Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Vinology Ann Arbor

Vinology was created to be your everyday wine bar. Over the years the Jonna family has enjoyed sharing wine, food, and spirits through their love of experimentation and education. Whether you are enjoying a glass of wine at our full-service bar, an intimate dinner with friends, or gathering for a corporate or social event in one of our private dining rooms, we maintain a passion and commitment towards exceptional, and innovative, food and wine.
When you dine at Vinology, you have our commitment that every detail from the food we select, to the wine we serve, to the service we provide will be executed with careful attention to detail. At Vinology, "wine" down, relax, experiment, and have fun while you educate your palate and savor the offerings!

“Great food. Award winning wine list. Intimately well-paced events”

110 South Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday 11am - 12am midnight
Saturday 10am - 12am midnight
Sunday 10am - 10pm
The Kitchen closes one hour earlier than close time.

Cross Street:
Main Street between Washington and Huron

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 222-9841

Website:
http://www.vinologya2.com/

Catering:
Special menu packages are available for group luncheons and dinners. Inquire for details.

Parking Details:
Ample public and street parking, free on Sundays.

Public Transit:
Close to local bus routes, Greyhound and Amtrak in downtown Ann Arbor.

Executive Chef:
Adam Galloway

Private Party Facilities:
The Bubble Room, our largest private dining room, seats up to 60 guests and can accommodate 80 guests for a reception style party. The casually elegant Bubble Room features hundreds of hand blown glass bubbles suspended from the ceiling, original exposed brick, and a private bar. The Cellar seats up to 14 guests for private dining and tasting events. Wine bottles line the walls of this glass enclosed private dining room offering guests an immersive, intimate food and wine experience. To reserve a private room, call for Cindy at 734.222.9841 or email us at info@vinologya2.com

Vinology features two completely private rooms, a third semi private area, a floating screen, LCD projector, and private sound system. Our Event Planner will be happy to work with you to meet any additional equipment or décor needs for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Alonzo: (734) 222-9841

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Custom Wine Tastings, Signature Wine and food tasting pairing events like
Vino Value Wine tasting, Malbec Madness, Wines that Age, Beer Verse Wine, Patio Tasting, Black Wine Night.

Participate in Restaurant Week, Artini Bar Crawl and are prime spot to enjoy after seeing events such as the Art Fair, Green Fair, Big Conventions, Festifools and more.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vinology Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (28)
Romantic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Bar Seating (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fun (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tapas (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Love this place! It's definitely a bit pricey, so plan to go with a group where you can share plates! We LOVE the curried cauliflower, grilled octopus, and mushroom flatbread!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day brunch. Great meal! Bottomless mimosas. Outdoor seating was nice. Vinology is always a great place for wine, for small plates, and now we know it's great for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Damian and Sean were really great servers. Every meal was fabulous!! Thanks!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was the best dining experience in the last year! The chef has really put together some magnificent choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great location! Fun! Close to everything.parking easy.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very enjoyable evening for two with good food and appropriate advice on wine selection.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent late night supper!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very limited food menu. Ran out of scallops and it was only 8:00... just not my cup of tea

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went to Vinology for a business luncheon. Our waiter made great suggestions. The braised beef chilaquiles were excellent. I will definitely go back to have another order.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

On this occasion we went for Easter Brunch and the menu was limited. We knew that going in and the choices were excellent. For the starter we both had the oatmeal creme brulee and it was DELICIOUS. I had the mushroom omelette with foraged mushrooms and it was also delicious. The toast was thinly sliced from fresh whole grain bread and toasted to perfection. We will certainly go again.

Tags: Fun, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful Easter brunch at Vinology. Our table was in the lower level and it was very pleasant and quiet. The food was fantastic!

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brunch... 3 out of 4 of us were dissatisfied with the food. The poached eggs on the eggs benedict were barely cooked even though we had asked for medium well with whites fully hard. The flavorless omelet was very plain with filling put in the fold just before serving. Several dishes came with sliced fingerling potatoes that were too brown and hard.
Nobody complained to the restaurant because it was Easter and we just wanted a harmonious get together with friends. If a chef can't cook eggs properly, they need to remove them from the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our experience was nothing short of amazing. The flowers I ordered were at the table when we arrived. The meal was the best meal I've had in a very long time. I ordered a flight of wine to try perfectly paired by our server, who was phenomenal. The owner, Vinny, came out and introduced himself and then came back later with a small glass of expensive wine from a big wig guest to help us celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Very cool. Will definitely go back and suggest vineology to my family and friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great brunch. Great atmosphere. Great drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Impressive collection of wines, enjoyable menu options, excellent service(!): attentive, professional with no rush on time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food, even better service! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our only problem with Vinology is the acoustics! Way toooo loud. But i'm sure they are aware of this and probably not willing to deal with it.......otherwise, it was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Server Damien was very attentive and helpful. Restaurant was noisy but bearable. Very good food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Restaurant was accommodating and was not upset at me when half my party of 16 failed to show up for brunch, which I appreciated. Food and service were also both quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was good; limited menu; expensive for quality and quantity

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great service, delicious food with wonderful vegetarian entrees in addition to meat dishes, fantastic wine list, and a very relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Brought my in-laws t celebrate my father in laws birthday. They like a slow, leisurely dining experience and enjoy wine. Our server, Richard, was the greatest. Upon hearing my request he was attentive, but not pushy and my in laws remarked what a great experience he made the meal. I had been at Vinology before and knew my in laws would like to see the bubble room down stairs. Richard took them down there and gave them a mini tour they loved. And of course the wine was spectacular and the food fantastic! You get your money's worth here. Always a relaxed, romantic, evening. Thanks Vinology!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing meal, wonderful wine, everything you could want before seeing a performance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wine & perfectly mixed drinks were lovely. Our server Damian was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was amazing! The PB&J for dessert was surprisingly delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a wonderful brunch experience at Vinology. I'd been before for dinner (also great) but never for brunch - we will be back! The food was amazing, the drinks were great (especially the pear mimosa), and our server was very helpful. We went around 11 and it was very quiet, and while it started to fill up around noon, was still quiet enough for easy conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Beet salad with burrata and "pb&j" dessert were both superb. Sturgeon entree was terrible...tasted of propane yet none of the promised horseradish or "mustard caviar." Weird and terrible. Just ate half because I was hungry and was never asked how it was, just whether I wanted to take it home. It's frustrating because I really want to like this place, but every once in a while over the years I'll just get a weirdly bad dish, so sort of down there on the list of our rotation. I think it's the execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Vinology was great! We came on a date night prior to a movie, and split five appetizer plates. The kitchen was able to accommodate me (I don't eat pork) and made a fantastic red pepper sauce in it's place on the grilled octopus!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food poor. Ordered hen meat was raw. Service very poor seems like waiter got upset when we complained. This place does not deserve a Michelin star for sure. Won't come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We came for brunch. The food was fun, good change from the standard breakfast offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentines Day celebration in Ann Arbor. This was the perfect ending to a beautiful day! Very friendly and courteous staff, great food and great wine list! Will recommend to friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The brunch selection was good and the kids food selection was more than we expected. We had a leisurely lunch and enjoyed the brunch drinks. The restaurant was busy and our waiter asked us to be patient, which we appreciated knowing. The shrimp and grits was a large sized meal and was quite tasty. The ban mi was well prepared also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Creative food. Outstanding waiter

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Vinology was great! Excellent wine selection and server was very knowledgeable about the wine list. Food was excellent especially the octopus and shortrib tacos! Dividers between booths make it a very intimate space that is great for conversation. The service was superb. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our server was very patient and attentive!! The Brie appetizer, vegetarian Paella, Fjord Trout and Cornish Hen were very good, as was the Caesar Salad. The veggie gnocchi and the mushroom tacos did not receive raves reviews with our group..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The meal was delicious. The service was perfect. This is one of our very favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious food beautifully presented

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went for dinner with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed the food, wine and all aspects of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Vinology is a favorite of my wife and is fast becoming one of mine. We went for Restaurant Week with its three course menu. I could've eaten an platter of the pork belly wontons I got for the appetizer. My wife loved her colcannon soup. For my entree I had a vegan paella with faux chorizo that didn't make me miss the meat at all. My wife went the opposite and had the very meaty and tasty lamb shank. Desserts were good too. I'm not the oenophile that my wife is so I appreciate the craft cocktail menu. Now we're looking forward to trying brunch here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.