Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.83mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse with an Italian flair. The restaurant faces the Pacific Ocean,one of the best views in San Diego.
Open seven days a week with an outstanding Sunday brunch. Happy Hour is daily and offers small plates and drink specials, most at under $10.
Private "Wine Cellar "room available for private parties.

For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years,
Vigilucci’s catering team can custom create a unique and memorable menu for celebrating life’s special occasions.

3878 Carlsbad Blvd
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarack Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 434-2580

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/

Catering:
Yes Vigilucci's Restaurant Group Caters to large and small events.
Contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com to begin customizing your event menu and get more details. Vigilucci's has been catering to the most discerning palates for close to 25 years.
For menus visit our website.

Executive Chef:
Dana Sills

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vigilucci's offers dining in diverse atmospheres to suit every occasion, with private dining offering stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and an old world Italian atmosphere. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Waterfront (44)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Authentic (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
People Watching (13)
Fun (12)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

This time I went there after 15 years I used to go there since they opened . They really improved this place . The service fast and impeccable. The food really good the martini was exactly what I want . Recently I was going to the best restaurants in San Diego I did not a perfect evening lately . This dinner was perfect

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The view is terrific...martini excellent! The restaurant is labeled as a "steak & seafood" place and neither were good choices. The seafood pasta was so over sauced and pasta overly chewy that I ate only two bites. My husband's prime rib was overly dry and he did not finish his meal either...unfortunate. Would go back because of the terrific view and sit at the bar and order another martini and maybe an appetizer.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Had a 7:00pm reservation but had to wait. It was our 45th wedding anniversary and made the reservation 3 weeks in advance. Seated inside (hot) instead of outside. Sea bass was extremely dry, roasted veggies no flavor. My husbands diner was ok. Asked for a dessert menu at end of dinner. Waitress brought what we thought was a complimentary dessert and said happy anniversary with a card signed by staff. I was asked if I still wanted a dessert menu and I said no since we had the dessert she brought. We were charged for the dessert we didn't order. Totally bush....didn't notice until we got home. No return visit for us.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 15, 2017

From the maitre d'hotel to the server (including the valet) the service was impeccable. I will single out our server because he was a perfect mix of customer oriented without overdoing it - 'dignified' server, so to speak. The food was very good though my son observed that it was very 'filling' (which we all agreed with), so probably - as not all of us actually finished their dish - it was a little bit on the 'creamy' side? We had the seabass (catch of the day), risotto with scallops (excellent), ravioli with butternut squash and gnocci - all of which I would recommend, although the ravioli probably would benefit from 'less is more' - just a suggestion as my son really liked the dish. That being said we all were a bit taken aback by the street noise - the Carlsbad boulevard is really quite a busy street with lots of pretty noisy motorbikes, so that is probably something one may want to take into account (our reservation, which was very punctually fulfilled, was at 6:15pm). (By the way, my sone used to ride a Ducati and my daughter a K-Ninja so I am not opposed to bikes, just in this particular setting unfortunate - and not the fault of the restaurant of course.) Will visit again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Date night specials are wonderful. Great location and the food and service is exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was just "ok". Especially for the price. Yelp said things were under $30 but it was more like $40-$70 a meal. We didn't seem to be there "typical" type of customer and through the interactions that was apparent.

Environment was amazing. Can't beat on the beach in Carlsbad CA.

We wouldn't go back but it just wasn't our thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Amazing food and service!!! A bit pricey so definitley a splurge for me, though one that is worth it. The ONLY thing that I didn't appreciate was that we were seated 30 min past our reservation. We were a bigger party so with that I understand it might be difficult to seat us but we did have a reservation...

Didn't spoil my evening though. The food was incredible!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We both tbought Vigalucci's was terrific from valet, to service, to amazing food. The Caesar salad was delicious and sea bass special out of this world. Kudos and complement to the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My Wife and I are locals but have only been here once or twice in the past. We decided to go for our 22nd Wedding Anniversary and even though the greeter forgot to pass on to our waiter that it was our Anniversary everything else was perfect. The food was amazing, our waiter (sorry I forgot his name) was excellent. Perfect evening and awesome Sunset.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was only my second visit to this beautiful restaurant, and it did not disappoint. We made an 8 pm reservation and were seated just prior, on the patio. We were actually quite glad to sit on the patio because we found it to be much quieter and more intimate. The restaurant was bustling and very busy, but the hostess was very sweet. Chris was our server and he too was kind. We appreciated his service and he was not too invasive while also being perfectly attentive.

We started with fresh oysters, and wow were they the best I'd ever had! We were both thrilled! Then as a main, I had the short ribs with mushroom risotto and my boyfriend had one of the specials for the evening. Our meals were beautiful to the eye and delicious.

I'm so happy we had the positive experience we did, and we will definitely be back. On a side note, I tipped the valet drivers well because they were working so hard to accommodate everyone with the little parking lot. They were courteous despite their stressful situation.

Overall, wonderful experience! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

View is beautiful but noisy. Food was so so- way too expensive for what was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Beautifully prepared, worked with allergies, clean, fresh delicious food. Attention to detail, and extraordinary service.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The Seafood was fresh and prepared perfectly. My dinner consisted of sauté calamari in a wonderful red sauce, Spaghetti Portifino (spaghetti with 5 different shell fish and calamari) in a very light but flavorable sauce with a light pesto hints, a simple tomato, motcerello and Basel.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Best bloody Mary in California

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent menu, great food and service. Extensive wine list with great by the glass options. The view is spectacular! Great place to watch the sunset! They need to reduce the number of tables in the restaurant, however. It's difficult to walk through the restaurant when it's empty and impossible to walk through when tables are occupied. The noise level is so high you cannot carry on a conversation at your own dining table.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Dining at Vigilucci's seafood and steakhouse is always a guaranteed treat!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Lovely view and location. Good food and service. Very expensive though, even for basic lunch ideas. About $10 more than other nice places I've been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Waiters are Italian and provide an authentic Italian experience as if dining in Naples.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We absolutely loved Vigilucci's and have already recommended it to several friends who live in the area. The food was terrific, and the service was outstanding. Our server, Daniella, was exceptional. She was knowledgeable, friendly, and so engaging. She went out of her way to make our experience memorable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great location and view coupled with delicious Italian dishes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food, excellent service. Nice location across from beach in Carlsbad.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Service was great! Food was excellent! We arrived early and went to the bar where Samira provided excellent service. Shortly after the hostess told us there was a table available even though we still had 10 minutes until our reservation. We were then greeted by Chris, who provided more excellent service. He was very friendly and accommodating. The food was amazing. We had tuna carpaccio, beef carpaccio, caprese salad, spaghetti with meatballs and gnocchi. The meatballs were so moist and juicy and flavorful! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Upscale Italian restaurant with excellent food. Ocean view and ambiance. My steak entree was $62. For special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

What a find! Thank you Open Table for recommending this gem. Our son and daughter-in-law drove down from LA to meet us during our Carlsbad vacation. I read about this restaurant on Open Table and the reviews were spot-on. Fabulous food, wonderful service, and a fantastic setting for a memorable evening. Can't thank you enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food and service by Tasha was excellent. The cold seafood appetizer was very good. Great for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Always a delight!
Whenever we are inspired to travel a little way from home knowing we are going to have a fun and satisfying dinner......Viggiluci's is where we go!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Just barely average. Caesar salad lettuce room temperature. Chilled lettuce and plates and forks would be nice with a restaurant charging this much. Excellent oysters!!! Cioppino was heavy on calamari and non-descript fish chunks and (as listed on the menu) one scallop. Dish was huge and sauce tasty. This is a steak and seafood house, yet when my son ordered prime rib, he was told they didn't have it that night! Stunning. And why not tell us they were out when handing out the menus??? That way customer doesn't have his holes and dinner dreams smashed at the time of ordering.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Hostess read preference for earlier seating in OpenTable and telephoned beforehand to say it was available -- nice. Sauteed calamari was overcooked/rubbery and sauce was watery. Vigilucci salad was good. Could not eat the special-of-the-day prawn with linguine as the prawns were just mush -- inedible. Salmon with almonds was very good. Desert of spumoni was not what I am used to, but was very tasty. Wine selection was good and reasonably priced. Server rushed payment of the bill saying his manager told him "he had to leave in 5 minutes".
Not the fault of the restaurant, but loud vehicles and bikes were constantly roaring past this location (we sat outside).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. Outdoor setting is lovely. Waitress was charming and efficient.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great for special occasions, dates, birthdays, etc. Very nice ambiance and the food was Great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We love this place. It always feels to us like we are in an American style restaurant in Italy rather than an Italian style restaurant in America. In a good way... However, we are always a little shocked at the bill. Kinda like when we are in Italy... Authentic all around, I guess.

Tags: Waterfront, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food choices and served without a long wait. We arrived early and received immediate seating. Our waitress from Torino made a complete dining experience with her suggestions and friendly personality.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great View of the Ocean, nice atmosphere would recommend and will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Nothing not to love about Vigiluccis. It's easy to see why the staff, & locals, are so loyal to this restaurant. Denise warmly greets us when we arrive, Daniele is unmatched in his knowledgeable & engaging service, Bruce manages the seamless flow of the dining room ... & they provide delicious fresh seafood with the Pacific Ocean as the backdrop. Nothing better.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

What a fabulous meal we had celebrating my husband's 60th birthday. Our waitress was top notch. The food was excellent. We were seated on the patio just in time to watch the beautiful sunset.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Outstanding dinner. Wonderful cuts of Salmon and Sea Bass. Both were large portions over well-thought-out presentation. My sea bass was served over black rice with asparagus diced into it and the pineapple sauce on the plate was the perfect touch. My husband raved about his salmon - he skipped the panko and had it grilled - again LARGE cuts - probably 8-10 oz. and really delicious. Waiter was terrific. Hostess (the brunette) was a little edgy - but that didn't ruin our night. The other hostess (blonde) was quite pleasant and the manager made his rounds checking on all guest. Impressive view of the Pacific and the sunset. overall GREAT evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great restaurant! Beautiful view of the ocean. Food and service were exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great menu! Love the view! The risotto is my favorite!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

I took my husband for his birthday because he had never been and I though he would enjoy the view. We were seated near the kitchen and had no view. It was an unusually hot and humid day and although our reservation was for 6:45, the place was very warm and sticky, bees were flying throughout the restaurant and it was difficult to get comfortable because of the heat. The service was not what you would expect from such a place - we often had to wait for our waiter whether it was to take our order, get more wine or get our check. The person serving water was the only one we didn't have to ask for - bless him.
With all of the wonderful restaurants in the area, I doubt I would ever choose Vigilucci's again. I was so disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Unfortunately very over-priced for what we got. The shrimp was mushy and and the prawns were tough (how is that accomplished in the same pasta dish?) The steak was good and cooked just right, but $62 dollars? Really not a $60 dollar steak. The fish was unfortunately overcooked.

The server took a long time to come and check on us, and didn't say a thing when he noticed that one of our entrees had basically been untouched--There were three of us, and we were sharing two of the entrees because the pasta w/shrimp and a prawn was so bad. They didn't even ask why when they cleared our plates. It felt like a tourist trap. There are much better quality places to visit in Carlsbad, like Fresca and Campfire, and they aren't as expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.