Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Soif Wine Bar RestaurantSoif Wine Bar Restaurant
(493)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Booked 5 times today
The Boon Fly CafeThe Boon Fly Cafe
(356)
$$$$
American | Napa, Wine Country
Booked 12 times today
A BellagioA Bellagio
(990)
$$$$
Italian | Campbell, San Jose / Silicon Valley
Booked 14 times today
Cafe Mare Italian RestaurantCafe Mare Italian Restaurant
(232)
$$$$
Italian | Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Booked 2 times today
PABUPABU
(457)
$$$$
Japanese | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 115 times today
MICHAEL MINAMICHAEL MINA
(2058)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 69 times today
RN74RN74
(2448)
$$$$
Contemporary French | SOMA, San Francisco
Booked 57 times today
Gabriella CafeGabriella Cafe
(157)
$$$$
Italian | Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Booked 3 times today
Hollins House - Pasatiempo Golf ClubHollins House - Pasatiempo Golf Club
(194)
$$$$
Californian | Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Booked 4 times today
Mozaic - Santa CruzMozaic - Santa Cruz
(31)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Booked 2 times today
Lure + TillLure + Till
(315)
$$$$
Californian | Palo Alto, Peninsula
Booked 20 times today
LailiLaili
(1222)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Booked 18 times today
OswaldOswald
(697)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Booked 17 times today
la Postala Posta
(895)
$$$$
Italian | Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Booked 17 times today
UlteriorUlterior
(34)
$$$$
Bistro | Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Booked 3 times today

About West End Tap & Kitchen

334 Ingalls St
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
View Larger Map

West End Tap & Kitchen features traditional pub fare, but what makes it special is the California feel it offers. The eatery uses local foods and has a wealth of craft beer and wine available on tap or bottled. The sampler option on the drink menu allows guests to try five or six beers before committing to an entire glass. Owners Quinn and Geoff bring an appreciation of food to this restaurant, which is popular with locals and visitors alike.

Some of the top options on the menu at West End Tap & Kitchen include the portobello burger, sautéed shrimp pasta, hanger steak and roasted chicken. You can enjoy a tasty dessert as well, such as the chocolate buttermilk bundt cake.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:

Sunday - Wednesday: 11:30am - 9:30pm
Thursday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fair Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 471-8115

Website:
http://westendtap.com/

Sort By:
S
22 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Too noisey!

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2015

Everything is good here except the deafening noise. There was a band at the bar and we chose to be at the extreme far end of the restaurant. It was still so noisy as to prohibit conversation. Not necessary! Even on a regular, no-band day, it is very loud. Some sound baffles hanging from the ceiling would help a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Wish I lived near West End Tap & Kitchen!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2015

Amazing food! Great service. The ambiance was energetic and fun without being too loud. Great beer and appetizers. The duckfat popcorn was incredible! The place was great for a date but also fun for groups. I wish there was a restaurant like this where I live.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for foodies. Special menu and goo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 25, 2014

Great for foodies. Special menu and good happy hour from 3 to 6. Will defiantly go back soon. Heard they have a great burger they grind their own meat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Find!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2014

We were looking for a place for dinner in Santa Cruz. There were 6 of us and 2 infants. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. I had a very unique Salmon dish. The flavors were good and the salmon cooked tender and juicy. The beer and wine selection were great too. I can't wait to visit again when I return to the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2014

Lots of good food, really like the new york strip and popcorn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

unusual items

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2014

The duck fat popcorn was unusual and delicious. The calamari was in a bowl, after awhile all the squid on the bottom got soggy and was unappealing. The burger and fries were very good, but they don't have pickles unless you ask for them. Order the secret sauce on the side it's too sweet for my taste.

There is an energetic crowd at the bar with lots of flat screens. Unfortunately the chairs are metal. Bad for the lower back, so you can't stay

long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Soso

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 16, 2014

Outstanding meatballs, but the braised short ribs were dry and difficult to swallow and the new york strip was overcooked (asked for medium rare and received medium). Also, the presentation of the new york strip was a tad odd. (A bunch of cold tomatoes and croutons drenched in vinagrette dumped on top of the pre-sliced strip.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

A fit-for-foodies menu (with excellent f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2014

A fit-for-foodies menu (with excellent food to back it up), great beer, and friendly and attentive service. Our first time here ... definitely won't be our last!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Consistently good

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2014

This has been consistently good for us. They try to locally source and use organic and I'd like to see more of that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wanted to love it...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2014

We had heard great things about West End Tap. The space was unique and packed on a Sat. night. We had to wait 15 min. for our reserved table which was okay but that turned out to be the theme of the night. Our server was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We settled on Calamari appetizer, salmon board, a salad and the burger. The calamari came out almost immediately but then we had to wait 45 minutes for our other selections. We also had to wave down the server to get beer/wine refills. We were seated right beside the open kitchen and by the time our food came it had become uncomfortably hot and the food had lost it's appeal. We would also like to see sandwiches offered at dinner. Overall a "Meh" experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Graduation Luncheon

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2014

Took a party of 10 here for our son's college graduation luncheon. Busy day and our server was swamped, but he managed to keep everything flowing. Great beer list, imaginative menu, tasty and fun. We sat in an enclosed booth with chalkboard above - chalk on the table so, of course, we wrote congratulatory notes to the new grad! Really liked the oval table - it made talking and dining together much more interactive. We will definitely go here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Husband had fried chicken sandwich and i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2014

Husband had fried chicken sandwich and it was half gristle. My salad with chicken was gristly too and salad dressing had horrible aftertaste. Will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

New favorite

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2014

The staff is young and friendly, the setting is contemporary and open. The hamburger is the best in town and the salads and flatbread delicious! The chicken dish is so- so...and we were seated at a much too large table for four, so could not hear each other. The bar side is very nice for lunch. I would recommend the place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Will be back

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2014

Along with a wide variety of beer, the food menu offers delicious combinations of flavors. It has a friendly, casual atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Meal in a fun atmosphere

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2014

Had a really fun time on a double date with friends who had come before and recommended this place. The beer was OK, but the food was really fun and a really nice portion size (not overwhelming but enough for girls to have leftovers.) I love what they've done inside with the decor, definitely a place I'd like to come back to try the lunch or just for a drink and some flatbread. We had skirt steak, burgers and short rib - all entree's were really liked. Also shared the cheese plate and duck fat popcorn before dinner. Only real complaint was our waitress had to be flagged down to order and also get the bill, so perhaps they need another waitress on the floor for busy nights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great beer and truly wonderful food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2014

This microbrewery really hits the spot for people who want to go to a "pub" but without the middle-of-the-road pub food. West End Tap has really tied in the best of fresh California cuisine (gourmet salads, mahi mahi), with good brew pub foods (burgers), and some nice main course dishes as well. The beer selection is amazing (my husband ordered a Belgian honey persimmon ale that even I liked--not a beer drinker here), and the wine selection is great too so your wine-preferring wife or gf will be happy there too (at least I was).

The service was really good, but the real ding I would give it is on the noise level. With hard surfaces everywhere, the noise was hard to take.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Cool spot

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2014

Found this place by chance & was impressed. Great beers, food, & atmosphere. I'll go back when I'm the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

One of the best

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2014

I am a very picky eater and have ALWAYS been impressed with the menu. There hasn't been a single item that I wouldn't order (and I usually have a hard time finding more than a couple items). Everything is fresh, flavorful, and plated beautifully. It is by far my favorite place for lunch, happy hour and dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Almost great

vip
·Dined on January 22, 2014

Greeted at door but the greeter didn't check our reservation. We had to tell them after our meal that It was with Open Table-important if you want the dining points. That was the way service was the entire meal: not quite there. The restaurant was not busy so there was no reason for not being more attentive. However, we loved the menu choices and loved our meals. Will definitely return. The duck fat popcorn was delicious as an appetizer and would be great with any of their beers. Try the flatbreads.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great food and craft beer

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2014

West End Tap is a great place! The food and the ambiance are amazing. Both times we have been we've been blown away by the quality and taste of the entrees. (get the duck fat popcorn for a $3 appetizer and the chicken may be the best we've ever had!) Their beer list is great, mostly their own craft beers with rotating seasonal beers and a wide selection of both light and dark beers. But overall I rate the quality of their beers as just mediocre. West End Tap is in my personal list of top five best restaurants in Santa Cruz and a must for anyone in the Santa Cruz area.

Extra tip: They have three special secluded booths for large groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great new place on the West Side

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2013

Went there Sunday night, had a very good meal. Fish was cooked to perfection, and the pastrami-sliders appetizer was brilliant. I would definitely recommend it - even though it's a "brew" place, they also had a very nice wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Chairs the only big problem

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2013

The food and service were definitely worth returning for, but the metal chairs were quite uncomfortable. One constantly fights sliding forward in them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.