Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Vinology Ann Arbor

Vinology was created to be your everyday wine bar. Over the years the Jonna family has enjoyed sharing wine, food, and spirits through their love of experimentation and education. Whether you are enjoying a glass of wine at our full-service bar, an intimate dinner with friends, or gathering for a corporate or social event in one of our private dining rooms, we maintain a passion and commitment towards exceptional, and innovative, food and wine.
When you dine at Vinology, you have our commitment that every detail from the food we select, to the wine we serve, to the service we provide will be executed with careful attention to detail. At Vinology, "wine" down, relax, experiment, and have fun while you educate your palate and savor the offerings!

“Great food. Award winning wine list. Intimately well-paced events”

110 South Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday 4pm - 12am midnight
Saturday 10am - 12am midnight
Sunday 10am - 10pm
The Kitchen closes one hour earlier than close time.

Cross Street:
Main Street between Washington and Huron

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 222-9841

Website:
http://www.vinologya2.com/

Catering:
Special menu packages are available for group luncheons and dinners. Inquire for details.

Parking Details:
Ample public and street parking, free on Sundays.

Public Transit:
Close to local bus routes, Greyhound and Amtrak in downtown Ann Arbor.

Executive Chef:
Adam Galloway

Private Party Facilities:
The Bubble Room, our largest private dining room, seats up to 60 guests and can accommodate 80 guests for a reception style party. The casually elegant Bubble Room features hundreds of hand blown glass bubbles suspended from the ceiling, original exposed brick, and a private bar. The Cellar seats up to 14 guests for private dining and tasting events. Wine bottles line the walls of this glass enclosed private dining room offering guests an immersive, intimate food and wine experience. To reserve a private room, call for Cindy at 734.222.9841 or email us at info@vinologya2.com

Vinology features two completely private rooms, a third semi private area, a floating screen, LCD projector, and private sound system. Our Event Planner will be happy to work with you to meet any additional equipment or décor needs for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Alonzo: (734) 222-9841

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Custom Wine Tastings, Signature Wine and food tasting pairing events like
Vino Value Wine tasting, Malbec Madness, Wines that Age, Beer Verse Wine, Patio Tasting, Black Wine Night.

Participate in Restaurant Week, Artini Bar Crawl and are prime spot to enjoy after seeing events such as the Art Fair, Green Fair, Big Conventions, Festifools and more.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vinology Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fun (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vegan (4)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience. We had a lot of fun reading the information in the booths about how wine is made. It was a great date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Really delicious and interesting flavors. Loved everything we had but especially the duck.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Breakfast on the sidewalk!! Food great. Bit slow on the coffee refill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We are in our Mid-late 50's & got together with another couple interested in enjoying different wines & sharing food items (Apps./Small Plates). Looking for a social place we could relax and get caught up over beverages & food as well as be able to talk & hear our conversation. Vinology was a great choice! We all enjoy picking our own trio of wine flights. Their menu was easy to read & user friendly with different logos highlighting the types & tastes! Small plates delicious options with "Must Try" Lobster Corndog & Charcuterie Boards! Wait staff very helpful & attentive as well. Would give them a 9 out of 10 for our first visit!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We had a lovely dinner here and I would highly recommend this restaurant. We had made a reservation in advance and were seated at one of the lovely semi private booths. My husband and I shared the mushroom tacos before dinner. They were the perfect starter. I had the lamb chops and my husband had the cap of ribeye. Both entrees and all the sides were delish. We shared the peach dessert. I loved the chef's creative touches. We were greeted warmly at the restaurant and treated like long time customers. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Very nice atmosphere, great value, nice menu selection to please lots of different tastes and very good selection of wines.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Planned to meet up with friends here for dinner but we showed up early and got to experience Vinology's brunch. The food was unique and delicious and the bottomless mimosas were quite a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

M
We had an excellent server who was very kind and helpful, however quite honestly the food was not overly spectacular for the price. Wine list is extensive (as it should be for a wine based restaurant!); but the food is lacking in variety and many people in our party didn't like the flavor profiles. Could be a matter of taste but in all likelihood we would not return because we really expected something different.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great service, food, and bottomless mimosa/Bloody Mary brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The establishment is much nicer than the photos make it out to be.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food at Vinology is some of the best I've had anywhere. I'm amazed at the amount of flavor packed into every bite. Additionally, our server let us take our time and had some great wine recommendations. Recommended for all the foodies out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We have dined at Vinology over the course of many years. At this visit, we noticed the menu had become overly complex, and over priced. We have never had so many questions as to what certain foods/ingredients were in the dishes. There were 4 of us dining, and we began with the charcuterie board with "Market Price" noted. For $24, we received a few thinly sliced meats, a small smear of beer cheese, and a few pieces of another hard cheese. Very disappointing. If you are looking for how a charcuterie board should be served, I would suggest you go to Toasted Oak in Novi.
We do enjoy the diverse wine selections at Vinology, but sadly, will not plan to return for dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our Salmon was dry. The waitress kept forgetting, lemons, water and for our cocktails, she actually wanted to charge us extra for a drink my husband didn't like and wanted to charge us extra to make the drink better (needed more alcohol) the drink was $13.00 already.
It was just overall disappointing not what we normally have had if this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food, drinks, service, art, and ambience were all fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent greeting by staff at the door upon arrival, nice seat location booth, very cozy and comfortable. Great appetizers, entree (salmon was just okay) service was positive, simple, friendly, efficient. Atmosphere was well received by everyone, will return, overall final total did add up quickly though...around $50 per person with one drink,

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We were celebrating my daughter's graduation from U of M and she chose Vinology for dinner.

Our waiter Damian was very attentive and provided great service, checking in on us often.

The baked Brie was a good choice for an appetizer. It was delicious.

The lamb chop was good, but the highlight of the dinner was the zucchini fritter. It was light and airy and was a interesting side to the entree.

The S'more dessert was amazing! So many wonderful flavors in one dish. The really unexpected ingredient was the sprinkling of small pieces of popcorn on the plate. It truly made you think of campfire S'mores while eating this dessert.

Vinology provided the whole package of atmosphere, service and food which made our dinner experience quite enjoyable, so I gave it a 5 star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent food and a friendly, helpful waiter made for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I just moved from Minneapolis to Ann Arbor and had high hopes for this place after seeing an article about the bartender and amazing line up of cocktails. It was meh. The food was meh. It arrived lukewarm. The beets were mushy and my scallops were bland. My husband enjoyed his wine flight... which is obviously what they are known for. Not memorable so we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great place to meet friends and have drinks and lite fare.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I first visited this restaurant about 2 years ago on a cold winter's night. It was very crowded and a nice find.

I recently visited Vinology on a Sunday evening in July. The restaurant was fairly quiet and had a deserted feel about it. I had the short rib tacos, a salad and a flatbread, along with a wine flight.

The tacos came out first, before the salad. The waiter apologized. The tacos were very good and tasty. My only disappointment was one of the soft taco shells were overcooked to the point that it was hard to chew. Maybe microwaved?

The salad was good but unremarkable. I wish it had come out first.

The flatbread was good - can't remember the name, but I enjoyed it. Overall, the combination of food was too much for 1 person to eat. But I enjoyed the meal.

I was most irritated with the waiter. He tried to be attentive but was never available when I needed him. The only other table in the restaurant was the booth next to mine and he spent the majority of the evening at that table. The other diners claimed to be food critics and were fauning all over him. And thus my evening consisted of hearing him and them banter back and forth for 20 minute (I kid you not) segments. It's a good thing the restaurant wasn't crowded. So I was just irritated that when I needed service, I simply could not get his attention.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We have been dining at Vinology since they opened. It has always been a true dining experience and we have always left happy until . . . last Friday.
The gnocchi which had been soft pillows of hand made cheesy potatoes, have turned into a pastry bag excretion of dough. The duck wings, were legs, and the spices so strong the flavor of the duck was disguised. The waiter seemed as if he had other things on his mind and did not even come back and see how we were doing. A $100 dinner for two was way overpriced.

Six months ago this was not the case. I am so disappointed. The only bright note is the wine was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My wife and I love this place! We live annhour away and happily drive the distance for the food! I've never had a bad dish here. I will say that often time when I am reading the dinner menu, nothing sticks out to me but I end up just picking something anyway trusting the chef and it turns out amazing. Their desserts are just as good as well. I don't really like alcohol but I tried one of their cocktails and it was actually really good so that's huge to me! Highly recommend!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Vinology brunch was okay! The poached egg dish I had was good. And my partner's omelet was even better. The wild mushroom and Brie omelette was delish! The hostess gave us a great booth and our server was pretty attentive. Only qualm was we did bottomless Bloody Mary drinks but we only ever got 1. Other than that I would recommend it for brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We are foodies and we eat at plenty of restaurants in plenty of places I America. AND OMG never did i want to not leave and keep eating. I only got to 3 appetizers but we will be back very soon. :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great place - first timer here. They were out of the duck wings and Bison, however great over all dishes and service.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Giving Vinology the benefit of the doubt this time as it was Restaurant Week and I understand that makes it harder for a restaurant. However, they were not full at 6:30 on a Saturday night and it should not have taken 45 minutes after placing my order to learn that they were out of the item I chose. Our waiter was very gracious and apologetic, and we did not make a fuss. We were pleased to be comped my substitute choice and, knowing we were headed to the theater, our waiter made sure all items came out quickly at that point. Everything was delicious (panzanella salad, pork belly flatbread, shortrib tacos, and duck breast). Somehow, I remembered a more extensive dinner menu, so I was disappointed that there weren't more things to choose from. Not being big wine drinkers, we couldn't appreciate that extensive menu, but hope that others would.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, People Watching, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had a beautiful creative dinner here for restaurant week. Offerings were almost all gluten free which shows that good food does not have to be swamped in butter and wheat to taste good. Even my Blueberry cobbler was GF, amazing. My new favorite spot! The lamb shank was outstanding, BTW

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This is the first time making a reservation, but the website made it easy to use on my phone. It was nice having an option of putting it on my calendar.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The best meal I've had in Ann Arbor for a very long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We had the Baked Brie, two Flatbreads, Caesar, both types of tacos and the creme brûlée. Most of the food was lovely (including tasty) except the Caesar, which was odd and not tasty. Though few people were in the restaurant (9 PM on a Wednesday), our server was less helpful and service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great place, Great wine. Must do place to eat and drink if you are in the Ann Arbor Michigan Area for any reason

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I have been coming to Vinology for years, and sad to say this by far was the worst experience I have ever had. I called days in advance for a 5 top group, was placed by the bathroom.
Our server was not very communicative at all, barely greeted us and then took a good 15 minutes to come back and take our drink order. He seemed very impatient with us as well.
The service from him in general made us feel like he didn't want to be there. Like I said, I have been coming here for years and will definitely continue. I just hope that I never have him as a server again.If I do, I will definitely ask to be re seated.
I have never left a review of bad service, but really felt the need to let you know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 31, 2017

It was great food made with fresh ingredients. Knowledgeable servers. Fabric Booth dividers are pretty but do not allow much privacy between groups of diners the table behind ours was quite loud and it could be distracting at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Vinology continues to please with its small plates, innovative menu, and wonderful wine list. It's especially nice to be able to have smaller portions of the entrees and the salads and flatbreads are great accompaniments to any meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Love this place! It's definitely a bit pricey, so plan to go with a group where you can share plates! We LOVE the curried cauliflower, grilled octopus, and mushroom flatbread!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day brunch. Great meal! Bottomless mimosas. Outdoor seating was nice. Vinology is always a great place for wine, for small plates, and now we know it's great for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Damian and Sean were really great servers. Every meal was fabulous!! Thanks!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was the best dining experience in the last year! The chef has really put together some magnificent choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.