Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.18mi
  2. Distance: 6.13mi
  3. Distance: 6.29mi
  4. Distance: 6.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.18mi
  2. Distance: 6.13mi
  3. Distance: 6.29mi
  4. Distance: 6.71mi

About Via Emilia - The Woodlands

Named after an ancient Roman road that spans from Rimini to Piacenza, Via Emilia Italian Restaurant is known for their house-made pastas, braised meats, seafood specialties, and delicious desserts. The family-owned restaurant served Houston diners for over 13 years before moving to their current location in the Woodlands. We welcome you to experience the most authentic northern Italian cuisine in the Woodlands - no passport required.

10700 Kuykendahl Rd. Suite F
The Woodlands, TX 77381
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm Sunday Brunch:10:00am-3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
The Woodlands Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 465-9555

Website:
http://viaemiliarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Via Emilia features live music Wednesday through Saturday 6-9pm.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Half Price Italian Wines (Bottles)

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Half Price Italian Wines (Bottles)

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us for "HALF PRICE" Italian Wines Wednesdays All Wines From Italy are half price. Excludes Tax and Tip. Holidays Excluded Ask for Our Next Wine Diner. Special valid Mar 22, 2017 - Jul 19, 2017 on Wednesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Via Emilia - The Woodlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Authentic (22)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Live Music (22)
Cozy (19)
Great for Lunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Private Room (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (3)
Spicy (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (México)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent customer service has almost become a thing of the past - outstanding service in Villa Emilia!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Came here on prom night with my partner and this place had a great, romantic ambiance. The garlic bread they bring out in the beginning of the meal is delicious and our server Abraham was very nice and quick with his service. The only thing that bothered me was that our waters were not refilled unless we asked, but overall we had an extremely pleasant time. I absolutely loved the live piano music and the intimacy of the restaurant itself. I will definitely be coming back to try some of their delicious sounding eggplant dishes since they were unfortunately out of eggplant at the time we were there.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Nice ambiance, extensive menu, great service but the entrees were mediocre.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We come here for all special occasions. We were celebrating a late Mother's Day.
I had the carpaccio as an appetizer. I would have liked more arugula and less Parmesan. I love Parmesan, but it was just swimming in it. I had escargot as a main course, and it was excellent. My husband had a taste for spaghetti and meatballs, and it was very good, with Ensalata Caprese, also excellent. We always pick a moderately-priced wine- $35-40, and we are never disappointed. We chose a Syrah and it tasted great. Limoncello for dessert hit the spot!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great service and amazing food as usual. My teenage children said it's the best Italian they have ever eaten!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day. It was packed. We were rushed. Enough said.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day - We waited one and a half hours to get our food, including an appetizer and our kids' food. They kept saying that our food was three minutes away. There were very few check-ins to let us know what was going on. Other people that had just arrived started getting their food before we did. They comped most of our food, but a manager never came out, and it kind of ruined Mother's Day. It really stinks because we always enjoyed this place, and now I don't think we will be going back. Time to find another go-to Italian place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been going to Via Emilia at two different locations over the last ten years and the food continues to be outstanding. I particularly like the variety and authenticity of the home made entres. I hope they continue to stay with their winning ways as they continue to grow. Certainly worth the drive but make sure you have reservations as it can be crowded with long waits

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Have been here twice and hasn't disappointed yet. Excellent food and service. Live piano is also nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food, great service, great ambiance. What more can you possible ask for? I will be going back without question.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We love Via Emilia's. Food is so always good and service is always great. Stevan is our favorite! And we also love Rudy!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I went to Via Emilia for brunch for the first time. The restaurant has a nice ambience, but we were the only people in the restaurant the entire time we ate. I'm not sure if brunch was new for the restaurant or not, but we did go at 10am when they first opened. On to the food. My daughter had waffles, nothing special she enjoyed it. My husband had bananas foster French toast which he liked very well. I had a frittata with spinach and mushrooms along with parmesan potatoes. The potatoes were way too salty, the frittata was just okay. I would not make a special trip for brunch here, dinner is much better. I did enjoy the fig bruschetta which was excellent as a starter. Our server was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

excellent in every respect plus the piano bar was a very special touch with beautiful music great food and service

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My Wife's bday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food prep was excellent. Caesar gave great service. Had to beg a little for 4 pieces of bread for four people. Perhaps just a small oversight. Great place.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Such a pleasant surprise ~ little harder to find a quiet, nice restaurant in the Woodlands. Food was great, service was perfect (timed everything just right) and helped us find a fabulous new favorite wine.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The wait staff was very professional and very attentive throughout the entire experience. The food was authentic Italian and delicious. My wife and I love Italian dinning and wanted a quiet place to share a great meal. That is exactly what we experienced. We are excited for our next visit and to try another authentic Italian dish.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and food! The fish was delicious! Friends ordered desserts and loved every bite! We will definitely be dining there again soon!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was such a disappointment for my family. This was one of our favorite places but it appears to have digressed. Beginning with a very sour faced hostess (blonde) we were greeted by a waiter that showed less interaction than a fast food drive thru. The food was below what we previously experienced. Our waiter was often hard to find for drink refills and did not even ask if we wanted a dessert. We were anxious to have one of Via Emilia's signature desserts, a bread pudding. This was also disappointing from previous visits as it was cold in the center and had obviously been warmed in the microwave. Really not the same restaurant we had become accustomed to with all but one gentleman with a constant sour face. We missed the amazing service and food we had previous experienced. It will be a long time before we consider returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My daughter was in town and she and I decided to have Easter lunch there. We arrived at our noon reservation and were immediately seated in the far end of the restaurant. We walked past the piano being played and a couple of other large rooms of tables, and were taken to a rectangular shaped room with a dozen or so tables lined up on either side of the room. The decor was beautiful in the restaurant and we were immediately tended to by our waiter. My only complaint is that my daughter and I are adults, and we were sat amongst the families with children. They then sat a family with a baby right next to us. I'm all for family time, but when we splurge for the ambiance with a special meal, I don't expect a high chair and toddler next to me, and the sounds that are associated with children at the table. Our section also lacked vibe of the other main areas, being that we were behind a wall and had no view of the rest of the place. I would have thought a reservation for 2 adults would not have landed us at a 4 top in the family section. It made it difficult to enjoy a bottle of wine and what was a delicious lunch! If I go back there, I will ask about other seating options! Compliments to the Chef and wait staff on Easter Day

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Via Emilia is very nice, great atmosphere, impeccable service and fabulous food. Families, romance, business, it doesn't matter. A place for all.

My wife & I love sitting at the bar.

Cannot go wrong at Via Emilia.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

On point as usual.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great staff, decor, cocktails, food, and desserts . Worth the drive from anywhere. Priced right.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great service but pricey....
The menu has also been pretty much the same for quite some time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fantastic Find!!! Ambiance great with piano player. Creative and tasty offerings with extensive wine list. The Mother Country would be proud!!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My first time. Everything exceeded my expectations. Food was EXCELLENT addition service was above average. Only complaint was the live piano in the bar was way too loud.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Via Emilia is a long-time favorite of ours; we've enjoyed dining here since their days on FM 1960. The service, ambiance, wait-staff, and food (menu) keep us coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I have had a few meals now at this restaurant. The pasta dishes are almost perfect... I just ask for them to be not overflavored, and they come out great. Great wine list. Helpful staff. I had lamb shank another night.... very very tender, but could have used a bit more garlic and tomato

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have eaten here for every day, special occasions. The food, service is always outstanding. The owner is on site most of the time and a great place for someone likes something special in Italian cuisine.

We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great Service and always good food!! The quality has been consistently good over the past years.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Love Via Emilia's. Service and food always delicious!! We're there once a week!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fish, appetizer, salad & wine were superb as well as the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Completely perfect. Service was not rushed. I enjoy a leisurely dinner. I ordered the filet on a chance as I am frequently disappointed. I ordered it blue and it was cooked, or not cooked, to perfection. I wouldn't change a thing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Via Emilia's is our "go to" place for special occasions. We especially love half price wine on Wed. night. The food is always excellent; the service always impeccable. We highly recommend it for a romantic getaway dinner!

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We celebrated a couple birthdays and had a very good time. All was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We ordered a second bottle of wine and the waiter opened It and poured it in our glasses without showing us the cork or letting us taste it. It turns out the wine was bad and the bottle had to be replaced. The problem was we still had wine in our glasses from the first bottle. We do not expect this from a restaurant of this caliber

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food! One of my favorites! The service is always impeccable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Like many Italian restaurants in Texas, the food can be over flavored and over sauced, but that can easily remedied by coaching the chef to underdo it. I had their pesto pasta and it was fresh, al dente, and perfect. Fabulous wine. Lumache are great. Beef carpaccio was plentiful and very fresh

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Was looking for a restaurant in the Woodlands area to celebrate a birthday that we hadn't been to before. Via Emilia was highly recommended so we decided to give it a try and we are sure glad we did. Phenomenal food and service. A little noisy as we were seated on the piano bar side but overall an enjoyable experience. New favorite Italian restaurant in the area!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Truly a disappointment for the four of us. There was a singular flavor to all our entrees. The veal osso buco, chicken Parmesan , gnocchi , and pasta aoli all had such an overwhelming flavor of garlic that no other flavor could be discerned. Could have stayed home and chewed a clove of garlic and achieved the same degree if enjoyment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.