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 29, 2016

A must for fabulous food and relaxing atmosphere in Jacksonville.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Other than one loud mouth at the next table our evening was idyllic.

The food and staff superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Unfortunately we brought dear friends who had never been to wine cellar and while the back room is still a beautiful setting for dinner the restaurant has clearly passed its prime. Service was excellent - we have had Kevin many times over the years. The food was just a huge disappointment. We did the sip & savor jax menu. The Parmesan soup, lamb and mouse dessert all were very good. In fact the lamb was cooked perfectly. However the salmon rillettes had no flavor. The black and blue rib eye steak - no flavor, over cooked, blue cheese in cold globs on top. The bread pudding - good but Hob Nob's and Orsay's is so much better. As I said we were excited to share an old favorite with dear friends and left hugely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.