Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About Wally's Desert Turtle

"The Finest Dining in the Coachella Valley" Executive Chef Pascal Lallemand brings his culinary experience to the desert offering a refreshed and re-imagined take on Modern California Cuisine. And the local response has been "Amazing"!

An Official California Dining Destination, Wally's Desert Turtle in Rancho Mirage proudly supports local Ranches, Farms and Fisheries committed to the smart-stewardship of the planet through sustainable, earth-friendly and ocean-friendly practices.

The finest local ingredients, impeccable service and exceptional surroundings always make for "A Great Night Out" at Wally's Desert Turtle.

71775 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
OPEN Six days a week at 5:30 PM with a last seating at 9:30 PM.

Special seating available. Please call for details.

February - March
Open 7 Days a Week

April & May
Closed Mondays

June 20th - October 13th - Closed for the Summer

Cross Street:
Bob Hope Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 568-9321

Website:
http://www.wallysdesertturtle.com/

Entertainment:
Great Live Entertainment Nightly with the Bolivar Brothers, Michael and John ... playing the standards, the classics, some current hits, and a sprinkling of guest requests ...

Celebrating Springtime in the Desert with a $38 Three-Course Seasonal Prix Fixe Menu in our Bar and Sahara Lounge, from 5:30pm to 6:30pm, Sundays through Thursdays.

Catering:
Wally's Desert Turtle offers a wide range of superb catering events including elegant and intimate cocktail receptions, large-scale charity luncheons, formal plated dinners, and grand party buffets. We are also proud to be the exclusive onsite event caterers for the PGA Tour CareerBuilder Challenge, formerly known as the Humana Challenge, and previously as the famous Bob Hope Desert Classic. Wally’s is also the exclusive caterer for the Clinton Foundation of the Coachella Valley. Call or email our Special Events & Catering Department Ph#760-568-9321 or Email at wallysdtcatering@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Valet Parking, Private Lot Self-Parking, and Street Parking available

Public Transit:
Sunline Transit Agency
Bus Line #111
Bus Stop #659
Highway 111 and Rancho Las Palmas Westbound

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Richard Pelz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 1:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "A Beautiful Fall Affair"

Christmas Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 3:00pm - 9:30pm - Reservations a Must - "A Winter Wonderland of Lights, Music, Dancing, Food and Libations"

New Year's Eve - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 5:30pm - 1:00am - Reservations a Must - "Always a Celebration to Remember"

Valentine's Day - Special Prix-Menu: 6:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "The Most Romantic Day of the Year Deserves to be Celebrated at the Most Romantic Restaurant in the Desert"

Easter Brunch - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 10:30am - 2:30pm - Reservations a Must - "Celebrate the Season of Renewal"

Mother's Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 1:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "Champagne Brunch to Celebrate our Moms"

May/June Events - Special Prix-Fixe Menus: 6:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations Welcome - "Dads, Grads, Proms, & Restaurant Week"

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Wally's Desert Turtle is one of the desert's premier locations for upscale private dining. An elegant, classy and majestic space to host family celebrations, corporate events or just memorable moments.

Wally's Desert Turtle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Romantic (66)
See All
Good for a Date (57)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Live Music (37)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Private Room (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Cozy (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Historic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
People Watching (13)
Business Meals (11)
Authentic (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was great. Very nice and appropriately attentive waiter. The filet was excellent but I would say the whitefish was just ok. So that was why I didn't give more stars for food and value. It is bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 17, 2017

First class experience as I've become accustomed to at Wally's. The entree's were incredible, the service excellent and Michael stopped by our table at least twice to ensure that my wife and I were enjoying our time there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always enjoy dining at Wallys. Nice to see the staff doesn't change and the service is above average.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I had the short ribs which were delicious and my wife had the salmon was also very good. However my wife and father and law had the "crab-egg dish which was terrible. Had no flavor and we left over half on the table. I asked for a coffee and never got it. Was NEVER asked if we wanted another drink at the table. We had to asked to have our empty plates removed that had been sitting at our table for at least fifteen minutes.

Overall it was not an enjoyable or memorable evening especially for a special Mothers day event. I will probably NOT come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been goingi to Wally's for 35 years. It is the best "special occasion" restaurant in the Valley. Michael Botella is the ultimate host and everything about Wally's is excellent. Cannot go wrong.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wally's is elegant fine dining and great for any special occasion. Their Mother's Day brunch was fabulous.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As usual, Wally's didn't disappoint. The Mother's Day brunch was a special event. The menu offered a nice variety of options and the presentation outstanding. We would clearly recommend Wally's for a memorable experience.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love Wally's! I've been there many times and the food is outstanding! Always a 5 star experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I cannot say more. Very satisfying and pleasing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great for an elegant dinner and quiet conversation with soothing music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was superb! Great location, presentation and service were impeccable. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As always we enjoyed our meal and the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We celebrated our 32 anniversary at Wally's. I had been there before, but my husband had not. The food was excellent, the service was superb and a fine time was had by the two of us and our guest. It was well worth the price of the meals which is somewhat more than I usually spend, but hey, for a special night at a special restaurant, it was worth it. We will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Love this restaurant, consistently excellent!!! My favorite in the desert for service and good food!!'

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2017

VERY GOOD FOOD AND GREAT AMBIANCE, A CONSISTENTLY WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I were there on a Friday evening to celebrate our wedding with eight of our closest friends. I phoned the restaurant in advance to advise them of the special occasion, and they arranged for us to utilize a very lovely semi-private room called the Foyer Room. It was beautifully appointed with an amazing wall mural that evoked an European village at sunset. I was allowed to make our wine selections in advance and they also worked very cooperatively with me in making arrangements to serve our wedding cake for the dessert course. Everyone there swooned over all the food. Appetizers served included oysters on the half shell, Caesar salad, giant shrimp cocktail, bay shrimp served over bibb lettuce, escargots, etc. They were all delectable and served by a very attentive and efficient wait staff. The main courses included their signature Dover Sole, (which was prepared beautifully with accompanying Meuniere Sauce), Creek Stone New York Steak, Farm Roasted Lamb Rack, Classic Calves Liver, Manila Clam Vongole, and Maple Leaf Seared Duck Breast. Everyone was very pleased with their choices, but it is worth noting that the folks who ordered the Dover Sole and the Duck Breast literally raved over their meals. Our lead waiter was Sarah, who did a stellar job taking care of us. She seemed to magically appear whenever we needed her, yet was never overbearing or obtrusive. All those who assisted her were professional and pleasant in every way. All in all, it was a magical evening in every respect. We are already making plans to return before the restaurant takes it summer hiatus.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fine Dining. What a wonderful time. Living in So. Cal., I'm over going out for a nice meal and seeing other patrons dressed like they have no respect for themselves or other diners. Wally's was sophisticated and respectful. The food and service were Excellent. Best meal & experience in a long, long time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We love Wally's. It's such a special place. Great service, fantastic cocktails and sublime food. Save your calories for one of their signature soufflés.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We visit Wally's every time we're in Palm Springs and it was better than ever on this visit. It's a great place for traditional fine dining, steaks, rack of lamb, Dover sole etc. We had salads of burrata with heirloom tomatoes and green and yellow endive which were flavorful and generous. The shrimp in the shrimp cocktail were huge and the cocktail sauce was great. We each had the filet mignon which is served topped with a horseradish crust, the perfect compliment to a really quality filet. To top it off we had the grand marnier soufflé, which I think was the best I've ever had, the texture both creamy and fluffy, with pronounced but not overpowering grand marnier flavor. We left Wally's very happy and looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We were treated like special friends! I love the old school ambience. There were 6 of us and everyone had something different and everything was delicious. The service was exceptional. We will definitely be going back and happily refer!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 1, 2017

This was my first time dining at this gorgeous restaurant and I absolutely enjoyed it. The specialty cocktail was a tad too strong and my friend and I couldn't drink it so we ordered a glass of champagne instead. I was surprised to see them still charge us for a drink we made clear was not enjoyable. Regardless, my friend and I still had a wonderful dinner and plan to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wally's is a classic continental restaurant. Beautiful interior, amazing service and outstanding food. The hi lights for me is the perfect Ceasar salad including sardines, fresh and crispy lettuce. Their signature dish is the Dover sole amandine that never disappoints. Be sure to try Wally's soufflé's, they have a variety of flavors. My favorite is the Grand Marnier. I love Wally's, especially for those special moments in my life.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

we are still working our way thru the menu ,so far so good duck was tasty and filet was perfect we will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful. Dover sole was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Service was slow. Too cold inside as was the soup.
Not worth the cost of the meal which was hefty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Came recommended by a friend and did not disappoint.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place great service great food try it you will not be disappointed

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great high end Desert dining. Ok, so it feels like it's still 1977 inside. Not a bad thing at all, imo. Food is slightly less than outstanding, but service and ambiance (and martinis) were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was my finance's birthday and they couldnt have made it more special! Food was great and the jazz sax performer, John, was fantastic and treated us to numerous special songs just for us. Service was great, drinks were great, and the food was even better.
Well done! 5 star!

Tags: Live Music, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This place is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Everything was superior (food, service, drinks) until the bill came and there was a corkage charge added that we did not use, we only had cocktails and wine from the list. Disappointed with the weak apology we received from the maitre'd considering the service all night had been very attentive from a very well trained wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Wally's is our top pick for the valley. It's quiet and comfortable. The service is alway there but never in your face. The food selection is excellent. The desserts are the best. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We made a reservation for 5:30. There was quite a bit of confusion on which waiter was responsible for what table. It was 6pm, 25 mins after seating before our waiter appeared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very pleasant. Wally's was recommended by a friend who is a foodie. Overall, we had a very nice Easter dinner with our in-laws and with our 9 and 12-year-old kids. The warm dinner rolls were a big hit - very tasty! This is an old-school kind of place. I had the duck ( which is hard to execute properly), my son had a huge New York steak, and my mother-in-law had the fish. All were good. Is this elevated dining? No. But a very solid performance. The soufflés were excellent. The Baked Alaska, which is my favorite dessert, was not executed how I expected it to be. They do not light it on fire with Rum, so I left a little bit disappointed. This is another style of the desert, just not my preferred one. The best part of the restaurant is that it feels warm and cozy, and that you can have nice conversation. There is live jazz in the background, but it is understated. Atmosphere is A+. For Palm Springs, this is one of the better restaurants we've been to, and we've been coming every year for over 15 years.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Can't say enough good things about Wally's. Love the food and the ambiance.
Its just a real classy place. Loved the fact that the manager/owner stopped by every table.
It makes you feel very special.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Go to Wally's each year for our Wedding Anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A little on the pricey side but food, service and ambiance makes it worth it for a special occasion. The hostess has been there 36 years and has lots of interesting stories. This is dining as it used to be.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was a little slow...orders were getting mixed up

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food and service was exemplary the night we were there. The ambience was one of being a guest not a "cover". The soufflé was light as air and full of flavour, so save room.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A visit(or two) to Wally's is always a highlight when in the area. An institution for nearly 40 years, it is hard to beat on any aspect of a great dining experience. The food is spectacular...fresh, perfectly seasoned and prepared, creatively and beautifully presented. The service is pitch-perfect, professional without being stuffy, warm without being cloying. The live music, usually a wonderful saxophonist, is just the right accompaniment in an establishment with history such as this one. A seat at the bar never disappoints if you can't get a table...or even if you can. The bar staff is top drawer. The decor is fresh, but not coldly modern; the understated elegance provides a perfect backdrop for outstanding fare and service. Proudly family-owned and run, Wally's is a gem!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.