Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.47mi

About Wally's Desert Turtle

"The Finest Dining in the Coachella Valley" Executive Chef Pascal Lallemand brings his culinary experience to the desert offering a refreshed and re-imagined take on Modern California Cuisine. And the local response has been "Amazing"!

An Official California Dining Destination, Wally's Desert Turtle in Rancho Mirage proudly supports local Ranches, Farms and Fisheries committed to the smart-stewardship of the planet through sustainable, earth-friendly and ocean-friendly practices.

The finest local ingredients, impeccable service and exceptional surroundings always make for "A Great Night Out" at Wally's Desert Turtle.

71775 Highway 111
Rancho Mirage, CA 92270
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, Steak

Hours of Operation:
OPEN Six days a week at 5:30 PM with a last seating at 9:30 PM.

Special seating available. Please call for details.

February - March
Open 7 Days a Week

April & May
Closed Mondays

June 20th - October 13th - Closed for the Summer

Cross Street:
Bob Hope Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 568-9321

Website:
http://www.wallysdesertturtle.com/

Entertainment:
Great Live Entertainment Nightly with the Bolivar Brothers, Michael and John ... playing the standards, the classics, some current hits, and a sprinkling of guest requests ...

Celebrating Springtime in the Desert with a $38 Three-Course Seasonal Prix Fixe Menu in our Bar and Sahara Lounge, from 5:30pm to 6:30pm, Sundays through Thursdays.

Catering:
Wally's Desert Turtle offers a wide range of superb catering events including elegant and intimate cocktail receptions, large-scale charity luncheons, formal plated dinners, and grand party buffets. We are also proud to be the exclusive onsite event caterers for the PGA Tour CareerBuilder Challenge, formerly known as the Humana Challenge, and previously as the famous Bob Hope Desert Classic. Wally’s is also the exclusive caterer for the Clinton Foundation of the Coachella Valley. Call or email our Special Events & Catering Department Ph#760-568-9321 or Email at wallysdtcatering@gmail.com

Parking Details:
Valet Parking, Private Lot Self-Parking, and Street Parking available

Public Transit:
Sunline Transit Agency
Bus Line #111
Bus Stop #659
Highway 111 and Rancho Las Palmas Westbound

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Richard Pelz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 1:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "A Beautiful Fall Affair"

Christmas Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 3:00pm - 9:30pm - Reservations a Must - "A Winter Wonderland of Lights, Music, Dancing, Food and Libations"

New Year's Eve - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 5:30pm - 1:00am - Reservations a Must - "Always a Celebration to Remember"

Valentine's Day - Special Prix-Menu: 6:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "The Most Romantic Day of the Year Deserves to be Celebrated at the Most Romantic Restaurant in the Desert"

Easter Brunch - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 10:30am - 2:30pm - Reservations a Must - "Celebrate the Season of Renewal"

Mother's Day - Special Prix-Fixe Menu: 1:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations a Must - "Champagne Brunch to Celebrate our Moms"

May/June Events - Special Prix-Fixe Menus: 6:00pm - 10:00pm - Reservations Welcome - "Dads, Grads, Proms, & Restaurant Week"

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Wally's Desert Turtle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Live Music (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 18, 2017

WE love Wally's. The menu is very good).
Service is first class.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Terrible service. Waited 45 minutes after finishing our entries to ask about our dessert which was ordered with our dinner. Arrogant waiter told us they were swamped (restaurant was less than half full) with orders for Soufflés and that two had "exploded" while being prepared. We cancelled order and requested a check which still had a charge for desert. From the time we finished our entries until we had a correct check 65 minutes had passed. Will never return to Wally's!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was the third time I've eaten at Wiley's. It was wonderful. I had steak Hercules what was the best steak I've ever had.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Glasgow)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Really enjoyed our first visit to Wally's. Hope to return soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

loved this place the first time went but service has been going. sent this email to them and never heard back: "We have been coming to Wally's for years. The problem is that each time we come the service declines. While it was once both personal, warm and professional. It is now most often rushed and perfunctory. And there were mistakes that even a less elegant restaurant would not make. Empty glasses left for 20 minutes +. Waiter kept asking if my wife was done with her plate and eventually took it before she was done. Our guess was that our mains were fired and the rush was on. Worst, as soon as our table was cleared of our main course, desserts were immediately set down! No coffee first offered, no time to digest a bit-----Probably because a souffle was ordered and was beginning to fall. "

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved the food and service was first rate. A little disappointed that we got stuck in the side room as the main dining area was beautiful. It was my first time there, so be sure to ask for the main dining area. Other than that, a very good experience.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This isn't a lovely restaurant. Wonderful service, old school type place. It is one of our favorites. Love to go there when it is restaurant week here in the valley...makes it a little more cost effective. Grand mariner soufflé was wonderful. I had lamp chops.....also good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Marvelous, spectacular as always. We went during restaurant week and the selections were as outstanding as their normal dinner menu. A very elegant restaurant that never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was good as well as the service. The owner came by and checked in us.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our experience was phenomenal! The second we walked in your treated like a celebrity! The service is amazing, restaurant is beautiful, the food was very delicious! We are definitely coming back and I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great service; and we all loved the prix fixed menu (especially the calimari steak appetizer and the filet entree). Decor is dated though (restaurant definitely needs a new carpet!)

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This was our second visit to Wally's and it was exceptional! We brought two friends who had never been before, and they were thoroughly impressed. The food is wonderful, and the service is great - they are there when you need them but don't hover and bother you, as in other restaurants. We can't wait to go again, after the summer hiatus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had a lovely quiet booth, as my husband requested. Service was friendly, and they treated us like royalty. The food was exquisite.
It was our birthaversary which is my birthday and our 21st anniversary. Lovely

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Superb atmosphere.....wonderful waiter...JB and service staff......
Delicious food...cooked to desired order.........

Soft music.....what more can one desire??...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

the food was excellent but the service was terrible. Our waiter may have been new but he just stood around by the kitchen entrance. Did not walk around the tables. Never asked how our food was or did we want anything else. I had to ask where my wine order was and he said he thought we brought our own wine. Well, how could we drink it if you never opened our bottle?
We did not bring wine but ordered from the menu by the glass.
Thankfully the guys who brought the food and bus boys were very good.
the food was excellent and that is the only reason we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Old-school restaurant that still delivers. Traditional menu and service. The menu and atmosphere could be described as 1980's elegant. Rather pricey. Overall, it was a fun experience that I might repeat occasionally.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Hadn't been to this restaurant for several years. It was dated but still a part of the old desert. The wait staff seemed liked originals but still willing to serve. It was pleasant to go back in time, but I would like to see this restaurant updated. The building is great and would lend to a more modern look. Overall a good evening. One thing my friend and I remarked on was that the food portions were still old time too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Wally's has been a favorite in the desert for years. Professional wait staff. Beautiful presentations. Excellent food. This is the way fine dining should be. For special occasions or when you want a truly lovely evening, this is the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

What an excellent dinner. We all very much enjoyed the great service and warm welcoming from the owner. Great place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great night with perfectly prepared food and drinks. Sara and JB took really good care of us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We had the rack of lamb and it was great! Service was attentive and atmosphere was enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Have not been to Wally's in 20 years.
The restaurant is attractive and the food is
very good. We were a bit disappointed with the service. There is plenty of staff on the floor but they seem to spend more time visiting with one another then taking care
of the guests. A waiter takes your order then goes to another person who places the order on the computer. Then they talk for 5 minutes between the two of them. After our entree arrived it took forever for someone to check to see if we were pleased with our food. Meanwhile, I flagged down a bus boy to order another glass of wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 4, 2017

As always at Wally's, service was exceptional, nice ambience enhanced with a clarinet player at the bar, excellent food choices at reasonable price. Great experience and we will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We have been going to Wally's for the past three years during restaurant week. My two sisters and their husbands come over here to the desert and 105 degree heat just to go to Wally's. It is our favorite restaurant. They always have made us feel welcome. The food options for Restaurant Week are many and excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at Wally's. Went for Restaurant Week, and menu was varied and a good value for an upscale restaurant. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Just an amazing restaurant. Food was delicious and the customer service was above and beyond. The ambiance was delightful with live music and I enjoyed every minute. Extremely welcoming. Thank you!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had heard this was an expensive and stuff place, we heard wrong. The place was elegant it start with free valet. Coming into the restaurant we were greeted by the hostess who was wonderful. The dining room is beautiful, the service was superb, the drinks were solid pours, the food was outstanding. Each course was a wonderful surprise. I can't wait to go again. The owner visited each table to welcome guests and visited close to the end of the meal to see if everything met our expectations, I felt he really cared!! We will be back!!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2017

If you would like a Flawless experience, this is the place. It's elegant, but not stuffy. The Filet Mignon was one of the best I have ever had. Like butter, you could cut it with a fork. The service was exceptional, and the live entertainment
was not too loud or too soft. He gladly took requests.
We were there for "Restaurant Week" and we had a blast. No jackets or ties required, however, dress up to keep up with the exquisitely dressed women.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our first visit to Wally's and it exceeded all of our expectations! The food and service were impeccable, and the ambience is casual elegant... We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Not impressed with the decoration , its totally outdated, it really needs a rev up. The food was just ok, we tried the onion soup it was watery, the ceasar salad not good, the filet was very good in taste and the salmon was tasteless. The souffles were very good at least the chocolate one, the baked alaska was the worse I have eaten . Martinis ok . The service was great do.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had a fabulous evening celebrating our friends anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had a very wonderful special evening celebrating our friend Steve's birthday! Everyone's dinner was excellent as well as the service was exceptional!!
Perfect spot for a special occasion! I highly recommend going there! The ambience is exceptional!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We dined at Walley's during restaurant week. Could not have been more satisfied. The ambiance was so inviting. The service impeccable. The food delicious.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Wally's is always great. Consistently great food and service.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Birthday dinner. Excellent service and best meal in California that we have had in a year. Quality equivalent to Ritz Hotel in Paris. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Wally's is one of our very favorite restaurants and we always go there when we come to the desert. This time we took advantage of the Taste of Wally's pre fixe menu which was a great value and the food was delicious, as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Wonderful meal, great service! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The service was great. Very nice and appropriately attentive waiter. The filet was excellent but I would say the whitefish was just ok. So that was why I didn't give more stars for food and value. It is bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 16, 2017

First class experience as I've become accustomed to at Wally's. The entree's were incredible, the service excellent and Michael stopped by our table at least twice to ensure that my wife and I were enjoying our time there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. Light live music play was nice.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.