Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Glacier BrewHouseGlacier BrewHouse
(3719)
$$$$
Seafood | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 99 times today
49th State Brewing Company Anchorage49th State Brewing Company Anchorage
(165)
$$$$
Brewery | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 49 times today
Simon & Seafort'sSimon & Seafort's
(3559)
$$$$
Steak | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 86 times today
Cattle Company Steakhouse - AnchorageCattle Company Steakhouse - Anchorage
(358)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 4 times today
ORSOORSO
(2414)
$$$$
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 30 times today
Sacks CafeSacks Cafe
(99)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 12 times today
Crow's Nest - Hotel Captain CookCrow's Nest - Hotel Captain Cook
(876)
$$$$
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 15 times today
Kinley's Restaurant and BarKinley's Restaurant and Bar
(847)
$$$$
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 14 times today
GingerGinger
(780)
$$$$
Pan-Asian | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 13 times today
Benihana - AnchorageBenihana - Anchorage
(542)
$$$$
Japanese | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 20 times today
Jens' RestaurantJens' Restaurant
(660)
$$$$
Seafood | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 6 times today
Campobello BistroCampobello Bistro
(214)
$$$$
Italian | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 6 times today
Kincaid GrillKincaid Grill
(780)
$$$$
Seafood | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 10 times today
Haute Quarter GrillHaute Quarter Grill
(807)
$$$$
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 24 times today
Sullivan's Steakhouse - AnchorageSullivan's Steakhouse - Anchorage
(1298)
$$$$
American | Anchorage, Anchorage
Booked 8 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.70mi

About Villa Nova

Villa Nova Restaurant is located in Anchorage, Alaska, and offers family cooked Italian fare for a taste of authentic traditions. Visit the humble restaurant and be seated by friendly staff members to see a list of elegant items for you to enjoy. The fare at Villa Nova Restaurant is prepared using local ingredients, and some plates rotate seasonally.

At Villa Nova Restaurant, you can order homemade Italian sausage, pasta marinara, frutti di mare, chicken marsala, filet mignon, steamed prawns and tender veal in wine sauce. After a filling meal, try one of the sweet desserts which consist of pâté a choux, Spanish style sponge cakes and vanilla ice cream.

5121 Arctic Blvd
Suite I
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
International Airport Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 561-1660

Website:
http://villanovaalaska.com/

Entertainment:
Shawn Lyons plays classical guitar Friday and Saturday evenings.

Catering:
Call for details.

Executive Chef:
Chef Giorgio Chrimat

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
91 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Great Valentines dinner, Great Food, Great Service and Good wine list.
Villa Nova is small and has been here for many years.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Absolutely perfect dinner for Valentine's Day. The service and food is always great - couldn't have been happier with this tremendous restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2014

Calamari is awesome. Food take a while to get to you but good food takes time. You can tell everything is made fresh and not from a frozen box.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 18, 2014

Usually enjoy Villa Nova but the sever was short-tempered, rushed & rude. The salads were below par.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2014

Decided to do appetizers and a salad. The bruschetta was awful; overwhelmed with tomatoes, which the bread could not stand up to, making the bread soggy, and there was little else in the way of seasoning. The gnocchi was bland. For the prices charged, it was quite disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 4, 2014

Great food, as always, and plenty of garlic dishes! Nice ambiance with live acoustical guitar playing in the background.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 4, 2014

The food was good, as always, but quite pricey. $28 for an appetizer of calamari, and $7.50 for five dollar sized pieces of bread with sauce and cheese on them, about the equivalent of a slice of bread. Dinner was yummy, and staff was friendly. Meal for 5 adults, no drinks, came to $215.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 28, 2013

We usually have a bit if a wait for our entrees, but it is worth the wait! You can't rush perfection. :) This is a place to go to enjoy a bottle of wine with good company and good conversation. If you're planning to see a movie after dinner - don't bother. The staff is friendly and the owner - I just want to hug! This place is about reflection over great food, not stuffing your face and rushing you out the door. Take the time to slow down from the face pace of your hectic life and have a spivey meatball! ...and leave your smartphone at home :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 13, 2013

Excellent wine list, with good range of prices. Entrees were delightful and creative. Osso Buco and Tournados of Beef with Blue Cheese and Pistachio Cream Sauce were outstanding. It has been a number of years since we have dined at Villa Nova. Our loss. The strip mall location is more than offset by excellent service and offerings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 13, 2013

As the sign at Villa Nova says, "Good food takes time." It seems we waited a bit longer than anticipated, but the food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 7, 2013

Six of us had dinner at Villa Nova on a Saturday night. This place could fast become one of my favorites! Everyone in our party raved about the food. Our sever, Jay, was fabulous. We were there for over 2 1/2 hrs and never felt rushed to leave on a busy Saturday night. Be sure to have dessert! They have an extensive, and tasty, dessert list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 3, 2013

Over the years we have never been disappointed at Villanova. The food, wine, and service have always been very good. The only thing to be aware of is that during the winter it is a bit too cool, especially if you have a table adjacent to the windows. I don't believe it's Georgio's fault, I think it is just the building. However, it doesn't keep us from going back because we just have to dress for the occasion. Another great evening with friends!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 23, 2013

non ho potuto chiedere un servizio di ristorazione meglio la mia esperienza a Villa Nova

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2013

Caesar salad was small for price -8 dollars disappointing and nothing to write home about/ white wine selection not too impressive-marinara best I have ever had

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 16, 2013

We went to celebrate our friends wedding, it was a wonderful evening, not to crowded. The food was great and we didn't feel rushed at all. I would definantly go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 15, 2013

Everything at our table for 4 was great except for my husband's lasagna. It was soupy and had very few noodles. It was extremely greasy too. Not sure what happened since everything else was excellent.

The restaurant is quiet and easy to have a nice conversation. Cozy and warm.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 9, 2013

We have been to this restaurant once before and found the food and service fantastic. However, our experience this time wasn't as great as the last one. The restaurant was extremely cold. The food was extremely slow in arriving to our table even though the restaurant wasn't half full. The food was excellent. We will probably go again, however, we will make sure we do not have any other plans for the evening as we were nearly late to a concert. The dining experience took nearly 2 hours and we had to leave 20 minutes after receiving our entree.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 5, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants. Great food and very helpful service. We love going to Villa Nova for our anniversary dinners.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 25, 2013

Had dinner with a friend, neither of us had been to Villa Nova for a long time. What a pleasant experience. I am a vegan and their menu accommodated my dining needs. Appetizers of bruschetta and caponata prepared without feta were wonderful. This is a true gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 19, 2013

My wife and I went out on a date night with some friends and we decided to try Villa Nova since nobody has been there before. We made a reservation for 7:15 p.m. but had to push it back to 7:30 due to both of us was running a few minutes behind. Upon getting there about 7:20ish we had to wait about 20 minutes for our table for 6 to be ready. Once we got to our seats everything went great. The service was wonderful and the food was great. Although it took a little longer to cook it was well worth the wait, needless to say it is a place that the wife and I will be going to again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 19, 2013

Food and service was okay this time around,we have had a better experience before but will be back,(Maybe)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 11, 2013

The food makes up for the claustrophobic seating and slow service. If you can stand being a foot away from your neighbors and their conversations long enough to receive your dinner, it's so worth it. Best italian food I've ever had! Oh and VERY pricey I might add. We went knowing it would be an expensive night so there were no surprises there luckily. Just come prepared to drop some serious cash.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 10, 2013

Villa Nova offers a true Italian experience, from the attentive wait staff, mouth watering appetizers, the ample wine choices, delicious entrees, and decadent desserts, exemplary of Italy's finest. The soft dinner music provides a perfect setting for an intimate dinner, or background for group settings. The decor is true Italian with it's warm Tuscan colors and old-style Chianti wine bottles featured throughout the dining area. Don't be deceived by the location in a strip mall and exterior building. Once you enter, you'll be welcomed into an evening of fine dining in true Italian style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 4, 2013

We never go wrong with Villa Nova - the Calamari was tender, the steak was cooked just right with a very tasty wine sauce and the Chicken Au Feu was spicy and tasty as always. Fast and attentive service with good recommendations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 1, 2013

Had some of the best Italian food here. Each of us (4) had something different and it was all very, very good. Large filling portions and good wine to accompany. The waiter was excellent and helpful. We ordered an organic wine that he thought we might not like so brought us a sample. We did not care for it so made a different selection. Very nice atmosphere and great food. I highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 10, 2013

I have been coming for years and this is by far my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 16, 2013

I had Macadamia Nut encrusted halibut w/ a lovely sauce. It was excellent. The sides were not as good a normal... a little tasteless and greasy. The server was good..and would apologize for the delay... However at Villa Nova there is ALWAYS a long wait because of the kitchen.. our wait was about an hour for the food. Most of the time it is worth it. So do not go there unless you have a lot of time to kill... Do not bring young children as the waits are to long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 6, 2013

Overall outstanding. Our servers where excellent, everyone working together refilling water, bread and checking in on tables without being overbearing. Apetizers, salad and entree where all timed perfectly not to early and not to late. Our overall meal time was approx 90min. Nice ambience, a guitarist started about halfway through the meal and it was a nice touch and not overbearing. I ordered the Alla Puntanesca which was described as Hot , i found it just above mild and perfect temp my pasta was just under al-dente. My guest ordered classic spagetti and meatballs, the meatballs are fabulous and the pasta good. Both meals where very salty and we both found ourselves becoming very thirsty, hence all the water filling going on in the room.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 27, 2013

We had not beenhere for awhle but the service and food were great! We had fresh fish dishes that were awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 25, 2013

Last night in Anchorage on a business trip with my colleague. Find this unassuming gem of a place. Absolutely family owned and run as the owners are warm and mingled with customers who frequent the place. Ordered the spaghetti with Sausage and Peppers...wow. Great portions and fantastic flavor with a nice spicy kick. Only complaint was the wine pours per glass were on the light side. Cmon! ;-) Wait staff we're pleasant and attentive. Definitely will go back on next trip up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2013

Villa Nova is truly a hidden gem in Anchorage. Without a doubt the best Italian restaurant. Great menu selections and fantastic service. We have never been disappointed here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 16, 2013

Macademia crusted halibut or cod special is spectacular. Appreciate that Villa Nova is 100% accommodating to customers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 11, 2013

Food was great, atmosphere was great, wine list
Was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 5, 2013

What a disappointment from this former favorite. Waiter failed to convey specials -- they sounded good when we overheard another server describe them after we had ordered. 40 minutes for our entree to appear. My wife ordered rigatoni with sausage, I had the eggplant parmigiana. The eggplant dish was a horrible value. $25 for two mushy pieces of lukewarm eggplant with cheese and sauce.

We heard the disappointment from tables around us as well. Off our list...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2013

Highly recommended by friend but we were a it tele disappointed. Ambiance is dark and decor is quite dated. Needs to be cleaned up a bit! Food was good but not something to seek out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 11, 2013

Villa Nova is consistently excellent. Food and service are exceptional. Great menu. Accommodated my gluten and lactose intolerant friend. Located in a not-so-attractive strip mall, much better on inside. Menu has almost TOO many choices.......something for everyone and I have never been disappointed. The fresh fish dishes are wonderful and save room for the decadent desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 6, 2013

I have eaten here before and absolutely loved the food, the atmosphere, and the service. The food at my last visit was a little off, but hey, we all have off days, right? It is a little pricey, so be prepared for the bill. Overall an excellent restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 4, 2013

I had heard that Villa Nova was an extraordinary restaurant that was noteworthy for its food. I was very disappointed in the quality of the overpriced food and its cluttered ambience. The food was very bland, and not seasoned well. The pathetic shrimp dish (for $31) consisted of a small number of shrimp. The spaghetti was floating in almost a half bowl of lemon sauce that was more like lemon water. The server brought out a side dish of shrimp tail ends and commented on the lack of shrimp. My wife ordered a veal dish that was also bland and "swimming" in a very bland brown sauce. She commented that the best part of the meal was the spinach side dish, which was quite good. The desserts were equally disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 1, 2013

This is more than just a dining experience. It is an assault on the senses of pleasure with the ambience of Italy (the live music giving you the real feeling of being there), with tantalizing smells of the “old world” kitchen that is only surpassed by the actual meal. Every dish provides tantalizing morsels of wonderment. Leaving us with comments of ahs and oohs. They make you feel as though you are being served a private dinner as each wish is anticipated. You continue to make this my favorite place to dine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 17, 2013

This was my first time at Villa Nova. It was for dinner. The food was great, service was great, and ambience great. Noise was so quiet that my frind and I so good conversation could be had while enjoying our dinner. Fantastic desserts!

My husband and I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.