About Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse

3878 Carlsbad Blvd
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse with an Italian flair. The restaurant faces the Pacific Ocean,one of the best views in San Diego.
Open seven days a week with an outstanding Sunday brunch. Happy Hour is daily and offers small plates and drink specials, most at under $10.
Private "Wine Cellar "room available for private parties.

For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years,
Vigilucci’s catering team can custom create a unique and memorable menu for celebrating life’s special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarack Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 434-2580

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/

Executive Chef:
Gerhard Oesterlein

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vigilucci's offers dining in diverse atmospheres to suit every occasion, with private dining offering stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and an old world Italian atmosphere. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Scenic View (41)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Waterfront (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Business Meals (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

The food here was excellent & the service was fabulous!! Such a pretty view of the ocean! We will definitely go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food. Excellent service. We go to Vigilucci's every year when we come on vacation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Bruce really took care of us by consistently providing us with information about certain selections on the menu. He also recommended going over to the bar after our meal for an espresso and some conversation. My girlfriend and I had a spectacular dinner!

Thank you!

Andre

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Our dinner was wonderful. We had two kids and they were happy too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service. Great food. Sitting outside offered a great view of the ocean while the light lasted. Unfortunately, traffic noise can be pretty loud, especially when some passersby seemed to be intentionally trying to be disruptive.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Absolutely a delightful place to unwind, conduct business and enjoy excellent food, service and ambiance!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Private Room, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great night out. Staff was very attentive. Food was great. Patio view was amazing. Road was a little noisy but we still enjoyed the sunset.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Really good restaurant, can't believe I haven't been here before. Cioppino and risotto were really good. Oysters were fresh, highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to celebrate an early Valentine's Day dinner. The whole dining experience was impeccable!! The salmon was extremely fresh and I enjoyed it into the next day. My husband ordered the 20oz prime rib and it was cooked to perfection. The service was great and very detail oriented. It seemed like we had about three different wait-staff tending to our needs during a very busy evening. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

What I ordered, I almost sent back - tasted fishy and old! I cannot stand the fishy taste when you get from old sea food. Overpriced for what you get!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse has always been one of our favorite places to go! We enjoy both Carlsbad locations. Dani our server was fantastic! I have never had a bad meal. Try it you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Your pasta dishes are so tasty. We enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 6, 2017

My visiting sister and I went to Vigilucci's for a late lunch. Our waiter, a knowledgeable and charming Milanese, handled our table in a most enjoyable fashion. He was one of those rare people who, when I told him I was nearly deaf, he leaned in and spoke the daily specials directly to me with pace and clarity. He made helpful recommendations as to the food and wine. My bone-in New York steak was excellent. The calamari friti is always top notch and the best I've ever tasted. I love Vigilucci's Caesar salad. It's the fabulous dressing. I ask them to please chop and toss it in the kitchen (it otherwise will come as whole romaine leaves). The food, ambiance (we had a booth) and service was just absolutely right.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Simply incredible food and atmosphere. Great location and truly Italian food. Best in Carlsbad

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great place to watch the Sunset. Patio heaters allow you to sit outside comfortably in the winter. Very attentive waitstaff and parking attendants. Food was excellent as usual.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food is always amazing and the servers were efficient and friendly. My last time there was a Wednesday sunset and the place was packed. Very quiet dining for the number of patrons.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The best part about this restaurant is the view! Such a pretty view off the ocean as you have your meal. Food is always good and reliable. I was disappointed in their lemon tort but it did not take away from me having a nice time. Out off all of their locations, this is my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 30, 2017

View is great, food is good, service is average, and price is high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our first time here, but we will definitely be going back. Every single staff member we interacted with was at the top of their game and the food was incredible.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice! Great food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Too loud is my only criticism. The low ceilings are hurtful but nothing you can do about it. Great food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was my husband's birthday and it was also Restaurant Week....no special daily risotto was being served (the reason I made reservations at his favorite risotto restaurant). Our waitress took his request to the chef and even though during this week, no substitutions or specials of the day were being served, the chef made her famous beef risotto for the birthday boy and then came out to greet him. We could not have had a better celebration meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great choice for Restaurant Week! We enjoyed ourselves despite the wind and rain.

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Way too noisy to carry on a conversation. I was offended by the hostess wearing the anti-Trump tee shirt. Very unprofessional and offensive. Politics should stay out of restaurants.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We love great food and we look for local places whenever we travel. We drove by this three times during our trip to Carlsbad, and decided we needed to check it out. What an amazing meal - not your gramma's pasta! From beginning to end, the food was beautiful looking and it tasted better than it looked. Service was cordial and friendly; wine list had many levels of affordability (and the bottle we had was wonderful); our meal came from a fixed menu that made it easy to try a little of many choices, including dessert. What a treat! On a rainy and chilly evening, we were warmed inside and out from a great eating experience. We will be back to Vigilucci's again when we visit Carlsbad!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

First time customer here! The food was delicious! Josh at the bar and Elmer our server were very nice and helpful! Enjoyed the whole evening! Will definitely come back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Outstanding food and service. We were here during restaurant week, fixed menus $40 per person. Everything was tops. We will go back again this week

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

A great lunch for a quiet Sunday. Food and service great. The special menu for restaurant week had nice choices for a good price. My compliments to the chef.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have been coming to Vigilucci's for 10 Years and never had a bad meal . All the food and service is great at every one of Robbie's restaurants and I have been them all many times over the years

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A friend of mine who lives in that area had recommend this restaurant to me as a good place to go for my birthday dinner with my husband. The food was good, kinda big portions, but not too bad! Overall I had nice time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our food was well-prepared and delicious. The restaurant is upscale and waiters are well-trained. The restaurant was informed of a birthday celebration at reservation time, but the staff never checked, so it was embarrassing to remind them. Sometimes, the waiter took a long time to check on us. Otherwise, I could have rated it all 5-stars.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very nice place and wonderful service. Food could be better for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

the appetizer calamari was outstanding! Very light and non-greasy

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Superb gluten free pasta. The only negative comment and a slight one was the level of noise. It is a top end place with top end food with top end prices to match.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The service was extremely attentive, efficient and warm. The bread and olive oil were great. The food was excellent. We ordered the seafood grill, the seafood ravioli, the fried calamari, and the gnocci with seafood sauce. All was excellent. Nice wine by the glass list. Even knowing that it was a top notch place, it still was surprisingly pricey. However, I would gladly go back again for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

If your vacationing in Carlsbad this is one of the two best restaurants! Not in expensive but worth it! Great food, ambiance, oceanview, friendly staff, great waiters...... My wife and I travel Europe ever other year. Its like Venice in California.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a wonderful spot. I believe the owner was present and met each and every table. Of course it was New Year's Eve. But that was a good touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had New Year's evening dinner. This is our 3rd or 4th time at this place and each time we've thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and food. The service is more than friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was excellent as usual. This is our "go to" place for fine dining.

Tags: Disabled Access, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Vigilucci's never fails to please whichever location you choose. The Seafood and Steakhouse location on the Pacific Ocean in Carlsbad is particularly appealing, not only for its great food, wine list and service but also for its ocean views and ambiance, especially the outside patio, which provides cover from light rain and heaters for cooler evenings.

Our most recent visit was on a damp and chilly night that turned out to be quite comfortable for patio dining due to the aforementioned heaters and covers. Our authentic Italian waitress, Daniela, was engaging and attentive and did a flawless job of not only taking care of our every need but also of passionately extolling the virtues of the dishes we asked about. She also perfectly decanted a rather special bottle of wine that we brought with us without any sedimentary transfer into the decanter.

For appetizers, the Tartare Tonno was a perfect size for 1 person, or even for two to share, and was a first-rate tasting experience. The Carpaccio (thinly sliced raw prime filet topped with arugula, capers, shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano and EVOO) was well presented and seemed a rather large plate for 1 person, but turned out to be a perfect size due to the extremely thin shavings of beef and cheese. The flavor was very mild and had melt in the mouth consistency. Vigilucci's also offers a great seafood version (Carpaccio Di Tonno) that substitutes sashimi grade tuna for beef.

For entrees, the Pappardelle con Funghi e Capesante (homemade wide ribbon pasta with porcini, shiitake, portobello, field mushrooms and pan-seared diver

scallops in a white truffle and brandy cream sauce) was incredibly flavorful and perfectly cooked and presented. The Ossobuco alla Milanese, served over a bed of saffron risotto, is one of their house specialties that I always enjoy but is often in short supply. I lucked out this time around and it was excellent as usual.

To cut a long story short, you just can't beat Vigilucci's if you like Italian food.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was a friends' get-together. The restaurant is located across the street from the Ocean in Carlsbad and we had great seating on the patio. The food was outstanding, including one of the best pasta dishes I've had in a long time. What made this restaurant stand out, was the impeccable service. Attentive, without hovering. The waiter let us take out time, no rushing at all. Without being told, he gleaned that we were celebrating a wedding anniversary and brought a celebratory dessert to the table without it being requesting. The food was good enough to make the restaurant stand out, but when combined with the service, I'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Little pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Once again Vigilucci's did not disappoint! I took a friend who was visiting from the east coast for lunch. She was floored by the beautiful view, of course, and we also had outstanding service and a delicious meal, both entrees having been recommended by our attentive waiter. The portions were larger than we expected, so we planned to take half of each home with us, but they were so fantastic we finished them!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Pressed with professional wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Watching the sunset while enjoying a great cocktail with truffle fries with actual truffle and not just oil infused with truffle was the best we have tasted. All other truffle fries are now ruined.

Seafood dish and a lamb dish with red wine and an orange horizon to look out to was an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was outstanding! Great service and relaxing time. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was very noisy. Can't hear guests' conversation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We took a group of 4 for Christmas Eve and were wowed! Great food and perfect service. We ordered seafood, lamb and vegetarian entrees and all of them were superb. The zucchini wrapped seabass was inventive and fantastic. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing as always. Exceptional meal. Great service. My first choice for a special meal/occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always. Great for a fancy date. The only disappointment I had was the bread. It was trying to be crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside, but was instead chewy and very mediocre -- a stark contract when compared to the rest of the cuisine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.