About Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse - Houston

1510 Texas St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Houston near Minute Maid Park, Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse features a blend of high-quality food & one-of-a-kind hospitality in an intimate atmosphere of hand-crafted mahogany woodwork, leather furnishings & luxurious amenities. Our highly acclaimed menu features only the finest prime beef, including Ribeye, New York strip, Porterhouse & Filet Mignon. For those with a taste for something other than beef, we also offer Colorado organic lamb chops, veal chop, live Maine lobster, Australian rock lobster tail, Gulf red snapper, tuna & chicken. The Piano Lounge & Bar is for the enjoyment of both dining & non-dining guests. With nightly entertainment, it is the perfect downtown destination for cocktails. Our award-winning wine list offers over 1,000 of the finest wines the world has to offer. For a memorable meal, a sophisticated atmosphere, impeccable service & cocktails with class, Vic & Anthony's is sure to please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11am - 4pm
Monday - Thursday Dinner: 4pm - 10pm
Friday Dinner: 4pm - 11pm
Saturday: 5pm - 11pm, cocktail lounge open at 4pm
Sunday: 5pm - 10pm, cocktail lounge open at 4pm

Cross Street:
La Branch

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 228-1111

Website:
http://www.vicandanthonys.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the lounge nightly

Parking Details:
We offer Valet parking Metered street parking is available as well as managed lots nearby.

Executive Chef:
Michael O'Connor

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Kim Harris (713)228-1111.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer three distinguished private dining rooms. The Boardroom provides the ideal setting to accommodate business gatherings. The Wine Room is perfect for intimate functions such as rehearsal dinners and luncheons. The Ballroom is an elegant venue for receptions and larger gatherings.

Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (143)
Good for Anniversaries (123)
Good for a Date (118)
See All
Romantic (115)
Notable Wine List (78)
Business Meals (77)
Good for Birthdays (72)
Worth the Drive (56)
Pre/post Theatre (47)
Cozy (42)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Bar Seating (39)
Live Music (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Good for Groups (32)
Hot Spot (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Fun (26)
Modern Decor (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Authentic (21)
Happy Hour (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Private Room (16)
People Watching (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Casual (11)
Family Style (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Seasonal (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Open Kitchen (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Scenic View (4)
Fireplace (4)
Historic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
3367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding as always! Crabcake and lobster bisque were fresh and delicious. Filet mignon melts in your mouth. New York strip is full of flavor. All four diners had steak and every single one was cooked to perfection. We enjoyed side dishes of mashed potatoes, cream spinach and mac & cheese... All fantastic! Great beverage selection to appeal to everyone. Bread pudding was to die for! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Took my 10yr old daughter here for our annual Daddy/Daughter night out. The staff was absolutely wonderful. I appreciate that not too many younger kids frequent high-end steak joints and the staff was very friendly without being patronizing. Even showed her the proper way to use the crumb brush!

Appetizers were great, sides were excellent and the steaks were top notch, as always.

In short, Vic and Anthony's is a great place to celebrate any special occasion (anniversary, promotion, graduation, etc) but given the price probably not a place that many people could visit on a weekly/monthly basis.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

I was disappointed with my overcooked steak feature. As well as the remake presentation upon correction looked nothing like the first plate. I ordered the steak and fried shrimp feature that came with the asparagus and steak served on top of a bed of mash potatoes along with a glaze. The correction was a spoon of potatoes, steamed unseasoned asparagus with the steak as it should have been prepared initially and a server who lacked an apology when it was brought to his attention.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Horrible experience had reservation for 8:30 p.m. did not get seated till 9:30 p.m.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and outstanding service. The steaks were cooked perfectly. The crab cake was the best ever! Quiet enough for conversation in the dining room and bar. Will definitely go back to the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was excellent

Meal was delicious and very well plated

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Ate at Vic & Anthony's last Thursday night for business. Overall it was an excellent experience. The staff was wonderful and very attentive and the food was phenomenal. I highly recommend the Crab Cakes (quite possibly the best I've had). Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

The crab cakes are by far the best I've ever had, and I've had them from a lot of places. The filets are top notch as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It was lit af!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went to our table as soon as we entered the restaurant. Our server Christopher was fantastic with excellent drink recommendations. Meal was great and ambiance was very nice, a bit pricey but that was expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dinner was excellent! Went before the Rockets game and everything was great. Joshua, our waiter was friendly and attentive. Gave us a couple of suggestions that we really enjoyed. We'll be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

High quality, but at the price I would expect superlative.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Pretty nice experience. Just a really long wait time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Horrible experience. Waited 2 hours for our food with a reservation made 1 month in advance. Management should be ashamed. Worst Valentine's Day Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Do not get reservations on valentine’s day they way over book and you will not be seated until after 1 to 1.5 hrs after your reservation time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wait took hour longer than our reservation time. Only part that sucked.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I celebrated Valentines Day at Vic's and Anthony and enjoyed a delicious steak dinner. Prior to waiting for our table, we had drinks in the bar area where there was a live band playing romantic music. It was also pleasingly to know you could here the music in restaurant area as well.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised how great it was for Valentine's day. We go here for special occasions & birthdays, and always enjoy it. But I expected this day to be hectic, we sat upstairs next to a great quartet playing familiar tunes, and was able to order off the full regular menu, not a restricted one most restaurants have. We even got a chance to dance a little. Service as always was superb. But it did pay to get there early, as the crowd was forming at the hostess stand when we left. Many thanks for a great evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service was good but I paid $250 for 2 people for Valentines Day and I was swatting gnats all evening. They need to take care of the insect problem.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a great time. The food is the best in Houston. Our server was awesome

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The steaks are always cooked to perfection. Everyone enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food. Portions are huge! Nice restaurant for special occasions. valet parking, outstanding choices, and a quiet environment for a meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Going to Vic and Anthony's is a all time favorite of mines. I enjoy celebrating special occasions with Vic and Anthony's. The food, atmosphere, service, music and décor make it for a great experience. Thank you for always making my visit pleasurable and memorable.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Private Room, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great service and food. Everything was well seasoned and tasted awesome. I definitely will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

One of the best, if not the best steak in town! Great romantic spot for that special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday here and it was Exceptional! Vanessa was by far the BEST SERVER we have ever had. She made my wife's night by how sweet and attentive she was! Out of all the different high class restaurants that me and my wife have been, this place will call us back not only because the food was the best ever, but the service that VANESSA offered was once in a life time. I will definitely tell all my family and friends about our time here! My father which is the mayor of Tiki Island will also hear about my experience at Vic & Anthony's and will refer this Establishment to many other people of the island. I truly Thank you y'all for making my wife's "night" a Night to remember!

-Andrew & Janet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was not up to normal quality. Steak was only average and salad was not as good as usual. Disappointed in overall meal for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good but expected a better taste since it was a bit pricier than other steakhouse's. I have had better elsewhere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Houston TX location. When we arrived the atmosphere was very pleasant. Staff was very polite and super professional. However, as the meal progressed, things started falling apart. We noticed fruit flies buzzing the table within ten or fifteen minutes. Oysters were tasty and the balsamic vinegar soaked mushrooms were a very avante garde approach and a very nice component. However, for $29 the oysters were rather banal and small for their price. When the "Porterhouse" steak arrived, I noticed it was too thin to be classified as a Porterhouse for one as it was only about 3/4 of an inch thick, this makes it a traditional T-Bone, and it was not medium rare as ordered but medium well. For the price point, the meal was unsatisfactory. For a "Steakhouse" to completely overcook a steak by two levels of "doneness" is unacceptable. Call me overly picky, but a restaurant that claims to be a "Steakhouse" should get a steak order right 100% of the time. I raised my concerns and decided to pay our tab and leave. Management comped our oysters and wine and we left without eating the rest of the meal. Fruit flies being in the dining room, tell me there is a larger problem in the kitchen that is not being handled properly. We chose this restaurant for our 4th anniversary and ended up eating at Red Lobster instead. Sad that Darden stepped up where Landry's stepped out...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We tried this restaurant under a recommendation of a co-worker, who had never been to another steakhouse that carries the same a la cart options & ambience. Although it was really nice place - the ambiance and the staff were very pleasant I can't say I was taken away by the taste of the food. Nothing was memorable or seasoned, to my palate or expectation outside of the jumbo lump crab cake. The lobster bisque had too much cognac (it was the 1st thing I tasted even after a stir for even distribution), a second spoonful yielded same results and I couldn't take another spoonful. To their credit it was taken off of our bill. Our table location (next to exterior door) was a nice spot for private/quite conversation for us 😊. Our server Daniel was great - his personality perfectly suited the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent service. Great food. Nice desserts. Impressive decor.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

On a previous occasion I enjoyed the best steak of my life here. For $150 it should be that good. But when you order medium and it comes back rare it's a shame. Because sending it back after it has been sliced ... it'll never be as good as it could be. And for the waiter to argue with you... that's a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I had a blast very greatful with the restaurant very pleased.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service from valet to the table. Friendly staff, great bar and live music. Took my girlfriend for Valentines Day dinner and the food was perfect! May be a little pricey for some, but it's worth every penny!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great experience.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing date night for anniversary. Waiter was incredible, wine and food was out of this world. Recommend the fortnight cab if you're looking for a bottle of red. Worth every penny.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything about our visit was amazing- from the service from our waiter Hayden to the perfectly crafted cocktails and the delicious food- we were not disappointed. I'm already dreaming of my next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Outstanding service as we have constraint time and our customers were very impressed with the service, food and their accommodation for our time. Filet Mignon is a Wow, very high quality meat!

Glad to select Vic & Anthony for an important business lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service with a smile and they were very prepared for us with the bottled water. Although I put that there were to be separate checks in my reservations, it was very awkward have the waiter ask if there going to be separate checks. The reason I put it in the note in the first place is so we wouldn't encounter that type of moment. That was the only part of the evening That wasn't on point.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Absolutely the best wine and food I have ever had in Houston. We will definitely be back. Can't wait. Incredible.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I've been to the restaurant several times while visiting. It was my husband's first visit. He enjoyed it.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The food spectacular as the wine list! The service was outstanding

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing food, and you pay for it.

Always enjoy a visit to Vic & Anthonys when in Houston.

Took my boys before the Superbowl, filet was scrumptious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

As good of a steak as you will find anywhere in either Houston or Dallas. A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great Atmosphere. Incredible Service. Amazing Food. The Star Studded guests and meeting Mr. Fertitta himself was a bonus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went there with my son on the night before the Super Bowl. Great food and service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful evening at Vic and Anthony's. The wine and the steak were superb. The staff was friendly and helpful and went above and beyond to make us happy.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is outstanding - service was tremendous. Perfect food options . Waiter explained menu well . Only issue table was not ready until much later

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food and atmosphere were great for Super Bowl weekend. My dad and friends were visiting, and we had a great time. We were seated right next to the band, so it was almost impossible to talk to each other during a song. The food and wine were great, though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A group of 8 of us came here for the Super Bowl and had a great time people watching. Ultimately I was let down by the value as just a simple salad, flank steak and a couple of vodka-soda drinks were $120++. I'm used to ponying up for a nice steakhouse dinner, but it just felt more marked up than what it should be. Nevertheless, the decor was fantastic and so was our service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.