Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.22mi
  2. Distance: 3.27mi
  3. Distance: 3.61mi
  4. Distance: 3.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.22mi
  2. Distance: 3.27mi
  3. Distance: 3.61mi
  4. Distance: 3.62mi

About Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof

Dine in wine country elegance

Located on the Messina Hof Winery estate, The Vintage House offers the finest dining with particular attention to fresh vineyard cuisine. Each and every dish incorporates one of our award-winning wines. Linger over quiet conversation in the romantic Barrel Room or looking out upon our vineyards. Savor a wide variety of scrumptious appetizers, salads and entrees, all designed with wine in mind. Indulge in our decadent desserts, we even offer Bananas Foster flambéed tableside. We are here to serve you! Recognized by Sante" Magazine for our high standards of quality in Fine Dining and Wine Hospitality and rated one of the Most Romantic Restaurants in America by Open Table.

*For parties of 8 or more an automatic gratuity will be added*

4545 Old Reliance Rd.
Bryan, TX 77808
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday-Friday:11:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Earl Rudder Fwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(979) 599-7339

Website:
http://www.messinahof.com/

Entertainment:
Messina Hof Winery & Resort, a Texas vineyard established in 1977 by Paul and Merrill Bonarrigo, is rooted in the union of two family heritages.

Our 100-acre estate, of which 42 host the vineyard, is nestled in Bryan, Texas.
In addition to the winery, the estate is home to The Villa bed & breakfast, The Vintage House restaurant and the Winemaster's Room wine bar. Tours and wine tastings are offered seven days a week. Our calendar of events is packed with cooking classes, wine appreciation classes, food and wine pairing seminars, murder mystery and winemaker dinners, and more!

Catering:
No out side catering

Parking Details:
Paved parking lot

Public Transit:
None

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Premiere Dinner
New Years Eve Celebration
Spring Release Dinner
Harvest Dinners

Specials

TAMU Game Day Special

Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thanksgiving Day Menu

Thursday Nov 23, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Christmas Eve Brunch

Sunday Dec 24, 2017 from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

New Years Eve Dinner

Sunday Dec 31, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

TAMU Game Day Special

Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

A coffee and cocoa rubbed 16 oz bone in ribeye steak panned seared and served with house mashed potatoes / chefs vegetables and our house made Messina Hof BBQ sauce. $36.00 per person, plus tax and tip. Excludes Tax and Tip. This special is offered on TAMU game days only. Special valid Sep 16, 2017 - Nov 25, 2017 on Saturdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Thanksgiving Day Menu

Thursday Nov 23, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Details

Salad Cranberry Salad Strawberry Almond & Jicama Salad House Salad Entree Roasted Turkey Ribeye Steak Roasted Pork Loin Dessert Pumpkin cheesecake Maple Pot de Creme Pecan tart. Excludes Tax and Tip. $69.95 per person, children 12 and under $12.95, plus tax and gratuity. Special valid on Thursday Nov 23, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM.

Christmas Eve Brunch

Sunday Dec 24, 2017 from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Brunch. Excludes Tax and Tip. Estate winery will close at 3:00 pm. Special valid on Sunday Dec 24, 2017 from 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM.

New Years Eve Dinner

Sunday Dec 31, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Dinner served 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm Reservations preferred. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Sunday Dec 31, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vintage House Restaurant at Messina Hof Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Scenic View (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had dinner at Messina Hof in March, it was not a pleasant evening. We returned in October hoping for the restaurant to redeem itself. It did, service was wonderful, the waiter was very personable and attentive, the food was very good, and the wine, excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Loved feeding the turtles...seeing barrels of wine love the large vineyard and it has like a Victorian like atmosphere! My whole family enjoyed est at the restaurant. Our server was super attentive and friendly. Will be going back with my hubby for our anniversary bed and breakfast stay there next year spring! Can't wait.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Second trip to this restaurant, food was great again. Service was good, place is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Brook took expert care of us for my wife's birthday (with assists from Jacob and Tammy). Her presentation of the Legend Salad (including the story behind it) was excellent. Chef Chris and Alex did a perfect job with the pecan-crusted sea bass, which paired perfectly with our wine. For dessert, the "big fire" presentation of the Cherries Jubilee flambé tableside was a great finish to the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great atmosphere! Service has very good! Food was good! Uncooked veggies was the only complaint I had. Not a big deal considering. Our server Brooke was very accommodating and friendly!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Another great experience!
Colette was great and our meal superb!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

One of the top restaurants in bcs. Love this place...our go to romatic place

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Steaks were excellent and the service was fantastic! Also loved the dessert!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 18, 2017

After leaving this review we were contacted by the restaurant, offered an apology and their sincere desire to try again. We accepted their apology and a gift card for use the next time we try the restaurant. Very unexpected and appreciated. Will leave another review after our return visit.



First review
We decided on supper here last minute while moving our daughter into her apartment. The atmosphere was great, the food was wonderful, the service was non-existent. Let me start by saying the restaurant was not that full, so what follows was not a function of an over worked staff. Don't know if our waitress was new or what the problem was. She was friendly, we ordered 2 cheese plates that never arrived, ordered 4 different wines, that were never refilled, And the other 4 people at the table did not even get drink orders taken. Saw her when we first arrived, and not again until our food arrived. We were a party of 8 so we got to pay the 20% tip anyway, very unlikely we will revisit, which is disappointing because the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My only complaint was that the special server listed as an appetizer, not an entre. No clear. Tasty, but an appetizer nonetheless.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Tables are separated enough that you feel like you are having a private meal. Unique menu choices and not disappointed with the final product. Beautiful presentation and tastes as good as it looks. We met with clients and it was the perfect atmosphere to build on relationships. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

This place has an interesting feel to it. It was nice but missing something I can't put my finger on. Either way, my mom LOVED the club sandwich and can't wait to go back for another.
Prices were reasonable and that bread and oil dip - MMMMM!

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food and ambiance was so much more than I ever expected. Most local wineries have sub-optimal wines. Theirs was remarkably good. Calamari was literally the best I've ever had (and we are NJ coastal Italian family). Our server, Madison, was simply exceptional. Just fabulous, in every sense of the word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Went here with some out of town friends for a Sunday brunch, we certainly were pleased we did the food and service is simply outstanding, we even met and chatted with the owners (Paul & Merrill) they are very engaging people and you can see the passion that they have for what they do, I highly recommend you put this on your to do list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This is one of our go to special events restaurants. Beutiful senery, great food, good service, can take a stroll before or after dinner to see the grounds which are fantastic. Highly recomend.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Scenic View, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We were there for our second time for our anniversary and found it to be a wonderful place for such an occasion. It being a Thursday evening it was very quiet which I enjoyed immensely. The food was excellent even though the beef was a minute amount dry for my husband especially since I prefer mine well done. The waitress was very friendly and cheerful and the service was exceptional. He wine was excellent! We will go back again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Lovely meal! The tableside Bananas Foster was probably the best we have ever eaten. All the food was extremely tasty and I love that they use locally grown ingredients (fig jam from a fig tree on their property!). Just a great experience....highly recommend!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great way to celebrate anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great dinner, with Bananas Foster made tableside for dessert. Plus take a walk over to the Wine room for some Sherry or Port and sit by the turtle pond.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I love this place. It felt very cozy and the winery made for a great view! The wait staff, particularly Madison, was very helpful and friendly even though we showed up pretty late at night. The food tasted exactly how'd you imagine at a small scenic restaurant. Everything about this place screams romantic night out without having to travel to the French countryside. I will definitely be coming back for more special occasions and will recommend this place to somebody looking for a unique dining experience and a way to impress the significant other.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My sister and I come to Messina Hoff for wine and a nice quiet lunch together every year on our sister trip. We will never leave this out of our annual vacation for just the two of us. The service is always excellent and it is quiet and a wonderful ambiance. The food is amazing and it allows for some great picture opportunities!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Nice get away for Saturday afternoon lunch over looking the Vineyard at Missina Hoff. Ambiance, good wine, and interesting choice in food. Enjoyed the quite atmosphere and elegant feel of the dining room. We had Penne Pasta with Chicken, Salmon, and the hamburger. All cooked perfectly and seasoned just right.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 27, 2017

So nice , cozy and relaxing experience !! Perfect for a date night or picnic

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Enjoyed the wines and views from the sunroom. Odd smell (maybe septic system?) in the main dining room was a distraction. Service was excellent and the foods were tasty.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Unbeknownst to us, we happened to reserve a table during A&M graduation and local prom season, plus there had been a wedding party earlier in the night, so the menu we were presented was considerably limited from what had been generally advertised. Although the choices were unimpressive, the food was still decent. The service was initially slow/distracted but improved as the place cleared out, and the prices for a fancy night out weren't obscene. We had a lovely table beside a window-wall next to the vineyard. I'd try it again if I specifically checked the availability of the full menu first.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Average food at an average price. Food was not served hot, lukewarm. 3 of us had the ribeye and 1 had the fillet. Veggies were very bland that came with the steaks. Creme brûlée was very good. Would not return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wine and ambiance was excellent. Food was hit or miss, some good some mediocre. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was wonderful, highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was a fantastic venue! We came here for my graduation celebration and absolutely loved the restaurant. It had beautiful views of the vineyards, great staff, wonderful wine, and excellent food! We we very impressed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were there for lunch before an A & M graduation. We had a party of 11 and everyone enjoyed their meal! The food was tasty and the portions generous. We also had good wine. We also used this restaurant for another graduation a few years ago. We would highly recommend it! We had a wonderful young lady, Tammy Oh, as our waitress. She was very sweet, knowledgeable and friendly! Great time was had by all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was bland but the restaurant was beautiful and the staff was very friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We only did brunch, so I really cannot comment on the other activities. Will definitely go again....would love to do a mystery dinner.....and maybe candlelight tour. Our server was Madison....she was delightful....food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The veal was some of the best my wife had ever tasted. The sauce was outstanding on all of the meats.
We drove down from Dallas to take our aggie grandson and his girl friend out for a special time. We had wanted to stay at the Winery but it was full with wedding party.
Hope to stay at the Winery sometime in the future.
The deserts were outstanding. We would recommend to all our friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had the daily fish special - monkfish. It was delicious tasting however the portions were so very small and pricey for such small portions. ... after finishing our meal, we stopped on the way home to Conroe from Bryan just to get pizza.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was excellent as always. Moderately easy access for a 90+ mobility impaired guest. The brick walkway from parking lot to front door a bit challenging. The meal was worth the effort.
Service was "just right" attentive, but not overbearing.
The view of the vineyards is pleasant and makes the evening very relaxing.
Absolutely will do it again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I love Messina Hof. The food is absolutely amazing. Our service was at the top last night! Calamari is the hands down the best that we have ever had! Last night we celebrated a birthday and our celebration was spectacular!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Outstanding service and menu; my spouse and I had a wonderful experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food, really delicious and the wine pairings are wonderful. Service was poor- I would have spent at least another round of wine and then dessert and port if we just could have gotten reasonable attention from our waitress. Not only did we just sit there for 15 minutes before being offered a drink or cocktails, the restaurant was nearly empty- the hostess noticed we weren't being served. There shouldn't have been any distractions. When pasta arrived, we asked for ground pepper and the watched her walk by the counter with the pepper grinders 3 times as she went about whatever. Then when she had served another table (it was a large group so maybe she thought there would be a bigger tip), she brought over the pepper shaker which was out of pepper and then said it was finely ground. We left without dessert because we couldn't get her attention to order it. The hostess was great, our waitress not so much. A little better training and they could make more money as well as we have a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We have tried several times to give this place a chance but the food is just..well...average. The veal was extremely greasy..sent it back twice and finally gave up. Went back again to try the steaks...very tough, chewy and under seasoned. The SERVICE HOWEVER is great and so are the wines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We spent one night at The Villa with my wife, my son and my daughter in law ( her Birthday), the villa is very nice, the room are outstanding, we decided to eat at the Restaurat ( Le Chain )
What surprise, al of the meal was cold, The lambs chops, The Pork Rosstised, The meat
The manager only said Ok I am sorry, but we have a table with 10 persons (?????) in a restaurant for at least 70 points

If you are in a list of Le Chain , you have to do the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.