Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.22mi
  2. Distance: 3.27mi
  3. Distance: 3.61mi
  4. Distance: 3.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.22mi
  2. Distance: 3.27mi
  3. Distance: 3.61mi
  4. Distance: 3.62mi

About Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof

Dine in wine country elegance

Located on the Messina Hof Winery estate, The Vintage House offers the finest dining with particular attention to fresh vineyard cuisine. Each and every dish incorporates one of our award-winning wines. Linger over quiet conversation in the romantic Barrel Room or looking out upon our vineyards. Savor a wide variety of scrumptious appetizers, salads and entrees, all designed with wine in mind. Indulge in our decadent desserts, we even offer Bananas Foster flambéed tableside. We are here to serve you! Recognized by Sante" Magazine for our high standards of quality in Fine Dining and Wine Hospitality and rated one of the Most Romantic Restaurants in America by Open Table.

*For parties of 8 or more an automatic gratuity will be added*

4545 Old Reliance Rd.
Bryan, TX 77808
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday-Friday:11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Earl Rudder Fwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(979) 599-7339

Website:
http://www.messinahof.com/

Entertainment:
Messina Hof Winery & Resort, a Texas vineyard established in 1977 by Paul and Merrill Bonarrigo, is rooted in the union of two family heritages.

Our 100-acre estate, of which 42 host the vineyard, is nestled in Bryan, Texas.
In addition to the winery, the estate is home to The Villa bed & breakfast, The Vintage House restaurant and the Winemaster's Room wine bar. Tours and wine tastings are offered seven days a week. Our calendar of events is packed with cooking classes, wine appreciation classes, food and wine pairing seminars, murder mystery and winemaker dinners, and more!

Catering:
No out side catering

Parking Details:
Paved parking lot

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepley

Private Party Facilities:
Event Venues
Your event is sure to be truly unique when set in one of our beautiful venues located here at the breathtaking 100-acre Messina Hof estate:
The Barrel Room
The Deck
The Gallery
The Gazebo
Lake Messina Hof
The Rose Garden
The Villa
The Vineyard Room
The Wine Bar and Lakeside Room

Weddings by Designer Events
"Make Yours The Perfect Wedding"
Imagine...your wedding in the natural beauty of a vineyard...or near a spring-fed lake on a private estate...or graced by a 19th Century chateau.


Imagine...this perfect venue...complete with hand-prepared gourmet cuisine.
Our Designer Events staff at Messina Hof has the creativity, knowledge, and expertise to help make your event exactly the way you want it....perfect and hassle-free.
"Let us create for you the uniquely designed wedding of your dreams. May you share many vintages together,"
- Merrill Bonarrigo

Private Party Contact:
Designer Events: (979) 778-9463 ext. 234

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Premiere Dinner
New Years Eve Celebration
Spring Release Dinner
Harvest Dinners

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Scenic View (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (5)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fireplace (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Average food at an average price. Food was not served hot, lukewarm. 3 of us had the ribeye and 1 had the fillet. Veggies were very bland that came with the steaks. Creme brûlée was very good. Would not return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wine and ambiance was excellent. Food was hit or miss, some good some mediocre. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was wonderful, highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was a fantastic venue! We came here for my graduation celebration and absolutely loved the restaurant. It had beautiful views of the vineyards, great staff, wonderful wine, and excellent food! We we very impressed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were there for lunch before an A & M graduation. We had a party of 11 and everyone enjoyed their meal! The food was tasty and the portions generous. We also had good wine. We also used this restaurant for another graduation a few years ago. We would highly recommend it! We had a wonderful young lady, Tammy Oh, as our waitress. She was very sweet, knowledgeable and friendly! Great time was had by all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was bland but the restaurant was beautiful and the staff was very friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We only did brunch, so I really cannot comment on the other activities. Will definitely go again....would love to do a mystery dinner.....and maybe candlelight tour. Our server was Madison....she was delightful....food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The veal was some of the best my wife had ever tasted. The sauce was outstanding on all of the meats.
We drove down from Dallas to take our aggie grandson and his girl friend out for a special time. We had wanted to stay at the Winery but it was full with wedding party.
Hope to stay at the Winery sometime in the future.
The deserts were outstanding. We would recommend to all our friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had the daily fish special - monkfish. It was delicious tasting however the portions were so very small and pricey for such small portions. ... after finishing our meal, we stopped on the way home to Conroe from Bryan just to get pizza.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was excellent as always. Moderately easy access for a 90+ mobility impaired guest. The brick walkway from parking lot to front door a bit challenging. The meal was worth the effort.
Service was "just right" attentive, but not overbearing.
The view of the vineyards is pleasant and makes the evening very relaxing.
Absolutely will do it again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I love Messina Hof. The food is absolutely amazing. Our service was at the top last night! Calamari is the hands down the best that we have ever had! Last night we celebrated a birthday and our celebration was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Outstanding service and menu; my spouse and I had a wonderful experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food, really delicious and the wine pairings are wonderful. Service was poor- I would have spent at least another round of wine and then dessert and port if we just could have gotten reasonable attention from our waitress. Not only did we just sit there for 15 minutes before being offered a drink or cocktails, the restaurant was nearly empty- the hostess noticed we weren't being served. There shouldn't have been any distractions. When pasta arrived, we asked for ground pepper and the watched her walk by the counter with the pepper grinders 3 times as she went about whatever. Then when she had served another table (it was a large group so maybe she thought there would be a bigger tip), she brought over the pepper shaker which was out of pepper and then said it was finely ground. We left without dessert because we couldn't get her attention to order it. The hostess was great, our waitress not so much. A little better training and they could make more money as well as we have a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We spent one night at The Villa with my wife, my son and my daughter in law ( her Birthday), the villa is very nice, the room are outstanding, we decided to eat at the Restaurat ( Le Chain )
What surprise, al of the meal was cold, The lambs chops, The Pork Rosstised, The meat
The manager only said Ok I am sorry, but we have a table with 10 persons (?????) in a restaurant for at least 70 points

If you are in a list of Le Chain , you have to do the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is a great place for a romantic dinner. The prices are reasonable and the service was very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our One Year Anniversary there and it was a great great experience. Loved the atomsphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love the atmosphere, food and wine - and the service is excellent!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The wine offerings were good. The pairing of wine to appetizer was really good. Our party ordered 4 different meals. After waiting, the server notified us that they did not see the steak order, so it would be a little while longer. One of the other dishes was the Taste of Texas. When we were notified about the steak, we wanted to make sure the other three meals would not be kept warm using heat lamps. When our dinner was served, we received two steaks, but not the Taste of Texas without any explanation. The dishes were lukewarm indicating they were kept warm using the heat lamp. We notified the manager and were provided two additional complementary meals to take with us. I commend the management on their handling of this, but I would have preferred to enjoy the meal as ordered. We were from out of town, so the re-heated meal was not quite the same.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Reservation was at 6:45, left restaurant after 10 pm. Service was awful due to under-staffing, only one waitress on Parent's weekend, what were they thinking. We had to actually ask for wine, dessert, and finally moved our own dirty plates to the end of the table, maybe the manager should have jumped in to help but no, only the one waitress. I think if there had been more staffing things would have been better; but at the very least the waitress we did have could at least have apologized for the very, very slow non existence service, but then again with an auto gratuity of 20% she didn't have to. Unfortunate that our experience was so bad as this was our first time there and had been told good things about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Celebrating birthdays w friends. Great time sampling wines and having dinner. Will definitely be back as a group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and have found that it overall food quality has declined over the last year. The service is always great, the lamb was just not up to par and the calamari appetizer was not Crisp as you would expect pinko.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I brought a group of friends here from out of state for a special dinner. The waitress seemed to be unorganized. We had half of our party waiting on our water for several minutes. We had to wait for her to take our order after she was through making a flambe dessert for another table. The restaurant wasn't crowded at the time. I was embarrassed for suggesting this place. The food was wonderful, but the wait time was excessive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Wonderful experience overall with very good service and excellent Good!
Fried calamari for an appetizer, dinner for two, (I had the stuffed lamb chop with vegetables - excellent), and then bananas foster flambe made tableside for dessert! All while enjoying an excellent cab - reflections of love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food and wine at Messina Hof restaurant. Very fresh ingreients and lovely wines to pair with different dishes. Nice view of vineyards outside. Excellent value for a fine dining experience!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The service was below standard expected for a restaurant of this nature - however I think it was the waitresses early part of her career, as other wait staff seemed very attentive to their tables. We were however very disappointed to see an automatic "gratuity" of 20% added to our bill at the end of the night - no where was it noted that this would happen, not when we booked, not on the website, not on the menu- we were a table of 6 and the service definitely did not earn a 20% tip. The meaning of a gratuity is a voluntary contribution - it should have been called a service fee and just we should have been told. The food was fantastic. We will probably not go back if the auto adding of the gratuity is standard practice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Visited the winery and stayed at the Villa. Wonderful experience and the wine and food were excellent. I had the swordfish; my wife had the scampi. Both were delicious. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was a great surprise for my wife. After years of marriage I had forgotten the basics it was a awesome date night and I will do this again.
Thank you

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Not impressed. Chairs were stacked in the dining room. The cheese tray was not special but looked like something my kid would have put together with the store bought butterfly crackers. We didn't even stay to order dinner. After the unappealing cheese tray with extremely salty crackers came out, we paid for our wine and left. We will never go back, not this foodie. There was nothing fresh about it. The only, I mean only, bright spot was our server, He was kind and courteous.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The filet was outstanding, the wine was absolutely delicious, which one would expect, given that it was at a winery. The ambiance was very nice and the dessert (bananas foster) was incredible, flamed and prepared right at our table!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

For lunch, love the vermunster sandwich!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always enjoy. Tried Calamari. Not exaggerating, best I ever had!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good food. Great service. Just wine, reasonanly priced, no beer or cocktails. Great for special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on March 1, 2017

As usually, Vintage House serves up a magnificent meal! Exceptional wine paired with exceptional service equals an extraordinary meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is my second lunch at Messina HOf--the atmosphere, the food, the wine and the service are excellent. We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good for our anniversary and party of six, the pre-orders worked well.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great atmosphere for party of two or 50. Great selection of food and beverages.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very disappointed with the Vintage House. The food was not good, the waitress was not attentive and the service was extremely slow. I will not be going back again.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time visiting the restaurant, but have been to the wine tasting room next door. Table was ready when we arrived. It seems we might have come at a busy time because it took over an hour to get our food. The back room was very loud. Concrete floor, tin and glass make a nightmare for sound. They tried to cover the ceiling with cork, but doesnt really help. Our Waitress was scattered and didn't even ask if we wanted more wine after we polished off our first bottle waiting for food. Food was mediocre at best. Had the filet and blackend mahi. Most likely will not return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Host was friendly and prompt, as was our waitress. They were not busy, but we were not her only table, either. Good value for our meal, including a bottle of wine. Selection of entrees was excellent, from red snapper to pork tenderloin, pasta to rib eyes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, superb food, and wonderful service. Will definitely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.