About Waters Restaurant

Waters is owned and operated by Ft Worth native, Chef Jon Bonnell. Our newest location is 301 Main Street in Sundance Square.

Waters Restaurant redefines the Fort Worth seafood scene with a vibrant and modern restaurant featuring an array of fresh oysters, the finest seafood, mouthwatering steaks, and an award-winning wine list. Visit our bar for a lively happy hour, or relax in our upscale dining room for an unforgettable culinary experience.

301 Main Street
Fort Worth, TX 76102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily 11:00-11:00

Cross Street:
2nd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 984-1110

Website:
http://www.waterstexas.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available, or garage self-parking options available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Felli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waters Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Romantic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (0)
Sort By:
S
594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Oysters and seafood so fresh, you'd believe you were on the coast! Jon Bonnell and crew have done it again! Beautiful new digs one block north of Sundance Square. Huge selection of fresh oysters! Great wine list! Fresh fish and shellfish! Great service from professionals who go out of their way to make sure everything is enjoyable. Be sure to visit Chris in the bar!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Authentic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

New location for this terrific seafood house. Best calamari ever, solid selection of seafood imaginatively prepared. Our server knew his stuff and deftly helped us work our way through the options. We will return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent and the service impeccable. Fresh fish creatively prepared.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Mary was a fantastic server and our food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Every time we have been to Waters, or any Chef Jon Bonnell's restaurant's for that matter, it has been superb. Staff,atmosphere,service, & the food have always been amazing. I would recommend Water's to any and everyone.
We will go back again and again..

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Oysters great scallops succulent ready for next visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved Watters in the 7th Street location, and hope they expand the menu to include all the great items that are missing at the Sundance location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Waters is one of my favorite restaurants in Fort Worth. It was our first visit in the new location. With every bite, I was reminded why I love the food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is an awesome restaurant. Very fresh, waitstaff is great, very good menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Waters was better before they moved or at least that's what I remembered because I was really looking forward to going now that they have reopened. The food was good but not what I expected from a Bonnell restaurant. I probably won't be going back and I won't recommend it to friends. I will send them to Bonnells instead. The zucchini fritters were pretty bland. The lobster mac and cheese was unmemorable. A few bits of lobster but really unimpressive. My tuna was very good and it saved the night. My wife had the crab cakes and they were good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We sat outside on the patio, which was very nice. My only comment would be the driveway adjacent to this patio. A wall to separate our table from the driveway would have made it less commercial.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Anything with John Bonnell's name on it is going to be good. We got there on the first day that the outdoor patio was opened since relocating the restaurant to Sundance Square in downtown Fort Worth. Sure, there was a kink or two which I'm sure have been worked out by now, but nothing which interrupted our anniversary dinner.
Great food and service. It's well worth the money for a splurge.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We ate dinner this past weekend at the newly opened Waters Restaurant in downtown Fort Worth and absolutely loved it! We checked in a little early for our reservation and enjoyed a drink and oysters on the outdoor patio. Then were moved inside for our main meal where we enjoyed the ambiance and relaxing decor indoors. Every course was delicious and made an impression. We will definitely be back in the future!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Previously Waters was a great local restaurant. After a recent move with a new kitchen staff and wait staff it's not the same. Pacing between courses was over 20 minutes. My entree was served cold, and even though I was told it was recooked it was clearly the same piece of fish rewarmed. Steer clear until Bonnell gets his staff trained and quality back where it was pre move.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great flown in fresh seafood, great calamari and excellent location.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loved the stone crab claws! Took my daughter there for late lunch. We had loved the West 7th location and happy to see it open again even though downtown. Service and food was excellent. Expensive but worth the splurge!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Love the new restaurant, the food was amazing like always and the service was spot on!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We loved our 1st dining experience at Waters new Sundance Square location so much that we returned again the next evening! Favorites:
A fabulous and well-priced bottle of Spanish Tempranillo. Appetizers: Gumbo, tuna sashimi, Alaskan crab legs, fried calamari. Entrees: Salmon and Halibut. Dessert: cheesecake and chocolate brownie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Just amazing. The food was so worth the 6 months they were closed from the old location. The restaurant is beautifully done. Light and bright. Can't wait to visit the outdoor patio. The food was just just delicious!! Major kudos tho Jon and Ed and the new Chef!! We are so lucky to have them in Ft Worth

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 18, 2016

As always, food and ambience were outstanding. This is one of my most favorite places to eat. I love oysters on the half-shell and they have the very best!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wanted to get a lady visit in before they close for relocation. Oysters Texafeller are always wonderful. I had the special fish on mushroom rice with Japanese veggies. Very good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Waters will be taking a break to move locations, so glad we went before their hiatus. If you love oysters the "Dirty Dozen" is for you. We have had so many different oysters in this lineup, so fun to try them all, and see if my tastebuds agree with the menu descriptions. We have had several other seafood items here, and the trout is good too, but it is the oysters we come back for. Service is courteous and prompt. Atmosphere quiet, will be eager to see what the new location is like next year.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great oysters, cold beer, service was excellent. Will go back for their oyster happy hour but don't think I will have an entree again. Lobster tail was tough and took way to long for meal to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Was disappointed with my experience, appetizer was not what was described to us by the waiter, bread was served when we were done with dinner, I ordered 9 oysters only six was brought to me, I sent it back because two of those oysters were so tiny not worth $3, fish and chips were too oily and not hot. It was our anniversary dinner and we weren't asked if we had a special occasion or anything. Waiter was friendly but needs more training for such fine establishment. Oysters were fresh and delicious though once I got my order corrected. Waited did comp us on the dessert which was tasty as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very inconsistent food. The Oysters Texasfeller, a Bonnell's staple, was outstanding, as was the Ahi Tuna Tartare, so the meal started off well. My wife had the Jalapeño Salmon which was as good as any salmon she's ever had. The rest of her plate was disappointing, however, as it came with potato hash, but she had to search through a large quantity of onions and peppers to find the few miniscule bites of potatoes there were. The size of the brocolini serving was way overboard, as a party of four could have shared it. I had the Crab Cakes which were the exact opposite of my wife's salmon ... as good as her's was ... mine was some of the worst I've ever eaten. The cakes were extremely dry, as though they had sat under a lamp for a long period of time, and even neglecting the dryness, it seemed not a single spice had been used in the breading mix, so dry and bland, not a good combination. The new potatoes and green beans, despite the french name given them, were potatoes and green beans, not much different, if at all, than you might get from a much lower priced restaurant. The bread that was served with the meal, was served without butter, which was a mistake because the first, and only, bite I took was even drier than the crab cakes. So in summary, the food was either outstanding or completely underwhelming, so I'm not sure if I'd consider the risk to pray I'd find one of the wonderful items or one of the lesser ones.

Incidentally, it would be a disservice to neglect to mention the impeccible service, attentive and friendly, the only even slight negative I could think of is that no one even questioned why my entre was barely touched before they took it away.

My opinion? If you like gambling, this is a great spot, just be aware that you're just as likely to go bust in your choice as hit the jackpot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was my second time to this resturant.

This occasion was 16th anniversary .

The food is out of this world.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Highly recommend! Interesting menu and delicious food. Loved the coconut shrimp appetizer. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very neat location in the Ft. Worth area. It was a little different than I had expected. Coastal cuisine is not necessary "Gulf Coast." My fault for not understanding that. Nice variety of raw oysters.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Would definitely recommend the tuna tartare and the seafood gumbo. Their wine selection is quite extensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Exceptional creativity and deliciousness. Our service was impeccable. Thank you Jon Bonnel. We are lucky to have you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another fabulous meal! Everything was wonderful and we love everything Texas and Fort Worth. We will be back soon😀

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was Delicious and the food portion was huge!The service was impeccable. I will definitely be back. I also was impressed that, the chef came out and talked with us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Amazing stone crab claws.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We visited Waters for a special occasion and were impressed with the menu, service, and friendliness of the staff. The recommended wine was excellent and all of the diners were impressed. The kitchen staff went out of their way to accommodate our customized requests on the menu without hesitation. We also enjoyed the atmosphere with the great views of the busy 7th street area and still being quiet enough to enjoy conversation without having to yell at each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was our first visit to Waters and it was delightful. The dining room is large and open and well-lit with a beautiful mobile hanging above us made what looks like fishing lures, I believe. A column filled with oyster shells also added interest to the setting. They were very friendly and welcoming as we entered as though they'd been eagerly expecting us and had a card signed by each of the personnel on our table wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The menu was also interesting and reasonably priced since sides are included in the price of the entree. We both had and enjoyed the Smoked Jalapeno Honey-glazed Salmon with the potato, bacon & poblano hash. The atmosphere was calm and pleasant. We also loved our server, Angela. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Took my patents there for their 48th Wedding Anniversary. They had a great time! overall the experience was great, but the sausage was over cooked, and the waiter forgot to bring the chillers for the white wine bottles that were ordered. The restaurant is in a great location with a vibrant area for strolls after dinner.
Again overall: great time was had by all.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2016

all three versions of plate of 3 fish was very bland. everything else was as good as exected

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Very attentive service team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2016

We had enjoyed our initial visit some months ago and decided to go there again on our anniversary. The drinks, appetizer and salads were great, as remembered. However, someone in the kitchen must have been trying to sabotage the establishment, because our entrees were terribly over-salted. This was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.