About Villa O

This neighborhood trattoria features classic Italian cusine, produced with the freshest natural ingredients. If available, everything is made with 100% organic, pasture-raised, wild, or imported products.

4514 Travis Street
Dallas, TX 75205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday 11 am - 10 pm
Sunday 11 am – 9 pm
Happy Hour is offered Monday through Friday 3 pm - 7 pm
Come enjoy our half priced wine night on Wednesday.

Cross Street:
Knox

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 780-1880

Website:
http://www.villaorestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Under Ground Garage Parking

Executive Chef:
Vincenzo Indelcato

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Villa O Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Organic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Romantic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Love the pizza and sfuzzi’s! This is my favorite brunch spot in Dallas.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We've been to Villa O numerous times and it is usually very good, however, I think the restaurant may be under new ownership. The food was different. The mushroom fries were heavily battered and the chicken parmesan was dry and barely had any sauce accompaniment. The food arrived at the table warm but not hot out of the oven. Our drinks were so bad that we sent them back after being unable to drink them and the waiter still charged us for them! In addition, the service was poor. We were there for an hour and half but ordered as soon as we sat down. The waiter was very inattentive and had more tables than he could handle. Not a place for a romantic date. It's turned in to a spot to socialize and have drinks before going out for the evening. The problem is the bartender drinks are awful so stick with wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Took my daughter on her birthday for an early Thursday eve dinner. We ended up sitting outside because it was too cold inside with the a/c on. Service was almost non-existent. They also had patrons that were smoking on their sidewalk "couches". The penne pasta that my daughter ordered had an awful taste like it was stale. I asked for angel hair and the server brought me spaghetti instead. He told me it was because he didn't know how to make modifications on the order. The management should be blamed for not training him better. I had to literally go find our server at another point during the meal so that we could order, and then later I asked my daughter to go find him so that we could get our check and pay. Villa O was a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Always delicious food and drinks. One of my favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Cannot beat the all you can drink mimosas at brunch. They seriously rock...

But sadly, the food wasn't great this time. My friend and I both ordered eggs Benedict (she the crab cake and I, the Italian) and they were coolish and genuinely unappetizing. The ham even looked weird, like it had been frozen or something. Neither of us made a big deal of it - We were happy enough with the awesome drinks but the food bummed me out, since I had recommended this place based upon a previous experience (food had been awesome). Maybe an off day, but I was pretty put off and probably won't come back.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As always, Villa O never disappoints. Creative dishes, polished service and a great location in Travis/Knox area adjacent to Highland Park.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Quiet, good food, reasonably priced . The outdoor space is very pleasant

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Thank you for accommodating a bigger than expected party. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great time with friends for a birthday celebration. Only problem was the wait staff was minimal and it took a lot of time to get anything served to us. Still a great time, the staff was very courteous, and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food, great waitress, but the service was a bit slow. Took 15 minutes before she came to take our order. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Villa O has a great atmosphere and great food! I took my parents there while they were in town and it was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was great! However, I was bummed they missed my special instructions that it was a birthday celebration. They should have remembered and at least wished a happy bday, or brought a free dessert like most restaurants do.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Liked the mimosas the best. Food was really good too. Definitely great spot for brunch. Would go again for sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was excellent and service was great. The inside is loud, but we sat in the covered patio with a/c and were fine to have a conversation without yelling. The kiddos food choices were good and tasted really good. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My son and I love to go to Villa O for Sunday brunch. We are always treated like we're special and it sure makes for an awesome dining experience and the food is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Too. Loud.

The noise was unbearable for me and my parents to enjoy lunch. Service was acceptable after being seated 10 minutes after our reservation time and getting up to get our own menus after another 5 minutes... used to be an amazing place for brunch but very disappointed today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The restaurant was pretty much empty saturday night which was our first red flag. Service was slow and we were confused as to who was actually waiting on us. The menu looked good but our dishes were just mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

It was empty in there on a Saturday night and I don't know why. Great food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Villa O was very quiet when I went, which is surprising because it was wonderful. The food was fantastic (and I'm picky) and reasonably priced. The atmosphere was chic, and the employees couldn't have been nicer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our server Tony was great! He knew the menu well, he was attentive, and really kind!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food cold and horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Mostly good some bad things. Waiter was great; pleasant and attentive. Bottomless mimosas perfect blend of OJ to champagne and they were diligent about frequent refills. Food good and worth price, just not amazing. The only bad thing is the hostess/reservations. I made reservations and specifically requested outside seating when I called but none was available when we arrived - and the hostess didn't have that request next to my reservation. And she was very dismissive, almost rude. Another group was there at the same time and they were also displeased about what appeared to be something similar - they asked to speak to the manager about it. If they made accommodating their reservations more of a priority, I think that their reviews would reflect that.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our server Tony was one of the best servers I have ever had!! He was so attentive and accommodated our requests in a quick, efficient manner. Super friendly guy, deserves a raise or promotion for sure! We let the manager Mercedes know how much we appreciated Tony's service. He made our first experience at Villa-O a great one and we will definitely return!!!! Food was great and bottomless mimosas were a great deal

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

A good find for us, new to Dallas are. Food is good, chef friendly and talks with you about dining choices. Indoor / outdoor dining. 3 large groups were dining this evening, the noise level was on the higher side, so bring your friends along and enjoy group dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful food and such a fun atmosphere. Will be back for sure!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Travel no further than this little gem south of highland park to savor authentic Italian cuisine without a plane ticket . Be Italian ...ask the "0h so Italian" owner for advice for wine and food selection . You will not be sorry for his spot on advice . Andiamo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Even though there was a reservation we still had to wait a while for our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Vegan, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

There are not many places around Dallas where you can get a bottomless mimosa brunch for just $12 with the purchase of an entree. My friends and I have worked our way across the entire menu and have never had food that wasn't both delicious and uniquely presented. If you go, ask for Nathan! He is the best waiter and always makes you feel welcomed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Dinner was good not exceptional. We sat on the outdoor patio and it was comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Been here multiple times over the past few years, all of them great experiences. For some reason, the service on Saturday night was very disappointing. Ordered a second drink when the meal arrived but never saw the waiter again until it was time for the check. He blamed the "graduation parties" but I've seen the place busier without issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Nathan was the best!! I hope to have him as a server when I come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Not sure what has happened to the food. It used to be quite good. This time, all of our (3) meals were cold. And we ordered before the restaurant was crowded. Also, the bottomless mimosas have become very watery. For $12, I got about $1 of champagne. Won't be back for awhile, which is a shame because I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The bar was very slow, it took a very long time to get a glass of wine....we had to remind our server several times about our wine orders...the ice tea didn't take as long. It wasn't because the restaurant was busy, there were only 4 or 5 tables with customers at that time. Some liked their food, others thought it was mediocre.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was our first time dining at Villa-O and we enjoyed it very much! We will definitely go back again!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Both interior and patio are nice. I usually saw them packed for brunch on Sunday. Our server forgot to bring us few things we ordered and sometimes disappeared on us for some time, while there were only 3 tables occupied on Sunday evening including ours.
Food was OK in general although one third of my grilled salmon was left stuck on their grille. Alfredo pasta with shrimp that my friend ordered was also not very tasty so she fixed it with little bit of salt, but she probably won't order that again :-)
On the other hand they were quite accommodating and allowed us to bring the birthday cake from outside as we were celebrating 3 birthdays that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were told there wasn't a table on the patio even though we had reservations for mothers day and I had requested the patio. They said we could sit on the patio if we were willing to sit at a table that was half in the sun. We were right next to ame open 6 top that was on the shade. In about 30 minutes (right when we were beginning to get a little hot) they seated 3 ladies at the table for 6. This was really bad service. It really made me feel frustrated they would do that to us. Then our waiter forgot our appetizer...and to check on us and refill our teas. We were not impressed. We had to ask the waiter to comp the appetizer since he brought as we were finishing our meal.
We felt he should have offered this without us having to ask. He was a really nice person so it's unfortunate that he didn't take good care of us.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Possibly one of he worst experiences ever, had a 1:30 reservation. They said it would be about 10min and checked off our name. No problem it's Mother's Day. Then 20 min later we go and ask and they say they can put us in the hot sun - sorry - but it's Mother's Day and my mother really can't be in the hot Texas sun. Then they say we can share a high top with other people. Again. Reservation. Mother's Day. We notice a 4 top empty and they seat us there around 2pm
Around 2:10 we get our drink order in and apps in. Other people are seated around us as wel during this time

We order a bottle of wine and the wine is not available. He says we have another (they upcharge me for the other wine- it's on $4, but still c'mon man a comparable wine around the same price should be charged that way)

We still don't have apps, but we think they are going to be close so we put in a order for the pizza

Time is ticking, everyone around us now is finishing their mains and we still don't have apps

Cancelled pizza. Ate apps because we were starving. It's had been about 1 hour since we had been at our table and they did give us free dessert - which is fine - just not enough for a terrible Mother's Day, the first one I got to celebrate with my mother in 15 years. The place will survive. It's always busy. But I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I heard a lot about Villa-O from friends and I'm so happy that I finally got to go. My friend and I sat outside on the patio, enjoyed the weather, sunny day, not too hot and the best part, we people watched. My meal, I decided to get the Villa-O Organic Fritatta. DELICIOUS! So fresh, filled with veggies, tomatoes, Sautéed Spinach, Portobello Mushrooms, Red Bell Peppers and the best part, topped with Goat Cheese. SO tasty and filling. I cleaned my plate. And the bottomless mimosas, made my day!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

There was a fire alarm going off when we arrived. We were finally sat 15 minutes late and ordered drinks and apps. The apps were brought out within 10 minutes. Our drinks arrived 15 minutes after we got our apps. We had to ask twice and the bar was not busy. Then we ordered brunch. Everyone got there brunch except one person. The waiter forgot to place hers. When she realized she place the order she didn't ask the kitchen to expedite it, so after reminding the manager twice she got her eggs and bacon 30 mins after the table of 6 had finished. THEN after complaining twice the manager finally gave in and provided a $50 gift card. When we gave the gift card to him to take off the checks, he forgot and sent the same check back but not with the money off. It got worse, he refused to come back and talk to us and sent the waitress who clearly knew we were upset with her to deliver more bad news, that he had to add all of the checks back together and take the gift card off of one check. We come here all the time but that will be the last time. Learn how to recover from a fire alarm, not your customers problem. What a chaotic mess and sad end to a Sunday funday. I couldn't believe the service and inability to account for their lack of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My wife and I have dined in the area for years but never at Villa O. We got there early on a Friday evening to sit on the outdoor patio and enjoy the weather. We started with the turkey meatballs and each had a pineapple infused martini. Great start to the meal. That was followed by a few salads and rigatoni bolognese which was perfectly seasoned We each had a few more drinks and all in the dinner was $75. It was more than enough, everything was well prepared and fresh and delicious, and the early dining cut a lot off the bill. We were very impressed and a bit surprised because none of our friends had ever mentioned this restaurant.
I would have give a higher overall rating but the service was not very good. Salads arrived after the entree. Drinks arrived 20 minutes after they were ordered. But nonetheless it was overall a great experience. Oh, and they forgot to check me in when I arrived so I didn't get credit for honoring my OpenTable reservation!
All those mishaps won't keep us from dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.