About Waters Restaurant

Waters is owned and operated by Ft Worth native, Chef Jon Bonnell. Our newest location is 301 Main Street in Sundance Square.

Waters Restaurant redefines the Fort Worth seafood scene with a vibrant and modern restaurant featuring an array of fresh oysters, the finest seafood, mouthwatering steaks, and an award-winning wine list. Visit our bar for a lively happy hour, or relax in our upscale dining room for an unforgettable culinary experience.

301 Main Street
Fort Worth, TX 76102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily 11:00-11:00

Cross Street:
2nd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 984-1110

Website:
http://www.waterstexas.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available, or garage self-parking options available.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Felli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Waters Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Good for a Date (72)
Fit for Foodies (56)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Romantic (47)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Bar Seating (44)
Notable Wine List (41)
Business Meals (39)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Worth the Drive (37)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Healthy (27)
Hot Spot (24)
Fun (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (19)
People Watching (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Casual (13)
Cozy (13)
Local Ingredients (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Seasonal (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Scenic View (4)
Private Room (4)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Great first time experience! Excellent service paired with fantastic food. Start with oysters and work your way towards perfectly cooked crab cakes or salmon. Moderately priced wine options round out the ensemble. We didn't have time or room for dessert so we'll try that during another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

A very pleasant dining experience with my friend for her Birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Service. Taste. Quiet Quick seating View. Inexpensive.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Thank you for a wonderful anniversary dinner. The staff was amazing, the food outstanding and we were greeted by Chef Bonnell within 10 minutes of being seated. When a Chef stops from table to table to introduce himself and thank you for dining, I'm already impressed before I order.

The food backs up the first impression!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our meal thoroughly. Food was delicious and the service was great. Love the new location. Decor is very similar to the prior location, but somehow it comes together better at the new place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

impressively fresh fish. Had great halibut. Friend had steak that was wonderful and another had delicious salmon. Both the brownie with vanilla ice cream and the carrot cake were amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Food was unique and delicious. Service was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Waters is always spectacular with the creative cuisine of Jon Bonnell. The wait staff and everyone at the restaurant makes you feel at home. The renovations are stunning. Don't miss Waters.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Best Halibut and Salmon I have eaten in a very long time. Great bar area and just an all around 5 star seafood restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

For seafood in Fort Worth, a great spot. Oysters are always delicious.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great seafood dinner. Romantic setting. GREAT SERVICE.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great place. Food was delicious and service was amazing. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Every single thing we had was delicious and the service was exceptional! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and everything about the evening was so special. We were warmly greeted, and given seating options. The menu was full of interesting choices. The crab cakes were so delicious and we enjoyed our cocktails and dessert. Jon Bonnel knows how to set an ambience and create a unique dining experience that is more than just a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our first visit to new downtown Fort Worth location. We like the new location better! Beautiful dining room. Bright north-facing windows, no glaring sun. Splendid service. My husband's oyster poorboy and my lobster avocado salad were delicious. Waters is one of our favorites!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our experience was amazing. The staff appropriately attentive, food exceptionally prepared (we had seafood selections) and a light and inviting atmosphere made for a great dining experience. We will visit again soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This was our first time at the new location (we had dined several times at the original location). My wife had the halibut and I had a monkfish that was the special for the night. Both were flawlessly prepared. Service was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Waters will continue to be our "go-to" when we are in the mood for a great seafood dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very disappointing. The waiter was more Applebees than upscale dining. Also, She didn't tell my wife that the croutons were gluten-free until after she avoided them and had eaten her salad.
However, gluten-free is a strength of the food choices. Gumbo is a light roux. Lots of sausage but I didn't like it much.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Waters Bonnell, previously located on Crockett Street, was not a restaurant we enjoyed; however, with the move to this lovely space it seems the entire experience has been revamped - food, service, atmosphere - all now superb. Our choices included gumbo, oysters texasfella, scallops, linguine with shrimp and scallops and a steak - all were delicious. The wine list is fairly priced and has good choices. Our waitress was efficient and attentive without being hovering. We dined indoors but there is a lovely outdoor area as well. All in all, we are anxious to return to Waters and highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Glad to have eaten at the precious location off 7th st. This new location seemed smaller. I felt like simething is missing but can't quite figure it out. The staff were attentive and apologized for having us wait for the table. Food was impeccable, drinks were delish and dessert was authentic. Overall worth the time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary at Waters...so happy we chose this restaurant...first time to dine here...we had an awesome dining experience. Will definitely return. Both service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very nice evening! Service was excellent! Sommelier was a tremendous help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Best Halibut ever...and the $18 old fashion was worth the steep price~

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Staff are impeccably accommodating, polite, knowledgable on the menu. I sat at the bar on my own and was tended to very well. It was early (6pm) so the place was only just filling up but had a lively bistro vibe. Scallops - perfectly cooked - delicate and sweet. Oysters - very fresh, 1st water still present in the shell (so hard to find people who shuck properly) so top marks there. Lobster Mac n Cheese - fantastic - huge chunks of lobster and a light but flavoursome cheese sauce on conchiglie (shells) pasta. Can't fault the meal or the venue - only the price. Four oysters, Scallops, Mac n Cheese, 1 glass of house Sauvignon Blanc (their own - I recommend it) +tip came to ~$100

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

excellent ... food great ... great service . oysters , sea food , or steaks ... whatever you desire!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Crab cakes were dry. Lobster mac was good but wasn't very warm. Friends enjoyed the oysters. Overall found tue food qualit to not be equal to pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

LOVE Waters! Food was delicious and the service was top notch. I would definitely recommend. My Alaskan Halibut was perfection!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Fish and Chips isnt Cod and lacked flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Love our Waiter Scott. 💕💕💯

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

As always, Waters is great. My wife and I have been coming to Waters since they were at the previous location. We have been to the new location a few times since. Great service from Scott. We got the dirty dozen order of oysters. We shared the gumbo and goat cheese salad. My wife got the special which was bacon wrapped scallops. I ordered the crab cakes. As always, everything was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Unforgettable Sunday lunch.
We enjoyed the finest food in Fort Worth at WATERS. Sitting at the bar, watching the Indy race with someone who has won 3 Indy 500s.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food is much better than previous location. Seems to have more of an identity. Crowd was on the older side. Lighting is just too bright.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was a wonderful choice. The only drawback was the service. Our appetizer plates had not been removed when the entrees arrived

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Really impressed with the dinner. The quality of the food was excellent. Even the dessert was blow-away delicious. Very attentive waitstaff, cool atmosphere, fun bar. Definitely returning.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Bonnels food is excellent at any of his restaurants. The seafood was fabulous.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We really like the food and service. Anne took great care of us. The wine was excellent. We could have used a shade for the window the sun was in my eyes during the last half of our meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This is a great place for special occasions! It's upscale, in a great location, with incredible food options! The customer service is awesome! This was my second visit, and Jason, the waiter remembered us from 4 months prior, and remembered what we ordered! We had the shrimp appetizers and grouper entree. Last time we had the halibut. All options are delicious! You'll want to go back. Love this place!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Chef Bonell and his cooking staff know their stuff. Excellent menu options. Not eighteen different ways to cook white fish. Check out the menu on line and you will understand what I mean! Serving staff was attentive, professional, and fun. Expensive but the food and service make it worth it. I am not sure when restaurants became louder the elementary school cafeteria or when the proper attire went from coat and tie to shorts and sandals. Decor has a nautical theme including sea shell covering the columns.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service was great. Everyone's steaks and fish was fantastic. Red potatoes were to salty, and I like salt. Calamari appetizer was out of this world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent Oysters and shellfish. We enjoyed the Crab Claws and legs chilled. Superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.