Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.18mi
  2. Distance: 6.13mi
  3. Distance: 6.29mi
  4. Distance: 6.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.18mi
  2. Distance: 6.13mi
  3. Distance: 6.29mi
  4. Distance: 6.71mi

About Via Emilia - The Woodlands

Named after an ancient Roman road that spans from Rimini to Piacenza, Via Emilia Italian Restaurant is known for their house-made pastas, braised meats, seafood specialties, and delicious desserts. The family-owned restaurant served Houston diners for over 13 years before moving to their current location in the Woodlands. We welcome you to experience the most authentic northern Italian cuisine in the Woodlands - no passport required.

10700 Kuykendahl Rd. Suite F
The Woodlands, TX 77381
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Sunday: 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Cross Street:
The Woodlands Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 465-9555

Website:
http://viaemiliarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Via Emilia features live music Wednesday through Saturday 6-9pm.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Via Emilia - The Woodlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Cozy (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Live Music (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (10)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

The spaghetti and creme brûlée was fantastic. They also have a top notch wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent, intimate dinner to celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for a small family special occasion or fancy date night! Wonderful food! Pricing is high but matches the quality of the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food was excellent. The wait staff was very attentive but knew when to leave us alone. The atmosphere was very nice.

The wine was way over priced. I understand there is a mark up in the restaurant industry but this was gouging the public. The first bottle was a very nice malbec from Argentina for $51.00, Specs liquor everyday price, $18.00. The second bottle was a nice Italian that was half price for $57.00 (the waiter REALLY pushed this wine) Specs everyday price $30.00

Will I go again, absolutely. Will I buy wine by the glass, probably so.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Was wonderful! Menu, the specials, the wine and drink list— excellent selection, the food was amazing! Prepared perfectly, brought out at perfect temperature, taste was delicious, unique- not an everyday franchise bulk menu- and the specialties of the day were definitely a specialty- they had Octopus served in different ways. It was just a very nice, elegant place. The staff was professional, polite, attentive just over all a very nice evening!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The service was outstanding, the food was great and the deserts were very good. A little pricey but worth it now and then.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2017

My friend and I had dinner at Via Emilia a few days ago. It was my first time there; she had been there once & had told me that it was a great restaurant. She was so right! Beautiful place, live piano bar, excellent food & outstanding service. I highly recommend Via Emilia to anyone looking for great Italian food.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

It was a perfect evening, the food was delicious especially the lemon-cello cake. The piano offered the right amount of background sound without it being to intrusive in the conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We have been there many times. Always good food and service. My only complaint -- I was too full to have dessert or coffee.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our waiter brought us complimentary glasses of champagne to celebrate our wedding anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This has been our best dining experience in The Woodlands so far. It's a great atmosphere and it delivers as start to finish experience. Service was a big part of this. Our server, Igor, was very attentive without being intrusive. He was knowledgeable without being pushy. I would only suggest the cook staff look at the quality of their Milanese - the Chicken breast was very dry and unappetizing. However, the Osso Bucco ravioli was nearly perfect and all the pasta was perfectly executed. Flavors were spot on. We look forward to being regulars here!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We went for our 5th anniversary and had a great experience! The wine list is expansive and we selected an Italian Sangiovese that was the wonderful suggestion of the sommelier.
Truely authentic Italian cuisine! The carbonara is fantastic and the red snapper even better. We finished with a cannoli and sparkling rose.
Definitely worth the trip and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We visited Via Emilia for dinner again last Saturday evening. As usual it was wonderful. Service was wonderful, my Osso Bucco was fantastic as my wife's Braised Short Ribs.

One of our favorite places for a very nice dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always a great meal
Nice wine list with lots of nice Italian reds
Fish, Vesl, Goat, Venison, and even pollo (Chicken) nicely prepared.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing restuarant. Would recommend to anyone looking for a very nice restaurant for a date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food and service were excellent. They did an outstanding job of accommodating for gluten allergies. Have been before and had to complaint about the noise from piano interfering with normal conversation. They stiil insist on having the piano playing but it was not so intrusive this time perhaps because we ate early. We found the bar pours to be a bit stingy but overall had great dining experience and will certainly return.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The owner was present and engaged! I will come back again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Cozy non chain restaurant with great food that makes you feel like you've escaped to Italy for a few hours.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The shrimp was farm raised not Fresh from our gulf. Very disappointing. One store bought Gluten free pasta offered. No GF bread offered. The house salad was mediocre. The Caesar salad was a disappointment. The dishes were salty, an obvious attempt to compensate for lackluster flavor. The portions were small and lacked presentation. The cocktails were very small and consisted of mostly ice. The wines were overpriced. All four in our party agreed we would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

After spending two weeks in Italy last September we have been searching high and low to get a real Italian "fix".... little did we know this gem was right down the road. Some of the best food and service I have ever received at a restaurant. I find good service to kind of being a dying art - this place was exceptional. From the homemade pastas to the wine selection and incredible desserts - all of it was fantastic. Edmundo was incredibly attentive and knowledgeable. Can't wait to go back for our taste of Italy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

My husband and I took my grandmother out to dinner here and it was one of the best dining experiences we have had. Service was impeccable and the food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Everyone was pleased with their food from the short rib stuffed ravioli to the red snapper. The calamari was a great appetizer for sharing. Our only complaint, and it's serious, was how the waiter kept copiously pouring wine. There were six of us. No one had the time to even take a sip and he poured more. Pushing wine is an unsavory restaurant practice. We'll be pouring our own in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The salads and calamari were a great starter followed by osso buco and pork shank falling off the bone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This is our kind of restaurant. Quiet with old world ambiance. Wine list was extensive, maitre'd suggested a Chianti classico reserve which for the price, was acceptable. When I go back I will explore their listing more thoroughly so that I will be better able to order intelligently. Food was very well prepared and very tasty. After dinner latte was Lavazza but was bitter and not of the quality that you might expect. However the limoncello cake and the limoncello cordial was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent service and great food. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the live pianist.

Tags: Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Went there for my wife's birthday and it was great. Quiet and a great menu. A little pricey but the food is well worth it. Very good!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Attentive staff, wonderful food. I had the tilapia and it was perfection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had the eggplant Parmesan, and it was the best I've ever had. The food here is very, very good; but it's not haute cuisine. I find that hard to do with traditional Italian food. This is one of the top five restaurants inThe Woodlands, easily. Staff is always eager to help. Wine list is great and even has a tutorial.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I love love love Via Emilia. It's been my favorite restaurant for over 5 years! The food has always been awesome, I try all over the menu. The wine I try is awesome better then the woodlands!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Via Amilia had great atmosphere, food, wine, piano, service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service and ambiance was excellent, although the food did not justify the cost of the meal. Some food items were very good, while others were subpar. The calamari, ceasar salad, and carbonara were very good. All other items weren't that tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My husband and I visited Via Emilia for our 27th Anniversary. The ambiance was just what we wanted; soft lighting, peaceful soft piano music (we decided to go to the piano bar for a dessert/drink date soon), and beautiful Italian inspired decor. The wine list is extensive. Our server, Roberto, recommended a wine that was 1/2 the listed price and so very good. The food was amazing. We started with Salmone Affumicato (smoked salmon with avocado, arugulla, capers and orange vinaigrette), then I had Ravioli di Vitello Osso Buco and my husband had Fettuccine al Nero di Seppia. I boxed the rest of mine (my kids devoured it when we got home) to leave room for dessert, lemoncello cake. It was all delectable. Our service was excellent even though it was a busy night. And an added feature - at each table they had a small, unobtrusive four hook stand for handbags. I really liked that. Great place for a romantic date night or special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food is always delicious and nicely presented, the service is the best, and we can hear ourselves talk.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

I enjoyed dining at Via Emilia this week, but I have one complaint. I was seated in an area all alone. All other diners were seated in another area. When asked was there a reason no one else was seated in my area, I was simply told "No Reason." While I believe there was no intended reason, seating a diner in an area alone is not good business practice. A diner should not feel isolated during a meal.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Quaint place in a small strip mall. Don't let that fool you. This is a very good to excellent Italian restaurant - very old world !. The Escargot is to die for. Extensive wine list and service is excellent. We had the Chicken Picatta which is excellent but the past with the spinach i just didn't care for. The Veal Emilio is the best item on the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food special very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

One of, if not our favorite place to eat!!!! The service & food are always outstanding!!! I love giving my business to a family owned & operated restaurant. The owner always stops by our table to say hello & visits. I will always recommend Via Emilia as a must go to.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

One of nicest most romantic restaurants in the Woodlands .what a gem excellent Everything !!!! Piano bar is a very nice extra .we love the restaurant !!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great stuffed figs and date salad with burrata!
Excellent wait staff

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Charming restaurant. Exceptional food and service. You must try the bacon wrapped dates! They are amazing.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.